Search billions of records on



Ma Mc Me Mi Mo Mp Mu My

MacArthur, John
[18??-18??] He was in business as a bookseller, newsagent and circulating library at 25 Gaol Lane [1845]

Macarthy, William
[18??-18??] He married Jane de Levante

Jane was the daughter of William de Levante [later Deville]. Jane had a sister, Emily Deville who married Mr Clifton

In 1851, the couple established a theatre at the Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden. Jane appeared in productions at the theatre

Macaulay, Abraham Firth
[1775-1823] Son of Thomas Macaulay.

Born 23rd September 1775. Baptised at Scalby near Scarborough [1st October 1775].

Many of the family were surgeons.

He lived at Slead Hall, Brighouse. He was a member of Bridge End Congregational Church, Brighouse.

He married Mary Ann Redfearn

Children: (1) George Gibson; (2) Francis Edwin; (3) Arthur Frederick; (4) son; (5) Charles Harold

Macaulay, Arthur Frederick
[1818-1855] Youngest son of Abraham Firth Macaulay.

He was a staff surgeon in the Turkish contingent. On 7th September 1855, he died of dysentery at Buyukdere

Macaulay, Aulay
[1867-1920] Son of Francis Edwin Macaulay.

Born in Queensbury.

He was a solicitor [1891].

He lived at 23 Savile Road, Halifax [1920].

He died at Slead House, Harrogate

Macaulay, Charles Harold
[1809-1869] Son of Abraham Firth Macaulay.

He was a physician and surgeon at Park Street, Brighouse. He succeeded to the practice of the Fryer family. He was Medical Officer for Rastrick [1845]. He lived at Rastrick [1845].

On 14th August 1849, he married Ann Atheston at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: Laura Ann

Macaulay, Donald Alfred R.
[1902-1982] Born in Halifax [25 Jun 1902].

In 1932, he married Frances Mary Cleeves, in Marylebone, London.

Children: (1) Edward K [b 1933]; (2) Ian H [b 1936]

The family lived at Aulay House, Luddendenfoot.

He died in Staincliffe, Lancashire

Macaulay, Donald Joseph
[1862-1921] Physician and surgeon at Halifax [1895].

He had a surgery at Queens Road and lived at Ben-Becula, Hopwood Lane / Vincent Street [1905]

In [Q1] 1901, he married Edith Kingston, daughter of Alfred Ramsden, in Halifax.

He died in Halifax [8th March 1921].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £24,738 6/4d

Macaulay, Francis Edwin
[1809-1862] Son of Abraham Firth Macaulay.

Attorney. He and his brother George Gibson Macaulay practised in Halifax in the 1830s. They were at Broad Street [1834] and 7 Wade Street [1837].

He was a partner in Stocks & Macaulay [1845]. He was one of a number of attorneys who were

commissioned for taking acknowledgements of deeds executed by married women

He was at 14 Ward's End, Halifax [1845] and The Square, Halifax [1850].

In 1839, he married Sarah, daughter of Charles Gleadhall, in Pontefract.

Children: (1) Francis; (2) Charles [b 1842]; (3) Anne [b 1844]; (4) Archibald [b 1846]; (5) Elizabeth G [b 1847].

The family lived at Ward's End, Halifax [1841]; Arden House, Halifax [1846, 1851]

Macaulay, Francis Edwin
[1840-1890] Or Edwin. Son of Francis Edwin Macaulay. Born in Halifax.

He was a student of medicine, lodging in Saint Pancras, London [1861]; a surgeon & apothecary, landowner, URCS England & SA London [1871]; a surgeon [1874]; a general medical practitioner, FRCS Emp, LSO Lond [1881].

In 1865, he married Agnes Mary Jane Fawthrop [1843-1???] from Queensbury, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Aulay; (2) Philip [b 1873] who was a medical student [1891]; (3) Edwin; (4) Maud [b 1879].

The family lived at 7 Regent Street, Halifax [1871]; 17 King Cross Street, Halifax [1881]; Beech Hill, Pellon Lane, Halifax [1891].

In 1871, his wife and son Aulay were living with her parents, grandmother and sister in Southport

Macaulay, George Gibson
[1808-18??] Attorney. Son of Abraham Firth Macaulay.

He and his brother Francis Edwin Macaulay practised in Halifax in the 1830s. They were at Broad Street [1834].

He died unmarried

Macaulay, George Gibson
[1897-1940] Born in Thirsk. Cricketer. He played for Todmorden [1938]

Macaulay, Laura Ann
[1851-1946] Daughter of Charles Harold Macaulay.

In 1872, she married Farquhar Forbes-Robertson

They lived at Slead Hall, Brighouse. In the 1890s, she made alterations to the house.

She had several bore-holes dug to search for stone beds on the estate. These were leased to the Camm Brothers and John Farrar & Sons.

She sold the property to Albert Clifford Robinson

She died in Cheltenham [14th December 1946].

Probate records show that she left an estate valued at £23,096 15/6d

Macaulay, Peter T.
[1851-1917] Middle name: Tarbert or Tarbet. Born in Ayrshire, Scotland.

He was a member of Halifax Mechanics' Institute and

was much in the library-room

In April 1865, he was charged with stealing several volumes from the library.

He died in Bradford

Macaulay, Thomas
[17??-1???] Of Huddersfield.

In 1773, he married Ann Firth.

Ann was the daughter of
Abraham Firth

Children: Abraham Firth.

This brought Slead Hall into the Macaulay family

Macauley, Edwin
[1878-1960] Of Savile Place.

Son of Francis Edwin Macauley.

He was a surgeon [1906].

On 4th December 1906, he married Beatrice Whitaker at Saint James's Church, Halifax.

Beatrice was the daughter of Joseph Whitaker

The family lived at Cheltenham [1920]

Macdonald, Rev Colin
[19??-] Vicar at Saint Mark's Parish Church, Siddal [2013]

Macdonald, Rev Donald
[18??-19??] Minister of Square Congregational Church, Halifax [1907]

MacDonald, J. Ramsay
[1866-1937] MP. Chairman of the Independent Labour Party.

On 6th February 1909, he addressed a meeting at Todmorden Town Hall

Macdonald, James
[18??-19??] Methodist Minister in Todmorden [1820]

Macdonalds Limited (Manchester)
Teeth specialists at 14 Southgate, Halifax [1905]

MacDougall, Henry Hale
[1852-1924] In 1905, he married Constance Ellen Rawson.

In 1905, he assumed the name Rawson by Royal Licence, becoming Henry Hale MacDougall-Rawson.

He died at Mill House, Sowerby.

He and his wife were buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby: Henry Hale MacDougall [16th July 1924]; Constance Ellen [18th February 1925]

Mace, Rev Alban Bodley
[1886-1916] BA.

Born in Havercroft, Yorkshire.

He trained at Wells before becoming Deacon at Lightcliffe [1910] and Curate at the Parish Church of Saint James, Brighouse [1915].

In 1911, he was a boarder with Miss Mary Waring [aged 56] at Crow Nest Cottages, Lightcliffe.

During World War I, he served with the Allied Expeditionary Force and was killed in action during the Salonika campaign [3rd October 1916]. He was buried at the Struma Military Cemetery, Greece [II H 1].

A memorial window was installed for him on the north wall of the Parish Church of Saint James, Brighouse

Machill, Joseph
[18??-18??] Of Rastrick.

In March 1837, he qualified at the Apothecaries' Hall

Machine Tool Makers

Machpelah Bar, Hebden Bridge
Toll gate built in 18??

Machpelah, Hebden Bridge
A block of weavers' cottages – Numbers 2 to 16 – and a fustian warehouse.

The property was built by Richard Fawcett as workrooms and accommodation for fustian cutters.

The workroom in the gable end has two rows of 14 and 15 weavers' windows to allow light on the workers.

Machpelah Yard stands behind the block.

In 1803, Dr John Fawcett bought the land on which it was built and gave it the name Machpelah – the name of the cave which was used as a burial place by Abraham in Genesis – as it was to be Fawcett's burial place.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Machpelah House stands next door

See Machpelah Mill, Hebden Bridge

Machpelah House, Hebden Bridge
House dated 1842. The name is from the Hebrew name Machpelah which was given to the adjacent land where the Machpelah Works were built

Macilwaine, Charles
[1853-1???] Born in Leeds.

He was a coal miner [1881].

In [Q2] 1875, he married Jane Shepherd [1856-1???] in Halifax.

Jane was born in Brighouse

Children: (1) Emma [b 1876]; (2) Laura [b 1878]; (3) Shepherd [b 1880].

The family lived at Clifton Road, Hartshead-cum-Clifton [1881].

Living with them in 1881 were niece Ellen Shepherd [aged 7] and boarder John Ellis [aged 15] (apprentice to coal miner) 

Macilwaine, Charlie
[18??-1???] Aka Cheerful Charlie. He was the pinder and bellman for Clifton

Mack, Rev E. Ide
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1901-1911]. He started a Scout troop for Brighouse boys. In 1910, he wrote of history of Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse entitled Brighouse Church History [1830-1909]

Mack, Rev H. B.
[18??-19??] Vicar of Saint John the Evangelist, West Vale. In 1925, he was appointed rector of Willey with Barrow

Mackay, Rev Archibald
[19??-19??] He was rector at Rylstone, near Skipton. before becoming Fourth Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1937-1947]. In 1947, he moved on to Banstead, Winchester

Mackay, Rev David
[19??-] Minister at Blackley Particular Baptist Church [1997-2000]

MacKay, R. J.
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon.

He lived at Hill Crest, Stafford Road, Halifax [1905]

Retail clothing which opened in the former Brighouse Co-operative Stores, King Street in 19??.

In 200?, it was rebranded as M&Co

MacKean, Rev J. F.
[19??-19??] He was Vicar of the Parish Church of Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddendenfoot. In 1949, he was appointed to Weare in the Bristol Diocese

Mackenzie, Christopher Rawson
[18??-19??] Son of Colonel F. F. Mackenzie.

In 1919?, he married Helen Lucy Oakes from Exeter

Mackenzie, Colonel F. F.
[18??-1934] His mother was the daughter of the Hon. H. Legge.

He was Commandant, Colsburg when commanding the 5th Lancashire Fusiliers in the South African War. He was Chairman of Broadmoor and on the council of Holloway Sanatorium.

He married Ella, youngest daughter of Christopher Rawson.

Children: Christopher Rawson

Mackenzie, Henry Alan
[18??-19??] Paper manufacturer at Sowerby Bridge.

He lived at Rockville, Stainland [1905]

Mackenzie, Rev J. G.
[18??-19??] MA, BD. Minister at Holywell Green Congregational Church. He left in 1917 and moved to Wolverhampton

Mackenzie, Wallace
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor [1934].

He qualified in June 1929

Mackereth Opticians
Opticians established around 1910 by W. Richardson & Son at North Parade, Halifax.

In the 1930s, Willie Wadsworth bought the practice and moved to Regent Street, Halifax.

In 1949, George Gutsell bought the practice.

In 1961, Alan Mackereth joined the practice and became a partner in 1965.

In 1975, they acquired the practice of Mr Leach of Queens Road and merged this with the Regent Street practice.

In 1976, George Gutsell retired.

In 1997, they merged with Whitaker's Opticians

Mackey, James Henry
[18??-19??] He was sentenced for [unknown offences].

In November 1909, whilst under police escort from Halifax to Wakefield Jail, the party were changing trains at Brighouse Station when Mackey slipped from his handcuffs and escaped.

He was recaptured some weeks later and served his sentence at Wakefield

Mackie & Company
Halifax printers. Partners included John C. Mackie

Mackie, J.
[1???-1???] Tailor and draper. Recorded in 1881 at 9 Horton Street, Halifax

Mackie, John C.
[18??-19??] Partner in Mackie & Company.

He lived at 10 Stafford Parade, Skircoat [1905]

Mackintosh, Eric Donald
[1906-1978] CBE, JP, DL. Third son of John Mackintosh. He was Educated at Halifax New School, and Manchester University. He joined the family business – John Mackintosh & Sons Limited – in 1925. He became Managing Director [1929] and Chairman [1965]. He was Chairman of A. J. Caley & Son [1935]. He became Joint Deputy Chairman of Rowntree Mackintosh Limited [1969].

During World War II, he was Director of the Cocoa, Chocolate & Confectionery division of the Ministry of Food.

He was Deputy Lieutenant and High Sheriff of Norfolk.

In 1928, he married Gwendolyn France.

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) daughter.

He lived at Acre Mead, Halifax.

He was found dead outside a block of flats in Mayfair, London

Mackintosh, Harold Vincent
[1891-1964] The Rt. Hon, Lord Mackintosh of Halifax, First Viscount Mackintosh of Halifax. Eldest son of John Mackintosh

Mackintosh, Harold Vincent
[1921-1980] OBE, BEM. Son of Harold Vincent Mackintosh. He was educated at Bedales School and Trinity College USA. He served in the RAOC [1941-1947]. In 1964, he succeeded his father to become 2nd Viscount Mackintosh of Halifax. He was a Director of the family business – John Mackintosh & Sons Limited – for 26 years.

On 6th December 1946, he married (1) Bronda Fibiger.

Bronda was the daughter of Louis John Fibiger of South Shields

Children: (1) daughter; (2) daughter.

The marriage was dissolved in 1956.

On 30th August 1956, he married (2) Gwynneth Charlesworth [19??-2007].

Gwynneth was the daughter of Charles Henry Gledhill of Halifax

Children: (3) John Clive; (4) son.

He lived at Barford, Norwich

Mackintosh, I.
[19??-19??] Director of Rowntree-Mackintosh of York [1977]

Mackintosh, James Edward
[1870-19??] Son of Joseph Mackintosh.

Born in Halifax.

He was a Methodist New Connexion minister in Dewsbury [1901]; a United Methodist Minister in Ashton-under-Lyme [1911]; later in Derby.

In 1895, he married Grace Ellen Costello [1869-1929] from London, at Saint Saviour, Southwark.

Children: Jessie [b 1898].

The family lived at Dewsbury [1901]; Ashton-under-Lyme [1911]

Mackintosh, John
[1833-1897] Born in Hyde, Cheshire.

He was a Manager with Bowman Brothers. He and his son, William, established the business which became William Mackintosh & Company.

He married Sarah.

Children: (1) Alice Ann [b 1856]; (2) William; (3) Sarah Maria [b 1870]; (4) Ethel Helena [b 1873] He died in Halifax [9th November 1897].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £8,270 11/10d.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1256] along with a 4-year-old child called George Henry

Mackintosh, John
[1868-1920] The Toffee King. He was originally a silk worker and then went to work in a cotton mill.

In 1890, he left the cotton mill and went into partnership with his wife Violet to open a pastry cook's shop in King Cross Street. They went on to found the Mackintosh family's world-famous confectionery business

Mackintosh, John Clive
[1858-1???] Son of Harold Vincent Mackintosh by his second wife.

He succeeded to the title of 3rd Viscount Mackintosh of Halifax.

On 10th June 1982 he married (1) Elizabeth Lakin.

Children: (1) Thomas Harold George [b 1985]; (2) George John Frank [b 1988].

The couple divorced in 1994.

On 12th June 1995, he married (2) Claire Jane.

Claire Jane was the daughter of Stanislaw Nowak, and former wife of Charles Wishart

Children: Violet Krystyna Jane [b 2000]

Mackintosh, John Douglas Victor
[1897-19??] Second son of John Mackintosh.

In 1919, he married Marjorie E. King [1895-1984].

Children: (1) Douglas Graham [1924-1925] who died aged 13 months; (2) Gordon; (3) Peter; (4) Martin.

The family lived at The Grange, Halifax.

Douglas Graham were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell with his grandparents

Mackintosh's: John Mackintosh & Sons Limited
Confectionery company founded in Halifax in 1890 by John Mackintosh and his wife, Violet.

See Charles Bancroft, Employees who served in World War I, Longley Farm, Norland and Herbert Webster

Mackintosh, Joseph
[1840-1891] Born in Hyde, Cheshire. His father, William H. Mackintosh [1808-1???], whose forebears came from Inverness, had settled in Ashton-under-Lyme.

He was a a cotton worker in Ashton-under-Lyme [1861] and a cotton spinner overlooker in Halifax [1871].

In 1865, he married Mary Jane, daughter of Henry Burgess.

Children: (1) Robert who died in infancy; (2) John; (3) James Edward; (4) Ada [b 1876]; (5) Florence [b 1878]; (6) Harriet [b 1880]; (7) daughter; (8) daughter.

In November 1868, the family moved to Halifax where Joseph became a foreman at Bowman Brothers, where his brother John was a manager.

The family became members at Salem New Connexion Chapel.

Around 1891, When the family business moved to the Hanson Lane / Queens Road area, the family moved to the daughter church, Saint Andrew's Methodist Chapel, Queens Road.

Mary Jane was a teacher at Queens Road Methodist New Connexion Sunday School.

The family lived at Woodfield House, Halifax [1868]; Old Lane, Northowram [1871]; 21 Rose Street, Halifax [1881]; 131 Queens Road, Halifax [1891]; 29 Craven Terrace, Halifax [1901]

In 1911, the widowed Mary Jane and daughter Florence were living with her sister Miriam Sellers

Mackintosh, M. A.
[18??-19??] Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895]

Mackintosh Memorial Homes
Albert Promenade. 12 cottages, a matron's cottage, and an assembly hall built by Harold Vincent Mackintosh and the Mackintosh family. The building was designed by W. B. Walton, of Blackpool. The homes were for married couples aged over 60, and ex-employees of Mackintosh, and members of the congregation of Queens Road United Methodist Church, who had a joint income of between £1 and £2 per week. The homes were opened by J. H. Whitley on 1st January 1925.

The Mackintosh Homes for pensioners opened in 1968.

People recorded at the Homes include

Mackintosh, William
[1861-1???] Son of John Mackintosh.

Born in Ashton.

He and his father established William Mackintosh & Company

Mackintosh's: William Mackintosh & Company
Manufacturers of worsted coatings, serges and vicuña. Established in 1887 by John Mackintosh and his son William. In 1895, they employed around 50 workers. In 1905, they were at Craven Edge Mills, Halifax

Mackley, Cecil Owen
[1903-1961] Son of William Owen Mackley.

Born in Ipswich.

He was educated at Saint John's College Oxford, and taught at Kingswood School, Bath before becoming Deputy Headmaster at Heath Grammar School [1950s]

He lived at 44 Abbey Walk South, Halifax [1936]; Bright View, Manor Heath Road, Halifax [1961]

Mackley, William Owen
[1873-19??] Born in London.

In 1900, he married Jane Field [1876-19??] in Greenwich.

Children: (1) Reginald Joseph William [b 1902]; (2) Cecil Owen; (3) Dorothy Emma [b 1910].

The family lived at The Relief Station, Shearbridge Road, Bradford [1911]

Mackrell & Exley
Engineers, millwrights and ironfounders at Union Foundry, Elland [1874]

Mackrell's: J. Mackrell & Company
Engineers and iron founders at Union Foundry, Elland [1905].

See James Mackrell

Mackrell, James
[18??-19??] Engineer and iron founder. He was Chairman of Elland Council.

He married Unknown.

Children: Lewis. He lived at Fern Place, Elland [1905].

See Elland Town Hall and J. Mackrell & Company

Mackrell, Joseph
[18??-1???] Of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Emily Shaw who married Harry Farrar

Mackrell, Lewis
[18??-19??] Son of James Mackrell.

In 1909, he presented the clock to Elland Town Hall

Mackrill, John
[18??-18??] Card maker at Mount Street, Halifax [1850]

Mackrill, Lewis
[1818-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was innkeeper at the King's Head, Halifax [1861]; (possibly) landlord of the Lord Nelson, Halifax [1864, 1871, 1874].

He married Elizabeth [1819-1???].

Children: (1) James [b 1840] who was a woolsorter [1861]; (2) Samuel [b 1848] who was a plumber [1861]; (3) Sarah [b 1850] who married William Gledhill.

Living with them at the King's Head in 1861 were boarders Japheth Allen [aged 36] (mason), Robert Sherburn [aged 25] (mason) and George Turner [aged 59] (mason's labourer) 

Mackrill, Percy A.
[1???-19??] A footballer with Halifax Town.

He was landlord of the Globe, Halifax [1931-1949]

Mackworth, Sergeant-Major General Sir Francis
[16??-16??] Of Normanton, Rutland. He was a Royalist commander during the Civil War and was Major General to the Earl of Newcastle. In 1642, he went to Holland to recruit men for the Royalist cause.

After the Siege of Bradford, he was ordered to occupy Halifax with a part of the Royalist army from Bradford.

In 1643, he was in charge of the forces which attacked Heptonstall. He was in command of the forces which occupied Halifax township until 28th January 1644 when they marched out of the district, ending local involvement in the Civil War.

See The Hollins, Warley and Capture Of Wakefield

Maclean, Ian A. D.
[19??-19??] Only son of A. H. H. Maclean of London.

He lived at Ashday Hall, Southowram and The Gables, Halifax. He was Vice-President of the Halifax Building Society [1957]; President [1961-1973]; Chairman [1973-1974]

In 1937, he married Diana Futvoye from Matlock.

Children: twin sons Lowry Druce and John Futvoye

Maclean, John Futvoye
[19??-19??] Younger twin son of Ian A. D. Maclean.

In 1976?, he married Susan Rebecca Banks from Worcestershire

Maclean, Lowry Druce
[19??-19??] Elder twin son of I. A. D. Maclean.

In 1967, he married Frances Anne Crawford of North Carolina in Charlottesville, Virginia

Maclean, Sibella
[17??-1830] In February 1820, she met Anne Lister at York and they became devoted friends. The ladies visited London on several occasions

Maclise, Daniel
[1806-1870] RA. Son of a Scottish leatherworker. Born in Cork, Ireland.

Edward Middleton Barry brought Maclise in to oversee the execution of the carvings on Halifax Town Hall – notably that of Asia – which John Thomas died before completing.

He painted one of three scenes – representing episodes from the life of King Alfred – which Sir Savile Brinton Crossley offered to Halifax Corporation to commemorate the coronation of George V [1911]. The other 2 paintings were by John Calcott Horsley [1817-1903].

Maclise also painted a 10 ft by 7 ft depiction of Chivalry of the time of Henry VIII. This was also loaned by Sir Savile Brinton Crossley in 1911. Its present whereabouts are unknown.

He painted murals for the English Houses of Lords

MacManus, Arthur
[1889-1927] Scottish trade unionist and politician. He stood unsuccessfully as the Socialist Labour Party candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [1918]

Macmillan, Maurice Victor
[1921-1984] Son of Harold Macmillan, Prime Minister [1957-1963].

He was Conservative MP for Halifax [1955-1964].

Like his father, he was Chairman of the family's Macmillan publishing house.

When he was made a peer in 1984, he chose the courtesy title Viscount Macmillan of Ovenden

MacNab, Mr
[18??-1???] Recorded in June 1867, when he was Medical Officer for Hipperholme district

MacQuiban, Rev Tim
[19??-19??] Minister at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden [1987]

The name of a non-skid, concrete, road surface produced by Brookes. The publicity claimed that
No horse slipped, no vehicle skidded, and no gritting was needed

MacRobert, Peter Carmichael
[18??-19??] MB, CM. Physician and surgeon at Todmorden [1905]

MacVine, John William
[1856-1928] Son of William McVine.

Born in London.

He was a medical practitioner in Halifax [1895]

It is thought that he changed his name from McVine to MacVine after disagreement over his father's second marriage to Margaret McVine

Mad Rat
[18??-19??] A well-known character who sold havercake in Brighouse

Madden, Max
[1941-] Maxwell Francis Madden. Labour MP for Sowerby [1974-1979]

Maddock, George
[1878-1939] Born in Halifax.

He was an architect; partner with J. F. Walsh in Walsh & Maddock; a governor of the Royal Halifax Infirmary.

On 30th April 1919, he married Alice Marion Fox at Saint Paul's, King Cross.

Alice Marion was the daughter of Charles Edward Fox

See Charles Edward Fox

Maddocks, Joseph
[1695-1769] Of Cold Blow, near Dublin.

There is a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church

Maddocks, Canon Morris Arthur
[1878-1953] Born in Canterbury.

He was Curate at Christ Church, Pellon [1900], and served at Leeds and Dewsbury before becoming Vicar of Elland [1917]. In 1940, he was made a Canon of Wakefield Cathedral. In 1943, he moved to Kirkburton. He retired in October 1953 and died a week later on his way to his retirement in Surrey

Madeira Electric Lighting Company Limited
Recorded in 1905, when their registered office was at 6 Barum Top, Halifax

Madeley, Rev Mark K.
[19??-] DipHE, BA, AVCM. Vicar of Coley [2000]

Maden & Hoyle
Cotton spinners and manufacturers formed by Caleb Hoyle and Henry Maden. In 1869, they bought Derdale Mill, Todmorden. In May 1878, their workers were on strike.

When Maden died, his son carried on the business until March 1895 when Hoyle took over as sole owner.

In 1904, Hoyle bought Hollins Mill, Walsden.

See Caleb Hoyle [1923] Limited and Millwood

Maden, Henry
[18??-1890] A partner in Maden & Hoyle.

Uncle of Sarah Maden Hodson

Maden, Rev James
[18??-18??] He served at Macclesfield before becoming Minister of Shore Baptist Church, Todmorden [1868]

Maden, Thomas
[1865-1908] Born in Water, Rossendale.

He moved to Todmorden [1883]. He studied dentistry in America. He established business as a dentist. He practised at Patmos, Todmorden [1891].

He was Master of the Prudence Lodge [219] of Freemasons.

In 1897, he married Emma Harrison [1869-1939], born in Walsden, in Haslingden, Lancashire.

Children: (1) twins Clara (known as Claire) [1898-1981] who married Mr Coutanche and had 2 daughters (Joan and Peggy); (2) Hannah (known as Annie) [1898-1942]; (3) Tom [1902-1973].

The family lived at Dental Villa, Todmorden [1908].

He died at Dental Villa, Todmorden [27th January 1908].

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden [30th January 1908]. After his death, his wife continued business at the same address.

Widow Emma and daughter Clara and Hannah all died in Brighton.

See Alfred Newall

Maden, Tom
[1902-1973] Son of Thomas Maden.

He was educated at the Royal Masonic School, Bushey [1913-1918].

In 1925, he married (1) Margaret (Peggy) Reddall in Barnet.

Children: Jean.

In 1941, he married (2) Joan Boyer Distin in Devon.

Children: (2) Sally; (3) Jill; (4) Tom.

After settling in Devon he ran his own market garden business. He also worked in advertising, sales and printing.

He had a life-long love of the theatre. During the 1920s & 30s, he appeared in various touring stage and concert productions. He also played viola in the London Palladium concert band supporting acts like the Crazy Gang.

After World War II, he became keenly involved in amateur operatic and dramatics production, also playing leading roles. He was especially proud of the first amateur production of Worm's Eye View written by R. F. Delderfield. He was actively involved in the building of the Salterton Playhouse for the Budleigh Salterton Drama Club where a plaque has been installed in his memory.

During the 1950s & 60s, he was a prominent member of the Exmouth Chamber of Trade & Commerce, and was chairman of both the Exmouth and Honiton Constituency Liberal Associations

Mael, William
[17??-18??] Landlord of the Sun Inn, Halifax [1807].

He married Unknown [17??-1807].

His wife died 4th October 1807


Magee, Peter
[1770-18??] He had 8 wives and 31 children, including William by his 8th wife [b 1806]

Magee, William
[185?-1???] 27th son and 31st child of Peter Magee by his 8th wife. William is mentioned in baptismal records at Pellon Lane when he was baptised on 30th May 1856

Magennis, James Joseph
[1919-1986] VC.

Born in Belfast.

He was the only native of Northern Ireland to receive the Victoria Cross for service in World War II.

He died in Halifax

Magistrates' Office, Halifax
A small and incommodious building at Ward's End. On 19th century maps, this is shown on the corner at the junction of Ward's End and Horton Street – where the Shakespeare Tavern is today

The name of non-slip setts produced by Brookes

Magna Via
A name given to part of the Wakefield Gate route as it enters Halifax from the east.

In the Transactions of the Halifax Antiquarian Society for 2000, Donald Haigh indicates that this should properly be Alta Via, and attributes the source of the error to a mis-reading by John Lister.

See Dark Lane

Magnier, Alphonse Ernest
[1833-1878] MA. Born in France. He was a British citizen [1861].

He was Professor of Languages at 1 Harrison Road, Halifax [1862, 1874].

An advertisement for the business on 27th January 1862 announced

Monsieur A. Magnier M.A. (University of France) Professor of Greek, Latin, French, German, Italian and Spanish will resume his Lessons on Monday 29th inst. at No. 1, Harrison Road, Halifax

By 1880, A. Poiré had taken over the business.

In 1860, he married Jane Bell [1835-1884] from Eccleshall, in Halifax.

The family lived at 44 Horsefair, Doncaster [1861]

The surname is probably derived from Magge, a name recorded in the Court rolls held in Rastrick on 18th October 1315 when
Robert son of Magge

was fined for non-attendance at the Tourn.

See Magson House, Luddendenfoot

There are currently only around 6 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Magson. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Magson, Henry
[1864-1930] Ladies' and gentlemen's tailor.

He worked for Paul Greenwood & Son before setting up business on his own at 99 Pellon Lane, Halifax.

Recorded in 1912, when the business was described as

Contractors to the Admiralty &c

Magson House Farm, Luddendenfoot
Owners and tenants have included

Magson House, Halifax
Southgate. Owners and tenants have included

Magson House, Luddendenfoot
Magson House Road / Naylor Lane. 16th / 17th century house.

There are 2 inscriptions TJCC on the building.

The original house was almost entirely demolished, and a new house built in 1852.

Owners and tenants have included

See Magson surname

Magson, John
[17??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1751]

Magson, Joseph
[1814-1902] Son of Samuel Magson.

He was

He married Ellen [1841-1884].

Children: Fred [1865-1871].

Joseph and Ellen went to live in the USA.

They both died at New Britain, Connecticut.

There is a memorial to members of the family at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Magson, Mr
[1???-18??] Around 1870, he ran a private school in Halifax

Magson, Samuel
[1817-1868] Of West End, Sowerby Bridge.

He married Fanny [1819-1881].

Children: Joseph.

Members of the family were buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Magson, William Henry
[18??-1???] Beerhouse keeper at the Noah's Ark, Ovenden [1894].

In March 1894, he went into liquidation

Maher, Rev John Williams
[1???-18??] BA, FRAS. Curate-in-Charge of Brighouse [March 1838-March 1840]

Maher, Rev Michael
[1???-19??] Catholic priest at Saint Patrick's Catholic Church, West Vale [1935]

Mahmood, Arshad
[1956-] He was the first Asian to be Mayor of Calderdale [2009-2010]

Mahon, Mrs Alice
[1937-] A nursing auxiliary and college lecturer in trade union studies. She is a strong left-winger and Eurosceptic. She was a rebel against Blair's Labour government after 1997.

She is married with 2 sons.

She was a Calderdale MBC Councillor.

She was Labour MP for Halifax [1987-2005]. In that time, she has served as a Member of the Health Select Committee, and was Chairman of the All-Party Group on Breast Cancer, and was Chairman of the Committee for Security and Cooperation, and the Parliamentary Assembly of NATO.

She stood down in 2005 and the seat was held by Linda Riordan.

In April 2009, she left the Labour party when she found it impossible to defend many of the party's policies

Mahon, Rachel Ann
[19??-] She was Mayor of Todmorden [1995-1996]

Maiden's Cross
Stone cross on the Long Causeway above Todmorden.

It is said that a young woman used to return here to repeat her lover's promise of love after he was taken away to fight in the Civil War. The cross is probably much older than the 17th century

Maiden Stones Farm, Soyland
A farm near Manshead End above Baitings Reservoir

Maine, Rev Thomas
[18??-19??] He trained at Rawdon College, and served at Ashby-de-la-Zouch [1891] before becoming Minister at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax [1895-1902]. He moved to Leeds

Maine, Rev William
[17??-1???] Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1787]. Horsfall Turner says that
[In 1788] he vanished to Holcombe [Lancashire]

Mair, Rev Alan
[19??-] Minister at Blackley Particular Baptist Church [1978-1987]

Mais, Stuart Petre Brodie
[1885-1975] Aka Petre Mais, SPB Mais. Writer and broadcaster. Born in Birmingham. He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

He wrote over 200 books, once working on 14 books at the same time, causing Churchill to remark

That man makes me feel tired"

He was an ardent campaigner for the English countryside and traditions. Many of his books are accounts of his travels around Britain. His most widely-known book is probably This Unknown Island, a collection of talks and essays

From the 1920s, he made numerous radio broadcasts. In 1933, he began to broadcast a Letter From America.

He married Doris Snow, and then Jill Doughty

Maish, Rev E. H.
[1???-19??] Vicar of All Souls' Church, Halifax [1939]

Maishman, Rev H.
[18??-19??] Minister at North Parade Baptist Church, Halifax [1933]

Major Clough, Todmorden

Makepeace, Walter Thomas
[1866-1930] Born in Houghton Regis, Bedfordshire.

He was a steam engine maker fitter [1891], landlord of the Royal Oak, Mytholmroyd [1899, 1905], landlord of the Commercial Inn, Sowerby Bridge [1907, 1909], and innkeeper of the Woolpack, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

In [Q1] 1883, he married (1) Sarah Ann Harriet Jones Tole [1863-1909] in Luton.

Sarah Ann Harriet was born in Newport Pagnell, Buckinghamshire, daughter of Joseph Jones Tole, jockey

Children: (1) Lizzie [1883-1949] who married Thomas William Uttley; (2) Eliza Ann [b 1885] who married Archibald Simpson; (3) Walter Joseph [1890-1931]; (4) William Henry [1893-1956]; (5) Fred [1896-1897]; (6) Ernest [1897-1909]; (7) Arthur [1903-1943].

In October 1910, he married (2) Elizabeth [1863-1948] in Halifax.

Elizabeth, née Dodgson, was the widow of Edward Spink

The family lived at 9 Chatham Square, Halifax [1891].

Walter Thomas died in Huddersfield [28th December 1930]

Sarah and son Ernest both died at the Commercial Inn.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Luke's Church, Norland

Making Place Academy

Making Place, Soyland
Originally a 17th century farm.

Recorded in 1624, when it was known as Mecking Place.

The Classical design house – (possibly) based on Hopwood Hall – was the home of 18th century merchant Samuel Hill who bought the place in 1706.

He ran his business from here from 1706 to 1759.

Owners and tenants have included

In 18??, the Misses Wall ran a dame school in a part of the house.

In 1832, William Dove opened his commercial school Making Place Academy here.

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

See John Ulam Cocker, Robert & William Graham, Samuel Kershaw, Lower Making Place, Soyland and Thomas Whitley

Malcolmson, Kenneth F.
[1???-19??] Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1937-1939].

He moved to become organist at Newcastle Cathedral

Male Union Society, Wadsworth
Laneside. Recorded in 1862

Malehane, Thomas
[1853-19??] Of Cleckheaton. Landlord of the White Lion, Rastrick [1901].

He married Martha [1858-19??] from Goole.

Children: (1) Isaac [b 1881] who was born in Brough, Yorkshire; (2) Gordon [b 1884] who was born in Scalegill, Cumberland; (3) Joseph E [b 1887] who was born in Scalegill, Cumberland; (4) Frederick [b 1893] who was born in Wakefield

Malkin, Binns & Foster
Halifax engineers. Partners included Jacob Malkin

Malkin, David
[1824-1891] On 24th December 1847, he married Rachel Naylor [1826-1897] in Halifax.

Children: Jacob

Malkin, Jacob
[1865-1930] Son of David Malkin.

Born in Siddal [18th October 1865].

Partner in Malkin, Binns & Foster.

On 18th January 1890, he married Emma Jane Smith [1866-19??] from Elland, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Ernest [1890-1955]; (2) Harold [1891-1960]; (3) Ruth [1894-1978]; (4) Emmeline [1897-1972].

The family lived at South View, Whitegate Top, Siddal [1905].

Jacob died in Siddal [14th April 1930]

Malkin, Samuel
[1???-17??] Potter originally from Staffordshire. He produced some fine designs. He worked at Woodman House Pottery around 1730

Malkin, Walter
[1886-1952] Born in Halifax.

He was a cabinet maker [1921].

On 25th August 1921, he married Elsie Hollas at Saint Mark's Church, Siddal.

Elsie was the daughter of
Tom Hollas

They (possibly) had no children

Mallalieu & Platt
Cotton spinners at Spa Hole Mill, Blackshawhead [1825, 1837], Mytholm Mill, Hebden Bridge [1834], and Nutclough Mill [1825-1838].

Partners included James Mallalieu

Mallalieu, B. H.
[18??-19??] Around 1878, he acquired the coal merchant business of Mr Shaw

Mallalieu, Benjamin
[1801-1845] Son of James Mallalieu.

Born in Saddleworth.

He was a cotton spinner (employer) at Spring Mill, Rishworth [1841].

He married Martha Hegginbottom [1809-18??] from Saddleworth.

Children: (1) James; (2) Sara Elizabeth [b 1837]; (3) Mary [b 1839]; (4) Lucy [b 1841] [1841-1906] who married Thomas Falcon Whiteley; (5) Benjamin.

In 1851, after Benjamin's death, Martha bought Spring Mill, Rishworth. She was listed as employing 26 men and 30 women. She invested heavily in the mill in expectation of the Rishworth Branch Line reaching the mill. The mill was run by her sons, James and Benjamin. Martha's brother-in-law, John Whiteley, rescued the business after her sons ran into financial trouble

Mallalieu, Benjamin
[1845-1???] Son of Benjamin Mallalieu.

He and his brother, James, were cotton spinners at Spring Mill, Rishworth [after 1851]

Mallalieu, James
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Nutclough Mill, Hebden Royd [1822]. Partner in Mallalieu & Platt

Mallalieu, James
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Spring Mill, Rishworth [from 1807]

Mallalieu, James
[1763-1832] He married Lucy Hegginbottom.

Children: (1) William; (2) Lucy [b 1800] who married John Shepherd; (3) Benjamin

Mallalieu, James
[1835-1???] Son of Benjamin Mallalieu. He and his brother, Benjamin, were cotton spinners at Spring Mill, Rishworth [after 1851]

Mallalieu, John
[1???-18??] Cotton spinner at Pit Hill, Barkisland [1845]

Mallalieu, William
[1786-1863] (Possibly) son of James Mallalieu. Baptised at Friarmere, Yorkshire [7/2/1796]. Born in Saddleworth.

He was a cotton spinner at Soyland.

In 1828, he was declared bankrupt

He was a warehouseman [1851].

On 30th April 1820, he married Betty Lumb [1801-1???] at Elland Parish Church.

Children: (1) William; (2) James [b 1826]; (3) Hannah [b 1826]; (4) Levi [b 1830]; (5) Elizabeth [b 1834].

The family lived at Jackey Brough, Castleton, Rochdale [1841] and 1 Wadsworth Mill, Market Street, Todmorden [1851]

He died in Todmorden.

He was buried at Saint Bartholomew's, Dean Head. There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 58] at Scammonden in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

An inscription on the gravestone records that he was

One of the Co-operative Pioneers of Rochdale

Mallalieu, William
[1818-1???] Son of William Mallalieu.

He married Martha Butterworth in Manchester

Children: (1) James who was a police constable in Oldham [1881-1901]; (2) William

Mallalieu, William
[1845-1927] Son of William Mallalieu.

Born in Rochdale. Baptised 27th February 1920, aged 74.

He was a comedian [1871, 1901]; an actor [1911].

He married Margaret Ellen Smith [1846-19??] born in Norwich.

Margaret Ellen was a comedian [1901]; a retired actress [1911].

Children: Mary [b 1881] born in Yarmouth, who was an actress [1901, 1911].

The family lived at Harrington Place, Bath [1871, 1901]; 41 Avonwick Road, Lampton Road, Middlesex [1911]

Mallett, George Edward
[1871-1953] Son of Frederick R. Mallett, a physician and surgeon.

Born in Bolton, Lancashire.

He was a mathematical engineer in Bolton [1901]; partner in Sharp & Mallett.

In 1903, he married Marion Louise Campbell.

Children: (1) Edward Campbell [1904]; (2) Marjorie Kearsley [1907]; (3) Barbara Frances [1910].

The family lived at Highlands, Greenroyd, Halifax [1911].

He died at Seaford Sussex [17th February 1953] (aged 82) 

The entries for people with the surname Mallinson are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

The surname probably originated in the Barkisland / Greetland / Stainland area.

John Malynessone is recorded in 1317.

Like Dyson and Tillotson, the name derives from a woman's name and means son of Matilda or Mary

There are currently around 68 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Mallinson. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Mallinson & Barber
Partnership of architects James Mallinson and W. S. Barber.

Their work includes Civic Hall, Brighouse, Halifax Parish Church Day School and Saint Mary's Church, Lister Lane

Mallinson & Healey
Ecclesiastical architects formed by partners James Mallinson and Thomas Healey.

After their father's death, the brothers – Thomas Henry and Francis – continued the practice until Francis's death in 1910.

Their work includes All Saints' Church, Dudwell, All Souls' Memorial Chapel, All Souls' Church, Halifax: Graveyard, Bridge End Congregational Church, Rastrick, Christ Church, Barkisland, Christ Church, Pellon, Parish Church of Saint Thomas the Apostle, Heptonstall, Saint John the Evangelist, Clifton, Saint Michael's & All Angels' Church, Shelf and Saint Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd

Mallinson & Heaton
Woollen manufacturers at West Vale. Partners included John Mallinson and Thomas Heaton.

The partnership was dissolved when Mallinson retired on 31st May 1873

Mallinson & Whitham
Sewing machine dealers at Brighouse. Partners included G. Mallinson and G. Whitham.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1879

Mallinson Brothers Limited
Engineers and tool makers at Mytholm Iron Works, Hipperholme [1905]

Mallinson's: J. & J. Mallinson
Engineers' tool makers at Stanley Iron Works, New Bank, Halifax. Recorded in the 1890s.

In 1912, the business was in financial difficulties and was bought by Henry Holmes, Lewis John Akroyd and Alfred Charnock.

In 1938, Holmes and Charnock were bought out and the MD – the son of Edgar Thomas – and Akroyd took over the business and changed the name to Stanley Machine Tool Company

Mallinson's: J. Mallinson & Sons
Coal and lime merchants at Greetland railway goods yard [1905]

Mallinson's: James & Joseph Mallinson
Pianoforte manufacturers in Brighouse.

Partners included James Mallinson and Joseph Mallinson.

The partnership was declared bankrupt in February 1870

Mallinson's: R. Mallinson & Company Limited
Manufacturers of wire products at Green Mount Works, Halifax [1936]

Mallison, G.
[17??-18??] Corn miller at Gauxholme.

In February 1809, he was declared bankrupt

Mallison, Mrs Mary
[16??-1714] Widow from Lightcliffe. On 28th June 1714, she fell into a well in her own cellar and was
taken up dead

Malt Kiln Bridge, Todmorden
Ewood Lane. Over the Calder.

Mitchell's malting business was nearby

Malt Kiln, Brighouse
There was a significant malt trade in the district. A malt-house dated 1693 stood next to the Old Mansion House in what is now Thornton Square. It was used by the Taylor family and the Green family.

It was demolished in 1885 to make way for Brighouse Town Hall

Malthouse, Kirklees Park
Late 17th-century malthouse at Kirklees Park. It is an L-shaped building with 3 storeys and an attic.

The stone floors were covered with lime-ash laid on rushes to allow the barley to ferment. An ochre line around the internal walls marked the depth to which the barley should be loaded on each floor.

This one of several buildings at Kirklees Park which are on English Heritage's Buildings At Risk Register.

The Maltings
See Fountain Head Brewery

Malton, John
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1786]

Malynson, William Johnson
[13??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1394]

In 200?, the retail clothiers, Mackays was rebranded as M&Co. Their Brighouse outlet is in the former Brighouse Co-operative Stores in King Street

Manby, Martin
[1???-19??] He was Manager of the Albert Cinema, Brighouse.

He later ran an optician's and camera business in Briggate, Brighouse

Manchester & Lancashire Family History Society
This may be of interest to researchers into families from Todmorden and the Upper Calder Valley

The Manchester & Leeds Railway Company
The company was formed in 1825.

The Manchester-Liverpool Railway opened in 1830.

Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Company Limited
Their offices at the corner of Bridge Gate and New Road, Hebden Bridge were built about 1892.

In 1897, John Gask was manager at Todmorden and Hebden Bridge

Manchester-Halifax coach service
In the 1760s, when the turnpike was built through Todmorden, a number of local people – including John Crossley and the landlord of the Golden Lion – raised money for a coach service from Manchester, through Todmorden, down the Calder Valley and on to Halifax. The Golden Lion was a staging post. The service ran on Tuesdays – when the Manchester cotton market opened – and Fridays. The coaches had names such as Shuttle and Perseverance

Manchester, Hebden Bridge & Keighley Junction Railway
Recorded in 1845

Manchester House, Elland
Westgate / Elland Cross. The building was a shop.

The John Forrest and the Forrest family had a drapery business here.

The 3-storey building was reduced to 2 storeys around 1910.

London House was next door

Manchester House, Ripponden
Beaumont Brothers Limited were here

Manchester House, Shelf
Carr House Road

Manchester Unity of Oddfellows
The Halifax District of the Manchester Unity of Oddfellows held their centenary on 26th September 1933.

See Walter Fawthrop, Oddfellows and Village Pride Lodge

Manesley & Sheard
Halifax brewers.

Partners included J. Manesley and J. Sheard – (possibly) Jonathan Sheard. Recorded in June 1871, when when the partnership was dissolved

Manger, Charles
[18??-19??] Floral artist. He was at 31 Crown Street, Halifax [1936].

He married Unknown.

Children: Kenneth.

The family lived at 1 Dawson's Court, Halifax [1936]

Manger, Kenneth
[19??-1940] From Halifax. His family had a florist's business in Halifax.

