Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

S



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Sa Sc Se Sh Si Sk Sl Sm Sn So Sp Sq Sr St Su Sw Sy


Sackett, Rev B. H.
[19??-19??] He was at Sunderland before becoming Minister at West End Congregational Church, Sowerby Bridge [1937]

Sackett, Rev George William
[1873-1955] Son of Elizabeth [née Lee] [1836-1920] and Rev Benjamin Sackett [1834-1900].

Born in Langford, Oxfordshire [1873].

He was Minister at Patmos Congregational School, Todmorden.

He moved to Penistone [1912].

In 1902, he married (1) Elizabeth Findley Kingston [1872-1936] at St George-in-the-East, London.

Children: (1) Benjamin Howard [1903-1999]; (2) Winifred [1904-1986]; (3) Irene [1907-1993].

In 1937, he married (2) Mary Hannah Jubb [1890-1973] in Wortley

He died in Wortley [28th March 1955]

Sacro Fonte, Hugh de
[12??-13??] Watson mentions a Hugh de Sacro Fonte de Staynland. who was alive in the 13th century.

See St Helen's Well, Holywell Green

Sacrobosco
Mathematician and astronomer born in Rastrick

Sadd, William Edward
[1853-1932] BA.

Son of Mary Anne [née Fuller] [1820-1881] and Robert Thomas Sadd [1817-1891], a jeweller & optician.

Born in Cambridge [He].

He was educated at St Catherine's College Cambridge; Assistant Master at Heath Grammar School [1875].

In 1889, he married Sarah Lever [1862-1947] in Bath.

Children: (1) Elsie Constance Fuller [1890-1961]; (2) Hilda Beatrice Anne [1892-1973]; (3) Robert William [1893-1957]; (4) Doris Edith [1897-1937]; (5) Walter Edmund Gladstone [1898-1971].

He died in Bath

The Saddler's Shop: Shibden Hall
This is in the Folk Museum at Shibden Hall. There are examples of tools and equipment which was used in the making and maintaining of harness, saddles, collars, and horse brasses for the domestic and agricultural horses on the estate

Sadler, Michael Thomas
[1780-1835] Linen exporter and Methodist social reformer of Leeds. When he was MP for Aldborough in 1831, he introduced the Ten Hours Bill

Sagar & Meredith
Dyers of Luddendenfoot. Established in the late 19th century by Henry Sagar and J. T. Meredith at Wood Bottom Dye Works, Luddendenfoot.

Recorded in 1908 as Henry Sagar Limited at Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot

Sagar (Developments) Limited

Sagar, Donald
[1860-1916] Son of Joseph Sagar.

He was a saw mill engineer [1891]; a partner in J. Sagar & Company Limited.

In 1886, he patented improvements in grinding cutters and machine plane irons

In 1881, he married Letitia, daughter of William Nicholl, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Martha [b 1882]; (2) Jessie [b 1883]; (3) Joseph Donald.

The family lived at 9 Charles Street, Halifax [1891]; 18 Savile Park, Halifax [1901]; Heath Villas, Halifax [1916]

He owned Haigh House, Warley [1905-1913]

In 1903, he was one of the first people to be granted a car registration and a motor drivers' licence

Sagar, Donald Joseph
[1892-1922] Son of Donald Sagar.

A Director of J. Sagar & Company Limited.

He was a member of Halifax Golf Club.

He was unmarried.

He lived at Heath Villas, Halifax [1922].

He and John Robinson were killed when the Strasbourg to Paris air express crashed into the Gorge de Saverne as they were returning from motor races in Strasbourg.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Sagar, George
[1858-1883] First husband of Helen Hinchliffe.

On 9th April 1881, they married secretly at Burnley, against her father's wishes.

He died in Southport.

He was buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale

Sagar, George Sharp
[1856-1937] Son of Joseph Sagar.

He was a yarn salesman [1881].

In [Q1] 1877, he married (1) Mary Jane Talbot [1857-1907] in Wakefield.

Children: Eleanor Gertrude [b 1878].

The family lived at Spring Edge, Skircoat [1881].

Mary Jane died in Halifax [Q1 1907] (aged 50).

In 1907, he married (2) Agnes Hannah Dunstan [1863-19??] at Halifax


Agnes Hannah came from Sheffield
 

Sagar's: H. Sagar Limited
Dyers and finishers of Luddendenfoot and Mill House Mill, Sowerby established by Henry Sagar around 1889.

The business evolved into Sagar & Meredith, then Henry Sagar Limited at Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot, [1908] and Henry Sagar (1931) Limited

Sagar, Henry
[1865-1947] Born in Nelson, Lancashire.

As a young man, he established the partnership Sagar & Meredith.

Around 1889, he established H. Sagar Limited.

In 1919, he was a partner in Sagar-Richards Limited.

In 1881, he was a visitor to John Crossley Fawcett

Sagar, Hubert Gordon
[1886-1966] Son of Joe Sagar

In 1912, he married Ethel Durber, at Wolstanton, Staffordshire.

Children: (1) John Gordon; (2) Anthony D. G. [b 1919]; (3) Joan G. [b 1924].

He died in Westmorland

Sagar's: J. Sagar & Company Limited
Halifax. Engineers and manufacturers of woodworking machinery.

Established at Stone Dam Mills by Joe and Donald Sagar in 1875. An advertisement in the Halifax Guardian for the business in 1875 announced


To Iron and Brass Founders, Boiler Makers, &c
J. SAGAR & Company IRON MERCHANTS
Supply Middlesbro, Scotch and Hematite Pig Iron
Cleveland & Staffordshire Boiler and Tank Plates
Boiler Rivets, Bar Iron, Copper, &c &c
Quotations arranged on application to Office
10 Causeway, Halifax

During World War I, the company produced a machine for shaping propellers.

The business later moved to Canal Works, Water Lane, Halifax.

In 1954, they were listed as Sagar (Developments) Limited and there were adverts for their BURSGREEN woodworking machinery.

The pattern shop and foundry at Canal Works closed in 1958.

See Donald Joseph Sagar and John Gordon Sagar

Sagar, Joe
[1854-1915] Son of Joseph Sagar.

Mechanical engineer. He worked with his father on woodworking machinery. Partner in J. Sagar & Company Limited.

In 1913, he was one of the subscribers to The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

In 1877, he married Mary Jane Gordon [1855-19??] from Keighley, at Keighley.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1879] who married John Arnold Ackroyd; (2) Mary [b 1881]; (3) Hubert Gordon; (4) Annie [b 1890]; (5) Dorothy [b 1892]; (6) Edith Marjorie [b 1894]; (7) Miriam Audrey [b 1898]; (8) child. Only 4 of the children survived.

The family lived at 9 Charles Street, Halifax [1881]; 34 Union Street, Halifax [1891]; The Poplars, Halifax [1901, 1905, 1911]

Sagar, John Gordon
[1913-1981] Son of Hubert Gordon Sagar.

Born 22nd February 1913.

He was the last managing director of Sagar's

In 1935, he married Sylvia Mary Rimmer [1905-19??] born in Cheshire, at St Margaret's Westminster.

Children: Dale [b 1939]

He died at Huddersfield

Sagar, Joseph
[1831-1900] Son of Joseph Sagar.

Born in Cononley, Keighley [31st January 1831].

In 1841, the 10-year-old Joseph was living in Cononley with William Cockshott and family.

In 1851, he was living with Henry Cockshott and family at Clipster Hall, Siddal, Halifax.

He was an oiler man [1851]; an oiler in a worsted factory [1861]; Verger at Halifax Parish Church [1871]; Church Sexton [1881]; Halifax Parish Clerk [1891]; (possibly) Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1891-1897]; an engineer with his son, Joe, on woodworking machinery [1901].

On 20th April 1852, he married Sarah Sharp [1832-1???] from Midgley, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Joe; (2) George Sharp; (3) Donald.

The family lived at Wilson's Yard, Halifax, [1861]; 12 Nelson Street, Halifax, [1871]; 10 Causeway, Halifax, [1881, 1891]; 26 Elmfield Place, Halifax [1900].

He died 2nd April 1900.

He was buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.

The funeral cortège was headed by 200 workpeople from J. Sagar & Company Limited.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Sagar-Richards Limited
Makers of metal castings at Luddendenfoot. Established in 1919 by Henry Sagar and brothers Daniel and Alfred Richards. They were originally at Woodbottom Dyeworks, Luddendenfoot.

They expanded to Ellen Holme Mills [1955] and the Synchro Works [1958], Cooper House Mills and other premises in Luddendenfoot. In 1973, an explosion destroyed the firm's offices.

The firm closed in 2002, possibly a consequence of an unwillingness to invest in modern developments

Sagar, William
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1838, when he was a member of the Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry

Sagar, William
[1851-1893] On 8th July 1900, a stained glass window at Saint Paul's Church, Cross Stone was dedicated to his memory by his children

Sager, John
[1823-1881] He was a farmer, slater & plasterer [1861, 1871]; publican Swan Inn, Heptonstall [1861, 1871]; licensed victualler of the Cross Inn, Heptonstall [1874, 1881]; a farmer of 18 acres [1881].

On 2nd February 1842, he married Sally Uttley [1822-1900] at Heptonstall Church.

Children: (1) William [1843-1883]; (2) James [1850-1853]; (3) Sutcliffe; (4) Sarah Ellen [1857-1926] who married Abel Fletcher.

The family lived at

He died at the Cross Inn [10th July 1881].

His widow Sally took over at the Cross Inn until her death in 1900.

Sally died at the Cross Inn [7 April 1900].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,757 6/10d. Probate was granted to daughter Sarah Ellen & James Hartley (actuary).

At her death, she had been in the pub business for 41 years and was the oldest landlady in Heptonstall.

She was buried at Heptonstall Slack Baptist Cemetery

Sager, John Ormerod
[1871-1966] Of Holly House, Todmorden.

Son of William Sager.

He was a solicitor's articled clerk [1901]; a solicitor [1911].

In 1901, he was living at Twickenham, Surrey with his sister Mabel & her husband John Dewhirst.

On 20th October 1901, he married Annie Eastwood at St Mary's Church, Luddenden.


Annie was the daughter of Eli Ogden Eastwood
 

Children: (1) William Maurice Eastwood; (2) John Donald [1905-1906]; (3) Margaret Winsome [b 1907]; (4) Mary Hamilton [1908-1995].

In 1907, he and his wife presented a new font to St Paul's Church, Cross Stone in memory of their son John Donald

The family lived at Holly House, Todmorden [1911]

Sager, Sutcliffe
[1854-1897] Son of John Sager.

He was a slater, plasterer & painter [1881]; a plasterer [1891]; landlord of the Robin Hood, Pecket Well [1897].

On 8th May 1877, he married Susannah Burn [1854-1907] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) John [1877-1956]; (2) Walter Burn [1880-1936].

The family lived at Main Street, Heptonstall [1881, 1891].

In October 1897, he and some others were returning from a pigeon shooting match at Cullingworth, when Sager's horse shied as they were coming over Cock Hill. Sager fell into the road and suffered injuries from which he died on the following evening at the Robin Hood [24th October 1897]

His wife took over at the Robin Hood

Sager, William
[1804-1855] He was a grocer [1841]; a tallow chandler [1851]; a grocer, tea dealer, wine and spirit merchant and tallow chandler at Church Street, Todmorden.

In 1845, a Savings Bank was held on his premises, every Thursday between 10:00 am and noon

On 10th August 1835, he married (1) Alice Ormerod [1803-1839] at St Chad's, Rochdale.


Alice was the daughter of
John Ormerod
 

Children: (1) Elizabeth [1837-1860]; (2) Ormerod [1839-1839].

In [Q3] 1845, he married (2) Sarah Stansfield [1811-1802] in Macclesfield.

Children: (3) Hannah [1847-1847]; (4) Stansfield [1849-1891]; (5) William.

The family lived at Church Street, Todmorden [1841]; Dale Street, Langfield [1851]

He built Holly House, Todmorden [1852].

He died at Holly House, Todmorden [31st March 1855].

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden [5th April 1855].

Daughter Elizabeth died at Holly House [28th August 1860].

She too was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £12,000. Probate was granted to her uncle Peter Ormerod, and Joseph Firth of North View Todmorden (cotton manufacturer).

His two wives and children Ormerod & Hannah were also buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Sager, William
[1850-1899] Son of William Sager.

He was a solicitor for the Union [1881]; clerk superintendent [1881]; registrar of births & deaths for Stansfield [1881]; solicitor & clerk to the Guardians [1891]; superintendent registrar [1891]; clerk to the rural sanitary authority of the Todmorden Union [1891].

On 8th July 1875, he married Alice Western [1850-1887] at Holy Trinity, Richmond, Surrey.


Alice – born in Knaresborough – already had a daughter Mabel [1873-1947]; her birth was registered in Richmond, Surrey, as Western but she was baptised [2nd March 1876] at Cross Stones as Mabel Sager
 

Children: (1) William Oswald Stansfield [b 1876]; (2) John Ormerod; (3) Haworth [b 1879]; (4) Mabel who married [Q2 1895] John Dewhirst.

The family lived at Holly House, Todmorden (with a staff of 6) [1881]; Holly House, Todmorden (with 1 servant) [1891].

On 7th July 1900, his son, John, unveiled a stained glass window at Saint Paul's Church, Cross Stone, in his memory

Sager, William Maurice Eastwood
[1902-1962] Son of John O. Sager.

On 5th June 1928, he married Eileen Patricia Hoyle at Christ Church, Todmorden


Eileen Patricia was the daughter of Joshua Hodson Hoyle
 

Saint Alban's Road Post Office
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936

Saint Andrew's Operatic Society
The operatic society of St Andrew's Methodist Chapel, Queens Road, Halifax

Saint Ann's in the Grove, Southowram
House mentioned in 1500 and in 1601. It was owned by members of the Thompson family, including

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

It was rebuilt several times and it was damaged when local quarrying caused subsidence of the land.

It was damaged by an explosion at Brooke's Chemical Works on 22nd December 1917.

The house was demolished in 1934 after the east wing had collapsed.

The 18th century stable-block was converted into houses.

The name should not be confused with St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram.

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Saint Anne's Cricket Club, Southowram
Formed in 1???.

Closed in 1???. The pavilion was sold to Barkisland Cricket Club.

See Southowram Cricket Club

Saint Anne's Southowram Quarterly Messenger & Record
Publication produced around 1873 by St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram. It was an 8-page publication and was priced at 1d. Rev William Laycock was an editor

Saint Anne's War Memorial, Southowram
A memorial cross remembering those who served in World War I was unveiled at St Anne's Church, Southowram on 20th June 1926

Saint Aubyne, Elland

Owners and tenants have included

Saint Crispin Republican Club, Halifax
A 19th century republican movement formed at the St Crispin Inn, Halifax. John Baines was a member.

See Halifax Republican Club and United Britons

Saint George's Bridge, Hebden Bridge
The cast-iron bridge was built by
De Bergue & Co. Ld. Manchester

and dated 1892. It cost £1,530 to build. It was opened in 1893. The construction required the demolition of property between Bridge Mill and the Shoulder of Mutton.

A cast-iron panel records:

St George's Bridge Erected by Public Subscriptions with the aid of a grant from The West Riding County Council Committee: John Crowther, George Pickles, A. B. M Moss, Joseph Greenwood, J. B. Brown Sec

The East pier is inscribed J. Sutcliffe Architect, and the West pier is inscribed E. Riley Contractor.

The original gradient fell towards St George's Square and was considered too steep. In 1911, the gradient was changed from 1 in 8½ to 1 in 14½ when the bridge was lowered by 18 inches at the St George's Square end, and by 5 inches in the centre.

It was modified again in 1961

Saint Giles House, Hove Edge

Saint Giles, Lightcliffe
Area of Lightcliffe which takes its name from Giles House

Saint Helen's House, Halifax
Stood at the northern end of North Bridge.

In 1808, Captain Jeremy Lister and his family left the Skelfler estate and brought the family to live here

Saint Helen's Square, Holywell Green
There were a number of 17th century houses here.

Around 1855, the Shaw family moved St Helen's Well from its earlier position at Mellor Mill Lane. They diverted the water for their new dyeing plant.

The area was cleared in 1966/1969 for the construction of housing

Saint Helen's Well, Holywell Green
Mineral water spring at Helen Hill Farm, Jagger Green Lane.

It was restored in 1977.

See Carr Hall Well, Holywell Green, Holy Well, Holywell Green, Holywell Green, Nell, Hugh de Sacro Fonte, St Helen's Chapel, Holywell Green and St Helen's Square, Holywell Green

Saint James Amateur Operatic Society
Founded by the members of St James's Church, Brighouse. The first production was Floradora at Sugden Memorial Hall in 1924.

It became the Brighouse Light Opera Society

Saint James's Club, Halifax
A gentlemen's club established in July 1868. They had about 100 members. They met in premises at 15-17 Crown Street which had been offered by Edmund Minson Wavell.

Officers included

Recorded in 1874 at 24 Crown Street, Halifax when J. Graham was Steward.

In 1881, they acquired land at Barum Top / Fountain Street. A new club was built by Jackson & Fox.

The new club was opened on 27th May 1882 and became the Halifax Club.

In 1973, it merged with the Borough Club to become the Halifax & Borough Club

Saint James [No 448] Masonic Lodge
This Masonic Lodge was the largest in West Yorkshire. Established in 1838.

In 1874 – together with Probity [No 61] Lodge – they opened the Freemasons' Hall, Halifax.

They met on the Tuesday on or before full moon [1894].

Officers and members of the Lodge have included

See De Warren [No 1302] Masonic Lodge

Saint James's Road Post Office
Recorded in 1905 at 57 St James's Road, Halifax. It was then at the same address as the business run by Thomas Ramsden, draper and stationer

Saint James's Road Turkish Baths, Halifax
Aka Fleming's Improved Turkish Baths. Opened in 1862 by W. Fleming at 7-8 St James's Road.

Around 1876, the baths were acquired by Herbert Hadley and Hadley & Priestley. They moved the business from St James's Road to 5 King Cross Street.

It survived until at least 1908 under a series of proprietors

Saint James's Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1861. Around 1865 it was divided into Central Ward and ??.

See James Bairstow

Saint John's Ambulance Association, Brighouse
The Brighouse Corps of the St John's Ambulance Association was formed in 1882.

From its earliest beginnings in Brighouse, Dr Bogdan Edward Jastrzębski Edwards was involved with the local branch of the Ambulance Brigade. He held many classes promoting the organisation.

He became the first man in Brighouse to be awarded the Order of St John of Jerusalem

In 1980, the branch ran into difficulties when 3 officers were dismissed for being unfit to hold their positions of authority.

See Henry Jocelyn Barber, Dr Frederick Bond, St John's Ambulance Hall, Brighouse and St John's Ambulance Hall, Rastrick

Saint John's Ambulance Association, Halifax
The Halifax Corps of the St John's Ambulance Association was formed at the Mechanics' Hall, Halifax on 26th July 1880. The Bishop of Ripon was the first President.

On 31st January 1929, Ernest Shaw Redman gave a motor ambulance to the Association. It was delivered on 15th June 1929.

See Minnie Laura Warneford

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, Elland
Recorded in March 1916, when the Elland Madrigal Society presented a Concert at the Constitutional Club, Elland in aid of the local branch

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, Halifax
See Dr Edmond West Symes and Edward Bertram West Symes

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, Hebden Bridge
The Hebden Bridge Corps of the St John's Ambulance Brigade was formed in 1887.

Those involved in establishing the group included Theophilus Bates, Dr David Bradley, and Herbert King

On 1st February 1896, Josiah Wade gave Hebden Bridge its first ambulance. In 1924, the horse-drawn vehicle was replaced by a motor ambulance

Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, Sowerby Bridge

See Mrs Crowther Stockton

Saint John's Ambulance Hall, Brighouse
The foundation stones were laid on 20th May 1913 by the Dowager Countess of Desart and Mrs Smith of Lands House

Saint John's Ambulance Hall, Rastrick
Bramston Street.

Built in 1913.

The foundation stone was laid by Mrs William Smith.

9 members of the Association who died in World War I, are commemorated by 9 holly trees planted in the grounds.

The building is now the St John's Chapel – a Chapel of Rest.

See St John's Ambulance Association, Brighouse

Saint John's Ambulance Hall, Todmorden
Victoria Road

Saint John's Cross Farm, Bradshaw
Owners and tenants have included

Saint John's, Halifax
Area which includes the West Hill Park area and Gibbet Street. For the purposes of Municipal Elections, the area was known as St John's Ward and then Park Ward.

It now has a largely Asian population

Saint John's Home, Triangle
The Vicarage for the church of St John the Divine, Thorpe.

Built around 1850.

Possibly designed by W. S. Barber who also designed the Church.


Question: Can anyone confirm the name of the architect who designed the property?

 

It stood nearly opposite the Church, and adjacent to a row of older cottages.

It is described as

Built of Yorkshire stone, with gothic windows ... a very damp home!

It was used a sanatorium for soldiers returning from the Crimea War

Saint John's Hospital
Gibbet Street, Halifax. The Halifax Union Workhouse and hospital buildings opened in March 1840. It was known as St John's Hospital from 1891, and also as Halifax Poor Law Institution.

In 1901, a new St Luke's Hospital was built at Salterhebble to accommodate bed-ridden patients from the overcrowded workhouse.

The building was used as an auxiliary military war hospital during World War I.

On 11th September 1929, a new clock was installed in the gable of the Hospital and named Miriam in honour of Mrs Miriam Lightowler.

In 1948, the institution was taken over by Leeds Regional Hospital Board. It came to be used for geriatric care.

The hospital closed in September 1970 and patients were transferred to Northowram Hospital. The buildings were demolished in April 1972 and the contents were sold off at auction.

See Officers of Halifax Union Workhouse and Westfield House, Halifax

Saint John's House, Halifax
Trinity Road / Stone Trough Lane.


Question: Does anyone know why the name Saint John is applied to the house and other features nearby?

 

Owners and tenants have included

See Freemasons' Hall and St John's Lane, Halifax

Saint John [No 1736] Masonic Lodge
Masonic Lodge.

They were at the Masonic Hall, St James's Road, Halifax [1937]. They met on the first Wednesday of the month [1937].

Masters and members of the Lodge have included

  • Newton Brooke – PM

  • J. C. Ackroyd – Secretary at Blackwall, Halifax [1917]

  • E. Uttley – Master [1937]

Saint John of God Respite Care Home, Luddendenfoot
Opened on 2nd March 1997 on the site of St Walburga's Catholic Church

Saint John the Baptist Well

Saint John's Tide Fair
An annual hiring fair which was held in Halifax on the Feast of St John the Baptist. It was discontinued around 1???

Saint John's Vicarage, Halifax

Saint John's Villa, Halifax
Owners and tenants have included

Saint John's Ward
For the purposes of Municipal Elections, the St John's area was known as St John's Ward.

In 2003, it was renamed Park Ward.

See Margaret Alice Berry, Electoral Wards and William McVine

Saint John's Well, Coley
A well near Coley Hall is said to have been used as a holy well for curing certain ailments

Saint Joseph Temperance Society
Winding Road, Halifax. 19th century organisation

Saint Luke's Hospital
Huddersfield Road, Halifax.

Aka the Poor Law Hospital.

Designed by W. C. Williams, work began on the building in 1897. It was built on land previously occupied by a market gardener. There are still allotments nearby.

The Halifax Union St Luke's Hospital – or Union Infirmary – opened on 9th April 1901 to accommodate bed-ridden patients from the overcrowded Union Workhouse at Gibbet Street. It was the largest public building in Halifax at the time.

Construction costs recorded as £100,000.

The foundation stone reads

Halifax Union
St. Luke's Hospital

This foundation stone of St. Luke's Hospital, being an Infirmary for the sick poor in Halifax Poor Law Union, comprising the townships and parishes of Barkisland, Brighouse, Clifton, Elland and Fixby, Greetland, Halifax, Hartshead, Hipperholme, Luddenden Foot, Midgley, Norland, Northowram, Norwood Green and Coley, Queensbury, Rastrick, Rishworth, Shelf, Skircoat, Southowram, Sowerby, Sowerby Bridge, Soyland, Stainland with old Lindley, Upper Greetland and Warley, was laid on the 9th day of October 1897, by the Rev. C. E. Aspinall, MA, J. Ponly, Chairman of the Halifax Board of Guardians

The building cost was £98,000. Its two distinctive bottle-shaped ward blocks still stand at the south and the north ends of the site. It had 400 beds.

Between 1914 and 1920, it became St Luke's Military Hospital.

On 8th November 1926, wireless was installed at the Hospital.

In 1930, it taken over by Halifax County Borough and became St Luke's Hospital.

After 1948, it joined the National Health Service as Halifax General Hospital

Saint Luke's Military Hospital, Halifax
During World War I, St Luke's Hospital, was used for treating soldiers. A further 302 beds were placed in marquees in the hospital grounds. It accommodated 800 to 900 patients.

On 8th July 1916, the Chapel was dedicated by the Bishop of Wakefield.

On 11th December 1918, the 650 soldiers in the Hospital were entertained to a grand banquet and concert by the Borough Police to celebrate the Armistice.

See Minnie Laura Warneford

Saint Marie's Catholic Club, Halifax
Aka St Marie's Catholic Association.

Recorded on 27th July 1915, when a new suite of clubrooms was opened by the Association

Recorded in 1917 at Hall Street, when James Canning was secretary.

See St Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Halifax

Saint Mark's Eve Vigil
Around midnight on the 24th April, a vigil was held at St Peter's Church, Hartshead. The vigil was held for 3 consecutive years, and on the third year, those present would see the spirits of those who were to die in the forthcoming year.

It is said that people were known to have become ill or died as a consequence of their being seen during the vigil

Saint Matthew's Theatre Society
Brighouse

Saint Michael's Acting Society
Mytholmroyd

Saint Michael's Mount, Barkisland
Owners and tenants have included

Saint Pancras
The cruiser HMS Ajax and the HMS St Pancras were adopted by Halifax in Warships Week during World War II

Saint Paul's Coal Society
Recorded in 1905 at Parkinson Lane / Queens Road when the Secretary was J. H. Elkington

Saint Paul's Monumental Works, King Cross
See Gad Cordingley

Saint Paul's Railway Station, Halifax
Aka Halifax Old Station. The station opened on 5th September 1890. This was situated at the junction of Queens Road with Parkinson Lane and Kingston Street, and was the Halifax southern terminus of the High Level Railway.

The passenger service and the station closed on 1st January 1917. The last goods train ran in 1960 when the goods yard closed.

The station was demolished in 1963 A car showroom stands on the site.

Saint Paul's War Memorial, Queens Road
There is a memorial inside St Paul's Church, Queens Road

Saint Peter's Community Centre, Sowerby
St Peter's Avenue

Saint Thomas's Cricket Club, Claremount
The cricket club St Thomas the Apostle, Claremount

Recorded in the 19th century, when Thomas Parker was a patron

Saint Winifred's Nursing Home, Rastrick
Crowtrees Lane

Salem Field
Hebden Bridge. Central Street Infant & Nursery School was built on the land

Salem North Parade Pierrot Troupe
19th/20th century entertainers from Salem Chapel, North Parade

Salford
An old name for Bridge End, Rastrick

Salford
Area of Todmorden which marks a crossing of the Walsden stream

Salforth
18th century name for an area at the Rastrick end of Brighouse Bridge at Bridge End

Salis-Schwabe, Major-General George
[1843-1907] MP.

The first MP for the Middleton Division [1885-1886]

Salmon & Gluckstein Limited
Tobacconists and walking stick dealers at the junction of Princess Street / 2 Crown Street, Halifax [1905]

Salt, Ada
[1853-1935] Daughter of Sir Titus Salt.

She married E. Herbert Stevenson MICE.

See Lightcliffe Congregational Church

Salt & Pepper, Halifax
Aka Washer & Boiler, Castor & Pollux.

The popular name for the two 170 ft-tall cooling towers which dominated the Halifax skyline from 1937 when they were built to replace 6 earlier wooden towers.

On 24th March 1974, there was an unsuccessful attempt to demolish the towers with explosives. Thousands of people watched the event from Beacon Hill.

There was a successful attempt – using a half-ton steel ball – in October.

They cost £14,000 to build and £26,000 to demolish

Salt, Daniel
[1781-18??] Son of Titus Salt. He attended Heath Grammar School.

He was a woolstapler; an iron-founder; a businessman; a politician. He established Daniel Salt & Son with his son Titus. Titus took over the business when Daniel retired in 1833.

On 5th July 1802, he married Grace Smithies [1781-18??].


Grace was the daughter of Isaac Smithies
 

Children: (1) Titus; (2) Sarah [b 1804]; (3) Ann [b 1807]]; (4) Isaac Smithies [b 1810]; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child.

The family lived at Manor Farm, Crofton, near Wakefield [1813-1819] and then moved to Bradford [around 1822]

Salt, Helen
[1852-1924] Daughter of Sir Titus Salt.

See Lightcliffe Congregational Church

Salt Jimmy
A character of the 19th century who wheeled a large wooden box around Halifax selling salt or exchanging salt for rags and bones. He was a familiar sight with his black hair hanging in ringlets

Salt Pie, Colden
Farm in the upper Colden Valley

Salt Pie, Crow Hill
In 1905, it was described as
a little white cottage on the hill side of the Luddenden valley

Owners and tenants have included

The property was demolished in the 1950s

Salt, Sir Titus
[1803-1876] He was a pioneering wool-manufacturer at Bradford and built Saltaire model village.

See Bailiffe Bridge Working Men's Club, Bleak House, Lightcliffe, Booth Independent Congregational Church, Halifax, Bradford & Keighley Insurance Company, Lightcliffe Congregational Church, Lightcliffe United Reformed Church and West Yorkshire Railway Company

Salt, Titus
[1843-1887] Of Baildon. 5th son of Sir Titus Salt.

He was listed as a worsted spinner employing 3,500 hands [1871].

On 15th March 1866, he married Catherine Crossley at Square Congregational Church, Halifax.

Children: (1) Gordon Locksley [b 1867]; (2) Harold Crossley [b 1869]; (3) Lawrence Titus Whitlam [1874-1946]; (4) Mary Isabel [b 1877].

The family lived at Milner Field, Bingley [1871]; Catherine was at Chomeley Park, Hornsey [1881]; Titus was at Aldborough Hall, the home of his brother-in-law, Henry C. Crossley, [1881]

Salt Warehouse, Sowerby Bridge
Warehouses Number 3 and 4 at Sowerby Bridge Canal Basin were designed to allow goods to be loaded and unloaded undercover from a wet dock and may be the first examples of the type in England.

The Rochdale Canal Act [1793] instructed the Calder & Hebble Navigation Company to build at Sowerby Bridge whatever wharves and warehouses the Rochdale Canal Company wanted, the latter to pay for the space they used.

The warehouses were built by John Smeaton in 1796 for the Calder & Hebble Navigation Company. Richard Milnes occupied the warehouses for a time.

Warehouse Number 3 – called the Salt Warehouse because salt used to be stored there – is a Grade II listed building, and Warehouse Number 4 is a Grade II* listed building. This warehouse has one end on the Calder & Hebble Navigation and the other on the Rochdale Canal.

One end of the Salt Warehouse is on the Calder & Hebble Navigation and the other end is on the Rochdale Canal.

In 1972, Mark Andrew and his wife took the lease on Sowerby Bridge Canal Basin from British Waterways, and were advised to demolish the Salt Warehouse as it was unsafe. They saved it by forming The Salt Warehouse Trust.

It is now a bar and restaurant

Salter
Another form of the surname is Salton

Salter, John
[1829-1???] Born in Somerset.

He was Manager of Gibbet Street Turkish Baths, Halifax [1881].

In 1855, he married Louisa [1825-1???] from Brighton, at Worthing.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1857] who was a mantle maker [1881]; (2) Eliza [b 1859]; (3) William [b 1864] who was a chemist's assistant [1881]

Salter Rake Gate
A salt way from Rochdale, Reddyshore Scoutgate and Walsden to Lumbutts, Mankinholes, Heptonstall and Halifax.

See Bottomley and Salter

Salterhebble
District of Calderdale in the township of Skircoat to the south of Halifax.

Salterhebble & District Rose Show
In 1883, this was held at Moorside, Halifax, the home of Louis John Crossley. A feature of the show was an electric tramway built by Michael Holroyd Smith and Crossley in the gardens of Moorside

Salterhebble Bottom Lock
Aka Brooksmouth Lock. Electrically-operated lock – #27 – on the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation.

It is one of a series of 3 locks – Salterhebble Top Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock, and Salterhebble Bottom Lock - which replaced an earlier staircase of 1767.

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble, Salterhebble Middle Lock and Salterhebble Top Lock

The Salterhebble branch
Aka Halifax Arm, Halifax Branch.

An extension of the Calder & Hebble Navigation from Salterhebble to Halifax was opened in 1828

See Farrar Mill Lane Aqueduct

Salterhebble Bridge
A bridge was mentioned in 1533 when John Waterhouse left 12d for
the amendynge of Salterhebble

It was mentioned again in 1637

Salterhebble Brook
Name given to the Hebble along part of its length at Salterhebble

Salterhebble canal basin
The canal basin at Salterhebble served Halifax until the Salterhebble branch into the middle of Halifax was opened in 1828.

There is another basin further south where the Calder & Hebble Navigation joins the Salterhebble branch.

See Navigation Wharf, Halifax

Salterhebble Co-Op
Branch number 21 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in May 1872

Salterhebble Cotton Spinning Company
The company was registered in June 1865.

On 30th August 1886, their new mill was badly damaged by fire

Salterhebble Hill

Salterhebble Liberal Club
Chapel Lane. Recorded in 1905

Salterhebble Lift
In 1902, in order to avoid the steep Salterhebble Hill, a lift was proposed as a means of linking the trams from Halifax to Dudwell Lane – taking the passengers down the steep [1 in 9.69] hillside in the lift – and thence continuing by tram to West Vale.

J. H. Whitley visited the USA where similar lifts were in use.

The lift would have been powered by steam.

On 12th April 1901, Skircoat ratepayers protested against the construction of the lift. The project was abandoned after considerable ratepayer opposition, being condemned as an American fad

Salterhebble Lock: Lock-Keeper's Cottage

Salterhebble Locks
There are 3 locks on the Calder & Hebble Navigation at Salterhebble:

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble

Salterhebble Middle Lock
Lock #26 on the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation.

Built in 1779.

It is one of a series of 3 locks – Salterhebble Top Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock, and Salterhebble Bottom Lock - which replaced an earlier staircase of 1767.

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble

Salterhebble Nursery
Landscape gardeners and florists. They were at 41 Crossley Hill, Huddersfield Road. [1905].

See Abraham Lee Conway

Salterhebble Post Office
Recorded in 1861. It was then at the same address as the business run by Samuel Haigh, grocer and provision dealer.

Recorded in 1874 and 1905 at 19 Salterhebble Hill. It was then at the same address as the business run by Willie Hodgson, stationer and newsagent

Salterhebble Top Lock
Lock #25 on the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation. Built in 1779.

It is one of a series of 3 locks – Salterhebble Top Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock, and Salterhebble Bottom Lock - which replaced an earlier staircase of 1767.

The paddles are operated by a handspikes.

See Canal Lock House, Salterhebble, Salterhebble Bottom Lock and Salterhebble Middle Lock

Salterhebble Tunnel
A twin-bore tunnel which took the railway line from ? to Greetland

Salterlea, Shibden
Owned by John Northende in 1535. Subsequent owners included other members of the Northende family, Rev Richard Hooke, John Northende, and Edward Hanson

Salterlee House, Shibden
Owners and tenants have included

Salterville, Halifax
Stafford Avenue / Skircoat Green Road. 19th century house. It was later known as Brooklands.

Owners and tenants have included

It became a Nursing Home.

In 2003, it was demolished and 24 flats were built on the site

Saltmarshe, Christopher
[17??-1852] Son of Philip Saltmarshe.

On 2nd June 1817, he married his cousin, Emma Rawson. They had 4 daughters and 2 sons

They lived in Royds' House.

The family had a woollen mill

Saltmarshe, Mrs Emma

Saltmarshe, Philip
[17??-17??] In 17??, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Christopher Rawson.

Children: (1) Christopher; (2) Philip.

His family were partners in Rawson & Saltmarshe

Salton
A variant of the surname Salter

Saltonstall
District of Calderdale west of Sowerby Bridge, below Wainstalls, and a part of Warley.

The name is first mentioned in 1196, and is derived from salh [a willow] and tunstall, and means willow farmstead.

In the 13th century, Earl Warren was Lord of the Manor of Warley. He had vaccaries and a hunting lodge for his annual chase of deer and hare.

The Saltonstall surname originated here.

Watson records a rocking stone and various other remains here which he associated with Druidic practices.

See Lower Saltonstall Farm, Warley, Lower Saltonstall Hall, Warley, Upper Saltonstall Farm, Warley and Upper Saltonstall, Warley

Saltonstall...
The entries for people with the surname Saltonstall are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Saltonstall
[Surname]

Recorded in 1275.

The surname originated in Saltonstall.

There are currently around 38 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Saltonstall. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Saltonstall family
Originally from Saltonstall, the family is recorded in 1274.

They lived at Upper Saltonstall.

They also owned property in the Hipperholme area, and in Hull and the East Riding of Yorkshire

Sir Richard Saltonstall sailed to America and was involved with the early colonies on the eastern coast of North America.

They have links to several local houses including Landimere, Shelf, Langley House, Hipperholme, Rookes Hall, Norwood Green and Shibden Grange

See Miscellaneous Saltonstall items [1274-1309], Miscellaneous Saltonstall Marriages [1539-1843] and The Saltonstall family: Arms

The Saltonstall family: Arms
The motto on the arms of the Saltonstall family is
I hold what my ancestors held

Saltonstall Falls

Salts, John
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Navy.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Saltynstall, Isabella
[1515-1584] Or Isabel Saltonstall.

She was one of the last nuns at Kirklees Priory. She received a pension of 33/4d.

She came to live in Halifax.

In 1576, she was accused of calling Marjory, wife of Richard Hall

Gregory Waterhouse's whore

In retaliation, Hall called Isabella a whore. The judge found in Isabella's favour and fined Hall 50/- for his

vexatious accusation

Isabella was buried at Halifax Parish Church [25th May 1584] as

Isabell Saltonstall als Nune de Southourum

Salute the Soldier
A savings scheme of 1944.

In June, Brighouse raised £370,877 for the fund. A total of £3,042,565 was raised throughout Calderdale

Salvation Army Men's Hostel & Metropole
Aka Bramwell House. Carlton Street, Halifax. Opened on 13th January 1908.

The building was sold in 1980.

It is now a restaurant, Milan's

Sam at Roddins, Mr
[17??-18??] A highly-respected local character in Todmorden. He was in demand – and well-paid – as a master of ceremonies at weddings and other festivities.

He was the general factotum for Christopher Rawdon at Roddins, that is, Callis Mill, Charlestown. In the 1830, the mill burnt down and the Rawdons moved to Liverpool, leaving Mr Sam in charge


Question: Can anyone tell me more about Mr Sam? His real name?

 

Sam Farrer's Hill, Barkisland
Named for Samuel Farrer

Sam Robinson Hoyle Memorial Garden, West Vale
Stands on the site of Stainland Road Methodist Church, West Vale at the junction of Saddleworth Road and Stainland Road. The garden and shelter were given by Mr and Mrs John Edmund Hoyle in memory of Sam Robinson Hoyle

Sammy Wood, Hipperholme
A remnant of Brianscholes wood

Sampson, Gordon
[19??-] Journalist. Son of Doris and Peter Sampson, licensees of the Black Bull, Brighouse.

In July 1959, he started working on the Brighouse Echo. In the early 1960s, he joined the sports desk of the Halifax Courier. In 1981, he became associate editor of the Brighouse Echo. In 1987, he became editor of the Brighouse Echo. In the early 1990s, he became special features editor at the Courier. In 19??, he became editor of the Calderdale News. He retired in 2006

San Remo Club, Halifax
St James's Street. Recorded around 1960

Sancto Bosco, Johannes de
[1195-1256] Mathematician and astronomer born in Rastrick

See Wood

Sand House, Luddendenfoot
Sowerby Lane. Late 17th / early 18th century laithe-house

Sandal Bowling Club, Hebden Bridge
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 40

Sandbach, David Marshall
[1899-1947] Son of William Lacy Sandbach-Marshall.

In 1???, he married Elsie.

He died at Torquay

Sandbach-Marshall, William Lacy
[1870-1929] Son of William Henry Sandbach.

Born in Sale, Cheshire.

In 1921, he adopted the surname Sandbach-Marshall by deed poll.

He was a director of W. L. Sandbach [1905].

In 1895, he married Sarah Cunliffe Mills [1872-1949] from Todmorden.

Children: (1) Phoebe Lacy [1896-1985] who died in Burnley & Pendle; (2) Annie Mildred [1897-1983] who never married and died in Burnley & Pendle; (3) David Marshall; (4) Sarah Hannah L [1900-1977] who died in Halifax; (5) Charles Frederick W [1902-1922] who died in Todmorden; (6) William Henry [1904-1951] who died on Hailsham, Sussex.

The family lived at Langfield House, Todmorden [1921]

Sandbach's: W. L. Sandbach
Cotton manufacturers at Hope Street Mill, Todmorden [1905].

The business was at Anchor Mill Todmorden [1968].

See William Lacy Sandbach-Marshall

Sandbach, William Henry
[1844-1882] Born in Chorlton.

In 1869, he married Phoebe, daughter of David Lacy.

Children: (1) Phoebe Gertrude; (2) Mary Edith [1877-1951] who became a noted theologian; (3) William Lacy.

In 1893, the widowed Phoebe married Abraham Marshall.

In 1921, the children – Phoebe Gertrude, Mary Edith and William Lacy – adopted the surname Sandbach-Marshall by deed poll. This was presumably a condition of their inheritance

Sandbed
Area of Todmorden

Sandbed Bridge, Charlestown
The name of Mutterhole Bridge, Charlestown from the 1880s. The bridge was widened in 1830. The present bridge was rebuilt in the 1900s.

A boundary stone – marking the boundaries of the Rural District of Todmorden and the Borough of Todmorden – is listed

Sandbed Cottage, Hebden Bridge

Sandell, Harry
[18??-1???] Beerhouse keeper at the Barley Mow, Elland [1889].

Recorded in March 1889, when he suffered a severe scalp wound after falling from a tramcar on its way to Edgerton

Sanders & Bottomley
Cotton manufacturers at Elland. There was a fire at the mill on 8th December 1866

Sanders, Rev Francis Gundry
[1838-1917] Son of Rev James Sanders.

Born in Lincolnshire.

He was vicar of St Saviour's, Brixton [1857]

Sanders, Rev James
[1799-1880] MA.

Or Saunders.

Born in Totnes, Devonshire.

He was educated at Queens' College Cambridge [1826]; ordained at Canterbury [1830]; curate at Silk Willoughby & Swarby, Lincolnshire [1841-1844]; curate at Barton-on-Humber [1845-1847] before becoming Perpetual Curate at Ripponden [1847-1873].

The present St Bartholomew's Church was built during his incumbency.

He left to serve as minister at Guildford, Surrey; minister at Brixton, London.

He was a critic of the pew system in churches.

He married Margaret Harrison [1804-1873].


Margaret was born in Cheshire
 

Children: (1) Margaret Harrison [1835-1850]; (2) Francis Gundry; (3) Eleanor Ann [1840-1908]; (4) Frederick William [1842-1869].

James died at the home of his son Francis in Brixton [8th December 1880].

He was buried at St Bartholomew's, Ripponden [15th December 1880].

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at under £1,000 ./-.

His will was proved by his son Francis

Sanderson, Charles
[1857-19??] Born in Cumberland.

He was a foreman pattern maker (hydraulics engineering) [1911].

Around 1887, he married Mary [1860-19??] from Lytham, Lancashire.

Children: (1) Eunice [b 1890] who was an elementary school teacher [1911]; (2) Mary Lois [b 1892] who was an elementary school teacher [1911]; (3) Annie [b 1894]; (4) Grace [b 1898].

The family lived at 117 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was brother-in-law Alexander Duncan [aged 47] (joiner) 

Sanderson, Johannes
[16??-17??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1701]

Sanderson, Mr
[17??-18??] Partner in Buckley & Sanderson

Sanderson, Robert
[18??-1???] Of Todmorden.

On 5th May 1863, the theft of two brass candlesticks, the property of Robert Barker, landlord of the British Queen, Todmorden, took place. The thief was a local man, Robert Sanderson, who ran off with the candlesticks, but was caught in Bacup by PC Turner, to whom he confessed the theft. He was committed for trial when the case was heard at the Magistrates office

Sandford, Rev Edward
[1818-1878] Son of Frances and Rev Humphrey Sandford.

Born in Shrewsbury.

He was educated at St John's College Cambridge, a solicitor of the Court of Chancery, an attorney of the Court of the Queen's Bench, ordained at Lichfield, and served at Shrewsbury before becoming Curate at Parish Church of St John the Baptist, Halifax [1847-1851] and Perpetual Curate at Elland [1853-1872]. In 1872, he left to serve at Grandborough, Warwickshire and Denford, Northamptonshire.

On 20th September 1848, he married Mary Armitage [1815-1898].


Mary,from Almondbury, was the 6th was the daughter of Joseph Armitage of Milnsbridge House
 

Sandford, Rev Francis Philip
[1862-1948] Born in Atherton, Lancashire.

He was at Dewsbury [1911] before becoming Curate at Luddenden [1918] and Vicar of Barkisland [1919-1936].

In 1884, he married Jane Hill [1861-1936] from Fyldesley, Lancashire, in Leigh, Lancashire.

Children: Elsie Rowland [b 1889].

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Sandhole House, Walsden
Woodbottom.

Owners and tenants have included

Sandholme
Area of Todmorden

Sandholme Iron Company Limited
Todmorden engineers and iron founders [1905]

Sands Farm, Luddendenfoot
Stands above Boulderclough

Sands Lock, Todmorden
Lock #32 on the Rochdale Canal. It has a double set of bottom gates to take the 57½ ft long vessels of the Calder & Hebble Canal

Sandstone
See Clay, Coal, Galliard, Donkey stone, Flags, Elland stone, Millstone grit, and York stone

Sandyfoot Clough, Barkisland

Sanford Photographers
Photographer at 28 King Cross Street, Halifax [1915]

Sanger, J. Edgar
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor with Hirst, Whitley & Akeroyd [1934].

He qualified in December 1913

Sankey, Mary
[18??-1???] Daughter of R. N. Sankey of Ludlow. In 1853, she became the second wife of Jeremiah Stansfield Rawson

Sapling Grove, Halifax
Master Lane.

Owners and tenants of the house have included

The Saplings, Halifax
Birdcage Lane, Savile Park. House built around 1934

Sargeant, Anthony
[1???-1???] He married Elizabeth, eldest daughter of Benjamin Norcliffe.

Children: (1) David; (2) Victoria; (3) Judith.

In 1957, he joined his father-in-law in R. & D. Norcliffe.

He was sole proprietor of the business after Benjamin Norcliffe's death.

In 1986, David and Victoria joined the business

Sargent, Rev Richard John
[18??-19??] He was educated at the Western College, Plymouth and served at Bangalore and Billericay before becoming Minister at Sowerby Congregational Church [December 1865]. In July 1872, he took charge of Ponders End Chapel, London

Sarker, Rebecca
[1975-] Halifax-born actress. She has appeared on several TV rôles

The Satchel
Halifax schools' newspaper. Thomas William Hanson wrote a series of articles for the paper, and these were published as The Story of Old Halifax in 1920

Satchwell, James
[1???-18??] A tailor in Halifax.

In 1836, he married Susan, daughter of Rev David Barraclough, at Halifax.

Children: Eliza [b 1838].

In 1841, the family were living with Sarah's parents at Wade Street, Halifax.

In 1851, Eliza (a book stitcher receiving alms) was living with her widowed grandmother Sarah Barraclough at 8 Upper Wesley Street, Halifax

Sattenstall
A variant of the surname Saltonstall

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sattonstall
A spelling of the name Saltonstall

Saunder Clough, Todmorden
Stream and valley at Dulesgate.

Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here.

It has been suggested that the name is a corruption of Cinder Clough.

There was a house of the same name. This has been demolished

Saunders, Percy
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor [1934].

He qualified in February 1899.

On 5th April 1911, he was appointed Town Clerk of Halifax

Saunders, Samuel
[17??-17??] Wire-walking entertainer. He visited Halifax in 1766 and performed at the New Theatre in White Lion Yard, Halifax

Sausage Sarah
See Bow Window, Brighouse

Savage & Norton
Boiler makers at Halifax [1875]

Savage Centre, Elland
See Harold Savage Hall, Elland

Savage, Harold
[19??-19??] He was associated with the Boys' Brigade company at Elland Wesley. He was Captain of the Brigade 1910-1949.

The Harold Savage Hall, Elland was named for him

Savage, Canon Henry Edwin
[18??-19??] He served at South Shields before becoming Vicar of Halifax (at a gross annual stipend of £1908) in 1904.

He was said to be

a man of wide culture, a fine preacher and a good organiser ... a High Churchman of broad views, the author of a valuable work on pastoral visitation, an authority on historical matters, and an antiquary

He lived at The Vicarage, Well Head [1905].

In 1909, he left to become Dean of Lichfield

Savage, James
[1822-1???] Born in Scarborough.

He was an umbrella maker [1851]; lodging house keeper at the Licensed lodging house, 4 Causeway, Halifax.

He married Sarah [1823-1???], born in Oldham, Lancashire.

Children: (1) William Savage; (2) Sarah Ann [b 1852]; (3) John [b 1855]; (4) Philip [b 1858]; (5) Emma [b 1860].

The family lived at 12 Cat Fold, Halifax [1851]

Savage, William
[1843-1902] Son of James Savage.

Born in Halifax.

He was a tin plate worker [1861]; an iron & salt dealer [1871]; landlord of the Britannia Inn, Halifax [1881]; an iron merchant [1881] [1891]; a scrap iron dealer [1901].

In 1867, he married Elizabeth Lloyd [1847-1897], born in Hull, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Arthur [b 1868] who was assistant to father [1891]; (2) Elizabeth / Lily [b 1870] who married John Henry Broadbent, aged 24, bachelor, boiler maker of 51 Geen(?) Lane, son of Jonathan Wilson Broadbent, tailor, married Elizabeth Savage, aged 22, spinster of 5 Causeway, daughter of William Savage, broker(?), at St.James, Halifax.

