Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

F



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Fa Fe Ff Fi Fl Fo Fr Fu


Family History Books

Faber, George Stanley
[1773-1854] Born in Calverley. Son of Anne [née Travis] and Rev Thomas Faber, vicar of Calverley.

He was educated at Hipperholme Grammar School and University College Oxford. He became a clergyman and writer of theological works

Faburn, Mr
[16??-1681] Vicar at Rodwell.

Heywood recorded

Mr Faburn vicar of Rodwell was found dead in his bed Saturday morning Dec. 24. 1681, he had been a dreadful drunkard, had broken his leg, fought with Mr Nettleton, was crusht, wanted conveniences, shut up lockt in his house, dyed in debt – there was great riding for it, [the living]

Factories, Mills & Works

Factory King
Nickname given to Richard Oastler for his campaigning on behalf of industrial workers

Facula [No 4825] Masonic Lodge
Masonic Lodge.

They were at the Masonic Hall, Saint James's Road, Halifax [1937]. They met on the second Tuesday of the month [1937].

Masters and members of the Lodge have included

  • Fr. Pickles – Master [1937]

Faff & Fuffen Band
Aka Faff'n Fuffun Band and Waff'n Fuffen Band. Formed in the early 20th century by members of the Clifton Prize Band. Some of the band played regular instruments, whilst others played comb-and-paper, papier maché instruments and other comic instruments.

There were subsequently many ensembles who adopted the name, such as McCarty's Prize Band

Fag-Ash Lil
[18??-19??] A well-known character who sold copies of the Sunday newspaper The Empire News on Saturday nights in Halifax

Fairbairn, Prof
[18??-19??] Herbalist.

In 1905, he ran the John Bull Herbal Remedy Company from his home at 6 Beacon Hill Road, Bank Top, Southowram, and a School of Physical Culture next to the Theatre Royal at Ward's End, Halifax

Fairbank
Other forms of the surname include Fairbanke and Fairbanks.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

William Fairebank is recorded at Sowerby in 1492.

It has been suggested that some members of the family translated the name from Beaumont, or possibly from Lightcliffe.

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fairbank. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

See Fairbank family of Halifax and Fairbank family of Lightcliffe

The Fairbank family of Halifax
See Fairbank and Fairbanks family of Lightcliffe

Fairbank, John
[1547-1???] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks.

On 28th January 1565/6, he married Jane Bannester in Halifax.

Children: (1) John; (2) Thomas.

The family lived at Snaith

Fairbank, Jonathan
[16??-16??] Curate at Luddenden [1652-1662]

Fairbank, William
[1539-158?] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks.

On 28th June 1562, he married Isabella Horton in Halifax.

Children: (1) Henry; (2) Jenet; (3) Edward; (4) Margaret.

The family lived at Snaith.

He died after 12th January 1579

Fairbanke
A variant of the surname Fairbank

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Fairbanke, George
[15??-1623] Alias Scoggin.

On 23rd December 1623, he and his illegitimate daughter Anna were executed on the Gibbet.

Watson's extract from the Register Books at Halifax records the execution as

George Fairbanke, perditissimus nebulo, vulgo vocatus Skoggin, ob nequitiam. Anna, ejusdem Georgii Filia spuria, ambo meritissime ob furtum manifestum decollati

George Fairbanke, most depraved scoundrel, commonly called Skoggin, on account of his villainy. Anna, illegitimate daughter of this George, both most deservedly beheaded on account of crimes of which they were clearly guilty

Fairbanks
A variant of the surname Fairbank

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 12 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fairbanks. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Fairbanks family of Lightcliffe
Their ancestral home was Lydgate House, Lightcliffe.

See Brockwell, Sowerby Bridge, Fairbanks surname and Fairbank family of Halifax

Fairbanks, Edmund
[1???-15??] He lived at Lydgate House, Lightcliffe [1529]. In 1529, he gave money for the endowment of Eastfield Chapel

Fairbanks, Edward
[1556-1???] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks.

On 5th November 1582, he married Mary Mitchell [bapt 1556] at Halifax

Fairbanks, George
[1528-1610] Of Halifax.

Son of Gilbert Fairbanks by his first marriage.

On 10th May 1551, he married (1) Sybil Wade.

Children: (1) Jenet [b 1552]; (2) John; (3) Jane [b 1556] who married Matthew Broadley; (4) Mary; (5) Dorothy [1560-1562]; (6) George; (7) Robert [bapt 1566]; (8) Susan; (9) another child [b 1573] who died when one day old.

