Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

L



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


La Le Li Ll Lo Lu Ly Wh


L. & Y. Varnish & Colour Company
Paint and varnish makers at Broad Street, Halifax [1905]

La Plaine, Soyland
Property owned by Thomas Royds and the Royds family

La Trobe Bateman
See John Frederick La Trobe Bateman

Labour
See Conservatives and Liberals

Lacey
Another form of the surname is Lacey.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

See Lacy family of Cromwellbottom and Lacy family of Todmorden

The Lacey family of Cromwellbottom
The name is variously written de Lacy Lacey, Laci, Lacie, Lacy, and Lascy. The family came to the district with Ilbert [1045-1093] and Walter de Lacy [1046-1085]. The family lived at Cromwellbottom and spread to other parts of the district.

See Elland Feud, Gamel, History On Your Doorstep, Robert Holdesworth, John de Warren and Leising


Being an ancient family, the Lacys have a great number of descendants, and frequently inter-married with other local families.

The various researchers have contributed generously to the entries here, though their versions of the names, dates and relationships of these descendants may conflict at some point.

What you see here may be incorrect at many places, but it will give the general reader some idea of who the family were and what they achieved through the generations

 

Lacey, Charles
[1804-18??] Born in Somerset.

He was a beerseller at Northowram [1861]; a beerseller in Halifax [1864].

In October 1864, he was declared bankrupt.

He married Hannah [1805-18??], born in Kidderminster.

Children: (1) Harriet Lucy [b 1834] who was a woollen weaver [1861]; (2) Hannah [b 1839] who married John Smith [1835-1???]; (3) John [b 1841] who was a woollen dyer [1861]; (4) Charles [b 1844] who was an iron moulder [1861]; (5) Emma [b 1847] who was a cotton spinner [1861]; (6) Margaret [b 1849] who was a cotton spinner [1861].

The family lived at 7 Park Road, Northowram [1861].

Living with them in 1861, were daughter Hannah, her husband John Smith, and granddaughters Ann [aged 6] and Emily [aged 1 month], and 4 lodgers

Lacey Hey Farm, Midgley
Towngate. Aka Lassey Hey.

It was owned by the Lacy family.

Originally a timber-framed house, this is one of the oldest properties in the area. Dated RW/1672 – for Robert Watmough – and 1678.

It originally had 3 cells with a through-passage, and outshut to the rear.

There is a continuous drip mould.

The site was known as Lassey-Hey and Patchett's Place during the early 19th century.

Owners and tenants have included

Early Methodist New Connexion meetings were held at Pickles Row before they moved to Lassey Hey [April 1819]

Around 1843, Benjamin Walker and John Edmondson sold the property to Richard Patchett, a rectifier of spirits, and Thomas Patchett, a spirit merchant of Manchester, who borrowed on the security of the property. Richard Patchett sold the estate to George Bedford.

In 1862, George Whitaker was tenant to George Bedford, whose daughter married into the Whitaker family.

In 1912, Richard Whitaker bought then resold the property to Mr Admiral Walker.

The second cell was changed for farm use in the 19th century. The roof later collapsed.

An early 18th century wing to the rear was demolished, the left bay was extended at the rear about 1978.

Extensive repairs during the late 20th century revealed shutters and cops embedded in the plaster walls of the bedrooms, suggesting that the upper rooms were used for weaving.

Now a farmhouse and cottage.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

Brearley Hall, Luddendenfoot Brearley Old Hall, Luddendenfoot Lower Brearley Hall, Midgley Upper Brearley Hall

Lacey, John
[1???-1623] Aka Lacy.

A felon – popularly known as the Running Man – who, in 1617, famously escaped execution under the Gibbet Law by running beyond the boundary defined by the Forest of Hardwick.

Unfortunately, he returned to Halifax seven years later when he was captured and executed on 29th January 1623.

Watson's extract from the Register Books at Halifax records the execution as

John Lacy, perditissimus nebulo & latro, decollatus Jan 29, 1623

John Lacy, most depraved scoundrel & robber, beheaded Jan 29, 1623

Some sources give 1625 as the year of his execution.

See Running Man pub

Laci, Robert de
[11??-1193] Of Pontefract. Son of Henry de Lacy.

He was the first husband of Isabel de Warenne. They had no children.

He had an illegitimate son, Gilbert.

After his death, the de Lacy estates passed to Albreda de Lizours

Laci, Roger de
The name taken by Roger de Lizours

Lacy...
The entries for people with the surname Lacy are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Lacy
Another form of the surname is Lacey

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

and De Lacy

There are currently around 52 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Lacy. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Lacy family of Brearley Hall
They lived at Brearley Hall, Luddendenfoot.

Members of the family included: Gerard Lacy, Gilbert Lacy, Gilbert Lacy and Hugh Lacy.

They owned other property including: Lacey Hey Farm, Midgley.

They were lords of the Manor of Midgley

The Lacy family of Todmorden
19th century family – including brothers John and his brothers, Thomas, Gilbert and David – who owned several mills and other property in the Upper Calder Valley.

See Callis Mill, Charlestown, David Lacy, Henry Lacy, Lacy House, Charlestown, Stoodley Hall, Travis Holme Mill, Walsden and Underbank Hall, Charlestown

Lacy House, Hebden Bridge
Pennine Way, Charlestown. House dated IR 1793 for John Rawdon who built the house.

Members of the Lacy family – including Gilbert Lacy and his son Henry – lived here.

In 1891, John Stead lived here.

It is now 2 dwellings

Lad Stones, Todmorden
Baulk Head Lane. Early 17th century house.

Nearby property – mid 17th century cottage, an early 18th century cottage, and an early 19th century barn - are also listed

Ladies Association for the Training of Neglected & Friendless Children

Recorded in 1901, when it was at 14 Bull Close Lane, Halifax

Fanny A. Symonds was Matron, Edna Oddy [1878-19??] was Assistant Matron and inmates included

  • Elizabeth E. Lumb [b 1887]

  • Louisa Tiffany [b 1887]

  • Eliza Walker [b 1888]

  • Nora Leyland [b 1888]

  • Phoebe E. Land [b 1889]

  • Rosina Scargill [b 1889]

Ladies' Bible Association
Established in 1819 for the ladies of Brighouse, Rastrick, Southowram, Lightcliffe and Clifton. Mrs Holland and Mrs Clay were the first Presidents

Ladies' Lying-In Charity
Recorded in 1845 at Bradley's Croft, New Road, Halifax when the Matron was Elizabeth Sunderland

Ladstone Café, Norland Moor
Recorded in 1930

Ladstone Rock, Norland Moor
Natural rocky outcrop.

Crabtree suggests the name may be derived from Old English roots meaning purgation by trial. Watson suggests that the stone may have been used for sacrificial purposes in earlier times, and that the name may be derived from Celtic roots related to the Welsh lladd, [to cut, to kill]. See also lad and law.

This is not very likely, and other suggestions are that the name meant a place where young men gathered, or that the stone resembles the figure of a boy.

It is said that witches were thrown from the rock in the Middle Ages.

In 1922, a gambling circle was busted here and 8 men were arrested.

Crabtree mentions another Ladstone in Sowerby which was recorded about 1516 but is now lost. It is recorded that this may have been broken up and the stone

used in building a church

Ladstone Towers, Sowerby Bridge
Block of flats named for Ladstone Rock at Norland.

In 1965, an area of poor-quality housing in the town was demolished. 2 blocks of flats – known as Ladstone Towers and Houghton Towers – were built on the land.

Lady Bountiful
The name given to an anonymous donor who gave considerable sums for the building of Saint Mark's Church, Siddal. It was later learned that she was Lady Lilia Boucher of Blackheath, London

Lady Royd, Brookfoot
A group of houses at the top of Brookfoot Hill.

A tablet set into what was a window is that from Sir William Staines's Charity School.

See Delver's Arms, Southowram

Ladyship, Halifax
Area of Halifax off Old Lane. Recorded in 1874

Ladyship, Ovenden
Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

See Ladyship Mills, Ovenden and Lordship, Ovenden

Ladyship Wools
Knitting wool. Trademark of Baldwin & Walker.

See Ladyship Mills

Ladywell House, Lightcliffe
See Lower German House

Ladywell House, Soyland
Crabtree says that the name comes from a nearby spring which was dedicated to the Virgin Mary, and that the area was known as Ladyland

Lady Willy's Tea Rooms
Popular name for the Colden restaurant

Laidler, W.
[18??-19??] Clerk at Halifax.

In March 1875, he was declared bankrupt

Lainton, Thomas Samuel
[1841-1896] He was a cabinet maker at 23 Kings Cross Lane, Halifax [1873].

On 8th January 1873, he married Ann Amelia, daughter of Herbert Hadley, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Clara [b 1875] who married [1907] Harry Dobson; (2) Lewis [1879-1937]; (3) Amelia [1880-1906]

Laithe Croft, Northowram
Land where – during the ministry of Rev Robert Hesketh – the parsonage for Heywood's Chapel, Northowram was built

Laithe Farm, Hebden Bridge
Built in the 1860s, this is said to have been the last farm to be built in Crimsworth Dean

Lake Calder
Aka Lake Calderdale. After the last Ice Age, a lake occupied much of the valley between Brighouse, Elland, Halifax and west to Todmorden, bounded at Mirfield and Huddersfield in the south by debris left by the glaciers.

All land less than 400 ft above sea-level was underwater.

The waters broke through the moraine and receded to leave just the river Calder flowing in the valley bottom through the swampy landscape.

The gravels have been successfully gathered for making concrete

Lake, Bishop John
[1624-1689] Son of a Halifax grocer.

Born in Petticoat Lane, Halifax.

He attended Heath Grammar School. He went to St John's College Cambridge and gained a BA before he was 13 years of age.

After gaining his BA degree, he was imprisoned in his college along with other Royalists during the Civil War. He escaped and joined the Royalist Army in Oxford, being wounded several times on battle. He fought at Lathom House [1644], Basing House [1645], and Wallingford [1646]. He had to pay decimation.

In 1647, he was ordained as a minister of the Church of England. He preached at Halifax Parish Church.

He married Miss Dean.

He was Vicar of Leeds [1660]; Bishop of Sodor and Man [December 1682]; Bishop of Bristol [August 1684]; Dean of York; Bishop of Chichester [1685]. In 1688, he was imprisoned – for one week – in the Tower of London James II for being one of the Seven Bishops who presented a petition against the king's Catholic laws.

He refused to take an oath of allegiance to William and Mary

He was buried at St Botolph's Church, Bishopgate, London.

His sister, Sara, married John Milner.

Lake, William
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Armoured Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lakey, Ernest
[1893-1915] Son of Robert Lakey.

Born in Halifax [December 1915].

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [February 1894].

He was a woollen spinning mill hand [1911]; a labourer at the Electricity Works.

In 1914, he married Edith Berry in Halifax.

Children: child.

The family lived at 11 Fitzwilliam Street, Halifax [1915].

During World War I, he enlisted in 1914 and served as a Lance Corporal with the 9th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment). He went to the Front [16th June 1915].

He was killed in action – shot through the lung & heart whilst on patrol [23rd November 1915].

He was buried at Birr Cross Roads Cemetery, Belgium [IV A 2].

In 1917, Edith married Percy Appleyard

Lakey, Robert
[1859-1???] Son of William James Lakey, blacksmith.

Born in Glasgow.

He was a blacksmith of Gas House Lane, Southowram [1891]; a blacksmith [1901]; a general ironsmith at boiler makers [1911].

On 22nd August 1891, he married Eliza Annie Wood [1864-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Eliza Annie was the daughter of Charles Wood.

In the 1891 census, before their marriage, Eliza (housekeeper)  was living with Robert and their daughter Lily

 

Children: (1) Lily A [b 1888]; (2) Robert [1892] who died in infancy; (3) Ernest; (4) William / Willie [b 1895] who was a woollen spinning mill hand [1911].

The family lived at Gas House Lane, Southowram [1891]; 8 Hardcastle's Buildings, Southowram [1891]; 15 Bank Street, Halifax [1901]; 24 Great Albion Street, Halifax [1911]

Lally, Pamela
[1965-] Née Hallowell. She was Mayor of Todmorden [2007-2008]

Lamb, A.
[18??-18??] Fishmonger at Halifax.

In August 1868, he was declared bankrupt

Lamb, Sir Albert [Larry]
[1929-2000] Son of a miner.

Born in Fitzwilliam, West Riding.

He worked at the Brighouse Echo, and went on to work on The Sun and The Daily Express.

See Sam Arnold Brown

Lamb, J. S.
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Hipperholme [1835]

Lambard House, West Vale
A name by which Lambert House appears in some documents.

Jonas Pollard of Lambard House is mentioned in a document relating to a sale of land in Wyke [1633]

Lambert, A.
[18??-19??] Herbalist at 58 Ovenden Road, Halifax [1906]

Lambert, Ambrose
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Lambert Croft, Elland
The name given – on a plan of 1614 and a map of 1770 – to the triangle of land between [what is now] Saddleworth Road, Stainland Road and Rochdale Road

Lambert's: Fenton & Robert Lambert
Robert Lambert set up his sons – Fenton Thomas and Robert – in partnership.

They were cotton manufacturers at Lambert's Mill, Ripponden [1800] and Stones Mill, Ripponden [1809].

The partnership was dissolved in August 1819 when Robert Lambert emigrated to Australia

Lambert, Fenton Thomas
[1772-1837] Son of Robert Lambert.

His father set up him and his half-brother, Robert, in partnership as Fenton & Robert Lambert, at Stones Mill, Ripponden.

On the death of his father, he inherited Elland Hall.

On 24th May 1806, he married Maria Hoyle from Soyland.

Children: (1) Thomas Fenton Lambert; (2) Robert [1816-1848].

The family lived at Elland Hall [1807]

Lambert, Rev Frederick William
[19??-19??] He was in Suffolk before becoming Vicar of Sowerby Bridge [1956-1974]

Lambert Hall, West Vale
A name by which Lambert House appears in some documents.

Lambert House, Rochdale Road, West Vale
House dated AM 1887 - (possibly) for Albert Maude.


This property is not to be confused with the Lambert House on Stainland Road which became the Shears Inn
 

Owners and tenants have included

Lambert House, Stainland Road, West Vale
16th century farm.

Aka Lambard House, Lammarde House, Lambert Hall, Lombard House, Lomard House, and Priestley House


This property is not to be confused with the Lambert House on Rochdale Road
 

The estate was sold in 1851. The house became the Shears Inn around that time.

See Elland-tide day and Lambert Close, West Vale

Lambert, John
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1855, when he was a Methodist minister in Halifax

Lambert, Rev John
[19??-] Minister at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden [1997]

Lambert, Joseph
[1???-1???] Of Milnworth, Sandal Magna.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas Lambert; (2) Robert Lambert

Lambert, Mr
[16??-17??] Vicar of Coley for about 6 months [1681]

Lambert, Robert
[1741-1807] Son of Joseph Lambert.

On the death of his brother Thomas, he inherited Elland Hall.

He married (1) Isabella [17??-1777].

Children: (1) Fenton Thomas; (2) a daughter who married [1806] John Ward of London.

He married (2) Jane Beales.

Children: (2) Robert; (3) Jane Frances who married John Ward

Robert set up his sons – Fenton Thomas and Robert – in partnership as Fenton & Robert Lambert, at Stones Mill, Ripponden.

He died 15th November 1807 [aged 65]

Lambert, Robert
[1786-1852] Son of Robert Lambert.

Born in St James, Westminster.

His father set up him and his half-brother, Fenton Thomas, in partnership as Fenton & Robert Lambert, at Stones Mill, Ripponden.

He married Grace, daughter of John Hoyle.

In 1820, the couple emigrated to Australia. He named his property there Holwood, the name of the Surrey home of his sister Jane Framcis and brother-in-law John Ward.

He died in Sydney

Lambert, Roper & Horsfield Limited
Accountants.

Partners included Frank Lambert, Keith Roper, and Mr Horsfield.

They were at 34 Clare Road, Halifax [1960s] and Hope Hall Mills, Halifax [1990s]

Lambert, Stephen
[1871-1891] Son of stone miner Robert Lambert of Rastrick.

Stephen died after being struck on the head by a piece of shale at Solomon Marshall's Slead Syke Quarry, Brighouse on 5th January 1891. This caused a contused wound to the scalp and resulted in blood poisoning

Lambert, Thomas
[1734-1803] Of Elland Hall.

Son of Joseph Lambert.

On 25th May 1767, he married Frances Dyson. They had no children.

On 21st (or 14th) September 1803, he was riding his horse [near Halifax] when a market cart

with 2 spirited horses

ran into him at full speed. He was trampled by the horse, breaking 6 of his ribs and causing most shocking disfigurement. He died later that day

Lambert, Thomas
[18??-19??] Chemist and druggist at Stainland [1861]

Lambert, Thomas Fenton
[1815-1889] Son of Fenton Thomas Lambert.

He was Registrar of births and deaths for the Elland district [1861, 1881]; Municipal Registrar of Births and Deaths [1889].

On 30th December 1839, he married Mary Lambert in Sandal.

The family lived at Stainland [1861, 1889]

Lambley, Rev R. H.
[18??-1???] Minister at Todmorden Unitarian Church [he resigned on 16th March 1888]

Lambourne, Rev F. J.
[18??-19??] Vicar of Hartshead [1914-1925]

Lammarde House, West Vale
A name by which Lambert House appears in some documents.

Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited

See The Story of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Bank Limited [1872-1922]

The Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company

Lancashire-Yorkshire border

Lancaster, Charles
[18??-18??] Partner in Lancaster's: Thomas & Charles Lancaster [1853]

Lancaster's: E. Lancaster & Son
Fruiterer, wholesale fish and poultry dealer originally established in 1856 by Joseph Lancaster at 47-48 Commercial Street, Brighouse

Lancaster, George
[18??-1???] Son of Joseph Lancaster.

He took over the family business of E. Lancaster & Son and was joined by his son

Lancaster, Henry
[1828-1911] Of Brighouse.

He married Hannah.

They had an adopted daughter Judith Hannah Akroyd [1854-1859]

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Lancaster's: Henry & Samuel Lancaster
Fancy woollen manufacturers at Bridge Street, Brighouse [1861]

Lancaster, J. E.
[1896-1915] Son of Phoebe Lancaster of 10 Ernest Street, Cornholme, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Queen's Own (Royal West Kent Regiment).

He died 23rd July 1915 (aged 19).

He was buried at the Divisional Cemetery [C 24].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lancaster, John
[1???-1???] A Brighouse inn-keeper.

See Brighouse Cow Club

Lancaster, John
[1742-1818] Of Brighouse.

Recorded in 1811, when an auction was held

at the house of Mr John Lancaster, the Black Swan in Brighouse

His house appears to have been used for several auctions and other meetings around that time, including the Trustees of the proposed Elland & Obelisk Turnpike [1815]

Lancaster, John
[18??-1???] Manager of the abattoir at Bridge End Co-Op, Rastrick which opened in September 1872

Lancaster, Joseph
[18??-1???] In 1856, he established the business which became E. Lancaster & Son.

He married Unknown.

Children: George.

His son took over the business

Lancaster, Thomas
[18??-18??] Machine maker, ironfounder, maker of carding engines, piecing machines, tenter hooks and shake woolleys [?] at Canal Works, Brighouse [1861]. Partner in Lancaster's: Thomas & Charles Lancaster [1853]

Lancaster's: Thomas & Charles Lancaster
Machine makers at Brighouse.

Partners included Thomas Lancaster and Charles Lancaster.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1853

Lancaster, William
[1816-1883] Of Hipperholme. He was a solicitor in Bradford.

He married Ann [1806-1881].

The couple were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Land & Foster
Halifax legal firm at 10 Ward's End, Halifax [1934].

See James Willie Dinsdale and Duncan C. Winter

Land Bridge, Blackshawhead
Bridge across Colden Water at Land, Colden

Land, Colden
Aka School Land, Colden. Area around Colden Water.

See Land Bridge, Blackshawhead, Land Farm, Blackshawhead, Land Mill, Blackshawhead and School Land Farm, Colden

Land Farm, Blackshawhead
House at Land, Colden. Dated 17 IMG 55.

The windows and porch were taken from Schofield Hall, Rochdale, when it was demolished.

See School Land Farm, Colden

Land, James
[1811-1863] Of Brighouse.

He married Mary Ann [1816-1892].

Children: (1) John James [1841-1844] who died aged 2 years & 6 months; (2) Elizabeth Ann [1847] who died aged 6 weeks.

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Land, John
[1817-1???] Confectioner.

Born in Wirksworth, Derbyshire.

He married Mary [1816-1???] from Matlock.

Children: (1) Millicent [b 1844] who was a dressmaker [1871]; (2) Hannah Elizabeth [b 1847] who was a confectioner's assistant [1871]

Land, Colonel William Henry
[1859-1922] CBE.

Born in Scarborough. Son of Mary and Alderman William C. Land, a grocer/wine merchant in Scarborough.

He came to Halifax in the 1880s.

He was a solicitor's articled clerk in Scarborough [1881]; a partner in Holroyde & Smith.

He left Holroyde & Smith in 1906 to take a more active participation in the working of some granite quarries in the Midlands.

He was 2nd Lieutenant in the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellingtons West Riding Regiment under Colonel W. G. Gray [10th March 1888]; Lieutenant [September 1889]; Lieutenant Colonel [1901]; Honorary Colonel [1908].

His regiment was stationed in Bermuda for some time for garrison duty. He was then Acting Governor and Commander-in-Chief.

In 1885, he married Kate Eliza Moore in Scarborough.

Children: (1) Dorothy Mary or Dorothea [b 1886]; (2) Sybil Catherine [b 1888].

In 1912, Dorothy Mary married Joseph Herbert Phillips from Ansley Hall, Warwickshire. Her husband was an ancestor of Mark Phillips, the first husband of Princess Anne.

Colonel Land died at the Prince of Wales Hotel, Scarborough where he had been in residence for some time

Landale, John
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Landimer

Landimer, Northowram
A name used in old documents for Landmere Syke

Landimere

Landimere, Shelf
Aka Landemere. Early tenants of the property included the Saltonstall family. A later house was built and occupied by Richard Best.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

See Rev Joseph Dawson and Rev William Northend

Landin, Strickson
[1848-1926] Born in Wood Newton, Northamptonshire.

He moved to Ripponden and became a clerk to Parker Swinglehurst Holt.

He was Secretary of the Ripponden Conservative Club; a general clerk in a solicitor's office [1881]; a solicitor's clerk [1891, 1898, 1901, 1905]; a law clerk [1911].

On 2nd November 1876, he married Sarah Grace Otter [1849-1908] from Beckingham, Nottinghamshire, in Bolton.

Children: (1) Annie [b 1877] who married [1917] Henry E. Gee in Halifax; (2) Francis [1881] who died at the age of 4 weeks; (3) Henry Otter [1882-1952] who was an iron founder's moulder [1901]; (4) William [b 1886] who was a blacksmith's apprentice [1901], a paper maker [1911]; (5) Edith Evelyn [b 1892] who married John R. Garside.

The family lived at 5 Small Lees, Soyland [1881]; May Field, Ripponden [1891]; 9 Elland Road, Soyland [1901]; 7 Elland Road, Ripponden [1911].

Living with them in 1881 was their niece Hilda Mary Sissons [aged 9] from Gainsborough.

Living with them in 1911 was a visitor Catherine E Markham [aged 45] from Gainsborough (she was son William's sister-in-law).

Strickson was staying with his daughter Edith Evelyn and son-in-law John R. Garside at 16 Cedar Street, Halifax when he died [26th August 1926]. An obituary described him as

one of the best known men in his day in the Ripponden area

The couple were buried at St Bartholomew's, Ripponden

Landlords of local pubs

Landmere
This word has several spellings, including
Landimer
Landmere
Landimere
Landemere

for places in and around Shelf and Northowram

Landon House, Halifax
4 Ferguson Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Lands Farm, Rastrick
Recorded in 1910

Lands Head, Northowram
Built around 1580. Owners and tenants have included

It was the White Horse pub until 1913. It is now a private house.

See Landshead, Northowram and Marsh Hall, Northowram

Lands House, Rastrick
New Hey Road.

The French Château design is similar to that of Park Methodist Chapel, Brighouse, suggesting that Rogerson may have designed the house.

The was the home of William Smith.

On 22nd December 1894, the roof was hit by a storm and damaged Mr Smith's billiard table.

In 1905, General William Booth stayed with the family.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now a residential home

Lands Reservoir, Rastrick
Dewsbury Road. Underground reservoir. Started in 1956. It had a capacity of 750,000 gallons and replaced the earlier Lands Reservoir

Lands Reservoir, Rastrick
Dewsbury Road. Underground reservoir. Started in 18??. It had a capacity of 260,000 gallons. It was superseded by the new Lands Reservoir

Landseer, Sir Edwin Henry
[1802-1873] English painter known for his paintings of animals, and his sculptures of the lions in Trafalgar Square, London.

He was a member of the exclusive group, known as The Bolton Bachelors, and travelled through Halifax and Haworth to Keighley & Bolton Hall almost every autumn until mid 1840s.

He praised the sculpture of a life-size group of bloodhounds by Joseph Bentley Leyland.

Like Leyland, he studied under Benjamin Haydon.

Landshead
Former name of Marsh Hall, Northowram.

See Lands Head, Northowram

Lane Ends Farm, Norland
House dated 1628 of hall-and-cross-wing design.

A dripmould bears the initials EW.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 3 dwellings

Lane Ends, Hipperholme
The house was cased in stone in 1650.

Owners and tenants have included

The fine plasterwork was lost when the building was improved in 1934

Lane Farm, Stansfield

Lane Head Bar, Brighouse
The toll bar at Lane Head on the Brighouse-Denholme Gate Turnpike served the junction of Waterloo Road and Halifax Road.

In 1840, the side gates and chairs at the toll gate were advertised to let by auction at the George, Brighouse.

It was incorporated into Lane Head Chapel, Brighouse in 1864, and – now a private house – still remains

Lane Head Bowling Club
Established in 1899. Alfred Hirst acquired a bowling green at Lane Head which was formally opened on 21st August 1899.

The green was 35½ yards square.

The club had a membership of 70 [1899]. Members included James Dyson

Lane Head, Brighouse
Area at the top of Brighouse Wood Lane – aka The Top of Brighouse.

See Brighouse Post Office, Brooke's Almshouses, Elland Feud, Lane Head Toll Booth, Brighouse, Sir Gillery Piggott and The Drake family of Ashday

Lane Head Church Cricket Club
Founded on 24th June 1967 by members of Lane Head Methodist Church.

A detailed history of the club can be found in the book entitled Memory will play again

Lane Head Co-operative Store, Brighouse
Charles Street. Branch #20 of the Brighouse District Industrial Society opened on Saturday, 4th June 1904

Lane Head Farm, Causeway Foot
Late 17th / early 18th century farmhouse

Lane Head Farm, Ovenden
Lane Head Lane. Early 18th century farmhouse.

See Upper Lane Head Farm, Ovenden

Lane Head Farm, Ripponden
15/17 Lane Head Road. Aka Lane Head Hall. Farmhouse dated ERG 1727 for Elkanah Hoyle.

It is now 2 dwellings

Lane Head House, Brighouse
Originally the home of the Leppington family at Lane Head. It became the Lane Head Hotel

Lane Head House, Heptonstall
Smithwell Lane. House dated 1735. Now 2 dwellings (Numbers 1 and 4) 

Lane Head House, Ogden
Owners and tenants have included

Lane Head Post Office, Brighouse
A wall post-box was moved to Lane Head from Rig-ma-down in the late 19th century. The Post Office opened in 18??. It closed in 200?.

See Brighouse Post Office

Lane Head Recreation Ground, Brighouse
See Brighouse Recreation Ground and Demonstration Parade

Lane Head, Soyland
17th-century yeoman clothier's house. The lintel is dated RF MF for Richard Firth [1627] and Michael Foxcroft [1692] or for Rachel and Michael Foxcroft

Lane House Bridge, Luddendenfoot
A narrow, stone foot-bridge over Lud Brook. A wooden bridge is mentioned in 1768

Lane House, Luddenden
Owners and tenants have included

Lane, John
[1???-15??] Landlord of the Fox & Goose, Hebden Bridge [1534].

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Lane, John
[15??-15??] Son of John Lane.

He married Agnes Walker

Lane, John J.
[18??-1???] Of Brighouse. He wrote several poems, some of which were circulated as leaflets. His Wayside Thoughts was a collection of around 50 poems which included Jessie's Last Request – a homely ballad for Band of Hope recitation and Rags and Tatters

Lane Top Farm, Todmorden
Crossley New Road. House dated 1672. It was (possibly) rebuilt in the early 18th century

Lanebottom
Area of Todmorden

Lanebottom Bridge, Walsden
Bottomley Road. Bridge #38 over the Rochdale Canal

Lanebottom, Walsden
Area of Todmorden

Lanehouse Nursery Gardens, Luddendenfoot
In 1906, the Gardens advertised
tea and refreshments supplied for large or small parties ... good stabling ... a dark room

The proprietor was G. Bloomer

Laneside
Area of Todmorden

Laneside House, Todmorden
Rochdale Road.

In 1783, Joshua Fielden built the house and set up a cotton spinning business here and at Millbrook House, which stands next door.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Lang, Don
Stage name of Gordon Langhorn

Lang, William Arthur
[1919-2006] Aka Willie or Bill.

Born in County Mayo, Ireland.

He was a self-trained musician; a child prodigy with the Bradford Band; an apprentice builder and stone mason.

He became a member of the Norland Band, assistant principal cornet player in the Black Dike Mills Brass Band [at the age of 16], a member of the Hallé Orchestra, a member of the BBC Northern Symphony Orchestra, with the West Riding Orchestra, and a member and lead trumpet with the London Symphony Orchestra.

He played on the Beatles recording of Hey Jude [1968].

With the LSO, he performed in the theme to Star Wars [1977] and Superman: The Movie [1978].

During World War II, he served as a tank commander in Italy and North Africa. He was injured in friendly fire.

When he retired from performing, he became music master at Eton College.

He died in Harrogate [14th December 2006]

Langdale, Elizabeth
[1598-1654] Daughter of Peter Langdale of Beverley.

She married Abraham Sunderland.

Her brother, Sir Marmaduke Langdale [1622-1698], was a Royalist general during the Civil War

Langdale House, Elland
Mildred Crossley lived here

Langdale, J. Marmaduke
[18??-18??] Of Elland.

See Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Railway

Langdale, James
[1???-18??] Of Surrey and France.

He owned land in and around Elland. He built many houses in the town and named some of the streets, such as James Street, Langdale Street, Catherine Street, (possibly) Elizabeth Street, Frances Street, and Gordon Street, for members of his family.


Question: Does anyone know anything about James or the family?

 

Typically, he built the houses in small blocks of 2 or 4 – so that they would be affordable. This can still be seen in the pattern of housing in the streets.

See Cartledge family

Langdon, Mrs
[18??-18??] She ran a school at Ovenden [around 1845]

Langfield
Area of Calderdale around Hebden Bridge.

See Parish statistics, Saint Paul's Church, Cross Stone, Sowerby Division and Todmorden & Lancashire

Langfield
[Surname]

Langfield Common
Moorland at Langfield above Todmorden.

On mediæval maps, the area is known as Mankinholes Moor.

Stoodley Pike stands on Langfield Common

Langfield House, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

Langfield, Manor of
In Domesday Book this was one of the 9 berewicks belonging to the Manor of Wakefield.

It was given to the Earls of Warren. It became a part of the estate of Sir Stephen Hamerton of Hamerton. When he was executed, the land passed to the crown. It was subsequently owned by the Savile family

Langfield Overseers of the Poor
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Langfield

Langfield Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Langfield included:

Langfield Ward, Todmorden
One of the Electoral Wards of Todmorden. Recorded in 1905

Langfield Workhouse
A workhouse was built at Croft Carr Green in 1786

Langham, Rev E. N.
[18??-19??] Master at Rastrick Grammar School [1891-1923]

Langhorn, George
[18??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1905]. He won caps for England while at Halifax

Langhorn, Gordon
[1925-1992] Born in Halifax [19th January 1925].

Musician, music publisher, composer, trombonist. He played in the trombone section of the Vic Lewis dance band, with whom he made his first recordings. He first appeared on record as a singer when he was a member of a band led by Ken Mackintosh. He adopted his stage name, Don Lang, when he went solo in the mid-1950s. He first recorded for Decca. In 1955, he moved to HMV. He reached the Top 20 in England with a recording of Cloudburst.

His group – Don Lang and his Frantic Five – were resident musicians on BBC TV's Six-Five Special in the 1950's, and he wrote and sang the show's signature tune, Over the points.

The group had hits with cover versions of several US songs, including Chuck Berry's School Day [1957] and Johnny Horton's Sink The Bismarck [1960].

His best known song – Witch Doctor – reached Number 5 in the pop music charts.

Other recordings by the Frantic Five included Hand jive, Ramshackle daddy, Red planet rock, Rock around the cookhouse, Rock rock rock, See you Friday, and They call him Cliff.

In the 1950s, he made many appearances on ABC TV's Oh Boy!.

With Ken Mackintosh and Brian Fahey, he composed the popular The Creep.

He died in London after a long illness with cancer.

His son, Brad Lang, was bassist with the groups ABC, Jade Warrior, Wham, and Wishbone Ash

The Langhton, Ovenden
A messuage in Ovenden. It was recorded in

Langley, Abraham
[16??-1???] In 1681, he bought Fold Farm, Illingworth from Phebe Illingworth

Langley, Abraham
[1653-1706] Of Priestley Green. Son of Richard Langley.

On 25th September 1678, he married the daughter [16??-1682] of Joshua Whitley.

Children: (1) John [1679] who died in infancy; (2) an infant [d 1682].

Heywood writes that

On 26th September 1678 [the day after his marriage], he set out on his journey towards Norwich. The day after that in Lincoln heath, he was set upon by thieves; they robbed him, took his horse worth £10, they cut off his silver buttons, took 15/- of money, he had £3 in a privy pocket which they found not; they left him a pitiful horse not worth anything, beat him though he is no worse, blessed by god

Abraham and his wife did not tell Joshua Whitley, the bride's father, of their marriage, When he found out, Whitley, resolved to drink as much as he could. Heywood writes that

[Whitley] was scarce ever at home and sober; it is judged a wonder that his body is able to abide it

Langley's considerable estate was left to his brother Edward

Langley, Abraham
[1686-17??] Son of Edward Langley.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Ellen [1715-1778] who died unmarried; (2) William [b 1717]

Langley, Abraham
[1869-1910] He was a silk dresser [1902]; landlord of the White Horse, Rastrick [1910].

On 19th May 1902, he married Maria [1859-19??].


Maria [née Quarmby] was the widow of Alfred Charity whom she had married in Halifax in 1884
 

Abraham died on 23rd April 1910.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £114 11/-

Langley, Edward
[1651-1708] Son of Richard Langley.

In 1679, he married Mary Ellis.

Children: (1) Sarah [1679-1680]; (2) Sarah [1680-168?]; (3) Ann [b 1682]; (4) Mary [b 1683]; (5) Sarah [b 1684]; (6) Abraham; (7) Richard [b 1687]; (8) Elizabeth [b 1689]; (9) Judith [b 1693]; (10) Stephen.

He inherited the estate of his brother, Abraham In 1691, Mary inherited Langley Hall, Hipperholme from her father, Stephen. They extended and improved the building. It was at this time that it became known as Langley Hall

Langley Hall, Hipperholme
Aka Langley Farm, Langley House. A house on the site was owned by the Saltonstall family.

It was the manor house for the Manor of Hipperholme. The court leet for the Manor of Brighouse was held here.

In 1602, the house was leased to John Northend who bought it in 1611 when Sir Samuel Saltonstall moved to live in Hull.

In 1655, the house was bought by Stephen Ellis who passed it on to his daughter, Mary.

In 1691, Mary inherited the house. She and her husband, Edward Langley, improved the house and extended it to more than twice its size. It was at this time that the property became known as Langley Hall Their initials were carved over the new front door E L M 1692.

During the 19th century, the house belonged to William Walker and was divided into separate dwellings.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

There was some work by Harry Percy Jackson: carved panelling to head height incorporating botanical details and masonic symbols, door-frames with fluted pilasters topped by protruding capitals, and doors with decorated centre panels. In 1919, the woodwork was acquired by the Lady Lever Art Gallery, Port Sunlight. Some sources say that the woodwork came from Walterclough Hall, Southowram.

The house was demolished in 1943. The doorway dated 1692 from the demolished house was re-used at Coley Hall.

This is discussed in In & About Our Old Homes, Our Home & Country and The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

See Joseph Wright

Langley, Richard
[16??-1683] From a wealthy family of Priestley Green.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Ann [1643-1688] who married Abraham Walker; (2) Edward; (3) Abraham; (4) Richard [1656-1668]; (5) Jeremiah [16??-1655]; (6) Joshua [1658-1662]; (7) John [16??-1670].

See Samuel Guest

Langley, Stephen
[1694-1721] Gent, of Brighouse. Son of Edward Langley

Langton, Frederick C. R.
[18??-18??] He lived at Crowtrees, Rastrick [1857].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) son [b 1857]; (2) son [b 1860]

Langwood, Brighouse
Laverock Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Lapish, John
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Army Service Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Large families
Several people are recorded as having unusually large numbers of children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren.

Foldout lists some of these

Large, John Philip
[1880-1942] Son of Charlotte Jane [née Thwaites] [1843-1926] and John Large [1842-1912]. Charlotte Jane was daughter of May and Thomas Thwaites, shipbuilders of Shoreham.

He had business connections with John Radcliffe Rawnsley.

On 30th April 1919, he married Rawnsley's daughter, Dora.

Children: (1) Gerald Philip [b 1921]; (2) Thomas Derek [b 1924] who went to live in British Columbia, Canada; (3) Mary Monica [b 1925] who went to live in Toronto, Canada.

On their marriage, Rawnsley bought Briarfield, Shibden for the couple.

In 1929, they moved to live in Surrey

Lark Singing Associations
They held competitions to determine which member's lark was the best singer. Several such societies were established in the 19th century, and some local examples were Brighouse Lark Singing Association and Halifax Lark Singing Association

Larkfield
Area of Brighouse near Saint Martin's Parish Church. Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Larkfield, Brighouse
Church Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Larkfield, Brighouse
Sunnybank Road. House built in 18??.

It was used as a school [?]. It was the home of the Leach family [?]. Demolished in 19??

Larkfield Colour Group
Church Lane, Brighouse. Subsidiary of Leach's: A. H. Leach & Company. Established in 19??. In 2002, the company went into liquidation. 24 houses have been built on the site

Lassey & Company
Mining company at Soil Hill [1869]

Lassey, Harry
[18??-19??] Quarry owner at Rushton Hill Quarries, Pellon.

He lived at Sandy Fore [1905]

Lassey Hey, Midgley

Lassey, J.
[18??-19??] Around 1890, he and his son took over the woolstapling business of J. E. H. Thwaite to establish J. Lassey & Son

Lassey's: J. Lassey & Son
Woolstaplers at Bull Close Lane, Halifax. The business was established around 1890 when J. Lassey and his son took over the business of J. E. H. Thwaite.

The Bull Close Lane premises – a 5-storey building – were the property of the Huntriss family

Lassey, John
[18??-1???] From Halifax.

Mining engineer.

In the 1860s, he went to Buckley, North Wales where he acquired the Willow Colliery.

He stayed at the Black Horse in Buckley, and subsequently married the licensee Catherine Hewitt. Through his wife's family, he became a shareholder in the Buckley Colliery Company.

Around 1872, he sold the Willow Colliery to John Watkinson of George Watkinson & Sons Limited for £7,000

Lassey, John
[18??-18??] Donated land for the construction of the Co-operative Mills at Bradshaw

Lassey, John
[1832-1884] Of Mixenden.

He married (Peggy) [1831-1923].

Children: (1) Mary Ellen [1855-1908]; (2) George Henry [1862-1935]; (3) infant; (4) infant; (5) infant; (6) infant.

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Lassey, Joseph
[17??-18??] Built a chapel at Bradshaw which – in 1864 – was superseded by Bradshaw Methodist Chapel

Lassey, Joseph
[1813-1887] Of Bradshaw.

Born in Ovenden.

He was a farmer.

On 28th May 1833, he married Mary Holmes [1811-1878] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Ovenden
 

Children: (1) Polly [1834-1862]; (2) Mary Hannah [1848-1917] who married Sidney Woodhead.

The couple died in Bradshaw: Mary [29th July 1878]; Joseph [10th September 1887].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

The Last Ceramic Café
Stainland Road, West Vale. Business at 6a Stainland Road, West Vale

Latchford Cottage, Todmorden
Broad Gate. Late 18th century house. Now 2 dwellings: Latchford Cottage and Wickenbury Cottage

Latham, Rev Andrew
[1???-16??] Aka Lathom. Vicar of Coley [1638].

He eloped with Jane Boyle whom John Lum's son had planned to marry. The couple fled to York and Leeds where they married. Heywood says that

Lumme was in an exceeding range

and

could never abide Mr Latham after, but persecuted him violently

Latham fled again when the Royalists arrived in the district.