The family lived at the Licensed lodging house, 4 Causeway, Halifax; 5 Causeway, Halifax [1891, 1901]

Living with the widowed William in 1901 were daughter Elizabeth (Lily) and her children

Savage's: William Savage & Son
Metal brokers at 18 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax [1905]

Savatard, Louis Charles Arthur
[1874-1962] Born in Leighton Buzzard.

On 10th December 1925, he married Judith Ormerod in Whiteshill, Stroud.


Judith was the daughter of
George Frederick Ormerod
 

Children: (1) Janet [b 1926]; (2) George Warner [b 1928]; (3) Sheila [b 1930].

The children were all born in Bucklow.

Louis died in Altrincham, Cheshire [1962].

Judith died in the Forest of Dean [1976]

Savery & Butterworth
Woollen manufacturers at Brighouse.

Partners included F. P. Savery, F. Butterworth and G. M. Butterworth.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1871

Savile...
The entries for people with the surname Savile are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Savile
Other forms of the surname include Savill, Saville, Savyle, Sayvell, Sayvile, Sayvyll, Seyvill, Seyville, Seyvyll and Shevile.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

It is said that the first Saviles came across with William the Conqueror.

Henry de Seyville is recorded at Golcar [Guthlaker] in 1225, Sir John de Seyvill is recorded at Pontefract in 1251, Baldwin de Seyville is recorded at Wakefield in 1274, Peter de Seyvell is recorded in 1286.

There are currently around 98 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Savile. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Savile family
It is said that the first Saviles came across with William the Conqueror. They became an important family in the district.

See Highroad Well Moor, Lord Mexborough, Saint John the Baptist's Chantry Chapel, Elland, Sir William Savile, the Manor of Skircoat, The Savile family of Copley, The Savile Family of Elland, The Savile family of Hullenedge, The Savile family of Lupset, The Savile family of Rufford, The Savile family of Thornhill, Savile family arms and the Manor of Wadsworth

The Savile family: Arms
The arms of the Savile family depicts the owl.

There are often 3 owls.

There are many examples including those at Shibden Hall, the Savile Arms, Elland, the Savile's Arms, Thornhill, and the Old Cock Inn, Halifax.

The same owl forms a part of the design which was stamped on to small pieces of licorice dough to make Pontefract cakes; the rest of the design features the gate of the old castle

The Savile family of Copley
A branch of Savile family.

The family lived at Copley

The Copleys and the Saviles intermarried.

David Glover notes that

The Copley Saviles were Roman Catholics, though many conformed outwardly to the Anglican Church

The Savile family of Elland
A branch of the Savile family. They owned Elland Old Hall after the Elland Feud

The Savile family of Hullenedge
A branch of the Savile family.

The family lived at Hullen Edge.

Thomas Savile was an early member of the family

The Savile family of Lupset
A branch of Savile family of Lupset, near Wakefield.

See Earl of Leicester, Rufford Abbey, Sir George Savile and William Savile

The Savile family of Rufford
A branch of Savile family.

The family seat was Rufford Abbey

The Barons Savile of Rufford included

The Savile family of Thornhill
A branch of the Savile family.

The family lived at Thornhill Hall, Wakefield. They were Stewards of the Manor of Wakefield.

Sir John Savile was an early member of the family.

The Baronetcy – Baronet Savile of Thornhill – was created in 1611.

See John Pilkington, Sir William Savile and Savile-Pilkington Feud

Savile Bowling Club, Hebden Bridge
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 100.

See Arthur Crabtree Trophy

Savile Bridge, Elland
Aka Tag Lock Bridge

Savile Close, Halifax
Savile Park Road. May have been known as Bull Close.

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1940s/1950s, it became a nurses' training school for Halifax General Hospital.

See Bull Close Lane, Halifax

Savile Crescent, Halifax
Property at 15-35 Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

  • #25 Mrs Elizabeth Holmes [1911]

Savile Dene, Halifax
3 Savile Road, Halifax. Early 18th century house

Savile Field, Balmoral Place
The house at 19 Balmoral Place, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile Field, Halifax
House in Savile Road, Halifax.

See Savile Field, Balmoral Place

Savile Fountain
Recorded around 1914 to refer to the fountain in People's Park which was unveiled by the daughter of Sir Savile Brinton Crossley on 29th July 1914 and replaced the original fountain.

It is also referred to as the Crossley Fountain at the same time

Savile Green, Halifax
Oxford Road. The house was formerly known as Upper Calico Hall.

It was partially rebuilt in 1803.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1870, Rev Charles Musgrave sold the earlier vicarage – which stood opposite Halifax Parish Church – and its extensive grounds to the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway and the Leeds, Bradford & Halifax Railway company, and the vicarage moved to Savile Green which had been bought by the Ecclesiastical Commissioners.

In 1938, a developer bought the property and the land from the Church and built houses on the site of Savile Green

Savile Green, Halifax
18th century house on Savile Road.

This appears to be a single house at Number 2 Savile Road, 4 separate dwellings [1891] and 5 dwellings [1901, 1911].

See Savile House, Halifax

Savile Grove, Halifax
Recorded in 1854 as the part of Savile Road which joins Harrison Road.

See William Crabtree

Savile Hall, Halifax
The original building was erected in 1726 and faced on to, what is now, Savile Park Road.

Around 1830, a later building was added.

The property has been a private house and schools

Savile Hall Tennis Club
Recorded around 1911, when Eric Aked was a member

Savile Heath, Halifax
Manor Heath Road. An Obituary for Thomas Whitaker wrote that Savile Heath was built for him and occupied by him until he retired to Burley-in-Wharfedale.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile House, Halifax
House on Savile Road.

Appears on 19th century sources as a vicarage.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile's: J. Savile & Company
Stone quarrying company at Whitegate, Siddal [1800]

Savile's Law, Wadsworth
A cairn which marks the boundary of Wadsworth. Sir George Savile was the lord of the Manor of Wadsworth

Savile Lawn, Halifax
House on Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile Lea, Halifax
House on Savile Road / Love Lane.

Built around 1865.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished around 1986.

A bath house – still standing – was built in the grounds in the 19th century

Savile Lodge, Halifax
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile's Lowe, Midgley Moor
A boundary marker near Churn Milk Joan

Savile Mount, Halifax
45-55 Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Savile [No 1231] Masonic Lodge
Masonic Lodge. Formed in 1868.

New premises were opened on 2nd December 1926 by Lord Lascelles at West Vale.

They met on the first Thursday of the month.

The Lodge is recorded at

Officers of the Lodge have included

See John Richard Kershaw and Ben Naylor

Savile Park Co-Op
Branch number 25 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in July 1882

Savile Park Cycling Club
Established in 18??

Savile Park, Halifax
Aka Skircoat Moor, Halifax Moor, Skircoat Common, and The Moor - is an open space of about 73 acres lying just east of Crossley-Heath School

See Savile Park Road, Halifax

Savile Park Lodge, Halifax
In 1879, it was decided to build a lodge on the Moor for use as a refreshment house.

Local freeholders objected, on the grounds that it was against the principles governing Savile Park, but they backed down and the building was constructed in 1880.

Because of its position, the Lodge is known locally as The Halfway House

Savile Park Plate
See Halifax & Caldervale Agricultural, Steeplechase & Racing Company Limited

Savile Park Racing
There was horse-racing at Savile Park, Halifax from around 1738

Savile-Pilkington Feud
A long-running 15th century feud between the Savile family and their kinsmen, the Stansfields, on one side, versus the Pilkingtons on the other.

Some of the people involved came from outside Calderdale, but the dispute originated in Calderdale, the trigger for the battle was in Elland, and the final battle was at Skircoat Moor

Savile-Pilkington Feud

Savile Place, Halifax
21 Savile Road. Late 18th century 3-storey building. There are wings at the east and the west ends.

Owners and tenants have included

It has been converted into apartments

The Savile Room, Shibden Hall
A room on the ground floor at Shibden Hall. It is off the housebody.

Anne Lister made several alterations to the room: enlarging the window, replacing the original larger fireplace with a smaller one, and refurbishing the panelling.

The ceiling shows

The piano is by Johannes Christoph David Pohlmann, father of Daniel Johann David Pohlmann, and is dated 1769, one of the earliest pianos in existence.

There is a clock by Thomas Lister

Savile Royd, Halifax
A detached villa which stood at the corner of Savile Park Road and Rothwell Road, just west of Bull Close.

The plans for its construction were approved by Halifax Town Council on 4th December 1866. The applicant was J. Smith and the architect was John Hogg.

The house had extensive gardens stretching down to the bottom of the Shaw Syke valley.

The house was demolished [before 1935] when the Richardsons built the Savile Royd and Rothwell Drive estates in their distinctive style.

The outbuildings survive and it appears that some of the stone and architectural features of the house – window and door frames – were re-used in the building of the four houses which front Savile Park Road and in kerbs and gardens around the estate. Parts of the rockery also survive

Owners and tenants have included

Savile-Stansfield Feud

Savill
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Saville
A variant of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Saville. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Saville, Jonathan
[1759-1842] Born in Bradford. He was orphaned and worked as a worsted spinner and miner in Denholme. He was crippled following a childhood accident, and walked with crutches for the rest of his life. He was admitted to the workhouse, where he learned to read.

In 1782, he moved to Halifax to work as a spinner and weaver for John Swaine at Cross Hills. He lived in a Lightcliffe for a time.

In 1785, he married Mary Milnes.

He became a Wesleyan Methodist, having been influenced by Mr Benson and by Robert Emmett. He was a popular preacher. Around 1800, at his suggestion, he and others became recruiting serjeants, holding prayer meetings and classes in those parts of the district where there were no Methodist chapels, including Blackshawhead, Luddenden and Southowram. He is said to have walked up to 40 miles in one day to preach.

His memoirs and autobiography give details of life and Methodism in the district in the 18th/19th century

Saville, Joseph
[1828-1872] Of Brighouse.

He married Mary Ann [1828-1898].

Children: (1) Elizabeth [1849-1852] who died aged 2 years and 2 months; (2) Sarah [1853-1854] who died aged 1 year and 3 months.

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Saville, Lawson
[18??-1???] In 1868, he established business dealing in pianos and musical instruments in Pellon Lane, Halifax. He later moved to Crossley Street, then to 9 Northgate, and in 1891, he moved to India Buildings, Halifax. His son Lawson, established a branch of the business in Bradford.

In 1875, he bought a piano manufacturing business in London

Saville, Lawson
[18??-19??] Son of Lawson Saville.

He was an organist at Square Congregational Church.

He established a branch of the family business in Godwin Street, Bradford

Saville, Lawson
[1842-1903] Born 26th July 1842.

He married Eliza Wilkinson [1842-1918] in Halifax [Q3 1864].

Children: (1) Lena Annie [1869-1870]; (2) Edgar John [1874-1882]; (3) Harry [1875-1877]; (4) Louis Charles [1876-1877].

Lawson died 18th November 1903.

Eliza died 25th July 1918.

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon [2/AA16]

Saville Machine Tool Company
Established in 1972 by a group of workers from several local engineering firms, including Churchill-Redman. They had business at Jasper Street, Queens Road, Halifax. They were bought out by ? in 1986.

See Machine Tool Makers

Savonius, Sigurd Johannes
[1885-1931] Finnish inventor and industrialist. He invented the Savonius Wind Turbine for converting wind power into rotation.

In 1912, he married Mary, daughter of John Appleyard.

Children: (1) Moira [1914-1996] who married Leonard Hugh Newman; (2) Anthony [1915-1940]; (3) Ann Marie [b 1918]; (4) Mark [b 1920]; (5) Elisabeth [b 1922]; (6) Klas [b 1923]; (7) Henrietta [1925-1960]

Savoy Buildings, Brighouse
Another name for Brighouse Civic Hall

Savoy Cinema, Brighouse
Aka The Bug Hut, The Bug Hutch.

Brighouse Civic Hall was used for film shows and was known as the Savoy around 1900.

Ambrose Broomhead was Manager at the cinema and was popularly known as The Sheriff.

The cinema closed in July 1959

Savoyards Appreciation Society
Halifax operatic society specialising in the operas of Gilbert & Sullivan.

See John Reed

Savyle
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Savyle, Henry
[13??-1437] Of Halifax.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Saw Gill, Ripponden
A Mesolithic site

Saw Hill Farm, Triangle
Mid 19th century cottages and outbuildings, built for Mrs Stansfield of Thorpe House

Sawdon, Richard
[17??-17??] Diarist who described his travels in the Halifax district

Sawforth
An old name for Bridge End, Rastrick

Sawley, Edward
[1???-1???] He married Isabel, widow of Richard Bentley

Sawood
A variant of the surname Sowood

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sawood House Bar, Hipperholme
A toll bar on the Brighouse-Denholme Gate Turnpike. Recorded in 1825.

In 1840, the side gates and chairs at the toll gate were advertised to let by auction at the George, Brighouse.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Samuel Blackburn [1841]

  • John Schofield [1841]

Sawood House, Coley
See Sowood House, Coley

Sawood, Lightcliffe
Farm.

See Gledhill's Gift

Sawter House Farm, Mill Bank
Mill Bank Road. Or Sawterhouse.

The name is a corruption of Slaughterhouse.

Mid 17th century house.

It was owned by Sam Hill and leased by John Mitchell

Sawyer
An occupational surname. Originally, someone who saws wood

Saxokakaurhs
An early name for the township of Stubb

See Summat A' Nowt

Saxon Cross, Rastrick

Saxton, Rev E. Johnson
[18??-19??] He had worked in Edinburgh, and was a member of the Barnsley Board of Guardians before becoming Minister of Bridge End Congregational Church [1901-1908]. He left to serve at Ilkley

Sayer, Thomas
[1737-1781] Of Gainford, Durham.

He became a Halifax attorney. He was in partnership with William Cockcroft.

He married Mary Cockcroft, the daughter of his partner.

From 1740, he lived and practised at Mayroyd, Hebden Bridge.

Sayer had been conducting business with William Deighton shortly before Deighton's murder in November 1769.

In November 1769, he attended the enquiry which had been called by the Marquis of Rockingham to discuss the problem of the coiners and the murder of William Deighton.

He died 12th May 1781 [aged 44].

The epitaph on their memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Sayles, J.
[18??-19??] Butcher at Rastrick.

In May 1890, he was declared bankrupt

Sayvell
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sayvell, John
[1???-1459] Of Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: Alice / Anice who married Thomas Stansfeld.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Sayvile
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sayvill, John
[13??-1399] Chevalier of Elland.

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Sayvill, John
[14??-1545] Or Sayvell. Of New Hall, Elland.

Son of Nicholas Savile.

He married Margery, daughter of John Gledhill.

Children: several including (1) Nicholas; (2) Henry; (3) Thomas; (4) Agnes; (5) Jane; (6) Elisabeth.

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

His will is recorded in Volume 2 [1545-1559] of E. W. Crossley's book Halifax Wills. He left money for

the making of the bridge at Elland

Sayvyll
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Saywell, Rev W.
[18??-19??] Methodist minister.

He lived at 24 Chester Road, Boothtown [1905]

Saywood
A variant of the surname Sowood

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Scadding, Rev S. W.
[18??-19??] He was Vicar of Bradshaw [1914]

Scaitcliffe
District of Todmorden.

A fulling mill is recorded here in the early 1700s

Scaitcliffe Hall, Todmorden
Burnley Road. Originally built around 1666 by Anthony Crossley A datestone is inscribed:
ANTHAN EYAND NE. CROSLEY 1666

There were extensions to the Hall about 1738 when a northern part was added by Anthony Crossley.

A separate block was built in 1802.

Around 1833, when the property was owned by John Crossley, it was pulled down and rebuilt as a rectangular house with a hipped roof.

The house and the separate block were linked in 1835.

Owners and tenants have included

An attached arbour is inscribed:

JMC 1782

The hall is now an hotel and restaurant.

Wood Cottage was the dower house to the Hall

Scales & Salter
Boot and shoe makers.

The business is listed in a trade directory for Warrington [1871].

They were at 12 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]

Scales, Dr Middleton
[1859-1922] Born in Whitby.

He was Headmaster of Bailiff Bridge British School [1905].

His sister Mary Jane [1854-1915] was a teacher at the School.

He lived at Woodlands, Bradford Road.

He died in Bradford.

He was buried at Lightcliffe Old Church Graveyard with his sister Mary Jane

Scammonden Bridge
Over the M62 motorway is 120 ft high with a 410 ft span, and the largest single-span bridge in the UK and one of the largest in Europe. The length of the deck, including the approach sections, is 660 ft.

The bridge and the motorway were designed by Colonel Stuart Maynard Lovell. It carries the B6114 over the cutting which is 180 ft deep and for which 4 million cubic yards of rock were blasted out. 9,000 tons of concrete were used in the construction.

A new blasting technique had to be developed so as to produce rocks of a size which could be used for the embankment of Scammonden Dam.

In 1970, it was decided to convey school-children over the bridge in taxis when it was windy

Scammonden Reservoir
Aka Scammonden Dam, Scammonden Water. This took 5 years to build and 2 years to fill with water. Several villages were inundated in its construction.

The reservoir was opened by HM the Queen on 14th October 1971.

Scammonden Dam, on the M62 motorway, is the largest earth-filled dam in Europe, 245 ft high and 0·9 mile in length, and the motorway runs across the head of the dam. 4.5 million cubic yards of rock fill and a clay core were used to built the head. The reservoir has a capacity of 1730 million gallons. The section of the motorway which crosses the dam is 242 ft above the valley floor

Scanulf
[????-????] At the time of Domesday Book, he and Westre held land at Wyke

Scar Bottom, Halifax
Area of Halifax between Pye Nest and Copley.

See Scarr Bottom Cottages, Pye Nest

Scar Bottom House, Halifax
Built in 1843.

The Wainhouse family lived here

Scar Bottom House, Mytholmroyd

Scar Bottom, Mytholmroyd
Area just south of Mytholmroyd

Scar Bottom Post Office
This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Scar Edge, Elland
Area between Upper Edge and Lower Edge.

See Holme Laithe Farm, Elland

Scar Head, Norland
Community which stands on the hillside between Norland and Sowerby Bridge

Scar Head Tunnel
Railway tunnel at Sowerby Bridge on the Ryburn Branch Line to Ripponden and Rishworth. Built in 1878. 593 yards in length. Difficulties in cutting the tunnel delayed the opening of the Ryburn Branch Line

Scar House, Stainland
Owners and tenants have included

Scar Mill Cliff, Rastrick
Aka Miln Cliff, Rastrick

The Scar, Walsden
A rocky outcrop at Newbridge was which ran from the edge of the main Rochdale Road to the canal.

In 19??, it was demolished along with the adjacent cottages.

Part of it can still be seen in the car park of Gordon Rigg's Garden Centre

Scar Wood, Copley
Birdcage Lane. With Spring Wood and Long Wood, covers much of the valley along the north side of Wakefield Road

Scar Wood Park, Halifax
Recorded in 1936

The Scarborough family
Of Halifax.

Members of the family probably built Scarborough Castle in Crown Street

Scarborough, Arthur
[1860-1925] Son of John Scarborough.

Born in Halifax.

He was a woollen manufacturer (employer) [1901].

In [Q2] 1883, he married Maud Buckley [1870-1948] in Halifax.


Maud was born in Halifax
 

Children: Gerald.

The family lived at Royd Lodge, Greenroyde, Skircoat Green [1901, 1918].

Arthur died 8th December 1925.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,606 4/1d.

Probate was granted to his widow Maud.

Maud of 16 Wimborne Road, Bournemouth, died at Cavendish Nursing Home, Bournemouth [19th December 1948]

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £41,407 18/7d.

Probate was granted to Mary Davis (spinster), and Norman Wolfenden (bank manager) 

Scarborough Brothers
Worsted spinners and manufacturers established by Thomas Smith Scarborough, George Scarborough, Joseph Scarborough, Stephen Scarborough, and John Scarborough when Scarborough Brothers & Oakes was dissolved [1870].

They were at Trafalgar Works, Halifax [1874], Carlton Street, Halifax, Bradford [1874], and Brunswick Mills, Halifax [1884/5].

In December 1884, the partnership was declared bankrupt with a deficiency of £25,484.

An order was made on application for discharge [5th March 1885].

Scarborough Brothers & Oakes
Worsted spinners & stuff merchants at King Cross, Halifax.

Partners included Thomas Smith Scarborough, George Scarborough, Joseph Scarborough, Stephen Scarborough, John Scarborough, and John Oakes.

The partnership was dissolved on 20th May 1870, so far as regards John Oakes.

The business was carried by the other partners as Scarborough Brothers

Scarborough Castle
An early name for the building known as The Castle which stood at the bottom of Crown Street, Halifax. It was probably built in or before Queen Anne's reign. It was almost certainly built by the Scarborough family. In the 18th century, it was owned by Valentine Stead and family.

See Scarborough Castle pub

Scarborough, Edwin
[1861-1931] Son of John Scarborough.

Coal merchant and colliery agent at 19 Crossley Street, Halifax [1905, 1916]. He bought the business of William Berry. He had premises at Church Street Coal Depot, Halifax

Scarborough, George
[1835-1???] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a worsted spinner and manufacturer employing 427 hands [1871, 1881]; a manufacturer of dress goods [1901]; a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes; a partner in Scarborough Brothers.

In 1865, he married Jane Lowndes [1840-1891] from Padiham, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Harold [b 1866]; (2) Emily [b 1867]; (3) Henrietta [b 1869]; (4) Wilfred [b 1872]; (5) Oswald Lowndes [b 1876] who became a medical student [1901].

He lived at 5 Norfolk Place, Halifax [1871, 1874], Holly Bank, Halifax [1881, 1885], and 3 Whinney Field, Halifax [1891, 1901]

Scarborough, Gerald
[1896-1918] Son of Arthur Scarborough.

During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment), and the 15th Battalion Essex Regiment.

He died 12th September 1918 (aged 22).

He was buried at the Aire Communal Cemetery [IV E 1].

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Scarborough, John
[17??-18??] He married Sarah.

Children: (1) Stephen; (2) John

Scarborough, John
[1809-1???] Son of John Scarborough.

Baptised at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist [5th November 1809].

He was a woolsorter.

In 1861, he was living with his brother, Stephen, at 62 Woolshops, Halifax

Scarborough, John
[1833-1917] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes; a woolstapler [1861, 1871, 1881, 1882]; an accountant [1891].

In 1857, he married Ann Susannah Deighton [1834-1920] in Halifax.


Ann Susannah came from Ripon
 

Children: (1) George Deighton [b 1858]; (2) Arthur; (3) Edwin; (4) Tom L. [b 1863]; (5) Savile John [b 1866] who was a wire manufacturer.

The family lived at 6 Park Terrace, Halifax [1861, 1871 & 1881]; Myrtle Grove, Halifax [1885]; 19 Heath Avenue, Halifax [1891]; 7 Marlborough Drive, Halifax [1901].

See James Hirst

Scarborough, Joseph
[1840-1894] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes; a partner in Scarborough Brothers; a spinner & manufacturer [1871]; a commission agent [1891].

In 1866, he married Mary Jane Widdop [1841-1913] in Halifax

Children: (1) Ethel Anna [b 1867]; (2) Harry Ernest [b 1869]; (3) Edward Percy [b 1871]; (4) Stanley [b 1872]; (5) Bertha [b 1874]; (6) Annie Mary [b 1876]; (7) Amy [b 1878]; (8) Gilbert [b 1881]

The family lived at 31 Hampden Place, Halifax [1871]; 28 Highfield Place, Halifax [1874, 1881]; Elmfield Place, Halifax [1885]; 33 Hampden Place, Halifax [1891]

Scarborough, Nephew & Company
Worsted manufacturers at Ellen Royd Mills, Halifax [1905]

Scarborough, Richard
[16??-17??] He bought Calico Hall, Halifax from William Livesay. He owned a part of Woolshops, Halifax.

In 1714, he was unable to pay the duty on tobacco which he had imported at Liverpool. His properties in Halifax were seized.

He became the second husband of Hannah Walker.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child

Scarborough, Stephen
[1807-1890] Son of John Scarborough.

Baptised at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist on 26th May 1807

He was a warehouseman [1841]; a manager in a woollen mill [1861]; a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes.

He married Hannah [1809-1876].

Children: (1) John; (2) George; (3) Thomas Smith; (4) Joseph; (5) Stephen; (6) Sarah Jane [b 1844]; (7) Elizabeth [b 1849]; (8) Hannah Maria [b 1854].

The family lived at Lister Lane, Halifax [1841]; 26 Thomas Street, Halifax [1851]; 62 Woolshops, Halifax [1861]; 35 Hampden Place, Halifax [1871, 1881]

Scarborough, Stephen
[1841-1914] Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a worsted manufacturer [1871]; a wool agent [1881]; a fancy dealer [1891]; an art/needlework dealer [1901].

In 1869, he married Susannah Conyers [1848-1922] in Leeds.

Children: (1) Lyndon Conyers [b 1870]; (2) Bernard Frederick. [b 1878].

The family lived at 5 Savile Mount, Halifax [1871]; Headingley [1881]; Harrogate [1891, 1901].

Both Stephen and Susannah died at Knaresborough

Scarborough, Thomas Smith
[1837-1909] JP.

Son of Stephen Scarborough.

He was a partner in Scarborough Brothers & Oakes; a master worsted manufacturer [1881]; a woollen agent [1891]; a worsted manufacturer [1901].

With his brothers, he established Scarborough Brothers at a factory at the bottom of Wade Street. This expanded and moved to the newly-built Brunswick Mills, and later to the new Trafalgar Mills or Scarborough Mills. The business closed in 1884 as a result of financial difficulties. The brothers went their separate ways. Thomas became head of The British Millerain Company Limited.

He preached at the Sion Congregational Church and taught at the school in Wade Street, but, after a disagreement between the Temperance section and the church authorities, he left to hold services at the Temperance Hall, Northgate. He and his brothers later financed the building of Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax.

In 1867, he married Jemima / Minnie [1839-1916], daughter of James Bowman, in Halifax.

Children: Laura De Winton [b 1878].

The family lived at Well Royd, Halifax [1871]; 1 Savile Terrace, Halifax [1874, 1881, 1891, 1901].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

See Halifax Central Hall

Scarbrough, Earl of
The family name is Lumley. They owned much land and property in the district.

The Viscounts Lumley have included

  1. Richard Lumley [1589-1663]

  2. Richard Lumley [16??-1721] who was created Earl of Scarbrough – not Scarborough – in 1690

Earls of Scarbrough have included

  1. Richard Lumley [1???-1721]

  2. Richard Lumley [1???-1739]

  3. Thomas Lumley-Saunderson [1???-1752]

  4. Richard Lumley-Saunderson [1???-1782]. Around 1750, Barbara, sister and heiress of George Savile of the Savile family married Richard, the 4th Earl of Scarbrough bringing the title to Savile family.

  5. George Augusta Lumley-Saunderson [1753-1807]

  6. Richard Lumley-Saunderson [1757-1832]

  7. John Lumley-Savile [1761-1835]

  8. John Lumley-Savile [1788-1856]

  9. Richard George Lumley [1813-1884]

  10. Aldred Frederick George Beresford Lumley [1857-1945]

  11. Lawrence Roger Lumley [1896-1969]

  12. Richard Aldred Lumley [1932-2004]

  13. Richard Osbert Lumley [1973-]

  14. Thomas Henry Lumley [1980-]

See Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth, Manor of Heptonstall, Manor of Norland, Manor of Ovenden, Manor of Stansfield and Manor of Wadsworth

Scarecrow Trail
A recently-introduced event at Norland in which scarecrows – representing popular and fictional characters – are erected

Scargill, William
[1836-1???] Born in Holywell Green.

He was a grocer [1881].

In [Q4] 1857, married Sarah Robertshaw [1835-1???] in Halifax.


Sarah was born in Elland
 

Children: (1) Friend [b 1858] who was a warehouseman [1881]; (2) Albert [b 1861] who was a green grocer [1881]; (3) Ernest [b 1864] who was a green grocer [1881]; (4) Emma [b 1866]; (5) Mary [b 1868]; (6) Lily [b 1870].

The family lived at James Street, Stainland [1881]

Scarr's: A. W. Scarr & Sons
They ran a 3½d Bazaar at 77 Borough Market, Halifax [1905] and at Commercial Street, Brighouse [1906]

Scarr Bottom Cottages, Pye Nest
Scarr Bottom Road. A row of Gothic houses built by John Edward Wainhouse

Scarr House, Halifax
Recorded in 1881, when farmer James Shoesmith and family were living here, and William Cronhelm (gent) was boarding with them


Question: Does anyone know where this property was situated?

 

Scarrtop Working Men's Club, Cross Stone
Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 90

Scatcherd, Norrison Cavendish
[1780-1853] FSA.

Of Morley House, Leeds.

He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School. He graduated at Cambridge. He intended to be a lawyer but did not. He lived in retirement all his life. He devoted himself to his interests: music and antiquities. He was a Fellow of the Society of Antiquaries. He wrote several books, including a History of Morley [1830], Memoirs of the Celebrated Eugene Aram [1832], and Gleanings after Eugene Aram [1840]

Scatcherd, Watson Samuel
[1782-1833] Son of a barrister from Morley, Leeds.

He became a Halifax attorney. He was at Old Hall End, Halifax [1816] and 28 Horton Street, Halifax [1822],

He leased Northgate House from Anne Lister. He was there in 1829.

After his death, Northgate House was converted into an hotel

Scausby Hall, Illingworth
School Lane.

There are datestones 1749 with the initials D / WO and 1715 with the initials D. S. D. for the Dean family.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

See Great Scausby, Bradshaw and North Scausby Farm, Bradshaw

Scervin, Elizabeth de
[12??-1270] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1252-1270]

Schakeltonstall, Jordan de
[12??-1???] Mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls [1274] when
[At Hyperum] Jordan de Schakeltonstall, Nelle de Wynter, John Luvekyn and William, son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall accused of taking a stag remain under surety until the next Court at Wakefield

See Shackleton

Schelff, Richard de
[17??-1???] Recorded in 1272.

In 1288, Richard de Schelfe, Thomas de Schelfe, and Henry of Hipperholme stood as sureties for Geppe de Dene when he was elected Forester of Sowerbyshire

Schelp, Miss A.
[18??-19??] She and Miss E. Waite ran Halifax Girls Grammar School in the early 1900s

Schepden, William de
[12??-13??] Of Nether Shibden [1306].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) William

Schepedene
Spelling of Shibden found in the early 14th century

Schipeden, John de
[13??-13??] Son of William de Schepden.

He changed his name to Drake

Schippedene, William de
[12??-13??] In 1306, he granted lands to his son John and paid 8/- to the lord at 3 terms, and to the
Magistro de Newland tres denares ad Pentecost
Master of Newland 3d at Pentecost

Schleusz-Mühlheimer, Rudolph

Schlicht, E. L.
[1???-1769] Of Smith House, Lightcliffe. He was a member of the Moravian Church at Wyke. He was a composer and a poet

Schofield
Other forms of the surname include Scholefield, Scholfield and Schorfield.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

John de Scolfeld is recorded in Halifax in 1323.

The name probably originated in the Rochdale area of Lancashire

There are currently around 31 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Schofield. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Schofield & Broomhead
Cabinet makers at West Vale.

Partners included Thomas Schofield and William Broomhead.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1885

Schofield & Son
Legal firm at Refuge Assurance Buildings, Halifax, and at Stainland [1934].

See Edmund Schofield

Schofield, Benjamin
[1???-17??] He was a mercer at The House at the Maypole, Halifax [1748]

Schofield Brothers
Blacksmiths at Watergate, Hipperholme [1905, 1922]. Partners included Norris Schofield and Joe Schofield

Schofield, Charley
[1879-19??] Born in Bradley.

He was a stone hewer [1911].

Around 1904, he married Ada [1876-19??] from Southowram.

Children: Blanche [b 1902].

The family lived at 26 Birks Top, Southowram [1911]

Schofield, Derrick
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1955]. He won caps for Great Britain while at Halifax

Schofield, Edgar
[1877-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a hairdresser [1898].

In 1898, he married Mary Hollas in Stockport.


Mary Elizabeth was the daughter of
George Hollas
 

Children: (1) Albert Clarence [1899-1976]; (2) Cyril Thomas [b 1904]

Schofield, Edmund
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor with Schofield & Son [1934].

He lived at Well Royd, Stainland.

He qualified in July 1907

Schofield, Ellis
[19??-] He was Mayor of Todmorden [1972-1973]

Schofield, Fred
[1877-19??] He married Ethel Fawcett.


Ethel was the daughter of
John William Fawcett
 

He was a widower by 1911.

Children: (1) Clifford Birkett [b 1903]; (2) Kathleen Fawcett [b 1909].

In 1911, they were living with Ethel's mother at the Albion Inn, Brighouse

Schofield, Helliwell
[1839-1886] Landlord of the Greyhound, Todmorden [1886]

In [Q4] 1865, he married Sarah in Todmorden.

After his death, Sarah took over at the Greyhound

Schofield, Isaac
[17??-1???] A weaver. In 1783, he was one of a gang of Halifax men who – over a period of several months – stole goods such as coal, ducks, fleeces, and rabbits, and sold them for beer-money

Schofield's: J. & J. Schofield
They had business at Scotland Quarries, Midgley [1905-1938].

See J. Schofield & Son

Schofield's: J. Schofield
Woollen manufacturer of Rastrick. At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products

Schofield's: J. Schofield & Son
They had business at Scotland Quarries, Midgley [1896].

See J. & J. Schofield

Schofield, James
[18??-1???] A woolstapler in business with Samuel Henry Dalzell at Square Road, Halifax [until 1876]

Schofield, James W.
[1890-1972] Winner of the 11 stone [154 lbs] British professional weight-lifting Championship in 19??

Schofield, James William
[1879-1944] Born in Sowerby.

In 1906, he married Hannah Jane Morton in Halifax.


Hannah Jane was the daughter of
Jabez Morton
 

Children: Reggie [1910-1989]

Schofield, Joe
[18??-19??] Of Tanhouse Hill, Hipperholme. Partner in Schofield Brothers [1905]

Schofield, John
[17??-18??] Of Halifax.

In October 1828, he was declared bankrupt

Schofield, John
[1796-18??] Born in Baildon.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) Stephen; (3) a daughter; (4) Martha [b 1842].

The family lived near Heptonstall, and John and his children worked at the Lumb Mills, Heptonstall. In 1851, John worked as a twist maker in Gibraltar, Wadsworth.

In the early 1850s, Thomas and Stephen went to Peru

Schofield, John Varley
[1879-1942] Son of William Schofield.

Born in Slaithwaite.

He was a tailor's cutter [1901, 1911].

On 20th March 1906, he married Mina Barker at West End Congregational Church, Sowerby Bridge.


Mina was the daughter of John Barker. She was a pupil school teacher [1901]
 

Children: Gerald Barker (Schofield) [b 1908].

The family lived at 17 Hollins Bank, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Schofield, Jonathan
[1???-18??] At the Great Exhibition of 1851, Jonathan Schofield of Rastrick was one of the exhibitors in the Woollen and Worsted section
fancy woollen trouserings; silk, woollen and cotton waistcoatings; cashmeres, all wool; fancy bed furniture in wool, silk, cotton; fancy dresses and shawls

Recorded in 1853, when he was named as the occupant of Spout, Rastrick. Recorded in August 1853, when he sold by auction

a large quantity of fancy weavers implements &c account of discontinuing some part of his business

He did not give up completely because a burglary was reported at his works in December 1854.

In August 1860, he advertised

to be sold or let at Oaks Green good substantial buildings in excellent condition part of which had been recently erected, well adapted for a fancy woollen manufacturer, having been used for that purpose for more than fifty years. The whole comprised five large rooms with chambers over, two large warehouses, press shop, five stall stable, coach house, cart sheds, two large gardens, and land with never failing spring of water, owned and occupied by himself.

This was offered again in September, this time by auction, with the explanation that Jonathan Schofield was declining in business.

The following August there was yet another notice of goods and equipment for auction and premises for sale.

Again, he did not give up entirely, for in 1862 it was reported that lead had been stolen from the roof of his mill.

In July 1863, a dwelling house and outbuildings and a warehouse and premises, situate at Oaks Green, 3100 square yards in total, occupied by Mr Jonathan Schofield were offered for sale.

In October he offered for sale in working order 28 yards of double stove tenters

the room being wanted for another purpose

Schofield, Rev Jonathan
[1607-1667] Or Scholefield. Minister of Cross Stone. A Royalist during the Civil War, he had to pay decimation. On 23rd January 1643, he was present during Sir Thomas Fairfax's assault on Leeds singing Psalm 68
Let God arise, and scattered
   Let all His enemies be;
And let all those that do Him hate,
   Before His presence flee
In 1646, he was minister in Bury, Lancashire.

He was

one of the ministers who laid hands on Oliver Heywood

In 1662, he was ejected from his position at Douglas Chapel in the parish of Eccleston. He kept a private school for a time

Schofield, Joseph A.
[18??-195?] Aka Klondyke Joe. He worked in the South African goldfields. He was a partner in Oldfield & Schofield. He lived at 139 Claremount Road, Halifax [1905]. He retired in 1950 and his sons took over the business

Schofield, Mr
[1???-18??] Halifax stationer. Recorded in 1857.

See Rev Thomas Bates

Schofield, Norris
[18??-19??] Of George Street, Hipperholme. Partner in Schofield Brothers [1905]

Schofield, PC
[18??-18??] He was Constable of Halifax [1848].

See John Lightowler

Schofield, Ruth
[1817-1885] Daughter of John Scholefield.

Born in Soyland [18th August 1817].

Baptised at Ripponden Church [10th October 1817]

In 1867, she took over from her mother Hannah as landlady at the Old Bridge, Ripponden.

She was known as Ruth o' t' Waterloo.

She married Robert Holt, his 2nd wife.

Smith's Directory [1874] still lists her at the Old Bridge Inn

She died 22nd April 1885.

She & other members of her family were buried at St Bartholomew's, Ripponden

Schofield, Sarah
[1829-1???] She had 2 sons, no father recorded: (1) William Henry [bapt 1848] who was a brickmaker [1871]; (2) John [b 1849] who was a brickmaker [1871].

In 1851, the family were lodgers with John Broadbent and family at Shoesmith's Yard, Halifax.

In 1871, the family were living at Northowram

Schofield, Sidney
[1849-19??] Son of Thomas Schofield.

Born in Bradley.

He was a farm labourer [1881, 1891]; landlord of the Black Bull, Clifton [1901].

In 1874, he married Lavinia Schofield [1851-1907] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Emily [b 1878] who was a cotton band maker [1891] and who married George Henry Wilkinson; (2) Alfred [b 1880] who was a cotton twiner half timer [1891], a brass finisher [1901].

The family lived at Top of Clifton, Clifton [1881]; Clifton Common, Clifton [1891]

Living with them in 1881 were brother Arthur Schofield (butcher) married sister Mary E Schofield and her son Frank Schofield [aged 3 months].

Living with them in 1891 was lodger Richardson Sykes [aged 12] born in Rastrick.

Living with them in 1901 was widowed aunt Rachel Gibbs [aged 78].

In 1911, the widowed Sidney was living at Common Side, Clifton with his daughter Emily and her husband George Henry Wilkinson

Schofield, Stephen
[18??-18??] Son of John Schofield.

In the early 1850s, he and his brother Thomas went to Arica, Peru where they assembled Newcastle-built locomotives. They stayed on to establish a textile business in Lima, Peru.

He died in Luddendenfoot

Schofield, T.
[18??-18??] Roller coverer at Halifax.

In January 1869, he was declared bankrupt

Schofield's: T. & E. Schofield
Joiners at West Vale.

Partners included T. Schofield and Edward Schofield.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1868

Schofield, Thomas
[18??-18??] Son of John Schofield.

In the early 1850s, he and his brother Stephen went to Arica, Peru where they assembled Newcastle-built locomotives. They stayed on to establish a textile business in Lima, Peru. His descendants still live in Peru

Schofield, Thomas
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Durham Light Infantry.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Schofield, Thomas
[1814-1???] Born in Bradley.

He was a farmer of 12 acres [1851]; a farmer of 23 acres [1861]; a farmer of 38 acres of land employing 1 labourer [1871].

He married Margaret [1809-1???] from Shelf.

Children: (1) Jonathan [b 1843] who was a farmer's labourer [1861]; (2) Hannah [b 1845]; (3) Sidney.

The family lived at Lamb Cote, Bradley, Huddersfield [1851, 1861]; Clifton [1871].

Living with them in 1851 was granddaughter Hannah Ellis [aged 1].

Living with them in 1871 were son Sidney (employed on the farm), and grandchildren William Schofield [aged 6] and Mary Ann Taylor [aged 4]

Schofield, William
[1854-19??] Born in Marsden.

He was a tailor master employing 2 men, 2 boys, 2 girls [1881]; a tailor, employer [1891]; a master tailor, employer [1901].

He established William Schofield & Son.

In [Q4] 1877, he married Hannah Varley [1854-1???], born in Marsden, in Huddersfield.

Children: (1) John Varley; (2) Clara [b 1881]; (3) Harry O [b 1887]; (4) Mable [b 1889].

The family lived at Richmond Terrace, Luddenden, Midgley [1881]; 9 Wharf Street, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901]

Schofield's: William Schofield & Son
Tailors and costumiers in Sowerby Bridge [1906]. Established by William Schofield

Scholcote
[Surname]

Scholefield
A variant of the surname Schofield

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 20 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Scholefield. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Scholefield, Arthur
[1870-1936] Son of James Scholefield.

He was a cabinet maker [1891]; last landlord of the Wharf Inn, Sowerby Bridge [1897]; first landlord of the Wharf House Hotel, Sowerby Bridge [1898-1901]; a dealer [1929].

In [Q1] 1897, he married Emma Rushworth [1870-1962] in Scarborough.


Emma was from Northowram
 

Living with them at the Wharf Hotel in 1901 were Arthur's mother Ann, sister Sarah Jane and brother George

Arthur died at 13 Castle Crescent, Scarborough [30th June 1936].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,103 16/7d to his widow Emma.

Emma died in Scarborough

Scholefield, C.
[18??-18??] Woollen manufacturer at Greenup's Mill, Warley [1867]

Scholefield, Caleb
[16??-1717] Of Staups House, Shibden

Scholefield, Frederic Jowett
[1848-1919] JP.

Son of William Scholfield.

Born in Warley.

He was a clerk at oil cloth factory [1871], an oil cloth manufacturer [1881, 1891, 1901] [1911], Chairman of the Sowerby Bridge Local Board [1887-1888], a County Councillor in the West Riding [1896], a member of Sowerby Bridge Urban District Council [1896, 1897, 1898, 1899, 1900, 1901], a member of Sowerby Bridge Public Library Committee [1897, 1898, 1899, 1900], president of the Sowerby Division Liberal Association [1896, 1906], a member of the executive council of the Sowerby Division Liberal Association [1903], vice-president of the Sowerby Division Liberal Association [1901], vice-president of the Bolton Brow Wesleyan Cricket Club [1896, 1897], and steward of the Sowerby Bridge Wesleyan Circuit [1899]

On 27th March 1896, as Chairman of the Sewage Committee, he cut the first sod at the ceremony to start the Sowerby Bridge Sewage Works.

In [Q1] 1873, he married Susannah Clay [1848-1899] in Halifax.


Susannah was born in Warley
 

Children: (1) Edith Mary H [b 1881]; (2) Florence Elsie [b 1883] who married Ernest Benjamin Clay.

The family lived at Woodland Villa, Industrial Road, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; Rock Side, Matlock, Bakewell, Derbyshire (hydropathic spa?) [1891]; Ashleigh, Sowerby Bridge [1901, 1906, 1911]

He died 9th April 1919.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £23,873. Probate was granted to Ernest Benjamin Clay and John Herbert Scholefield (retired tarpaulin manufacturer) 

Scholefield, George
[1867-1943] Son of James Scholefield.

He was a telegraphist [1891]; a telegraphic clerk (railway) [1901]; landlord of the Clarence Hotel, Halifax [1907, 1911, 1917]; a gentleman [1929].

In 1901, he was living with his brother Arthur in Sowerby Bridge.

On 30th November 1910, he married Annie Roberts at St Paul's, King Cross.

George died at 19 Richmond Road, Birkdale, Southport [29th December 1943].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £7,487 16/8d to the Yorkshire Penny Bank

Scholefield, Dr George Edward
[1857-1???] MBCM.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was educated at Edinburgh university; a surgeon [1881].

He lived at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1881].

Living with him in 1881 were his widowed sister Eliza Jane Grubb [b 1846], niece Kathleen Grubb [b 1876] and Robert Simpson [b 1860] (surgeon's assistant) 

Scholefield, Isaiah
[17??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1733]

Scholefield, J.
[18??-19??] Fish, game, fruit, poultry and oyster merchant at Broad Street, Halifax, and later at King Cross Street, Halifax [1900]

Scholefield, Rev J.
[19??-19??] He was Assistant Curate at Saint Matthew's, Northowram [1948]. He moved to Arthington in the Ripon Diocese.

He (possibly) returned to the district to become Curate at Hebden Bridge [1957] and Vicar of Saint George's Church, Sowerby [1958]

Scholefield, James
[1838-1896] He was a french polisher [1891].

On 22nd October 1864, he married Ann Wadsworth [1842-1907] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Sarah Jane; (2) George; (3) Arthur.

The family lived at Hainsworth's Court, Halifax.

James died in Scarborough [1896].

Ann died at 51 Eastborough, Scarborough [12th May 1907].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £338 11/10d to George;

Members of the family were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Scholefield, John
[1747-1829] He was Master of Heywood's School. He joined the Havercake Lads

Scholefield, John
[1784-1828] Or Schofield.

He was innkeeper at the Old Bridge Inn, Ripponden [1817, 1819, 1822].

On 10th December 1815, he married Hannah Platt [1777-1867] at Halifax Parish Church.


Hannah was born in Soyland
 

Children: (1) Ruth; (2) John Hirstwood [1819-1856] who was a millwright [1841].

John died 1828.

After his death, Hannah took over at the Old Bridge [1829, 1851].

Hannah died in Ripponden [19th March 1867] (aged 89).

Probate records show that she left effects valued at under £50. to daughter Ruth.

After her death, daughter Ruth took over at the Old Bridge [1867, 1874]

Members of the family were buried at St Bartholomew's, Ripponden

Scholefield, Michael
[1829-1913] Born in Halifax.

He was a woollen manufacturer (employer) [1871].

In 1856, he married Susan Crabtree [1832-1904] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Arthur [b 1858]; (2) Henry [b 1861]; (3) Frances [b 1862]; (4) Walter [b 1864]; (5) Charles [b 1865]; (6) James E [b 1867]; (7) Mary L [b 1869].

The family lived at 2 Wharf House, Sowerby Bridge [1871]

In the 1870S, they moved to Lancashire. Michael and Susan died in Chorlton

Scholefield, Rev Nathaniel
[1752-1820] He was a student at Scott's Academy at Heckmondwike. He was the first Minister of Bridge End Congregational Church [1779]. He moved to Henley-on-Thames, where he was ordained [August 1786], and then to Cheshire.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Sarah [1798-1862]; (2) Hannah, who was blind [d 1874]; (3) a daughter; (4) James

Scholefield, Rev Professor James
[178?-18??] Son of Rev Nathaniel Scholefield. He was born in Henley-on-Thames.

He was canon of Ely

Scholefield, Richard
[1???-1???] He lived at Giles House, Hove Edge

Scholefield, Ruth
[1894-1927] Halifax woman whose body was found in the boiler house of the Stafford Bowling Club alongside that of Clement Taylor

Scholefield, Sarah Jane
[1865-1929] Daughter of James Scholefield.

She never married.

She died at 19 Richmond Road, Birkdale, Southport [2nd October 1929].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £2,263 18/2d to her brothers George and Arthur

Scholefield, William
[17??-1838] He married Elizabeth [1798-1866].

Children: (1) Anne [?] Bingley [b 1826] who married Joseph Spawforth [1819-1898]; (2) Helen [1831-1917] who married Ernest Hamerton; (3) Mary Elizabeth [b 1836] who married Joseph Hamerton; (4) James [b 1837]. The sisters Helen and Mary Elizabeth married 2 Hamerton brothers.

The family lived at Bull Cliffe [1859].

He was dead by 1841 when the Census showed Elizabeth living in Sandal Magna and of independent means

Scholefield, William
[18??-18??] Of Round Bank, Sowerby Bridge [1863]. Oilcloth manufacturer [1863]

Scholes Farm, Greetland
Owners and tenants have included

See Upper Scholes Farm, Greetland

Scholes, Frederick
[1852-1904] Landlord of the Wellington, Halifax [1904].

In 1898, he married Fanny Royds in Halifax.


Fanny was the daughter of Peter Royds
 

Frederick is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904.

After his death, Fanny took over as landlady of the Wellington [1905].

In 1906, she married Peter Dewhirst.

In 1911, Dewhirst was innkeeper of the Wellington

Scholes, James
[1802-18??] A machine maker from Cleckheaton.

In 1827, he was one of a gang of poachers charged with the murder of Uriah Womersley.

He and divers others were found guilty of Wilful Murder and were transported to New South Wales for 7 years. He was one of 158 convicts who left England on the Eliza [25th June 1828] and arrived on 18th November 1828

Scholes's: M. Scholes & Company
Ladies' underclothing manufacturer at 16 Horton Street, Halifax [1905]

Scholey, Charles Henry
[1866-1916] Son of Edwin Scholey.

Born in Slaithwaite.

He was a mill hand (woollen) [1891]; a corn miller [1891, 1901, 1909]; (taking over from his wife Emma as) innkeeper at the Black Swan, Brighouse [1911, 1916].

In 1909, he married Emma [1872-19??] at Elland Church.


Emma, of the Black Swan Hotel Brighouse, was the daughter of stone miner Joshua Hindle, and widow of Gibson Lees.

She had a daughter by her previous marriage: Florence Lees [b  1898]

 

The family lived at 65 Langdale Street, Elland [1909]; 47 Briggate, Brighouse [1911].

After his death, Emma took over at the Black Swan [1916, 1917].

Living with them in 1911 were boarders Samuel Farrar [b 1876] son of Edwin Farrar and Ambrose Standring [aged 33] (refrigerator fitter) from Rhodes, Lancashire, and visitor Mrs Edna Taylor [aged 30]

Scholey, Edwin
[1831-1913] Born in Hatfield/Hellifield, Yorkshire.

He was a corn miller [1881, 1891, 1901]; a gardener [1909].

In 1849, he married Fanny Ann Elliott [1833-1???] from Eccleshall/Eccleshill, Yorkshire, in Ecclesfield.