On 15th February 1574, he married (2) Jenet Mawde.

Children: (10) Abram who was baptised in January 1576 and died April 1576.

George was buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby

Fairbanks, George
[1562-1???] Of Halifax. Son of George Fairbanks.

In 1592, he married Mary, daughter of Richard Farrer, at Heptonstall.

Children: (1) Jonathan; (2) Mary [bapt 1600]; (3) Esther [bapt 1603]

Fairbanks, Gilbert
[1504-1578] Of Sowerby.

Son of John Fairbanks.

In 1569, he would not pay the stipend of the minister or curate at the chapel in Sowerby.

In 1527, he married (1) Janet [1507-1536] or Jennet [1515-1582].

Children: George.

In 1538, he married (2) Jenet [1518-1579] in Halifax.

Children: (2) William; (3) Hugh [1542-1550]; (4) Joanna [bapt 1545]; (5) John; (6) Michael [1549-1549]; (7) Hugh Fairbanks; (8) Dorothy [1553-1554]; (9) Agnes [b 1554] who married George Harrison; (10) Edward Fairbanks; (11) Elizabeth [bapt 1558] who married [1577] Mr Braithwaite.

He was buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby

Fairbanks, Hugh
[1550-1???] Son of Gilbert Fairbanks. Baptised 1550.

On 28th March 1578, he married Jane Mitchell [b 1557] in Halifax.

Children: Robert.

The family lived at Snaith

Fairbanks, John
[1480-1551] Of Halifax. Son of William Fairebanke.

In 1503, he married either Margaret or Isabel [1482-1547].

Children: Gilbert

Fairbanks, John
[15??-16??] He lived at the Great House, Cheapside [1609]

Fairbanks, John
[1554-1625] Son of George Fairbanks.

On 2nd April 1578, he married (1) Margaret Symmes [1560-1592].

On 6th August 1593, he married (2) Isabel Stancliffe [1558-1597].

On 28th August 1598, he married (2) Ellen Parker [1572-1643] from Colne

He died in Thornton-in-Craven

Fairbanks, Jonathan
[1594-1668] Or Fairbank. Son of George Fairbanks

On 20th May 1617, he married Grace Smith in Halifax.

Around 1635, they emigrated to America. In 1636, they were living in Dedham, Massachusetts.

The family were possibly forebears of US president George W. Bush

Fairbanks, Mary
[1558-1???] Or Maria. Daughter of George Fairbanks. Born 18th May 1558 in Halifax.

She married Richard Saltonstall

Fairbanks, Susan
[1569-1???] Daughter of George Fairbanks.

She was the second wife of William Wade

Fairbridge Society
A 20th century organisation which took British children to Australia and the colonies to train as farmers

Fairburn, Abraham
[17??-18??] In 1770, he established Abraham Fairburn & Sons.

He married Unknown.

Children: sons including (1) Charles; (2) son.

When he died, his sons took over the business

Fairburn's: Abraham Fairburn & Sons
Card makers established in 1770 at Cooper Bridge, Brighouse by Abraham Fairburn.

On Abraham's death, his sons took over the business.

In 1824, the partnership was dissolved and Charles Fairburn became sole proprietor. On Charles's death [1827], the business was carried on by his widow and children, notably Edward.

In 1850, they operated Kirklees Mill.

In 1878, they occupied part of Victoria Works, Rastrick.

In 1890, they expanded into the adjoining Calder Vale Mill, Rastrick. In 1894, they bought the whole mill and combined Victoria Works, Rastrick and Calder Vale Mill, Rastrick.

The business eventually became Edward Fairburn & Sons

Fairburn, Charles
[17??-1827] Son of Abraham Fairburn.

On his father's death, he and his brother took over the family business – Abraham Fairburn & Sons. In 1824, he became sole proprietor.

He married Unknown.

Children: Edward

Fairburn, Edward
[1819-1900] Son of Charles Fairburn.

At the age of 13, he took an interest in the family business – Abraham Fairburn & Sons. He later became proprietor.

He was head of Edward Fairburn & Sons.

He patented many inventions for the woollen industry including

A device for carding wool &c
The single stripper
The traversed groove condenser doffer
The divided plate condenser doffer

He lived at Obelisk Grove, Clifton.

He was active in local affairs in Clifton. He was Highway Overseer for Clifton.