Educated at Crossley & Porter.

He served as a Pilot Officer with 17 Squadron of the RAF during World War II. On 11th August 1940, he was killed in action flying his Hurricane in the Battle of Britain. His body was never recovered from the Channel.

He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, the Battle of Britain Book in Westminster Abbey, the Battle of Britain Memorial on the Embankment in London, and a Battle of Britain Memorial plaque in his school.

He was awarded the Battle of Britain Clasp on his 1939-1945 War Medal.

In January 2011, he and Walter Beaumont and Geoffrey Garside were commemorated when Manger Gardens, Garside Drive and Beaumont Chase, on the Wheatley Chase development at Keighley Road, Halifax, were named in their honour

A variant of the surname Mangold

A variant of the surname Mangold which is found in East Lancashire.

Other forms of the surname include Mangnall, Mangnell, Mankland, Manknall, Manknell and Manks.

A topographical surname derived from Mankinholes

Hamlet in the Langfield district of Calderdale south-east of Todmorden just below Stoodley Pike

House dated HS 1690

Mankinholes Cottage
One of 2 early 18th century cottages: Mankinholes Cottage and Antwerp Cottage.

See Cottage, Mankinholes

Mankinholes cross
The cross stands in a field

Mankinholes Farm, Todmorden
Built in 1668. Extended in the early 18th century

Mankinholes Hall
Built in the late 16th century. Enlarged in the 19th century. It was the home of William Ingham.

Since the 1940s, it has been a Youth Hostel

Mankinholes Moor
Aka Langfield Common

Mankinholes Mutual Improvement Society
Recorded in 1880.

See Mutual Improvement Societies

Mankinholes Riots
Following the Poor Law Amendment Act [1834], the newly formed Board of Guardians made its first demand for money in 1838 and the township refused to pay. In November 1839, riots broke out and mobs attacked the houses, breaking windows, doors and furniture

Mankinholes Youth Hostel
Formerly Mankinholes Hall

A variant of the surname Mangold

A variant of the surname Mangold

A variant of the surname Mangold which is found in East Lancashire.

A variant of the surname Mangold

There are currently around 13 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Manks. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Manks, Arthur William
[1868-1954] Son of William Manks.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a mill manager [1898]; managing director at silk spinners [1901]; a silk spinner [1905, 1911, 1924].

He lived at Bent Ley, Meltham [1901]; Bent Ley House, Bent Ley, Meltham [1911].

He died at Lyngarth, 8 Glebe Street, Marsh, Huddersfield 20th January 1954.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £334,504 2/7d. Probate was granted to John Manks Brook, and Rose Elizabeth Brook.

See George Henry Manks

Manks, Charles
[1833-1917] Son of Jonathan Manks.

Born in Elland.

He was a blacksmith of Southowram [1857]; a master blacksmith employing 1 man and 1 boy [1871]; a blacksmith [1881]; a retired farrier [1901, 1911].

In July 1857, he married Jane Wooller [1835-1898].

Jane, of Southowram, was the daughter of cordwainer James Wooller of Halifax

Children: (1) Letty [1861-1865]; (2) Emma [b 1863]; (3) James Wooller [b 1865] who was a surgeon's dispenser [1881]; (4) Frances Mary [1866-1867]; (5) Willie [b 1868]; (6) Ada Jane [b 1871]; (7) Charles Henry [b 1873] who was a commercial traveller [1901, 1911, 1917].

The family lived at New Street, Southowram [1871]; 54 New Street, Southowram [1881]; New Street, Southowram [1901]; 7 Kingston Street, Halifax [1911, where he died 24th October 1917]

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £343 6/8d. Probate was granted to Charles Henry Manks

Manks, Edward Bromley
[1860-1912] Son of George Henry Manks. Born in Halifax.

He was a maltster [1881, 1891]; living on own means [1901].

In 1898, he married Mary Alice Delaney [1873-1912] born in Hanley, in Walsall.

Children: Mary Frances [b 1899] who married [1823] Richard Alphonso Cooke.

The family lived at Woodside, Elland [1901]; Ashlea, Elland [where he died 6th December 1912].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £7,231 7/3d. Probate was granted to Rev Edward Charles Delaney and brother George Henry Manks.

Mary Alice died 31st July 1912. Probate records show that she left effects valued at £237 16/11d. Probate was granted to George Henry Manks

Manks, Ernest Henry
[1871-19??] Son of William Manks.

Born in Brighouse.

He was Agent for the London & Yorkshire Bank Limited [1897] and Manager [1901]; a bank manager [1905]; Manager at the Union of London & Smiths Bank Limited, Elland [1905, 1917]; Manager at the same bank which was now the National Provincial & Union Bank of England Limited [1922].

In 1901, he was a lodger with Edwin Scholey at Briggate House, Elland [1901]

In September 1902, he married Alice Maude Dowse at Saint Nicholas, Cumberworth.

Alice Maude was the daughter of John Dowse

He was at Briggate House, Elland [1908]

Manks, George Henry
[1833-1898] Of Brighouse. Son of Riley Manks.

He was a grocer [1859]; maltster of Elland [1891, 1897].

On 26th May 1859, he married Annie Elizabeth, daughter of Edward Bromley, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Edward Bromley; (2) Annie Louisa [b 1862] who married [28th April 1886] John Wood [b 1846]; (3) Walter Crossley; (4) Emily Agnes [b 1865] who married [30th December 1890] Alexander Fotheringham; (5) Frances Alice [b 1868]; (6) George Henry.

The family lived at Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1861]; Highfield House, Elland [1881, 1891, 1901, 1911].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £41,784 5/3d. Probate was granted to children Walter and Frances Alice, and Arthur William Manks.

Annie Elizabeth died 17th November 1911. Probate records show that she left effects valued at £2,298 8/1d [resworn at £2,418 18/1d]. Probate was granted to son Walter and manufacturer Joseph Morton

Manks, George Henry
[1876-1920] Son of George Henry Manks Born 20th September 1876.

He was a solicitor at Westgate, Elland [1901]; a commissioner for oaths [1904]. He was at 35 Southgate, Elland [1917]

He lived at 39 Saint Bevan's Road, Halifax [where he died 14th February 1920].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £5,749 14/9d

A second probate record to Mary Frances Cooke (wife of Richard Alphonso Cooke) shows

Effects Nil

Manks, Jonathan
[1811-1879] Son of William Manks. Baptised 1811.

He was a blacksmith [1832, 1841, 1871, 1879].

In November 1832, he married Martha Farrar [1811-1893], of Southowram.

Children: (1) Charles; (2) Susannah [1837]; (3) Phineas [1838].

The family lived at Halfpenny Can, Southowram [1841]; School House, Southowram [1871]; Church Lane, Southowram [1879]

Living with them in 1871 was grandchild? Lucy A. Manks [aged 12].

Jonathan died at Church Lane, Southowram [27th March 1879].

Martha was buried at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram [December 1893]

Manks, Mr
[17??-18??] He married Hannah [177?-1847]. Hannah was widowed by 1841.

Children: (1) John [b 1821]; (2) Mary [b 1827]; (3) Harriet [b 1831].

The family lived at Marsh Delves, Southowram [1841]

Manks, Riley
[1785-1857] Son of John Manks / John Manknowles. Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [January 1785].

He was a tailor [1813, 1828]; a farmer [1841].

In January 1813, he married (1) widow Susannah Hemingway, [17??-18??] of Southowram.

In November 1828, he married (2) widow Ruth Akroyd [1791-1867], of Southowram.

Children: (1) William; (2) Edward [b 1831]; (3) George Henry; (4) Mary Ann [1836-1903] who married John Hemingway.

The family lived at Cotton Croft [1829, 1835]; Southowram [1841].

He was buried at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram [August 1857]. 1861 Census. Ruth Manks (68) Widow and son William Manks, Unmarried (30) were living at Church Lane, – it looked like Hipperholme but could be Brighouse!

Ruth was buried at Saint Anne's Church, Southowram [January 1867]

Manks, Serjeant
[17??-1806] He was a members of the Halifax Volunteers.

On 8th November 1806, he died when a stone fell on his head in a stone quarry.

He was interred with military honours at the New Methodist Chapel in Southowram

Manks, Walter Crossley
[1863-1942] Aka Walt. Son of George Henry Manks.

He was a banker's clerk [1881]; (possibly) a commercial traveller [1891]; a retired maltster [1901, 1911].

On 19th April 1903, he married Martha Whitaker [1870-19??] in Halifax.

Question: Does anyone know how their marriage in 1903 reconciles with the births of their children Mary Frances [b 1899] and Kathleen [b 1901]?


Children: (1) Mary Frances [b 1899]; (2) Kathleen [b 1901]; (3) Joan Crossley [b 1906]; (4) Edward Bromley [b 1909].

The family lived at 4 Savile Park, Halifax [1942].

He died in Halifax General Hospital [28th March 1942]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,985 11/5d

Manks, William
[17??-1843] Of Southowram.

He was a delver [1840].

In October 1804, he married Hannah Green.

Children: (1) Thomas [bapt 1805]; (2) Elizabeth [bapt 1807]; (3) Jonathan; (4) Charles [b 1813]; (5) William [bapt 1816]; (6) James [bapt 1818]; (7) John [bapt 1820] who married [June 1840] Elizabeth [1821-1???] of Halifax, daughter of labourer James Wriggles; (8) Mary Ann [bapt 1825] who married [May 1845] William [1826-1???] of Halifax, son of blacksmith James Wriggles; (9) Harriet [bapt 1829]

Manks, William
[1830-1905] Son of Riley Manks.

He was a gentleman [1897]; a land agent [1868].

He married Rose.

Children: (1) Riley [1863-1867]; (2) Laura Rose [b 1865] who married Joah Brook; (3) Arthur William; (4) Ernest Henry; (5) Alice Emma [b 1873] who married Ernest Marshall; (6) Edith Maude [b 1877] who married [September 1905] Ernest William Scratchard [1878-19??].

The family lived at Garden Road, Brighouse [1897, 1905, 1911, 1924]

William died at Garden Road, Brighouse [15th February 1905]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £4,384 13/5d. Probate was granted to Arthur William Manks, Ernest Henry Manks and Laura Rose Brook.

Rose died at 24 Garden Road, Brighouse [18th February 1924]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £933 10/-. Probate was granted to Arthur William Manks, Alice Emma Marshall and Edith Maud Scratchard

Manley, George
[1813-1887] Born in Halifax. The family owned land at Bonegate, Brighouse.

He married Mary Gill [1813-1898] from Kidderminster.

Children: (1) Martin; (2) Frederick George [1853] who died aged 6 months.

The family lived at 2 Saint Martin's Terrace, Brighouse [1851, 1881].

He died July 4th 1887 [aged 75].

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

See Manley Street, Brighouse

Manley, Martin
[1758-1847] Of Brighouse.

He married either Ann [1751-1835] or Mary Gill.

Children: Mary Gill [b 1789] who married Isaac Hitchen.

The family lived at Well Close House, Brighouse [1835, 1845].

He died 14th May 1847.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse. He appointed Robert Shackleton Eastwood, William Eastwood, George Manley, and John Hodgson Ramsbotham. as Trustees of his estate, and then replaced William Eastwood, by Abraham Greenwood Eastwood

Manley, Martin
[1850-1941] Son of George Manley.

Local photographer and historian of Brighouse. His family owned land at Bonegate, Brighouse. He was a founding member of the Brighouse Photographic Society.

In 1875, he married Laura Wood [1853-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Martin [b 1876]; (2) Harry [b 1878]; (3) George Leslie [1884-1896].

He lived at 1 Saint Martin's Terrace, Brighouse [1881, 1901] and 44 High Street, Brighouse [1908]

See Manley Street, Brighouse and Martin Street, Brighouse

Manly, Mr
[17??-18??] One of the lessees of the Theatre Royal, Halifax. He was also an actor and his wife was a popular actress. He also handled a theatre in Derby

Manly, Mrs
[17??-18??] She was the wife of Mr Manly and a popular actress at the Theatre Royal, Halifax

Mann, A. M.
[18??-19??] Boot and shoe dealer at 66 New Crown Street, Halifax [1915]

Mann, Alfred
[18??-18??] Butcher at Brighouse [1875].

In July 1875, he bought 2 cottages, land and other property at Bridge End from the estate of Martin Manley

Mann, C.
[18??-18??] Butcher at Brighouse.

In June 1864, he was declared bankrupt

Mann, Edgar
[1913-1998] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

Mann, Emma
[1865-1936] She married Whiteley Turner.

She was buried at Mount Tabor Wesleyan Methodist Chapel alongside her husband Line U, grave 17 [18/11/1936]

Mann, Ernest Edwin
[1881-1960] On 7th November 1903, he married Alice Maud Mary Skelton at Kilburn, London.

Alice Maud Mary was the daughter of
Edwin Skelton

Children: (1) Winifred [b 1906]; (2) Leonard [b 1907]; (3) Ross [b 1908]; (4) Gerald [b 1910]

Mann, Rev G.
[19??-] Member of the Brighouse Team Parish with responsibility for Saint John's Church, Clifton [1993]

Mann, Rev Isaac
[17??-18??] He trained at Horton before becoming Pastor at Steep Lane Baptist Church, Sowerby [1807-1811]. He was ordained in August 1809.

He moved to Shipley, then to Burslem, then to Maze Pond, London [October 1826] where he died

Mann, James
[1???-1???] The first chairman of the Hebden Bridge Industrial Co-operative Society, and the only member of the American Society to emigrate to America

Mann, James

He was keeper of the Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel [1871].

He married Jane [1807-1???].

They lived at 10 Battinson Street, Southowram [1871]

Mann's: James & Thomas Mann
Boot and shoe makers at Northowram. Partners included James Mann and Thomas Mann.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1855

Mann, John
[1???-18??] Coal miner.

In 1834, he and brother Joseph won the bid to work the Walker pit coal mine on the Walker family's land. The auction to carry out the work was held at the Stag's Head, Mytholm.

He was known as Anne Lister's master miner

Mann, John
[17??-18??] Of Elland. Recorded in 1803

Mann, Joseph
[1???-18??] In 1834, he and brother John won the bid to work the Walker pit coal mine on the Walker family's land

Mann, Joseph
[1777-18??] Born in Elland.

He was innkeeper at the Lambert House, West Vale [1841, 1851]

He married Ann [1780-18??].

Children: (1) Charles [b 1806]; (2) Mary [b 1816].

In 1851, Ruth Luty was a house servant for him at Lambert House

Mann, Rev Joshua
[17??-18??] Vicar of Hartshead [1791-1793] and again [1793-1795]

Mann, Rev Samuel
[18??-1???] Minister at Blackley Particular Baptist Church [1872].

On 27th June 1872, he married Mary Ann Williams at Wesley Rock Chapel, Penzance.

Mary Ann was the third daughter of Mr B. Williams, of Penzance

Mann, T.
[18??-19??] He stood unsuccessfully as the Independent Labour Party candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [1897]

Mann, Thomas
[1789-1871] He was a farmer [1841]; registrar of births and deaths for Southowram district [1850]; a farmer & registrar [1851]; registrar of births, marriages and deaths for Southowram district [1857]; registrar for Southowram [1863].

He married Frances [1789-1863].

Children: (1) Edwin [b 1817/21]; (2) George [b 1822/6]; (3) Kitching [b 1822/6]; (4) Alfred [b 1826] who was a butcher [1871].

The family lived at Yew Tree House, Southowram [1841, 1851, 1861].

In 1871, Thomas was living with his son Alfred and Alfred's wife Rachel [aged 44] and two daughters at Briggate, Brighouse

Mann, Wallace
[1904-1???] Halifax baker.

In 1950, he had business at 52 King Cross Street, Halifax – in the shop which had earlier been occupied by John Mackintosh.

By the 1970s, the business was known as Cockroft-Mann.

In 1927, he married Irene Shaw in Halifax.

Children: (1) Stuart; (2) daughter; (3) daughter.

The family lived at Savile Road [1950]

Mann, Rev William
[17??-18??] Minister of Hartshead [1785-1787] and again [1793-1795]

Mann, William
[1834-1895] Son of weaver Hare(?) Mann.

Born in Mixenden.

He was a worsted dyer [1861]; a dyer [1871, 1874]; a dyehouse buftor(?) [1881]; beerseller at the New Road Tavern, Halifax, 15 Saint Mark Street, Northowram [1891].

In 1856, he married (1) Christabel Smith [1839-1873] from Warley, in Halifax.

Children: (1) George [b 1856] who was a carpet stitcher [1871]; (2) Hannah [b 1859] who was a worsted spinner [1871]; (3) Joseph [b 1861] who was a worsted spinner [1871]; (4) Emmalina [b 1863] who was a worsted spinner [1871]; (5) John [b 1866] who was a worsted spinner [1871]; (6) Dyson [b 1868]; (7) Eliza [b 1871].

In 1874, he married (2) Mary, widow of Robert Hirst at Halifax Parish Church.

His stepson, John Andrew Taylor, was living with the family at the tavern [1891]

The family lived at 32 Back Side, Northowram [1861]; 14 Old Lane, Northowram [1871]; 2 Derby Street, Northowram [1881]; New Road Hotel, 15 Saint Mark Street, Northowram [1891]; 100 Saint Peter Street, Halifax [1901].

In 1881, the people in the household were William and Mary and their children and stepchildren:

  • Hannah Mann [b 1859] who was a cotton reeler

  • Barker Hirst [b 1861] who was a monkey presser (dyers) 

  • Joseph Mann [b 1861] who was an iron plainer

  • Arthur Taylor [b 1862] who was a dyer's black roller

  • Emmalina Mann [b 1863] who was a cotton reeler

  • John H Hirst [b 1865] who was a dyehouse tenter (engine) 

  • John Mann [b 1866] who was a monkey presser (dyers) 

  • John A Taylor [b 1866] who was an iron moulder's apprentice

  • Dyson Mann [b 1868] who was a cotton reeler

  • Eliza Mann [b 1871]

  • Clara Hirst Mann [b 12/1879] granddaughter who was Emmalina's illegitimate daughter (possibly) by one of her Hirst stepbrothers

Living with them in 1891 were widowed stepson John Andrew Taylor, grandchildren Emily Taylor and Walter Taylor, and a boarder James Henry Wilson [aged 23] (paper hanger) 

Mann, William
[1836-1895] He was landlord of the Corporation Inn, Halifax [1895].

In 1863, he married Elizabeth Ann Gill [1843-1905] in Halifax.

Children: (possibly) Arthur.

After William's death, Elizabeth Ann took over at the Corporation Inn.

After Elizabeth Ann's death, Arthur took over at the Corporation Inn.

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Mann, William Henry
[1841-1???] Son of John B. H. Mann, a gardener.

On 29th April 1860, he married Sarah, daughter of William Saltonstall

Manning, August Frederick
[1833-1858] From Ipswich. Son of W. Manning, relieving officer for Ipswich.

He was a stone mason and worked on the construction of All Souls' Church, Haley Hill.

He died after a few days illness [12th September 1858].

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Manock, Elisha Wilkinson
[1843-1897] Churchwarden at Illingworth Church [19??].

In 1865, he married Laura Hannah Rogers at Rochdale

Manor Heath Lodge, Halifax
Skircoat Green Road. The gate lodge for Manor Heath Mansion.

Owners and tenants have included

Lower Manor Heath Lodge is also recorded and owners and tenants have included

Owners and tenants have included

Manor Heath Lodge is now a private house known as Lower Cottage

Manor Heath Mansion, Halifax
Gothic-style mansion built in 1853 as the home for John Crossley.

Manor Heath Park, Skircoat
Skircoat Green Road. Manor Heath stood here. A playground and a paddling pool were added in February 1954.

In 2005, the Park received £50,000 from the Big Lottery Fund's regional People's Millions fund to build a play area at the Park.

See Halifax baths and Manor Heath Jungle Experience

Manor House, Blackshawhead
Dark Lane. Originally a late 16th century open-hall-house. It was extended in the early 18th century

Manor House, Brighouse
This stood near what is now Thornton Square.

Owners and tenants have included

It was demolished in 1875.

See Manor of Brighouse

Manor House, Hartshead
Hartshead Moor. Rev Benjamin Firth lived here and his Manor House Academy was here

Manor House, Hebden Bridge
Wadsworth Lane. The manor house for the Manor of Wadsworth.

The writer John Foster was born here. A memorial to Foster was erected here in 1913.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was unoccupied when it was badly damaged by fire in May 2001, and again in July 2002.

In May 2009, the house was sold

Manor House, Mytholmroyd
Wadsworth Lane. The buildings are in a fairly parlous state

Manor House Nursing & Residential Home, Lightcliffe
Wakefield Road

Manor House, Rodwell End

Manor House, Stainland
Stainland Road. 18th century house dated 1703 IM.

Owners and tenants have included

Manor Royd, Halifax
Heath Street.

Owners and tenants have included

The Manse, Halifax
Saint John's Lane/Harrison Road

Mansfield House, Lindwell
The Carriage Drive, Greetland

Mansfield House, Shackleton

Area of Cragg Vale north of Baitings Reservoir which yielded signs of flint working from the Mesolithic – including hundreds of blades, flakes and microtools – from the Neolithic – including many flint arrow heads, and a polished stone axe head – and from the Bronze Age – with arrow heads and scrapers

Manshead End, Soyland
A hill – 1369 ft high – which stands east above Baitings Reservoir

Manshead Tunnel
8000 ft long tunnel constructed in 1962 to carry water from Turvin Clough – via a pumping station at Wash Fold Road, Cragg Vale – to Baitings Reservoir.

It was built between 1959 and 1964 by the Wakefield & District Water Board to divert water collected from moorland areas into Baitings.

In 1961, one man was killed and 3 injured by an explosion whilst the tunnel was being constructed.

The tunnel officially opened in September 1964.

The tunnel still has the potential to divert water to prevent flooding lower down the valley at Cragg Vale and Mytholmroyd

Mansion House, Cheapside
Aka Great House, Cheapside

Mansley, Henry
[18??-19??] Florist and seedsman at Clover Hill Nursery [1905]

Mansley, Herbert
[18??-19??] Of J. Mansley & Sons.

He lived at 229 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1905]

Mansley's: J. Mansley & Sons
Joiners, builders and undertakers at High Level Works, Halifax [1905].

See Herbert Mansley

Mansley, James
[1837-1???] Established James Mansley & Company brewery at Albert Brewery, Halifax.

He was in partnership with his brother-in-law Jonathan Sheard.

He married Nanny, daughter of Matthew Sheard.

Children: Brook.

See Brackenbeds Brewery

Mansley's: James Mansley & Company
Ale and porter brewers and merchants established by James Mansley at Albert Brewery, Halifax [1890]

Mantle, Dr Alfred
[1855-19??] MD, MRCP. Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895]. He was Medical Officer at the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary [1895]; Honorary Medical Officer at the Royal Halifax Infirmary [1905]; Consulting Physician at Royal Halifax Infirmary [1916].

In 1890, he married Edith Frances Devan/Devas [b 1856] at Saint George's Hanover Square, London.

Children: (1) child [b 1893]; (2) child [b 1897].

They lived at 12 Park Road, Halifax [1891] and 21 Savile Road, Halifax [1905].

See Lieutenant Dr Frederick Whitaker

Manufacturers' Hall
An earlier name for the Halifax Piece Hall

Map of Calderdale

Maple Dean Clough
Stream which flows through North Dean Woods and divides Norland and Greetland. It is joined by Norland Stream as it flows down to the Calder.

The Donkey Bridge is a footbridge across the clough.

See Clough Moor Bridge, Norland and Norland Stream

Maple Laundries Limited
Carpet cleaners. They were at 25 West End Road, Halifax [1952]

See Halifax Steam Laundry and Maple Works, Halifax


Marble Works
Studio of Joseph Bentley Leyland

Marburg House, Halifax
38 Gibbet Street.

Owners and tenants have included

March, W.
[18??-18??] Pastor at Wellington Road Baptist Church, Todmorden [1880-1887]

March, Rev W.
[18??-19??] Baptist minister at Todmorden.

Recorded in June 1883, when he addressed the General Baptist Association on

The Erasure Column in our Year Book and the propriety or impropriety of erasing from church registers the names of persons who did not attend well, or for other reasons were not considered entitled to be on

Marchant, Belle
[1878-1971] Daughter of Thomas Marchant. Born in Iowa,.

On 11th June 1906, she married Frederick Culver in Portland, Oregon

Marchant, Charles

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2847]

Marchant, Charles Edward
[1848-1917] Son of John Marchant.

He married (1) Elizabeth Proctor [1840-1883].

Children: (1) Proctor [b 1870]; (2) Ruth [b 1873] who married Walter Normington [b 1869]; (3) Minnie [b 1874] who married Samuel Jarvis [1872-1941]; (4) Lucy [b 1876] who married Fred Hinchliffe [b 1876]; (5) Edward [b 1879] who married Sarah [b 1878]; (6) Harry [b 1879].

He married (2) Elizabeth Ray [1859-1???]

Marchant, Clement John
[1882-1951] Son of Joseph Crowther Marchant.

Born in Halifax.

He was a professional soldier.

In [Q4] 1910, he married Jessie Wade in Halifax

Marchant, Edwin
[1842-1897] Son of John Marchant.

He was a damask designer at Halifax.

He married Emma Clayton Lockman [1838-1???].

Children: (1) Emily; (2) Charles; (3) John; (4) Ernest; (5) Frederick who went to live in the USA

Marchant, Emily
[1869-1920] Daughter of Edwin Marchant.

She married Thomas Casson

Marchant, Rev Father Honoratus
[18??-19??] Priest at Saint Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Church, Hebden Bridge [1908]

Marchant, Rev J. T.
[18??-19??] Recorded on 14th November 1900, when he preached his farewell sermons at Cornholme Mission Church

Marchant, James
[1787-1844] Surgeon at Sowerby Bridge [1816].

He married Jane [1777-1857].

The couple were buried at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Marchant, John
[1812-1880] Son of William Marchant.

Born in Halifax.

He succeeded his father to become the second governor of Halifax Debtors' Gaol.

He was enumerator at the 1841 census, and John and 7 members of his family – along with 28 prisoners – were listed at the Gaol.

On 24th September 1832, he married Ruth Whitley [1812-1861] of Wakefield, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Isabella [b 1834]; (2) Ann [b 1837]; (3) William [b 1839]; (4) Edwin; (5) Thomas [b 1845]; (6) Charles Edward

John and Ruth were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3303]

Marchant, Joseph Crowther
[1853-1909] He was a carpet designer; licensed victualler at the Plummet Line, Halifax [1909].

He married Mary Elizabeth Burrows.

Children: Clement John

Marchant, Robert
[1851-1???] Born in Sandal.

He was a potter [1881]; innkeeper at the Black Horse, Clifton [1901]; innkeeper at Carr lane, Slaithwaite [1911].

He married Maria [1854-19??] from Castleford.

Children: (1) John H [b 1876] who was an assistant in railway signal box [1891]; (2) Eliza E [b 1878] who was a milliner's apprentice [1891]; (3) George Richard [b 1879] who was a bricklayer [1901]; (4) Alfred [b 1887] who was an iron moulder [1901].

The family lived at 6 Long Acre, Castleford [1881]; 9 Oxford Street, Castleford [1891]; 1 Carr lane, Slaithwaite, Huddersfield [1911].

Living with them in 1891 was boarder Abram Fisher [aged 46] (engineman at colliery) 

Marchant, Thomas
[1787-1825] Son of William Marchant.

He and other members of his family were buried at South Parade Methodist Chapel, Halifax. When the Chapel closed, the graves were moved from the site to Stoney Royd Cemetery [1883]

Marchant, Thomas
[1844-1???] In 1868, he married Isabella Holt at Rochdale Town Hall.

Children: Belle.

The family went to live in the USA

Marchant, William
[1754-1825] Born in Warley.

He was landlord of the Union Cross, Halifax.

He married Mary.

Children: (1) William; (2) Thomas; (3) Francis [b 1820] who died at the age of 3 months.

Members of the family were buried at South Parade Methodist Chapel, Halifax. When the Chapel closed, the graves were moved from the site to Stoney Royd Cemetery [1883]

Marchant, William
[1777-1836] Son of William Marchant.

Born in Warley.

He was the first governor of Halifax Debtors' Gaol. His wife, Ann, was matron and cook.

On 26th June 1803, he married Ann or Hannah Woodcock [1780-1861] from Rochdale, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1810]; (2) John; (3) Joseph [b 1814]; (4) James [b 1817]; (5) William [b 1819] who was a cordwainer [1841].

The children were baptised at South Parade Wesleyan Church, Halifax.

The family lived at Halifax Debtors' Gaol

Marchetti, Giulio
[1843-1931] JP. Son of Ulisse Marchetti of Rome. Born in Rome [5th June 1843].

He was educated in Rome, Zürich and Paris.

As a young man, he fought with Garibaldi and was one of his most trusted lieutenants. King Humbert made him a Knight of the Crown of Italy for services rendered to the country.

He came to England in 1865.

In 1871, he was a stuff merchant lodging at 7 Marlborough Road, Bradford.

In 1872, he worked as Manager for Crossley's Carpets at their London Warehouse.

By 1891, he was a naturalise British subject and using the Anglicised name Julien.

In 1897, he worked for Kell & Company of Bradford.

He was a director of the Ovenden Worsted Company Limited; Magistrate for the Borough of Halifax, (but he rarely sat and took no part in public life) [1904]; Chairman of John Crossley & Sons [1919-1929].

He was interested in the cultivation of orchids.

In 1871, he married (1) Anne Crossley in Halifax.

Children: (1) Margherita Virginia [1872-1925] who married J. H. Whitley; (2) Marc Ernesto.

The family lived at Broomfield House, Halifax [1881]; Manor Heath [1891, 1901].

Staying with them in 1891 were visitors Caroline Amy Hutton [b  1881], and G. B. Bird [b 1874] (carpet manufacturer).

Annie died 3rd September 1925.

On 24th January 1927, at the age of 83, he married (2) Ada A. G. Morley Smith.

In 1929, he moved to London, where he died at Walcot Lodge, Putney. He was buried at Putney Vale Cemetery.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £45,895.

See Kennedy Collection

Marchetti, John Roderick Giulio
[1901-1969] Aka Tommy, Thomas. Son of Marc Ernesto Marchetti.

He was on the board at Crossley's Carpets, Joseph Stocks & Company Limited and Samuel Webster's Brewery.

He lived at Howroyd Hall, Barkisland, Rycliffe House, Ripponden, and Manor Heath Mansion.

He was a founder member of the Glyndebourne Opera Festival [1934]. He had an affair with Ivor Novello, who was inspired to write We'll Gather Lilacs while staying with Marchetti at Howroyd Hall.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £98,507

Marchetti, Marc Ernesto Ulysse
[1874-1952] Aka Ernest. Son of Giulio Marchetti. Born in Putney, London.

He was a governing director of Crossley's Carpets [1931, 1935].

In [Q3] 1897, he married (1) Edith Mary Webster in Halifax.

Edith Mary was the daughter of Isaac Webster

Children: (1) John Roderick Giulio.

Edith Mary died at Howroyd Hall [Q2 1945].

She was buried at Christ Church, Barkisland.

In [Q3] 1929, he married (2) Doris J. Leonard from London, in Kensington.

Children: (2) Una M. [b 1930].

The family lived at Old Harrowins, Queensbury; Heathfield, Halifax [1905]; Howroyd Hall, Barkisland.

He died in Bridgwater, Somerset [Q3 1952]

Mare Hill, Warley
House based around an earlier aisled house and rebuilt by John Murgatroyd around 1607.

Owners and tenants have included

Mare, Walter John de la
[1873-1956] The poet, known for his verse for children, visited the Halifax Child Study Association on 11th March 1925

Marian's View
A view of Shibden Valley painted around 1820 by John Horner.

It was commissioned by Anne Lister and named for her sister, Marian.

The painting was restored in 2002 and now hangs on the landing above the staircase at Shibden Hall


Market Company, Halifax
In 1810, the Company lobbied for an Act of Parliament which was passed to force all street traders to move into the new building. No person was allowed to set up any stall in the streets or stand with a basket in order to sell their wares.

Trustees of the Company, included Robert Alexander, Thomas Bradley, Thomas Lister, William Norris, William Rawson, and John Waterhouse.

See New Market

Market Cross, Halifax
The Halifax market cross – described as three storeys high with an ugly cross and stone steps – stood in Old Market, and was demolished in 179?

Question: When was the Market Cross removed?


See Union Cross Inn, Halifax

Market Day
The following Market Days have been recorded in the district

TownMarket Day
Hebden BridgeThursday
Sowerby BridgeTuesday, Friday
TodmordenWednesday, Friday, Saturday

See Early-closing day

Market Hall
Halifax Piece Hall was renamed The Market Hall on Saturday, 17th June 1871. It subsequently reverted to the Piece Hall

Market Place Turkish Baths, Halifax
The baths opened by Thomas Washington around 1879.

An advertisement for the business announced

Late of Gibbet Street


Entrance in Carrier Street

The baths closed around 1889

Market Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1866.

See Adam Battinson, Henry Edmunds, Henry Wadsworth and Frederick Whiteley

Markey, Rev Thomas
[1821-1857] From Mere, Wiltshire. Curate at All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1851].

Edward Akroyd appointed Markey as curate for the Copley Schools.

He was Chaplain of the West Riding Debtors' Gaol and the Halifax Union.

In [Q4] 1843, he married Hannah [b 1823] from Mile End, London.

Both Thomas and Hannah were deaf.

He died 23rd August 1857 [aged 36].

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Markham, Mrs Eliza
[18??-19??] In 1861, she ran a school in Sowerby Bridge

Markham, Rev J. W.
[19??-19??] Minister at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden [1960]

Markham, Robert Dallinger
[18??-19??] MCP. In 1861, he ran a school in Sowerby Bridge

Marks & Spencer
They occupied a new building on Southgate, between Old Cock Yard and Cheapside.

The buildings on site were previously occupied by businesses such as

Cash Supply Stores Limited and the Rose & Crown bought from Richard Whitaker when it closed in 1956.

When the business moved to new premises at Lower Woolshops, the Southgate building was taken over by Wilkinson's

Marks, H. Stacey
[1???-18??] RA. Artist who worked on the decoration of All Souls' Church. Whilst working in the district, he decided to sketch the landscape at Salterhebble; as they left work, local workers thought that he was spying on them and began to stone him

Marks, John
[16??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1719]

Marks, Jonathan
[16??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1721]

Markswell, Johnny
[1???-19??] Of Holywell Green. He worked at the mill of John Shaw & Sons and lost an arm in an accident there. He received compensation money, most of which he spent on drink, and became an alcoholic. He was a familiar sight in Stainland and Holywell Green. In attempts to beg and get beer money, he would bark at people. If this failed, he would
eat a buttered copy of The Yorkshire Post and a live frog

Marland, Abel
[1797-1866] Son of John Marland.

He was roller maker at Strines Mill with his father John Marland & Sons; a member of the Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry [1838]; Constable for Walsden [1838, 1848]; partner with his brother Ralph in Abel & Ralph Marland [1848]; unemployed [1851]; beer seller at Newbridge in Walsden [1861].

In 1838, he, John Fielden (of Henshaw), and John Lord (of Knowlwood), were recorded as proper persons for Constables for the hamlet of Walsden.

In 1848, despite being elected Constable of Walsden, he fell foul of the law

He was seen in the company of Mrs Sarah Priestley – daughter of Robert Law – a relative by marriage, at the Lord Nelson Inn, Todmorden.

Late that night they set off to walk home together. They reached a point just above Smithyholme Lock when for some reason they both fell in the water. Abel managed to get out, but seeing Sarah in the water, he jumped in and dragged her to the edge, but was unable to pull her out. He called for assistance, but by the time she was pulled out, she was dead.

At the inquest, Abel was severely reprimanded as the following extract from the inquest report indicates:

The jury returned a verdict of Accidental Death, after which the Coroner gave Marland a severe castigation and made him to understand that though there was not sufficient evidence to warrant his committal, it did not exonerate him in the eye of the public, as to his foul and disgraceful intentions in persuading, or even allowing, the deceased to go by such a dangerous road in the dead of night.

Mr Fielden cautioned him to be more careful of his conduct in future.


In 1818, he married Alice Fielden [1798-1878].

Children: (1) Emma; (2) Edwin; (3) John; (4) Robert; (5) James; (6) Nancy.

He was buried at Saint Paul's Church, Cross Stone

After his death, his widow moved to Keighley

Marland's: Abel & Ralph Marland
Established by Abel and Ralph, sons of John Marland, after their father's death in 1848. They continued their father's business at Strines Mill, Walsden

Marland, John
[1769-1848] Son of Jonas Marland.

Born in Stalybridge, Cheshire.

He moved to Walsden with his family and elderly father about 1800.

He was an iron roller manufacturer, first in a workshop at Higher Dobroyd, Todmorden as John Marland & Sons with his sons John, Abel and Ralph [from about 1812].

They moved to Waterstalls Mill, Walsden [1817].

They moved to Strines Mill, Walsden [about 1819].

He was the first known landlord of the Woodcock Inn, Walsden [around 1825].

They were at Strines Mill until his death in 1848 when the firm became Abel & Ralph Marland.

He married Nancy.

Children: (1) John; (2) Abel; (3) Ralph; (4) Jonas; (5) Emma.

He died in Walsden

Marland, John
[1795-1874] Son of John Marland.

Born in Mottram, Cheshire, he moved to Walsden with his parents as a youngster [around 1800].

He was a partner in Law & Hudson; a partner in John Marland & Sons; trading alone at Sun Vale Works, Walsden [1845, 1861]; a roller maker employing 50 men [1851]; an iron roller maker (at Sun Vale House) employing 70 men and 15 boys [1861].

In August 1845, he was declared bankrupt.

He married Mally, daughter of Robert Law

Children: (1) Jonas; (2) James; (3) Samuel; (4) Robert; (5) Martha; (6) Mary; (7) Nancy.

In 18??, he retired to the Queens Hotel, Parrock, Rochdale, where his daughter Martha was the inn keeper

Marland's: John Marland & Sons
Iron roller manufacturers established about 1812 by John Marland with his sons John, Abel and Ralph, in a workshop at Higher Dobroyd, Todmorden.

John Marland (junior) left the family firm and was trading alone at Sun Vale Works, Walsden [1845]

Marland, Ralph
[1???-1???] Son of John Marland.

Partner with his brother Abel in Abel & Ralph Marland [1848]

Marland, Robert
[1830-1878] Son of machinist John Marland.

Born in Walsden.

He was a machinist [1862].

On 26th March 1862, he married Lucy / Louisa, the illegitimate daughter of Mary Ann Titterington and Robert Thompson.

Children: (1) Robert Eli; (2) John Titterington [b 1864]; (3) Sarah Ann [b 1870].

The family lived at Rose Grove, Midgley [1891].

Living with the widowed Louisa in 1891 was her mother Mary Ann Alderson

Marland, Robert Eli
[1863-1936] Son of Robert Marland.

He was a painter, grainer & decorator [1891]; a paper-hanger [1893].

He established business as a picture framer, and painter and decorator.

In [Q3] 1892, he married Lilly Malinda Crabtree in Halifax.

Children: Annie [b 1895].

They lived at Belle Vue Terrace, Luddenden [1881], Hawksclough, Mytholmroyd [1893], and Wrea Green, Fylde, Lancashire [1901, 1911].

He was buried at Saint Mary's, Luddenden

Marlborough Hall, Halifax
Crossley Street. This was originally the Halifax Mechanics' Institute. It was built in 1857.

The concert hall could accommodate 700.

It became the Gem, the first cinema in Halifax.

During World War II, the Hall was used as a canteen for the forces.

Between 1948 and 1950, it became the YMCA headquarters.

In September 1965, fire caused damage estimated at pound;5,000.

See Shirley Crabtree, Halifax Permanent Benefit Building Society offices and Town Hall Chambers, Halifax

Marle, Rev R.
[18??-19??] He was Curate at Saint Peter with Saint Paul, Liverpool before becoming Vicar of Cross Stone [1917]

Marler, John
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1785]

Marples, Rev John
[18??-18??] He served at Shefield and West Burton before becoming Minister at Union Croft Chapel, Ambler Thorn [1860]. He left in August 1863 to serve at Darlaston, Staffordshire

Marquis of Halifax
George Savile was created the first Marquis in 1679, and his son, William, was the second Marquis. William died without heir and the title became extinct

Marrs, Rev D. E.
[19??-19??] He was vicar at Natland [Carlisle] before becoming Vicar of Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [1956]. In 1963, he was appointed vicar at Penrith

Another form of the surname is Marston

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 28 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Marsden. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Marsden, Abraham
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Elland-with-Greetland [1835]

Marsden, Abraham
[1820-1868] Of Brookfoot.

He married Mary [1821-1869].

The couple were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Marsden, Benjamin
[17??-18??] Hatter in [1792]

Marsden Brothers, Holden & Company
Silk spinners and manufacturers at Lilly Mill, Halifax [1874].

Partners included brothers Charles, Thomas, & John Marsden, and Mr Holden.

In February 1875, the company was charged with having infringed a patent for

an improved machine for cleaning and smoothing spun thread or yarns and other similar fibrous materials

which was owned by Samuel Cunliffe Lister.

The business later became Clay & Marsdens

Marsden, F. H.
[1???-1???] He was responsible for reviving the local Pace Egg play

Marsden, Frank
[1879-1907] Of Sowerby Bridge.

He was an iron-worker; a driller at C. Redman & Sons Limited; a member of Norland Band.

In [Q4] 1903, he married Emily Hitchen in Halifax.

They had no children.

The family lived at 35 Sparkhouse Lane, Norland [1907].

He was injured in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and died a few hours after admission to Royal Halifax Infirmary. He had been travelling upstairs on the tram.

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Marsden, Gamaliel
[1634-1681] BA. Third son of Rev Ralph Marsden. He was educated at Dublin. He came to England after the Restoration and stayed with the Bailey family of Allerton.

He married (1) a member of the Bailey family.

For a time, he served at Coley where his father had been minister.

In 1661, he moved to become Curate at Southowram. He was ejected in 1662 and went to Holland after his wife died.

He returned to England and taught at a church at Topcliffe.

In 1674, he married (2) a widow, Mrs Christopher Marshall.

He was buried at Tingley

Marsden, Gledhill
[18??-19??] Woollen manufacturer at Providence Mill, Elland.

He lived at 78 Catherine Street, Elland [1905]

Marsden, Halstead
[1866-1937] Born in Elland.

He was a worsted mill overlooker [1890].

On 31st Dec 1890, he married Hannah Elizabeth Pitchforth in Elland.

Hannah Elizabeth was the daughter of
John Pitchforth

Children: (1) Harold; (2) Hilda [b 1893]; (3) Emma [b 1895]; (4) Elsie [b 1899]; (5) Albert [1902-1979]; (6) Eric [1904-1991]; (7) Hannah Elizabeth [b 1907]

Marsden, Harold
[1891-1957] Son of Halstead Marsden.

On 6th Apr 1915, he married Florence Hitchin [1892-1984] in Elland.

Florence was born in Sowerby

Children: (1) Donald [1915-1985]; (2) Winifred [b 1918]

Marsden, Harry
[18??-19??] Of Sowerby Bridge.

He sustained scalp wounds and a compound fracture of the arm in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and was detained at Halifax Infirmary

Marsden, Henry
[16??-1687] Of Gisburne.

He married Jane Mort.

Jane was the daughter of Adam Mort of Preston who was Mayor in 1642 when he was killed in the defence of that borough against the Parliament

On 9th January 1669/70, Joshua Waterhouse & his wife, conveyed to Henry four messuages at Norwood Green in the occupation of Richard Shoesmith, Henry Waddington, Matthew Lume and Henry Holdsworth. Rookes Hall was one of these properties.

In 1684/5, Henry sold the houses and farm at Upper Rookes to Robert Ramsden of Siddal Hall, Southowram

for a sum so small that it apparently amounted to a gift

He died January 1687/8

Marsden's Homœopathic Stores, Brighouse
On the ground floor of the Oddfellows' Hall, Brighouse [1908].

The Brighouse nuisance officer had his offices in the store

Marsden, J.
[18??-18??] Stone merchant at Rastrick [1867].

In August 1867, he was working a stone mine at Rastrick. A gin horse was used to bring stone from the 20-30 yard deep shaft to the surface. The man in charge of the horse released the animal while he removed some timbers, and a sudden command to the animal startled it and it fell into the pit and was killed. The horse was worth £20

Marsden, Dr James Aspinall
[18??-19??] MRCS. Surgeon and Medical Officer of Health for Lightcliffe. He wrote works on temperance [1903] and a pamphlet entitled
Lead in Water v. Arsenic in Beer [1904]

On 10th June 1896, he married Elizabeth Maude Pickford from Liverpool.

See Lightcliffe Golf Club

Marsden's: James Marsden & Son
Stone merchants at Lower Edge Quarries, Rastrick [1874]

Marsden, Jeremiah
[1626-1684] Son of Rev Ralph Marsden.

He was educated at Manchester and Christ's College Cambridge [1647], and taught at Great Neston, Cheshire where his brother Samuel Marsden was minister.

In 1651, he came to assist Robert Booth at Halifax. In 1652, he moved to High Shuttleworth, Lancashire.

He served in Ireland before returning to England to become vicar at East Ardsley, Wakefield, from where he was ejected in 1662

Marsden, John
[17??-18??] Hatter in Skircoat [1784-1797]

Marsden, John
[1821-1881] He was a draughtsman & model maker at Dean Clough, Halifax; assistant to George Collier.

He married (1) Unknown.

In 1872, he married (2) Mary Tankard

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Marsden, Joseph
[1???-18??] Licensee of the Masons' Arms, Elland [1845].

He married Abigail [b 1806], widow of Mr Pearson [?], by whom she had a son, William [b 1831]. In the 1851 census, Abigail is described as a widow and had taken over at the Masons' Arms. She does not appear on the 1871 census.