See Isaac Baume

Latham's: J. Latham & Company
Iron founders at Lilleshall Foundry, Halifax. Partners included Jonah Latham

Latham, Jennie
[19??-19??] Halifax Liberal Councillor for Warley Ward. With Miriam Lightowler were the first 2 women councillors

Latham, Jonah
[18??-19??] Partner in J. Latham & Company [1905]

Latham, Old Town
A farmstead at Wadsworth

Latham, William
[18??-18??] Of Halifax.

On 8th October 1839, he was feloniously assaulted by Samuel Holdsworth, George Ibbetson, and Charles Evans. They stole 10/- in silver, a key and other articles.

On 6th March 1840, they all pleaded Not guilty, but the jury returned a verdict of Guilty and all three men were transported for 15 years

Latham, William
[18??-18??] Linen draper at Halifax.

In January 1841, he was declared bankrupt

Lathe, Richard de
[12??-13??] He was accused of incest with Joan de Heton, a nun at Kirklees Nunnery

Lathom, Alice de
[1290-1???] Of Lathom, Lancashire. Daughter of Sir Robert de Lathom and Katherine de Knowsley.

She was the first wife of Sir John de Eland

Latimer, Thomas Tracey
[18??-1???] From Exeter.

He was the first editor of The Halifax Courier in collaboration with Robert Phelps

Latin Mottoes & Texts
Foldout collects some of the Latin and other texts which can be found in the district

Laude-Marcq, Florent
[18??-19??] Director of the Berlitz School of Languages, Halifax.

He lived at Portland House [1905]

Laundries

Laura Mitchell Clinic
Great Albion Street, Halifax. Opened by the Duchess of Kent on 23rd October 1968. Named for Mayor Laura Annie Mitchell.

See Saint James Parsonage, Halifax

Laurel Bank, Holmfield
Holdsworth Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Laurel Bank, Lightcliffe
Sutherland Road.

The property is recorded as having 9 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

Laurel, Stan
[1890-1965] Comin actor.

In 1906, the thin half of the Laurel & Hardy comedy team appeared at the Albert Theatre, Brighouse under his real name Arthur Stanley Jefferson. This was more than 20 years before the pair worked together.

In September 1909, he appeared in Alone in the World at Todmorden Hippodrome

Laurie, Rev Oscar Sidney
[18??-19??] MA.

Born in Burntisland, Fife.

He served in Dundee before becoming Vicar of Brighouse [September 1901-1911].

He bought the land for Saint Chad's Church, Hove Edge. He was chaplain of Brighouse Scout troop – the Brighouse Laurie Command.

He lived at Brighouse vicarage.

Living with him in 1911 were boarders Edward North Redfern, James Arthur Frederick Hybart, and John Ernest Gordon Leach.

He went on to become Rector of Poplar, east London.

There is a memorial reredos for him in Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Laverack Hall
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated.

See Laverock

Laverock Hall, Brighouse
Laverock Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

See Laverock

Laverock Hall Farm, Brighouse
Laverock Hall Farm, Brighouse Laverock Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Laverock Hall, Southowram
132-140, Pinnar Lane. Recorded on maps produced in 1854. It later became Highfield, then Highfield Cottages. It is now 4 private dwellings.

See Laverock

Laverock House, Brighouse
Smith House Lane

Lavin, James W.
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Artillery.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lavolio
Washing agent produced by C. Worsnop & Sons. It had instructions printed in 3 languages [1890]

Lavrock, Midgley
House just to the south of Brownhill. It appears on maps of 1849, but it has disappeared by the 1889 survey

See Laverock

Law...
The entries for people with the surname Law are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Law
Area of Southowram.

Owners and tenants have included

Law
The local instances of the surname may have originated in Langfield.

George Redmonds writes that Hugh de la Lawe is recorded at Sowerby in 1298 and Robert Lawe is recorded at Langield in 1379.

The surname is still common in and around Todmorden

There are currently around 61 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Law. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Law & Crossley Limited
Wholesale grocers and provision dealers at Square Road, Halifax [1905]. They supplied
Beacon tea & coffee
Beacon salt
Beacon ground rice
Beacon packet peas

See Job Leonard Naylor

Law & Gregson
Reed makers at Todmorden [1905]. Partners included Abraham Gregson

Law & Hudson
Cotton spinners established by John Law, Eli Hudson, and John Marland at Ramsden Wood, Todmorden.

On 1st March 1843, Law and Hudson took over the running of the company.

Samuel Law was the last of the partners in Robert Law & Company to survive, He saw the mess the company was in after the deaths of his brothers and how the children and cousins were fighting each other, so tried to sell his share of the company to Law & Hudson before he died in order to protect his own children. Law and Hudson were unable to raise the money and the sale fell through

In November 1853, he was declared bankrupt

Law Farm, Southowram
Recorded in December 1914, when an advertisement in a local paper announced

TO LET, LAW FARM, SOUTHOWRAM of the Waddington Estate, good milk farm, 31¾ acres, all grass, ample buildings. Apply: Chambers & Chambers, Brighouse

Law Hey Farm, Walsden
Stood opposite Smithyholme Mill. Owners and tenants have included

Law Hill House, Southowram
House built around 1778 by Jack Sharp after he had been ejected from Walterclough Hall.

It was later used as a warehouse, and was owned by Jeremiah Royds.

An interesting feature is a mounting block with a dog kennel underneath.

The stable block has been converted into cottages.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Law's: James & Simon Whipp Law
Warp sizers at Todmorden.

Partners included James Law and Simon Whipp Law.

Recorded in 1873, when the business went into liquidation

Law's: John Law & Sons
Woollen manufacturers established by John Law.

In November 1862, they gave a number of bales of woollen cloth to the relief fund for those affected by the cotton famine.

They were Brigg Royd Mill, West Vale [1905]

Law's: Robert Law & Company
Established by Robert Law with his brothers Samuel and Thomas.

They were manufacturers at Ramsden Wood Mill, Walsden [1824, 1837].

The Company owned 10 cottages at Ramsden Wood and 4 cottages at Smales, as well as the Mill and appurtenances at Ramsden.

Samuel Law was the last of the partners to survive. He saw the mess which the company was in after the deaths of his brothers and how the children and cousins were fighting each other, so he tried to sell his share of the company to Law & Hudson before he died in order to protect his own children. The sale fell through.

John Travis records that

The several cousins certainly had the money and the ability to continue the work of their fathers but there were too many misunderstandings and efforts to out-do one another, and the cousins began to lose the position their fathers had fought for and won. The young Laws resorted to the law and the matter was followed with such virulence that the whole concern was swallowed up

See John Law

Lawe, Richard
[15??-16??] Recorded in 1608 at Houghshawe

Lawer, Harry
[18??-1918] MM.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st Battalion Coldstream Guards.

He was killed in action [22nd September 1918].

He was buried at the Sanders Keep Military Cemetery, France [II C 5]

Lawer, William
[18??-19??] Reed maker at Law Street Works, Cornholme [1905]

Lawler, Thomas
[19??-] He was Mayor of Calderdale [1985-1986] He was made a Freeman of the Borough of Calderdale in 2011

Lawlor, William
[1844-1902] Or Lawler. An Irishman. He was landlord of the Sun Dial, Brighouse [1882].

During the Irish riots of 1882, there were disturbances at the inn when the mob believed that the Fenians held their secret meetings. The pub was damaged and Lawlor and his family hid from the mob, barricading themselves in the cellar for 3 days

Lawrence, Rev Eric Adams
[18??-19??] He trained at Spring Hill College and served at Birmingham before becoming Minister at Square Congregational Church [1883-1905].

In 1905, he moved to St Anne's, Lancashire.

See Edward Crossley

Lawrence, Francis Clifford
[1901-1993] MBIE.

Son of John Lawrence.

In 1960, he and son Gordon R. Lawrence were proprietors of the family business – J. Lawrence & Son

In 1927, he married Edna Alexandra Smethurst [1902-1963] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Joan M [b 1929]; (2) Gordon R..

The Lawrence Funeral Service, Halifax
Green Hayes, Bell Hall

Lawrence, George
[1788-1859] He was a tutor at Heath Grammar School. He left to go to the Independent College at Idle, and then to become Principal at Clitheroe House Academy, East Keswick, near Leeds

Lawrence, Gordon R.
[1935-19??] MBIE.

Son of Francis Clifford Lawrence

In 1960, he and his father were proprietors of J. Lawrence & Son

Lawrence's: J. Lawrence & Son
House furnishers and funeral services at 67-69 St James's Road, Halifax [1900, 1939].

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced


J. Lawrence & Sons
Established 45 years
Bedroom suites, Sideboards, etc
67 & 69 St James's Road, Halifax
Telephone day and night: 2819

In 1960, they were at 67-69 St James's Road, Halifax,
Turner Chapel of Rest, Bell Hall, and The Funeral Home, Halifax.

His son Francis Clifford Lawrence and grandson Gordon R. Lawrence took over the business

Lawrence, James
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lawrence, John
[1825-1892] Born in Halifax.

He was a furniture maker & funeral broker [1855]. He established J. Lawrence & Son

On 13th November 1850, he married (1) Ann Feamley [1828-1897] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary [1852-1929]; (2) Elizabeth [1854-1942]; (3) Francis [1855-1932]; (4) Emma [1856-1923]; (5) Frederick [1859-1861]; (6) Sarah Ann [1861-1883]; (7) Alice [1862-1874]; (8) John [1864-1944]; (9) Frances Ellen [1866-1916].

In 1895, he married (2) Ruth Helliwell [1863-1943] in Halifax.

Children: (10) Phyllis [1898-1981]; (11) Francis Clifford.

Lawrence died in Halifax [26th December 1892]

Lawrence, Tom
[1???-19??] Chief Inspector of Brighouse Police. The character Tosh, who appears in the books of John William Wainwright, is based on Lawrence.

He retired in 1955

Lawrence, Wilberforce
[1881-1961] Born in Halifax [Q4 1881].

In [Q2] 1906, he married Annie, daughter of Samuel Hartley, in Halifax.

He died in Halifax [Q4 1961]

Lawrence, Rev William
[18??-19??] Minister at Ebenezer Primitive Methodist Chapel, Halifax [1905].

On 9th April 1905, he, Harold Chapman, Joseph Dobson, and Rev John Wilkinson were sent to jail as passive resisters.

On 2nd April 1906, he, Rev John Wilkinson and Harold Chapman were sent to jail for the second time as passive resisters.

He lived at 20 Milton Place, Halifax [1905]

Lawrence's: William Lawrence & Company
Cotton and wool card makers at Church Lane, Halifax [1809]

Laws, Captain
[1???-18??] Manager of the Manchester & Leeds Railway Company.

See Railway companies

Lawson
[Surname]

There are currently only around 9 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Lawson. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

See Patronymic Surnames

Lawson & Hainsworth
Ventilating engineers and manufacturers of improved double current ventilators at Park Works, Halifax

Lawson, Dr
[1???-19??] Many members of the Lawson family were GPs in Southowram and Hipperholme. They held their surgeries at Towngate, Southowram and Linden Terrace, Hipperholme

See Ernest Hargreaves Westwood

Lawson, Dr Garnet
[18??-19??] Of Hebden Bridge.

He married Unknown.

Children: a daughter [b 1904]

Lawson, Garnet Gloag
[18??-19??] MB.

Physician and surgeon at Hebden Bridge [1905]

Lawson, Gilbert
[1???-1977] MBE.

He was captain of the Brighouse Harriers [1913, 1920], a member of Brighouse Borough Council [1929], Chairman of the Housing & Property Committee [for 20 years], an alderman [1937], and He was made a Freeman of the Borough of Brighouse on 4th April 1964

Lawson Road, Brighouse is named for him

Lawson, Rev John
[18??-19??] BA.

He trained at Airedale College and served at Dogley Lane, Huddersfield before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Ovenden [15th September 1895].

He lived at Forest House, Illingworth [1905]

Lawson, Joseph
[1???-18??] In 1864, he took over the business of Henry Welsman to establish Joseph Lawson & Sons

Lawson, Dr Joseph
[18??-19??] MB.

Physician and surgeon in Hebden Bridge [1895]. He served with the Local Government Medical Service [1895]. He was Medical Officer of Health for Todmorden Rural District [1895]. He lived at Holme House, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Lawson's: Joseph Lawson & Sons
Plumbers, glaziers, gas-fitters, hot water engineers and ironmongers established at 19 Commercial Street, Brighouse, in 1864 when Joseph Lawson took over the business of Henry Welsman.

In 1874, they expanded when 3 neighbouring cottages were demolished and a 3-storey warehouse built on the site.

In 1895, they had a branch at Ilkley

Lawson, Laurence Edmund
[18??-19??] He had an ironmonger and sanitary ware business in Brighouse

Lawson, Robert Emmett
[1843-1867] On 21st February 1866, he married Sarah, daughter of John Kershaw, at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah was a widow within 12 months.

She was a dress maker living with her widowed mother at Laverock Lane, Brighouse [1871]

She was a laundress [1891] and still living with her mother

 

Children: Robert John Henry [1867-1871].

All the family were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Lawton & Mallalieu
Cotton spinners at Beestonhirst Mill, Ripponden [1820s]

Lawton, Benjamin
[1811-1872] Son of Mr Lawton.

He was manager in a cotton factory [1851]; master cotton spinner employing 40 hands [1861]. He established Benjamin Lawton & Son.

In 1835, he married (1) Agnes Whiteley.

Children: (1) Joseph [b 1836]; (2) James [b 1837]; (3) Mary Emma [b 1839]; (4) Sarah Elizabeth [b 1841]; (5) Harriet [b 1842]; (6) Whiteley [b 1844]; (7) Lucy [b 1848]; (8) Eliza(beth) [b 1851].

The family lived at Thrum Hall, Soyland [1851, 1861].

In 1855, he married (2) Harriet Whiteley, sister of Agnes and widow of John Whiteley

Lawton, Benjamin
[1835-1879] Born in Ovenden.

He was a delver [1855].

On 28th October 1855, he married Rhoda Boocock in Halifax.


Rhoda was the daughter of
Thomas Boocock
 

Children: Mary Ann [1860-1890] who married John Henry Green.

Rhoda died in Leek [1901]

Lawton's: Benjamin Lawton & Son
Cotton spinners and doublers established by Benjamin Lawton in 1872.

The company became Lawton Brothers

Lawton Brothers
Originally Benjamin Lawton & Son. Cotton spinner and doublers at Ripponden since 1878.

Partners included brother Benjamin, Joseph and Whiteley Lawton.

They were at Victoria Mill [1890s] and Dyson Lane Mill [1890s].

In 1899, the company was declared bankrupt

Lawton, Charles Bourne
[1771-1860] Wealthy businessman and landowner of Lawton Hall in Cheshire.

He married (1) Ann [17??-1814], who died in childbirth. The child also died

In March 1816, he married (2) Mariana Belcombe. There were no children.

In her journals, Anne Lister identifies Mr & Mrs Lawton as M– and C–

Lawton, Rev J.
[1822-19??] Pastor at Mount Zion Baptist Church, Heptonstall Slack [1874-1882]

Lawton, Rev John
[18??-19??] Baptist minister at Mytholmroyd [1905]

Lawton, Joseph
[17??-18??] Son of Mr Lawton.

Partner in Lawton Brothers

Lawton, Joseph
[1836-1895] In 1857, he married Rachel, daughter of James Crabtree, in Halifax

Lawton, Mr
[17??-18??] Children: (1) Benjamin; (2) Joseph; (3) Whiteley

Lawton, Whiteley
[17??-18??] Son of Mr Lawton.

He was a tenant at Beeston Hall, Ripponden, and a cotton manufacturer at the Beestonhirst Mill.

Partner in Lawton Brothers

Lawyers & solicitors

Lax, David
[1???-1???] Police Constable in Lidget, Stansfield [1857]

Laxton, Frederick
[1832-1893] In 1869, he married Mary Ann, daughter of William Robinson.

Children: William Ambrose.

He lived at Holme Lea, Brighouse.

He went into business with members of his wife's family as Robinson & Laxton. When the Robinsons left the partnership, Laxton was joined by Mr Southworth. The business became Frederick Laxton & Company.

The family were involved with St James's Church, Brighouse. He wrote poetry for the local newspaper.

He was elected to be the first Mayor of Brighouse, but he died and the office passed to William Smith

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Laxton's: Frederick Laxton & Company
From 1887, this was the successor to textile printers and finishers Robinson & Laxton when Frederick Laxton took over. They had business at Clifton Vale Print Works, Brighouse. A major product was delaine a thin muslin-like fabric. After Frederick's death [1893], his wife carried on the business. They employed around 60 workers [1895]

Laxton, William Ambrose
[1875-1943] Of Field Lane, Rastrick. Son of Frederick Laxton.

He married Marjorie

Laycock
Other forms of the surname include Leacock and Lowcock

There are currently around 33 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Laycock. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Laycock, Arthur
[1887-1929] Son of Thomas Laycock.

Born in Todmorden [4th March 1887].

He was a well-known cornet and trombone player.

After his 9th birthday, his parents bought him a second-hand cornet, and arranged for him to visit Arthur Hirst, the conductor of the local Cornholme Band, for private lessons. He gained considerable fame with various brass bands in the district and around Britain. After the death of their parents, his elder brother, Ellis took care of the family.

On 27th November 1913, Arthur played before King George V and Queen Mary at Lambton Castle.

In June 1914, he married Maggie Cowgill.

At the outbreak of World War I, he joined the 16th Durham Light Infantry and played in the regimental band. Later, he suffered facial burns from a domestic accident – when he tried to take a flaming chip pan outside – and Harry Mortimer had to deputise for him. Harry remembers Arthur as an immaculate, if pedantic, man paying painstaking attention to his appearance and to his playing, and was once heard to say

Perhaps one day I might be as good a cornet player as Arthur Laycock

to which someone replied

Yes, you might, but you will never look as well-dressed as he does

Laycock, George
[1832-1897] Son of William Laycock.

Born in Southowram.

He was a stone mason [1851]; a warehouseman [1861]; a tea dealer [1871, 1881, 1891]; a draper [1881]. In later years, he was member of the school board for Southowram School.

In 1852, he married Hannah Balmforth [1830-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Elizabeth Ann [1856]; (2) James William [1860]; (3) Sarah Jane [1862]; (4) Arthur [1868].

The family lived at Common Lane, Bank Top, Southowram

He was buried at Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bank Top

Laycock, Harold
[1895-1974] Son of Thomas Laycock.

Born in Todmorden.

Like his brother, Arthur, he played in several local bands – playing tenor horn and later the trombone

Laycock, Herbert Reginald
[1883-1937] Son of John William Laycock.

Born in Halifax.

He was a veterinary assistant [1914].

In [Q2] 1914, he married Charlotte Ethel Powell [1886-1971] in Rotherham.


Charlotte Ethel was born in Rotherham
 

The couple died in Sheffield

Laycock, James
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Laycock, James
[1823-1864] Son of William Laycock.

Born in Southowram.

He was a stone mason [1851]; a stone dresser [1861]. In 1846, he married Elizabeth Sheard [1814-1852].

Children: (1) Edward [b 1845]; (2) Joseph [b 1847]; (3) Susannah [1849-1855].

In 1853, he married (2) Ruth Myers née Walker [1816-1868].

In 1845, he witnessed the marriage of his brother Samuel Laycock

Laycock, Dr Joe
[19??-19??] GP at Park Road, Halifax.

He married Patricia Mary, daughter of Hugh Reginald Holdsworth.

The family lived at Shaw House until the 1960s, and then above the practice at his Park Road surgery

Laycock, John
[1813-1875] Son of William Laycock.

He was a cloth finisher or cloth dresser. In 1839, he married Mary Barker.

Children: (1) Barker [b 1840]; (2) Hannah [b 1842]; (3) William Barker [b 1844]; (4) Elizabeth [b 1850]; (5) James [b 1852]

Laycock, John Admiral
[18??-1???] Born in Scholes.

He was a silk drawer [1889].

On 19th October 1889, he married Sarah Elizabeth Hollas in Kirkheaton.


Sarah Elizabeth was the daughter of
John Hollas
 

The couple went to live in Huddersfield.

Children: (1) Alfred [b 1890]; (2) Amy [b 1893]; (3) Mabel [b 1896]; (4) Cora [b 1898]

Laycock, John William
[1852-1927] Born in Halifax.

He was a wool manufacturing overlooker [1880].

On 4th November 1880, he married Mary Ann Appleyard in Halifax.


Mary Ann was the daughter of
Samuel Appleyard
 

Children: (1) Edith Gertrude [1881-1954] who married John Edwin Crowther; (2) Herbert Reginald; (3) Winifred Scott [1889-1955] who married [1928] Thomas Sumner [1879-1954] (farmer) from Southport; (4) May Appleyard [1891-1975] who never married.

The children were born in Halifax.

The couple died in Harrogate: John William [20th March 1927]; Mary Ann [16th January 1947]

Laycock, Jonathan
[16??-1735] A skinner. Of Halifax. He went to live at Westercroft Farm, Northowram, and died shortly afterwards

Laycock, Jonathan
[1625-1696] Of Elm Wood, Shaw Hill.

Son of Joshua Laycock. He was a Quaker, and meetings were held at his house in 1689.

In 16??, he married (1) Mary, daughter of David Hemingway.

Children: Jonathan.

Mary died [16??].

Jonathan married (2) Elizabeth [?] [16??-1703].

Jonathan and Elizabeth were buried at the Quaker Burial Ground, Halifax [Graves 4 and 5]

Laycock, Jonathan
[1662-1680] Son of Jonathan Laycock.

He was buried in the family's garden at Elm Wood, Shaw Hill. Heywood tells us that

[Jonathan] was felling a tree near the Free School when he was taken up almost dead, he hath no sense or feeling of them at all, strike, prick, punch them he cannot feel, there he lyes still as a sad spectacle. He dyed and was buried in their own garden [Jan 8 1680-81]

His gravestone there was reconstructed in 1816

Laycock, Joseph
[1819-1???] He was plasterer/ farmer of 40 acres with 1 man [1871].

In 1873, there was a

Sale by Auction of Farm Stock and Household Items for Joseph Laycock

He married Mary.

Children: (1) child; (2) child.

The family lived at Pasture House, Southowram [1871]

Laycock, Joseph Sunwood
[18??-1???] In 1854, a man named Edward Laycock found a child wandering in Sun Woods, Shelf. The boy had been abandoned by his parents.

He was baptised Joseph Sunwood Laycock at Coley Church [18th February 1854].

The Church record of the baptism shows

February 18th Joseph Sunwood Farrar. Father and mother not known.

Farrar is crossed out and Laycock written in

At the foot of the page is written

This child was found by a man named Edward Farrar when gathering sticks in Sun Wood

Farrar is crossed out and Laycock written in

Laycock, Joseph Wilson
[1861-1???] Son of Joseph Laycock, joiner.

He was a commercial clerk [1885].

In [Q3] 1885, he married Lydia Murgatroyd in Halifax.


Lydia of Bedford Street, Halifax, was the daughter of
John Murgatroyd
 

Laycock, Joshua
[16??-17??] An early Quaker leader at Mankinholes. A meeting at his home is recorded on the 3rd December 1667. The group rented land nearby – at a rate of 2d of silver for a term of 900 years – as a burial ground. A gravestone – for JS 1685 – can still be seen. The land has been built upon

Laycock, Joshua
[1666-1721] Surgeon and apothecary.

He lived at at Shaw Hill, Halifax.

He was a Quaker and held meetings at his house.

He married Elizabeth [16??-1704].

Children: Jonathan.

Elizabeth was buried at Quaker Burial Ground, Highroad Well

Heywood records that he

died May 15, a Quaker very rich

Laycock, Joshua
[18??-19??] Son of Thomas Booth Laycock.

He was a quarry owner and stone merchant at Pump Lane Quarry, Southowram [1905]. He lived at Higgin Lane, Southowram

Laycock, Newton
[1861-1925] Son of Samuel Laycock.

Born in Halifax.

Singer and musician.

In 1895, he was appointed superintendent of singing in the schools at Gateshead, and later at Sunderland. He had a genial nature and worked well with children. He was a fine bass singer, and did excellent work as a teacher, being honorary chorusmaster with the Gateshead Choral Society and later with the Sunderland Philharmonic Society. He was also choirmaster for many years at churches in Sunderland

Laycock, Robert
[16??-1720] Curate at Rastrick [1694-1703] and Curate at Luddenden [1710-1720]

Laycock, Samuel
[1825-1895] Son of William Laycock.

Born at Bank Top, Southowram.

At the age of 15, he attended Sunday evening cottage prayer meetings, and joined his father's classes.

He was a quarryman; a wool comber [1841, 1845, 1851]; a town missionary [1861]; a dissenting minister [1865]; a Methodist minister [from 1871].

He was instrumental in the construction of the Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bank Top.

On 11th December 1845, he married (1) Roseanne (or Rose AnnJagger [1828-1846] at Halifax Parish Church. His brother James made his mark as a witness.

Children: William Henry [1846-1890].

On 2nd September 1846, Roseanne died of typhus at Spring Hall, Southowram, with Samuel present at the death. William Henry was raised by his grandparents Mary and William Laycock at Common Lane, Bank Top.

In 1850, Samuel married (2) Hannah Sykes [1826-1???] of Southowram.

Children: (2) Rose [1857-1865]; (3) Newton.

He became one of the most popular preachers of the district, and was in great demand for special services and public meetings.

After his marriage he became a hired local preacher for a time in the Halifax circuit, and was subsequently engaged by the Reformers as an evangelist.

Joseph Crossley heard him preach whilst he was sheltering from a rain shower in the chapel porch, and was so struck with Samuel's power over men, his deep insight into human nature and needs, that he waited to the end of the service, and with his usual generosity engaged him for mission work and employed him as a town missionary. This engagement continued for 5½ years, until Crossley suggested to Rev John Simpson that steps should be taken for his introduction to the work of the ministry, undertaking to supplement his income as a probationer so as to remove any difficulty on financial grounds. This was achieved 1863, even though Samuel was then 38 years old when the usual age for probationers was 25.

For the next 35 years he served at various places across Yorkshire.

He settled at Great Horton, where he hoped to end his days, but he moved to Gateshead, with his son, Newton, who had secured an important position under the School Board.

He died shortly afterwards and was buried at Bradford

Laycock, Rev Samuel Field
[1842-1906] BA.

Son of Rev William Laycock.

Born in Ecclesfield, Barnsley [17th December 1842].

Baptised 1st September 1844.

He was educated at St John's College Cambridge [1863], ordained priest [1859], and ordained deacon at Manchester [1866] and served at Christ Church, Salford [1866-1868], St Mary's, Droylsden [1868-1870], and St John's, Workington [1871-1873] before becoming Vicar of St George's, Sowerby [1873-1906].

He was a member of the Committee of the Sowerby Bridge Evening Continuation Schools [1896].

On 13th July 1871, he married (1) Margaret Robotham [1850-1889] at Christ Church, Salford.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1874]; (2) Dora Margaret [1875-1945]; (3) Charles William [1877-1938] who became a preacher; (4) Caroline Ellen [1879-1951]; (5) Samuel Theodore [1880-1932]; (6) Winifred [1884-1918]; (7) Anna [1885-1964]; (8) John [b 1886]; (9) James Frederick [1888-1928].

In 1895, he married (2) Maria Russell Anderson [1851-1904] in Birkenhead.

In April 1906, he was taken ill as he was going to the early morning service. Some time later, it was thought that he was fit enough to go to Southport, but, as he was going to the railway station, he felt worse and was taken home, where he died shortly afterwards [14th May 1906].

Members of the family were buried at St George's, Sowerby

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £2,001 3/9d. Probate was granted to his children Charles William and Mary.

In 1907, a stained glass window was installed at St George's, Sowerby in his memory

Laycock, Sidney
[1907-1979] Born in Skipton [11th November 1907].

He was a school master [1934].

On 19th May 1934, he married Dorothy Tidswell at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.


Dorothy was the daughter of
Sidney Tidswell
 

The family lived at Sutton-in-Craven.

The couple died in Sutton-in-Craven: Sidney [1979]; Dorothy [1998]

Laycock, Thomas
[18??-1???] He married Mary Sutcliffe.

Children: (1) Ellis [b 1875]; (2) Arthur; (3) William [b 1892]; (4) Harold.

After the death of Thomas and Mary, Ellis took care of the family

Laycock, Thomas
[18??-19??] Methodist Minister in Todmorden [1820]

Laycock, Thomas
[1834-1896] Son of William Laycock.

Born in Southowram.

He was a flag tracer [1851]; a shiper of stone [1861]; a stone mason [1871, 1881, 1891].

In 1859, he married Hannah Priestley [1831-1???].

Children: (1) Mary Ellen [b 1860]; (2) Frances [b 1865].

The family lived at Halifax [1871, 1881, 1891]; Blackpool [1891]

Laycock, Thomas Booth
[1839-1909] Son of William Laycock.

He was a quarry owner and stone merchant at Sunny Bank Quarry, Southowram [1905]. He lived at 12 Higgin Lane, Southowram.

He married Unknown.

Children: Joshua.

He was buried at Wesleyan Chapel, Southowram

Laycock, Tommy
[1890-1926] Landlord of the Junction, Halifax [1926].

He was buried at Stoney Royd Cemetery

Laycock, Walter
[1893-1916] Son of Sarah and Ellis Laycock of 9 Derdale Street, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 14th September 1916 (aged 23).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial [6A & 6B], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Laycock, William
[1795-1859] Born in Sowerby. He became a local Methodist preacher and class leader in Halifax.

On 31st January 1813, he married Mary Bentley from Southowram, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) John; (2) William; (3) Sarah [b 1817]; (4) Joseph [1821-1843]; (5) Martha [1819-1846]; (6) James; (7) Samuel; (8) Ruth [1828-1901] who married (1) Isaac Firth and (2) Robert Heyhurst; (9) Susannah [1830-1899]; (10) George; (11) Thomas

The family lived at Bank Top, Southowram; Common Lane, Southowram [1846].

He died at Bank Top from bronchitis with his son Samuel in attendance [31st December 1859].

He was buried at Wesleyan Chapel, Southowram

Laycock, Rev William
[18??-18??] Vicar of Southowram [1853, 1874]. He edited the Saint Anne's Southowram Quarterly Messenger & Record. He was said to be very broad-minded towards Nonconformists

He married Unknown.

Children: Samuel Field

Laycock, William
[1815-1892] Son of William Laycock. Baptised on 9th July 1815.

He was a cloth dresser.

He married (1) Charlotte.

Children: (1) John Henry [1837-184?]; (2) Thomas Booth; (3) Mary Ann [1842-1856]; (4) Ruth Ann [b 1845]; (5) Martha J [b 1848]; (6) Eliza [b 1850].

In 1854, he married (2) Mary Chadwick [1822-1890].

Children: (7) Fred [b 1858]; (8) Elizabeth [b 1860]; (9) Emma [b 1862]; (10) James William [b 1864]

Laycock, William
[1818-1904] He married Emily.

Children: (1) David [1854-1890]; (2) Mary Elizabeth [1856-1858]; (3) Elizabeth Ann [1858-1863]; (4) William Alfred who died in infancy.

William died April 9th 1903 [aged 84]

Emily died February 8th 1904 [aged 86].

The couple were buried at St John's Church, Dewsbury Moor. The children were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Layfield, F.
[18??-19??] In 1889, he was in partnership as a draper with his brother-in-law, Henry Mitchell in Northgate, Halifax

Layton, Rev J. G.
[18??-1910] Minister at Holywell Green Congregational Church [August 1889-October 1893]. He went to live in Africa

Lazenby, Ernest
[1900-19??] Son of John Lazenby.

He carried on the family market-garden business

Lazenby, John
[18??-19??] He and his brothers, Frank and Charlie, moved from Calverley to Priestley Green in 1903. They established a market-garden business at Bracken Farm. They had extensive sheds for forcing rhubarb.

He married Ellen.

Children: Ernest

Lea, Henry T.
[18??-19??] An analyst at Halifax.

He lived at Edgecote, Halifax [1936]

Lea, John
[1718-1800] Of Haugh End House, Sowerby.

On 3rd July 1740, he married Mary, daughter of Richard Milne.

Children: Lydia [17??-1820] who married Joseph Priestley.

He bequeathed Haugh End House and Old Haugh End to his son-in-law and Thomas Milne of Cliff Hill, Warley in trust for Lydia.

He was one of the original trustees and a subscriber of Warley Grammar School.

He was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1782 and 1792].

There is a tablet in his memory at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby.


In memory of John Lea of Haugh End esquire
who died
February 26th 1800 aged 81
and of Mary his wife
who died
July 18th 1796 aged 78
This monument was erected by
Lydia their only daughter
and heiress,
the wife of Joseph Priestley
of White Windows esquire
as a tribute to filial regard
of her most affectionate
and deserving parents

Members of the family are also remembered on the Lea family tomb at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby

Lea, Joshua
[1670-1737] Of Sowerby

He married Susanna [1683-1760]

Children: (1) Joshua; (2) Thomas [1723-1772]; (3) Elizabeth [1726-1732].

Members of the family were buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby: Joshua [23rd May 1737]. The tomb for members of the family is a scheduled monument and stands in the churchyard at St Peter's Church, Sowerby.

See Richard Tattersall

Lea, Joshua
[1705-1741] Son of Joshua Lea.

He married Unknown.

Children: Mary [1735-1743].

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby [2nd December 1741]. Members of the family are remembered on the family tomb at St Peter's Church, Sowerby

Leach
Another form of the surname is Leech.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

The name is said to come from the Old English word for a healer

There are currently around 24 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Leach. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Leach family of Halifax
and Brighouse.

William Leach was an early member of the family.

Members of the family – notably Arthur Holdsworth Leach and Ezra Greaves – were involved in photography in the district

Leach, Rev A.
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1874]

Leach's: A. H. Leach & Company
Sunnybank Road, Brighouse. Photographers and photographic suppliers founded in 1891 by Arthur Holdsworth Leach.

A subsidiary company – Larkfield Colour Group – was set up at Church Lane, Brighouse.

In 2004, the company published proposals to move to Bradley when plans to relocate to the Church Lane site were rejected. On 18th October 2005, the company's new purpose-built headquarters opened at Bradley Business Park, Huddersfield.

See Larkfield, Brighouse, Leach Colour and Lilywhite Limited

Leach, Alfred
[1845-19??] Born in Norland.

He was a moulder [1871]; a moulder (iron) [1881]; a worsted maker-up [1891]; a worsted carder [1901]; a wool comber retired [1911]

In 1869, he married Sarah Whitehead [1846-1903] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah, of Sowerby, was the daughter of book-keeper James Whitehead
 

Children: (1) Charles Herbert [1870-1896] who was a hoist tenter [1891], a millhand and (in the evenings) a hairdresser [1896]; (2) Clara [b 1875] who was a worsted spinner [1891]; (3) Arthur [b 1877] who was a velvet pegger [1891]; (4) Hannah M [b 1880] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a worsted twister [1901], a cotton operative winder [1911]; (5) Sam [b 1882] who was a machine tool fitter's apprentice [1901]; (6) Ernest Eli [b 1884] who was a machine tool driller [1901]; (7) Mary Ann [b 1888] who was a dressmaker's apprentice [1901], a cotton operative reeler [1911]; (8) Rayman [1890-1891]

The family lived at 4 Moore Street, Southowram [1871]; Stansfield Mill, Sowerby [1881]; Rough Hey, Norland [1891]; Crown Buildings, Triangle [1896]; Hollins Street, Triangle, Sowerby [1901]; 21 Royd Lane, Ripponden [1911]

In 1896, son Charles Herbert committed suicide by hanging himself in his hairdresser's shop in Dean Lane, Sowerby

Leach & Dawson
Ice cream makers at Thomas Street / Westgate, Halifax [1905]

Leach, Arthur Holdsworth
[1871-1938] Eldest son of George Frederick Leach.

Born in Halifax.

In 1891, he started business as a portrait photographer with premises in Commercial Street, Brighouse – currently occupied by the chemists' shop – and established Leach's photographic company. He was a Methodist.

In March 1897, The Times and The Leeds Mercury carried reports of a breach of promise case Crowther v Leach.

Miss Annie Crowther, a teacher at Brighouse Board School, stated that she kept the books for Arthur Leach, a photographic artist at Brighouse.

In November 1893, they became engaged.

In November 1896, he said that his feelings had changed. He claimed that he had heard of a conversation in which Miss Crowther was derogatory to her mother, and he could not marry a woman in whom he had not the fullest confidence.

5 days after being served with the writ, he had turned his business into a limited liability company and – as a Manager of the company – was only earning 30/- per week.

The jury returned a verdict for Miss Crowther for £150

In October 1900, he married Amy Stocks


Amy was the daughter of Alexander Oldfield Stocks
 

Leach, Rev Charles
[1847-1919] DD.

He trained at Ranmoor Theological College, Sheffield and became a Congregational minister.

He was MP for Colne Valley. In 1915, he suffered a nervous breakdown – probably a form of dementia – and he was removed from his office of MP after being declared of unsound mind – the only MP to be thus disqualified

Leach Colour
Formerly A. H. Leach & Company. In 2005, the company left the works in Sunnybank Road, Brighouse to new purpose-built premises at Bradley Business Park. The new building was formally opened by Sophie, Countess of Wessex on 18th October 2005

Leach, Dora Irene
[1914-2013] JP.

Daughter of Frederick Austin Leach.

She was educated at Battinson Road School [1919-1928].

In 1939, she married Horace Greenwood [1910-1967].

She was Mayoress to Laura Annie Mitchell [1967-1968]

Leach, Elizabeth
[1780-18??] Second daughter of Mary [née Hackworth] and Timothy Leach, of Clapham, Surrey. Baptised on 25th January 1781.

She married Stansfield Rawson

Leach, Eric Alexander
[1901-1981] He lived at Giles House, Hove Edge. which he bought in 1938.

He was Managing Director at A. H. Leach & Company; a councillor; a pianist; a member of the Brighouse Music Society; a collector of rare books.

He married Joyce.

Children: (1) Angela Mary who married [1961?] Martin Wells Bull from Surrey; (2) Caroline Alice who married [1966?] Alan David Officer Thomson; (3) John

He was a pianist and a member of the Brighouse Music Society, along with his cousin Harold Cocker

Leach, Fred
[1849-1923] Son of Thomas Leach.

He worked at the Caledonia Works of Frederick Smith & Company. He was President of the Halifax Wiredrawers' Association.

In 1870, he married Martha Speight [1851-1937].

Children: (1) Thomas [1868/1869 and died before 1881]; (2) Arthur [1871-1936]; (3) Annie [1872/1873-1951]; (4) Mary Elisabeth [1876-1910]; (5) Frederick Austin; (6) Percy [1888-1975]

Leach, Frederick Austin
[1881-1970] Son of Fred Leach.

Born 20th June 1881.

He started work with Joseph Arthur Worsnop, and later became a Clothing Club Collector for the Halifax Tradesmen's Association.

He was President of the Independent Labour Party; Magistrate [1924]; Halifax Labour Councillor [1921-1924]; Halifax County Borough JP [1924]; Alderman [1925-1962]; Mayor of Halifax [1933-1934]; Freeman of the Borough [22nd March 1948].

In 1909, he married Ethel Greenwood [1884-1981].

Children: (1) Clifton [1910-2008] who married [1937] Violet Bland; (2) Dora Irene.

The family lived at Pellon [1909].

He died at Northowram Hospital

Leach, George Frederick
[1846-1920] Son of William Leach.

He was a machine pattern maker [1891].

In 1867, he married Mary Ann Lee in Halifax.

Children: (1) Arthur Holdsworth; (2) Ada [b 1873]; (3) George E. [b 1877]; (4) John [1881] who died in infancy

The family lived at 7a Clare Street, Halifax [1891]; in Lancashire [1901]

Leach, Harold
[1878-1939] In 1908, he married Ethel, daughter of Alfred Gaukroger.

The couple were buried at St Peter's Church, Sowerby: Harold [2nd May 1939]; Ethel [15th May 1943]

Leach, Harry
[1861-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was landlord of the Sun Inn, Lightcliffe [1903, 1911].

He married Hannah [1863-19??] from Lightcliffe.

Children: (1) Edith [b 1888]; (2) Minnie [b 1894]; (3) Nellie [b 1898]; (4) Florence [b 1903]

Leach, Henry
[1831-1869] Of Stannary Road, Halifax.

He was Registrar of Births and Deaths for Halifax and Skircoat [1865]. Publisher of the Halifax Historical Almanack and the Halifax Almanack & Parish Year Book

Leach, John
[18??-1???] A rag merchant at Soyland. In 1876, he established Soyland Paper Mill. He was declared bankrupt [1880]

Leach, John
[1842-19??] He was a carpet manufacturer at Halifax; financial director of Crossley's Carpets.

He married Susannah Hargreaves [b 1836].

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1866] who married Arthur Crabtree; (2) Louis [b 1868]; (3) Cuthbert [b 1873]; (4) Harold [b 1879].

The family lived at 9 Park Road, Halifax [1891]

Leach, John
[19??-] Son of Eric Alexander Leach.

He entered the family business – A. H. Leach & Company.

