Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   
 


HARDING, HENRY W.; Farmer; born in the city of Peoria, February 25, 1853, the son of John J. Jane (Greenough) Harding. The father was born at Bratton Fleming, Devonshire, England, June 3, 1819, and the mother in Lancashire, England, July 14, 1830. The paternal grandparents,  John and Mary (Gill) Harding, were also natives of England. The grandmother lived to be ninety years old. The maternal grandfather was James Greenough, of England, who came to America in 1842 and settled in Brimfield Township, Peoria County. John J. Harding left England for America, April 4, 1845. After landing at New York he came to Chicago by the water route, and then to Peoria by wagon, reaching here on June 24. For some time he was a clerk, in a commission house, but in 1861 he moved to Logan Township and settled on an "eighty" in Section 3. Later he bought an eighty in Section 32 in Rosefield Township, and subsequently one hundred and fifty acres in Sections 30 and 31, where he now resides. He was twice married. He married Sarah Tucker in England March 29, 1845. She died in Peoria in September, 1847.  There is no living child of this marriage. For his second wife on January 9, 1850, he married Jane Greenough, the daughter of James and Jane (Pilkington) Greenough.  Six sons were born of this marriage, all of whom are living: John J., Henry W., Robert G., Eleazer E., William W., and Adoniram J.   Henry W. Harding has a farm of one hundred and twenty acres of land with a new house and new barns. He married Henrietta Pinkerton at the old Peoria House in Peoria, September 28, 1875. She was born in Peoria County September 30, 1856, daughter of Samuel and Eliza (Mclntyre) Pinkerton. The father was born in Ohio, the  mother in Canada, and they were married in Peoria County. The father had a store in Peoria which he sold and located on a farm in Logan Township, where he farmed and raised cattle. He died in 1873, the mother in 1899. Four children have been born to Henry W. Harding and his wife; Minnie B., born June 22, 1876; Eliza J., born May 2, 1879; Henry J., born November 8, 1884, and Ada H., born November 22, 1894.  Mr. Harding is a member of the Baptist Church. He is a Republican, and has been Township Clerk four years, has been School Director some fifteen years, and is now Supervisor. He is a member of Temple Lodge, No. 46. Ancient Free and Accepted Masons, of Peoria; of Memento Lodge. No. 42. Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Farmington; of Ferguson Lodge, No. 4732, Modern Woodmen of America at Hanna City, and of Hanna City Camp. No. 139, Knights of the Maccabees at Hanna City.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902



HOLT, FREDERICK; Farmer; born at Rosefield, Illinois, November 9, 1853, the son of James W. and Ellen Holt. His paternal grand-parents were John and Elizabeth Holt, natives of England. James Holt was a machinist by trade, came to America about 1830 and first settled in the city of Peoria. He purchased a farm farm on Section 32, Rosefield Township. He died in Eden, Logan Township, at the age of seventy-five years, and his wife died at seventy-one. They were members of the Methodist Church and he was Commissioner of Roads for Rosefield Township and School Director. Frederick Holt has been a farmer all his life; has one hundred and twenty acres of land on Section 32. November 16, 1875, he was married in Elmwood Township to Rosina Bagg. who was born in Rosefield Township, December 19, 1856, the daughter of Otis and Phoebe (Brown) Bagg, natives of New York, now living in Elmwood Township. Mr. and Mrs. Holt have two children: Charles F. and Otis J.  Mr. and Mrs. Holt are members of the Methodist Church. He is a Republican. He has been School Director three terms, and is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America at Hanna City.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902



KING, ANNIE (O'RILEY); Widow of Philip King; Rosefield Township; born in County Cavan, Ireland, April 16, 1841; received a common school education. Her paternal grandparents, Philip and Margaret (Fitzsimmons) O'Riley; her maternal grandparents, John and Elizabeth (Grey) Sheridan, were born in Ireland. Philip and Elizabeth (Sheridan) O'Riley, her parents, were natives of County Cavan.  She married Philip King at St. Mary's Church, Peoria, May 17, 1869. They had eight children: John James; William Christopher; Margaret Ellenor; Delia Jane; Philip Thomas; Mary Frances; Lizzie Annie and Taressa, deceased.  John J. married Annie McCan; William C. married Maggie Boland: Margaret E. is the wife of Michael Ibeck; Delia J. is the wife of Fred Antrum; Mary F. is the wife of Charles Wyman. Mrs. King came to America alone, landing in New York City in 1855, after being on the ocean fifty-two days. She at first made her home with John Leland. She then went to Fulton County, New York, and lived with Jane Simpson. She next came to Peoria, where she was married to Mr. King in St. Mary's Church, May 17, 1869.  They removed to this township, where her husband worked for a time on the railroad, and then purchased about forty acres of land near Oak Hill.  He was foreman on the Chicago, Burlington & Quincy Railroad, and was crippled so badly while trying to take a hand car off the track in front of a passenger train, that he died soon after the accident, May 17, 1894. Mrs. King belongs to the Catholic Church.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902



MOODY, JAMES M.; Farmer; born in Leeds, England, May 3, 1834; received a common school education. His parental grandparents, James and Margaret Moody, and his maternal grandparents, James and. Elizabeth Metcalfe, were born in England. His parents, John S. and Ann (Metcalfe) Moody, came from Leeds to America, settling in Rosefield Township, Peoria, on Section 29, in 1842. They were members of the Methodist Church and died at the old homestead. James M. Moody enlisted in Company K, Seventy-seventh Illinois Volunteers, September 3, 1862, and was in the following battles:  Chickasaw Bayou, Arkansas Post, Fort Gibson, Raymond, Champion Hills, Black River, Vicksburg, and at the battle of Mansfield, where he was taken prisoner, being released after thirteen months and fourteen days. He was discharged June 25, 1865.  Mr. Moody married Ellen H. Morris in Rosefield, April 26, 1860. They had nine children: Harry M., born April 26, 1861, died February 22, 1881; Nellie A., born April 10, 1863, died October 24, 1863; Howard, born May 13, 1866; Mary A., born March 15, 1868; Katie E., born July 19, 1870; James H., born January 2, 1875; Hartley H., born March 7, 1880; Harvey M., born March 9, 1882, died August 13. 1883: and Marcus H., born June 25, 1884.   Mrs. Moody was born in Rosefield Township April 17, 1843, the daughter, of Henry and Ann Morris. Her parents were born in England and came to Illinois in 1841, locating on Section 32. She died November 20, 1892. Mr. Moody is a Methodist, in politics a Republican, and has held the office of Road Commissioner.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902



REENTS, SIEBOLD; Farmer and, Carpenter; born in Ostfriesland, Germany, August 27, 1842. His parents, John and Alice Reents, were born in Germany. Siebold Reents came to the United States in 1867, and located in Peoria County. He began a farm in Rosefield Township and occasionally worked at his old trade as a carpenter. By his industry and economy he has become owner of over five hundred and twelve acres of land, from which he is now getting one hundred tons of coal each day, in addition to having several hundred acres under cultivation. He married Anna Meussen in Peoria September 9, l868.  They have six children living: George M., born May 10, 1871; John Henry, born June 18, 1873; Anna Sophia, born April 14, 1875 ; August, born August 28, 1877; Anton J., born July 3, 1879; and Siebold, born December 5, 1884. Mrs. Reents was born in Ostfriesland in 1846, the daughter of Jurgen and Anna (Sophia) Meussen. Her parents came to America in 1883 on a visit, and later returned to their native country. Mr. Reents is a member of the Lutheran Church; is a Democrat, and has been Supervisor eight terms, Road Commissioner nine years and was School Director, which office he has held for several terms. He is a successful farmer and devotes much time to the raising of stock; he has a large herd of high-bred cattle and a number of horses, sheep and hogs. Two of his sons and one daughter are managing a store in connection with the postoffice at Kramm.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902



RUPP, JOHN; Farmer; born June 8, 1836, in Somerset County, Pennsylvania, the son of George Rupp, a native of Maryland, and Elizabeth Rupp, a native of Connecticut.  George Rupp died in Somerset County, Pennsylvania. John Rupp came to Dixon, Illinois, in 1863, and to Rosefield in 1866. He purchased his present farm in 1885. He was a member of Company C, Nineteenth United States Infantry in the War of the Rebellion and took part in the battle of Shiloh and other engagements. He married Margaret Wilkinson at Peoria, October 29, 1867. She was born in Ohio March 5, 1845, the daughter of William and Cynthia Ann (Walton) Wilkinson. Her parents came from Ohio to Rosefield Township, where her father purchased a farm in the fall of 1845. Mr. and Mrs. Rupp have eight children:  Alameda, John Byron, Eliza Lena, Cynthia Centennial, Daisy Violet, Mary Dellie, Fred H. and Gale A. Alameda married William Howe. Lena was married but her husband is now deceased. Byron married Mary Hanny. Mr. Rupp was educated in the common schools. He votes the Republican ticket, and has been School Director.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902



SCOTT, ROBERT; Farmer; born in Syracuse, New York, November 8, 1843; received a common school education.  His parents, John and Sarah Scott, were natives of Scotland. They came to America at an early day, settling at Syracuse, New York. Robert, when a young man, left home to locate in the West, and came to Peoria County in 1852. He did not at first settle here, but spent several years in travel, transacting business in Indiana, Ohio, Iowa and Kentucky. He then returned to Peoria County and began farming on Section 16. Rosefield Township, where he has eighty acres of well improved land, On August 7, 1877, he was married in Peoria to Eliza LaMay, daughter of David and Barbara LaMay, born in Peoria County April 5, 1855. They have five children: Cora Isadore, born August 7, 1878; Sarah Eva, born August 17, 1881; Ida May, born March 17, 1883; Albert Robert, born December 10, 1885; and Archibald Sylvester, born December 6, 1888, died August. 14, 1889. Mrs. Scott's parents were natives of Virginia and died in Radnor Township, where they had made their home for many years. Cora Isadore Scott was married February 28, 1900, to James H. Edwards, and they have one child, Lethea Cora, born December 19, 1900. Mrs. Scott is a member of the Baptist Church. Mr. Scott is a Democrat and has been School Director for seven years; is one of the influential citizens of his township.
 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 


 
 
ALEXANDER LIGHTBODY.

To Mr. Lightbody, Timber Township has many elements of interest and many claims upon its most conscientious and painstaking citizenship. It not only represents the field of his father's tireless pioneer undertakings, and his own ambitious striving and success, but is as well the place of his birth, which occurred May 8, 1849. He comes of a family which has been glad and proud to associate itself with agricultural enterprises, a tendency handed down from a worthy Irish ancestry, the emigrating descendant of which, the grandfather, Isaac Lightbody, came to America and settled in Ohio in 1826. With him to America came his son, Jinkenson, the father of Alexander, who was born in Rich Hill, County Armagh, Ireland, January 20, 1823, and who settled with the family in Coshocton County, Ohio, when but three years of age. October 26, 1837, they removed to Section 27, Timber Township, where Jinkenson Lightbody became a man of affairs, accumulating in time three hundred and twenty acres of land. One of the deeds to a portion of this land is of historical interest, having been written on parchment and signed by President of the United States, John Tyler. He married Mary Ann Ticknor, who was born in New York State December 20, 1822, her parents being Thomas and Laura L. (Standish) Ticknor, natives of New York. Mr. and Mrs. Jinkenson Lightbody were the parents of eleven children, five of whom are living: Alexander, Mark, Chauncey J., Theodore and Laura, who is now the widow of Stewart M. Sprague, who died February 5, 1895.

When twenty-one years of age Alexander Lightbody engaged in independent farming in Timber Township, and he now has a farm of one hundred and twenty-nine acres on Section 31. His family arc housed comfortably, and his live stock and implements are cared for in convenient and modern buildings.  An intelligent understanding of his chosen occupation has brought success his way, and a fair allowance of worldly reward for labor invested. His interests have extended to the general requirements of good county government and, as a stanch upholder of Democratic principles, he has aided in formulating and maintaining order and progress. As the friend and promoter of education, he has held the position of School Director for over twelve years.  February 14, 1875, in, Fulton County, Illinois, he married Hattie Soper, who was born in Orion Township, Fulton County, February 8, 1857, a daughter of Samuel and Rebecca (Gass) Soper, natives, respectively, of New Jersey and Indiana. Mr. and Mrs. Soper came to Fulton County when young people and were married February 24, 1847.   Mr. Soper died December. 3, 1891, at his home in Fulton County, where his wife is still living. The following named children have been born to Mr. and Mrs. Lightbody: Lewis R., who was born December 3, 1875, married Maggie Smith, has one son, Clyde, and is living near the old homestead; Theda Ellen, died June 13, 1877, at the age of four months; Ivy Myrtle, horn May 15, 1879, and died June 25, 1880; Alta May, born October 4, 1883: Leslie Alexander, born May 4, 1888; and Grace Ethel, who was born March l, 1893.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



BARRON, JOHN; Contractor, Glasford: born in Aberdeenshire, Scotland, in August, 1844; one of nine children born to George and Catherine (White) Barron, who were natives of the same locality.  His paternal grandfather died about 1817, and his widow, whose maiden name was Brown, afterward married George Bruce. About 1843, this worthy couple came to this country and located at Lockport, Illinois, where they reached old age and where a number of their descendants still reside. George Barron learned the trade of millwright, which he followed successfully in Scotland, for many years. His wife died in 1885 and, about five years later, he came to the United States and made his home with his son, James. His death occurred in Timber Township August 28, 1900, when he had attained the age of eighty-four years. He was a man of stanch character and remarkable physical endurance. Only three or four of his children reside in the United States. John Barron, whose name heads this sketch, received a high school education at Fraziersburg and other places in Aberdeenshire. In the fall of 1863 he came to America and learned the trade of stone mason at Joliet, Illinois. A few years later he began contracting for stone work in partnership with his uncle, Alexander Bruce, under the firm name of Bruce & Barren. This line of business he has since followed, the firm name for several years past being Barron & Pease, and their office at Marseilles, Illinois. This concern makes a specialty of building sub-structures for railroad bridges, and has filled many  extensive contracts for various corporations. Among the most important of these may be mentioned those for bridges across the Mississippi River at Minneapolis, Muscatine and Dubuque. Also seven bridges at different points on the Illinois River. The business has prospered and a large number of skilled artisans, as well as many laborers, are employed. Since 1878 Mr. Barren has lived in the village of Glasford, where himself and family are held in the highest regard by their neighbors. He has a fine farm of two hundred and eighty acres in Timber Township, which is devoted to breeding live stock.  November 19, 1878, occurred the marriage of Mr. Barren with Miss Agnes Hootman, daughter of Samuel and Lydia (Fuller) Hootman, who were old settlers and respected citizens of Timber Township. Of the children born to Mr. and Mrs. Barron, one died in infancy and five are living: Samuel, the eldest, is a licensed preacher and has developed noteworthy oratorical ability; the others are named, respectively, Kate, John, Robert and Ralph. Mr. Barren was reared in the Presbyterian faith, which he still holds. He is a Republican, but in no sense a politician.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



BECANON, HENRY: Farmer and Cooper; born October 15, 1831, in Guernsey County, Ohio. He is the son of Robert and Rebecca (Maple) Becanon, the former born in Pennsylvania, July 26, 1894, died January 15. 1850; the latter born in Ohio in 1807, died August 23, 1874. His paternal grandfather was James Becanon, of Penn- sylvania; his maternal grandparents were William and Mary Maple. Robert Becanon brought his family to Illinois and settled in Hollis Township In 1837, where he purchased a farm. Henry Becanon learned the cooper's trade, at which he worked fifteen years. He has a farm of ninety-five acres including portions of Sections 12 and 13, in Timber Township. He has good buildings and a pleasant home.  He married Charlotte Maple in Timber Township in. 1857. She was born in Hollis Township in 1839, daughter of Abraham and Ruhamah Maple, natives of Ohio. She died March 29, 1886. Nine children were born of this union: Judson, deceased; Clara, now living in the State of Washington; William H., killed in the Homestake Mine in the Black Hills; Herschel F., living in California; Charlotte, deceased; John, of Lead City, South Dakota; Robert W., of Kingston Mines; and Thomas B., a telegraph operator. William, a brother of Mr. Becanon, who died August 25, 1838, aged eigt years, was the first person buried in Maple Ridge Cemetery.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 




BRISENDINE, WILLIAM A., M. D.; Glasford; born at Salem, North Carolina, September 19, 1829, is a son of Abner W. and Fanny (Strawn) Brisendine, natives, respectively, of Rockingham County, North Carolina, and Chatham, New York, and a grandson of Philip and Susan Brisendine. Philip Brisendine, a farmer, died at an advanced age in North Carolina. Abner W. Brisendine was a carpenter and he came to Illinois and lived some years near Waverly, Morgan County, and died in Texas. William A. went to Tennessee in 1858 and came to Illinois in 1860, when he began the study of medicine. He entered regularly upon the practice of his profession in 1863, but before and after that date had valuable hospital experience at Nashville, Tennessee, where he served during the Civil War by appointment of Governor Yates. He has been in continuous and successful practice to the present time. From his twelfth year he has taken an active interest in religious work, and was licensed to preach as a local minister of the Methodist Church at the Conference of 1890, and since then has filled the pulpit from time to time. Dr. Brisendine's first wife, Judith Wilson, a native of Lockville, North Carolina, was born December 16, 1826, and died January 38, 1882. She bore him children as follows: Magdalena Dupee, born December 15, 1854; Isabella Ellen, deceased; Sarah Frances, born September 20, 1858; Ida Bell, born May 29, 1860;  Mentor, born November 8, 1867; Wooster B., born December 11, 1869; Myrtle Alien, born May 24, 1871, died July 29, following. Dr. Brisendine was married in Chicago October 6, 1892, to Mary J. McTaggart, widow of Dr. Royal McTaggart, late of Bellville, Canada. Mrs. Brisendine was born in Ontario County, New York, June 10, 1849, the daughter of David and Jane (Westfall) Cole, natives of Orange County, same State. Her father was an adjutant in the New York State militia, and his commission from Governor Seward is preserved. He died at Glasford, aged seventy-nine years. Her mother died at Coldwater, Michigan.  Dr. Brisendine is a Republican and a Trustee of the village of Glasford.   Fraternally he is a Mason, an Odd Fellow and a member of the Rebekah degree. He built his first residence at Glasford in 1869 and has a pleasant home there, and owns sixty acres of land two miles from the village.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