Children: (1) Richard G. [b 1841]; (2) George [b 1843] who had taken over at the Masons' Arms by 1871

Marsden, Josiah
[16??-16??] Local preacher who was ejected

Marsden, Luke
[1???-1868] From Huddersfield.

He married into the Stead family of Soyland.

Beeston Hall, Ripponden passed to him when Richard Royds died.

See William Marsden

Marsden, Midgley
[1819-1905] In [Q4] 1866, he married Hannah Brooke in Halifax.

Hannah was the daughter of
Sammey Drake Brooke

Children: (1) Ada Elizabeth [1871-1874]; (2) Harriet [1873-1874] who died aged 1 year.

The children were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Hannah is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1893 where she is shown as

Hannah Marsden, single woman, formerly wife of Midgley Marsden, of Brighouse, and probate was granted to Sarah Priscilla Marsden, spinster

Marsden, Rev Ralph
[16??-1648] Vicar of Coley [1617-1629].

He left to serve at Ashton-under-Lyne, Middleton, Neston and West Kirby, Cheshire.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Samuel; (2) Jeremiah; (3) Gamaliel; (4) Josiah; (5) Esther.

All his children were born at Coley and all his sons entered the church

Marsden, Rev Richard
[16??-17??] Curate at Sowerby [1710]. He later served at Hornsey, East Yorkshire.

In 1710, he married Elizabeth, daughter of James Stansfeld

Marsden, Richard
[18??-18??] Woollen cloth manufacturer at Elland.

In December 1844, he was declared bankrupt

Marsden, Richard
[18??-19??] Quarry owner and stone merchant at Blue Ball Quarry, Rastrick [1905]

Marsden, Samuel
[16??-16??] Son of Rev Ralph Marsden.

He was minister at Great Neston, Cheshire and his brother, Jeremiah, taught at the school there.

He was ejected

Marsden's: Samuel Marsden & Company
Woollen manufacturer at Providence Mill, Elland [1905]

Marsden-Smedley, Annie Winifred
[1871-1958] Daughter of John Thomas Marsden-Smedley of Riber Castle, near Matlock, Derby.

She married Percival Child Crossley.

Her sister, Caroline married his brother, Charles Wheatley Crossley

Marsden-Smedley, Caroline
[1865-1925] Daughter of John Thomas Marsden-Smedley of Riber Castle, near Matlock, Derby.

In 1894, she married Charles Wheatley Crossley.

Her sister, Annie Winifred married his brother, Percival Child Crossley

Marsden, T.
[1???-19??] Curate at Sowerby [1920]

Marsden, Rev Tom
[18??-19??] MA.

Son of William Marsden, a solicitor's clerk. Born in Gainsborough, Lincolnshire.

He was educated at Cambridge before becoming Curate at Illingworth [1910-1915].

He lived at Russell House, Raw Lane, Illingworth [1911].

He left to become Vicar of Mirfield

Marsden, Ursula
Stage name of Ursula Holden-Gill

Marsden, William
[18??-18??] He lived at Beeston Hall, Ripponden.

He married Unknown.

Children: Lydia who married [1863] Charles Ivimy from Rochdale.

See Luke Marsden

Marsh, Arthur
[1876?-19??] Son of John Marsh

He was a confectioner [1916].

The family lived at 410 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1911]

Marsh Bridge
Cragg Vale. The Hinchliffe Arms and the church of Saint John in the Wilderness are here

Marsh, Emily Sykes
[1862-1930] Daughter of John Marsh.

In 1891, she and sister Julia were living with their brother John at 24 Rhodes Street, Halifax

Marsh Farm, Southowram
The farm stood on a plot of land called Marsh Fold on the eastern side of Twinge Lane at its junction with Marsh Lane and faced almost due south looking towards Law Lane and with Law Hill House slightly to the right.

Joseph Thwaites owned the property until his death in 1854, when it passed to John Hebblethwaite.

The property was known as Marsh, Southowram when John Hebblethwaite lived here [1861, 1881], and as Marsh Fold, Southowram when he lived here [1871]. He was the first Hebblethwaite to live at Marsh.

The old farmhouse was demolished about 1875 for stone quarrying.

There is a datestone J & J.H.

Marsh Farm was rebuilt by John Hebblethwaite

The new house was named Broomfield, but some time later it once again became known as Marsh Farm

See Upper Marsh Farm, Southowram and Upper Marsh, Southowram

Marsh Fold, Southowram
See Marsh Farm, Southowram

Marsh, George Swindon
[1876-19??] Born in Penistone.

He was publican at the Bridge, Brighouse [1908, 1911].

He married Louisa [1881-19??] from Leeds

Marsh Grove, Cragg Vale
Early 19th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

Marsh, Rev H. F.
[19??-19??] Vicar of Stainland. He resigned in 1948

Marsh Hall, Northowram
Lands Head Lane. The house was formerly called Landshead.

The original house was built around 1550.

Dates and initials – IOM – over the main door show that it was owned by James Oates and his first wife, Mary in 1626.

Plasterwork includes the decorative arms of Northumberland, Oxford, Arundell (dated 1637) and Winchester, Cumberland, Kent, Darby, Shrewsbury A part of the plasterwork is dated 1635 I O M for James Oates.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

In 1936, it was listed as 3 dwellings occupied by

  • #1 Bessie Wood

  • #2 John Jennings

  • #3 Ernest Squires

There is a magnificent 36-light mullioned window at the south side, and beautiful plasterwork on the ceilings and friezes of some of the rooms.

The building has recently been restored as a private residence. It is now 3 dwellings.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions, Our Home & Country and The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

Marsh, John
[18??-19??] Son of John Marsh

He was a confectioner [1916].

The family lived at Glen View, Clover Hill, Halifax [1916]

Marsh, John
[1801-1847] He was Licensee at the Royal Hotel, Sowerby Bridge [1841, 1847].

On 21st February 1819, he married Lydia, daughter of Thomas Heavysege, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Henry [b 1822]; (2) John; (3) Thomas [b 1825]; (4) Sarah Ann [b 1828]; (5) Harriet [b 1831]; (6) William Heavysedge; (7) Julia Ellen [1837-1921] who married Thomas Henry Turney.

After John's death, his wife, Lydia, was in charge of the Royal Hotel [1851].

Lydia was living with her daughter Julia Ellen and son-in-law Thomas Henry Turney [1861, 1871]

Marsh, John
[1825-1888] Son of John Marsh.

Born in Warley.

He was a butcher living at the Royal Hotel, Sowerby Bridge with his widowed mother [1851]; inn Keeper at the Royal Hotel & cab proprietor [1861]; licensed Victualler at the Royal Hotel [1871]; hotel proprietor at the Royal Hotel [1881]; landlord at the Royal Hotel [1887].

He carried the post between Halifax and Ripponden. Around 1870, he established an omnibus service. In 1886, he established the John Marsh & Company horse-drawn omnibus service.

In 1859, he married Susan Sykes [1834-1886] from Sowerby.

Children: (1) Ellen [1860-1933]; (2) Emily Sykes; (3) Julia; (4) Susan; (5) John; (6) Charles [1869-1873]; (7) Lydia [b 1870].

Living with them in 1871 was Susan's [?] stepmother Mary Ann Sykes [aged 53].

John died at Park Villa, Sowerby Bridge [1888]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £3,572 9/11d

Marsh, John
[1848-1916] Around 1873, he established a confectionery business, John Marsh & Sons, in Halifax.

Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a confectioner at 7 Silver Street, Halifax. The advertisement announced


He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Frances Elizabeth who married John Hughes; (2) Thomas William; (3) Arthur; (4) John; (5) (possibly) a daughter who married George Haigh.

The family lived at 52 Skircoat Moor Road, Halifax [1916].

He died 10th January 1916.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £7,665 12/7d. His executors were his sons Thomas William Marsh, Arthur Marsh, and John Marsh

Marsh, John
[1858-1923] Son of William Heavysege Marsh.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a cab proprietor (employer) [1901].

In 1897, he married Louisa Scarf [1872-19??] from Birmingham, in Halifax.

Children: (1) John [b 1898]; (2) William [b 1900].

The family lived at 3 Town Hall Court, Sowerby Bridge [1901]

Marsh, John
[1866-19??] Son of John Marsh.

Of John Marsh & Company.

He was a coach operator [1891, 1901, 1911]; a retired coach operator [1927].

In 1905, he married Emma Gaskell [1871-19??].

They lived at 24 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1891, 1901, 1905]; 31 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1911].

Living with John in 1891 were his sisters Emily and Julia.

Living with John in 1901 were his sisters Julia and Susan [they never married]

Marsh, John
[1907-1996] Local writer and member of Halifax Authors' Circle

Marsh's: John Marsh & Company
Omnibus and cab proprietors and undertakers.

See Isaac Hitchen

Marsh's: John Marsh & Sons
Confectionery business established around 1873, by John Marsh.

In 1882, the business moved to 12 Silver Street, Halifax. The premises housed the bakery, showrooms, and refreshment rooms.

They were still there in 1900, and they had the Commercial Street Restaurant, Halifax.

In 1937, the business was at 17 & 20 Silver Street, Halifax.

In 1943, they had a bakery at West Grove, Hopwood Lane.

The firm was known for its

Spiced meats
An advertisement for the business in 1943 announced that they were

Caterers for the Royal Luncheons on the occasion of the visit of the Prince of Wales 1926 and their Majesties the King and Queen, October 20th, 1937

Marsh, Julia
[1862-1927] Daughter of John Marsh.

She never married.

In 1891, she and sister Emily were living with their brother John at 24 Rhodes Street, Halifax.

In 1901, she and sister Susan were living with brother John at 24 Rhodes Street, Halifax.

In 1911, she and Susan were living at 21 Mayfield Avenue, Halifax.

She and Susan both died in Blackpool

Probate records [1927] show that Julia left effects valued at £1,463 3/4d. Probate was granted to her brother John

Marsh, Lydia Heavysege
[1857-1921] Or Heavysedge. Daughter of William Heavysedge Marsh. Born in Sowerby Bridge.

In 1885, she married (1) Schofield Hainsworth. They had no children.

In 1895, after Schofield's death, she married (2) John Platt. They had no children.

After John's death, she carried on as licensee of the Puzzle Hall Inn, Sowerby Bridge.

She submitted plans for the tower at the Puzzle Hall Brewery.

Latterly, she lived at West Parade, Halifax.

She died at Saint Luke's Hospital [28/3/1921].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £1,277 14/8d

Marsh, Mr
[16??-16??] Or March. Headmaster of Heath Grammar School [1650]

Marsh, Dr Richard
[1585-1663] Vicar of Halifax [1638]

In 1642, he fled for his life, but returned in 1660

Marsh, Susan
[1864-1938] Daughter of John Marsh

She never married.

In 1901, she and sister Julia were living with their brother John at 24 Rhodes Street, Halifax.

She and Julia both died in Blackpool

Marsh, Thomas William
[1874?-19??] Son of John Marsh

He was a confectioner [1916].

He lived at 16 Heath Park Avenue, Halifax [1916]

Marsh, Tom
[1874-1941] Son of William Heavysege Marsh.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a butcher [1891]; cab man / driver [1901]; a tobacconist [1911]; a wholesale tobacconist in Halifax.

On 28th July 1907, he married Annie Archer [1875-1957] from Halifax, at Christ Church, Pellon.

Children: (1) Charles Archer [b 1908]; (2) Sarah Gertrude [b 1909] who married [1935] Joseph Francis Braithwaite, son of Joseph Morton.

In 1901, he was living with his sister Gertrude at the Town Hall Hotel, Sowerby Bridge.

The family lived at 76a New Bank, Halifax [1911] and 8 Coleridge Street, Halifax [1936, 1941].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £445 9/10d

Marsh, Warley
House associated with the Mawde family

Marsh, William Augustus
[18??-18??] BA. Educated at Pembroke College Cambridge. He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1840]

Marsh, William Heavysege
[1833-1893] Or Heavysedge. Son of John Marsh.

He was a butcher [1851, 1861]; cab proprietor & innkeeper at the Puzzle, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; cab proprietor & innkeeper at the Town Hall Tavern, Sowerby Bridge [1881, 1891]; cab proprietor & beerhouse keeper at the Town Hall Tavern, Sowerby Bridge [1893].

On 24th April 1855, he married Francis Jennings [1834-1887] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Lydia Heavysege; (2) John; (3) Harriet [b 1862]; (4) Alice [b 1865]; (5) William [b 1867]; (6) Jessie [b 1873]; (7) Tom; (8) Gertrude [b 1876]; (9) Harry [b 1880].

The family lived at The Nook, Sowerby Bridge [1861].

He died at the Town Hall Tavern [3rd July 1893]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £394 4/6d, and probate was granted to John Marsh [cab driver] and Harriet Marsh [spinster]

Prefabricated / reconstituted stone produced by Marshall's

Common carriers at Heptonstall. Partners included Abraham Marshall and Thomas Marshall.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1826

The entries for people with the surname Marshall are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.


George Redmonds writes that the surname had no obvious origin in the district.

William Marshall is recorded at Southowram in 1456, John Marshall is recorded at Elland in 1524 and William Marshall is recorded at Elland in 1619.

There are currently around 65 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Marshall. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Marshall Family
James Marshall was an early member of the local family

Marshall & Company
Stone masons & contractors at Brighouse. Recorded in 1890. Partners included William Naylor Marshall, Arthur Blackburn, Harry Wood, and William Naylor Marshall.

See Bryn Terrace, Brighouse

Marshall & Greenwood
Quarry owners and stone merchants at West Lane, Southowram [1905].

Partners included Samuel Marshall

Marshall & Normington
Stone merchants at Lower Edge Quarries, Rastrick [1874]

Marshall & Riley
Cotton spinners at Land Mill, Colden. Partners included John Marshall and Harry Riley.

The partnership was dissolved in November 1808

Marshall & Stevenson
Reed and temple makers at Ridgefoot, Todmorden [1905]

Marshall & Tatham
Cotton manufacturers at Nanholme Mill, Todmorden [1905]. Partners included Abraham Marshall

Marshall & Walker
Stone quarrier at Pinfold Quarry, Elland [1896, 1905] and Middle Delph Quarry, Rastrick [1905]

Marshall, Brooks & Company
Dyers and finishers of Sowerby Bridge. In 1885, the company bought Ramsden Wood Mill, Walsden and Spring Mill, Walsden

Marshall Brothers
Drinks bottlers with business at 4 Winding Road, Halifax.

Some of their bottles feature a figure which is said to be John Bull or one of the Marshall Brothers

The Marshall Charity
In his will, Harold Marshall left £2,500 in trust to establish The Marshall Charity in memory of his wife, Gertrude, and his 2 daughters, for the upkeep of Halifax Parish Church so long as it is the principal parish church in the town of Halifax. Using figures for average earnings, £2,500 in 1950 is roughly the equivalent of £190,000.00 today

Marshall's: E. Marshall & Company
Human hair merchants and hairdressers' sundriesmen at Bedford Street North, Halifax [1905]

Marshall's (Halifax) Limited
In 1964, the Halifax Tool Company Limited became Marshall's (Halifax) Limited.

Their principal subsidiaries include Brookes Limited, Craig Brothers Limited, Fielden Engineers Limited, Halifax Tool Company Limited, Halco Drilling International Limited, Halifax Tool Company South Africa (Pty) Limited, Higher Speed Metals Limited, Marshall's (Kelso) Limited, Marshall's (Midlands) Limited, Marshall's (Rotherham) Limited, Marshall's (Teesside) Limited, R. Wild Limited, Reliance Mercury Limited, and S. Marshall & Sons Limited

Marshall Hall, Elland
Owners and tenants have included

Marshall's: Harold Marshall Engineering
Halifax engineering firm established in 1974. In the late 1990s, the business was acquired by Greening & Crowther

Marshall, Huntriss & Company
Legal Firm at Cadney House, Fountain Street, Halifax.

See G. R. B. Bancroft and Harold Marshall

Marshall's: John, Reuben & James Marshall
Fancy manufacturers at Rastrick. Partners included John Marshall, Reuben Marshall, and James Marshall.

In January 1848, he was declared bankrupt

Marshall's: Joshua Marshall & Company Limited
Pianoforte, organ and musical instrument exporters and merchants, tuners and repairers, and publishers. The business was established around 1886.

It became a limited company in 1890.

They had branches at Halifax [at the Albany Music Rooms], Huddersfield [their headquarters], Bradford, Barnsley, Dewsbury, Castleford, and Wakefield

Marshall's Limited
Car sales and motor engineers at Mayfield Garage, King Cross Lane

Marshall's: S. Marshall & Sons Limited
Stone quarrying company established by Solomon Marshall and his son, Ernest. In 1896, there was a stone quarry at West Lane, Southowram.

They were at other site in Southowram.

In 1963, the company became a public company, Marshalls PLC.

See Marshall's Quarry, Southowram, Lincoln Shackleton and Watson Quarries, Southowram

Marshall, Woodhouse & Company
Fancy cloth manufacturers at Rastrick.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1838

Marshalls PLC
Southowram-based stone quarrying and construction company founded as S. Marshall & Son Limited by Solomon Marshall in 1903. In 1963, the company became a public company, Marshalls PLC.

The company's Southowram stone is widely-used in Britain – including the streets of London, the new London Bridge, and Trafalgar Square – and exported all over the world.

In 1899, a block measuring 11 ft by 9 ft by 17 ins was quarried – this was the largest block excavated at Southowram.

In 1937, the company began to produce Marshalite, a reconstituted stone used in building and paving.

In the 1960s, the company took over Joseph Brooke Limited. On 14th January 1987, a fire caused considerable damage.

Marshalls is now a group of companies involved in manufacture of drilling and mining equipment, in addition to the traditional stone production and processing. They are the world's largest producers of hydraulically-pressed concrete.

See Greening & Crowther Engineering Group and Southage's

Marshaw Bank, Cragg Vale

Marshaw Bridge, Cragg Vale
Bridge over the Cragg Brook near the Hinchliffe Arms.

Marschagh Brig is mentioned in 1316.

See John Cockcroft's Charity and Marshaw Bridge Mill

Marsland, John
[1837-1???] Born in Hayfield, Derbyshire.

He was manager of Sowerby Bridge Gas Works [1887]; a gas engineer [1891].

Around 1876, he married Adelaide [1849-1???] from Ripponden.

Children: Clara [b 1876].

The family lived at Princess Street, Sowerby Bridge [1887]; 10 Regent Place, Concrete Villas, Sowerby Bridge [1891]

Marsland, William Burgess
[17??-18??] Landlord of the Saint Crispin, Halifax.

He married Susannah [1790-1835]

A variant of the surname Marsden

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Marston, Henry Edward
[1897-19??] In April 1952, he was charged with the murder of his 7-year-old daughter Rosemarie Edith and his 9-year-old son Michael Anthony after their bodies were found when fire-fighters entered the burning building and broke into a locked bedroom at their home in Saint Augustine's Terrace, Halifax. Marston was lying semi-conscious with the children and had wrist and chest wounds. He was sentenced and imprisoned

Marston, William
[1892-1940] The 48-year-old was one of the 11 civilian casualties of the Hanson Lane bomb which fell on 22nd November 1940. He died on the same day

Martha's Mount, Mill Bank
In 19??, John Cheetham gave a public bench to the community at Mill Bank with the understanding that his wife, Martha, should have priority. The site of the bench became known as Martha's Mount.

A bus stop and telephone kiosk now stand on the site

The fictitious name which Phyllis Bentley uses for Marsden in her Inheritance trilogy

Martin & Sheard
Watchmakers and jewellers at Broad Street, Halifax [1905]

Martin, Dr Frederick William
[1859-19??] Born in Liverpool.

He was Medical officer of Health for Brighouse [1911].

Around 1882, he married Jannett Fanny [1856-19??].

Jannett Fanny was born at sea

Children: (1) child; (2) child.

The family lived at 11 Wellholme, Brighouse [1911]

Martin Green Lane Toll House, Greetland

Martin, Henry
[18??-1???] Upper George Yard, Halifax. Publisher of the Halifax Free Press, Halifax Reformer Halifax & Huddersfield Express.

In 1830, he published a volume of Sonnets & Miscellaneous Poems

Martin, John Pearson
[1864-19??] Schoolmaster in Halifax [1896]

Born in Cockermouth.

In 1891, he married Jane Harrison Temple in Cockermouth.

Children: Daisy Elaine [b 1896] who was baptised at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [23rd November 1896]

Martin, Mr
[17??-1???] Teacher of French, Italian and Spanish.

Recorded on 3rd August 1781, when he taught privately and also at Miss Mellin's Academy and Rev Hudson's Academy

Martin Nest, Holywell Green
Owners and tenants have included

Martin, Steve
[19??-] He was Mayor of Todmorden [1997-1998]

Martin, T. H.
[18??-1???] Around 1875, he established a millinery business at Central Millinery Rooms, Central Street, Halifax

Martin, Thomas
[16??-17??] Assistant to Joseph Holroyd. During Holroyd's absence, whilst he was travelling on the continent, Martin carried on the business in Halifax.

See The Letter Books of Joseph Holroyd & Sam Hill

Martin Wood, Mytholmroyd

Martindale, Halifax
9 Swires Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Martineau, Rev Robert
[1913-1999] He was a mathematician from Cambridge before becoming Vicar of Saint George's Church, Ovenden [1946-1952]. He was remembered for going round his parish on skis in the snow of 1947.

He left Ovenden to serve at Allerton, Liverpool [1952]. He went on to be Suffragen Bishop of Huntingdon and then Bishop of Blackburn

Martinek, Helen
[19??-] She stood unsuccessfully as the UK Independence candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [2001]

Martins Bank, Brighouse
This branch of Martins Bank Limited was on the site of the Old Mansion House, Brighouse

Martins Bank Chambers, Halifax
New Crown Street.

Owners and tenants have included

See Martins Bank, Halifax

Martins Bank, Elland
The Elland branch of Martins Bank Limited was at 1 Southgate. Built in 1873. The building was a branch of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited [1922]

Martins Bank, Halifax
To accommodate their purchase of Equitable Bank Limited, Martins Bank Limited bought the property at 18 Silver Street, Halifax which had been a branch of Farrows Bank.

In November 1928, they bought the property at 16 Silver Street, Halifax.

They also took over 2 Silver Street as part of their purchase of Halifax Commercial Banking Company Limited. This branch was retained until 1940 when the two Silver Street branches merged at number 16.

The Halifax branch was in the former Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society Offices at the junction of Central Street and Silver Street.

See Martins Bank Chambers, Halifax

Martins Bank, Hebden Bridge
The Hebden Bridge branch of Martins Bank Limited was at 10 Market Place

Martins Bank, Hipperholme
The Hipperholme sub-branch of Martins Bank Limited was at 13 Leeds Road. This was a sub-branch to Halifax

Martins Bank Limited
The bank began as the Bank of Liverpool by Deed of Settlement in 1831. It was registered as Limited in 1882.

The name changed to the Bank of Liverpool & Martins [December 1918], and to Martins Bank Limited [January 1928].

It acquired the undertaking of Martins Bank Limited [1918] and the Halifax Commercial Banking Company Limited [1920], the Equitable Bank Limited (registered as the Halifax Equitable Bank Limited) [1927] and the Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited in 1928.

In 1927, the bank acquired the Equity Bank Limited.

They had local branches at

The bank later merged with Barclays Bank.

See D. H. C. Briggs

Martins Bank, Luddendenfoot
This sub-branch of the Mytholmroyd branch of Martins Bank Limited was at Burnley Road.

Martins Bank, Mytholmroyd
The Mytholmroyd branch of Martins Bank Limited was at Burnley Road. There was a sub-branch at Luddendenfoot

Martins Bank, Ripponden
This was a sub-branch to the Halifax branch of Martins Bank Limited

Martins Bank, Sowerby Bridge
The Sowerby Bridge branch of Martins Bank Limited was at 21 Town Hall Street, at the junction with Tuel Lane

Martins Bank, Todmorden
The Todmorden branch of Martins Bank Limited was at 1 Bridge Street

Marton, Stephen
[17??-17??] Of Stainland. Coiner charged with clipping and diminishing coins in 1769

Mary Law's Charity
In her will of 1701, Mary Law bequeathed money from her property at Lower Woodhouse and Rastrick for the maintenance of 4 poor widows of Rastrick, and to the use of a school for teaching 20 poor children to read and write, to be chosen within the townships of Rastrick and Brighouse. The property included the houses in Ogden Lane, Rastrick.

See Richard Sugden

Mary Towneley Loop
A 47-mile long circular track for horse-riders and walkers around the bridleways and paths of the south Pennines

Maryons, Wyons

Mashon, Rev
[19??-19??] Vicar of Saint Thomas the Apostle, Claremount [1940s]

Maslen, Harry
[1789-1835] Son of Thomas Maslen.

He was a Trustee of Rishworth Independent Church

By the 1820s, he was married to Mary Wilkinson and had a farm near Beckenham, London.

Children: (1) Eleanor who married Thomas Dean; (2) Mary Wade who married James Crabtree Parker; (3) Harry Sedgwick who emigrated to Australia; (4) Thomas William; (5) Harriet Esther who married Michael Hoyle Wheelwright.

In the mid-1820s, his wife inherited an interest in Rishworth School from her father, who was related to John Wheelwright. The family moved to Rishworth.

Harry became a master at Rishworth School, and Mary became the Matron.

Harry's widowed mother, Mary, lived with them.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Bartholomew's, Ripponden

Maslen, Thomas
[17??-1???] He was a partner in the shipbroking firm of Bingley, Pitt & Maslen.

He married Mary Hopkins.

Children: (1) Thomas John; (2) Harry

Maslen, Thomas John
[1787-1856] Son of Thomas Maslen.

He was born and grew up in London but was sent to school in France at the age of 16 for at least a year.

In London he worked in a counting-house until appointed a Cadet in the Madras Army of the East India Company in 1807. In 1821, he retired as a Lieutenant on half-pay due to ill health.

He spent some time in London, but he was in Yorkshire in 1828 when he wrote the preface to his book The Friend of Australia, a plan for exploring Australia, which was published in 1830. The book had an imaginative map of Australia – which he had drawn in 1827 – showing an accurate outline of the continent and an imaginary inland sea separating the two parts of Australia: Australindia and Anglicania.

He lived at Small Lees, Soyland [1841], with a local housekeeper, Betty Shaw.

He was an early advocate of decimal currency, and wrote A New Decimal System of Money [published London 1841].

He wrote several books on town planning. In 1843, he was still in Ripponden when he published his last book Suggestions for the Improvement of our Towns and Houses of Halifax.

He died in London in 1856, tended by Betty Shaw. His niece, Mary Wade Parker, by then widowed, administered his small estate.

Ladies' and children's outfitters. They were at 5 Woolshops, Halifax [1936] when the proprietors were S. Mason and H. M. Marsland

Mason & Howorth
Published The Todmorden & Hebden Bridge Historical Almanack [1908, 1914].

They were at 4 Hall Street, Strand, Todmorden [1908, 1914]

Mason, Ellis
[1806-1853] Born in Soyland.

He was a cotton spinner [1823, 1851].

On 23rd August 1823, he married Sally Atkinson [1803-1881] at Elland Parish Church.

Sally was the daughter of
Isaac Atkinson

Children: (1) James [1824-1825]; (2) Ann [1826-1899] who married William Whiteley; (3) John [1827-1828]; (4) Ellis [1830-1831]; (5) Mary Ellen [1832-1900] who married Benjamin Norcliffe; (6) Sally [b 1837]; (7) Patience [1842-1883] who married Joseph Riley; (8) Sarah [1844-1903] who married Luke Farrar; (9) Ruth Hannah [b 1847].

The children were all born in Soyland.

The family lived at New House, Soyland [1851]

Sally was buried at Saint Bartholomew's, Ripponden [26th March 1881]

Mason Green, Ovenden
House. Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

See Lower Mason Green, Ovenden

Mason, James
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Hanging Lee Mill, Ripponden [from 1812]. In 1822, he bought the mill from the owner, Thomas Stead

Mason's: Mary Mason & Son
They were listed as gardeners, nursery, & seedsmen, grocers, tea, &c dealers, at Old Market, Halifax [1822]

Mason, Matthew
[1686-1714] Of Hubberholme-in-Craven. He was articled to John Maude and became a Halifax attorney, taking over the practice after Maude's death. After Mason's death, his practice was taken over by his brother-in-law, John Beaumont

Mason, Mrs
[1???-18??] She ran a private school in Halifax [around 1870]

Mason, Robert
[16??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1701]

Mason, William
[18??-18??] Cork cutter and furniture broker at 24 Swine Market, Halifax [1874]

Mason, William
[18??-18??] Draper at Halifax.

In 1851, he was declared bankrupt

Mason, Rev William
[18??-1937] BA. Vicar of Rastrick [1904-1937]

Masonic Hall, Elland
Southgate. Built by the Savile [No 1231] Masonic Lodge Recorded in 1905 and 1937

Masonic Hall, Halifax
Saint James's Road. The house was originally known as Heatherstone and was built in 18??.

Work began on the new Masonic Hall on 16th March 1868. The Hall opened on 30th June 1868. Prior to the opening of the Hall, the masons met at the Old Cock, Halifax.

The De Warren No 1302, Saint John No 1736, and Facula No 4825 Lodges met here.

See Freemasons' Hall, Halifax

Masonic Hall, Hebden Bridge
Hope Street. Built by the Prince Frederick No 307 Lodge

Masonic Hall, Hipperholme
Built in 1892 on land formerly owned by John Lister of Shibden Hall.

The Master's Chair was carved by Harry Percy Jackson.

In 1912, the building was used by the Theatre de Luxe as a cinema. This closed in 1913.

The Lightcliffe [No 1332] Masonic Lodge was here [1937].

The building is now used by the Lightcliffe Freemasons

Masonic Hall, Sowerby Bridge
Eaglescliffe, Beech Road. Recorded in 1905

Masonic Hall, Todmorden
White Hart Fold. Built by the Todmorden Masonic Hall Company.

The corner stone was laid on 2nd August 1860.

Opened 5th June 1862.

The building is inscribed No. 363 with oak leaves and No. 266 with ivy leaves.

See Sam Baldwin and Stanley Club, Todmorden

Masonic Hall, West Vale
The Freemasons – notably the Savile [No 1231] Masonic Lodge – moved into Willow Royd, West Vale in 1926.

Later, they were joined by the Mexborough Masonic Lodge and the Ryburn [No 1283] Masonic Lodge

Masonic Lodges

Masonic Rooms, Bottoms
Built by the Prince George [No 308] Masonic Lodge

Masons' & Delvers' Union
See Stag's Head, Shibden

Massam, Henry
[1850-1930] He married Unknown.

Children: James Henry.

The family lived at 7 Dudwell Terrace, Halifax [1920]

Massam, James Henry
[1881-1920] Son of Henry Massam.

During World War I, he was an Able Seaman with the Royal Navy.

He died aboard he HMS Pembroke [22nd January 1920].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Masser, John Thornton
[18??-19??] He lived at Oaks, Rastrick.

On 11th July 1885, he married Jesse Margaret Legge from London

Massey, Rev Joseph
[1798-1840] A native of Blackburn.

He trained at Idle [1822-1826] and served at Hyde, Cheshire before becoming Minister at Booth Congregational Church [1836-1840].

He married Mary [1795-1857].

Children: Sarah Mary [1832-1865].

Joseph died 8th December 1840 [aged 42]. Mary died 10th August 1857 [aged 62].

Members of the family were buried at Booth Independent Church

Masten, Mr
[1???-1835] Notice of his death described him as
Victualler of Rishworth School

Masters-Whittaker, Mrs
[1853-1912] Wife of the Vicar of Holme, Cliviger. Of The Holme, Todmorden.

She was a generous benefactor to Todmorden.

In 1900, she have land and paid the entire cost of the construction of Saint Michael & All Angels' Church, Cornholme

Matcham, Frank
[1854-1920] A great theatrical architect and designer of his day.

His work included the Grand Theatre & Opera House, Halifax, the London Palladium, and the Blackpool Grand Theatre


Mather, W.
[18??-18??] Tailor at Halifax.

In February 1862, he was declared bankrupt

Matthewman, John
[17??-18??] Merchant at Halifax [1809]

Matthews, Rev D. K. F.
[19??-19??] Curate at Hebden Bridge [1954]. In 1955, he was appointed vicar of Grimethorpe

Matthews, George
[1???-18??] Of Brighouse.

He married Louisa Burnham [1805-1834].

Children: Anne [1833-1834] who died aged 5 months.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Matthews, Rev Roy Ian John
[19??-] He was Vicar of Staincliffe and Vicar of Penistone before becoming Vicar of Brighouse [September 1972, 1975]. He was also Honorary Canon of Wakefield

Matthews, Rev W. H.
[18??-19??] In 1897, he was Minister at Sowerby New Road Primitive Methodist Chapel, Norland Primitive Methodist Chapel, Warley Clough Methodist Chapel, and Mytholmroyd Primitive Methodist Chapel

Matthews, William
[1829-1???] Born in Carlisle.

He was a fishmonger and keeper of the Tap Room at the Royal Hotel, Sowerby Bridge [1861].

He married Ann [1833-1???] from Lazenby

Cotton spinners at Shaw Lane Mill, Illingworth [1811]

Matthewson, Henry
Son of Matthew de Illingworth, aka Henry de Illingworth

Matthias, Rev Evan
[17??-1???] Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1784]. In 1786, he retired to Newcombe, Lancashire

Matthias, Rev J. D.
[18??-18??] Baptist Minister at Halifax. Recorded in August 1859, when he preached at Trinity Road Baptist Chapel, Halifax

Mattock's: C. W. Mattock Limited
Industrial Road / West Street / Watson Mill Lane, Sowerby Bridge. Manufacturing confectioners established by Charles W. Mattock.

Recorded in 1902, when the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle referred to the business as Mr Mattock's Tofferies.

On 13th May 1902, George Jones was injured whilst moving boards at the works.

Recorded in 1913.

See Mattock's Toffee, Charles E. Mattock and Charles Reginald Mattock

Mattock, Charles Edgar
[1888-19??] Son of Charles Whiteley Mattock.

He was a Director of C. W. Mattock Limited.

He married Emily Louise [d 1961]

Mattock, Charles Reginald
[18??-1953] Manufacturing confectioner of C. W. Mattock Limited.

He lived at Lower Willow Hall.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £81,322

Mattock, Charles Whiteley
[1850-1903] Confectioner who established C. W. Mattock Limited.

Son of Samuel Mattock.

In 1874, he married Margaret Ann Briggs [1850-1922] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Martha Alice [1875-1880]; (2) George William; (3) Samuel James [1881-1907]; (4) Charles Edgar; (5) Samuel James [1887-1907].

The family lived at 8 Princess Street, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; Round Bank, Tuel Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901, 1911]

Members of the family were buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Mattock, George William
[1877-1952] JP. Son of Charles W. Mattock.

On 3rd September 1902, he married Sarah Eliza Summerscales, at Tuel Lane United Methodist Free Chapel.

Sarah Eliza was the daughter of John Summerscales of Sowerby Bridge

They lived at Hollings Hill, Sowerby Bridge.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £82,150

Mattock, Samuel
[1820-1884] Shopkeeper in Sowerby Bridge [1851].

He married Mary Whiteley [1824-1896].

Children: (1) Matilda [b 1835]; (2) Charles Whiteley; (3) Martha Ann [1856-1871]; (4) Maria Jane who died in infancy; (5) Jane who died in infancy.

The family lived at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1851, 1871]; Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1861].

Members of the family were buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

See Nimrod Scott

Mattock's Toffee
Made by C. W. Mattock Limited

A variant of the surname Maude

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Maud. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Maud & Turner
Halifax machine and tool makers established around 1865 by John William Maud and Benjamin Turner. They had business at Perseverance Works, Halifax [1874, 1890] and 233 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1905].

In 1887, they won the Silver Medal at the International Exhibition at Saltaire.

In 1890, they employed around 100 workers

Maud, Isabel
[15??-16??] She established Isabel Maud's Charity

Maud's: Isabel Maud's Charity
In her will of 1613, Isabel Maud gave £10 to purchase an annuity for the benefit of a school recently erected at a Halifax almshouse, and £8 to be loaned to 4 tradesmen. Using figures for average earnings, £8 in 1613 is roughly the equivalent of £18,100.00 today

Maud's: James Maud & Sons
Clog sole manufacturers of Mytholmroyd. The factory at the Square, Mytholmroyd was destroyed by fire in 1901. The business was taken over by Walkley Clogs in 194?

Maud, John William
[18??-1???] Partner in Maude & Turner.

He lived at Oxford Terrace, Halifax [1874]

Maud, Jonathan
[1???-16??] Of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Thomas

Maud, Jonathan
[1???-1682] Of Halifax

Maud, Thomas
[16??-1682] MA. Son of Jonathan Maud.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

The entries for people with the surname Maude are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Other forms of the surname include Maud and Mawde.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 50 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Maude. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

See Maude family

The Maude family
See Grindlestone Bank, Ovenden, Haigh House, Warley, Marsh, Warley, Maude and Ed. Mawde

Maude & Dyson
Quarry owners at Southowram.

See Burial of Jonathan Walsh

Maude's Clog Soles Limited
Clog company established by James Maude. They manufactured soles for clogs.

See Sam Morgan and Jack Uttley

Maude House, Illingworth
Aka Yew Tree, Height Farm

Maude's: John Maude & Company
Worsted spinners at Elland-cum-Greetland.

Partners included John Maude and George Wilkinson.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1857.

In August 1864, the Company took an action against Mr Hirst, a retired tradesman of Hullen Edge House, who was alleged, by constructing a drift way, to have cut of the water from 2 ancient springs – the Town Well and the Dive Well – thus diverting water from the Company's land. The Judge agreed to accept a verdict for the Company

Maude's: John Maude & Sons
Woollen and blanket manufacturer established by John Maude.

They were at Bankhouse Mill, Stainland [1905].

See Harry Norman Maude, Joseph Thwaite Maude, Maria Maude, Mary Louisa Maude and Sidney Maude

Maude's: John Maude & Sons
Manufacturer of clog soles in Hebden Bridge. Founded by John R. Maude. Taken over by Walkley's Clogs in June 1972

Maude's: R. Maude & Company Limited
Damask and tapestry manufacturers at Craven Edge Mills, Halifax [1905]

Maude: Riley & Hargreaves
Worsted spinners at West Vale. Partners included J. Maude, J. Riley and T. Hargreaves.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1870

Maude's: W. & W. Maude
Boot manufacturers at Croft Mill, Hebden Royd [1905]

Maude's: W. & W. Maude
Rubber and asbestos manufacturers at 12 Cheapside, Halifax [1905]

Maughan, Rev C. A.
[18??-19??] Curate at Elland [1905]

Maurice Jagger Centre
Winding Road, opposite Halifax Bus Station. Community centre for the disabled and the elderly of Calderdale. Named in honour of Maurice Jagger. Opened in 1982

Maurice, Rev Michael
[17??-1773] He was Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1754]. In 1770, he moved to Pudsey

Maurice, Rev W.
[17??-1802] A native of Ecclesfield. He was a student at Northowram school. He edited the Bolton Congregational Chapel Hymn Book

Maw, P. Ba
[1???-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1953]. Later, Bishop

Mawd, Marmaduke
[15??-1???] Halifax Constable [1583]

Mawd, Samuel
[15??-16??] Of Sowerby.

He married Unknown.

Children: Mary who married Israel Tillotson

A variant of the surname Maude

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 7 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Mawde. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Mawde, Ed.
[15??-1???] A member of the Mawde family. He is recorded at what was later to be known as Haigh House [1579]

Mawde, Jenet
[1534-1612] Of Halifax.

In 1552, she married (1) John Broadley.

In 1574, she married (2) George Fairbanks.

She died and was buried at Sowerby

Mawde, John
[1???-1???] Of Sowerby.

He married Unknown.

Children: Margaret [b 1546] who married Richard Holdsworth

Mawde, John
[1???-1546] Of Warley. He owned land at Aredwell.

He married Alison.

Children: William.

His will is recorded in Volume 2 [1545-1559] of E. W. Crossley's book Halifax Wills

Mawde, John
[14??-14??] Son of John Mawde of Warley.

Around 1473, he and Richard Waterhouse leased The Bache, Warley from James Stansfield

Mawde, Jonathan
[16??-16??] A tenant in Sowerby [1664]

Mawde, Miss N. N.
[1502-1???] Of Halifax.

She married Christopher Oldfield

Mawdsley & Hargreaves
Machine tool makers at Woodside Iron Works, Halifax [1905]

Mawer, Rev J. W.
[18??-19??] Minister at United Methodist Free Church, Sowerby Bridge [1895, 1897]

Mawhood, Richard
[17??-17??] In November 1769, he attended the enquiry which had been called by the Marquis of Rockingham to discuss the problem of the coiners and the murder of William Deighton.

Mawson, Mrs Violet
[1901-2006] Born in Hove Edge. She was the youngest of 9 children. She attended Saint Chad's School, Hove Edge. At the age of 12, she went to work in Woods Mill, Hipperholme.

At the age of 22, she married Wilfred.

She lived in Sowerby Bridge before moving to Holme Dene Nursing Home, Stafford Avenue, Halifax [2003]. She was survived by her only son Dennis [b 1923] who also lived at the Nursing Home. She died at the age of 105

Mawson's: W. & R. Mawson
Architectural partnership. Successor to Lockwood & Mawson.

Their work includes

See Lloyds TSB Building, Halifax

Mawson, William
[1828-1889] Leeds-born architect. He formed the partnership Lockwood & Mawson with Henry Francis Lockwood

Maxfield, Richard
[18??-1???] Recorded in 1897 when
Amy Lydia, wife of Richard Maxfield the younger, innkeeper, of Northowram Hall Stables, Halifax

are mentioned in the List of Local Wills

Maxwell, Hugh Lockhart
[19??-19??] Of Ickenham, Middlesex.

In 1937, he married Yvonne Sugden in Halifax.

He a distinguished career during World War II, and was a pilot during the Battle of Britain

He was a Squadron Leader with 600 Squadron of the RAF during World War II. This was a Blenheim and Beaufighter Squadron and was at Catterick during the Battle of Britain.

He was awarded the Battle of Britain Clasp on his 1939-1945 War Medal

May's Farm Shop, Colden
High Gate Farm, Edge Lane. Started in 1977 to support walkers and campers

May, Rev
[19??-19??] Priest at Saint Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Church, Hebden Bridge [mid 1960s]

Maycock & Bell
Architects at Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge [1874]

Mayfield, Brighouse
18 Church Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

It was later known as Hillside

Mayfield Co-Op
Branch number 31 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in March 1898

Mayfield Garage, Halifax
King Cross Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Mayfield Garage, Queens Road

Mayfield, Halifax
Area of Halifax off Parkinson Lane. Recorded in 1874

Mayfield House, Halifax
Mayfield Avenue.

Owners and tenants have included

It was demolished. Mayfield Gardens now occupies the site

Mayfield House, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

Mayne, Rev John
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1932]

Mayo, James
[18??-18??] BA. Educated at Trinity College Cambridge. He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1864]


Mayor Holme End, Ripponden
Mentioned in that part of Sam Hill's will which relates to his bequest for a Bridge at Kebroyd

Mayor of Hebden Royd

Mayor of Luddenden
In 1861, the drinkers at the Lord Nelson, Luddenden decided to celebrate Luddenden's growing importance by electing their own mayor. A chain of office was provided and a mayor-making ceremony devised. The snug by the bar was known as the Mayor's Parlour, and there was a bench known as the Mayor's Chair. Anyone sitting in the chair was invited to become Mayor for a month. If they agreed, they had to buy drinks all round.

The ceremony was revived again in 1996. The mayor-making ceremony is now carried out annually.

Those who have held the post include

  • Jason Boom [2007-8]

  • Angie Johnson [2008-9]

Question: Please email me if you can add any names to this list


Mayoress's Sewing Party
Halifax organisation established in 1925. The wife of Mayor Walter Brenard was the first Secretary and held the post for several years.

See Mrs Crossley Hodgson

Mayors of Brighouse

Mayors of Calderdale

Mayors of Halifax

Mayors of Todmorden

See John Dawson

Maypole, Halifax
The maypole was located at the junction of Old Market and Corn Market.

Heywood mentions this in 1636.

See Clifton, House at the Maypole, Maypole, Rastrick and Shibden Mill

Maypole, Warley
A maypole stood outside Warley Congregational Church and the Maypole Pub for many years.

There have been several manifestations

  1. The first was erected in 1???

  2. A second one was erected in 1815 to commemorate the Battle of Waterloo. At this time, the Horns, Warley was renamed the Maypole

  3. A third one was erected in 1863 to celebrate the visit of the Prince & Princess of Wales to the district. It cost £32 and was 69 ft 6 inches (or 64 ft 5 inches) tall. It was said to be the finest maypole in the country.

    In 1874, it was repainted, blue and white

  4. It fell into disrepair and was replaced by a smaller pole – 50 ft 3 inches high – in 1888. In March 1899, the maypole was blown down and damaged

In 1900, A. S. McCrea donated an ornate fountain which replaces it

Mayroyd Bar, Hebden Bridge
Station Road. Toll gate built in 1842. It was discontinued on 30th October 1878, and demolished soon afterwards

Mayroyd Bridge, Hebden Bridge
Bridge #15 on the Rochdale Canal

The Mayroyd Ghost
The Mayroyd area of Hebden Bridge is said to be haunted by a lady on horseback who canters to the top of the hill. She then gallops down at high speed before disappearing over the canal bridge

Mayroyd Hall Cottage, Hebden Bridge
Burnley Road. Mid 17th century cottage next to Mayroyd House

Mayroyd, Hebden Bridge
Area of Hebden Bridge.

The name is recorded as Meherrode [1435], Meyrode [1530], Mayroide [1531], Meroyde [1536], and Mairoide [1643]. The name may mean May's Clearing, that is, the clearing belonging to May or Matthew.