He was Regimental Sergeant-Major of the 2nd West Yorkshire Yeomanry.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Edward; (2) John

Fairburn's: Edward Fairburn & Sons
Successor to Abraham Fairburn & Sons. Card makers, raw hide and leather belt makers established by Edward Fairburn at Calder Vale Mills, Rastrick

Fairburn, John
[18??-19??] Son of Edward Fairburn.

He worked as a card maker in the family business – Edward Fairburn & Sons. He was a representative for the firm in the Manchester, Rochdale, Bradford, Leeds and Huddersfield markets.

He was elected Councillor in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893. He lived at 12 Church Street, Brighouse

Fairburn, John
[1857-19??] Born in Clifton.

He was a card maker [1911].

In [Q2] 1889, he married Ada Parker? [1864-19??] from Halifax.

Children: Margery [b 1897].

The family lived at 7 Wellholme, Brighouse [1911]

Fairburn, Joseph
[1???-1853] Wire drawer of Bridge End, Rastrick

Fairburn, Martha
[1745-1826] Cook to Sir George Armytage. She was looking after her 3 grandchildren when the clothes of William, aged 3, caught fire. She tried to extinguish the flames but Martha and William both died

Fairclough, Rev Joseph Wright
[17??-1840] One of the first Catholic priests in Halifax. He laid the foundation stone for the new Saint Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street.

He lived at 13 Aked Road, Halifax [1837]

Fairclough, Samuel
[17??-18??] Watch and clockmaker at New Market Place, Halifax [1822, 1829] and 79 Market Place, Halifax [1829, 1834]

Faircroft, Norwood Green
Early 19th century house

Fairebanke, William
[1445-1518] Of Halifax.

In 1492,

he took land of the soil and waste of the lord, in Sowerby, to hold according to the custom of the manor

He married Unknown [1455-15??].

Children: John.

He died after 22nd April 1514

Fairfax, Ferdinando
[1584-1648] 2nd Lord Fairfax of Cameron.

Son of Thomas Fairfax and father of Thomas Fairfax. He was a Parliamentary general during the Civil War.

See Siege of Pontefract

Fairfax, Sir Thomas
[1560-1640] 1st Lord Fairfax of Cameron. Father of Ferdinando Fairfax

Fairfax, Thomas
[1612-1671] 3rd Lord Fairfax of Cameron. Aka Black Tom.

Son of Ferdinando Fairfax.

He was a Parliamentary commander-in-chief during the Civil War.

See Battle of Marston Moor, Old Bank, Samuel Priestley and Rev Jonathan Schofield

Fairfield House, Halifax
Hopwood Lane / Queens Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Fairlea Mill Company Limited
Waste spinners, cotton spinners & manufacturers established by Sam Dugdale and Edwin Meadowcroft around 1911 at Fairlea Mills, Luddendenfoot.

The company closed in the 1980s

Fairless, Michael
Pen-name of Margaret Barber

Fairs

Fairview, Barkisland
Ripponden Bank. Block of 19th century houses opposite the Fleece, Barkisland.

They are now a single dwelling

Fakes, Thomas
[1860-19??] Born in Bury-St-Edmunds, Suffolk.

He became a chauffeur [domestic] at Halifax.

In 1887, he married Mary Ann Hanson [1854-19??] from Greetland, in Halifax.

Children: George [b 1890] who was a brass finisher [1911].

The family lived at 19 Savile Road, Halifax [1911]

Falcon, John
[1774-1842] Son of Rev Thomas Falcon.

He married Unknown.

Children: Margaret who married Joseph Whiteley.

He was buried at Saint Bartholomew's, Dean Head [27th September 1842]. There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 111] at Scammonden in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Falcon Laundry Company Limited
Salterhebble Hill, Halifax. Established in the 19th century.

Managers of the company have included Wilfred D. Taylor [1900] and A. E. Thorp [1906].

A 1900 advertisement announced


Carpet Cleaning & Bed Cleaning by Machinery
 

The business closed in the 1950s.

See Falcon, Salterhebble and Ramsden's Baths, Rastrick

Falcon, Rev Thomas
[17??-1791] Came from Bothel, Cumberland.

He was Curate of Leeds; Vicar of Saint Bartholomew's, Dean Head.

He lived in Halifax and was a subscriber to the publication of Watson's History.

He married Elizabeth, daughter of John Barron,

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) John.