Children: (1) Joseph E [b 1865] who was a mill hand (woollen) [1881], a corn miller [1891]; (2) Charles Henry; (3) Ada [b 1868] who was a mill hand [1881] and married Walter Garside; (4) Pollie [b 1872] who was a woollen weaver [1891]; (5) Minnie [b 1879] who was a cotton cop pointer [1891].

The family lived at Bedford Street, Elland-with-Greetland [1881]; 9 Bedford Street, Elland [1891]; Briggate House, Elland [1901].

Living with them in 1901 was lodger Ernest H. Manks

Scholey, Thomas
[1825-1???] Born in Havercroft.

He was Landlord of the Albion, Brighouse [1861].

In 1848, he married Martha Shaw [1820-1???] from South Kerby, Yorkshire, in Doncaster.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1849]; (2) Louisa Shaw [b 1852]; (3) George Henry [b 1856]; (4) William Frederic [b 1860]

Scholey, Thomas
[1827-1???] Born in Mexborough.

He was a general labourer [1881]; a vessel captain [1891].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Annie [b 1861] who married Stephen Brumby; (2) Eliza [b 1870]; (3) Emma [b 1872].

The family lived at 5 White Lee Road, Swinton [1881]; 5 White Lee Road, Swinton, Rotherham [1891]

Living with the widowed Thomas in 1881 & 1891 were daughter Annie and family

Scholfeilde, Mr
[15??-16??] Curate at Heptonstall [1615]

Scholfield
A variant of the surname Schofield

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 22 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Scholfield. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Scholfield family of Walsden
The family owned the land and farms at Calf Lee and Scout Top in Walsden and also (probably) Lodge Hall. They were leaseholders of the land and farm at Knowltop.

Members of the family included James Scholfield and James Scholfield

Scholfield, Abraham
[1788-18??] Known as Little Hock. Son of James Scholfield. Born in Todmorden.

He was an auctioneer and appraiser; the town crier at Todmorden; a cooper, joiner and cabinet maker He engraved the gravestones at Saint Mary's Church, Todmorden.

He was said to be a noisy, diminutive man.

Around 1810, he married Ann [17??-1829].

Children: (1) Mary; (2) James; (3) Mary Ann; (4) Elizabeth; (5) John; (6) Richard; (7) William; (8) Mary

He married (2) widow Alice Sutcliffe (née Howarth) [1790-1858].

They lived on Roomfield Lane.

He died between 1841 and 1851

Scholfield, Abraham
[1789-18??] Son of John Scholfield.

He was a stone mason; farmer at Knowl Top Farm, Walsden. When the new building opened in 1818, he was one of the first trustees of Lanebottom Sunday School, along with his brothers John and James Scholfield and his son John the younger.

He built four cottages at Clough holme. The last was named Thistle Hall. Two more cottages were later built at the Gauxholme end of the row.

He married Martha, daughter of John Fielden of Bottomley.

They had no children

Scholfield, Arthur
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Pioneer Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Scholfield, David
[1832-1861]

There is a memorial to him in Lister Lane Cemetery on the grave of John Fleming and family

Scholfield, Frank
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Scholfield, Herbert R.
[18??-19??] Partner in Cockcroft & Scholfield.

He lived at Ridge Bank, Todmorden [1905]

Scholfield, James
[1???-1775] A member of the Scholfield family of Walsden.

He married Susan Fielden.

Children: (1) Mary; (2) Susan; (3) Mary; (4) Sarah; (5) Martha; (6) William; (7) Betty; (8) Hannah; (9) James; (10) John; (11) Susan.

The family lived at Lodge Hall Farm, Walsden; Calflee Farm, Walsden.

He died at Calf Lee Farm

Scholfield, James
[17??-17??] Stuff maker.

Tenant of Samuel Hill at Birks Farm, Ripponden.

After Hill's death [1759], Scholfield bought the farm

Scholfield, James
[1748-1823] Son of James Scholfield.

He married Mally, daughter of Samuel Fielden.

Children: (1) James; (2) John; (3) Martha [1778-1808] who married Ambrose Brook and died in childbirth; (4) William; (5) Abraham

Scholfield, James
[1775-1811] Son of James Scholfield.

Born at Lodge Hall, Walsden.

In 1796, he married Mary [1777-1854], daughter of John Fielden.

Children: (1) Mary; (2) John; (3) James; (4) William; (5) Hannah; (6) Samuel; (7) Richard; (8) Abraham.

James was a cooper working on North Street, Todmorden. About 1811, he moved back to Bottomley in Walsden.

James died at Bottomley.

Mary moved to live at Hallroyd, Todmorden.

The couple were buried at St Mary's Church, Todmorden

Scholfield, James
[1777-18??] Son of John Scholfield.

Born at Knowl Top Farm, Walsden.

He was a joiner and farmer; farmer at Calf Lee Farm with his brother John.

When the new building opened in 1818, he was one of the first trustees of Lanebottom Sunday School, along with his brothers John and Abraham Scholfield, and his son John the younger.

He married Sally, daughter of John Fielden of Bottomley

Children: (1) John; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child.

He died at Calf Lee Farm

Scholfield, James
[1803-1851] Son of William Scholfield.

About 1824, he took over his father's ironmongers shop on Church Street, Todmorden.

He was a member of the Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry [1838]; landlord of the Golden Lion, Todmorden [1841].

The ironmongery was next door to the pub.

In 1823, he married Mary Overend.

Children: (1) Henry; (2) Thomas; (3) William; (4) Joseph; (5) Matilda; (6) Mary Ann; (7) Kezia; (8) Susannah; (9) Jane; (10) Joshua; (11) Hannah; (12) Sarah

He was buried at St Mary's Church, Todmorden with his father

Scholfield, John
[17??-17??] Of Bingley.

On 2nd January 1765, he married Sarah, daughter of Benjamin Patchett in Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Hannah [1771-1842] who married Eli Lumb; (2) Sally [b 1781]

Scholfield, John
[1751-1797] Son of James Scholfield.

He married Betty Scholfield.

Children: (1) Susan; (2) James; (3) Sally; (4) William; (5) Mary [1784-1877] who married Samuel Dawson; (6) John [1785-18??]; (7) Abraham; (8) Hannah; (9) Betty.

All the children were born at Knowltop Walsden and brought up as members of the Wesleyan Society

John farmed at Knowltop Walsden for the whole of his working life. The farm then passed to his third son, Abraham, the older two sons took over Calf Lee from their grandfather.

Betty was aged 17 at marriage, aged 88 at death, survived her husband by 48 years. She was known as Th' old dame at Knowl Top

Scholfield, John
[1776-1855] Son of James Scholfield.

Born at Lodge Hall, Walsden.

He was a weaver.

In 1796, he married Betty Greenwood [17??-1810].

Children: (1) James; (2) John; (3) Sally; (4) Samuel; (5) Betty.

Betty died in childbirth at Waterstalls.

Around 1811, he married Betty Crossley [1781-1841].

Children: (1) Martha; (2) Sarah; (3) Mary; (4) William; (5) Richard; (6) Robert; (7) Hannah; (8) Abraham.

Betty died at North Hollingworth of debility.

The family lived at Waterstalls, Walsden; General Wood, Walsden; North Hollingworth, Walsden.

John was found dead in the canal at Square Lock, on 11th March 1855, after being missing 3 days

Scholfield, Margaret
[1816-1909] Of Lane Houses, Holme.

She was the oldest inhabitant of Cliviger when she died and was

93 years of age, and in full possession of all her faculties to the last

Scholfield, Nathaniel
[17??-18??] Aka Nat Crier. Halifax town crier. He also sold shellfish in the pubs and around Halifax.

He lived in a cottage near the King of Prussia. He was succeeded by David Moorhouse

Scholfield, Radcliffe
[16??-1708] His mother was related to the Radcliffe family of Todmorden Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children: daughter who married Luke Crossley

Scholfield, Dr Samuel
[1821-1877] Son of William Scholfield

He was an apprentice surgeon [1841]; a Licentiate at Apothecaries' Hall General Practitioner [1851]; a Licentiate General Practitioner [1861]; a General Practitioner [1871].

He married (1) S. A. Kershaw.

He married (2) Martha.

They had no children.

Notice in the local paper on 21st February 1877

Dr. Saml Scholfield aged 56 died suddenly at his residence, Roomfield, Todmorden, from apoplexy. He had visited patients during the day, though not feeling quite well.

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Scholfield, Thomas
[1826-1892] Son of Mary Scholfield, father not known.

He was an attorney's clerk in Todmorden; Postmaster at Todmorden Post Office [from 1868]; an accountant and insurance agent.

He married Ruth Shackleton

They had no children.

His mother lived with him and his wife until 1873 when she died

Scholfield: Wild: Horsfall, Stephenson & Crossley
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden.

Partners included T. Schofield, W. Wild, L. Horsfall, J. Stephenson, H. Stephenson and S. Crossley.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1859

Scholfield, William
[1780-1848] Known as Old Will the Ironmonger.

Son of James Scholfield.

He was a joiner and engineer in an old smithy on Cheapside, Todmorden; an ironmonger [from 1821 onwards]; a member of the Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry [1838].

He lived and worked on Church Street Todmorden (shop next to Golden Lion) then moved to North Street, Todmorden about 1824 – where he occupied one of the 3 shops between White Hart Fold and the Black Swan.

He was a Church Warden at St. Mary's and a member of the Select Vestry in Todmorden 1840.

He was prominent in the fight to segregate Todmorden from the Parish of Rochdale.

Around 1802, he married Mary [1780-1849].

Children: (1) James; (2) Mary [b 1804] who married James Blomley; (3) Hannah [1804-1809]; (4) Susan; (5) William [1810-1838]; (6) Ann [1812-1821]; (7) Elizabeth [1814-1853] who married Thomas Nash; (8) Cyril [1815] who died 15 days; (9) Thomas [1817-1819]; (10) Sarah; (11) Samuel; (12) Ann; (13) John.

Members of the family were buried at St Mary's Church, Todmorden

Scholfield, William
[1819-18??] Born in Warley.

He was a book keeper & traveller [1851]; an oil cloth manufacturer [1861, 1871].

In [Q1] 1841, he married Harriet Jowett [1820-1???].


Harriet was born in Skircoat
 

Children: (1) Sarah Ann [b 1841]; (2) Charles W [b 1844] who was a wool sorter [1861], a commercial clerk [1871]; (3) Eliza Jane [b 1846]; (4) Frederic Jowett; (5) John Herbert [b 1851] who was a drapers assistant [1871]; (6) George [b 1857]; (7) Mary H [b 1860].

The family lived at Stubbin, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1851, 1861]; Cliff House, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1871]

Living with them in was nephew Joseph Firth [aged 14] (mechanic engine smith).

Living with them in 1871 was niece Annie E Scholefield [aged 14]

School Field Croft, Sowerby Bridge
Owners and tenants have included

School House, Mankinholes
On 29th September 1909, the Todmorden Board of Guardians decided to rent the property as a Children's Home

School Land Farm, Colden
The income from the farm provided the salary for the master of Heptonstall Grammar School.

See Land Farm, Blackshawhead

Schools & Sunday Schools

Schorey, Richard
[1741-1803] From Sandal Magna. Baptised 9th August 1741.

He was landlord of the White Swan Inn, Halifax.

In 1769, he married Sara Holdsworth [1741-1801].

Children: (1) Selina [17??-1778]; (2) Richard [1781] who died aged 3 months.

Sarah died 25th October 1801.

There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church where an inscription reads

Schorfield
A variant of the surname Schofield

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Schorfield, Samuel
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner of Cold Edge.

In 1800, he bought Spring Mill, Warley from the Emmett family. With this, came

rights to stalls and seats in the chapels of Luddenden and Illingworth

In 1817, he sold the mill to Robert Abbott.

He also used Square Mill, Wainstalls around the same time.

A newspaper item of May 1825, concerning his will, describes him as

a card maker and stone merchant of Cold Edge, Warley

His executors are William Dewhirst, a cotton spinner of Shay Lane, Ovenden and William Mitchell, a card maker of Southowram

Schorfield, Samuel
[17??-18??] He had a stone business at Southowram. He was in partnership with his son, Samuel. Recorded in 1814, when the partnership was dissolved and Samuel, the younger, carried on the business on his own

Schorfield's: W. H. & L. J Schorfield
Underclothing manufacturers at Back Rhodes Street, Halifax [1905]

Schroeder, Maurice
[18??-19??] Minister at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [1922].

See Jane Elizabeth Nicholson and Rev W. L. Schroeder

Schroeder, Rev W. L.
[18??-19??] MA.

Minister at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [1908-1922].

See Rev Maurice Schroeder

Schubert, Mr
[1???-18??] A German immigrant who worked for Crossley's Carpets and designed and produced carpet mosaics. He emigrated to America

Schumann, Ernest August
[1855-1895] Hotel keeper of the Old Cock Hotel, Halifax [1895].

He married Bernadine Louise.

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Schwabe, Rev Henry K. A.
[18??-19??] He was Curate at Brighouse [1920-1924]; Vicar of Saint Luke's Church, Norland [1925].

He lived at 1 Milton Place, Halifax [1936]

Sciences & Scientists

Scofield, Dr John
[1706-1790] Halifax apothecary and surgeon. He bought a part of Woolshops, Halifax from John Drake in 1743 for £80.

He married Elizabeth, daughter of Rev Francis Parratt.

Children: Elizabeth [1735-1805] who married Mr Holt.

He built a house on the top-most part of the property at Woolshops. The building was dated I S E 1744 for John and Elizabeth.

The epitaph on the memorial for John and his daughter Elizabeth in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Daughter Elizabeth died at the house of Mr Firth, at Kipping, Bingley [18th December 1805]

Scorah, William
[1???-1???] Police Constable in Brighouse [1857]

Scot, Sir Michael
[12??-13??] He was accused of incest with Joan de Heton, a nun at Kirklees Nunnery

Scote Hall

Scotland, Midgley
House

Scott, Abraham
[18??-18??] Innkeeper at Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse.

In July 1835, he was declared bankrupt

Scott, Alexander
[18??-19??] Boot dealer, draper, mantle manufacturer, milliner, silk mercer and hosier.

In 1873, he acquired the business of F. H. Nicholson & Company at 25 Crown Street, Halifax and carried the business on in his own name, Alexander Scott Limited.

In 1903, the larger York Buildings in Commercial Street was built as a department store for him.

He was a close friend of Robert Moffat Kerr

Scott's: Alexander Scott Limited
Boot dealer, draper, mantle manufacturer, milliner, silk mercer and hosier established by Alexander Scott.

In 1899, the business was at 23-27 Crown Street, Halifax.

In 1905, the business was at York Buildings, Halifax

Scott & Bagnall
Local architects. They were at Portland Place [1936].

Partners included Mr Scott and Mr Bagnall.

Their work includes Prince of Wales Feathers, Halifax

Scott & Priestley
Common brewers at Halifax.

Partners included D. Scott and J. Priestley.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1833

Scott & Varey
Second-hand and antique dealers at 10 Prescott Street, Halifax. Their shop was in the former Prescott Street Co-Op

Scott Brothers
Engineers and manufacturers of punching and shearing machines established in 1850.

They had business at Beech Hill Mills, Halifax.

See James William Bulmer

Scott Brothers
Ran Park Lodge Laundry, Ovenden [1905]

Scott, C. G.
[19??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1958-1961]

Scott, Rev David
[18??-19??] He was curate of St Philip, Dewsbury before becoming Curate at Elland [1891-1893]. He moved to Holmpton and Welwick in the Diocese of York

Scott, David
[18??-19??] In 1890, he acquired the paper-making business of Joseph Law and Job Morton at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth.

In April 1901, the business was acquired by Thomas Briggs (Manchester) Limited

Scott, Dean & Sutcliffe
Woollen manufacturers at Elland.

Partners included H. Scott, J. Dean and H. Sutcliffe.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1879

Scott, Rev Douglas Walker
[18??-19??] MA.

He was educated at Merton College Oxford, and served as curate at Huddersfield before becoming Vicar of Christ Church, Pellon [1921], Vicar of Sowerby Bridge [1936], and Assistant Rural Dean of Halifax [1936-1946].

He married Unknown.

Children: Edward John Douglas [1928-1941]

Scott, Miss E. M.
[18??-1936] Headmistress of Brighouse & District Girls' Secondary School. She was a friend of the family of Richard Wagner whose granddaughters – Verena and Friedelinde – attended the School in the 1930s

Scott, Rev Edwin
[18??-19??] He was vicar at Morley before becoming Vicar of Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [1930]. In 1936, he was appointed vicar of Honing-with-Crostwight, Norfolk.


Question: An Edwin Scott is recorded at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden in 1932. Could this be the same man?

 

Scott, Eli
[18??-18??] Luddendenfoot mill-owner.

He owned property in Denholme, Luddendenfoot where Denholme School, Luddendenfoot was held.

The building was also used for manufacturing and a part was a malt kiln.

In 1860, the Luddendenfoot Industrial Co-operative Society bought his premises at Denholme

Scott, Elijah
[1891-1915] Son of Martha Ann and William Scott.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 15th August 1915 (aged 24).

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Scott, Francis
[1791-1848] He was landlord of the Duke of Leeds' Arms, Halifax [1829]; jailer at the debtors' jail [1841]; bailiff of the Lord of the Manor [1845]; Inspector of Weights & Measures at Gaol Lane, Halifax [1845].

In 1841, he was charged with illegally retaining the body of Henry Foster, a prisoner in the gaol

Scott, Francis
[1799-18??] He was gaoler and manor bailiff at Wakefield [1841].

He married Mary [1791-18??].

Children: John Wood [1826-1858].

The family lived at Wakefield [1841]

Scott, George
[17??-18??] Hatter in Southowram [1791]

Scott, George
[1796-1843] Born in Northowram.

He was a coalminer [1815]; a collier [1841].

In 1815, he married Sarah Scott [1796-18??] of Northowram, at Halifax Parish Church. The widowed Sarah was a beer seller at 3 Upper Crowpoint, Northowram [1851], and an ale seller at 4 Caledonian Buildings, Northowram [1861].

Children: (1) Jonathan [bapt 1816]; (2) Martha [bapt 1818] who married Abraham Bunney; (3) Thomas [bapt 1824] who was a collier [1841]; (4) Mary Ann [bapt 1826] who was a weaver [1841], a power loom weaver worsted [1851] and who married [1862] Abraham Haigh; (5) Hannah [bapt 1828] who was a spinner [1841], a power loom weaver worsted [1851]; (6) Daniel [bapt 1832]; (7) Emma [bapt 1833] who was a power loom weaver worsted [1851]; (8) Caroline [bapt 1837] who was a power loom weaver worsted [1851] and who married [1857] Timothy Noble; (9) John.

The family lived at Crow Point, Northowram [1841]; 3 Upper Crowpoint, Northowram [1851]; 4 Caledonian Buildings, Northowram [1861].

Living with them in 1841 were apprentice Henry Moore [aged 14], stone mason Isaac Atkinson [aged 23], Elizabeth Atkinson [aged 20] and Sladdin Atkinson [aged 6 months]

Scott, Sir George Gilbert
[1811-1878] Architect who designed All Souls' Church for Edward Akroyd – although he wrote that he could have made a "better show" if he had known at the outset how much Akroyd was prepared to spend. He thought that All Souls' was his best church. He was a leader of the mid-19th-century Gothic Revival, and was responsible for the design and restoration of many public buildings and monuments, including the Cathedral in Wakefield, London's Albert Memorial, Home Office, Foreign Office, and Saint Pancras Station Hotel, now Saint Pancras Renaissance Hotel, where The Gilbert Scott restaurant is named for him.

He was criticised for his church restorations. In 1856, at the request of Akroyd, he produced a design for Halifax Town Hall to be built at Ward's End, but this was not to be.

In 1877, he gave an estimate of £40,000 for the restoration of Halifax Parish Church. He and his son John Oldrid Scott carried out extensive restoration work at the church in 1879

Scott, Rev J.
[19??-19??] He was assistant curate at Aston, Birmingham before becoming Vicar of St James & St Mary Church of England, Halifax [1948, 1966]

Scott, James
[17??-17??] Hatter in Southowram [1767-1776]

Scott, Rev James
[17??-1783] A Dissenter. In 1756, he established Scott's Academy at Heckmondwike. On his death, the Academy moved to Northowram

Scott, Rev James
[17??-18??] He studied at Idle Academy before becoming Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1807]

Scott, Job
[1858-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a wool cloth finisher [1880].

On 14th May 1880, he married Adelaide Turner in Halifax.


Adelaide was the daughter of
Abraham Turner
 

Children: (1) John [b 1880]; (2) Eveline [b 1883] who married [19th Sep 1907] Arthur William Hale; (3) Beatrice [b 1885]; (4) Flory [b 1886]; (5) Mary [b 1894].

The children were born in Halifax.

Adelaide died in Halifax [11th June 1907]

Scott, Joe Willie
[1875-1949] He was a worsted worker at Bondina; a member of Greetland Fire Brigade; a member of Greetland Cricket Club (player & committee member).

He owned property in Greetland

Scott, John
[1???-1869] He was the last person to hold the post of pinder at Midgley

He lived at Great House, Midgley

Scott, John
[17??-1774] He was executed at the Tyburn, York, for the murder of his sweetheart Hannah Stocks [25th July 1774]

His confession – made a few hours before his execution – is reproduced in Northowram, Its History & Antiquities.

His body was sent to the county hospital for dissection

Scott, John
[1791-18??] He was a farmer [1840, 1841].

He married Hannah [1791-18??].

Children: (1) James [b 1816]; (2) William [b 1826] who was a damask weaver [1841]; (3) Hannah [b 1821] who married James Shepley.

The family lived at Spark House, Norland [1841].

Living with them in 1841 were daughter Hannah, and her family, and Ann Dunwell [aged 20] and Elisaham Dunwell [aged 1 month]

Scott, John
[1839-1909] Son of George Scott.

Born in Northowram. Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [1839].

He was a stone mason [1861]; a stone mason and publican at Caledonian Buildings, Northowram [1871]; builder & beerhouse keeper at the Bay Horse, Boothtown [1881]; beerseller at the Bay Horse, Boothtown [1891]; publican at the Bay Horse, Boothtown [1901].

He never married.

In 1881, the address of the Bay Horse Inn was shown as

John Scotts Houses, New Road Side, Northowram


Question: Could John have built the property?

 

Living with him in 1881 were his sister Mary Ann. widow of Abraham Haigh, and her son Holdsworth, his sister Martha, widow of Abraham Bunney, and her children Joseph and Hannah, and visitor Willie Birch [aged 4].

Living with him in 1901 at the Bay Horse Inn, Pleasant View, Halifax was his sister Caroline widow of Timothy Noble

Scott, John Oldrid
[18??-19??] Worked with his father, Sir Gilbert Scott, on the restoration of Halifax Parish Church in 1879

Scott, John Wood
[1???-1858] Inspector of Weights & Measures for Halifax and district [until 1858]

Scott, Matthew
[17??-17??] Minister at Steep Lane Baptist Church, Sowerby [1751]

Scott, Mr
[18??-19??] Architect. Partner in Scott & Bagnall

Scott, Nimrod
[1850-1???] Born in Stainland. He was a grocer's assistant [1871].

He was a boarder with Samuel Mattock and family at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1871]

Scott, Percy
[1879-1914] Son of Thomas Henry Scott.

He was a jobbing domestic gardener [1911].

He joined the army and served in the South African War, India and Egypt [8 years].

During World War I, he served as a Private in the 2nd Battalion, King's Own Scottish Borderers.

He was killed in action [22nd October 1914] (aged 36).

He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial [Panel 15]

Scott, Rev Peter
[17??-1866] A Scotchman. He was educated at Horton College and served at Colne [for 12 years], Shipley [16 years] and Sutton [6 years] before becoming First Minister at Brearley Baptist Church [1853]. In 1865, he retired on account of his advancing years. He died at Steep Lane at the home of Rev William Haigh

Scott Street Recreation Ground, Walsden

Scott, Thomas
[18??-185?] Landlord of the Royal Hotel, Brighouse [1845].

He married Rachel.

After his death, Rachel took over at the Royal Hotel.

On 28th June 1853, shortly after gas lighting had been installed in the hotel, Mrs Scott noticed a smell of gas in the cellar and went to investigate with a lighted candle. She was badly burnt about the head, face and arms in the resulting explosion and fire. The steps at the front door were displaced by the explosion.

On 5th February 1857, Rachel married William Smith at Brighouse Parish Church

Scott, Thomas
[1829-1???] Born in Northowram

He was a mechanic [1851].

On 8th May 1851, he married Harriet Turner in Halifax.


Harriet was the daughter of
George Turner
 

Children: (1) Elizabeth Ann [1852-1912] who married Rufus Woodhead; (2) Walter; (3) Selina [1857-1943] who married John William Walton.

The children were born in Northowram

Scott, Rev Thomas A.
[18??-19??] BA.

Curate at Saint Paul's Church, Queens Road [1905]. He lived at Clergy House, King Cross / Mayfield Drive, Halifax

Scott, Thomas Henry
[1856-1???] He was a rope maker [1891].

In [Q2] 1877, he married Clara Jane Harrison [1857-19??] in Huddersfield.

Children: (1) Albert Edward [b 1878] who was a band twister [1891], a boiler and steam pipe coverer [1911]; (2) Percy [b 1879] who was a cotton piecer [1891], a mechanic's driller [1901]; (3) May [b 1882]; (4) Sarah A [b 1883] who was a worsted twister [1901]; (5) Percy [b 1879] who was a jobbing domestic gardener [1911]; (6) Lilian [b 1887] who was a worsted roving frame minder [1911]; (7) Benjamin Russell [b 1890]; (8) Joshua [b 1890]; (9) James Ernest [b 1897] who was a worsted spinning frame doffer [1911].

The family lived at Mold Green Road, Dalton, Huddersfield [1891]; 26 Back Raglan Street, Halifax [1901]; 3 Mile Thorn Yard, Halifax [1911].

Thomas Henry was dead by 1914

Scott, Thomas Shepherd
[1828-1899] He was a Trustee of Northgate End Chapel [1861, 1880] and a Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1867, 1872].

He died in Halifax

Scott, Timothy
[16??-17??] Constable of Shelf [1716]

Scott, W.
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1896 and 1897, when he was Secretary of The Square Mutual Improvement Society, Halifax, and lived at 23 Silver Street, Halifax

Scott, W. H.
[18??-19??] In 1878, he established a business as brush manufacturer and repairer of carpet sweepers at 23 Gibbet Street, Halifax.

Later, he was at 72 King Cross Street, Halifax [1911, 1915], and 2a Stirling Street, Halifax [1911, 1915]

Scott, Rev W. V.
[19??-19??] He was Chaplain to the RAF before becoming Vicar of Stainland [1963]

Scott, Walter
[1854-1???] Son of Thomas Scott.

He was a lathe maker [1882].

On 14th Oct 1882, he married Ada Bell [1858-1???] in Halifax.


Ada was born in York
 

Children: (1) Edith [b 1883] who married William Hayes; (2) Thomas [1884-1959]; (3) Harry [b 1887].

The children were born in Halifax

Scott, Rev William
[18??-19??] Minister at Salem Chapel, North Parade [1917]

Scotty Well, Rastrick
A well at Bridge End. Named for Rev John Meldrum, a Scotsman who was minister at Bridge End Chapel and farmed a small croft at Bridge End

Scout Hall Farm, Shibden
Aisled house with a doorway dated 1694 with the initials M and IM. Originally a group of farm buildings east of Scout Hall and owned by the Stancliffe family.

This is discussed in Aisled Houses in the Halifax Area

Scout Hall, Shibden
Aka Scote Hall. Built for John Mitchell in 1681.

See Lower Scout Hall, Shibden, Scout, Scout Hall Farm, Shibden, Upper Scout Hall, Shibden and Water Scout, Shibden

Scout Road Toll House, Mytholmroyd
Toll house on Scout Road between Mytholmroyd and Sowerby

Scout Rock, Mytholmroyd
A cliff rising above Mytholmroyd.

The rock is featured in Ted Hughes's essay

The Rock

which was published in The Listener [September 1963]

Scout, Todmorden

Scout Wood, Mytholmroyd
Hathershelf.

In 1952, two men – Harry Bentley and Frank Sutcliffe – discovered a hoard of around 533 Roman silver coins when they were on a rabbiting trip. After a Coroner's enquiry, the hoard was declared treasure trove

Scowby, Joseph
[18??-18??] A basket-maker and toy dealer.

In September 1871, he went into liquidation by arrangement


Question: I may have confused details of this man and William Scowby. Can anyone help me sort them out?

 

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1838] who became a vicar at Langton, Staffordshire; (2) Eliza [b 1845] who married [3rd September 1867] Joseph William Gledhill of Leicester; (3) daughter.

Scowby, Thomas
[1837-1935] Methodist minister born in Halifax. He was influenced by William Booth. He joined the Methodist New Connexion in 1860. He was President of Conference in 1893 and Correspondence Secretary in 1890, and was present at the uniting Conference in 1932. He was one of the 4 oldest ministers in the Methodist Church and was still preaching at the age of 98.

He died as a result of a domestic accident

Scowby, William
[18??-18??] A basket-maker.

On 11th March 1835, he married Susanna Kershaw of Ovenden, at Halifax Parish Church.

In 18??, the stock at his shop in Jail Lane was destroyed by fire.

A few years later, on 24th March 1840, his workshop in Jail Lane was also completely destroyed by fire

Scratcherd & Company
19th century Halifax wine and spirit merchants.

They occupied the Crown & Anchor, Halifax [1864]. They were at 8 Bull Green, Halifax [1874].

Advertisements can be seen for their

Perfection Scotch Whiskies

In 1905, their premises were known as The Adega.

See John Exley McKelvin and T. H. C Scratcherd

Scratcherd, Thomas Henry Croisdale
[18??-1896] Of Scratcherd & Company. He also had business interests in Todmorden.

He was a member of the Todmorden Gun Club.

He lived at 13 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1874] and Oakfield, Halifax [1891].

In 1891, he had 2 nieces from Rastrick, Margaret and Kate Wilson, living with him.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1896

Scribbans-Kemp Limited
Halifax firm of confectioners and bakers. They used the trademark Scribona.

An early business – H. Scribbans & Company – was established in 1898. On 9th May 1927, the company was registered as Scribbans & Company Limited. On 1st September 1946, the name was changed to Scribbans-Kemp Limited. In 1969, the name was changed to S & K Holdings Limited. In 1973, the name was changed to Barker & Dobson Limited

Martin Wood writes

My mother Mary was born in 1920. She tells me that the firm was originally Whittaker's Biscuits and was owned by my grandfather's Jewish family. My grandfather, Frederick Whittaker, had two sisters, and, as the eldest son, he should have inherited the business. However, Frederick married a gentile, Emily Maude, and was disinherited by my Jewish great-grandparents, and the inheritance passed to my grandfather's two sisters. One sister married a Mr Scribbans, and the other married a Mr Kemp. This is how the Halifax firm came about. My grandfather, who died about 1947, was left with nothing!

Scribona
Trademark of Scribbans-Kemp

Scriven, Alice de
[12??-1329] Aka de Screvyn. Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1307-1328]

The Scrivener
The quarterly journal of the Calderdale Family History Society

Scroggie, Rev William Graham
[18??-19??] A well-known preacher. Minister at Trinity Road Baptist Church, Halifax [1902-1905]. He lived at 138 Heathleigh, Skircoat Road, Halifax [1905]

Scruton, Dr
[18??-19??] A popular physician who worked at Needham's chemist's shop in Briggate / Thornton Square, Brighouse

Scutt, Rev Andrew
[19??-] Minister at Southgate Methodist Chapel, Elland, [2008]

Seaford House, Halifax
Skircoat Green Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Seager, Rev C. E.
[19??-19??] Minister of Square Congregational Church, Halifax [1966]

Seal, Albert
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Seal, Barry
[1941-] Born in Halifax. He was educated at Heath Grammar School, the University of Bradford and the European Business School at Fontainebleau.

He worked as a chemical engineer, a computer consultant, and a lecturer at the University of Bradford.

After eight years in local government, he became the Labour Member of the European Parliament [MEP] for Yorkshire West [1979-1999], and was Chairman of the Economic, Monetary and Industrial Policy Committee [1984-1987], and a member of the Foreign Affairs, Security and Defence Policy Committee and the Human Rights Sub Committee. He was Leader of the British Labour Group at the European Parliament [1988-1989]

Seal of Halifax

Seaton, Alexander Adam
[1885-1915] Son of Rev John Abdiel Seaton.

Born in Cleckheaton.

He was educated at Leeds Grammar School & Pembroke College Cambridge; a classics graduate; winner of the Lightfoot History Prize; a University Extension Lecturer; a Government Inspector of schools; a Fellow of Pembroke College Cambridge; lecturer in History.

During World War I, he served as a Captain with the 1st Cambridgeshire Regiment.

He went to France in February 1915.

He was dangerously injured when a shell exploded over his trench.

He died of wounds [4th September 1915].

He was buried at Cite Bonjean Military Cemetery, Armentieres [IX B 1]

Seaton, Hugh John Armand
[1883-19??] Son of Rev John Abdiel Seaton.

He was a master at Heath Grammar School [1911]

Seaton, John
[1714-1748] Originally from Rotherham. Nephew of Charles Radcliffe. He was articled to his uncle William Radcliffe at Milnsbridge. He became a Halifax attorney. He lived and practised at The Heights, Barkisland

Seaton, Rev John Abdiel
[1837-1908] Born in Cleckheaton.

He was Vicar of St John's, Cleckheaton [1891, 1901].

He married Eleanor [1845-1???].


Eleanor was born in Sylhet, India
 

Children: (1) Hugh John Armand; (2) Alexander Adam.

The family lived at St John's Vicarage, Cleckheaton [1891, 1901]; Roslyn, Heath Villas, Halifax [1911]

Living with them in 1891 was niece Winifred Eleanor Grey Clark [aged 22].

John Abdiel died in North Bierley [1908] (aged 71) 

Seattle, Rev Robert
[18??-1821] Vicar of Todmorden [1819-1821].

He was regarded as being

too quiet

and the congregation diminished during his ministry

Secker, George
[1817-1876] Headmaster of Illingworth National School [1849-1876].

He married Unknown.

Children: William Henry.

He was buried at Illingworth Church [18th July 1876]

Secker, William Henry
[18??-18??] Son of George Secker.

He was headmaster of the Parish Church School, Halifax.

In 1872, he wrote A Brief Account of Illingworth Church

Second West Yorkshire Yeomanry Cavalry
Aka the Second West Yorkshire (Prince of Wales Own) Yeomanry Cavalry, the 2nd West Yorkshire Yeoman Cavalry, and the 2nd West York Yeoman Cavalry.

The group was formed on 3rd August 1842 by local mill owners – including Sir Henry Edwards – to protect themselves against civil unrest and demonstrations by the Chartists and the Plug Riots of 1842. It covered Halifax and Huddersfield, with the headquarters at the Orderly Room, Halifax. There were 2 troops at Halifax and 1 at Huddersfield.

It was originally called The Morley & Agbrigg Yeomanry Cavalry. However, it was felt that this did not identify with the county of York, so Lord Wharncliffe, who assisted in the formation of regiment changed the name of his own regiment to the 1st West Yorkshire Yeomanry Cavalry, and the Morley & Agbrigg became the 2nd West Yorkshire Yeomanry Cavalry.

It was effectively the family regiment of the Edwards family.

Their first permanent duty was at Harrogate on 27th September 1843. They remained there for 8 days.

They were known as the Blue Jackets and were disbanded in 1893/1894.

They used the Halifax Riding School in Portland Place as a drill hall.

Members of the Cavalry included William Cronhelm, Edward Fairburn, Major Johnston Jonas Foster, Dr James Holroyd, Captain Joshua Thomas Horton, John William Johnson, Thomas George Johnson, Lt-Col T. H. Morris, Sergeant Benjamin Burton Nagle, Lieutenant-Colonel George Pollard, Christopher Tate Rhodes and Major Samuel Waterhouse

Seddon, Mr
[16??-16??] Curate at Lightcliffe [1656-1661].

Heywood includes him in his list of the great number of wretched drunken preachers at Lightcliffe, and adds

a drunkard and hunter, who died at Beeston and desired to be buried on the North side of the chapel [normally reserved for the unbaptised, suicides and heretics] in view of the alehouse he haunted

Sedgewick, Amy
[18??-18??] Actress who appeared several times at the Halifax Theatre

Sedgewick, Rev Thomas
[17??-18??] Minister of Hartshead [1787-1788] and again [1801-1802]

Sedgwick, Fred
[1888-1918] Born in Halifax.

He was employed by Standeven & Company Limited.

In [Q2] 1916, he married Elsie Greenwood in Halifax.

They lived at 5 Rushworth Street, Lee Mount [1918].

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the west Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 21st July 1918 (aged 30).

He was buried at the Malbork Commonwealth War Cemetery [8 A 12].

He is remembered on the Standeven Roll of Honour

Sedgwick, H.
[1896-1918] Son of Emma [née Gertrude] and Duke Sedgwick of 1 Salisbury Place, Akroydon.

He was employed by Standeven & Company Limited.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 2nd/5th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 29th March 1918 (aged 22).

He was buried at the La Cauchie Communal Cemetery [7 of 13]

He is remembered on the Standeven Roll of Honour

Sedgwick, Rev J. G.
[18??-18??] MA. He was Chaplain and supervised the Copley Factory School

Seed, Arthur
[18??-1916] A native of Wyke

He worked for Firth's Carpets in Bailiff Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 9th Battalion the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 18th November 1916.

He was buried at the Cambrin Churchyard Extension [S 26].

He is remembered on Firth's War Memorial and the Bailiff Bridge War Memorial.

Seed Brothers
Boot and shoe manufacturers and retailers established by Joseph Seed around 1870.

There were 4 partners and they employed 19 hands [1881]. Partners included Joseph Seed, George Seed, and Thomas Seed.

They had business at a shop in Crown Street (with 80 employees), at Hanson Lane, then at St James's Road, and then at Fearnought Works, Halifax.

They acquired the retail business established by S. T. Midgley.

The firm's specialities included

Fearnought Boots
Welcome Shoes
Halifax Boots

Seed, Ezra
[1828-1905] Son of Joseph Seed.

Born in Clayton.

He was a d?ug? reader and card stamper (employer) [1851]; a card stamper at a worsted factory [1861]; a manager with a cotton brace manufacturer [1871]; a manager with a brace, web & fancy goods manufacturer [1881]; a manager with a small fancy ware manufacturer [1891]; a retired manager of a brace factory [1901].

In 1849, he married Ellen Tetley [1827-1891] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Joseph; (2) George; (3) Alfred [b 1854]; (4) Thomas; (5) Edward [b 1858]; (6) Ann [b 1860]; (7) Albert [b 1863] who was a boot clicker [1881]; (8) Mary Jane [b 1865]; (9) Walter Tetley [b 1867] who was a manager in a boot shop [1891]; (10) Clara Ellen [b 1869].

The family lived at Range Bank [1851, 1861]; 13 Cromwell Terrace, Halifax [1871, 1881, 1891, 1901, where he died 1905].

He died 25th May 1905.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,564 4/9d.

The family were members of Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade.

The new Salem Methodist Church, Richmond Street was opened by Miss Elsie Seed who was the oldest active member in 1970

Seed, George
[1852-1922] Son of Ezra Seed.

Born in Halifax.

He was a boot finisher [1871]; a master boot & show maker [1881]; a partner in Seed Brothers

In 1876, he married Frances Crawshaw [1851-1934] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Orpha Ann [1877-1963]; (2) Lewis Ezra [b 1879]; (3) Dora [1889-1896].

The family lived at 17 Oak Terrace, Halifax [1881].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Seed, James
[1828-1894] Landlord of the Claremount Inn, Halifax [1894].

He married Unknown.

Children: Fred.

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894

Seed, John Richard
[1891-1918] Son of Richard Seed.

He trained to become a teacher.

During World War I, he served with the 6th Gloucester Regiment and was transferred to the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed during enemy bombardment [29th April 1918].

He was buried at La Clytte Military Cemetery [V C 2].

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell.

There is a memorial to him in Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4181]

Seed, Joseph
[1806-1???] He was a Worsted Inspector [1841, until 1858] and Inspector of Weights & Measures for Halifax and district [from 1858].

He married Mary [1806-1???].

Children: (1) Rebecca [b 1826]; (2) Ezra [b 1828]; (3) Edwin [b 1829]; (4) Hannah [b 1831]; (5) Jonas [b 1833]; (6) Martha [b 1835]; (7) Mary Ann [b 1837]

Seed, Joseph
[1851-1???] Eldest son of Ezra Seed. Born in (Range Bank?) Northowram.

He was educated at the Akroyd School, Haley Hill.

He worked as a half-timer in Akroyd's mill; a solicitor; an apprentice in the bootmaking trade; senior partner in a boot factory with 3 others employing 19 hands [1881]. In his early 20s, he established Seed Brothers.

Like other members of the family, he was a member of Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade.

He was choirmaster, Sunday School teacher, local preacher and held other posts at Saint Andrew's Methodist Chapel, Queens Road, and was heavily involved in the Sunday School Jubilee Sings

Seed, Marsden Thomas
[1838-1883] Beerhouse keeper at Halifax.

In June 1874, he went into liquidation

Seed, Richard
[1849-1918] Of Halifax.

He was a machine fitter [1891]; a grocer [1911].

In 1871, he married Lena Taylor [1851-1920] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Edith [b 1879] who became a teacher; (2) William [b 1888] who was a tram conductor and moved to New Zealand; (3) John Richard

The family lived at 21 Bell Hall Terrace, Halifax [1891]; 5 Greenroyd Terrace, Skircoat [1901]

Seed, Thomas
[15??-15??] Vicar of Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1566-1577]

Seed, Thomas
[1856-19??] Son of Ezra Seed.

Born in Halifax.

He was a partner in Seed Brothers.

In 1879, he married Mary Ellen Green [1859-1???] from Halifax, in Halifax.

He lived at 19 Oak Terrace, Halifax [1881] 4 Park Terrace, Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1905]

Seedlings Mount, Halifax
Aka Neddy Haigh's Field. Cottages which stood near the Stannary Inn. In the 1840s, Richard Whitaker had a brewery here.

The name is a corruption of Sydel-ing

Seely, Herbert William
[18??-1898] FCS.

Chemist and druggist.

In 1887, he succeeded to the chemist and pharmacy business of George A. Parkin at The Pharmacy, 11 Corn Market, Halifax.

The company's specialities included

Seely's Nerve Tonix
Seely's Liver & Stomach Mixture
Seely's Blood Purifier
Seely's Coughaline
Seely's Extract of Herbs [for the immediate production of herb or botanic beer]
Seely's Glycerine & Cucumber Toilet Soap
Seely's Glycerine & Cucumber [for removing roughness...]
Around 1890, the business moved to 20 Southgate when Corn Market was being redeveloped.

He was at 14 Southgate, Halifax [1898].

Recorded in 1900

Selbourne Villas, Halifax
Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Selby House, Shibden
Dam Head. 17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

Selby, William
[17??-1824] He lived at Blackwall, Halifax. He was High Constable for the Division of Morley

Seldon, William
[18??-18??] He ran a school at Norwood Green [around 1874]

Selfrac
Refractory bricks made by Allen & Sons

Seller, Rev John
[18??-19??] Curate at Elland [1890]. He left and was curate of St John's, Cleckheaton [1892]

Sellers & Blomley
Attorneys at Rochdale and Todmorden.

Partners included James Haslam Sellers and John Blomley.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1842

Sellers & Son
Joiners & shopfitters.

Recorded in 1916, when they were are Winding Road

Sellers, Harry
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Copley War Memorial

Sellers, James Haslam
[18??-18??] Todmorden solicitor. Partner in Sellers & Blomley

Sellers, James Henry
[1856-19??] Born in Hyde, Cheshire.

He was a packer in a toffee works (Mackintosh's?) [1911].

In 1881, he married Miriam, daughter of Henry Burgess.

Children: Albert [b 1886].

The family lived at 4 Woodbine Terrace, Halifax [1911]. In 1911, his widowed sister-in-law Mary Jane, and niece Florence were living with the family

Sellers, James Thomas
[1896-1974] He worked in the knitting department at Longbottom Mill, Luddendenfoot.

He was interested in photography and became a photographer of Luddendenfoot. He did much work for Lilywhite Limited and became their chief photographer.

Like Lilywhite's founder, Arthur Frederick Sergeant, when Lilywhite was taken over by Leach's, Sellers went to work for the London photographic firm of Raphael Tuck.

During World War II, he returned to Yorkshire and set up in business as

a camera craftsman

at Luddendenfoot.

He married Unknown.

Children: Unknown.

The family lived at 1 Railway Terrace, Luddendenfoot [1918]

Sellers, Rev Dr Robert Victor
[1895-1973] Son of Martha Ann [1863-1955] and Richard Sellers of Cleckheaton.

He was curate at Ossett before becoming Vicar of Mytholmroyd [1924-1931]. He moved to Reading.

He was Professor of Biblical & Historical Theology at King's College, London [1948-1954]. He published Eustathius of Antioch, Two Ancient Christologies, and The Council of Chalcedon.

In 1931, he married Irene Oesterley.

Children: (1) a daughter; (2) a daughter.

He was Chancellor of Wells [1956-1961]

Selwin-Ibbetson, Henry John
[1826-1902] MP.

Son of Sir John Thomas Ibbetson-Selwin, Bart, who had assumed the name Selwin in 1825 when he inherited the Selwin estates at Harlow, Essex.

They are connected to the family of Jane Selwin, wife of John Caygill.

He was 7th Baronet Ibbetson [1870] and 1st Baron Rookwood [1892].

After his death, the barony became extinct.

In 1923, Halifax Corporation bought The Square from his widow Sophie Harriet, Lady Rookwood [1842-1932]

Selwin, Jayne
[1722-1806] Or Jane. Daughter of William Selwin of Down Hall, near Harlow, Essex.

She married John Caygill.

There is a monument for her in Halifax Parish Church.

She inherited Down Hall on the death of her brothers Charles and Thomas.

She and her husband had given land for the construction of the Piece Hall. One of the conditions made when this was built, was that, when it ceased to be used for the purposes of the worsted trade, it should revert to the Selwin family, descendants of Mrs Caygill.

She was blind in her later years.

After her husband's death in 1787, she moved to live in Essex.

She died in Essex and her body was brought back to Halifax for burial.

There is a memorial to her in Halifax Parish Church

In accordance with Mrs Caygill's will, the hall passed into the hands of Sir John Thomas Ibbetson-Selwin, Bart, and his son, Henry John Selwin-Ibbetson MP, who presented it to the town on 6th October 1868

Selwyn, Rev A. B.
[18??-19??] Curate at Saint Paul's Church, Queens Road [1923]. In 1924, he left to work in Colombo, Ceylon

Sendall, Edward William Bell
[1853-1908] Coach builder at Shade. He was Manager of the Todmorden Carriage Company for 19 years

Sending Details of Your Forbears

Senior, Alfred
[1843-18??] Born in Lepton.

He was innkeeper at the Savile Arms, Elland [1887-1894].

He married Mary [1847-1???].


Mary was born in Rotherham
 

Children: (1) Edith Helen [b 1867] who was an assistant [1891]; (2) George Herman; (3) Ethelbert [b 1875] who was a carpenter's apprentice [1891]; (4) Charles Harry [b 1878]; (5) Fred [b 1880]; (6) Martha Gertrude [b 1884]

Senior, George Brook
[18??-19??] He married (1) Unknown.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) (possibly) child.

On 8th July 1893, he married (2) Sarah Binns, widow of William Clapham Flint in Birstall Parish Church.

The family lived at 11 Queens Street, Blackpool where they were running a Lodging House [1901]. Ada from Sarah's first marriage is with them

Senior, George Herman
[1872-1900] Son of Alfred Senior.

Born in Elsecar [11th October 1872].

He was innkeeper at the Savile Arms, Elland [1895-1900].

On 5th February 1896, he married Annie Louisa Briggs [1873-1908] at Halifax Parish Church


Annie Louisa was born in Rishworth
 

They had no children.

George died 4th July 1900.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,313 15/- to his widow.

After his death, Annie Louisa took over at the Savile Arms [1901, 1905, 1908].

Annie Louisa died 14th March 1908.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £888 10/1d to James William Briggs (cotton spinner)  Probate was granted to

The couple were buried at Elland Cemetery

Senior, Joseph
[1793-18??] Born in Clifton.

He was a butcher [1841]; a butcher & farmer of 12 acres [1851]; a butcher & farmer of 72 acres [1861].

He married Eleanor [1798-18??].


Eleanor was born in Dalwick, Surrey
 

Children: (1) George [b 1819] who was a butcher & farmer of 14 acres [1851, 1861]; (2) Emily [b 1827] who was a dress maker [1851]; (3) Elizabeth [b 1828]; (4) Jane [b 1830]; (5) John [b 1832] who was a currier's apprentice [1851]; (6) twins Joseph; (7) Benjamin [b 1834] who was a butcher [1861].

The family lived at Clifton, Hartshead cum Clifton [1841]; Clifton [1851, 1861].

Living with them in 1851 was grandson William Ramsden [aged 3, born in Elland].

Living with them in 1861 was granddaughter Catherine Ramsden [aged 11, born in Heywood, Lancashire]

Senior, Joseph
[1834-1907] Son of Joseph Senior.

Born in Clifton.

He was a collier's clerk [1861]; a book keeper at Hartshead [1866]; a coal agent [1871]; a coal merchant [1881]; a colliery agent [1891]; a retired coal agent [1901]; a member of the Local Board [1881]; a warden at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge; one of the founders of the Ryburn [No 1283] Masonic Lodge.

In [Q3] 1866, he married Agnes Overend [1841-1???] at St Peter's, Birstall.


Agnes spinster of Liversedge, was the daughter of William Overend, joiner
 

Children: (1) Thomas William [b 1870] who was a clerk to father [1891], a coal merchant [1901, 1911]; (2) Sarah Elizabeth [b 1873] who never married; (3) George Arthur [1879-1890].

The family lived at Allen Terrace, Norland [1871, 1881]; Westfield Terrace, Hipperholme [1891]; Carlton Road, Liversedge, Dewsbury [1901]; 9 Roylands, Wakefield Road, Lightcliffe, Hipperholme [1907, 1911]

Senior, Rev Robert Ingall
[1???-1???] He trained at Airedale College before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Ovenden [1867].

His father, Rev David Senior, of Selby and Malton, lived with him at Ovenden for a time.

In 1872, he moved to Wigan, and then to Goole

Senior, Sam
[18??-18??] A local stone-throwing player.