DUFIELD, SILAS S.; Farmer and Supervisor; born February 20, 1854; son of Andrew J. and Malinda J. (Scott) Dufield. The father was born in Ripley County, Indiana, in 1824, and died May 12, 1900, at the old homestead on Section 22, Timber Township; the mother was born in Illinois on the banks of the Wabash, near Terre Haute, in 1828, and died July 31, l897. The paternal grandfather was William Dufield, a native of West Virginia. The maternal grandmother, Africa Lee, born in Richmond, Virginia, was a daughter of Captain Henry Lee of Revolutionary fame. Andrew J. Dufield arrived in Timber Township in November, 1829, when Indians still inhabited this part of the State, and during the balance of his life he was a farmer.  He was a Democrat. His family were members of the Baptist Church a half century. Silas S. Dufield began farming at twenty-one years of age. He married Harriet Saylor in Timber Township, February 21, 1877 and they have four children: Andrew L., born July 12, 1878; Cora A., born May 28, 1881; Clarence H.. born February 6, 1892; and Henry L., born in Nebraska, March 6, 1895. Mrs. Dufield is the daughter of George W. and Amy (Fuller) Saylor, and was born in Timber Township September 4, 1853. Mrs. Dufield is a member of the Methodist Church. In politics Mr. Dufield is a Democrat. He held the office of School Trustee from 1885 to 1891; was Assessor three years and in 1899 was elected Supervisor, serving two years. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. He has a farm of two hundred and seven acres, and is recognized as one of the progressive farmers of Timber Township.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



EAGLES, WALTER; Carpenter and Hotel Keeper; Glasford; was born in Ligonier, Noble County, Indiana, November 30, 1861. His parents are Thomas and Agnes E. (Frienk) Eagles. The father is a native of New York City, of Holland lineage. In early life he came to Indiana and about 1870 removed thence to Illinois, settling on a farm in Mason County. He now lives in Havana and enjoys robust health, though sixty-nine years of age. His wife, who is one year younger, was born on Grenadier Island, in the St. Lawrence River, Canada. Her father. Nathen Frienk, was of French descent.  Walter Eagles learned the carpenter's trade, which he has followed most of the time since coming to Peoria County in 1885. For eight years past he has been proprietor of Glasford House. He is an enthusiastic hunter and fisherman, meeting with uniform success in the pursuit of his favorite sports in the intervals of leisure from his other occupations.  He has reared and owned some of the best bred hunting dogs in Peoria County. He has served the village in various official capacities, including those of Constable and Police Magistrate. January 3, 1888, he married Jennie Kelley, a native of Orion Township, Fulton County, an energetic lady who spares no pains in providing for the comfort of the guests of the Glasford House.  Her father, John B.
Kelley, was born in Cattaraugus County, New York, and came to Illinois about 1838, reaching Canton soon after the destruction of that place by a severe storm. He improved a farm of three hundred and twenty acres in Orion Township, where his death occurred August 10, 1892, at the age of seventy-two years, having never recovered from injuries received about three years earlier in the memorable Chatsworth disaster. His brother, Job, was killed in the same catastrophe. Edie Kelley, the father of these brothers, was of Irish lineage. He conducted a large dairy and sugar camp in Cattaraugus County, New York, where he reached the age of eighty years.  His wife, Elizabeth Parker, was of French descent. John B. Kelley was first married to Betty Smith. His second wife, Rachel Proctor, the mother of Mrs. Eagles, was born in McLeansboro, Illinois. She died September 15, 1892, at the age of seventy-two years. Her father, Joseph Proctor, became a citizen of Peoria County and died in Trivoli Township. His widow, Jane (Matthews) Proctor, survived him and reached a great age. Mr. and Mrs. Proctor were born near Louisville. Kentucky. The parents of Mrs. Eagles adopted Grace Richardson into their family, when she was two and a half years old, and, after the death of her mother, she lived with Mrs. Eagles until her marriage with David Howard, a cigar manufacturer of Galesburg. They have two daughters Agnes B. and Ruth L.  Politically Mr. Eagles is a Democrat.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



FAHNESTOCK, COL. ALLEN L.; Merchant; Glasford; born at Abbottstown, Adams County, Pennsylvania, February 9, 1828; traces his ancestry back to his great-grandfather, Deidrich Fahnestock, born in Westphalia, Prussia, in 1696, died in 1775. His grandfather, Jacob, was born December 25, 1769, and his grandmother, Salome Fahnestock. November 14, 1772; his father, Jacob Fahnestock, born in Adams County, Pennsylvania, January 26, 1801, died September 9, 1841, in Lancaster. Peoria County. He married Maria Harmon, born in Adams County, Pennsylvania, May 16, 1806, died May 24, 1895. In 1839 Allen L. Fahnestock stock went to St. Louis, where he worked in a store. Later he returned to Timber Township and carried the mail once a week between Lancaster and Peoria for twenty-five cents a trip. After attending school for a brief period he went to Peoria and learned the cooper's trade of James Souls.  Out of his first year's wages he saved thirty-five dollars, and out of the second sixty dollars. Returning to Lancaster, he made flour barrels at fifteen cents a piece for J. W. Robbins. After his marriage he bought a shop and became a manufacturer. He employed a force of hands and made a great many barrels. About this time he was elected Township Clerk—his first office. Later he was elected Supervisor, and between 1856 and 1861 he served as Township School Treasurer. August 27, 1862, he was commissioned Captain of Company I, Eighty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was mustered into service August 27, 1862; was commissioned Major October 13 1863; Lieutenant-Colonel April 13, 1864; and Colonel May 11, 1865. He was mustered out of the service June 6, 1865. In 1866 he was elected Treasurer of Peoria County and served one term. Since 1856 he has been engaged in the mercantile business, selling dry goods, groceries, drugs and millinery. He also deals in lumber, brick, coal and lime, and buys grain, carrying on a large and flourishing business. He has an extensive and valuable collection of fossils, petrifactions and relics, consisting of six thousand specimens, worth thousands of dollars, and requiring years to collect.   Colonel Fahnestock married Sarah E. Doane in Timber Township, August 5, 1847.  She was born in Massachusetts in 1830, daughter of S. B. and Lucretia (Johnson) Doane, natives of Massachusetts. There were six children of this union, five of whom are living:  Charles, Alphonso, Frank, John and Mary.  All are married.   Colonel Fahnestock has always been a Republican and belongs to Timber Post, No, 432, G. A. R. He was the first Post Commander and was subsequently re-elected several terms; is also a member of the Masonic order, having attained to the Royal Arch degree.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



FRIESS, BERNARD; Farmer and Dealer in Machines; born in France, near the Swiss frontier, August 28, 1827; is the grandson of Thomas Friess, a native of France, who accompanied General Lafayette to America and fought for independence during the Revolutionary War. At the close of the war he returned to France, where he attained the age of one hundred and fifteen years. His son, Joseph, the father of Bernard, served twelve years in the French army under Napoleon Bonaparte. Bernard Friess fought on the side of the Republic in the Revolution of 1848, for which he was compelled to leave France. He came to America in 1853, remaining for a time in New York and Pennsylvania, settling in Timber Township, Peoria County, in 1855. He enlisted in Company I, Eighty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, Third Brigade, Second Division, Fourteenth Army Corps, and served
under Colonel A. L. Fahnestock, of Glasford, Illinois. He entered the service August 27, 1862, and was discharged January 21, 1865. He was in the commands of Generals Buell, Thomas, Rosecrans and Sherman. Mr. Friess married Mary Bowers, a native of Strasburg, Germany, in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, March 4, 1854, and they had one child, John Friess. Mrs. Friess died January 27, 1890, aged seventy-nine. Mr. Friess has a large farm. He is a member of the United Brethren, of Christ. In politics he is a Republican; is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic, and in 1900 was Commander of  Timber Post. No. 432, at Glasford.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



HARRISON, JOHN R.; Physician; Glasford; born in Cuba, Fulton County, Illinois, March 18, 1858; is the grandson of Gambo and Minerva Harrison, natives of Virginia. His parents were Spencer and Georgiana (Hall) Harrison, the former living at Cuba; the mother is deceased. Mrs. Harrison was the daughter of John and Katie Hall, natives of Virginia.  Spencer Harrison moved from Virginia to Ohio, and then to Illinois, where he settled in 1857, living one year at Bushnell, and then settling in Cuba. He is a carpenter. Dr. Harrison attended the College of Physicians and Surgeons at Keokuk, Iowa, from which he graduated in 1892; came to Glasford the same year and began his practice, which is now large and profitable.  May 5, 1881, he was married at Warrensburg, Macon County, Illinois, to Mina Vail, who was born in Deland,  Piatt County, Illinois, February 17, 1862, the daughter of John and Mary (Drais) Vail, natives of Ohio, who are now living in Deland. Dr. and Mrs. Harrison have two children: Lois Georgia, born August 20, 1883, and Lela Gladys, born August 19, 1889. Dr. Harrison is a Democrat and holds the office of School Director. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America. Mrs. Harrison is a member of the Royal Neighbors and the Eastern Star. Since 1897 Dr. Harrison has resided on a farm in the village of Glasford, where he and his family have an ideal home.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



HOOTMAN, SAMUEL J.; Farmer; born November 18, 1834, in Coshocton County, Ohio; the son of Samuel Hootman, a native of Pennsylvania, and Lydia (Shaw) Hootman, a native of Ohio. His grandfather, Henry Hootman, a native of Red Bank, Pennsylvania, married Nellie Farmer, of the same State. In 1838, when but four years of age, Samuel J. Hootman came with his uncle, David Hodman, to Timber Township, and has resided here ever since. In the following year his father moved to the same neighborhood. He was Commissioner of Highways in Hollis Township for many. years. At Peoria. April 16, 1857, Samuel J. Hootman and Jemima Fuller were married.  Of this marriage four children were born: James H., born June 18, 1856; Sarah, born June 3, 1860; La- vinia, born July 5, 1865; and John, born September 16, 1871.  Sarah married Joseph Hyde and lives in Princeville. John died February 13, 1872. Lavinia died in April, 1888. Mrs. Hootman was the daughter of James and Sarah Fuller, natives of Pennsylvania, and was born in Knox County, Ohio, August 20, 1839. Mr. Hootman's second marriage was with Rua Diselms, born in Hollis Township September 13, 1853.  Her father, James Diselms, was born October 19, 1820, in Pennsylvania, and her mother, Mary Anna (Addy) Diselms, April 8, 1818, in Guernsey County Ohio. Mr. and Mrs. Diselms came to Peoria County about 1846. Mr. Hootman has combined farming and the carpenter's trade. He is a member and Trustee of the Baptist Church, and politically is a Democrat. He has been a member of the Masonic fraternity for forty-two years. He has lived on his present farm in the village of Glasford since 1866, and has fitted the same with commodious buildings; also owns some other village property. He has witnessed the transformation of Peoria from a frontier village containing but two stores to its present metropolitan proportions. When he came to the county Indians were as numerous as white people, and the largest field under cultivation in Timber Township contained about twelve acres.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



JACKSON, STEPHEN H.; Farmer and Cooper; Timber Township; born in Saratoga County, New York, August 27, 1832; is the son of Chester and Phoebe (Smith) Jackson. The father was born in Saratoga County, February 15, l760, and died in Peoria February 12, 1867; the mother was born in New York September 29, 1795, and died there December 21, 1834. Stephen H. Jackson came to Illinois in 1852 and worked on the Illinois Central Railroad. Later he went to St. Louis and came up the river to Peoria, where his brother, Hiram, lived. After working on the railroad again, he learned the cooper's trade, at which he worked in Peoria till he removed to Timber Township, where he purchased a farm. After going upon the farm he carried on both farming and coopering for some years.  He was a soldier in Company K, Forty-seventh Illinois Volunteer Infantry, during the Civil War, from which he was discharged at the close of hostilities. He has been School Director for fourteen years. He is a member of the Methodist Church.  His political affiliations are Republican.   He was married in Timber Township July ,3, 1855, to Joanna E. Vickers, born in Timber Township December 20, 1832, the daughter of Thomas and Nancy Vickers. The father was born in England and came to Illinois in 1828. The mother was born in Pennsylvania.  The eight children of this marriage are: Thomas Chester died in infancy; William J., born May 31, 1857; Lucretia, born March 18, 1850; Nancy M., born December 2, 1861; Isaac N., born February 12, 1864; Mary, born January 3, 1868; Ida E., born August 28, 1870; and Florence M., born April 10, 1875.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



KUYKENDALL, CHRISTIAN N.; Farmer; born in Ashland County, Ohio, Christmas, 1836, is a grandson of James Kuykendall, of German birth, who married Anna Aten, a native of Pennsylvania, and a son of their son, Ira A. Kuykendall, who was born at Big Beaver, Pennsylvania, August 4, 1812, and married Rebecca Neff, born at Newmarket, Virginia, a daughter of Christian and Anna (Haymaker) Neff, natives of Holland.  Ira A. Kuykendall settled in Fulton County, Illinois, in 1844, when his son, Christian N., was eight years old, and is living on the farm he bought then. Christian Kuykendall learned the the blacksmith and the carpenter's trade, but has devoted himself principally to farming. He located on his fine farm of one hundred and twenty-two acres in Section 29, Timber Township, in 1874.  In politics he is a Democrat, is a Mason and, with his wife, holds membership in the Auxiliary Order of the Eastern Star. He married in Fulton County, December 20, 1862, Frances E. Smith, born March 24, 1844, a daughter of William and Elizabeth (Wilcoxen) Smith. Mr. Smith was born in Smithfield, Virginia, and Mrs. Smith in Fulton County. Both are deceased.  Christian N. and Frances E. (Smith) Kuykendall have four children: Anna V., born May 12, 1863, married Albert Warden, of Canton; James W., born January 31, 1865, married Mertie Wright and lives at Leland, Idaho; Frances S., born May 17, 1870, married Nelson Sprague, of Timber Township; Elizabeth May, born January 21, 1877, and is the wife of Walter Sprague, of Timber Township.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



LEONARD, JOSEPH HENRY; Farmer; born in Newfane, Niagara County, New York, August 30, 1840, the son of Conrad Leonard, a native of Seneca County, New York, who died near Dunnsville, Ontario, at the age of sixty-five years, and Mary (Stilwell) Leonard, a native of Monmouth, New Jersey, who died at Mason, Ingham County, Michigan, aged eighty-four years. The latter was a daughter of Abraham and Polly Stilwell. In his youth, Joseph H. Leonard gave considerable time to traveling, and spent nearly one year in the United States Navy, being discharged June 8, 1865. In 1879, he came to Illinois and settled on a farm in Timber Township, where he now owns two hundred acres with good improvements. He is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic Post at Glasford. He was a School Director one term. In Springfield Township, Erie County, Pennsylvania, September 23, 1866, he married Ella J. Ball, a native of Girard Township, Erie County, Pennsylvania, born April 26, 1850, daughter of Cornelius and Lydia (Seeley) Ball.  Mr. Ball was born near Baltimore, Maryland, and died in Girard Township, Erie County, Pennsylvania, but in 1900 his wife still survived at Kingston, DeKalb County, Illinois, at the age of ninety-seven. She was born in Vermont. Mr. and Mrs. Leonard are the parents of six children, four now living: Inez May (Mrs. Albert Clinebell, of Peoria); Charles; Agnes B., deceased; Lewis Oakley; and Frank Beauford. One child died in infancy. In politics, Mr. Leonard is a Republican.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



LIGHTBODY, CHAUNCEY J.; Farmer; born in Timber Township, April 29, 1859. He is the grandson of Isaac, and son of Jinkenson Lightbody, both natives of Ireland. Jinkenson Lightbody was born at Rich Hill, County Armagh, January 20, 1823, and died January 10, 1899. He married Mary Ann Ticknor, a native of New York, born December 20, 1821. She was the daughter of Thomas and Laura A. Ticknor, natives of New York. Jenkinson Lightbody was brought to Ohio when three years old, and came to Peoria County, Illinois, October 26, 1837. He had about three hundred and twenty acres of land at his death. Theodore Lightbody, brother of Chauncey J., has the original title deed to part of his land, written on parchment and signed by John Tyler, President of the United States. Mr. Lightbody has two hundred and seventy acres of land, a part of which is situated in the Illinois bottom. In politics, he is a Republican. His first wife was Minnie Shreffler, who was born in Timber Township in 1869, daughter of James and Eliza Shreffler, natives of Pennsylvania, and early settlers in Peoria County. The children of this marriage are: Millie Eliza, born August 26, 1888, and Howard D., born March 10, 1891. Mrs. Lightbody died in March, 1891. Mr. Lightbody's second marriage was with Maggie May Winn, in Pekin, November 23, 1894. She was born in Banner Township, Fulton County, Illinois, January 18, 1875, daughter of Charles and Harriet Winn.  The father is dead, but the mother lives in Fulton County.  Of this union there are four children: Ethel May, born October 1, 1895; Gladys, born April 19, 1896; Minor Roy, who died at the age of eighteen months; Jesse, born May 25, 1899.  Mr. Lightfoot is one of the most progressive farmers and stockmen in Timber Township. His buildings are new and modern, and the farm is thoroughly stocked with first class implements and conveniences.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