See Mayroyd Bar, Hebden Bridge, Mayroyd Bridge, Hebden Bridge, Mayroyd House, Hebden Bridge, Mayroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge and The Mayroyd Ghost

Mayroyd House, Hebden Bridge
Burnley Road. Originally a farm-building called Thornhollin in 1399. In 1435, it was called Meherrode.

It was rebuilt in the 15th century.

The present building is an early 17th century hall-and-cross-wing house.

In the 16th century, it was the home of the Sutcliffe family.

Members of the family who are recorded here have included

It belonged to the Cockcroft family, and in the 17th century, it was the home of William Cockcroft, Henry Cockcroft, William Cockcroft [1700], William Cockcroft, and Grace Cockroft [1745].

Several local attorneys – including Thomas Sayer and Robert Alcock - lived and practised here from the early 18th century.

The Sutcliffe family practised here from 1801 to 1964.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

On 21st May 1859, a mysterious knocking began at the house.

Since 1973, the property has had a chequered career as a pub and a restaurant, known variously as The Tythe Barn and The Thirsty Turtle.

It is now a private house once more.

See Mayroyd Hall Cottage, Hebden Bridge and Mayroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge

Mayroyd Mill Lock, Sowerby Bridge
Lock #8 on the Rochdale Canal built 1798

Mays, James V. A.
[1914-2000] Son of Thomas William Mays.

Born in Saint Albans.

After World War II, he moved from Saint Albans to join his father in running the family business – Farrar-Mays – in Halifax.

He married Hilda [1915-1995].

Children: (1) Angela; (2) Gillian.

The family lived at 19 The Crescent, Southowram

Mays, Thomas William
[19??-19??] Of Couldray Road, Southport. He was the manager of a large department store in Southport.

In 1946, he bought the business of Arthur Farrar. The business was known as Farrar-Mays.

In [Q3] 1911, he married Janet Savage in Holborn, London.

Children: James V. A..

He lived at Manor Close, Savile Park

Mazey, Anthony D. J.
[19??-] He was Mayor of Calderdale [1993-1994]

McAllister, Ann
[1951-] Born in Belfast. She worked for the Halifax Building Society and moved to Halifax.

She was Conservative Councillor for Rastrick [2000] and Mayor of Calderdale [2010-2010]. In October 2010, she had to stand down as Mayor on account of her health. The deputy mayor, Keith Watson, took on her responsibilities, and became Mayor in December 2010

She lives at Rastrick

McArthur, Joseph Dawson
[17??-1806] Printer. He was editor of The Halifax Journal.

He died at Ormskirk, after a short but painful illness [22nd April 1806]

McArthur, Mary
[18??-18??] She had a circulating library at Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1850]

McArtney, Henry
[1834-1???] Born in Newcastle on Tyne.

He was a carpet weaver [1881].

He married (1) Unknown.

Children: (1) James Henry [b 1860] who was a shoemaker [1881]; (2) Joseph [b 1863] who was a stuff finisher [1881].

On 1st August 1879, he married (2) Annie, widow of John Stocks, at Salem Methodist Church, Richmond Street or Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade.

The family lived at 30 Clarence Street, Halifax [1881].

Annie's son, George Stocks and his wife Agnes, were lodgers with the family [1881]

McAvoy, Thomas
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1990-1991]

McCafferty, Christine (Chris)
[1945-] Calderdale Councillor [1991], a member of Hebden Royd Town Council and organiser of the Calderdale Women's Centre.

She was Labour MP for Calder Valley [1997, 2005]. Her husband, David, gave up his seat as a councillor to work with his wife in the constituency and at Westminster.

She was vocal in several campaigns, including the issue of those who died from asbestosis after working at Acre Mill, to save the Duke of Wellington's Regiment, to launch an inquiry into Dr Harold Shipman.

In March 2007, she announced her decision not to stand at the next election.

She was made a Freeman of the Borough of Calderdale in 2011

McCarthy, William
[18??-19??] He was said to be the most notorious horse-thief in England. On 24th September 1901, he was apprehended in Todmorden after stealing a horse and trap in Skircoat, Halifax. He was caught when Dr McRobert overtook him in a petrol-driven car. McCarthy was sentenced to 7 years' imprisonment

McCarty's Prize Band
A Faff & Fuffen Band established in Clifton by Joe Hepworth

McCauley, Dr Charles H.
[1???-18??] Surgeon at Rastrick [1840]

McCausland, Rev Anderson John
[1823-1888] Born in Londonderry, Northern Ireland [3rd March 1823].

In 1850, he married (1) Hannah Lloyd at the Wirrall.

Curate at Parish Church of Saint Martin, Brighouse [1853]. He was paid £116 for the post.

In 185?, he emigrated to Australia.

On 21st October 1858, he married (2) Mary Jane Johnstone née Banks [1839-1922] from County Antrim, Northern Ireland, in Australia.

Children: (1) Hannah Eliza [b 1859]; (2) Saressa Jane Rosina [b 1861]; (3) Mary Rachel [b 1862]; (4) Marcus Erskine Hillhouse [b 1864]; (5) Thomas Alexander John [b 1867]; (6) Theodotius Charles Abraham Anderson [b 1869]; (7) John Coleridge Patterson [b 1872]; (8) Anderson John [b 1874]; (9) Eleanor Jane [b 1877]; (10) Ancrum Henry [b 1879]; (11) Theodosia [b 1881]; (12) Louisa Kathleen [b 1882]; (13) Conolly Pitt Frederick [b 1884]; (14) Irene [b 1886].

He died in Rushworth, Victoria, Australia [12th March 1888]

McClelland, Joseph Bentley
[1885-1964] Aka Joe. Born in Lincoln. He was secretary of the Halifax and District [??] Association. He was the first manager of Halifax Town football club.

He died 2nd July 1964

McClelland, Mr

Recorded in 1911, when he appeared on the census at Park Road Baths, Halifax

McClusky, J. McCubbin
[18??-19??] LLB. Halifax solicitor with Steele & Duckworth [1934] and then Steele & McCluskey.

He qualified in May 1929

McConachie, Mrs Janet
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1983-1984]

McConnell, Rev J.
[18??-18??] Curate at Brighouse [1852, 1883]

McCorquodale, Malcolm Stewart
[1901-1971] Conservative MP for Sowerby [1931-1945]. He made his maiden speech of 10th June 1932.

In 1955, he became a life peer, 1st Baron McCorquodale of Newton.

In 1931, he married (1) Miss Winifred Sophia Doris Clark [1906-1960] in London.

His wife was the daughter of James Oscar Max Clark

Children: (1) daughter; (2) daughter.

In 1962, he married (2) the Honourable Daisy Yoskul Consuelo [19??-1979].

His wife was the daughter of Weetman Pearson, 2nd Viscount Cowdray and widow of Robert Brampton Gurdon and widow of Alistair Monteith Gibb

He died in September 1971 [aged 70], and the barony became extinct

McCrea, Agnes
[1842-1927] Daughter of Henry Charles McCrea. Born 14th December 1842.

Her father supported education for women and she received a good education in England and in Europe.

In 1872, she married the wealthy Liverpool shipping magnate, James Marke Wood [1840-1908].

Children: (1) Esther Rosamond [1881-1965] who married an Italian Count and became the Contessa di Sant'Elia, a friend of royalty, and a race-horse owner; (2) James [1876-1903].

The couple separated.

She died 18th May 1927

McCrea & Boord
Stuff manufacturers and merchants at Cross Hills Mill, Halifax [1845]. Partners included Henry Charles McCrea and Henry Boord

McCrea, Arthur Selby
[1854-1945] Son of Henry McCrea.

Born 19th January 1854.

He was educated at Miss Gooch's School and Rugby School.

He joined the family business – H. C. McCrea & Company Limited.

In 1901, he inherited Warley House from his father.

He was a keen gardener and looked after the grounds of the house.

In 1904, he built the Warley Institute for the village, and replaced the maypole with a drinking fountain in memory of his father.

In 1907, he declined an invitation to be Mayor of Halifax.

In 1910, he gave money towards Saint Hilda's Church, Gibraltar Road.

In 1910, he built Edgeholme, Warley.

In 1913, he was one of the subscribers to The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

In 1923, he bought Shibden Hall from John Lister and – in accordance with Lister's wishes – subsequently gave it to Halifax Corporation as a public park.

He never married.

He died 26th February 1945.

In his will, he left Warley House and its grounds to the Royal Halifax Infirmary, plus the sum of £50,000 as an endowment fund so that the premises could be converted into a convalescent home. This was one of the largest bequests that the hospital ever received.

See Old Hall Farm, Warley and Kennedy Collection

McCrea, Charles Edward
[1846-1881] Son of Henry Charles McCrea. He was an Officer in the 17th Regiment and was stationed at Newmarket.

He married Agnes Caroline King [1846-1885] from Cambridge.

They had no children.

Agnes died of consumption, in Newmarket, soon after her husband's death

McCrea, Frederick Gower
[1844-1889]. Son of Henry Charles McCrea. In 1877, he married Laura McCann in Paris. They had no children.

He died in Paris

McCrea's: H. C. McCrea & Company Limited
Stuff, damasks, reps and tapestries manufacturers and merchants established by H. C. McCrea. His son, Arthur Selby McCrea, followed him into the business. Partners included George Milligan [1905].

They had business at their registered office Eastfield Mill, Claremount [1905], Lum Brook Mills, Coley, and Cross Hill Mill, Halifax

McCrea, Henry Charles
[1810-1901] Benefactor, politician and philanthropist

He was Mayor of Halifax [1869-1871]

McCrea, Herbert Henry
[1847-1902] Son of Henry Charles McCrea.

He was educated at Cambridge.

He became a clergyman and served at Painswick, Gloucester.

He retired in poor health, and went to live in Eastbourne.

He died unmarried [16th June 1902] and left his money to the Church

McCrea, John Lane
[17??-18??] He married Ellen Galbraith [17??-18??].

Children: (1) Henry Charles; (2) John Lane; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child; (9) child; (10) child; (11) child; (12) child

McCrea, John Lane
[18??-1???] Son of John Lane Mccrea and brother of Henry Charles McCrea.

He was an engineer. He may have been a partner in Walsh & McCrea (Coatings) Limited

McCurdy, Robert
[17??-18??] President of The Halifax Total Abstinence Society [1836]

McDean, James
[1???-18??] In 1841, described as a
shoemaker on tramp

McDean was charged with taking indecent liberties with a female servant of surgeon, Mr Gledhill, having been sent to Mr Gledhill's house to collect medicine for a child who had been taken ill at the vagrant office in Halifax.

In default of paying a fine of 12/- he was committed to Wakefield House of Correction for 1 month

McDonald, John
[17??-18??] Aka John Smith, John M'Donald.

A Manchester weaver who – with John Gosling – infiltrated a Luddite meeting at the Saint Crispin Inn in 1812

McDowell, John Albert
[18??-19??] Beerhouse keeper at New Bank, Halifax.

In March 1892, he was declared insolvent

McElroy, Thomas J.
[1942-2006] Labour councillor. He was Mayor of Calderdale [1991-1992]. He collapsed and died after attending a Council meeting at Halifax Town Hall [13th December 2006]

McEnery, Rev Thomas
[18??-19??] Roman Catholic priest of Hebden Bridge [1924]

McEvoy, Don
[19??-19??] Landlord of the Crown, Brighouse [1973].

He had previously been a Centre Forward for Huddersfield Town

McEwen, Mervin Clare
[1909-1944] A Canadian soldier. He was hanged at Leeds on 3rd February 1944 for the murder of Mark Turner.

He had deserted and had been camping out on Savile Park, Halifax.

He met Turner and the pair had been drinking at Turner's home in Moorfield Street, Halifax when the murder occurred. After the murder, McEwen ran away and was living in Manchester as James Acton.

During routine police enquiries, McEwen produced Turner's identity card and was arrested

McFinnie, Mrs Betsy
[1817-1857] Of Halifax.

She was married and believed that her husband was living unlawfully with a woman in Manchester.

On 5th November 1857, she had gone to meet her husband in Halifax and he refused to acknowledge her. She returned home with a cup of laudanum. Next morning she was found dead in bed and cup almost drained.

The jury found how the death had resulted, by could not say how or by whom the poison was administered

McGarry, Thomas
[1847-1910] Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a french polisher at Rothery Court, Orange Street, Halifax

McGhie, Dr William Kaye
[1848-1915] Born in Wigan.

In 1910, he gave land between Longroyd Road and Closes Road, Rastrick for a new cottage hospital.

He lived at Castle Hill, Rastrick [1910]

See Longroyde, Brighouse

McGrath, Phil
[19??-19??] Local boxer and author. He trained at Star Boxing Club, Halifax

Mcintosh, Catherine

McIntyre, Andrew
[1863-1???] In September 1872, when he was aged 9, he was charged with stealing a horse and cart belonging to Robert Womersley, a farmer at Lightcliffe. McIntyre stole the horse and cart from Halifax and took them to Bradford where an innkeeper alerted the police. He was sentenced to 2 months' imprisonment, followed by 5 years in a reformatory

McIvor, James
[18??-18??] Tailor at Park Street, Halifax.

On Sunday 22nd October 1865, he was attacked, garotted and robbed in the Church-yard, Halifax by George Pollard, a dyer of Church-yard, Halifax and James Whitehead, a mechanic of Southowram Bank

McIvor's: R. McIvor & Son
Boiler and steam pipe coverers and boiler composition manufacturers at Baltic Street, Halifax [1905]

McKay, Miss Jessie
[18??-18??] Of Hull. In 1857, she intended to open a private school in Sowerby Bridge.

In 1861, she ran a school at Warley.

She was approached by the trustees of Warley Grammar School and took on all the existing school – except the large schoolroom which was taken on by William Dearden.

She left in 1865, and the lease passed to Miss Jowett

McKelvin, John Exley
[1864-1939] An advertisement for the Bee-hive, Halifax in May 1902 announced

Under New Management
John Exley McKelvin, Proprietor
For several years with Scratcherd & Co

He died in Blackpool

McKenna, Rev Henry
[1???-19??] Priest at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax [1935]

McKenzie, Henry Alan
[1844-19??] Born in Hull.

He was a waterproof paper manufacturer [1901].

In [Q3] 1881, he married Elizabeth Ellen Pickles [1853-19??] from Holywell Green, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Alfred H [b 1883] who was a bank clerk [1901]; (2) Mabel [b 1892].

The family lived at Rockville, Stainland [1901]

McKill, Alfred
[18??-19??] Of Leeds. In 1917, he established Exley Zoo. He originally wanted to site the zoo at Roundhay, Leeds, but permission was refused

McKittrick, Rev W.
[17??-18??] Of Halifax.

On 16th July 1807, he married Miss Kirkpatrick of Paradise Street, Liverpool

McKniff, James
[1871-1943] Born in Keighley.

He was inn keeper at the Ship Inn, West Lane, Keighley [1901]; licensed victualler at the Black Swan, Halifax [1901, 1911, 1917].

In 1894, he married Jane McShee [1875-19??] in Keighley.

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1895] who was an electrical engineer [1901, 1911]; (2) Helen / Nellie [b 1896] who was a winder worsted [1901, 1911].

Living with them in 1901 was Jane's aunt Helen McShee [aged 45] (servant domestic) 

McLachlan, Herbert
[1876-1958] Son of John McLachlan.

Born at Dulesgate, Todmorden.

He went into his father oil and dry-salter's business in Manchester for a time. He became a Unitarian minister and a writer and historian of nonconformism.

He married (1) Mary Jane Taylor [1872-1940].

Children: Herbert John [1908-2007].

In 1942, he married (2) Jane McWilliam [b 1886]

McLachlan, J. C.
[18??-19??] He served with the Local Government Medical Service [1895]. He was Medical Officer for Shelf and part of Northowram (to the east of Shibden Beck) [1905]

Mclachlan, John
[1840-1899] Manager of a cotton mill at Todmorden. He subsequently acquired a business as an oil and dry-salter in Manchester.

He married Sarah Gladwell [b 1849].

Children: Herbert

McLachlan, Dr Robert
[1812-1???] Born in Scotland.

He was a Physician and surgeon at Shelf; Medical Officer for Northowram [1845]; a GP in Shelf [1851]; Medical Officer for Shelf and part of Northowram [1865].

He lived at Grove House, Shelf [1851]; Furnace House, Shelf [1861]

McLaren, Miss Thomson L.
[1???-1???] LRAM, ARCM.

She lived at Savile House, Halifax [1936]

McLaughlin, John James
[1873-1965] JP.

He lived at Arden Lodge, Halifax. Inventor of the reversible life raft

McLaurin, Andrew Scott
[1819-1870] Stuff merchant at Bradford.

He rebuilt New House, Lightcliffe and changed the name to The Grange.

He died at Lightcliffe

McLeod, Rev Ronald Fisher
[1851-1926] MA. He was Chaplain to the Forces [1881-1893]. He was rector of North Fambridge, Essex until he exchanged with Rev J. Russell Napier to become Vicar of Saint Peter's Church, Walsden [1906, 1909].

In 1880, he married Helen Ethel Ramsay [18??-1914] at Chelsea

McLoughlin, Joseph
[1???-19??] JP. He was Mayor of Todmorden [1960-1961]

McLusky, Robert H.
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor [1934].

He qualified in June 1932

McManus, Frank Rostron
[19??-] He was Mayor of Todmorden [1994-1995]

McMichael, Rev John Clunie
[1817-1898] Born at Bridgnorth. He trained at Rotherham College and served at Farnworth [1847] and Stalybridge [1853] before becoming Minister at Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street [1856-1858]. In 1858, he left for Geelong, Australia. He retired to Norwood, near Adelaide and died at Kapunda.

See John Hodgson

MCN Construction
Development company – owned by a member of the Norcliffe family – who bought and developed R. & D. Norcliffe's Firth House Mills, Stainland

McNamara, Rev Michael
[19??-19??] Curate at Saint Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Church, Hebden Bridge [1934]

McNaught, Thomas
[1842-1897] He established Thomas McNaught & Company Limited.

In 1876, he married Hannah Dewhirst in Halifax.

Children: (1) William who was a mill manager [1897]; (2) Jessie [b 1878]; (3) Louise [b 1879]; (4) Hilda [b 1880]; (5) (possibly) Thomas [b 1883].

The family lived at 24 Highfield Terrace, Halifax [1881] and Craven House, Halifax [1897].

He died in Torquay.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1897

McNaught's: Thomas McNaught & Company Limited
Worsted manufacturers established by Thomas McNaught in 1879. They had a factory at Hare Street Mills, Halifax [1890, 1905]. They also had offices in Bradford, and warehouses in Leeds and Huddersfield

McNea, Bernard
[1885-1915] Son of Mr McNea.

Born in Halifax.

He was a dyer's labourer [1911]; a labourer worsted combing mill [1911]; employed at J. & J. Baldwin & Partners Limited.

In 1908, he married Emily Hodgson [1887-19??] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Catherine [b 1909]; (2) John William [b 1910]; (3) child; (4) child.

The family lived at 17 Holroyd Street, Halifax [1911]; 39 Park Square, Hough, Northowram [1915].

In 1911, Bernard was a patient in the Halifax Poor Law Hospital, Salterhebble.

He was a Militiaman.

He enlisted in the 2nd Battalion, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [14th August 1914]. During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died as a result of gas poisoning [5th May 1915] (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial, Belgium [Panel 20]

McNea, Mr
[18??-18??] (Possibly) born in Ireland.

He married Mary [1852-1???].

Mary was born in Ireland

Children: (1) James [b 1877] who was a worsted doffer [1891]; (2) John [b 1879]; (3) Bernard; (4) Katie [b 1887]; (5) Francis [b 1889].

The children were all born in Halifax.

The family lived at 15 Holroyd Street, Halifax [1891]

He was dead by 1891.

Living with them in 1891 was niece Mary Mahon [aged 18] (worsted rover) 

McRoberts, Dr P. C.
[18??-1???] MB, MRCS. Medical practitioner at Galens Cottage, York Street, Todmorden [1895]

McVine, William
[1817-1889] Born in Perth, Scotland.

He was the first Vice-President of the Halifax Permanent Benefit Building Society [1853]; Councillor for Saint John's Ward [1862-1863]; grocer, wine & spirit merchant at 68 Woolshops, Halifax [1862]; grocer, wine & spirit merchant at 18 Broad Street, Halifax [1862, 1865]; a tea, wine and hop merchant at Halifax [1871]; a tea and cigar merchant at 103/104 Market Hall, Halifax [1875].

In 1845, he married (1) Elizabeth, daughter of John Simpson [1794-1866] at Halifax.

Children: (1) Sarah Elizabeth [1847-1910]; (2) Kate Emily [1852-6th December 1855]; (3) Clara Agnes [1854-12th December 1855]; (4) Janet [1851-15th December 1855]; (5) John William; (6) Rosa [1858-1859].

The family lived at Haugh Shaw Cottage, Halifax [1871].

After Elizabeth's death, he went to live in the Isle of Man.

He married (2) Margaret McVine [1860-1940].

He was buried in the Braddan Bridge Cemetery on the Isle of Man.

Elizabeth and her infant children were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4548], next to the grave of her father John Simpson and his wives

McVoy, John
[18??-18??] In April 1853, he was imprisoned for 1 month for stealing cheese, the property of John Pearson of Halifax

McWilliams, George Henry
[1???-1???] He married Rosa, daughter of John Crossley.

Children: (1) son; (2) daughter

McWilliams, Joseph McCarogher
[1845-1881] MRCS. Born in Omagh, Ireland.

Physician and surgeon at Halifax. In 1868, he was in charge of the cases of hydrophobia in the town.

He never married. He adopted his nephew, George McWilliams Henry, as his son.

They lived at 4 Ferguson Street, (London House [?]), Halifax [with George McWilliams Henry, 1874]

Meadow Bottom, Todmorden
Area of Todmorden. In 1840, this was a separate village and was originally called Hole-Bottom-Meadow-Bottom.

Holebottom Mill stood here

Meadowcroft, Ben
[1859-1???] He was the innkeeper at the Chatburn & Jennings, Luddendenfoot (helped by the rest of the family) [1891]; the publican at the Shoulder of Mutton, Hebden Bridge [1901].

He married Mary [1859-19??].

Children: (1) Annie; (2) Lizzie [b 1886]; (3) Beatrice [b 1888].

In 1911, the widowed Mary was innkeeper at the Chatburn & Jennings, helped by her daughter Lizzie

Meadowcroft, Edwin
[1872-1957] Established Meadowcroft Hampson & Company Limited at Victoria Mill, Ripponden.

In 1896, Samuel Dugdale and he founded S. Dugdale Son & Company.

He was a manager, and became a partner in the Company [1907].

In 1911, Samuel Dugdale, Edwin and James Ledger Hampson were the first directors when Meadowcroft, Hampson & Company Limited of Vic Mill, Saddleworth was incorporated.

He married Sarah Ann Lumb [1871-1958]. The couple were childless. Around 1908, he paid his brother Herbert Meadowcroft [1869-1947] who lived in Nelson, Lancashire, for his son Fred Meadowcroft to go and live with them and work for the company.

In 1914, he had Rockcliffe, Sowerby Bridge built for him

He was president of the Sowerby Bridge Liberal Club and Sowerby Bowling Club.

On his death, he was chairman of Meadowcroft, Hampson & Company Limited, Stones Mill Company Limited and Fairlea Mill Company Limited and he was a founder member of all three firms.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £368,686

Meadowcroft, Fred
[1894-1971] Nephew of Edwin Meadowcroft. Originally from Lancashire, around 1908, he went to live with his uncle and work for the company.

In 1914, he and Jack Dugdale were on business in Germany when World War I broke out. They were interned in a Prisoner-of-War camp for the duration of the war.

Meadowcroft, Hampson & Company Limited
Cotton manufacturers and doublers established by Edwin Meadowcroft at Victoria Mill, Ripponden.

In 1911, Samuel Dugdale, Edwin Meadowcroft and James Ledger Hampson were the first directors when the company was incorporated. The company occupied Victoria Mill, Ripponden until the 1980s

Meadowcroft, Hannah Martha
[1881-1894] On 22nd December 1894, she was at work as a dress maker at Abraham Dyson's drapery establishment near The Cross, Elland when a chimney, dislodged by a storm, fell through the roof and killed her.

At the inquest, a verdict was returned of

accidental death due to fracture of the skull

Meadowcroft, James
[1847-1???] Son of James Meadowcroft.

He was a worsted factory worker [1861]; licensed victualler at the Murgatroyd Arms, Luddenden [1891].

He married Lydia.

Children: (1) Mary; (2) James

Meadowcroft, Spencer
[1818-1891] He was a farmer of 6 acres and beerseller at the Trees, Sowerby [1861]; a farmer of 6½ acres of land [1871]; the beerseller at the Trees, Sowerby [1871, 1881].

On 31st December 1840, he married Hannah Normanton [1816-1870] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Joseph [b 1845] who was a cotton weaver [1861]; (2) James; (3) Margret [b 1849] who was a worsted factory worker [1861]; (4) William [b 1851] who was a cotton factory worker [1861]; (5) Mary [1853-1914] who was a worsted mill hand [1871] and married (1) Mr Barker and (2) Samuel Dawson; (6) Susey [1856-1946] who was a worsted mill hand [1871]; (7) Betty [b 1859] who was a worsted mill hand [1871]

Meadows, Henry
[18??-18??] Minister at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1944-1946]

Aka Mearclough Bottom, Meerclough, Mereclough. An area of Sowerby Bridge.

See Mereclough, Lancashire, Walker family of Sowerby Bridge, John Walker and Joseph Walker

Mearclough Bridge
Bridge over the Rochdale Canal

Mearclough Bridge, Sowerby Bridge
A 2-arch stone bridge takes Fall Lane over the Calder connecting Norland and Skircoat via Washer Lane. In April 1769, Norland township was fined for
not keeping the bridge in repair

and again in April 1773. In 1774, £250 was given to rebuild the bridge in stone

Mearclough House, Sowerby Bridge
Fall Lane / Mearclough Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Measures, J. W.
[18??-19??] Medical practitioner in Todmorden. He served with the Local Government Medical Service [1895]

Mechanics' Institutes

Mechanics Trade Society
A closed benevolent society

Medcalf, James
[1862-1921] Born in Kendal.

He was a carpet weaver at Firth's Carpets.

He married Mary Alexandra Franklin [1863-1953] from Ambleside.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child.

The family lived at 112 Elm Cottages which later became 270 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1953]

James and Mary Alexandra were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Medicraft, John
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1857, when he was a Methodist minister in Halifax (North) 

Another form of the surname is Methley

There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Medley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Medley, Frederick
[1866-1921] Born in Halifax.

He was landlord of the Prospect, Sowerby Bridge [1906, 1911, 1919].

Around 1891, he married Maria [1864-19??] from Shropshire.

Children: Doris Eliza [b 1900]

Medley, Halliday
[1806-1???] Of Halifax.

In October 1828, he was declared bankrupt.

In 1847, he was charged with having committed burglary at the home of Thomas Whiteley, having stolen 3 handkerchiefs, a shirt, and other articles. Medley was found guilty and sentenced to be imprisoned and kept at hard labour for 18 calendar months

Medley, John
[1734-1822] Of Halifax. Brother of W. Medley. He served with the Royal Artillery. He was at Gibraltar during the siege [1779-1783]. He lost both his eyes in an explosion, and suffered back injuries which led to his last 15 years being bed-ridden. He died at Bell Hall

Medley, W.
[17??-18??] Merchant at Halifax. Brother of John Medley

Meek, Melvyn
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1935-1949]. He won caps for Wales while at Halifax

Meeting of the Waters
Place at Blake Dean where Alcomden Stream joins Graining Water

Meg Dike, Barkisland
Prehistoric linear earthworks near Ringstone Reservoir

Megotson, John
[13??-1???] A tanner. In 13??, he William de Bery and John West – all of Halifax – were outlawed for failing to appear at Westminster to defend themselves after being accused of killing deer in the park of Sir William de Nevyle of Raby, at Cottingley

Megson, Bertram W.
[18??-19??] Professional entertainer.

He lived at 16 Mayfield Terrace South, Halifax [1905]

Meidalay, Richard
[15??-15??] Or Meldalay. Vicar of Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1561]

Meikle, Mr
[18??-18??] Police officer in Brighouse [1868]

Meir, Rev W. Gakes
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1906]

Mekesburgh, Richard of
[13??-13??] Of Hipperholme. In 1390, he was accused of murdering John Dell of Halifax on Thump Sunday

Melba, Dame Nellie
[1861-1931] The Australian singer visited Halifax on 5th December 1912.

She stayed at the White Swan Hotel and complained that she was unable to sleep because of the Town Hall clock's chiming every quarter of an hour through the night. The council arranged for the chimes to stop between 11 pm and 6 am

Melbourne Clothing Company, Hebden Bridge
Partners included Harry Wadsworth

Meldrum, Rev John
[1750-1814] From Scotland.

He served at Malton before becoming Minister of Bridge End Congregational Church [1785].

He travelled widely across Britain to raise funds to clear the debt on the Chapel House at Bridge End.

He is recorded as being an author of some repute.

He had a small farm – a croft – at Bridge End.

It is said that Scotty Bank, Scotty Croft Lane and Scotty Well were named for him.

In 1786, after serving 6 months at Rastrick, he moved to Hatherlow, Cheshire where he remained for 28 years

Melia's: D. Melia & Company Limited
Local branch of the national grocers and provision merchants at 8 Corn Market, Halifax [1905]

Mellen, Mrs Bridget
[16??-1???] She owned Northowram House.

Rev Oliver Heywood rented the house.

A couple of local men, opposing Heywood's views and Royalist leanings, prevailed upon Mrs Mellen and she twice raised the rent in an effort to remove him. Heywood records that one of the men (identified in his diaries as MD) broke his thigh shortly afterwards and died, and the other (JL) sold his own and his wife's lands,

haunts alehouses dayly and is fallen from all good society and exercises tho he made a glorious profession

She subsequently sold Northowram House to her nephew, Benjamin Boys.

In March 1672, Heywood's friend, Jonathan Priestley bought Northowram House on Heywood's account for 100 marks [£67 13/4d]. Using figures for average earnings, £67 13/4d in 1672 is roughly the equivalent of £96,200.00 today

Mellin, Abraham
[1728-1???] On 22nd October 1751, he married Frances Dudgeon at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Martha [bapt 1752-1821] who never married; (2) Hannah; (3) Harry [bapt 1755-1829]; (4) Sarah [1757-1832] who never married; (5) Fanny; (6) Betty [bapt 1761]; (7) Thomas [bapt 1762-1805]; (8) Abraham; (9) Grace.

The children were baptised at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax

Mellin, Abraham
[1763-1817] Son of Abraham Mellin. Baptised at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [15th September 1763].

Chemist and druggist in business at The Phoenix in the Corn Market [1794], 6 Silver Street, Halifax [1809], and Old Market [1816].

He was one of 3 druggists in Halifax at the time.

He was a Trustee of Northgate End Chapel [1797].

On 14th January 1796, he married Elizabeth (Betty) Walkinson [1775-1812] at Elland.

He lived at Greece House.

He was buried in Halifax [13th April 1817] age 53

Mellin, Fanny
[1759-1825] Daughter of Abraham Mellin. Baptised at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [18th July 1759].

On 1st January 1795, she married William Currer at Halifax Parish Church. Witnesses were Abram Mellin, Hy Mellin and Roger Swire.

She carried on business as a carpet manufacturer in the firm of Widow Currer & Son at Luddendenfoot.

She died at Burnley [31st December 1825]. There is a memorial to her and other members of the family in Luddenden Churchyard

Mellin, G.
[18??-191?] He worked for Mackintosh's.

He died in World War I.

He appears on the list of Mackintosh's employees who served in the Great War

Mellin, Grace
[1766-1831] Daughter of Abraham Mellin. Baptised at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [31st October 1766].

In 1788, she and her sister, Hannah, established Mellin's Boarding School, Halifax.

In November 1814, she announced that she was resigning her school at Christmas, and the school would henceforth be conducted by Watkinson's School for Young Ladies, Halifax.

She never married.

Buried at Halifax [9th July 1831]

Mellin, Hannah
[1753-18??] Daughter of Abraham Mellin. Baptised at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [18th September 1753].

She and her sister, Grace, established Mellin's Boarding School, Halifax.

She married Roger Swire

Mellin, Henry
[17??-18??] Chemist & druggist at Silver Street, Halifax [1822]

Mellin, James William
[1???-1894] He was landlord of the Sportsman, Mill Bank [1894].

In 1864, he married Hannah Jemima Akroyd in Halifax.

After his death, Hannah Jemima took over at the Sportsman.

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894

Mellin, Thomas
[16??-17??] He had business at the House at the Maypole, Halifax [1709]

Mellin, William
[1804-1835] Chymist and druggist of Halifax

Melling Clough, Todmorden
Numbers 252, 254, 256 & 258 Bacup Road. Early 19th century cottages

Mellins Farm, Cloughfoot

The Mellor family of Stainland
Stainland family of wool spinners and paper makers. Members of the family included:

See Mellor's Mill, Stainland

Mellor, Alfred
[18??-1???] Stationmaster at Brighouse Railway Station [1881]

Mellor & Bracken
Paper manufacturers at Holywell Green [1874]

Mellor's: Arthur Mellor & Company
Silk manufacturer. In 1923, they had business at Ashgrove, Elland

Mellor, Benjamin
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Lower Swift Place Mill, Soyland [early 19th century].

See Mellor, Berry & Pogson

Mellor, Benjamin
[1781-1845] Woollen manufacturer and merchant.

He built Holywell Hall, Stainland.

In March 1834, 65 of his workers signed an undertaking to leave any trade union whilst in Mellor's employment.

He was on the committee of the Huddersfield & Liverpool Direct Railway Company [1845].

He lived at Ash House, Holywell Green [1861].

He married Sarah, widow of Samuel Shaw.

Benjamin and Sarah are mentioned in the Memorials at Providence Chapel, Stainland and their remains were interred at Blackley Baptist Graveyard.

See West Yorkshire Railway Company

Mellor's: Benjamin Mellor & Sons
Woollen manufacturers at Holywell Mills [1874]

Mellor, Berry & Pogson
Cotton spinners at Soyland. Partners included Benjamin Mellor, Henry Berry and Joseph Pogson.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1857

Mellor, Charles
[1793-1868] Born in Bradley.

He was a waterman [1820] [1861].

He married Grace [1791-1841].

Children: (1) John; (2) Henry; (3) Thomas [b 1819] who was a waterman [1861]; (4) Mary [b 1833].

Charles was a widower by 1861.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Mellor, Eli Exley
[1861-1926] Born in Huddersfield.

In [Q3] 1888, he married Emily Jane Jeakins in Halifax.

Children: Norman

Mellor, Rev Dr Enoch
[1823-1881] DD, MA. Minster of Square Independent Chapel [1847-1861]. He left to serve at Liverpool but returned to Square Congregational Church [1867-1881]. See John Henry Jowett

Mellor, George
[17??-17??] Minister at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1784-1786]

Mellor, George
[1791-1813] A cloth dresser of Longroyd Bridge.

He was a Luddite.

In January 1813, he, William Thorpe and Thomas Smith were tried for the murder of William Horsfall.

The indictment was that, on 28th April last, Mellor fired a pistol, loaded with bullets &c at Horsfall, by which firing he received a mortal wound on the left side of his belly, of which wound he languished until the 30th April and then died; and that the prisoners were present, aiding and abetting Mellor to commit the said crime, and that the 3 prisoners wilfully murdered William Horsfall.

The Jury found them all guilty. They were executed at the Tyburn, York [8th January 1813].

A fourth man – Benjamin Walker – had been Mellor's chief accomplice and turned King's Evidence for the £2,000 reward.

Their bodies were taken to the County Hospital in York, for dissection and medical research.

Mellor, Harry Arthur
[1???-1???] His parents lived at Wells Farm, Warley [1893].

In 1893, he married Florence, daughter of James Bibby.

Children: James Arthur [b 1898]

Mellor, Henry
[1819-1896] Son of Charles Mellor.

Born in Birds Royd, Rastrick / Elland. Baptised at Elland [21st May 1820].

He was a well-known stone merchant, boat builder, boat owner, and carrier. He established Henry Mellor & Sons.

He was a waterman [1845]; a retired boatman [1881, 1891].

He owned considerable property in the Mill Lane and Old Lane areas of Brighouse.

He was said to be one of the wealthiest men in Brighouse.

On 13/7/1845, he married Sarah Ann Illingworth [1826-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.

Sarah Ann was born at Folly Hall, Southowram, daughter of Samuel Illingworth, overlooker

Children: (1) Mary Ellen [b 1845] who was a milliner [1881]; (2) Charles [b 1847] who was a boatman [1861]; (3) Henry [1849-1863] who was a boatman [1861]; (4) Sam [1852-1853] who died aged 10 months; (5) Grace [1854-1858]; (6) John Albert [b 1857] who was a boatman [1881, 1891]; (7) Sam [b 1859] who was a boatman [1881, 1891]; (8) William [b 1861] who was a boatman [1881, 1891]; (9) Elizabeth Grace [1865-1869]; (10) Annie [b 1867].

The children were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

The family lived at Aboard the Ransom [7th April 1861]; Mellor Square, Brighouse [1881]; 13 Mill Lane, Brighouse [1881]; Kingwood Grove, Brighouse [1891]

Living with them in 1881 was grandson Harry Mellor [aged 9].

Staying with them in 1861 was brother John Mellor.

Henry died at Kingwood Grove [1896]

Mellor's: Henry Mellor & Sons
Established by Henry Mellor

Mellor, Herbert
[1881-1958] He was in business as owner of Moulson & Mellor, stone quarry owners and agents, of Otley Road, Bradford. The business had been established in 1897.

In 1924, he came to Southowram to buy land.

He bought Bolton Quarries and the land at Bank Top between Marsh Lane and Long Lane from Jagger's Limited.

In 1925, he sold land to James Wadsworth & Sons.

He married Lydia [18??-1945].

Children: William.

On William's marriage, Herbert built Bolton Lodge for the couple.

Around 1930, Herbert retired and he and his wife went to live at Withernsea, East Yorkshire.

In 1939, the couple returned to live with son William and family at Bolton Lodge

Mellor, James
[17??-18??] A cabinetmaker and upholsterer at Barum Top, Halifax [1828].

He married Unknown.

Children: (possibly) John.

See Samuel Asquith

Mellor, John
[18??-18??] (possibly) Son of James Mellor.

He was an apprentice cabinetmaker.

On 16th October 1833, John Mellor and Samuel Asquith appeared at the Leeds Sessions and were found guilty of highway robbery and stealing money from Benjamin Pinder in Halifax on 21st September and were sentenced to be transported for 7 years.

On 27th September 1834, he was one of 270 convicts on board the Bengal Merchant which sailed for New South Wales, Australia

Mellor, John
[1818-1875] Son of Charles Mellor.

Born in Birds Royd, Rastrick.

He was a boatman? [1861].

At the 1861 census, he was staying with his brother Henry Mellor aboard the Ransom.

He was buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse with his parents

Mellor, John William
[1883-1915] Born in Wyke.

In 1907, he married Eva, daughter of Hanson Jagger.

He was a hairdresser [1911].

Children: (1) John Hanson [b 1909] who was a director of a limited company [1964]; (2) Harry Whitaker [b 1912] who was a chartered electrical engineer [1964].

The family lived at 1 George Street, Hipperholme [1911].

He (possibly) died in 1915.

After his death, Eva married Joshua Wilkinson Sunderland

Mellor, Joseph
[18??-18??] He had a school at Rishworth.

He married Unknown.

Children: Samuel

Mellor, Joseph
[18??-19??] Printer and stationer of Ripponden [1905]

See Samuel Mellor

Mellor, Mark
[18??-18??] Sergeant of the police.

In 1860, he became licensee of the Stock's Arms, Northowram.

On 12th August 1859, he was seeking a man called Walker who was said to have stolen a dog from Mr Ryder of Hipperholme. He found Walker and a group of companions in a beer shop, and for some time, the men prevented Sgt Mellor from making an arrest, and assaulted the officer. Charles Thornton and David Haigh, both delvers from Northowram, were fined 50/- each or 6 weeks in prison

Mellor Mint, Brighouse
Mill Royd Street. The company was established in 1924 to produce mustard.

The idea of producing mint sauce came from the wife of one of the company's director. They later became well-known makers of mint sauce. In the 1950s, they were the largest buyer of fresh mint in the country. At peak time, the company processed 20 tons of mint in each 9-hour shift.

The business was taken over by Colman's

Mellor, Mr
[17??-1???] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) (possibly) Sarah [1775-1859] who married Scipio Dyson; (2) (possibly) Hannah [1782-18??] who married William Shepherd

Mellor, Mr
[18??-1???] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) (possibly) William Mellor [1911]; (2) (possibly) Sam Mellor [1930]

Mellor, Norman
[1897-1918] Son of Eli Exley Mellor.

Born in Halifax.

During World War I, he served with the RAF. He was a Lieutenant.

He died 10th October 1918 (aged 20).

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Mellor, Right Hon. John William
[1835-1911] QC, MP. Liberal MP for Sowerby [1892-1904].

He lived at Culmhead, Taunton, Somerset [1896]; 68 Saint George's Square, London SW [1896]

Mellor, Sam
[1860-19??] (Possibly) son of Mr Mellor. Born in Brighouse.

He was a stone merchant [1911].

(Possibly) a partner in Samuel & William Mellor.

In [Q1] 1895, he married Annie Blackburn [1862-19??] from Lincolnshire, in Dewsbury.

Children: (1) Sarah Ann [b 1897]; (2) William Henry [b 1899]; (3) Gladys [b 1902].

The family lived at The Rookeries, Brighouse [1930]

Mellor, Samuel
[1797-1835] Of Slitheroe Bottom, Rishworth.

He married Hannah [1798-1867].

Children: Elizabeth [1832-1839].

Members of the family were buried at Stones Methodist Church, Soyland.

His epitaph described him as

A friend to Sunday Schools

Mellor, Samuel
[18??-19??] Poet from Ripponden. Son of Joseph Mellor. He was a member of the Calder Valley Poets.

In 1905, he published a number of humorous stories in a pamphlet [price 2d], which was printed by Joseph Mellor. Subjects of his stories included Edmond Pickup.

In 1916, he edited a volume of Biographies, Sketches & Rhymes by the Calder Valley Poets which included several of his own stories.

On 21st June 1924, a memorial tablet was unveiled at Rishworth to Mellor and J. H. Eccles

Mellor's: Samuel & William Mellor
They had business at Fink Hill Quarry, Hipperholme [1888-1936].

Partners (possibly) included Sam Mellor and William Mellor

Mellor, Rev Thomas
[1771-1852] He came from Salendine Nook and was Pastor at Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel [1815-1852]

Mellor, Thomas
[1854-1906] He was landlord of the Triangle Inn, Sowerby [1887-1906]; a publican & farmer [1891]; a Conservative; a member of Sowerby Local Board; a member of Triangle Cricket Club.

In December 1905, Richard Robinson, of no fixed abode, was sentenced to 14 days' hard labour for stealing a ham weighing 5 lbs which was boiling in a pan in Mellor's kitchen.

In 1882, Thomas married Isabella, daughter of William Hartley.

Children: (1) Sarah Emma [b 1883] who was a bar maid [1911]; (2) Thomas [b 1885] who was a blacksmith [1906], a barman [1911]; (3) Frank [b 1886]; (4) John [b 1889] who was a turner engineer's tool makers [1911]; (5) Annie [b 1891]; (6) William / Willie [b 1893] who was a fitter engineer's tool makers [1911]; (7) Harry [b 1894]; (8) James [b 1898].

Living with them in 1891 was widowed mother-in-law Sarah Hartley (retired landlady).

He died at the Triangle Inn after a short illness [1st April 1906].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £466 5/3d.

Probate was granted to his widow Isabella Mellor, son Thomas Mellor and daughter Sarah Emma Mellor.

After Thomas's death, Isabella took over at the Triangle Inn [1911, 1917].

The couple were buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby: Thomas [4th April 1906]; Isabella [29th October 1924]

Mellor, William
[1825-1???] He was a member of the Mellor family of Stainland

Paper manufacturer. He was at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth [1875].

He lived at Grove House, Rishworth [1871]

Mellor, William
[1861-19??] Born in Brighouse.

He was a stone merchant & carrier [1911].

(Possibly) a partner in Samuel & William Mellor.

In [Q1] 1894, he married Fanny Eliza Clayton [1861-19??] from Brighouse.

Children: (1) John Albert [b 1895]; (2) Frank [b 1897]; (3) Ernest [b 1900]; (4) Ethel [b 1902].

The family lived at The Rookeries, Brighouse [1911]

Mellor, William
[1908-1990] Son of Herbert Mellor.

In 1931, he married Frances Smith [19??-1970].

Frances came from Bradford, and her family were involved in road haulage

As a wedding present, Herbert designed and built Bolton Lodge, Southowram for the couple, on their own land and using stone from their own quarry

Children: Joan [1935-2006]

Melrose, Elland
Aka Melrose Court, Melrose Villa. House on Victoria Road. Built by Joseph Carter [1890s]

Old people's flats here opened on 27th March 1965.

The building was demolished in 2008.

A new development – Willow Court – was built on the site

Melvyne Cottage, Halifax
Recorded in 1891 in Savile Road. It appears to have been 2 dwellings [1891].

Owners and tenants have included

Member of Parliament

Memoirs & Journals

Memorial Park, Hebden Bridge

Memories of Calderdale

Mendelssohn, Felix
[1809-1847] German composer.

It is said that he visited Halifax.

He was an acquaintance of Samuel Smith, the 2 having met whilst Smith was travelling in Europe in 1839.

In 1842, he composed a setting of the 114th Psalm which he dedicated to the Halifax Choral Society who sang it at Halifax Parish Church.

He gave a copy of his oratorio Elijah to Smith for the Halifax Choral Society. In turn, he passed the folio on to Tom Sutcliffe. Its present whereabouts are unknown.

Menzies, John
[18??-18??] Son of Robert Menzies.

Born in Scotland.

He was a gardener; innkeeper at the Golden Plough, Halifax [1851].