Bell's London Life of 31st May 1840 reported

A match came off last Monday between Sam Senior of Sowerby Bridge and Charles Naylor of Hunslet near Leeds for £10 a side each having ten stones, the furthest thrown to win. Senior won, by throwing one stone nine score and ten yards. Senior may be heard of at John Leech's, Sowerby Bridge

Bell's London Life of 15th November 1840 reported

Sam Senior will throw a stone with John Cryer, the mason, near Rochdale, for £5 a side, or any man in England for £10 or £15 a side. His money is ready at Mr J. Hiley's, Shepherd's Rest, Sowerby Bridge

Senior, Sam
[1845-1913] In 1875, he married Grace, widow of Jonas Uttley.

Children: Emma [1878-1960].

Members of the family were buried at St Michael's, Mytholmroyd

Senior Society of Clothworkers
Halifax friendly society established in 1741.

See Clothworkers' Company

Sentry Edge, Warley
Area of Warley.

It is said that there was a Roman Camp here.


Question: Does anyone know anything about the Romans being here?

 

See Camp End Farm, Norton Tower and Sentry Edge Delfs, Warley

September Break
A short annual holiday for schools. It was abandoned in 1996.

See Teacher's Rest and Wakes

Serge Room
In 1787, the name for the cellars at the east end of the Piece Hall – originally the South Low Room – became the Serge Room. Merchants could hire a stand here for 2/- per year.

In 1851, the porter was banned from keeping pigs here because of the smell

Sergeant, Arthur Frederick
[1882-1952] Born in Leeds. He developed an interest in photography and trained as an artist. He started work with the Great Northern Railway Company and came to Halifax, pursuing photography as a hobby.

On a holiday to France in 1898, he saw some printed photographic views, and with picture postcards becoming popular in England, he realised the potential. His first published view was of Crimsworth Dene.

The early cards were laborious to produce, and he devised a new type of emulsion called chlorobrom and a new photographic paper. This revolutionised large scale commercial photography and helped to create the developing and printing industry. Sergeant called his new paper Lilywhite, hence the name of his firm.

He was the founder of the Halifax Photographic Company which became Lilywhite Limited.

When the firm was taken over by Leach's, Sergeant went to work for the London photographic firm of Raphael Tuck

Serotonin
Brighouse-based band formed in 1998 by Thom Thornton and Alec Townsend, and including Oliver Hutchinson, Jake Miller, and Nick Moxham. In 2006, the band changed the name to Far from the Dance

Sessions Court House
Aka West Riding Magistrates' Office

Sessions Files
See Coroner

Seston, Herbert
[18??-1941] Licensee at the Crown & Anchor Inn, Mixenden and the Old Original Masons' Arms, Halifax [1927-1930].

In the 1920s/1930s, he played the Whitaker's Brewery advertising figure Doc Shire.

He died in Thornbury, Bradford

Seton, Charles Compton
[1846-1923] In 1868, he married Phoebe Elizabeth, daughter of Sir Henry William Ripley.

Children: (1) Charles Henry; (2) Bruce Hugh; (3) Margaret Annie Phoebe

Settle, Alfred
[1831-1???] Of Brighouse/Hipperholme. Son of Ann Settle – father unknown – and grandson of Luke Settle. Born [21st June 1831] Baptised [21st August 1831].

Alfred was living with his grandfather Luke [1841].

He married Mary Ellis.

Children: (1) James [b 1852]; (2) Arthur [b 1854]; (3) Luke [b 1856].

Around 1858, he emigrated to America. He may have left for America with some haste due to the non-settlement of a Leeds Loan amongst other things

Rose Booth writes that

Sailing records around the date do not show an Alfred Settle on board but there is an Alfred Rushworth of the right age and I know he travelled with a companion called Rushworth

His correspondence with his wife, who remained in Brighouse/Hipperholme, still survives.

A possible Alfred, Mary and the children are recorded in Pennsylvania [1870]

Settle, Ann
[1812-1???] Daughter of Luke Settle.

Baptised at Lightcliffe [9th February 1812].

In 1831, she had a son Alfred – father unknown.

On 19th November 1835, she married Joseph Wilkinson

Settle, Jubal
[1817-1883] Son of Luke Settle.

Born in Slead Syke.

Baptised at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [14th September 1817].

In April 1866, he and Liberty Bradbury occupied a blacksmith's shop and cottage at Slead Syke

On 16th May 1852, he married Helen Havelock in Halifax.


Helen was born in Sunderland
 

They had no children.

Jubal died at Slead Syke.

He was buried at Lightcliffe Church [13th January 1883]

Settle, Luke
[1777-1863] (Possibly) brother of Mark Settle.

Born in Southowram.

He was a whitesmith [1799]; a blacksmith at Slead Syke, Brighouse; a flautist and a singer; choirmaster at Brighouse Parish Church.

He also composed a number of hymns including Settle.

In 1831, he noticed Mrs Susan Sunderland's singing ability He gave her first training, and she is said to have sung as Settle beat time on his anvil at Slead Syke. He taught her to breathe deeply, to project her voice and to enunciate clearly.

Other pupils included Miss Empsall.

In 1849, Luke was declared bankrupt.

In the 1850s, he presented a production of Joshua at Brighouse National School with an orchestra and choir of 60 people.

He is commemorated by a trophy for choirs – the Luke Settle Shield.

On 7th December 1853, he was described as

the father of music in the locality

when he gave a concert at the Oddfellows' Hall in Brighouse.

On 15th December 1799, he married Martha Freeman.


Martha was the daughter of Lawrence Freeman
 

Children: (1) John [1802-1875]; (2) twins Benjamin [1804-1805]; (3) Joseph [1804-1871]; (4) Ellen [b 1807]; (5) Miriam [1809-1868]; (6) Ann; (7) Maria [1814-1868]; (8) Jubal; (9) Martha [b 1821].

Members of the family were buried at Lightcliffe Church

Many of the family were buried at Lightcliffe Church

Settle, Mark
[1???-1???] (Possibly) brother of Luke Settle.

Born in Southowram.

He was a blacksmith [1802].

On 3rd May 1802, he married Eleanor Freeman at Southowram


Eleanor was the daughter of Lawrence Freeman
 

Settle, Robert
[1763-1825] Halifax attorney.

On 25th February 1810, a Mr Settle, a solicitor of Halifax, was awarded £50 damages when he broke his leg after leaping from the Defiance coach of which one of the wheel-horses fell as they were descending a steep hill near Halifax. The injury occasioned a long confinement.

He was Upper George Yard, Halifax [1809]; Causeway Head, Halifax [1816, 1822]; Crown Street, Halifax [1822]; Hoyle Green, Warley

Sewage works
There are several entries for sewage works in the district: Cooper Bridge Sewage Works, Copley Sewage Plant, Greetland Sewage Works, Luddendenfoot Joint Sewage Works, Mytholmroyd Sewage Disposal Plant, Salterhebble Sewage Works, Sandbeds Sewage Works, Charlestown, Shelf Sewage Works and Sowerby Bridge Sewage Works

Seward, Mary
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1994-1995]

Sewell Brothers
Iron founders at Bowling Green Foundry, Halifax. Partners included James Robert Sewell and Charles Sewell

Sewell, Charles
[18??-19??] Partner in Sewell Brothers.

He lived at 38 Emscote Avenue, Halifax [1905]

Sewell, James Robert
[1867-1908] Partner in Sewell Brothers.

He lived at 33 Carlton House Terrace, Halifax [1905].

He died in his foundry

Sewing Machines

Seyvill
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Seyville
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Seyvyll
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Shackleton
Hamlet and area above Hardcastle Crags. It is about 1,000 ft above sea level. It is said that there was a mediæval vaccary here.

Other forms of the name include Shackletonstall [1219], Shakilden [1470s], Shakelton [1564], and Shakleton [1718].

Today, there are only a few cottages and farm buildings.

There was a Shackleton family mentioned in the 13th century.

The early form Shackletonstall is derived from elements – shack and tunstall – the whole meaning a farm on a narrow strip – or tongue – of land.

See Shackleton, Tunstall and Willow Gate, Hebden Bridge

Shackleton
The surname is recorded in 1274 as Jordan de Schakeltonstall and Elkoe Shakeltonstall.

The name originated in Shackleton

There are currently around 38 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Shackleton. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Shackleton family
A Shackleton family of Shackletonstall is mentioned in the 13th century

Shackleton, Absalom
[1813-1842] Of Southowram.

He was the illegitimate son of Mary Shackleton. Baptised at Elland Parish Church [30th January 1814].

He was a delver [1832, 1837]; a stone delver [1841].

On 22nd March 1832, he married Mary Farrar [1816-1???] of Southowram, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1833]; (2) Joe Dixon; (3) John Farrar; (4) Mary [b 1839].

The family lived at Upper Lane, Northowram [1841].

Absalom died [Q1] 1842.

After his death, Mary married James Wilkinson Jagger [1845] in Halifax

Shackleton, Albert
[18??-1???] He took over as schoolmaster at Jeremiah Stead's School when William Parker left in 1873

Shackleton, C. W.
[18??-19??] Borough Accountant for Brighouse. In 1901, he was succeeded by James W. Wrigley

Shackleton, Carol
[1959-1969] The 10-year-old failed to return home from Castle Hill School, Todmorden. After an all-night search involving volunteers, Calder Valley Mountain Rescue, and 200 police, her body was later found in Ingham Clough, near her home. She had been strangled with the belt of her raincoat. The police found a footprint near the body, and suspected that he was a local man known to Carol.

In January 1970, at Leeds Assizes, 19-year-old Michael Fossitt was found guilty of the – apparently motive-less murder – and sentenced to life imprisonment. Fossitt, who lived with his 16-year-old wife in Adelaide Street, Hebden Bridge, was an apprentice motor-mechanic at Monteith Garage, which was part-owned by Carol's uncle

Shackleton, Christopher
[15??-1625] Of Wadsworth.

He married Mary.

Children: (1) Christopher; (2) John; (3) Isobel; (4) Marie; (5) Grace; (6) Sara; (7) Martha; (8) Ann.

He was a tenant of the Savile Estate at Walshaw Dean [1572-1594].

On 5th October 1600, he bought a messuage in Alcomden from Savile Estate.

His will was dated 15th June 1625.

He was buried at Heptonstall Church [5th November 1625]

Shackleton, Christopher
[1808-1853] Or Kit.

He was one of a number of local Chartists who addressed the crowds at Skircoat Moor, Halifax [1848].

He died 25th August 1853.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3576] next to the grave of fellow Chartist Ben Rushton who had died 2 months earlier [17th June 1853].

The epitaph on his grave has been deliberately defaced

Shackleton's Clock, Sowerby Bridge
A large clock which hung outside the shop of Percival Shackleton in Sowerby Bridge. In 1904, Shackleton's business address was
Under the Clock, Wharf Street

The clock was labelled Greenwich Time and was a familiar landmark in the town

Shackleton Clough
Flows into Hebden Water

Shackleton, Derek
[1924-2007] County cricketer.

Born in Todmorden. He was a member of Todmorden Cricket Club. He played for England, and for Hampshire with Harold Dawson

Shackleton, Edmund
[1844-1???] Born in Stansfield.

He was a cotton loom tackler [1891].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Sarah Jane [1869-1955] who married John George Tamblin; (2) Edith [b 1885]; (3) Albert [b 1888].

The family lived at 8 Sandholme Lane (or Key Syke Lane), Langfield, Todmorden [1891].

Edmund was a widower by 1891

Shackleton, Sir Ernest
[1874-1922] Irish Antarctic explorer. He was a member of Scott's Antarctic expedition [1901-04]. In 1907-09, he led an expedition that located the magnetic South Pole, and climbed Mount Erebus.

In December 1909, snow delayed the explorer getting to Halifax from Keighley by road. He was finally taken by sledge to the railway station and went on to address a meeting at the Victoria Hall

He commanded the 1914-16 expedition to cross the Antarctic, when he had to abandon his ship, the Endurance, which was crushed in the ice of the Weddell Sea. He died on his fourth expedition to the Antarctic [1921-22]

Shackleton's: F. & J. Shackleton
Watchmakers of Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge. Partners included Frank Shackleton and Julian Shackleton. They took over the business established by their father, Percival Shackleton.

Shackleton's Clock hung outside their shop.

In 1905, they were advertising as Opticians.

The business closed in 19??

Shackleton, Frank
[1871-19??] Son of Percival Shackleton.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a watchmaker and jeweller [1891]; a partner in F. & J. Shackleton.

In 1906, he married Ruth Sykes [1881-19??] from Rishworth, in Halifax.

The family lived at Belper, Derbyshire [1911]

Shackleton, Harry
[1899-19??] Son of machine tool moulder Albert Shackleton.

He was a postman of 30 Duke Street, Luddenden [1935].

He married (1) Unknown.

In 1935, he married (1) Hilda, daughter of Walter Saltonstall

Shackleton, James
[1756-1827] He lived all his life at Good Greave Farm, Hardcastle Crags.

On 23rd May 1827, after selling one his cows at Kebcote Fair [or Colne Fair], he was attacked by 3 men who said they wanted to buy a cow. The men then demanded he hand over the money he got for the cow. As they fled with the money, one of the gang heard Shackleton call his nephew John, saying that he recognised one of the gang and they returned to the house and shot him with his own gun.

5 men were arrested for the murder, but were later discharged. Although no one was ever accused of the crime, local police kept a watch on a local man who was reported to be suddenly affluent. Mysteriously, over a period of 10 weeks, the suspected man's flesh began to rot. He eventually died and was buried in an unmarked grave at Heptonstall

Shackleton, James
[18??-1885] Gentleman of Slater Ing, Slack.

He married Ann.

James died 3rd April 1885.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,115 1/6d. Probate was granted to Maud Shackleton (spinster).

Ann died 14th January 1893.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,780 14/3d. Probate was granted to Maud Shackleton (spinster) 

Shackleton, James
[18??-19??] He lived at Holroyd House, Priestley Green around 1900

Shackleton's: James Shackleton & Sons
Cotton manufacturers of Machpelah, Hebden Bridge and Rochdale. Recorded in 1851

Shackleton, Joah Dixon
[1835-1893] Son of Absalom Shackleton.

He appears as Joah on the baptism record at Halifax Parish Church [19th April 1835] and on the 1841 census, but he is recorded as Joe thereafter.

He and his brother John Farrar Shackleton and their uncle Samuel Green were in partnership with Rufus Cook, trading as Samuel Green & Company [until 1867].

He and his brother John Farrar Shackleton were in partnership with their uncle Samuel Green, trading as Shackletons & Green [until 1870].

In [Q3] 1859, he married Elizabeth Wooler in Halifax.

He died at 5 Salt Street, Manningham [5th February 1893].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £183 3/9d. Probate was granted to his widow Elizabeth

Shackleton, Joe Hirst
[1892-1917] Son of Mary Ann and Sam Shackleton of 9 Boardman Street, Todmorden

Born in Cornholme.

During World War I, he enlisted in Todmorden and served as a Gunner with the C Company 165th Brigade Royal Field Artillery.

He died of wounds [1st May 1917] (aged 25).

He was buried at the Ste. Catherine British Cemetery [C 22].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Shackleton, John
[17??-1???] Of Widdop.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) son; (4) Zachariah

Shackleton, Rev John
[17??-18??] Of Hebden Bridge. In 1817, he published verse forms of translations of The Poems of Ossian

Shackleton, John
[1753-1820] Born in Walsden.

He was Parish Clerk at St Mary's Church, Todmorden; Sexton at St Mary's Church, Todmorden; a handloom weaver; a newspaper agent; a town crier.

In 1776, he married (1) Susan, daughter of John Fielden.

Children: (1) Mary; (2) William; (3) John; (4) Robert; (5) Henry; (6) Susan; (7) Ellen; (8) Joseph; (9) Abraham.

In 1799, he married (2) Betty Jackson [1765-1825].

Children: (1) Jimmy; (2) Sarah; (3) William; (4) Abraham; (5) Elizabeth; (6) Sally; (7) Thomas.

He started married life in Walsden then moved to Todmorden, where they lived in a cottage at Todmorden Hall.

He enjoyed hunting on the moors.

He often spent too much time at the Royal George so much so that his long-suffering wife used to haul him out and carry him home.

On Saturdays, he went to Wakefield, and later to Halifax, to collect a supply of newspapers which he distributed to the townsfolk that evening at a cost of about 10d. He did this in all weathers; sometimes without a hat, clogs or stockings.

Sundays, after the service, he stood in the churchyard giving notice in a loud voice as to where a beast would be killed and the price per pound so people could go for fresh meat.

He was frequently late for burials – not good as he was the sexton.

He was buried at St Mary's Church, Todmorden with both of his wives

Shackleton, John
[1783-1841] Son of John Shackleton.

He was one of the first trustees at Lanebottom Chapel [1818]; Parish Clerk at Saint Mary's Church, Todmorden [1820]; Assistant Overseer of the Poor for Todmorden & Walsden [1838].

In 1808, he married Sally Fielden [1787-1824].

Children: (1) William; (2) Abraham; (3) Susan; (4) Betty; (5) Mary; (6) Sarah; (7) John; (8) Ann; (9) Robert Eli.

Sally died after giving birth, and was buried the same day that her son Robert Eli was baptised.

In 1825, he married Mary Crossley [1799-18??].

Children: (10) Thomas; (11) Elizabeth; (12) Ruth; (13) Henry.

In 1820, when he replaced his father as Parish Clerk at Saint Mary's Church, Todmorden, he moved from Lanebottom, Walsden to Royd Bottom, Todmorden.

He died at Dobroyd.

See Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry

Shackleton, John
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the West Riding Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Shackleton, John Farrar
[1837-1888] Son of Absalom Shackleton.

Born in Southowram [22nd May 1837].

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [2nd July 1837].


Question: Does anyone know if he and his business are connected to the Farrar family of Southowram – probably through his mother?

 

He was living and working with his aunt and uncle, Ann and Samuel Green, in Northowram [1851].

He moved to Thornton.

He established a quarrying business in Bradford: John F. Shackleton & Son Limited [1860].

He and his brother Joe Dixon Shackleton and their uncle Samuel Green were in partnership with Rufus Cook, trading as Samuel Green & Company [until 1867].

He and his brother Joe Dixon Shackleton were in partnership with their uncle Samuel Green, trading as Shackletons & Green [until 1870].

He went to live in Goole and moved the business there.

In 1860, he married (1) Sarah Leggott [1836-1877] in Goole.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) Minnie [1863-1867]; (3) Charles Ernest [1865-1904]; (4) Albert Leggott [1866-1867]; (5) Frank Leggott [1869-1941] who was a director of the family quarrying business; (6) Arthur Beaumont [1870-1871]; (7) Samuel Farrar [1872-1873]; (8) Miriam [1873-1924]

On 25th March 1879, he married (2) Sarah Nicholson [1837-1923] at the Free Methodist Church, Goole.

In 1881, he was renting a house at 27 Marshfield Road, Goole (now number 70).

He later bought Scotgate House, Marshfield Road, from Mrs Emma Scott (could Mr Scott have been the builder?). Shackleton faced the red-brick house in stone.

At 10:30 am on 10th November 1888, he was boarding the schooner Courier in the Barge Dock at Goole, when he slipped and fell into the hold. He was knocked unconscious and taken home to Scotgate House where he died from internal injuries about 5:00 pm.

A notice of his death in The York Herald described him as

one of the most prominent men in [Goole] in connection with Nonconformity, a leading temperance advocate, with a most earnest interest in the success of philharmonic and mutual improvement societies

Members of the family were buried at Goole

Shackleton, Joshua
[18??-1???] He had a butchering business at Midgley [1850s]. Butcher's Fold is named for him

Shackleton, Julian
[1876-1???] Son of Percival Shackleton.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a watchmaker and jeweller [1891]; a partner in F. & J. Shackleton.

On 6th September 1905, he married Mary Elizabeth Gledhill in Halifax.


Mary Elizabeth was the only daughter of William Gledhill
 

Children: Dorothy Mary [b 1910].

The family lived at 47 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was Mary Elizabeth's mother Sarah

Shackleton Knoll
Hilltop above Hardcastle Crags.

See Dole

Shackleton, Lincoln
[1880-1951] Born in Elland.

He was a foreman at Marshall's stone quarry [1887, 1911]. He later became Marshall's first commercial traveller.

Before World War II, he ran a stone haulage business in Southowram

In [Q3] 1900, he married Lilly Holroyde [1880-19??] from Rastrick.

Children: (1) Gladney [b 1901]; (2) Eddie [b 1903]; (3) Nellie [b 1906]; (4) Ronald [b 1911].

The family lived at 9 West Lane, Southowram [1911]

Shackleton, Mary
[1794-1877] She had an illegitimate son Absalom.

She married Edmund Garside.

She was schoolmistress at a Dame School at Upper Edge [1851, 1861].

In 1871, she was living with son-in-law Samuel Green.

She died at Goole [15th January 1877] and is buried with her grandson John Farrar Shackleton and his family in Goole Cemetery

Shackleton Moor
Moorland above Pecket Well

Shackleton, Mr
[18??-1???] He married Sarah, daughter of John Holdsworth.

Children: Ann [1870-1936] who married James Town [1872-1922].

Members of the family were buried at Union Croft Chapel, Ambler Thorn

Shackleton, Percival
[1845-1???] Born in Keighley.

He was a clockmaker in Sowerby Bridge. He established the business in 1868. In 1902, he was in business Under the Clock, Wharf Street. Shackleton's Clock hung outside the shop

The business subsequently became F. & J. Shackleton when his sons, Frank and Julian, took over.

In 1869, he married (1) Mary Wood [1848-1891] from Haworth, in Ormskirk.

Children: (1) Clara [b 1870]; (2) Frank; (3) Emily [b 1875]; (4) Julian; (5) Ethel [b 1882]; (6) Rodger William [b 1889]; (7) Susan Ann [b 1891].

In 1892, he married (2) Julia Gerrard [1848-19??] from Salisbury, in Leeds.

The family lived at 47 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1871, 1881, 1891, 1901]; 13 Dunkirk Crescent, Halifax [1911]

Shackleton, Robert
[1919-1986] CBE.

Born in Todmorden. Linguist and scholar. He studied French at Oriel College Oxford, and became an authority on the 18th century French philosopher Montesquieu. He was Fellow and then Dean of Brasenose College Oxford [1946-1966] and was college librarian there [1948-1966]. He was director of the Bodleian Library [1966-1979]. He was Marshall Foch Professor of French Literature at Brasenose [1979-1986] In 1986, he was appointed CBE. He died in Ravello, Italy and was buried in Naples

Shackleton's: Roger Shackleton & Company
Fustian manufacturer of Globe Works, Hebden Bridge, Hangingroyd, Royd Shed, Hebden Bridge, and Salem Shed.

In 1906, their mills were affected by the fustian weavers' strike.

See Pte Arthur Crabtree and William Pickles

Shackleton, Ronald
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Devonshire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Shackleton, Thomas W.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the West Riding Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Shackleton, William
[1744-1805] He was Master of the English School, Sowerby [1768] and, for 36 years, Master of Heptonstall Grammar School [1769].

He died December 1805, aged 61.

There is a memorial tablet for him in Heptonstall Church erected by

his grateful scholars

Shackleton, Rev William
[18??-18??] Of Hebden Bridge.

He lived at Hollins, Hebden Bridge [1861]

Shackleton, William
[18??-18??] Beerseller and keeper at New Belle Vue Sporting Grounds, Halifax,

In May 1869, he was fined £5 plus costs for permitting pitch and toss to be played on the grounds on Whit Monday. Inspector Ireland and PC Hustler had visited the grounds in plain clothes, and saw betting going on and money freely changing hands amongst the 200 to 300 who had paid 3d each to enter the grounds.

Again in May 1869, he was fined £2 8/6d for playing pitch and toss near the grounds on the previous Monday

Shackleton, William
[18??-19??] Of Hebden Bridge. His wife, Susan [d 1938], left money to churches in Hebden Bridge and Heptonstall

Shackleton, William
[18??-19??] He owned the Lord Holme Restaurant at Hardcastle Crags [1905]

Shackleton, William
[1828-1896] Of Vale Manse, Cornholme

Shackleton, William Thornton
[1830-1886] Of Elland.

In 1857, he (possibly) married Mary Ann Ramsden [1834-1910] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Thomas Thornton [1865-1908]; (2) James Thornton [1866] who died aged 3 days.

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Shackleton, Zachariah
[1746-1825] 4th son of John Shackleton.

Baptised at Heptonstall [May 1746].

In 1767, he married (1) Susan Uttley.

Children: Sarah who married Edmund Wadsworth.

Susan died 1797.

In June 1797, he married (2) Sally Hay

Shackletons & Green
Stone merchants at Thornton and Allerton.

Partners included brothers John Farrar Shackleton and Joah Dixon Shackleton and their uncle Samuel Green.

The partnership was dissolved on 1st October 1870 by mutual consent.

See Samuel Green & Company

Shade
District of Calderdale south-west of Todmorden. The community comprised just 3 cottages until the construction of the canal in the 1790s. The name comes from a Woodshade built by the canal workers.

See Hudsonites

Shade Junior & Infants' School Baths, Todmorden
Opened in 1904 on the ground floor of Shade School. These were the first public baths in Todmorden

Shade Lock, Todmorden
Lock #21 on the Rochdale Canal. Built 1798

Shade Post Office
Recorded in 1861 and 1891, when Joseph Baume was there.

Recorded on 2nd September 1907, when it opened at the shop of Frank Steele, bookseller, stationer and newsagent This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Shakehand Brig
Aka Shakand Brig, Shaken Brig. A popular name for the early wooden Lee Bridge on account of its parlous condition. This was replaced by a stone bridge around 1518

Shakeltonstall, Elkoe
[12??-1???] He married Unknown.

Children: William.

Mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls [1274] when

[At Hyperum] Jordan de Schakeltonstall, Nelle de Wynter, John Luvekyn and William, son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall accused of taking a stag remain under surety until the next Court at Wakefield

See Shackleton

Shakeltonstall, William
[12??-1???] Son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall.

Mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls [1274] when

[At Hyperum] Jordan de Schakeltonstall, Nelle de Wynter, John Luvekyn and William, son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall accused of taking a stag remain under surety until the next Court at Wakefield

Shakespear News Room, Halifax
Recorded on 27th October 1794, when their Annual Dinner was announced.


Question: Does anyone know whether it was connected to Shakespeare pub?

 

Shakespeare House, Halifax
Clare Road. The house was opposite the Royal Oak.

Owners and tenants have included

Shaking House, Mixenden
Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

Owners and tenants have included

Shambles, Halifax

Shannon, Issy
[19??-] Reporter with the Hebden Bridge Times.

She and Frank Woolrych published the magazine Milltown Memories.

The book, Alice's Album [2004], by Issy and Frank Woolrych, tells the story of Crossley Westerman and his daughter Ada, and Alice Longstaff

See Calder Valley Offcuts, Cheers! and Infamous Yorkshire Women

Sharkit Head, Ambler Thorn
Methodist meetings were held here when it was occupied by Caleb Cockcroft.

The meetings were later held at what became Ambler Thorn United Methodist Chapel

Sharman, Alfred
[1888-1915] Son of William Sharman.

He was a telegraph messenger [1901]; a coal merchant's clerk [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 14th December 1915.

He was buried at the Ferme-Olivier Cemetery [2 K 4]

Sharman, John
[18??-19??] Of Carton Street, Halifax.

He frequently travelled by boat, and when he read of the sinking of the Titanic in a special edition of the Halifax Evening Courier, he rang to break the news to the White Star shipping line at their offices in Liverpool

Sharman, John
[1830-1898] Born in Colne in Lancashire.

He was educated at Horton College Bradford.

He served as a Private with Company 8 of the 4th West Yorkshire Rifles Volunteers.

He was a draper's assistant in Wakefield [1851].

He (possibly) moved to Halifax [1861]

In January 1862, he joined the Militia in Halifax. He joined the Gorilla Small Bore Club in Halifax and won several prizes over the next 3 years.

In 1862, he joined the National Rifle Association.

On 22nd July 1865, he won the Queen's Prize of the National Rifle Association for shooting at Wimbledon. He was described as

the champion shot of 1865

and was greeted by a crowd of around 35,000 people as he and 4 other Halifax prizemen returned to Halifax. Members of the regiment formed a guard of honour

The winner could choose to receive £250 in cash or in any other form. John chose a silver tea service with the balance of cash in a blue silk purse.

He was in partnership with his brothers as woolstaplers in Bradford [1865].

In 1867, he married Jane Ann Earl [1846-1898] of Richmond, in Richmond.

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) son; (4) daughter; (5) daughter.

The family lived at Heath Field Terrace, Halifax [1867]; 15 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1881]; Horton, Bradford [1888].

John died whilst on holiday at Arncliffe, Westmorland [1890]

Sharman, William
[1849-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a wine & spirit warehouseman [1881, 1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1872, he married Catherine McDonald [1849-1???] in Halifax.


Catherine was born in Queens County, Ireland
 

Children: (1) Edward [b 1874] who was a telegraph messenger [1891]; (2) Annie [b 1881] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a skirt machinist [1901], an underclothing machinist [1911]; (3) Thomas Andrew [b 1883] who was a tailor [1901], a tailor's assistant [1911]; (4) Helena Mary [b 1885] who was a skirt machinist [1901], an underclothing machinist [1911]; (5) Alfred; (6) Frederick [b 1894] who was a tailor's assistant [1901, 1911].

The family lived at 18 Birks Hall Lane, Halifax [1881]; 5 Stannary Lane, Halifax [1891]; 16 St James Street, Halifax [1901, 1911]; 22 Stirling Street, Halifax [1915]

Sharp
[Surname]

There are currently around 48 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Sharp. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Sharp, Abraham
[1???-17??] On 22nd June 1726, he married Ann, daughter of Richard Walker.

Children: Jack

Sharp, Rev Abraham
[16??-1732] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1730-1732]

Sharp, Abraham
[18??-18??] Rope and twine maker at 2 Police Street, Brighouse [1874]

Sharp's: Alph Sharp & Company
Chemical manufacturers at Copley.

Established around 1903 by Arthur Edouarde Sharp.

Alphonse Sharp was also associated with the Company.

Closed in 19??

See Sharp & Mallett

Sharp, Alphonse
[1872-1942] CBE.

Son of William Sharp.

Born in Roubaix, France.

He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School.

He started his career at Pickle Bridge Dyeworks which was run by his uncle John Sharp. When his uncle retired from business, Alphonse started on his own in a partnership with his brother Arthur Edouarde at Sharp & Mallett at Copley.

He was also associated with Alph Sharp & Company Limited.

During World War I, he was asked by the British Government to develop the business. He saw to the building of the HM Explosives Factory at North Dean, Greetland, of which he became managing director. For his services, he was awarded a CBE [April 1920].

He was a Conservative councillor on Hipperholme District Council.

In 1897, he married Emilie Whiteley [18??-1931].


Emilie was the daughter of John Whiteley of Hipperholme
 

Children: (1) George Cyril; (2) Charles Whiteley; (3) James Cyril.

The family lived at The Crescent, Hipperholme [1911]; Holmwood, Halifax [1942].

He died at Holmwood, Halifax [29th March 1942] (aged 69) 

Sharp & Brown
Card and wire manufacturers at Bowling Dyke, Halifax and at Birmingham [1854].

T. & J. Binns worked for them before taking over the business and establishing T. & J. Binns & Company

Sharp & Mallett
Chemical and colour manufacturers and munitions manufacturers at Wakefield Road, Copley.

Partners included Arthur Edouarde Sharp, George Edward Mallett, and Alphonse Sharp.

In 1914, J. F. Walsh designed some of the buildings.

The partnership was dissolved on 1st January 1915 and Sharp & Mallett Limited succeeded to the business.

During World War I, as a part of the war effort, the company manufactured picric acid, which was used as an explosive charge in shells.

There was an explosion at the Copley site on 22nd December 1917.

The factory was rebuilt and Alph Sharp & Company (possibly) took over the premises.

The company also controlled the North Dean Munitions Factory, Greetland

Sharp & Waller
Brighouse partnership established by architects Miles Sharp and Daniel Waller.

In 1894, they were receiving tenders for the construction of houses at Harriet Street, Brighouse for the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited.

In 1922, they were at 32 Bradford Road.

Their work included Carr Green Junior, Infant & Nursery School

Sharp, Arthur Edouarde
[1868-1953] Son of William Sharp and brother of Alphonse Sharp.

Born in France [10th March 1868].

He was partner in Sharp & Mallett; founder of Alph Sharp & Company; a member of Lightcliffe Golf Club; a member of Halifax Borough Club; a member of Greenroyd Bowling Club; a farmer at Hunmanby, Filey [after he retired in 1919].

He married Henrietta.

Children: Annie Louise.

The family lived at 5 Copley Terrace [1905]; Copley Terrace [1911]; Brooklyn, Halifax [1953].

He died home at Brooklyn, Halifax [11th March 1953] (aged 85) 

Sharp, Cyril James
[19??-19??] Son of Alphonse Sharp.

In 1935, he married Evelyn Melita Gatley Morton.


Evelyn was the daughter of Joseph Morton
 

The family lived at Holmwood, Halifax [1935]

Sharp, Rev Daniel
[17??-18??] DD.

Son of John Sharp.

He emigrated to America and became a notable Baptist minister in Boston, Massachusetts

Sharp, Daniel
[18??-1855] Of Sowerby.

During the campaigns of 1854 and 1855, in the Crimea War, he served with the 47th Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the memorial in Sowerby Church

Sharp, David
[1792-1878] Of Brighouse. He was a surveyor for the town

Sharp, Frank
[1894-1915] Son of Samuel Sharp

He was educated at Crossley Orphanage; an accountants clerk with the Halifax Borough Treasurer [1911]; a member of Saint John's Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Halifax; secretary to the Wesley Guild.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed whilst on sentry duty [19th August 1915].

He was buried on the bank of a canal alongside fellow soldiers. He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial [Panel 20]

Sharp, Fred
[1882-19??] He was a textile worker [1892]; a dyer with H. Fletcher & Company Limited; a committee member for the Amalgamated Society of Dyers; national President of the Amalgamated Society of Dyers [1933]; Chairman of the Halifax Dyers' Club; a Labour Councillor for Halifax North Ward [1923]; a Magistrate [1933]; an Alderman [1943]; a Councillor for Ovenden Ward [1948]; Mayor of Halifax [1950-1951].

He married Unknown from Claremount.

They lived at 78 Wheatley Road, Halifax [1951]

Sharp, George
[18??-18??] Established George Sharp & Sons.

He married Unknown.

Children: Rachel [b 1850] who married (1) Thomas Rushworth and (2) James Emmett

Sharp's: George Sharp & Sons
Nurserymen, seedsmen and florists. Established by George Sharp. They were at Wellcroft Nurseries, Hipperholme [1905]

Sharp, Jack
[17??-17??] Son of Abraham Sharp, and nephew of John Walker of Walterclough Hall.

He was adopted by the Walkers.

It is said that, as he grew up, Sharp developed an overbearing and unscrupulous character and gradually possessed himself of the main interests in his uncle's business.

He married Miss Nicholls.

The family business and the Hall passed to him when his uncle retired.

Jack and his wife went to live at Walterclough Hall, and John Walker went to live at The Square.

On his uncle's death in 1771, the eldest son – Richard – ordered Jack to leave Walterclough.

Sharp left, but took most of the contents with him, and destroyed what he had to leave behind. Only 2 rooms remained habitable, and the rest had been vandalised.

In 1778, he built Law Hill House a mile away.

Sharp enticed the easy-going younger son John into gambling and ruin. Sharp also managed to systematically degrade a young cousin – Sam Stead – of his right to inherit the Hall (in a similar manner to the way Heathcliff degraded Hareton Earnshaw), before becoming bankrupt himself and fleeing to London, where he disappeared.

It is said that the family feud – and particularly the similarity between Sharp's behaviour and that of Heathcliff – may have influenced Emily Brontë when she was writing Wuthering Heights

Sharp, James
[1828-1911] FIL, FCS, MSA, FSSc.

Son of Joseph Sharp.

Born at Shelf [31st December 1828].

He was partner in James & M. S. Sharp; a fellow of the Académie Parisienne des Inventeurs [1889]; president of the Society of Dyers & Colourists; a member of the Wyke Local Board.

In 1890, he bought Upper Rookes, Norwood Green from the Sutherland-Walker family.

On 8th October 1853, he married Hannah Gaunt.


Hannah was the daughter of Joseph Gaunt of Huddersfield
 

Children: (1) John; (2) Milton Sheridan; (3) Annie A who married Mr Moore; (4) Flora; (5) James; (6) Lionel C. G.; (7) Morpeth Richard H.

The family lived at Headingley. Leeds [1861]; Wyke [1871]; Carr Hall, Wyke [1881]; Wyke Banks [1891]; Shirley Manor, Wyke [1901, 1911]

James died 11th May 1911

Sharp, James
[1863-1???] Son of James Sharp.

In 1886, he married Charlotte Elizabeth Bottomley

Sharp's: James & M. S. Sharp
Dyers.

Partners included James Sharp and Milton Sheridan Sharp

Sharp, John
[1???-1???] Mechanic of Skircoat. Son of George Sharp.

In 1854, he (possibly) married Fanny, daughter of William Morton, at Halifax Parish Church.

They lived at Blackburn [1861]; Southowram [1871, 1881, 1891]

Sharp, John
[1???-19??] Son of James Sharp.

He inherited Upper Rookes, Norwood Green and restored and rebuilt the house in 1929

Sharp, John
[1644-1714] Born in Bradford.

He was dean of Canterbury before becoming Archbishop of York [1691-1714].

He died at Bath [2nd February 1714].

There was a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church.

The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Sharp, John
[17??-18??] Methodist who lived at Ivy House Farm, Hove Edge

Sharp, John
[1743-1821] He left the Inghamites to become a Baptist Minister in Halifax. In June 1807, he was ordained at Farsley.

He married Unknown.

Children: Daniel.

He died at Farsley

Sharp, John
[1823-1898] Son of Joseph Sharp.

Baptised at Coley [1823].

He was a stuff dyer at Pickle Bridge Dyeworks employing 231 men, 14 boys, 4 women & 8 girls [1881].

In 1853, he married Susannah Hargrave of Kirkstall.

Children: (1) Emily; (2) Julia; (3) Jane H; (4) Mary.

The family lived at Wade Street, Halifax [1861]; Banks House, Wyke [1871, 1881, 1891].

John died in 1898 (aged 75).

He was buried at Wyke

Sharp, Joseph
[18??-19??] He and his brother, Samuel established the North Bridge Coal Company around 1875

Sharp, Joseph
[1803-1856] Born in Shelf.

He was a stone mason; a mason [1856].

He married Mary.

Children: (1) John; (2) James; (3) Elizabeth [b 1833] who married John Rothera; (4) William; (5) Mary Ann [b 1846] who married George Henry Gledhill.

The family lived at Shelf [1841]; Headingley, Leeds [1851].

Joseph died 3rd April 1856

Sharp, Joseph
[1854-19??] Born in Hipperholme.

He was a stone dresser [1901].

Around 1874, he married Elizabeth H. [1853-19??].


Elizabeth H. was born in Hipperholme
 

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1874] who was a worsted warper [1901]; (2) John W. [b 1876] who was a stone dresser [1901]; (3) Ethel [b 1878] who was a worsted reeler [1901]; (4) Ellen [b 1879] who was a silk weaver [1901]; (5) George [b 1885] who was a stone dresser [1901]; (6) Harold [b 1887] who was a gardener (not domestic) [1901]; (7) Hilda [b 1889]; (8) Walker [b 1894].

The family lived at 217 Halifax Road, Brighouse [1901]

Sharp, Joshua
[17??-17??] Of Turvin. He was a coiner and a witness at the trials of the coiners

Sharp, Lieutenant
[1???-1???] Of Thornton.

Stod Fold Farm, Mixenden was his country retreat.

He met Rev Matthew Smith whilst Smith was preaching at Thornton.

He married Unknown.

Children: Susannah who married Rev Matthew Smith

Sharp, Lionel C. G.
[1866-1905] Son of James Sharp.

In 1894, he married Ada Wheelhouse, daughter of Taylor Wheelhouse of Birkby Hall, Bailiffe Bridge


Ada was the daughter of Taylor Wheelhouse of Birkby Hall, Bailiffe Bridge
 

Sharp, Mary
[16??-1673] Of Mirfield.

She married Joseph Ramsden.

She died after being knocked down and trampled by a horse in Halifax

Sharp, Mary Ann
[18??-1???] Of Park Place, Halifax. She was a pupil at Park Place Academy. The archives hold her poetry exercise books [1859-1862], and accountancy exercise books [1859]

Sharp, Miles
[1864-1948] Or Sharpe.

Brighouse architect and artist. He taught art at Brighouse night school, and was drawing master at Larkhill Academy [1885-1889].

He was a partner in Sharp & Waller.

He painted the streets, snickets and old buildings of Brighouse to create an illustrated record of the ever changing town. He depicted himself in many of his drawings as a tall man with a walking-stick. Some of his drawings are used in the Autobiography of James Gregson.

In 1895, he designed the houses which stand below Stoneleigh in Halifax Road, Brighouse.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Gilbert [1895-1949]; (2) Miles.

He lived at 27 Halifax Road, Brighouse

Sharp, Miles Balmford
[1897-1973] Son of Miles Sharp.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a landscape artist, working with oil and watercolours. He also made line engravings. He studied at Bradford and at Leeds, and at the Central School of Arts & Crafts.

He was head draughtsman at Barraclough Brothers in Brighouse.

He moved to Nuneaton [1925] where he became art master at Nuneaton Art School.

In 1952, he retired to Budleigh Salterton, Devon where he continued to teach and to paint.

He died in Budleigh Salterton

Sharp, Milton Sheridan
[1856-1924] Son of James Sharp.

Born in Wyke [30th January 1856].

He was a dyer; partner in James & M. S. Sharp; Chairman of the BDA [1898-1924].

He was created 1st Baronet Sharp of Heckmondwyke [1920].

He died 22nd May 1924

Sharp, Morpeth Richard H.
[1873-1909] Son of James Sharp.

In 1898, he married Annie Richmond

Sharp, Richard
[1???-18??] He ran a music school in Halifax [around 1835]

Sharp, Richard
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Border Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Sharp, Robert
[1???-18??] Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1835-1838]

Sharp, Samuel
[18??-18??] Landlord of the Old Pond, Hove Edge [1841, 1845].

He married Margaret [1813-1???] born in Hipperholme.


Margaret was a dress maker and publican at the Old Pond, Hove Edge [1861]. She was listed as unmarried, (probably) a widow.

Living with Margaret in 1861 was servant Sarah Sharp [aged 43] – listed as sister

 

Sharp, Samuel
[18??-19??] He and his brother, Joseph established the North Bridge Coal Company around 1875

Sharp, Samuel
[1862-1900] Born in Markfield, Leicestershire.

He was a railway clerk [1891].

In 1887, he married Emily Balls in Halifax.


Emily was born in Honington, Suffolk
 

Children: (1) Edna G [b 1893] who was a woollen spinner [1911]; (2) Frank.

The family lived at 15 Albany Terrace, Fletcher Road, Southowram [1891]; 39 Foster Lane, Hebden Bridge [1901]; 13 Albany Terrace, Halifax [1911]

Samuel died 1900.

Emily was a tailoress (fustian) [1901].

Living with them in 1911 was Emily's brother Horace Balls [aged 45] (railway goods porter) 

Sharp, Smith
[1895-1938] In 1922, he married Ivy Town [1892-1964]


Ivy was the daughter of
Frederick Town
 

Children: (1) Leonard [1923-2000]; (2) Dennis [1924-1993]

Sharp, Tom
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the book Royd Regeneration

Sharp, Wilfred
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Training Reserve.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Sharp, Wilfred
[1918-2001] He was Councillor for Hipperholme and Lightcliffe [1973-1996], and Mayor of Calderdale [1987-1988]

Sharp, William
[1???-1???] Of Northowram.

He married Hannah.

Children: Martha [1820-1???] who married Samuel Bottomley.

The family lived at Hud Hill, Northowram [1851].

Living with them in 1851 was granddaughter Harriet

Sharp, William
[1826-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a cordwainer [1861].

He married Emma [1826-1???] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Sarah a [b 1850]; (2) Mary a [b 1853]; (3) George [b 1859].

The family lived at Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1861]

Sharp, William
[1839-1903] Son of Joseph Sharp.

Born in Halifax.

He was a chemical manufacturer.

He moved from Rochdale to join his brother John at Pickle Bridge Dyeworks.

Around 1865, he moved to France to take charge of a large dyeworks at Roubaix. He returned to Bailiff Bridge 8 years later.

In 1864, he married Harriet Whitehead in Halifax.

Children: (1) Annie who married Harry Bottomley; (2) Mary Ann; (3) Arthur Edouarde; (4) Alphonse; (5) Emily; (6) Edith; (7) Gertrude.

The family lived at Norwood House, Norwood Green [1901].

William died in Leeds [1903].

He was buried at Coley Church.

Harriet died in 1913 (aged 74) 

Sharp, Wilson
[1828-1884] Born in Shelf.

He was a dyer (worsted) [1861]; landlord of the Albion Hotel, Claremount [1871, 1874, 1881].

Around 1850, he married Sarah Smith [1832-1882] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah, of Shelf, was the daughter of innkeeper Samson Smith
 

Children: (1) Smith [b 1853] who was a brass finisher [1881]; (2) Ashton [b 1855] who was delicate & unable to work [1881]; (3) Lilly [b 1858]; (4) Lucy [1860-1890] who married John Halliday; (5) Laura [b 1864] who married John Halliday; (6) Willis [b 1867] who was a brewer [1881]; (7) Annie [b 1872]; (8) Louise [b 1876].

The family lived at Beacon Corner, Northowram [1861]

Living with them in 1871 was boarder John Tinker [aged 58] (worsted weaver) from Dustonley.

Living with them in 1881 was boarder Henry Greenwood [aged 28] (domestic servant) from Southowram

Sharp, Wilson
[1876-1958] Born in Sowerby.

He was a farmer [1899].

On 22nd July 1899, he married Sophia Pickles in Sowerby.


Sophia was the daughter of
James Pickles
 

Children: (1) Gladys May [1900-1971] who married Charley Lumb; (2) Gwendoline [1905-2000] who married [1928] John Coley [1904-1995] from Chelmsford, in Halifax; (3) Florence Ruby [b 1907] who married [21st March 1934] Arthur Beckwith [1904-1???].

The children were born in Sowerby.

The couple died in Sowerby: Sophia [18th February 1948]; Wilson [2nd May 1958]

Sharp, Wright & Company
Coal, sand and lime merchants. In 1905, they were at North Bridge Station

Sharpe
[Surname]

There are currently around 12 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Sharpe. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Sharpe family of Hipperholme
There is a stone monument dated 1727 to the family in Saint John the Baptist, Coley

Sharpe, Abraham
[16??-1742] Mathematician and astronomer

Sharpe, Abraham
[18??-19??] Brighouse manufacturer of rope and twine.

He married Unknown.

Children: Annie who married Willie Brooke

Sharpe, Aquila
[18??-19??] Violinist and leader of the orchestra of the Halifax Choral Society.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) George Frederick; (2) Herbert

Sharpe, George Frederic
[1863-1946] Mus.Bac, LRAM, ARCM.

Son of Aquila Sharpe.

Born in Halifax.

He was a musician; a professor of music [1901]; Principal of the Halifax School of Music.

In 1912, one of his operas was performed at the Theatre Royal, Halifax.

In [Q1] 1891, he married Mary Ellen Wood [1865-19??] in Halifax.

Children: (1) George C. [b 1893]; (2) Rita M. [b 1899] who became a cellist.

The family lived at 44 Free School Lane [1901, 1905]

Sharpe, George Moore
[1899-1978] Son of William Moore Sharpe.

He was a firewood manufacturer [1919].

On 13th October 1919, he married Hilda Dance 1899 [b 1989] at St George's Church, Lee Mount.


Hilda was born in Wingfield, Chesterfield
 

Children: (1) Winifred (Moore Sharpe) [1921-2009]; (2) Joan (Moore Sharpe) [1923-1964] who died in Portsmouth; (3) Barbara (Moore Sharpe) [1930-2009] who married Leonard Tasker Helliwell; (4) Joyce Louise (Moore Sharpe) [1935-2008].

The children were all born Brigg Royd, Windy Bank

Sharpe, Herbert F.
[18??-19??] FRCM.

Son of Aquila Sharpe. Pianist, teacher and composer

He married Unknown.

Children: Cedric who was also a musician

Sharpe, Joseph Moore
[1834-1901] Born in Halifax.

He was an iron moulder.

In 1855, he married Ann Drake [1834-1908].

Children: (1) Walter (Moore Sharpe) [1857-1912]; (2) George (Moore Sharpe) [b 1858]; (3) Wright (Moore Sharpe) [1861-1912]; (4) William (Moore Sharpe); (5) Elizabeth (Moore Sharpe) [1868-1870]; (6) Alice Ann (Moore Sharpe) [1870-1937]; (7) Lily (Moore Sharpe) [1872-1904]; (8) Adelaide (Moore Sharpe) [1874-1951]

Sharpe, Rev Kenneth Henry
[19??-19??] Vicar of Coley [1978]

Sharpe, Rev Nathan
[1674-1733] Vicar of Coley [1702, 1703] and master at Hipperholme Grammar School for 30 years.

Around 1711, during his incumbency, Coley Church was extensively repaired and reconstructed.

He married Ann [1674-1727].

Children: Dorothy who married John Simpson.

He died on 9th May 1733 – aged 58 years and 10 months – and was buried on 15th May 1733.

He and his wife were buried at Coley Church

Sharpe, Rev Samuel
[17??-18??] He attended Heath Grammar School. He became Vicar of Wakefield [1810]

Sharpe, Thomas
[13??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1386]

Sharpe, William Moore
[1864-1934] Son of Joseph Moore Sharpe.

Born in Dukinfield, Cheshire.

He was a brick maker.

On 12th February 1887, he married Louisa Watson [1865-1935] at St Thomas Church, Charlestown.


Louisa was the daughter of Mary Ann [née Morrell] [1832-1904] and Joseph Watson [1832-1888], a clay miner
 

Children: (1) Ethel (Moore Sharpe) [1887-1974] who married [1913] Arnold Dyson [1888-1970]; (2) Wright (Moore Sharpe) [1889-1961]; (3) Alfred (Moore Sharpe) [1892-1962]; (4) Mary Louise (Moore Sharpe) [1894-1979] who married Arthur Patchett; (5) George (Moore Sharpe); (6) Rose Ann (Moore Sharpe) [1902-1984] who married [1950] Albert Holden [1905-1980].

The family lived at

He died at Brigg Royd, Windy Bank [4th July 1934].