He was President of the Halifax Antiquarian Society [2000]

Leach, John Ernest Gordon
[1885-19??] Clerk in Holy Orders. (Possibly) curate at Brighouse [1911].

In 1911, he was a boarder with Rev Oscar Sidney Laurie in Brighouse

Leach, Louis J.
[18??-19??] Solicitor at Barum House, Halifax [1907]

Leach, Robert
[16??-1695] Heywood records
poor and wicked, had been drinking on Lord's Day. come home, fell into raging fits, died in 2 or 3 days November 1695

Leach, Stanley William
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1978-1979] and [1984-1985]

Leach, Thomas
[1820-1866] Eldest son of William Leach. He was a tailor and draper in Halifax.

In 1840, he married Elizabeth Hardisty.

Children: (1) Hannah [1840]; (2) John William [1843]; (3) Charles [1845]; (4) Henry Hardisty [1848]; (5) Fred; (6) Tom [1852]; (7) Frank [1854]; (8) Ruth Ann [1856]; (9) Herbert [1861]

Leach, Wallace
[1879-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was an iron fettler [1902].

On 17th May 1902, he married Avina Hollas at All Saints' Salterhebble.


Avina was the daughter of
Robert Hollas
 

Leach, William
[179?-18??] He was an early member of the local Leach family.

He was listed as a card maker [1841] and a blacking manufacturer [1851].

In 1814, he married (1) Hannah Harrowby.

In 1818, he married (2) Hannah Taylor.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) Sarah [b 1821]; (3) Jane Hannah; (4) Elizabeth who died in infancy; (5) Elizabeth [b 1826]; (6) Hannah [b 1828]; (7) Mary [b 1830] who married George Dennis.

In 1841, he married (3) Mrs Elizabeth Pickard [1804-18??], née Elliott, in Halifax.

Children: (8) John [b 1841]; (9) Ann [b 1842] who married Ezra Greaves; (10) Emma [b 1845]; (11) George Frederick

The family lived at 15 Upper Brunswick Street [1851]

Leach, William
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Leacock
Other forms of the surname include Leacock and Lowcock

Lead mining
There were lead mines at Noah Dale, Colden

Leadbeater Dam, Warley Moor
Built in 1835-1836 by the Cold Edge Dam Company.

Named for Mr Leadbeater, one of the company's engineers who was involved in designing the Dam. Capacity: 7,646,413 gallons.

On 19th September 1946, The goit from Leadbeater Dam to Spring Dam burst and Square Mill Dam burst flooding many parts of Wainstalls.

Leadbetter, Edward
[1825-1855] On 1st May 1855, he was pushed – or fell – in a beerhouse in Halifax, whilst in a state of intoxication, causing rupture of the brain, of which he died immediately

Leah
[Surname]

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Leah. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Leah, Arnold
[1895-1915] Son of Thomas Edwin Leah of 203 Woodbottom Terrace, Walsden.

During World War I, he served as a Sapper with the 1st Field Company R. M. Div. Engineers Royal Naval Division, Royal Marine Light Infantry.

He died 7th October 1915 (aged 20).

He was buried at the Alexandria (Chatby) Military & War Memorial Cemetery, Egypt [F 31].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Leah, Edmund
[1923-1944] Son of Alice & William Leah of Walsden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Air Force.

He died 8th August 1944 (aged 21).

He was buried at St Peter's Church, Walsden.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Leah, William
[1900-1917] Son of Mary Ann Leah of 2 Garden Street, Millwood, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the 2nd/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 16th July 1917 (aged 17).

He was buried at the Coxyde Military Cemetery [I F 2].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Leaper, George
[18??-19??] In 1920, he married Alice, daughter of Alfred Horsfall.

Children: (1) Winifred [1921-2001] who married [1944] Kenneth Jagger; (2) Alwyne [b 1924] who married [1953] Joan Brittle

Learings Commons, Heptonstall
2 closes of land. Recorded in September 1795

Learings, Heptonstall
Faugh Lane. Aka Great Lear Ings.

House dated 1648 IIG. A gable is dated G:G:1604

William of Grenewode is mentioned as holding land and tenements called Leyrynge – or Learings – at Heptonstall in 1439.

Panelling from the house was taken to the Chantry House, Heptonstall.

Owners and tenants have included

See Little Lear Ings, Colden

Learoyd
The surname is recorded in 1324. The name is probably derived from ley and royd

There are currently around 10 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Learoyd. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Learoyd, Rev Amos
[18??-1???] Of Halifax

Learoyd & Son
Halifax accountants.

Partners included Jonathan Ingham Learoyd

Learoyd, Gabriell
[16??-16??] Of Halifax. In 1667, he and John Deane issued tradesmen's tokens worth ½d bearing the image of a rose

Learoyd, John
[16??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1704]

Learoyd, John
[17??-18??] Around 1790, he built Ryburn House Mill, Ripponden. In 1792, he sold it to John Holroyd

Learoyd, John
[18??-18??] Of Lumb House, Sowerby.

On 6th September 1855, he married Jane, daughter of John Turner

Learoyd, Jonathan Ingham
[1844-1915] Son of James Learoyd.

Born in Ripponden [26th August 1843].

He was educated at Prospect Place Academy, Brighouse; an accountant; head of Learoyd & Son; partner with Thomas Pickard; Director of the Halifax Mechanics' Institute; President of the Halifax Camera Club; President of the Halifax & Borough Club; Treasurer of the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society; a collector of curiosities.

Around 1870, he was popular as a conjurer and was described as

one of the most skilful and most popular of provincial amateur conjurers

He was executor for his uncles Nathan Whiteley [1868] and Benjamin Whiteley [1876].

In October 1865, he married (1) Susanna Russell [1843-1881] in Barnsley.


Susanna was the daughter of James Russell
 

Children: (1) Ernest Edward [b 1867]; (2) George Arthur [b 1869]; (3) Frank Gerald [b 1873]; (4) Fred Whiteley [b 1876].

In 1883, he married (2) Julia Empsall.


Julia was the second daughter of Charles Empsall of Halifax
 

The family lived at 8 Square Road, Halifax [1881]; Rydal Mount, Halifax [1902].

He died in Rhos on Sea, Denbighshire

Learoyd, Joseph
[18??-19??] Farmer at Little Merry Bent, Soyland [1905]

Learoyd, Richard
[17??-17??] In 1753, he was appointed Master at Rishworth Charity School

Learoyd, Richard
[17??-18??] In 1792, he bought Clough Mill, Ripponden and used it for cotton spinning.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Joah; (2) James.

His sons carried on at Clough Mill, Ripponden

Learoyd, Richard
[18??-18??] Cotton warp manufacturer at Ripponden Mill.

He lived at Clough House, Soyland [1845]

Learoyd, Timothy
See Timothy Olearoid

Leary, Eric
[1892-1915] Son of John Leary.

Born in Halifax.

He was a joiner's apprentice [1911].

He joined the Halifax Battery, RFA (T) where he won prizes for signalling.

On 13th April 1911, he enlisted and served with the 2nd Battalion Scots Guards. He was a signaller, and went on to train as an army schoolmaster at Woolwich. He was promoted to Lance-Corporal [February 1914], to Second Lieutenant [26th September 1914], and to Full Lieutenant [13th November 1914].

He went to the Front with the Irish Guards, the 1st Royal Irish Regiment BEF. He was invalided home in March 1915, but returned to the Front on 1st May 1915 and was in charge of a company.

He died of wounds [21st June 1915] He was buried at the Houplines Communal Cemetery Extension [III A 28]

Leary, John
[1843-1928] Born in London.

He was a cigar maker [1881]; a tobacco stripper [1891, 1901, 1911].

In [Q4] 1868, he married Emily Lord [1850-1924] in Huddersfield.


Emily was born in Huddersfield
 

Children: (1) Eleanor [b 1873] who was a cigar maker [1891]; (2) Cornelius [b 1875] who was a confectioner [1891]; (3) Emma J [b 1878] who was a cigar maker [1891, 1901]; (4) Beatrice [b 1882] who was a cloth mender [1901], a worsted mender [1911]; (5) Gertrude [b 1884] who was a tobacco stripper [1901]; (6) Ethel [b 1887] who was a brush maker [1901], a worsted mender [1911]; (7) Eric.

The family lived at 12 Edward Street, Skircoat [1881]; 21 Brunswick Street, Halifax [1891]; 8 Prescott Place, Halifax [1901]; 7 Wellington Place, Halifax [1911]; Brooklyn Yard, New Road, Halifax [1914].

Living with them in 1911 were boarders Bante[?] Keep [aged 26] (book keeper) and the members of a group of professional Tumblers from Morocco: Hady Ali Ben Mohamed [aged 39]; Vatima Ali Ben Mohamed [aged 33]; Ben Ali Mohamed [aged 14]; Ben Ali Vatima [aged 5]

Leason, John
[1831-1???] Born in Wolverhampton.

He was an agent for oils, tallow &c in Halifax [1861].

In 1856, he married Sophia Smithson [1835-1???] in Dewsbury.

Children: (1) Sophia Josephine [b 1857]; (2) Frederick John [b 1859]; (3) Amy Florence [b 1861].

The family lived at 5 Harrison Road, Halifax [1861]

Leather, Andrew
[1849-1897] Son of Amos Leather, designer.

Born in Kirkburton.

He was an engine tenter [1871, 1872, 1877]; a woollen weaver [1881]; a dyer [1888]; a woollen dyer [1891].

In 1871, he was a lodger living with James Daniel Micklethwaite and family.

In [Q3] 1872, he married (1) Arabella Micklethwaite at Halifax Parish Church.


Arabella was the daughter of James Daniel Micklethwaite
 

Children: Annie [b 1873] who was a feeder (woollen mill) [1891].

Arabella died 1875 (aged 20).

In 1877, he married (2) Eliza Hannah Dyson [1854-1886] at Halifax Parish Church.


Eliza Hannah of Rastrick, was the daughter of Abraham Dyson, stone dresser
 

Children: (2) Rachel [1880-1881]; (3) Edith [b 1882] who was a twiner piecer cotton [1901, 1911]; (4) Elizabeth [b 1885] who was a worsted winder [1901].

Eliza Hannah died 1886 (aged 32).

In 1888, he married Ellen Micklethwaite at St Peter's Church, Huddersfield. (3) 


Ellen of Bradley Lane, Huddersfield, was the daughter of James Daniel Micklethwaite, and sister of his 1st wife.

Ellen had a daughter Nellie [b 1902], father unknown

 

Children: (5) Hilda [b 1889] who was a worsted spinner [1901]; (6) Frank [b 1892] who was a iron moulder apprentice [1911]; (7) Ernest; (8) Eva [b 1897] who was a stepdaughter cotton winder [1911].

The family lived at New Road, Walker Square, Rastrick [1881]; 3 Foundry Street, Rastrick [1888]; Woodlands, Rastrick [1891]; 6 Manley Street Place, Brighouse [1901, 1911].

Andrew died 1897 (aged 48).

In [Q3] 1909, Ellen married Samuel Whiteley [1864-19??] in Huddersfield.


Samuel – a night watchman (railway station) - was born in Birchencliffe, Huddersfield
 

Leather, Ernest
[1894-1916] Son of Andrew Leather.

He was a scholar of St Martin's Sunday School, Brighouse; a chorister at St James's Church, Brighouse; a grocer's shop assistant [1911]; an employee of the Maypole Dairy Stores, Brighouse; an employee of the Maypole Dairy Stores in Sheffield.

On 15th January 1916 – the last day of his leave – he married Annie Petty at St Martin's Church, Brighouse.


Annie of 26 Orleans Street, Buttershaw, was the daughter of Joseph Petty, farm drier
 

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 22nd March 1916.

He was buried at the De Cusine Ravine British Cemetery, Basseux [D 1]

Leather, George Herbert
[1858-1902] Son of William Henry Leather of Knowsthorpe Hall, Leeds.

Born at Knowsthorpe [20th August 1858].

He was educated at Harrogate College; a land agent / surveyor; agent to Mrs Meynell Ingram; agent to the Earl of Westmorland [1889].

On 12th June 1879, he married Gertrude Outram in Leeds.


Gertrude was the daughter of
Benjamin Outram
 

The family lived at Harrogate [1902]

Leather industry

Leatherty Coit
A headless apparition driving a coach pulled by four headless horses which emerged from a barn near the Great House in Elland, and drove furiously through the town to is said to haunt Old Earth Farm before returning to the barn.

A story connects Leathery Coit, who was murdered in the pub in the 1700s, with the blood which indelibly stains the wooden staircase at the pub.

He is said to haunt Old Earth Farm.

See Haunted Calderdale

Leaver, Thomas
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Rishworth [1835]

Leaver, William
[1846-1907] Quarryman.

He married Unknown.

Children: Harry.

He lived at Farrer Heights, Ripponden.

On 9th July 1907, he was found dead in bed with his throat cut. His legs were tied together with bandages. An open blood-stained razor lay near.

The inquest returned a verdict of suicide during temporary insanity

Leavey, Rev Arthur Paul
[19??-19??] He was Chaplain in the Forces before becoming Vicar of Saint John The Divine, Rastrick [1944-1949]. In June 1948, he was appointed an Inspector of Schools. In 1949, he left to become Chaplain of Lincoln Prison

Leche, John
[14??-14??] Of Shelf. An early member of the Leach family recorded in 1430

Lecia
[11??-1211] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1190-1211]

Leckenby, Benton & Company
Machine tool makers at Perseverance Iron Works, Halifax [1905]

Lecturer's House, Halifax
Causeway. House.

Owners and tenants have included

Ledgard & Naylor
Stone merchants at South Edge Quarry, Hipperholme

Ledgard Bridge, Elland

Ledgard, Daniel
[1???-1???] Son of Edward Ledgard.

He inherited money from his uncle, John Armitage

Ledgard, Edward
[1???-17??] Of Mirfield.

In 1733, he married Anna Gill of the Gill family of Brighouse.

Children: (1) Daniel who died unmarried at the age of 22; (2) Francis who died unmarried in 1802; (3) Edward.

When Anna inherited the Gill family property, the Ledgard family came to live in Brighouse

Ledgard, Edward
[1747-1812] Son of Edward Ledgard.

In 1762, he inherited Bonegate Hall from his mother, Ann Gill.

He married Susanna Armitage.

Children: (1) Daniel; (2) William Edward.

He was buried at Rastrick Church

Ledgard, Henry
[1807-1874] Son of William Edward Ledgard.

He married Mary Downs. They had children

Ledgard, Jane
[1811-1883] Second daughter of William Edward Ledgard. She died unmarried at Brighouse

Ledgard, Joe Armitage
[1809-1881] Son of William Edward Ledgard.

He was a surgeon. He moved to Wetherby.

He married Margaret, daughter of Joseph Bates. They had children

He died in Boston Spa

Ledgard, John W.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Shropshire Light Infantry.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Ledgard, Mary Susanna
[1805-1877] Daughter of William Edward Ledgard.

She married (1) Mr Cooper.

She married (2) Mr Goldthorpe

Ledgard, William
[1813-1876] Son of William Edward Ledgard.

He married (1) Mary Eyre.


Mary was the daughter of Samuel Eyre of Armley
 

On 30th October 1850, he married (2) Catherine, daughter of John Brooke at St Martin's Church, Brighouse.

Children: Florence [18??-1936] who married Canadian Admiral John Denison [1853-1939].

He inherited Bonegate Hall. He subsequently sold it to John Barber

Ledgard, William Edward
[1770-1827] Son of Edward Ledgard.

Born in Rastrick.

He was a merchant. He owned properties in Mirfield, Brighouse and Hipperholme. He inherited Bonegate Hall.

He married Elizabeth Beaumont [1780-1845].


Elizabeth was the daughter of William Beaumont of Goldthorpe, Kirkheaton
 

Children: (1) Henry; (2) Joe Armitage; (3) William; (4) Mary Susanna; (5) Jane; (6) Elizabeth [1815-1892] who married Benjamin Hopkinson Bates.

His wife, Elizabeth, was buried at Rastrick

Ledsham, Henry
[15??-1598] Aka Ledsam. He was Rector of Wallington, Hertfordshire [1576]. Vicar of Halifax from 12th September 1585 until his resignation on 29th November 1593.

He was murdered in London

Lee
[Surname]

There are currently around 42 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Lee. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Lee's: A. Lee & Sons
Hipperholme coal merchants and furniture removals business [around 1900]. Established by Alfred Lee

Lee, Abraham
[1???-18??] Founder of Lee's Day School, Brighouse

Lee, Absalom
[1828-18??] Son of Samuel Lee.

Born in Rastrick.

He was educated at the Howgate Mary Boarding School in Knaresborough [1841].

He became a teacher in Rastrick.

He opened New Road Board School, Rastrick [1851].

In 1853, he married (1) Susannah Elizabeth [1827-1873].

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child.

He left Rastrick in the 1860s and moved to Thornton, Bradford. He ended his career in Speeton, Bridlington.

In 1874, he married (2) Emma Waines in Bridlington

Lee, Albert
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lee, Alfred
[1854-1917] Illegitimate son of Mary Lee from Norwood Green.


Alfred was possibly related to
James Lee
 

Born in Hipperholme.

He was a coal merchant [1874]. He established A. Lee & Sons

On 31st October 1874, he married Elizabeth Fidler in Halifax.


Elizabeth was the daughter of John Henry Fidler
 

Children: (1) Lewis; (2) Thomas; (3) Raymond; (4) Dora [b 1885]; (5) Wallace; (6) Nellie [b 1892]; (7) Harry [1896-1945].

The children were born in Hipperholme.

The family lived at 1 Lee's Buildings, Hipperholme [when they were built, around 1867].

The couple died in Hipperholme: Alfred 7/1/1917 [;]; Elizabeth 17/2/1934 []

Lee Bank Tunnel, Halifax
Carried the High Level Railway between Ovenden and the Old Lane Tunnel to North Bridge Station, Halifax

Lee Bottom Cottage, Todmorden
Lee Bottom Road. 18th century laithe-house.

Fielden House, Todmorden is attached

Lee Bottom, Walsden
An area of Walsden

Lee Bridge
At Lee Bridge where Lee Brook joins Hebble Brook.

Because of its state, the wooden bridge here was known as Shakehand Brig.

The bridge is mentioned in 1307.

In 1518, Richard Stancliffe left £6 13/4d to replace the original wooden bridge over the Hebble Brook with a stone bridge

In 1755, the old bridge was replaced by a new stone toll bridge for the Keighley to Wakefield turnpike.

The tolls were discontinued on 29th June 1867.

On 8th July 1880, one of the 10 ft span arches and 17 ft of the wall collapsed into the river below

Lee Bridge
Area of Calderdale to the north of Halifax where Lee Brook joins Hebble Brook.

The manor court of Ovenden was held here.

There have been several bridges over the brook here.

On 22nd May 1915, 20 people were injured when a tram overturned here

Lee Bridge Co-Op
Branch number 17 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in June 1867

Lee Bridge Cocoa Tavern, Halifax
A branch of the Halifax Cocoa House Company opened in January 1887 on the site of the old toll house

Lee Bridge House, Halifax
Owners and tenants have included

Lee Bridge Toll Bar, Halifax
The toll bar served the Halifax-Keighley turnpike.

It was discontinued of at midnight Saturday, 29th June 1867 because there was no toll between Halifax and Keighley.

Lee Bridge Cocoa Tavern opened on the site [1887]

Lee Brook, Halifax
Aka Mucky Beck. Stream which joins the Hebble Brook at Lee Bridge to flow beneath North Bridge.

It was part of the boundary between the townships of Ovenden and Northowram.

Many of the mills and quarries in the area discharged their effluence into the stream

Lee, Charles
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Lee, Charles
[1812-1898]

He was a farmer of 30 acres with Aaron Webster [1871]; a farmer of 29 acres with his son, daughter-in-law and 2 grandchildren [1881].

The family lived at Upper Norcliffe Farm, Southowram [1871, 1881, 1898].

He was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram

Lee, Clarence
[1895-1915] Son of Annie & John Alfred Lee of 51 Knowlwood Road, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He died 25th September 1915 (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Loos Memorial [Panel 35-37], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lee, Cummins
[1???-1???] Police Constable in Clifton [1857]

Lee Dam, Lumbutts
The Lee Dam Swim is held here

Lee Dam Swim
A local tradition held at Lee Dam, Lumbutts. Established in the 1960s. It was originally held on New Year's Day – or the first Sunday in January – but the date became variable.

It was cancelled in January 2009, because health and safety issues made insurance difficult.

It was held on New Year's Day 2010 and 21st January 2013

Lee, Elias
[18??-1849] On 11th August 1834, he married Ann Holdsworth [1821-1???].

Children: (1) Alfred [b 1843]; (2) Mary Ann.

The family lived at Northowram.

His wife, Ann, was a shopkeeper [1851] and a flour dealer [1861]

Lee, Emma Elizabeth
[1849-1???] Daughter of Joshua Lee, a farmer. She was the second wife of James Dyson

Lee Farm, Lumbutts
Lee Lane. House dated 1584. Now 2 dwellings

Lee, Francis
[15??-1639] A plasterer who was responsible for the plasterwork in many local houses – such as Marsh Hall. The moulds which he used to produce his plasterwork have been found in houses beyond Calderdale

Lee, Frank
[18??-1957] JP.

He was a Director of Crossley's and Chairman and Governing Director of W. & R. K. Lee Limited and of Spur Doubling Mill Limited.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £276,865

Lee, Frederick
[18??-19??] Established Frederick Lee & Company.

He lived at Woodlands Avenue, Todmorden [1905]

Lee's: Frederick Lee & Company
Printers, stationers and publishers established by Frederick Lee at 34 Pavement, Todmorden [1905] and 54 Rochdale Road [1917]. They published the Todmorden Advertiser.

Their works at Pavement, Todmorden were destroyed by fire on 26th May 1911

Lee, Geoffrey
[19??-] Halifax draughtsman turned novelist. Lived in Lightcliffe from 1976.

His works include

  • Bamford: Memoirs of a Blood & Thunder Coach

  • Wars of the Roses: A history of Lancashire v Yorkshire Cricket Matches

  • One Winter

  • One Spring: Romance, Rock 'n' Roll and Rugby League in the 1970s

  • One Summer

Lee, Rev George
[1770-1842] Born in Elland. He was a tutor in Belper. He conducted a day school in Hull. He was a Unitarian minister in Hull. He was joint-proprietor of the Rockingham newspaper

Lee, Henry
[18??-1???] JP.

He was a major benefactor of the Zion Congregational Church, Ripponden

Lee, Henry
[18??-18??] He was the innkeeper of the Duke of York Inn, Shelf. He also farmed 2 acres there.

In 1861, he married Hannah Northend.

In 1871, they were living near Leeds

The Lee, Heptonstall
Owners and tenants have included

Lee House Cocoa Tavern, Halifax
A branch of the Halifax Cocoa House Company

Lee House, Ovenden Wood
Later known as Spring Gardens and Spring Lea, Ovenden Wood.

A house is mentioned in 1609, owned by John Bairstow. In 1623, he sold it to the Murgatroyd family.

The Murgatroyd family built the 17th century F-plan house. There is a datestone HM 1625 for Henry Murgatroyd.

It was extended in the 18th century. Part of the building was used as a store by the Waddington family of textile manufacturers and merchants.

In the 18th century, the building belonged to the Ramsbottom family of Birks Hall.

In the early 1800s, John Wade lived here.

In the 1800s, it was divided into 4 separate dwellings. In 1870, it was a pub known as Wright's Gardens It became the Spring Gardens Pub.

In the 1930s, it became derelict.

In the 1940s, it was restored

Lee House, Shibden
Lee Lane, Shibden. 2-storey house built in 1766 as a wedding present for a daughter of the Stocks family.

The house was designed in Georgian style by John Carr of York.

Owners and tenants have included

Lee, Isaac
[1856-1???] Born in St Ives, Huntingdonshire.

He was color sergeant [1891]; an architect & surveyor's clerk [1901]; an army pensioner & land surveyor's clerk [1911]; with Jackson & Fox [1914].

He married Bridget [1862-1???].


Bridget was born in County Mayo, Ireland
 

Children: (1) John Patrick [b 1882] who was a labourer railway goods yard [1901]; (2) Charles [b 1884] who was a labourer woollen dyer [1901]; (3) James [born in India 1886] who was a labourer woollen dyer [1901]; (4) Helen / Ellen Jane [b 1889]; (5) Isaac [b 1891]; (6) Thomas [b 1893] who was a carpet cutting [1911]; (7) Martin Cunningham [b 1895] who was an oiler worsted mill [1911]; (8) Mary Ellen [b 1897]; (9) William [b 1898] who was a twiner cotton mill [1911]; (10) Frank [b 1902]; (11) Norah [b 1902]; (12) Joseph [b 1904].

The family lived at West Riding Regiment Depot, High Road Well, Halifax [1891]; 8 Green Mount Terrace, Halifax [1901]; 10 Green Mount Terrace, Halifax [1911]; 23 Bank House, Salterhebble [1914]

Lee, Isaac
[1890-1914] Son of Isaac Lee.

Born in Halifax Barracks.

He was employed by the Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited.

In 1911, he was in Ambala, India, serving as a Private with the 1st Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding) Regiment.

In 1914, he was serving as a Corporal with the 1st Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He was killed in action in France [27th October [1914].

He is remembered on the Le Touret Memorial [Panel 5 & 6] and on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Lee, James
[18??-19??] Son of James Lee.

He went into the family business – James Lee & Sons.

He was also a builder.

He owned an antique and curio business in the parade of shops at Lee's Buildings, Hipperholme

Lee, James
[1816-1???] Innkeeper of the Hare & Hounds, Stansfield [1841].

He married Sarah [1816-1???]

Lee, James
[1816-1906] In 1867, he bought Tan House Croft, Hipperholme.

He built Hipperholme Tannery.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) James.

He and his family ran the business, James Lee & Sons, until 1903 when it was bought by Brookes. The Lee family lived at – and probably owned – Gaubert Hall, Hipperholme for several decades from the mid-19th century until after 1891

Lee, James Denton
[1891-1918] Son of William Lee.

Born in King Cross.

He served as a 2nd Lieutenant with the 10th Battalion Manchester regiment of the Lancaster Yeomanry.

He died [22nd January 1918] of wounds received in France during World War I.

There is a memorial to him in Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1645].

His sister, Kate, placed a seat at Trinity College Cambridge in her brother's memory, and paid for National Trust woodland to be planted at Busk Wood, Little Langdale, Cumbria in his memory.

In 1921, he was awarded a posthumous British War Medal which Kate received on behalf of their mother

Lee's: James Lee & Sons
Leather merchants, tanners and curriers established in 1839 by James Lee at Hipperholme Tannery.

His sons, John and James, joined the business.

In 1874, they were listed as tanners and curriers, manufacturers of combing, spinning, roving and drawing leathers, double and single belting, laces and leathers for all sorts of mill purposes.

An advertisement describes them as winners of several international awards, patentees and manufacturers of

Adjustable link belting

for driving electrical equipment, and manufacturers of

Non-such lace

which was invaluable for cotton-spinners and could not be equalled for lightness and strength.

In 1903, they moved to Denholmegate Road.

The business closed in 19??.

See Lee's Buildings, Hipperholme

Lee, Joan
[19??-] Local poet. She lives in Luddendenfoot. She was a founder member of Pennine Poets

Lee, Job
[1???-1???] Carpet manufacturer at Lower George Yard, Halifax.

On his death, the business was carried on by John Crossley and others

Lee, John
[1832-1???] Born in Meltham.

He was an engine tenter [1881]; landlord of the Brighton Hotel, Halifax [1891].

He married Hannah [1832-18??], born in Rishworth. John was a widower by 1891.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1862] who was a cotton winder [1881]; (2) Honora [b 1863] who was a cotton twiner [1881]; (3) Isaac [b 1864] who was a shaft oiler [1881]; (4) Charles Henry [b 1865]; (5) Harry S [b 1873] who was a mill hand [1891]; (6) John [b 1875] who was a mill hand [1891].

The family lived at 29 Richardson Street, Halifax [1881]. After John's death, daughter Sarah may have taken over at the Brighton Hotel

Lee, John
[1845-1904] Son of James Lee.

Born 20th April 1845.

He went into the family business – James Lee & Sons.

He was a member of the Hipperholme Local Board

Lee, John
[1860-19??] Born in Bishop Burton, Yorkshire.

He was a coachman, living at Brier Lodge, Southowram [1901].

In [Q4] 1882?, he married Alice Pickles? from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Thomas H [b 1888]; (2) William [b 1893]; (3) Harold [b 1896]; (4) Dorothy [b 1900].

The family lived at Brier Lodge, Southowram [1901]

Lee, John Styring
[1859-19??] Son of Joseph Lee.

Born in Halifax.

He was a wine merchant at Barum Top; a wine & spirit merchant (employer) [1901].

He inherited the family business.

In 1895, he married Letitia Conway. [1866-19??] from Goole, in Bradford.

Children: Marjorie [b 1897].

The family lived at 17 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1901]; 58 Heath Crescent, Halifax [1905]

Lee, Joseph
[1821-18??] He was employed by John Styring as an assistant in his grocery business.

On John Styring's death [February 1858], it appears that Joseph inherited the business.

He was a wine and spirit merchant [1871].

In 1846, he married Mary Styring.


Mary was the daughter John Styring
 

Children: (1) Catherine [b 1847]; (2) Mary A [b 1850]; (3) Eliza [b 1851]; (4) Margaret [b 1855]; (5) John Styring; (6) Thomas H [b 1861].

The family lived at Barum Top, Halifax [1871]

Lee, Kenneth Henry Brown
[1???-1966] Pharmaceutical chemist of Rastrick

Lee, Lewis
[1875-1927] Son of Alfred Lee.

He was an assistant coal merchant [1899, 1911].

He had a grocer's shop at 1 Halifax Road, Hipperholme.

On 26th April 1899, he married Laura Waddington [1873-1935] in Halifax


Laura was born in Brighouse
 

Children: 2.

The couple died in Hipperholme: Lewis [30th October 1927] Laura [1035]

Lee, Martin
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Lee, Mary Ann
[1845-19??] Daughter of Elias Lee.

She was a winder in a worsted factory [1861].

She married George Frederick Leach

Lee Mill Fustian Manufacturing, Dyeing & Finishing Company
Dyers and finishers at Lee Mill, Heptonstall [1905]

Lee Mount
District to the north of Halifax, south of Ovenden.

See Bank Top, Lee Mount

Lee Mount Club

Lee Mount Co-Op
Branch number 26 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in February 1884

Lee Mount Liberal Club

Lee Mount Library
Recorded in 1936

Lee Mount Post Office
Recorded in 1905 at 2 Japan Street

Lee Mount Subscription Brass Band
Aka Lee Mount Band.

Formed in 1888.

In September 1901, they won the 1000 guineas Gold Championship Trophy at Crystal Palace.

In 1905, their rehearsal room was at Old Lane, Halifax. Disbanded in 1???.

See Cain Thornton and Frederick Walker

Lee Mount Working Men's Club

The Lee, Northowram
Owners and tenants have included

Lee, Oscar
[18??-19??] He had a joinery business at Lee's Buildings, Hipperholme

Lee, R. K.
[18??-1???] Of Kebroyd House.

He may have been involved in the design of Zion Congregational Church, Ripponden [1870]

Lee, Raymond
[1883-1941] Son of Alfred Lee.

He was a leather dresser [1915].

On 10th March 1915, he married Emily Broadbent [1888-1970] at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe.


Emily was born in Halifax
 

Children: 1.

Raymond died in Hipperholme [14th April 1941]

Lee, Samuel
[1787-18??] Born in Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children: Absalom

The Lee, Shibden
House near Shibden Mill.

Owners and tenants have included

Lee Smith Wires
Established in 1982, when the former Frederick Smith & Company was taken over by Arthur Lee & Sons

Lee, Rev T.
[18??-1???] Minister at Cross Lanes United Methodist Chapel, Hebden Bridge. He left in July 1897

Lee's: T. & D. Lee
Furniture removers, storers and general carriers at Halifax. Recorded in 1905, when they had offices at 47 Northgate Yard, Halifax and 51 Bedford Street North, Halifax

Lee, Thomas
[1798-1874] Born in Hipperholme.

He was a farmer [1841]; a farmer of 17 acres [1851].

In 1815, he married Hannah Taylor [1796-1862] from Bierley, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Jane [b 1816]; (2) John [b 1817]; (3) Thomas D [b 1821]; (4) Hannah [b 1821]; (5) Sampson [b 1825]; (6) Henry [b 1827] who was a wool sorter [1851]; (7) Daniel [b 1828]; (8) Harriat [b 1831]; (9) Ellen Ann [b 1834]; (10) S. Marsden [b 1837] who married Drusilla Haigh; (11) Lavinia [b 1842].

The family lived at Coley Hall; Plane Trees Farm, Coley.

Thomas and Hannah were buried at Coley Church

Lee, Thomas
[1879-19??] Son of Alfred Lee.

Born in Hipperholme [20th July 1879].

He was a coal merchant's assistant, [1911]; a farmer [1923].

On 31st May 1923, he married Agnes Ivy Mary Leigh at Coley Church.


Agnes Ivy Mary was a widow
 

Lee's: W. & R. K. Lee Limited
Cotton and spun rayon doublers at Lock Hill Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905], and at Manchester.

Established in 1???.

They were partners in Croslee Yarns Limited.

The Roll of Honour, for those employees who died in World War I, can be seen in Bankfield Museum

In 1949, they and Spur Doubling Mill Limited were directly controlled by John Crossley & Sons Limited

See Frank Lee

Lee, Wallace
[1887-1970] Son of Alfred Lee.

Born in Hipperholme [25th November 1887].

He was chief cashier at the Halifax Building Society

Lee, William
[1863-1898] Born in Shipley.

He became a grocer and greengrocer in Halifax.

In [Q2] 1889, he married Mary Denton [1868-1950] in Halifax.


Mary was the daughter of
Thomas Edward Denton
 

Children: (1) James Denton; (2) Kate [b 1891].

The family lived at 7 Winding Road Cocoa House, Halifax.

After William's death, Mary went to work in Sheffield, and the children were resident scholars at Crossley Orphanage.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1645]

Leech
A variant of the surname Leach

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Leech. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Leech, Cuthbert H.
[18??-19??] He lived at Crawstone Hall, Greetland

Leech, Dr J. T.
[18??-19??] Physician. He was Medical Officer of Health [1905]

Leech, John
[1854-1???] Born in Cheshire.

He was an elementary schoolmaster [1881].

He married Unknown. He was widowed by 1881.

Children: (1) Frederick Ernest [b 1877]; (2) Rose Ethel [b 1878].

The family lived at The School House, Northowram [1881]

The School House is listed next to the Craven Heifer, Northowram in the 1881 census

Leech, Dr Priestley
[18??-19??] MD, FRCS.

He was junior house surgeon at Warrington Infirmary; physician and surgeon at Halifax [1895]; Medical Officer at the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary [1895]; President of Halifax & District Medical Society [1900]; honorary surgeon to Halifax Infirmary [1905].

He contributed papers to the leading medical journals.

He lived at 34 King Cross Road [1905]

Leedes, Edward Rookes

Leedham, Ellis & Pratt
Quarrymen at Northowram, Clayton and Thornton.

Partners included John Leedham, Edward Ellis and William Pratt.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1854

Leeds & West Riding Junction Railway
In November 1884, an application was made to Parliament for a line from Leeds to Bradford, and Halifax, passing Wyke, Lightcliffe, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse, Northowram, Southowram, Halifax, Skircoat, Elland-cum-Greetland, Warley, Norland and Sowerby.

See Leeds, Bradford & Halifax Junction Railway

Leeds, Bradford & Halifax Junction Railway
The line was started in August 1852, and opened on 31st July 1854.

In 1863, it was decided to amalgamate the company with the Great Northern Railway Company.

See Leeds & West Riding Junction Railway

Leeds, Bradford & Halifax Railway
See Halifax Railway Station and Trains

Leeds Fireclay Company Limited
The business was established in 1842 when John Lassey [1822-1858] and William Wilcock [1824-1877] bought 22 acres of land and registered Lassey & Wilcock, coal proprietors & brick makers.

In 1863, John's widow, Margaret, sold her share of the business to Leeds businessman, John Holroyd.

The business was registered as the Wilcock & Company.

They produced Burmantofts faience pottery, salt-glazed bricks, and decorative tiles.

In 1888, the business was registered as the Burmantofts Company.

In 1889, the Burmantofts Company – together with William Ingram & Sons of Wortley, Joseph Cliff & Sons of Wortley, the Wortley Fireclay Company, Joseph Brooke & Sons of Halifax, and Edwards Brooke & Sons of Huddersfield - consolidated into the Leeds Fireclay Company Limited.

In 1904, pottery production finished.

In 1907, Oates & Green Limited was acquired.

Around 1915, they manufactured ceramics and pottery for the chemical industry.

See Newton Brooke, Lower Place Farm, Southowram and Mytholm Mill, Northowram

Leeds, of Duke
Lord of the Manor of Wakefield, Marquess of Carmarthen. He had jurisdiction over Halifax prior to the incorporation of Halifax Borough. The town was governed by a bailiff.

See Duke of Leeds' Arms, Halifax and James Whitaker

Leeds's: Thomas Leeds & Company
Recorded in 1799-1800, when they were at Gauxholme Cotton Mill

Leek, John William
[1863-19??] Born in Tadcaster.

He was a solicitor's clerk [1891]; an accountant [1901]; a land & estate agent [1911].

In [Q1] 1888, he married (1) Ruth Ann Bentley [1866-1907] in Halifax.


Ruth Ann was born in Halifax, daughter of William Bentley
 

Children: (1) Frank Bentley [b 1890] who was an advertising agent [1911], an assistant paymaster in the Royal Naval Reserves [WW1]; (2) Constance Asquith [1892-1901]; (3) Wilfred Bentley; (4) Horace Bentley [b 1896] who was a stuff & fent assistant [1911], with the Bradford 2nd Pals [WW1]; (5) William Bentley [b 1898]; (6) Lucy Asquith [b 1899] who was a blind from birth [1901].

Ruth Ann died 1. (aged 41)  In [Q3] 1909, he married (2) Jessica Muriel Maud [1887-19??].


Jessica Muriel Maud was born in Fort William, Calcutta, India
 

Children: George Arthur Rowe [b 1910].

The family lived at 8 Apsley Terrace, Skircoat, Halifax [1891]; Stutleyville, Kingston, Halifax (between Tyson Street & Warley Road) [1901]; 15 Grove Terrace, Bradford [1911]; 281 Rock Terrace, Manningham, Bradford [1915].

Living with them in 1901 were nieces Maud Mary Walker [aged 22] and Gertrude Asquith Walker [aged 18]

Leek, Wilfred Bentley
[1894-1915] Son of John William Leek.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Halifax Secondary School; a wool sorter [1911]; a commercial traveller.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 72nd Field Ambulance, Royal Army Medical Corps. After training in Eastbourne, he was sent to France [2nd September 1915].

He was killed in France [27th September 1915].

He was buried at Chocques Military Cemetery, France

Leeman, Rev William Luther
[1848-1905] MA, FRGS.

He was Curate at Hartshead / Clifton [1872-1873]; Chaplain to Viscount Halifax [1874].

He left and served as curate at Holy Trinity, Windsor [1876-1877], vicar of Rosedale in the North Riding [1877-1879], and vicar of Seaforth, Lancashire [1879-1882].

He died in Lincoln [Q1 1905]

Leeming, Alfred
[18??-19??] Father of architects Joseph and John Leeming

Leeming & Leeming
Architectural partnership of brothers Joseph and John Leeming. They were both apprenticed to Charles Frederick Luke Horsfall.

The partnership was set up in Northgate [1872] and they had offices at 34 George Street, Halifax.

Later, they were at 117 Victoria Street, London.

The firm won many prizes for their work.

The firm designed the Halifax Borough Market, and the adjacent Old Arcade and Russell Street Arcade. They submitted their designs under the name Auld Lang Syne.

They worked on other local buildings, including King Cross Methodist Chapel, Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden, Stainland Mechanics' Institute and Upper Brockholes Methodist Chapel and extensions to Heath Grammar School.

They also designed the Admiralty and the War Office in London [1884], the Market Hall Oldham, and Kirkgate Market, Leeds.

See Richard Fielding Farrar

Leeming, Dan
[1???-18??] Partner in Crossley & Leeming.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) a daughter; (2) a daughter; (3) Sarah who married [1854] Christopher Hebblethwaite from Rochdale, at Square Chapel

Leeming's Furnishers, Halifax
Upholsterers and furnishers established by H. Leeming. They were at 29 Lister Lane [1936]

Leeming, H.
[18??-19??] Established in Leeming's

Leeming Hall, Todmorden
Millwood.