The family lived at White Lee, Scammonden [1841]

Thomas and Elizabeth were buried at Saint Bartholomew's, Dean Head. There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 112] at Scammonden in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Falcon, Rev Thomas
[1770-1843] MA.

Son of Rev Thomas Falcon.

Born at Barkisland.

He was educated at Sidney College Cambridge [1789]; Vicar of Saint Bartholomew's, Dean Head; retired Vicar [1841].

He died at Scammonden.

He was buried at Saint Bartholomew's, Dean Head [6th March 1843]. There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 112] at Scammonden in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Faldingworth
[Surname]

Fall Lane Railway Bridge, Sowerby Bridge
Railway bridge built about 1840 by Robert Stephenson for the Manchester & Leeds Railway Company

Fall Lane well, Hartshead
This stood opposite Fall Lane Methodist Chapel. A flight of 13 steps led down to the well

Fall Spring Woods, Stainland
Wood was taken from here for use as fuel during the General Strike of 1926.

There are remains of Iron Age boundary walls in the woods.

See Fall Springs Wood Quarry, Stainland

Faller, Bernard Anthony
[1???-19??] Dentist of Moor End Road, Halifax. He qualified at Leeds Dental School in 1951.

His son, Bernard Anthony Faller, was also a dentist

Faller, Bernard Anthony
[19??-19??] Son of Bernard Anthony Faller.

Like his father, he was a dentist. He qualified at Leeds Dental School in October 1958.

He lived and practised at 1 Aked's Road, Halifax from the 1950s until the building was demolished in 1969 when he moved to Number 21-23 Aked's Road

Falling Royd

Falling Royd Bridge, Hebden Bridge
Bridge #14 over the Rochdale Canal

Falling Royd, Hebden Bridge

Fallingroyd Bridge, Hebden Bridge
Burnley Road. Bridge over the Rochdale Canal

Fallingroyd, Hebden Bridge
Aka Falling Royd. An area of Hebden Bridge.

The name is recorded as Falgerode [1250], Fallougherode [1387], Fallandrode [1403], Falgynroyd [1491], Fallonroid [1644], and Fallingroide [1657]. The name may mean land broken up for cultivation

Fallingroyd House, Hebden Bridge
Aka Falling Royd House.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in 19??

Fallingroyd Lodge, Hebden Bridge
The former lodge for Fallingroyd House, Hebden Bridge

Fallingroyd Old Hall, Hebden Bridge

See Fallingroyd House, Hebden Bridge, Fallingroyd Lodge, Hebden Bridge and Fallingroyd, Hebden Bridge

Fallingworth Hall, Norland
Early 17th century house at Norland. A datestone over the porch is inscribed AIW 1644, and the Tudor arched two-storeyed doorway is dated 16 AD 42.

There were alterations in the 18th and 19th centuries.

A reused lintel dated I/MB/M 1616/H for Isabel and Michael Barrow comes from Fields Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

The hall is now 2 separate dwellings

Fallon, Alice
[18??-19??] Of Cross Street, Winding Road, Halifax.

She was injured – a crushed leg – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and was detained at Halifax Infirmary

Families

Famous local people

Fanny Hill, Walsden
Named for Frances Rogers landlady at the nearby Bird-i-th-Hand, Warland

Far Barsey Farm, Greetland
Aka Lower Barsey Farm, Greetland

Far Beestonhirst, Ripponden
Baitings, Rochdale Road Demolished when Baitings Reservoir was built.

See Beestonhirst

Far Bent Head Farm, Pecket Well
Keighley Road. Early 19th century laithe-house. It was 3 cottages. It is now a single dwelling.

See Bent Head, Heptonstall and Near Bent Head Farm, Pecket Well

Far Broad Fold, Luddenden
Owners and tenants have included

In the 1911 census, the property is listed with Broadfold House, Luddenden. It was then occupied by John Uttley (a stone quarry man)  [1882-19??] and his wife, Sarah [1887-19??]

Far East, Halifax
46-48 Northgate Building, Halifax – where the bus station now stands – was the first Chinese restaurant in Halifax when it opened in 1959.

The premises had previously been occupied by Jay's Furnishing Store

Far from the Dance
Brighouse-based band formerly known as Serotonin

Far Littlemoor Cottage, Warley
Stands in what was the garden of Far Littlemoor House, Warley

Far Littlemoor House, Warley

Owners and tenants have included

See Butts Green Barn, Warley, Far Littlemoor Cottage, Warley and Littlemoor, Warley

Far Mires, Southowram
See Pot Ovens, Southowram

Far Nook, Wadsworth
Dyke Lane. Timber-framed house which was cased in stone in the early 17th century

Far Onecliffe, West Vale
Green Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Far Siddal Hall
Phoebe Lane.