NEWSAM, THOMAS; Coal Mine Operator; Kingston, Timber Township, born at Blackburn, Lancashire, England, September 3, 1855. He is the son of John and Sarah (Blakeley) Newsam, natives of Yorkshire, England. The father came to America and settled at Orchard Mines, Peoria County, in 1869. In the following year his family followed, sailing from England on June 10, 1870. He was a cotton-spinner, but failing sight compelled him to change his employment. He died February 12, 1901, at the home of his son, Richard, in Peoria. Thomas and Richard Newsam, under the firm name of Newsam Brothers, are operating the following mines: The Star Mines, the Hanna City and Farmington Mines on the Iowa Central Railroad, and the Kingston and the Reed City Mines on the Toledo, Peoria & Western Railway, the combined output of which is about fifteen hundred tons daily. Mr. Newsam married Miranda Jane Jacobs in the city of Peoria, in December, 1879, and has one daughter, Mary. Mrs. Newsam was born near Kingston, Peoria County, August 11, 1861, the daughter of Peter and Mary (Keely) Jacobs, natives of Pennsylvania, who came to Illinois and settled near Kingston. Mr. Newsam is a Mason, a member of the Blue Lodge, the Consistory and the Mystic Shrine. In politics he is a Republican.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



PHILLIPS, HENRY T.; Farmer; Timber Township; born in Limestone Township, April 8, 1853.  His great- grandfather was Zebadiah Phillips, who came from Ireland and settled in Rhode Island before the Revolutionary War, in which he participated under General Washington. His grandfather, Nehemiah Phillips, was a native of Providence, Rhode Island.   His father, Luke M. Phillips. was born in Providence, September 5, 1812, and died in Timber Township, October 3, 1891. He married Maria Houghtaling, who was born in Kingston, New York, July 15, 1811, and died March 9, 1899.  She was the daughter of John Houghtaling, born in Holland, and Margaret Ellsworth, a native of Kingston. Luke M. Phillips removed from Providence, Rhode Island, to Fort Wayne, Indiana, where he learned the carpenter's trade. He came to the city of Peoria, Illinois, in the spring of 1841, worked at his trade for some time and then bought a farm in Limestone Township. He afterwards purchased another farm in Timber Township, comprising parts of Section 4 and 5. In April, 1853, he settled on Section 4, where he spent the rest of his life. While in Limestone Township he served as Road Commissioner. The children of Luke M. and Maria Phillips are: Henry T.; Rhoba L., the wife of James H. Stewart ; Cynthia A.; and Achsah M., deceased. Henry T. Phillips was educated in the common schools and in the Peoria Business College. He is a Republican. He has a farm of two hundred and forty acres, with good buildings. On September 15, 1898, his home was struck by lightning and burned with nearly all the contents. Loss about $3,000.00. It was replaced the same season by a large, modern farmhouse.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



RIEDELBAUCH, BERNHARD; Farmer; Timber Township, where he was born April 21, 1873.   His parents were John and Paulina (Lorenz) Riedelbauch, natives of Germany. John Riedelbauch came to America and settled in Timber Township, and afterwards bought a farm in Section 29. His wife dying in 1893, he moved to California in 1896, where he bought a farm and now resides. He also owns one hundred and twenty acres of land in Timber Township. Bernhard and Philip Riedelbauch own a farm ot eighty acres in Section 29, Timber Township, which they work together. They raise a large number of hogs and cattle. Mr. Reidelbauch was educated in the common schools. His politics is Democratic. He is a member of the Methodist Church. January 10, 1901, he was married to Delia Butler, born May 26, 1876, the daughter of Neal and Leaper Butler, residents of Farmington, Fulton County, where Mr. Butler owns a good 'farm within the corporate limits of that village.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



ROBINSON, THOMAS, (deceased); Miner and Farmer; was born in England in 1814, and died in Timber Township, in 1861. He mined coal in England and after coming to America was, for several years, in charge of mines at Kingston. He married Mrs. Drusilla Bush in Timber Township, November 22, 1849, and they became the parents of six children: Amanda Ann, who married Joseph Brown; Robert, who married Sarah Laird, of Indiana; Alice A., who married Thomas Jefford, of Kingston Mines; Jane, who married Daniel Farmer, of Pekin; Roderick, and Thomas, who died in infancy. Mrs. Robinson, born in Mason County. Kentucky, December 18, 1816, is a daughter of Nathaniel and Phoebe (Fry) Clifton.  Her father was born in Virginia and died in Hollis Township, in 1848, aged sixty-four years. Her mother, a native of Kentucky, who died there in 1827, was a daughter of a patriot soldier who was killed in the Revolutionary War. Mrs. Robinson's paternal grandfather, Rev. Baldwin Clifton of the Baptist Church, a native of Virginia, and a soldier in the war for American independence, settled in Kentucky soon after that struggle and eventually married Sarah McCarthy, who died at Cincinnati. Nathaniel Cliffton came from Kentucky to Illinois by water, via Cincinnati and St. Louis, in 1835, and bought eighty acres of wild land in Hollis Township at three dollars an acre, on which he lived the remainder of his life. He was married three times and by his first wife had three daughters: Drusilla (Mrs. Robinson) and two others who live at Pekin— Almira, widow of J. McGrew, and Serelda, widow of James McGrew. Drusilla married William Egman, who died six years later.  Nathaniel, their only son, a member of Company I, Eighty-sixth Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, died in the service of his country of typhus fever, November 26, 1862, in his twenty-first year. William Egman was born in Champaign County, Ohio, and was brought by his parents to Illinois in 1825. The family came by wagon, driving their stock before them, and on their arrival camped on the farm now owned by Mrs. Robinson.  Frank J. Bush, Mrs. Robinson's second husband, died four months after their marriage.  Mrs. Robinson has lived on her farm in Timber Township since 1835. She is a Methodist. Mr. Robinson was a Republican.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



SCARCLIFF, THOMAS; Farmer and Coal Operator; born in Nocton, Lincolnshire, England, July 4, 1849.  His father was Thomas W. Scarcliff, also of Lincolnshire, born in June, 1820, and died in 1883. He married Hannah Parker, a native of Lincolnshire. His grandfathers were William Scarcliff and P. Parker, born in England. Thomas W. Scarcliff sailed from England, April 14, 1853, and went to Canada, whence he came to Peoria in 1857, and located on part of Section 12, Timber Township, where he became the owner of about one hundred and thirty acres of land, and worked at farming and coal mining the remainder of his life.   Thomas Scarcliff bought the old homestead after his father's death, and his employment is similar to that of his father's. He has a vein of coal on his farm four feet ten inches deep, which grades number five coal, of which he sells about ten thousand bushels a year. His farm contains two hundred and ninety acres, upon which there is a fine orchard. In 1870, Mr. Scarcliff took a trip through Iowa, Nebraska and Kansas, but did not find any attractions superior to those of Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Scarcliff are members of the Church of United Brethren in Christ, and the family attend church at Copperas Creek Chapel. Mr. Scarcliff is Class leader and Superintendent of the Sabbath School. June 16, 1870, he married Nancy Jane Brown, of Timber Township, daughter of George W. and Elizabeth (Fuller) Brown, and born in Guernsey County, Ohio, October 22, 1849. The children of this marriage are: Charles, who married Frances Jackson; George W., who married Millie Snyder; Lewis Roy; Stanley; Lida Bell, deceased; Ivy May; Addie Belle; and Thomas Henry.  Mr. and Mrs. Brown were born in Ohio. Mrs. Brown died in Coshocton County. Mr. Brown now resides near Smithville, Peoria County. He served three years in the War of the Rebellion and in politics is a Republican.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



SCOTT, GEORGE W.; Farmer and Teacher; was born in Timber Township, January 20, 1863.  His grandfather, William L. Scott, a native of Scotland, married Africa Lee, of New Richmond, Virginia, and came from Montgomery County, Kentucky, where he resided, to Peoria County, Illinois, in 1828. At that time there were many Indians in the county. The streams were full of fish and wild game abounded. His parents were Shadrach Scott, born in Montgomery County, Kentucky, and Lucy Ann (Doane) Scott, born in Lowell, Massachusetts.  His maternal great-grandparents were Edward Doane, of Massachusetts, and Sarah Brown; his grandparents, Seth B. and Lucretia (Johnson) Doane, also natives of Massachusetts. Mr. Scott has a farm of eighty acres. He is a graduate of Fort Scott College at Fort Scott, Kansas, and for eleven years past has spent a part of each year in teaching. He is now preparing the genealogy of the Doane family, which he traces back to the "Mayflower." He is a Democrat in political faith, and is a member of the Knights of Pythias. He married Maggie McAvoy in Kansas City, Missouri, December 31, 1885. She was born near Charleston, West Virginia, March 13, 1866, the daughter of James and Martha (Frame) McAvoy, natives of Virginia, who came to Illinois in 1869. Mr. and Mrs. Scott are the parents of two children:  Harry P., born November 26, 1887; and Ralph S., born December 10, 1897.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



STEWART, JAMES H.; Farmer; born in Timber Township, September 2, 1850, the son of Walter and Nancy E. (Turbett) Stewart. The father was born in Washington County, New York, February 21, 1813, and died December 20, 1878; the mother, daughter of John and Nancy (Beatty) Turbett, was born in Juniata County, Pennsylvania, July 30, 1824, and died January 27, 1900.  James Stewart, the grandfather, a native of Scotland, married Sarah McCoy. In 1837, the father, grandfather and members of their families left Oswego County, New York, in wagons, and made their way in six weeks to Timber Township, where they took up land on Section 5 from time to time as they were able. The titles of these lands are written on parchment and signed by Presidents Martin Van Buren, James K. Polk and Franklin Pierce, respectively. Mr. and Mrs. Walter Stewart were members of the Presbyterian Church at Smithville. After their death the property was divided among their children. James H. Stewart married Rhoba L. Phillips in Timber Township, September 1, 1881. Mrs. Stewart is the daughter of Luke M. and Maria (Houghtaling) Phillips, born in Peoria County, September 5, 1847. Her father was born in Providence, Rhode Island, and her mother in Kingston, New York. Two children were born to Mr. and Mrs. Stewart: Mary E., born July 6, 1883, and Walter H., born December 24, 1885.  Mr. Stewart began life for himself at thirty-one and has always been a farmer. He has a fine farm of two hundred and thirty acres with good buildings. He is a member of the United Presbyterian Church. He is a Democrat, and has been School Director for many years.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



 

STEWART, THOMAS M.; Farmer; born in Timber Township, February 16, 1851; son of George and Ann Eliza (Turbett) Stewart. The father was born in Washington County, New York, and the mother in Ohio. James Stewart, the grandfather of Thomas, was a native of Scotland. George Stewart came to Illinois by way of the Great Lakes in 1835. He took up Government land on Section 4, Timber Township, and built his home in the forest, and there enjoyed the pleasures and endured the hardships of pioneer life. In order to raise money to pay his taxes, he hauled his pork to LaSalle, where he received pay for it in gold. He died May 6, 1876, aged sixty- five years. He was an elder in the United Presbyterian Church at Smithville, which he helped to organize. He was a Democrat and served as Township Collector and filled other places of trust. He owned three hundred and ninety acres of land. Mrs. Ann Eliza Stewart died September 17, 1891, aged sixty-eight years. Her father, John Turbett, was a relative of William Penn. He lived some years in Fairfield County, Ohio, and came to Illinois in 1840, settling in Logan Township, Peoria County. His wife, Nancy Beatty, was a daughter of John Beatty, a native of Ireland, who was a pioneer settler of Ohio. Colonel Thomas Turbett, father of John, came from Ireland and settled at Milford, Juniata County, Pennsylvania, as early as 1734, where he built a tannery. During the Revolutionary War he commanded a regiment in the Patriot Army. George and Ann E. Stewart had ten children, eight of whom. survive, and live in Peoria County: Mary J.; Thomas M., Nancy A., now Mrs. William H. Brooks; James A.; Walter S.; Priscilla, now Mrs. William West; and Harriet I., now Mrs. Orim Stewart.   Mary, Thomas and Esther reside upon the old homestead, which is owned by Thomas and James. Thomas M. Stewart received his education in the public schools of Peoria County, and has spent his life in cultivating the soil. He is a Democrat, an influential citizen of Timber Township, and has filled the office of Township Collector for two years, and that of Supervisor several terms.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



THARP, CHARLES M.; Physician, Kingston Mines; born in Hancock County, Illinois, March 10, 1845; son of William and Rebecca (Morris) Tharp. The father was a native of Kentucky, and the mother of Vermont, born November 25, 1816. The Tharp family is of English origin. Jacob, the grandfather of Charles M., was one of the pioneers of Pekin, Illinois, locating there about 1821. He died at Lancaster, Peoria County, in the one hundredth year of his age. William Tharp located a squatter's claim on the site of the present Kingston Mines, but owing to annoyance by the Indians, who stole his pony and other property, he moved across the Illinois River to Beckquith's Ferry, on the Mackinaw River, where his first wife died of the disease known to the early settlers as "milksickness." He afterward joined the Mormons and went to Nauvoo, but became disgusted with them and their practices and returned to Pekin. He died at Kingston Mines in 1894, in his ninety-second year, robust and active till the last year of his life.  He served in the Black Hawk War, and took part in the disastrous campaign under Colonel Stillman. Mrs. Rebecca Tharp died in Pekin, December 16, 1848. Dr. C. M. Tharp enlisted, August 11, 1863, in Company C, One Hundred and Eighth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, participated in the Red River campaign and the siege of Vicksburg and continued with the Western army until the siege of Mobile, in which he also took part. He was in seven or eight engagements and left Vicksburg in July, 1865, being mustered out at Chicago. Returning to his home at the close of the war, he entered upon the study of medicine at Kingston, and afterward went into practice there, which he has continued for twenty years. In 1867 he married Bridget Dempsey, a native of England; daughter of James and Catherine Dempsey, who came from Ireland to America and now live at Kingston. Nine children were born of this marriage: James W.; Catherine, who died March 5, 1881, aged ten years; Emma Rebecca, wife of George Gent; Mary Elizabeth, wife of Lemuel Bitner; Margaret Belle, wife of William Gent; Catherine M., wife of John W. Wright; Charles E.; J. A. Logan; and Jacob W. Dr. Tharp is a member of Timber Post, No. 432. Grand Army of the Republic, at Glasford, and a member of Covenant Lodge, No. 8, Independent Order of Odd Fellows at Pekin. He is an active Republican and a member of the County Central Committee. He is now serving his second term as Postmaster at Kingston Mines, in the village of Kingston.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



WATSON, WILLIAM V.; Retired; born June 20, 1847, in Logan Township; son of William S. and Kezia (Grenard) Watson. His father, a native of Harrison County, Indiana, was born in 1800, and died February 21, 1872. His mother, daughter of Jesse and Sarah (Price) Grenard, was born at Maysville, Kentucky, February 16, 1815, and died February 21, 1899. William S. Watson came to Illinois and settled in Logan Township, Peoria County, in 1832, and spent his life as a farmer. He was a very active member of the Baptist Church; his wife was a Methodist. At the age of seventeen, William V. Watson enlisted in Company E, One Hundred and Fifty-first Regiment Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and served about one year. He began work as a laborer in a saw-mill after the war, and followed that employment for twenty-three years. He afterwards engaged in the lumber and grain business at Glasford, in which he continued till 1898. He now rents his buildings and lives retired from active business. He has a good farm near Glasford.  In Timber Township, December 30, 1869, Mr. Watson married Harriet McQuown, daughter of John C. McQuown, a native of Indiana, who came with his parents to Peoria County in 1834, when thirteen years old. He is still living with his son, S. A. McQuown.  The mother, Mary J. (Simpson) McQuown, died May 27, 1899. Mr. Watson is a member of the Grand Army of the Republic; of the Masonic Order of the Eastern Star, and the Woodmen of the World. He has served as Township Clerk of Timber Township, and has been a Republican from youth. He was the first to locate at Glasford after the town site was laid out in 1868. In 1900 Mr. Watson built a handsome residence at Glasford with modern conveniences, including gas, water and hot water heat. He has led an active life, having been engaged in various branches of business, and now, although in practical retirement, spends a portion of his time in buying and selling grain.
 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902

 



 

RILEY HURD.

A happy illustration of what may be accomplished by perseverance, good judgment and integrity, is found in the career of Riley Hurd, for more than half a century identified with the farming and general interests of Trivoli Town- ship.  A native of Portage County, Ohio, he was born, February 12, 1828, a grandson of Bradford Waldo, and son of Nehemiah and Harriet (Waldo) Hurd, also natives of Ohio. In 1847 Nehemiah Hurd, accompanied by his wife and eight children, settled in Elmwood Township, Illinois, and engaged in farming until 1861, when his death occurred, his wife having died in 1858. The youth of Riley Hurd was practically uneventful until the breaking out of the Civil War, ai which time he responded to the call to arms, and January 1, 1863. enlisted in Company H, Fiftieth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, under command of General Logan. During the service he saw a great deal of the terrible and grim side of war, and participated in the battles of Resaca, Rome, and many important skirmishes, being honorably discharged in July, 1865.

In Trivoli Township, October 24, 1858, Mr. Hurd was united in marriage with Eliza A. Harkness, who was born in Trivoli Township May 26, 1841, a daughter of Isaac and Sarah (Wilson) Harkness, very early settlers of Trivoli Township. Isaac Harkness was a man of untiring energy, as best indicated by the fact that, in the spring of 1830, he arrived in this part of the State, having walked all of the way from Bradford County. Pennsylvania. So well pleased was he with the prospects in the Western State that, the following year, he returned to Pennsylvania for his wife and two children, and soon after settled, December 24, 1831, on Section 4, Trivoli Township, which continued to be his home until his death, December 23, 1879. The year after the Harkness family reached Illinois, on January 21, 1832, their son, Henry S., was born, in the midst of the crude and almost comfortless surroundings of the wilderness. As the first white child to begin its existence in the township, there was no little curiosity regarding it on the part of the Indians, who had hitherto been sole possessors of the land. The day after the birth several members of the Pottawatomie tribe came to the cabin to see the strange white papoose, and shortly afterwards a large-hearted squaw, imbued with the universal maternal instinct, came and made herb tea for Mrs. Harkness, and otherwise ministered to her wants. The hardships endured with stoical patience by this brave pioneer couple are hardly conceivable in the light of twentieth century advancement.  Many necessary commodities were absolutely unobtainable, and salt was so scarce and so exorbitant in price, that Isaac Harkness traveled all the way to Chicago to purchase a barrel, because there was none to be had nearer.  An elder In-other of Isaac Harkness, James P., served with distinction in the War of 1812, and the father of the sons, James Harkness, followed the martial fortunes of Washington in the Revolutionary War.