Owners and tenants of the Hall have included

Linda Briggs writes that

The house was bought in 1910 by my grandmother's uncle, Tom Law. It had been a large estate, but in 1909 it was broken up into lots and sold at auction. Uncle Tom bought Lot 7 for £430. This consisted of the house, the dairy, the adjacent garden cottage and 2 closes of land. The total area was 860 square yards. My grandmother and my father moved to live with Uncle Tom at Leeming Hall during the 1920's. Uncle Tom died in 1927 at which time the house was sold to Ellen and Mary Ashworth for £865

Conveyance Dated 29th January 1910

William Henry Sutcliffe Esq., the personal representative of Mr James Crabtree deceased, to Mr Tom Law, the Conveyance of the freehold estate called Leeming Hall situate at Millwood in the borough of Todmorden in the County of York with the dwelling house Garden Cottage and the appurtenances thereto belonging.

Eastwood and Sutcliffe Solicitors Todmorden

Leeming, Henry Charles
[18??-18??] Halifax solicitor.

See Samuel Hoyle

Leeming, John
[1849-1???] FRIBA. Son of Alfred Leeming. Brother and partner of Joseph Leeming.

He was articled to Charles Frederick Luke Horsfall [1865]. John was later assistant to Adams & Kelly in Leeds, and Owen Edwards and Thomas William Helliwell in Brighouse [between 1869 and 1872].

The brothers subsequently set up their own practice – Leeming & Leeming.

He was admitted FRIBA on 18th February 1901

Leeming, Joseph
[1841-1929] FRIBA. Son of Alfred Leeming. Brother and partner of John Leeming.

He was articled to Charles Frederick Luke Horsfall [1866]. Joseph was later assistant to Thomas William Helliwell in Brighouse [between 1871 and 1872].

In 1872, the brothers set up their own practice – Leeming & Leeming.

He was admitted FRIBA on 10th February 1901

Leeming, Robert
[18??-19??] Farm bailiff and agricultural instructor at Shibden Industrial School. He lived at Lister Road [1905]

Leeming, Sarah A.
[1832-1???] Born in Manchester.

Innkeeper of the Britannia Inn, Halifax [1871].

She was widowed by 1871.

Children: (1) Sam [b 1853] who was an accountant's clerk [1871]; (2) Annie E [b 1861]

Leeming, William
[18??-18??] Journeyman mechanic at Beaumont Town, and formerly, tea dealer and draper at Wesley Street, Halifax.

In November 1862, he was declared bankrupt

The Lees family
Of Lower Willow Hall, Sowerby Bridge. Samuel Lees was an important member of the family.

See Joshua Hudson

Lees & Rigg
Cotton spinners at Stubbing Mill [?] [1809]

The Lees, Brighouse
Mill Lane / Armytage Road.

The Abattoir of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited opened here in 1888.

The Society's Joiner's shop, known as the Cabinet Works was on the first floor of the building.

There was also a small terrace of houses here which were owned by, and possibly built by, the Society


Question: Were the houses built by the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited?

 

Lees, Clifford
[19??-] OBE.

He joined Appleyard, Lees & Company in 1952 – on the day that Gerbacio Protacio Appleyard retired.

He became proprietor of the company in 1971.

He was President of the Chartered Institute of Patent Agents.

He retired in 1995.

In 1996, he was awarded the OBE for services to the intellectual property profession

Lees, Clifford
[19??-19??] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle. Wrote a nature notes column for the Halifax Courier. He was also a watercolour artist who illustrated his articles and books by other people. His published works include

  • The Natural History of Shibden [1962]

Lees, Edward T.
[18??-1???] Oil cloth manufacturer.

He lived at 10 Leadhall Street, Halifax [1887]

Lees, George
[17??-18??] Cotton manufacturer at Hebden Bridge.

In April 1826, he was declared bankrupt

Lees's: J. S. Lees & Company
Accountants and insurance brokers established by Joseph Shaw Lees. They were at Southgate Chambers, Halifax [1920]

Lees, John
[1???-18??] Of Salterhebble, Halifax.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835]

Lees, John
[17??-1???] Merchant of Bull Close, Halifax. In 1777, he and John Edwards had business at Slitheroe Mills, Rishworth

Lees, John
[17??-1801] Of Halifax.

He died in the Isle of Man [10th October 1801]

Lees, John
[1755-1832] Of Salterhebble.

He married Lucy [1763-1820].

The couple were buried in Halifax Parish Church

Lees, John
[18??-1???] Of Charlestown, Halifax. On 27th April 1861, a local newspaper announced

ASYLUM FOR IDIOTS

The parents and friends who were interested in the election of JOHN LEES of Charlestown to the Idiot Asylum at Earleswood, return their sincere and warmest thanks for the benevolent assistance which has enabled them to secure his admission

Lees's: John & Samuel Lees
Merchants and woollen manufacturers at Hebble Mill, Wheatley. Except for weaving, they carried out complete processing of wool into cloth.

They occupied rooms at the Piece Hall [1787].

Partners included John Lees and Samuel Lees.

In June 1803, the business was declared bankrupt

Lees, Joseph Shaw
[1845-19??] Son of Thomas Lees.

He was a partner in J. S. Lees & Company [1920]; at the Halifax & District Creditors' Association [1917].

In 1869, he married Martha Starkey in Halifax.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) Harry who married Catharine, daughter of Charles William Sheard Harte.

The family lived at Lower Brea, Shibden [1920]

Lees, Margaret
[19??-] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

Lees's: Messrs Lees
Business at New Road, Halifax.

(Possibly) carpet manufacturers.

Recorded around 1913, when Walter Green, a creeler in a carpet weaving business, worked here

Lees Road Co-operative Society
The Lees Road branch of the Hebden Bridge Co-operative Society opened in 1892

Lees, Samuel
[16??-17??] Owned Upper Cockcroft Hall, Rishworth and Upper Cockcroft Farm, Rishworth.

He married Ellen

Lees, Samuel
[17??-1761] Of the Lees family of Willow Hall, Cote Hill.

He married Unknown.

Children: Elizabeth [1745-1803] who married John Edwards.

He died at Lendal, York where he had gone on the advice of physicians

Lees, Samuel
[17??-18??] He was a partner in John & Samuel Lees; one of the town trustees for Halifax.

He occupied Room 3 on the Colonnade of the Piece Hall [1787].

He lived at Savile Green [1787]

Lees, Samuel
[1782-1826] He married Ruth [1779-1854].

Samuel died 18th December 1826; Ruth died 15th November 1854.

They were buried at St Mary's, Luddenden

Lees, Thomas
[17??-18??] He had several businesses including cotton [?] spinning at Bankfoot Mill, Hebden Bridge; jenny spinning and handloom weaving at Spring Hall Mill, Hebden Bridge; fulling and flax spinning at Midgehole Mill, Hebden Bridge.

In 1807, he was declared bankrupt. The Bankfoot Mill property was sold by order of the Assignees at Auction on 21st January 1808

Lees, Thomas
[1791-1867] He was a cordwainer [1841]; in charge of Parkfield Academy [from 1847].

In 1837, he married Rachel Wolstenholme in Halifax.

Children: (1) William [b 1839]; (2) Thomas Shaw who became a bookkeeper [1867]; (3) Joseph Shaw [b 1845].

The family lived at Black Field House, Soyland [1841]; Broad Hollin, Soyland; Hanging Lee Mill, Soyland [1867].

Thomas Wolstenholme was Thomas's executor

Lees, Thomas
[18??-1???] Grocer at 13 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]

Lees, Thomas H. K.
[18??-19??] Oil cloth manufacturer at King Cross, Halifax.

He lived at 111 Parkinson Lane, Halifax [1905]

Lees's: Walter Lees & Company Limited
Engineers and brassfounders at Bedford Street, Halifax [1905]

Leese, G.
[18??-19??] A 1900 advertisement announced

G. Leese

Wants everybody to know that he keeps the Largest Stock of Glass & China in Yorkshire

12 Arcade, Halifax

Legard, Matilda
[1???-18??] Of Scarborough.

She married Robert Alexander

Legends, myths & tales

Legends of the Lower Calder Valley
A website – published by Kai Roberts – with stories of hauntings and folk traditions in the Brighouse and Elland district

Leggett, William H
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Legh, Rev Dr George
[1693-1775] LLD.

Vicar of Halifax [1731]

The Legion of Frontiersmen
Recorded in 1936 at 10a Princess Street, Halifax

Legislation & Acts

Leicester, Earl of
In 1566, Queen Elizabeth granted land in the district to the Earl of Leicester. This included

  1. 533 acres and 1½ rood of land, and a parcel of land approximately 80 yards by 40 yards, 4 watercourses, and 2 parcels of land and waste within the graveship of Sowerby

  2. 221 acres and 2½ roods of land, and pieces of land approximately 50 yards by 20 yards, and 1 watercourse in the graveship of Hipperholme

  3. 12 acres and ½ rood of land in the graveship of Rastrick

The following year, the Earl granted these lands to Henry Savile [of Lupset] and Thomas Gargrave [of Kinsley]

Leicester, Milner
[18??-1???] He married Mary Hannah, daughter of Thomas Collinson

Leiche, Richard
[15??-15??] Minister at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby [1551].

Recorded on 7th June 1551 when he was a witness to the will of Edward Waterhouse

Leigh, Charles Robert Fisher
[19??-19??] He lived at Woodside, Ripponden.

He married Mavis Anne Greenslade.

Children: (1) David Patrick [b 1946]; (2) Sally Nicola [b 1947]

Leigh, Edward Egerton
[1851-1913] Of Broadwell, Gloucestershire. Third son of Colonel Egerton Leigh, Conservative MP for Mid-Cheshire.

In September 1874, he married Laura Maude Edwards.

Children: J. E..

In 1912, he was involved in a carriage accident which aggravated his failing health and led to his death a year later

Leigh, Rev Francis
[18??-18??] MA.

Of Leek, Staffordshire.

In September 1867, he married Marian Prescott

Leigh, Dr George

Leigh, Captain J. E.
[1???-1914] Son of Edward Egerton Leigh and grandson of Sir Henry Edwards of Pye Nest, Halifax.

He was killed in action [4th April 1917]

Leigh, John
[15??-15??] Or Johannis Lee.

Vicar of Elland [1577]

Leigh, Mrs M.
[18??-1???] Lived at Hoyle House, Friendly. A lintel is dated 18 ML 85 when she rebuilt part of the house which had collapsed [1885]

Leighton, Rev Edward
[1801-1874] He trained at Rotherham College [1826] before becoming First Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Ovenden [1837-1840].

He married Unknown.

Children: Elizabeth.

In 1840, he resigned when the Chapel was unable to pay his salary, a consequence of the depression following mill closures in the district. He moved to Loughborough [August 1840], then to Heanor in Derbyshire. He died at Hornsey

Leighton, Elizabeth
[18??-18??] (Possibly) Elizabeth Walker Leighton. Daughter of Rev Edward Leighton.

She married Edward Hawksley Oates.

After Edward's death, she became the second wife of Joseph Crossley.

After Josephs' death, she lived at Broomfield House, Halifax [1871] and then Highgate, London

Leising
[1085-11??] Aka Leisigus, Leisingus, Leising de Eland. Son of Orm. Born in Rochdale.

Like his grandfather Gamel and his father, he managed Elland for the absentee landowners, the de Lacy family. He held the Manor of Rochdale.

He married Unknown.

Children: Henry.

He lived at Elland Hall and was succeeded by his son Henry

Leister, Thomas
[16??-16??] Son of James George Lister.

He emigrated to the USA.

He changed his surname to Lester

Lello, William Richard
[1855-1908] He ran a number of public dining rooms in the Hebden Bridge district, including tea-rooms at Hardcastle Crags [1902]

Lemm, Fred
[1914-1942] Born 4th May 1914.

During World War II, he served as a Private / Craftsman with the Royal Electrical & Mechanical Engineers.

He died 10th October 1942.

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery [D C 284]

Lench House, Rishworth
House dated BY 1702 IB and a barn dated IAB 1705

Lenches, Parrack Nook
Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

Lennard's
Brighouse florists. Recorded in the 1940s, when they were at 2 Bradford Road, Brighouse [Tel: 233]

Lennard, Rev Vivian Robert
[18??-19??] MA.

He was Curate at Halifax [1882] before becoming Second Vicar of Lightcliffe [8th August 1883].

See Hipperholme Infants' School

Leno, Dan
[1860-1904] Music hall comedian.

He and Robert Williamson Templeton appeared on the same bill at the Star Theatre, Stockton [12th June 1885]

He and the Leno Family appeared on the bill of Templeton's Varieties at the Halifax Gaiety Theatre

Lent & Whitehead
Halifax engineers. The business became W. Lent & Company

Lent's: K. M. Lent Limited
Furniture manufacturers and house furnishers at Halifax [1950s] and Keighley

Lent's: W. Lent & Company
Originally Lent & Whitehead.

Saw mill engineers and makers of wood working machinery at New Road Ironworks [1912]

Leonard, James
[18??-18??] Soap manufacturer at Rastrick [1874]

Leonard, James
[18??-18??] BA.

He was a member of Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street. He joined the ministry

Leonard, Patrick
[18??-19??] In March 1902, he stabbed John Lister in his left shoulder. Lister had befriended Leonard sometime before. He was sentenced to 4 months' hard labour

Leppington, Samuel
[1807-1???] Born in Sheffield.

He was fancy woollen manufacturer at his Leppington's mill at Brookfoot [1842]; woollen scribbler employing 12 men [1851]; a Surveyor of the Highways for the township of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1860].

In December 1860, he was charged with neglecting to repair about 1000 yards of road between Bonegate and Slead Syke. He claimed that he had no authority to repair the road in question, and this was supported by a recent meeting of ratepayers. The case was referred to the Assizes.

In 1847, he married Mary Ann Woodhouse [1823-1???] from Rastrick, in Halifax.

Children: (1) William [b 1849]; (2) Eliza [b 1850]; (3) Mary [b 1850].

The family lived at Brookfoot [1851]; the house which became the Lane Head Hotel

Leppington, William E.
[18??-1???] In 1892, he bought the Castle Carr estate.

By 1895, he tired of the property – which proved to be an immense residence to staff and maintain, and difficult of access – and he sold the estate to John Murgatroyd of Broadfold whose estate bordered the Castle Carr land

Leppington's Wood
Woodland at Brookfoot, Brighouse

Leppingwell, Herbert
[1857-1???] Watch and clock maker in Halifax.

In [Q2] 1879, he married Alice Redman in Halifax.

Recorded in 1881 at 65 Pellon Lane, Halifax.

On 4th January 1886, a Herbert Leppingwell was sentenced to 12 months' imprisonment for

Larceny by bailee

Leroyd, Michael
[15??-1614] Of Sowerby.

Heywood records that he died in the snow of 1614

Lesley, James
[1844-1???] He was a farmer of 30 acres Sunny Bank Farm, Southowram [1881]

He married Leah [1844-1???].

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child

Less Colden Farm, Heptonstall
Late 18th century laithe-house.

See Higher Colden, Heptonstall

Lesser Blackwell Hall
See Blackwell Hall, Halifax

Letcher, Rev T.
[18??-19??] United Methodist Free Church minister at Elland [1905]

Letellier, Father
[1???-18??] A French Roman Catholic priest who, together with Father Dubois, fled from France during the Napoleonic Wars and established a small Catholic chapel at a house in Lilly Lane, Halifax. They returned to France after Napoleon had been deposed


Question: Could he be the victim of the robbery on 21st February 1812?

 

Levens, Rev John Thomson
[18??-19??] MA.

Curate at Lightcliffe [1899]

Lever Brothers
They had a laundry at Albert Road, Halifax [1905]

Lever, Jack
[19??-19??] JP.

He was Mayor of Todmorden [1967-1968]

Lever, Peter
[1940-] Todmorden-born county and England cricketer. Between 1970 and 1975, he played in 17 Tests and 10 one-day internationals. He attended Todmorden Grammar School. He was a member of Todmorden Cricket Club

Leverthorpe, Joan
[1479-15??] One of the last 3 nuns of Kirklees Priory in the 16th century.

See Three Nuns, Kirklees Park

Levy, Thomas
[1874-1953] Born in London. He introduced a bill to reform the firearms laws, which eventually became the Firearms Act [1934]. He was Conservative MP for Elland [1931-1945]. He was chairman of the British Wool Advisory Committee [1939-1940]

Lewin's: A. Lewin & Company Limited
Electrical engineers and contractors established by Arnold Lewin. They were at 3 Lord Street, Halifax [1936]

Lewin, Arnold
[1887-1979] Son of Septimus Lewin.

He was an engineer. He established A. Lewin & Company Limited.

In 1912, he married (1) Jane Milne, daughter of John Henry Oates.

Jane died 1914.

He was buried at Warley Town Cemetery in an Oates family grave.

In 1916, he married (2) Unknown.

He lived at 17 St Albans Road, Halifax [1936]

Lewin, Ernest Charles
[1874-1955] Son of Septimus Lewin.

He took over from his mother as licensee of the Hare & Hounds, Halifax [17th October 1906-2nd July 1941]

Lewin, Frank
[1879-1957] Son of Septimus Lewin.

He was a patent agent at Halifax; Partner in Barron & Lewin [1905].

He married Elizabeth Winkfield.

Children: (1) George Ronald; (2) Eric [1917-1941]; (3) John [1919-1944]; (4) Peter [b 1931]

Lewin, George Ronald
[1914-1984] Son of Frank Lewin.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School and Queen's College Oxford. He became a military historian and biographer He wrote many books and broadcast on military topics.

In 1938, he married Sylvia Lloyd Sturge [18??-1988] from Birmingham.

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) son who was killed in a road accident [1963]; (4) daughter

Lewin, Mabel
[1883-1936] Daughter of Septimus Lewin.

She was a missionary in India

Lewin, Mrs Monica
[1920-1997] Daughter of Albert Edward Black. Born 23rd January 1920.

Member of Halifax Art Society

She died October 1997

Lewin, Septimus
[1848-1894] He was a wine merchant in Hull, and travelled to Europe in the 1870s to buy wines.

In 1873, he married Elizabeth Cleaver [1850-1931] from Wellingborough, in Wellingborough.

Children: (1) Ernest; (2) William Saddington; (3) Winifred [1877-1965]; (4) Frank; (5) Mabel; (6) Percy [1885] who died in infancy; (7) Arnold.

Around 1881, he and his family moved to Halifax to take over the Hare & Hounds. The pub is recorded as Hare & Hounds in 1894. It was subsequently renamed Lewin's.

  • Septimus was licensee there from 2nd April 1881 to 9th March 1894

  • After the death of Septimus in 1894, his son, William Saddington took over for a week

  • Septimus's widow, Elizabeth, then took over at the pub [16th March 1894-17th October 1906]

  • Elizabeth was succeeded by their son, Ernest

In 1905, Septimus Lewin was listed as a wine, spirit and cigar merchant at 24 Bull Green, Halifax next to the Hare & Hounds.

In 1940, the wine and spirit business was sold to John Lupton & Son Limited

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894

Lewin, William Saddington
[1876-19??] Son of Septimus Lewin.

He took over from his father as licensee of Lewin's [9th March 1894-16th March 1894]. He was succeeded there by his mother.

He emigrated to South Africa after the Boer War

Lewis & Hervey
Wine and spirit merchants at Halifax.

Partners included Hodgson Lewis and James Hervey.

In 1851, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Lewis, Rev C. T. S.
[19??-19??] Vicar of Illingworth [1960]. In 1961, he was appointed rector of Cheriton Bishop

Lewis, Rev D. Rhys
[18??-19??] He studied at Manchester College before becoming Minister at West Vale Baptist Church [1895]

Lewis, Rev David
[17??-1???] A Welshman. He trained at Carmarthen Academy before becoming Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1771]. In 1777, he moved to Penistone

Lewis, Rev David R.
[18??-19??] Baptist Minister at West Vale [1907]

Lewis, Ernest
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lewis, Hodgson
[18??-18??] Partner in Lewis & Hervey [1851]

Lewis, John
[16??-17??] Or Lewes. A farmer.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Anne who married Thomas Lister; (2) Susanna who married William Lister

Lewis, Rev John
[18??-19??] Minister at Tuel Lane United Methodist Free Chapel [1871]

Lewis, John
[1829-1907] Son of Martha and Rice Lewis.

He was a carpet manufacturer at India Buildings and Alhambra Works, Halifax [1874].

He lived at Savile Hall, Halifax which was leased to him in 1871 by John Haigh Fuller and John Hodgson Wright, who were the executors of John Haigh.

He died at Westcliff-on-Sea

Lewis, Percy
[19??-19??] Musician. He was director of the Palace Theatre Orchestra [1952]

Lewis, Rev Philip
[18??-1???] He trained at Rawdon College before becoming Minister at Brearley Baptist Church [1867]. He was so successful, that a new chapel had to be built. He resigned in 1882 and moved to Chipping Camden

Lewis, Rice
[1???-18??] Of Nenagh, County Tipperary, Ireland.

In 1827, he married Martha Crossley.

Children: John

Lewis, S.
[19??-19??] Minister at Warley Congregational Church [1934]

Lewis, Rev T. R.
[18??-19??] First Minister at Upper Edge Baptist Church, Elland [1897]

Lewis, Rev W. D.
[19??-19??] He was Curate at Lightcliffe [1955]; Vicar of Bradshaw [1957]

Lewthwaite, John
[1816-1892] Son of Joseph Lewthwaite. In 1849, he invented and patented a machine for printing and numbering railway tickets. The machine could produce 15,000 tickets an hour.

In 1874, he was listed as Xylotexium cloth and leather manufacturer at 5 Church Street, Halifax.

He lived at 35 Horton Street, Halifax [1874]

Lewthwaite, Joseph Hartley
[1785-1871] He was a mathematician who moved to Halifax to teach. He taught mathematics at the Old Cock Yard.

He ran a private school at Halifax.

He was one of the Trustees appointed under the Halifax Improvement Act [1823].

He was a pawnbroker at 5 Woolshops, Halifax [1828]. The Mechanics' Institute used a room over the shop.

Joseph Lewthwaite & Son were listed as jewellers, silversmiths and watchmakers at Woolshops and Square, Halifax [1850]

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) son.

The family lived at 7 Summer Gate, Halifax [1871]

Lewthwaite, Mr
[18??-1???] Son of Joseph Lewthwaite and brother of John.

He was a watchmaker and jeweller with business at Princess Street, Halifax.

In 1881, the business was taken over by James Roberts

Lewthwaite, Rev Thomas
[1836-1925] Born in Kendal.

He was curate at Lockwood and first vicar of Newsome before becoming Vicar of All Souls' Church, Halifax [1887, 1905]. He rebuilt All Souls Lodge for himself and his family.

In March 1910, he accepted the living of Wilshaw, near Huddersfield.

He returned to Kendal, where he died

Leybourne, Walter
[18??-19??] Lesseee of the Empire Theatre, Todmorden [1905]

Leyland, Ambler
[1854-1924] Son of Luke Swallow Leyland.

Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted yarn agent.

On 4th May 1887, he married Ellen Richardson [1858-1948] at St Anne's in the Grove Church, Southowram.


Ellen was born in France
 

Children: (1) John Ambler [1888-1961]; (2) Mary [1902-1994] who never married.

Ambler & Ellen died in Halifax

Leyland & Highley
Card makers at Kershaw Mill, Halifax [1845] and Croft Mill, Halifax [1849, 1853].

Partners were Francis Alexander Leyland and Henry Holt Highley.

On 3rd April 1858, the partnership was dissolved. The business was carried on by Henry Holt Highley as Henry Highley & Sons

Leyland Brothers
Worsted spinners. Partners included Luke Swallow Leyland and brother Edward.

The partnership was dissolved in 1854.

The business was at Croft Mill, Halifax [1874]

Leyland, Delia
[1???-18??] She ran a private school in Halifax [around 1835]

Leyland, Francis Alexander
[1802-1859] He was a partner in Leyland & Highley [1845]; a card maker living at 5 Wade Street, Halifax [1837, 1851].

In 1823, he married Susanna Swallow [1802-1853].

Children: (1) William Riley [b 1825]; (2) John Henry; (3) Edward [b 1829]; (4) Luke Swallow

Leyland, Francis Alexander
[1813-1894] Son of Roberts Leyland, and younger brother of Joseph Bentley Leyland.

He was educated at his grandfather's academy in Halifax.

He became and antiquarian, printer and bookseller, like his father with whom he went into partnership.

He lived – and died – at Oakwood, Halifax.

He was instrumental in getting poetry by his friend, Branwell Brontë, published in the Halifax Guardian. He was a noted antiquarian and an authority on mediæval art.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He wrote a series of local history articles for the Halifax Courier.

He designed the seal of Halifax Corporation and the arms of the town.

Around 1845, he became a Roman Catholic, and gave a font, stained glass windows and a screen to the recently-opened St Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street.

In [Q1] 1845, he married (1) Sarah Ann Highley [1815-1849] in Halifax.

Children:

Sarah Ann were buried at Halifax Parish Church [31st October 1849].

On 18th August 1853, he married (2) Ann Brierley at Halifax Parish Church.


Ann was the daughter of William Brierley, grocer
 

Children: John.

In the 19th century, he ran a private school in Halifax.

In 1866, he gave a lecture to the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society which first brought to story of the local Coiners to public notice.

In 1882, he sold his publishing business to Edward Mortimer.

In 1886, he wrote a 2-volume biography entitled The Brontë Family, with special reference to Patrick Branwell Brontë, in which he tried to correct the way in which Mrs Gaskell had written about Branwell Brontë, and attempted to sanitise Branwell's image.

He was instrumental in the discovery of the Gibbet.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1894

See Halifax Chess Club

Leyland, John
[1857?-1???] Son of Francis Alexander Leyland.

He was a journalist [1894]. He wrote several works including a series of

Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax [1879]

and on the scenery of the Yorkshire coast and of Derbyshire.

On 5th February 1883, he married Fanny Julia Duncan, at St Marie's Catholic Church, Halifax


Fanny Julia was the daughter of Thomas Duncan
 

Leyland, John Henry
[1827-1898] Son of Francis Alexander Leyland.

Born in Sowerby.

He was a worsted spinner of Sowerby Bridge [1876].

On 17th February 1852, he married Nancy Illingworth [1827-1892] in Bradford.


Nancy was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) William Riley; (2) William Riley [1853-1901]; (3) Susannah [1854-1916]; (4) Arthur [b 1856]; (5) Walter [1858-1859]; (6) Frank Illingworth [b 1860] who emigrated to the USA; (7) Edith Mary [1864-1946] who never married.

Nancy died in Scarborough [1892].

John Henry died in Lightcliffe [22nd February 1898]

Leyland, Joseph Bentley
[1811-1851] Son of Roberts Leyland. Halifax-born sculptor and poet

Leyland, Luke Swallow
[1830-1880] Son of Francis Alexander Leyland.

He was a worsted spinner in partnership with George Hewitson [until 1851 when the partnership was dissolved]; a partner in Leyland Brothers [until 1854]; a medical student living in Chelsea [1861]; a surgeon in Halifax [1871].

In August 1853, he married Mary Ambler.


Mary was the eldest daughter of John Ambler
 

Children: (1) Ambler.

Mary divorced Luke [1875].

She died in Hatfield [10th March 1896]

Leyland's: R. Leyland & Son
Printers, stationers, booksellers and publishers established by Roberts Leyland. They were at 10 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]

Leyland, Roberts
[17??-18??] Or Leland. Son of William Leyland.

He first worked as a bookbinder for Thomas Edwards. He went on to set up business in Halifax as a printer, stationer, bookseller and publisher at his home at 10/15 Corn Market [1829, 1842, 1879]. He traded as R. Leyland & Son. Around 1840, he established a circulating library.

He published the Halifax Guardian.

He was an agent for The Leeds Mercury [1838, 1839].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Joseph Bentley; (2) Francis.

Other children had died in infancy.

He published works by William Heaton and John Horner.

He was an early member of the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society. He was a keen naturalist and interested in botany. His herbarium and correspondence went to Belle Vue Museum. He was listed as a dealer in patent medicines at Corn Market [1834].

See Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax, The Circulator and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax

Leyland, William
[17??-18??] For over 50 years, he was principal of Leyland's Academy, Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Roberts

Leyland, William Riley
[1853-1???] Son of John Henry Leyland

He was worsted spinner [1876].

On 20th April 1876, married Ellen, daughter of James Farrar in Halifax

Liberal Club Debating Society, Sowerby Bridge
Recorded in 1902

Liberal News Room
Recorded in 1845 at Waterhouse Street, Halifax.

See Halifax Liberal Association

Liberal Registration Association
Recorded in 1874 at Crossley Street, Halifax when J. H. Estcourt was agent.

See Halifax Liberal Association

Liberals

See Conservatives and Labour

Libraries

The Library in the Tower, Shibden Hall
Anne Lister added the Norman tower to the west gable at Shibden Hall – to house her books. This and with other extensions were carried out by John Harper in the 1830s. The tower had a flushing WC. The roof was originally flat; the hipped roof was added later

Library Lock, Todmorden
Lock #19 on the Rochdale Canal. This is a guillotine lock.

There is an unusual canal milestone on the towpath just north of the lock


S(owerby Bridge) 
10

Man(cheste)r 22

See Changeline Bridge, Todmorden

Lickless, Mrs
[19??-19??] She is recorded at Trinity Royd, Halifax and Blackwall Lodge, Halifax

Liddel, Nicholas
[17??-17??] Hatter in Halifax [1778-1793]

Liddington, Jill
[1946-] Local historian and writer. She has written several books about Anne Lister, including

  • Anne Lister of Shibden Hall, Halifax [1993] – Anne Lister's diaries and the historians

  • Beating the inheritance bounds [1995] – Anne Lister and her dynastic identity

  • Female Fortune: Land Gender & Authority [1998] – The Anne Lister Diaries and other writings [1833-1836]

  • Gender, authority & mining in an industrial landscape [1996] – The Career of Anne Lister

  • Nature's Domain [2003] – Anne Lister and the landscape of desire

  • Presenting the Past [1994] – The story of Anne Lister of Halifax

Liddle, T. T.
[18??-1???] Of Basingstoke. Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1883-1884]

Lidget Gate Toll Gate
Toll gate

Lidget, Lightcliffe
In July 1822, a sale of the Horse Shoe, Lightcliffe and other property is described as
situate in Lidget in the township of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse

On 22nd January 1857, a notice in the Bradford Observer advertised

To be let, a private dwelling at Lidget in Lightcliffe, lately occupied as the Horse Shoe Inn. The house, built 2 years since, contains 2 sitting rooms, pantries, cellars and kitchens, and 5 bedrooms... stable, mistal and barn

Lifeboat Saturday
A regular fund-raising event which took place in Todmorden for the Royal National Lifeboat Institute. The event began in the 1890s. The last event was on 7th July 1906.

Alice Longstaff had a photograph showing the crew of the Fleetwood lifeboat Busbie with supporters of the charity

Light Bank Lock, Walsden
Recorded on 11th December 1843, when Joshua Fielden was found drowned here

Light Brigade Club, Halifax


Question: Does anyone know anything about the Club?

 

Recorded in 1882, when the members sent a congratulatory address to Queen Victoria on her surviving an assassination attempt.

Members and Officers of the Club have included

Light Hazles Reservoir
Above Littleborough. Built around 1810 to maintain water levels in the Rochdale Canal. It is situated between Warland Reservoir and White Holme Reservoir

Light hole pit
Aka Light 'oyle. A local name for a drift mine

Lightbank Bridge, Walsden
Bridge #36 over the Rochdale Canal

Lightbank Lock, Walsden
Lock #31 on the Rochdale Canal. It has a double set of bottom gates to take the 57½ ft long vessels of the Calder & Hebble Canal

Lightcliffe
Area of Calderdale between Hipperholme and Bailiff Bridge created a parish in 1846

Lightcliffe & District Local History Society
Founded in 1997. Meets at Lightcliffe Church of England School

Lightcliffe & Hipperholme Young Men's Society
Established in 1866 to provide education

Lightcliffe church

Lightcliffe College Cricket Club
Recorded in the 1870s

Lightcliffe Congregational Church Young Men's Society
Established at Lightcliffe Congregational Church in 18??. It was discontinued in 1899

Lightcliffe Co-operative Store
Wakefield Road. A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society opened on 8th May 1903

Lightcliffe Cricket & Lawn Tennis Club
Established in the 1920s

Lightcliffe Cricket & Lawn Tennis Club Amateur Dramatic Society

Lightcliffe Cricket Club
Recorded in 1875. In 1922, William Aykroyd presented the club with a pavilion

Lightcliffe Curate's House
The curate's house for Eastfield Chapel, Lightcliffe was built in 1634 and stood near the south-west corner of the Chapel.

In 1865, it was rebuilt and moved by Evan Charles Sutherland-Walker, and now stands in Till Carr Lane

Lightcliffe Cycling Club
Established in 1889

Lightcliffe Economic Stores
Greenfield Avenue. A branch of Economic Stores (Halifax) Limited.

Closed in 19??. The building was subsequently used as a greengrocer's and a ladies' hairdressers

Lightcliffe Golf Club
Originally Halifax Golf Club. Formed in May 1907.

Leading lights in the founding of the club were R. W. Latto, Dr Aspinall Marsden, and Sir Algernon Firth.

See Charles Kershaw and Arthur Edouarde Sharp

Lightcliffe Gun Club
They had their headquarters at The Sun, Lightcliffe.

See Gun Club Field, Lightcliffe

Lightcliffe Hoard
A collection of British and Roman coins discovered near Upper Smith House around 1830.

The Rev W. H. Bull heard of the discovery and hurried to Bradford and elsewhere to recover as much as possible. He subsequently published an account of

of some gold British coins and Roman silver consular and imperial coins found in a field, opposite Lightcliffe Chapel, within a few yards of the present road, in a Roman vessel, between the years MDCCCXXVIII [1828] and MDCCCXXXI [1831].

The man who found the coins, sold some of them at 5s per ounce to a person at Bradford, and broke several of them to see that they were really silver. The writer of this account was fortunate in obtaining 4 of the British Gold Coins in beautiful preservation, 26 of the Consular Coins, and 5 of the Imperial Coins. Some have been purchased by the British Museum, and the Museums of Leeds and York. The Consular Coins have been very much used: many of them have very small letters stamped on parts of the figures on the coins, in the same way as idle people, in this day, disfigure our coinage. But all the Consular Coins are from mints prior to the time of Augustus; the latest Imperial Coin in this lot, is one of Caligula, the other four belong to Augustus. Two of the gold Coins are Boadicea's; and one is very beautiful and very rare, not to be found in Ruding's "British and English Coinage"

The account was reprinted in the Halifax Guardian

Lightcliffe House


Question: Does anyone know whether this was the same Lightcliffe House as that which stood next to Smith House [1895, 1930]?

 

Built in 18??. It was used by Firth's to accommodate visitors to the company.

Owners and tenants have included

It was badly damaged by fire in 19??. It was demolished. Windsor Walk was built on the site

Lightcliffe Laundry
Recorded at Hoyle House [1904].

See Brighouse & Lightcliffe Steam Laundry

Lightcliffe Liberal Club
Recorded in 1917, when John Oates was secretary

See Hipperholme & Lightcliffe Liberal Club

Lightcliffe Literary & Scientific Society
Established around 1900.

Members and Officers of the Society have included

Lightcliffe Lodge of Freemasons
The lodge opened in 1???.

Canon George Watkinson was a founder member

Lightcliffe [No 1332] Masonic Lodge
Masonic Lodge.

They were at the Masonic Hall, Hipperholme [1937]. They met on the second Wednesday of the month [1937].

Masters and members of the Lodge have included

  • J. Wilkinson – Master [1937]

Lightcliffe Old Church

Lightcliffe Orchestra Society

Lightcliffe Parish Church
Eastfield Chapel was endowed in 1536. In 1775, it was rebuilt a little further along Wakefield Road and was known as Lightcliffe Old Church. In 1875, the new Saint Matthew's Church was built nearby and the old church became the cemetery chapel

Lightcliffe Parish Magazine
Published around 1890 by Whitley & Booth. It was priced at 1d

Lightcliffe Pierrot Troupe
19th/20th century entertainers

Lightcliffe Police Station
Lightcliffe had a policeman but he lived in his own house. This it would be rented and the force would pay the rent.

See Bailiff Bridge Police Station

Lightcliffe Post Office
There seems to be some confusion in the records with the Post Offices at Lightcliffe and at Hipperholme.

The Foldout combines references to the 2 offices

See Pauline Doris Oakley

Lightcliffe Railway Station
Opened on 17th August 1850 on the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway line. The line required the construction of Bottom Hall Viaduct.

In 1864, Lord Palmerston arrived at the station on his way to with Sir Henry William Ripley at Holme House.

In 1921, a girl's body was found on the line near Lightcliffe.

The station closed for passenger traffic on 14th June 1965 when services between Bradford and Huddersfield via Halifax ceased.

The line through the former station remains open.

In January 2004, there was a proposal to open a new station on disused farmland off Coach Road.

Stationmasters at the Station have included

See Lightcliffe Post Office

Lightcliffe Royd, Barkisland
One of two properties mentioned in 1594 as New Lightlie Roids. The name is also spelled Leetlie Royd, Lightlie Roid, and Lightlye Roid.

Mid 17th century house. Built by an ancestor of John Gledhill of Barkisland Hall

A window moulding is initialled IB.

Owners and tenants have included

  • G. Lumb [1859]

  • George & John Lumb [1861]

The house is now private dwellings.

The houses and the nearby mid 17th century barn are listed.

See Barsey Green, Barkisland and Stone Stile Farm, Barkisland

Lightcliffe Station

Lightcliffe tunnel
Railway tunnel built in 1850 for the Leeds to Manchester line of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company, it passes beneath the junction of Wakefield Road and Knowle Top road.

In 1903, Willie Brooke was killed in a railway accident in the tunnel

Lightcliffe, Vicars of

Lightcliffe War Memorial
Stands on The Stray, Lightcliffe, Leeds Road.

The memorial - to the men of Hipperholme Urban District who lost their lives in World War I – was unveiled on 9th September 1923 on Lightcliffe Stray by J. H. Whitley. It is an obelisk made of a piece of Shap granite – weighing 8 tons – and stands 14 ft high on a stone base.

The memorial was cleaned and repaired [March 2012]

Lightfoot, Canon John
[1854-1917] DSc, MA, MusBac.

Born in Tunstall, Staffordshire.

He was Senior Curate at Halifax [1882]; Perpetual Curate at Cross Stone [1882, 1909]; Choirmaster at Cross Stone [1882]. On 21st October 1909, he was created an Honorary Canon of Wakefield.

He published several religious works and others on philosophy and algebra, in addition to many songs and music

In [Q4] 1877, he married Anne Maria Bradburn [1855-1930] from Shiffnall, Staffordshire, in Wolverhampton.

Children: (1) Ethel Mary [b 1878]; (2) Maud [1879-1919] who married Albert Edward Eastwood; (3) twins Nora [1881-1941] who never married; (4) Annie [1881-1954] who never married; (5) Mildred [b 1883]

John died 9th August 1917 [aged 63 years].

Anne Maria died 13th April 1830 [aged 75].

Members of the family were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone

Lightfoot, Dr Richard
[17??-18??] He was Surgeon to the Halifax Volunteer Corps of Infantry [1802]. He was at Swine Market, Halifax [1809, 1816] and 16 Westgate, Halifax [1822]

Lighthazles, Ripponden
House.

William de Lihthasles is recorded in 1332.

Owners and tenants have included

See Light and Hoyle family of Lighthazles

Lighting, Peter Armitage
[1916-1954] He worked in the colour matching department at Calvert's [1934].

He spent 3½ years as a Japanese prisoner during World War II. He rejoined the firm after the War. He replaced William Henry Murgatroyd as Manager [1946].

In 1940, he married Monica B. Arthur in district

Lightoller
A variant of the surname Lightowler

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Lightollers
A variant of the surname Lightowler

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Lightollers, James
[1???-1627] Of Baitings. Brother of Charles Lightowlers.

He (possibly) married Jony.

Children: Grace.

The executors of his will were his daughter, Grace, and his brother, Charles. The will left

  • His brother's children – James, Mary and Jane – £20 each

  • His niece, Elizabeth, wife of John Roide of Baitings Gate, £10

  • His niece, Grace, £10 and half of his household goods

He was buried at Elland Parish Church 1st January 1637

Lightollers, Jony
[15??-16??] Or Joannah, Jane. (Possibly) wife of James Lightollers.

The executors of her will of 13th Dec 1623, were Robert Priestley of Baitings and John Hoile of the Shaw. The will left

  • Bequest to 'My Dame Elizabeth Priestly' of Baitings 20s

  • Bequests to [other Priestleys]

  • To Charles Lightowlers her part of title of the tenements in Monshead

  • To the poor of Stannenden and Rishworth £5

Lightoulers
A variant of the surname Lightowler

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Lightowler
Other forms of the surname include Lightoller, Lightollers, Lightoulers, Lightowlers and Lightowller.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

The Lightowler form appeared around 1637.

The name probably originated in Lancashire in an area called Lightalders at the Littleborough end of Blackstone Edge.

There are currently around 23 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Lightowler. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

See Light and Owler

The Lightowler family
Prominent local family which originated in Lancashire

Lightowler, Albert
[1857-1???] Born in Shelf.

He was a road surveyor [1891].

In [Q2] 1883, he married Elizabeth Jane Crowther [1853-1???] in Halifax.


Elizabeth Jane was born in Shelf
 

Children: Joe Willie [b 1885].