Built in the 1970s by Barry Bairstow.

See Siddal Halls

Far Small Lees, Soyland

Owners and tenants have included

See Small Lees, Soyland

Far Turbury, Greetland
Farm.

Owners and tenants have included

Far View House, Illingworth
Stands on Hal Lane

Farfield, Halifax
193 Huddersfield Road.

House built by W. S. Barber as his own home.

The house stands opposite the former Stafford Arms.

Owners and tenants have included

It has been converted into apartments

Farman & Oates
Halifax transport company. Partners included William Oates.

The business was taken over by O. & C. Holdsworth

Farmers' Associations
See Farmers' Co-operative Association, Halifax & District Farmers' Association, Halifax Farmers' Trading Association Limited, Hebden Bridge & District Farmers' Association Limited and Todmorden Farmers' Alliance

Farmers' Co-operative Association

Farmery, Henry
[1864-19??] Born in Ripon.

He was a beerhouse keeper Foresters' Arms, Halifax [1905, 1911].

Around 1890, he married Unknown [1869-19??] from Doncaster.

Children: (1) Albert [b 1892] who was a clerk [1911]; (2) John William [b 1894] who was a clerk [1911]

Farming
Because of the climate and the topography of the district, many areas of Calderdale are unsuitable for arable farming. With domestic textile production, pastoral farming and arable farming formed the dual economy of the district.

See Arable farming, Cattle farming, High farming, Lime, Pastoral farming and Sheep farming

Farnell
The surname is recorded in 1750. It may mean a fern-covered hill

There are currently around 12 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Farnell. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Farnell, A. J.
[18??-1???] Butcher with premises at the bottom of Russell Street, Halifax. The Saddle Hotel was (possibly) later built on the site

Farnell & Townsend
Worsted spinners at Croft Mills, Halifax [1891]. Partners included A. Farnell and J. Townsend.

In May 1891, he was declared bankrupt

Farnell, Asa
[18??-19??] Partner in E. Farnell & Sons.

He lived at 199 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1905]

Farnell, Bentley
[1870-1931] Born in Halifax.

He was a brewer's driver.

He married Hannah Thorpe [1866-1910].


Hannah was born in Sowerby
 

Children: Maximilian.

The family lived at 18 Heath Hill, Mount Tabor [1911]

Farnell, E.
[17??-18??] He established E. Farnell & Sons.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) Elijah

Farnell's: E. Farnell & Sons
Manufacturer of wheels for carriages, carts, coaches and wagons, established by E. Farnell in 1838.

Around 1870, the firm moved to Victoria Wheel Works, Halifax.

They were still there in 1905.

Farnell's sons, John and Elijah, took over the business when their father retired.

Asa Farnell is recorded with the firm in 1905

Farnell, George
[1796-1853] A Halifax chimney sweep. Other members of his family were also chimney sweeps.

In 1841, he married Susanna Tidswell [1810-1850] in Halifax.

Children: (1) James [18??-1852]; (2) George.

The family lived at Bank Street, Halifax.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 4534]

Farnell, George
[1826-1885] Son of George Farnell.

Like other members of his family, he was a chimney sweep at Halifax.

In 1847, he married Elizabeth Dyson [18??-18??] at Saint James's Church, Halifax.

Children: (1) child who died in infancy; (2) child who died in infancy; (3) John; (4) George Edward.

The family lived at Milk Street, Halifax

Farnell, George
[1891-1916] Son of George Edward Farnell.

During World War II, he served with the 9th Battalion of the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [17th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial and mentioned on the War Memorial in Halifax Parish Church

Farnell, George Edward
[1863-1909] Son of George Farnell.

In 1886, he married Isabella McLane in Halifax.

Children: (1) Eliza McLane [b 1881]; (2) Edward Farnell McLane [b 1885]; (3) Rose Ann [1888-1981]; (4) George; (5) Harry.

The family lived at 1 Blucher Passage, Halifax [1886] and 8 Saint John Street, New Road, Halifax [1901]

Farnell, Harry
[1894-2001] Son of George Edward Farnell.

He married Esther Passchendale Roper [1943-1994].