It was upon a portion of this farm on Section 5, which witnessed the early struggles of the Harkness family, that Mr. and Mrs. Hurd have spent the greater part of their lives. While pursuing a serene and successful farming life, they have drawn to them many friends, and their pilgrimage has been marked by many kindnesses given and received. Politically, Mr. Hurd has never wavered from his allegiance to the Republican party, his first presidential vote having been cast for John C. Fremont.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



 

WILLIAM H. MEEKER.

The reliable and substantial characteristics derived from the paternal English and maternal German ancestry, have materially aided in formulating the successful career of William H. Meeker, former brick-manufacturer and mason, and at present one of the best known farmers of Trivoli Township.   A native  of   the vicinity of Cincinnati, Ohio. he was born June 4, 1825, a son of David and Nancy A. (Miller) Meeker, natives respectively of New Jersey and Pennsylvania.  After attaining his majority. Mr. Meeker departed from the familiar surroundings of his youth, his preparation for the future consisting of an excellent home training, a general knowledge of farming and the education of the public schools. He came to Peoria County in 1847, locating in Trivoli Township. When the reports of rapidly made fortunes swept over the land from the Pacific Coast in 1849 and '50, Mr. Meeker, thinking to improve upon the opportunities presented in Illinois, accompanied two young men by the name of Johnson across the plains, starting upon the journey, March 14, 1850, and crossing the Missouri River at Omaha. The little party, with their fine yoke of oxen and one cow, succeeded in circumventing the ever present dangers of the overland trail, and eventually reached Sacramento, California, the gateway to the land of gold. having been four months on the way. For three years Mr. Meeker tempted fortune on the coast with varying success and failure, arriving finally at the conclusion that the plodding, but yet safe, methods of money-making in the Middle West were more fully in accord with his inclination and ability. Early in 1853 he returned to Illinois, by way of Panama and New York, and purchased a farm in Trivoli Township, where he engaged in general farming and stock-raising. He subsequently rented his farm and removed to Farmington, where he engaged in the manufacture of brick, and a few years later returned to his farm on Section 16. A practical and scientific farmer, he has tilled his land to the best possible advantage, and has to show for his labor a pleasant home and a farm fitted with modern improvements and labor-saving devices.

February 16, 1853, in Trivoli Township, Mr. Meeker married Rebecca A. Dunn, whose parents, Joseph and Lucy Dunn, were born in Virginia, and, after removing to Illinois, lived until their death upon a farm near Farmington. To Mr. and Mrs. Meeker have been born eight children:  Cena Alice, George W., Everett E., Lucy A., Ruby V., Anna B., William H. and Frank. Mrs. Meeker, who was born in Ohio, and came to Illinois in infancy, died February 27, 1895.  Mr. Meeker's second marriage was with Caroline Mathis, daughter of Martin Mathis, near Concord church, Trivoli Township, January 9, 1896. In politics, a Prohibitionist, Mr. Meeker has been prominent in the political affairs of Trivoli Township, having served as Assessor for two years, and as Township Clerk for the same length of time. For personal reasons he refused to serve as Justice of the Peace, though elected by a large majority. Mr. and Mrs. Meeker are members of the Methodist Episcopal Church. George W. Meeker has, for twelve years, held the responsible position of Superintendent of schools at Petersburg, Illinois.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



CONNELL, STEPHEN T.; Farmer; born in Guernsey County, Ohio, June 14, 1852.; the son of William and Mary (Clark) Connell, natives of Ireland. The father is now living in Elmwood Township; the mother died April 14, 1900.  S. T. Connell came to Peoria County with his parents when about eight years old. After his marriage he located on a farm and now lives half a mile from what is called "Old Trivoli," where he has one hundred and three acres of good land and a fine residence.  He married in Trivoli Township, Clara Lane, born in the same township, November 28, 1862, the daughter of Johnson and Rachel Lane. Her mother, born August 26, 1841, died October 28, 1895. The children of this union are: Verna M., born July 24, 1884; Walter O., born January 11, 1886; Edith I., born September 7, 1887; and Maud A., born August 12, 1889.  Mr. Connell is a Democrat, and is a School Director. He is a member of the Modern Woodmen of America and of the Methodist Church, at Trivoli, of which he is a trustee. Mrs. Connell is a member of the Methodist Church.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



CRAMER, WILLIAM; Farmer; born in Madison Township, Franklin County, Ohio, January 26, 1818; is the son of John and Catherine (Coble) Cramer, both natives of Pennsylvania. His paternal grandfather was Stofer Cramer, a native of Germany. Mr. Cramer came with his parents to Illinois in 1839 and settled in Farmington, where they remained about two years, when they settled where Mr. Cramer now resides. The father and mother were buried in Farmington. In the absence of railroads in those days, settlers were subject to great inconveniences.   Mr. Cramer had to haul all the grain he sold to Reed's Landing on the Illinois River.   Mr. Cramer married Ann Rogers at Peoria, Illinois, August 17, 1843. Of this marriage there were five children:   Arthur, born May 28. 1844: Margery, June 5, 1846; Silas, December 30, 1848; Royal, February 20, 1851; Calvin, April 5, 1864.  Arthur was a member of Company D, Eighty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and died in the service in Tennessee. Silas died, September 17, 1870.  Royal stays with his father on the farm. Calvin has a store at Cramer Crossing on the Iowa Central Railroad. He has held the office of Township Clerk about four years. He was also a United States Storekeeper two terms at the distilleries in Peoria.  Margery married Joseph Miller and lives at Utica, Nebraska. Mrs. Cramer was born October 24, 1824, and is the daughter of John and Mary Ann Rogers.  Her maternal grandfather, James Nicholson, was a native of Ireland. Mr. Cramer is a Democrat. The Station on the Iowa Central Railroad was built on land given by him and is named for him.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 


 



DuMARS, WILLIAM T.; Fanner; born in Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, May 14, 1847; son of George W. DuMars, born at Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, February 4, 1804, and Eliza (Rauch) DuMars, also a native of Pennsylvania. The grandfather, John DuMars, a native of France, came to America from Ireland, whither the family had removed on account of the French Revolution, and settled in Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, in 1801. William T. DuMars came with his parents from Dauphin County, Pennsylvania, and settled in Logan Township in 1855. He began farming for himself in Trivoli Township in 1870, and has been very successful. He has a fine farm and a beautiful home. He married Nancy S. Swartz in Dauphin County, Pennsylvania. February 3, 1870. She was born August 18, 1846, daughter of Jonas and Esther Swartz, natives of Dauphin County. Both are now dead. The children of Mr. and Mrs. DuMars are: Harry E., born July 27, 1871, now bookkeeper in the Corn Belt Bank, Bloomington, Illinois; John E., born November 24, 1873, now a lawyer in Oklahoma; E. Irving, born October 8, 1875; M. Maud, born September 19, 1877; Ethel L., born September 17, 1882. Mr. DuMars is a member of the Methodist Church and of the Independent Order of Odd Fellows.  He is a Republican, and has filled the offices of Assessor two years, and several minor offices, and is now serving as Supervisor, having been elected to that office in 1900.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



FRANK, JESSE; Farmer; born in Juniata County, Pennsylvania, January 31, 1843; son of George and Mary (Snyder) Frank, natives of Pennsylvania, the former born in Perry County, October 8, 1807, died in 1887; the latter born in Greene County, September, 1808, died in 1894. The parents removed with their family to Logan Township, Peoria County, in 1850, but in 1876 located in Trivoli Township. Mr. Jesse Frank began farming three and one-half miles south of Trivoli. In 1890 he purchased another farm of sixty-eight acres, to which he has since added fifty more within a part of the old village of Trivoli. He enlisted in the service of the United States, August 11, 1862, and became a member of Company D, Eighty-sixth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, and was with Sherman in his "March to the Sea." He was wounded twice and mustered out, January 27, 1865. In Kickapoo Township, January 26, 1871, he married Sarah E, Baker, a native of Muskingum County. Ohio, born October 18, 1852, the daughter of John W. and Julia (Wells) Baker, the father being a native of Loudoun County, Virginia, and the mother of Ohio. They now live in Kingman City, Kansas. The children of Mr. and Mrs. Frank are: Charles Edgar, born May 5, 1872, died May 10, 1872; Mary Grace, born September 27, 1873, died August 13, 1874; William Earl, born August 23, 1875; and Anna E., born July 26, 1883.  William Earl graduated from the Medical College at Keokuk, Iowa, and is now practicing his profession in Wagner, Illinois. Anna E. graduated from the High School in Peoria in 1900, for two years has been a student at the Conservatory of Music, Peoria, and in 1901 became a student at Bradley Polytechnic Institute. Mr. Frank is a member of the Lutheran Church and in politics a Republican. He is a successful farmer.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



GILLETT, JOEL B.; Farmer and Stockraiser; born in Rose Township, Wayne County, New York, November 10, 1826, is descended on both the paternal and maternal sides from soldiers of the American Revolution. His grandfather, Noadiah Gillett, a native of England, husband of Hannibal (Chubb) Gillett, served in the American Revolution. Mr. Gillett's grandfather Bishop, also a Revolutionary soldier, was taken prisoner and kept on the Jersey prison ship near New York, where ten thousand Americans died of wounds, exposure and disease. Gardner Gillett, the father of Joel B., married Phoebe Bishop. The former was born July 10, 1791, and died October 20, 1878; the latter, born July 31, 1783, died October 16, 1869. They came to Chatham. New York, when Joel B. was four years old. In 1838, Gardner Gillett brought his family from New York to Peoria County mainly by the water routes, reaching here December 10. After remaining a short time on the line of Fulton and Peoria Counties, they settled in Trivoli Township. On coming of age Mr. Joel B. Gillett settled on a farm in the southeastern part of Elmwood Township, where he staid thirteen years and then moved to Trivoli and located on the farm where he now resides, on Section 2. March 1, 1852, he married Malinda Brown, a daughter of Josiah and Mary (King) Brown, residents of Peoria County. The children of this union are: Candace, born December 10, 1852; Courtland, born January 24, 1854; Alice, born December 30, 1858, died August 10, 1859; Ida M., born April 16, 1861, died April 12, 1808, January 3, 1871, in Trivoli Township, Mr. Gillett married Ellen L. Pettit, born August 30, 1835, daughter of J. R. and Margaret (Van Patten) Pettit Douglas Bourn, Mr. Gillett's grandson, has lived with him since he was five years old. Mr. Gillett has been a successful man in business; has served as Assessor and School Director. He is a Mason and a Democrat, and has been a member of the Methodist Church many years.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



GREGORY, HENRY S.;  Farmer; born in Trivoli Township, March 24, 1845, the son of David R. Gregory and Lydia F. (Green) Gregory, natives of Otsego County, New York. The father was born June 27, 1808, and died January 30, 1890; the mother, born June 19, 1808, died May 10, 1901, in her ninety-third year. D. R. Gregory brought his family from, New York State to Peoria County, in June, 1835, when. there were but few houses and the roads were only Indian trails. Mr. Gregory was one of the organizers of Trivoli Township and was its first Supervisor. He was a lawyer and held the office of Justice of the Peace for twenty years; also held the office of Colonel of a regiment of Peoria County militia. In 1851 he built a substantial stone residence on his farm, which is still in good repair and now occupied by Henry S. Gregory and his sister, Cornelia. Francis A., wife of John Ruhm, is living in Nashville, Tennessee, where Mr. Ruhm is a practicing lawyer. John F. is a farmer in Missouri; David L. is a member of the police force of Nashville, Tennessee; George A. lives in Elmwood Township; Edgar L. is an attorney at Mount Pleasant, in Maury County, Tennessee. H. S. Gregory was educated in the common schools and is a Republican.  He occasionally spends the winters in the South.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



HOMAN, CHARLES H.; Farmer; born in Stark County, Illinois, December 30, 1853; son of Levi J. Homan, a native of Kentucky, and Lucy (Hollister) Homan, a native of New York. His paternal grandfather was Thomas Homan. His maternal grandparents were Timothy and Keziah Hollister, natives of New York. Levi J. Homan and family came west in 1858, remaining for a time in Peoria, but later settling in Stark County, where he married Lucy Hollister. He served in the Union Army during the War of the Rebellion, and was present at the Grand Review of the troops in Washington, at the close of the war. He now resides in Glasford, Timber Township. Charles H. Homan was engaged in mining for eleven years, after which he engaged in farming. He now has ninety acres of fine farm land on Sections 28 and 29. Trivoli Township, upon which he has a fine residence. May 14, 1876, in Peoria, Illinois, he married Eliza Hamer, a native of Peoria, born December 17, 1852, the daughter of Henry and Martha Hamer, natives of Wales, both deceased. Seven children were born of this marriage:  Lucy F., born February 5, 1879; Maggie P., born August 19, 1881; William Henry, born August 15, 1884; Ellen D., born March 21, 1886; Millie O., born December 25, 1888; Carrie A., born December 31, 1890; and Mary C. H., born August 26, 1893. Mr. Homan is a member of the Presbyterian Church, is a Democrat politically, and has served several terms as School Director.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



HUNT, CARLTON C.; Farmer; Trivoli Township; born in New Batavia, Genesee County, New York, February 6, 1820, is the son of Simon L. Hunt, a native of Vermont, and Lorinda (Metcalf) Hunt, a native of Massachusetts. His paternal grandfather was also named Simon. Simon L. Hunt came west in 1841, landed at Reed's Landing on the Illinois River, and settled in Trivoli Township, where he engaged in shoemaking and also did some farming. Carlton C. Hunt came to Peoria County in 1845, reaching Reed's Landing on June 5. He married Emily Messenger in Chautauqua County, New York, in 1842. Five children were born of this marriage; Silvy, Frances, Jane, James and George L., of whom only the two sons are living, Mr. Hunt's second wife, whom he married August 5, 1869. was Mrs. Mary Ann Seltser. the daughter of George and Sarah Keel. She was born in Perry County, Pennsylvania, September 29, 1841. Her father was born in Perry County, Pennsylvania, December 25, 1808, and died in Fulton County, Illinois, December 18, 1886. The mother was born in Juniata County, Pennsylvania, in 1828. The parents came first to Peoria County in 1852, and afterwards moved to Orion Township, Fulton County. The first husband of Mary A. Keel was John Seltser, a native of Germany, by whom she had two children: Charles C. Seltser, living in Trivoli Township, and Mary E. Seltzer, who married Edward Vorhees, a hardware merchant, now living in Omaha. Mr. Hunt has always taken a great interest in schools and has been Director thirty years. He is a Democrat and has filled the office of Road Commissioner thirteen years.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



KELLY, W. S.: Farmer; born in Orion Township, Fulton County, Illinois, July 6, l865.  He is the son of John B. Kelly, a native of Cortland County, New York. born February 6, 1820, and Rachel (Proctor) Kelly, born in McLeansboro, Hamilton County, Illinois, April 24, 1822. His paternal grandparents were Ede and Betsy Kelly; and those on the maternal side, Joseph and Jane Proctor. John B. Kelly came to Fulton County, Illinois, April 27, 1842. He married Miss Elizabeth Smith, his first wife, in March, 1840, and his second wife, Rachel Proctor, in 1842. He first worked on a farm in Trivoli Township in 1838, and passed the remainder of his life in Fulton County. He was Justice of the Peace in Orion Township for many terms, and was also Supervisor and Highway Commissioner.  He was fatally injured in the "Chatsworth wreck," while on his way to visit his old home in New York. and lived but a short time. W. S. Kelly began farming for himself in 1886. He is a Republican, and has filled various township offices in Trivoli Township. He married Anna M. Dufield, in Canton, September 15, 1886. She was born on Section 27, in Trivoli Township. Her father. Henry Dufleld, was born in West Virginia; the mother, Catharine Dufield, in Pennsylvania. The children of this marriage are: Ethel Irene, born December 24, 1888; Cecil Dell, born September 18, 1891; William Graff, born September 18, 1898; and Edith Marie, born January 21, 1901.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



LANE, GEORGE JOHNSON; Farmer; born in Hamilton County, Illinois, July 27, 1833; is the grandson of James and Mary (Phipps) Lane, natives of North Carolina. His father. Thomas Lane, born in 1808, near Nashville, Tennessee, married Mary B. Matthews, a native of Union County,  Kentucky.    She   was  born  December 15, 1811, the daughter of Martin and Jane (Hannigan) Matthews, natives of Virginia. Her mother, when a widow, married David Proctor, and, in 1819, came to Southern Illinois. The daughter, Mrs. Mary B. (Matthews) Lane, died in June, 1900. James Lane moved from Tennessee in 1818 and settled near McLeansboro, Hamilton County, Illinois, in the fall of 1834. Thomas Lane's family settled in Trivoli Township on Section 20. The brick house south of the Methodist Church in Trivoli was the family residence. Thomas Lane built it and resided in
it till his death, April 1, 1879. His son George helped make the brick that went into the structure. Thomas Lane and wife had eight children: Mary Jane, born in Hamilton County, Illinois, in 1830, and died in infancy; George Johnson, of this sketch; Sarah Elizabeth, born July 25, 1837, lived a maiden life and died in July, 1882;  Louis Morgan, born in Trivoli, and died at thirteen months of age; John M., died in infancy; William H. resides in Elmwood; Thomas S. resides on his farm in Trivoli Township; Eliza E., wife of Leander Rice, also residing on a farm in Trivoli Township. George J. Lane married Mary Elizabeth McGraw at Trivoli, February 4, 1858. She was born in Nicholas County, Kentucky, January 14, 1838, daughter of James and Mary (Ellis) McGraw, who spent their lives in Kentucky. Mrs. Lane came to Illinois with neighbors who moved from Kentucky. There were twelve children born to Mr. and Mrs. Lane: Edwin Morris, farmer of Trivoli Township; Thomas Shelvy, deceased; Mary Ellen, lives in Ford County, Kansas; Emily Frances, wife of E. B. Wells, Rice County, Kansas; Louis J., lives in Arkansas; Minnie A., deceased; George H., farmer in Trivoli Township: Amanda F.. deceased; Sarah E.. deceased; Ida May, wife   of   Richard   Graham;   Addie   T., wife of E. S. Allen, lives in Missouri; Amy Luella, at home. Mr. Lane has been largely engaged in the cattle trade. He is a Democrat and has taken an active part in politics in the county and has frequently been a delegate to Democratic conventions. He has held the office of Justice of the Peace over twenty years and School Director. He is a member of the Methodist Church, has been trustee and steward and was one of the building committee which, in 1884, rebuilt the Methodist Church at Concord. Mr. Lane's father, a local preacher of the Methodist denomination, died April, 1879.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