He married Nancy Smith in Halifax [23rd January 1851].

Nancy was the daughter of Mr Bentley, and widow of Whitehead Smith

Mercantile Bank of Lancashire Limited
The bank's head office was in Moseley Street, Manchester.

The Halifax branch opened at 11 Waterhouse Street, Halifax, in February 1894. James A. Riley was the first Manager

Mercer, Harriet
[18??-18??] In April 1853, she was imprisoned for 2 months for stealing 2 shawls, the property of Henry Hanson at Halifax

Mercer, John
[1791-1866] Bobbin-winder and handloom weaver.

He studied mathematics and chemistry, and discovered dyes which could be used for printing calico.

In 1844, he invented the process of mercerisation

Mercer, Robert
[1???-18??] On 2nd May 1824, he married Harriet Hartley.

Harriet was the daughter of
John Hartley

Mercer, William
[17??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1753]

Mercer, William B.
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon at Ripponden and Triangle [1905]

Mercers' Company
A livery company established around 1348 to control the trade of silk, linen, fustian and other cloth.

See Mercerisation

Mercy Lodge, Todmorden
Masonic Lodge.

A Juvenile Lodge of the Todmorden District recorded [1907, 1909] when they met at the Waggon & Horses, Walsden and Crossley Fletcher was Secretary

See Loyal Mercy [No ??] Masonic Lodge

Mereclough Bottom
House. A fireplace is dated 1722

Meredith & Drew Limited
Biscuit manufacturer at Ovenden. Founded in 1830. The firm was originally based in the East End of London. When their Shadwell factory was bombed in 1940, they moved to the provinces, and the Halifax plant became operational in 1941. In 1966, the firm was taken over by United Biscuits. At one time, they were the largest producers of biscuits in England.

They also occupied Brookfoot Mill, Brighouse in the 1940s

Meredith, Rev David
[1812-1853] MA. Vicar of Elland [1849].

He sold the old Glebe House and built the Rectory.

He hoped to continue the restoration work at Elland Parish Church which his predecessor, Rev William Atkinson, had initiated. The congregation disapproved of his plan, and he died before the work was continued.

The Pulpit in Elland Parish Church was installed in his memory

Meredith, J. T.
[18??-19??] Partner in Sagar & Meredith

Meredith, Rev John
[18??-19??] MA. He served at Wakefield and Mold Green before becoming Vicar at Parish Church of Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddendenfoot [1893, 1897].

He married Unknown.

Children: John Thomas who married [September 1900] Mary Elizabeth youngest daughter of the late Richard Appleyard

Meredith, Thomas
[18??-19??] Carboniser at Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot [1905]

Merlewood, Skircoat
Kensington Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Merlin Club, Todmorden-cum-Walsden
Recorded 1914-1974

Merlin Engineering Company Limited
They had business at Hebble Mills, Salterhebble

Merrill, Rev Samuel
[18??-18??] Wesleyan minister at Bolton Brow [1845]

Merry, Rev A.
[18??-19??] Curate at Rastrick [1908] and Vicar of Cragg Vale [1909]

Merry Bent
See Great Merry Bent, Little Merry Bent and Upper Merry Bent

Merry Pom-Poms
Amateur entertainment group of West Vale. Recorded in the 1920s

Mersey Textile Company Limited
Woollen & worsted manufacturers of Grove Mills, Elland. Recorded in 1949

Meskimmon, George
[18??-19??] Dining-room proprietor at 54 Woolshops, Halifax [1936]

A popular choral work written by Georg Friedrich Handel [1685-1759] in 1742.

The association of the work with Halifax was influenced by Joah Bates.

The first performance in Halifax, and indeed

north of the Trent

was at Halifax Parish Church in 1766. It is reported that

The performance was of a very high order and the singers consisted of a Halifax choir assisted by a contingent of vocalists from Kirkheaton which had been trained by the Rev Allott of that place

The leader of the band was William Herschel who played violin and Joah Bates played the new organ.

Mrs Sunderland was well-known for her performances of The Messiah.

See Henry Bates, Brighouse Choral Society, Charles Dibdin and Judas Maccabaeus

Metcalf, James
[17??-18??] Umbrella maker at Woolshops, Halifax [1822]

Metcalf, John
[16??-17??] Curate at Rastrick [1719]

Metcalf, Thomas
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1791-1797]

Metcalfe, Aked
[1???-18??] Partner in Bell & Metcalfe.

On 21st May 1833, he married Mary Lister Aked in Halifax

Metcalfe & Nicholl
Clockmakers and engine makers at Westgate, Halifax [1822, 1829]. Partners were George Metcalfe and John Nicholl

Metcalfe, Christiane
[18??-18??] Of Christopher Metcalfe & Son.

He lived at 51 Lister Lane, Halifax [1874]

Metcalfe's: Christopher Metcalfe & Son
Makers of Machine, wool comb, wire drawers' prichels, steel skewer, hackle, gill, faller, pin and rivets at Jemmy Lane, Halifax [1874].

See Christiane Metcalfe

Metcalfe, D.
[17??-18??] Shoemaker at Woolshops, Halifax [1809]

Metcalfe, Edmund
[17??-18??] Clockmaker and engine maker at Old Cock Yard, Halifax [1837]

Metcalfe, George
[1???-18??] Landlord of the Prince of Blucher, Halifax [1834].

In 1835, he sued the inhabitants of Agbrigg and Morley, for the injuries and damages to his property during the window-breaking riots at 3:00 pm on 7th January 1835. The Blucher was broken open by the mob, furniture was thrown into the street, windows were broken, and the taps of the spirit casks were opened, letting all the liquor run to waste.

The Jury awarded damages of £133, against the £135 8/9d which he had claimed. Using figures for average earnings, £133 in 1835 is roughly the equivalent of £95,100.00 today and £135 8/9d is roughly the equivalent of £96,900.00

Metcalfe, George
[1766-1829] He was a partner in Metcalfe & Nichol.

His death followed a fall during the late frost, in which he broke his leg

Metcalfe, George
[18??-18??] He was a draper [1841].

He married Agnes Horner Garside.

Agnes was the daughter of
Benjamin Garside

Agnes died 13th February 1841 (aged 34).

She was buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Metcalfe, Miss Georgina Gordon
[1866-19??] Born in Nairn, Scotland.

She was an orphan scholar at the Halifax Orphanage [1881], an assistant mistress at the Orphanage [1891, 1901], and a teacher at the Orphanage [1911].

She wrote several poems for local newspapers

Metcalfe, Henrietta Catherine
[1674-1740] Daughter of Anne [née Marwood] and William Metcalfe, of North Allerton.

She was the 3rd wife of John Smyth

Metcalfe, James
[17??-18??] Engraver at Old Market, Halifax [1816]

Metcalfe, James
[17??-18??] Umbrella manufacturer of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: George Smith [1797-1835] who died after a 6-year illness

Metcalfe, John
[1717-1810] Aka Metcalf. 18th century road-builder who constructed many local roads and turnpikes

Metcalfe, PC
[18??-1???] Brighouse constable [1891]

Metcalfe, Percy
[18??-19??] Silk-manufacturer. Last owner of Kirby Leas, Halifax in the 1920s

Metcalfe, Rev Thomas
[18??-19??] He was curate at Morley-with-Churwell, Leeds before becoming Vicar of Mytholmroyd [1906, 1915]

Metcalfe, Thomas Frederick
[1870-19??] Born in Elland

He was licensed victualler at the Rose & Crown, Halifax [1905, 1911].

In [Q2] 1894, he married Caroline Cotton [1870-1934] from Lindley, in Huddersfield.

Children: (1) child; (2) Cyril [b 1895] who was an assistant chemist [1911]

Metcalfe, W. A.
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1840, when he had a silk shawl and fur establishment at 10 Waterhouse Street, Halifax

Metcalfe, William
[17??-18??] Curate at Cross Stone [1782]

Metham, Edward
[16??-17??] Or Mesham, Motham.

He was at various times Curate at Cross Stone [1708-1728]

In 1716, a number of local QuakersWilliam Greenwood, William Sutcliffe, Abraham Fielden, Joshua Fielden, and Mary Barker - were prosecuted after they refused to pay certain sums of money demanded of them towards the maintenance of Edward Mesham. William Greenwood, William Sutcliffe, and Joshua Fielden were held in Rothwell Gaol from 21st September 1716 to 5th October 1720

A variant of the surname Medley

The Methley family of Ovenden & Wadsworth

See Arnold Mullins

Metropole, Halifax

Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale

Metropolitan Drinking Fountain & Cattle Trough Association
The charity erected drinking fountains and horse troughs in London and throughout the UK and Ireland around 1880-1930. There were many examples in the district including

See Marian Prescott

Mettrick, Piers
[1964-] Actor. He has appeared in the BBC TV series Spooks and played the rôle of Fat Todd in the Channel 4 series Shameless. He lives at Mixenden

Mewburn & Barker
Stocks and shares brokers at 17 Crossley Street, Halifax [1874, 1905]

Mewett & Heywood
Penny Bazaar established in 1887. They were at 65 and 66 Halifax Borough Market [1915].

In 1915, the firm was advertised alongside Heywood's

The Mews family
They were lords of the manor and controlled Midgley

Mews, John
[12??-1298] Alias Melsa. In 1297, he was granted free warren in the Manor of Midgley

Mewsom, George
[16??-1720] Attorney.

He lived at Ive Ing, Lightcliffe

Mexborough Masonic Lodge
Masonic Lodge.

See West Vale Masonic Hall

Mexborough: Lord Mexborough
The Earls of Mexborough – of Lifford in the County of Donegal – are a branch of the Savile family.

The First Earl was John Savile [1719-1778].

Lord Mexborough owned land and property in Elland and at Methley

On 27th September 1923, the estate in Elland was sold.

See Bradley Hall, Holywell Green and Mexborough's Arms, Elland

Meyrick, Thomas
[17??-1770] A Cornishman. He was a Methodist but left to become Curate at Southowram [1750] and Curate at Halifax [1756].

He wrote a satirical poem about a Cornish clergyman who became addicted to intemperance. Horsfall Turner adds

... but fell into the vice himself at last

Miall, Edward
[18??-1881] Born in Edinburgh. He was editor of the Nonconformist newspaper. He stood unsuccessfully as the Radical-Dissenter candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [1847]. He went on to be MP for Rochdale [1852-1857] and Bradford [1869-1874]

Michael, Rev Thomas
[1828-1???] Born in Abergavenny.

He was Pastor at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist Church for 23 years [1861] and Zion Strict Baptist Church, Siddal [1884].

He married Sarah [1826-1???], from Mitcham, Surrey.

Children: Fred Howard [b 1865] who was an art pupil [1881].

The family lived at 27 Hampden Place, Halifax [1881]

See Holywell Green Baptist Church and Stoney Royd Cemetery

Michell, Alfred
[18??-19??] Clothier at Hebden Bridge and Manchester.

In October 1879, he was declared bankrupt

Michell, Sir Thomas
[15??-155?] A chantry priest who served at Halifax Parish Church. He took confession of Thomas Lacy who admitted stealing £1,000 from the cellar of the Vicar, Robert Holdsworth, in 1536

Micklemoss, Northowram
Recorded in 1435 and 1438, when John Stansfeld was mentioned in the Manorial Count Rolls for
digging turves


Uses the elements mickle and moss, meaning large marsh.

Recorded in 1858, when Samuel Parkinson was here

Micklemossford, Shibden
Area mentioned in 1515

Micklethwaite, Benjamin
[1761-1817] Son of Martha [née Jackson] and Benjamin Micklethwaite of Mirfield. Baptised on 16th August 1761.

On 21st July 1782, he married Hannah Haigh in Halifax.

Children: (1) John; (2) Mary [1793-1801]; (3) Martha [b 1787] who married [1813] Elijah Cheetham in Halifax. On 12th April 1817, he and Benjamin Gartside were executed at the Tyburn, York for a burglary near Halifax.

He was buried at Rastrick Church [16th April 1817]

Micklethwaite, Benjamin
[1798-1857] On 24th June 1857, he was killed in a roof fall at Clifton Colliery.

He was buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse two days later

Micklethwaite, John
[1783-18??] Son of Benjamin Micklethwaite.

In 1801, he married Betty Barber in Halifax.

Children: (1) John [1809-1875] who married [1836] Harriet Blackburn at Birstall; (2) Mary [1802-18??] who married [1824] John Bayes at Halifax

Middle Beestonhirst, Ripponden
Baitings, Rochdale Road.

See Beestonhirst

Middle Bottomley Farm, Walsden
Bottomley Road. Mid 17th century house. The barn is dated 1784 B I F

Middle Burn Farm, Fixby

Middle Goat House, Rishworth
Heath Field.

Owners and tenants have included

See Lower Goat House, Rishworth and Upper Goat House, Rishworth

Middle Harper Royd, Norland
Farmhouse and other buildings dated M 1687 and GB 1637 for Gabriel Bentley

Middle Hathershelf Farm, Boulderclough
Hathershelf Lane. The 18th century barn was converted to cottages in the early 1800s.

See Hathershelf Farm and Hathershelf

Middle Longfield House, Todmorden
Longfield Road. Mid 17th century house. The porch is dated 1700. There is a tablet inscribed W G. The attached double-aisled barn may be 16th century.

See Longfield House, Todmorden

Middle Midgelden Farm, Todmorden
Bacup Road. Early 18th century house.

A nearby barn is also listed.

See South Midgelden Farm, Todmorden

Middle Ox Heys Farm, Shelf
Aka Rob Dene Farm. Owners and tenants have included

See Lower Ox Heys, Shelf and Ox Heys Farm, Shelf

Middle Scars, Rishworth
Area of moorland

Middle Schole Croft, Bradshaw

Middle Stoodley House, Todmorden
Stoodley Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

  • The Mitchell family
A nearby mid 18th century barn is

Middle Town field, Elland
Aka Middlemost Town Field. A part of mediæval Elland. Recorded in 1750. Upper Shull and Lower Shull lay north of the land

Middlefoot, Brearley
Or Middle Foot. Owners and tenants of the house have included

Middleham, Samuel
[1781-18??] Innkeeper at the Armytage Arms, Clifton [1841, 1851]. Samuel Middleton is recorded at the pub [1834].

He was also farming 50 acres and employing 2 labourers [1851].

He married Hannah [1781-18??].

Children: (1) Lucy [b 1816]; (2) Samuel [b 1821]; (3) Hannah [b 1821]

Middleton, C. Peter
[19??-] Organist at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse [1980]

Middleton, Charles
[1860-19??] Born in Norwich.

He was a municipal lamplighter [1911].

Around 1882, he married Effie [1858-19??] from Halifax.

Children: (1) child; (2) child.

The family lived at 6 Battinson Street, Southowram [1911]

Middleton Division
In 1885, Lancashire was divided into 23 Parliamentary divisions. Todmorden and Walsden were a part of Middleton division of South-East Lancashire.

MPs for the Division included:

The constituency was abolished in 1918 and became Middleton & Prestwich

See Population Statistics and Todmorden & Lancashire

Middleton, Joseph
[1748-1835] Of Hipperholme. He was for many years, clerk at Coley Church, and afterwards at Lightcliffe chapel, where he officiated until he was about 82 years of age

Middleton, Sir Thomas
[1550-1631] Or Myddleton.

On 18th February 1586, he married (1) Hester, daughter of Sir Richard Saltonstall, at Saint Dunstan's-in-the-East, London.

Children: (1) Richard who died young; (2) Thomas.

He was apprenticed to Hester's uncle – Ferdinand Poyntz – a citizen and grocer, and was admitted to the freedom of the Grocers' Company [14th January 1582] and to the living [21st March 1592].

He was Lord Mayor of London [1613].

After Hester's death, Sir Thomas went on to marry a further 3 times

Middleton, Sir Thomas
[1586-1666] Son of Sir Thomas Middleton.

Born at Chirck Castle, Denbigh.

He was Knighted [10th February 1617]. During the Civil War, he was Sergeant Major General of the Parliamentary forces in Wales.

In 1612, he married Margaret Savile

Margaret was the daughter of George Savile of Wakefield

Middleton, Thomas Henry
[18??-19??] Draper and fent dealer at Bethel Street & King Street, Brighouse.

In September 1893, he was declared bankrupt

District of Calderdale north of Hebden Bridge where Crimsworth Beck joins Hebden Water. There is a car park here with access to Hardcastle Crags.

See Hebden valley mills

Midgehole Working Men's Club
Aka The Blue Pig.

In the 19th century, the Midgehole Dye Works built a number of cottages for their workers. One of these became the Club. It was affiliated around 1908 and is one of the oldest Working Men's Club in the country.

Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 116

Midgelden Beck
Dulesgate, Todmorden.

See Clough Foot Minewater Treatment Scheme, Todmorden and Gorpley Mill, Todmorden

Midgelden, Todmorden
Dulesgate. The 3 properties – North Midgelden Farm, Middle Midgelden Farm and South Midgelden Farm - seem to be considered as a unit in the censuses and other records

A variant of the surname Midgley

The entries for people with the surname Midgley are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

District of Calderdale east of Hebden Bridge, bounded to the west by Foster Clough and to the east by the Luddenden stream

See Calder Registration District, Greenwood Stone, Midgley Moor, Parish statistics and Midgley Moor

Another form of the surname is Midgeley.

Recorded in 1207.

George Redmonds writes that John de Miggeley is recorded at Sowerby in 1274, John Migeslay is recorded at Midgley in 1379 and William Midgley is recorded at Midgley in 1672.

Originated in Midgley.

There are currently around 55 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Midgley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Midgley family
The family had property in Midgley and Luddenden, including Broadfold Hall, Midgley, Cooper House, Gate House, Midgley and Magson House

Prominent members of the family included William Midgley, Richard Midgley, and Richard Midgley

Midgley's Almshouses, Halifax
In the 16th century, an almshouse and grammar school were built near Halifax Parish Church under the will of John Midgley

Midgley & Luddenden Musical Festival
Established on 26 July 1936

Midgley & Roper
Stone quarrier with Long Close Quarry, Brighouse [1896]. Partners included Thomas Roper

Midgley & Woodhead
Spring wood dealers at Luddenden. Partners included Robert Midgley and Robert Woodhead.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1837

Midgley Board of Guardians
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Midgley township have included

  • William Aked [1869]

  • William Walker [nominated 1869]

Midgley Board of Health
Established in 18??

Midgley constables
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Midgley

Midgley Co-operative Hall
In 1870, the Co-operative Hall was built Midgley Co-operative Society and stood opposite the society's Midgley store. The Hall was used as a venue for meetings and concerts. It was used as a day school until this was superseded by Midgley Board School. The Hall closed in 1960. Arnold Edwards Memorial Gardens now stand on the site

Midgley Co-operative Industrial Society Limited
The Society had its origins in meetings held by a group of Chartists in the Radical Hoil around 1852. The Society was established around 1861, when a store was acquired in Lydgate. This continued in use until 1968.

In 1???, they built houses for their members, and a village hall which accommodated 500 people.

In 1865, a larger store was set up in 4 cottages at Towngate / Thorney Lane.

The society took over the Luddenden Co-operative Society in 1932.

On 5th November 1933, it was taken over by Halifax Industrial Society.

See Midgley Co-operative Hall

Midgley's: David Midgley & Company
Boiler maker at Elland established by David Midgley

Midgley District Council
See H. Hainsworth

Midgley History Group
Established in 2004.

See Pennine Perspectives: Aspects of the history of Midgley

The Midgley Intelligencer
A village newspaper produced by Henry William Harwood

Midgley, Manor of
In Domesday Book this was one of the 9 berewicks belonging to the Manor of Wakefield. It appears there as Micleie.

The Manor was granted to the Earls of Warren. In 1297, the Earl granted free warren to John Mews.

The Manor subsequently passed to

See Brearley Hall, Mytholmroyd, Lower Brearley Hall, Midgley, Midgley, Thomas Riley, Thomas Fawcett Riley and Sir George Savile

Midgley Moor

Midgley Moor Reservoirs

Midgley Overseers of the Poor
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Midgley

Midgley Pinfold
The 18th / early 19th century pinfold stands in Chapel Lane at Greenroyd.

Owners were charged 3d per foot to reclaim their animals from the pound. Animals were sold if unclaimed after 5 days.

It is a circular structure with walls about 9 ft high.

Those who held the post of pinder at Midgley included

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

Midgley Post Office
Towngate. This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Midgley Prosecution Society
On 28th April 1838, Mrs Bedford, innkeeper of the Shoulder of Mutton, Midgley, hosted a meeting at her home to establish the Prosecution society for the prosecution of felons in the township and neighbourhood of Midgley

Midgley Radical Association
Established in 1837. They met at the Radical Hoil. In 1838, they held their 1st anniversary dinner at the Shoulder of Mutton, Midgley

Midgley Recreation Ground
Given by John and Herbert Murgatroyd on 9th September 1924. It opened on 1st August 1925

Midgley School Board
School Board set up in 18??. Recorded 1874-1904

Midgley Spa
Aka Town Syke Well, Midgley

Midgley stocks
Near Number 61 Towngate. These were used until 1825, when a lockup was established beneath Luddenden School.

Later use is recorded in an item in the Halifax Guardian of October 1864 headed SERVES THEM RIGHT which reported

On the 15th October last John Whitaker and John Balme were ordered to pay 3s. 4d. and costs for playing an unlawful game, but in default of payment on Wednesday they were placed in the stocks from half past twelve to half past three p.m. during heavy rain.

The village well – Midgley Spa – stands near the stocks.

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

See Luddenden lockups

Midgley Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Midgley included:

Midgley's: Turner Midgley & Company
Cotton warp manufacturers at Victoria Mills, Brighouse [1840]

Midgley Urban District Council
Ceased on 27th March 1939. It was amalgamated with Sowerby Bridge Urban District Council.

See Urban District Council

Midgley War Memorial
See Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial

Midgley Workhouse
Established in 1770 at New Earth Head.

In 1777, this accommodated 24 inmates. It closed in 1834. It is now a private house

Midgley Working Men's Club, Luddendenfoot
Recorded in 1917, when David Howarth was secretary

Midland Bank

Midland, Barnsley, Sheffield, Dewsbury, Leeds & Bradford Railway
Recorded in September 1845 to provide short and direct communication between the populous manufacturing and iron and coal districts of Bradford, Cleckheaton, Heckmondwike, Batley, Dewsbury, Barnsley and Sheffield, with the wool and agricultural districts of Leicestershire, Derbyshire, Doncaster, Gainsborough, Lincoln etc and the port of Boston. Locally, it would run from Bradford to Barnsley via Brighouse, and then to Leeds and Manchester

The Midland Railway Company
In 1874, they had a Receiving Office at 21 Southgate, Halifax, when George Crawshaw was agent.

See Spring Hall, Halifax and Trains

Midwood, Allen
[1838-1881] Born in Mirfield.

He was landlord of local pubs, including the Wellington Inn, Halifax [1866] and the White Hart, Halifax [1871-1881].

As landlord of the Wellington Inn, Halifax, he was a witness at the trial of John Richard Jeffery, having given Jeffery a drink as he was being taken to Halifax

Midwood, Henry
[17??-18??] Around 10:00 pm on 8th August 1811, he, David Gledhill and Joseph Brook, all from Brighouse, were involved in an assualt upon a party of soldiers who had been recruiting in Brighouse. The gang eventually drove the military out of the town.

At their trial, all 3 men were found guilty

Mier, Barras
[1???-18??] Proprietor of Mier & Company.

In February 1835, the Halifax Guardian announced the opening of his


selling fancy goods at premises in Southgate, Halifax.

The advertisement states that

A splendid transparency of Napoleon will appear every evening for two hours


The CHINESE MAGICIAN will be shown to purchasers, on enquiry

Miers, Rev A.
[18??-19??] Minister at Todmorden. Recorded in 1870, when he was on the Committee of the Todmorden Flood Relief Fund

Mikado Café
3 & 5 Silver Street, Halifax. George Webster & Sons had a shop here, and the café opened above the shop in 1889. The Café extended over the premises of Edward Mortimer Limited on Commercial Street.

There were machines grinding and roasting coffee in the window.

The café had a Japanese theme. The premises were heated by a large porcelain stove, made by Doulton & Company. It was a no-smoking establishment.

The shop became one of the first self-service outlets in 1957.

The café closed in 1961.

Webster's went out of business in 1963.

The building was demolished shortly afterwards, and a new block of shops and offices wad built on the site. The street level shop was subsequently occupied by Jowett & Sowry and William Hill bookmakers.

See Halifax Wireless Club & Radio Society

Milbourne-Swinnerton-Pilkington, Aimée
[18??-19??] Third daughter of Sir Lionel Milborne Swinnerton-Pilkington Bt.

She married Colonel Sir George Ayscough Armytage in 1899.

She obtained a judicial separation in 1922

Mile Cross
Area of Halifax at the west end of Hopwood Lane.

In 1898, a depot for the new tramways system was built here

Mile Thorn Floral, Vegetable & Dog Show
Established around 1870

Mile Thorn Nurseries, Halifax
Recorded in 1905

Miles, Major H. G. P.
[18??-19??] He lived at Slead Hall, Brighouse [1940].

He married Margaret.

Children: son [b 1939]

Miles, John C.
[1905-2003] CM. Aka Johnny. Canadian marathon runner. Born in Halifax [30th October 1905].

He and his family moved to North Sydney, Nova Scotia. He won many medals and represented Canada at the 1928 and the 1932 Summer Olympics. In 1982, he was made a Member of the Order of Canada.

He died in Hamilton, Ontario [15th June 2003]

Miles, William
[18??-19??] Methodist Minister in Halifax [1820]


Military Cemeteries & Memorials

Milking Bridge, Colden
Eaves Avenue. Late 18th century foot-bridge over Colden Water. It is a narrow, single-arch bridge with a stone slab surface

Mill Bank
Village above Triangle, between Kebroyd and Cottonstones

Mill Bank Beck
Stream which flows through Mill Bank. There were fulling mills here in the 14th century

Mill Bank Bridge, Sowerby Bridge
Damside Mill Bank. Late 18th century road bridge

Mill Bank Building Society
Recorded in 1905, when William Stevenson was Secretary

Mill Bank Historical Society

Mill Bank Industrial Stores
Opened on 31st October 1867

Mill Bank Working Men's Club
Recorded in 1902, when the 43rd half-yearly meeting was held.

At a meeting held here following a session of the trial of Frederick Walter Hadwen and Alfred Ingham on 14th January 1902, the members considered proposals to work Hadwen's Mills after the company had closed, putting almost all the inhabitants of Mill Bank and Triangle out of work.

See Halifax Working Men's Club & Institute, Mill Bank

Mill Chimneys

Mill Cottage, Clifton
The building had some links to the nearby corn mill

Mill Field Ends, Luddenden
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Mill Fold, Ripponden
A group of early 19th century houses near Ripponden Old Bridge. One used to be the Over The Bridge restaurant

Mill House Estate, Sowerby Bridge
Rochdale Road. The mid 19th century industrial buildings here are listed.

See Mill House Lodge

Mill House Lodge, Triangle
Rochdale Road. The lodge to the Mill House Estate.

Home of William Henry Rawson

Mill House, Luddenden
Rails Lane. 17th century house. Owners and tenants have included

The estate was owned by the Eastwood family until they went bankrupt in 1879. The estate was then acquired by the Titterington family.

The house is now 2 dwellings.

See Pepper Hill Mill, Luddenden

Mill House, Midgley
Owners and tenants have included

  • Councillor J. P. Farrar [1925]

Mill House, Sowerby
Home of the Rawson family, and the site of mills belonging to the family business.

Owners and tenants have included

Dorothy Wordsworth stayed here in 1795, in 1807 – with her brother William – and in 1816.

W. H. Rawson & Company carried out the finishing process here on goods which were produced at their premises in Old Lane, Halifax.

The house was demolished in 19??. Mill House Lodge still stands on the main Rochdale Road

Millbank Hall, Sowerby
Milner Lodge is shown as Millbank Hall on some early maps

Millbrook House, Todmorden
Rochdale Road.

In 1783, Joshua Fielden built the house and set up a cotton spinning business here, and at Laneside House which stands next door. His son John was born here

The Millennium Beacon, Wainstalls
Erected in 2000 by Teal's Drainage Contractors to celebrate the millennium. It stands next to the Withens Hotel

The Millennium Clock, Hebden Bridge
The clock was erected on the end of a building at Valley Road, Hebden Bridge in 2000. It was paid for by public subscription and presented to the town by the Rotary Club of Hebden Bridge

The Millennium Garden, Mytholmroyd
Nab End. A sculpture park

Miller Barn, Walsden
Peel Cottage Road. Early 19th century laithe-house

Miller, Rev David
[19??-] Vicar of Saint John The Divine, Rastrick [2000?]. He moved to Cornwall

Miller, Donald
[1913-19??] Son of John Miller.

Like other members of his family, he was interested in motor-boats

Miller's Grave, Midgley Moor
A Neolithic or Bronze Age site comprising a stone cairn surrounding a natural boulder.

At the end of 18th century, a miller called Lee of Mayroyd hanged himself after being jilted by his lover. His body was buried but he continued to haunt the villagers, so they dug him up and left him here on Midgley Moor. He continued to haunt the villagers until his body was finally buried – because he was a suicide – on the north side of the church at Heptonstall.

The Greenwood Stone is nearby

Miller, Rev J. S.
[18??-1???] Minister at Trinity United Methodist Free Church, Walsden. He left in July 1897

Miller, J. W.
[18??-19??] He was appointed Chairman of Halifax Board of Guardians [20 April 1910]

Miller, John
[18??-19??] Dyer.

He lived at Cobden House, Hipperholme [1905]

Miller, John A.
[1885-1930] Of Brighouse. Son of John Watson Miller.

Chairman of Miller's Oils.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Donald; (2) daughter.

The family lived at Ivy Cottage, Brighouse [1930].

Like other members of his family, he was interested in motor-boats.

He was a motor-boat champion and was killed during an outboard motor boat display at Saint Helens

Miller, John Alexander
[1884-1930] He was a Freemason. In 1908, he married Margaret Eliza Wood [1882-1977] in Halifax.

The family lived at Ivy House, Rastrick.

The couple were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Miller, John Watson
[1851-19??] Founder of Miller's Oils. Born in Scotland.

He worked in America before returning to Britain and becoming a sales representative for the Standard Oil Company. This brought him to Brighouse where he met Thomas Sykes.

In 1888, he bought Sykes's business at Rastrick, later moving to the Brighouse Brick, Tile & Stone Company site on Rastrick Common.

He was active in the Bridge End Congregational Church; was elected Councillor in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893.

In 1882, he married Hannah Burton Blackie [1865-19??] from Scotland, in Toxteth Park, Lancashire.

Children: (1) John; (2) Phoebe Robina [b 1886]; (3) Mary Eleanora [b 1890]; (4) William Douglas.

The family lived at Alma Terrace, Rastrick; Lillands, Rastrick [1891]; The Cliffe, 8 Cliffe Road, Rastrick [1901]; Mirfield [1911].

Living with them in 1901 was Hannah's mother Mrs Blackie

Miller, Joseph
[17??-17??] A schoolmaster at Longwood. In 1770, he published A Choice Selection of Family Prayers and Divine Poems

Miller, Max
[1894-1963] Comedian.

In 1922, he appeared as a pierrot at the Shay Gardens, Halifax

Miller's Oils: John W. Miller & Sons Limited
Oil processing company at Rastrick Common founded by John Watson Miller. The factory was built on the site of the Brighouse Brick, Tile & Stone Company. They produced a number of speciality oils including

See John Miller

Miller, William Douglas
[1896-19??] Son of John Watson Miller.

Born in Brighouse.

Brighouse Councillor.

Like other members of his family, he was interested in motor-boats

Milleraine Syndicate

Millfold Recreation Ground
Mill Bank, Ripponden

Milligan, Mrs Annie Elizabeth
[1???-1936] She died in Egham, Surrey. In her will, she left £200 and a copy of Leonardo da Vinci's Last Supper painted by Guglielmo Gringaschi to Heptonstall Church. This had been bought by John Sutcliffe of Hebden Bridge in 1906

Milligan, George
[18??-1???] Organist at Halifax Parish Church [February 1897-August 1897]

Milligan, George
[1847-19??] Son of William Milligan.

He was a damask manufacturer's clerk [1871]; a commercial clerk (worsted) [1881]; a worsted manufacturer employer [1891]; a worsted & silk manufacturer [1901]; a manufacturer of upholstering fabrics employer [1911]; partner in H. C. McCrea & Company.

In 1888, he married Martha Ann, daughter of Frederick Green Fleming, at Halifax Parish Church.

The family lived at Eastfield House, Claremount [1891, 1901, 1905].

Living with them in 1901, was Martha's father Frederick Green Fleming.

In 1911, George and Martha Ann were living at the Imperial Hydro, Saint Annes-on-the-Sea, Fylde, Lancashire

Milligan, James
[1853-1919] Born in Halifax.

On 6th June 1878, he married Mary Tuley in Halifax.

Mary was the daughter of
Thomas Tuley

Children: (1) John Harold [b 1879]; (2) Horace Stanley [1882-1943]; (3) Arnold William [1884-1965]; (4) Robert Oswald [1886-1973]; (5) George Douglas [1889-1892]; (6) James Clifford [1890-1891]; (7) Septimus Tuley [1891-1901]; (8) Doris Mary [1894-1894].

James died in Halifax [28th February 1919]

Milligan, William
[18??-18??] In 1854, he was in Morocco with brothers, George and William Robinson. They then went to Portalegre, Portugal

Milligan, William
[1816-1882] Of Halifax.

Son of hatter John Milligan.

He was a painter [1837, 1841]; a painter employing 2 men, 3 boys [1851]; a master painter employing 3 men [1861]; a master painter & floor cloth manufacturer employing 4 men & 2 apprentices [1871]; a master painter and floor cloth manufacturer employing 4 men & 1 boy [1881]. He established William Milligan & Son with his son, George.

In 1838, he married Mary Tate [1819-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.

At the time of the marriage, Mary – the daughter of gardener James Tate – was aged 19 and a dressmaker from Halifax

Children: (1) John [b 1839]; (2) Ann Mitchell [b 1842] who was a dressmaker [1861]; (3) Margaret Elizabeth [b 1845] who was a shop assistant [1861] and married Francis Rawlings; (4) George; (5) Mary Ann [b 1849]; (6) Agnes Jane [b 1851]; (7) James [b 1853] who was an apprentice with his father [1871]; (8) William Scott [b 1856] who was a patent agent's clerk [1871]; (9) Donald Tate [b 1858]; (10) Walter Henry [b 1860]; (11) Jessie Edith [b 1864] who married [1887] Robert Clucas.

The family lived at 12 Copper Street, Halifax [1837]; Harrison Road, Halifax [1841]; 3 Saint James Street, Halifax [1851]; Saint James Street, Halifax [1861]; 7 Saint James Street, Halifax [1871, 1881].

In 1891, the widowed Mary was living with her married daughter Jessie E Clucas, in Blackburn

Milligan's: William Milligan & Company
Oil refiners, manufacturers of stearine, wheel grease, sizing tallow and boiler composition at Scarbottom Mill, Mytholmroyd [1861]

Milligan's: William Milligan & Son
Painters established by William Milligan. They were at 12 Copper Street, Halifax [1837] and Hanson Lane, Halifax


Millington, Rev James
[18??-18??] Minister at Halifax [1848]

Millman's Carpet Store
Barum Top. Carpet and furniture retailers. Established around 1940.

The site was formerly occupied by the Olympia Garage Limited. The property was demolished around 1999. The Barum Top pub was built on the site

Millreed Lodge Care Home, Walsden

Millroyd Island
Brighouse housing development of the former Mill Royd Mill completed in 2004

Mills & factories

Mills, Andrew Harwood
[1980-] Actor. Born in Halifax.

He studied acting at the Royal Welsh College of Music & Drama. He has made several films

Mills, Frank Wallis
[19??-] DFC. He was Mayor of Todmorden [1971-1972]

Mills, Dr Frederick Charles
[18??-19??] MA, MB, ChB [Edin].

He lived at Linden Terrace, Hipperholme [1922]. He was physician and certifying surgeon; medical officer to Hipperholme UDC; the Halifax Union

Mills, John
[1???-18??] Machine maker at Haley Hill. In December 1857, the firm
made an assignment for the benefit of creditors

Mills, John
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1838, when he was a member of the Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry

Mills, John
[18??-18??] Iron founder at New Bank, Halifax.

In 1855, he was declared bankrupt

Mills, Rev P.
[19??-19??] He was vicar of Calderbrook, Manchester before becoming Vicar of Southowram [1978]

Mills, Sally
[1812-1905] In 1835, she married John Holt.

At their wedding celebrations at the Hollins Inn, Walsden, John broke his leg.

They had no children.

After John's death, Sally married John Haworth [1814-1876].

They were buried at Cloughfoot Independent Congregational Chapel with Sally's first husband John Holt

Mills, Samuel
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Barkisland [1835]

Mills, T. G.
[18??-19??] Of Stoneswood House, Todmorden.

He was Managing Director of Lord Brothers Limited.

He married Unknown.

Children: Kathleen Foster who married [2nd August 1913] Stewart Patterson from Edinburgh

Mills, Thackrah
[1808-1871] Born in Northowram.

He was a cotton manufacturer (employer) [1861]; a Halifax Councillor [1861-1864].

He built Stoney Royd Mills, Halifax.

He married Jane Duncan [18??-1870].

Children: (1) Ann [1838-1891] who married George Frederick Smeeton; (2) Henry Duncan [1844-1849]

The family lived at 3 Saint James's Road, Halifax [1891].

Living with them in 1851, were father-in-law Adison Duncan [aged 72] (turnpike surveyor) and son-in-law Charles Duncan [aged 31] (oil merchant).

Jane and her son Henry Duncan were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Millson, Rev Francis England
[1829-1910] Or Rev Francis English Millson. MA. Born in Thorne.

Minister of Northgate End Chapel [March 1872, 1905].

Hubert Clarke was his assistant.

He was a prime mover in the establishment of evening classes in Halifax [1886].

In 1896, he published Two Hundred Years of Northgate End Chapel with illustrations by R. E. Nicholson and H. R. Oddy.

In 1850, he married (1) Frances Swanwick in Ormskirk.

Children: (1) Marian; (2) daughter.

In 1884, he married Maria Stansfeld [1824-1904] at Kensington.

The family lived at Brackenbed Grange, Halifax; 6 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1901, 1904].

He retired to live in Ilkley.

Maria Stansfeld are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904.

See Northgate End Chapel: Bicentenary Memorial and Edwin Booth Stott

Millson, Marian
[1855-1887] Elder daughter of Rev F. E. Millson. Born in Ormskirk.

She married Robert Edleston.

After her husband's death, she lived at Cliff Hill, Warley.

She died on 13th July 1887 on her way to Tenerife

Millstone grit
Local stone of the Calder Valley which is predominantly a coarse sandstone.

It is a sedimentary rock composed of coarse grains of sand.

It is quarried for use as building material.

The name comes from the fact that it was used for millstones to grind flour and for whetstones to sharpen blades.

See Grindlestone Bank and The Tonsured Monk

Popular name for Hebden Bridge

Milltown Memories
Local history magazine – the Upper Calder Valley captured on camera – produced by Frank Woolrych and Issy Shannon. Launched in Autumn 2002, the magazine presented a fascinating collection of articles, stories, photographs about the district.

The illustrations included many photographs from the Longstaff Collection.

The magazine was discontinued with Edition 15 of March 2006

Millward, Sarah
[1832-1891] Landlady of the Royal Oak, Halifax [1881, 1887, 1891].

She is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1891

Area of Stansfield near Cross Stone.

In the 19th century, the engineering works of Robert and William Barker were here.

In the 19th century, Maden & Hoyle owned 72 cottages here where their employees lived

Millwood Bus Depot, Todmorden
Halifax Road

Millwood Tunnel, Stansfield
Tunnel for the Manchester & Leeds Railway. 225 yards in length.

On 11th October 1909, a man was knocked down and killed in the tunnel

Millwood Working Men's Club, Todmorden
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 82.

See Broadstone Working Men's Club, Millwood

Miln Cliff, Rastrick
Aka Scar Mill Cliff. An area of Birds Royd Lane opposite the site of Brighouse Mill. The cliff was a prominent feature before the area was developed.

The Quaker Burial Ground was here

The Milne Family

See John Cartwright

Milne & Turner
Woollen merchants at Longbottom.

Partners included (possibly) Samuel Milne and John Turner.

The partnership was dissolved in 1826

Milne, Benjamin
[17??-18??] He married Martha Heap [17??-18??].

Children: Benjamin

Milne, Benjamin
[1751-1819] Son of Thomas Milne.

He was apprenticed to a brass founder & brazier who had an ironmongery. Benjamin took over the ironmongery but the business failed.

He moved to London and managed a tobacconists business at Deptford.

He was Collector of Customs at Bridlington [1791].

He was involved in several projects in East Yorkshire:

  • He initiated the construction of public hot baths in Bridlington [1803]

  • He initiated construction of the lighthouse on Flamborough Head [1806]

  • He sank a bore-hole in the middle of Bridlington harbour which still, at certain stages of the tide, provides pure, soft, fresh water [1811]

In 1772, he married (1) Ann Waugh.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1774] who married Mr Hatfield; (2) George [b 1777]; (3) daughter.

He married (2) Miss Bayley of Scarborough

Milne, Benjamin
[1811-1869] Son of Benjamin Milne.

Born 4th October 1811, and baptised 14th November 1811.

He was licensee of the Wellington, Elland [1845] and the Malt Shovel, Halifax [1852, 1864] where he installed a Music & Picture Gallery.

In 1837, he married Amelia Brear [1819-1891].

Children: (1) Elizabeth Brear [b 1838] married George William Blake; (2) Mary Ann Brear [b 1840] married James Firth; (3) Emma Brear [b 1841]; (4) Martha Ann Brear [b 1843] married William Riley.

After Benjamin'sdeath, Amelia married John Brearley

Milne, Charles
[1794-1858] Eldest son of Thomas Milne.

He was a wine merchant [1841]; partner in Charles & Thomas Milne [1845]; a wine & spirit merchant [1851].

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He married Margaret Jubb [1799-1871].

His wife supported the Warley Free School for Girls.

The family lived at West House, Halifax [1835, 1841]; Cliff Hill, Warley [1845, 1851].

He was buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby [22nd June 1858] in the same vault as his wife

Milne's: Charles & Thomas Milne
Wine and spirit merchants at Warley [1845].

Partners included Charles Milne and Thomas Milne

Milne, James
[17??-1???] He had a drapery business at Hall End, Halifax.

In the late 18th century, he left and amalgamated with that of his son-in-law, John Rayner.

He married Jane Preston.

Children: (1) Rachel [1799-1875] who married John Rayner; (2) Elizabeth [1804-1874] who married Jonathan Wilkinson Foster

Milne, Rev Richard
[1675-1732] Son of Richard Milne [1648-1703] of Milnrow, Lancashire.

He was ordained at Macclesfield [17th June 1700]; a Nonconformist minister at Stockport.

On 19th October 1703, he married Lydia, daughter of Josias Stansfield.

Children: (1) John [1707-1757]; (2) Nathaniel [d 1754]; (3) Thomas; (4) Mary [1718-1796] who married John Lea.

He was buried in the north aisle of Stockport Church

Milne, Samuel
[1754-1800] Son of Thomas Milne.

On 9th May 1782, he married Elizabeth Robinson.

Children: (1) Harriet [1783-1797]; (2) Elizabeth [1784-1799]; (3) Amelia who married her step-brother, Josias Stansfeld, and died without issue; (4) Samuel [1799-1837].

The family lived at Newhouse, Warley; Cliff Hill, Warley; Gordon Bank, Midgley.

He died after a few days' illness [14th November 1800]

Milne, Samuel
[1798-1877] Son of Thomas Milne.

He was a merchant.

Around 1830, he ran a private school in Halifax.

He was one of the original trustees of, and a subscriber to, Warley Grammar School.

He was a well-known antiquary

On 8th July 1841, he married Caroline Field [1801-1871] at Camberwell.

The family lived at Cliff Hill, Warley; Gordon Bank, Midgley

Milne's: Samuel Milne & Company
Kersey manufacturers at Longbottom [1805, 1809].

Their mill was destroyed by fire on 31st January 1805

Milne, Thomas
[1715-1782] Son of Richard Milne.

He was apprenticed to John of Haugh End, son of Josias Stansfield. He started his own business at Brockwell, Sowerby.

He married Mary Whitehead [1713-1746].

Children: (1) John [b 1739] who married [1761] Mary Walton; (2) Lydia [b 1743] who married [1768] John Preston, woolstapler of Bradford; (3) Sarah who died young; (4) Richard who died young.

He married Damaris, daughter of Benjamin Holroyd.

Children: (5) Benjamin; (6) Mary [1753-1830] who married John Cartwright; (7) Samuel; (8) Susannah [1756-1799] who married Joseph Whiteley; (9) Thomas; (10) Martha [1759-1793] who married [1780] Robert Ward, a woollen draper of Bradford; (11) Ann [1761] married in 1786 to Rev Anthony Moss; (12) Daniel [1763]; (13) Richard [1764] who was a lawyer at Rochdale, and married [1789] Phebe Gore of Rochdale; (14) Sarah [1769-1793]; (15) Elizabeth [1773-1842] who married James Aked.

The family lived at Cownell, Skircoat [1854]; Cliff Hill, Warley [1775]

Milne, Thomas
[1757-1844] Son of Thomas Milne.

As a young man sought his fortune in London and entered the tobacco industry in partnership with Timothy Stansfield.

Upon his marriage, the partnership was dissolved so that Thomas could return to Halifax, where he set up business as a wine merchant.

He was wine merchant [1809]; a partner in Charles & Thomas Milne [1844].