Members of the family were buried at Illingworth Moor Wesleyan Chapel

Sharples, Mr
[18??-18??] Curate at Todmorden [1841?]. After a few months, he left the post

Sharratt's: David Sharratt & Sons Limited
Quarriers and manufacturers of sanitary pipes, firebricks, red building bricks and tiles at Storth Brick Works, Elland [1874, 1945].

One man was killed and another injured by an explosion at the works on 8th February 1900.

On 1st June 1900, Jonah Scott died from injuries received at the works

Keith Marsden says that the site of the brickworks

was on the left as you go up. The place is now [2014] full of plastic tanks in wire cages and blue barrels. This was part of the brickworks property and is a new building, just below the underpass of the new road.

Sharratt's used to get their clay from across the road. The clay came in big metal tubs, down a thick cable. On arrival, the tub hit a lever, and it then tipped out the clay and righted itself. The tub then went back up the hill over the field to get filled again. The clay deposit was about half a mile up over the hill.

I was told the Sharratt's were slave drivers with little pay

Sharratt, Hyde
[1857-1911] Chairman of Elland District Council [1911].

On 27th July 1912, a shelter in his memory was opened in the recreation ground, Elland

Sharrock, Henry
[15??-1613] MA.

Curate at Ripponden [1586-1613].

In 1594, John Hoyle of Clough House, Soyland bequeathed 20/- to Mr Sharrock.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Abigail [b 1592] who married Laurence Stansfeld; (2) Adam; (3) Simeon; (4) John; (5) Theophilus

Sharrock, Theophilus
[15??-1623] MA.

Son of Henry Sharrock. He succeeded his father as Curate at Ripponden [1613-1623]

Shavey Bottom, Jagger Green

Shaw...
The entries for people with the surname Shaw are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Shaw
[Surname]

There are currently around 79 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Shaw. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Shaw family of Holywell Green
Millowners of Holywell Green.

In the 1790s, John Shaw established a water-powered scribbling mill.

This expanded in the 1850s to become John Shaw & Sons.

In the 1860s, Samuel Shaw added a wool-weaving shed and several large mills.

The family mill its own branch railway line of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway.

They built many model houses for the workers at their mills in Holywell Green and Jagger Green.

In 1874, they built Holywell Green Congregational Church for the workers.

They built a day school and a Mechanics' Institute.

See Brookroyd Mills, Brookroyd Terrace, Castle Farm, Holywell House, Saint Helen's Square, Holywell Green, Joseph Shaw, Shaw Park, Thomas Shaw, Stainland Mechanics' Institute and Stainland to Sowerby Bridge Turnpike

Shaw & Company
Engineers at Hebden Bridge. John Shaw was a senior partner

Shaw & Company
Paper manufacturer.

They were at

  • New Mill, Barkisland [1910]: MG Caps, Sealings, Pressings and Coloured Papers. One 95" Machine

    Powered by Water and Steam

  • Bradley Mill, Stainland [1910]: Fine MG Caps, MG Cartridges, MG Manillas and Coloured Papers. One 76" Machine

    Powered by Water and Steam

Shaw & Moores, Walterclough
Recorded on 27th January 1858 when an employee was injured by a fanning machine at their mill

Shaw's: Ben Shaw & Sons Limited
Soft drinks manufacturer in Huddersfield and Halifax. Established in 1???. They were at Lister Lane, Halifax [1929, 1936].

Their trade mark was Benjamin Shaw's signature surrounded by the Latin inscription

Amicus Humani Generis

Shaw Booth, Warley
Aka Lower Shaw Booth.


Question: Can anyone confirm that – as the Comfort illustration suggests – this and Lower Shaw Booth are the same property? Is/was there an Upper Shaw Booth?

 

Owners and tenants have included

See Upper Shaw Booth, Warley

Shaw's: E. & E. Shaw & Sons
Halifax soft drinks manufacturer established by Ernest Edgar Shaw. Established in 1927. They were at Rookery Lane, Halifax and Shaw Royd, Sedbergh Road [1950s].

The business became Shaw's of Halifax.

In 1968, the business was sold to Barrs of Glasgow, makers of Irn-Bru

See Joseph Pitchforth

Shaw's: F. & H. Shaw Limited
Of Foster Holme.

John Hankin Shaw was Managing Director [1900]

Shaw Hall, Halifax
See Shaw Hill House

Shaw Hardcastle Limited
Halifax ladies' outfitters and drapery company founded by Shaw Hardcastle. They were at 1-3-5 Old Market [1939].

This closed in 198?, and was taken over by Wilbefort's.

This closed in ????.

The premises subsequently had a number of occupants.

Shaw Hardcastle re-appeared in the Old Arcade, Halifax

Shaw Hill House, Halifax
House which stood on the corner of Shaw Hill / Simmonds Lane on the Lower Shaw Hill estate, and known as Elmwood, Elm Wood House, Shaw Hall, Shay Hill, and Upper Shaw Hill.


I have been confused about the identity of these various buildings. Alan Boocock has helped me sort some of them, but, please
email me if you can resolve any remaining confusion
 

The house was built by Joshua Laycock around 1697. The doorway was dated I E L 1697 for Joshua and Elizabeth Laycock. The house had large gardens with fountains.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The area was cleared when the railway came to the district.

John Holdsworth's Shaw Lodge Mills were built here in the early 19th century

In the 1930s, the site was cleared to construct the new Bus Garage. Two stones were found dated I L M 1695 and I B L 1710 for the Laycock family.

See Mr Booth, Charles Hudson, Jeremiah Rossendall and Shay House, Halifax

Shaw House, Halifax
Stood in land at Shaw Lane / Gaukroger Lane / Simmonds Lane. The land was bought by the Holdsworth family in 1871.

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1960s, the land was sold to Halifax Corporation. A tower block stands on the site

Shaw's: J. Shaw & Company
Stone merchants.

Recorded in 1896, when they were at Bowood Quarry, Triangle

Shaw's: James, Joseph, William & Luke Shaw
Woollen manufacturers at Elland. Partners included James Shaw, Joseph Shaw, William Shaw, and Luke Shaw.

In March 1858, the partnership was declared bankrupt. In June 1858, the bankruptcy was annulled

Shaw's: John Shaw & Company
Quarry owners and stone merchants at Hollins Estate Quarry, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Shaw's: John Shaw & Sons
Woollen and worsted manufacturers founded by John Shaw and his sons Joseph and George [1794].

They occupied Brookroyd Mills, Holywell Green, Holroyds Mill, Holywell Green, Holme Mill, Stainland, and New Mill, Stainland [1905]

The railway line was extended from Greetland Station to serve the company's mills.

The firm went into liquidation in 1930. Raymond Morton Shaw kept a part of the business going until he sold it in 1952.

See Joseph Davidson, The explosion at Holme Mill, Stainland and Holywell Brook Station

Shaw's: John Shaw & Sons
Wire manufacturers at Wheatley Road [1874]

Shaw's: John Shaw & Sons Limited
Wire manufacturers established by John Shaw at Livingston Wire Mill, Brighouse [1871, 1881]. The business was wound up in 1903

Shaw Laithe, Elland
Recorded in 1198 when it was the property of Fountains Abbey.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Shaw Lane
A melody written by Richard Thomas when he was choir master at Tuel Lane United Methodist Free Chapel. years.

It was named for Shaw Lane, Sowerby.

It was first sung at the Chapel's anniverary in 1865.

This was often known as the Northern Tune for the carol While shepherds watched

The Shaw, Langfield
The property is recorded as having 7 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

Shaw Lodge, Halifax
Huddersfield Road. Off Shaw Hill, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

The house – and nearby Spring Hall – were used as a hospital during World War I.

The house had problems with woodworm, and was demolished in the early 1920s

Shaw Lodge Hospital, Halifax
During World War I, Shaw Lodge was used as a hospital. It had 136 beds.

See Spring Hall Hospital, Halifax

Shaw's: Luke Shaw & Son
Wool and waste dealers established by Luke Shaw at Albion Street, Elland [1905]

Shaw, Mankinholes
New Road. The original house was built in 1503. A fireplace is inscribed CI for Charles the First. The house was rebuilt in 1675.

Owners and tenants have included

  • the Ingham family [to 1918]

Shaw's of Halifax

See E. & E. Shaw & Sons

Shaw's: Owen Shaw & Company
Wine, spirit and cigar merchants and wholesale bottlers at 88 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

As shown in the accompanying photograph, the company issued its own tokens

Shaw Park, Holywell Green
Public park was the grounds of Brooklands, home of Samuel Shaw. It was given to the local council by Raymond Shaw in 1955 or 1972. The several castle follies in the Park were built by Shaw as aviaries.

The old Stainland Well was rebuilt near the Park.

See Castle Farm

The Shaw, Ripponden

Owners and tenants have included

Shaw Royd, Halifax
House in Shaw Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Shaw Syke, Halifax
Also Shaw Sike, Shay Syke.

Area of Halifax near the Shay.

In July 1844, Halifax Town station for the single branch line was opened at Shaw Syke. This became the goods yard.

See Savile Royd, Halifax

Shaw Syke Railway Station
The route of the Manchester & Leeds Railway by-passed Halifax, and passengers and goods had to depart and arrive at Sowerby Bridge or Elland.

On 2nd July 1844, the original Halifax Town station for the single-track branch line from North Dean was opened at Shaw Syke.

The line joined the Manchester-Leeds Railway at North Dean.

Later, this became the goods yard and the building was used by National Carriers Limited

The Shaw West, Todmorden
Shaw Wood Road. House dated 1675.

Shaw Wood
Area of Todmorden

Shaw Wood Bridge, Todmorden
Shaw Wood Road.

Bridge #25 over the Rochdale Canal.

Shawcroft, Luddendenfoot
Luddenden Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Shawplains Lock, Hebden Bridge
Lock #15 on the Rochdale Canal

Shawyer, Rev Andrew
[17??-18??] Or Sawyer. He served at Rugely [1811] and Bilston before becoming First Minister at Bramley Lane Congregational Church [1830-1840]. He occasionally served at Sion Chapel, Halifax in the afternoons.

His son, Andrew Fielden Shawyer trained at Rotherham College [1830] and served at several places, including Pately Bridge and Delph, before he died at Keswick [1868]

Shay
Area of Halifax around the site of Shay House and, later, The Shay sports ground. In the 15th century, the area is recorded as Shaghe Lane when William Brodley had property here. The names shaw and shay are related and are derived from the Old English sceaga [a copse].

See Shaw Hill and Shaw Sike

Shay Farm, Halifax
Oxford Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Shay Gardens, Halifax
In 1922, comedian Max Miller appeared here as a pierrot

The Shay, Halifax
On 4th August 1920, Halifax Council leased the Shay estate as a football ground and home ground of Halifax Town Association Football Club for a period of seven years.

The first football match was held here on 3rd September 1921.

On 14th February 1953, the pitch had to be cleared of snow before the match.

Around 23rd January 1963, very cold weather enabled ice skating at the Shay.

Motor cycle racing was held at Halifax Speedway there until 1986.

In 1987, the Council bought the lease back from Halifax Town FC.

In 1998, there were plans to revamp the stadium for use by the rugby league club and the football club, instead of a super-stadium at Thrum Hall Rugby Ground

In 19??, work began on a new stand at the ground. Work stopped before the stand was complete.

In 2005, the Council decided to close the stadium, but a massive public protest and demonstration in January 2006 caused the councillors to reconsider their decision

Shay Hill, Halifax
See Shaw Hill House

Shay House, Halifax
Aka Shay Hall, The Shay.

About 1650, Richard Blackett owned land here.

The house was built by John Carr around 1770 for John Caygill, and stood on the site of the Shay football ground.

Subsequent owners included

The house and land was bought by Halifax Corporation in 1889 and demolished in 1903, to make way for the construction of the new Skircoat Road.

The land was subsequently used as a rubbish tip, a practice ground for the Territorial Army during World War I, and from the 1920s, The Shay football ground.

See Shaw Hill House, Halifax

Shay Syke, Halifax

Shcipden
Old spelling of Shibden

Shcipden
Old spelling of Shibden

Shead, Jock
[1926-1950] Born in Burnley. He was a well-known speedway rider for Halifax. He was killed when he was thrown into a safety fence after a collision in a race for the National Speedway Trophy at Norwich on 1st July 1950

Sheard
[Surname]

There are currently around 18 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Sheard. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Sheard & Company
The successor to John Sheard & Company when that was dissolved in 1873. Henry Hebblethwaite and Samuel Bold Tillotson were partners

Sheard & Midgley
Quarry owners at Barker Royd Quarry, Southowram. Partners included Marshall Sheard and George Midgley.

In November 1881, a bankruptcy notice was issued for the business

Sheard Brothers
Stone merchants of Southowram [1904-1918]

Sheard, Charles
[18??-1???] He was a warp dresser [1872].

He married Hannah.

Children: Emma [1848-19??] who married Henry Smith.

The family lived at 15 Mason Green, Ovenden [1881]

Sheard, Frank
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Rifleman.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Saint John in the Wilderness, Cragg Vale and in the book Royd Regeneration

Sheard, Frank
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Rifleman.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd, and in the book Royd Regeneration

Sheard, Fred
[1899-1963] He was licensee of the Prince of Wales, Salterhebble [1948] and licensee of the Old Crispin, Halifax [19??]

Sheard Green, Hipperholme
In the Hove Edge part of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse.

Owners and tenants have included

The tenant of the house paid £1 per year to the vicar of Lightcliffe.

See Sutcliffe's Gift

Sheard, James
[18??-18??] Of Elland.

In February 1855, he was declared insolvent

Sheard, John
[1800-1855] Born in Elland.

He was landlord of the Savile Arms, Elland [1834, 1841, 1845, 1851].

On 21st August 1824, he married Caroline, daughter of Mr Chadwick, at Elland Church.

Children: (1) Eliza Matilda [1827-1856]; (2) James [1830-1855]; (3) Martha [b 1833]; (4) Rebecca [1835-1906]; (5) Caroline [b 1837].

His sister-in-law Harriet took over as landlady at the Savile Arms, Elland [1861]

Sheard, John
[1820-1???] Son of Mr Sheard.

Born in Halifax.

He was clerk and cashier in carpet manufacturing office [1851]; head cashier of John Crossley & Sons; carpet manufacturer [1871]. He established Sheard & Company

In 1853, he married Ruth Moorhouse [1809-1???] in Halifax.

They lived at Bramley Lane, Hipperholme [1871].

In 1851, he was living with sister Hannah and brother-in-law Samuel Bold Tillotson.

Living with them in 1871 was Ruth's sister Ann Moorhouse [aged 64]

Sheard, John
[1846-1???] In 1881, he was a farmer of 20 acres, and a stone merchant employing 13 men and 2 boys.

He lived at Southowram Workhouse [1881]

Sheard's: John Sheard & Company
Carpet manufacturer – of Brussels, Wilton, Tapestry, Axminster carpets, squares and rugs – established by John Sheard at Atlas Carpet Works [1859, 1874].

The partnership included Henry Hebblethwaite, Sheard's brother-in-law Samuel Bold Tillotson, and John William Tillotson.

John William Tillotson may also have been involved in the business.

On 16th October 1873, the partnership was dissolved, by mutual consent, so far as regards John Sheard. Henry Hebblethwaite and Samuel Bold Tillotson carried on the business in copartnership, as Sheard & Company

Sheard, Jonathan
[1831-19??] Son of Matthew Sheard.

He was a brewer, a maltster [1871]; a brewer [1881, 1891, 1899].

He was in partnership with James Mansley.

On 28th February 1882, he was fined £2 8/6d for being drunk in charge of a pony and trap in Bull Green, Halifax on 22nd February. The trap went on to the causeway and narrowly missed smashing a shop window. He had been summoned several times previously.

In October 1871, Jonathan was living with his sister Nanny, her husband James Mansley [aged 34] (a common brewer and farmer) and their son Brook, at Brackenbed Brewery, Ovenden.

In 1871, he married (1) Annie / Hannah.


Annie / Hannah was the daughter of Thomas Whiteley gentleman, and widow of Mr Tatham.

Annie had a daughter by her first marriage: Ada [b 1868]

 

Children: (1) Ann [b 1874]; (2) Thomas W [b 1877]; (3) Emily [b 1884].

Hannah was dead by 1891.

In January 1899, he married (2) Sarah Lee.


Sarah, of Hanson Lane, Halifax, was the daughter of salt merchant John Lee
 

The family lived at Brackenbed, Ovenden [1881]; Brackenbed Brewery, Ovenden [1891]; Bankfield Farm, Southowram [1899, 1901]

See Albert Brewery, Halifax, Brackenbed Brewery, Manesley & Sheard and Sheard's Brewery

Sheard, Joseph
[1798-18??] He was a gardener [1851].

He married Alice [1799-18??].

Children: (1) William [b 1823]; (2) Charles [b 1826].

The family lived at Schorah's Row, Brighouse [1851]

Sheard, Marshall
[18??-1???] Quarryman of Dark Lane Head, Southowram. Partner in Sheard & Midgley [1881]

Sheard, Matthew
[17??-18??] On 27th February 1809, he married Hannah, daughter of Matthew Patchett, in Bradford.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1821]; (2) Susannah; (3) Hannah

Sheard, Matthew
[1796-1864] Son of Sarah and John Sheard.

He was a beerseller at Cheapside, Halifax [1845]; a farmer [1851]; a farmer of 12 acres [1861].

He married Elizabeth.

Children: (1) Samuel [b 1822]; (2) Hannah [b 1824]; (3) Sally [b 1826]; (4) Mary [b 1828]; (5) Elizabeth [b 1829]; (6) Jonathan [b 1831]; (7) Emma [b 1834]; (8) Lydia [b 1836]; (9) Susan [b 1839]; (10) Nanny [b 1840] who married James Mansley; (11) Harriet [b 1845]; (12) John [b 1846]; (13) Martha [b 1848].

The family lived at Grayshaw Syke, Ovenden [1841]; Stone Hall, Ovenden [1851, 1861]

Sheard, Mr
[1???-1???] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Hannah [1821-1886] who married Samuel Bold Tillotson; (2) John

Sheard, Patchett
[1843-1891] Brewer at Brook House Brewery, Mixenden.

He lived at 14 Gladstone Road, Halifax [1884]

Sheard, R. J.
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1924-1926]

Sheard, Samuel
[1852-1???] He was a manager in a paper warehouse [1911].

He married Unknown. He was widowed by 1911.

Children: (1) Clare [b 1877] who married John Halsworth; (2) Linnaeus [b 1881]; (3) Sam [b 1890]; (4) George [b 1893].

The family lived at 9 Lemon Street, Halifax (where daughter Clare and her husband were with them) [1911]

Sheard, William
[18??-1???] Painter, gilder, decorator, paper-hanger, dealer in fireworks, and agent for Field's Cattle Oils at Todmorden [1897]

Sheard's: William Sheard & Son
Tinmen and braziers at Bull Close Lane, Halifax and Bull Green, Halifax [1874]

Sheehan, William
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Sheepheard, Thomas
[1606-1???] Son of Matthew [b 1580s] of Stainland. Baptised at Elland [14th January 1607].

They were early members of The Shepherd family of Stainland

Sheepshanks, Mary
Pen-name of Mabel Ferrett

Sheeran, Edward Christopher
[1991-] Pop singer Ed Sheeran. Born in Hebden Bridge. He grew up in Suffolk

Sheerhan, Mr
[17??-18??] He married Sarah from Leeds.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [1811-1867] who married Oscar Henry Bamforth; (2) Mary Wilks [1813-1874] who married William Balmforth.

After his death, Sarah married William Balmforth, becoming his the second wife

Sheffield, Charles
[18??-1854] A stone merchant at Rastrick. He had quarries in Rastrick, including Macauley's Park, Crowtrees, Longroyde, Lillands, Fixby, Hove Edge, and Elland Edge.

He married Unknown.

Children: Thomas

Sheffield, Ernest
[18??-1957] In the 1920s, he bought the Ganson Mineral Water Company. He sold it in 1949

Sheffield, John
[16??-1735] Curate at Southowram [1714-1716] and Curate at Sowerby [1730-1735]

Sheffield Royd, West Vale
Area of land at West Vale between the Calder & Hebble Navigation and the Calder just west of Elland Bridge

It is said that there were plans to build a road across the land, linking West Vale to Elland Bridge, but this was never completed. A raised mound for the new road can be seen [1982]

Sheffield, Thomas
[1831-1903] Of Holly House, Rastrick. Only son of Charles Sheffield. He was educated at Ashton-under-Lyne Grammar School. In 1848, he entered the family business, and took over when his father died 6 years later. He joined the local yeomanry and acted as bodyguard to Queen Victoria when she visited Leeds to open the town hall. He was involved in local affairs. He was unsuccessful in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893. He was involved with the Rastrick Burial Board, the Rastrick School Board, the Rastrick Gas Company, and the Rastrick Water Company. He was churchwarden and sidesman at St Matthew's Church, Rastrick, Guardian of the Poor for Rastrick [1894], and one of the first members of the Rastrick Local Board.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) daughter; (4) daughter.

After the funeral service at St Matthew's, he was buried in the family vault at Bridge End Congregational Church

Sheldrake, Clement
[1869-19??] Son of George Sheldrake.

In 1907, he married Hilda Mary Victoria, daughter of Joseph Morton, in Halifax

Sheldrake, George
[1843-1???] Born in Suffolk.

He was an underclothing manufacturer (employer) [1891].

He married Mary [1842-1???].


Mary was born in Queensbury
 

Children: (1) Edith B. [b 1864]; (2) Herbert [b 1866]; (3) Clement.

The family lived at 62 Free School Lane, Halifax [1891]; Linden Royde [1907]

Shelf
District of Calderdale to the north-east of Halifax, bordering on Buttershaw and Bradford.

See Population, Bradford & Shelf Tramways Company and Parish statistics

Shelf
[Surname]

Richard de Schelff is recorded in 1272

Shelf Board of Guardians
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Shelf township have included

Shelf Board of Health
Established in 18??

Shelf Civic Trust
See Shelf Village Hall

Shelf Common
Common land at Shelf.

See William Fourness

Shelf Conservative Club
Established 18??.

Recorded in 1917, when Harry Bartle was secretary.

See Marmaduke Holdsworth

Shelf constables
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Shelf

Shelf Dean
An area of Shelf. Dean House is here.

It is said that the surname Dean originated here

Shelf Feast
Local festival

Shelf, Geoffrey De
[1???-13??] In 1338, Geoffrey de Shelf had a brawl with John de Rokis and John has the blood of Geoffrey in exchange, for which they were each fined 12d

Shelf Hall

Shelf Hall, Manor of
A submanor of the Manor of Shelf. The manor house was Shelf Old Hall.

See Batehayne, Northowram, John Cowper and Manor of Royds Hall

Shelf Hall Park
Halifax Road. Built on the site of Shelf New Hall which had been demolished in 1951.

See Shelf Village Hall

Shelf High Cross
The cross is recorded in 1609. It served as a guidepost and stood at what was an important junction in mediæval times

See High Cross Farm, Shelf

Shelf hoard
A hoard of bronze artefacts – eight axes and 2 spear heads – discovered at Upper Westercroft, Shelf in 1856

Shelf Liberal Club
Members and Officers of the Club have included

  • Ellis Hind – President [1890s]

  • Irvine Ackroyd – Secretary [1917]

Shelf Library
Tower Buildings, Shelf. It is said that the building was built by Moses Bottomley for the use of his workers.

A new library was built as an extension to the Village Hall. It has straw-bale walls and a sedum roof. The library was opened on 16th May 2009 by Mayor Winterburn.

In January 2011, planning permission was sought to convert the old library into apartments.

Library facilities were moved to the village hall

Shelf, Manor of
The manor was held by the Second Earl of Warren, William de Mirfield, Roger Swillington, the Thornhill family, Edward Savile, the Savile family, Lord George Halifax Lumley-Savile, and who sold the title to Richard Garford.

The manor house was Shelf Hall.

See Manor of Shelf Hall

Shelf Moor
In 1437, John Stancefeld and John Roper opened up the soil and dug up peat turves for fuel where they had no rights of common

Shelf New Hall

Shelf Old Hall

Shelf Overseers of the Poor
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Shelf

Shelf petrifying well
Aka Shelf Spring. Recorded in 1837. Situated near High Bentley Hall

Shelf Pinfold
The pinfold is near the Duke William Inn off Wade House Road.

Recorded in 1439,, when Robert Thorpe took away an ox from the pinfold.

Pinders here have included Samuel Ellis [1807] and John Taylor, the last Pinder [1824].

The original pinfold was lost when the level of the old road was raised.

The present pinfold – reached by going down steps just south of the Duke William Inn – is a reconstruction

Shelf Police Station
John Horner, a police man living at Brow Lane, is recorded in 1881.


Question: Does anyone know if there was a Police Station here? Can anyone tell me anything about it?

 

Shelf Post Office
Recorded in 1861, when Philip Pickles, a druggist and grocer, was in charge.

This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Shelf Sanatorium
On 2nd April 1913, Green Lane Hall, Shelf was bought by Halifax Council and converted to an isolation hospital to treat patients with consumption.

It opened on 8th April 1914, and was known as Shelf Sanatorium.

In 1929, it had accommodation for 50 patients.

On 29th May 1930, a new pavilion for children opened at the Sanatorium.

In 1936, it was listed as Halifax Corporation Sanatorium.

The sanatorium closed in 1956

It subsequently became an institution for people with learning difficulties. This closed in 1988.

See Wilfrid Smith

Shelf School Board
School Board set up in 18??

Shelf Steam Tramways Company

Shelf stocks
The remains of the stocks and whipping post for the township of Shelf originally stood near Stone Chair and have now been moved to Coley

Shelf Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Shelf included:

Shelf Tide
Aka the Duke Tide A festival which was held at a barn near the Duke William Inn.

It was started around 1810 by an old lady called Nan Heaton who sold toffee at the event

Shelf Toll House
This was across the road from Tower Buildings

Shelf Urban District Council
The 2 communities were combined because Shelf was too small an entity on its own. The people of Shelf voted to be a part of Calderdale rather than Bradford.

See Ellis Hind, Queensbury & Shelf Urban District Council and William Tordoff

Shelf Village Hall
Built on the site of Shelf Old Hall which had been demolished in 1958. Opened in 1975.

The project was carried out by Queensbury & Shelf Urban District Council and cost £100,000 of which Shelf Civic Trust raised £13,000.

A new Shelf Library was built on to the Hall in 2009.

See Shelf Hall Park

Shelf War Memorial
Wade House Road and Shelf Moor Road. There is a small memorial garden

Shelf Windmill

Shelf Woods
Owned by Shelf Council

Shelf Workhouse
Cock Hill Lane. It was in use up to the 1820s

Shelley, John
[1873-19??] Son of Phillip Shelley, brick burner.

Born in Sudbury, Suffolk.

He was a silversmith [1898]; a thimble maker [1901]; a silver thimble maker for jewellery manufacturer Charles Horner Limited [1911].

In 1898, he married Susannah Woods [1877-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Susannah of Ann Street, Halifax, was the daughter of Frederick Woods, driver
 

Children: (1) Edmund Wood [1901] who died in infancy; (2) Cora [b 1906]; (3) Dorothy [b 1910].

The family lived at 19 Abbey Street, Halifax [1901]; 87 Stanley Road, Halifax [1911]

During World War I, he enlisted on 4th September 1914, and served as a Private stretcher bearer with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He went to France on 14th April 1915.

At Ypres, on Saturday 14th August 1915, the Germans had shelled the trenches heavily from 4:00 pm to 7:00 pm. The battalion were in trenches about a mile to the north west of Ypres when a shell burst amongst a working party of 6 men who were making dugouts, killing 3 men outright and wounding 3 others.

Due to the narrowness of the trench, it was found necessary to carry the wounded over the top of the trench, over open ground and in full view of the enemy. Around 5:00 pm, when it was almost dark, Company Commander Captain Maynard Percy Andrews volunteered to accompany the rescue team – which included John, Lance-Corporal Charles Wood, and Private G. Holt - who went to do this.

The enemy spotted them and opened fire.

Captain Andrews was hit by a bullet in the throat and died shortly afterwards.

Shelley, Wood and Holt were recommended for an award for distinguished service.

Shellser, Mr
[18??-18??] Born in Walworth, London.

He was a Halifax brush maker; a master brush maker employing 3 men & 1 apprentice [1851]. Recorded in 1851, when George Bancroft was an apprentice

Shelmerdine, Rev Frank
[1893-1932] BA.

He served at Aylesbury before becoming Curate at St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram [1893-1896]

He left to serve at Birstall [1896-1898], then at Jagersfontein, South Africa [1898-1901].

In 1901, he returned to England and served at Great Malvern, before returning to Cape Town, South Africa [1906].

2 years later, he was rector of Flumstead, Cape Town.

In 1913, he returned to England and served at Hinton St George in the diocese of Bath & Wells.

He died at Maidencombe, Devon

Shenton, William James
[1879-1919] He was an employee of Mackintosh's.

In [Q4] 1901, he married Laura Garside in North Bierley.

They lived at 5 Bath Parade, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 5th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment). He was transferred to the Labour Corps.

He died 30th December 1919 (aged 40).

He was buried at the Brookwood Military Cemetery [VI I 6].

He appears on the list of Mackintosh's employees who served in the Great War

Shephard, John
[1813-1???] He was a master stuff manufacturer [1851].

In 1841, he married Mary Croft [1816-1???] in Hull.

Children: (1) John W [b 1845]; (2) Emily M [b 1847]; (3) Julia A [b 1849].

The family lived at Savile Terrace, Halifax [1851]

Living with them in 1851 were sisters-in-law Helen Croft [aged 30] and Mary Croft [aged 39]

Shephard, Miles
[1???-1670] Of Shore, Todmorden.

He married Mary.

Children: (1) George; (2) John; (3) Miles; (4) Mary; (5) Abraham; (6) Elizabeth.

The family lived at

His will dated 6th August 1669, proved September and October 1670. [Vol. Ij. folio 288a]:

Miles Stansfeild the elder, of the Shore in Stansfeild, yeoman, bequeathed to his wife, Mary, for life, one third of a messuage called the Ridgeyate, in Stansfeild, in his occupation; which he bought on the 6th March 1647-8, of James Shepherd, late of Rowlston, co. Stafford, cooke, and of James Shepherd, late of the Shore, yeoman, saving one bay, in the west end of a lathe or barn, which he lately built.

Then on his wife's death, to his eldest son George, and his elder daughter, Mary, for their lives; reversion to youngest son, Abraham, for life.

To his wife, Mary, another third, till Abraham be 14 years old, to bring him, and youngest daughter, Elizabeth, up. Then to children, George and Mary, for life; reversion to son Abraham for life. To son, George, the remaining third, until son Abraham be 14 years old; then as previous third. Also to his wife, one third of seven acres of land, late enclosed from the waste, between Hartley clough and Stoperdaine clough, granted to him and his heirs, by the Rt Hon George, lord viscount Halifax, by name of Sir George Savile of Thornhill, baronet, on the ??th September 1656; also one third of a lathe there, for her life. Then to his second son, John, and his third son, Miles, for ever; along with the remaining two thirds. He appointed his wife, executrix, and left her, her right of goods. He also bequeathed ?? to his son, Abraham, when 14

Shephard, Richard
[15??-16??] Of Shore, Todmorden.

He had an illegitimate daughter Mary.

He married Isabel.

Children: (1) Susan / Susanna; (2) Daniel.

His will dated 1617, proved l0th November 1619 [Vol. XXXV. folio 502b]:

Richard Shephard of the Shore, named his wife, Isabell, and his youngest daughter, Susan or Susanna. He bequeathed 40s to his son Danyell; and £12 to his bastard daughter, Mary, his brother James Shephard, and Edmond Stansfeild, to have care of it. Amongst the debtors named are, Richard Horsfall of Dove Skoute, and John Crosley a lowscoles. The tenement held by the above testator, was purchased from his heirs, in 1647, by Miles Stansfeld, as appears by his will

The Shepherd family
Branches of the family are recorded at Barkisland, Booth Wood, Luddenden, Stainland, Golcar, and Slaithwaite [1600-1800].

The family were involved in the local paper-making industry

Matthew and Thomas Sheepheard were early members of the family.

Members of the family were found at Booth Wood and around until 1911 when John Henry Shepherd, with his family of nine, was running his restaurant at Bridge End, Elland

See The Shepherd family of Halifax

The Shepherd family of Halifax

See The Shepherd family of Stainland

Shepherd, Alfred
[18??-1???] A partner in Jones, Shepherd & Winterburn.

In 1876, he left the partnership and set up his own wood working business.

In 1894, he began cabinet making.

He worked at Mill Lane, Brighouse.

He did work for several local buildings including panels for a billiard room for Walter Sugden and an altar and furniture for Hanging Heaton Church

Shepherd & Alderson
Brewers at Lower Brear Brewery, Hipperholme [1874]

Shepherd & Alderson
Brewers at Northowram. Recorded in April 1876, when the partnership was dissolved

Shepherd & Blackburn's Cotton Spinning Company Limited
Cotton spinners and doublers.

In October 1902, they announced that they were unable to pay an interim dividend to shareholders on account of the state of the cotton trade.

Officers of the Company have included

They were at Perseverance Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

See William Easterby and Shepherd, Whiteley & Blackburn

Shepherd & Perfect
Cloth manufacturer of Cross Hills, Halifax. At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products

Shepherd & Sutcliffe
Cotton manufacturers at Vale Mill, Todmorden [1877]. Partners included James Shepherd, Henry Sutcliffe, and William Sutcliffe.

In May 1878, their workers were on strike

Shepherd & Wood
Farmers at High Sunderland.

Partners included J. Shepherd and T. Wood.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1858

Shepherd, Anne
[1720-17??] Of Norland. Daughter of John Shepherd of Norland Baptised at Elland [19 February 1720].

William Shepherd was possibly her illegitimate son.

In October 1741, she married John Shaw from Rishworth at Stillingfleet, south of York.

In 1747, she went to live at Booth, Rishworth

Shepherd, Arthur J.
[18??-19??] He and his wife established Shepherd's Dairy, Halifax.

He married Lily Ann Woodhead.

Children: (1) Barbara Wendy; (2) Evelyn May who married Mr Holden.

The family lived at the property in Heath Road. The house was called Sheldon = SHE pherd + ho LDEN

Shepherd's Cottage, Stainland
High Street. Late 18th century house. Adjoins Well Royd, Stainland

Shepherd's Dairy, Halifax
Grocer and dairy at Heath Road / St John's Lane, Halifax. Established by Lily Ann and Arthur Shepherd.

The premises were formerly Bussey's dairy/ice cream parlour.

They had a shop Heath Road, opposite Albert Park, Skircoat. This is now a private house

Shepherd, David
[1???-18??] Glover & breeches maker at 7 Corn Market, Halifax [1829, 1842]

Shepherd, Rev E. H.
[19??-19??] He was rector in South Africa before becoming Vicar of Illingworth [1932]

Shepherd, Frank
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the East Lancashire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Shepherd House, Fixby
Next to Fixby Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

Shepherd House, Lower Warley
In 1379, Alice Shepherd of Warley is recorded – she may have lived here.

Owners and tenants have included

Lister rebuilt the house.

The house is dated 1745 and a lintel (now used as a kerbstone)  is inscribed L 1746 TH for Thomas and Hannah

Shepherd, James
[18??-18??] Of Horley Green. He went into partnership with James Alderson at Lower Brear Brewery

Shepherd, James Mallalieu
[1832-1874] Son of John Shepherd.

Baptised at Ripponden Church [23rd December 1832].

He married Mary Thomas [b 1835].


Mary was of an Inn at Triangle
 

Children: (1) Ellen Susannah; (2) Johanna; (3) Mary Lucy [b 1863].

On 23rd April 1857, he and Mary, together with his mother Lucy, and brother John, sailed from Liverpool to New York on the passenger ship Joseph Gilchrist.


This exodus was probably to avoid the repercussions of their father's non-payment of £187 paper tax at Halifax Magistrates in early April 1857
 

The brothers immediately began seeking paper-making work in America.

The brothers may have served with the 12th New York Infantry during the Civil War. This was just before the Battle of Gettisburg [July 1st 1863]. Union army records signed by Provost Marshall Isaac Platt [18 July 1863] show they were both drafted in during June 1863 as paper makers and as yet to be naturalised aliens at the Ancram paper mill, Colombia County New York State.

James Mallalieu and Mary's 3 daughters were born in America. Ellen Susannah and Johanna died. About 1863, Mary and their 3rd daughter, Mary Lucy returned to Rishworth. Mary worked as housekeeper, cook, and nurse for local mill-owners Wheelrights of Rishworth and later Rawsons of Sowerby.

On 28th October 1874, James Mallalieu Shepherd was

found dead in the water

at one of the 14 paper mills in Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA.

He is remembered on the family grave at Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel

Shepherd, John
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served as a Corporal.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Saint Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Shepherd, John
[1731-1830] Of Soyland.

Died at the age of 99. His burial was officiated by Rev Frederick Custance.

See Longevity

Shepherd, John
[1801-1874] Son of William Shepherd.

Baptised at Stainland Independent Chapel [1801].

Paper-maker with his father and brother, William, at Booth Wood, Rishworth [1841].

In 1836, he also briefly rented Booth Bridge Cotton Mill and 10 acres of land in Spa Meadow from Michael Hoyle on condition that

he raises the dam bank and weir and insures the mill for £800

Using figures for average earnings, £800 in 1836 is roughly the equivalent of £569,000.00 today.

In 1853, the family partnership was dissolved.

Around 1855, he moved to Rochdale where he became a paper wholesaler.

He married Lucy daughter of James Mallalieu and sister of Benjamin Mallalieu.

Children: (1) William; (2) Lucy [1830-1905]; (3) James Mallalieu; (4) Hannah [b 1834] who married Jeffrey Stones, a wealthy Manchester paper merchant; (5) John; (6) Mary Ann [1845-1857] who died aged 1 year and 7 months.

In March/April 1857, he was cited for having refused to pay £183 3/8½d duty on paper which he had made. When he refused – because he felt the duty was unfair – the sum was doubled to £366 7/7d. Using figures for average earnings, £366 7/7d in 1857 is roughly the equivalent of £243,000.00 today. Proceedings were then set to charge him with attempting to defraud the revenue. The magistrate – Colonel Pollard – heard that, because of the peculiar circumstances surrounding the case, Shepherd may have known of the imminent abolition of the tax in October 1861.

On 23rd April 1857, John's wife, Lucy, and sons John and James Mallalieu, and James's wife Mary, sailed from Liverpool to New York on the passenger ship Joseph Gilchrist. John and the other children stayed behind in Yorkshire.


This exodus was probably to avoid the repercussions of their father's non-payment of the paper tax
 

The young Shepherds immediately began seeking paper-making work in America

Son John returned to England in 1866 and went to live in Manchester.

John died 13th February 1874 [aged 73]. Lucy died MARCH 25th March 1862 [aged 58].

Members of the family were buried at Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel

Shepherd, John
[1837-1920] Son of John Shepherd.

He was educated at a boarding school at Slater Bank, Heptonstall [1851].

On 23rd April 1857, he, his mother Lucy, and brother James Mallalieu, sailed from Liverpool to New York on the passenger ship Joseph Gilchrist.


This exodus was probably to avoid the repercussions of their father's non-payment of £187 paper tax at Halifax Magistrates in early April 1857
 

The brothers immediately began seeking paper-making work in America.

The brothers may have served with the 12th New York Infantry during the Civil War. This was just before the Battle of Gettisburg [July 1st 1863]. Union army records signed by Provost Marshall Isaac Platt [18 July 1863] show they were both drafted in during June 1863 as paper makers and as yet to be naturalised aliens at the Ancram paper mill, Colombia County New York State.

On 30th April 1866, a John Shepherd deserted from the 12th New York Infantry, 2nd Battalion, B Company with 30 others at Petersburg Virginia, rejoined on the 25th May, and was later discharged from service at Richmond, Virginia [17th July 1866]. He was back in England, probably by the end of 1866, and in April 1871 married Emma Nicholson at Manchester Cathedral.

He became a paper warehouseman and artist in Manchester

Shepherd, Joseph
[17??-1792] Of Northowram.

He married Mary [1750-1834]

Shepherd, Joseph
[1836-1858] Of Holdsworth, Ovenden.

He was tried for the wilful and deliberate murder of Bethel Parkinson at Wadsworth in January 1858.

On Saturday, 3rd April 1858, he was executed at the Tyburn, York

Shepherd, Leonard
[1875-19??] Born in Willenhall, Staffordshire.

He qualified in November 1902. He was a solicitor with Moore, Shepherd & Whitley [1934].

On 14th June 1905, he married Ethel Aucutt [1881-1947] in Little Lever, Lancashire.

Children: (1) Leonard Frank; (2) Guinevere Ethel [1908-1989] who married [1930] George Wadsworth

Shepherd, Leonard Frank
[1906-1957] Son of Leonard Shepherd.

Born in Hipperholme [29th April 1906].

He qualified in July 1928.

He was a solicitor with Moore, Shepherd & Whitley [1934].

On 18th June 1931, he married Lillian Dora Harris [1906-1984] at Coley Church.

He died in Halifax [10th September 1957]

Shepherd, Mr
[17??-1???] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Alice [1781-1862] who married James Titterington; (2) Phoebe [1783-18??] who married Joshua Crowther

Shepherd, Samuel
[1???-18??] He was Chairman of the Sowerby Bridge Local Board [15th April 1867-15th April 1868]

Shepherd, Samuel
[18??-18??] Partner in Shepherd & Blackburn. He owned Salterhebble Mill.

In 1850, he married Sarah Proctor.

See Shepherd, Whiteley & Blackburn

Shepherd, Thomas
[18??-18??] Partner in Bentley & Shepherd. Both partners lived at South Edge, Hipperholme. He was elected Councillor in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893

Shepherd, Timothy
[1683-17??] Born 28th February 1683.

He was copyhold tenant occupier of Holme Grave, Warley [6th May 1717]

Shepherd Villa, Warley
In 1881, it was listed with Claremont Street and Sowerby Bridge Vicarage

Shepherd, Whiteley & Blackburn
Cotton spinners at Lower Willow Hall Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1861]. Partners included Samuel Shepherd, Eli Whiteley, and Mr Blackburn

See Shepherd & Blackburn's Cotton Spinning Company Limited

Shepherd, William
[16??-1???] A dryster at Shibden Mill [1681].

Heywood writes that

William Shepheard dryster at Shibden Mill had one child buried on Friday Dec 2 1681, of the small pox, and 2 children lay dead in the house besides on Dec 7 81, the week following of the same disease

Shepherd, William
[1746-1816] Paper maker of New Mill, Stainland

(Possibly) the illegitimate son of Anne Shepherd.

He was a papermaker at New Mill, Barkisland.

In 1767, he married Rebecca Wormald [17??-1806] at Elland.

Children: William.

Rebecca and (possibly) William were buried at Elland Parish Church.

See The Shepherd family of Stainland

Shepherd, William
[1776-1839] Of Barkisland.

Son of William Shepherd.

Baptised 8th March 1776.

He was Manager of Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth [1805]; an Overseer of the Poor for Rishworth [1820s]; landlord of the Booth Wood Inn, Rishworth [1820-1839].

Having taken over from Scipio Dyson, he was a paper-maker at Booth Wood Mill [1808].

He was in partnership with Joseph Whittell and Whittel's 2 brothers, but this was dissolved in 1820.

Until the 1870s, William and his 2 sons had business at Booth Wood Mill making brown paper.

On 7th October 1799, he married Hannah [1782-18??], daughter of Mr Mellor, at Stainland Independent Church.

Children: (1) Grace who married Charles Hopkinson; (2) John; (3) William; (4) Salley; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child; (9) child; (10) child; (11) child.

In 1806, the family moved from New Mill Stainland to the Booth Wood Inn.

The family lived at Grove House, Rishworth.

He died of consumption at Upper Grove House, Booth Wood, Rishworth.

Members of the family were buried at St Andrew's, Stainland

Shepherd, William
[1815-1895] Paper manufacturer. Son of William Shepherd. Baptised in Ripponden [1815].

Paper-maker with his father and brother, John, at Booth Wood, Rishworth [1841]. After his father died [1845] and the partnership was dissolved [1853], he continued to run the business until around 1865.

He was in partnership with Mr Bradley [1865]. At that time, they were producing 1,000 tons of (second class) brown paper.

He married Amelia Rawnsley.

Children: (1) Sarah; (2) William E; (3) Thomas R; (4) Samuel; (5) John H

The family lived at Grove House, Rishworth [1851]; Myrtle Grove, Grove End, Rishworth [1861]

Shepherd, William
[1828-1904] Son of John Shepherd.

In 1849, he married Anne Pogson

Shepherd, Rev William Lisle
[18??-19??] Vicar at Saint Mary's Church, Lister Lane [1933] and Vicar of Ripponden [1935-1941]

Shepley
Another form of the surname is Shipley

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 8 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Shepley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Shepley, George
[1828-1890] He was a millwright [1861, 1871, 1881].

He married Sarah [1828-1???].

Children: (1) Bryan [b 1852] who was a worsted doffer [1861], a mechanic [1871]; (2) Hannah [b 1856] who was a weaver [1871]; (3) James [b 1859] who was an engineer's fitter [1881]; (4) Maria Jane [b 1861] who was a worsted twister [1881]; (5) William; (6) Mary [b 1869] who was a worsted spinner [1881]; (7) Sarah Ellen [b 1873] who was a worsted twister [1891], a cotton reeler [1901].

The family lived at Scarr Head, Norland [1861]; Sowerby Croft, Norland [1871]; Silver Street, Norland [1881]; 1 Sparkhouse Lane, Norland [1891, 1901]

George died 17th December 1890.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £166. Probate was granted to son William (retired road inspector) 

Shepley, James
[1795-18??] Born in Norland.

He was a carrier of Norland [1816]; a farmer [1841]; a farmer of 21 acres [1851]; a farmer [1861].

In 1816, he married Jane Dennerley [1807-18??], born in Middleton, Lancashire, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Mary [bapt 1817] who married [1839] John Robinson at Elland Parish Church; (2) John [bapt 1820] who was an ag lab [1841, 1851], a farm labourer [1861]; (3) James [bapt 1822]; (4) Elizabeth [bapt 1825] who was a weaver [1841]; (5) George [bapt 1827] who was an ag lab [1841]; (6) Sarah Ann [b 1830] who married Francis Tattersall; (7) Hannah [1834-1843]; (8) Jane [b 1836]; (9) William [b 1839].

The family lived at Shaw, Norland [1841, 1851, 1861].

James was dead by 1894

Shepley, James
[1823-1905] Son of James Shipley, farmer.

Born in Norland.[1851]

He was a weaver of Norland [1840]; a millwright [1841, 1851, 1861, 1871, 1881]; a retired millwright [1891].

In [Q3] 1840, he married Hannah Scott at Halifax Parish Church.


Hannah was the daughter of
John Scott

James & Hannah were both shown as minor

 

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1840]; (2) James [b 1842] who was a millwright [1861]; (3) Jonas [b 1844] who was a woollen spinner [1861]; (4) John [b 1846] who was a cotton spinner [1861]; (5) Thomas Brian [b 1851] who was a woollen piecer [1861], an iron turner [1871]; (6) Albert [b 1853]; (7) Arthur [b 1856] who was a cotton piecer [1871]; (8) Frank [b 1860] who was a yarn turner [1881].

Hannah died [Q1 1885].

In [Q3] 1885, he married Jane Crowther in Halifax.


Jane was born in Greetland
 

In 1841, the family were living at Spark House, Norland with Hannah's family.

The family lived at 1-2 Cooks Yard, Sowerby Bridge [1851]; Shaw, Norland [1861, 1871]; Scar Head, Norland [1881, 1891, 1901].

James died at Scar Head [1st February 1905].

Jane died 10 days later [11th February 1905].

Probate records show an estate valued at £348. Probate was granted to John Smith (coal merchant) and William Shepley (road foreman).

Probate records show an estate valued at £333. Probate was granted to Mary Hannah Greenwood (wife of John Greenwood

Shepley, James
[1843-1900] Born in Norland.

He was a millwright [1871, 1881, 1891].

He married Sarah [1841-1909].


Sarah was born in Barkisland
 

Children: (1) Hannah [b 1865] who was a worsted spinner [1881]; (2) Thomas [b 1866] who was a telegraph clerk [1881]; (3) Major [b 1870] who was a worsted doffer [1881], a corn mill labourer [1891]; (4) James [b 1873] who was an iron turner [1891]; (5) John Arthur [b 1878] who was a doffer in worsted mill [1891]; (6) George A [b 1880].

The family lived at Roughs, Norland [1871]; Tuel Lane, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 55 Tuel Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901]

On 31st January 1907, Sarah was injured when neighbour Mrs Gray struck her with a broom

Shepley, John Harry
[1867-1942] Of Halifax.

Known as Harry.

Son of William Shepley.

Born in Halifax.

He appeared in several concerts with Dr John Varley Roberts.

In 1890, he was a bass singer and was joint winner in the Mrs Sunderland Competition of 1890. After receiving the prize, there was some concern that he was over the 25 years age limit for contestants. Austin Keen, Secretary of the Huddersfield Technical School, where the competition was held, satisfied himself that Shepley was under 25.

He was a carpet designer at Crossley's Carpets; conductor of the West End Glee Union [1895]; conductor of the Halifax Madrigal Society [1899]; conductor of the Greetland Male Voice Choir; a professor of music [1911]. In the early 1900s, he left Crossley's and devoted his life to music.

In 1904, he married Jessie Calvert [1877-1950] in Halifax

Children: Ronald Calvert [b 1907].

The family lived at 2 Park View, Halifax [1911].

He died in 1942 [aged 74].

The Courier described him as the most successful trainer of mixed voice choirs in the West Riding of Yorkshire

Shepley, William
[18??-1???] From Macclesfield.

Around 1865, he and his wife and family moved to Halifax where he was a carpet weaver at Crossley's Carpets.

He married Jane, possibly Jane Sutton in Macclesfield [1850]

Children: John Harry.

The family lived at Grandsmere Place

Shepley, William
[1839-18??] Or Shepley, Sheply.

Son of James Shepley. Born in Norland.

He was a farm labourer [1861]; a farmer [1863]; an agricultural labourer [1871]; a farmer 21 acres [1881]; a road labourer [1891]; a labourer [1894]; a road foreman [1896, 1901]; a retired road foreman [1911].

In 1863, he married (1) Elizabeth Broadbent [1839-1887] at Elland Parish Church.


