Search billions of records on


before. The Widow Pattee is bid off to Jonathan Foster for $66.75, Mrs. Woodbury and James for $100 to Joseph Clark. The town is asked to provide a work house for their poor. The paupers have become so numerous that some cheaper way is sought to take care of them, but the town refuses to do otherwise than it has been doing for all the past years. Hiring their poor taken care of by the lowest bidder. The selectmen are requested to provide a pall for the use of the town.

    In 1818, $400 is raised for town charges, roads the same as last year. Widow Pattee and her daughter go to David Gould for $66.50; James Woodbury to Mr. Gould for $68, and Mrs. Woodbury to Elisha Miner for $36.

    And so closes the second book of town records. The men prominent in these years are: Daniel Blaisdell, Ezekiel Wells, John Currier, Caleb Seabury, Jacob Trussell, Daniel Pattee, Elias Porter, Thomas H. Pettingill, Hubbard Harris, Daniel B. Whittier, Nathaniel Currier, Jacob Dow, George Walworth, Nathaniel Bartlett, Daniel Hovey, John Worth, Jim Woodbury and young Jim.

    In the year 1797 we find Clark Currier was licensed “to keep tavern the present year,” also in 1812 and 1813. “Lt. Simeon Arvin has our approbation to keep tavern, and sell spirituous liquors by retail.” “Capt. Joshua Harris to be a person well qualified to retail spirituous liquors.” “Theophilus Currier to keep a public house.” “Wm. Parkhurst, of Canaan, living on the Broad Street near the Meeting house, be a person well qualified to sell spiritous liquors.” Also, in 1798 and 1799, Simon Smith is licensed to sell liquor on parade day, October 7, 1812, in the street, between Simeon Arvin’s and Jacob Dow’s. Moses Dole holds a license for a tavern and retailer of rum from 1800 to 1821. Joshua Harris from 1802 to 1809. Simeon Arvin holds a license from 1799 to 1814; Dudley Gilman in 1798–1800; Mary Gilman in 1801 and Dudley in 1802; John Perley in 1799; Oliver Smith, 1798; Hubbard Harris, 1799; John Wilson, 1802–03; Micaiah Moore from 1803 to 1812; John H. Harris in 1805, 1815–1817; Joshua Harris in 1806; and the last two in 1817–’18; Nathaniel Barber in 1806; Daniel Blaisdell, Jr., on parade day, September 28, 1809, and 1810.