On 13th April 1790, he married Sarah Clark [1768-1840] at Saint Leonard's, Shoreditch, London.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1791]; (2) Sarah Clarke [b 1793]; (3) Charles; (4) Thomas; (5) Samuel; (6) Mary Ann [b 1800]; (7) Caroline [1802-1880] who acquired Warley Cottage [1850]; (8) Elizabeth [b 1804]; (9) Ann married [1838] Henry Clark.

Question: A notice in The Leeds Mercury [21st April 1827] announced the death [on 15th April 1827] of Eliza, aged 22, second daughter of Thomas Milnes of Cliff Hill near Halifax.

Does anyone know whether she was a member of this man's family?


The family were Independent or Congregational.

He built several small properties in Warley and on Warley Town Lane – including Liverpool Row - and owned much property in Warley, including Cliff Hill, Warley which he bought in April 1790, Warley House, and Binns Hill Farm, Warley.

He planted many of the trees along the approach to Warley.

He was a subscriber of Warley Grammar School.

See Sowerby Bridge National School and West Yorkshire Railway Company

Milne, Thomas
[1796-1860] Of Warley House. Son of Thomas Milne

On 16th April 1823, he married Harriet Hope at Liverpool.

Children: Louisa Hope [1825-1870] who married [1857] Ernest Noel, MP for Dumfries, in Halifax.

During a lecture tour in 1857, the explorer, David Livingstone, stayed with the family.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835]

He died 27th February 1860


There are currently around 28 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Milner. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Milner, Abraham
[1???-1748] He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1727]. He was a bookseller at Halifax [1748].

On 8th June 1740, he married Mary Fielding.

Both he and his wife were buried on 28th August 1748

Milner & Bray
Card makers at Horton Street, Halifax [1822] and 17 Back Horton Street, Halifax [1829].

See John Milner & Company

Milner & Company Limited
In 1883, Milner & Sowerby became a limited company. The Sowerby family controlled the business, although some of the employees were shareholders. The company went into liquidation in 1910.

See Major R. J. Sowerby and Thomas Tiffany

Milner & Sowerby
Publishing, bookbinding and printing firm founded by William Milner and carried on by his stepsons, Francis Robert Sowerby and John Edwin Sowerby.

They were at Wade Street [1850] and Raglan Street Works.

In 1862, they advertised their Halifax Publications and Halifax Editions in The Times.

In 1883, they became Milner & Company.

See Joseph Vickerman

Milner & Taylor
Woollen merchants at 8 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]

Milner, Edward
[1819-1884] Landscape architect who designed Shroggs Park, People's Park, and also the south London site for the Crystal Palace, London

Milner, Henry
[16??-16??] He married Mary, daughter of James Robinson.

Children: (1) James; (2) Mary; (3) Henry

Milner, J. F.
[18??-1???] In 1875, he established a flour milling business in Elland. He was at Elland Mill [1876].

In 1885, he moved to the nearby Woodside Flour Mill, Elland. The firm employed about 70 workers. They produced 33 distinct types of flour including

Snow Flake
Elland XL
Elland MMM
His son, Willie, joined the business.

On 4th March 1892, there was a dispute in the corn-milling trade between the management and workers of the company. There were popular demonstrations against the new workers whom Milner recruited to fill the strikers' places at the mill

Milner, Rev J. Stanley
[19??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1956]

Milner, James
[16??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1713]

Milner, James
[17??-1???] He was an informant at the trial of the coiners

Milner, James
[1786-1854] He was a wire drawer [1786].

On 30th December 1810, he married Ann Gooder of Brighouse.

Children: Joseph

Milner, James
[18??-18??] Partner in James Milner & Company

Milner, James
[1832-1907] Card maker. Son of Joseph Milner.

He was a card maker [1871, 1881]; an engineer [1891, 1901].

On 25th December 1853. he married (1) Martha Ann Gledhill [1836-1867] at Halifax Parish Church.

Martha Ann was the eldest daughter of butcher William Gledhill

On 15th April 1869, he married (2) Ann Dalgleish from Scotland

Milner's: James Milner & Company
Card manufacturers of Halifax. Recorded in 1868. Partners included James Milner and James Nicholl Priestley.

The partnership was dissolved in 1872.

See Milner & Bray

Milner, James S.
[18??-19??] Innkeeper of the Golden Fleece, Boothtown [1901].

See Robert Mallinson

Milner, John
[15??-1???] He married Anne, daughter of Robert Waterhouse.

Children: Grace who married Robert Waterhouse

Milner, John
[16??-1660] Of Skircoat.

He married Mary, daughter of Gilbert Ramsden.

Children: (1) son; (2) John

Milner, John
[1628-1703] BD. Second son of John Milner. Educated at Heath Grammar School and Christ's College Cambridge [1642].

He married Sara [1627-1667], sister of John Lake.

Children: Thomas [b 1652].

He became Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1650].

He was vicar of Saint John's Leeds [1673], of Leeds Parish Church [1677], and of Ripon [1681].

He was unhappy with oaths imposed when William III became king, and he resigned and retired to Saint John's, Cambridge. He spent his time

in writing learned books

and produced many theological works

Milner, John
[17??-18??] A wire drawer at Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Susannah

Milner, John
[17??-18??] Partner in Samuel Broadbent & Company

Milner, John
[17??-1801] He was the postman for Halifax, and was known as Joe Post.

He married Susannah, who was a bookseller with premises in Corn Market, Halifax.

Children: William.

In 1788, he sold Bolton's History of Fungusses.

In 1789, he issued the book History of the town and parish of Halifax.

In September 1789, he was declared bankrupt.

He died 21st May 1801

Milner, John
[18??-1856] A young worker at Akroyd's Mill at Copley.

In August 1856, he was picking loose wool off a roller when he was caught in the machinery, mangling his hand and a part of his arm.

About a week earlier, another young worker, Sarah Smith, had died following an accident at the same mill

Milner, John Edward
[1876-1953] Born in Brighouse.

He was cemetery registrar for Brighouse Borough Council [1911].

In [Q4] 1903, he married Edith Emma Briggs [1880-19??] from Rastrick.

Children: (1) Laura Margaret [b 1905]; (2) Robert Barrington [b 1909].

The family lived at Cemetery Lodge, Brighouse [1911]

Milner's: John Milner & Company
Cotton and wool card makers at Horton Street, Halifax [1809]

See Milner & Bray

Milner, Joseph
[1812-1891] Son of James Milner.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a card maker employing several men.

On 1st November 1830, he married (1) Emma Clegg [1812-1852] in Birstall.

Children: (1) John [1831-1842]; (2) James; (3) Sarah [1836-1839]; (4) Mary [1837] who married [1859] John Lainton; (5) George [1838-1843]; (6) William; (7) Sarah Hannah [b 1841] who married [1860] John Lister [1837]; (8) Joseph; (9) Charles [1846-1847]; (10) Emma Jane [1849-1902] who married [1865] Frederick William Turner (wheelwright) [1840-1882]; (11) Martha Ann [1850-1923] who married [1868] Joseph Ramsden [1848-1???].

His wife Emma died at Bedford Terrace, Halifax [11th February 1852].

On 25th August 1852, he married (2) Mary Jenkinson at Farnley.

On 8th May 1871, he married (3) Sophia Connell [1834-1876] at Halifax Parish Church.

In 1876, he married (4) a widow Mrs Mary Scott [1824-1910].

Joseph died at 9 Belmont Terrace, Savile Park, Halifax [27th February 1891].

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1891. In his will, he left 25 houses to his children after the death of his wife

Milner, Joseph
[1845-1875] Son of Joseph Milner.

In 1863, he married Sarah Burford [1846-1???].

Children: (1) Albert Edward [b 1869]; (2) Mary E. [b 1872]; (3) Jane A. [b 1875]

Milner, Joshua
[17??-1813] The parish beadle, also known as Joshua Goldbutton.

Recorded around 1796, when he officiated at the funeral of Nan Beverley.

On 1st July 1813, he and 2 others were killed and several others injured when the Jubilee Mail Coach overturned after the reins broke and the coachman lost control of the horses coming down Haley Hill.

His staff of office is kept at Halifax Parish Church.

See Forestall

Milner Lodge, Sowerby
Aka Millbank Hall. The house stands on the corner of Blackwood Hall Lane and Boys Scar next to the railway and opposite the entrance to Luddendenfoot station.

The house was built by William Currer in the early 1800s.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The house was used for several years by a coal merchant.

Recently, it has been used for storage by Ferguson Fertiliser Company

Milner Place, Sowerby
Owners and tenants have included

Field names mentioned here in 1664, include Le Housepasture, Le Laithbanks, Le Stubbs, and Le Parocke

Milner, Robert
[15??-1595] Or Mylner, Millnes.

Curate at Elland [1566]

Milner, Robert
[1854-1900] Registrar of Brighouse Cemetery

He died 24th August 1900 [aged 56]

Milner Royd
Area of Mearclough.

Houses here were built by the Whitworths for their workers.

See Milner Royd Fever Hospital, Milner Royd House and Sowerby Bridge Sewage Works

Milner Royd Hospital, Sowerby Bridge
Established at Milner Royd House, Sowerby Bridge.

Milner House Smallpox Hospital – aka Norland Smallpox Hospital – was recorded here in 1905, when Alfred Tiffany was caretaker, and his wife Jane was matron.

Milner Royd Fever Hospital was here in the 1920s.

The hospital closed on 6th June 1934

Milner Royd Junction, Sowerby Bridge
Railway junction east of Sowerby Bridge on the West Riding Union Railway

Milner Royd LNR
A local nature reserve behind the waste transfer station at Fall Lane, Sowerby Bridge

Milner Royd, Sowerby Bridge
London Road. Early 19th century house with barns and outbuildings.

Owners and tenants have included

It has been converted into apartments.

See Milner Royd Dyeworks, Sowerby Bridge and Milner Royd Mills, Sowerby Bridge

Milner, Mrs Susannah
[1785-18??] Son of John Milner.

Bookseller and circulating library at 4/13 Causeway, Halifax [1845] and 22 Ann Street/Square, Halifax [1850]

Milner, Tom
[19??-] Actor whose work has included the rôle of Paul Langley in the BBC TV series Waterloo Road. He trained at Calderdale College. He lives in Northowram

Milner, William
[1803-1850] Halifax grocer and merchant who became a publisher.

He went on to publish his popular Cottage Library series of books which claimed to be the cheapest books in England, at one time printing 15,000 copies per day for sale at 6d or 1/- per copy.

See John Drake, Tommy Ramsden and Thomas Tiffany

Milner, William
[1840-1899] Son of Joseph Milner.

On 26th August 1860, he married (1) Maria Robinson [1830-1895] at Halifax Parish Church.

On 29th April 1895, he married (2) Emma Haigh at Halifax Parish Church


There are currently around 16 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Milnes. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Milnes, Alfred
[1???-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1920]. He won caps for Great Britain against Australia while at Halifax

Milnes, Alfred
[1845-1???] Born in Leeds.

He was a paper merchant [1891].

He married Sarah Jane [1853-1???] from Manchester.

The family lived at 2 Perth Villas, Hipperholme [1891]

Milnes & Wrigley
Cotton spinners at Brow Mills, Sowerby Bridge [around 1800]. Partners included James Milnes and Watts Wrigley. The partnership was dissolved in December 1803

Milnes, B.
[17??-18??] In 1809, he established a private newspaper room at Scarborough Castle

Milnes, Charles
[1790-18??] A card maker.

He was transported for administering an illegal oath at a Luddite meeting at Saint Crispin Inn in 1812. He was given a free pardon [3rd January 1816]

Milnes, Charles H.
[18??-19??] Printer at Saint James's Road, Halifax. He was also at 65 Long Acre, London [1905]. He lived at Vlijmen House, Halifax [1905]

Milnes, James
[17??-18??] Partner in Milnes & Wrigley [1800]

Milnes, James
[1850-19??] Born in Southowram.

He was a medical homoeopathist [1911].

In [Q3] 1872, he married Hannah Maria Fawcett [1852-19??] from Southowram.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) Laura [b 1879] who was an assistant teacher [1911]; (5) Alberta [b 1893].

The family lived at Manor House, Cromwell Bottom [1911]

Milnes, John
[1821-1878] Of Brighouse.

He established John Milnes & Sons.

In Q2/1846, he married Ann Collins [1829-1893] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Betty [1849-1850]; (2) John [1856-1869]; (3) William [1861-1866]; (4) Tommy; (5) Margaret [1868-1870].

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse. Mother-in-law Betty Collins [1795-1871] is buried with them

Milnes's: John Milnes & Sons
General carriers of Brighouse.

Established by John Milnes.

Partners included Tommy Milnes.

In March 1896, the business was declared bankrupt

Milnes, Martin
[1???-16??] Owned West Royd Farm, Luddendenfoot

Milnes, Richard
[17??-18??] The first large-scale Trans-Pennine carrier. He occupied the Salt Warehouse, Sowerby Bridge [from around 1796].

When his business failed in 1799, the building was let to the Rochdale Canal Company

Milnes, Robert
[16??-1729] Son of Robert Milnes.

He married Sarah Priestley from Westercroft

Milnes, Robert
[1671-1738] Of Wakefield.

He married Hannah Poole.

Hannah was the daughter of Captain Joseph Poole of Leeds

Children: (1) Richard; (2) Joseph; (3) Robert; (4) John; (5) Sarah; (6) Elizabeth; (7) Hannah [16??-1720] who married Jonathan Priestley; (8) Baptista [16??-1768] who married Richard Cooke

Milnes, Rev Thomas
[17??-18??] Or Milns. Minister at Steep Lane Baptist Church, Sowerby [1811]. A new chapel was built during his pastorate. In 1823, he moved to Haslingden

Milnes, Thomas
[18??-19??] Carrier at Brighouse.

In May 1896, he was declared bankrupt

Milnes, Tommy
[18??-19??] Son of John Milnes.

Stone merchant. Of Spring Bank, Brighouse. He was elected Councillor in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893.

In March 1896, he was trading as John Milnes & Sons and was declared bankrupt

In [Q1] 1869, he married (1) Susannah Barber [1848-1869] in Halifax.

Children: John Thomas [1869-1870] who died aged 5 months.

Susannah died shortly after the birth of son John Thomas

In [Q2] 1871, he married (2) Elizabeth Crowther in Halifax.

Children: (2) Sarah Ann [1872-1874] who died aged 1 year and 11 months; (3) Lucy Ellen [1874-1876] who died aged 1 year and 5 months; (4) John [1875-1877] who died aged 1 year and 6 months.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Milnes, William
[17??-1826] Of Ovenden.

On 26th February 1826, his wife and daughter returned from chapel to find William

suspended by the neck and quite dead

At the inquest, the jury returned a verdict of

lunacy, supposed to be occasioned from receiving an anonymous letter charging him with having connections with another woman

Milton, Daniel
[1780-1856] Born in Culmstock, Devon.

In 1801, he volunteered to serve with the 95th Rifles. He served for 21 years as volunteer soldier in the 2nd Battalion 95th Regiment of Foot. He fought in the invasion of the River Plate, South America [1806], under the Duke of Wellington in the Peninsular Wars, and at the Battle of Waterloo.

He was awarded the medal of Gallant Service with clasps for service at Vimiera, Corunna, Salamanca, Vittoria, Orthes and Toulouse.

He was discharged in 1818 as

old and worn out, afflicted with chronic rheumatism

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) daughter.

He lived at Range Bank, Halifax.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4200].

He worked as a factory labourer until his death – by paralysis.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4200] in a public grave, as a labourer. There is no headstone

Milton, Viscount
[1786-1857] Charles William Wentworth Fitzwilliam, third Earl Fitzwilliam. In 1806, he visited Halifax. He supported Parliamentary reform, and was an early advocate of free trade. He was MP for the West Riding [1807-1831]. He ran unsuccessfully in the 1841 elections.

Several local streets – such as Milton Place, Halifax, Milton Street, Halifax and Milton Terrace, Halifax are named for him

Mineral water manufacturers

Mines, Thomas
[17??-17??] Hatter in Halifax [1773]

Minion, Rev James
[1866-19??] Born in Bolton.

He was curate at Chequerbent, near Bolton before becoming Vicar of Saint George's Church, Sowerby [1907].

In 1895?, he married Harriet [1867-19??].

Harriet was born in Scorton, Lancashire

Children: Edith [b 1900].

He left Sowerby in 1914

The Minster, Rishworth
Current name [2010] for Rishworth Lodge

Minstrel Cottage, Mill Bank
40 Lower Mill Bank Road.

This and the George were probably a single mid 18th century house.

Mires, Rishworth

A clock was installed in the gable of Saint John's Hospital and named Miriam in honour of Mrs Miriam Lightowler.

On 11th September 1929, at 12.30 pm exactly, Mrs Lightowler set the clock in motion with the words

Miriam, by the swing of this pendulum, which I now release for all time, I command you to show an honest face to the public of this borough and as long as your heart shall beat, to do your work as thoroughly as the men and women to whose name I dedicate you this day – the Guardians of the Poor

When the Halifax Union Workhouse was demolished in 1972, the mechanism of the clock was removed installed in the spire at Saint Paul's Church, Halifax

In May 1936, Halifax Fire Brigade named their new 100-ft Leyland turntable ladder Miriam in honour of Mrs Miriam Lightowler

Misdale, Richard
[1???-18??] He ran a dancing school in Halifax [around 1830]

Brand of pet-food produced by Mitchell & Broadbent

Miss Lister's Mine, Shibden


Missionary murder
See Edith Nettleton

Mister Men
Popular children's cartoon characters created by Roger Hargreaves

Brand of pet-food produced by Mitchell & Broadbent

Mitchel, Daniel
[17??-18??] His entry in the Parish Register Index may be a mistranscription for Daniel Hitchen / Daniel Kitchen.

Hatter in Halifax [1799]

Mitchel, Mr
[16??-16??] Curate at Rastrick [1655]

Ladies' and gents' outfitters in Crown Street, Halifax. In 1917, Wilfred Pickles became an errand-boy here

The entries for people with the surname Mitchell are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

The surname is a form of the forename Michael.

There are currently around 126 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Mitchell. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Mitchell family of Boston Hill
The family was descended from Mitchell family of High Greenwood. They owned the Boston Hill Estate, Wadsworth.

See John Cousin Mitchell and Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge

The Mitchell family of High Greenwood
William Mitchell [1798] was an early member of the family. They owned the High Greenwood

The Mitchell family of Boston Hill are descendants of this family

The Mitchell family of Lightcliffe
They lived at Crow Nest Mansion, Lightcliffe. Some of the family are buries at Halifax Parish Church

Mitchell's: Abraham Mitchell & Company
Wholesale brush manufacturers established in 1859 by Abraham Mitchell at Central Brush Works, Halifax. They were known for their products which included
Mill brooms
Kitool Union mill brooms
Weed brooms,
Corn millers' brooms
Bottle-washing brooms
In 1890, they employed 20 workers. Recorded in 1905

Mitchell & Barker
Cotton manufacturers at Vale Mill, Todmorden [1905]. Partners included William Henry Mitchell and Elias Barker

Mitchell & Broadbent
Pet-food manufacturers and fat refiners with a factory at Birdcage, Beacon Hill Road, Halifax. The company was established by John and Harry Mitchell, and Mr Broadbent in 1???. They produced pet-food with the name Mish and Mit. The area was renowned for the unpleasant smell which the factory produced.

The mill, which could clearly be seen from Halifax, was destroyed by fire in July 1961

Mitchell & Company
Worsted spinners of Valley Mill, Sowerby Bridge.

See James William Mitchell

Mitchell & Horsfield
Tar distillers at Brighouse. Partners included W. Mitchell and T. B. Horsfield.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1873

Mitchell & Jenkinson Limited
Engineers and pattern makers at Victoria Works, Halifax

Mitchell & Son
Auctioneers. Partners included George Mitchell.

They had business at the Crystal Palace, Ripponden [1873, 1912]

Mitchell, Broadbent & Rushforth
Dyers at Elland. Partners included J. Mitchell, C. Broadbent and B. Rushforth.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1819

Mitchell Brothers
Cotton spinners and doublers at Prospect Mills, Sowerby Bridge and Aked's Mill, Halifax [1905]. On 20th November 1906, the engine house at their works in Pellon Lane was wrecked when a pinion wheel burst

Mitchell Brothers
They had business at Old House Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1896]

Mitchell Brothers, Old Town
Worsted manufacturers established by William Henry Mitchell and John Cousin Mitchell at Old Town Mill, Wadsworth.

In 1930, the firm changed hands and was run by Mitchell Brothers (Old Town) Limited.

See Abraham (5) Gibson and Yorkshire Doubling Company

Mitchell's Cash Stores, Elland
Established by Henry Mitchell in 1892.

The business closed in 1918. The building was bought by Chesswas Jewellers

Mitchell Hall
Aka New House, Ovenden.

The property was built on the site of a house known as Mitchell Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

Mitchell's Pavilion
A part of the leisure facilities offered at Hardcastle Crags in the early 20th century

Mitchell's: Thomas Mitchell & Son
Cotton spinners at Swamp Mills, Sowerby [1819]

Mitchell's Turkish Baths, Halifax
Recorded in 1903 at Bull Green

Mitchell's: W. & J. W. Mitchell
Cotton doublers at Victoria Mills, Ripponden [1905]

Mitchell's: W. B. Mitchell
Maltsters of Kilnhurst and Ewood, Todmorden.

See Malt Kiln Bridge, Todmorden

Mitchell's: William Mitchell & Company
Cotton spinners at Old Lane Mills, Ovenden [1793].

Partners included Luke Staveley, John Mitchell, William Mitchell, and William Whitfield.

The partnership was dissolved in 1??? and William Mitchell, and William Whitfield carried on with the business

Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865]. It is not clear whether it refers to Mytholm, Hebden Bridge or Mytholm, Shibden

Mitre Theatre, Halifax
19th century theatre at the Mitre, Market Street.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Before leaving Halifax don't forget to call at THE MITRE HOTEL and MUSIC HALL, Market Street, Halifax

Proprietor: Mr Frank Walton
Manager: Prof. Gibson

Open every evening with a Grand Variety Company of Star Artistes, Wines, Beers and Spirits of the Finest Quality.
Champagnes of the Finest Brands

We make a Speciality of our Mineral Waters


There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Mitton. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Mitton, J. T.
[18??-19??] He was bookseller; stationer; newsagent; agent for foreign postage stamps; rubber stamps at 22 Water Street and Bridge End, Todmorden [1900]

Mitton, John
[1???-1736] Son of Thomas Mitton.

Born at Geslingroyd, Barkisland.

He wrote a diary recording the general weather and meteorological conditions – pressure, temperature, wind-directions – between October 1710 and December 1713

Mitton, John
[1???-19??] JP. He was Mayor of Todmorden [1942-1943]

Mitton, Thomas
[1???-1???] Of Geslingroyd, Barkisland.

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Mitton, William
[1855-1928] Of Halifax.

He was a self-employed blacksmith [1923].

He married Clara Elizabeth Carter [1855-1939].

Children: Hilda May [1893-1986] who married Ellis Lawrence Freeman

District of Calderdale to the north-west of Halifax

See Cragg Court, Mixenden, Dodge Holme Court, Mixenden, Hebble Court, Mixenden, Jumples Court, Mixenden, Mixenden Court, Mixenden, North Halifax and Wheatley Court, Mixenden

Mixenden Band
Recorded in September 1871, when they played in the Queensbury contest

Mixenden Beck
Name given to the Hebble along part of its length

Mixenden Bridge
Bridge over the Hebble Brook. It is dated 1773 and bears the name of the surveyor, James Priestley.

See Crown & Anchor, Mixenden, Jumples Bridge, Mixenden and Mixenden Corn Mill

Mixenden Co-Op
Branch number 23 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in June 1873

Mixenden Hall
See Fold Farm, Illingworth and Mixenden Old Hall, Moor End

Mixenden, Henry de
[12??-13??] Lived with his brother at Fold Farm, Illingworth in 1274

Mixenden Ings
Recorded on 20th September 1820, when Benjamin Joyett lived here

Mixenden Library
Mixenden Road. Recorded in 1929. At that time, it was only open on Thursday evenings

Mixenden Mill
The area around Mixenden Corn Mill was known as Mixenden Mill well into the 1700s.

A popular name for Mixenden.

See Mixenden Corn Mill

Mixenden, Ministers of

Mixenden Moor
See Mixenden Moor finds

Mixenden Moor finds
In the late 1700s, a peat cutter found a collection of Bronze Age artefacts on Mixenden Moor.

The finds included a bronze palstave, an axe made from a green pebble, speckled with white, a black whetstone, a grooved hammer stone, several arrowheads, and a stone gouge.

See Mixenden urnfield

Mixenden Old Hall
Moor End Road. Around 1693, Rev Matthew Smith bought
the place now known as Mixenden Hall

This stands at the cross-roads to Wainstalls, Pellon and Mixenden.

Smith extensively refurbished the property.

In 1717, Smith built Moor End Congregational Church on the land.

The property is known locally as Mixenden Hall, and the gateposts are inscribed

Mixenden Old Hall

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

It is now a privately-owned children's home.

See Mixenden Hall

Mixenden Post Office
Recorded in 1861 as a post office receiving house at Mixenden Lane. It was then at the same address as the business run by Johnson Hope, shopkeeper.

Recorded in 1905 at 35 Clough Lane

Mixenden Reservoir
Clough Lane. Reservoir for Halifax Corporation. It was an extension of Ogden Reservoir.

The ceremony of cutting the first sod – by Mayor Thomas Shaw – took place on 1st May 1867. Built by J. F. Bateman. The reservoir opened in 1873. It covers 22 acres and has a capacity of 106 million gallons

See Betsy Sutcliffe

Mixenden Riot
In 1896, a young man called Varley was charged with raping Sarah Ann – daughter of engine tenter Peter Webster of Hey's Lane, Mixenden – and sentenced to 7 years' imprisonment.

On the evening of Wednesday, 5th August 1896, a group of locals who knew the man and the girl – and her reputation – protested at the sentence, and stormed the girl's home, throwing tin cans and stones at the house.

Webster and his 4 sons were afraid to leave the house to fetch the police. The girl and her mother hid in the cellar as windows were smashed and the house damaged.

Several people were charged with riotously and tumultuously assembling and doing damage to the house of Sophia and Peter Webster:

  • Fred Rushworth [aged 20] (butcher) - sentenced to 3 months' imprisonment

  • Herbert Ambler [aged 24] (clogger) - sentenced to 4 months' imprisonment

  • Arthur Crabtree [aged 28] (delver) - who was found not guilty

  • John Horsfield [aged 17] (overlooker) - sentenced to 3 months' imprisonment

  • Tom Heap [aged 22] (carter) - sentenced to 3 months' imprisonment

  • Willie Skelton [aged 28] (delver) - who was found not guilty

  • Jonathan Clayton [aged 30] (delver) - charges against him were withdrawn

  • Sarah Seers

  • Eliza Dean

  • Martha Newell (mill hand) 

After the incident, the Websters moved to Morley

Mixenden, Robert de
[12??-13??] Lived with his brother at Fold Farm, Illingworth in 1274

Mixenden Roman Ring Camp
Lies between Hunter Hill and Withens Road

Mixenden Stones Farm, Mixenden
This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Mixenden treasure
In the 15th / 16th century, there were tales of a buried hoard at Hunter Hill, Mixenden.

An expedition in 1510 failed to find anything. The treasure-hunters – who hailed from Bingley – were said to have used black magic to find the hoard. When the church heard this, the men were forced to do penance at local fairs.

See Mixenden Moor finds and The Mixenden Treasure

Mixenden Urban Park

Mixenden urnfield
Enclosed Bronze Age urnfield lying west of Overgreen Royd Farm, Mixenden

Mixenden Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax.

See Margaret Alice Berry

Mixenden Working Men's Club
Recorded in 1905 at 12 Mill Lane, Mixenden when Irvin Hartley was secretary.

In 1917, Herbert Ambler was secretary

Moat, Thomas
[17??-18??] Around 1803, he and George Panter were cotton spinners and manufacturers of cotton goods at Shibden Mill.

In 1806, they were declared bankrupt

Mock Beggar Hall, Hartshead
An early name for Mock Hall Farm, Hartshead

Model housing schemes

Model Lodging House, Brighouse
Martin Street. In the 19th century, this was a rooming house. This was used by Irish workers. The lodging-house keeper at the time of the Irish Riots of 1882 was Jack Shillito.

More recently, it has been occupied by a nursery, and a book shop

Model Lodging House, Halifax
9 Smithy Street.

On 2nd December 1866, John Crossley sold

on very liberal conditions... a fine 5-storey substantial stone building in the Italian style of architecture

to Halifax Corporation for a new model lodging house in Smithy Street, Halifax.

It was refitted at a cost of about £300, and opened on 4th May 1867.

In November 1867, the building underwent extensive enlargement.

Other lodging houses are recorded in Smithy Street, including that of Henry Walsh.

See Common Lodging House and Henry Wilson

Model Lodging House, Hebden Bridge
Recorded in 1905 at 64 Market Street. The proprietor was William Woodhead

A costumier, ladies's coat and gown specialist – the house of fashion – which was in Prince's Arcade and Woolshops, Halifax. Established around 1927.

They were at 12 Woolshops, Halifax [1936] when A. Birtley was proprietor.

It closed in 1978 for redevelopment of Woolshops

Modern Foundries Limited
Albert Road, Halifax. Business controlled by William Asquith Limited. They produced large castings for many local firms, and for other companies around the world. Recorded in the 1950s.

See Richard W. Asquith

Moderna Blanket Works Band
Formed in 1949. Aka the Cragg Vale & Mytholmroyd Band Moderna Works (Mytholmroyd) Band.

Disbanded in 1???

See Moderna (Witney) Limited

Moderna Way Bridge, Mytholmroyd
Modern bridge over the Rochdale Canal. Built in 1???

Moderna (Witney) Limited
Nationally-famous blanket and bedding manufacturers of Mytholmroyd.

Originally founded by Thomas Ratcliffe as T. Ratcliffe & Company Limited in 1872, and later renamed Thomas Ratcliffe & Company Limited – see John Culpan and David Smith.

They produced the Sole Mio Blanket.

In 1951, under the control of Norman Culpan, the business went public and was taken over by a company from Witney in Oxfordshire, and became Moderna (Witney) Limited. In 1969, a warehouse was destroyed by fire. In 1974, the company was bought out by carpet manufacturers Bond Worth. In 1976, the company was taken over by the Belgian firm Sona Consultants Limited. Sona told the workers that the company would close for 6 months to be refurbished, but it seems that Sona were involved in exporting second-hand textile machinery to the Third World, and never reopened the factory. The works closed in 1976/7. In 1979, the mills were sold to Halifax textile waste merchants Wattlid Limited. In 1986, the mills were destroyed by fire in a suspected arson attack. A new industrial estate was built on the site.

See Moderna Blanket Works Band

Moffat, David
[19??-1942] Born in Belfast. He grew up in Halifax.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Marines.

He was one of the Cockleshell Heroes who took part in Operation Frankton. On 7th December 1942, a party of 12 marines sailed their two-man canoes into Bordeaux Harbour and attached limpet mines to destroy enemy vessels. David's canoe capsized and he was one of 8 men who lost their lives in the operation. He is believed to be buried in the sand dunes along the coast from Bordeaux

Moffett, Rev Richard
[1815-1883] Or Richie, Ritchie. Born in Ireland.

He trained at Rotherham College before becoming Minister at West End Congregational Church, Sowerby Bridge [March 1849-1879].

He resigned at Christmas 1879.

He was retired Independent Minister [1881].

In 1857, he married Sarah Miles Fordred [1834-1919] from Dover, in Hackney.

Children: (1) Agnes Miles [1858-1945]; (2) Florence Margaret [b 1860]; (3) John Ritchie [b 1865]; (4) Ethel Catherine [1869-1944].

The family lived at Clough House, Sowerby Bridge [1861]; Wharf House, Sowerby Bridge [1881]

Members of the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Moit Hall Farm, Soyland

Owners and tenants have included

Molesworth, Rev Dr John Edward Nassau
[1790-1877] DD. He was Vicar of Rochdale.

In 1815, he married (1) Harriet Mackinnon [1787-1850].

Children: (1) William Nassau; (2) John; (3) Harriet; (4) Daniel; (5) Emma Frances; (6) Louisa who married Rev John Edwards; (7) George Hill Frederick; (8) Rennell Francis Wynn; (9) Guilford Lindsey.

In 1854, he married (2) Mrs Harriet Elizabeth Bridges [née Affleck] [1807-1897] widow of John Thomas Bridges [d 1853], and had 9 step-children, including Harriet Louisa.

He was significant when Todmorden lay within the parish of Rochdale and during the unease over the 2 Todmorden parish churches

Molesworth, Rev Rennell Francis Wynn
[1827-18??] MA. He was educated at Brasenose College Oxford. On 11th April 1868, he was appointed Vicar of Todmorden [1868-1875]. Son of Dr Molesworth, Vicar of Rochdale, who appointed him after the murder of Rev Anthony Plow.

During his ministry, he made alterations to Saint Mary's Church.

When consulted by Right Rev Dr Fraser, Bishop of Manchester, Rev Molesworth suggested that the parish be split into two: one based at Saint Mary's Church, and the other at Shade. This came to naught.

In September 1875, he resigned to take up a post at Washington, County Durham

Mollett, A. Leslie
[19??-19??] He lived at Field Head, Lightcliffe.

He married Unknown.

Children: John Moreton Cockroft who married [1953?] Jennifer Segger from Bournemouth

Mollett, Betty N.
[19??-19??] RNVAD. Daughter of Howard Farrar Mollett.

In 1946?, she married Surgeon Captain R. Wallace Simpson MB ChB RN from Glasgow

Mollett, Howard Farrar

He lived at Rose Lea, Lightcliffe.

He married Gladys [18??-1971].

Children: (1) Betty; (2) Philip.

He was dead by 1971

Mollett, Captain J. Philip
[19??-19??] RA. Son of Howard Farrar Mollett.

In 1946, he married Mary Patricia Harrison WAAF from London

Mollett's: John Mollett Limited
They were listed as fireplace specialists at 45 Northgate, Halifax [1936]

They were listed as sanitary engineers & plumbers' merchants at 3 Weymouth Street, Halifax & 6 Portland Place, Halifax [1936]

Question: Does anyone know whether these were two arms of the same company?


They moved to the new development in Silver Street, Halifax [1950s]

Mollineaux, Martin
[17??-18??] Textile manufacturer at King Street, Hebden Bridge.

In 1791, he set John Ashworth as an apprentice to learn the production of fustian

Molseed, Lesley Susan
[1964-1975] The body of the 11-year-old Rochdale girl was found on moorland above Ripponden. She had been sexually assaulted and stabbed 12 times in the head and chest.

Stefan Kiszko of Rochdale was found guilty of her murder and was imprisoned for life. In 1992, the Court of Appeal quashed the conviction and Kiszko was released.

In November 2006, Ronald Castree [52] of Shaw, Oldham, was arrested and charged with the murder. He was sentenced to 30 years in prison

Monahan, Paul
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [2000-2001]

Moncrieff, Ann
[1895-1969] He lived at Slack House, Heptonstall

Moncrieff, Rev James
[1860-19??] Born in Perth. He trained at the Yorkshire United College before becoming Pastor at Warley Congregational Church [1892, 1905].

He was a Member of the School Board for Warley School [1894] and Chairman of the Committee [1894].

In 18??, he married Annie [1860-19??] from Bethnal Green, London.

Children: (1) Andrew [b 1894]; (2) Charles [b 1897].

The family lived at Norton Lodge [1894].

In 1901, there was a lodger living with the family: Charles Conrad [b 1879] an apprentice electrical engineer from Edinburgh

Monk, Mr
[1???-18??] Set up Burrow & Monk in 1850 with James Burrow

Monks, William
[18??-18??] In August 1877, he sold the Royal Oak, Elland and the White Swan, Brighouse to Webster's

Mons Mill Company Limited
Established in 1914 to buy Hare Mill from William Hopwood. A later company – Mons Mill (1919) Limited – took over the mill in 1919

Mont Blanc, Brighouse
Area of Brighouse at the bottom of John King Lane

Montagu, Charles
[1661-1715] Or Montague. 5th son of the 1st Duke of Manchester. Born in Northamptonshire.

In an attempt to tackle the problems presented by the coiners, Montagu was given the task of handling the British coinage. He completed the task in 1699. The Window Tax was raised to pay for the work.

In December 1700, he was created Baron Halifax. In 1714, he was created 1st Earl of Halifax (Second Creation), and in 1715, 1st Earl of Halifax (Third Creation). He was succeeded by his son, George Montagu-Dunk.

See Foreign coins

Montagu-Dunk, George
[1716-1771] Son of Charles Montagu.

In 1741, he married Anne Richards [17??-1783]. His wife inherited a fortune from Sir Thomas Dunk [16??-1718], a former Sheriff of London, and George took his name.

He was created 2nd Earl of Halifax (Third Creation) [1739].

After him, the title became extinct

Montana, Halifax
Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Montario, Halifax
House at Savile Park Road

Monte Carlo, the man who broke the bank
See Joseph Hobson Jagger

Monte, Thomas de
[1???-1???] Thomas de Monte / de Monkill.

Son of Essolf.

He held high office in the church.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) William; (2) Michael; (3) John

Montford, Halifax
House at Savile Park Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Montgomery, Dr Samuel
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon. He served with the Local Government Medical Service [1895]. He was Medical Officer of Health for Ovenden [1895]. He was Medical Officer for Ovenden and Illingworth Municipal Wards [1905]. He lived at Oak Leigh, Ovenden

Monument of Peace
See Stoodley Pike

Moody, Albert
[19??-] Of Holywell Green. Sub-postmaster at Holywell Green.

He was a founder and First Chairman of the Greater Elland Historical Society.

He wrote

Moody, Lance-Corporal Charles Anthony
[1937-1957] Tony was one of 7 children of Charles Moody of 159 Clough Lane, Mixenden.

He was educated at Haugh Shaw School. He worked as a jobber at I. & I. Calvert at Wainstalls Mill.

He served with the 5th Royal Tank Regiment and was a Driving Instructor stationed at Catterick Camp. He was due to be demobbed in March 1958, on completion of a 3 year engagement.

On 2nd November 1957, a lorry in which he and a number of companions were travelling broke down on the Great North Road. The men were pushing the vehicle off the road to nearby waste ground, when they were struck by another vehicle. Lance Corporal Moody was killed and 3 other soldiers were injured

He was buried at Moor End Congregational Church, Pellon

Moon, Rev Leslie J.
[1906-1975] MA, BD. Minister at Blackley Particular Baptist Church [1945-1958].

He died 4th August 1975.

He was buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Moor Bottom Farm, Sowerby Bridge
Moor Bottom Road

Moor Edge
An earlier name for Moor End

Moor End
Community north of Mount Tabor and west of Mixenden.

At one time, it was referred to as Moor Edge.

See Brow Bottom, Moor End

Moor End Co-Op
Branch number 14 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in April 1865

Moor End Farm, Sowerby
Long Edge Road

Moor Fall Farm, Boothtown
Ploughcroft Lane. Mid 19th century farm house.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Harrier & Joseph Slinger [18??]

The Moor, Halifax
Aka Skircoat Moor, Halifax Moor, Skircoat Common, and The Moor - is an open space of about 73 acres lying just east of Crossley-Heath School

See Savile Park Road, Halifax

Moor Hey Farm, Todmorden
Sourhall Road. Mid 18th century house and barn

Owners and tenants have included

Moor, M. A. C.
[19??-19??] Deacon at Ovenden [1934]

Moor, Nathaniel
[16??-17??] Yeoman of Norland.

On 13th January 1726, he married Mary, daughter of Eli Crossley.

Children: Elizabeth who married John Burley

Moor Royd, Savile Park
Skircoat Moor Road. House.

Owners and tenants have included

Moorcock Farm, Higher Inchfield
Aka High Wicken Farm, Higher Inchfield

Moorcroft, Blackshawhead
Late 18th century house


There are currently around 30 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Moore. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Moore family of Northowram & Sowerby

Moore & Noble
Masons at Greetland. Partners included T. Moore and W. H. Noble.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1874

Moore & Smith
Card makers at Southowram. Partners included T. Moore and W. Smith.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1820

Moore, Bethel
[1797-1874] Grocer of Plowroyds, Northowram.

On 20th January 1833, he married Margaret Charnock [1812-1842] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Bethiel [1834-184?]; (2) Abraham [1836-184?]; (3) Bethel [b 1840]; (4) Rebecca [1841-1918] who married Michael Booth; (5) Emma [b 1843] who married Charles Kitchenman

Moore, Brian
[1962-] Rugby Union player.

Born in Birmingham. He was adopted and the family moved to Halifax. He attended Whitehill Primary School and Crossley & Porter school.

He trained to be a solicitor. He played Rugby Union for England. When he retired, he became a sports commentator for the BBC

Moore Brothers
Toffee makers and confectioners. They had a shop at 50 Borough Market, Halifax [1905]

Moore, Calvert
[1846-1903] A grocer in Mixenden.

William Aspinall was accused of his murder

Moore, Edward
[16??-16??] Of Baildon. Vicar of Coley [1671]

Moore, Eliza
[1851-1???] A factory hand.

Daughter of George Moore, a weaver at Shaw Hill.

On Sunday, 24th September 1871, she was found in an exhausted state after having cut her throat with a razor. There was suspicion that she had recently given birth, but no child could be found. The following day, the partly-burnt remains of a full-grown child were found in a tub in the cellar

Moore, Fred
[1???-19??] He was a picture-framer; (possibly) a photographic dealer; an electrical goods retailer. He established Fred Moore Limited

Moore's: Fred Moore Limited
Electrical goods retailers.

Established by Fred Moore.

They were at Southgate, Halifax [1950s] and Caxton House, Halifax [1990s]. The electrical business closed in 2000?

A photographic business is recorded

Fred Moore
26 Market Street, Halifax

though it is not clear how this related to the electrical business

Moore's: Fred Moore, Photographers
Photographic supplies, developing and printing. They were at 26 Market Street, Halifax.

Evidence suggests that the business had no connection with Fred Moore (Electrical) Limited

Moore, Harry
[1892-1940] The 48-year-old was one of the 11 civilian casualties of the Hanson Lane bomb which fell on 22nd November 1940. He died on the following day

Moore, Henry Edwin
[1842-1915] Son of Edwin Moore, Registrar of Leeds Parish Church.

Born in Leeds.

On 26th September 1862, The Leeds Mercury announced

Mr. Henry E Moore, organist of the grammar schools, and deputy organist of the parish church, Leeds, has been appointed organist of the parish church of Halifax

He was Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1862-1868]. He was asked to resign the post.

He was Professor of music at Lister Lane, Halifax [1863], 94 Lister Lane, Halifax [1871], 92 Lister Lane, Halifax [1874], 39 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1881], Holdsworth House, Ovenden [1891, 1901], and 22 Clare Road, Halifax [1905].

In 1863, he married Sarah Ann [1832-1910] at Christ Church, Barkisland.

Sarah Ann, of King's Mount, Barkisland, was the daughter of farmer James Shaw.

She was a vocalist [1871]


Children: (1) Annie Bowness [b 1862] who married [1889] Joseph Reed Welch in Halifax; (2) Letitia [b 1865] who was a vocalist [1891].

The family lived at Holdsworth House, Ovenden [1891, 1901].

Living with them in 1871 sister-in-law Hanna Shaw [aged] (housekeeper). Daughter Letitia was staying with her grandfather Edwin Moore, in Leeds.

Living with them in 1891 & 1901 was sister Charlotte Moore [aged 46] (living on own means) 

Sarah Anne were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

In 1911, the widowed Henry Edwin Moore (retired professor of music) was living with daughter Annie Bowness Welch, in Wandsworth, London

Moore, James
[17??-18??] Of Brockwell.

He was Lieutenant Colonel in the West Yorkshire Volunteers; a merchant and manufacturer [1809]. In 1825, he was declared bankrupt.

He married Susannah, daughter of Elkanah Holroyd.

Children: (1) William; (2) Ann who married Henry, youngest son of Francis Ingram

Moore, Rev James
[18??-18??] Vicar at Saint Mary's Church, Halifax [1874, 1881].

In 1873, Jane Ann Hodgson published a volume of poetry which she dedicated to him

Moore, James Wharton
[1846-1906] Son of James Moore, of Ashfield, Bradford.

Born at Shibden Head [3/1/1846].

He was educated locally and at hemsworth Grammar School; articled to Thomas A. Watson JP of Bradford; head of J. W. Wharton & Son, Market Street, Bradford.

He was interested in music and physical science.

On 21st March 1871, he married Frances Elizabeth Green.

Frances Elizabeth was the daughter of William Green of Hebden Bridge

The family lived at Ashfield, Bradford [1902].

He died in Leeds [Q2 1906]

Moore, John
[1???-176?] Bailiff of Halifax. He was murdered at Kirby Malzeard by George Harger

Moore, John
[17??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1772]

Moore, John
[17??-18??] He was Clerk at Sion Congregational Church, Halifax [1821]

Moore, John
[17??-18??] Of Hipperholme.

In 1797, he surveyed and published maps of the township of Halifax in his Terrier or Field Book

A Terrier or Field Book, the number and measurement of every close in the Halifax Township, with names of the owners, &c, so that the labourer with plough, scythe or sickle, will find the measurement of every close

This was published by Edward Jacob [1797]

Moore, John
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Bogden Mill, Rishworth [1800]

Moore, John
[1746-1824] From Leeds.

He was writing master at Hipperholme Grammar School; a land surveyor

Moore, Rev John
[18??-1???] Resident Minister at Park Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Brighouse [1891]

Moore, John
[18??-18??] A common brewer at Halifax.

In 1855, he was declared bankrupt

Moore, John Dyson
[1853-1934] Son of William James Moore.

Born at Northowram Hall [15th May 1853].

In 1881, he was a Magistrate of Leicestershire.

He died at Cheltenham

Moore, Mary Harriette Dyson
[1854-1925] Daughter of William James Moore. She was born at Northowram Hall.