Elizabeth was the daughter of mason James Broadbent
 

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1864] who was a mechanic [1881]; (2) Eliza Jane [b 1865] who was a worsted spinner [1881] a worsted warper [1891]; (3) Mary Emma [b 1867] who was a worsted spinner [1881]; (4) Mary E [b 1867] who was a house keeper [1891]; (5) Sarah Ann [b 1868] who was a worsted spinner [1881]; (6) Sarah A [b 1868] who was a worsted drawer [1891]; (7) George [b 1871] who was a cotton piecer [1881] a telegraphic engineer [1891]; (8) John William [b 1874] who was a telegraphic engineer [1891]; (9) Elizabeth [b 1877] who was a worsted rover [1891]; (10) Emily [1878-1896]; (11) James [b 1881].

In 1894, he married (2) widow Amelia Wadsworth [1840-1???] at Elland Parish Church.

The family lived at Shaw, Norland [1871, 1881]; Harper Royd, Norland [1891]; Middle Harper Royd, Norland [1901]; West Bottom, Norland [1911]

On 15th July 1896, daughter Emily died from peritonitis. She had been taken ill the previous day at her work at Lock Hill Mill, Sowerby Bridge

Shepley, William
[1863-1906] Son of George Shepley.

Born in Halifax.

He was an iron planer [1881]; a retired road inspector [1890]; an iron labourer [1891]; a railway labourer [1901].

He was a member of the West Yorkshire Rifle Volunteers. He joined the 5th Dragoon Guards at Leeds on [25th August 1881].

He was stationed at York [1882-4], at Manchester [1884-5], at Newbridge [1885-6], and at Belfast [12th June 1886].

On 26th October 1886, he was transferred from the Dragoons to the Army Reserves.

He was discharged from the Army Reserves [1893].

He lived at 1 Sparkhouse Lane, Norland (with his sister Sarah and widowed mother Sarah) [1891]; 1 Sparkhouse Lane, Norland (with his sister Sarah) [1901].

On 30th June 1906, William was found dead at the bottom of some steps near his home

Sheppard, James
[1869-19??] Constable of Southowram at Law Lane [1901]

Sherlock, Rec Walter James Richard
[18??-19??] He was curate at Leeds before becoming Vicar of Clifton [1920-1940]

Sherren, William White
[1827-1897] Born in Heanor, Derbyshire.

He was a student at the Student Congregational Normal School, Cripplegate, London [1851]; master of Range Bank Day School, Halifax [August 1855]; a lay preacher.

In 1854, he married (1) Elizabeth Bradbury [1825-1855] in Bakewell, Derbyshire.


Elizabeth died in [Q4] 1855, and was buried in the churchyard at Little Longstone, near Monsal Head, Derbyshire
 

In 1857, he married (2) Jane Bradbury in Bakewell, Derbyshire.

In 1868, he married (3) Anne Cricket.

In [Q3] 1880, he married (4) Alice Brooker in Reigate.

He lived at the Parsonage, Sunningdale, Berkshire [1897].

He died at Guy's Hospital, Surrey [5th June 1897]

William White Sherren" BORDER=0 SRC=photo.gif>

Sherwell, Rev A. J.
[18??-1???] Wesleyan minister in Brighouse.

On 8th March 1892, he arranged a meeting between the directors and workers to settle a strike of silk pressers at the mills of Ormerod Brothers Limited. The meeting ended without any settlement being achieved

Sherwood, William
[1859-1927] Landlord of the Travellers' Rest, Hipperholme [1917, 1922, 1927]

Shevile
An old form of the surname Savile

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Shibden
Area of Halifax along the Shibden Brook

See Poems in Peace & War, The Shibden Valley and Stanclif Skoute

Shibden
The surname originated in Shibden.

George Redmonds writes that William de Schypeden is recorded at Sowerby in 1274, William Schipden alias Schippingdale is recorded in 1431 and Thomas Shipden is recorded at Leeds in 1752.

Other local members of the family include William de Schepden and John de Schipeden who changed his name to Drake

Shibden Barn
The large aisled barn – or laithe – is one of the finest in the district and was built in 1600. Anne Lister planned to incorporate the barn as the main entrance to Shibden Hall.

It now forms a part of the Shibden Hall folk museum and houses the Carriage Collection of horse-drawn vehicles.

The weather-vane is a copy of one erected by Rev John Lister [1749].

The barn was extensively repaired and renovated [2002]

The Shibden Barouche
This open carriage can be seen in the carriage collection in the barn at Shibden Hall. It was drawn by 2 horses. It was built in 1??? Woodall Nicholson & Company Limited

Shibden Brook
The stream which flows from Shibden Head, and down through Shibden and Mytholm to become the Red Beck at Brookfoot.

See Shibden Mill and Sunny Bank Clough, Southowram

Shibden Estate Millennium Project
An exhibition of the dry-stone walling craft built in Shibden Park by the West Yorkshire Branch of the Dry Stone Walling Association

Shibden Fold, Halifax
Stump Cross. Aka The Fold, Shibden.

A group of 10 cottages – some dating to the 15th century.

One house was dated 1693.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

The houses were demolished in 1971

Shibden Fold House, Northowram
Mediæval house.

See Joseph Wood

Shibden Grange
Originally known at Godley. Late 16th / 17th century house in the Shibden Valley at Old Godley Lane. There are parts which date from the 14th century.

The property was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925. It was listed as a very charming, old Tudor residence, or Dower House.

Owners and tenants have included

It was scheduled as being of architectural interest, but the Council agreed to its demolition in 1955, and houses were built on the site. The fireplace, plasterwork, and oak panelling were preserved

Shibden Hall Croft
Later name of Dove House, Shibden

Shibden Hall estate

Shibden Hall, Halifax
15th century timber-framed house which stands in Shibden Park, Halifax.

The Hall closed from September 2002 to March 2003 for major restoration financed by a grant of £358,000 from the National Lottery Heritage Fund, and £122,000 from Calderdale Council.

In December 2005, a grant of £4 million from the National Lottery Heritage Fund made it possible to restore Shibden Park to its appearance in Anne Lister's time in the early 1800s.

The Hall is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions, In & About Our Old Homes, The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax.

See Cripplegate House, Daisy Bank, Shibden, Folk Museum, Lower Shibden Hall, Shibden Hall, Halifax: A Visitor's Guide, Shibden Hall Lion and Upper Shibden Hall

Shibden Hall Lion
A stone sculpture of a lion which stands at Shibden Hall, Halifax. It bears the arms of the Lister family. It was created in 1837 for Anne Lister when she extended the property.

In 1996, the lion was stolen.

It was later found at Sotheby's in Sussex. It was returned to Shibden and unveiled by the Duke of Kent on 8th May 2009, at the completion of the Shibden Park Restoration Project

Shibden Hall Lodge
This was the entrance to Shibden Hall from Godley Road.

John William Taylor lived here

Shibden Hall Rovers
Cricket team. Established in 18??. Disbanded in 19??.

See Ronald Crossfield Foster and Richard Kershaw

Shibden Head
Area at the head of the Shibden valley near Ambler Thorn and Queensbury.

The area is associated with the Stocks family.

See Shibden Head Brewery

Shibden Head Well

Shibden Industrial School Baths
Shibden Industrial School had a swimming bath and a gymnasium

Shibden Lower Hall

Shibden Mill

Shibden Mill Dam
Shibden Mill was driven by the Shibden Brook.

The dam was used to feed the mill wheel.

The mill dam was rebuilt in 1614.

When the mill fell into disuse, the old dam was used as a boating lake in the late 19th century.

When the property became the Shibden Mill Inn, the mill pond was drained and filled in to prevent water seeping into local mines, and the car park now stands on the site

This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Shibden Milne
The land and property around Shibden Mill

Shibden Park
90-acre public park around Shibden Hall with miniature railway, boating lake, children's rides, café. The Hall and Park were bought by A. S. McCrea in 1923.

On 15th October 1926, the park was formally opened to the public by the Prince of Wales – later Edward VIII. The Prince planted an oak tree to mark the occasion. The following week, the tree had been deliberately cut down by vandals and much other damage was done to the park. A similar oak tree was planted on the same spot.

In September 1927, there was a Ministry of Health inquiry into money overspent on the Park.

The Park is a registered charity.

A Project to restore the Park began in 2007.

To reach the Park by car, turn right off the A58 Leeds Road out of Halifax ... or a very sharp left off the A58 Leeds Road coming up from Stump Cross

By Public Transport, buses from Halifax Bus Station to Leeds, Hipperholme, Northowram or Shelf pass the Park

See Cripplegate House, Daisybank and John William Taylor

Shibden Park Restoration Project
A project to restore Shibden Park began in 2007 and was completed the following year.

See Shibden Hall Lion

Shibden Spa & Tea Gardens
Recorded in 1845 at Shibden Spa when John Gill was keeper and gardener

Shibden Upper Hall

Shibdendale Rifle Volunteers
In September 1860, proposals were announced for the formation of a rifle corps of 100 men in the Queenshead district. Michael Stocks offered to equip the volunteers at his own cost

Shield Hall, Sowerby
17th century house. Now a bakery

Shields, Frederic
[1833-1911] Religious artist and portrait painter. He studied under Rossetti. In 1856, he came to Halifax to work as an engraver for Stott Brothers. He stayed in Halifax for a year – lodging at 9 Brunswick Street – and enjoyed the local landscapes. He wrote about the district later

Shields, Mrs
[1???-18??] She established Mrs Shields's School in 1836

Shilling Subscription Fund
A fund which was organised in 1918 to enable Halifax Corporation to buy Wainhouse Tower for £450

Shillito's: G. V. & H. V. Shillito
Stockbrokers. Partners included brothers George Varley Shillito and Harold Varley Shillito

Shillito, George Varley
[1889-1953] Son of William Shillito.

He was a stock broker [1911].

He was a partner in G. V. & H. V. Shillito, stockbrokers

Shillito, Harold Varley
[1894-1948] Of Brighouse.

Son of William Shillito.

He was an apprentice electrical engineer [1911]; a stock broker.

He was a partner in G. V. & H. V. Shillito, stockbrokers.

In his will, he left £500 for Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe. Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £24,842

Shillito, Jack
[18??-1???] Keeper of the Model Lodging House, Brighouse during the time of the Irish Riots in 1882

Shillito, John
[1832-1915] JP, FRGS.

Born in Halifax [19th January 1832].

Of Upper Brear, Northowram.

His early education was obtained at the local mechanics' institute.

He started work at the age of 10 apprenticed to card wire drawing. He was a wire drawer [1861, 1871, 1881, 1891]; with the Halifax Industrial Society [1865-1871]; Company Director of the Co-operative Wholesale Society [1883-1915]; Chairman of the Co-operative Wholesale Society [1895-1915]; a member of the Halifax School Board [for 6 years]; a Unitarian connected with the Northgate End Chapel [for over 40 years].

He presided over the Co-operative Congress held at Doncaster [1903]

He was being keenly interested in geographical research, and became a Fellow of the Royal Geographical Society. He entertained Captain Scott at Balloon Street, Manchester, shortly before the explorer's tragic journey to the South Pole.

On 3rd November 1856, he married (1) Frances Sykes [1830-1875]. at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) James [1857-1943] who was a wire drawer [1915]; (2) William; (3) Mary Jane [1863-1864]; (4) John Henry [1865-1947; (5) George Sykes [1867]; (6) Annie [1871-1965.

In 1878, he married (2) Nancy Sharpe [1842-1878] in Halifax.

On 24th March 1879, he married (3) Charlotte Jagger at Kentish Town Congregational Church, London.

In 1879/1880, they divorced on grounds of his wife's adultery with her brother-in-law James Hirst.

In 1882, he married (4) Sarah Jane Atkinson [1837-1911] in Halifax.

The family lived at 4 Elm Place, Hopwood Lane [1861]; 17 Cavendish Terrace [1871, 1881, 1891]; 4 Park View [1901, 1911].

In December 1910, the CWS presented him with a portrait of himself, painted by Walter Emsley. The portrait now hangs in the CWS boardroom at the headquarters of the Society in Manchester.

His wives Frances and Nancy and daughter Mary Jane were buried at Lightcliffe Old Church Graveyard.

John died at 4 Park View [12th February 1915].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £6,073 10/7d. Probate was granted to his sons James and William.

He and his wife Sarah Jane were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Shillito, John
[1866-1910] In [Q3] 1908, he married Emily Florence Woodford in Huddersfield.


Emily Florence was the daughter of
Thomas Woodford
 

Children: Harry [b 1891] who was a woollen cloth worker [1911] and married May [1890-19??].

In 1911, the widowed Emily was publican at the Hare & Hounds, Brockholes, Huddersfield. Her widowed father Thomas was living with Emily and son Harry and his wife May

Shillito, Mrs Sarah
[1739-1808] The announcement of her death in The Leeds Mercury of 16th January 1808, said of her
... a maiden lady of Halifax.

In her, the poor have lost a kind and liberal benefactress, and her tenants an indulgent landlady

Shillito vs Shillito & Hirst
In January 1880, John Shillito sued for dissolution of his marriage on grounds of the adultery of his wife, Charlotte, with her brother-in-law James Hirst.

The Jury awarded Shillito £1000 damages. Using figures for average earnings, £1,000 in 1880 is roughly the equivalent of £411,000.00 today

Shillito, William
[1859-1939] Son of John Shillito.

Born in Halifax.

He was a municipal clerk [1901]; rate collector cashier with the Borough Council [1911]; the Borough Collector [1915].

On 25th March 1888, he married Mary Hannah Varley [1864-1939] at Saint Augustine's Church, Pellon.

Children: (1) George Varley; (2) Bertha Varley [1891-1960]; (3) Harold Varley.

The family lived at Cresswell Terrace, Hipperholme [1901]; Laurel Bank, Halifax [1911]

Shillitoe, Rev Thomas
[1???-18??] A London Quaker who visited the families of the men arrested and executed for the Luddite activities in 1812.

Locally, these included the families of Joseph Crowther, William Hartley, James Hey, John Hill, Nathan Hoyle, John Ogden, Thomas Smith, William Thorpe, and Benjamin Walker.

His Journals record his findings

Shimwell, Rev Benjamin
[18??-18??] Primitive Methodist Minister at Green Hill, Pellon Lane [1845]

Shindler, Edward John
[1860-1???] Or Shinder. A draper's assistant.

In 1888, he married Mary Hannah, daughter of Thomas Atkinson, in Halifax.

Children: (1) George Herbert [b 1890]; (2) Gertrude Maude [b 1892].

The family lived at Dove House, Shibden [1891]

Shindler, F Cecil
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Shingles, H. Rev J.
[1???-19??] Minister at Bridge Street (Central) Methodist Church, Todmorden [1930]

Shipden
Old spelling of Shibden

Shipden
Old spelling of Shibden

Shipedene
Old spelling of Shibden

Shipedene, John de
[12??-13??] Son of William de Schippedene.

Recorded in 1306.

In 1307, a deed mentions him with a reference to

ter: Hospital
the land of the Hospital
which possibly refers to the Knight Hospitallers

Shipley
A variant of the surname Shepley

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Shipley, George
[17??-1774] Coiner He was an accessory to the murder of William Deighton. He was executed at York Castle

Shipman, Dr Harold Frederick
[1946-2004] A local general practitioner who became Britain's biggest serial killer.

In 1999, he was sentenced to life imprisonment for the murder of 15 patients, many were elderly women who died when alone with Shipman.

In July 2002, an enquiry concluded that he killed a total of 215 patients – including the 15 for which he was imprisoned – and he was suspected of killing a further 45 people

Shipman, Canon Robert
[18??-19??] Born in Grantham, Lincolnshire.

Curate at Brighouse [1898-1901].

On 9th September 1902, he married Jessie Carr, daughter of John Carr Bottomley at St James's Church, Brighouse.

Children: (1) Francis G [b 1904]; (2) Robert Trafford [b 1908]; (3) child.

The family lived at St Thomas's Rectory, Leeds [1911]

Shippedene
Old spelling of Shibden

Shire, Doc
A portly – John Bull-like – character with top hat and tails, a cane and smoking a cigar, who was created by J. J. Mulroy to advertise Whitaker's Brewery and their Shire Ale in the 1920s/1930s.

In 1928, he appeared with parrot saying

Aye, and there's a good top on it, Doc!

The character was played by Herbert Seston at public appearances.

His last appearance was at Hebden Bridge Agricultural Show just before World War II

Shires, Gerald
[19??-19??] He married Ann, daughter of W. Newton Dawson.

Children: (1) Michael; (2) John.

They lived at Toothill Court, Rastrick [1957]

Shirt, Matthew
[16??-16??] Curate at Rastrick [1664]

The Shoddy, Ripponden
Oldham Road. A popular name for a block of 19th century houses, including a shop.

These were formerly a small mill producing textiles from shoddy

Shoebroad
Area of Todmorden.

The name may derived from

  1. Shewbread, the altar or table where God speaks to and nourishes man

  2. Shovel-broad, a piece of land the width of a shovel

Joshua Fielden married at the Quaker meeting house here, and many of the Fielden family were buried in the Shoebroad Quaker Burial Ground

Shoebroad Dam, Todmorden

Shoesmith
Other forms of the surname include Shucksmith, Sixsmith and Sucksmith.

John Shoesmith is recorded at Shelf in 1672

There are currently only around 8 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Shoesmith. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Shoesmith, Arnold
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Shoesmith, George
[1836-1875] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a master tinner employing 2 men and 2 boys [1871].

In 1862, he married Elizabeth [1836-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Harriet Ann [b 1862]; (2) John; (3) William; (4) George [b 1867]; (5) Sarah [b 1871].

The family lived at Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1871]

After George's death, Elizabeth married Thomas Broadbent

Shoesmith, George
[1892-1918] Son of William Shoesmith.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted in Mirfield served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [11th April 1918] (aged 26).

He was buried at the Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery [XXVI EE 6A].

He is remembered on his parents' grave in Sowerby churchyard

Shoesmith, James
[1825-1???] Farmer at Scarr House, Halifax.

Recorded in 1881, when William Cronhelm (gent) was boarding with the family

Shoesmith, John Henry
[1864-19??] Son of George Shoesmith.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He became a general ironmonger, mill furnisher, brass, iron, tin and zinc metal worker at 61 and 63 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1915, 1920].

He lived at 155 Park Crescent, Sowerby Bridge [with his widowed mother Elizabeth 1911].

Shoesmith, Kenneth Denton
[1890-1939] Artist. Born in Halifax.

In 1909, he went to sea and joined the Royal Mail Line as a junior officer. He rose to the rank of Chief Officer. In 1918, he left to become a full-time painter and commercial artist.

He married Sarah.

Died in Hampstead.

In 1975, Sarah gave the entire contents of his studio to the Ulster Museum

Shoesmith, William
[1865-1???] Son of George Shoesmith.

He was an errand boy at a chemical works [1881]; a mechanic turner [1891]; he succeeded his mother, Elizabeth, and stepfather, Thomas Broadbent, to become landlord of the Navigation, Sowerby Bridge [1901, 1905, 1911].

In 1900, he married Martha Ann Culpan [1872-19??] from Leeds, in Halifax.

Children: (1) George [b 1892]; (2) James Harold [b 1895]; (3) Wilfred [b 1900]; (4) Clara [b 1906]; (5) Fred [b 1908]

Shoesmith, William
[1866-1929] In [Q2] 1891, he married (1) Martha Riley [1867-1899] in Halifax District.

Children: George.

Martha died 8th September 1899 (aged 32).

In [Q1] 1900, he married (2) Martha Ann Culpan [1872-1918] in Halifax District.

Martha Ann died 19th March 1918 (aged 46).

William died 7th October 1929.

Members of the family were buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Shoot, Coley
Area just north of Priestley Green

Shooter, Joseph Albert
[1897-1915] Son of Sam Shooter.

He was a slubbing reeler (dyeworks) [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died following a German gas attack [19th December 1915] (aged 19).

He was buried at the Talana Farm Cemetery [IV G 1]

Shooter, Samuel
[1870-19??] Born in Saltaire.

He was a time keeper in dyeworks [1901, 1911].

In 1893, he married Violetta Busfield [1871-19??] in Bradford.


Violetta was born in Bradford
 

Children: (1) Ida [b 1895] who was a lasting and serge weaver [1911]; (2) Joseph Albert; (3) Ernest Arthur [b 1898] who was a grocer's errand boy [1911]; (4) Miriam [b 1900]; (5) Sam Busfield [b 1903]; (6) Harry [b 1905].

The family lived at 12 Crystal Street, Hanson Lane, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Shop Lock, Todmorden
Lock #18 on the Rochdale Canal

Shore
District of Calderdale north-west of Todmorden.

The name may also be found as Shoer, Shoor, and Shorey.

There was a Quaker meeting house and burial ground here

Shore
[Surname]

There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Shore. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Shore End Top, Midgley Moor
A Neolithic or Bronze Age stone measuring 6 ft in length and 3 ft high

Shore, John
[14??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1495]

Shore, John Isaac
[1897-1923] Son of John Jennings Shore.

Born in Halifax [12th March 1897].

He was an engineer [1920].

On 20th November 1920, he married Ada Richardson at St Mark's Parish Church, Siddal

Shore, John Jennings
[1864-1908] Born in Burghwallis.

He was a clerk [1892].

On 17th September 1892, he married Mary Hollas at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.


Mary was the daughter of
Jeremiah Hollas
 

Children: John Isaac

Shore, John of
[13??-13??] A merchant living in Stansfield. Recorded in 1379,, when he paid 1/- tax whilst most of the other 42 taxpayers in Stansfield paid 4d

Shore Moor, Todmorden
Moorland at Shore

Shore Working Men's Club & Institute
Todmorden. Recorded on 18th January 1908, when they opened new premises. Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 144

Shoreman, Charles
[18??-1915] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He died 19th December 1915.

He was buried at the Cerisy-Gailly Military Cemetery [II E 13].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Short, George Anderson
[1856-1946] Born in Bellingham, Northumberland.

Watercolour artist with rural subjects such as sunrise, sunset, hunting scenes, farming scenes and gypsy camp scenes.

He moved to Halifax and painted the local environment.

Around 1890, he married Alice Spencer [1859-19??] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Hilda Mary [b 1891]; (2) Henry George [b 1895]; (3) Alice Barbara [b 1899].

The family lived at 3 Avondale Place, Manor Drive [1901].

Living with them in 1901 was brother-in-law David Spencer [aged 46] (woolstapler).

He worked closely with his daughter. After his death, she continued to paint in a similar style to her father


Question: Does anyone know anything about his artist daughter?

 

Short's: T. Short & Company
Wholesale clothiers at Hebden Bridge [1905]

See Benjamin Grindrod

Short, Thomas
[1819-1894] Ale and porter merchant in Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) William Thomas who became an ale and porter merchant; (2) James Henry [b 1850] who became a solicitor's clerk; (3) George Anderson [b 1856] who became a designer.

The family lived at Bellingham, Northumberland [1850, 1856] and 31 Heywood Place, Hanson Lane, Halifax [1894].

Members of the family are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894

Shreeve, William
[1774-1817] A house painter who lived at 1 Aked's Road, Halifax.

He died after an accident in which he was scalded with boiling oil whilst preparing a varnish.

He was buried at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax.

See Whittaker & Shreeve

Shroggs House, Halifax

Owners and tenants have included

Shroggs Park
Lee Mount Road.

24 acre park at Lee Mount, leased by the Savile family in 1881 at a rent of £1 per annum for 999 years.

One of the prime movers of the project was Edward Akroyd who funded alterations to the park as a part of his Akroydon project.

The park was designed by Edward Milner, and the entrance Lodge was designed by Barber.

On 13th July 1912, the municipal bowling green opened at the Park.

Before development, the land was scrub with rocks and brambles – hence the name shroggs which means bushy scrub

See Shroggs Park Drinking Fountain

Shroggs Park Drinking Fountain
The mid-19th century Gothic drinking fountain at Shroggs Park, Halifax is listed. It has 4 basins which are fed by dolphins

Shroggs Park Lodge
The Lodge at the entrance to Shroggs Park was designed by William Swinden Barber.

The building is dated 1892.

The building is a private house

Shroggs Road Tip
Aka Birks Hall tip.

Shroggs Mills stood on the site.

Refuse dump for Halifax Corporation Cleansing Department.

In October 2007, Calderdale Council decided to sell 6 acres of the land to a bus operator for use as a new bus depot when the Elmwood Bus Garage became inadequate.

See Birks Hall, Ovenden and James Booth

Shroggs Wood, Northowram
Woodland on the side of the Shibden Valley

Shroggs Wood, Wheatley
Between Wheatley and Lee Bridge.

There is a 100-foot precipice here, known as The Scar.

See Luke Hoyle

Shucksmith
An old form of the surname Shoesmith

Shunts Wood, Stainland
Wood was taken from here for use as fuel during the General Strike of 1926

Shurcrack
See Blarney Castle

Shutt, David Trevor
[19??-] OBE.

Liberal. He was Mayor of Calderdale [1982-1983]

Member of Calderdale Council for Greetland and Stainland ward [1973-1990] and from 1995. He suggested the name Calderdale Way for the new Elland bypass. Leader of Liberal Democrat Group and Cabinet Member with responsibility for Community Services. Former Parliamentary Candidate for Sowerby, Calder Valley and Pudsey.

In 2000, he entered the House of Lords and became Lord Shutt of Greetland. In July 2009, he was appointed to the Privy Council

Shutt, Peter
[19??-19??] President of the Brighouse Art Circle [19??-1979]

Shuttleworth, Harry
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Royal Field Artillery.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Shuttleworth, J. W.
[18??-19??] Proprietor of Shuttleworth's Steam Laundry [1905]

Shuttleworth, James
[18??-1865] Manager at the Bacchus Tavern Tap, Halifax.

On the morning of 24th May 1865, as he was on his way to work, he was seized by a fit of apoplexy. He was taken to his home in Well Lane, but he died before noon

Shuttleworth Moor
Moorland near Widdop Reservoir

Shuttleworth, R.
[18??-191?] Of Southowram.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Southowram War Memorial

Shuttleworth's Steam Laundry
Aka Todmorden Steam Laundry. Established by J. W. Shuttleworth at Hole Bottom Mill, Todmorden

Shuttleworth, W.
[1743-18??] On 7th August 1815, at the age of 72, he walked a distance of 64 miles, from Midgley to Liverpool, in 18 hours for a wager of £5, having bet that he could complete the distance 24 hours.

He offered a further wager that he could complete the 64 miles from Liverpool to Warrington in 16 hours

Siddal
District of Calderdale to the south-east of Halifax

See Exley and Pubs in Exley

Siddal Bowling Green
Opened on 2nd May 1925

Siddal Co-Op
Oxford Lane.

Branch number 6 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in May 1861. It had a boot and shoe department

Siddal Co-operative Store
Recorded in 1874, when M. Rawnsley was Manager

Siddal, Crossley
[1798-1823] On 10th June 1821, he married Martha Beard in Elland.

After his death, Martha married Jonathan Taylor [31st December 1827]

Siddal Hall
The building stands on the east side of Siddal Lane, between Roseberry Avenue and Phoebe Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

See Siddal Halls

Siddal Halls
Several halls are recorded in the area: Far Siddal Hall, Lower Siddal Hall, Old Siddal Hall, Siddal Hall and Upper Siddal Hall together with Back Hall, Exley, Clipster Hall, Siddal and Lower Clipster Hall, Siddal

Documents do not always make it clear which Hall is referred to


Question: Please email me if you can clarify any confusion which I have created with the above buildings

 

People who have been linked to an unidentified Siddal Hall include:

Siddal Industrial Co-operative Society Limited
In 1894, a branch is recorded at Siddal Lane – between Browning Avenue and Siddal Street. The manager was Joseph Greenwood.

The branch closed in 19??.

It is now houses

Siddal Library
Recorded in 1929 as Siddal Branch Library. At that time, it was only open on Tuesday and Friday evenings.

Recorded in 1936

Siddal Pit Farm, Southowram
An alternative name for Pit House Farm, Southowram [1871, 1881]

Siddal Post Office
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936

Siddal Recreation Ground
Oxford Lane

Siddal Rugby League Club
Backhold Lane

Siddal Top Farm, Southowram
From the 1940s, the farm fell into disrepair.

It was rebuilt around 1995.

The Foldout lists some owners and occupiers of the property

Siddal Victoria Club
Junior rugby union [?] club. Recorded in April 1899

Siddal War Memorial
The memorial on the west side of Saint Mark's Parish Church, Siddal, in memory of the men of the village who were killed in the Great War, was unveiled by Colonel Sir E. N. Whiteley OBE on Sunday, 18th February 1923 during a violent storm.

It is also a memorial to those who died in World War II

Siddal Wells
Farm at Siddal.

Owners and tenants are listed in the Foldout

See Siddal Wells Mine, Southowram

Siddall
Another form of the surname is Siddle.

Thomas Sydall is recorded in 1379.

Derived from Siddal

There are currently around 16 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Siddall. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Siddall, Albert
[1???-19??] In 1???, he established an engineering business – A. Siddall – in Sowerby Bridge

Siddall, Albert
[1854-1925] Established a worsted-spinning business at West Mills, Sowerby Bridge.

He died at Southport.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £98,854

Siddall, Alfred
[1856-1914] Woollen manufacturer at West End Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Siddall & Bancroft
Mechanical engineers at Halifax.

Partners included R. Siddall and (possibly) W. S. Bancroft.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1886

Siddall & Hilton Limited
Wire drawers and manufacturers of beds, bedsteads and mattresses under the trademark Sidhil. They were at several locations in Sowerby Bridge, including Sterne Mills. They were also in Bristol, Dublin, Manchester, Newcastle, Liverpool, and London.

In 20th April 1903, their premises at Asquith Bottom, Sowerby Bridge,were damaged by fire.

They were at Centre Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

Partners included Herbert Siddall, Rowland Siddall who was head of the company [1939], and Rowland's sons: Henry Wharton, Norman, Horace Victor, and Raymond.

In 1996, they acquired International Security Services Limited of Telford and established Siddall & Hilton Fencing Products. They occupied a part of the Bird Royds Lane factory of Redfearn Wire Products in Brighouse where they produced razor barbed wire.

The business has its offices at Sidhil Business Park, Holmfield [2012]

Siddall, Arthur
[1854-1925] Worsted spinner at West Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

In 1900, he filed a patent for

improvements in reversible seats for tramcars, char-a-bancs, and the like

Siddall, Rev George Ward
[18??-19??] He served at Teignmouth [1888] and St John's, Newfoundland [1891] before becoming Minister at Heath Congregational Church [1896]. He left in 1904

Siddall, Hartley
[1858-1905] Surveyor.

In 1878, he married Lavinia Wilde in Halifax.

They lived at Blackwood Hall, Luddendenfoot [1897]

Siddall, Henry
[1???-18??] He was Chairman of the Sowerby Bridge Local Board [15th April 1886-15th April 1887]

He married Unknown.

Children: (possibly) Rowland

Siddall, Henry Wharton
[1884-1947] Son of Rowland Siddall.

In 1913, he married Hannah, daughter of Mark Wilcock.

Children: (1) Barbara [b 1914]; (2) Myra [b 1920] who married John Emerson Priestley

Siddall, Herbert
[1869-1940] Partner in Siddall & Hilton Limited.

He lived at Quarry Hill, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Siddall, Horace Victor
[1891-1971] Son of Rowland Siddall.

In 1916, he married Selina B. Helliwell

Children: Denis R. [1920-1972]

Siddall, James
[1881-19??] Son of William Henry Siddall.

Born in Sowerby.

He was a toolmaker's iron moulder [1901]; an iron moulder [1911].

On 2nd September 1905, he married Isabella Smith [1881-19??] at St George's Church, Sowerby.


Isabella of Spring Bank Cottage, Watson Mill Lane, Norland, was born in Raventhorpe, Yorkshire, the daughter of Walter Smith, a carding engineer
 

Children: (1) Walter [b 1906]; (2) Hilda [b 1909]; (3) Edith [b 1910].

The family lived at 15 Egremont Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Siddall, John
[18??-19??] Partner in Brearley, Firth & Siddall.

He lived at 2 Woodside Grove, Boothtown [1905]

Siddall, Joseph
[1857-1913] Born in Sowerby.

He was a cabinet maker [1880].

On 15th Dec 1880, he married Emma Pickles in Halifax.


Emma was the daughter of
James Pickles
 

They had no children.

Evidence suggests that Emma was ill for some time. Living with them in 1911 was Mary Ann Ramsden, a sick nurse.

Emma died in Storthes Hall [20th July 1924].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £251 13/4d to her sister Elizabeth Ann

Joseph died in Huddersfield [29th September 1913].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £365 4/6d to Lewis Kitchen

Siddall, Leslie
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1996-1997]

Siddall, Rowland
[1858-1939] (Possibly) son of Henry Siddall Born in Sowerby Bridge [19th November 1858].

He was educated at Warley Grammar School; head of Siddall & Hilton Limited; chairman of Standard Wire Company Limited; a member of Sowerby Bridge School Board; chairman of the managers of St George's National Schools.

In 1883, he married Miranda Wharton [1862-1909] in Dewsbury.


Miranda was the daughter of Henry Wharton JP of Batley Carr, Dewsbury
 

Children: (1) Henry Wharton; (2) Norman [1889-1940] who married Jemima Lindsay Hamilton; (3) Horace Victor; (4) Raymond [1899-1978] who married [1921] Kathleen Beal.

The family lived at The Mount, Sowerby Bridge.

On 11th May 1904, Fred Child [aged 24] of no fixed abode, was sent to prison for 2 months after being charged with being on enclosed premises for unlawful purposes when he was found on Siddall's carriage drive at 11:30 pm on 9th May 1904.

Miranda died 13th September 1909.

She was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby.

Rowland died 16th April 1939.

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery with son Raymond. The date of Rowland's death on the headstone [16th April 1940] is wrong.

In his will, he left bequests for St George's Church, Sowerby Bridge

Siddall, William Henry
[1850-19??] Son of Joseph Siddall, mason.

Born in Norland.

He was a mechanic [1875]; a fitter [1881]; a steam engine fitter [1891, 1901]; a farmer [1911].

In 1875, he married (1) Mary Ann Rawnsley [1853-1891] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Jane [b 1877]; (2) Emily [b 1879] who was an infant school teacher [1901]; (3) James; (4) Thomas [b 1884] who was a joiner [1901]; (5) Annie [b 1886]; (6) Alice [b 1890] who was a school teacher [1911].

Mary Ann died 26th January 1891.

She was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby.

In 1894, he married (2) Martha Grundy [1855-19??] in Halifax.


Martha, born in Ripponden, had a daughter Sarah Eliza Grundy [b 1883] who was a dressmaker [1901]
 

Children: Edgar [b 1895] who was a clerk [1911].

The family lived at Providence Place, Sowerby [1881]; 24 Montague Street, Sowerby [1891]; 16 Egremont Street, Sowerby New Road, Sowerby Bridge [1901]; Gaukroger Farm, Sowerby [1905]; Upper Gaukroger, Sowerby [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was visitor George Richard Grundy [aged 26] (clerk) 

Siddle
A variant of the surname Siddall

Sidebottom, Rev Henry F.
[18??-18??] Perpetual Curate at Holy Trinity Church [1850, 1861].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) Abigail Margaret who married Dr William Paley; (3) Catherine Elizabeth who married [8/1856] Captain Henry Godolphin Rooper

Sidetracks

Sidgewick, Rev J.
[17??-18??] Vicar of Hartshead [1795-1796]

Sidgwick, Rev John Benson
[1800-1873] Or Sedgwick.

Of Stone Gappe, Lothersdale

In 1862, he was appointed by Edward Akroyd as Vicar at Copley following Rev James Hope.

On 10th January 1827, he married Sarah Hannah Greenwood [1805-1887].

Children: (1) Matilda [1832-1910] who married Mark Henry Drury

Sidhil
Trademark of Siddall & Hilton

Sidney's: Thomas Sidney & Company
Tea and spice dealers at 14 Corn Market, Halifax [1837]

Silex stone
In 1896, Joseph Brooke's Nonslip Stone Company patented the world's first nonslip flags. These were made from hydraulically compressed concrete which included the hard-wearing mineral silex which is found in the Lightcliffe area.

By 1910, around 500 local authorities and railway companies in Britain used the flags.

A publicity leaflet proclaims its use at the Port of London Authority building in London

Silk, Rev R. G. W.
[19??-19??] He was vicar of Outwood before becoming Vicar of Hartshead [1957-1958]. In 1958, he was appointed rector of Nigel, Johannesburg

Silman, Florence
[1???-19??] Originally from Barnsley.

She married William Holt.

The couple divorced

Silman, William George
[1876-19??] One of the Todmorden Communists, he was acquitted at Leeds Assizes

Silver, Jonathan
[1949-1997] Bradford-born entrepreneur who – with Ernest Hall – bought Dean Clough in 1983 to establish Dean Clough Galleries and Dean Clough Industrial Park

Silver Library, Hebden Bridge
Subscription library on Market Street

Silverlock, O. C.
[18??-1911] He was an assistant master at Heath Grammar School.

In 1910, the British South Africa Company invited him to join an expedition as an entomologist to study the tsetse sleeping sickness fly and other insects of the Zambesi and Luangwa rivers. In April 1911, his canoe was overturned by a hippopotamus in the Zambesi and he drowned

Silverstone's Cabinet Makers' Supply Company Limited
They were at 14 Woolshops, Halifax [1936]

Silvester, John
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Lincolnshire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Simcock's: Arthur Simcock & Sons
Dairy farmers at Scholes Farm, Greetland

Simeon Trustees
Patrons of All Souls' Church, Haley Hill

Simm Carr Clough, Shibden
The stream drove a waterwheel which pumped water from Simm Carr coal mine

Simm Carr Spa, Shibden
A sulphur spring celebrated on Spa Sunday. There were 18th century coal mines in the area – see Simm Carr coal mine

Simmons, Rev A.
[19??-19??] Vicar of All Souls' Church, Halifax [1949]

Simmons, Rev Alexander
[18??-19??] Minister at Lineholme Baptist Church [1861]

Simms, Richard de
[14??-1496] Aka Simmys, Symmes. Vicar of Halifax [1481]

Simms, William Henry
[18??-1???] On 23rd October 1875, he and his wife met in a public house and he asked her to go for a walk with him. As they walked, they talked about a recent murder trial and he remarked that he
could soon settle a girl in that way and no one would find it out

As they walked up Lister Lane, he took her in his arms and she felt a cut below her left ear with a pocket knife. She escaped and he was arrested.

In December 1875, he was charged with the attempted murder of his wife and he was sentenced to 5 years' penal servitude

Simon, Paul
[19??-] Drummer born in Halifax. Like his brother, Robin, he has played with several groups, including Ultravox

Simon, Robin
[1956-] Guitarist born in Halifax. Like his brother, Paul, he has played with several groups, including Ultravox

Simplex Time Recorder Company
See G. H. Gledhill & Sons Limited

Simpson...
The entries for people with the surname Simpson are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

The Simpson family of Hipperholme
Important family whose members have included Thomas Sympson and John Simpson.

The family is discussed in the book Yorkshire Pedigrees

See Saint John the Baptist, Coley

Simpson & Tiffany
Letterpress printers and publishers at Crossley Street, Halifax. Recorded in 1867.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1868

Simpson's: H. & J. T. Simpson
Halifax brassfounders [1905]. Partners included Harry Simpson and John T. Simpson

Simpson-Hinchliffe, William Algernon
[1880-1963] JP.

Born William Algernon Simpson and known as Algy or Wash. He was a bank-clerk.

In 1902, he became the third husband of Helen Hinchliffe, when they married at Knareborough. She was 49, he 22. He added his wife's surname to his own.

At Christmas 1903, he escaped without serious injury when his false beard caught fire on a candle as he played Father Christmas at Cragg Hall.

On 2nd July 1904, he was the unsuccessful Unionist candidate in the Sowerby by-election which was won by J. S. Higham.

On 27th July 1907, newspapers recorded

Generous Treatment of Workpeople by Mr and Mrs W. A. Simpson-Hinchliffe

In 1909, as he was driving up Church Bank Lane, his life was saved when his chauffeur quickly reversed the car to get out of the path of an engine which was being carried up the lane and had broken loose of the safety chains.

He was Conservative MP for Sowerby [1922-1923].

He owned Old Cragg Hall, Cragg Vale and built Lower Cragg Hall, Cragg Vale where he was living when it was destroyed by fire in 1921.

He inherited £76,000 from his wife and left an estate of £234,000.

He moved to Wetherby Grange, North Yorkshire.

He left £1000 to Cragg Vale Church

Simpson's: Thomas Simpson & Sons Limited
Cabinet makers, furnishers, upholsterers, decorators, removal and storage business. Established in 1798 by Thomas Simpson In 1815, their premises were in Woolshops. They moved to Waterhouse Street where they remained for 40 years.

In 1886, they moved to new premises in Silver Street which were built on the site of the White Lion Hotel & Posting House.

They manufactured at their Steam Cabinet Works in Corporation Street, Halifax. Their products included

Nonsuch gentleman's chair

It was one of the largest furnishers in the north of England.

In 1887, they acquired the carpet merchanting business of John Crossley & Sons Limited which had been in Town Hall Street East, Halifax.

Up to 1895, the firm had been run by 3 generations with the name Thomas Simpson.

In 1906, the Halifax Courier reported

that a furniture cart belonging to Simpson & Sons Limited, of Halifax, crashed through fencing and into the river at Thistle Bottom, Hebden Bridge

In 1936, they were listed as Simpson & Sons Limited with premises at Silver Street and Skircoat Road.

The business closed in 1957. Harrison Gibson took over the Silver Street premises.

Since then, the Silver Street premises have been occupied by a DIY store, health club, gents' outfitters and many small businesses.

In July 2009, there were proposals to convert the premises into a 31-bedroom hotel with a rear extension for a further 69 rooms.

Sims, Rev J. W.
[18??-1???] Of Halifax.

Methodist minister.

Recorded in June 1896, when he preached a sermon at the anniversary of Boulderclough New Connexion Sunday School

Sinclair, Sir George
[18??-18??] He stood unsuccessfully as the Tory candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [1841]

Sindall, Alfred Zechariah
[1844-1933] Born in Spalding, Lincolnshire.

He trained in London.

He was a clock and watch maker, jeweller and silversmith at Union Street, Halifax, from around 1875, when he acquired the business of Mr Clark.

Around 1884, the business moved to 8 Commercial Street, Halifax.

In [Q2] 1881, he (possibly) married (1) Mary Ann Pickles in Bradford.

In [Q4] 1913, he married (2) Mary E. Clayton in Halifax.

The family lived at Selby House, Stump Cross [1905].

He died in Halifax

Singlehurst, John Goodwin
[1894-1917] Son of Eliza and John Henry Singlehurst of 23 Abbey Walk South, Coronation Road, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 12th Battalion South Wales Borderers.

He died of wounds [25th November 1917] (aged 23).

He was buried at the Rocquigny-Equancourt Road British Cemetery, Manancourt [III A 11].

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Singleton, Charles
[1822-1852] He was found dying in the privy at the Thornhill Arms, Rastrick. The inquest heard that he was subject to fits after drinking

Singleton, Christopher
[1593-1630] On 31st March 1630, he and Henry Smelt - both natives of Halifax – Charles Rochester [28] a native of Leeds, and George Rocliffe [33] a native of Doncaster, were executed at the Tyburn for coining base money in Walmgate, York. Their bodies were buried at Saint Sampson's Churchyard, York

Singleton, Crossland
[1848-1891] Born in Longwood.

He was a brick maker [1881, 1891].

In 1879, he married Eliza Aspinall [1849-1???] in Halifax.


Eliza had a son
Fred Aspinall
 

Children: (1) Mary Eliza [1880-1881]; (2) Philemon; (3) Janet [b 1884] who was a worsted twister [1901], a weaver [1911]; (4) Walter; (5) Ida [b 1891] who was a weaver [1911].

The family lived at 36 Richmond Terrace, Elland [1881]; 37 South Lane, Elland [1891]; 21 South Lane, Elland [1901]; 39 Catherine Street, Elland [1911]

Singleton, John
[1797-1881] He married Sarah [1800-1866].

Children: (1) Alfred [1825-1843]; (2) Emma-Sarah [1829-1849]; (3) son who married Miss Briggs.

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse with granddaughters Elizabeth [1842-1845] who died aged 3 years and 4 months, Emma Briggs [1851-1857] who died aged 5 years and 10 months, and Sarah Jane Briggs [1860] who died aged 1 month

Singleton, Joseph
[1???-18??] A draper at Halifax.

In March 1828, Christopher Crawshaw and John Widdup were charged with having, during the night of 8/9th September 1827, burglariously broken into and entered Singleton's house and stolen a quantity of woollen cloth and other items. Both men were given the death penalty

Singleton, Philemon
[1882-1920] Son of Crossland Singleton.

Born in Halifax [Q1 1882]

He was a shoe maker [1901]; a boot repairer [1911].

In [Q2] 1908, he married Ethel Hepworth [1883-1909] in Halifax

Singleton, Shaw
[1825-1882] Born in Sowerby.

He was a spinner [1849].

On 26th August 1849, he married Elizabeth Furness at Elland Parish Church.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
Moses Furness
 

They had no children

Singleton, Walter
[1888-1915] Son of Crossland Singleton

He was a cotton piecer [1901]; a plater [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/4th Battalion, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 4th June 1915 (aged 27).

He was looking through a periscope and firing at German loop-holes when a bullet hit the periscope and went into his head. The bullet struck the periscope and shattered his fingers. He died later that evening.

He was buried Sailly-sur-la-Lys Canadian Cemetery, Pas de Calais, France [II F 127]

Singleton, Whiteley
[1885-1979] Son of Ann [née Whiteley] [1851-1925] and Joah Singleton [1850-1934], a power loom tuner.

Born in Golcar [18th August 1885].

He was organist at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse [1918-1967]; conductor for the Brighouse Choral Society; accompanist for the Brighouse Music Club.

On 19th May 1920, he married Mary Taylor [1892-1986] in Golcar.

The family lived at 29 Bryn Terrace, Brighouse

Singleton, William
[1847-1908] Of Todmorden.

He was landlord of the York Tavern, Todmorden [1905]; treasurer and trustee of the Todmorden & District Licensed Victuallers Association.

He died following a painful affliction which necessitated the amputation of one leg

Singleton, William E.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Sirett, Thomas
[1815-1896] Born in London.

He was master at Bolton Brow Wesleyan School [1850-1873]; a commercial clerk [1881]; cashier at Balme & Pritchard Limited [until 1894].

In 1854, he married Sarah Elizabeth Gregory [1828-1913] from Heanor, in Basford, Derbyshire.

Children: (1) Jane Elizabeth [b 1857] who was a School teacher [1881]; (2) Annie Mary [b 1860] who was a School teacher [1881]; (3) William Alfred [1866-1892] who was a printer's apprentice [1881], a printer compositor lodging in Westminster, London [1891], and died in Halifax [1892].

The family lived at Gratrix Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1861]; Wakefield Road, Skircoat, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; 2 Park View, Halifax [1881, 1891].

Thomas died 25th August 1896

Sisters' Chapels

Sisters' House, Priestley Green
Built in 1630 by Samuel Sunderland on the site of a 13th century dwelling.

A lintel is dated SS 1630 for Samuel Sunderland, and the housebody is dated TAP 1658. The original timber-frame and the pad-stones can be seen.

It was originally a single house. It is now divided into 2.

One part is known as Prior's Mead.

It is said that the Appleyard sisters lived here and established Coley Chapel and Eastfield Chapel, but the chapels were built in 1529, a century before the house. The house is said to be half-way between the 2 chapels.

The name was changed to Rose Cottage for a time.

In 1914, it was owned by Joseph Sunderland of Coley Hall.

In 1953, Mr Sellers bought the crumbling house for £200.

It is now 2 private dwellings.

Listers Well is sunk into the pavement in front of the house

Site statistics

Sixsmith
An old form of the surname Shoesmith

Skeels, Dr William
[1865-1939] MRCS, LRCP.

On 12th September 1900, he married Ethel Ashcroft Ravenscroft [1875-1955] from The Cape, Plumbley, Cheshire.

Children: (1) Marjorie; (2) David.

The couple first lived at 25 Church Lane, Brighouse. They later moved to Brooklands, Brighouse. When Brooklands was demolished, they moved to Langwood, Laverock Lane, where he died.

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Skelton
[Surname]

There are currently around 11 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Skelton. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Skelton, Abraham
[18??-18??] Stone delver at Halifax.

In 1852, he was declared bankrupt

Skelton, Edwin
[1845-1908] Son of Ann and William Skelton, a coal miner from Barnsley.

Born in Barnsley.

He was stationmaster at Holmfield Railway Station [1881].

On 18th January 1877, he married Ann Rebecca Wing [1857-1940] in Spittlegate, Grantham, Lincolnshire.


Ann Rebecca was the daughter of Jane [née Kirk] [1827-1882] and Vincent Wing [1828-1856]
 

Children: (1) Alice Maud Mary [1879-1933] who married Ernest Edwin Mann; (2) George Harold.

The family lived at Holmfield Station House [1881].

He died in Croydon [14th November 1908]

Skelton, George Harold
[1882-1971] Son of Edwin Skelton.

Born in Shipley.

On 25th July 1928, he married Emily Elizabeth Robinson [1902-1982] in Addiscombe.

He died in Hailsham, Sussex

Skelton, Harry
[18??-19??] Councillor for Halifax Ovenden ward [1894]

Skelton, Harry
[1856-1???] Butcher and innkeeper at the New Delight, Wainstalls [1881]

Skelton's (Holywell Green) Limited
Worsted spinners. Recorded in 1950

Skelton, James
[18??-19??] Son of John Skelton.

He was a worsted spinner at Greaves Mill, Holywell Green [1905].

He married (1) Catherine [1831-1884].

Children: Sarah Annie [1865-1933] who married [1892] Edgar Pedley.

On 25th November 1885, he married (2) Mary, in Barnsley.


Mary was the daughter of nail maker Peter Dronsfield (or Dransfield
 

Skelton, John
[1794-18??] Son of Joseph Skelton.

Born in Northowram [31st May 1794].

He was an assistant surveyor [1851]

On 16th September 1825, he married Esther, daughter of William Drake, at Southowram.

Children: (1) Mary Ann [b 1827] who married Job Wainwright; (2) Martha [b 1829]; (3) Dorothy [b 1831]; (4) Henrietta Maria [b 1833]; (5) William [b 1836]; (6) Sarah [b 1841]; (7) Elizabeth [b 1843]; (8) John [b 1845] who was a bookkeeper.

The family lived at Butterhouse, Skircoat [1851].

In 1851, living with the family, were grandchildren Jane & Thomas Wainwright, Esther's father William Drake, and aunt Hannah Turner [1770-18??].