The family lived at Cross Lane, Shelf [1891].

Living with them in 1891 were mother Ellen Lightowler [b 1843] and brother-in-law Charles Crowther [b 1848]

Lightowler & Company Limited
Carpet, rug, window blinds, wall covering and oilcloth manufacturer and merchants established by Joseph Lightowler. The company had business at 6 & 11 Wade Street [1874], 13 Cheapside [1905, 1920], 13 & 25 Old Cock Yard [1905, 1920], 18 Commercial Street [1905], 7 Westgate, and West Parade, Halifax. and at Tyrell Street, Bradford, and Rotherham. The business was carried on by Joseph's sons: Henry and Arthur William.

Other members of the family joined the business including Arthur. He diversified into the manufacture of hassocks for church and household use. Indeed, the company's telegraphic address was Hassocks, Halifax

Lightowler, Arthur Lawrence
[1900-1967] Laurie. Son of Miriam and Henry Charles Lightowler.

He worked with the family business, Lightowler & Company. He diversified into the manufacture of hassocks.

He was an insurance agent [1958].

In [Q3] 1923, he married Edith Mary Illingworth in Halifax.

Edith Mary was Mayoress to his mother Miriam

Lightowler Brothers
Established by John, Joseph and Thomas Lightowler. They had carpet manufacturing, finishing, bleaching and dye works at Waterside Dye Works, Halifax, Hebble Bridge, Wheatley and Cross Hills. Their business at Waterside was dissolved in 1879

Lightowler, George Henry
[1858-19??] Born in Northowram.

He was a chapel caretaker [1911].

In [Q4] 1878, he married Emma Maria Lambert [1858-1931] from Wortley, Leeds, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Lily Ada [b 1887] who was a weaver (woollen cloth) [1911]; (2) Sam Lambert [b 1891] who was a cloth finisher [1911]; (3) Ethel Lambert [b 1895] who was a cotton reeler [1911]; (4) Mary Ann [b 1880] who married Allen Chadwick [1880-19??].

The family lived at Providence Hill, Stainland [1911]

Lightowler, Henry Charles
[1871-1918] Son of Joseph Lightowler.

Born 5th September 1871.

Around 1896, he went into the family business with his older brother, Arthur,

In 1896, he married Miriam Butler.

Children: (1) Christine who died at the age of 6; (2) Arthur.

The family lived at Martindale, Swires Road, Halifax [1936, 1950s].

He was Conservative Councillor for Halifax East Ward [1912-1918].

Shortly before his death, he was appointed Assistant Director of National Kitchens.

He died suddenly at his home Martindale, Swires Road, Halifax [11th February 1918]

Lightowler, J.
[18??-18??] In 1867, a published a volume of poetry [100 pages] in Halifax

Lightowler, James
[1795-1865] Son of Titus Lightowler.

Born in Northowram.

He moved from Crow Point, to Cold Harbour, Pule Hill, then to New Bank, Halifax, where he started a dyeing and scouring business.

In 1828, he married Jane Denby.

Children: (1) John; (2) Sarah Ann [b 1831] who married William Earnshaw; (3) Joseph; (4) Thomas; (5) Martha [b 1839] who married Joshua Sunderland; (6) Jane [1841-1866] who married Job Gelder.

He died on 12th December 1865 [aged 70].

James and Jane were buried at Ambler Thorn United Methodist Chapel

Lightowler, James
[18??-18??] Landlord of the Stock's Arms, Northowram [1845].

In October 1849, he was declared insolvent

Lightowler, James
[1819-1898] Born in Northowram.

He was a boot maker [1839].

On 10th February 1839, he married (1) Charlotte Atkinson in Halifax.


Charlotte was the daughter of
Isaac Atkinson
 

5 weeks after their marriage, Charlotte died [4th March 1839] of a rupture of a blood vessel in the head at the Punch Bowl, Boothtown.

At the Inquest, a verdict of

Died by the visitation of God

was returned.

On 30th August 1840, he married (2) Harriet Atkinson in Halifax.


Harriet was the daughter of Isaac Atkinson and sister of his first wife
 

Children: (1) John [1842-1909]; (2) Henry [1844-1889]; (3) Hannah Phyllis [1846-1873]; (4) Edward [1848-1896]; (5) Charlotte Ann [1852-1903]; (6) Elizabeth [1854-1859]; (7) Joseph [1860-1888] who never married.

The children were all born Northowram

Lightowler, John
[1786-18??] Son of Titus Lightowler.

On 23rd November 1812, he married Mary Smith [b 1791] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Hannah [b 1813]; (2) Sarah [1816] who died in infancy; (3) Elizabeth [b 1818]; (4) Jonathan [b 1821]; (5) Sarah [b 1823]; (6) Margaret [b 1825]; (7) Emma [b 1845].

He died after 1819

Lightowler, John
[18??-18??] Recorded on 19th December 1848, when he was fined £5 plus costs for a savage attack upon police constable Schofield. In default of payment, he was committed to the House of Correction for 2 months

Lightowler, John
[1816-1891] Son of Joseph Lightowler.

He married Hannah Whitehead [1816-18??].

Children: Joseph

Lightowler, John
[1829-1899] He lived at Jack Royd, Wheatley.

He and his brothers, Joseph and Thomas, established the Lightowler Brothers company with a dye works at Hebble Bridge.

They also had carpet manufacturing and dyeing businesses in Wheatley, Cross Hills and later at Eastfield Works, Claremount and Bath Parade. He was still a dyer and finisher in 1897.

He married Elizabeth Smith.

Children: Joseph.

See Lightowler Brothers

Lightowler, John Henry
[1860-1925] Son of Joseph Lightowler.

He married Mary Jane Woodall [1860-1952] from Selby.

Children: (1) Annie [b 1893]; (2) Gertrude [b 1898]

Lightowler, Joseph
[1791-1840] Son of Titus Lightowler.

On 27th June 1814, he married Hannah Cockroft [1793-1864] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) John; (2) James [b 1819]

Lightowler, Joseph
[1833-1878] Son of Titus Lightowler.

He started working as a stone quarryman.

In 1871, he was at the family home at Blaithroyd Lane where he carried on the family business, running a grocer's shop and beerhouse at the premises which became the New Road Inn.

He married (1) Mary [18??-1860].

In 1861, he married (2) Emma Hamer [b 1834] from Barkisland.

Children: (1) Sabina [b 1866] who married [1886] John Thomas Gregory [b 1857] from Devon and went to live in London; (2) Annie [b 1870].

See Lightowler Buildings, Southowram Bank

Lightowler, Joseph
[1835-1902] He and his brothers, John and Thomas, established the Lightowler Brothers company with a dye works at Hebble Bridge.

They also had carpet manufacturing and dyeing businesses in Wheatley, Cross Hills and later at Eastfield Works, Claremount and Bath Parade. He took over business at the Bath Parade works. Despite a bankruptcy, he was able to establish linoleum and carpet manufacturer Lightowler & Company Limited. He occupied Waterside Dye Works, Halifax [1874-1882].

In 1859, he married Elizabeth Platts.

Children: (1) Arthur William [1864-1933]; (2) Henry.

By 1901, Joseph had retired and the business had passed to his sons

Lightowler, Joseph
[1837-1???] Son of John Lightowler.

In 1859, he married (1) Sarah Ann Dyson [1831-1878].

Children: (1) John Henry; (2) Harriet [1839-1865]; (3) James [1842-1891].

He married (2) Unknown.

In 1879, he married (3) Mary [b 1846]

Lightowler, Joseph
[1869-1940] Son of John Lightowler.

He married Ada Urquhart from Lancashire.

The family moved to Pawtukett, Rhode Island

Lightowler, Mrs Miriam
[1875-1958] OBE.

Youngest daughter of James Butler.

She was educated at Trinity House Grammar School, Halifax and Cliff House, Harrogate.

On 16th January 1924, she was Halifax's first lady Councillor when she was returned unopposed for Halifax South Ward – see Jennie Latham.

She was a member of the Halifax Board of Guardians [1913], Halifax's first woman JP [1920], Alderman, first lady Chairman of the Board of Guardians [1930], the last Chairman of the Halifax Board of Guardians, a member of the Watch Committee, Chairman of the Public Assistance Committee, a Conservative, Chairman of the Halifax Women's Conservative Association, and the first Lady Mayor of Halifax [1934-1935].

In 1929, a clock was installed in the pediment of the main building at Saint John's Hospital and named Miriam in her honour.

In 1896, she married Henry Charles Lightowler.

Her daughter-in-law, Edith Mary, was her Mayoress.

On 9th November 1935, she was elected Alderman.

In 1936, Halifax Fire Brigade named their new 100-ft turntable ladder Miriam in her honour.

She received the OBE in 1938

She lived at Martindale, Halifax [1958].

She died at Saint John's Hospital [19th June 1958].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £3,360 8/11d. Probate was granted to son Arthur Laurence Lightowler.

See Lightowler Road, Halifax, Miriam clock and Miriam fire engine

Lightowler, Nancy
[1789-1855] Or Ann. Daughter of Titus Lightowler. She married (1) Michael Midgley.

A possible scenario, yet to be confirmed is that

In 1844, after Michael's death, she married (2) Henry Greenwood in Halifax.

In June 1855, The Leeds Mercury announced the death

On Thursday [31st May 1855] at Halifax, aged 66, Mrs Greenwood, relict of Mr Henry Greenwood maltster of Sowerby Bridge, and mother to Mr W. Midgley, bookseller of Halifax

Lightowler, Thomas
[1837-1???] He and his brothers, John and Joseph, established the Lightowler Brothers company with a dye works at Hebble Bridge.

They also had carpet manufacturing and dyeing businesses in Wheatley, Cross Hills and later at Eastfield Works, Claremount and Bath Parade. He seems to have quit the business in 1879.

He married Mary Ann Nichol.

Children: 8 daughters

Lightowler, Titus
[1762-1840] Farmer and quarryman at Ambler Thorn. He rented land from Michael Stocks, near to the junction of Swalesmoor Lane and the Halifax to Bradford Road.

He married Ann Baistow [1758-1834].

Children: (1) James [1783-1785]; (2) John; (3) Nancy; (4) Joseph; (5) Titus; (6) James; (7) Mary Ann [b 1789] who married James Wood

Members of the family were buried at Ambler Thorn United Methodist Chapel

Lightowler, Titus
[1793-1857] Son of Titus Lightowler.

On 14th September 1823, he married Ruth Holroyd [1796-1866] at Halifax.

Children: (1) Ann [b 1824]; (2) William; (3) Jane [b 1827]; (4) Simon [1829-1850]; (5) Mary [b 1831]; (6) Joseph; (7) James [1835-1862]; (8) Sarah [1839-1886]; (9) Emma [b 1843].

In 1823, he was a card maker.

In 1845, he was a shop-keeper at Halfpenny Can, Southowram.

In 1851, he and Ruth lived at Blaithroyd Lane and had a grocer's shop at the premises which became the New Road Inn

In 1861, after Titus's death, Ruth carried on the business alone.

After Ruth's death, their son, Joseph carried on the business.

See Lightowler Buildings, Southowram Bank

Lightowler, William
[1825-1872] Son of Titus Lightowler.

In 1845, he married Ellen Naylor [n 1825] from Southowram.

Children: (1) Hannah [b 1850]; (2) Dick [1854-1869]; (3) Albert [b 1856]

Lightowlers
A variant of the surname Lightowler

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Lightowlers, Charles
[1575-1636] Of Soyland and Rishworth. Brother of James Lightollers.

In 1597, he married Agneta Shay at Elland. Children: (1) Elizabeth who married John Roide from Baitings Gate; (2) Mary who married Abraham Lumme from Stainland; (3) Grace who married John Gaukroger from Halifax; (4) Jane who married John Hoile; (5) James.

See Jony Lightollers

Lightowller
A variant of the surname Lightowler

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Lightowller, Thomas
[1721-1769] Or Lightoulers. He became an engraver with the coiners.

Son of Mary and Thomas Lightowller, a wood-worker of Walton-le-Dale, Preston. Born in Lancashire.

He and his brother, Timothy, trained as joiners and carpenters.

In 1745, he was charged with coining at Cardiff, but was subsequently acquitted.

He moved to Warwickshire. He was a carver and snuff-box maker.

He married Margaret Gill.

Children: John [bapt 1755].

He began to counterfeit coins, and passed his skills on to others. He was several times arraigned on charges of coining, but, because he informed on others, he was acquitted.

He and his brother, Timothy, moved to the East Riding of Yorkshire where they were engaged in the decoration of Burton Constable Hall.

In 1768, he was in the West Riding and again became involved in coining. After several of his associates were apprehended, he fled to Vienna where he was employed by Maria Theresa. He established business as a manufacturer of iron and copper plates

Lightridge
[Surname]

Ligonier, Edward
[1740-1782] Nephew of Sir John Ligonier, Earl Ligonier.

In December 1766, he married Penelope Pitt.

6 years after their marriage, he divorced her when she had an affair with an Italian nobleman, Count Vittorio Amadeo Alfieri.

Edward died without issue on 14th June 1782, and the title became extinct

Likeman, Rev H. I.
[1???-19??] Vicar of All Souls' Church, Halifax [1927]

Liley, Christine
[19??-] Daughter of Joseph Liley. Partner in Liley's

Liley, Desmond
[19??-] Son of Joseph Liley. Partner in Liley's

Liley's (Halifax) Limited
Sewing machine, toy and pram store which stood at the corner of Commercial Street and Cheapside, Halifax. Established by Joseph Liley.

The premises were formerly occupied by J. L. White.

The business was later run by his children, Christine and Desmond Liley. The business closed in 1988

Liley, Joseph
[1905-1975] OBE.

Managing director of Liley's (Halifax) Limited pram shop. He was Liberal Councillor for Pellon, and Mayor of Halifax [1969-1970].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Christine; (2) Desmond

Liley, Richard
[17??-1???] Coiner of Soyland Mill

Lillands Farm, Rastrick
Roger de Rastrick is recorded here in 1251. Home of the Thornhill family in the 14th century

The present house is dated 1741.

The names appears as Leylands on some old maps

Lilley, Edward
[1???-1???] He occupied a mill along the Hebble Brook. The mill was subsequently known as Lilly Mill

Lilley, James
[18??-1???] Fruit and potato salesman. He was active in the Stainland area [possibly around 1890]

Lilly Bridge, Halifax
There is a 2-arch stone bridge over the Hebble Brook.

The cantilevered footpath, walls and weir were built around 1830 and are listed.

There is also an iron bridge over the railway line.

See Waterside Footpath

Lilly Lane Baths, Halifax
Aka Halifax Baths & Pleasure Grounds and Greece Fields Public Baths, Halifax.

Extensive facilities developed by Thomas Rawlinson at Coldwell Ing near the Hebble Brook at Lilly Lane. He had acquired a 99-year lease on the land from the Waterhouse Charities in 1784. They opened in 1793 on the east side of Hebble Brook. They were the only local public baths at the time. The facilities were said to be the finest and most extensive suite of baths in Yorkshire, including bowling greens, quoits area, shrubberies and landscaped gardens with some of Leyland sculpture, dining room, shower baths, swimming baths, medicated and sulphur baths, and hot, cold and tepid baths. A membership fee was charged for the use of the facilities. The baths were supplied by fresh-water springs which rose in Greece Fields. The privately-owned baths, which were built of red brick, closed in 1853 and were sold to make way for the railway.

Albion Mills stand on a part of the site of the baths.

John Wilson Anderson was Keeper of the Baths [1845]. His artistic talents were used to lay out the grounds at the baths, and some of Joseph Leyland's sculpture was displayed in the ground.

Branwell Brontë visited the baths

Lilly Lane Bridge, Halifax
Bridge across the Hebble at Lilly Lane

Lily Hall, Heptonstall
Heptonstall Road. Group of late 18th century early 19th century cottages. Mentioned in 1819. It was originally a farm. It was subsequently converted to 4 cottages.

Owners and tenants have included

Lily of the Valley Lodge 222 G. U. O. O. F.
Ovenden Friendly Society [Number 3792] recorded in 1898, when their registration was cancelled (under the Friendly Societies Act [1896]) 

Lily of the Valley Lodge: Oddfellows
Sowerby Bridge. Recorded in 1900, when Samuel Garnett was listed as Member No. 2

See Percival Clarke and Oddfellows

Lilywhite Limited
Famous publisher of picture postcards founded by Arthur Frederick Sergeant.

Originally called the Halifax Photographic Company, the company operated from premises in New Brunswick Street, Halifax, and also took over a photographic business in St Albans.

The company then moved to the former textile mill at Lumb Mill, Mill Bank, producing photographic paper and picture postcards.

The building – and films, negatives, and prints – were completely destroyed by fire on 15th January 1931. Sergeant started a new factory at Mearclough, Sowerby Bridge.

He subsequently sold the business to A. H. Leach.

See Ralph Heginbottom and J. T. Sellers

Limbert, John Albert
[1893-1917] Born in Garforth.

In [Q4] 1915, he married Rhoda Cousins in Wortley.

They lived at Sheffield [1917].

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Lance Sergeant with the 21st Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died of wounds [14th October 1917] (aged 24).

He was buried at the Dozinghem Military Cemetery [XI F 9].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Limed House Refreshment Rooms, Shibden
In 1906, the proprietor, Richard Eastwood, advertised
refreshments provided at moderate charges ... picnic and other parties catered for ... all kinds of aerated waters ... cigarettes and cigars of the finest brands ... accommodation for large parties ... stabling

Limed House, Shibden
Aka Lymed House, Lime House. The house was built in 1???. Owners and tenants have included

See Limed House Soft Bed Colliery and Lower Lime House, Shibden

Limers' Gate, Luddenden
See Limers' Gate

Limers' Gate, Wadsworth
A packhorse route used for carrying lime from Rochdale, Lancashire to the Calder valley.

It passes over Wadsworth Moor.

At its highest point it is over 1400 ft above sea-level.

Lumb Bridge takes the route over the falls of Crimsworth Dean Beck.

See Gib Lane, Wadsworth, Limers' Gate, Luddenden and Ailsa O'Fusses

Linden House, Brighouse
Owners and tenants have included

Linden House, Hebden Bridge
See Ashley House, Hebden Bridge

Linden Lodge, Halifax
Linden Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Lindley's: C. Lindley & Company Limited
Engineers' factors, nut and bolt manufacturers at Beauvoir Works, Luddenden [1905].

See James William Gaukroger

Lindley, Manor of
The manor was held by Thomas, son of Richard de Wakefield [1309], Hugh Annesley, Brian Stapleton, William de Quermby, and John de Heton.

See Old Lindley and Manor of Stainland

Lindrum, Walter
[1898-1960] Born in Australia. He was a world champion billiards player.

On 11th February 1933, he gave a demonstration in Halifax

Lindsay, Rev David
[18??-18??] Minister at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1896-1899]

Lindsay, Janet Gertrude
[18??-1935] Daughter of T. S. Lindsay of Edinburgh.

She married Sir Algernon Freeman Firth.

Like her husband, she was a great benefactor to the employees of Firth's Carpets and to the people of Bailiff Bridge. During World War I, Lady Janet was commandant of Priestley Green Hospital received a Mention in Despatches

Her niece, Mary Lindsay, married Gerald Cozens-Hardy Willans, son of J. E. Willans [19th October 1909]

See Firth Fountain and Holroyd House, Priestley Green

Lindwell
Area of Greetland.

It's the area just on the right as you go up the hill from West Vale to Greetland.

Named for the well there.

See Lindwell Primitive Methodist Chapel

Lineholme
Area of Todmorden

Lineholme Co-operative Store
The store opened on 5th May 1888. They had 248 members and a share capital of £6,454

Lineholme Villas, Todmorden
3 stone-built houses.

Owners and tenants have included

Linen Hall, Halifax
Hall End. A linnen hall is mentioned in 1629 and in 1708. A hall for selling cloth – aka the Cloth Hall and Blackwell Hall at Hall End – is mentioned in 1572, much earlier than those in neighbouring towns.

The market began at 6:00 am between March and September, and at 8:00 am the rest of the year. Opening and closing were signalled by the ringing of a bell. A penalty of 39s 11d was imposed on anyone who asked the price of a piece of cloth before the bell rang.

It was demolished in the 1820s when redevelopment – including the construction of Waterhouse Street – took place

See John Smithson

Linfoot, Matthew
[1???-18??] Tea dealer at 8 New Market Street, Halifax [1829, 1834]

Linfoot, William E.
[18??-19??] He lived at Crossley Hall, Salterhebble [1905]

Ling Bob
Area of Highroad Well. Playing fields opened in 1935

Lingard, Joseph
[18??-19??] Provision merchant, and wine & spirit merchant at 61 North Parade, Halifax.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced


Bottlers of Wheatley's Old Style Ginger Beer

Lingard's Old Crown Special Scotch Whisky

See Willie Jagger Priestley

Lingard, Percy
[18??-1915] In [Q4] 1904, he married Florence Annie Butterworth in Todmorden.

They lived at 23 Back Brook Street, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 25th July 1915.

He was buried at the Etaples Military Cemetery [II A 26A].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lingard, W. Burns
[19??-19??] Medical herbalist and botano-therapeutist at 194 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1936]. He was a member of the Institute of Botano-Therapy, President and Fellow of the National Association of Medical Herbalists of Great Britain.

A 1900 advertisement for business at the same address announced

Mrs T. Lingard's Remedies
Rheumatic & Stomach Pills 1/-d per box
Female Corrective Pills 1/-d per box
Pile Electuary 1/1d per glass

At home Saturdays and Mondays – 194, Pellon Lane, Halifax

A Halifax Courier advertisement for the business in 1930 announced


W. Burns Lingard Medical Herbalist
ex president and Fellow of the National Association of
Medical Herbalists of Great Britain Limited
[photograph]
Consultation 2 to 5 pm, 6 to 7-30 pm
(Thursdays excepted) 
194 Pellon Lane, Halifax

Lingard, Walter
[18??-1917] In [Q3] 1902, he married Betsy Hardman in Todmorden.

They lived at 339 Rochdale Road, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 13th Battalion East Yorkshire Regiment.

He died 11th March 1917.

He was buried at the Varennes Military Cemetery [I J 10].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lingard, Walter J.
[1872-1936] Born in Halifax.

He was licensed victualler at the Boar's Head Hotel, Halifax [1911, 1917]; landlord of the Sportsman, Halifax [1936].

In [Q2] 1907, he married Margaret Sutcliffe [1871-19??] from Bradford.


Margaret had a daughter Doris Susannah [b 1892].

Doris was a barkeeper [1911]

 

Children: Eric Joseph [b 1909]

Linklater, Robert
[18??-18??] DD, TCD.

Curate at Illingworth [1863-1865]. He went on to serve at Frome-Selwood, at St Peter's London Docks, at Portsea, in Stroud Green, and Prebendary of Caddington Major in St Paul's Cathedral

Linley, Mr
[1???-1???] He married Martha Barraclough


Martha was the daughter of
Tobit Barraclough
 

Children: John

Linsgreave, Ripponden
A Mesolithic site

Linsley, Miss D. M.
[19??-19??] Headmistress of Princess Mary High School, In 1955, she moved to Rugby High School for Girls

Lion Cottage, Ripponden
Recorded in 1901, when it was next to the Golden Lion, Ripponden.

Owners and tenants have included

The Lion Gate, Shelf
Stanage Lane. The arched gateway – surmounted by a sculpture of a lion, and with two doorways at the side – is all that remains of the Lion Brewery.

The significance of the lion is not known

Lipscomb, Dr A. G. J.
[19??-19??] He lived at Burwood, Southowram.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John Laurence; (2) Edwin Paul

Lipscomb, Edwin Paul C. M.
[19??-19??] Second son of Dr A. G. J. Lipscomb.

In 1960?, he married Pauline Ann Farrell Palliser from Bath

Lipscomb, John Laurence
[19??-19??] Youngest son of Dr A. G. J. Lipscomb.

In 1959?, he married Rosemary Pamela Hoar from Oxford

Lipton's Grocers, Halifax
They had outlets in the district:

The Liquidation Shoe Company
Boot and shoe dealers at 35 Southgate, Halifax [1905]

Lishman & Company Limited
Cotton and silk warp dyers, bleachers, and sizers at Glen Dye Works, Todmorden [1900, 1905].

They did business in a wide area between Bradford and Manchester.

Partners included Walter Lishman

Lishman Process Bleaching Company Limited
At Glen Dye Works, Todmorden [1905]. Partners included Walter Lishman

Lishman, Walter
[18??-19??] Partner in Lishman & Company Limited and the Lishman Process Bleaching Company Limited He lived at Portsmouth House, Todmorden [1905]

Listed buildings

Lister ...
The entries for people with the surname Lister are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Lister
An Anglian occupational surname meaning a dyer, from the Middle English lit [to dye].

Ralph Litster is recorded in 1286, and Bate the Lister is recorded in 1298.

There are currently around 102 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Lister. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

See Dyer, Dyeing, Lithairse and The Lister family

The Lister family
Local family. Bate the Lister was one of the first recorded members of the local branch of the family. One branch originated in the Ovenden district and subsequently became closely associated with Shibden Hall.

Thomas Lister was an early member of the family in the tree drawn up by John Lister.

See William Fawcett, History On Your Doorstep, Jumples Fulling Mill, Anne Lister, Thomas Lister, Lister, Lister Lion, The Cunliffe-Lister family of Bradford, House at the Maypole, The Lister family of Old Town, The Lister family: Arms and Tudor Cottage

The Lister family: Arms
The arms of the Lister family can be seen in many places around the district, notably at Shibden Hall.

Motto:

JUSTUS PROPOSITI TENAX

The Lister family of Old Town

See Ibbotroyd, Wadsworth and The Lister family

Lister & Slater
Manufacturers of Brussels carpets at Stainland.

Partners included M. Lister and T. A. Slater.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1872

Lister Booth & Company Limited
Cotton manufacturers at Grove Mills, Brighouse.

Established by Lister Booth

The Lister Chaise
This 18th century carriage can be seen in the carriage collection in the barn at Shibden Hall. It is one of the oldest surviving vehicles of its kind in the world. It was drawn by one horse and there was another horse for the postillion. It was built before 1750

Lister Horsfall
Diamond experts, jewellery and watch business established in 1902 by Thomas Lister Horsfall at his Little Diamond Shop at 14 Corn Market, Halifax. The business is still owned by the Horsfall family

Lister's: J. W. Lister Limited
Wiredrawers at Clifton Bridge Mill, Brighouse, and at Borough Wire Works, Brighouse [1922]

Lister-Kaye, Sir John
[17??-18??] He was Major Commandant of the West Yorkshire Volunteer Cavalry [1805].

He inherited Rosemary Park, Rastrick from his uncle John Wilkinson.

In 1773, he sold the property to Dr Joseph Fryer

Lister Lane Cattle Market
In 1858, a plot of land was purchased for a cattle market in Lister Lane.

In 1886, this was superseded by Victoria Cattle Market.

See Cow Green, Halifax Market and Halifax Winter Cattle Fair

Lister Lane Cemetery, Burials

Lister Lane Cemetery: Grave plots

Lister Lane Cemetery, Halifax

See William Bull, James Day, James Heaps, Monumental Works, Halifax and Stories From the Graves


Thanks to Ann & Stuart Wilkinson and the Friends of Lister Lane Cemetery for help with photographs and the epitaphs on the gravestones in the Cemetery
 

Lister Lane Cemetery: the Lodge
The construction of the burial ground, the Chapel, and the lodge at Lister Lane Cemetery cost around £1,845.

Those who lived here included

There was a workshop behind the Lodge, and the loft where Heaton Hartley kept his racing-pigeons.

The Lodge was demolished in the late 1970s

Lister Lane Cemetery: the Mason's Yard
Lister Lane Cemetery had its own monumental masons' yard. This was also known as the Monumental Works, Halifax.

The yard closed in the mid-20th century and was sold off

Lister Lane Cemetery: the Mortuary Chapel
The construction of the burial ground, the mortuary chapel at Lister Lane Cemetery, and the Lodge cost around £1,845.

The Chapel is of Greek design and was designed by Roger Ives. It is listed.

The Friends of Lister Lane Cemetery hope to repair the delapidated building

Lister Lion

Lister's: Michael Lister & Company
Scouring preparation manufacturers at 1 Back Pollard Street, Halifax [1874]

Lister's: T. Lister & Sons
Slaters, plasterers and whitewashers of Hipperholme [1905]

Lister's Well
Aka Holy Well. A well in the pavement in front of Sisters' House, Priestley Green.

In 1904, it was said to

possess magic cures for all who drank its crystal waters, and pilgrimages were made to it

Liszt, Franz
[1811-1886] Hungarian pianist and composer.

After giving a piano recital in York, he visited Hebden Bridge on 15th December 1840 – when he breakfasted at the White Lion – en route between Dover and Liverpool.

He visited Halifax on 29th January 1841 – where he gave a concert at the Oddfellows' Hall which had been arranged by Joseph Henry Frobisher.

His concert tour was a financial failure and he lost much money

Literary Societies
The Foldout collects the entries for some of the Literary Societies which are / were to be found in the district

Litherstone, Heptonstall
One of a row of late 17th century cottages at Northfield, Heptonstall

Litt House, Hebden Bridge
A 17th century name for the property which became the Fox & Goose

Litthouse Bridge, Hebden Bridge
A 16th century name for Hebble End Bridge, Hebden Bridge. There was a dye-house nearby.

See Lithairse

Little, Bernard Williamson
[1911-1986] OBE.

Born in Wakefield.

He was educated at Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Wakefield.

He joined the 609 (West Riding) Squadron [1937] and was a pilot in the Battle of Britain.

After demobilisation in 1945, he trained as a solicitor and was Halifax Coroner [1951-1974]

Little Blackwood House, Pellon
Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

See Great Blackwood House, Pellon

Little Brackenbed, Pellon
Dr Samuel Threapland owned the house.

See Birks Hall

Little Burlees, Wadsworth
House dated I 1642. An inner door is inscribed 1637 I M. The porch is inscribed C W E 1733 for the Cockcroft family

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in In & About Our Old Homes

The Little Diamond Shop, Halifax
Established by Lister Horsfall

Little Dublin, Stainland
A popular name for the New Street area of Stainland in the early 1900s on account of the number of Irish people living there

Little Even, Barkisland
Stands on the hillside above the Ryburn.

John Gledhill and the Gledhill family lived here in the 15th century.

The present building was erected by J. W. Wheelwright around 1880.

The name is probably derived from Little Heaven

Little Faith, Brearley
A popular name for Brearley Particular Baptist Church because, in the event of the cause not succeeding, the meeting place could easily be converted into cottages

Little, George
[19??-] Actor born in Wyke. He has appeared in several stage and TV rôles. He played the rôle of Rev Edward Ruskin in the first episode of Emmerdale Farm.

His daughter, Tasmin Little, is a world-famous violinist, known especially for her interpretation of Delius

Little Greave, Soyland

Owners and tenants have included

See Great Greave, Soyland

Little Harper Royd, Norland
The correct name for Upper Harper Royd, Norland

Little Hill Farm

Little Holme House, Warley
Aka Holme House, Warley, Holme Grave, Warley. 17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

See Luddenden Valley Railway

Little Ireland Farm, Southowram
Halifax Old Road. Aka Ouram Hall. House which stood near Shibden Hall, opposite the Shibden Industrial School.

The farm (20 acres) was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.

Owners and tenants have included

Little, J.
[18??-191?] Of Southowram.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Southowram War Memorial

Little John Wood
Brighouse woodland which lay along the banks of the Calder

Little, Rev Joseph
[18??-18??] He was a missionary in India.

He married Charlotte Susan [1828-1862].

Charlotte Susan died June 23rd 1862 (aged 34).

She was buried at Hebden Bridge Parish Church

Little Knowl Farm, Walsden

Owners and tenants have included

Little Knowl, Walsden

Owners and tenants have included

Little Lear Ings, Colden
Early 17th century house and farm.

Owners and tenants have included

It was owned by Todmorden yarn agents when James Speak and his family moved here in 1900. He bought the farm in 1920.

It became the home of James's daughter, Alice Longstaff. Her grave is here.

See Learings, Heptonstall

Little London Farm, Northowram
Recorded in 1905 at Upper Lane

Little London House, Sowerby
Kennel Lane. Originally two late 18th century houses.

Now a single dwelling

Little London, Northowram
An area of Northowram.

See Little London

Little London, Rishworth
Oldham Road. An area of Rishworth near Booth Wood Reservoir

Little London, West Vale
An area of West Vale

Little Longbottom, Warley
Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

Little Manor, Heptonstall Slack
Widdop Road. House dated 1599. Extended 1681. A lintel is inscribed W S 1681.

Now divided into 3 dwellings

Little Marsh, Southowram
Bank Top.

The farm (9 acres) with a quarries, was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.

Owners and tenants have included

Little Merry Bent, Soyland
17th/18th century house

Owners and tenants have included

Little Moor, Ovenden
Built by John Brearcliffe [1704].

Owners and tenants have included

In the mid-19th century, it became the Ivy House and the licensee was transferred from the King of Prussia

Little Norcliffe Farm, Northowram

Owners and tenants have included

  • George Brain [1920]

  • W. Mallinson [1920s]

See Thumpas Farm, Northowram

Little Norcliffe Farm, Southowram
The Lister family of Shibden Hall bought the property from the Norcliffe family [1695].

In the late 1700s, the Walker family of Crow Nest bought the property

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

  • John Green [Farm to Let 1851]

  • George Taylor (aged 27) farmer of 12 acres with wife Emily (aged 30) & 2 children [1881]

See Norcliffe, Southowram

Little Oldham, Todmorden
Area of Todmorden.

The name is derived from the many red-brick houses which were built around Hare Mill in 18?? to house the mill-workers who came to the district from Lancashire

Little Peel House, Warley
17th century house. There is a stone inscribed RJW on the ground floor.

Owners and tenants have included

See Peel House, Luddenden

Little Pighill, Shelf
Recorded in 1496,, when Laurence Bentley paid a fine for the Wastes of Longestubbynge, Jakstubynge and Little Pighill in Shelf

Little Raw Farm, Hebden Bridge
Wadsworth. Farm on Raw Lane.

Raw Farm lies just east

Little Scout Farm, Luddendenfoot
Owners and tenants have included

See Great Scout Farm, Luddendenfoot

Little Smith House Farm, Brighouse
Recorded in 1854 just east of Smith House along Smith House Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

  • The Udall family

The property was bought by Brighouse Borough Council and demolished in the 1960s. Poplar View and Sycamore Drive now stand on the site

Little Switzerland
This has been a popular name for several local beauty spots:

Little Theatre, Hebden Bridge

Little Toothill Farm, Sowerby
Hubberton.

Owners and tenants have included

On 24th December 1944, a doodlebug landed in a field nearby and caused damage to the farm buildings.

The farm was rebuilt.

It is now known as Little Toothill Cottage

Little Town Farm, Warley
Raw End Road. Early 17th century building

Little Walterclough
Part of the Walterclough valley

Little, William
[1886-19??] Born in Stockport.

He was a compositor [1911].

On 21st May 1910, he married Mabel Hartley in Halifax.


Mabel was the daughter of
Whiteley Hartley
 

Children: Doreen [1914-1987] who married Joe Whiteley.

The family lived at 48 Chelmsford Road, Stockport [1911]

Little, William B.
[18??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1904]. He won caps for England while at Halifax

Little Wolden Edge, Rishworth

Littlefield, David
[1???-1867] From Hambledon, Hampshire.

On 18th July 1816, he married Mary Holden [1790-1855], born in Guiseley, at St George in the East, Middlesex.

MaryMrs Littlefield of Dunkirk near Halifax and formerly of Sutton Hall near Ferrybridge – died 15th August 1855.

David died in Halifax [1867]

Littlefield, John David
[1832-1869] In 1860, he married Elizabeth, daughter of James Balme, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1868]; (2) Arthur who was a cashier [1909].

In 1901, Elizabeth was living with her brother John William Balme

Littlehaven Tea Gardens, Triangle
Edwardian tourist attraction on the Norland side of the Ryburn at Kebroyd. Reached by Alexandra Bridge.

The house is now a private residence

Littlemoor, Warley
Farm. Owners and tenants have included

See Far Littlemoor House, Warley and Rupin Riding School

Littleton, Mr
[1600-1700] Of Rishworth.

Died at the age of 100.

See Longevity

Littletown, Warley
Mid-17th century house

Littlewood & Sharp
Engineers at Foundry Street, Halifax [1940s]

Littlewood, Rev W.
[19??-19??] He was vicar of Kellington before becoming Vicar of Holy Trinity Church, Halifax [1955]. In 1957, he was appointed vicar of Sharlston [Wakefield]

Littlewood, Rev William
[19??-19??] Vicar of Clifton [1960-1963]

Littlewood, Rev William Edensor
[1831-1886] MA.

Born in London.

He was educated at the Merchant Taylor's School and Pembroke College Cambridge.

Headmaster of Hipperholme Grammar School [1861]. He went on to become curate at Norwood, Hounslow [1868] and vicar at St Thomas's Church, Finsbury Park, London.

He wrote several theological works and school books, and also a number of hymns which appear in Congregational Sunday School hymn books

Livermore, Rev Charles
[1837-1916] Born in London.

He was Vicar of Norland [1877-1906]. He was the first incumbent to live at Norland Vicarage.

He left to become Vicar of Cragg Vale [1906-1909]

On 27th October 1874, he married Rose Pilcher [1849-1914] from Hanley, Staffordshire, at St George's Church, Tuffnell Park, London.

Rose was daughter of Emily Ann [née Wooton] and Walter Pilcher, and step brother of actor and theatre manager William Sydney Penley.

Children: (1) Charles Walter Gastineau [1875-1962] who was an apprentice engine machine manufacturer [1891], a schoolmaster [1916]; (2) Adeline Sparling [1877-1959]; (3) Minnie Frances Emily [1879-1881]; (4) Harry Austin; (5) Ethel Joscelyne [1883-1974]; (6) Ellen Louisa Florence May [1887-1970]; (7) Marie Gastineau [1890-1973].

Living with them in 1891 was a boarder Hannah Bailey [aged 24] (school teacher).

He died at Cragg Holme, Cragg Vale.

Members of the family were buried at St Luke's Church, Norland.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £791, and probate was granted to his son Charles Walter Gastineau Livermore

Livermore, Harry Austin
[1881-1956] Son of Rev Charles Livermore.

Born in Halifax.

He was a photographer. He had an Electric & Daylight studio at 10a Corn Market, Halifax [1936]

Liverpool Fresh Meat Company
They had a butcher's shop at the corner of Martin Street / Bradford Road, Brighouse [1908]

Liverpool Stores, Elland
Southgate. Elland Post Office occupied the building [prior 1910]

Liversedge, John A.
[18??-18??] Wholesale draper with a warehouse at 8 Northgate, Halifax [1865]

Liversidge, Samuel
[16??-1710] Of Priestley Green

Livery Stables

Livesay, John
[1699-1730] AB.

Son of William Livesay.

He was educated at Brasenose College Oxford; Curate at Ripponden [17??].

He married Hannah Hoyle.

Children: several.

He and his wife were buried at St Bartholomew's, Ripponden

Livesay, William
[1???-1???] Owned Calico Hall, Halifax.

He married Mary, daughter of Joseph Fourness.

Children: William

Livesay, William
[1677-17??] Son of William Livesay.

Halifax attorney. In 1697, he, Jeremiah Brigg, John Crabtree and William Midgley were the 4 attorneys of the King's Bench in Halifax. He moved to London. In 1701, he and his mother sold Calico Hall to Richard Scarborough.

He married Mary.

Children: John

Livesey, Richard
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Livesey, Thomas John
[18??-19??] Born in Heywood.

In 1885, he married Ann Riley in Halifax.


Ann was the daughter of
Job Riley
 

Children: (1) Florence [b 1887]; (2) Norris [b 1889]; (3) Sarah Elizabeth [b 1890]; (4) Elsie [b 1892]; (5) John [b 1894]; (6) Harry [b 1898]; (7) Samuel Douglas [b 1902]; (8) Eleanor [b 1904].

Ann died in Halifax [3rd August 1929].

She was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Livesey, Walter Herbert
[1893-1978] Aka Walter Livsey. Cricketer. Born in Todmorden. He played for Hampshire

Livingston, James
[1781-18??] Minister living at Waring Green [1841].

He married Elizabeth [1791-18??].

Children: Priscilla [b 1821]

Livingstone, Dr David
[1813-1873] Explorer.

He visited Halifax on a lecture tour in October 1857 and stayed with Thomas Milne at Warley House. He lectured at the New Assembly Rooms and gave the sermon at the Sion Chapel and Square Chapel – where he addressed a crowd of 2,000 people.

He stayed with Sir Titus Salt at Crow Nest Mansion.

See Sir Henry Morton Stanley

Livingstone, Joseph
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1857, when he was a supernumerary Methodist minister in Halifax (South) 

Livingstone, Rev William A.
[18??-19??] Minister at Brearley Baptist Church [1899-1905]

Lizours, Albreda de
[11??-12??] Or Aubrey. Daughter of Albreda de Lacy and Robert de Lizours.