McKEE, SAMUEL; Farmer; born in Cedar County, Iowa, November 22, 1846; son of Thomas and Elizabeth (Andra) McKee, natives of Westmoreland County, Pennsylvania, both deceased. His maternal grandfather, William McKee, a native of Pennsylvania, married a widow Buchanan.   The maternal grandparents were John Andra, a native of Germany, and Elizabeth (Iseman) Andra, a native of Pennsylvania. Thomas McKee removed in 1846 from Pennsylvania to Cedar County, Iowa, where he resided for a time and then came to Trivoli Township,
locating on Section 7, In 1895 Samuel McKee settled on a farm of two hundred and ten acres on Section 7, a mile and a quarter east of Farmington. Here he has as good land as there is in the country and a beautiful home. He married Martha Fink in Farmington, December 17, 1875. She is the daughter of Joseph and Sarah (Merchant) Fink, the father a native of Mary land, and the mother born near Farmington, Illinois. There were seven children born to Mr. and Mrs. McKee: Ivy R., born October 31, 1873, wife of Rancy Emmons, of Fulton County; Frank V., born September 13, 1878; Earl A., born December 7, 1881; Willie E., born March 28. 1883; Edith M., born March 22, 1885.  Charles R., born February 16, 1888, died September 2, l888; and Clarence S., born September 14, 1890. Mrs. McKee is a member of the Methodist Church. In politics Mr. McKee is a Democrat.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



RICE, ZACHARIAH (deceased); Farmer; was born in Juniata County, Pennsylvania. April 13, 1818. He was married in Juniata County, March 18, 1846, to Mary Frank, born in the same county, May 4, 1824, the daughter of John and Elizabeth (Koons) Frank. The father was born November 28, 1780, and died November 1, 1842. His parents were Jacob Frank, a native of Germany, and Dorothy (Rupely), born in Perry  County, Pennsylvania.   Mrs.  Mary (Frank) Rice's mother was born in Cumberland County, Pennsylvania, January 9, 1786, and died August 3, 1858. Her parents were George Koons, a native of Germany, and Katherine (Snyder) Koons, born in Lancaster County, Pennsylvania. Mr. and Mrs. Rice came to Peoria in 1857 and settled in Trivoli Township. They were hardworking people and, at the time of Mr. Rice's death, May 23, 1898, they owned six hundred and thirty acres of land. The children of this couple are: Henry Lamen, born June 8, 1847, married Abby L. Robbins; Lucetta J., born March 31, 1849, married Jacob R. Erford; George F., born October 25, 1850, married Alice Kelly; Sarah E., born December 30, 1851, married William H. Erford; Jesse A., born December 20, 1853, married Carrie L. Bird; Margaret M., born June 1,, 1856, married James McCoy; Katherine A., born September 22, 1857, married George W. Notestine; and John O., born February 28, 1859, died September 28, 1859. Jesse A., died July 27, 1893. Mr. and Mrs. Rice were members; of the Lutheran Church.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



STEIN, NICHOLAS (deceased); Farmer; born in Hesse, Germany, October 28, 1833; son of Conrad and Katherine Stein; was confirmed in the Lutheran Church at the age of fourteen years, and at eighteen came to America and settled near Sandusky, Ohio, but soon afterward removed to Illinois and rented a farm in Tazewell County. After staying here about five years he removed to Trivoli Township, Peoria County, where he purchased a farm on Section 14.   In 1885, he bought one hundred and twenty acres on Section 12 adjoining the village of Trivoli, where he lived until his death. He enlisted in Company I Eighth Illinois Volunteer Infantry, September 25, 1864, and was mustered out December, 1865. He married, at Peoria, March 1, 1866. Caroline Stoltzman, who was born near Berlin. Germany, October 3, 1843, the daughter of Christian and Mary Elizabeth (Schultz) Stoltzman, both born near Berlin.  Her mother died in Germany and her father afterwards removed with his family to Wisconsin, where Caroline Stoltzman was confirmed in the Lutheran Church.  The children of Mr. and Mrs. Stein were: Frank, born December 3, 1867, married Mary C. Barber; Frederick William, died aged four years; Amelia, died aged about two years; Edith M., born June 25, 1874, the wife of Matthew Richard; Albert N., born April 2, 1877, lives at home; Carrie, died in infancy; Mamie E., born January 26, 1884.  Albert and Mamie reside with their mother on the homestead. At the time of his death, April 12, 1900, Mr. Stein owned about three hundred and sixty-nine acres of fine land in and near Trivoli. He was a member of the Grand Army Post at Elmwood. In politics he was a Democrat.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



STEWART, GEORGE W.; Farmer; born in Juniata County, Pennsylvania, November 24, 1834; son of James and Rebecca (Bell) Stevens, natives of the same county. His grandfathers, William Stewart and Richard Bell, were natives of Ireland. James Stewart was a soldier in the war of 1812. He was a farmer and spent his life in Juniata County.   George W. Stewart came from Pennsylvania to Peoria in 1861. After stopping for awhile about Glasford, he settled on a farm in Trivoli Township, which forms part of Section 24, where he has since resided. He has one hundred and seventy-two acres of good land, upon which he has erected good, substantial buildings. Mr. Stewart's first marriage was with Phoebe A. Varner.  Seven children were born to them: Winfield Scott; Hannah Jane, deceased; Mary (Essinger); George A., deceased; John Peter, deceased; Ezra Doty; and Sarah Elizabeth. Mrs. Stewart having died on May 28, 1874. Mr. Stewart contracted a second marriage with Susan E. Kinsey, in Smithville. She was born March 19, 1838, and is the daughter of William and Elizabeth Kinsey, and a sister of John W. Kinsey, now Sheriff of Peoria County. Her father was a native of Georgia, and her mother of Hamilton, County, Illinois. Mr. Stewart has been School Director about ten years, and has been Road Commis-
sioner. He is a Republican.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



STOLTZMAN, CHARLES F.; Farmer and Grain Dealer; born in Berlin, Germany, January 28, 1850; son of Christian and Louise (Spann) Stoltzman, natives of Germany. The father was born in 1809 and died in 1886. The mother was born November 10, 1821, and is now living in Sheboygan County, Wisconsin. Mr. Stoltzman came with his parents to America in 1856, and located in Sheboygan. Wisconsin. In 1871 he moved to Tremont, Tazewell County, Illinois, and carried on farming. In 1892 Mr. Stoltzman purchased a farm of one hundred and forty acres, three-fourths of a mile west of Trivoli Station, where he is engaged in agricultural pursuits and also in buying and shipping grain, in partnership with R. G. Harding.   He is a Democrat and served as Road Commissioner and Township Collector several terms while living in Tazewell County. He and his family are members of the Lutheran Church. He married Maggie Ripper in Pekin, February 20, 1876. She was born in Pekin, October 27, 1854, and is the daughter of Adam and Maggie Ripper. Her father was born May 11, 1829, and died April 5, 1874; her mother was born September 27, 1829, and is now living in Pekin. Mr. and Mrs. Stoltzman have four children:  Maggie, born May 9, 1877, wife of Charles Baggs, of Elmwood Township; Mary M., born January 19, 1878, wife of Dr. J. A. Plummer, of Trivoli; Cora L., born March 10, 1885; and Willie F., born October 20, 1889, living at home.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



WILLIAMS, SAMUEL; Farmer; born in Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, October 29, 1855.  His paternal ancestors were all natives of Washington, District of Columbia. His paternal grandparents were Samuel and Katherine (Cease) Williams. His father, Joseph Williams, was born in the District of Columbia, August 15, 1821, and died December 31, 1899. He married Eliza Getmon, a native of Bucks County, Pennsylvania, born January 3, 1822. Her parents were Samuel and Nancy (Root) Getmon, natives of Bucks County.  Joseph Williams removed with his family from Montgomery County, Pennsylvania, to Illinois, and settled in Trivoli Township in 1858, where he became farmer. In 1886 he settled on the present Williams homestead in Section 5. In the fall of 1861 he enlisted in Company B, Eleventh Illinois Cavalry, commanded by Colonel Robert G. Ingersoll, and participated in the campaigns and battles in which his regiment took part, making a fine record as a soldier. Returning to Trivoli he resumed farming, which he continued till his death. With the aid of his father, Samuel Williams purchased the farm of one hundred and sixty-eight acres on which he now resides. He has a fine location and excellent buildings. His mother resides with him. The other children of Joseph and Eliza Williams are: Mary M., wife of William Kelly, who lives in Farmington; Charles Howard, in Greenwood County, Kansas; Alric, who now resides on the farm with Samuel; Emma E., deceased, wife of John Brooks; and Anna, wife of George Freida, living at Prescott, Arizona. Mr. Williams was educated at Farmington. He is a Republican, as was his father.

 

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902
 

 



WINGET, HENRY J., Farmer and Stock Raiser; was born in Trivoli Township, August 17, 1862, the son of Henry and Eliza (Scott) Winget.  His parents were born in Cumberland, Maryland, the father March 11, 1819, and the mother in 1822.  The father died December 4, 1893. Henry Winget brought his family to Illinois in 1846 and located on Section 12 in Trivoli Township, where he remained till his removal to Peoria, March 20, 1887. He owned at his death, seven hundred and twenty acres of land. He and Mrs. Winget were members of the Methodist Church. Their children were: Charles, Anna, Walter, Henry J., and W. S., now living; and Talbert, Sanford, Florence, and William, deceased. Henry J. Winget has a house and lot in Farmington, and another in Peoria; he owns two hundred and fifty acres of land in Trivoli Township, besides land in Nebraska. He is a member of the Percheron Horse Breeders' Association of America, and probably the most extensive breeder of this class of stock in Peoria County. Mr. Winget married Sarah Whetsel in Trivoli Township, March 23, 1887.   She was born December 3,  1859,  and is  the  daughter  of Henry and Catherine Whetsel, natives of Ohio, who settled in Illinois. Mr. and Mrs. Winget have one child, Arthur, born May 10, 1896. Mr. Winget is a member of the Methodist Church, and is a stanch Democrat.  Mrs. Winget is a member of the Baptist Church.

from Historical Encyclopedia of Illinois and History of Peoria County, Volume II, 1902

 


 

John Maurer

Maurer, John, saloon, 1309 S. Adams street, was born in Germany, October 12, 1846, and is the son of Adam and Mary Louisa (Haas) Maurer, natives of Germany.  He came with his parents to America in 1857, landing at New York May 20 of that year.  After a short stay in Pennsylvania, they went to Newark, N. J., and resided there until 1864, when he enlisted, on September 30, in Col. B. 39th Regiment, N.J.V.I., under command of Col. Wildrick, and served until June 27, 1865, when he was mustered out at place of enlistment.  He participated in the battles of Hatches Run, Petersburg, and many other smaller affairs.  Mr. Maurer comes of a family of soldiers - his grandfather was a "Hessian" in the revolutionary war, and his father in the war of the late rebellion.  His younger brother is now in the 5th U. S. Cavalry.  After discharge he went to Cleveland and there worked at the trade of carpenter for eighteen months; then went to Chicago and was burned out in the great fire of 1871.  He came to Peoria in October, 1872, and married on the 30th of the same month and year, Miss Gustina Bertha Hassler, a native of Bureau county, Ill., who was born there May 13, 1851, by whom he has three children - Albert, Bertha Theresa, and Elizabeth Catharine.  He entered the saloon business right after marriage, and came to his present location about one and a half years ago.  His father and mother both reside in Peoria; is a member of G. A. R.  


 

Mary McClellen

 

McClellen, Mary, Mrs. M. D. botanical physician, office 801 Hamilton street, was born in Coshocton county, Ohio, in 1831.  Her parents, James and Hannah Litchfield, removed to Fulton county, Ill., when she was five years old.  She read medicine with Dr. Bunker and Dr. Fitz, of that county, from 1855 to 1858, and began practice during the latter year.  Remained in Fulton county till 1860; thence removed to St. Louis, and a year later came to Peoria, where she has practiced since.  Mrs. McC. now devotes her attention almost exclusively to office practice.  She married John McClellen, a Scotchman by birth, in 1851, by whom she had three daughters and a son, the former all now married, the son in the U. S. Navy.  Mr. McClellen died in Feb., 1865.


 

Hon. David McCulloch

 

McCulloch, Hon. David, Judge of Circuit Court, Peoria, was born in Cumberland Co., Penn., Jan. 25, 1832.  Received collegiate education at Marshall College, Pa., graduating in the class of 1852.  Came to Illinois in April, 1853. Taught school in Peoria until early in 1855, when he commenced the study of the law with Manning & Merriman, and was admitted to practice in the following year.  In Nov. 1855, he was elected school commissioner of Peoria Co.  Was twice re-elected and continued to hold the office until 1861.  During this period the new free school system of Illinois went into operation, and the duty devolved upon him of giving it a good send-off in Peoria Co.  In Sept. 1860, having remained in the office of Manning & Merriman until then, he opened an office of his own, but in less than a year, upon the accession of Merriman's elevation to the bench, he was taken into partnership with Hon. Julius Manning, which lasted until Manning's death, July 4, 1864.  He then formed a co-partnership with the late Charles P. Taggart, which continued until 1869, when the firm was dissolved by the failing health of Taggart, who then went to California.  During the continuance of this firm, and especially the last two years, on account of Taggart's ill-health the duties of the office of State's attorney, which office Mr. T. held, largely devolved upon McCulloch.  After a partnership of short duration with J. M. Rice, Esq., Mr. McCulloch formed a partnership with John S. Stevens, which continued until the appointment of the latter as post master in 1876.  This was the most prosperous period of his practice.  During his term as school commissioner many of his suggestions made to the State Superintendents were adopted by them and afterwards embodied in amendments to the school system.  Some amendments were drawn by himself and are still part of that law.  As early as 1876, from the over crowded condition of the courts, especially of the Supreme Court, it was found that legislation was imperatively demanded to increase the judicial force of the State.  An Appellate Court was provided for by the constitution, but be composed of judges of the Circuit Court.  But there were no judges to spare for that service.  The courts were in perplexity and lawyers at their wit's end.  In view of this state of affairs Mr. McCulloch addressed a communication to the Legal News of Chicago, proposing a remedy which seemed to him feasible.  This letter was published Oct. 14, 1876, and in the same number was one from Stephen R. Moore, of Kankakee, proposing the formation of a State Bar Association.  These proposals took hold of the minds of the lawyers throughout the State, and elicited free discussion in the public prints.  A State Bar Association was formed in Springfield in Jan. 1877, and that body immediately took steps for the reformation of the judicial system, the legislature then being in session.  A committee of which Judge Puterbaugh and Judge Thornton and McCulloch were members, was appointed to draft the necessary bills; the work largely devolving upon Puterbaugh and McCulloch.  The result was that their bills in their main features became laws; thirteen new judgeships were created, and the Appellate Courts organized, all in accordance with the plan suggested in Mr. McCulloch's letter to the Legal News.  The result has been most satisfactory.  The first election under this act took place Aug. 6, 1877, when Judge McCulloch was elected by a handsome majority.  In June, 1879, he was re-elected by a still larger vote.  As soon as the results of the election was known he was, by the Supreme Court, assigned as one of the appellate judges of the Third Appellate Court District, which position he now occupies.


 

J. C. McCurdy

 

McCurdy, J. C., produce commission merchant, 219 Madison street, was born in what was then Brooke county, now Hancock county, Va., Dec. 22, 1820, and is the son of John McCurdy, a native of Pennsylvania, and Jane Knox, a native of county Tyrone, Ireland.  He was raised in his native county till sixteen years of age, when with his parents and the rest of his family, he came to Illinois, settling near Vermont, Fulton county.  There they went to farming, and he grew up to manhood on the home farm.  In 1845 he left the farm and entered business on his own account as a butcher.  For about two years he continued it, and after spending a Winter in Beardstown, moved in the next Spring to Henry, Marshall county, Ill., where he started a store and afterwards engaged in the packing and shipping of pork for about eight years.  While there he filled the offices of city clerk for two years and that of alderman for one year, resigning the office in 1869, when he sold out his business and came to Peoria, where he has since resided.  He has carried on business in his present line most of the time since.  He married Feb. 9, 1843, in McDonough county, Ill., Miss Eliza Ann Smith, born June 5, 1826, near Springfield, Ill., by whom he has had six children: Susannah P., Mary L., Frances L., Harriet M., Clara S. and Edgar A.  His parents both died of typhoid fever in McDonough county, Ill., Sep. 10, 1842, and a sister also died of the same disease in that month.  Mrs. McCurdy and her family are members of the M. E. Church.  He owns his residence and lot on Floral avenue.


 

Peter McGee

 

McGee, Peter, teamster and contractor, 1201 N. Adams street, was born in county Louth, Ireland, June 20, 1820, and came to America in 1849, landing in New York in May of that year.  For the next six months he worked as an hostler there, and in November came to Peoria and worked as hostler for Mr. Decker for two years.  At the end of that time he had saved up enough money to buy a team and wagon, when he commenced teaming and contracting on his own account, and continued it up to 1878.  He married in 1849, Miss Jane McCarty, who was born in his own county in 1829, by whom he has had three children: John, Michael and Mary Jane.  Mr. McGee landed in Peoria with nothing but his two hands to help him to a living yet by economy and hard work he has been able to provide a comfortable home for his old age.  He and his wife and family are members of the Catholic Church.