John was dead by September 1855, when Esther and her children – Dorothy, William, Sarah, Elizabeth, John and Mary – and Mary's children – Jane and Thomas – sailed from Liverpool to New York aboard the Albert Gallatin.

In 1870, they were living in Chicago.

Esther was buried at Graceland Cemetery, Chicago

Skelton, Joseph
[17??-18??] Of Halifax.

In October 1828, he was declared bankrupt

Skelton, Leslie G.
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Air Force.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Skelton, M.
[18??-18??] Woolstapler at Halifax.

In March 1866, he was declared bankrupt

Skelton, Thomas
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Skew Bridge, Todmorden
A popular name for the Gauxholme Railway Bridge

Ski Slope, Boothtown
Pule Hill

Skidmore, Francis
[1???-18??] Coventry artist who produced the metalwork of the wrought-iron screen and the gates of All Souls' Church, Haley Hill

Skillings, Rev Thomas Percy
[1885-1962] Born in Downham, East Anglia.

He was a Methodist layman and baptised at Slaithwaite Baptist Church before becoming Minister at Blackley Particular Baptist Church [1918-1920].

In 1920, he married Elsie Ward in Chesterfield.

He died in Basford, Nottinghamshire

Skinner & Gray
Accountants of Halifax. Recorded in 1897 and in 1900 when they advertised

Skinner & Gray
Insurance
9 Fountain Street, Halifax

Skinner, G.
[18??-19??] Of Lightcliffe. In September 1900r, he broke the Yorkshire Road Club record by riding 168½ miles in 11 hrs 55 mins

Skinner, John
[18??-19??] He worked for Joseph Brooke & Sons Limited at Hipperholme.

In 1913, he moved to the province of Quebec, Canada. He worked in the town of Joliette as engine driver in a quarry there

Skircoat
District of Calderdale to the south and west of Halifax.

See Population and Parish statistics

Skircoat Board of Guardians
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Skircoat township have included

  • George Mawell, Skircoat Moor [1869]

  • William Kershaw, Stafford Place [nominated 1869]

Skircoat Bus Garage, Halifax
Skircoat Road. The offices of Halifax Corporation Passenger Transport – and its successors – were situated next to The Shay on Huddersfield Road, with more bus garages at Elmwood Bus Garage on Shaw Hill

Skircoat constables
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Skircoat

Skircoat Cotton Manufacturing Company
In 1864, the company built the Salterhebble Mill

Skircoat Floral Society
Recorded in January 1858, when Frederick Edward Rawson was Treasurer

Skircoat Green
Area of Halifax north of Salterhebble.

Skircoat Green Allotments, Halifax
Allotments established on land previously occupied by a market gardener. Saint Luke's Hospital was built on a part of the land

Skircoat Green Co-Op
Branch of the Halifax Co-operative Society opened on 3rd December 1910

See Skircoat Green Co-Op

Skircoat Green Co-Op, Halifax
Branch number 10 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in January 1862.

See Skircoat Green Co-Op

Skircoat Green Working Men's Club & Institute
Recorded in 1905 at 26 Skircoat Green

Skircoat House, Skircoat Green
Built for William Newby in the 18th century. The name was changed Bemerside, Skircoat Green by the second owner, George Haigh, from a couplet in a poem by Thomas the Rhymer:
Tyde what may betide,
Haigh shall be laird of Bemerside
It was subsequently bought by the daughters of Jeremiah Rawson: Emma Sophia, Christiana and Louisa [Mrs Inglis] – and renamed Ravenscliffe. When Christiana married, the sisters moved out of the house.

Edward Crossley bought the property and demolished it to build Bermerside House, Skircoat Green

Skircoat Library
Skircoat Green Road, Halifax. A branch library at Skircoat Green opened on 30th September 1926.

The present building was erected in 1930

Skircoat, Manor of
The manor was held by the Earls of Warren, John Talvas, Hugh de Copley, the Savile family, and Henry Savile [1535]

Skircoat Moor, Halifax
Aka Skircoat Moor, Halifax Moor, Skircoat Common, and The Moor - is an open space of about 73 acres lying just east of Crossley-Heath School

See Savile Park Road, Halifax

Skircoat Overseers of the Poor
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Skircoat

Skircoat Race Course
Racing took place at Skircoat in 1754

Skircoat Society for the Prosecution of Felons
Prosecution society

Skircoat, Sowerby & Soyland, Prosecution Society
An 18th century prosecution society

Skircoat Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Skircoat included:

Skircoat Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax.

See Henry Edmunds, John Hardy and George Henry Smith

Skircoat Workhouse

Skirden Clough
Stream from Ovenden Moor which feeds Ogden Reservoir

Skirden Edge
A part of Ovenden Moor where the wind farm stands

Skirrow & Roebuck
Quarry-owners and stone merchants at Park Quarry, Lightcliffe

Skirrow, Robert
[17??-18??] Watchmaker and clockmaker at 8 Corn Market, Halifax [1829, 1834], 10 Corn Market, Halifax [1837], and 8 Corn Market, Halifax [1842]

Skofield, Mr
[15??-15??] Vicar of Elland [1566]

Skues & Wilson
Milliners, feather dressers and artificial florists at 22 Crown Street, Halifax.

The business was established around 1871 by Gill & Lord.

In 1888, the business passed to Mrs Skues and Miss Wilson

Skues Café, Halifax
They had business at Princess Street, Halifax [1904] and Wade Street, Halifax [1936].

Lipton's Grocers was next door

See Oriental Café, Halifax and Richard Skues

Skues, Mrs
[18??-19??] Partner in Skues & Wilson

Skues, Richard
[1???-1???] Proprietor of the Oriental Café, Halifax [1905].

See Skues Café, Halifax

Skues, Richard
[18??-19??] Publisher of the Halifax Free Press in 1890.

One of the founders of The Halifax Courier [1852]

Skyblazers
firework manufacturers at Hollins Mill Lane, Sowerby Bridge [2008]

Skylark Farm, Ovenden
Owners and tenants have included

Slack
Local name for Heptonstall Slack

Slack, Barkisland
Recorded in 1679, when when Joshua Horton left to his son Elkanah property in Thornton, Allerton, Addingham, Hillhouse, Heslegreave, Slack in Barkisland, and Stavery in Sowerby

Slack, Rev Benjamin
[1???-1868] Minister of the Todmorden Methodist Circuit for 30 years

Slack House, Heptonstall
Built by James Thomas Berry. He lived here with his family.

The Sutcliffe family enlarged the house when they lived here.

Owners and tenants have included

Slackfield Farm, Causeway Foot
House and barn. Built 1780

Sladden
A variant of the surname Sladdin

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sladdin
Other forms of the surname include Sladden and Sladen

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 14 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Sladdin. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Sladdin, Arnold Gladstone
[1882-19??] Brighouse architect.

He was at 39 Briggate, Brighouse [1923].

His work includes Saint Paul's Wesleyan Methodist Sunday School, Brighouse

Sladdin, Arthur
[1857-1924] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

He was a well-known flautist. He was conductor of the Brighouse Musical Festival from 1892, and deputy conductor of the Brighouse Choral Society.

He and his brother, James, took over the family business. In 1883, James withdrew and left Arthur as the remaining partner

Sladdin, Harold
[1???-1???] Son of James Sunderland Sladdin. He carried on the family tailor business, and passed it on to James Edward Sladdin

Sladdin, James Edward
[1???-19??] Succeeded Harold Sladdin into the family tailor business. He opened premises in Cleckheaton. He was Founder and sometime President of the Spenborough Chamber of Trade

Sladdin, James Sunderland
[1851-1932] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a master tailor [1901].

After his father's death, he moved the family tailoring business to premises next to the Civic Hall at 15 Bradford Road, Brighouse. He later opened a shop in Northgate, Cleckheaton.

He is described as dressing elegantly, and was frequently mistaken for King Edward VII. He was a well-known vocalist. He was Treasurer of the Brighouse Musical Festival.

He and his brother, Arthur, took over the family business. In 1883, James withdrew and left Arthur as the remaining partner. James's son, Harold, carried on the family business.

In 1903, James placed a screen in memory of his father Orlando in Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse.

He married Ellen [1856-19??] from Saltaire.

Children: (1) Orlando Sunderland [b 1878]; (2) Harold [b 1890].

The family lived at 15 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1901].

See Humphrey Hirst

Sladdin, John
[1???-17??] Of Ovenden.

In 1749, he published a pamphlet entitled

A brief Description of the Methodists, and a Confutation of their dangerous Principles

Sladdin, John
[17??-1???] Coiner of Wadsworth

Sladdin, John
[1854-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a professor of music [1891].

He married Emily [1857-1???] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Edwin A [b 1889]; (2) Bessie [b 1890].

The family lived at 19 Cromwell Terrace, Halifax [1891]

Sladdin, Orlando
[1816-1894] Founded Sladdin's tailors at Bethel Street, Brighouse in 1840.

In 1840, he married (1) Rachel, daughter of William Aspinall in Halifax. Children: (1) Robert; (2) William Henry.

In 1849, he married (2) Martha Sunderland [1817-1868] at Halifax. Children: (3) James Sunderland; (4) Ann [1853-1926] who married William Workman; (5) John [b 1855]; (6) Arthur.

The family lived at Bethel Street, Brighouse [1861, 1871].

Orlando was a well-known musician, and, in 1871, he conducted a performance of Judas Maccabaeus by the Brighouse Choral Society.

In 1893, he wrote the music for a composition, to words by James Sutcliffe, to celebrate the incorporation of the Borough of Brighouse.

He died 1894.

In 1903, his son, James, placed a screen in his memory in Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Sladdin's: Orlando Sladdin & Son
Brighouse firm of fashionable tailors known as
the Savile Row Tailors of the North

founded by Orlando Sladdin in 1840.

They had premises at Bethel Street, Brighouse and in Cleckheaton.

In 1861, he employed 2 men and 2 boys.

When he retired in 1881, the business was carried on by his sons, James and Arthur.

In 1883, James withdrew and left Arthur as the remaining partner

Sladdin, Robert
[1777-1833] Or Sladden.

He was a cordwainer of Hipperholme; a well-known singer in Brighouse.

On 29th May 1806, he married Ann Hemingway from Southowram.

On 25th September 1833, Mrs Sunderland made her début at a benefit concert for his widow

Sladdin, Robert
[1841-1???] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

Like others in the family, he was a tailor and an organist [1861]

Sladdin, Susan
[16??-16??] Also Sladin, Sladen. Of Sowerby.

In 1652, she was arrested and imprisoned at York for the murder of her child

Sladdin's: W. H. Sladdin & Sons Limited
Brighouse manufacturer of shoulder pads and wadding at Crowtrees Mill, Rastrick.

During World War II, they produced seats for RAF aircraft.

See Sladdin's Mill, Rastrick

Sladdin, William Henry
[18??-1???] He had business at Fink Hill Quarry, Hipperholme [1888-1906] and Ashday Park Stone Quarries [1899].

In 1898, he bought Ashday Hall, Southowram.

In 1909, he presented a Screen between the Nave and the Ambulatory at Brighouse Parish Church

Sladdin, William Henry
[1845-1918] Son of Orlando Sladdin.

Born in Brighouse.

Like others in the family, he was a tailor [1861]. He was a commercial traveller [1871] He was a manufacturer of specialities for the clothing trade [1911].

In [Q4] 1871, he married (1) Mary Jubb in Halifax.


Mary was the daughter of Joseph Jubb
 

Children: (1) Mary Hannah [1872-1875]; (2) Joseph Robert [1874-1875].

Mary died [Q2] 1875.

In [Q1] 1876, he married (2) Sarah Ann [1842-19??] from Rastrick.

Children: (3) child who died in infancy [before 1911]; (4) Faraday Mendelssohn [1878-1953] who was assisting father in business [1875]; (5) Robert Edison [1880-1925] who was a commercial traveller [1911]; (6) Arnold Gladstone [1882-1941] who was an architect & surveyor [1911].

The family lived at Mount View, 34 & 36 Lightcliffe Road, Brighouse [1911].

The younger children were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse with their Jubb grandparents

Slade, Charles E.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Loyal North Lancs Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Sladen
A variant of the surname Sladdin

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Sladen. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Sladen, Asheton
[1819-1888] Born in Halifax.

He was a merchant in foreign hides [1861].

In [Q3] 1859, he married Julia Tillotson [1837-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Walter Percy [b 1849]; (2) Ida Constance [b 1860]; (3) (possibly) Asheton Fitzroy [b 1869].

The family lived at Savile Lodge, Halifax.

He (possibly) died in Epsom [Q1 1888]

Sladen, Fred
[1854-1925] Son of Joseph Sladen.

He was a cotton piecer [1871]; a watchmaker & jeweller [1881, 1891].

Around 1880, he established a watchmaker and jeweller business at Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge

In 1884, he married Sarah Whitworth [1862-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Joseph Arthur [b 1886]; (2) Irving Whitworth [b 1887]; (3) Jessie Amelia [b 1889]; (4) Marion A [b 1892]; (5) Reg.

The family lived at 19 Pleasant Street, Sowerby Bridge, Warley [1891].

For health reasons, he decided to emigrated to emigrate to New Zealand. In August 1896, he advertised in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle that he was

Selling Off Previous to Going Abroad

and was offering the whole of his well known stock at a discount.

On 26th November 1896, the family set sail from London on the Orient, bound for Sydney, Australia and New Zealand.

In February 1897, he sent a cablegram – published in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle – stating that he had arrived safely at New Zealand.

In 1897, Llewellyn Speak went to Christchurch, New Zealand, to work for Fred.

In 1901, he wrote a letter from Christchurch, New Zealand, which was published in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle.

In 1903, the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle recorded that Fred had sent a donation from New Zealand to Sowerby Bridge Congregational Church.

The business is still active as Fred Sladen & Sons Limited in Christchurch, New Zealand and managed by the family

Sladen, Joseph
[1829-1862] He was a wool sorter [1861].

In 1852, he married Grace Sutcliffe [1830-1???] in Halifax. The widowed Grace was a laundress [1871].

Children: (1) Fred; (2) Rachael Ann [b 1862] who was a piecer in cotton mill [1881].

The family lived at Beech Terrace, Sowerby Bridge, Warley [1861]; Upper Flatt Head, Soyland [1871]; Beech Road, Sowerby Bridge, Warley [1881]

In 1871, the family were living with Grace's widowed mother Ruth Sutcliffe [aged 74] (farmer of 5 acres owner) 

Sladen Lock, Todmorden
Lock #44 on the Rochdale Canal

Sladen, Thomas
[1787-1853] He was a corn merchant & miller at Mearclough Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1841].

He and his eldest son Thomas Sutcliffe Sladen were in partnership, trading as corn millers and merchants, Mearclough House, Norland. In 1843, the partnership was dissolved.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He married Elizabeth [1788-18??].

Children: (1) Mary Frances [b 1806]; (2) Thomas Sutcliffe; (3) James Tonge [1812-1835]; (4) Emma [b 1814] who married [1837] George Hicks Seymour, gentleman of York; (5) Amelia [b 1815]; (6) Isabella [b 1816]; (7) Ashton [b 1818] who was a corn merchant and miller [1841]; (8) Mary Elizabeth [b 1824].

The family lived at Mearclough House [1835], Mear Clough Bottom, Norland [1841], and Mearclough House [1853]

Living with them in 1841 were daughter Emma Seymour and her daughters Isabella Mary [aged 3], Emma Georgina [aged 1] and Ada Jane [aged 2 months], and 4 servants

Sladen, Thomas Sutcliffe
[1808-1898] Son of Thomas Sladen.

Born at Wood House, near Halifax.

He was an elector in the elections for MPs for the West Riding [1841]; a corn merchant [1851].

He and his father were in partnership, trading as corn millers and merchants, Mearclough House, Norland. In 1843, the partnership was dissolved.

He married Emma [1817-18??].

Children: Emma Dora [b 1841] who married [1882] John Hallilay in Dorking.

The family lived at Elm Cottage, Halifax [?]; Elmwood, Halifax [1841]; Kersal Bank, Broughton, Salford, Lancashire [1851]; Horsham Road, Dorking, Surrey [1881]; The Ferns, Church Street, Epsom, Surrey [1891].

Living with them in 1851 was widowed sister-in-law Mary Ann Halliday [aged 46].

He was living on income from dividends [1881].

By 1891, he was a widower living on own means.

He died in Epsom [17th April 1898].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £894. Probate was granted to daughter Emma Dora Hallilay and William Henry Smith (civil engineer) 

Slate Delfs Farm, Cragg Vale
The Sugden family were evicted when the Starfish site opened at Slate Delfs Hill during World War II. It fell into dereliction. In the 1990s, it was restored

Slate Delfs Hill, Cragg Vale
There was a Starfish site here during World War II which was intended to divert German aircraft from the railway station and goods yard at Greetland station, and also from Leeds and Bradford. The site was located to the south west in the area leading towards Great Manshead Hill.

The decoy consisted of a double line of about a dozen flash pans, where oil would be burned to simulate incendiary bombs. There would also have been decoy lights and shadow buildings, possibly constructed using walling stone from alongside some of the enclosure period tracks in the area. The bunker consists of two rooms either side of a central entrance passage, defended by a high blast screen

Slate Pit Hill Cross, Ripponden
Wayside cross

Slater
[Surname]

There are currently around 19 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Slater. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Slater, Abraham
[1???-1???] Of Elland.

He issued tradesmen's tokens worth ½d bearing the image of a fleur de lis

Slater, Abraham
[1820-1860] Of Elland-cum-Greetland.

Son of Jonathan Slater.

He was a farmer of 12 acres (?) employing 23 men [1851]; a merchant.

He never married.

He lived at 9 Gate, Elland-cum-Greetland.

He died at Gate [29th September 1860].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £5,000 [Resworn under £4,000].

His will was proved by his executors Benjamin Outram and George Bateman (gentleman) 

Slater Bank, Hebden Bridge
1, 3 & 5 Eversley Road. House of 1740. Now 3 dwellings

Slater's: E. J. Slater & Son
Transport company at Town Hall Garage, Elland.

In 1958, the Proprietors were J. E. Jowett and sons. They had 3 coaches The fleet livery was Ivory/Black

Slater, Edward
[16??-16??] He lived at Wade House, Shelf.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Edward who was apprenticed to a London merchant and went abroad; (2) Caleb who became a preacher at Featherstone

Slater, Edward
[1605-16??] Son of William Slater.

In 1625, he was admitted to the Middle Temple.

He practised as a barrister in York

Slater, Rev F.
[18??-19??] Pastor at Pellon Lane Baptist Church [1895-1905]

Slater, Fred
[1864-19??] He was a labourer at gas works [1911].

In 1905, he married Zilpha in Halifax.


Zilpha was the daughter of James Horsfall and widow of
James Wormald
 

They lived at 35 Park Road, Elland [1911].

Living with them in 1911 were Zilpha's children

Slater, George
[1768-1835] Of Stubbings, Hebden Bridge.

The notice of his death in The Leeds Mercury, said

He was 31 years in the Army, under the command of Sir Ralph Abercrombie in Egypt, and the Duke of Wellington etc. He was sergeant for many years. The last 23 years of his life have been spent in surveying a portion of the Rochdale Canal

Slater, George
[1837-1899] Of Commercial Street, Todmorden.

He was a Freemason; a school-master for Fielden Brothers at Waterside; closely associated with Todmorden Old Book Club

Slater Ing, Slack
Heptonstall.

Lower Slater Ing is an early 17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

A holiday home for children from the industrial towns and cities was opened here in 1915

Slater, James
[1???-18??] Landlord of the Anchor & Shuttle, Luddendenfoot [1845].

See John Titterington

Slater, Jonathan
[1651-1???] Of Elland.

In 1670, he married Judith, daughter of Roger Hanson

Slater, Jonathan
[1783-1862] Born in Longwood.

He was Elland woollen manufacturer [1841]; mill owner & manufacturer employing 4 persons [1851]; woollen manufacturer employing 11 men, 6 boys & 6 girls [1861].

He built Exchange Mill, Elland / Slater's Mill at Bank Bottom, Elland

On 6th December 1812, he married Jane Clay [1788-1866] at Halifax Parish Church.


Jane was born in Norland
 

Children: (1) Joseph; (2) Thomas Marsland [1814-1852] who died in California; (3) William [1820-1860] died on the crossing from America to England; (4) Abraham; (5) Henry [1821-1828].

The family lived at Bank Bottom [1841, 1851]; 2 Bank, Elland-cum-Greetland [1861].

Living with them in 1851 was sister Elizabeth Slater [aged 63].

Jonathan died in Elland [11th September 1862].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £3,000.

His will was proved by his grandson Joseph Henry Slater and Richard Walker.

Members of the family were buried at Elland Parish Church: Thomas [15th March 1855]; Abraham [3rd October 1860]; Jonathan [15th September 1862]; Jane [8th October 1866]

Slater, Joseph
[17??-18??] He married Betty Pickles.

Children: (1) Sarah [1814-1878] who married Thomas Titterington; (2) Valentine.

The family lived at Old Gate, Hebden Bridge [1851]; Buttress Bottom, Hebden Bridge [1861].

Living with them in 1851 were granddaughters Mary Ann and Sarah Titterington.

Joseph was dead by 1861.

Living with the widowed Betty in 1861 was granddaughter Sarah Titterington

Slater, Joseph
[1814-1855] GP.

Son of Jonathan Slater.

He was a surgeon [1841, 1851].

He never married.

He lived at Castlegate, Elland [1841]; Southgate [1851].

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Slater, S. L.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the East Yorkshire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Slater, Shaw
[1834-1891] Born in Halifax.

He was licensed victualler at the Union Cross, Halifax [1874, 1887, 1891].

In 1858, he married Frances Wiggins [1837-1???] from Wetherby, in Halifax.

Children: Abigail [b 1860] who married Joseph Holt Haigh

Slater, T. A.
[18??-18??] Damask and carpet manufacturer at Burrwood Mill, Stainland [1869]. He occupied the 1st and 2nd floors of the mill

Slater, Thomas
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1809]

Slater, W.
[18??-18??] In 1845, he occupied Stubbing Mill, Erringden.

He was found guilty of

working 4 young children without being registered

and

working a little child without either registering or certifying

He was fined £4 10/-

Slater, William
[1575-1620] Son of Margaret [née Wilkinson] and Richard Slater, of Keighley.

He was a Halifax attorney [1609-1619]. He lived at Magson House, Southgate which he bought from Sir Arthur Ingram in 1609. He owned property in and around Bingley, and the Manor of Oxenhope.

In 1602, he married Jenet, daughter of Edward Broadley.

Children: (1) Edward; (2) William [1609-1619]

Slaters Bank Farm, Hebden Bridge
Two 18th century dwelling and underdwelling houses.

The underdwellings are of the back-to-earth type

Slaughter Gap, Battle of
On 4th January 1644, during the Civil War, Major Eden marched a small Parliamentary force through Sowerby, leaving Captain Helliwell's company to guard his camp. In the earlier Battle of Sowerby Bridge, he encountered the Royalists, killed 3 men and captured Captain Clapham and others.

Captain Farrar and his cavalry, pursued the retreating Royalists towards Halifax, but they went too far, and could not regain their main force at Sowerby Bridge.

Mackworth's outpost at Kings Cross and Senby Edge, blocked the direct route back to Heptonstall, so Farrar appears to have led his men across Halifax Moor and Ovenden Wood, with the intention of crossing the head of Luddenden Dean and the moors at Heptonstall. They were checked at Mixenden and obliged to fight on the slope between Hunter Hill and Mixenden Brook. Portions of gun barrels, locks and flints have been found on Hunter Hill.

The traditional name of the place is Bloody Field and a part of Binns Hole Clough is called Slaughter Gap.

Captain Farrar and 9 men were obliged to surrender and one of the men was killed. 3 of the prisoners were hanged near the Gibbet for deserting from Mackworth's force

Slead Cottage, Southowram
Chapel Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Slead Hall, Brighouse
Halifax Road, Slead Syke.

See Slead Hall Lodge, Brighouse

Slead Hall Lodge, Brighouse
Halifax Road, Slead Syke. The 19th century lodge for Slead Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

Slead House, Brighouse
Slead Syke.

A re-used stone dated 1671 suggests that there was an earlier house on the site.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 2 dwellings

Slead Syke
Also spelled Sike. An area of Brighouse.

In the early 20th century, there were several proposals for the construction of boys' and/or girls' schools on the site

Slead Syke Nurseries, Brighouse
Established around 1864 by Charles Kershaw and his son.

Other members of the family were involved in the business, including Robert Kershaw [1929].

The receiver was called in 1929.

In 1928, Yates's Seed Merchants bought into the business.

The business evolved into Kershaw's Garden Centre – now run by the Yates family – and still stands in Halifax Road, Brighouse

Slead Syke Sports Centre
Brighouse. The sports facilities of Brighouse High School. The sports centre opened in 19??


Question: Is there a website with more up-to-date information?

 

Sleap, Edward
[18??-18??] MA.

Educated at Brazenose College Oxford. He was elected headmaster at Heath Grammar School [20th February 1840]

Sleath, William Fernie
[1886-1965] Born in Leith, Scotland.

He was manager in a typewriter company [1911].

In 1911, he was listed as a visitor staying with the family of Booth Hartley.

In 1918, he married (1) Ann, daughter of Booth Hartley, in Hull.

Ann died 5th February 1919. She was buried at St Mary's Church, Cottonstones.

In 1921, he married (2) Isabella, her sister, in Halifax

Sleddel, John
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1784]

Sleepy Lowe, Warley Moor
Prehistoric stone cairn. Recorded on maps produced in 1850

Sleigh, William
[1???-18??] Methodist preacher at Todmorden [1833]

Slippy Lane, Mixenden
There is a clapper bridge over the Hebble here

Slitheroe
Aka Slithero, Slitherom, Slithrom.

That part of Rishworth where the road bends to cross the Ryburn

Slitheroe Bridge, Rishworth
A large stone and concrete arch carries the Rochdale Road over the Ryburn.

It is the boundary between Rishworth and Soyland townships.

The original bridge was washed away on 16th November 1866, and again destroyed on 10th October 1873.

It presented a dangerous bend for traffic and was rebuilt when the road was widened in 1925.

See Rishworth Station, Rishworth Toll House and Rishworth Trestle Bridge

Slitheroe House, Rishworth
(Possibly) stood on the site of what was Lower Okes Farm, Rishworth.

Owners and tenants have included

Sloan, Charles
[1???-18??] Tea dealer of Halifax [1834].

On 18th December 1834, he married Hannah Wainhouse at Halifax Parish Church.

He was at 28 Grove Street [1837]

Thomas Sloan was a tea dealer at 25 Church Street [1837]

Sloan, Rev R. C.
[18??-19??] Minister at Trinity Road Baptist Church [1908]

Sloane, Edward
[18??-18??] Of Halifax. In 1849, he published Essays, Tales & Sketches. He was an acquaintance of Branwell Brontë

Slode, Wainstalls
Or Sload.

Owned by the Holdsworth family.

17th century house dated ISF 1662 for Sarah [née Holdsworth] and Jacob Farrar

Slums

Slurring Rock, Hebden Bridge
Large boulder at Hardcastle Crags. Victorian children used to slurslide – down the rock in their metal-shod clogs

Sly, John
[1857-19??] Born in Mickley, Yorkshire. Landlord of the Ring O' Bells, Rastrick [1901].

He married Mary [1859-19??] from Scotland

Smailes, Rev G.
[19??-19??] He served at Reading before becoming Minister at Lightcliffe Congregational Church [1960]

Smales, Walsden
Robert Law & Company owned 4 cottages at Smales.

In 1842, the cottages were occupied by James Greenwood, William Butterworth, James Pickup and John Woodhead

Small Lees, Soyland
House. John del Smaleleghes is mentioned in 1361.

The Crossley family were later associated with the house. Thomas Crossley of Smallots and Edward Crossley of Smaleyes in Sowerby are mentioned in 1535. John Crossley lived here in the early 17th century.

The house is dated IMC 1656 for Martha and John Crossley who rebuilt the house.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

See Far Small Lees, Soyland, Small Lees Mill, Soyland and Upper Small Lees, Soyland

Small, Richard
[1878-19??] He was a carpet mill worker [1910].

He married Martha Ann Hirst.


Martha Ann was the daughter of
John Hirst
 

In 1905, they migrated to the USA.

Children: Winifred Alice Mary [1909-1911] who died in Firthcliffe, USA aged 2 years & 6 months.

The family lived at Firthcliffe, USA [1910].

Living with them in 1910 were Martha Ann's sister Nancy Hirst [aged 29], niece Anna Smith [aged 22] and boarder Robert Campbell [aged 20], all of whom were employed in the carpet works.

Daughter Winifred is remembered on her grandparents' grave at Brighouse Cemetery

Small Wiredrawers' Society
Halifax. Recorded in 1892.

See Halifax Wiredrawers' Association and Wire drawing

Smalley, Henry
[1862-19??] Born in Chesterfield.

He was a bank caretaker [1911].

In [Q4] 1885, he married Sarah Strudwick [1859-19??] from Godalming, Surrey, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Robert Henry [b 1892] who was an apprentice books & fancy goods [1900]; (2) Annie [b 1896].

The family lived at 9 Crossley Street, Halifax [1911]

Smallpage, Samuel
[1???-1757]

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church [31st July 1757]

Smallpage, Samuel
[17??-1788] He (possibly) married Hannah [1732-1815].

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church [6th August 1788]

Smallwood, Percy
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Smallwood, William
[18??-18??] Cab proprietor at Whitehall, Hipperholme [1922]

Smart, Rev D. A.
[19??-19??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1956]

Smeakin Hill, Wadsworth
Or Smeekin Hill. Wadsworth War Memorial stands here

Smedley, John
[1???-18??] Methodist preacher at Sowerby Bridge [1833]

Smeed, Rev V. R.
[18??-19??] Pastor at Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel [1909]

Smeeton, George Frederick
[1837-1890] Born in Congleton. He moved to Halifax around 1860.

He was an ironmonger employing 2 boys [1861]; an ironmonger employing 2 men, 2 apprentices [1871]; a cotton doubler employing 10 men, 12 women and 20 children [1871]; a cotton spinner and cotton yarn manufacturer at Stoney Royd Mills, Halifax [1874, 1881]; a cotton doubler employing 120 hands [1881]; a provisional director of the Stoney Royd Spinning Company Limited [1881].

In 1859, he married Ann, daughter of Thackrah Mills, in Halifax.

Children: (1) William Mills [b 1860]; (2) Charles Henry [b 1864]; (3) Emma Jane [b 1867]; (4) Ellinor Maud (Ellen) [b 1872]; (5) Edward Leaf [b 1875].

The family lived at Old Market, Halifax [1861]; 1 Fountain Street, Halifax [1871]; Savile Park, Halifax [1874]; Grafton Lodge, Halifax [1881]; 13 Dean Street, Layton, Blackpool [1891].

He died at South Shore, Blackpool

Smeeton, W. M.
[1???-1???] Established W. M. Smeeton Limited.

He was listed as a provisional director of the Stoney Royd Spinning Company Limited [1881]

Smeeton's: W. M. Smeeton Limited
Cotton spinners and doublers at Stoney Royd Mills, Halifax [1905]. Established by W. M. Smeeton

Smelt, Henry
[1605-1630] On 31st March 1630, he and Christopher Singleton - both natives of Halifax – Charles Rochester [28] a native of Leeds, and George Rocliffe [33] a native of Doncaster, were executed at the Tyburn for coining base money in Walmgate, York. Their bodies were buried at Saint Sampson's Churchyard, York

Smelt, Olive
[1924-2011] Peter Sutcliffe – the Yorkshire Ripper – was accused of the attempted murder of Mrs Smelt when she was attacked at Boothtown in August 1975. Mrs Smelt had been for a night out with friends, and had been given a lift and dropped off to get fish and chips to take home. Sutcliffe accosted her in an alley and remarked on the bad weather before striking a blow on her head which severely damaged her skull. She recovered from the injuries.

She was the first to indicate that the murderer did not have a Geordie accent

The man who spoke to me and who I believe attacked me was not a very well-spoken man and sounded like a Yorkshireman

Smethurst, E. C.
[18??-19??] Of Sowerby Croft, Norland.

He was injured – head and side badly cut – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, but was treated at home

Smethurst, J. H.
[18??-1???] Designed Sowerby Bridge Baths

Smethurst, Mr
[16??-16??] Curate at Cross Stone [1650-1652] and Curate at Southowram [1656-1661]

Smisson, Rev E. A.
[18??-19??] Minister at Luddendenfoot Congregational Church [1926].

In 1926, he moved to Bradford

Smit-Asquith Diamond Cutting Factories Limited
Established during World War II to process industrial diamonds.

See Asquith's and Rotadop Limited

Smith ...
The entries for people with the surname Smith are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Smith
[Surname]

There are currently around 182 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Smith. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Smith family of Halifax
Originally from Leeds.

Dr Solomon Charles Smith was an early member of the family.

The family is discussed in the book Yorkshire Pedigrees

The Smith family of Illingworth & Wakefield

The family is discussed in the book Yorkshire Pedigrees

Smith & Beaumont
They had a business at Sandbed, Hebden Bridge [around 1950].


Question: Does anyone know anything about the business or Messrs Smith & Beaumont?

 

Smith & Booth
Carriage builders at West Parade Carriage Works, Halifax [1878]

At the Halifax Fine Art & Industrial Exhibition of 1882, they won the Silver Medal for their products.

See Robert Smith

Smith & Bulmer
Wool re-combers of Bailiff Bridge. During World War II, they made explosives for the Ministry of Defence. They occupied mills on what is now the Branxholme Trading Estate

See Smith Bulmer & Company Limited

Smith & Company
19th century manufacturers at Victoria Soap Works, Boothtown. They produced
Smith's "Wash-Easy" Dry Soap – positively the greatest washing-day boon ever invented to lighten the labours of the busy housewife

Smith & Crawshaw
Hebden Bridge tea-dealers and grocers of the 19th century

Smith & Foster
Brewers at Halifax. Partners included J. Foster and E. Smith.

Recorded in April 1862, when when a newspaper announced that the fixtures and fitting at their Admiral Nelson pub at Bowling, Bradford were their property, and not Sarah Thornton's, the occupier.

In November 1862, the partnership was dissolved.

Newspaper reports of the dissolution referred to the

executors of the late P. Beck

Smith & Greenwood
Quarry owners at Southowram. The business was subsequently acquired by Brookes' Limited

Smith & Parnell
London architects. Partners included Alfred Smith and Parnell.

Locally, their work included Manor Heath Mansion

Smith & Peel
Worsted manufacturers at Shelf. Partners included Samuel Peel

Smith & Simpson
Shuttle manufacturers at Vale Mill, Todmorden [1905]. Partners included Fred Smith and William Henry Smith

Smith & Wilshaw
Machine tool makers at Kingston Lathe Works, Halifax [1905]

Smith Art Gallery & Library, Brighouse
Halifax Road. Originally the Rydings was a private house built in 1841 by John Brooke.

The Art Gallery was designed by R. F. Rogerson and opened in 1906. This was the first purpose-built gallery in Calderdale.

See Library, Brighouse Art Circle and Halifax Central Library

Smith's: B. S. S. Smith & Sons Limited
Brass manufacturer at Stannary Works, Halifax. In 1912, they were authorised to manufacture and certify standard water fittings

Smith, Barker & Willson Limited
Ovenden engineering company founded by Fred Smith, Edwin Barker, and George Willson following the industrial unrest of 1897.

Except for a period in the 1920s, they manufactured lathes. In 1935, they used the slogan

We make nowt but lathes

In 1902, they moved to Raglan Street, Halifax. They were at Forest Mill, Ovenden [1905] and Club Lane [1916].

Smith died in 1905. Barker retired in 1912, and his position was filled by J. Richardson.

In 1932, the partnership was dissolved and Willson Lathes Limited was established

Smith's Botanical Gardens, Rastrick
Thornhill Road. The 19th century company produced non-alcoholic drinks. They are probably best remembered for their earthenware jars

Smith Brothers
Drysalters, copperas and chemical manufacturers at Siddal [1874]

Smith, Bulmer & Company Limited
Worsted spinners, woolcombers, topmakers and dyers established at Holmfield Mills, Ovenden and Keighley Mill, Pellon Lane, Halifax, in 1914.

Established by Sam Smith and James William Bulmer.

During World War I, many orders were cancelled and, in 1916, the partnership was dissolved. Smith acquired Clough Mills at Shelf and established Sam Smith (Shelf) Limited. Bulmer continued as sole owner of the business.

The company had works at Branxholme Mills, Brighouse, Holmfield Mills, Ovenden, Keighley Mill, Pellon Lane, Halifax, Hare Street Mills, and Woodfield Mill (Cullingworth)  with warehouses at Akroyd Place and in Bradford, and offices at Palmerstone Buildings, Bradford.

It became a limited company in May 1923.

In 1949, officers of the company included A. E. Ellison of Leeds [Chairman], Ambrose Cockcroft [Managing Director], and William Cockcroft, Charlton Robson, and Henry Rycroft [directors].

In the 1960s, the company was bought out by Parkland Textiles.

The name was later changed to Yorkshire Yarn Dyers.

See John William Bulmer

Smith's: Clarence Smith Limited
Carpet retailers at 95-97 Northgate, Halifax [1936]. Established by Clarence Smith

Smith's: David Smith & Company Limited
Colonial and English wool and noil merchants, top makers, and extractors by new processes and patent machinery. Established by David Smith [1867].

It became a limited company in 1872.

They had business at Kensington Works, Siddal [1871, 1874, 1905], a warehouse at Square, Halifax, and another warehouse in Bradford.

They were known for their patent Niagara wool scouring and washing machine.

In 1890, officials of the company included David Smith [Snr] [Governing Director], John Smith [Director], Joseph Smith [Director], Isaac Smith [Director], Thomas Smith [Jnr] [Director], David Smith [Director], H. E. Greenwood [Managing Director], Thomas Greenwood [Managing Director], Thomas Platt [Salesman], and Thomas Clay [Salesman]

Smith's Drug Company
Chemists and photographic materials dealer at Whitehall, Hipperholme [1905]

Smith's: Ely Smith & Company
They had business at Clay House Mills, Greetland [1900].

The business closed in 1901.

See William Stott

Smith families
See The Smith family of Halifax, The Smith family of Illingworth & Wakefield and The Smyth family

Smith's: Frederick Smith & Company
Wire-making company founded for the production of cards for the textile industry in 1859 by Frederick Smith at Caledonia Wire Mills, Charlestown Road, Halifax

Smith's: G. & A. Smith
Drapers, mercers, hosiers and glovers established around 1890 by G. Smith and A. Smith. They had 2 shops at the junction of 33-34 Commercial Street, and 1 Church Street, Brighouse

Smith's Homes, Rastrick
In 1916, William Smith bought the Boothroyd estate to set up an orphanage for girls. This opened in 1920. It admitted boys and was known as Smith's Homes.

In his will, Smith left an annual sum of £100 to the Homes for scholarships for 2 females at the University of Leeds.

The last children left the Homes in 1959.

Since 1961, it has been the William Henry Smith School, a special school for boys with behavioural and other problems

Smith House Co-operative Store, Brighouse
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited opened at Smith House Avenue in 192?. It served the Smith House housing estate. It closed in 19??.

It is now a convenience store

Smith House housing estate
Brighouse. Housing estate built upon a part of the Crow Nest estate. The land had been acquired for £2,400. 39 houses were to be ready for July 1921. 148 houses opened in July 1929.

The community centre became derelict and was demolished in 197?.

In 1974, Frank Clayton, Calderdale's chief housing officer, said that

demolition could be a viable alternative to improving the houses

The estate now includes Smith House Avenue, Smith House Close, Smith House Crescent, Smith House Drive, Smith House Grove and Smith House Lane - a nightmare for the postman and delivery men

Smith House, Lightcliffe
A timber-framed house on the site of an earlier 15th century aisled house occupied – and renamed – by the Smyth family.

See Lightcliffe House, Little Smith House, Lower Crow Nest, Brighouse and E. L. Schlicht

Smith House Post Office
Opened at Smith House Avenue in 1930s. It was extended to include a convenience store. It serves the Smith House housing estate

Smith's: John & Howorth Smith
Painters at Todmorden.

Partners included John Smith and Howorth Smith.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1854

Smith's: John Smith & Sons
In 1868, John Smith and his son, William a woollen manufacturing business at Badger Hill Mills.

On John's death, his sons William, Edward and Albert, and J. I. Mortimer established John Smith, Sons & Mortimer here. It had become the largest woollen manufacturer in the district by 1922 when William died.

In 1970, some of the older buildings at Badger Hill Mills were badly damaged by fire.

The newer parts of the mills escaped damage, but it was decided to dismantle the old chimney which developed a bad crack in the fire.

However, the demolition by Blaster Bates went wrong, the chimney fell the wrong way and came down on top of the one remaining mill, destroying the new spinning shed and the new machinery. The insurance did not cover the cost of reconstructing the property.

The business closed, and the operation moved to Gosport Mills, Stainland.

Shortly after wards, the business closed entirely

Smith's: John Smith, Sons & Mortimer
After the death of John Smith, his sons William, Edward and Albert, took over the family business at Badger Hill Mills, Rastrick. They were joined by J. I. Mortimer and the business became John Smith, Sons & Mortimer

Smith's: Jonathan Smith & Sons
They had business at Cripplegate, Halifax [1882]

Smith's: Joseph Smith & Sons
Woollen manufacturers established by Joseph Smith. They were at North Dean Mill, West Vale [1891 and remained there until World War II].

Partners included Benjamin Smith, William Henry Smith, and Allen Smith.

The partnership was dissolved in 1891 as regards Benjamin Smith

Smith's: Joshua Smith Limited
Cotton manufacturer founded by Joshua Smith at Frostholme Mill, Cornholme. Partners included Randolph Smith and Walter Smith

Smith, Nicholson & West Limited
Partnership (possibly) comprising Thomas Smith & Company and Nicholson & West Limited.


Question: Does anyone know whether these 2 companies were involved?

 

They had premises

Their subsidiary Surface Finish & Measurement Limited was also at Brunswick House [1970s]

Smith Orphanage, Brighouse
Orphanage endowed by William Smith. It was opened on 31st July 1920

Smith's: S. & W. Smith
Worsted manufacturers at Warley. In the 1830s, they established a factory school at their mill

Smith's: S. Smith & Sons
Yeast and egg importers at Bowman Grove, Halifax [1905]

Smith's: Sam Smith (Shelf) Limited
Spinners at Clough Mill, Shelf established by Samuel Smith [April 1916]

Smith's: Samuel & William Smith
Worsted spinners at Denholme Mills, Luddendenfoot and Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot.

Partners included Samuel Smith and William Smith.

On 28th November 1832, there was a fire at one of their mills.

They employed workers, a large percentage of which were young people. It is recorded that

[the workers] worked from 6:00 am to 8:00 pm, but stopped at 5:00 pm on Saturdays. There was a night shift from 8:00 pm to 6:00 am.

The business failed during the unrest of August 1842

Smith Sundial, People's Park
The sundial which stands in People's Park was originally created by John Smith for Pocklington School, North Yorkshire, but was rejected by the school and bought by Matthew Smith. It was presented to the town in 1873.

It has a great many inscriptions, in English, Latin and Greek.

Time by moments steals away; first the hour, then the day

TEMPUS EDAX RERUM

Greek to follow – can you help?

Smith's: Thomas Smith & Company
Halifax ironmongers.

They had premises on Southgate.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Ironmongers & Tool Merchants, Kitchen Ranges, Chimney Pieces in Wood, Iron, Marble and Slate, etc

22 & 24, Broad Street, Halifax

The business later became a part of Smith, Nicholson & West Limited

Smith, Whiteley & Greenwood
Cotton doublers at Lock Hill Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1874]

Smith's: William Smith & Sons Limited
19th century business established by William Smith at Owler Ings Mills, Brighouse and Woodvale Mills, Brighouse

Smith Wires
In 1973, Frederick Smith & Company went into liquidation. Royston's parent company – The Hawkins and Tipson Group – bought the business and set up Smith Wires

Smith, Wood & Company Limited
Coal and lime merchants at Sowerby Bridge. Established in December 1899 when David Wood & Son amalgamated with Charles & John Smith.

Partners included Joseph Greenwood, Charles Rushworth, Charles Smith, John Smith, and Frederick Wood

Smithers, George
[18??-1???] Of Old Sowerby.

In 1840, he emigrated to Pennsylvania, USA.

Letters to his uncle, Titus Spencer describe his farming life and passing messages from other local men who went to live in America

Smithfield, Hipperholme
The Hipperholme pinfold was here.

See West View, Hipperholme

Smithfield House, Elland
Owners and tenants have included

See Smithfield Mill, Elland

Smithfield House, Hipperholme
Denholme Gate Road.

The building stands next to West View.

Owners and tenants have included

Smithies
[Surname]

There are currently around 14 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Smithies. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Smithies family
Significant Elland family who were involved in the worsted manufacturing business.

See Ellen Royd, Elland and Joseph Smithies & Son Limited

Smithies, Albert
[18??-1???] Waste dealer at West Vale.

In February 1886, he was fined £75 for assault on Alfred Schofield, a Halifax saddler.

The Assizes heard that

on 8th July [?] last, the 2 men, unknown to each other, were members of a group which left the Northgate Hotel. One of the group threw a snow ball [in July?] which struck Schofield. He went to Smithies's group and asked what they meant, whereupon Smithies struck Schofield with his stick, knocking out his right eye. Smithies also attacked Schofield's friend, who in turn knocked him down.

Medical evidence showed that Schofield would be permanently blind in his right eye, and his left eye was also in danger

Smithies, Albert
[1880-1938] Born in Stainland.

He was a joiner [1910].

On 12th November 1910, he married Elizabeth Hollas in Stainland.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
John Hollas
 

They had no children

Smithies, George
[18??-1924] He married Mary.

They lived at Upper Brockholes Farm, Ogden [1924].

He died 12th April 1924.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £648 14/5d. Probate was granted to his widow Mary

Smithies, Henry
[18??-18??] He married Hannah.


Hannah was the daughter of
Peter Jackson
 

Children: Henry.

After his death, Hannah married John Feather

Smithies, Henry
[1859-1923] Son of Henry Smithies.

Born in Halifax.

He was a farmer [1901, 1911].

In [Q3] 1879, he married Sarah Murgatroyd [1852-1917] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1881] who was a worsted weaver [1901]; (2) Eda [1884-1909] who was a dressmaker [1901]; (3) Hannah [b 1885] who was a machinist (fustian clothing) [1911]; (4) Mary Jane [b 1888] who was a clothing work examiner 1911; (5) Lilian [b 1889] who was a machinist [1911]; (6) Henry [b 1891] who was a motor driver [1923].

The family lived at 1 Long Riggings, Mount Tabor [1911].

Henry is mentioned in the will of his step-brother Peter Ratcliffe Feather [1901].

He died 25th December 1923.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £524 8/9d. Probate was granted to son Henry

Smithies, John
[18??-18??] He married Martha Ann Haigh [1842].


Martha Ann was the daughter of
Luke Haigh
 

Children: Joseph Edward [b 1855]

Smithies, John
[18??-19??] Worsted spinner at Marshall Hall Mills, Elland [1905].

He was a nominee for the Elland-cum-Greetland Board of Guardians [1869].

He lived at Marshall Hall, Elland [1869]

Smithies, John William
[18??-19??] Son of Joseph Smithies.

A worsted spinner and manufacturer.

On 29th January 1902, he was re-elected President of Halifax Chamber of Commerce.

He lived at Rockcliffe, Halifax [1891, 1912]

Smithies, Joseph
[18??-19??] JP.

A member of the Smithies family.

He was an Alderman of the West Riding County Council; Chairman of the local board. He established Joseph Smithies & Son Limited at Albert Mills, Elland.

He owned Bank Bottom Mill, Elland and property in Westgate, Elland.

He married Unknown.

Children: John William.

The family lived at Rockcliffe, Halifax

Smithies, Joseph
[1832-1907] Born in Stainland.

He was a weaver [1854].

On 16th July 1854, he married Susan Hollas at Elland Parish Church.


Susan was the daughter of
Thomas Hollas
 

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child.

The children were all born in Stainland, and baptised at Ripponden

Smithies's: Joseph Smithies & Son Limited
Worsted spinners established around 1870 by Joseph Smithies. They had business at Perseverance Mill, Elland and Albert Mills, Elland.

They later left the Perseverance Mill and rebuilt a new Albert Mills. after that had burnt down. on 7th June 1860. The new 6-storey mill was lit by electricity.

In 1895, they employed around 800 workers.

In 1875, the company built Smithies Buildings for their workers.

The business closed in 1970

Smithies, Lydia
[1841-1904] Daughter of farmer Henry Smithies. Born in Thornton.

She was a drawer [1860]; a warper [1861].

In 1860, she married Thomas Ingham [1839-1885] in Bradford Cathedral.

After Thomas's death, Lydia married Thomas Hutchinson [1889].

Thomas died in 1890.

Lydia was landlady of the Blue Ball Inn, Halifax [1901, 1904].

She is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904

Smithies, Oliver
[1925-] Geneticist and Nobel Prize winner.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Copley Primary School and at Heath Grammar School [1936-1943].

He became an American citizen.

In 1980, he was co-pilot in a Cessna aircraft that broke records for crossing the Atlantic.

Prof Smithies is credited with the invention of gel electrophoresis [1955], and the simultaneous discovery, with Mario Capecchi, of the technique of homologous recombination of transgenic DNA with genomic DNA.

He won the Nobel Prize in Physiology / Medicine [2007].

In July 2010, a blue plaque in his honour was unveiled at Copley Primary School

Smithies, Richard
[1850-1???] Son of butcher John Smithies.

He was a commercial clerk [1873]; a brewery cashier at St John's House, St John's Lane, Halifax [1891]; a brewery company secretary [1895].

In 1873, he married Martha Jane, daughter of James Charnock, in Halifax.

Children: (1) James Charnock [b 1874] who was an architect's apprentice [1891]; (2) Mary Alice [b 1876].

In 1881, 1891, 1901, the children were living with their Charnock grandparents

Smithies, Thomas
[18??-18??] He played an heroic rôle in the assault of Sarah Ann Burrow & Martha Ann Burrow.

In December 1859

the young man whose conduct was so praiseworthy at the time of the shocking outrage

in response to a respectably-signed requisition, was presented with a watch – bearing a suitable inscription – and a Bible

Smithies: W. & L. Smithies
Cotton waste dealers at West Vale.

Partners included William Smithies and Levi Smithies.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1877

Smiths & Peels
Woollen manufacturers at West Vale.