After the death of Henry and his son, Robert, the de Lacy estates passed to Albreda.

She married (1) Richard Fitz-Eustace [d 1163].

Children: John.

She married (2) Sir William de ClairFait.

She married (3) Sir William Fitz-Godric

Lizours, Roger de
[11??-1211] Son of John Fitz-Eustace and grandson of Richard Fitz-Eustace and Albreda de Lizours.

Through his grandmother, Albreda, he inherited the de Lacy estate and the de Lizours estate after taking the name Lizours. But Albreda caused him to quit all claims to the de Lizours estates.

He took the name Roger de Laci

He was the 7th Constable of Chester. He took part in campaigns against the Welsh and gained the nickname of Roger of Hell.

He married (1) Alice de Aquila.


Alice de Aquila was the daughter of Gilbert de l'Aigle
 

They had no children.

He married (2) Margaret de Quincy.

Children: John who married Alice, daughter of Gilbert de Laci.

This branch of the family moved to Lincoln and other parts of the country

Llads-Lowe Balder
Aka Devil's Rock. The name is said to mean Balder's Hill of Slaughter.

See Lad and Lowe

Lloyd, Bobbie
[1888-1930] Halifax Rugby League halfback

Lloyd, Clement
[18??-19??] Halifax architect.

He lived at Broomfield House, Halifax [1910]

Lloyd, Cyrus Sing
[1832-1922] Born in Ontario, Canada.

He was a representative for the company established by his brother, Marshall Burns Lloyd of Minneapolis, Minnesota and later of Menominee, Michigan. His brother sold the manufacturing rights of several of his inventions to European companies, and Cyrus came to England to sort out the details.

In October 1900, he and the Lloyd Manufacturing Company of Sowerby Bridge took out patents for making improvements in wire mattresses.

On 1st January 1900, he married Eleanor Gertrude, daughter of Solomon Watson, of Sowerby Bridge. He lived at 7 Industrial Road, Sowerby Bridge [1900].

The couple returned to America and Canada.

He died in Orange County, California

Lloyd, Rev Edward B.
[17??-18??] Of Halifax.

On 28th July 1823, he, Rev Joshua Fearnside, Rev John Heap, Rev Jagger, Rev John James, Rev Zachariah Yewdall, Rev Matthew Lumb and Stephen Wilson of Holmfirth, were amongst the passengers travelling by The Fleece coach from Halifax to Sheffield which overturned near Shepley. Rev Sergeant of Scarborough died of his injuries. Edward Smith, the driver of the coach was accused of

wanton behaviour and shameful perversity, on account of the peril to which his furious driving subjected his passengers.

Rev Lloyd was

so seriously hurt, that very little hope is entertained of his recovery

Lloyd, George Walter Selwyn
[1913-1998] Eldest son of Constance and William Alexander Charles Lloyd.

Born in St Ives, Cornwall.

English composer

Lloyd-Jones, Rev Frederick Edward
[1831-1918] MA

Born in Oystermouth, Glamorgan [29th April 1832].

He was Ordinary of Newgate Prison [1865-1882] before becoming Vicar of Holy Trinity Church, Halifax [1882-1891].

In 1857, he married Agnes Harriet Luke [1831-1918] in Tendring, Essex.

Children: (1) Arthur Vyvian Lloyd [b 1860]; (2) Agnes Ethel Lloyd [b 1862]; (3) Frederick Llewelyn Lloyd [b 1868]; (4) Ivor Gordon; (5) Enid Helena Lloyd [b 1874].

He died in Folkestone [19th January 1918]

Lloyd-Jones, Ivor Gordon
[1869-1947] BA.

Son of Rev Frederick Edward Lloyd Jones.

Born at Blackheath, Kent [12th April 1869].

He was educated at Haileybury School and Trinity College Cambridge [1888]

The Lloyd Manufacturing Company Limited
Occupied Centre Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

See Cyrus Sing Lloyd

Lloyd, Robert
[1889-1930] Landlord of the Fountain Head, Pellon [1930].

He was buried at Mount Tabor Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Lloyd, Robert
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1920-1921]. He won a cap for Wales (RL) and a cap for Great Britain (RL) while at Halifax

Lloyd, Thomas
[18??-18??] Architect at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1874]

Lloyd, Walter Francis
[19??-19??] Son of William A. C. Lloyd.

He married his cousin, Dorothy Vivienne, daughter of Colonel Walter Vyvyan Nugent.

The family moved to Rochdale.

They later divorced

Lloyd, William Alexander Charles
[1885-1951] Aka Will. MC.

Of Cowesby Hall, Thirsk.

Only son of Captain Walter Lloyd RN.

He was born in Rome. He was educated at Charterhouse.

During World War I, he served in the 7th West Yorkshire Regiment, during World War II, he was in the Admiralty.

On 15th August 1907, he married Constance Priestley Rawson at St John the Divine, Thorpe.

Children: (1) Walter Francis; (2) Marianne Priestley [b 1909]; (3) George.

He was a director of Edwards & Rawson.

In the 1930s, he and his son, George, wrote a number of librettos for operas which were performed by the Carl Rosa Opera Company and at the Lyceum in London.

The family went to live at Zennor, Cornwall

The family lived at St Eia, St Ives, Cornwall [1911]

Lloyds Banking Group
Established in January 2009 when Halifax Bank of Scotland was taken over by Lloyds TSB

Lloyds TSB Bank
There have been several local branches of Lloyds TSB Bank

See Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company and Lloyds Banking Group

Lloyds TSB Bank, Brighouse
They had offices in buildings on the Baines Row site.

When these were demolished in the 1990s, the bank moved to the former White Swan

See Roberts, Son & Hinchliffe

Lloyds TSB Bank: Commercial Street, Halifax
The building was designed for the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company by Halifax architects Horsfall & Williams.

It has been said that the building was actually designed by J. H. S. Finlinson.

The front pillars are made of green Norwegian granite. There is noteworthy glass in the ceiling. The interior plasterwork is by T. Cordingley of Bradford. It opened in May 1898.

John Rawson was the first customer to enter the new building.

The construction of the building required the demolition of 5 bays of Royds' House.

See Rawson's Bank

Lloyds TSB Bank, Elland
The branch has been in various locations, including

Lloyds TSB Bank: Hall End, Halifax
2 Silver Street. The building was designed by W. & R. Mawson. Opened on 29th May 1880 as offices of the Halifax Commercial Banking Company Limited.

In 18??, it was occupied by a branch of the York County Saving Bank

In 19??, it was occupied by a branch of Martins Bank.

In 19??, it was occupied by a branch of the Trustee Savings Bank.

When Lloyds and TSB merged, it became a branch of Lloyds TSB.

It closed as a Bank in 2009

Lloyds TSB Bank, Hebden Bridge
Albert Street. Lloyds TSB branch

Lloyds TSB Bank, Sowerby Bridge
Town Hall Street. The Lloyds TSB branch occupies part of Sowerby Bridge Town Hall

Load Clough, Luddenden
Recorded in the 1920s as being
700 yards south by east of St Mary's Church, Luddenden

Lob Mill
District of Calderdale in Langfield, between Hebden Bridge and Todmorden.

The spelling Lobb Mill is also found

A fulling mill is recorded here in the early 1700s.

Lob Mill stood here

Lob Mill Lock, Todmorden
Lock #16 on the Rochdale Canal

Lob Mill Viaduct, Todmorden
Railway viaduct built in 1840 by Robert Stephenson for the Manchester-Leeds Railway.

Lob Mill Working Men's Club, Todmorden
Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 57

Lobb Mill Bridge, Todmorden
Haugh Road.

Bridge #26 over the Rochdale Canal Early 18th century.

Lobb Stables, Todmorden
A group of houses on the hillside opposite Lob Mill

Lobley, Harry
[18??-19??] In 1890, he married Henrietta Ellen, daughter of George Henry James Heal.

Children: James Hardy [b 1895]

Local authors & writers

Local families

Local Heroes

The Local Magazine
Published in Brighouse in 1871. It cost 1d. Ceased publication after a short time.

See Local Newspapers

Local Nature Reserve
Abbr: LNR. Small areas of countryside set aside for leisure and natural history interests.

See Cromwellbottom LNR, Jerusalem Farm, Luddenden, Milner Royd LNR and Ogden Water Visitor & Interpretation Centre

Local newspapers
The Foldout collects the entries for some of the local Newspapers.

See Books

The Local Oracle
See Todmorden Omnibus

The Local Portfolio
A 19th century Halifax newspaper. See P. G. Hamerton

Local Surnames
Some of the more frequently-encountered local surnames have been moved to separate SideTracks

Lochhead, William Murray
[1822-1905] From Paisley. His father had a business manufacturing shawls and Paisley goods.

He trained at the School of Design in Paisley and then at the Royal Academy in Edinburgh.

Around 1853, he came to Halifax to work as a designer for John Crossley & Sons.

In the 1860s, he went to work for T. F. Firth & Company in Bailiff Bridge. He was the first designer to be permanently employed by Firth's and was engaged in designed Brussels and tapestry carpets. He stayed with Firth's until he retired around 1897.

In November 1880, he had a bankruptcy ordered annulled.

He married Elizabeth Love [1824-1903] from Ayr, (possibly) in Scotland.

Children: (1) Mary A [b 1843]; (2) William H [b 1847]; (3) John R [b 1849]; (4) Robert [b 1851]; (5) Elizabeth [b 1854]; (6) Janet [b 1856]; (7) James [b 1858]; (8) Andrew [b 1860]; (9) Walter [b 1865].

The family lived at 32 Bright Street, Halifax [1861]; 10 Swine Market, Halifax [1871]; 2 Green Houses, Cliff Hill, Hipperholme [1891, 1901].

He and his wife were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Lock Hill House, Sowerby Bridge
Formerly the Jolly Sailor

Lock House, Sowerby Bridge
The lock keeper's cottage for Lock #1 at Sowerby Bridge.

Owners and tenants have included

The building has been demolished

Lock, John
[1852-1???] Born in Wetherden, Suffolk

He was a brewer's drayman [1881]; beerseller (manager) at the Brewers' Cellar, Halifax [1891].

He married Mary Collins? [1851-1???], born in Oxford.

In 1891, Mary was beerseller (manageress) at the Brewers' Cellar.

Children: Sarah Ellen [b 1876].

The family lived at Springfield, Hipperholme with Brighouse [1881]

Locke, Mr
[18??-18??] Around 1860, he acquired the tobacco business which, around 1875, was acquired by Walter Cocker. Locke rebuilt the Crown Street premises

Lockett, Mr
[18??-19??] In the 1920s, he bought the paper-making business of Thomas Briggs (Manchester) Limited at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth

Lockhead, Richard
[17??-18??] Law stationer at Church Lane, Halifax [1809]

Lockups, Luddenden
There are 3 doorways at Luddenden Primary School, two of which are inscribed MIDGLEY and WARLEY and were for the lockups of the 2 townships. The 3rd doorway has been blocked.

These lockups superseded the Midgley stocks

Lockwood
[Surname]

There are currently around 15 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Lockwood. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Lockwood & Mawson
Architects. Bradford-based partnership of Henry Francis Lockwood and William Mawson. The firm designed many West Yorkshire buildings, including Crossley Street, Halifax, Halifax Mechanics' Institute, Lightcliffe Congregational Church, Lightcliffe United Reformed Church, Princess Buildings, Halifax, Town Hall Chambers, Halifax and White Swan Hotel, Halifax.

Outside the district, their designs included chapels at Undercliffe Cemetery, Bradford, the model town of Saltaire, and St George's Hall, Bradford [1851].

The company became W. & R. Mawson

Lockwood, Benjamin
[18??-18??] Of Rastrick. Partner in Clayton & Lockwood [1856]

Lockwood, Charles
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 8 Charles Street [20 lodgers in 1903]

Lockwood, Henry
[18??-1???] Landlord of the George, Brighouse [1874, 1883, 1887].

He married Mary [1826-1883]

Lockwood, Henry Francis
[1811-1878] Architect who formed the partnership Lockwood & Mawson with William Mawson, and designed many local buildings including the White Swan Hotel, the Halifax Mechanics' Institute, and other buildings in Crossley Street and Princess Street, Halifax

Lockwood, Rev J. B.
[18??-18??] Pastor at Birchcliffe Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1853]. He retired in 1860 on account of ill-health

Lockwood, James
[1827-1854] Of Brighouse.

He was a painter [1851].

On 26th July 1851, he married Harriet Taylor in Brighouse.


He was Harriet's 2nd husband
 

Children: (1) Elizabeth Hepworth [1851-1853] who died aged 1 year & 8 months; (2) John James [1854] who died in infancy.

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Lockwood, John
[1???-18??] He ran a private school at Salterhebble [around 1838]

Lockwood, John
[16??-16??] He lived at Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd [1656]. He built Bloomergate House, Midgley [1673].

He married Mary

Lockwood, John
[17??-18??] Of Ewood House, Todmorden.

He married Unknown.

Children: Sarah [1779-1857] who married John Crossley

Lockwood, John
[18??-1???] On 28th Dec 1870, he married Susey Riley in Halifax.


Susey was the daughter of
James Riley
 

Children: Harry [b 1871].

Susey died 19th February 1875.

Son Harry was brought up by his Aunt Nancy

Lockwood, John de
[1???-1341] Of Lockwood, Huddersfield.

See Elland Feud

Lockwood, Margaret
[1916-1990] Film star and actress. Visited the Picture House and the Electric Cinema in Halifax on 31st December 1947

Lockwood, Solomon
[1878-19??] Of 22 John Street, Sowerby Bridge.

He was seriously injured – fractured skull & arm – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and was detained at Halifax Infirmary

Lockwood, Dr W.
[18??-19??] MD.

Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895]. He was Honorary Medical Officer at the Royal Halifax Infirmary [1905]

Lockwood, Rev William
[1???-18??] He was educated at University College Oxford and served at Easingwold before becoming First Curate and Vicar of Brighouse [1831-1833]

Lockyer, Rev D. R. G.
[19??-] He was team rector at Speke, Liverpool before becoming Vicar of Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [1984]

Lode Clough, Warley
House built around 1624 by James Murgatroyd

Lodge, Abraham
[1???-18??] He was a farmer [1846].

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Lodge Clough, Rishworth

Lodge, Edmund
[1721-1799] A Leeds merchant. He owned some land in the Skircoat area. Around 1774, he bought Lower Willow Hall, Halifax and moved from Leeds. In 1782, he bought the Upper Willow Hall estate. His wife was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1782], and he was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1792.].

Around 1783, he built Lower Willow Hall Mill.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) Henry; (3) a daughter who married John Williamson

After Edmund's death, his widow and his sons took over his business interests and cotton spinning until 1810

Lodge Farm, Erringden
/ Cragg Vale. In 1774, Grace Hartley bought the farm and moved there from Bell House

Lodge Hall, Warland
Early 18th century laithe-house.

Owners and tenants have included

Lodge, Henry
[17??-18??] Of Willow Hall, Halifax.

On 27th March 1805, he married Elizabeth Beanland.

He and Thomas Lodge were cotton spinners at Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot and Willow Hall Mills [1790s].

The Manchester-born civil engineer, Samuel Clegg [1786-1861], who trained with Boulton & Watt, installed gas lighting in Lodge's home, and the Willow Hall Mills were the first mills in Britain to be lit by gas [1805]

Lodge Hill, Rishworth

Lodge, Rev J. A. A.
[19??-19??] Vicar of Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [1966]. In 1968, he became Priest-in-Charge of the Conventional District of Mixenden

Lodge, John
[1822-1???] Son of Abraham Lodge.

Born in Normanton.

He was a tail maker in Warley [1846]; a tail and cover maker [1861].

In 1846, he married Phoebe, daughter of John Mitchell, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) John William; (2) George [b 1851] who was a cotton mill half timer [1861]; (3) Abraham [b 1854]; (4) Fredrick [b 1856].

The family lived at 30 Shooter Street, Newton, Manchester [1861]

Lodge, John William
[1847-1920] Son of John Lodge.

Born in Manchester.

He was a game dealer [1881]; a refuse manufacturer [1891]; a member of Sowerby Bridge UDC [1896-1900]; an oil sheet maker [1901]; a horse clothing manufacturer [1911].

In 1867, he married Ann Thomas [1844-1???] in Halifax.


Ann was born in Mill Bank.

She was a fish monger [1881, 1891]

 

Children: (1) John Mitchell [b 1869] who was lame, was a machinist town refuse [1891], a restaurant keeper [1911], a dyer [1920]; (2) George Alfred E [1870-1874]; (3) a child who died in infancy; (4) Christopher Evelyn [b 1874] who was an engineer to refuse machine [1891], a bath attendant [1901], a labourer at gas works [1911].

The family lived at Back Wharf Street, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; 14 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]; 79 Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1911]; Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1920]

In 1881, 1891, 1901 the family were living at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge with John William's aunt Sarah Robinson.

John William died at Bolton Brow [23rd April 1920].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £206. Probate was granted to his son John Mitchell Lodge

Lodge No 1 Halifax I. O. O. F.
Halifax Friendly Society [Number 2918] recorded in 1898, when their registration was cancelled (under the Friendly Societies Act [1896]) 

Lodge of Probity

Lodge of Shepherdesses
Recorded in 1867, when the sisterhood held their anniversary at the Black Bull, Brighouse and around 85 members partook of tea together

Lodge, Rastrick

Lodge, Dr Samuel
[1865-19??] MD.

Son of Dr Samuel Lodge of Bradford.

Born in Bradford [September 1865]

He was educated at Bradford Grammar School, Leeds Medical School, Durham University, St Thomas's Hospital London, University of Paris; consulting surgeon for diseases of the eye, ear, throat & nose; surgeon to the Eye, Ear, Throat & Nose Department at the Royal Halifax Infirmary; Captain 2nd Volunteer Battalion (PWO) West Yorkshire Regiment; physician and surgeon with a surgery was at 25 Harrison Road, Halifax [1905].

He married Winifred Garbutt.


Winifred was the daughter of William Garbutt of County Durham
 

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) son.

The family lived at 25 Harrison Road, Halifax [1905]; 28 Manor Row, Bradford [1905]

Lodge, Thomas
[17??-18??] He and Henry Lodge were cotton spinners at Cooper House Mills, Luddendenfoot and Willow Hall Mills [1790s]

Lodge, Triangle
Another name for Stansfield Pond, Sowerby.

Owners and tenants have included

See Porter Lodge, Triangle

Lodging Houses

Lofthouse's
A popular name for the House at the Maypole after the business of James Lofthouse which occupied the building from about 1842

Lofthouse, James
[1???-18??] Druggist. He was in business at the House at the Maypole from about 1842 as Lofthouse's

Lofthouse, Ralph
[1890-1917] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/7th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [7th April 1917].

He was buried at the St. Vaast Post Military Cemetery, Richebourg-L'Avoue [IV F 7].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Logan, John
[1725-1830] Soldier.

He lived at 11 Church Lane, Southowram.

He was pressed into the King's service as a youth, but he left the Navy and enlisted in the Army. He served in England, Ireland and the West Indies. The last few years of his service were spent with the Breadalbane Regiment of Fencibles, latterly as a drum-major. In 1796, he was admitted as an out-pensioner to the Royal Hospital, Chelsea.

Of the 24 children mentioned in his epitaph, the youngest was born in 1813, when Logan was 77 years old.

His great-grandson Thomas Logan lived at Marsh Hall.

He wore his hair in a bobtail which was long enough for him to sit on it. When he died, 32 locks of his hair were taken, one for each of his children.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church and his gravestone lies below the sundial and is inscribed

Here rest the remains of John Logan, who died the 29th day of December, 1830, aged 105 years.

He lived in the reign of five kings and for 50 years of his life was actively engaged as a soldier in the service of his country.

He was twice married and was father of 32 children, namely eight by his first and 24 by his second wife.

Respect the soldier's dust

On 1st January 1831, an obituary in the Leeds Mercury reported

He kept his bible and his drum, the companions of his youthful years, till the end of his life

It is said, that Logan's widow walked to London and back twice, in a vain attempt to persuade the authorities to grant her a pension after her husband's allowance had ceased on his death

Logan, Thomas
[1856-19??] Born in Scotland. Great-grandson of John Logan.

He was a painter (plain) [1911].

He lived at #1 Marsh Hall [1911, 1914]

Logarithms
See Henry Briggs

Loggin, James
[17??-17??] He lived at the Bakehouse, Halifax in June 1760

Lomard House, West Vale
A name by which Lambert House appears in some documents.

Lomas's: F. Lomas & Sons
Joiners, builders and undertakers at Doncaster Street, Salterhebble [1905]. Partners included Fergus Lomas, John Lomas, and Lewis Lomas.

Walker Gordon Peel started work for the company and inherited the business from his father-in-law Lewis Lomas

Lomas, Fergus
[1840-1890] Born in Southowram.

He founded the joiner's, builder's and undertaker's business on Doncaster Street, Salterhebble. This became F. Lomas & Sons.

In 1862, he married Elizabeth Kenworthy in Barnsley.

Children: (1) Lewis; (2) John; (3) Martha [b 1869] who married [25th February 1899] Ernest Lee at Halifax Parish Church; (4) George; (5) William.

He died in Halifax [2nd January 1890]

Lomas, George
[1872-1944] Son of Fergus Lomas.

Born in Salterhebble.

Partner in Lomas's F. Lomas & Sons

On 26 April 1890, he married Hannah Parkinson at All Saints' Church, Salterhebble.

Children: (1) Mary E. [b 1893]; (2) George Willie [b 1899] who married [22nd December 1923] Lillian Fletcher at St Paul's Church, Halifax.

He died in Halifax

Lomas, James
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Engineers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lomas, John
[1867-19??] Son of Fergus Lomas.

Born in Southowram.

Partner in F. Lomas & Sons.

In 1889, he married Agnes Haigh [1868-1???] in Halifax.

Children: Gladys [1898-1977]

The family lived at 83 Salterhebble Hill, Halifax [1905]

Lomas, Lewis
[1864-1924] Son of Fergus Lomas.

Born in Southowram.

Partner in F. Lomas & Sons.

In 1888, he married Mary Alice Iredale.

Children: (1) Mabeth [1888-1899]; (2) Edith [1891-1980] who married Walker Gordon Peel; (3) Helena [1896-1969] who married [1921] John Thomas Officer [b 1894].

The family lived at 81 Salterhebble Hill, Halifax [1905].

He died in Halifax [3rd January 1924]

Lomas, William
[1874-1959] Son of Fergus Lomas.

Born in Elland.

On 30th July 1903, he married Beatrice Annie Carter in Wesley Chapel, Broad Street, Halifax.

Children: Harry Kenworthy [b 1904].

He died in Halifax [3rd September 1959]

Lomax, James
[15??-1???] Chaplain at Illingworth Church [1578-1581]

Lomax, James
[15??-1???] Vicar of Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1579-1581]

Lombard House, West Vale
A name by which Lambert House appears in some documents.

London & Yorkshire Bank Limited

London Art Association
Photographic enlargers and artists at 21 Arcade Chambers, Cheapside, Halifax [1905] when the proprietor was Miss Young

London City & Midland Bank Limited
They had a branch at 5 Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1905], Silver Street, Halifax [early 1900s], and Commercial Street, Halifax [8th March 1916]

London Electric Wire & Smiths Limited
In 19??, brothers Frederick and George Henry Smith were co-founders of London Electric Wire & Smiths Limited.

In 19??, Frederick Smith & Company and London Electric Wire & Smiths became subsidiaries of General Electric Companies UK

London Hat Warehouse
Hatters established by Joseph Eckersley at 25 Crown Street, Halifax [1845]

London House, Elland
Westgate / Elland Cross. Built by Abraham Dyson in 1865.

Owners and tenants have included

Manchester House was next door

London House, Halifax
Ferguson Street.

Owners and tenants have included

London House, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

London Joint City & Midland Bank Limited
Recorded in 1923 at Briggate, Brighouse

London, Midland & Scottish Railway Company
Abbr: LMS.

See Hebble Bus Company and Todmorden Joint Omnibus Committee

Lonely House Farm, Northowram
See Only House, Northowram

Long, Barnabas
[1855-1???] Son of Barnabas Long, farmer.

Born in Great Horton.

He was a dyer of Bradford [1879]; a dyer's labourer [1881]; a cart driver [1891]; a carter for grocer [1901].

In [Q1] 1879, he married Eliza Dilworth at Halifax Parish Church.


Eliza was the daughter of
William Dilworth
 

Children: (1) William; (2) Bennett [b 1881] who was a factory hand worsted spinner [1891], a plasterer's labourer [1901]; (3) Julia A [b 1882] who was a silk winder [1901]; (4) Frank; (5) Emily [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1901]; (6) Nora [b 1888] who was a errand girl [1901]; (7) Albert [1891-1892] who died in infancy; (8) Herbert [b 1893].

The family lived at 12 Albion Court, Halifax [1881]; 11 Albion Court, Halifax [1891]; 33 Stannary Street, Halifax [1901]

Long Can Farm, Ovenden Wood

Recorded in 1911, when John Gledhill farmed here.

See Long Can, Ovenden

Long Can, Ovenden
Late 14th century timber-framed house at Ovenden Wood.

An earlier name was Dearden House Farm.

A later house was built on the site and cased in stone. It was rebuilt by James Murgatroyd and the porch was dated IMM 1637 for James and Mary Murgatroyd. The wooden frame was inscribed RCM with an illegible date.

It was divided into 5 cottages.

The house became a part of Webster's Ovenden Wood Brewery and was restored in 1985, becoming a museum and hospitality centre until the brewery closed in 1996.

There were reports of the ghost of an elderly woman wearing a long dress who was seen and heard walking in the upper part of the centre.

From the 1990s, Long Can was disused.

In September 2008, the building became The Maltings Independent School.

In 2009, there were proposals to convert the building into a pub for Fountain Head Village.

See Long Can Farm, Ovenden Wood

The Long Causeway
A track which runs along the hilltops from Halifax to Burnley, avoiding the boggy valley bottoms which were often inhabited by wild boar. It is of prehistoric origin – possibly one of the most ancient highways in Europe – and is the westward continuation of the Wakefield Gate route.

The route of the Long Causeway – aka Long Causey – goes from Halifax, to Luddenden, Midgley, Heptonstall where it includes The Buttress, Blackshawhead, and on to Cliviger, Burnley, Lancashire – see Packhorse Routes.

Reddyshore Scoutgate links the Long Causeway with Rochdale.

The Tower Causeway is a moorland section between Todmorden and Cornholme.

Dhoul's pavement is the section up to Blackstone Edge.

The route may have been used by the monks of Whalley Abbey.

With the construction of the Gorple and other reservoirs, the line of the old causeway was disrupted.

An 18th/19th century weavers' rhyme records the route from the west which they took between their homes and their markets

Long Drag
Aka Long Stoup. A path from Stoodley Pike to Mankinholes

Long, Frank
[1885-1915] Son of Barnabas Long.

He was an oiler in worsted mill [1901].

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 20th October 1915 (aged 30).

He was buried at the Lijssenthoek Military Cemetery [I B 25A].

His brother William survived the War and was awarded the DCM; 2 other brothers also served

Long, Geoffrey
[1922-1944] Son of Isabel & Albert James Long of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Sergeant (Radio Operator) with the 12 Squadron Royal Air Force Volunteer Reserve.

He died 4th May 1944 (aged 22).

He was buried at the Beauchery Communal Cemetery [Coll Grave 1-3].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Long Harry
See Long Harry Savile

Long Heys
Area above West Vale

Long House Farm, Mixenden
Owners and tenants have included

Long Lee Lock, Elland
Lock #24 on the Calder & Hebble Navigation between Salterhebble and Elland

Long Lover Reservoir, Halifax
Another name for Pellon Reservoir, Halifax

Long Lover, Shelf
An old farmstead.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Jeremiah Jagger [1881]

The Long March
Charity walk, covering between 26 and 30 miles, which has to be completed in 10 hours. It was inaugurated on 11th April 1966 when it raised £5,400 for Christian Aid

Long Rigging, Warley
Late 17th century laithe-house

Long Riggings Farm, Mount Tabor
/ Luddenden.

Aka Longriggin Farm, Longriggings Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

Long Royd, Sowerby
Plain Lane. Early 19th century cottages.

Owners and tenants have included

Long Stoop, Todmorden
Mankinholes. A leaning monolith on the Long Causeway near Stoodley Pike. It marks the crossing of the Pennine Way and the Calderdale Way.

This is on the same packhorse route as the Te Deum Stone.

See Stoop

Long Stoup
Aka Long Drag

Long Tunnel, Mytholmroyd
Carries the A646 over the Rochdale Canal

Long Tunnel, Sowerby Bridge
Aka Hollins Mill Lane Bridge.

Popularly known as the Cemetery Tunnel on account of the burial ground on the land above the tunnel.

On 22nd October 1903, George E. Croysdale was killed and several others were injured when an express train crashed into a light engine in the tunnel.

On 22nd July 1933, the bodies of a Hebden Bridge woman and her 3 year old daughter were recovered from the canal here. An open verdict was recorded

Long Wall, Elland
The road which runs from West Vale to Hullen Edge Road, Elland.

Once known as Long Walk.

See Long Wall Mouse and Long Wall Quarry

Long Wall Mouse
A mouse which is supposed to have lived in the Long Wall at Elland and appeared, ghostly white, after the hours of dusk. It was said that whoever saw the mouse would meet some misfortune

Long, William
[1880-1916] DCM.

Son of Barnabas Long.

Born in Halifax.

He was a dyer's labourer [1901]; a labourer [1906]; a dyer's labourer [1911]; employed by H. Fletcher & Company Limited.

In 1906, he married Lily Gertrude Bates [1882-19??] at St James's Church, Halifax.


Lily Gertrude of 9 Amy Street, Lee Mount, was the daughter of Jesse Bates, butcher
 

Children: Frank [b 1909].

The family lived at 24 Corporation Street, Halifax [1911]; 24 Spencer's Buildings, Corporation Street.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 5th (West Riding) Battery, RFA - Halifax Artillery. He was awarded the DCM

for consistent and skillful work in the performance of his duties throughout the campaign

His brother Frank was killed in the War; 2 other brothers also served

Long Wood, Copley
Birdcage Lane. With Spring Wood and Scar Wood, covers much of the valley along the north side of Wakefield Road

Long Wood Park, Halifax
Recorded in 1936

Longbotham
A variant of the surname Longbottom

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Longbotham. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Longbotham & Bradley
Solicitors with offices at Croft House, Hebden Bridge [1940s].

In 1950, Edward Astin joined the partnership.

After Astin's death in 1965, the business was taken over by Holt & Butterworth

Longbotham & Sons
Solicitors at 4 Carlton Street, Halifax [1905], Lower Brig Royd, Ripponden [1905], and Croft House, Hebden Bridge [1905].

Partners included brothers Arthur Thompson Longbotham and Lewis Henry Longbotham.

The business became Longbotham, Horsfield & Fielding

Longbotham, Daniel
[16??-17??] Children: Hannah

Longbotham, Hannah
[1690?-17??] Daughter of Daniel Longbotham. Wife of John Crossley

Longbotham, Horsfield & Fielding
Legal firm at 8 Harrison Road, Halifax [1934].

The business evolved from Longbotham & Sons.

See Percy Fielding and Luke Horsfield

Longbotham, Thomas Simpson
[17??-18??] Tea dealer in Halifax.

On 21st April 1801, he married Grace Sutcliffe.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) daughter; (3) Emma Jane who married [1861] William Archer of Mapleton

Longbottom
Area of Luddendenfoot

Longbottom...
The entries for people with the surname Longbottom are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Longbottom
Another form of the surname is Longbotham.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Richard Longboteham is recorded in 1379.

The name used the element bottom and means a long valley

There are currently around 50 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Longbottom. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Longbottom & Barker
Stone quarrier at Mount Quarry, Brighouse [1896]

Longbottom & Binns
Blacksmiths at West Vale.

Partners included John Longbottom and Edward Binns.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1872

Longbottom & Culpan
Architects and surveyors at Somerset Chambers, George Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included William Wormald Longbottom and Mr Culpan. Their work includes Sowerby Bridge Secondary School

Longbottom Bridge, Luddendenfoot
Tenterfields. Road and footbridge #4 over the Rochdale Canal. Stands near Longbottom's Fulling Mill.

In 1987, the bridge was restored by the Manpower Services Commission, and the towpath was restored with funds from the European Commission Regional Development Fund

Longbottom's: J. & J. Longbottom
Aka John & Joseph Longbottom. Dyers at Birstall [1893].

In July 1879, the Birstall business of E. C. Taylor & Company – see Joshua Taylor – dyers and colliery proprietors, had gone into bankruptcy proceedings.

The Taylor family had previously been the employers of the Longbottoms at Hunsworth Mill for generations.

Around 1893?, John Singleton Longbottom and Joseph Longbottom, of John Longbottom & Company, took the Birstall premises and established J. & J. Longbottom.

The Longbottoms dyed cloth for army uniforms.

Partners included John Singleton Longbottom, Joseph Longbottom, Jabez Longbottom, and Henry Longbottom.

The business continued for many years in Birstall run by John Singleton Longbottom's, son, Henry.

See Yorkshire Indigo, Scarlet & Colour Dyers Limited

Longbottom's: John Longbottom & Company
Dyers established by John Singleton Longbottom. Joseph Longbottom was possibly also involved.

They dyed cloth for army uniforms.

They were at Woodbottom Dye Works, Luddendenfoot [1905].

See J. & J. Longbottom

Longbottom's: Samuel Longbottom & Sons
Textile business established around 1860 by Samuel Longbottom and his sons, Thomas Henry and James.

They were at Hay's Mill, Mixenden.

By 1861, the business employed 177 people, but this number fell to 100 by 1871. The business closed in 1881

Longbottom, Sowerby Bridge
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865]. There was an ancient ford across the Calder here

Longbottom's (Sowerby Bridge) Limited
Worsted manufacturer established by Thomas Henry Longbottom

Longden, Rev James
[18??-19??] Minister at Bridge Street (Central) Methodist Church, Todmorden [August 1897, 1905]

Longestubbynge, Shelf
Recorded in 1496,, when Laurence Bentley paid a fine for the waste land called Longestubbynge, Jakstubynge and Little Pighill in Shelf

Longevity

Longfield
Area to the east of Todmorden

The Longfield family
They were lords of the manor and controlled Langfield

Longfield Farm, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

See East Longfield Farm, Langfield and Lower Longfield Farm, Todmorden

Longfield House, Halifax
Parkinson Lane, near the junction with Dunkirk Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

See Longfield Academy, Halifax

Longfield House, Heptonstall
Number 21/23 Towngate Georgian-style town house built around 1730

Longfield House, Sowerby Bridge

Owners and tenants have included

Longfield House, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

See Middle Longfield House, Todmorden

Longfield, Todmorden

See Lower Longfield Farm, Todmorden and Middle Longfield Farm, Todmorden

Longfield, Triangle
Aka Longfield House, Sowerby.

Owners and tenants have included

Longlands, Lightcliffe
House built in 1904 for Emma Watkinson.

It was subsequently bought by the Standeven family of worsted mill owners, who commissioned a set of 30 wooden panels by Harry Percy Jackson for the hall there. See John Trevor Standeven.

The house was later owned by the Swaine family and the Blakeborough family.

On 6th March 1924, the property was sold for £6,500.

In 1956, the West Riding County Council opened the first nursing home for the elderly in the district.

It is now a private house

Longlands, Southowram
Area of land where Sir William Staines's School was built in the 18th century

Longlees Lock, Todmorden
Aka Long Lees Lock, East Summit Lock.

Lock #36 on the Rochdale Canal. This is just over the border into Lancashire.

Lock keepers here have included:

Longley
See East Longley, Longley Farm, Nether Longley, New Longley and Sun Longley

Longley Farm, Norland
Aka Doldram Farm. 17th century house with extensions dated IH 1735. There is a double-aisled barn.

Owners and tenants have included

See Longley

Longley, Thomas
[1???-1???] See Wakefield-Pontefract feud

Longroyd House, Rastrick
Recorded in 1910

See Longroyd Board School, Rastrick

Longroyde, Brighouse
House.

Owners and tenants have included

Like Boothroyd, the house was used as a hospital during World War I.

See Dr William Kaye McGhie

Longroyde Hospital, Brighouse
Military hospital established at Longroyde, Brighouse during World War I.

Dr Bogdan Edward Jastrzębski Edwards was heavily involved with establishing military hospitals at Boothroyd and Longroyde

Longroyde Park, Rastrick

Longstaff, Alice
[1907-1992] Daughter of James Speak.

Born 16th May 1907.

In 1900, the family moved to Little Lear Ings, Colden. She went to Colden School.

In 1921, she was taken on as an assistant by Ada Westerman. The family paid a £30 fee for Alice's apprenticeship.

In 1935, when Ada married Sydney Redman, Alice took over the Westerman family business.

She became a well-known photographer in Hebden Bridge.

In 1935, she married John Longstaff. They had no children.

She lived – and was buried – at Little Lear Ings, Colden.

She left a large collection of photographs recording the people, life and times in the Upper Calder Valley – the Alice Longstaff Gallery Collection.

She hand-coloured many of her photographs.

She disliked modern inventions, and refused to have a TV in the house.

In 1950, she flew with members of the Hebden Bridge Literary & Scientific Society, in a 7-seater De Havilland bi-plane to take aerial photographs of the district.

The magazine Milltown Memories uses many photographs from the collection.

She was attracted to photography whilst she was at school. In 1921, she was taken on as assistant to Mrs Ada Redman at Crossley Westerman's studio. In 1936, she took over a shop in West End, Hebden Bridge which had been Westerman's business. Her brother, Clement, carried out picture-framing at the business.

The book, Alice's Album [2004], by Issy Shannon and Frank Woolrych, tells the story of Crossley Westerman and his daughter Ada, and Alice

See Alice Longstaff Gallery Collection

Longstaff, John
[1910-1999] Born in Bishop Auckland, County Durham. He came to Calderdale where he worked as a driver for the Hebble Bus Company. He served with the Royal Army Medical Corps in India and Burma during World War II. He was driver for several local firms, including Thornber's and Maude's Clogs.

On 24th February 1935, he married Alice Longstaff at Nelson, Lancashire.

After the death of his brother-in-law, Clement, he took over the picture-framing in his wife's shop. He returned to the north-east after his wife's death

Longstaffe, Judge Amyas P.
[1859-1914] Judge at Todmorden County Court [1911]

Longtail, Heptonstall
Edge Lane. Late 18th century house. Now subdivided into separate dwellings

Longwood House, Fixby
In 1608, the house was granted to Nicholas Thornhill and Edward Hanson.

Owners and tenants have included

Longworth, Bannard & Company Limited
Oil merchants and manufacturers of enamels, varnish and paint at 14 Broad Street, Halifax [1936].

When Broad Street was redeveloped, they moved to Cheapside

Lonsdale, Dr
[1788-18??] He attended Heath Grammar School [1794-1799] and Eton. He became Bishop of Lichfield [1843-1867]

Lonsdale, Henry
[1849-1916] Son of Robert Lonsdale.

Piano maker and tuner. In 1879, he went into partnership with his father as Robert Lonsdale & Son. He lived at 5 Swire's Road, Halifax [1905]

Lonsdale, Robert
[1825-1903] He established Robert Lonsdale & Son. He
personally made the first pianoforte manufactured in Halifax

He married Unknown.

Children: Henry

Lonsdale's: Robert Lonsdale & Son
Business selling and tuning pianos and musical instrument dealers at 42 Crown Street, Halifax established in 1840 by Robert Lonsdale
who personally made the first pianoforte manufactured in Halifax in the year 1846

Their Crown Street premises were known as The English & Foreign Pianoforte Rooms.

In 1879, his son Henry taken into partnership

Lord ...
The entries for people with the surname Lord are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

The Lord family
A Todmorden family – primarily two brothers John and Thomas Lord – who established an engineering business in the town about 1850 and then expanded into cotton manufacturing

Lord & Binns
Photographers at Central Studio, Patmos, Todmorden [1897]

Lord & Jackson Limited
Wholesale clothing manufacturers at Market Street, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Lord & Newell
Sizers at Hawksclough Mill, Mytholmroyd [1905]. Partners included Enoch Newell

Lord & Varley
Drapers and milliners recorded in 1905 at Bridge Gate, Hebden Bridge

Lord Brothers Hatchery
Established at Hebden Bridge by brothers Jack and Walter Lord

Lord Brothers Limited
19th century textile machinery manufacturers and cotton spinners founded by the sons of John Lord.

Many members of the family were involved with the business.

The family had a machine workshop on Roomfield Lane [1839].

They were effectively the machine makers for Fielden Brothers.

They expanded from being just a machine works, and began cotton spinning and went on to build their own works on Canal Street, Todmorden [1848]. They had business at Crow Carr Ings Mill.

In January 1852, during a national dispute between engineers and masters, the company closed their workshops and discharged 90 workers.

On 15th June 1909, a fire in the joiners' shop at their Baltimore works caused damage estimated at £3,000.

In May 1913, Mayor Robert Jackson intervened and brought a satisfactory settlement to a strike at the firm involving about 100 labourers.

In 1920, Brooks & Doxey of Manchester bought the business.