He died at the age of 107.

See Longevity

Farnell, John
[1852-1???] Son of George Farnell.

Like other members of his family, he was a chimney sweep at Halifax

Farnell, Maximilian
[1896-1917] Son of Bentley Farnell.

Born in Wainstalls.

He was a spinner [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted and served as a Driver with the Royal Horse Artillery & Royal Field Artillery A Battery 47th Brigade,

He died of wounds [23rd April 1917].

He was buried at the Warlincourt Halte British Cemetery, Saulty [IX B 2]

Farnell, Thomas
[18??-19??] Councillor for Halifax Central ward [1894]

Farnish
A variant of the surname Furness

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Farquhar, J. W.
[18??-1898] Of Aberdeen. Master of Warley Grammar School [1853]. He wrote a book entitled The Gospel of Divine Humanity. His wife wrote a pamphlet on Sunday observance entitled The Pearl of Days with which she won a prize offered by Queen Victoria. He is said to have become a bookseller in London after leaving Warley. He died in Aberdeen

Farr, James
[1828-1898] Born at Sandbach, Cheshire. He was a chemist and druggist at 10 Crown Street, Halifax [1881]

In 1857, he married Emma Holt in Halifax.

Children: (1) Annie [b 1859]; (2) Edward [b 1860]; (3) Florence [b 1865].

The family lived at with Thomas Denton and family at 29 Crown Street, Halifax [1851]; 24 Crown Street, Halifax [1861]; 10 Crown Street, Halifax [1871]; 19 Crown Street, Halifax [1881]; Ashleigh, Savile Road, Halifax [1891]. He died at Ashleigh on 7th December 1898 [aged 70].

An advertisement for the business in January 1874 announced

DOCTOR COFFIN'S INDIAN PILLS the best family medicine offered to the public Agents for Halifax – Mr. Farr, Druggist, 24, Crown Street, Halifax.

Farr's Nervine
A patent medicine which
cures tic and all nervous pains

Recorded in the 1920s

Farrar...
The entries for people with the surname Farrar are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Farrar
Other forms of the surname include Farrer, Farror, Farrour, Ferrar and Ferrer

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 102 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Farrar. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Farrar family of Ewood
The spellings:
Farrer
Farrour
Ferrar
Ferrer
Ferror
are also found.

The family settled at Mytholmroyd around 1471.

They built and lived at Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd

Robert Farrour of Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd was an early members of the family.

Several members of the family left Ewood and migrated to America. William Farrer settled in Farrar's Island, Virginia [1618]. Others settled in the vicinity of Concord, Massachusetts [around 1645]. They were well-known in the region.

In the 18th century, members of the family participated actively in the American Revolution from its inception.

See Farrar surname and Rydings, Ovenden

The Farrar family of Southowram
Important quarrying family in and around Southowram and Brighouse.

See Alfred Farrar, George Farrar, Charles Farrar, John Farrar, Law Quarry, Southowram, Yew Tree House, Southowram and Yew Trees, Southowram

Farrar & Brogden
Recorded in 1873 at Salterlee Mills, Halifax

Farrar & Whiteley
Wine, spirit and cigar merchants. They were at 12a King Cross Street [1905] and Hopwood House, Halifax.

The original business was established in the 18th century by Mr Dickson.

In 1781, it was acquired by Samuel Farrar who established Samuel Farrar & Son with his son Thomas.

When Samuel retired, the company became Thomas R. Farrar.

In 1872, the company became Farrar & Whiteley with William J. Whiteley who subsequently became the sole principal

Farrar Brothers
Worsted spinners. They had business at Globe Mills, Halifax. Recorded in 1780-1936

Farrar, Calverley & Mayors
Card makers at Elland.

Partners included Joseph Farrar, Thomas Calverley and William Mayors.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1838

Farrar's: George Farrar Quarries Limited
Quarrier and stone workers established by George Farrar. They had business at Granny Hall Quarry, Brighouse and Pond Quarry, Brighouse. They had stone polishing works at Mill Lane, Brighouse. The quarried were opened in 1874. In 1886, the business became a limited company.

In 1891, tests on their stone produced a crushing stress of 16,371 lbs per square inch – the highest in Yorkshire.

They employed about 150 workers and had an annual output of around 33,000 tons [1895].

See William Crowther

Farrar's: H. Farrar & Son
Whitesmiths at Halifax.