Partners included Joseph Smith, Joshua Smith, W. Peel and R. Peel.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1868

The Smithson family
Brighouse family. They lived at Lydgate House, Brighouse

Smithson, Agnes
[1794-1891] Born at Strickland / Strickland Nuttle.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Joshua; (2) Elizabeth [b 1820]; (3) Agnes; (4) Joseph.

The family lived at Wood Street, Lancaster [1841]; with Margaret and John Garnett [aged 67] at 1 Hillside, Lancaster. [1851]; Sunderland's Yard, Halifax [1861]; 19 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1871].

In later years, Agnes and here daughters were staying in Hipperholme with son Joseph

Smithson, Agnes
[1830-19??] Daughter of Agnes Smithson.

In 1911, she was single and living by

private means

at Savile Green, 2 Savile Road, Halifax. There were staff, including 2 sick nurses, at the same address

Smithson & Sugden
Tobacco manufacturers at Woolshops, Halifax [1850]

Smithson, Charles Holmes
[1866-1944] Son of Joseph Smithson.

He and his brother Joseph were pupils at Friends School, Ackworth, Pontefract [1881].

He died in Halifax

Smithson, John
[1???-16??] Aka Smythson. He was related to the Power family – see John Power. He was a churchwarden at Halifax Parish Church. He built Mulcture Hall, Halifax. He owned considerable properties in Halifax, including the Woollen Hall, the Linen Hall, a corn-shop, several corn mills

Smithson, John
[1821-1877] He was

In 1871, he married Sarah Ann, daughter of Charles Kershaw, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Oliver Cromwell [b 1872] who married [1871] Rose from Scotland and was a surgeon in Kettering [1901]; (2) Beatrice Jane [b 1874] who married [1898] George Page Siddall [b 1864]; (3) Ambrosine Alicia [b 1875]; (4) Elizabeth Helen [b 1877]

Smithson, Joseph
[1834-1???] Son of Agnes Smithson.

Born in Ulverston.

He was an apprentice woollen draper [1861]; a manufacturer [1861]; a worsted manufacturer employing 205 workpeople [1871]; a stuff printer [1881, 1891].

In 1860, he married Mary Ann Holmes [1832-1867] at Lancaster.


Mary Ann was the daughter of woollen draper, tailor and brick maker Charles John Holmes [1831-1???]
 

Children: (1) Joshua [b 1861]; (2) Mary [b 1863]; (3) Charles Holmes; (4) Joseph.

The family lived at 4 Trinity Place, Halifax [1861]; 21 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1871]; Yew Cottage, Hipperholme [1881, 1891].

Living with them in 1861 were visitors Sarah Orr or Ord [aged 41] and Maria Orr or Ord [aged 36].

Living with the widowed Joseph in 1881 were his mother Agnes and sisters Elizabeth and Agnes. Also there were James Smithson [b 1857] Mary Agnes Smithson [b 1855] and Sarah Alice Smithson [b 1859] all shown as unmarried, cotton spinners born Rochdale.

Living with him in 1891 were three of his children, his mother Agnes and sisters Elizabeth and Agnes. Also there was visitor Elizabeth Garnett [aged 69]

Smithson, Joseph
[1867-1???] Son of Joseph Smithson.

He and his brother Charles Holmes were pupils at Friends School, Ackworth, Pontefract [1881]

Smithson's: Joseph Smithson & Company
Stuff manufacturers at Brunswick Mills, Halifax [1874] and at Bradford

Smithson's: Joseph Smithson Limited
Stuff manufacturers at Bankfield Mill, Haley Hill [1905] and Park Print Works, Halifax [1905]

Smithson, Joshua
[1817-1906] Son of Agnes Smithson.

Born at Preston Patrick, Westmorland.

He was a tea dealer [1841, 1851] [1861]; a cotton manufacturer [1871, 1881, 1891]. He had business at India Buildings, Halifax [around 1900]

He was Chairman of the Hipperholme Local Board.

The family owned Smithson Park at Lightcliffe which was named for them

In 1855, he married Elizabeth Nash [1820-1888] in Manchester.

They had no children.

In 1841, Joshua was a tea dealer living with Thomas Collinson at Fountain Street, Halifax.

In 1851, he was living with his brother John [aged 26] (tea dealer) and his sisters Elizabeth [aged 31] and Agnes [aged 21] in Gibbet Street, Halifax.

In 1861, Joshua, his wife Elizabeth and a visitor Mary King [aged 37] were at Rotunda Cottage, North Moels, Southport.

The family lived at Lydgate House, Lightcliffe [1871, 1874, 1881].

Living with them in 1874 was his niece.

Living with them in 1891 was niece Edith E. Nash [aged 52].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell. The ceremony was performed by Thomas Collinson. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £9,982 13/-. Probate was granted to his nephews Joshua Smithson, the younger, Charles Holmes Smithson and Joseph Smithson, the younger, stuff manufacturers & printers

Smithson Park, Lightcliffe
Named for Joshua Smithson of Lydgate House, Lightcliffe.

In 1922, the Smithsons sold the land at 8d per square yard; a total of £2,000. The money was raised by public donations.

In September 1923, the land was renamed Lightcliffe Stray

Smithy Bridge, Halifax
Another name for Clark Bridge, Halifax

Smithy Carr Lane Co-operative Store, Brighouse
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited opened in July 1914 at the corner of Dewhirst Road and Smithy Carr Lane. It closed in 19??

Smithy Carr Lane Toll Bar, Brighouse
In the 19th century, there was a toll bar at the junction of Smithy Carr Lane with the Bradford-Brighouse turnpike

Smithy Clough, Ripponden
House.

Owners and tenants have included

Smithyholme Lock, Todmorden
Lock #25 on the Rochdale Canal. Built around 1798.

In 19??, was restored with funds from the Halifax Building Society.

See Eli Crossley

Smithysteads, Hebden Bridge
An area of Hebden Bridge where Colden Water meets the Calder.

Mytholm is a part of Smithysteads

Smoke Clubs
See

Smurfit, Thomas
[17??-18??] Landlord of the Talbot, Halifax [1809, 1810]

He married Rebecca [1771-1835].

Rebecca was a widow when she died

The Smyth family
They lived at Royd House, Lightcliffe and renamed it Smith House. They lived there for several centuries

Smyth, John
[1623-1686] Of Myreshaw. Son of Richard Smyth. He was a prosperous farmer and woolstapler of Bradford.

He married Isabel Wood, daughter of Randall Wood.

Children: (1) Mary [1650-1665]; (2) Richard [1652-1721]; (3) John; (4) Thomas [1656-1682]; (5) Alice [1660-1665]; (6) Randall [1658-1682]; (7) Jeremiah [1665-1684]; (8) William [1667-1686]; (9) James [1669-1720]; (10) Mary [1671-1673].

Around 1666, he bought Carr House Farm, Shelf

Smyth, John
[1653-1???] Son of John Smyth.

Born in Bradford.

JP for the West Riding.

In 1709, he bought the Heath estate at Wakefield, where he had extensions done by John Carr between 1754-1780.

On 11th October 1683, he married (1) Hannah Harrison.

Children: (1) John; (2) Richard; (3) Elizabeth [1690-1705]; (4) Hannah [1691-1775] who died unmarried; (5) Thomas [1692-1693].

In 1697, he married (2) Mary Mitchell.

In September 1708, he married (3) Henrietta Metcalfe.

In 1726, he founded Smyth's Charity School.

In his will, he directed his son, John, to pay 40/- per year to the Vicar of Halifax for preaching a charity sermon, and 40/- to buy books and Bibles for the children at the charity school.

He was buried at Wakefield

Smyth, John
[1715-1771] Son of Richard Smith.

On 6th May 1746, he married Bridget Foxley [1725-1800].


Bridget was the daughter of Benjamin Foxley of London
 

Children: John

Smyth, John
[1748-1811] PC, MP.

Son of John Smyth.

He was Lord of the Admiralty; Lord of the Treasury; Master of the Mint; MP for Pontefract [for 25 years].

In 1776, he sold Carr House Farm, Shelf to John Stocks

On 4th June 1778, he married Lady Georgina Fitzroy [1757-1799].


Georgina was the eldest daughter of Augustus Henry, 3rd Duke of Grafton
 

Children: (1) John Henry [1779-1779]; (2) John Henry; (3) George [1782-1853]; (4) Thomas [b 1784] who became a captain in the Royal Navy; (5) Charles [1786-1815] who became a major in the Army; (6) Georgiana Ann [1779-1864]; (7) Caroline Bridget [1789-1789]; (8) Maria Bridget Frances [1796-1813]

Smyth, John George
[1815-1869] Of Heath Hall, Wakefield. Son of John Henry Smyth

He married Diana Bosville Macdonald [1812-1880].


Diana was the daughter of Godfrey Macdonald, 3rd Baron Macdonald of Slate
 

Children: (1) Laura Harriet [b 1840]; (2) George John Fitzroy [b 1841]; (3) Henry Edward [1842-1850]; (4) Mary Caroline [b 1844]; (5) William James [b 1847]; (6) Frederick Augustus [1850-1850]; (7) Eva Laura [b 1854]; (8) Diana Elizabeth Matilda [b 1858] who married Henry Lascelles, 4th Earl of Harewood

Smyth, John Henry
[1780-1822] Of Heath Hall, Wakefield. Son of John Smyth.

On 25th July 1810, he married (1) Sarah Caroline Ibbetson [17??-1811] from Northumberland.

On 16th April 1814, he married (2) Lady Elizabeth Anne Fitzroy [1788-1867].


Elizabeth Anne was the third daughter of George FitzRoy, 4th Duke of Grafton, and John Henry's first cousin
 

Children: (1) John George; (2) Henry [1816-18??]; (3) Elizabeth Sarah; (4) Louisa Georgiana [18??-1842]; (5) Maria Isabella [18??-1865]; (6) Frances [18??-1872]

Smyth, Richard
[1594-1656] Of Myreshaw.

He married (1) Margaret Hodgson.

Children: (1) Richard [1622-1640]; (2) John; (3) Thomas [1622-1661]; (4) Margaret [1621-1640].

He married (2) Lucretia Pearson [1605-1689] from Bradford.

Children: (5) Margaret who married John Sandal from Idle

Smyth, Richard
[1688-1730] or Smith.

Son of John Smyth.

On 24th July 1711, he married Anne Wheatley, at Woolley.


Anne was the daughter of Francis Wheatley of Woolley
 

Children: (1) John; (2) Richard [1718-1719]; (3) James [1719-1719]; (4) Thomas [1724-1763] who became rector of Hemsworth

Smythe Bridge, Southowram
A will of January 1533 mentions
townshipe of Southowrame bye Smythe Brigge

although the precise location is unknown

Smythe, Miss
[18??-1???] First headmistress of the Halifax High School for Girls [January-September 1877]

Snake Hill Ford, Rastrick
Near Birds Royd Lane and just beneath the Huddersfield Road bridge over the Calder.

The ford river crossing from Snake Hill to Low Mill was the site of an important ford across the Calder in Roman Times. Stepping-stones – known as Black gress – are recorded in 1300.

There is also a weir here.

The ford is still passable – except when the Calder is in flood.

See Snake Hill Meeting House, Rastrick and Snake Hill, Rastrick

Snake Hill Wood, Lee Mount

Snakes' Nest, Elland
A men's reading room and news room which stood at the junction of Westgate and Jepson Lane.

Closed around 1910

Snape Farm
See Lower Snape Farm, Sowerby and Upper Snape Farm, Sowerby

Snedall, Thomas
[15??-1619] Gent of Halifax.

He married Anne [15??-1638].

In his will of 16th September 1619, he left

unto godly uses, five pounds to be bestowed according to the discretion on my overseers

In her will, Anne bequeathed

20s per annum for an anniversary sermon to be preached at Halifax Church, and a legacy of £20 which, with £11 added by Dr Hooke, was invested in purchasing the closed behind the vicarage house

The couple were buried in Halifax Parish Church

Snepp, Rev Edward
[1827-1899] MA.

Born in Alcester, Warwickshire.

He was Domestic Chaplain to the Lieutenant-Governor, Lezayre, Isle of Man [1861]. before becoming Vicar of Saint Paul's Church, Halifax [1865, 1881, 1891]. In 1892, he was appointed vicar of Burstow, Kent.

In 1847, he married Anna Neville Spong [1830-1915] from Aylesford, Kent, in Richmond, Surrey.

Children: (1) Edward Maitland [b 1849]; (2) Charles George [b 1851]; (3) Anna Emily Mary [b 1852] (Nina) who married Wallace Lea Norris; (4) John [b 1854]; (5) Fanny Edith [b 1856]; (6) Charlotte Mary Beatrice [b 1859]; (7) Rosa Julia [b 1860]; (8) Mona [b 1861]; (9) Rowan L [1864-1916]; (10) Sydney Maude [b 1866].

The family lived at Vicarage House, King Cross, Halifax [1871]; Fernside, Station Road, Chertsey, Surrey [1901]

Snetzler, John (Johann)
[1710-1785] Organ-builder.

Born in Schaffhausen, Switzerland.

He was apprenticed in Passau before coming to work in England. By 1747, he was established in London. He visited Halifax in the 1760s.

He built several local organs:

Snook, Harriet
[1830-1927] Daughter of Mary [née Hawkins] and John Snook, of Somerset.

She married General James Bintliff in New York. She died in Cleveland, Ohio

Snow Booth Farm, Hebden Bridge
See Agnes Rhodes

Snow Hill, Rishworth

The Snow of 1947
There have been a great many snowfalls in and around the district, but the one of 1947 is the one that they still talk about

See Rev Robert Martineau

Snow, Rev Thomas
[18??-18??] He was Curate at Greetland [1859]; Chaplain of the Halifax Union Workhouse and of the Debtors' Gaol [1860, 1867].

In [Q2] 1849, he married (1) Matilda Collins [1814-1864] in Leeds.

Children: (1) John Collins [1856-1867]; (2) Fanny [d 1860] who died in infancy.

In [Q2] 1865, he married (2) Edith Jane Nixon in Halifax.

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Snow White Laundry, Todmorden
Established in 1955 by Reg Hargreaves. This was one of several laundries and dry-cleaning businesses in the area run by Reg and his business partner, Lou Orton. After Reg's death in 1955, Lou continued the businesses, until he emigrated to Australia in 1963.

They occupied the building which had been Todmorden Post Office.

The premises are now offices

Snowden, Corronetta
[1860-1961] Or Coronetta.

Daughter of George Snowden.

Born in Doncaster.

She lived in Elland.

In 1878, she married (1) Abraham Dixon.

Abraham died 1892 (aged 33).

In 1894, she married (2) Joseph Mallinson.

Joseph died 1910 (aged 48).

In [Q4] 1912, she married (3) John Holgate.

In [Q4] 1924, she married (4) Sam Dodson [1869-1943].

On 25th September 1915, the Halifax Courier published an article about Corronetta's sons Alonzo, Kalita, Everett, Roland, Albert, and Thomas who were all on active service during World War I.

Corronetta died 1961 (aged 100) 

Snowden, George
[1832-1???] Born in East Stockwith, Lincolnshire.

He was a tailor [1861].

He married Charlotte [1833-1???].


Charlotte was born in West Stockwith, Lincolnshire
 

Children: (1) Ann Elizabeth [b 1854]; (2) Hopkinson [b 1855]; (3) Frederick [b 1857]; (4) Abraham [b 1859]; (5) Corronetta.

The family lived at 7 Swift's Buildings, Doncaster [1861]

Snowden, John
[1821-1884] Born at Beggarington. He was an active Radical and Chartist. In August 1842, he was present at a meeting in Haley Hill when the military charged the crowd. To get out of the way, he went on to fields owned by Jonathan Akroyd and – along with 17 others – was arrested and taken to Wakefield. He spent 7 days in the House of Correction there

Snowden, Robert
[16??-16??] He lived at Marsh Hall, Northowram

Snowden, William
[1???-18??] On 16th July 1849, he and Jonas Mitchell were found guilty of burglary at the house of John Roberts and stealing £20. Roberts, his wife and daughters were brutally beaten, and threatened with death by the thieves, to compel them to disclose where their money was deposited. On account of the aggravated nature of the crime, the Judge ordered the death sentence to be recorded

Snowden, William
[16??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1683]

Snowdrop Band
The Bridge End (Rastrick) Congregational Snowdrop Band at Bridge End Congregational Church, Rastrick is mentioned in 1911

Snydal Farm, Southowram
Higgin Lane. Aka Siddal Farm, Old Siddal Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1848, a newspaper announced

SALE OF VALUABLE FREEHOLD ESTATE in SOUTHOWRAM

ONE-SIXTH part of all that farm known as Snydal or Siddal Farm situated in Southowram with all the buiildings, homestead, gardens and ten closes of land being together 29DW. 1R. 8P. at present occupied by Mr. Wm. Hebblethwaite. Also ONE-SIXTH of all the COAL UNDER THE SAID Snydal or Siddal Farm which is computed to be about 16 days work of the Soft Bed Coal

In January 1854, a newspaper announced

Sale by Auction

One equal undivided third part or share in all that excellent FARM called Old Siddall otherwise the Old Snydale Farm situated in Southowram aforesaid, consisting of Farm House, Two Cottages, Barn, Stables, Two gardens and several closes of land called the Tenter Bank, the Back 'oth House field, the Mickle field, the Long Brow, the Clough Brow, the Upper Horse, the Lower Horse, the Round Ing, the Great Ing and the Ing. containing 19A. 1R. 0P. in the occupation of Mr. William Hebblethwaite and his undertenants

See Snydal

Snydall, Ann
[15??-16??] In her will of 1638, she gave 20/- to have a sermon preached every year on Saint Peter's Day at Halifax Parish Church. Using figures for average earnings, 20/- in 1638 is roughly the equivalent of £1,590 today

Snydle Farm, Southowram
Whitegate Top.

See Snydal

Soaper House, Coley
Soaper House Lane. Aka Soper House. Owned by Samuel Hoile of Hoyle House, Lightcliffe. It passed to his younger son

Soar, Joseph
[18??-19??] Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1911-1915].

He left to become organist at St David's Cathedral

Sobriety Hall, Todmorden
Union Street. Opened 8th March 1851.

The Todmorden Musical Union practised here from 30th July 1856.

On 5th October 1862, a reading room was opened for the use of those workers affected by the Cotton Famine.

The Todmorden Mechanics' Institute was here from 1960, until they moved to The Strand.

See Independent Order of Rechabites Temperance Friendly Society and Wellington Road Baptists

Socialist Hall, Halifax
Recorded in 1905 at 2 Back Victoria Street

Society of Druids, Southowram
Recorded in 1879

Society of Goodfellowship
Aka Female Sociable Society

Society of Knights Templar, Halifax
Officers and Members have included

Society of Weavers
Halifax friendly society established in 1752.

See Northern Counties Amalgamated Society of Weavers

Sod House Green, Ovenden
House. In the 1730s, it was owned by George Ramsden of Jumples Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Soil Hill
Aka Sol Hill, Swill Hill, and Swilling Hill. A hill – 1320 ft above sea-level – at Ogden, Halifax.

There were potteries and coal mining here from around 1600.

See Barms Hill Pottery, Old Gin Pit, Ovenden, Poor's Cottage and Soil Hill Pottery

Soil Hill Farm, Bradshaw
Owners and tenants have included

Sokald, J.
[17??-18??] Taylor and draper at Nelson Street, Halifax [1809]

Sol Hill

Sole Mio Blanket
A product – said to be the finest blanket in the world – which was produced by Moderna. The company was very protective of the design and the machinery which was used to manufacture the blanket

Somerley, Halifax
Owners and tenants have included

Somerleyton, Baron

Somerleyton, Lord
Sir Francis Crossley was created the First Baronet – Lord Somerleyton – in 1863.

  1. The title of Second Baronet and First Baron Somerleyton passed to his son, Sir Savile Brinton Crossley

  2. The title of Second Baron passed to his son, Francis Savile Crossley

  3. The title of Third Baron passed to his son, Savile William Francis Crossley

  4. The title of Fourth Baron will pass to his son Hugh Crossley

Somers, Norman
[19??-19??] Actor. He was one of the actors who played the character of Larry the Lamb on the BBC Children's Hour Toytown.

He appeared in the film Never Look Back [1952].

In 1960, he and Alan Bracewell bought the Royal Hotel, Rishworth

Somerscale's Charity Almshouses, Holmfield
School Lane. Recorded in 1905.

See Richard Somerscale's Charity

Somerscale, Richard
[15??-1613] Or Somerscales, Sommerscales. Of Halifax.

He died 8th April 1613.

In his will, he established Richard Somerscale's Charity, leaving

all his lands in Halifax and Ovenden to the poor of the said towns for ever

after the death of his sister, Mrs John Holdsworth. He also left 40/- to John Holdsworth

for the term of his life

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Somerscale's: Richard Somerscale's Charity
Established on 18th March 1622 under the will of Richard Somerscale who bequeathed the rents and profits from his land and property in Halifax & Ovenden to the poor of those districts.

See John William Calvert, Somerscale's Charity Almshouses and John Whitley

Somerscales, Thomas
[1831-1877] Born in Halifax.

He was a clay miner [1849].

On 22nd December 1849, he married Eliza Furness at Elland Parish Church.


Eliza was the daughter of
Moses Furness
 

Children: Sarah Ann [1850-1910] who married Harry Denevon

Somerset House, Halifax
Name given to Royds' House by J. H. S. Finlinson in 1898 because he had business interests in a paper mill in Somerset

Somerton, Rev Thomas
[16??-1658] A farrier and blacksmith. He was minister at Rossendale [1653] before becoming Curate at Todmorden [1653-1658]

Somerville, Dr William
[18??-19??] Of Brighouse.

In 1915, he married Alice Maclean MB from Glasgow

Somerville, William (Billy)
[1898-1960] Aka Slim. He was a well-known Halifax character of the 1950s.

Born in Kilmarnock, he came to Halifax when his father, Harry Somerville, became wool buyer for a local firm.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School. During World War I, he served as a dispatch rider with the Royal Army Service Corps in France.

He frequented the Savile Park and Skircoat Green area, where he could be seen doing odd jobs such as gardening and clearing snow. He often carried gardening shears and a bundle of tools. Children would run and hide when they saw him coming. It was said that his itinerant life-style developed after a motor cycle accident

Sonley, James A.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Royal Army Medical Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Sonley, W.
[18??-18??] Tailor at Todmorden

In November 1869, he had a bankruptcy annulled

Soothill
Another form of the surname is Suttle.

The name probably originated in Dewsbury

There are currently around 13 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Soothill. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Soothill family
They were lords of the Manor of Midgley [1317], and controlled Stansfield and Rawtenstall.

Another branch of the family were Lords of the Manor of Clifton.

See Brearley Hall, Luddendenfoot, Gilbert Lacy, Sir Gerard Soothill, Thomas de Soothill and Mr Soothill

Soothill, Bessie Taylor
[19??-19??] Elder daughter of W. Soothill.

On 23rd April 1949, she married Henry John Keys from Sudbury, Middlesex at Saint John the Divine, Rastrick

Soothill, David
[1775-18??] A dyer [1841].

He married Judith [1771-18??].

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1813] who was a dyer [1841]; (2) Ellen [b 1805]; (3) David [b 1833]; (4) William; (5) Abraham [b 1842] who was a woolstapler [1861].

The family lived at Lilly Lane, Halifax [1841]

Soothill, Dorothea
[1885-1959] Daughter of Professor William Edward Soothill. Born in Ningpo, China.

She married Sir Alexander Hosie.

Lady Hosie wrote several books on Chinese life.

  • Brave new China

  • The pool of Ch'ien Lung: A tale of modern Peking

  • Portrait of a Chinese Lady and Certain of Her Contemporaries

  • An Intimate Description of the Private Life of Two Gentlemen of China

  • The Analects of Confucius [with her father]
and also

  • Jesus and Woman: a study of the four Gospels

  • The Master Calleth For Thee: Jesus' Teaching Concerning Women

She also completed – and wrote the foreword for – the book A Passport to China written by her mother. She co-edited her father's book The Hall of Light [1951].

In her father's probate records of 1935, she is identified as Dame Dorothea Hosie

Soothill, Elizabeth
[1???-15??] Daughter of Margery [née Fitzwilliam] of Sprotborough and Thomas Soothill of Soothill.

She married (1) Sir Henry Savile.

After Henry's death, she married (2) Richard Gascoigne from Barnbow

Soothill, Sir Gerard
[13??-14??] Of Redbourne, Lincolnshire and Brearley Hall, Luddendenfoot. He was Lord of Midgley.

He married Elizabeth Fulnetby.

Children: Johanna [Isabel] [1400-14??] who married Gilbert Lacy

Soothill, Henry de
[1278-1351] Son of Sir John De Soothill

In 1326, the Manor of Midgley (possibly) to him from his uncle Thomas de Soothill

Soothill, Sir John De
[1???-1???] Son of Mr Soothill.

He married Unknown.

Children: Henry

Soothill, Mr
[1???-1???] A member of the Soothill family.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) John

Soothill, Thomas De
[12??-1326] Son of Mr Soothill.

He was Lord of the Manor of Midgley at Brearley Hall. After his death, the Manor (possibly) passed to his nephew Henry

Soothill, Dr Victor Farrar
[1888-1956] MRCS [Eng 1912], LRCP [Lond 1912], MB, B.Chir [1913], MD [1918], DPH [1920], U. Camb.

Son of Professor William Edward Soothill.

He was a medical practitioner and Medical Officer of Health for Norwich.

In 1916, he married Katherine H. Bradfield.

Children: (1) Joyce; (2) Edward; (3) John Farrar [1925-2004] who married [1951] Brenda Thornton. His death was registered in Norwich [1956]

Soothill, W.
[1???-1???] Of Brighouse.

He married Unknown.

Children: Bessie Taylor

Soothill, William
[1836-1893] Son of David Soothill.

Born in Halifax.

He was a stuff presser [1871]; a New Connexion lay minister [1871]; a cloth-presser [1881]; a lay-preacher of the United Methodist Free Church.

In 1858, he married Margaret Ashworth [1840-1919] in Halifax.

Children: (1) William Edward; (2) Alfred [b 1863]; (3) Walter [b 1866]; (4) Clara Bertha [b 1870]; (5) Ruth E [b 1879].

The family lived at 4 Bedford Yard, Halifax [1861]; 5 Bedford Street, Halifax [1871]; 9 Cromwell Terrace, Halifax [1881].

Living with them in 1861 was William's brother Abraham.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £339 15/-.

Margaret's death was registered in Croydon, Surrey

Soothill, William Edward
[1861-1935] Son of William Soothill.

He became a distinguished Chinese scholar

Soppitt, Henry Thomas
[1858-1899] Born in Bradford. In 1894, he moved to Halifax. He did much work on microscopic fungi in Halifax and published many articles on the subject.

He died 1st April 1899

Sorby
A variant of the surname Sowerby

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sorsby
A variant of the surname Sowerby

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sorsby & Company
Coal merchants and colliery agents established by J. H. Sorsby. They were at 17 Crossley Street, Halifax [1930] and Littleborough

Sorsby, J. H.
[1???-19??] Proprietor of Sorsby & Company [1930]

Sottenstall
A variant of the surname Saltonstall

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Sottenstall, William
[1800-1889] Or Sottanstall. Son of Sally and John Sottenstall.

He became Parish clerk of Sowerby.

He was a preacher and a bell-ringer at the Church.

He composed several peals.

On Saturday 12th October 1867, at St Paul's Church, Shipley, he performed a peal of 6,666 changes of Kent Treble Bob Major which he had composed. The peal took 4 hours, 27 minutes and 30 seconds to ring.

In 1867, he wrote a book about bell-ringing

Elements of Campanologia
or
An essay on the art of ringing

There is an original volume of the work at the Church.

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Sougholme, Shibden
Farm which was a part of the Shibden Hall Estate.

See Sough

Sour Milk Hall, Claremount
Horley Green Road. House built about 1650. Dan Taylor was born here. It was used as a pub from the mid-19th century.

See Prospect, Halifax

Sourhall
Area of Todmorden on the Bacup Road.

See Pighill, Walsden

Sourhall Isolation Hospital
The Todmorden & District Authorities Joint Hospital for Infectious Diseases. It stands 1,025 ft above sea level.

Following a smallpox epidemic in 1874, Peel Mill, Todmorden was converted into an isolation hospital for 16 inmates.

As smallpox became less common, patients with typhoid and diphtheria were admitted.

In 1895, it was listed as

16 beds
Medical Officer: C.  W. Thorp
Patients engage and pay their own medical attendant
Master in Charge: Mr. C. Barritt
Patients: 13
Dr C. W. Thorp was physician here in [1895, 1905].

In 1907, the hospital was enlarged.

In 1949, the Sourhall Joint Hospital Committee was wound up and the buildings were converted to private housing

Souter House, Wadsworth
Or Souterhouse. Burlees Lane. Farmstead with 17th century features. It was formerly an inn. The property was refronted and raised in the mid-18th century.

Owners and tenants have included

South America

South Bank, Shibden
The property is recorded as having 7 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

South Bottomley Farm, Walsden

South Clough Head, Warley
Workhouse Lane. House built around 1607 by Henry Murgatroyd.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 3 dwellings

South Cottage, Skircoat
House at the junction of Skircoat Moor Road and Skircoat Green Road

South Edge House, Hipperholme
Owners and tenants have included

South End, Elland
Area at the junction of Huddersfield Road and Catherine Street, opposite Elland Town Hall.

See Elland Gaol and South End School, Elland

South Field Farm, Shelf
South Lane. Built 1770.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Jesse Bland [1904]

South Gate House, Halifax
Ward's End.

Recorded in 1822, when James Edward Norris was a conveyancer here

South Grove, Halifax
Property at 57-63 Savile Park Road. Built in 1860-1861.

Owners and tenants have included

South Hollingworth Farm, Walsden
The Farm had been in the Walton family over 300 years.

Owners and tenants have included

South Holme Farm, Southowram
Aka Southolm. A 42-acre part of the Shibden Hall estate. The property is mentioned in Anne Lister's journals.

Owners and tenants have included

South House, Elland
Built in 1???.

Owners and tenants have included

Later, it became the offices for Elland Urban District Council. The building was demolished in 19??

South Howcans, Ovenden

See Howcans

South Ive House, Luddenden
In the 19th century, Ive House, Warley was split into 2 dwellings: North and South.

Edward Murgatroyd's family lived in the North and Henry Sutcliffe Murgatroyd's family in the South.

Owners and tenants have included

See Henry Sutcliffe Murgatroyd

South Lodge, Rastrick
Rastrick Common. Built in 1879 by Fairless Barber for his Castle Hill Estate. The building used materials from an earlier house of 1659 built by Joshua Hanson and which had been demolished when the railway sidings were extended. The gable from the earlier house can still be seen

South Low Room
The name for the cellars at the east end of the Piece Hall where yarn was sold. These were later known as the Serge Room

South Midgelden Farm, Todmorden
Bacup Road. Late 17th century house.

See Middle Midgelden Farm, Todmorden

South Place
7th century house which stood on Southgate, Halifax.

It was later called the Corner House.

In 1643, when the Royalist General Mackworth occupied Halifax, he used the Corner House to hold Parliamentary prisoners, including Joseph Priestley.

At one time, Hanson & Son sold furniture, carpets and wallpaper here. The area was cleared in 1910 for the construction of the Arcade Royale

South Royde, Halifax
Owners and tenants have included

South Shields, Wadsworth
Laithe-house built around 1820

South Strine Head, Wadsworth
Cairn which marks the boundary of Wadsworth township

South View, Greetland
Rochdale Road. Terrace of 5 houses. Stands between Greetland Liberal Club and the Church Hall of Saint Thomas's Church, Greetland

South Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1866.

See John Herbert Lacy Baldwin, John Burdock, Thomas Collinson, Jabez Bunting Farrar, Robert Kerr, Mrs Miriam Lightowler, Wilkinson Pickles and Norman Frederick Smagg Winter

Southage's
Rastrick stone-mining company They had a mine behind the Junction, Rastrick

Stone from the mine was used in the foundations of Blackpool Tower, and from flagstones at Buckingham Palace.

The company was started by Bentley & Smith in 1899. At the start of the 20th century, it employed 150 miners.

The business was sold to Marshalls in 1937.

It closed between 1939 and 1946.

It was the only stone mine to reopen after the war. It then operated in a small way with only 6 miners. It was the last working stone mine locally, and the longest operating mine getting Elland Flags anywhere. The mine finally closed in 1955

Southcliffe House, Hebden Bridge
Commercial Street. The house is dated 1813. The house and the attached Conservative Offices are listed

Southclyff, Robert de
[1???-14??] In 1435, John de Wethelay passed Mayroyd House, Hebden Bridge to Robert.

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Southcott, Joanna
[1750-1814] A religious prophetess from Devon. She was said to possess supernatural gifts and made prophecies which she wrote down in rhyme.

There were several local followers, including John Marshall Jowett and Samuel Jowett.

Some of her followers used Sion Congregational Church, Halifax

Southedge House, Hipperholme
Brighouse Road. Originally a pair of late 18th century cottages

Southern, Walter
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Loyal Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Southey, Robert
[1774-1843] Poet and writer. He was a friend of Coleridge and Wordsworth. In 1813, he became Poet Laureate. In 1813, he wrote Life of Nelson Charlotte wrote to him in March 1837, asking for advice about her plans to become a writer. He replied saying that he thought that it was not a woman's work.

See Hartley Coleridge

Southfield
One of the areas of common land around Halifax Parish Church in the 14th century. Others were Blackledge-Ing, Hall-Ing, Sydel-Ing, Northfield, Netherfield. Southfield lay to the south-west of the church.

The road to the area – South Field Gate – became Suffelds-Lane, and then Southgate

Southfield, Halifax
Stafford Road.

Aka Southfield Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

A signboard [2014] indicates that the property is to be developed

Southfield, Hebden Bridge
Built in 1812 by John Sutcliffe

Southgate Café, Halifax

See Aldam's Café, Halifax

Southgate Chambers, Halifax
Southgate.

Owners and tenants have included

Southgate Reformers, Elland
A group of Methodists at Elland.

In 1871, there was a split in the group over a question of total abstinence.

Around 1875, a group of strict temperance Methodists parted company with the Methodists at Elland Wesley, and established the Temperance Methodist Chapel

Southgrain Farm, Dulesgate
Aka Pastures.

There were drift coal mines on the land.

Owners and tenants have included

Southholme, Shibden
Aka Suffholme. 17th century farm house

Southolme, Shibden
Aka Sufholme

Southowram
District of Calderdale immediately to the east of Halifax.

See Hemingway, Northowram and Ouram

Southowram & Elland Light Railway
Plans are recorded in 1901.

See Holmfield & Southowram Light Railway

Southowram Annual Subscription Concert
Held in the early 19th century at various inns in the district, including Pack Horse [1825], Malt Shovel [1826], and Whitehall Inn

Southowram Board of Guardians
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Southowram township have included

  • Thomas Naylor, Brookfoot [1869]

  • James Hebblethwaite, Marsh Lane, Northowram? [1869]

  • James Farrar, Southowram [1869]

Southowram Brass Band
See Joe Harry Radley, Southowram Prize Band and Southowram Subscription Band

Southowram Club & Institute
Built by George Aspinall.

Opened in 1896.

Working Men's Club recorded in 1905 at Towngate when W. Crossland was Secretary.

In 1917, Albert Edward Marshall was secretary.

In 19??, the old building was partly demolished and a single-storey extension built on the northern end.

It became Southowram Social Club

Southowram Co-Op
Branch number 19 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in November 1871 at Mount Pleasant, Southowram. It stood at 1 Law Lane, at the corner of Cain Lane.

Recorded in 1936

Southowram Coal Club
Recorded in 1917, when John William Whiteley was Secretary

Southowram Coal Company Limited
They had offices at 2 Cow Green, Halifax. The company was registered in February 1873

Southowram Community Centre
Off Law Lane.

The building was a Nursery School in the 1950s.

It was used as a Community Centre in the 1980s and today.

From 2007 until they disbanded in 2010, The Southowram Methodists met in the Southowram Community Centre

Southowram constables
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Southowram

See Southowram Police Station

Southowram Cricket Club
Formed in 1977 by a group of players who met at the Cock & Bottle, Bank Top.

Their grounds are on a former Milking Hill Quarries and landfill site in Ashday Lane.

See Saint Anne's Cricket Club

Southowram Economic Stores
Towngate. A branch of Economic Stores (Halifax) Limited.

Opened in 19??.

Stood at the top of Providence Buildings.

Closed in 19??

Southowram Floral & Horticultural Society
Established in the mid-19th century. They held their first show at the Malt Shovel in 1856

Southowram Hall
Southowram Hall Estate is recorded in 1604, when Henry Hemingway bought Ireland Farm.

Southowram Hall is mentioned as a fictitious location in the BBC TV series Last Tango in Halifax [2012] written by Sally Wainwright.

The exterior shots of the hall were filmed at Bramall Hall, Cheshire.

Mention of Godley Lane and Cunnery Wood in the dialogue suggests that Shibden Hall may have been in Ms Wainwright's mind

Southowram-Holmfield Light Railway

Southowram Home Guard

See Home Guard

Southowram Library
Law Lane, Southowram.

Opened 0n 7th October 1920.

Recorded in 1929, when it was only open on Wednesday and Thursday evenings.

See Bank Top Library, Southowram

Southowram Local Board

See Local Board and Samuel Marshall

Southowram Male Voice Glee Union

See Ernest Hargreaves Westwood

Southowram, Manor of
Was a part of the Manor of Elland. John Lacy acquired the Manor by his marriage to Margaret de Eland.

Thomas Whitley bought a part of the Manor in the early 17th century.

In 1671, Toby Barraclough mentions the Manor in his will.

William Greame was Lord of the Manor [18th century]. Through his marriage to Frances Greame, John Ingram became Lord of the Manor.

In 1813, John Rawson sold the Manor. Christopher Rawson bought it back for 1,000 guineas and became Lord of the Manor.

Captain Outhwaite was Lord of the Manor of Southowram [1917].

The Manor of Cromwellbottom was a sub-manor within and parcel of the Manor of Southowram.

See Edward Nelson Alexander, Robert Allenson, Cromwellbottom and Charles Radcliffe

Southowram Mechanics' Institute
A Mechanics' Institute founded in 1857. The meetings were held at Saint Anne's schoolroom.

In 1861, the Mechanics' Institution is recorded at Law Lane

Southowram Nursery School
Off Law Lane. Built around 1938.

Recorded around 1952 as a Reception Class for Withinfields Junior & Infants' School.

The building was used by the Methodists [2007-2010].

The building is now Southowram Community Centre

Southowram Overseers of the Poor
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Southowram

Southowram Parish Church

Southowram Police Station
A police house is recorded at the Southowram end of the junction of Law Lane and Pinnar Lane.

See Southowram Police Constables

Southowram Post Office
Recorded in 1861, when John Fox was postmaster.

Recorded in 1881, when Ellis Fawcett was postmaster.

Recorded in 1905 at 30 Towngate. It was then at the same address as the business run by Harold Feather, newsagent and tobacconist.

It later moved to Law Lane.

See Bank Top Post Office, Southowram

Southowram Prize Band
Formed in 1901. In 1923, the band won a special prize for cornet playing at the Crystal Palace, London. It was said to be one of the best bands in Calderdale in the early 20th century. Disbanded in 1938

Southowram School Board
School Board set up in 18??.

See Charles Farrar, John Tatham Morton and Charles Sykes Sunderland

Southowram Social Club
Towngate. Formerly Southowram Club & Institute

Southowram stocks
The village stocks were situated just below the Pack Horse Inn in Cain Lane.

There are records of their use in the mid-19th century.

They were last used to punish two 70-year-old men who were accused of gambling.

When Cain Lane was being widened in 1931, the stocks were discovered. They had been lost for over 30 years.

In the 1970s, they were moved to Towngate.

See Aminadab Gaskin

Southowram Stone Company Limited
Quarry owner and stone merchant at West Lane, Southowram [1905]. Their registered office was at 7 Southgate Chambers, Halifax [1905]

Southowram Subscription Band
Recorded in September 1871, when they played in the Queensbury contest.

Recorded in May 1922, when they played in the Belle Vue May contest.

Recorded in February 1928, when a clock was presented to Walter Thomas Knowles at the Southowram Subscription Board Band Room in West Lane, Southowram. He had acquired the Band Room and had been President of the Band.

Disbanded in 19??

Southowram Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Southowram included:

Southowram Urban District Council
Recorded in 1894 and 1908.

On 30th October 1900, a meeting of ratepayers, chaired by Councillor Joseph Shedeur Hartley, voted to be incorporated into Halifax Borough, rather than into Brighouse Borough.

See Beacon Hill, Samuel Marshall and Urban District Council

Southowram War Memorial
Pinnar Lane. The memorial remembering those who served in World War I and World War II stands in a small park on Howgate Hill – at the highest spot hereabouts – at the junction of Law Lane and Pinnar Lane, Bank Top.

It is supported by the Southowram War Memorial Trust

Southowram War Memorial Trust
See Southowram War Memorial

Southowram Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1866.

See George Barker, Adam Battinson and Joseph Henry Stephenson

Southowram Wellington

Southowram Workhouse
Ashday Lane. Recorded in 1758. It served the Skircoat area of Halifax.

It accommodated 60 inmates [1777].

In 1881, the Old Workhouse was occupied by 2 families

See Prospect House, Southowram

Southwart, Enoch
[18??-19??] He was a Deacon at Blackley Baptist Chapel. In 1911, he was recorded as a Past Deacon

Southwell, Bates Broadbent
[1859-1915] Born in Norland.

He was an engineer [1911].

On 9th September 1878, he married Susan Holroyd [1859-1932] at St Mary's Elland

Children: (1) child who died before 1911; (2) child who died before 1911; (3) child who died before 1911; (4) child who died before 1911; (5) Kenyon [1884-1966] who was a mechanic [1932]; (6) Mary Hannah [b 1883] who was a weaver (coating) [1911]; (7) Fred; (8) Ellen Louisa [b 1891] who was a dress maker [1911]; (9) Florence May [b 1895] who was a weaver (coating) [1911]; (10) Doris [b 1900] who married [1930] James Frederick Sutcliffe

The family lived at Spring Villa, Norland [1915].

Bates died 21st October 1915.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £210 1/-.

Probate was granted to his widow Susan.

Susan died 12th May 1932.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £286 0/10d.

Probate was granted to children Kenyon and Doris

Southwell, Ernest
[1899-1918] Son of Fred Southwell.

Born in Cornholme.

He was with the Lincoln Regiment.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 6th Battalion Leicestershire Regiment.

He died of wounds [24th August 1918] (aged 19).

He was buried at the Fienvillers British Cemetery [b 1].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Southwell, Fred
[1867-1920] Born in Todmorden.

He was a cotton loom overlooker [1911].

In 1892, he married Martha Hannah Crabtree [1864-1934] in Todmorden.

Children: (1) child who died young [before 1911]; (2) child who died young [before 1911]; (3) Bernard [b 1897] who was a cotton weaver [1911], a grocer [1934]; (4) Ernest.

The family lived at 5 Varley Buildings, Cornholme [1911]; 5 Brighton Street, Cornholme [1918, 1920]; 702 Burnley Road, Cornholme [1934].

Fred died 16th August 1920.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £246 12/-.

Administration was granted to his widow Martha Hannah

Martha Hannah died 10th November 1934.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £111 11/5d.

Probate was granted to son Bernard

Southwell, Fred
[1889-1918] Son of Bates Broadbent Southwell.

Born in Norland.

He was a draper's assistant [1911].

He never married.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st/6th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 11th October 1918.

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial [Addenda panel], and on Norland War Memorial.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £150 7/7d.

His estate went to his mother

Southwell, Fred
[1891-1918] Son of John Southwell.

Born in Wadsworth.

He was a cotton weaver [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted at Hebden Bridge and served as a Private with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [25th August 1918].

He was buried at the Mill Road Cemetery, Thiepval [XIX G 8]

Southwell, Harold Barstow
[1891-1915] Son of Henry Southwell.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a shop assistant [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died of wounds at Gallopoli [14th August 1915] (aged 24).

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial [Panel 58-72 / 218-219], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Southwell, Henry
[1864-1921] Born in Todmorden.

He was an underclothing manufacturer [1911].

In [Q2] 1890, he married Ada Matilda Barstow [1868-1954] in Todmorden.


Ada was born in Elland.

She was a draper [1911]

 

Children: (1) Harold; (2) Ruby [b 1893] who was a machinist (underclothing) [1915]; (3) Janet [b 1894] who was a machinist (underclothing) [1911]; (4) John [b 1897] who was a junior clerk (bobbin works) [1911]; (5) James [b 1898] who was a workhouse boy (cotton mill) [1911]; (6) Norman [b 1899] who was a cashier [1921].

The family lived at 5 York Street, Todmorden [1911]; Mayfield House, Todmorden [1915].

Henry died 25th January 1921.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £5,924 5/10d.

Probate was granted to his widow Ada, son Norman and Tom Dawson (hardware merchant) 

Southwell, Herbert Algington
[1889-19??] Son of Thomas Southwell.

Born in Sowerby [Q4 1889].

Baptised at St John the Divine, Thorpe.

He was a dyer [1911].

In [Q3] 1915, he married Sarah Tetlaw in Halifax.

He lived at Mill House, Triangle [with his parents 1911]

He was injured – a fractured elbow and scalp wounds – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and was detained at Halifax Infirmary

Southwell, Hubert C.
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Electrical & Mechanical Engineers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Southwell, John
[1857-1913] Born in Wadsworth.

He was a cotton weaver [1911].

In 1882, he married Selina Ratcliffe [1861-1926].


Selina was born in Wadsworth
 

Children: (1) Alice [b 1888] who was a fustian machinist [1911]; (2) Fred; (3) Edith [b 1894] who was a fustian machinist [1911]; (4) Willie [b 1898] who was a fustian presser [1911]; (5) Lillian [b 1902].

The family lived at 17 Chapel Avenue, Hebden Bridge [1911]; 22 Lee View, Hebden Bridge [1918].

Living with them in 1911 was boarder Maria Southwell [b 1855] (cotton weaver) 

Southwell, Mary
[1838-1905] Daughter of weaver William Southwell. Born in Northowram (or Heptonstall).

In 1859, she married (1) Nicholas Taylor. They had 2 children: Arthur and John Andrew Taylor.

Mary was a worsted dyer [1861].

Nicholas died in 1865.

In 1869, she married (2) the widower Robert Hirst and took on his two sons. Robert died in 1870.

Mary was a worsted weaver [1871]

In 1874, she married (3) the widower William Mann and took on his 6 children

Southwell, Thomas
[1858-19??] Born in Todmorden.

He was a farm labourer [1911].

In [Q1] 1883, he married Selena Lowcock [1862-1916] in Todmorden.


Selena was born in Burnley
 

Children: (1) child who died young [before 1911]; (2) child who died young [before 1911]; (3) child who died young [before 1911]; (4) Mary Hannah [b 1884] who was a cotton weaver [1911]; (5) William Henry; (6) Ann [b 1891] who was a cotton weaver [1911]; (7) Sam [b 1900] who was a labourer [1911]; (8) child.

The family lived at 3 Springwood Terrace, Cornholme. [1911]

Southwell, Thomas
[1862-19??] Born in Sowerby.

He was a joiner [1889, 1891, 1901]; a joiner (estate) [1911].

In 1885, he married (1) Emma Charlton [1864-1901] in Guisborough.

Children: (1) Nora Adeline C [b 1887] who was a silk spinner [1901]; (2) Herbert Algington.

In 1908, he married (2) Elizabeth Smith [1872-19??] at St John the Baptist, Chester.


Elizabeth was born in Shropshire
 

The family lived at Ivy House, Mill Bank [1889]; Ivy House, Saw Hill, Sowerby [1891]; Saw Hill, Triangle, Sowerby [1901]; Mill House, Triangle [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was visitor Elizabeth Smith [aged 61] (widow) 

Southwell, Dr Thomas
[1879-1962] Born in Cornholme.

He went to the Royal College of Science, London and then to Liverpool University.

In 1906, he went to become Inspector of Pearl Fisheries in Ceylon, and then Director of Fisheries in India.

In 1912, he was Professor at the School of Tropical Medicine, Liverpool He was head of the Zoological Department at the Imperial College of Science, and of the Department of Parasitology at the Liverpool of Tropical Medicine.

Baptist Minister at Wellington Road Baptist Church, Todmorden [1939]

Southwell, William
[18??-1888] Of Stackhills, Todmorden.

He worked at Lord Brothers' Mill, Todmorden. On 19th January 1888, an iron lathe fell on him. He died the next day

Southwell, William Henry
[1887-1917] Son of Thomas Southwell.

He was a cotton weaver [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [3rd May 1917] (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial [Bay 6], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Southwood End, Halifax
Owners and tenants have included

Southworth, Mr
[18??-1???] He became a partner with Frederick Laxton when Robinson & Laxton was dissolved

Sowden, Akeroyd
[1834-1869] Son of Jonas Sowden.

Born in Lightcliffe.

He was an assistant grocer [1861].

On 13th Aug 1861, he married Mary Laycock in Wakefield.


Mary was born in Wakefield
 

Children: Joe Sutcliffe.

Akeroyd died in Wakefield [7th September 1869]

Sowden, Eliza
[1814-1877] Daughter of Samuel Sowden.

Baptised 19th June 1814.

She never married.

She died in Hebden [8th June 1877]

Sowden, Rev George
[1822-1899] Son of Samuel Sowden.

Born 3rd April 1822.

He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School and St Mary Magdalene's College Cambridge.

In 1847, his first Curacy was at Stainland, where he remained for 8 years before moving to Houghton-le-Spring, County Durham.

In 1861, he returned to the district when he succeeded his brother Sutcliffe as Vicar of Hebden Bridge. It had been his brother's wish that George succeed him, and the appointment was supported by Rev J. A. Rhodes. He remained there until his death.

In 1869, he campaigned for a new Mytholm Church School, Hebden Bridge, selling his collection of birds' eggs [for £45] to start the contributions.

In 1882, he observed that a church was needed for the rapidly-growing Stubbings district in Hebden Bridge – this became St John's Mission Church, Hebden Bridge.

On 12th October 1886, the parishioners marked their appreciation of him and his work by presenting him with an illuminated address and a purse of £221.

In 1888, when the See of Wakefield was created, he was made an Honorary Canon of Wakefield and Rural Dean of Halifax. He declined these on the grounds that a more suitable choice might be made, but the Bishop bade him take the estimate of others rather than his own, and he accepted both. He was Honorary Canon until his death, and Rural Dean of Ha