 

Calvin McKenzie

 

McKenzie, Calvin, res. 315 N. Adams street, printer, son of David and Nancy McKenzie.  They were natives of Missouri.  The subject of this sketch was born in New Madrid, Mo., Oct. 27, 1827, and came to Le Clair county in 1832 or '33, where he received a common school education and learned his trade.  In 1847 enlisted in 2d Ill. Regt. Vol. Co. A, Col. W. H. Russell, and was mustered into service at Alton, Ill.; thence by water to Labaca, Texas; from there marched to the Rio Grande under Gen. Wool; was in the battle of Buena Vista.  After the close of the war came back to Fulton county, Ill.  Married Miss Rohisa Osborn in 1851.  She was born in Fulton county, Ill.  Two girls, Grace and Ruth.


 

Henry McKenzie

 

McKenzie, Henry, carpenter and builder, res. 510 Second street, was born in Carlisle, England, April 6, 1819, and came to America and Peoria in September, 1848.  He had learned his trade in England, and began working at it immediately upon his arrival; has continued it ever since.  He married in England, Miss Eliza Richardson Armstrong, who was born in Scotland in 1821, by whom he has had four children, James C., Katie, William A. and Annie Graeme.  Mr. McKenzie is now in easy circumstances, and proposes to take a rest after his many years of hard work and anxiety.  He is a member of the Episcopal Church.


 

William McLean

 

McLean, William, distiller, res. 1409 S. Adams street, son of Wm. and Mary McLean, natives of England.  The subject of this sketch was born in Liverpool, Eng., May 17, 1842; came to Peoria in 1854; learned the brick-making trade, which he followed for eight years; since that time has been in the distilling business.  In May, 1861, enlisted in the 2d Ill. Inf., Co. C; was in the siege of Ft. Donaldson, where he was wounded in both legs; head and arms being struck six or seven times in one engagement; was discharged on account of his wounds.  Married Miss M. A. Ingram in 1863.  She was born in Virginia in 1845.  The fruit of this marriage is four children, James, Mary, William and Charles.  Has held the office of City Counsel four terms; is lieutenant of the National Blues, 7th Regt., Co. A.


 

James McMaster

 

McMaster, James, cooper, res. 315 McBean street, was born in LaSalle county, January 16, 1846, and is the son of Archibald and Elizabeth McMaster.  He came to Peoria county with his parents when two years old, and sixteen years later began to learn his trade.  He enlisted January 20, 1865, in the 108th Ill. Inf., and after service six months was transferred to the 47th Ill. Inf., where he remained about the same length of time, and was discharged March, 1866.  He married, September 15, 1873, Lillie E. Sinclair, who was born August 26, 1852, by whom he has two children -- Archie T., born August 21, 1874, and Elizabeth S., born July 28, 1878.  His mother died in 1861.  Mr. McMaster is at present engaged with Bush & Brown as dry gauger.  His wife is a member of the Reformed Episcopal Church.


 

William Meidroth

 

Meidroth, Wm. F., hoseman fire department, res. 217 Fayette street, was born in Peoria September 9, 1856, and is the son of Wm. F. and Caroline Meidroth.  His father died April 13, 1873; mother still living now in Peoria.  Mr. M. learned the printer's trade in Peoria and worked at it for five years, until his health failed under the close confinement and night work.  He then entered the fire department, which position he has held for over two years.  He was married January 15, 1878, to Josephine Moutier, who was born February 23, 1860.  They have one child - Arthur J.  Mrs. M. is a member of the Catholic Church.  He is democratic in politics.

M. F. Meints

Meints, M. F., carpenter and builder, 408 Second street, was born January 10, 1827, in the kingdom of Hanover, Germany, and is the son of Frederick and Ida Meints, natives of that country.  He was raised and educated there and had commenced to learn his trade when, with his parents, he came to America in 1847, landing at New Orleans in May of that year.  They came straight up the river to Peoria, and he started to complete the acquirements of his trade, and worked at it afterwards as journeyman until 1855, when he began on his own account, and has since then contracted for and built many fine buildings.  He married in February, 1852, Akfa Stevend, a native of Hanover, who came to America in 1849, and has borne him six children, five now living - Ida, Mary, Frederick, Henry and Herman.  He owns his residence and workshop with the lots on which they stand, and is, with his wife, a member of the Presbyterian Church.


 

Dameris Merwin

 

Merwin, Dameris Mrs. (widow of P. G. Merwin), res. 207 Illinois avenue.  Paul G. Merwin was born in the State of New York, November 9, 1804, and was the son of Daniel and Martha Merwin, who came to Peoria in March, 1848, and both died within the same year.  He married in New York, Dameris Way, in December, 1823, who was born in the same State, January 19, 1801.  They had a family of nine children, two of whom died before coming to Illinois -- Philetus H., Eliza M., Arvilla I., Amanda M., Harlow N., Malvina M., Charles D., Philander G. and Davilla w.  Mr. Merwin died March 23, 1870.  During his life he followed the business of blacksmith.


 

W. D. Messer

 

Messer, W. D. of the firm of W. D. Messer & Co., wholesale and retail dealers in flour and feed, 125 S. Jefferson street, was born in Quincy, Adams county, Ill., on the 25th day of Sept., 1859, and received what education the city schools afforded at that time.  Engaged in business in Peoria in 1878, and by close attention to business and fair dealing, is fast working up a good trade.  Also handles Hayden's patent first kindler.  Carries a stock of $2,500 to $3,000.


 

August Meyer

 

Meyer, August, saloon, 208 Bridge street, was born in Baden, Germany, October 4, 1852, and is the son of Benjamin Meyer and Josephine Sattra, natives of Baden.  He came to America in 1874, landing at New York October 24 of that year.  Resided for two months in Williamsburgh, N.Y., and came to Peoria in 1875, where he married, May 1, 1877, Miss Rosalie Plank, who was born in Germany, Aug. 29, 1847, and came to America with her parents in 1852.  She had two children by a previous marriage, and has borne him two more: Josephine and Rosie.  Immediately after marriage he started a saloon one door below his present location, and has since remained in the business.


 

John Meyer

 

Meyer, John, gardener, 900 Knoxville road, was born in Switzerland, Sept. 8, 1843.  Son of John and Fanny (Gloce) Meyer, both deceased.  Emigrated to America in the Fall of 1864, and settled in Washington, Tazewell county, and from there moved and located in Peoria county, where he was married to Catharine Preisentang, Feb. 8, 1872.  She was born in Germany in 1842, and came to Peoria county in the Spring of 1865.  They have four children: Mary, Joseph, Martha and John.  They own one acre of land on the Knoxville road, where he raises all sorts of fruits and vegetables, strawberries, etc.


 

Paul Meyer

 

Meyer, Paul, beer bottler, 110 S. Adams street, was born in Germany, Dec. 10, 1849.  Son of Charles and Wilhelmine Meyer, who still reside in Germany.  He emigrated to America in 1867 and located in Peoria.  Was shipping clerk and traveling agent for one of the Peoria tobacco houses.  Married, Dec. 10, 1871, to Margaret Schwers.  She was born in Peoria, Nov. 9, 1855.  They have had three children: Carl (deceased), Paul and Gertrude.  Commenced his present occupation, in partnership with Conrad, in Aug. 1879.


 

Joseph Miller

 

Miller, Joseph (deceased), contractor and builder, 530 S. Washington street, was born in Baden, Germany, on the 25th day of March, 1822, and emigrated to this country in 1847, and stopped in Cincinnati, Ohio, for a short time, and the following year came to Peoria and worked by the day and month the first year, and then entered into partnership as the firm of Senior & Miller, and continued two years.  In 1853, came to the corner of Washington and Walnut streets, commenced on his own hook, and continued until his death, which occurred April 8, 1877.  In 1876 the firm was changed to Joseph Miller & Sons.  For his first wife, married Miss Thressia Eisinger.  She was born in Germany.  She died, leaving two children.  For his second wife, married Miss Saloma Kuhn.  By this marriage there were three children living at his death.


 

Thomas Mills

 

Mills, Thomas, photographer, 317 Main street, has been engaged in his present business in Peoria since 1864, and is the oldest established photographer in the city.  Since then he has witnessed the introduction of many improvements and new processes in the art, and has been successful in keeping abreast of them all.  His first location was on the corner of Main and Adams streets, and his gallery then was a great contrast to his present handsome, well lighted and appointed studio.  He occupies the whole of the second floor at the above number, 100 x 21 1/2 feet in dimensions, and is prepared to turn out work which will compare favorably with any.


 

Elizabeth Mish

 

Mish, Elizabeth Mrs., widow of Jacob Mish (deceased), res. 420 Hamilton street, was born near Chambersburg, Pa., in 1806.  Her parents were James and Jennie Gillan nee Rush.  Her mother died when Mrs. Mish was two years of age, leaving five children.  Mr. Gillan married again and had a family of seven children by his last wife.  She married Jacob Mish in 1829, previous to which he had been a farmer, but after their marriage engaged in the tanning business.  He died in 1834, leaving three children, Mary, now Mrs. Ayers, of Hinsdale, Ill.; Elizabeth, who never married and resides with her mother, and Jacob J., of Grand Junction, Iowa.  Mrs. Mish remained single and came West with her family and settled in Peoria in 1855, which has since been her home.  She and her family are members of the Presbyterian Church.  They own some tracts of land in Iowa.


 

A. G. Mitchell

 

Mitchell, A. G., candy manufacturer and news dealer, cor. Main and Monroe streets, was born in Wyoming co., N.Y., October 8, 1852, and is the son of G. Mitchell, a native of Connecticut, and Mary Ann Otis, a native of New York.  Resided till seventeen years of age in his native county, where he attended the common schools, and where he had the great misfortune to lose his right arm above the elbow from injuries sustained in a thrashing machine.  He moved with his parents to Benton Co., Ind., and while there he attended two Winters at Oxford College, Oxford, Ind.  Came with his parents to Peoria in the Fall of 1869, and learned the art of telegraphy, at which for some time he worked, and then gave it up to engage in the candy business in partnership with his father.  Shortly afterwards he purchased his father's interest, and in the Fall of 1871 removed from Adams street to his present location and began to manufacture his wares, and deal also in newspapers, etc.  Manufactures exclusively for the local trade, and does quite a large business.  He married in Peoria, Nov. 15, 1876, Miss Melissa S. Slane a native of the county, and who was born within two days from the date of his own birth, by whom he has two children, Lottie Viola and Otis Amos.  His parents are both alive and reside in the city.


 

Maria A. Moore

 

Moore, Maria A., nee De Long, relic of the late William Moore (deceased), res. 518 S. Adams street, was born in Ross county, O., October 25, 1832.  In 1853 Miss De Long married William Moore, who was born in Nashua, N.H., in 1822.  Came to Fulton county, Ill., when quite young and engaged in merchandising a number of years, thence came to Peoria and entered into the foundry and real estate business.  Mr. Moore was a man possessed of fine business qualifications, and made a success of whatever he undertook.  He died January 13, 1859, leaving the widow and two living children, Kate, Mrs. John W. Day, of Peoria, and Fannie F., Mrs. Herbert F. Day.  Willie, Frank and May are deceased.


 

John Mittner

 

Mittner, John, boot and shoe maker, 537 S. Adams street, was born in Rathzien, Canton of Grabunden, Switerzland, January 10, 1839, and is the son (of) Christian and Kate (Oberst) Mittner, both of whom were natives of that republic.  He learned his trade and married there June 26th, 1860, Barbara Zimmerman, a native of his own canton.  He came alone to America in 1867, landing at Boston in January of that year and proceeded to Chicago where he stayed about three years working at his trade.  While there his family rejoined him, and on their arrival he came with them to Peoria, where he has since resided.  In August 1874 he started for himself and has since continued to do so.  The fruits of his marriage were five children, four of them now living, Mary, Wilhelmina, Jacob and Victoria.  Is with his wife an adherent of Grace Mission Church.


 

Joseph Moennighoff

 

Moennighoff, Joseph, dealer in flour and feed, 1226 S. Adams street, was born in Peoria January 7, 1855, and is the son of Fred and Amelia (Kellerstrass) Moennighoff.  His father was a native of Westphalia, and his mother of Rhenish, Prussia.  His father came to America in 1848, and to Peoria in the Fall of the next year, and when eight years old Joseph was sent to Germany, and resided there until 1874, going to school, and learning the trade of sugar-baker.  On his return to the land of his birth he went to St. Louis, and worked in a bakery for one year, and then returned to Peoria where he tended bar for his father for about a year, and then took a tour through the Eastern States at the time of the Centennial Exposition.  On his return he worked again for his father and in April 1878, started in his present business at present location.  He is a member of St. Joseph's Catholic Church, and is secretary of the benefit society connected with it.


 

Aquila Moffatt

 

Moffatt, Aquila, (deceased).  The subject of this sketch was a son of Joseph and Mary Moffatt, nee Piper, and was born in the State of Maine, March 19, 1802.  His father subsequently removed to Boston, and afterward to Cincinnati, Ohio.  The mother died about 1819, leaving seven children, Alvah, Aquila, Mary, Olive, Benjamin F., Eliza and Elisha.  In the early part of the Summer of 1822 the family left Hamilton county, Ohio, and arrived at Fort Clark, Ill., on the 20th of June.  At that time there was but a small community of white people.  When the Moffatt family landed here at the time mentioned, there were only four cabins on the ground now covered by the busy commercial and manufacturing city of 40,000 people.  The prairie upon which the city is built was a waving sea of grass.  To quote the words of Mr. Moffatt, "When I stepped from the boat and looked out over the prairie and to the bluffs and trees beyond, I thought it was the grandest scene of beauty my eyes ever beheld.  And I never expect to look upon a grander range of beauty until my spiritual eyes are opened in the Eden of eternity beyond the end of mortality."  Soon after their arrival here Mr. Moffatt selected the site of his late home, where, for nearly fifty-eight years, he lived an honest, useful, unobtrusive life.  At that time Indians outnumbered the whites more than fifty to one, and he saw them fade away before the march of civilization like flowers before the frosts of Autumn.  Markets and mills and all the other conveniences of civilization, were far distant.  Steamboats had scarcely commenced to navigate the waters of the Illinois river; railroads and even wagon roads were unknown; everything in Central and Northern Illinois was just as it had been unfolded by the hand of nature.  In the midst of such surroundings Aquila Moffatt commenced to make his own fortune and how well he succeeded is best attested by the board acres and comfortable home from which he passed away on Saturday afternoon, January 10, 1880, at the age of 77 years, 9 months and 21 days.  The deceased was twice married.  His first wife, to whom he was united March 9, 1832, by Aquila Wren, an early justice of the peace of Peoria county, was Matilda, daughter of James Jones, of Kickapoo township.  This wife died, and, December 4, 1834, he remarried with Mrs. Mary Bogardus nee Fowler, nee Derby, who was born in Connecticut and who died July 27, 1873, at the age of 68 years, 6 months and 23 days.  Both marriages were without issue, and he bequeathed his property, amounting in value to about $15,000, to Mrs. Mina Crowell, a daughter of his second wife by her first husband, Derby, and William H. Crowell, a son of Mrs. Crowell, whose home had been with him for a number of years, and who cared for him in the last years of his life, which had been oppressed with disease and infirmities.  In all the relations of life Aquila Moffatt was a good citizen.


 

Thomas Mooney

 

Mooney, Thomas, police magistrate, City Hall, is the third of six children of Thomas Mooney and Helena Stagg, who were married in New York City, where he was born, in 1820.  His father emigrated from Ireland when but a lad, and resided in the metropolis until 1835, when he brought his family to Medina township, Peoria county.  His wife was a native of New Jersey, from which State both her father and grandfather were soldiers in the war of the Revolution.  Thomas, Jr., worked on his father's farm until twenty-five years of age, when he married Frances C. Neal, of Medina, born in Dover, N.H.  He continued farming till the Fall of 1864, when, being elected clerk of the Circuit Court, he came to Peoria.  After discharging the duties of that office four years, in the Spring of 1870 he removed to Southwestern Missouri, then a wilderness, opened up a farm and remained there five years.  Then returning to Peoria, he was elected Justice of the Peace, which office he filled till the Fall of 1879, when he resigned to take that of Police Magistrate.  After having borne five children, Frances, his first wife died, and in 1856 he married Rosana C. Brady, a native of Brimfield, Peoria county, by whom he has three children.  His five living children are Thomas and Angeletta by first marriage, and John B., Ella F., and Rose M.


 

Jacob Mueller

 

Mueller, Jacob, grocer and brewer, 212 Bridge street, was born in Bavaria, January 26, 1835, and is the son of Phillip and Julia (Stein) Müller, natives of Bavaria.  He came to America in 1857, landing at New York June 15th of that year; resided two years in Greenfield, Mass., and two years in Sherburn Falls in same State, learning the cutlery business; came west in 1855, and after passing one year in Bloomington, Ill., came to Peoria in April, 1856.  He there clerked in a grocery store for four years, then started for himself, and thirteen years ago came to his present location on Bridge street.  About two years ago he began brewing lager beer at the City Brewery on N. Water street, and carries on a good local trade in that article.  He married in Peoria, August 30, 1869, Miss Pauline Koenig, who was born in Bavaria September 23, 1839, by whom he has had seven children, five now alive: Theodore J., born July 17, 1860; Julia, born April 7, 1862; Amelia, born January 29, 1864; Rudolph, born October 26, 1865, and Jacob, born August 14, 1877.  Mr. Müller is now, and has been for some years, treasurer of Peoria Turnverein; is director of German Banking Company, and stockholder in Mechanics' National Bank, and Chamber of Commerce Association.  He carries a stock of about $3,000 in his store and does a large grocery business.  He owns the two-story brick building at above number, where he resides, with the lot on which it stands, and is also a part owner of Brewery property.


 

John Mulcahy

 

Mulcahy, John, grocer, 835 S. Washington street, son of Charles and Margaret (Higgerty) Mulcahy, natives of Ireland, emigrated to America in 1849, and located in Peoria in 1850.  Father died in 1863; mother still living.  The subject of this sketch was born in St. Louis, Mo., nine days after his parents arrived in this country, May, 1850.  Has held several local offices of trust in the city; was elected in 1873 as collector, and also has held the office of oil inspector for the last three years.  By close attention to business and fair dealing has built up a lucrative trade; carries a stock of $1,500 to $1,800.