The partnership was dissolved in July 1848

Farrar's: Henry Farrar & Company
Worsted manufacturers at Miall Street Mills, Halifax. It was the weaving department of Hollingrake & Clegg Limited, Established around 1878

Farrar's: Henry Farrar & Sons Limited
Cotton doublers. In 1929, they had business at Britannia Mills, Brighouse

Henry Farrar was Managing Director

Farrar's: J. & J. Farrar
Card manufacturers at Farrar's Mill, Elland [1876]

Farrar's: J. & J. Farrar
Stone quarriers at Law Quarry, Southowram, and Victoria Quarry, Elland.

See Farrar family of southowram

Farrar's: J. B. Farrar
Makers of
Patent Positive Stop-Motion Twisting Frames

at Globe Works, Halifax [1884].

See Eric Knight

Farrar's: J. Farrar Engineering Company Limited
Aka J. B. Farrar & Sons. Manufacturers of machinery for the textile and dyeing industry founded by Joseph Farrar.

The business started in 1805 in Old Lane, Halifax. They moved to Globe Works, then to Albion Works [1937]. The business closed in 1985

Farrar's: James Farrar (Brushes) Limited
Halifax. Recorded in 1937.

See Fred Ellis

Farrar's: John Farrar & Sons Limited
Stone quarrier and stone merchant established by John Farrar.

He leased the quarrying resources from Laura Forbes-Robertson of Slead Hall.

They had business at Law Quarry, Southowram [1874, 1896, 1905], Moor End Quarry, Mount Tabor [1896], Black Dike, Bradford, and Egypt, Bradford

They also had offices at North Bridge Station [1905] and Carlton Chambers, Halifax [1936]

Farrar's: Jonathan Farrar & Sons
House furnishers established in 1850 by Jonathan Farrar. He was joined by his sons, Jonathan and Thomas.

Around 1878, they moved to premises at 26 Broad Street, Halifax.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Jonathan Farrar & Sons
Complete House Furnishers

Our Show-rooms are one of the sights of Halifax

Top of Broad Street, Halifax

They were still at 26 Broad Street [1936].

See Charles F. Spring Limited

Farrar's: Mary Farrar's Benevolent Trust Fund
In her will, Mary Farrar left a sum of money which to be invested and the interest given to poor women aged over 55 from the Halifax area.

Samuel Henry Hamer was a trustee of the fund

Farrar-Mays
Ladies outfitters at Bull Green House, Halifax.

Partners included Arthur Farrar and Thomas William Mays.

After World War II, Thomas William's son, James V. A. Mays, moved from Saint Albans to join his father in running the family business in Halifax

Farrar Mill Lane Aqueduct, Siddal
The aqueduct which carried the Salterhebble Branch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation over the Hebble Brook at Farrar Mill Lane, Siddal was built in 1828 by Thomas Bradley. It is now disused

Farrar's Natural Stone
Stone making company established by George Farrar

Farrar's: Samuel Farrar & Son
Partnership of Samuel Farrar and his son, Thomas Richard Farrar. Samuel retired and the company became Thomas R. Farrar. The company eventually became Farrar & Whiteley

Farrar's: Samuel Farrar & Son
Upholsterers at 1 Fleet Street, Halifax [1905]

Farre Close, Ye
House built in 18?? which stood in Garden Road, Brighouse. It was the home of the Richard Sugden, and then the Ramsden family.

The house was demolished in the 1930s.

The name is still retained in a cul-de-sac of the same name off Blackburn Road

Farrel, Catherine
[1763-1868] Widow of Patrick Farrel, basket-maker and fisherman.

She died at the Halifax Workhouse at the age of 105 years.

See Longevity

Farrer
A variant of the surname Farrar

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 33 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Farrer. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Farrer, Major A.
[18??-19??] Of Woodlands, Luddenden.

He married Unknown.

Children: son [b 1880]

Farrer, Major Arthur
[18??-18??] Of the Madras Cavalry.

Son of Henry Farrer of Scaleby Hall, Cumberland.

On 19th September 1877, he married Edith Annie Bracken, at Bolton Abbey.


Edith Annie was the daughter of
Richard Bracken
 

Children: (1) Arthur G D [b 1879]; (2) Richard Bracken.

In 1881, Edith and the children were living with her parents in Midgley.

In 1891, Edith married Horace Parr Yeld

Farrer, Benjamin
[1788-1877] He was a watchmaker.

He married Ellen Thompson [1787-1854].