She died at Sidmouth. The notice of her death in The Times names her Mary Harriette Dyson-Moore

Moore, N. A.
[19??-19??] Deacon at Christ Church, Pellon [1935]

Moore, Sam
[18??-19??] He worked as a traveller for the Nutclough Fustian Manufacturing Society. He was well-known in the labour and co-operative movements. He stood unsuccessfully as Labour MP after World War II

Moore, Shepherd & Whitley
Legal firm at Barum House, Harrison Road, Halifax [1934].

See Leonard Shepherd, Leonard Frank Shepherd and Henry Whitley

Moore's: W. & E. Moore
Herbal brewers in Halifax

Moore, William
[17??-18??] Innkeeper in Halifax.

He married Mary [1790-1868].

Children: William [1826-1902] who married Sarah [1831-1875[.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Moore, William
[17??-18??] He was landlord of the Waterhouse Arms, Halifax.

In 1835, he was one of the subscribers to the Halifax Dispensary, giving 1 guinea.

He (possibly) married Mary.

A Mary Moore succeeded him at the Waterhouse Arms [1850]

Moore, William
[1783-1852] He lived at Staups House, Shibden.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He died after a long illness

Moore, William
[1789-1850] Or Moor. Son of James Moore.

On 1st November 1810, he married Harriet Dyson at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Sarah [1812-1832]; (2) William James; (3) Harriet Maria [1820-1840].

The family lived at Brockwell, Sowerby Bridge; Breck [1812-1819]; Northowram Hall [1832].

Around 1840, he bought Northowram Hall from Nanny and Maria Dyson, his sisters-in-law.

He was a keen huntsman and kept a pack of hounds at Landemere Syke for hunting hares.

On 26th June 1815, a fire caused considerable damage at his warehouse at Brockwell.

Members of the family were buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax

Moore, William
[18??-18??] Registrar of births and deaths for Northowram [1850]

Moore, William James
[1815-1???] Of Northowram Hall.

Only son of William Moore.

On 5th September 1844, he married (1) Jane Dyson, widow of his cousin, John Edwards Dyson, in London.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1846]; (2) William Walker [b 1848].

In 26th November 1851, he married (2) Mary Elizabeth Harbottle [1828-18??] from Manchester.

Children: (3) John Dyson; (4) a daughter [b 26th July 1854]; (5) Mary Harriet Dyson [b 1855].

On 22nd October 1862, he married Sarah Elizabeth Badger at Leamington Priors.

The family moved to Milverton, Warwickshire.

On 6th January 1876, he married (4) Cecilia [b 1837] at Hove

Cecilia was the daughter of J. M. Vernon of Merton, Surrey and widow of A. Brown

William was described as of Knightcott House, Leamington, late of Northowram Hall

Moore, Zaccheus
[18??-19??] Established Zaccheus Moore & Company.

He lived at Shaw Mill House, next to the company's Shaw Mill [1905]

Moore's: Zaccheus Moore & Company
Worsted spinners established by Zaccheus Moore at Shaw Mill, Mixenden [1905]

Moores, Samuel
[1825-1896] Of Ripponden.

He was President of the Ripponden Commercial Company Limited [23 years]; a director [2 years].

In 1852, he married Emma Turner Crawshaw [1832-1907] in Halifax.

Samuel and Emma were buried at Saint Bartholomew's, Ripponden. The Ripponden Commercial Company Limited erected the gravestone there

Moorfalls Estate, Northowram
Comprised land and buildings at Ploughcroft.

It was owned by Captain John Furness.

Abraham Hall lived at Moorfall which was then owned by Furness.

In 1707/1709, he sold the estate to the trustees of the Hall Street Almshouses, Boothtown

Moorfield, Wainstalls
/ Warley. House.

Owners and tenants have included

Moorgate Chambers, Elland
Business premises built by Cooper Kitchen in 1872 at the junction of Southgate and Coronation Street. Extended in 1898

Moorhey Farm, Walsden
Owners and tenants have included

Moorhouse & Hook
Drapers at Halifax. Partners included Thomas Moorhouse and John Hook.

In January 1858, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Moorhouse, David
[1791-1875] The mid-19th century Halifax town crier popularly known as Blind David. He succeeded Nathaniel Scholfield.

He was born in Southgate, Halifax. About the age of 4, he contracted smallpox which left him almost blind. He was sent to an institution for the blind at Liverpool, where he learned the trade of basket making. On returning to Halifax, he worked as a basket-maker, and he also worked for the coaching office, delivering parcels brought to the town by the London, Leeds and Manchester coaches. At the age of 20, he became totally blind, but his retentive memory enabled him to find his way around.

In the 1820s, he was appointed town crier.

On 16th April 1831, he married Hannah Taylor.

Children: (1) Robert; (2) John; (3) Copley; (4) Nancy; (5) Mary; (6) William.

The family lived at Swine Market, Halifax [1837].

David went on to make and sell blacking, travelling around the district with his wares. He was a regular at the Rose & Crown, Cheapside.

John Simpson succeeded David as town-crier

Moorhouse, John
[17??-17??] He was churchwarden at Elland in the 1760s.

He married Unknown.

Children: Matthew

Moorhouse, John
[18??-18??] In 1861, he ran an academy in Hebden Bridge

Moorhouse, John
[1833-1872] Son of David Moorhouse.

He acted as deputy town crier and took over some of his father's duties when David became infirm in the 1860s

Moorhouse's: Joseph Moorhouse & Brothers
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Midgehole, Hebden Bridge. Successors to Lawrence Moorhouse & Company

Moorhouse, Lawrence
[17??-18??] Of Birchcliffe, Hebden Bridge. Partner in Lawrence Moorhouse & Company

Moorhouse's: Lawrence Moorhouse & Company
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Midgehole, Hebden Bridge. Partners included Lawrence Moorhouse, William Redman, John Pickles, and William Riley.

The partnership was dissolved in 1803.

In 1825, the company became Joseph Moorhouse & Brothers

Moorhouse, Matthew
[1723-1794] Son of John Moorhouse.

He was churchwarden at Elland in 1778 and 1780.

For 33 years, the first group of Methodists in Elland met at his house in Southgate. When John Wesley preached at Elland in August 1762, it may have been at the house.

He was buried at Elland Parish Church.

See John Hirst

Moorhouse, Whitfield
[1829-1863] Born in Meltham.

He was innkeeper at the Junction Inn, West Vale [1861]; an innkeeper in Halifax [1863].

On 28th March 1854, he married Ruth Luty at Halifax Parish Church.

He died 13th April 1863. Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £100

Moorlands Bakery, Hebden Bridge
Established by Edward Thomas.

Their products included Thomas's Toffees, and a kind of shortcake called Munch, whose claim to fame was that it had been taken up Mount Everest

Moorlands Farms, Warley
Cold Edge Formerly known as Withins

Moorlands, Skircoat
House at the junction of Birdcage Lane and Skircoat Moor Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Area between Ovenden and Illingworth

Moorside Farm, Sourhall
Aka Dyke Green Farm, Sourhall

Moorside, Halifax
Skircoat. House designed for Louis John Crossley

Moorside House, Ovenden
Owners and tenants have included

Moorside Junior & Infants' School Baths
Ovenden. Designed by J. F. Walsh. Opened in 1877. The baths are still in use

Moot Hall, Halifax
The Meeting Hall, the Court House of the Lord of the Manor, was situated in Nelson Street, near Halifax Parish Church.

John, Earl of Warren, 7th Earl of Surrey, held court here in 1286.

It was a timber-framed building and later cased in stone. The interior measured 35½ ft by 17 ft. The floor sloped from the eastern end down to a flat area where the officials sat.

Many convicted felons were taken from the Moot Hall for execution at the Gibbet. It was subsequently used as a court house by the local magistrates.

In the early 20th century, it was occupied by a joiner and undertaker.

It was said to be the oldest building in Halifax. By 1950, it was derelict and there was an attempt to have it designated an ancient monument. An inspector estimated that it could be saved for £500, but the Ancient Monuments Board decided that it was not of sufficient importance to warrant its preservation. The Corporation decided not to spend money on it, and the building was demolished in June 1957. The site is now marked by a paved area.

See Church Tavern, Jackson's Court, Halifax, Nicholas Waterhouse and Robert Waterhouse

Moran, James
[1890-19??] A labourer at Brighouse gas works.

In [Q4] 1903, he married Susannah O'Hara in Halifax. The family lived at Vine Court, Elland Road, Brighouse.

In 1914, he joined the Duke of Wellington's Regiment.

On 9th June 1918, he was in the district apprehending a deserter and he called unannounced on his wife at 2:00 am. He found her with George Taylor Birkhead and struck Birkhead with his bayonet.

The blow severed the jugular vein and Birkhead died.

Moran was sentenced to 12 months' imprisonment

Moran, John
[18??-18??] In a report produced in 1850 under the Public Health Act, he was recorded as keeping a lodging house in Southowram which had 2 rooms, 3 beds, 17 lodgers, and no privy

Moran, Patrick
[1833-1???] Beerhouse keeper at the Strangers' Home, Halifax [1881].

In 1856, he married Ann Bradley in Bradford.

On 15th March 1870, she was charged at Bingley with having on the 31st January 1870 bigamously married clockmaker John Bailey at Bingley

Moravian House
See German House

Morby, John
[1837-1938] Originally from North Wootton near King's Lynn, Norfolk.

He lived at Church Terrace, Illingworth. He was a road foreman for Halifax Corporation Highways Department until he was 94. When he retired, he was presented with an armchair. He made his first aeroplane flight when he was 99. He had never been to the cinema. He died 6 months after celebrating his 100th birthday.

He was buried at Illingworth Moor Wesleyan Chapel

More, Edmund
[16??-1???] Curate at Coley Chapel [1672]

More, James
[15??-15??] See Kirklees Priory, Brighouse

Moregatrode, John de
[1350-1???] An early member of the Murgatroyd family. He was Constable of Warley [1371-1372], appointed by Edward III.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) James who died young; (3) Richard

Morgan, Rev A.
[18??-19??] Minister at Trinity Road Baptist Church [1905-1907]. He left to serve in Birmingham

Morgan, Father
[18??-1???] Parish Priest at Saint Joseph's Catholic Church, Brighouse [1882].

During the Irish Riots of May 1882, a mob of Brighouse lads attacked the church and smashed all the windows. Father Morgan managed to spirit away everything of religious and intrinsic value and brought it back once matters had quietened down

Morgan, James S.
[18??-18??] From North-east England. He moved to Todmorden. He wrote many song, poems and sonnets in a collection entitled Field & Fireside Musings [1861]

Morgan, Mr
[18??-18??] A 19th century poet who lived in Stansfield

Morgan, Sam

He was Hebden Bridge preacher; company secretary for Maude's Clogs

Morgan, Rev William
[18??-18??] BA. An Irishman. Curate at Todmorden [1840?]. After 15 months, he was appointed vicar at Clitheroe. He later served at Burton-on-Trent

Morgan, Rev William Lewis
[1823-1875] He was Curate of Saint James's Church, Halifax [1850]; Vicar of Saint James's Church, Halifax [1853].

In August 1853, he moved to become Perpetual Curate at Bradshaw where he stayed for the rest of his life.

He died 3rd June 1875.

In the churchyard at Bradshaw, there is a memorial erected by the parishioners and inscribed

In memory of William Lewis Morgan, 22 years vicar of this parish, called to his rest June 3rd 1875, aged 51 years

A variant of the surname Murgatroyd

Morley, Arthur Philip
[1900-1976] MA.

Son of Ernest Charles Morley.

Born in Halifax [20th November 1900].

He was Curate at Sowerby [1932].

He died in Norfolk

Morley Brothers
Iron founders at Longfield Foundry, Parkinson Lane. Established by John, Harry [1882-1955] and Arthur [1890-19??], the sons of Young Henry Morley

Morley, D.
[18??-18??] Woolsorter at Halifax.

In October 1862, he was declared bankrupt

Morley, Ernest Charles
[1865-1933] Born in Halifax.

On 2nd June 1898, he married Louisa Ann Woodhead in Huddersfield.

Louisa Ann was the daughter of
David Woodhead

Children: (1) Arthur Philip; (2) Kathleen [1899-1988] who married [Philip Evelyn Clarence Francis] [1898-1954]; (3) Cecil 1906 [b 1944] who married [1921] Olive Daphne Michael

Morley Hall, Luddendenfoot
Area of Luddendenfoot.

In 1887, the Luddendenfoot Industrial Co-operative Society bought land here to raise cattle for their butchery department.

See Morley Hall Lane, Luddendenfoot and Morley Hall Terrace, Luddendenfoot

Morley, Dr James
[17??-18??] Surgeon at Talbot Yard, Halifax [1816]

Morley, John
[18??-18??] Worsted spinner at Savile Mill, Halifax.

He lived at 10 Kent Street, Halifax [1845]

Morley, John
[18??-18??] In 1861, he ran a school at Cragg Vale

Morley, John
[1800-1859] He married Mary [1805-1866].

Children: (1) John; (2) Eliza.

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery their children were buried at Sion Congregational Church, Halifax

Morley, John
[1880-1968] (Johnnie). Son of Young Henry Morley.

He was a partner in Morley Brothers; Captain of Halifax RLFC and played for England [1904]. He won caps for England and for Other Nations while at Halifax.

He married Lilian Holt [1881-1951].

Children: (1) Freda Mary [1908-1974]; (2) Kathleen [1911-1990]; (3) John [1914-1958]; (4) Charles Geoffrey [1918-2002]; (5) Richard Trevor [1921-2009]; (6) Freda Mary who married Gilbert Greenwood.

The family lived at Green Lane, Halifax

Morley, Moses
[1792-1861] Of Sowerby Bridge.

He married Mary Anne [1799-1881].

Children: (1) Selina; (2) Sabina; (3) Lewis [1826-1865].

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery Selina and Sabina were buried at Sion Congregational Church, Halifax

Morley, Patrick
[18??-1890] An Irish immigrant who settled in Halifax.

He regularly beat his wife, Elizabeth, and she left him on several occasions.

On 21st September 1890, he called on her with a gun in the hope of obtaining money for a drink. She refused and he shot her dead.

He was hanged at Leeds

Morley, PC
[18??-1???] Brighouse constable [1891]

Morley, T.
[18??-1???] He was a Sgt-Inst with the 8th West Yorkshire Artillery Volunteers and served for 21 years. He then became landlord of the Black Bull, Halifax [1876]. He was Drill Master at Heath Grammar School [1879]

Morley, Uttley & Barstow
Cotton manufacturers at Sutcliffe's Mill, Shay Lane [1867]

Morley, Wilkinson
[18??-19??] He worked for Joseph Sykes. He established Wilkinson Morley & Son Limited.

In 1911, he married Ethel, daughter of Joseph Sykes, in Halifax.

Children: Unknown

Morley's: Wilkinson Morley & Son Limited
Wool recombing business established by Wilkinson Morley. They were at (the top of) Beechwood Road, Ovenden. The site of the mill is now a housing estate

Morley, Young Henry
[1842-1909] He was brought up at Wheatley Royd, Brearley.

He owned an iron foundry at Dean Clough. It is said that, prior to his marriage, he walked from Brearley to Dean Clough and back every day.

He married Mary Hannah Wilcock [1854-1928].

Children: (1) John; (2) Harry [1882-1955]; (3) Arthur [1890-19??]

Morpeth, Lord Viscount
[1802-1864] George William Frederick Howard KG, PC. He was MP for the West Riding [1832-1841] and [1846-1848]. He ran unsuccessfully in the 1841 elections. In October 1848, he succeeded to the title of 7th Earl of Carlisle and moved to the House of Lords

Morrel, A. H.
[18??-18??] House surgeon at the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary [1874]

Morrell, Allon
[18??-1???] Iron and tin-plate worker, furnishing ironmonger at 53 Bethel Street, Brighouse [1890?]

Morrell & Robinson
Grocers at Woolshops, Halifax [1809]

Morrell, Charles Richard
[1860-1932] Born in Halifax.

Joiner and undertaker at 154 Thornhill Road (top of Bramston Street), Brighouse [1922].

He lived at 134 Thornhill Road, Brighouse [1922]

Morrell, Mark
[1849-1904] Born in Boothtown.

He became an ale and porter merchant, and mineral water manufacturer of Brighouse.

In 1883, he acquired the bottling business of Edward Nettleton.

He was a member of the Halifax Wine & Beer Association and the Brighouse Cricket Club

On the 1891 and 1901 census, he was living at 43 Commercial Street, Brighouse

In 1869, he married Harriet Farrar [1850-19??] from Boothtown.

Children: (1) Arthur [b 1871] who was an ale bottler [1891]; (2) William [b 1874] who was an ale bottler [1891]; (3) Grace Ann [b 1876]; (4) John Edward [b 1878] who was a manager at an [his father's] ale and porter store in Brighouse [1901].

The family lived at 41 Commercial Street, Brighouse; Nettleton's Yard, Brighouse [1891]

Morrell, Robert
[18??-18??] Tailor at Todmorden

In October 1869, he was declared bankrupt

Morrey, Rev Will
[19??-19??] Minister at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden [1984]

Morris, Mr A.
[18??-19??] He stood unsuccessfully as the Conservative candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [1885 and 1886]

Morris, Adam
[15??-1591] Curate at Sowerby [1572-1583]. In 1583, he left Sowerby and became chaplain to a regiment in Ireland.

He married Katharine. Between 1568 and 1582, 8 of his children were baptised at Sowerby.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church [24th September 1591]

Morris, Alfred
[18??-19??] From Hunslet, Leeds.

In 1876, he married (1) Mary Ann Beck [1856-1898] from Hunslet, in Holbeck.

Mary Ann died in Halifax Infirmary [4th January, 1898].

Children: Unknown.

In 1898, he married (2) Sarah Ann Child at Saint Thomas's Church, Charlestown. The witnesses were Ann and Frederick Washington.

Children: Unknown.

The family lived at 22 Ninn Street, Halifax [1898]

Morris, Alfred William Johnson
[18??-1953] Son of William Morris.

After their father's death, he and his brother, T. H. Morris carried on the family business – William Morris & Sons Limited.

He died in Sussex.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £114,419

Morris, F. J.
[1874-1965] of Lightcliffe. President of the Calder Valley Poets

Morris, Frank
[1???-19??] JP. He was Mayor of Todmorden [1944-1945]

Morris, H.
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1894-1901]

Morris, H. C.
[19??-] Physics teacher at Heath Grammar School. He was a keen photographer and recorded many Calderdale sights which have since disappeared

Morris, Priscilla
[18??-1???] Of the Diving Bell, Halifax.

In 3rd April 1875, she was in court for selling spirits without a licence

Morris, Thomas Henry
[1848-19??] DL, JP.

Son of William Morris. Born in Halifax [3rd February 1848].

After their father's death, he and his brother, Alfred William Johnson Morris, carried on the family business – William Morris & Sons Limited.

He was educated at Rugby School; Justice of the Peace for the West Riding; Deputy Lieutenant for the West Riding; Chairman of the Halifax Commercial Banking Company Limited; Chairman of William Morris & Sons Limited; President of the Halifax Chamber of Commerce [1888-1890]; President of the Royal Halifax Infirmary [1892-1895].

He was Captain (Queen's Own) Yorkshire Dragoons Imperial Yeomanry, Major 2nd West Yorkshire (Prince of Wales Own) Yeoman Cavalry [joined 1876] He was posted to the C Troop with his relatives, Captain Armitage and Mr J. H. Wheatley. In 1885, he took charge of the B Troop.

He rose to the rank of Colonel.

He married Unknown.

Children: Alice Barbara [b 1854] who married [31st October 1877] Arthur Caltrow Armitage of Meltham Villa (merchant), at Sowerby Church.

The family lived at The Lodge, Triangle.

He retired in 1905.

On 30th July 1927, he gave the cricket and recreation ground to Triangle

Morris, Rev W. D.
[19??-19??] Minister at Pellon Baptist Church [1945-1950]

Morris, William
[18??-1???] Stationmaster at Brighouse Railway Station [1867, 1871]

Morris, William
[1806-1882] JP, DL. Of The Lodge, Triangle.

In 1839, he established William Morris & Sons Limited. He was Chairman of the Halifax Chamber of Commerce [1882]; Chairman of the Halifax Commercial Banking Company [1882]

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas Henry; (2) Alfred William Johnson.

He died suddenly at home.

After his death, his sons carried on the business.

There are windows in his memory in Sowerby Church – erected by voluntary subscription [1883] – to mark the esteem of his workers.

See West Yorkshire Railway Company

Morris, William
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1987-1988]

Morris, William Joseph
[1851-19??] Born in Kidderminster, Worcestershire.

He was a carpet designer [1911].

In [Q2] 1873, he married Mary Taylor [1851-19??] from Kidderminster, Worcestershire.

Children: (1) child; (2) William Charles [b 1876] who was a carpet designer [1911].

The family lived at 139 Huddersfield Road, Halifax [1911]

Morris's: William Morris & Sons Limited
Worsted spinners established in Halifax in 1839 by William Morris.

From 1848, the company owned Stansfield Mills, Triangle.

In 1862, they gave the cricket grounds to Triangle Cricket Club. They also gave Triangle Baths and reading room to the community.

After the death of William Morris, the business was carried on by his sons, T. H. Morris and Alfred William Johnson Morris.

In 1875, they built Corporation Mills, Sowerby Bridge. They had one of the largest spinning works in the West Riding.

In 1890, they employed 600 workers and operated 20,000 spindles.

In 1890, their telegraphic address was Morris, Triangle.

In 1921, the company opened a hostel for mill girls at Stansfield Mill Lane, and this was used until the 1950s.

The mills closed in 1971 – because of structural problems – and work was moved to Corporation Mills

Morriscot, Coley
In 1906, Harry Percy Jackson moved from Brighouse and started a business making religious wood-carving at a cottage which he called Morriscot – named in honour of William Morris

Morrison, Rev C.
[1???-18??] Of Halifax. He was Curate at Brighouse [184?]. He published several popular sermons

Morrison, Rev H.
[18??-19??] Minister at Mytholmroyd Wesleyan Methodist Church [1896]

Morrison, Herbert
[18??-19??] Of The Lodge, Copley Wood, Halifax.

In 1903, he was one of the first people to be granted a motor drivers' licence.

See Charles Wheatley Crossley

Morrison, Rev William Robert
[18??-18??] He was Curate at Parish Church of Saint Martin, Brighouse [1858] and Perpetual Curate at Saint James's Church, Halifax [1859, 1863].

In 1863, he and Rev James Pridie presented an address on behalf of the Church and Dissenters to the Prince of Wales during His Highness's visit to Halifax in August.

He lived at North Parade, Halifax [1865]

Morrissey, Rev Father
[18??-19??] Priest at Saint Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Halifax [1905]

Morritt, Professor Charles
[1860-1936] Or Moriarty. A magician and stage hypnotist.

He fraudulently claimed to put a Halifax man, William Ingham, into a trance during a show at the Victoria Hall

Morrow, John
[1791-18??] Born in Ireland.

He was Gunsmith at 6 Corporation Street, Halifax [1871, 1874].

He married Mary A. [1784-18??], also from Ireland.

Children: (1) Charles [b 1823 in Ireland] who was a wire drawer [1841]; (2) Robert [b 1825 in the East Indies] who was a pupil teacher [1841]; (3) John [b 1827 in the East Indies] who was a clerk [1841]; (4) James [b 1829 in the East Indies]; (5) Henry [b 1831 in the East Indies]; (6) Catharine [b 1834 in St Helen's, Lancashire]; (7) Frederick [b 1836 in Halifax].

The family lived at 6 Corporation Street, Halifax [1871, 1874]

Mortimer, Albert Edward
[1889-1???] Son of Frederick Leonard Mortimer.

He was a stoker on HMS Foxhound, moored off Felixstowe, Suffolk [1911].

During World War I, he served on Black Prince, Drake Flagship, Roxburgh, Argyll, Duke of Edinburgh, and Hampshire.

He was Leading Stoker on HMS Bulwark and he was lost when it was sunk [26th November 1914].

He is remembered on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial

Mortimer, Alec
[19??-] Or Alex. Son of Fred Mortimer.

He became bandmaster/conductor of the Black Dike Mills Band, the Brighouse & Rastrick Band, and the CWS Manchester Band

Mortimer, Benjamin
[18??-18??] Landlord of the Royal Hotel, Halifax.

In 1860, he was one of a number of publicans charged with the adulteration of their beer by using grains of paradise in brewing. He was fined £50. Renewal of his licence was challenged because his offence.

Druggist Richard Toone was charged and fined £125 for supplying the grains

Mortimer, Benjamin
[1807-1874] He married Mary [1806-18??].

Children: (1) Edward; (2) Jane [b 1841]; (3) Herbert [b 1850].

The family lived at Upper Brunswick Street, Halifax [1851]

Mortimer, Edward
[1791-1832] Son of Joseph Mortimer. He became a wire drawer.

He married Unknown.

Children: Matthew

Mortimer, Edward
[1846-1914] Son of Benjamin Mortimer. He established Edward Mortimer Limited.

In 1913, he was one of the subscribers to The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

In [Q1] 1871, he married Susannah Ellis [1846-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) child who died young; (2) child who died young; (3) Kate [b 1872]; (4) Harry.

The family lived at 3 Heath Field Place, Skircoat [1881]; 61 South Grove, Savile Park Road [1891, 1901]; 29 Savile Park Road [1911, 1920, 1936].

Edward died suddenly [22nd June 1914].

See Halifax Cocoa House Company

Mortimer's: Edward Mortimer Limited
Successor to John Whiteley. Picture framers, gilders, mount cutters at 17 Lister Lane, Halifax

Mortimer's: Edward Mortimer Limited
19th century bookseller, printer, stationer and publisher in Halifax, established by Edward Mortimer.

They were at 30 Crown Street, Halifax [1874]

In 1882, Francis Alexander Leyland sold his publishing business in the Corn Market to Mortimer.

In 1892, they were trading at 1 Silver Street and also at 5 Regent Street, Halifax.

Their publications included Biographies, Sketches & Rhymes by the Calder Valley Poets, Mortimer's Time Table, and Brighouse, its Scenery & its Antiquities

The business moved to Crown Street, and also traded from 34 Paternoster Row, London EC.

In 1916, Mortimer's was advertising letterpress printing, lithography, photography, design and block making at a shop at Commercial Street / Silver Street, Halifax, a factory at Regent Street, Halifax, and branches at Brighouse and London.

The premises at Hall End were later demolished, and the property built on the site was occupied by Jowett & Sowry.

The Mortimer printing business was listed at 5 Regent Street [1936] and continued – at least in name – until fairly recently with premises in Pellon Lane

Mortimer, Fred
[1880-1953] Son of Henry Mortimer.

He was a cloth-maker in a fustian mill at Hebden Bridge.

He began his musical career at the age of 16 as a cornet player in Hebden Bridge.

He became a well-known brass band musician and conductor. He is best known for his work with Foden's Motor Works Band. His wife -whom he met when they were working in the fustian mill at Hebden Bridge – was known as Our Sarah by the bandsmen.

He married Sarah, daughter of John Midgley. Children: (1) Harry; (2) Nellie; (3) Alec; (4) Marion; (5) Louie; (6) Rex.

Many of the family were well-known musicians, brass band players and conductors.

In 1910, the family moved to Luton

Mortimer, Frederick Leonard
[1855-1???] Born in Bradford.

He was a grocer's assistant [1881]; a stoker at mill [1891]; a stationary fireman [1901]; an engine tenter [1911].

In 1877, he married Sarah Elizabeth Todd [1857-1???] in Bradford.

Sarah was born in Wilberforce, Yorkshire

Children: (1) Albert Edward; (2) William Ernest [b 1891] who was a dye works labourer [1911].

The family lived at 1 Bancroft's Terrace, Halifax [1881]; 10 Sutcliffe Street, Ovenden [1891]; 2 Sykes Terrace, Halifax [1901, 1911].

Living with them in 1881 was nephew George H Mortimer [aged 1].

Living with them in 1901 were boarders Edith Wilkinson [aged 19] (woollen spinner) and Elizabeth Jowett [aged 23] (woollen spinner).

Living with them in 1911 was boarder Thomas A Crisp [aged 22] (general labourer) 

Mortimer, Harry
[1874-19??] Of South Grove, Halifax.

Son of Edward Mortimer.

Like his father, he also went into the printing business.

He was a manufacturing stationer [1911].

In 1904, he was one of the first people to be granted a motor cycle registration

Mortimer, Harry
[1901-1???] Son of Matthew Mortimer.

He took over from his father at Henry Mortimer & Sons

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Tom [b 1921]; (2) Rex [b 1928]; (3) Bernard [b 1936].

His 3 sons became builders in Hebden Bridge

Mortimer, Sir Harry
[1902-1992] OBE, CBE.

Son of Fred Mortimer.

Distinguished composer, player and conductor of brass bands born in Hebden Bridge. He first joined Hebden Bridge band on 3rd Cornet when his father was band-master. He learned to play the cornet when he was eight, going on to fame as a famous cornet and trumpet player. In 1924, the Mortimer family moved to Sandbach, Cheshire. He conducted the Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra. He was the brass and military music supervisor of the BBC. He received an OBE in the King's Birthday Honours List June 1950, and a CBE in the Queens Honours list for his contribution to music. He was knighted in 19??

He deputised for Arthur Laycock who had suffered burns in a domestic accident.

On 20th June 1927, he married (1) Annie Bullock née Blisset [1904-1984] from Cheshire.

Children: (1) Brenda; (2) Margaret. The couple divorced in 1951.

In 1951, he married (2) Hilda Margaret Bailey [1917-1999].

Children: (3) Martin.

He died suddenly of heart failure.

See Black Dike Mills Brass Band and Brighouse & Rastrick Brass Band

Mortimer, Henry
[1850-1907] Born in Scholes.

He married Susannah, daughter of Hezekiah Bentley. Children: (1) Matthew; (2) Fred; (3) Luther.

He lived at Keighley Road, Wadsworth [1905].

Henry and his sons established Henry Mortimer & Son

Mortimer's: Henry Mortimer & Sons
Contractors, stone merchants and quarry owners established by Henry Mortimer and sons Matthew and Luther.

The had business at Greenhouse Quarry, Blackshawhead [1905] and Hangingroyd Lane, Hebden Bridge [1905].

After Henry's death, his sons – Matthew and Luther – carried on the business.

In turn, Matthew's son, Harry, and Luther's son, Jack, took over

Mortimer, J. I.
[18??-19??] Partner in John Smith, Sons & Mortimer

Mortimer, Jack
[1910-1???] Son of Matthew Mortimer.

He took over from his father at Henry Mortimer & Sons

Mortimer, Joseph
[1747-1800] A wool weaver at Scholes.

He married Love Thomas.

Love was the daughter of Squire Thomas and the twin sister of Patience

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) Sally; (3) Richard; (4) Marmaduke; (5) John who married [1831] Leah Kershaw and had a large family; (6) Mary; (7) Edward

Mortimer, Luther
[1882-19??] Son of Henry Mortimer.

He married Unknown.

Children: Jack.

He was a partner in Henry Mortimer & Sons. After their father's death, he and his brother Matthew carried on the business

Mortimer, Matthew
[1827-1886] Son of Edward Mortimer. He became a stone mason.

In 1848, he married Eliza Hepworth at Hartshead. Children: (1) Matthew Mortimer; (2) Henry Mortimer

Mortimer, Matthew
[1851-1905] Son of Matthew Mortimer

He married Unknown.

Children: Matthew H. [b 1877].

He lived at Stonehurst, Keighley Road, Wadsworth [1905].

He died in Scarborough.

See Henry Mortimer & Son

Mortimer, Matthew
[1873-1939] Son of Henry Mortimer.

He married Unknown.

Children: Harry.

He was a partner in Henry Mortimer & Sons. After their father's death, he and his brother Luther carried on the business

Mortimer, Rex
[1911-1999] Son of Fred Mortimer.

Born in Luton.

He carried on as conductor of the Foden's Motor Works Band after his father's death. Under his aegis, the Band won the Brass Band Championship in 1964

Mortimer's Time Table
A monthly cyclopædia of the official and commercial life of the town, published by Edward Mortimer Limited. There were editions for Hebden Bridge, Sowerby Bridge, Elland, Brighouse and the Spen Valley. Price: 1d

The Morton family
The Mortons – a Scottish family – established many potteries in the Salendine Nook/Elland/Huddersfield district from the 16th century when Presbyterian Edmond de Morton fled from religious persecution by the Catholics in 1558.

The family went on to work as farmers, potters and clothiers.

In October 1689, Michael Morton registered his barn at Salendine Nook as a meeting house for Dissenters – see Salendine Nook Baptist Church.

Other members of the family have included John Morton, Joseph, Joseph, and Enos.

It has been suggested that some branches of the family may originally have been descended from Spaniards of the Armada who were shipwrecked in Scotland.

Around 1858, one member of the family established a pottery at Exley and then moved to Siddal.

The family were involved with several companies

some of which may be duplicated here.

Question: Can anyone clarify the relationship between the various companies?


See Titus Kitson

Morton, Allan
[1854-1923] Butcher at Commercial Street, Brighouse.

On 22nd June 1911, he provided the ox for the ox roast at Round Hill, Rastrick to celebrate the coronation of George V.

In 1878, he married Isabella Scott [1853-1898] at Saint Matthew's Church, Rastrick.

Children: Allan [1871-1951].

Allan Junior had butcher's shop at Commercial Street, Brighouse and next to Saint Matthew's Church, Rastrick.

The family lived at East Street, Rastrick

Morton, Allen
[1808-1850] On 13th June 1842, he married Dinah Tattersall at Elland Parish Church.

Dinah was the daughter of
Enoch Tattersall

Children: (1) Betty [1843-1903] who married Henry Naylor; (2) Harriet [1845-1927] who never married; (3) Jabez; (4) Hannah [1849-1878] who never married.

The children were all born in Norland.

After Allen's death [1850], Dinah married John Hollas

Morton & Holcroft
Bunting manufacturers at Stone Dam Mill, Halifax [1905]

Morton & Speak
Wool and waste dealers at West Vale. Partners included John Morton and Henry Speak.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1873

Morton, Andrew
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon [1895]. He was at 25 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1905]

Morton, Armitage
[1877-1924] Son of Joseph Morton.

Born in Halifax.

He was a physician at Leeds General Hospital [1901]. He tended his half-brother, John Tatham, in his final illness.

In 1902, he married Martha Gertrude Smithies at Elland Parish Church.

The family lived at Saint Aubyne, Elland [where he died 1924].

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Morton, Benjamin
[1731-1815] A native of Kirkheaton. A maltster, manufacturer and farmer at Slead Syke, Brighouse. He and a group of neighbours established in Independent congregation which went on to build Bridge End Congregational Chapel, Rastrick.

In 1779, his wife encouraged the congregation to organise themselves to build a new Chapel when finances ran out on their initial plans.

When the congregation at Bridge End declined during the ministry of Rev William Northend, some of the members left Bridge End and met at the Kiln, Slead Syke.

He was buried at Kirkheaton

Morton, Douglas
[1939-19??] Labourer of Brighouse.

In 1973, he murdered his neighbour, James Ellis

Morton, Edmond de
[15??-15??] In 1558, a Presbyterian, he fled from religious persecution by the Catholics in Scotland to settle and establish many potteries in the Salendine Nook/Elland/Huddersfield district.

The last of family's potteries closed in the 1980s

Morton, Edward
[1820-1???] Son of William Morton.

Born in Halifax.

In 1841, he is listed as a Pot maker.

Later, he is living in Oldham with his brother, David. Both are mechanics

Morton, Edward John
[18??-1???] Yarn agent at Hipperholme. Recorded in February 1867, when he was a partner in the Manchester & Liverpool District Banking Company

Morton, Enos
[1817-1880] Son of John Morton.

Born in Lindley.

He was a farmer of 10 acres employing 6 labourers [1851]; an earthenware maker [1861].

He established Enos Morton & Sons, potters, at Salendine Nook.

On 16th June 1841, he married (1) Mary Walker [1822-1866] at Huddersfield.

Children: (1) Robert [b 1843] who was a pot maker [1861]; (2) Hannah [b 1845]; (3) Mary Ann [b 1847]; (4) Emma [b 1848]; (5) John [b 1852]; (6) Enos [b 1855]; (7) Dan [b 1857].

On 4th April 1873, he married (2) Ellen Beaumont [1830-1893] at Lindley Saint Stephen.

Children: (8) Beaumont [b 1873].

The family lived at Huddersfield [1851] and 169 Salendine Nook [1861].

He died at Salendine Nook [15th July 1880]

Morton's: Enos Morton & Sons
Pottery established by Enos Morton at Salendine Nook.

It was taken over by Harold Morton. It became Lindley Moor Pottery.

There are still streets called Kiln Court, Morton Way, and Pottery Street. in the Salendine Nook area

See Morton family

Morton, Harold
[1879-19??] Son of Joseph Morton.

He was a director of Enos Morton & Sons; a director of Joseph Morton & Sons, Limited [1949].

On 24th February 1904, he married Florence Amy Edwards [1780-1849] at Saint Philip's Church, Bloomsbury, London.

Florence Amy was the 4th daughter of H. W. Edwards of John Street, Bedford Row, London

Weddings notices mentioned that their future home was to be Newbury, Huddersfield Road, Halifax.

The family lived at Heath Crescent, Halifax [where Florence Amy died 1949]

Morton's: J. S. Morton & Sons Limited
Siddal. Founded in 1783 by Joseph Morton.

In 1855, he had White Gate Brickworks, Siddal. This was gone by 1894.

Later, he was at Siddal Brickworks.

In 1880, they had stone quarries at Cinderhills and works at Cinderhills Fireclay Works.

The hillside was mined for clay and air ducts for the mines and tunnels can still be seen.

The firm went out of business around 1964.

See Samuel Brighouse, John Morton, Stoney Brow Farm, Southowram and Morton family

Morton, Jabez
[1849-1912] Son of Allen Morton.

He was a slater [1878].

3 Jabez born 1849 died Halifax 1912. Jabez a slater married Halifax 1878 to Norland born Ellen Longbottom [1845-1917].

Children: (1) Hannah Jane [1880-1970] who married James William Schofield; (2) Edith [b 1882].

Morton, James
[18??-18??] Landlord of the Hope Inn, Halifax [1860.

In 1860, he was one of a number of publicans charged with the adulteration of their beer by using grains of paradise in brewing. He was fined £50.

Druggist Richard Toone was charged and fined £125 for supplying the grains

Morton, James
[1826-1906] Son of blacksmith David Morton.

Born in Dewsbury / Huddersfield.

He was a blacksmith [1850]; a whitesmith [1851]; an engineer employing 7 men, 3 boys [1871]; a mechanical engineer [1881]; a beer house keeper at the Barley Mow, Elland [1890, 1891, 1893]; a general mechanic machine tool works [1901].

In November 1893, he was fined £1 plus costs after being charged with having his house opened during prohibited hours on the afternoon of Sunday 15th October 1893. He had given beer to a Mrs Robinson, whose son had married one of Ramsden's daughters.

In 1850, he married Sarah Clay [1829-1907] at Halifax Parish Church.

Sarah, of Warley, was the daughter of piecemaker William Clay

Children: (1) David [b 1851] who was an engineer [1871]; (2) William A [b 1853] who was an engineer [1871]; (3) Alfred [b 1856] who was an engineer [1871] a mechanic (artisan) [1881]; (4) Mary Ellen [b 1859]; (5) Sarah A [b 1864] who was a boot fitter [1881]; (6) Ralph [b 1866]; (7) Susan [b 1869]; (8) son [b 1871].

The family lived at 11 South Knight Street, Halifax [1851]; 11 Bath Parade, Halifax [1871]; 1 Back Providence Place, King Cross Road, Halifax [1881]; 96 Wakefield Road, Sowerby Bridge [1901]

Living with them in 1881 were visitors Rebecca Tempest [aged 30] (clerk's wife), Fred Tempest [aged 9] Charly Tempest [aged 7] William Hutchinson [aged 5] and Annie Frances Hutchinson [aged 1].

Living with them at the Barley Mow, 86 Westgate, Elland in 1891 were 11 lodgers.

Living with them in 1901 was nephew Charles Edward Clay [aged 30] (engine maker boring machinist) 

Morton, Job
[18??-19??] In 1886, he was in partnership with Joseph Law, making paper at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth. They had acquired the business of Clarke & Luke.

In November 1890, they conveyed the business to David Scott

Morton, John
[17??-1???] He was a manager at the Howcans of Samuel Halliday.

He became an earthenware manufacturer at Cinderhills, Siddal which he took over from Samuel Halliday.

In 1783, he bought

from Mrs Sarah Dearden and others two closes of land known as Upper and Lower Mires and a close of land at Siddal Wells, Southowram, with coal mines, veins and seams of coal, clay, etc., under the same

He married Unknown.

Children: Joseph

He lived at Clipster Hall, Siddal. Around 1789, he purchased coal beneath the Clipster Hall estate.

See Morton's: John Morton & Sons

Morton, John
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1787]

Morton, John
[1767-18??] He married Mary.

Children: (1) Joshua [b 1812]; (2) Rhoda [b 1812]; (3) Enos.

The family lived at Pot Ovens, Lindley [1841]

Morton, John
[1846-1???] Son of Joseph Morton

He was brickworks manager [1881]; firebrick manufacturer [1901]. He established John Morton (Thornton Fireclay) Limited, at Birks Fireclay Works, Thornton, Bradford.

In 1871, he married Maria Louisa Aspinall [1854-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Lewis John [b 1872]; (2) Edith Harriet [b 1874]; (3) Florence Daisy [b 1882] who married [1899] William Dixon or George Normanton Carter.

The family lived at 2 Morton's House, Siddal [1881]; Ash Grove, Thornton, Bradford [with sister-in-law Martha A. Bullock (aged 62) 1901]

Morton's: John Morton & Sons
Pottery at Cinderhills Fireclay Works, Siddal established by John Morton when he took over the business of Samuel Halliday.

See Morton family

Morton, John Tatham
[1866-1908] Son of Joseph Morton.

He qualified as a solicitor [1887]. He was solicitor [1901]; clerk to Southowram School Board; one of the founders of the Sunday Lecture Society; a member of Saint James's Lodge of Freemasons.

In 1897, he married Gertrude Mary Robertshaw.

Gertrude Mary second was the daughter of Thomas Robertshaw

Children: daughter [b 1901].

The family lived at 2 Elm View, Skircoat, Halifax [1901]; Leicester Terrace, Halifax [1908]

An obituary notice [November 1908] read

John Tatham Morton [...] for a few years laid aside with a serious illness. For the last 2/3 years he was confined to bed with some spinal trouble attended by Dr Alderman and his brother Dr Armitage Morton of Elland.

Morton, Joseph
[1???-1???] Son of John Morton.

He produced made black ware pottery at his pot ovens at Cinderhills.

He married Unknown.

Children: Joseph

Morton, Joseph
[17??-18??] Son of Joseph Morton. He was a pot maker of Southowram [1803]; an earthenware manufacturer at Cinderhills [1829]. He established Joseph Morton & Sons at Hipperholme and J. S. Morton & Sons Limited at Siddal.

In 1803, he married Ann Whitehead from Saddleworth.

Children: Joseph

Morton, Joseph
[1816-1864] Son of Joseph Morton.

He was a pot manufacturer [1837]; a brick maker [1841, 1851, 1864].

On 4th May 1837, he married Mary Tatham [1817-1888].

Children: (1) Alice [1839-1856]; (2) Joseph [b 1840]; (3) Benjamin [b 1843]; (4) David [b 1844]; (5) John; (6) Ann Whitehead [b 1848] who married [1872] butcher Abraham Greenwood.

The family lived at Cinderhills, Siddal [1841, 1851, 1864]; Hardcastle Buildings, Siddal [1871]

Mary died at Rhodes Street, Halifax [8th August 1888].

Joseph and Mary were buried at Elland Cemetery.

See Pot Ovens, Southowram

Morton, Joseph
[1840-1889] Son of Joseph Morton.

He was educated at Mr Farrar's School.

He was a firebrick manufacturer employing 27 men and 13 boys [1881].

In April 1863, he married (1) Elizabeth Ann, daughter of John Helliwell Fleming.

Children: (1) Joseph; (2) John Tatham.

The family lived at Hardcastle Buildings, Siddal [1871].

Living with them in 1871 was visitor Albert Fleming [aged 16] (boot maker) 

In 1876, he married (2) Ann Armitage [1844-1906] from Dewsbury.

Children: (3) Armitage; (4) Harold [b 1879]; (5) Hilda Mary Victoria [b 1882] who married Clement Sheldrake.

The family lived at 1 Mortons House, Siddal [1881]; Mortons Place, Siddal [1891]; 6 Whinney Field, Halifax [1901]

Living with them in 1891 was visitor William M. Armitage [aged 23] from Dewsbury.

Living with them in 1901 was visitor Mary Armitage [aged 47].

He died 25th July 1889 [aged 48].

He was buried at Elland Cemetery

Morton, Joseph
[1864-19??] Son of Joseph Morton.

Born in Halifax.

He was a firebrick manufacturer [1901]; a firebrick maker (employer) [1911].

About 1898, he married Louisa Clara Caroline Gatley [1877-19??] who was born in Malta.

Children: (1) Eileen Clara [b 1900] who married [1933] Howard Leslie Jones of Birmingham; (2) Eveleyn Melita Gatley [b 1907] who married Cyril James Sharp; (3) Joseph Francis Braithwaite [b 1910] who was a brick manufacturer and married [1935] Sarah Gertrude, daughter of Tom Marsh.

He lived at Mount House, Siddal [1901, 1905, 1911].

Living with them in 1911 were lodgers Francis W. Gatley [aged 32]; Walter V. Gatley [aged 22]; Edward H. Gatley [aged 8]

Morton's: Joseph Morton & Sons
Brick and tile manufacturer of Hipperholme. Founded by Joseph Morton.

In November 1873, a gale demolished a new chimney at the works.

See Morton family

Morton's: Joseph Morton & Sons, Limited
Brickmakers. Recorded in 1949, when Harold Morton was a director.