 

Charles R. Mulick

 

Mulick, Charles R., grocer, 801, 803 Main street, was born in Canada near Niagara Falls, May 25, 1851, and is the son of Edward Mulick and Margaret McDermott, both natives of the Dominion.  When very young he moved with them to the States, settling in Jefferson county, Wis., where he was raised and received his education.  In April, 1872, he came to Peoria and, after clerking for some two years, started in his present business on Main street, on the Bluff, coming to his present location in 1879.  He carries a full stock of groceries, valued at about $2,500, and does a large and increasing trade both with city and country customers.  His parents are still alive and reside at Watertown, Wis.


 

S. A. Murry

 

Murry, S. A., (Osgood & Murry), manufacturers and shippers of walnut lumber, 1142 S. Washington street, was born in McConnelsville, O., in 1849.  His parents were Samuel Murry and Jane Holloway, who married in that State.  S. A. learned and pursued the cooper's trade five years, went to Indianapolis, Ind., in 1871, where he remained six years, and engaged in the lumber business.  In order to acquaint himself fully with the details of the business, Mr. M. went to Philadelphia, Pa., in April, 1875, and spent six months.  Three years ago he came to Peoria, and at once began manufacturing and shipping walnut lumber, under the present firm name.  They purchase the timber, convert it into lumber, and ship it to Eastern cities, handling from a million to a million and a half feet per year.  On May 20, 1879, Mr. M. married Florence M. Overall, a native of Lewistown, Ill.  His parents are still living in McConnelsville, Ohio.


 

Nathaniel C. Nason

 

Nason, Nathaniel C., printer and publisher, 400 S. Adams street, was born April 4, 1827, at Gorham, Me., the seventh in a family of eight children, and the youngest son.  His ancestry, paternal and maternal, came to Maine between 1640 and 1650.  His father was Rev. Reuben Nason, graduate of Harvard in 1802, who entered the ministry of the Congregational Church in 1810.  As first preceptor of Gorham Academy, he opened that institution in 1806, and returned to it from his pulpit in 1815, leaving it in 1834 only to organize a similar school in Clarkson, NY.  He died at Clarkson in 1834, and in 1836 his widow (nee Martha Coffin) took her children back to Gorham among their friends and relatives.  There the subject of our sketch grew up and received his primary education, removing in 1842 to Illinois and entering Illinois College, where he studied for two years.  In 1845 he went to the South and taught school in various places for three years.  He was, for a year, joint editor and publisher of the Whig Flag, of Carrollton, Miss.  In January, 1849, he came to Illinois and worked as a journeyman printer in Pekin, Chicago and Peoria; afterwards in St. Louis, Mo.  He also acted as bookkeeper, salesman and purchasing agent, for a general store and packing house at Wesley City.  Soon after his return from the South he became connected with the Order of Odd Fellows, in Covenant Lodge, No. 48, at Pekin, and in 1852 was a charter member of Ft. Clark Lodge, No. 109, Peoria, and from the first an officer therein.  He became associated with Rev. Wm. Rounsville in the publication of the Memento, an Odd Fellows Monthly, in 1854, and from that time of, Mr. Nason was been a printer and publisher in Peoria.  In November, 1855, he undertook the publication of a daily newspaper, the Peoria Transcript, but the promised capital necessary to establish it not being forthcoming, he left it after about two months.  In September, 1856, while in partnership with Mr. H. S. Hill, his establishment was totally destroyed by fire, and it being uninsured, they were left with a heavy load of debt, and little save their own energy to furnish the means of payment.  He has been prominently connected with the secret societies of the State for many years, and has filled many offices in them.  He was a charter member and the first Noble Grand of Central City Lodge, No. 163, Peoria, I.O.O.F., and its first representative to the Grand Lodge.  He has attended every session of that body since 1854.  He was elected Grand Scribe of the Grand Encampment of Illinois (I.O.O.F.) in 1864, and in 1869, Grand Secretary of the Grand Lodge of Illinois (I.O.O.F.), and has since filled the office.  He is also a member of Order of K. of P. and was the first presiding office of Calanthe Lodge, No. 47.  Is also a Past Dictator of the Knights of Honor, and Grand Treasurer of the Grand Lodge of that body in Illinois since 1877.  Is a member of Royal Arcanum, the first Regent of Ajax Council, No. 216, of Peoria, and a trustee of the Grand Council of Illinois.  He discharges the duties of all these important offices while carrying on his large printing establishment.  In 1856 he married Miss Anna D. Bedel, of Peoria, a native of N.H., by whom he has two daughters.


 

David Nicol

 

Nicol, David, chief engineer, City water works; was born at Tarry Mill, Parish of St. Vigeans, Forfarshine, Scotland, September 7, 1824, and is the son of John and Bettie (Christie) Nicol, natives of Scotland.  He was raised in Montrose and Arbroath, and learned his trade of machinist, in the machine shop of a linen spinning factory in the latter place.  When about twenty years of age he went to Dundee, and for the next four years worked in a locomotive building work; married in Arbroath August 8, 1845, Miss Betty Greig, a native of that place, by whom he had two children -- David and James; came with his family to America landing at New York, July 10, 1848, and headed straight for Peoria, arriving there July 29th of that year.  There he settled and went to work in Luke Wood's machine shop, and on July 15, 1850, he buried both his boys in one grave -- they dying of cholera -- and two days later his wife followed them, cut down by the same fell destroyer.  On October 28, 1852, he married his present wife, then Miss Charlotte Thompson, who was born in Upton, near Bristol, England, and who has borne him seven children, four now alive, Nettie, George, Lilly and Frank.  He has resided in Peoria ever since first coming to it except about two years during the war, when he resided in Indianapolis.  He worked constantly at his trade as journeyman and foreman, till January 1872, when he received his appointment to his present responsible position, which with the exception of two years he has ever since held.  He owns a house and lot at 612 Fifth street, and at present resides with all his family in house contiguous to the water works.


 

William Nicol

 

Nicol, William (of Nicol, Burr & Co.), foundry and machine shop, cor. Water and Walnut street; was born in Arbroath Forfarshire, Scotland, in December, 1826; learned his trade in native town, and coming to America in 1852, headed straight for Peoria; was for a number of years foreman molder for William Peters, and in 1862, in company with his partners (J. D. Burr, William Rutherford and M. McAleenan) bought out the business, and has since continued it.  He married in Peoria in August, 1855, Jane Doeward, a native of his own town, by whom he has had eight children, five now living -- George, John, William, Isabella and James.  He owns his residence and lot. Mrs. Nicol is a member of the Congregational Church.


 

Jacob Nicot

 

Nicot, Jacob, boot and shoe maker, 318 Fulton street; was born in the city of Belfort, France, March 3, 1852, and is the son of Henry Nicot and Kate Periat, natives of that city.  He grew to manhood and learned his trade there, and came to America alone in 1872, landing at New York in September of that year; resided in New York for two years and worked at his trade and came to Peoria in the Fall of 1874, where he for some years worked as journeyman, starting in business for himself in March, 1877, at 300 Fulton street, and coming to his present location in March of the present year.  He married September 2, 1878, Miss Emily Herman, a native of Peoria, by whom he has one child - Emily - born December 8, 1879.  He does a good and growing business to a good class of customers.


 

John N. Niglas

 

Niglas, John N., physician and surgeon, res. 603 N. Jefferson street; was born in Vienna, Austria, May 6, 1810.  His father, John Niglas, married Hannah Suess, both were natives of Austria.  The doctor was educated at the Imperial University of Vienna, where he took a thorough literary and scientific course and received the degree of doctor of philosophy and arts, and filled the chair of philosophy and religion in the university for ten years; was director and priest in St. Mary's Church in the institution from 1836 to 1849, when, owing to the liberality of his views in politics, he resigned his position and sailed for America, landing in New York, in April, 1849; thence went to St. Louis, and after a brief stay came to Peoria, and in 1850, erected the dwelling in which he now lives.  In 1852-3, Dr. N. attended a course of lectures at Rush Medical College, Chicago, from which he was awarded the degree of M.D. in the Spring of 1853; and has since been in active practice.  During the year 1851, he was professor of Hebrew, Greek and German in Jubilee College; in 1861 entered the army as surgeon of the 6th Ill. Cavalry; in April, 1863, was promoted to surgeon in chief of cavalry division of 16th Army Corps; and in 1864, to the position of medical director of the Department of the Tennessee, and served in that capacity till close of the war.  He has acted as county physician four years, and as city physician eight years, which office he now holds.  Doctor married Theresa Overhauser nee Haydter, a native of Vienna, in the city of New York, in September, 1849.  They have no children.


 

William Nitschke

 

Nitschke, William, cigar manufacturer, 510 Main street, was born in Milwaukee, Wis., in July, 1849; married in Chicago, August, 1869, Miss Mathilda Agertsen, a native of Norway, by whom he has had five children, Minnie, Rudolph, August, Otto and Matilda.  He came to Peoria in February, 1871, and started for himself in his present business, manufacturing very largely all grades of cigars; employs at present eighteen hands, and turns out from 50,000 to 60,000 cigars monthly, almost all of which are sold in this city; also keeps a well selected stock of tobaccos and smokers' articles.  His present residence is at 900 Monson street.


 

Orrin H. Norton

 

Norton, Orrin H., was born in Opelousas, La., Oct. 8, 1839.  He came to Peoria in 1841.  In 1853 went to Galveston, Texas, and returned to Peoria in the Fall of 1854, and has resided here since.  While in Galveston his mother and step-father died with the yellow fever, leaving him and a brother, then a babe less than six months old.  Soon after his parents' death he started for home (Peoria) with his baby brother, a journey requiring over a month.  This was an undertaking which few men would have started upon, much less a boy of fifteen summers.  In 1860 he was married by Rev. Mr. Johnson to Miss A. E., daughter of Daniel M. and Ann (Darling) Tinker, natives of North Adams, Mass., who came to Peoria in 1856, and now reside in Richwood township.  He commenced to learn the trade of stone cutter the next Spring.  That Summer he received ten dollars per month and paid five of it for house rent.  He was the prime mover in organizing fire company Young America No. 2, and took the lead in all the company's undertakings, being elected foreman a number of times.  In 1874 he prepared an ordinance to have the fire department reorganized into a thorough paid department; and after much effort on his part the ordinance was passed March 9, 1875, by unanimous vote of the City Council, and at the same meeting Mr. Norton was elected, by ballot, to the office of chief of the fire department, at a salary of $1,000 per annum, which position he held until Jan. 3, 1878.  He was one of the organizers of the I.S.F. Association, and was elected first vice-president a number of times.  In 1876 was appointed one of the executive officers of the National Association of Fire Engineers; was an active fireman in Peoria twenty successive years, attending over fourteen hundred fires.  As a fireman and organizer Mr. Norton stands at the head of the profession.


 

Edward F. Nowland

 

Nowland, Edward F., (retired), res. 311 S. Jefferson street, is one of the pioneer business men of Peoria, and for many years extensively and prominently known in central Illinois as a stock dealer and pork packer, was born in New York city July 4, 1810, and is the only child of Francis and Mary Nowland, who emigrated from Ireland in 1798.  Having spent his early life in the metropolis, Mr. N. came West on a prospective tour in 1834, during which he visited Peoria.  Being pleased with the location and prospects of the young town, he returned to New York and married Jane A. Oakley of that city, and removed to Peoria in 1835.  Engaged two years in butchering for the local market; began regular business of slaughtering and pork packing in 1837, which he prosecuted successfully until 1863, part of the time alone and part in company with other parties.  In 1844 Mr. Nowland erected a large, new packing house, fitted it up with full steam appliances, being the first in Peoria to slaughter and pack by steam.  The business started up from a small beginning and grew to such proportions that the firm killed 40,000 hogs in a season.  Soon after retiring from the pork trade, Mr. N. built the distillery known as the Gregg & Nowland distillery, where Reynolds & Co.'s packing house now stands, and some years later erected the Grove distillery, now owned by Woolner Bros.  After running it a short time, having lost his oldest son, he sold it to Richard Gregg, his partner in the other establishment, and retired from active business.  Mrs. Nowland died February 8, 1870, having borne him three sons and one daughter, two of whom are living -- Mrs. Dr. J. A. Guth and Frank B.  By a life of indefatigable labors -- during years of which he spent twenty out of every twenty-four hours at work -- and by judicious management, Mr. Nowland accumulated an ample estate.  Though his physical health is considerably impaired by a stroke of paralysis, his memory of the events of the early history of Peoria is remarkably distinct, and his graphic relation of them very entertaining and instructive.


 

John O'Brien

 

O'Brien, John, car repairer for T. P. & W. R. R., res. 1102 First street, was born in Ireland; came to America about 1850, and after roaming around a good deal settled in Peoria about 1853, and was married in the following year to Johanna Persol, a native of Ireland, by whom he has had four children, one of whom is now living - Michael.  Mr. O'Brien owns property to the amount of $800, and he and his wife are members of the Catholic Church.


 

Capt. G. W. Odell

 

Odell, G. W., Capt., grocer, 515 Knoxville road; son of Jonathan A. and Mary (Conklin) Odell, natives of New York.  The subject of this sketch was born in Putnam county, N.Y., in 1828.  He was reared on a farm in Westchester county, N.Y., and received a common school education.  At the age of eighteen he commenced clerking for a man by the name of John Mead, in Peekskill, and remained with him until 1852, when he went to New York city and was employed by A. T. Stewart, where he remained until the Spring of 1855, then came to Peoria and clerked for a short time in a dry goods house; afterwards embarked in business as the first of Odell & Parker, and continued as same until 1859.  In 1861 he enlisted in 11th Illinois Cavalry, as private, and was mustered as 1st Lieutenant, under Robert G. Ingersoll; was in that branch of service one and a half years.  Returned home, recruited Company E., of the 139th I. V. I., and was commissioned as its captain.  Married for his first wife Susan A. Armstrong.  She was the daughter of John and Susan Armstrong, who came to the county in 1834.  She died in 1859, leaving one son, Charles H.  For his second wife he married Martha A. Armstrong.  She was born in Peoria, Ills., in 1841.  The fruit of this marriage being nine children, eight of whom are living: Mary A., Jennie, Frank H., Annie S., George B., Lulu, Harry, (Amy deceased), and Edith.


 

John Ohl

 

Ohl, John, bakery and grocery, 401 N. Washington street.  Was born near Frankfort, Germany, April 3, 1824; came to the United States in 1849, in a sailing vessel, and was on the water thirty-five days, and landed in New York, and thence to Mercer county, Pa., where he remained a short time; thence to St. Louis, and remained until 1853, when he came to Peoria county, and has been in the bakery business since.  Married Miss Lizzie Eydmann.  She was born in the same place as her husband, June 26, 1832.  Nine children blessed this union: Julius, born June 11, 1854, died December 11, 1860; (two died in infancy); Carl Peter, born October 10, 1857; John born November 17, 1859; Willie, born March 29, 1863; George, born March 11, 1865; Louis, born November 15, 1866; Matilda, born August 19, 1868; Elizabeth, born November 28, 1870; Emily and Pauline (twins), born June 2, 1873.  Members of Lutheran Church.


 

Joshua S. Onstot

 

Onstot, Joshua S., harness and awning manufacturer, 215 Elizabeth street, was born in Missouri, September 19, 1832.  Was one of a family of three children of Solomon and Mary Onstot.  Mother died when he was ten years old.  He learned the trade of harnessmaker in St. Louis, and after working in various places as a journeyman he settled in Peoria in 1855 and opened business on his own account and conducted a shop until his death, which occurred December 16, 1879, leaving four children, (two dead,) Wm. L., Mary E., Alice B., and Elizabeth A.  Was a member of the M. E. Church at the time of his death.  Mr. Onstot was the first and principal awning manufacturer in the city.  He married Abby G. Prentice, a native of Dayon, O., November 17, 1859.


 

A. S. Parish

 

Parish, A. S., proprietor Parish Commercial College, 114 and 116 S. Adams street, was born in Seneca county, N.Y., December 28, 1841, and is the son of Peter S. and Catherine E. (Smith) Parish, natives of New York.  He there was educated and grew up, and at seventeen years of age removed with his father to Ingham county, Mich., where he resided for four years, and then returning to his native State took a course of commercial education in Oswego, in 1864, and afterwards filled the position of teacher in same school for eight months; afterwards taught in the Business College at Macgregor, Iowa, for two years; at Dayton, Ohio, Business College, one year; at Grand Rapids Business College, seven years; coming from there to Peoria in 1876, where he purchased Cole's Business College in April of that year, and has since conducted and developed it, under his own name.  He has recently moved into new and very handsome quarters, and the college is complete in all the appointments necessary for the thorough education of his students in the forms and customs of actual business life.  He married at Monona, Iowa, July 21, 1867, Miss Susan E. Woodward, a native of Massachusetts, and daughter of Parker and Louisa (Spaulding) Woodward. Mr. Parish's father is still alive and a resident of Ingham county, Mich.


 

J. D. Peck

 

Peck, J. D., house and sign painter, 204 Main street, was born in Providence, R. I., Sept. 3, 1839, and is the son of Leonard and Harriet A. (Short) Peck, natives of that State.  He was raised, educated and learned his trade in his native city, and worked at it there for some years; enlisted in Sept. 1861, in Co. I. 11th R.I.V. Infantry, and served with it until July of the next year; in the same Fall came to Peoria, and during the next two years acted as foreman for Frazer & Co., painters there.  He afterwards went to Omaha, Neb., near which he purchased a cattle ranche, and after residing upon it for a year, sold out, and returned to Peoria, and began business for himself.  He married, in 1861, Miss Harriet A. Woodbury, daughter of Samuel and Frances A. Woodbury, a native of his own city by whom he has one child, Nellie, born June 15, 1877.  Mr. Peck was for two years alderman, from the Seventh Ward of Peoria.  Makes a specialty in his business of sign writing; owns three-story building at above and adjoining numbers, containing two fine stores one of which he occupies himself; also owns residence and lot at 229 Elizabeth street.  Mr. and Mrs. Peck are members of the First Congregationl Church.