In 1929, the Canal Street Works closed and the business moved to Manchester.

See Edward Wilfred Lord, Frank Lord, Jesse Lord, William Lord and T. G. Mills

Lord's Dining Rooms, Brighouse
Bethel Street.

See Brighouse Tradesmen's Association

Lord Holme Refreshment Rooms
Hardcastle Crags.

In the early 20th century, Gibson Mill was converted into a restaurant by Ernest Greenwood.

William Shackleton owned a restaurant here [1905]

Lord Mackintosh of Halifax
Harold Vincent Mackintosh became Lord Mackintosh of Halifax in 1948. The of Halifax distinguishes the title from that of the Scottish chieftain Mackintosh of Mackintosh

Lord Savile's Shooting Box, Rishworth
Recorded in 1905, when George W. Crowther was caretaker

Lord Street Chambers, Halifax
Office accommodation at Lord Street, Halifax. Dated 1883

Lordship, Ovenden
Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

See Ladyship, Ovenden

Losang Dragpa Buddhist College & Meditation Centre
In 1995, Dobroyd Castle was bought by monks from the New Kadampa Buddhist Tradition for £320,000 and the Losang Dragpa Centre was established.

The centre offers meditation courses, weekend retreats and holds an annual open day. Proceeds and sponsorship from local businesses are used to raise funds for the repairs and restoration of the Castle.

In March 2007, they successfully applied for a 127,000 grant from English Heritage for repairs to the Castle.

In August 2007, they announced that they were disbanding and leaving the Castle

Lost buildings of the district

Lothian, Andrew
[16??-1675] A Scot.

Vicar of Coley [1674]. He took office on 9th August 1674.

He died 6th December 1675

Lothian House, Brighouse
Lightcliffe Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Louden, Mary Louise
[1931-] A microbiologist.

During her marriage to fellow-biologist Thomas D. Brock, they did extensive research at Yellowstone National Park. In 1965, the couple discovered that the yellow-brown foam around one of the hot pools in the park was full of living microbes. This was the first evidence that life could exist in boiling water.

She was descended from Frank Edwards by the following family line:

  * Frank Edwards, Photographer of Skircoat Green and Huntingdon, PA, USA
  * Gladys Edwards, Schoolteacher of Huntingdon, PA and Ravenna, Ohio, USA
  * Mary Louise Louden

Lough, Rev Edward Inglis
[18??-1919] Curate at Hebden Bridge [1884, 1892].

In 1892, he left to become his father's curate and then rector at Paget and Warwick in the Bermudas

In 1899, he returned to England, but in 1907, he went back to the Bermudas at the request of the parishioners of Paget and Warwick.

He died there on Palm Sunday, 13th April 1919

Lousy Thorn Farm, Hartshead
An earlier name for Thornbush Farm

Loutit, Rev James
[18??-18??] Wesleyan minister. Recorded in February 1859, when he presided at a meeting at Wesley's Chapel, Halifax. He lived at 2 Savile Row, Halifax [1874]

Louvain-Walters's: H. Louvain-Walters (London) Limited
Fashion retailers of furs, coats, gowns, suits and hats. They were at 3, 5, 7 Westgate, Halifax [1949]

Lovatt, H. P.
[18??-19??] MPS.

Chemist and druggist at Water Street, Todmorden [1905]

Love, Geoffrey
[1917-1991] Son of a black American dancer and the grandson of a Cherokee Indian.

Born in Todmorden.

He trained as a chorister with Ronald Cunliffe.

He became well-known as a band leader, musical director, composer, arranger, and musician.

When he left school in 1931, he started work at Chew's Garage in Todmorden.

His son, Adrian Love, became a well-known radio presenter.

Lovelace
Former name of Back Lane, Halifax

Lovelace, Joseph
[1882-1915] Son of John Loveless.

Born in Halifax.

He was an electric tram conductor [1901]; a boiler stoker, infirmary [1911].

In [Q2] 1901, he married Mary Louisa Barker [1879-1944] in Halifax.


Mary Louisa was of Raglan Street, Halifax.

Her father was not recorded on the marriage documents

 

Children: (1) John [b 1904]; (2) Phyllis [b 1906]; (3) Irene [b 1910].

The family lived at 21 Holt Street, Halifax [1911, 1915].

During World War I, he served as a Lance Sergeant with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed 19th October 1915 (aged 34).

He was buried at Bard Cottage Cemetery, Belgium [I D 26]

Loveledge
Former name of Back Lane, Halifax

Loveless, John
[1846-1???] Son of Richard Loveless, carrier.

His surname was variously recorded as Loveless [1871], Lovless [1881], Lovelace [1891].

Born in Fakenham, Suffolk.

He was a carter of Northowram [1871]; a farm labourer [1881]; a purifier gas works [1891]; a general labourer [1901].

In 1871, he married Elizabeth Cordingley at Halifax Parish Church.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
Henry Cordingley
 

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1879] who was an errand boy [1891]; (2) Joe; (3) Edmond C [b 1889].

The family lived at 35 Collier Topping, Northowram [with Elizabeth's widowed mother 1881]; 13 New Town, Northowram, Halifax [1891]; 5 Corporation Street, Halifax [1901]

Lovell, Sarah Jane
[1876-1952] Landlady of the Fountain Head, Pellon [1952].

She was buried at Mount Tabor Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Lovers' Walk, Hipperholme

Lovers' Walk, Todmorden
Aka Stickitt Gate. A path along The Ridge through Buckley Wood. Carr Laithe, Todmorden stood here

Low Bentley Farm, Shelf
Green Lane. Aka Lower High Bentley, Lower Bentley Hall, Low Bentley Farm.

A hall-and-cross-wing house dated 1600. A lintel is inscribed WC and JC for William Cowper, and his wife, who built the house.

John Cowper and John Cowper are also recorded at the Hall

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

It was rebuilt in the 1970s.

See High Bentley Hall

Low Bridge, Luddenden Dean
Aka Heble Bridge. A single-arch stone bridge. A bridge is mentioned here in 1759

Low Brown Knowl, Wadsworth
A cairn – aka Lad or Law – marks the boundary of Wadsworth township.

See Brown and High Brown Knowl

Low Cote, Ripponden
Early 17th century house. A doorway is dated IMH 1631, and a window is dated IH 1631. There is a dove cote above the main entrance

Low House, Queensbury
Around 1850, a farm on the estate became Lion Brewery, Shelf. The house was demolished around 1950

Low Moor Chemical Company
In 1898, they began to manufacture picric acid, and in September 1898, they began to manufacture explosives.

In 1914, the company became the Low Moor Munitions Company.

There was a serious explosion here on 21st August 1916

Low Moor House, Soyland
16th century through-passage house with an aisled barn attached. The barn was cased in stone around 1630

Low Moor Iron Company, Norwood Green
Formed in 1788. The company mined coal and iron-stone until about 1880.

See Frank Barraclough, Clifton: Coal Mining, Judy Woods: Coal Mining, Old White Beare, Norwood Green and Benjamin Walker

Low Moor Railway Station
Opened in 18??. Closed in 1965

Low Town field, Elland
Aka Lowest Town Field. A part of mediæval Elland. Recorded in 1750. Upper Shutt and Lower Shutt lay north of the land

Lowcock
A variant of the surname Laycock

Lowe, Rev Edward Jackson
[18??-18??] An esteemed Curate at Brighouse [1852-1866]. He published some religious dialogues, including
Harry and Jack, or a Conversation between a Yorkshire stonemason and his friend about the Bible [1855]

Lowe Farm, Luddenden Dean
Castellated building and archway

Lowe, J.
[1???-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1946-1947]

Lowe, Sophie
[1990-] Actress. Born in Halifax

Lowell, Rev Samuel
[1759-1823] Born in Birmingham.

He left home and joined a company of players for a time. He trained to be an engraver.

He was a convert under Joseph Cockin and was ordained at Brighouse [1786]. He became Minister of Stainland [1781-1786] and Minister of Bridge End Congregational Church [1786-1789].

In 1789, he became a Calvinist and served at Woodbridge, Suffolk [1789-1799].

In 1776, at the age of 17, he married Jane Edwards [b 1757].

Children: (1) Samuel; (2) Thomas; (3) Mary; (4) Hannah; (5) John [died in infancy]; (6) Maria; (7) Eliza [died in infancy]; (8) Jane; (9) Leathley [died in infancy]; (10) John Caleb; (11) Joseph Cockin [named for Rev Joseph Cockin]; (12) Eliza; (13) Martha; (14) Benjamin Hanson.

He is recorded as being an author of some repute.

He moved to Woodbridge, Suffolk [1789] and then to Bristol [1799] where he died

Lower Allescholes, Walsden
Allescholes Road. House dated R H 1715

See Allescholes and Higher Allescholes, Walsden

Lower Ashes, Cross Stone
Todmorden. Yeoman's house dated 1610 over the front door.

It was owned by James Gibson and the Gibson family.

In 1759, it was extended by Anthony Crossley for his 20-year-old son. There is an inscription A C M 1759 – for Anthony and Mary Crossley – over the back door.

In 1???, it was restored by Gamaliel Sutcliffe

Higher Ashes is nearby

Lower Bairstow, Sowerby Bridge
Aka Cliff, Barstow.

An early name for Lower Willow Hall when Samuel Kinge and other members of the King family lived here in the 16th/17th century

Lower Balkram Edge Farm, Wainstalls
17th/18th century building.

See Balkram Edge Farm, Mount Tabor

Lower Barsey Farm, Greetland
Aka Far Barsey Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

Lower Beck Farm, Sowerby Bridge
Rochdale Road. 19th century

Lower Beestonhirst, Ripponden
Baitings, Rochdale Road. Aka Beestonhirst Hall, Thrum Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

The present laithe-house is dated J S S 1765.

See Beestonhirst and Bychestonehirst

Lower Benns Farm, Warley
Stock Lane. 17th century timber-framed house.

Lower Bentley Royd, Sowerby
Aisled house.

Recorded in 1275, when Alexander the forester of Sowerby, paid 4d for a licence to take 3 acres of land in Bentleyrode from John, son of Robert.

the house was rebuilt and dated 1636.

It was once used as a workhouse.

It was demolished in 19??.

This is discussed in Aisled Houses in the Halifax Area.

Lower Birkhouse Cottage, Brighouse
Birkhouse Road

Lower Birks Farm, Todmorden
Crossley New Road. House dated 1664. A tablet is inscribed
ABRAHA M.AND.MARY.STANSF IELD 1664

for Abraham Stansfield

Lower Booth Dean Reservoir
One of the Booth Dean Reservoirs. It covers 2 acres and has a capacity of 5 million gallons

Lower Booth Reservoir
Built for Wakefield City Council on the Ryburn

Lower Brackenbeds, Shelf
Farm at Stanage Green. Recorded in 1851.

See Upper Brackenbeds, Shelf

Lower Brandy Hole, Greetland
An area of Greetland.

See Upper Brandy Hole, Greetland

Lower Brea, Shibden
Leeds Road. An early name for Nether Brea.

The house is dated 1818 JL for James Lister.

A 27-acre part of the Shibden Hall estate.

Owners and tenants have included

See Upper Brea, Shibden

Lower Brear
Area between Hipperholme and Stump Cross.

A brewery is recorded here around 1895

See Upper Brear, Northowram

Lower Brear, Northowram
House which was a part of the Shibden Estate. Owners and tenants have included

On 20th January 1861, George Watkinson and a domestic servant were seriously injured when a gas explosion caused considerable damage to the house. Gas was produced on the premises and supplied the house. There was a faulty chandelier in the dining room and this allowed gas to escape when it was pulled down. Mrs Watkinson smelled gas when she woke and her husband went to investigate. He opened the doors and windows before going inside with a light. The explosion blew the windows out and destroyed the furniture.

See Upper Brear

Lower Brearley Hall, Midgley
In the 14th century, this was the original manor house of the Manor of Midgley

Lower Brig Royd, Ripponden
A group of houses at the top of Priest Lane. Part of the Brig Royd estate.

The house seen today were probably built around 1750.

Owners and tenants have included

Cottages here were built in the 1700s

Lower Brockholes Farm, Ovenden
Part of the Brockholes Estate, Ovenden.

See Brockholes Farm, Ogden and Upper Brockholes Farm, Ogden

Lower Calder Valley
Informal term for the eastern end of Calderdale, referring to Brighouse and Lightcliffe.

I first noticed the term in 2009.

See Calder Valley, Ghosts & Legends of the Lower Calder Valley and Upper Calder Valley

Lower Carr Farm, Norwood Green
Station Road. Early 18th century building. The house was converted to cottages in the early 19th century

Lower Clay Pits Recreation Ground, Halifax
Recorded in 1936

Lower Clipster Hall, Siddal
This and Clipster Hall were 2 rows of terraced houses which stood at the top of Phoebe Lane, opposite Joseph Morton's Brick Works. They were demolished in the 1950s.

See Siddal Halls

Lower Clough Foot, Cragg Vale
Early 17th century house. A lintel is inscribed DAIRY.

See Upper Clough Foot, Cragg Vale

Lower Cockcroft Farm, Rishworth
See Cockcroft Farm, Rishworth, Richard Habergham and Upper Cockcroft Farm, Rishworth

Lower Cockcroft Hall, Rishworth
17th century home of the Holroyd family. Dated IEH 1679.

In 1680, it was extended by Benjamin Holroyd of Hutchroyd. His initials and those of his wife appear on a string course over the windows.

The name of Michael Haworth is inscribed on a water spout.

A rear-wing was added in 1709 and a window is dated BSH 1709.

In 1887, it passed to the Savile family when was bought by Sir John Savile.

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Lower Cottage, Halifax
The 2010 manifestation of Manor Heath Lodge

Lower Cragg Farm, Cragg Vale
Cragg Lane. Late 17th century farmhouse. There is a later inscription over a doorway 18 WF 90

Lower Cragg Hall, Cragg Vale
Aka New Cragg Hall. It was built in 1904 by Helen and her husband, W. A. Simpson-Hinchliffe, who lived here when it was destroyed by fire on 12th August 1921. The damage – to the building, furnishings and contents – was estimated at £150,000.

The Simpson-Hinchliffe's visitors included the singer, Dame Clara Butt, and the actor, Henry Ainley.

Simpson-Hinchliffe moved away and the estate was bought by J. W. Sutcliffe. In 1959, it was rebuilt by Philip Sutcliffe and renamed Cragg Hall

Lower Crimsworth Farm, Pecket Well
House dated 1599

Lower Crow Nest Farm, Lightcliffe
Smith House Lane. It was part of the Crow Nest estate.

Owners and tenants have included

It was bought by Brighouse Borough Council, and demolished in 1958. Laburnum Grove now stands on the site

Lower Crow Nest Hall, Lightcliffe
Smith House Lane. Aka Upper Smith House, Hirst's Farm.

It was part of the Crow Nest estate.

The house is dated TS 1620 for the Smyth family of Smith House.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Lower Dean Head Reservoir
Midgley Moor. One of the Dean Head Reservoirs. Built by J. F. Bateman. Completed on 8th May 1844. It covers 9 acres and has a capacity of 63 million gallons

Lower Deerplay
See Deerplay, Mill Bank

Lower Ditches Farm, Todmorden
Foul Clough Road. The mid 18th century barn is also listed

See Ditches Farm, Todmorden

Lower Doubling Castle, Cragg Vale
Owners and tenants have included

Lower Dyches Farm, Walsden
Inchfield

Lower East Lee, Todmorden
East Lee Lane. House dated
1610
ES 27 OCTO 1631 – over the porch
WM – on a window lintel
There is a barn

Lower Edge Bowling Club
Established at the Royal Oak, Lower Edge around 1908

Lower Edge, Elland
The lower of the two routes – the other is Upper Edge – from Elland to Rastrick.

See Blackstone Edge Roman Road, Holme Green, Old Earth Farm, Elland and Scar Edge, Elland

Lower Ewood, Mytholmroyd
Stands south of Ewood Hall

Lower Exley Farm, Siddal
In January 1904, a newspaper notice announced

Sale by Auction of Horses, Carts, &c at Lower Exley Farm (top of Exley Bank) Siddal for Mr Frank Walton who is giving up the carrying trade

Lower Field Bottom Farm, Shelf
Aka Field Bottom Farm, Lower Shelf. Late 15th / mid 16th century aisled house. The original timber-framed building was cased in stone in the 17th century. There is a columbarium.

The IHS insignia indicates that land was owned by the Knights of St John of Jerusalem

Lower Fold Farm, Shelf
Green Lane. Aka High Bentley Farm and The Fold.

The farm is a part of High Bentley. Mid-16th century timber-framed house which was cased in stone in the 17th century.

It is currently [2010] being restored by Mr Frank Dunne of Wibsey

Lower Fold, Heptonstall
Edge Lane. Mid 18th century laithe-house.

Owners and tenants have included

See Everhill Shaw, Heptonstall

Lower German House
Wakefield Road, Lightcliffe. The name was changed to Ladywell.

See German House

Lower Goat House, Rishworth
House recorded in 1585. It was rebuilt in the mid-18th century.

Owners and tenants have included

See Middle Goat House, Rishworth and Upper Goat House, Rishworth

Lower Godley Co-Op, Rishworth
A branch of the Ripponden Co-operative Society Limited opened in 1892.

The premises had previously been a grocery business run by Eli Whiteley.

Whiteley Gee worked here

Lower Green Edge, Warley
House dated around 1700.

See Green Edge, Warley

Lower Green House, Brighouse
Upper Green Lane, Hove Edge. Late 17th century house with later alterations. A lintel is dated IW 1722 and a fireplace is dated IWD 1707.

Owners and tenants have included

Lower Greetland
The area was subsequently renamed West Vale.

See Greetland and West Vale House

Lower Hagstocks, Shibden Valley
The house was associated with the Stancliffe family of Shibden.

The property has virtually disappeared.

See Hagstocks, Shibden Valley

Lower Hal, Illingworth
An area of Hal Lane

Lower Hambleton Hill, Moor End
A later name for Hambleton Head Farm, Moor End

Lower Han Royd, Midgley
Early 17th century house dated M 1621 MSA

See Han Royd and Upper Han Royd

Lower Hanging Shaw, Todmorden
Sourhall Road Late 18th century laithe-house.

The early 18th century field barn for Lower Hanging Shaw is near Higher Hanging Shaw

Lower Harper Royd, Norland
Farm and house built 1677. Damaged by lightning on 2nd June 1908

Lower Hartley, Todmorden
Farm.

Higher Hartley is derelict

Lower Hathershelf Farm, Boulderclough
Hathershelf Lane. 2 cottages dated 1743.

See Hathershelf Farm and Hathershelf

Lower Hazelhurst, Luddenden
Aka Cold Edge.

Owners and tenants have included

Lower Hazlehurst, Shibden
Aka East Hazlehurst, Shibden. In 1427, this was owned by Richard Bairstow. In 1607, Edward Bairstow was the owner.

See Hazlehurst

Lower Heights, Warley
17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

Lower High Sunderland, Halifax
House about 200 yards north-west of High Sunderland

Lower High Trees, Greetland
The farm is recorded in 1828 as part of the Crowstone Hall estate.

See High Trees Lane, Greetland and Upper High Trees, Greetland

Lower Hollings, Warley
Owners and tenants have included

The Lower Hollins, Warley

Lower Holme House, Luddenden Dean
Bank House Lane. Early 18th century house

Lower Holmhouse, Barkisland
Farm. It was joined to The Folly – or Upper Holmhouse – to become The Holmhouse

Lower Horse Wood, Todmorden
House dated 1689 AE and 1757

Lower Hough House, Stump Cross
The property is now a fish & chip shop

Lower Hoyle Green, Warley
In the 1920s, the property was bought by Samuel Webster and renamed Wanstead.

Owners and tenants have included

See Hoyle Green House, Warley

Lower Hoyle Heads Farm, Lighthazels
In his will of 1718, Elkanah Hoyle bequeathed £3 from the farm to be paid to the Curate at Ripponden for preaching a sermon on Ascension Day.

See Hoyle's Gift

Lower Ibbotroyd, Stansfield
17th century yeoman-clothiers house. Now Stile House, Stansfield.

See Upper Ibbotroyd, Stansfield

Lower Knight Royd, Northowram
Farm owned by Elizabeth Wadsworth.

See Popples School and Upper Knight Royd, Northowram

Lower Laith, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

Lower Laithe House, Stansfield
Farm estate with a 17th century farmhouse and a barn. Includes Lower Laithe West and Lower Laithe Cottage.

There was a mill here [1861].

Owners and tenants have included

The barn became derelict and was demolished in the 1970s. A bungalow now stands on the site of the barn.

The house is still in existence

Lower Langley Farm, Norland
See Elkanah Horton

Lower Lee, Hebden Bridge
Small hamlet on the way to Hardcastle Crags

Lower Lime House, Shibden
Simm Carr Lane. 17th century house.

See Limed House, Shibden

Lower Longfield Farm, Todmorden
Longfield Road. Mid 17th century house

See East Longfield Farm, Langfield and Longfield Farm, Todmorden

Lower Making Place, Soyland

Owners and tenants of the property have included

Recorded in 1861, when the document in the attached image recorded the Conveyance of Lower Making Place between

  1. John Habergham of Ripponden Mill in Barkisland (Farmer) 

  2. James Thomas Berry, Wood Lane Hall (Gentleman) 

  3. John Ridehalgh (late of) Upper Smallees now of Brig Royd Soyland (Gentleman) 

  4. Said John Habergham,

  5. Charles Jennings of Sowerby Bridge (Shopkeeper) and Henry Mitchell of Hawksclough, Wadsworth (Joiner) 

  6. Manaſseh Habergham of Lower Making Place Soyland (Farmer) 

  7. Moses Habergham Lower Making Place (Weaver) 

  8. William Dove of the Commercial College Making Place Soyland (Schoolmaster) 

  9. Thomas James Walker of Halifax (Printer) 

The document was prepared by Ridehalgh & Holt.

See Making Place, Soyland

Lower Market, Halifax
Aka Halifax Indoor Market. An indoor market which stood on the eastern side of Market Street – on the site of the present Tesco. It was built in 1890s [?]. It was only open on Fridays and Saturdays [1936].

There were open stalls surrounded by open-fronted shops on 3 sides of the building.

A British restaurant opened in the market on 15th December 1941. For a time, the market was used by the butchers at the nearby abattoir.

The building was demolished to make way for redevelopment of Market Street and Woolshops in the 1970s, and replaced by the Westgate Market.

See Albion Street, Halifax and Central Hall

Lower Mason Green, Ovenden
House. Recorded on maps produced in 1854.

See Mason Green, Illingworth

Lower Moss Hall Farm, Blackshawhead
Long Causeway. Late 17th century house with 18th century alterations

Lower Moulson Place, Stainland
Late 18th century house

Lower Needless, Hebden Bridge
Just west of Upper Needless.

See Needless

Lower Nether Royd, Soyland
Owners and tenants have included

See Nether Royd, Soyland

Lower Norcliffe, Southowram
No.1, Lower Norcliffe, Southowram.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Abraham Parkinson [Farm to Let 1851]

  • Abraham Wood a worsted spinner & farmer of 23 acres with 1 man [1861]

  • William Wood [aged 58] worsted spinner & farmer of 20 acres with his wife Mary [aged 58] & 5 children [1881]

  • James Crossley [aged 52] a farmer with his wife & 4 children [1881]
See
Norcliffe, Southowram

Lower North Royd, Northowram
Green Lane.

House dated 1699. A tablet is inscribed RVN

Lower Okes Farm, Rishworth
The property (possibly) stood on the site of what is now Slitheroe House.

See Okes Farm, Rishworth

Lower Old Hall, Norland

Lower Oldfield, Luddendenfoot
Greystones Road / Luddendenfoot Road. Late 18th century farm and barn.

Owners and tenants have included

Lower Ox Heys Farm, Shelf
Also listed as being in Norwood Green.

Owners and tenants have included

See Middle Ox Heys Farm, Shelf and Ox Heys Farm, Shelf

Lower Place Farm, Southowram
Norcliffe Lane. Late 17th/early 18th century house and a 20-acre part of the Shibden Hall estate. Henry Dodgson was a tenant here in the time of Anne Lister.

The farm (18 acres) was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.

At that time, Leeds Fireclay Company Limited were the tenants.

See Upper Place Farm, Southowram

Lower Popplewells, Warley
House built around 1624 by William Murgatroyd

Lower Quickstavers, Sowerby

Lower Ranns, Northowram
Owners and tenants have included

Lower Reap Hurst, Warley
Owners and tenants have included

See Upper Reap Hurst, Warley

Lower Rookes, Norwood Green
Aka Rookes Hall, Nether Rookes

Lower Rough Head Farm, Erringden
See Great House, Eastwood

Lower Saltonstall Farm, Warley
Saltonstall Lane. Late 17th / early 18th century building.

See Lower Saltonstall Hall, Warley and Upper Saltonstall Farm, Warley

Lower Saltonstall Hall, Warley
3 Saltonstall Lane. Aka Nether Saltonstall, Upper Saltonstall Lower Hall.

A group of buildings including a late 17th century / early 18th century house.

Gilbert Saltonstall may have lived on an earlier house on the site.

His son Sir Richard Saltonstall was born in a house on the site.

Rev James Crossley was born here.

See Saltonstall and Upper Saltonstall

Lower Scout Farm, Walsden
The building is derelict

Lower Scout, Shibden
Aka Lower Scout Hall. Part of the Scout Hall estate.

In 1661, Samuel Mitchell rebuilt the hall.

It is dated 1661 S M S for Samuel and his wife, Sarah

Lower Shaw Booth, Wainstalls
Shaw Booth Lane.

Property here is mentioned in 1608.

The house was built around 1624 by James Murgatroyd.

John Wilkinson and Anthony Mitchell – the last two men to he executed on the Gibbet – were executed for stealing 16 yards of russet-coloured kersey – valued at one shilling per yard – from the tenters of Samuel Colbeck here on 19th April 1650.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

See Shaw Booth, Warley and Upper Shaw Booth, Warley

Lower Shaw Hill, Halifax
See Shaw Hill House

Lower Shibden Hall
Shibden Valley. Built in 1??? It is now a ruin.

See Nether Shibden, Shibden Hall and Upper Shibden Hall

Lower Shull, Elland
Land north of Middle Town Field Recorded in 1750

Lower Shutt, Elland
Land north of Low Town Field Recorded in 1750

Lower Siddal Hall

See Siddal Halls

Lower Slack, Wainstalls
Wainstalls Road.

Lower Slater Ing, Heptonstall

See Slater Ing, Slack

Lower Snape Farm, Sowerby
Higham & Dob Lane. Farmhouse dated 1623.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Samuel Wade [1624]

Lower Spark House, Norland
Spark House Lane. Late 17th century farmhouse. Dated IT 1677, possibly for a member of the Taylor family.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

It is now 3 dwellings.

See Norland Hall and Upper Norland Hall

Lower Spring House Field, Halifax
Range Bank. In June 1855, the land was sold for the sum of £293 and Range Bank Day School was constructed. Using figures for average earnings, £293 in 1855 is roughly the equivalent of £194,000.00 today

Lower Stoodley Farm
Stoodley Lane. Part of a group of property comprising Stoodley Hall, Langfield and Stoodley Hall Cottages.

Owners and tenants have included

See Higher Stoodley Cottage, Langfield and Higher Stoodley Farm, Langfield

Lower Strines Farm, Blackshawhead
Late 16th century house

Lower Stubbing, Warley
House. The Murgatroyd family are recorded here.

See Upper Stubbing, Warley

Lower Tinker Hey, Greetland
North Dean Road. It is said that property here is mentioned in Domesday Book

See Tinker Hey, Greetland

Lower Walterclough
Part of the Walterclough valley. Abraham Walker went to live here after he married Ann Langley in 1672

Lower Wat Ing, Norland
House dated 1664.

Early owners included John Mitchell and the Waterhouse family.

In the 18th century, it was owned by Mary Morton, later Mrs Richard Hopwood. She passed it to her niece Anne Greame and her nephew Henry Greame, and it was handed down the Greame family.

In 1851, Henry Horatio Greame sold the estate to Joseph Priestley Edwards, who passed it to his younger son, Lea Priestley Edwards.

In 1875, he sold the estate to James Dyson of Abbotsroyd, Barkisland. The estate then passed to his son, Charles Jessop Dyson, and his nephew William Dyson.

To settle a family dispute, the estate was sold at auction and was bought by John Maude.

In 1899, his daughter bought the estate from her mother's executors.

In 1920, she sold it to the Marsden Brothers, Sowerby Bridge.

In 1945, they sold it to George Edwin Gregory.

Gregory rented the property to the Buggy's, an Irish family who subsequenly emigrated to Tasmania. Then, Gregory sold it to the Sutherlands.

The various owners sold parts of the estate to the Manchester & Leeds Railway Company, and others parts were taken over by the company.

See Upper Wat Ing

Lower White Lee, Mytholmroyd
One of a group of buildings at White Lee, Mytholmroyd.

White Lee is mentioned in the will of Henrie Feror of Ewood [1548]

Those who lived here included

There are datestones:

GB 1607 RL
SH 1615 *IG*[on a nearby building]
ISS 1727
There is a blocked taking-in door.

See Lower White Lee Works

Lower Willow Hall, Sowerby Bridge
House built by Samuel King in 16??. The gate-house was built around 1635. The house was demolished and rebuilt around 1792. It was extended in 1860. It was once known as Cliff and Barstow and Lower Bairstow. Owners and tenants have included

Around 1780, the Lees family operated the first cotton spinning mill, Lower Willow Hall Mills, here.

The Hall has been demolished.

The Gatehouse has been converted into a house and is listed.

See Willow Hall, Cote Hill

Lower Winsley Farm, Todmorden
Upper Lane. House dated 1636.

An early 17th century barn to the east is listed

Lower Witchfield House, Shelf
Aka Lower Witchfield Farm.

Samuel Sugden may have been the first owner and occupant of the property. It was to remain for 200 years in the possession of 6 generations of his descendants.

Early maps show the farm to have been adjacent to a well. It appears Samuel took exception to people trespassing on his land to reach it. A document shows that he was called to order by the Lord of the Manor for blocking up a well and walling off a footpath which was for general use

At the Court Baron of Sir George Savile, Baron, Lord of the Manor [of Shelf], there holden the ninth day of June 1719, a plaint was made that Samuel Sugden do make good and lay open one Springwell called Hollinwell near the footway leading from Halifax to Bradford and which well has time out of the memory of man been free and common to all the inhabitants within this Manor and now by the said Samuel Sugden is filled up. In the penalty of his making default in not laying the same open and not making it good again before Midsummer Day next, the sum of 39 shillings and 11 pence.

And a plaint further is made that the said Samuel Sugden do set stiles and make a due passage for the usual footway that passes through two closes of him, the said Samuel Sugden on the south side of his house, as he has walled up and stopped, before Midsummer Day next in the sum of 39 shillings and 11 pence for his default therein.

W. Emsall Steward

In 1776, John Sugden bought this and Upper Witchfield House, Shelf.

His son John inherited both properties.

The property has been split up into 4 dwellings, one of which is a baker's shop.

See Shelf petrifying well and Witchfield House, Shelf

Lower Woodfield Farm, Todmorden

Owners and tenants have included

See Higher Woodfield Farm, Todmorden

Lower Woodhouse, Rastrick
Aka Nether Woodhouse.

Quaker meetings were held here when it was the home of John Eccles.

See Edward Hanson and Woodhouse, Rastrick

Lower Wormald, Rishworth
Built to accommodate the growing Wormald family at Higher Wormald, Rishworth.

Owners and tenants have included

See Wormald, Rishworth

Lower Wynteredge Farm, Hipperholme
Owners and tenants have included

  • John Bedford [1720]

  • John Shaw [1766-1787]

  • Simeon Shaw [1800s]

  • his son John

  • his son Samuel

  • the Boys family [1800]

See Wynteredge Hall, Hipperholme

Lowfield, Elland
Victoria Road.

Owners and tenants have included

It was subsequently used as a dental surgery

Lowfields Business Park, Elland
After the demolition of Elland power station in the 1990s, the 80 acres of derelict land was converted into a business park. Many large companies have their offices and warehouses here, including Carrington Binns

Lowfields, Elland
Aka Low Fields. An area of land between Elland and the Calder.

Elland Power Station was here.

See Lowfields Business Park

Lowry, Rev C. B.
[18??-18??] Curate at Christ Church, Pellon [1861]

Loyal Free Mechanics
A closed benevolent society

Loyal Georgean Society
A Halifax friendly society which evolved from the Halifax Union Club. It was founded as The Friendly Society on 3rd February 1779 by a group of small businessmen – established master workmen – to provide a sick grant of 9/- per week. Their first meetings were held at The Sign of the Church Inn, Halifax, the home of James Green.

They also met at the Old Cock Inn, Halifax.

On 9th September 1793, it became the Loyal Georgean Society.

It was at a meeting of the Society in the Oak Room at the Old Cock Hotel that the decision was taken to establish what later became the Halifax Permanent Building Society.

The Society continued as a Friendly Society and still meets on a monthly basis

See Peter William Horsfall, A Rare Survival and Selwyn Gerald Caygill Rawson

Loyal Industry Lodge 1604 I. O. O. F. – M. U.
Northowram Friendly Society [Number 1574] recorded in 1898, when their registration was cancelled (under the Friendly Societies Act [1896]) 

Loyal Mercy [No ??] Masonic Lodge
Todmorden. Masonic Lodge recorded on 27th October 1900 when Grand Master Crossley Fletcher was presented with a 9-carat gold albert and a 9-carat gold pendant inscribed
Presented to P.P.G.M. Crossley Fletcher for 21 years' faithful service as Secretary to the Loyal Mercy Lodge, Todmorden 1900

See Mercy Lodge

Loyal Orangemen
Recorded in 1874, when the Hebden Vale lodge met at White Lion Hotel, Hebden Bridge

Loyal Order of Ancient Shepherds
The Ashton Unity branch of the friendly society had members in Halifax and Brighouse. Recorded in 1836

Loyal Rose Lodge [No 808]
Established at Luddendenfoot by the Hebden Bridge Oddfellows [1834].

They met at the Murgatroyd's Arms, Luddenden [from 1834], the Red Lion, Luddendenfoot [from 1853], and the General Rawdon, Luddendenfoot [1898].

They organised Luddendenfoot Oddfellows' Friendly Society.

See Rose Place, Luddendenfoot

Loyal Travellers Masonic Lodge, Wainstalls
Masonic lodge founded in 1833.

It closed in 1869.

In 1954, during refurbishment of T' Cat i' th' well, Luddenden Dean, panelling was discovered relating to the Lodge

Loyal United Free Mechanics' [No 28] Masonic Lodge
Todmorden. Masonic Lodge recorded on 12th December 1899 when they met at the Bay Horse, Cross Stone, and presented Brother David Cropper with a clock and a purse of gold in recognition of his 20 years' service as Secretary of the Lodge

Loyd, Belinda Maris
[19??-] OBE.

Daughter of Vivian Loyd of Ascot.

She married Savile William Francis Crossley

Loynd, Wife
[1???-16??] A local woman whom was said to be in league with the witches of Pendle.

In 1630, a local man, Giles Robinson, claimed to have seen her and a black cat on Eagle Crag, Todmorden shortly before they flew away

Luca, Annunziata de
[1867-19??] Known as Nancy. Daughter of Pasquale de Luca. Born in Villa Latina, Italy.

In 1897, she married Michele Pandozi.

After her husband's death, Mrs Pandozi had a barrel organ which she would play in the streets of Halifax, at Shibden Park and outside the Shay on match days. One of the tunes on the barrel organ was the hymn Faith of our fathers

Luca, Antonio de
[1878-1???] Son of Luigi de Luca [?].

Born in Italy.

He married Carmine [b 1873].

They lived at Ripon [1901] and Halifax [1911]

Luca, Francesco de
[1906-1972] Son of Luigi de Luca.

Born in Halifax.

He went to work in Workington before returning to Halifax.

He married (1) Unknown.

He married (2) Unknown.

Children: (1) a daughter; (2) a daughter

Luca, Lugia de
[1910-19??] Daughter of Luigi de Luca.

In 1934, she married Ernest Foster in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary [1934-1999]; (2) Ernest [b 1940] – who went to live in Australia; (3) Freda [b 1938] – who went to live in Tasmania; (4) Shirley [b 1935]; (5) Lucille [Lucy] who married Mr Halliwell

Luca, Luigi de
[1877-1955] Aka Lewis / Louis Deluca.

Son of Pasquale de Luca.

Born in Villa Latina, Italy.

He remained an Italian subject, and – during World War I – was liable for service in the Italian army though he was exempt on health grounds. During World War II, an alien, he had to report to the authorities in Bradford.

In October 1900, he married Jane Elizabeth Ellen Dean [1881-1935] of Brighouse at St Mary's RC Church, Halifax. It is said that her family considered her to be marrying beneath herself and disowned her.

Children: (1) Annie Raphaelle [b 1901]; (2) Phyllis Carolina; (3) Maria Annunziata Lucia [b 1905] who married Mr Ashton; (4) Francesco; (5) Albert [b 1912]; (6) Edward; (7) Domenica; (8) Lugia; (9) Trevor; (10) Winifred.

The family lived at Ann Street, Halifax [1901].

Recorded in 1930 and 1936, when he had an ice cream dairy at 15 Thomas Street, Halifax. He also made ice cream at Lower George Yard, Halifax.

It is said that he lost his ice cream business to Jimmy Kendall in a game of cards.

In 1936, Luigi de Luca is listed as a hawker at 13a Woolshops, Halifax

Luca, Pasquale de
[1847-1924] Born in Villa Latina in the Lazio Valley of Italy. Around 1880, the family left Italy and moved to Halifax. They made and sold their ice cream locally.

He was an ice cream vendor in Halifax [1901].

He married Domenica Franchi [1838-19??] who was born in Italy.

Children: (1) Annunziata; (2) Carmine [b 1869]; (3) Antonio [b 1873]; (4) Luigi; (5) Philipa [b 1884].

The family lived at 1 Atkinson's Court, Halifax [1901].

Recent [2011] correspondence on ROOTSCHAT indicates that several members of the family have suffered from an inherited condition known as Familial adenomatous polyposis. Unless treated, those with the gene can go on to develop colon cancer, and life expectancy can be less than 50 years of age

Lucas, Arthur John
[1870-19??] Born in Staffordshire.

He was a financier's manager [1911].

He married Elizabeth [1879-19??] from Belfast.

Children: (1) Eileen May [b 1899]; (2) Norman Joseph [b 1901]; (3) Arthur John Stanley [b 1901]; (4) Hilda Josephine [b 1904]; (5) Marjory [b 1910].

The family lived at 18 Prescott Street, Halifax [1911]

Lucas, Charles Henry
[1896-19??] Son of George Charles Lucas.

He was in the Royal Navy [1912]; invalided out [1916]; a mate in the Anchor Line of the Merchant Navy; Managing Director of B. M. Sugden Limited; lessee of the Empress Ballroom Halifax; a Conservative Councillor for Akroydon Ward [1934]; a Freeman of the Borough; Mayor of Halifax [1946-1947]. His wife was Mayoress.

On 25th August 1917, he married Gladys [1896-19??] at All Souls' Church, Halifax.


Gladys was the daughter of Dan Smith, and widow of Wilfrid Shaw
 

Children: (1) Roy [b 1923] who served in the RAF; (2) daughter; (3) daughter.

The family lived at 1 Ripon Terrace, Halifax [1917].

See Gilbert Greenwood

Lucas, Frank Laurence
[1894-1967] Son of Frank William Lucas.

Born in Hipperholme.

He was educated at Lewisham and Rugby School, and Trinity College Cambridge. He became a classical scholar and author. He served on the western front in World War I

Lucas, Frank William
[18??-19??] Headmaster of Hipperholme Grammar School [1894]

He married Ada Ruth Blackmur.

Children: Frank Laurence

Lucas, George Charles
[1874-19??] Born in Doncaster.

He was a town postman [1901]; Halifax Town Councillor.

In 1895, he married Ada [1872-19??] from Rochdale, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Charles Henry; (2) Reginald [b 1899]; (3) George [b 1900].

The family lived at 5 Laura Street, Halifax [1901]

Lucas, Wilfred
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Duke of Wellington's Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lucas, Rev William Hanwell
[17??-18??] Minister of Hartshead [1802].

During a bout of ill-health in 1804, he was assisted by Rev David Jenkins of Dewsbury and by Rev Hammond Roberson who had resigned in 1803

Lucas, William Henry
[1856-19??] Born in Leeds.

He was a watchmaker [1901].

In 1881, he married Jane Smith [1857-19??] from Cockermouth, Cumberland, in Leeds.

Children: (1) Thomas Ernest [b 1882] who was a plumber [1901]; (2) Hilda [b 1888]; (3) Elsie [b 1891]; (4) Arnold [b 1896].

The family lived at 11 Royd Place, Halifax [1901]

Lucius, Herman
[18??-1???] Born in Germany.

He married Mary Higham


Mary was the daughter of
Richard Higham
 

Children: (1) Amelia M Lucius [born in India 1869]; (2) Emma M H Lucius [b 1870]; (3) Florence G Lucius.