Question: Does anyone know whether this was the same as J. S. Morton & Sons Limited or Joseph Morton Limited?


Morton's: Joseph Morton Limited
Firebrick manufacturers at Cinderhills Fireclay Works, Siddal [1936] and Howcans Brick Works, Holmfield [1936].

The firm was also known as J. Morton & Sons.

In 19??, they were taken over by G. R. Stein.

See Cindrils and Morton family

Morton, Mary
[1718-1788] Of Sheffield.

She married Richard Hopwood.

She owned Lower Wat Ing, Norland.

There is a memorial to Richard and Mary in Halifax Parish Church

Morton, Matthew
[1838-1???] Farm worker.

He married Sarah [1839-1???].

Children: Rebecca [b 1860].

The family lived at Clover Hill Farm, Skircoat [1861]

Morton, Stephen
[17??-1???] Coiner. He was imprisoned at York Castle [9th September 1759]

Morton, Rev Thomas
[18??-19??] Curate at Coley [1892]

Morton Villa, Rastrick
Owners and tenants have included

Morton, Walter
[18??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1905]. He won caps for England while at Halifax

Morton, William
[1790-18??] He was an earthenware manufacturer at Cinderhills [1829]; a pot-maker at Sinderhills [1841]; a pot-maker [1854].

On 4th February 1808, he married Sarah, only daughter of Thomas Nicholl, at Bradford.

Children: (1) Martha [b 1808]; (2) Harriet [1810-1851] who married Joseph Holt; (3) Ann [b 1813]; (4) Sarah Ann [b 1815] who married William Webster; (5) William [b 1817]; (6) Edward; (7) Mary Ann [b 1822]; (8) Amelia [1825-1889] who married Gamaliel Vickerman; (9) Emma [b 1827]; (10) David [b 1830] who went to live with his brother, Edward, in Oldham; (11) Fanny [b 1832] who married (possibly) John Sharp; (12) (possibly) John [b 1838]; (13) (possibly) William [b 1843].

The family lived at Cinderhills, Siddal [1841]. Several members of the family were born, lived and/or died at Siddal Hall.

William may be dead by 1851.

Sarah, now a housekeeper, was living with two daughters at Cinderhills [1851]

Mortuary, Brighouse
Mill Royd Street

See Carpet mosaics

Mosaic Made of Sweets
In February 2006, the Looked After Children's Education Service of Calderdale built a mosaic of sweets which covered an area of 399.6 square feet

Moseley, John
[18??-18??] Lessee of the Theatre Royal, Halifax [1850]

Moses, E.
[19??-19??] He and his wife ran an operatic group at Stainland Mechanics' Institute in the early 1990s

Moses, Henry
[1836-1908] Of Luddendenfoot.

He married Mary, daughter of William Calvert.

Children: Hannah Jane [1864-1871].

Members of the family were buried at Booth Independent Church with Mary's parents

Moses, J.
[18??-1???] Hebden Bridge mason and sculptor. He produced the commemorative plaque for Boy Bridge, Luddendenfoot [1882]

Moses, John
[17??-1835] On 13th June 1835, The Leeds Mercury reported
Whilst the Rev William Wilson, Wesleyan Minister of Todmorden was preaching on Sunday morning last, in the Wesleyan chapel Rodwell End, and enforcing on his congregation the necessity of offering to God a living and not dying sacrifice, John Moses, an aged man, became convulsed in the congregation and immediately expired

Mosley, John
[1739-1791] He lived at Hope Lodge, Lightcliffe

Mosley, Sir Oswald
[1896-1980] The English politician and Fascist had roots in the Edwards family of Halifax.

He was descended from James Edwards by the following family line:

  * James Edwards
  * James Justinian George Edwards – Vicar of Trentham
  * Justinian Edwards – he took his mother's surname, becoming Justinian Edwards Heathcote
  * Katherine Maud Heathcote married Oswald Mosley
  * Sir Oswald Mosley

A part of Rishworth

The Moss family
Hebden Bridge family involved in the 19th century fustian trade. Moss Brothers was founded by H. Moss.

They ran an academy at a house on Moss Lane, Hebden Bridge.

Many local road and sites bear their name

Moss, Abraham
[18??-19??] Of Moss Brothers.

He lived at Brooklyn, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Moss & Ashworth
Fustian cutters at Halifax. Partners included Stephen Moss and William Ashworth.

In May 1860, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Moss, Rev Anthony
[1749-1836] He was Assistant Curate at Luddenden [1772]; Curate at Luddenden [1773]; Vicar at Luddenden [1779]; Perpetual curate at Illingworth [1779-1836].

He taught the young Edward Akroyd who had attended the church.

He was a supporter of the Halifax Auxiliary Bible Society.

In 1786, he married Ann, daughter of Thomas Milne.

Children: (1) George; (2) son; (3) son; (4) son; (5) son; (6) Mary [b 1796]; (7) Elizabeth [b 1801]; (8) Jane.

The family lived at Field Head, Ovenden [1829]; Mason Green, Ovenden [1841]

Moss, Arthur
[1869-1927] Landlord of the Huntsman, Mytholmroyd [1927].

In 1893, he married Mary Ann Sutcliffe [1866-1943] in Halifax.

The couple were buried at Saint Michael's, Mytholmroyd

Moss Brothers
Upholsterers, decorators, house and estate agents established by S. Moss and J. H. Moss in 1885 at 26 Commercial Street, Halifax

See Horace Boocock

Moss Brothers Limited
Fustian manufacturers, dyers and finishers established around 1867 by H. Moss and the Moss family at Brunswick Mill, Hebden Bridge.

In 19??, it became Brisbane Moss.

See The English Fustian Manufacturing Company, Abraham Moss and James Moss

Moss, Detective George
[18??-19??] On 13th January 1899, Joe Smith [24], a boiler maker, shot Moss at Halifax, with intent to murder him. Moss and Detective Crowther had gone to the Railway Hotel, Halifax to make enquiries about a jacket which was missing from the home of Smith's father. Smith produced a pistol from his pocket and fired, just missing Moss. The jury found Smith guilty of shooting with intent to cause grievous bodily harm, and he was sentenced to 5 years' penal servitude

Moss, Frederick Hague
[18??-19??] Todmorden fustian manufacturer. He was a director of the Hare Spinning Company Limited and cut the first sod when the Hare Mill was built

Moss, George
[17??-18??] Cotton manufacturer at New House Mill, Ovenden which he built around 1800. He continued in business after the mill was dismantled in 1820.

See Mrs Mary Halliday

Moss, George
[1787-1834] Son of Rev Anthony Moss.

Choirmaster and organist at Illingworth Church.

He was a founder member of the Halifax Quarterly Choral Society.

He promoted a performance of Accepted Widdop's oratorio Joseph to raise funds for a memorial to the composer

Moss, George Frederick
[18??-19??] Of Moss Printeries Company.

He lived at Royd Villas, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Moss, George Haight
[18??-18??] He and his 2 sisters ran a boarding school at Slater Bank, Heptonstall

Moss, H.
[1???-1870] Founder of the business which became Moss Brothers

Moss, Herbert
[1894-1988] Son of Samuel Moss.

He was artistic and, during World War I, served as a cartographer with the Royal Engineers.

His skills were used by the family firm, S. Moss & Sons.

His son, David, joined the company in 1946 and became a Director

Moss, J. H.
[18??-18??] Photographer at 36 Royd Terrace, Hebden Bridge

Moss, J. H.
[18??-19??] Painter and decorator. He worked in London before coming to Halifax. In 1885, he established Moss Brothers with his brother, S. Moss

Moss's: J. H. Moss & Sons
Aka Moss's Academy. Family boarding school established by J. H. Moss

Moss, James
[18??-19??] Of Moss Brothers.

He lived at Ewood Court, Mytholmroyd [1905]

Moss, Jane
[1806-1891] Daughter of Rev Anthony Moss. Born in Halifax.

She and one of her sisters ran a boarding school at their home, Field Head, Ovenden [1829, 1838].

In 1860, Illingworth National School was enlarged at the sisters' expense, and separate departments for boys and girls were established.

She endowed Saint George's Church, Ovenden and was a benefactor to Illingworth Church

Moss, John
[17??-18??] Minister at Steep Lane Baptist Church, Sowerby [1800-1806]

Moss, John H.
[18??-18??] Established J. H. Moss & Sons and Moss's Academy, Hebden Bridge. In 1862, he published a 248-page collection entitled Miscellaneous Poems

Moss, Matthew
[17??-1799] He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1782]

Moss Moor, Rishworth
Moorland next to Rishworth Moor

Moss's: Mortimer Moss, Son & Company
Fustian manufacturers at Hebden Bridge [1905]

Moss Pharmacies Limited
Chemists at 69 King Cross Street, Halifax [1936]. and later at 76 King Cross Street, Halifax.

See Ernest Reginald Gutsell

Moss Printeries Company
Hebden Bridge printing company. Recorded in 1905 at Bridge Gate. Partners included George Frederick Moss

Moss, S.
[18??-19??] Painter and decorator. He worked in London before coming to Halifax. In 1885, he established Moss Brothers with his brother, J. H. Moss

Moss's: S. Moss & Sons
Halifax painting, decorating, upholstery and furnishing company. Founded on Commercial Street in 1885 by Samuel Moss. The company was known for making shop-fronts and inn-signs. They also worked on church interiors, government buildings. The company moved from Commercial Street, and occupied premises in Crossley Street, Gaol Lane and Western House, Boothtown. The firm closed in 1995

Moss, Sam Smithies
[18??-19??] Landlord of the Ivy Beerhouse, Elland

On 3rd November 1900, he was charged with keeping a bagatelle board without a licence. PC Cook had gone into the pub and saw millhand Herbert Saville and labourer Eddy Dyson playing bagatelle for money.

For not having a licence, Moss was fined 5/-, and for permitting gaming, he was fined 10/- plus costs. Saville and Dyson were each fined 10/- plus costs for aiding and abetting

Moss, Samuel
[1860-1940] Halifax master decorator, upholsterer and furnisher. Founded S. Moss & Sons in 1885.

His son, Herbert Moss, also joined for the company

Mossman, Henry
[18??-1???] He leased Washer Lane Dye Works from John Edward Wainhouse [1870].

Wainhouse sold the business to Mossman [1873].

In the Edwards-Wainhouse Feud, Wainhouse accused Edwards of reporting Mossman to the Inspector of the West Riding Smoke Prevention Association for the emission of smoke

Most, Abraham
[18??-19??] He had a wholesale warehouse. at 33 Woolshops, Halifax [1936]

Motor Train
The Kerr-Stuart motor train was introduced on 1st March 1907 and replaced the earlier locomotive on the Ryburn Valley branch line, between Sowerby Bridge, Watson Crossing, Triangle, Ripponden & Barkisland to Rishworth line.

It had a small engine and a carriage in a single unit. The carriage was 47 ft 6 ins in length and accommodated 56 passengers. It had reversible rattan cane seats. It accommodated 56 passengers.

At the end of each journey, the driver changed ends.

Vacuum-operated steps allowed the passengers to use the ground-level platform at Watson Crossing.

They were popularly known as Rishworth Pigs.

It was later replaced by a Hughes Steam railcar.

See Rishworth Trestle Bridge

Motor Volunteer Corps
On 16th March 1917, a Corps was formed in Halifax

See Brighouse Coat of Arms and Halifax motto

Mouldson, Thomas
[1???-16??] Owned property in Barkisland, including Howroyd Hall, Barkisland and Barkisland Hall. In 1639, he sold Barkisland Hall to William Horton


Moulson, Dr Richard
[1???-18??] He succeeded Dr Cartledge as the Halifax physician.

He was at Northgate, Halifax [1822]; 4 Lord Street, Halifax [1834].

He was a member of Northgate End Chapel

Moulter Hall, Halifax
The name refers to Mulcture Hall, Halifax

Mount Cross, Todmorden
Aka Idol Cross. A 5 ft high stone cross which stands in a field on Cross Hill above Shore, and is thought to be early mediæval. It has been moved from its original position.

It broke and was repaired in 1898. At that time, the base was found to be socketed as if it was intended to stand upon a stone base.

It is one of 6 crosses between Burnley and Kebcote. It may have been a way-marker or a Paulinus cross for open-air preaching by travelling priests, or it may have marked the boundary between the lands of Whalley Abbey and those of the parish of Dewsbury.

The name comes from Mount Farm which is nearby.

The cross is one of the calling points on the Paulinus Pilgrim & Heritage Way

The Mount, Halifax
House at Haley Hill, Halifax. Owners and tenants have included

James Crossley was born here

Mount House, Siddal
Rosemary Lane. Aka Mortons Place and Mortons House.

Owners and tenants have included

The Mount, Lightcliffe
38 Lightcliffe Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Mount of Remembrance, Luddendenfoot
Burnley Road. Luddendenfoot War Memorial stood here until it was moved to Holmes Park in the 1950s

Mount Pellon
The original name for Pellon

Mount Pellon Junior & Infants' School Baths
Designed by Horsfall's and opened in 1903 at what was then Battinson Road School. The baths closed during 2002 because of rising costs

Mount Pellon Post Office
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936.

See Pellon Lane Post Office and Pellon Post Office

Mount Pleasant Co-Op
Branch number 13 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in January 1865. It had a boot and shoe department

Mount Pleasant Farm, Rishworth

Mount Pleasant, Halifax
Area of Dean Clough. Original called Go Ahead because it was the first street to be built by the Union Building Society The houses in the street were said to be of a superior class. Others of a rather inferior order followed.

When it was developed in the 19th century, several of the streets were named for the heroes of the repeal of the Corn Laws – such as John Bright and Richard Cobden

Mount Pleasant, Heptonstall

See John Greenwood's Charity

Mount Pleasant, Midgley
Thorney Lane, Midgley. These were originally 6 back-to-back early 19th century houses. They are now 3 dwellings

Mount Pleasant Wesleyans Cricket Club
Recorded in the early 1900s at Mount Pleasant Methodist Church, Wainstalls

Mount Skip
Area between Heptonstall and Midgley at a height of 950 ft above sea-level.

In May 1897, a skeleton was discovered in a prehistoric grave at a quarry above Mount Skip Inn. The grave measured 6 ft long, by 16 ins wide, by 2 ft deep, and was aligned north-south with the head to the north. There were 6 ins thick deposits of cremated bones and wood at the ends of the grave. A small earthenware vessel was also found

The Mount, Sowerby Bridge

Owners and tenants have included

Mount Tabor
Area of Calderdale to the north-west of Halifax, near Pellon and just within the boundaries of Ovenden township. It lies 1,038 feet above sea-level.

In the 19th century, it was a centre of the local stone industry.

Whiteley Turner, the author of A Spring-Time Saunter, was born here and he was buried in the Methodist chapel graveyard in the village.

See Trolley-bus and Waggoners' Rest, Mount Tabor

Mount Tabor Quarries
There were several quarries on the land at the junction of Moor End Road and Hill Road, including

These were all filled in [1950s & 1960s]

Mount Tabor Recreation Ground
Presented to Halifax Corporation by John Sutcliffe. Opened on 28th August 1926

Mount Zion Primitive Methodist Band of Hope, Norland
Recorded in April 1905, when the annual meeting was held at Mount Zion Primitive Methodist Chapel, Norland and J. A. Parkinson was President.

See Band of Hope Movement

Area between Bradshaw and Queensbury

See Poems in Peace & War

Mountain House, Queensbury

Owners and tenants have included

Mountain Institute
Opened on 25th January 1913 by John Speak, who paid for it, in memory of his father and mother for the
benefit of all the villagers

See Poems in Peace & War

Mountain, Stone Chair
Hope Street. A house is mentioned here in 1540.

Owners and tenants have included

Mountain, Thomas Henry
[1847-19??] Born in Bradford.

He was a confectioner / dealer [1911].

In [Q4] 1868, he married Ann Upton [1850-19??] from Idle, in Bradford.

Children: (1) Ralph [b 1878] who was a confectioner's assistant [1911]; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child who died young [before 1911].

The family lived at 123 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911]

Mountenay, Alice de
[13??-1417] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1403-1417]

Mountford, Rev Walter Edwin
[18??-19??] Curate at Illingworth [1919-1926]. He left to become curate at Oswestry [1926]

See Long Wall Mouse

An area of Walsden.

See Moverley Cottage

Moverley Cottage, Walsden
Built on the site of the Cherry Tree Beerhouse at Moverley

Owners and tenants have included

Moverley, Rev F.
[19??-19??] Minister at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax [1966]

Mowat, Sir A. L.
[19??-19??] He was a director of the Halifax Building Society [1953]

Mowat, Janet
[1916-2000] Of Lybster, Caithness. Following the death of a friend in childbirth, she pursued a career in medicine, nursing or midwifery. She became a leading campaigner for women's rights.

In 1943, she married Peter Cockcroft and made her home in Halifax. Following Peter's death, she became chairman of the board of Bottoms Mill.

Her autobiography is entitled Not a Proper Doctor

Mowbray, Mr
[17??-180?] He was landlord of the Black Lion, Halifax.

He married Unknown.

In April 1805, his widow married Samuel Green (butcher) at Halifax Parish Church

Moxon, Rev Donald
[19??-19??] MC. He received the MC for gallantry during World War II, as wounded troops were evacuated from Burma.

He was Chaplain to the Forces and the Archdeacon of Rangoon, Burma before becoming Vicar of Brighouse [March 1951-1953].

In October 1953, following disagreements at the Miss World Contest, he commented on beauty contests, saying that

beauty queens are taught the sin of pride, but, as glamour girls also have souls, he does not ban them from his church

Moxon, Fred
[1???-19??] He was a driver for Paton & Baldwin Limited.

He was 6 ft 5 inches tall.

It is said that he had a degree in music and played the organ in chapel.

He married Unknown.

Children: son.

The family lived at Merrion Street, Southowram

Moxon's: Joseph Moxon Kirk & Sons
Stuff dyers and finishers. Established around 1840 by Joseph Moxon Kirk at Old Lane Dye Works, Halifax. Other members of the family – Joseph Moxon Kirk, Arthur William Kirk, and John Henry Percy Kirk - joined the firm.

They were also at Bowling New Dye Works, Bradford [1861] and had a warehouse at Bentley Buildings, Hall Ings, Bradford [1861, 1887].

He employed large numbers of people in his Old Lane dye works which was amongst the largest in England.

In March 1881 and on several other dates around that time, the Halifax Sanitary Committee issued notices concerning

a certain chimney at Lee Bank connected with the works of Joseph Moxon Kirk and Arthur William Kirk which was sending forth black smoke in such quantities as to be a nuisance

In 1890, they employed 350 workers

See William Trubee Burrow, Kirk's Yard, Halifax and Henry Walton

Moyser, Frances
[15??-15??] Daughter of Adam Moyser of Farlington, Yorkshire.

She married (1) Edmund Greenbury, a draper and alderman at York.

She married (2) Henry Savile

Mozart House, Halifax
In 1901, the business of William H Benn gave the address of Mozart House, 34 Prescott Street

Mozley, James
[1813-18??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he was transported for 7 years for stealing wool and a sack, at Hipperholme, the property of John Holland and another

See MPs for Brighouse, MPs for Calder Valley, MPs for Elland, MPs for Halifax and MPs for Yorkshire

MPs for Brighouse
The Foldout lists some people who have been elected MP for the Brighouse & Spenborough and Brighouse constituencies

MPs for Calder Valley
The Foldout lists some people who have been elected MP for Calder Valley

MPs for Elland
The Foldout lists some people who have been elected MP for Elland

MPs for Halifax
The Foldout looks at some aspects of local elections and lists some of the people who have stood for election as MP for Halifax

MPs for Sowerby
The Foldout lists some people who have been elected MP for Sowerby

MPs for the West Riding
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as MP for the West Riding

See Sir Culling Eardley Eardley and MPs for Yorkshire

MPs for Yorkshire
The Foldout looks at the candidates and results for some early elections for the MP for Yorkshire

See MPs for the West Riding

Mudie, Rev Howard
[18??-19??] Minister at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax. He resigned in 1922

Mudies Subscription Library
Established in Brighouse in 18??

Muff, John
[18??-1???] Brighouse manufacturer of fulling machines, dressing frames, and machinery for handling silk and other fibres [1866]

Mühlheimer, Rudolph
[18??-19??] Or Schleusz-Mühlheimer

He was born in Germany.

In [Q2] 1904, he married Edith Constantia Corrigan [1868-19??] in Bingham, Northamptonshire.

Edith Constantia was born in County Armagh, Ireland

Children: (1) Rudolph [b 1905]; (2) Valdenair T [b 1905].

The family lived at 11 Park Road, Halifax [1911].

At the time of the 1911 census, he was travelling 1st Class on the Araguaya to Buenos Aires

Muir, A. Howie
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon.

He lived at Waterloo House, Halifax [1905]

Muir, Albert
[18??-19??] A well-known character who frequented the Ring O' Bells, Rastrick, playing a banjo and dancing on the tables

Muir, Alexander
[18??-18??] Painter and gilder at Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Mary Ellen [1843-1853]

Muir, J.
[19??-] Curate at Brighouse [1978-1980]

Muitt, William
[1???-18??] He kept a livery stable at Halifax.

William Cole [1824-1???] was charged with having

feloniously stolen a horse

from Muitt at Halifax on 15th July 1847. Cole had gone to Muitt asking for a horse and gig to go to Bradford. No gig was available, so Muitt offered a horse and Cole rode off to Leeds [not Bradford] where he attempted to sell the horse, eventually selling it to a Mr Randall for £5.

At the Winter Assizes at York in December 1847, the jury found Cole not guilty believing that he had not taken the horse with the intention of selling it

Mulcahy, Very Rev Dean Patrick
[1850-1911] Priest at Saint Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Halifax [1905]

Mulcture Hall, Eastwood
Community on the hillside above Jumble Hole Clough.

The main house was built about 1800 by the Stead family.

See Craven & Garsed

Mulcture Hall, Halifax
Aka Multure Hall, Moulter Hall.

A datestone over the doorway was inscribed 1631. The Hall stood on Mill Lane near Halifax Parish Church. It was built by John Smithson. Subsequent owners and tenants have included

In 1851, Mayor John Crossley established a model lodging house at the Hall, as recommended in the Ranger Report. The building had a kitchen, dormitories, a wash house, and a reading room. There was accommodation for 50 men, each of whom paid 3d for a night's lodging. Charles Watson designed a roof-top ventilation system for the building.

The house was used as a lodging house until it was demolished in 1937, along with other property in the area.

The plaster ceiling was moved to Bankfield Museum.

The name is derived from multure which was a toll collected at the hall for corn ground at the mill on the Hebble at Clark Bridge.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax

Mullarkey, Anthony
[1867-19??] Born in Sligo, Ireland.

He was landlord of the Stag & Pheasant, Brighouse [date unknown]; a beerseller living at 27 Commercial Street, Brighouse [1901]; publican at 14 Castlegate / 20 Rosemary Lane, Huddersfield [1911].

In [Q3] 1896, he married Elizabeth (Lizzie) McGuire [1866-19??] from Huddersfield, in Halifax.

Children: Anthony [b 1899] who died in his 1st year.

Living with them in 1901 were Anthony's brothers John Mullarkey [age 27] Gas Stoker Gas Works, born in Ireland, Patrick Mullarkey [age 25] Stone Delver (below ground), born Ireland, and Lizzie's brother Edward McGuire [age 25] Stone Delver (below ground), born Rastrick

Question: Does anyone know where he was selling beer in 1901 and/or when he was at the Stag & Pheasant, Brighouse?


Muller, J.
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1912, when he was Manager of The Muller Portrait Company

The Muller Portrait Company
Art photographers established by J. Muller at 4 Silver Street, Halifax [1911]

Mullett, Rev F. E. A.
[18??-19??] He lived at Peel House, Luddenden. Curate at Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden [1905]

Mullins, Arnold
[1???-19??] Halifax lion-tamer who trained the original lion for the Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer logo

The Mullions, Todmorden
Numbers 2 & 4 Top Street. Originally 4 early 19th century cottages. Now 2 dwellings

Mulroy, John Joseph
[1888-1960] Son of Catherine [née Burke] and John Mulroy, Irish immigrants who came over from County Mayo, Ireland in the mid-19th century, following a recruitment campaign there by Crossley's Carpets.

The family lived at Lime Street, Ovenden.

John worked as an overlooker and carpet printer for Crossley's.

John Joseph joined Crossley's design department when he left school. He attended art school and became a local artist and advertising agent with John Mulroy & Company.

In the 1930s, he created the character Doc Shire to advertise Whitaker's Brewery.

He wrote and edited several books:

  • The Story of the town that bred us [1948] - a series of articles to mark the centenary of the Borough of Halifax [1848-1948]

  • Upon this Rock [1952] - the story of the church in Halifax which was compiled at the request of the local Catholics

During World War II, he began to paint portraits. He painted the familiar portrait of Sergeant Hanson Victor Turner.

He married Bridget.

Children: (1) John Max who married [1950?] Nora Hazel Bonser from London; (2) a daughter.

He died suddenly at his home at Beechwood Royd [13th July 1960]. He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery

Mulroy's: John Mulroy & Company
Advertising agents established in 1912 by John Joseph Mulroy at Central Street, Halifax

Multon Hall, Illingworth
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Mumford, Catherine
[1829-1890] Born in Ashbourne, Derbyshire.

In 1855, she married William Booth. She worked with the Salvation Army in Brighouse, working with children and young people

Muncaster, Dr
[1???-1???] He lived at The Mount, Haley Hill, Halifax

Mundall, John
[17??-18??] Tea dealer at Gaol Lane, Halifax [1816]

Munday, Aaron
[1813-1873] Wood turner and bobbin maker at Cote Hill [1861].

His mill was destroyed by fire on 30th April 1867.

In [Q1] 1858, he married Harriet Wood [1818-1881] in Halifax.

Children: Joseph Garside [1860-1910].

Members of the family were buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Munday, James
[18??-18??] Excavator and contractor at Halifax.

In November 1861, he was declared bankrupt

Munitions Tribunal for Halifax & Huddersfield
Recorded on 18th August 1915, when the first meeting was held in Halifax

Munroe, Philip
[18??-19??] Founding partner in Thompson & Munroe Limited

Murder Stone, Mytholmroyd
A modern standing stone to remember the coiners. It depicts a pair of shears, as used for clipping the coins


Murdison, Andrew
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [19??]. He won caps for other nations while at Halifax

Murduck, R. C.
[18??-19??] Photographer of South End, Elland

The entries for people with the surname Murgatroyd are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Other forms of the surname include Morgetroyd and Murgitroyd.

John de Moregatrode is recorded in 1371, John Mergetrode is recorded in 1379 and Johannes de Mergretroide is recorded in 1379.

The surname is derived from moor, gate and royd and means a clearing by the road to the moor.

There are currently around 92 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Murgatroyd. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Murgatroyd Family
Corn millers at Warley Corn Mill at Luddenden [from the 1300s to 1854].

See Pepper Hill Mill, Luddenden and Murgatroyd family: Arms

The Murgatroyd family: Arms
The arms of one branch of the Murgatroyd family depicts 3 crosses florées and a demi-chevron. The arms were granted to Michael Murgatroyd in 1598. The significance of the half-chevron is uncertain.

There are arms for other branches of the family

Murgatroyd & Horsfall
Silversmiths & jewellers at 57 Commercial Street [1905] and 2 Corn Market, Halifax [1905, 1936]

Murgatroyd & Simpson
Hosiers/glovers at Silver Street, Halifax [1850]

Murgatroyd Brothers
House and church decorators, painters and sign writers at 25 King Cross Street, Halifax [1920]

Murgatroyd's: J. Murgatroyd & Son
Worsted-spinners at Oats Royd Mills, Luddenden established by John Murgatroyd

Murgatroyd Mansion, Luddenden
An earlier name for Broadfold House, Luddenden

Murgatroyd's Shoot
A shooting party held on Midgley Moor

Murgatroyd tomb, Luddenden
A chest tomb for the Thomas Murgatroyd stands in the graveyard of Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden, at the south east corner of the Church

Murgatroyd, Warley
A house was built around 1632 by James & Mary Murgatroyd. A fireplace is dated JM and MM for James Murgatroyd and his wife, Mary.

It was subsequently the home for other members of the Murgatroyd family, including William Murgatroyd [around 1466], John son of William Murgatroyd, and John Murgatroyd [1523].

It was subsequently renamed The Hollins, Warley.

See Haigh House, Warley

A variant of the surname Murgatroyd

Murlin, Mr
[17??-1???] The man who destroyed the wooden angel at South Parade Methodist Chapel, Halifax in 1779

Murphy, Derek
[1941-1994] Businessman and night-club owner was murdered at his home in Eastwood, Todmorden. He was found beaten and tied up at the house and died later in hospital after describing his two attackers.

The murderers have not been found

Murray, John
[1???-1842] MA. Curate at Halifax [1842].

He died in Scotland.

There is a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church by Joseph Bentley Leyland.

The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Murray, Patrick
[1???-1???] Owned Abbotroyd, Barkisland

Murrell, H.
[18??-19??] Photographer at 12 Waterhouse Street, Halifax [early 1900s].

See Central Portrait Rooms, Halifax and Edward Gregson

Murrey, Peter
[19??-] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

Murtagh, Dr Harold
[1900-1958] He lived at Ryburn House, Ripponden.

On 4th February 1935, he married Avice Frances Wrangham. On 1st June 1937, they had twins: (1) son who was stillborn; (2) Virginia who survived

Murty, Miranda Leone
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [2003-2004]


Musgrave, Benjamin
[18??-1???] Halifax carpet manufacturer.

He lived at North Park.

Recorded in 1872, when he was one of the executors of the will of Sir Francis (Frank)  Crossley

Musgrave, Benjamin
[1825-1???] Born in Leeds.

He was an accountant [1861].

He married Hannah [1824-1???].

Hannah was born in Leeds

Children: Frances [b 1848].

The family lived at 3 Clarendon Place, Halifax [1861]

Musgrave, Charles
[1???-18??] Alderman of Halifax

Musgrave, Rev Charles
[1792-1875] DD. Vicar of Halifax [1827].

See Halifax Quarterly Choral Society, Wellesley Barracks and Rev Henry White

Musgrave, Mr
[1???-18??] Of Halifax.

In 1835, he, sued the inhabitants of Agbrigg and Morley, for the damages to his property during the window-breaking riots on 6th January 1835. The Jury awarded damages of £80, against the £240 which he had claimed. Using figures for average earnings, £80 in 1835 is roughly the equivalent of £57,200.00 today and £88 is roughly the equivalent of £62,900.00


Musson, Rev Francis
[1822-1893] He was Curate at Halifax [1853]; Chaplain of the Halifax Union Workhouse and of the Debtors' Gaol [1859]; Curate at All Souls' Church, Halifax [1861]; Perpetual Curate at Rastrick [1871]; Vicar of Elland [1872]; a member of Elland School Board [1891].

There is a window by Kemp in memory of Rev and Mrs Musson in Elland Parish Church.

He lived at Rhodes Street, Halifax [1865]

Musther, Thomas Walton
[1877-1921] Born in Halifax.

He was an assistant manager at theHalifax Equitable Bank Limited.

In 1904, he married Hilda, daughter of Arthur Taylor at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

In 1927, Hilda was running a children's outfitters at 35 Northgate, Halifax.

Children: (1) child who died in childhood; (2) child who died in childhood

Aka Mutterholme. A part of Stansfield, Todmorden. The area is now a part of the sewage works

Mutterhole Bridge, Charlestown
Bridge over Jumble Hole Clough. Built in 1768. It was later known as Sandbed Bridge

Mutterhole Holme, Charlestown
Aka Saint James's cricket field, Mutterhole Plain.

See Sandbeds Sewage Works, Charlestown

Mutterhole Plain, Charlestown
Aka Saint James's cricket field, Mutterhole Holme.

See Sandbeds Sewage Works, Charlestown

Mutton Hall, Illingworth
Recorded in 1851 and 1948 off Pharaoh Lane

Mutual Improvement Societies

Mutual Insurance Society for Plate Glass
Established in 1871 by Joseph Binns

My Bootmakers
The trade name for Bowles & Company at 15 Bull Green, Halifax [1905]. In 1914, when the area was being redeveloped, they moved out

Mycologists & Botanists


There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Myers. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Myers & Highley
Worsted manufacturers at Norwood Green Mill [1904, 1905, 1911] Partners included Leonard Highley and Charles Henry Myers.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1911. and Myers carried on the business as C. H. Myers & Company

Myers, Arthur
[1873-1941] He was Head of Trinity School; a cricket enthusiast.

He lived at 4 Limes Avenue, Halifax

Myers's: C. H. Myers & Company
When the Myers & Highley partnership was dissolved in 1911, Charles Henry Myers carried on the business as C. H. Myers & Company

Myers, Charles Henry
[18??-19??] He was a partner in Myers & Highley [1911]. The partnership was dissolved in 1911, and Myers carried on the business as C. H. Myers & Company

Myers, Joseph Herbert
[19??-19??] Aka Bert. In 1958, he bought Sunny Vale Pleasure Gardens from Fred Thompson. He changed the name to the Sunny Vale Country Club

Myers's: T. & B. Myers
Oil extractors at Halifax.

In May 1865, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Please email me If you can link this to any other business or individual on the Calderdale Companion

Myers, Thomas
[1???-1833] Landlord of the Dyer & Miller, Halifax [1830].

He is also listed in White's Directory of 1837, though he accidentally shot and killed himself in 1833.

On 11th October 1833, he was out with a shooting party in a plantation known as Winney Bad. As he was loading the right hand barrel of his double-barrelled gun, the left hand barrel accidentally discharged, shooting him through the left cheek and the head. He died instantly.

The inquest was held at the White Lion, Rastrick

Myrtle Dene, Halifax
Francis Street. House.

It is now [2013] an Islamic Centre

Myrtle Grove, Halifax
The house was probably built 1825-30. It stood on the south side of King Cross Street, opposite People's Park. Recorded in 1874 and 1910.

Owners and tenants have included

In probably remained unoccupied from Berry's death in 1928, until 1936 when it was demolished and Arden Road was extended into King Cross Street

Myrtle Grove, Soyland
A group of cottages. They were a part of Sam Hill's property

Early motor car produced by Buckton & Brown and using a Mytholm engine.

It has been claimed as the North of England's first car.

It was a 3-wheeler with solid tyres and was steered by tiller.

In February 1897, the Halifax Courier reported that

it is worked by ordinary petroleum and will run at a cost of 3d an hour for 24 hours without recharging the oil vessel. After the lamp is lighted, the machine can be started in about 3 minutes. There are no carburettors or vaporisers. Over level ground, it can travel at 12 to 16 mph. It has been tested over a gradient of 1 in 10 at a rate of 4 mph carrying 2 people. The frame is made of weldless tube, there are pneumatic tyres and tangent spokes

Mytholm Bridge, Hebden Bridge
A packhorse bridge over Colden Water. It fell into a state of decay and was repaired in 1767

Mytholm engine
Early motor car engine designed by R. Reynold-Jackson and used in the De Dion cars.

See Buckton & Brown and Mytholm car

Mytholm Farm, Hipperholme
Halifax Old Road at Mytholm. Originally 2 late-18th century cottages.

It was a 20-acre part of the Shibden Hall estate. John Pearson was a tenant here in the time of Anne Lister.

Mytholm Hall, Hebden Bridge
House which stood at the foot of the Colden Valley and just in front of Saint James's Church.

At various times, the Mytholm estate was owned by the Halstead family of Erringden and the Cockcroft family of Mayroyd.

The estate passed into the King family in 1691 when Samuel King married Mary Cockcroft.

The hall was rebuilt by Samuel's grandson, James King.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in 1970.

In 1973, the Department of the Environment commended the design of the housing estate which was built on the site.

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

See Hebden Bridge Railway Station

Mytholm, Hebden Bridge
Area to the west of Hebden Bridge and below Heptonstall, where Colden Water meets the Calder. Saint James's Parish Church stands here.

The land is part of an area known as Smithysteads.

Mrs and Rev James Armytage Rhodes owned much land and property here.

The name is recorded as Mythome [1615], Mithom [1635], and Mytholm [1771].

The name uses the element mytholm and means a meadow at the junction of two rivers – the Colden and the Calder – which was likely to flood.

The Lanes ran from Mytholm to Hebble End.

Mytholm, Hipperholme
16th century house at Mytholm. The gables were dated 1570 and IH for John Hemingway. The house was demolished in 1933

See John Ramsden

Mytholm House, Hebden Bridge
Known as Bank Bottom. Built about 1797 by Hamlet Bent

Mytholm House, Hipperholme
Halifax Old Road. House dated about 1760. It was a coaching inn

Mytholm Old Hall, Hipperholme
Stone-built house dated 1570.

The Hall – comprising 6 stone cottages – was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.

It was demolished in 1933

Mytholm Post Office, Hebden Bridge
Woodbine Place.

Mytholm, Shibden
Aka Mytholme. Area of Hipperholme below Lower Brear along Halifax Old Road.

In 1775, Jeremy Lister installed waterwheels to pump out his coal mines here – see Sough.

See Mytholm Farm, Hipperholme, Mytholm, Hipperholme, Mytholme Farm House, Hipperholme and Shibden Brook

Mytholm Steeps, Hebden Bridge
Formerly known as Rawtenstall Bank. A packhorse route from Hebden Bridge, Blackshawhead, Rawtenstall, and on to Burnley

Mytholm Turning Circle, Hebden Bridge
A small roundabout which allows traffic from Hebden Bridge to turn round in order to reach Heptonstall Road

Mytholme Bridge, Shibden
A single-arch stone bridge which takes Lister's Road across the Red Beck. An inscription reads
This bridge was built and the diversion of the road made in the year 1809

The battlements were renewed in 1822

Mytholme Farm House, Hipperholme
Halifax Old Road at Mytholm. Late 18th century farm house. It was a coaching inn in the early 1800s. It is now a private dwelling

Town lying east of Hebden Bridge

Mytholmroyd & Cragg Vale Band

Mytholmroyd & Hawksclough Working Men's Club
Recorded in 1917, when John William Greenwood was secretary.

See Mytholmroyd Working Men's Club

Mytholmroyd & Hebden Bridge Gas Company

Mytholmroyd Benevolent Union Society
In 1817, Isaac Ogden had a Benevolent Union Society at his house in Mytholmroyd

Mytholmroyd British Restaurant
British restaurant opened in 1941/2

Mytholmroyd Building Society
Recorded in 1825

Mytholmroyd Business Park
Built on the site of the former premises of Thornber Brothers Limited

Mytholmroyd Charity Demonstration
The annual event began in 1903. The aim was to raise money for local good causes. It took place over a weekend in Summer, and were held at White House Holme, Mytholmroyd.

With only a break during World War I, it ended in 1939.

It began again as the Mytholmroyd Gala in 1960.

See Demonstration Parade and Sunday Sing

Mytholmroyd Church Lads' Brigade
Associated with Saint Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd.

In October 1914, a number of the older members volunteered for active service. The list included

  • J. Brown

  • A. Carter

  • Harold Clegg

  • W. Farrar

  • B. Fletcher

  • H. Greaves

  • J. E. Greenwood

  • George Hey

  • Albert Jackson

  • J. Jackson

  • C. Longbottom

  • W. Taylor

  • H. Thomas

  • L. Waterhouse

  • J. E. Wilkinson

They joined the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry

Mytholmroyd Community Centre
Opened by the Duke of Gloucester in April 1977. It was built on a part of the site of Thornber Brothers' factory. The World Dock pudding Championship is held here

Mytholmroyd Cow Club
A co-operative established in 1802 to support farmers who suffered hardship when their milch cow died

Mytholmroyd Cricket Club

Mytholmroyd drinking fountain
Cragg Road.

The drinking fountain is inscribed

Presented to the

Mytholmroyd Urban District Council
Charles Robertshaw Esq JP

It originally stood at the end of the County Bridge. It was later moved to its present position on Cragg Road

Mytholmroyd Economic Stores
Burnley Road. A branch of Economic Stores (Halifax) Limited. Stood next to the Dusty Miller and Mytholmroyd Post Office.

Closed in 19??

Mytholmroyd Farm, Mytholmroyd
Originally known as Mytholmroyd, the house is said to have given its name to the district.

It is a late medieval timber-framed T-plan house and was cased in stone in the 17th century. There is a large bressumer beam with board and muntin panelled fire-screen

Richard Draper and Henry Draper are recorded here.

The house has also been known as Saint George's Chapel of Rest and Fold.

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Mytholmroyd Female Society
A male friendly society met at the Dusty Miller, Mytholmroyd in the 1810s

Mytholmroyd Fire Station
The old fire station was built in 18??.

When Hebden Bridge Fire Station closed in 2006, that area of the district was covered by Mytholmroyd fire station.

The old fire station was the pottery of Ted Underhill [2010]

Mytholmroyd Floral & Horticultural Society
Established around 1873. Recorded on 1st September 1888, when their 15th Annual Show was held in a field near the railway station

Mytholmroyd Gala
After a break of some 20 years, Mytholmroyd Demonstration recommenced as the Mytholmroyd Gala in 1960. The Gala is still in existence, and takes place in September as a one-day event

Mytholmroyd goose fair
An annual fair held in November at the County Bridge, Mytholmroyd. Began in 1??? Ended in 1???

Mytholmroyd Historical Society
Established by Jack Uttley in 1991.

The Society meets in Mytholmroyd Methodist Church at 7:30 pm on the Second 2nd Friday of the month from September to April

More information: Contact: Mrs Molly Sunderland / Telephone: 01422-884980

Mytholmroyd Industrial Co-operative Society
Established in 1861. In 1864, the Society opened premises on New Road.

In 1934, they absorbed the Cragg Vale Co-operative & Industrial Society

Mytholmroyd Industrial Society
Opened in 18?? at a cottage at Square, Scout Road.

In 1861, the society moved to larger premises next to the White Lion, Burnley Road.

The head office and store were in New Road. The store in New Road is now private dwellings.

In 1869, the society built 8 houses at Grove Terrace and a further 12 houses in 1874

Mytholmroyd Library
Cragg Road, Mytholmroyd

Mytholmroyd Local Board
In 1892, the administrative district was formed out of parts of Midgley, Erringden, Sowerby, and Wadsworth.

See Local Board and Luddendenfoot Local Board

Mytholmroyd Musical Festival

Mytholmroyd Musical Society
Recorded in 1927

Mytholmroyd Nurses' Home

Mytholmroyd Parish Church

Mytholmroyd Police Station
Contributor David Cant writes
A large scale map of Mytholmroyd in the 1950s marks a police station between Mytholmroyd Farm and where the Good Shepherd Church is today. The houses on the site look as if they might have been police houses from that period

Mytholmroyd Post Office
Recorded in 1845 at the Dusty Miller when Charles Crowther was postmaster.

Recorded in 1861 at Cragg Bottom when Ratcliffe Rushworth was postmaster.

Recorded in 1874. It was then at the same address as the business run by Jno Smith, bootmaker

See Mytholmroyd branch of the Economic Stores

Mytholmroyd Railway Station
The Manchester & Leeds Railway came to Mytholmroyd in 1841. The first temporary station opened here in May 1847

A new station opened in December 1871. The platforms overhung the Mytholmroyd Viaduct and were reached by the distinctive stair-tower.

The booking hall and stair tower are listed.

In March 1934, a parcel was thrown from the Manchester to Leeds train as it passed through the station and fell at the feet of a clergyman. It was found to contain £100 worth of watches and jewellery which had been stolen from a shop in Manchester on 21st March 1934.

On 3rd September 1947, the goods yard inspector at the station, was killed in a shunting accident.

The platform and some of the buildings which overhung the viaduct, were removed in the 1980s. Staff were withdrawn in 1985. The old station was boarded up in 1991.

There are plans to established the Ted Hughes Poetry Centre in the building, and it is also hoped to house the Alice Longstaff Gallery Collection here

See Todmorden Station Partnership

Mytholmroyd Recreation Ground
Dale View, Mytholmroyd

Mytholmroyd Rugby Club

See Edward Whiteley Collinson and George Albert Titterington

Mytholmroyd Station

Mytholmroyd UDC Offices
The offices for Mytholmroyd Urban District Council were in Cragg Road.

Built in 1???.

Discontinued (possibly) in 1937, when the UDC amalgamated with Hebden Bridge Urban District Council to become Hebden Royd Urban District Council.

The building is now private houses

Mytholmroyd Urban District Council
Began in 1891. The offices were in Cragg Road.

In 1937, it amalgamated with Hebden Bridge Urban District Council to become Hebden Royd Urban District Council.

The inaugural – and the final closing – meetings were held at the Dusty Miller.

See Sir Charles Robertshaw and Urban District Council

Mytholmroyd Viaduct
Built about 1840 by George Stephenson for the Manchester & Leeds Railway. There are 3 arches.

The platforms of Mytholmroyd Station overhung the viaduct

Mytholmroyd War Memorial
The memorial to those who fell in World War I, was unveiled on 2nd July 1922. It stood on land belonging to Calder Grange House, Mytholmroyd.

It is a statue of Portland limestone, on a granite plinth. The 5 ft 8 in high statue depicts a soldier in battle-dress standing on a rock and resting his hands on his gun.

The memorial remembering those who served in World War I and World War II now stands in a small memorial garden just off Burnley Road, Mytholmroyd near the Dusty Miller pub.

The head of the soldier has had a troubled history. It was removed by vandals [October 1992] and a new head was donated by Andy Barraclough. The head was again taken and replaced with a new version carved by John Swift at Shaw Lodge Mills [September 2011]. To celebrate the event, Jade Smith compiled a book entitled Royd Regeneration which records the citizens of Mytholmroyd who gave their lives in the Great War and the Second World War

Mytholmroyd Working Men's Club
See Mytholmroyd & Hawksclough Working Men's Club

Myths, tales & legends


search tips advanced search
search engine by freefind

© Malcolm Bull 2014 /
Revised 12:32 on 19th April 2014 / m / 986