 

Edgar Perkins, M. D.

 

Perkins, Edgar, M. D. physician and surgeon, 104 N. Madison street, was born in Delhi, Delaware co., N.Y., Sept. 4, 1836, and is the son of Timothy and Sarah (Veghty) Perkins.  His father was a native of Massachusetts, and his mother of New York.  When four years old his parents removed to Illinois, settling at Buffalo Grove, now Polo, Ogle Co., where he went to school, graduating afterwards at Clarke's, now Jennings', Seminary, at Aurora in 1864.  Before graduating he enlisted in the Fall of 1862, in Co. D. 92nd I.V.I. for three years, and severd about seven months at the front, when in consequence of exposure and privations fell sick and was discharged in the following Spring.  He then returned to Aurora and graduated as above stated.  For the next three years he read medicine and taught school, and took his degree of M.D. at Hahnemann Medical College in 1868, afterwards commencing to practice at Canton, Ill.  After four years there he came to Peoria in the Fall of 1871, where he has ever since resided.  He married, in Providence, R.I., in August, 1866, Miss Lucy F. Cheever, daughter of Daniel Cheever, of Delavan, Ill., by whom he has had four children, Abby A., Chas. E., Harry P., and Louie S.  The doctor owns his residence and lot at above number.  His wife and he are members of the First Congregational Church.


 

H. N. Peterson

 

Peterson, H. N., restaurant, 202 S. Washington street, was born in Holstein, Germany, on the 25th day of Oct. 1827.  Came to the United States in 1853, and landed in New York.  Thence to Chicago where he remained two years, and thence to Peoria where he has resided since, where he worked at his trade as carriage trimmer two years.  Afterwards engaged in the hotel business where he remained five years, and in 1873 commenced his present business.  Married Miss Elizabeth Bower.  She was born in Ohio July 14, 1832.  The fruit of this marriage was five children; four living, Theodore, Henrietta, Rudolph and Minnie.


 

John Peterson

 

Peterson, John, merchant tailor, 224 Main street, was born in Norway, Europe, in 1830.  Came to the United States about twenty-eight years ago, settled in Milwaukee, Wis., and worked at the tailor's trade; thence he went to Rockford, Ill., and pursued the business as a journeyman several years.  In 1861 came to Peoria, and after working three years on a salary opened a shop.  In 1865 his shop was burned, by which he lost most of his stock.  Since then, until the Fall of 1879, he has conducted the business under the First National Bank, when he removed to the above number.  Mr. Peterson married the first time in 1860 to Martha Peterson of Rockford, a native also of Norway.  She died in 1868, leaving one child which has since died.  He married the present wife, Miss T. Leingo, in June, 1877.  She is a native of Ohio.  He carried a fine assortment of piece goods, which are made up to order in the most approved manner.  He is a member of the I.O.O.F.


 

Moses Pettengill

 

Pettengill, Moses, residence West Bluff, is one of the old and prominent citizens of Peoria.  Is the seventh of thirteen children of Benjamin and Hannah Pettengill, and was born in Salisbury, New Hampshire, April 16, 1802.  His grandfather, Andrew Pettengill, was an officer in the war of the revolution; was mortally wounded at the battle of Bennington, Vermont.  Mr. P.'s father was a prominent farmer, and endowed with extraordinary physical and mental powers.  Moses' early Summers were spent on the farm and in the machine shop, the Winters in the village school.  His health broke down, and for seven years of his early  manhood was an invalid.  Later he pursued his studies in the academy of his native village, and taught there several terms, also at Lowell, Massachusetts, Saratoga Springs, and Lewiston, New York.  In 1827, Mr. P. engaged in mercantile business in Rochester, New York, but lost the earnings of years by the burning of his store the following year.  Before locating again, he visited most of the principal cities in the Middle States, and after teaching one term, opened a store in Brockport, twenty miles west of Rochester, in company with a Mr. Little, afterwards with Col. Sanborn, his brother-in-law.  May 23, 1833, Mr. P. united in matrimony with Lucy, daughter of Deacon Amos Pettengill, of Salisbury, New Hampshire.  Hearing a very flattering account of the Illinois country from a neighbor, Mr. Fox, who had visited it, Mr. Pettengill resolved to visit the Prairie State.  Leaving Brockport in November, 1833, in company with a traveling companion named Sweatt, started for Fort Clark, and after a long and circuitous route by lake, canal, river and overland on horseback, they reached their destination the last Saturday in December, 1833.  Soon after their arrival, Mr. P. bought the lot on the southwest corner of Washington and Main streets of Alva Moffatt, for $300.  Peoria then contained a population of 150 people, about thirty log cabins, and three frame buildings  After spending a few days in Fort Clark, Mr. Pettengill made the trip homeward, via Chicago, 800 miles, on horseback.  Having closed out his business there, he started, with his wife and Jacob Gale, since judge, in April, 1834, for Peoria.  Making the journey via the lakes and across the country from Chicago, they arrived at Peoria on the 1st of June, 1834.  Mr. P., in company with Mr. Gale, began the erection of a store on the lot he had purchased on his previous visit, and soon after bought the lot adjoining, on which was a log cabin of the primitive sort, in which to live.  In November, 1834, Messrs.  Pettengill and Gale opened the first hardware and stove store in Peoria, and early in 1835 Mr. Pettengill purchased his partner's interest.  He soon after added the manufacture of sheet iron and copperware, the first in Central Illinois.  In December, 1834, the first church, a New School Presbyterian, was organized, and Mr. and Mrs. Pettengill were prominent among its eleven members.  Through his and the brethren's efforts, the first house of worship was erected the next season.  In the Summer of 1836, Mr. P. sold a half interest in his store to A. P. Bartlett, which continued until 1843, when Mr. Pettengill again became sole owner.  The firm had previously built the first three-story brick store, on the corner of Washington and Main streets.  In the Spring of 1844 he began building a three-story brick store on the lot where his stone front bank building was erected in 1872.  In May of that year, his store and a large part of the goods were burned.  In November following they lost their only child, Moses F., aged five years.  Having to go East to make purchases of goods each year, Mr. P. several times drove through in a carriage, taking the family along.  From 1850 to 1854 Josiah Babcock was a partner with Mr. P. in his mercantile business.  For several years Mr. P. was interested in the manufacture of plows and other agricultural implements, under the firm name of Pettengill & Tazawell; in the Spring also took an interest with several others in a large lumber yard.  Early in the Summer of 1862 Mr. Pettengill purchased one of the most desirable lots of four acres upon the west bluff, and erected buildings on it at a cost of $5,000.  In the Spring of 1863 disposed of his interest in the mercantile house which he had established in 1834.  He lost his wife on the 29th of February, 1864.  On May 17, 1865, at Hazleton, Ill., he married Hannah W. Tyner, nee Bent, a native of Middlebury, Vt.  Mr. P. was chosen delegate to the National Congregational Council, which met at Boston, Mass., in June, 1865.  On the night of the 13th of December, 1865, his bluff home with a large portion of its contents was destroyed by fire.  Three years after his present elegant brick dwelling took its place on the same site, costing $12,000.  In 1870 formed a partnership with Joseph P. Smith and two other gentlemen, for the manufacture of bar soap for the wholesale trade, which continued two years, when he and his nephew bought out the other partners.  Though Mr. Pettengill has retired from active business, he has capital invested in several commercial enterprises, among which is the large wholesale boot and shoe house of Pettengill & Co.

During the days of slavery Mr. Pettengill was an active and zealous anti-slavery man; has from his youth been a strong defender of temperance, and from early manhood has been a devoted member of the church; is affable and companionable, firm in purpose, and of unimpeachable integrity of character.  Benevolence is a prominent feature of his nature; has taken special interest in assisting young men to start in life; on Nov. 25, 1859, donated $4,000 as a thanksgiving offering to the First Congregational Church, of which he and his wife are members.


 

M. Pfeifer

 

Pfeifer, M., hardware, 222 Bridge street, was born in Bavaria, 17th Jan. 1829.   Son of Peter and Eliza (Ostermeyer) Pfeifer, natives of Bavaria.  Came to America, Sept. 26, 1849, landing in New York.  Thence went to Massachusetts, where he remained a short time.  Then went to New Orleans and worked on the river four months, at American Bend, and in July, 1850, came to St. Louis.  Remained there two months and was in various places until 1855, when he came to Peoria.  Clerked in a hardware house till 1862, when he started a grocery, and in the Fall added hardware, and continued in the same until the Fall of 1868.  About that date he dropped groceries and devoted his whole time to the hardware business.  Between the years of 1873 and '77, was the first president of the German Banking Co., of which he held stock for many years.  Married in the Fall of 1850 in St. Louis, Miss Barbara Goehring, a native of Bavaria.  Carries a stock from $7,000 to $9,000.  Member of the Volunteer Fire Department for twelve years; was secretary, treasurer and foreman during that time.  Was president of the German Workingmen's Association.  Has been director and treasurer of Central Street Car Company, treasurer of the German Fire Insurance Co., and is at present director of the German Bank.  Member of the I.O.O.F., Western Lodge, No. 295; has held the offices of treasurer and N.C.  Owns four stores on Bridge and Washington streets; also a residence and lot on S. Adams street, No. 912, and other city property.


 

Augustus Pfeifer

 

Pfeiffer, Augustus, wholesale liquor dealer, 109 S. Washington street.  Son of Theobold and Caroline (Hursch) Pfeiffer, natives of Germany, who came to the U.S. in 1849, and settled in Peoria county, and followed the grocery trade.  Father died in 1873; mother still living.  The subject of this sketch was born in Peoria county on the 21st day of Nov., 1852, and received what education the city schools afforded.  Embarked in his present business in 1877.  Carried a stock of from $15,000 to $20,000.  Mr. P.'s sales are principally in the central portion of the State, and his annual sales amount to from $75,000 to $100,000.  Married Susie Buffe, daughter of Fred Buffe.  She was born in Peoria Dec. 5, 1853.  They have two children by this union, one boy and one girl: August F. and Clara Ellen.


 

Theobald Pfeifer

 

Pfeiffer, Theobald (deceased).  Widow's residence, 826 Knoxville road.  Was born in Rhinebergen, Germany, Feb. 21, 1820.  Emigrated to America in 1850, located in Peoria, and immediately embarked in the grocery business, on Water street, near Bridge, and continued in the same fourteen years, when he sold out and engaged in the insurance business.  He also was city collector and treasurer.  Married Miss Caroline Hirsch.  She was born in Germany, Aug. 28, 1824.  The fruit of this marriage was nine children, six of them living: Robert, August, Ernest, Frederick, Rudolph and Annie.  The deceased are: Caroline, Carl and Thomas.


 

F. M. Phillips

 

Phillips, F. M., Captain Chemical Engine No. 2, S. Adams street, below Plank road, was born in Brown county, O., September 19, 1842, and is the son of Valentine and Jane (Kennett) Phillips, natives of Ohio.  When about twelve years of age he removed with his parents to Peoria, and has ever since made it his home.  He enlisted in August, 1861, in Company A, 47th Illinois Volunteer Infantry, Captain Cromwell, and formed part of the 16th Army Corps, or Western Army; took part in the battles of Island No. 10, Corinth, Iuka, Jackson, Miss., second battle of Corinth, Vicksburg, Millikin's Bend, Red River Expedition, Pleasant Hill, through Mississippi after Forest, Tupalo, and Sharcott Lake in Arkansas, where the company lost heavily; in all, 27 battles and skirmishes.  He was mustered out at Springfield, Ill., October 4, 1864, upon which day his mother died in Peoria, and after staying at home for thirty days, he re-enlisted as a veteran in Company B., 11th Illinois Volunteer Cavalry, and served with it till the close of the war, when he was mustered out with the rank of corporal.  On his return to Peoria he engaged in teaming for over a year, hauling coal on contract to distilleries.  He married, 1868 Miss Martha E. Kemmer, who was born in Kentucky in 1853, by whom he has had one child, Henry W., born 1869, and died in October, 1870.  In 1866 he gave up teaming, and engaged for about six years in the livery business, and in 1874 entered the employ of the city as fireman, and has since followed that occupation.  He was the first with Chemical Engine Co. No. I; has been in present company since January, 1878, and in September of the latter year received the appointment to its captaincy.


 

Jacob Pinger

 

Pinger, Jacob, pork packer; residence 942 Knoxville road.  Was born in Framenheim, Alsace Hessen, Germany, April 23, 1816, and came to America in December, 1833, and located in Cincinnati, O., where he resided 34 years.  Then in 1868 came to Peoria, where he has followed pork packing since.  Married Mary Bohl.  She was born in Baiern, Germany, July 25, 1822, and came to the United States in 1828.  The fruit of this marriage was nine children, eight of whom are still living.  Christ, born October 28, 1846; George D., born November 20, 1850; John E., born October 19, 1853, Lou. J., born November 24, 1856; Theodore, born January 24, 1859; Albert, born April 11, 1861; Amelia M., born Sep. 27, 1866; Emma K., born October 7, 1871  (Sarah E., born May 20, 1848, died June 2, 1853).


 

Charles Polster

 

Polster, Charles, grocer and provision dealer, 113 Clay street, was born in Germany, February 6, 1831; emigrated to America, landing at New York in October, 1856, and went to Connecticut, and from thence to Peoria, where he carried on business as a tailor until 1861, and then enlisted in 28th Regiment I.V.I., and served three years, afterwards re-enlisting in the same regiment, and serving until the close of the war; was discharged in 1866.  He worked at his trade all the time he was in the army; participated in a good many battles but never received a wound, or lay a day in a hospital.  After his discharge he commenced his present business, and has since carried it on successfully.  He married, in 1857, Miss Anne Inselmann, who was born in Germany, April 19, 1818.


 

John Polster

 

Polster, John, dealer in groceries, provisions, flour, etc., 1214 N. Adams street, was born in Germany, January 1, 1857; son of John and Katherina (Armstrong) Polster both of whom were natives of that country.  He was raised and educated in his native town of Ratzeburg, and came alone to America in 1875, landing in New York in July of that year.  He came straight through to Peoria, and for the next four years clerked for his uncle Charles Polster, and started in business for himself at his present location, February 28, 1879.  He married April 17, of the same year, Miss Theodolinde Seidle, a native of Peoria.  Mr. Polster has a handsome store, keeps in it a stock valued at about $700, and bids fair soon to build up a large and lucrative trade.


 

Mahlon T. Powell

 

Powell, Mahlon T., was born near Leesburgh, Loudon county, Va., on the 26th of October, 1816; received a good education at common school; left his native country on October 6, 1836, having in charge his father, then seventy-two years old, (who served three years and eight months in the Revolutionary war) and family, which consisted of mother and sister.  They landed in Peoria from the steamer Warren on November 5, same year; removed up the river to the narrows, where the father was taken sick, and in about three weeks died.  Then he and the remaining family moved to Washington, Tazewell county, where he married the oldest daughter of Rev. W. J. Curtis, on October 21, 1841, and May, 1850, removed to Peoria, where they have lived since.  Have a family of four sons, two of whom are married, and three girls, all living in the city.  Mr. Powell works at his trade, carpenter; is, financially, in comfortable circumstances, and enjoys good physical health.


Bennett O. Warner

Bennett O. Warner, livery and horse dealer, 110 & 112 N. Washington street, was born in Perry county, Ohio, May 6, 1820; remained there till he came to Peoria in 1846; traveled through Ohio a number of years as a wholesale peddler of Yankee notions and dry goods; was also engaged in the staging business in company with John Youtz; stocked and ran a line between Columbus and Wheeling.  Came to Peoria to stock a line between this city and Ottawa; and to Springfield, Jacksonville and Alton, and from Quincy to Nauvoo.  Mr. W. engaged in the grocery business some two or three years, in the old Clinton House, which burned about 1854, and by which he lost heavily; in 1855 he went into his present business, is the oldest livery man in the city, and keeps a heavy stock for the road; he also buys and sells horses.  In January, 1845, he married Rebecca Sparks, born in Ohio, near Hebron.  They have two children of each sex living -- Frank, Robert, Jessie and Maude.  Mr. W. has been a member of the Board of Supervisors several terms; in 1877 and '78 he was Supervisor at large; was City Marshal for two years -- 1852-53 -- and is a member of the A. F. & A. M.


John Warner

Warner, John, mayor, res. 105 Third street, was born in Perry county, Ohio, October 11, 1828, and is the son of John B. Warner, a native of Maryland, and Hetty Gordon, a native of Pennsylvania.  He was raised and educated in Muskingum county, O., and with his parents came to Illinois in 1846, and settled in the city of Peoria, of which he has since been a resident.  From 1852 to '59 he was engaged in the clothing and furnishing business, and from the latter date to 1862 dealt in ice, and owned and managed several fine steamboats, carrying on a large business between Peoria and New Orleans.  He was elected Colonel of the 108th I. V. I. in 1862, and served with his regiment for eighteen months, taking part with it in many severe encounters, among them those of Chicasaw Bayou, Arkansas Post, Vicksburg, and many others.  On returning to Peoria, he was for two years in the revenue service, and then obtained an interest in the wholesale and retail liquor firm of Spier & Co., which he retained until 1874, in which year he was elected mayor.  He has had the nomination from the Democratic party four times in succession and their successful support three times, being elected each time by a large majority.  He has, during his extended period of office, proved himself one of the most energetic and progressive, yet at the same time economical and prudent mayors the city has ever had.  During his administration the police and fire departments have been thoroughly organized and equipped, almost all the engine-houses built; much lasting and faithful work has been expended upon the paving of the streets, the workhouse built and put in running order, and many other improvements instituted to keep pace with the growth of the city.  Mr. Warner married in Peoria in 1851, Miss Elizabeth Simms, daughter of Alonzo Simms, a native of Virginia, by whom he has had eight children -- John, Dollie, Harry, Etta, Aggie, Mollie, and Daisy.  He owns his residence and lot at above number, and other real estate throughout the city.

 

 

 

from The History of Peoria County, Illinois, Johnson & Co., 1880

 

Peoria County  |  Biographies