He changed his name to Charles Herman Lucius

In 1871, Mary and the children were living with her grandfather Henry Richardson

Lucky Dog of Todmorden
A statue of a dog in Centre Vale Park, Todmorden which is said to bring good luck.

After touching the figure, people have claimed to won the lottery and similar good fortune.

In September 2011, TV magician Derren Brown made a programme about the dog

Lucy
[Surname]

Lucy Gray
The title of a poem by William Wordsworth.

The poet was inspired by an incident in which a local child was coming down from Norland to meet her parents at dusk on a December day in the 19th century and disappeared in a snowstorm. Her footsteps were followed to the middle of nearby Sterne Bridge where they vanished. The child's body was later found in the water.

Local stories say that she still walks the bridge at midnight on the fateful winter's day

Lud Hill Cottage, Southowram

Owners and tenants have included

Ludd brook
Aka the Lud, the Ludd, Lud Brook, and Luddenden Brook. This is the stream flowing through Luddenden to join the Calder at Luddendenfoot.

The name means loud or noisy stream.

See Farrar's Mill, Foxcroft's Mill and Lane House Bridge, Luddendenfoot

Luddenden
District of Calderdale west of Halifax on the river Ludd

Luddenden & Midgley Musical Festival

Luddenden & Midgley War Memorial
Stands between Luddenden Church and the Lord Nelson.

The memorial cross remembering those who died in World War I and World War II stands in High Street, Luddenden between the Lord Nelson Inn and Saint Mary's Church, on the site of what was the Old Smithy.

It was unveiled on 29th April 1923

Luddenden Bridge
High Street. Crosses Luddenden Brook.

The bridge was mentioned in 1518 when Richard Stancliffe bequeathed £10 for the construction of a stone bridge here.

The present bridge is dated 1859

Luddenden Brook
Aka Ludd. Stream which rises as Fly Flatt Reservoir, and joins Catty Well Beck near Jerusalem Farm.

The stream separates the townships of Midgley and Warley.

There is a weir as the brook passes Saint Mary the Virgin.

The Luddendenfoot aqueduct carries the Rochdale Canal over the brook. The brook joins the Calder at Luddendenfoot.

See Back Clough, Wadsworth, Cold Edge Dam Company, Kell Brook, Wainstalls, Luddenden Bridge and Wade Bridge, Luddenden

Luddenden Burial Board
Established around 1860. Created Luddenden Cemetery

Luddenden Church Bridge
Connects the graveyard of St Mary's, Luddenden and Luddenden Cemetery

Luddenden Circulating Library
Established around 1776/1781 in an upper room at the White Swan. It is said that the collection was started with a bequest of books made by the vicar of Luddenden.

The library had a collection of around 1000 books in an upper room at the inn, and attracted many readers who formed the Luddenden Reading Society. The library was a subscription library, book club and social club, and members met monthly. Members paid 4d per month. In the 1890s, the library had around 1500 books.

The rules stated that

if any member come to the said meeting drunk so that he be offensive to the company and not fit to do business, he shall forfeit 2d

Members included local mill-owners and local shop-keepers. Branwell Brontë used the library – and the pub – when he was at Luddendenfoot Station.

The library was discontinued in 1917. The collection is now held at Sowerby Bridge Reference Library

Luddenden clock
A type of long-cased grandfather clock produced by Thomas Lister

Luddenden Co-operative Society
Established in 1868.

In 1932, it was taken over by the Midgley Co-operative Society.

On 5th November 1933, it was taken over by Halifax Industrial Society.

It is now private housing.

See Wolf, Luddenden

Luddenden Cross
In the churchyard of Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden, there is a stone cross [1624].

This was removed during the Civil War and rediscovered in the garden at Ellen Royde in the 20th century

Luddenden Dean
Or Dene. Aka Luddenden Dean Valley.

Luddenden Dean Spa
An annual outdoor gathering held at Luddenden Dean on the first Sunday in May in the 19th century.

John Preston often spoke at these gatherings.

See New Bridge, Luddenden Dean and White Rock, Luddenden Dean

Luddenden Gas Company
The building is now used as private housing

Luddenden Library
Recorded in 1929 as Luddenden Branch Library. At that time, it was only open between 2:30 and 4:30 on Saturday afternoons.

Recorded in 1936

Luddenden, Mayor of

Luddenden Mechanics Institute

Luddenden Old Band
Formed in 1???. In 1864, the name was changed to Oats Royd Mills Brass Band

Luddenden Parish Church

Luddenden Post Office
A sub-post office is recorded in 1861. It was then at the same address as the business run by Dyson Thomas, boot & shoe maker and shopkeeper

Enoch Murgatroyd was postmaster/stationer at 58/59, High Street, Luddenden [1891].

A post office is recorded in Stocks Lane

Luddenden Prosecution Society
Prosecution society recorded in 1820

Luddenden Reading Society
Literary club which met at the White Swan / Lord Nelson Inn. Members of the Society included Branwell Brontë and John Garnett.

See Luddenden Library

Luddenden School Pierrot Troupe
19th/20th century entertainers at Luddenden School.

See Richard Henry Hallas

Luddenden Valley Railway
Proposed in 1865 by local businessmen and manufacturers. It was to join the main line at a junction with Luddendenfoot Station and take the railway up to Booth and Little Holme House. It was also proposed to extend the line to the Worth Valley.

J. E. Norris was Secretary for the promoters.

The scheme was abandoned on account of the high cost of tunnelling and construction, the relatively low population, and the inconvenience of a level-crossing

Luddenden Valley Sports Club
Recorded in 1949.

See A poem about Luddenden Valley Sports Club

Luddenden Valley Waterworks
Built at Castle Carr [1864-1870]

Luddenden Working Men's Club
The Luddenden Working Men's Club & Institute was at the Wolf, Luddenden from 1880 until 1946.

Recorded in 1917, when F. Ogden was secretary.

This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Luddendenfoot
Also Luddenden Foot.

District of Calderdale between Halifax and Mytholmroyd, lying in the valley, at the foot of the hillside below Luddenden.

See At the Foot of the Ludd

Luddendenfoot Aqueduct
Built around 1798. Carries the Rochdale Canal over the Luddenden Brook

Luddendenfoot Association Football Club
Recorded in 1923

Luddendenfoot Bowling Green
Opened on 2nd August 1913

Luddendenfoot Brass Band
Luddenden & Luddendenfoot Subscription Brass Band was established in 1891.

Their band room was at Denholme School

Luddendenfoot Bridge
Bridge over the Rochdale Canal

Luddendenfoot British Legion
The branch opened in 1922. It was one of the first to be presented with the Legion Standard. In 1929, new headquarters at the bottom of Luddenden Lane was opened by Lord Harewood

Luddendenfoot British Restaurant
British Restaurant opened in 1941/2

Luddendenfoot Congregational Savings Bank
Around 1860, a savings bank was established at Luddendenfoot Congregational School.

The trustees included

Luddendenfoot Co-operative Hall
Burnley Road. Built for Luddendenfoot Industrial Co-operative Society in 1873, at a cost of £1,750.

Local Catholics held their services in the Hall before Saint Walburga's Catholic Church was built in 1897

Luddendenfoot Cricket Club
Established in the 1880s.

See High Lee Green Cricket Club, Luddendenfoot

Luddendenfoot Economic Stores
Burnley Road. A branch of Economic Stores (Halifax) Limited. Stood opposite the Weavers' Arms.

Closed in the 1970s

Luddendenfoot Floral & Horticultural Society
Established in 1859 by Rev Arthur Hall

Luddendenfoot Free Church Friendly Society
A friendly society established at Denholme United Methodist Chapel in 1858. They met in the school at 8:00 pm on the first Friday of the month

Luddendenfoot Friendly Society
A friendly society recorded in 1875

Luddendenfoot Gas Supplies
In 1886, the Luddendenfoot Local Board of Health introduced proposals to lay gas mains through the district. Gas street lighting was inaugurated on 26th November 1866.

Gas was produced at Cooper House Mill until Robert Whitworth & Company moved in, when the production of gas moved to premises near Wood Bottom Dye Works.

From 1886, gas supplies were augmented by those from Sowerby Bridge gas works.

See William Crabtree

Luddendenfoot Industrial Co-operative Society
Established at a meeting held in Eli Scott's mill on 1st May 1860.

Officers of the Society included

Business was carried on at William Thompson's mill for a time.

They had a news room [1870]. It was discontinued in 1885,

[because it was] greatly abused by some lively and perhaps too frolicsome youths who frequented it

Around 1872, a branch was opened at High Lee Green.

In 1873, a new Co-operative Hall was built on Burnley Road, at a cost of £1,750.

The Society used Whitworths as their bankers, and when the company failed in April 1874, the Society recovered only £1,059 of the £2,940 which Whitworths held.

In 1876, the Society built a number of houses on land which they had bought at Band Walk.

In 1887, the Society bought land at Morley Hall to raise cattle for their butchery department.

The society merged with the Cragg Vale Co-operative Society in 1902.

In 1905, Luddendenfoot Industrial Society was fined 5/- plus 7/6d costs for having

an unjust scale in their possession

Around 1910, a branch was established in a part of Warley Grammar School.

In 1964, the Society was taken over by Sowerby Bridge Co-operative Society. The premises on Burnley Road were demolished when Sowerby Bridge Co-operative Society closed in 1969.

See Denholme Cottages, Luddendenfoot

Luddendenfoot Industrial Society
See Luddendenfoot Co-operative Society

Luddendenfoot Library
Council Offices, Burnley Road.

As part of a cost-cutting exercise by Calderdale Council, the library was one of several considered for closure in 2006/2007

Luddendenfoot Local Board
In 1868, the administrative district was formed out of parts of Midgley, Warley and Sowerby.

Early officers and members of the Board included

The Board met in the Luddendenfoot Congregational School, and then in the General Rawdon, Luddendenfoot until 1894.

In 1882, the Board erected Boy Bridge, Luddendenfoot.

See Local Board, Luddendenfoot Gas Supplies and Mytholmroyd Local Board

Luddendenfoot Mechanics' Institute
In September 1885, a group including Rev Joseph Booth, Charley Clay and Rev Edward M. F. Stack set up a Mechanics' Institute in Luddendenfoot.

Charles Clay provided accommodation at Bank Buildings.

They had a news room, and a library [1886].

The Mechanics' Institute opened on 19th December 1914. The Luddendenfoot Slipper Baths opened here.

The Institute closed in 1957. It is now the Civic Centre

Luddendenfoot Oddfellows' Friendly Society
Established by the Loyal Rose Lodge [No 808] of the Hebden Bridge Oddfellows

Luddendenfoot Post Office
Burnley Road.

Recorded in 1845 at the Red Lion when John Eastwood was postmaster.

Recorded in 1859, 1861, and 1874. It was then at the same address as the business run by Henry Greenwood, grocer, who ran Luddendenfoot Working Men's Club.

It was at various locations, including the Woodman Inn [1875], Dale View, and Victoria Buildings

Luddendenfoot Railway Station
Opened on 5th October 1840. It served the businesses at Boy Mill, Cooper House Mills, and other local mills.

Branwell Brontë worked at the station in 1841.

He was dismissed in 1842 for culpable negligence and gross misconduct.

The station building

with lodging rooms above

was built in 1842.

In 1865, a junction here was take to the Luddenden Valley Railway up to Little Holme House.

On 23rd December 1880, Boy Bridge and the road to the station was destroyed by flooding.

The station closed on 8th September 1962.

Stationmasters at the Station have included

See Francis Grundy and William Woolven

Luddendenfoot Recreation Ground
Opened in 1932 on land given by W. B. Clay. On 14th October 1933, a shelter at the ground – the gift of Henry Helliwell – was opened

Luddendenfoot River Bridge
A bridge over the Calder is mentioned here in 1594. Aka Currer Bridge and Currie Bridge.

Around 1790, the bridge was rebuilt and William Currer of Boy Mill paid half the cost – when the bridge was known as The Currie. It allowed access to Boy Mill.

It was the only bridge over the Calder between Brearley and Longbottom Mill.

In 1823, parapets were added.

In 1825, it was widened.

In 1869, a new causeway was laid.

In April 1877, Gamaliel Sutcliffe was authorised to maintain the parapet walls.

On 23rd December 1880, the bridge was washed away in a flood. In 1882, it was rebuilt.

See Luddendenfoot Canal Bridge

Luddendenfoot School Board
Recorded in 1895

Luddendenfoot Slipper Baths
Donated by Sam Dugdale. Opened by Councillor Dugdale in the basement of the Mechanics' Institute in 1915.

From 1966, they were closed on Saturdays. They were closed in 1969 and were used by local football teams

Luddendenfoot Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Luddendenfoot included:

Luddendenfoot Urban District Council
Created in 1894.

The offices were built in 1911. They later moved to Victoria Buildings.

See Warley Urban District Council

Luddendenfoot War Memorial
The memorial remembering those who died in World War I and World War II originally stood on the Mount of Remembrance on Burnley Road.

In the 1950s, it was moved to Holmes Park.

See Hebden Bridge War Memorial

Luddendenfoot Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax

Luddendenfoot Working Men's Club & Institute
Opened on Saturday 2nd December 1882. It was situated in a mill building on Station Road which later became The Brandy Wine.

It later moved to a new building on the Kershaw Estate.

Recorded in 1917, when David Finnigan was secretary. It closed in the 1970s.

There were marble tablets remembering those who served in World War I and World War II.

The building became Oscar's, a private bar. It is now derelict [2008].

See Luddendenfoot Post Office

Lüdenscheid Link
Brighouse bypass built in 1972. Large areas of the town centre were demolished for the development.

See Oddfellows' Hall, Brighouse

Ludgate, Fred
[1868-1???] Son of Thomas Willie Ludgate.

Born in Manningham, Bradford.

He was a news advertisement assistant [1901].

He married Lavinia Taylor [1870-1???].


Lavinia was born in Marylebone, London
 

Children: William Richard.

The family lived at Chelsea, London [1901]

Ludgate, Thomas Willie
[1831-1873] In 1856, he married Sarah, daughter of Richard (Dickey) Kershaw.

Children: (1) Henry [b 1859]; (2) Timms; (3) Clara [b 1863]; (4) Fred

Ludgate, Timms
[1861-19??] Son of Ann [née Kershaw] and Thomas Willie Ludgate.

Oil merchant and manufacturer of varnishes. He started business in 1882 in Bradford. In 1890, he moved to Brighouse. He set up business at Pond Oil Works, Brighouse.

In November 1887, he married Amelia Thompson [1868-1???] in Bradford.


Amelia was born in Armley, Leeds
 

Children: (1) Millie Kershaw (Ludgate) [b 1891]; (2) Timms Kenneth [b 1898]

Ludgate, William Richard
[1888-19??] Son of Fred Ludgate.

Born in Bradford.

In [Q3] 1920, he married Kate Constance H. Berris [1893-19??] in Wandsworth, London.

Children: (1) Alan W. [b 1923]; (2) Richard B. [b 1925]; (3) Michael A. [b 1934].

The family lived at 83 Bradford Road, Brighouse

Ludlam, Harry
[1912-2005] OBE.

He was educated at Rishworth School [1923-1929], head of School, Captain of Rugby [1929], and heavily involved with the School, throughout his life.

He was a lawyer; a Conservative Councillor; Mayor of Halifax [1965-1966].

In 1938, he married Dorothy Winifred Sadler [1924-2010] at Halifax Parish Church.

They lived at Tree Top, Granny Hill, Warley Road, Halifax.

He recommended Barrie Ingham to Charles Denville's acting company.

Mrs Ludlam was an instructor at Madam Ibbotson's Dancing School.

Harry died 16th April 2005 (aged 92).

Dorothy died 15th November 2010 (aged 86) 

Ludley, Richard
[17??-1811] Landlord of the White Swan, Halifax. He was a member of the local militia. He died
suddenly (supposed in a fit of apoplexy) 

N. Ludley [a relative?] was at the White Swan [1816]

Ludlow, Rev Walter James
[18??-19??] MA.

He was educated at Oxford before becoming Curate at Illingworth [1905-1909]. He left to become Vicar of Dulverton

Luke, John
[14??-15??] In 1518, he bought Hartshead Hall from the Fleming family

The Luke Settle Shield
A trophy named in honour of Luke Settle and presented to the winning choir in an annual competition, held as part of the Mrs Sunderland Competition.

When it was won by Lindley Junior School in 2008, the original trophy was installed at the School and replaced by a smaller, more convenient shield

Luke, Rev William Henry Colbeck
[18??-1???] Of Suffolk.

In 1855, he married Julia, daughter of Thomas Samuel Rawson, at Dartford

Lum, Abraham
[1???-1???] Of Brighouse.

He was one of the electorate of 59 people when Jeremy Bentley was elected first MP for Halifax in 1654

Lum, Abraham
[17??-1???] Coiner of Turvin

Lum Bridge, Soyland
A bridge is recorded in 1737. The present single-arch stone bridge is dated 1866

Lum Brook
Small community in the area of Coley around the Brown Horse.

See Brown Horse, Coley and Lumb Brook, Coley

Lum, Joe
[1858-1916] Of Dowry Farm, Soyland.

In 1913, he married Emily Stott in Halifax.

He died 18th November 1916.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £639 4/1d.

Probate was granted to his widow Emily

Lum, John
[1???-18??] He married Martha.

Children: Joseph.

The family lived at Lower Wormald, Rishworth [1857]

Lum, John
[1515-1579] Of Sowerby.

On 5th August 1543, he married Agnes Crabtree [1522-1565].

Children: (1) Alice [bapt 1544]; (2) John; (3) Margaret [bapt 1548]; (4) George [bapt 1550]; (5) William; (6) Matthew.

He died and was buried in Sowerby

Lum, John
[1547-1607] Of Halifax. Son of John Lum. Baptised 1st May 1547.

In 1568, he married Margaret [1548-1618].

He died in Sowerby [January 1607]

Lum, John
[1587-1662] Aka Lumme. Son of William Lum.

On 12th April 1615, he married (1) Susan Whitley.

Children: (1) Susan [bapt 1616]; (2) John [1619-1626]; (3) Timothy; (4) Grace [1624-1626].

In 1627, he married (2) Isabel [1595-16??].

Children: (5) John.

He owned and occupied several properties in and around Northowram, including Dean House, Shelf and Westercroft Farm, Northowram.

He died at Westercroft [some time after 30th August 1660].

See Jane Boyle and Rev Andrew Latham

Lum, John
[1615-1689] Of Halifax. Son of Matthew Lum. Baptised 11th June 1615.

In 16??, he emigrated to America.

In 1643, he married an English girl, Miss Strickland [1623-16??] in Fairfield, Connecticut

He died in Fairfield, Connecticut

Lum, John
[1628-1???] Son of John Lum.

He died after 1690

Lum, Joseph
[1824-1857] Son of John Lum.

He married Unknown.

Children: Martha [1850-1859].

Joseph was killed [23rd November 1857] when a steam engine boiler burst at Lower Aspley, near Huddersfield

He was buried at Rishworth Independent Church. There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 902] at Parrock Nook in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Lum, Martha
[1591-16??] Daughter of William Lum.

She married Edmund Wood.

The family emigrated to America.

He died before 7th July 1663

Lum, Matthew
[1555-1631] Of Sowerby. Son of John Lum

On 5th July 1579, he married (1) Grace Lange [1548-1597] from Elland.

On 12th November 1597, he married (2) Elizabeth Furth [bapt 1572] from Elland

Lum, Matthew
[1583-1618] Of Halifax. Son of William Lum. Baptised 27th September 1583.

In 1614, he married Jenet [1593-16??].

Children: (1) John; (2) Abraham [bapt 1617].

He died 1618

Lum, Timothy
[1621-16??] Aka Lumme. Son of John Lum. Baptised 1621.

In 1662, he sold Westercroft Farm, Northowram to Thomas Priestley.

See Jane Boyle

Lum, William
[1552-1592] Of Sowerby. Son of John Lum. Baptised 18th December 1552.

On 7th November 1580, he married Agnes Barstow.

Children: (1) Abraham [bapt 1581]; (2) Matthew; (3) (possibly) Grace [bapt 1585]; (4) John; (5) William [1589-1615]; (6) Martha.

He died November 1592

Lumb
Area of Calderdale near Wainstalls.

The name is derived from the element lumb.

See Lumb Mill, Wainstalls

Lumb...
The entries for people with the surname Lumb are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Lumb
The surname is recorded in 1307

There are currently around 80 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Lumb. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Lumb family of Cragg Vale
In the 19th century, members of the family were recorded as being
the biggest and strongest men ever seen

Sir Henry Edwards employed some of the brothers to mow the grass at Pye Nest House, and he employed others to carry the flags and banners when he was elected MP for Halifax [1847]

Lumb & Barritt
Cotton flock merchants at West Vale.

Partners included Samuel Lumb and John Barritt.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1873

Lumb & Hodgson
Hebden Bridge bakers and confectioners. Established by sisters Mrs Amy Lumb and Mrs Alice Hodgson

Lumb & Pohlmann
The partnership – James Alfred Lumb and W. H. L. Pohlmann – pianoforte manufacturers of Halifax was dissolved in 1905.

See Pohlmann & Son

Lumb & Townend
Cotton flock merchants at West Vale.

Partners included S. Lumb and B. Townend.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1874

Lumb & Walker
Botanic brewers at Stainland.

Partners included Job Lumb and Mr Walker.

Lumb's: Arthur Lumb & Son
Oil makers and merchants. They were at the Atlas Oil Works, Halifax [1920s]

Lumb Bank House, Heptonstall
18th century house. Was the home of Ted Hughes and now part of the Arvon Foundation

Lumb Beck, Sowerby
Marked the boundary of Sowerby township

Lumb Bridge, Pecket Well
Early 18th century packhorse bridge over Crimsworth Dean Beck near Lumb Hole Falls. There are cast-iron rod hand-rails. The bridge is on the Limers' Gate packhorse route from Lothersdale to Halifax.

A White Lady is said to haunt the bridge.

See Abel Cross and Horse Bridge

Lumb Brook, Coley
Stream of Lum Brook.

See Lum Brook Mills, Coley

Lumb Brook, Kebroyd
Aka Lumb Clough.

Flows down from Cottonstones, to join the Ryburn.

This is the boundary between Soyland and Sowerby.

At Soyland, it is joined by Blackshaw Clough. Mills which utilised the power of the stream included Old Water Mill, Mill Bank and Kebroyd Mills.

See Denton Bridge, Kebroyd and Foxen Lane Bridge, Mill Bank

Lumb Brothers
Halifax transport company

Lumb Brothers
Halifax slaters and plasterers.

Partners included Eli Lumb and Frank Lumb.

Recorded in 1896, when a notice in the London Gazette announced

NOTICE is hereby given that the Partnership heretofore subsisting between us the undersigned, Eli Lumb and Frank Lumb, both of King Cross Halifax in the county of York carrying on business as Slaters and Plasterers at King Cross Halifax aforesaid under the style or firm of Lumb Brothers has been dissolved by mutual consent as and from the thirty-first day of December 1896. All debts due to and owing by the said late firm will be received and paid by the said Eli Lumb who will continue to carry on the business Dated 31st day of December 1896

Lumb Butts

Lumb's Confectionery
Manufacturers of boiled sweets. Recorded in Sowerby Bridge [1940s]. They occupied what had been the Salvation Army Citadel. The slogan painted on their vans was
Takes a lot of licking

Lumb's Continental Tours
Travel agency established by James Arthur Lumb.

Recorded in 1939, when they were at 2 Providence Row, Ovenden

Lumb Cottage, Heptonstall
Lumb Road. Mid 18th century house

Lumb Cottage, Wainstalls
Lumb Lane. Built around 1803. The property was associated with Lumb Mill, Wainstalls

Lumb Fold Farm, Sowerby
Westfield

Lumb's: George Lumb Limited
Cotton-spinners at Wellington Mills, Elland [1905].

On 26th July 1912, a fire destroyed cottages near the mills

Lumb's: H. A. Lumb & Company
Woollen manufacturers established by Horatio A. Lumb at Soyland Mill, Sowerby [1905]

Lumb Hole Falls
Waterfall of Crimsworth Dean Beck at Pecket Well.

Lumb Bridge crosses the beck here

Lumb House, Sowerby
Owners and tenants have included

Lumb's: J. & H. A. Lumb
Woollen manufacturers and silk merchants at Soyland.

Partners included J. Lumb and Horatio Albert Lumb [?].

The partnership was dissolved in 1903

Lumb's: J. W. Lumb
Cotton manufacturer at Victoria Mill, Brighouse

Lumb's: James Lumb & Sons
Engineers, brass and steel founders and finishers with business at Perseverance Engine Works, Elland.

Founded by James Lumb in 1876.

In 1986, the business went into receivership and the land and assets were bought by Ardeth Engineering Limited.

A governor controlled the supply of water or steam to an engine, and hence ensuring a uniform motion or speed. An example of their governor in Calderdale Industrial Museum [shown in the attached photo] is a Number 6, the largest size made.

Their regulator fine-tuned the governor to minimise the variation in speed.

Their recorder resembled a tachograph and recorded the speed variation of a machine on a paper roll, which enabled the mill-owner to detect and prove if he had been supplied with faulty yarn for his mules or spinning frames.

Surviving examples of their recorders can be seen at

  • Bancroft Mill, Barnoldswick

  • Bolton Steam Museum

Lumb's: James Lumb (Plastics) Limited
They had business at Norwood Green Mill

Lumb's: M. Lumb & Son
Pianoforte makers and merchants and music dealers at 60 Southgate, Halifax

Lumb's: Samuel Lumb's Limited
Woollen spinner and textile manufacturers established by Samuel Lumb. They were at Perseverance Mill, Elland [1905]

Lumb, Soyland

Lumbutts
District of Calderdale south-east of Todmorden

Lumbutts Clough
Stream at Lumbutts.

See Causeway Mill, Todmorden, Folly Mill, Langfield, Gaddings Dam, Todmorden, Jumb Mills, Langfield and Oldroyd Mill, Langfield

Lumbutts Club
Around 1851, they built a group of club houses at Wellfield Terrace, Todmorden

Lumbutts House
Lumbutts Road.

Mid 19th century mill-owner's house for Lumbutts Mill

Owners and tenants have included

Lumbutts, Old Lady of

Lumbutts Road Toll House, Walsden
Knowlwood.

See Thomas Dawson

Lumbutts sheep fair
This was held on the 11th September.

Recorded on 8th September 1901 and 8th September 1908, as

Lumbutts Fair established in 1838

Lumbutts sun-dial
Made by James Travis Whittaker and installed on the wall of a house opposite Lumbutts Factory School where he was school master.

The face is inscribed


LAT 53° 42' 26" LONG 2° 4' 12"

J. WHITTAKER 1864

HOW LONG IS TIME LEARN THOU OF ME
HOW FLEET IS TIME I ASK OF THEE

Lumby's: E. Lumby & Son & Wood Limited
Originally Lumby's.

In 1882, the name was changed after the death of Edwin Lumby and his son. Partners included Percy Wood.

They also made safes. An advertisement of 1900 proclaims


LUMBY, SON & WOOD, LTD.
West Grove Works, Halifax
Lumby's Safes have never failed.
Largest Makers in the World of Wrought-iron Welded Boilers for Hot-water and Steam Heating

In 1918, the name was changed again to Lumby's Limited

Lumby, Edward Crosland
[1858-1881] Son of Edwin Lumby.

In 1879, he joined his father' business.

On 1st June 1881, he married Mary Anne. eldest daughter of Edmund Priestley, at Park Congregational Church.

He lived at Staveley Bank [with his sister Mary April 1881] and Heath Villas, Halifax [July 1881].

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Lumby, Edwin
[1819-1881] Born in Stamford, Lincolnshire.

He moved to Halifax about 1850 and acquired an ironmonger's business in Crown Street.

He established Lumby's boiler-makers at Greetland

Lumby's Limited
Aka E. Lumby & Son.

Greetland company and manufacturers of wrought, welded and riveted boiler, cistern, tank, patent carpet wire, fireproof and burglar proof safes, steel skewer maker, and hot water engineer founded in the 19th century by Edwin Lumby and his son Edward.

They were at West Grove Works, Halifax [1858, 1874] and West Grove Boiler Works, West Vale.

It later became Lumby, Son & Wood Limited, and reverted to Lumby's Limited in 1918.

See Sam Naylor and George Probets

Lumley
Family name of the Earls of Scarbrough.

See Savile family

Lumley-Saunderson, Richard
[1???-1782] 4th Earl of Scarbrough.

He married Barbara, sister and heiress of George Savile.

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) son; (4) John; (5) son; (6) son; (7) son

Lumley-Savile, Hon. Henry Leoline Thornhill
[19??-19??] Younger son of Sir John Savile. He served with the Grenadier Guards.

In 1946, he married Presiley June Inchbald from Surrey

Lumley-Savile James George Augustus
[1975-] Lord Savile and 5th Baron Savile of Rufford.

In October 2010, he put the title and Brooklands Manor, Ripponden up for sale at a price of £695,000.

In 2010, he sought permission to convert Walshaw Lodge, Heptonstall into a hotel

Lumley-Savile, John

Lumley-Savile, John
[1761-1835] 7th Earl of Scarbrough. Son of Richard Lumley-Saunderson

Lumley-Savile, John Anthony Thornhill
[1947-] Lord Savile and 4th Baron Savile of Rufford. He lived in Cornwall

Lumley-Savile, Lord George Halifax
[1919-2008] Third Baron Savile of Rufford. Eldest son of Sir John Savile.

During World War II, he served as a Captain in the Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment and saw service in Burma.

In 1946, he bought Gryce Hall, Shelley, Huddersfield. In 19??, he gave land at Hardcastle Crags to the National Trust. In 1960, he gave Popples Common and other land at Heptonstall to Hepton Rural District Council. In 1988, he sold the title of the Lord of the Manor of Shelf for £10,500.

He subsequently auctioned off his other titles as lord of the Manor of Elland, Manor of Heptonstall, Manor of Ovenden, and Manor of Rishworth.

He never married.

His heir to the title of Lord Savile is his nephew

The Lumme, Sowerby
Owners and tenants have included

Lunar Society
An 18th century group of amateur and professional engineers and scientists who met in and around Birmingham once a month – when the moon was full so as to enable them to find their way home afterwards. Many of the ideas of the Industrial Revolution evolved at such meetings.

The society was founded by Matthew Boulton. Members included Erasmus Darwin, Joseph Priestley, James Watt, Josiah Wedgwood

Lund, Balfour
[1812-1861] He was an asphalter in Halifax.

He died 31st October 1863.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3752]

Lund, Earl
[1883-19??] Of Halifax.

He was inspector of cleanliness in the butchers' shops in Halifax. He was an amateur cellist and played in local orchestras. He was gassed in World War I.

In 1914, he married Edith Heaton at Halifax

Lund, Harry
[1888-1966] Brighouse man who produced a washing liquid called Wash White in the 1930s. He was popularly known as Harry Washwhite. He blended the ingredients in an old gas boiler, and then bottled and labelled the product. He loaded the bottles on to a large wooden cart which had two shafts, and then pushed this heavy cart round Hove Edge, Hipperholme, Lightcliffe, Bailiff Bridge and Brighouse, finally climbing Halifax Road back to Hove Edge. He carried on this back-breaking work for many years and became a familiar and friendly face in the district.

He was the steward at Hove Edge Club

Lund's: R. W. Lund & Company
Quarry owner and stone merchant at Sunny Bank Quarry, Southowram [1905]

Lundy, Sarah
[1815-1886] Wife of Dr William Lundy. After her husband's death in 1860, she devoted her life to the temperance movement and philanthropic works in Huddersfield.

She was buried at Bridge End Congregational Church, Brighouse

Lundy, Dr William
[1816-1860] LLD, MRCP, AM, PhD.

Born in Malton, East Yorkshire.

He married Sarah.

He was the first head of the Rastrick British School. He left to set up Prospect Place Academy.

He wrote several educational works – including Phrenotypics, Palestine, and Le Lecteur Français - and was mathematical editor (?) of the Huddersfield Examiner.

His brother, Joseph, became Mayor of Windsor

Lunn's: Edward & George Lunn
Chemists & druggists at 18 Crown Street, Halifax [1822]

Lunn, Wilf
[1942-] Rastrick-born television personality, raconteur, and surrealist. He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School

Lupton, Alfred
[18??-1???] Partner in Lupton, Charnock & Company [1868, 1881] Charnock & Company Lupton

Lupton & Company
See Lupton, Charnock & Company

Lupton, Charnock & Company
They acquired the brewing business of Peter Beck at Stone Trough Brewery [1872, 1874].

In June 1867, a newspaper announced

William King, blast tenter and beerhouse keeper, Heckmondwike, had been in custody at the suit of A. Lupton, J. Charnock, and J. Foster, to whom he owed £107 5/- the amount of valuation of a beerhouse. He owed altogether £130 and he had nothing to pay with

Partners included Alfred Lupton, James Lupton, J. Charnock, and J. Foster.

In December 1868, the partnership of Lupton & Company brewers – Alfred Lupton, J. Foster and J. Charnock – was dissolved so far as regards J. Foster.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1881.

The brewery merged with Thomas Ramsden & Son Limited in 1881

Lupton, Clement Harold
[1860-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a farmer's man [1901].

In 1880, he married Ann Nixon [1859-19??] from Gateshead, in Halifax.

Children: Florence Agatha [b 1881].

The family lived at Pye Nest Farm, Halifax [1901].

Living with them in 1901 was a boarder Charles H. Spencer

Lupton, George
[1817-1883] He was beerhouse keeper at the Swan Bank Tavern, Halifax [1871]; innkeeper at the Swan Bank Tavern, Halifax [1881]

Lupton, George
[1846-1888] Of Bridge Lanes, Hebden Bridge.

On 3rd October 1888, he was found tied to a tree with his throat cut, behind the warehouse of Ackroyd Brothers in Bridge Lanes

Lupton, James
[18??-18??] Partner in Lupton, Charnock & Company.

He lived at Stone Trough House, Halifax [1874]

Lupton, John
[16??-1730] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1717-1730].

He married Unknown [d 1728].

Children: a daughter who was killed at Meddle Bottom Mill [September 1734]

Lupton's: John Lupton & Son Limited
In 1940, they acquired the wine and spirit business of Septimus Lewin

Lupton, Thomas
[18??-18??] Listed as linen draper and hosier, and cooper, at Northgate, Halifax [1850]

Luty, Albert S.
[1???-1???] Brick maker at Elland Lane.

He lived in a house at the corner of Elizabeth Street / Southgate, Elland. The building became a shop for A. Bailey & Sons

Luty & Armitage
Fire clay merchants New Hall Fire Brick Works, Elland [1874].

See E. Luty & Sons

Luty, Daniel
[1847-1906] Son of John Luty.

Born in Bradford.

He was an engine builder's mechanic in Sowerby Bridge [1861]; a mechanic of Norland [1867]; an iron turner at engine works [1871, 1881]; a mechanic [1891]; iron turner (engine making) [1901].

In [Q4] 1867, he married Rhoda Ellen Ludlow [1847-1???] of Norland. at Elland Parish Church.


Rhoda Ellen was born in Marsden, the daughter of Nathaniel Ludlow (excavator) 
 

Children: (1) Daniel [b 1871] who was a mechanic [1891]; (2) Emily [b 1876] who was a woollen weaver [1891]; (3) Sarah Hannah [b 1880] who was a carpet weaver [1901]; (4) John William [b 1882] who was an iron turner (engine making) [1901]; (5) Ada [b 1886] who was a worsted winder [1901].

The family lived at Wakefield Road, Skircoat, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; West Parade, Skircoat, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 3 Clough Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 42 Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1901]; Clough Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1906]

Daniel was a member of Bolton Brow Working Men's Club. He had been a member since the club started. In 1906, he died after falling down the cellar steps at the Club

Luty's: E. Luty & Sons
Manufacturers of fire bricks, pot and siege clay and quarriers. Established in 1870 by Joseph Luty and his son Elijah. They had business at New Hall Fire Brick Works, Elland.

See Luty & Armitage

Luty, Elijah
[18??-19??] Son of Joseph Luty.

He and his father established the business which became E. Luty & Sons.

He lived at Prospect House, Elland [1905].

His 2 sons joined the business

Luty, John
[1806-18??] Born in Yeadon.

He was a mason [1851]; an out door labourer [1861]; licensee of the Puzzle Hall, Sowerby Bridge [1860].

In February 1860, he was fined 30/- for

allowing tossing in his house

He married Elizabeth [1811-18??] from Horsforth.

Children: (1) Samuel [b 1833] who was a mason [1851]; (2) Joseph [b 1835] who was a mason [1851]; (3) Ellen [b 1837]; (4) Daniel.

The family lived at Lane Top, Huddersfield [1851]; Puzzle Hall Inn, Sowerby Bridge [1861]

Luty, Joseph
[18??-18??] He and his son, Elijah, established the business which became E. Luty & Sons

Luty, Ruth
[1825-1889] She had a son William Luty (father unknown).

In 1851, she was a house servant for Joseph Mann at Lambert House.

In 1854, she married Whitfield Moorhouse at Halifax Parish Church.

Whitfield died 13th April 1863.

In 1864, she was landlady at the Malt Shovel, Elland.

In 1866, she married Thomas Jagger

Luty, Wadsworth
[1852-1932] Born in Elland.

He was a wool sorter [1911].

He married Hannah Berry [1853-1930].

Children: Edith who married Harold Fielding.

Wadsworth died 18th May 1932

Luty, William
[1846-1909] Son of Ruth Luty (father unknown).

He never married

Lutz & Armitage
Stone quarrying company at New Hall [1800]

Luvekyn, John
[12??-1???] Mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls [1274] when
[At Hyperum] Jordan de Schakeltonstall, Nelle de Wynter, John Luvekyn and William, son of Elkoe Shakeltonstall accused of taking a stag remain under surety until the next Court at Wakefield

Luxford, Fred
[18??-1917] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 3rd May 1917.

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial [Bay 4] and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Lycett, Kate
[19??-] Hebden Bridge artist

Lyceum Assembly Rooms, Halifax
Queens Road / Raven Street. Recorded in 1905.

A Spiritualist church is recorded at the junction of Queens Road / Parkinson Lane.

The building was subsequently occupied by a printing business [1960s], CIBA Geigy, and Enterprise House [a retail outlet]

See Raven Street Progressive Spiritualists' Society and Saint Paul's Spiritual Church & Lyceum, Halifax

Lydgate Conservative Club, Northowram
Recorded in 1917, when Frank Hanson was secretary

Lydgate Conservative Club, Todmorden
Recorded in April 1900, when Tom Ashworth, of Harley Villas, was President.

See Todmorden Conservative Club

Lydgate House, Lightcliffe
Wakefield Road. Edmund Fairbanks and the Fairbanks family are recorded at this location in 1529.

In 1923, 12½ acres of land – Smithson Park – behind the house were sold and became The Stray.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The house is now divided into apartments. The grounds are now Lydgate Park.

Stories about the house tell that

  • One of the rooms in the house had a ceiling made of zinc or other metal so as to give better acoustics for a renowned pianist who lived there

  • The house had connections with Sir Titus Salt


Question: Can anyone tell me anything to support either of these stories?

 

Lydgate Park, Lightcliffe
The land was originally the grounds of Lydgate House, Lightcliffe

Lydgate Post Office, Todmorden
Burnley Road.

Recorded in 1897, when Stephen Pollard was there.

See Todmorden Post Office

Lydgate, Todmorden
Area of Todmorden.

See Lydgate

Lydgate United
Local football team

Lydgate Viaduct, Todmorden
Viaduct for the Halifax-Burnley railway at Todmorden

Lydgate Working Men's Club, Todmorden
On 22nd September 1900, new club rooms were opened by the President, H. Newell.

Recorded in 1912 at Howorth Street, Todmorden when the membership was 100.

Recorded in 1912 at Riley Street, Todmorden when the membership was 60.

See Arch View Working Men's Club, Lydgate

Lyn Ray Farm, Brianscholes

Lyndhurst, Elland
Victoria Road.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was bought by Halifax Council for use as a children's home [1949]

Lyndhurst, Greetland
82 Green Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Lyne, Rev A. S.
[1???-1???] Methodist Minister at Hipperholme [1911]

Lynes, Mr
[18??-19??] He married Mary, daughter of Henry Akroyd.

Children: (1) Humphrey [b 1877]; (2) Beatrice [b 1879]

Lyon, Abigail & Olivia
[2003-] Halifax-born twins. They girls have played rôles in TV productions, including Blue Murder and Where the Heart Is

Lyon's: E. W. Lyon & Son
Wholesale draper at 4/6/8/10 Broad Street, Halifax [1936]

Lyric Cinema, Halifax
Queens Road. Formerly the Kingston Picturedrome.

Closed on 13th July 1951.

It is now [2008] a bathroom centre

Lyth, John
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1855, when he was a Methodist minister in Halifax

Lord Wharton Bible
An annual competition which was held in Brighouse, and for which the prize was a bible. Competitors had to recite 7 psalms


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


search tips advanced search
search engine by freefind


© Malcolm Bull 2014 / calderdale@aol.com
Revised 01:24 on 20th September 2014 / l / 922