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) Robert; (7) child; (8) child

Farrer, Brian
[1515-1575] Son of Henry Farrer.

In 1539, he (possibly) married Margaret Lacy [1518-1567].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Henry [1540-1565]; (2) Robert [1542-1???]; (3) Mary [b 1544]; (4) Grace [b 1545]; (5) Richard; (6) Alice [b 1549]; (7) Agnes [1551-1581]; (8) Sarah [b 1554]; (9) Susan [b 1557]

Farrer, Captain
[15??-16??] He was a military man training militia in the Halifax district prior to the Civil War. When the war began, he joined the Parliamentary forces.

See Captain Thomas Beaumont

Farrer, Edward
[15??-1609] Of Sowerby.

He (possibly) married Margaret Wade.

Children: (1) Judith; (2) Abraham; (3) Susan; (4) Dorothy; (5) Margaret; (6) Mary [15??-1643] who married Nicholas Hanson

Farrer, Elkanah
[1689-1761] Son of John Farrer.

Born in Ovenden.

On 21st February 1710, he married Rachel, daughter of Luke Hoyle.

Children: (1) John [1710-1726]; (2) Mary; (3) Sarah [b 1715]; (4) Elkanah; (5) Rachel [1720-1746]; (6) Luke [b 1725]; (7) Susan [b 1728]; (8) John [b 1731]

Farrer, Elkanah
[1718-1799] Son of Elkanah Farrer.

He inherited Rydeing, Ovenden Wood from his grandmother, Mary

Farrer, G. A.
[18??-19??] Medical practitioner in Brighouse [1895]

Farrer, Dr George Albert
[1855-1916] Son of Dr Robert Farrar.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a surgeon [1891, 1901, 1911].

In [Q2] 1889, he married Mary Smith [1864-19??] from Colne, in Burnley.

Children: (1) George Piercy [b 1891] who was an electrical engineer [1911]; (2) Doris Marian [b 1893].

The family lived at Spring Villa, Brighouse [1911]

Farrer, Henry
[1???-1???] Son of John Farrer.

He inherited Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd.

He married Anne Horsfall.

Children: (1) William; (2) Henry; (3) John; (4) Edward

Farrer, Henry
[1490-1542] Of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Brian; (2) Thomas [b 1518] who became a priest

Farrer, Henry
[15??-16??] He had a fulling mill at Luddendenfoot [1588, 1599].

A Foldout describes the 1599 dispute between Michael Foxcroft and Farrer over the water rights to their mills

Farrer, Henry
[15??-1610] Or Ferror. Of Ewood Hall, Midgley. Son of William Farrer.

In 1585, he and his brothers – John of Croxon, Lincolnshire, and Hugh – gave 2 acres of land at Skircoat for the building of Heath Grammar School. At his own expense, he obtained the charter for the foundation of the school.

He married Ellen Blakey.

He was murdered at Westminster in 1610

Farrer, Isaac
[15??-1646] A clothmaker of Ball Green, Sowerby. He was Constable of Sowerby Township [1629].

After the death of Jeremy Brigg [in 1613] he married his widow, Susan Brigg. Susan and Isaac were jointly made guardians of young Joseph Brigg who was not of age when his father died.

In 1638, he became the owner of Lower Fieldhouse by the surrender from Joseph Brigg.

Children: Isaac

Farrer, James
[16??-1717] Of Ewood Hall. (Possibly) son of John Farrer.

He married Mary Templeman.

There is a monument to him in Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden

Farrer, John
[1???-1???] Son of Henry Farrar.

He inherited Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd.

He married Unknown.

Children: Henry

Farrer, John
[1???-17??] Of Ewood Hall. Son of William Farrar.

He married Dorothea, daughter of Nicholas Hanson.

Children: (1) William; (2) James

Farrer, John
[1662-1726] Or Farrar.

On 16th September 1685, he married Elizabeth Currer.

Children: (1) Thomas [1688-1742]; (2) Mary [1687/9-1765] who married Ely Stansfield; (3) Hannah [bapt 1693]; (4) John; (5) Elizabeth [bapt 1697]; (6) Sarah [bapt 1699]; (7) Timothy who went to Leeds; (8) Joseph; (9) Debora [16??-1711].

They lived at Cliff Hill, Warley; Westfield, Warley; Hoyle Green, Warley [1702].

On their father's death, his property passed to son John and then to son Joseph

Farrer, John
[1666-1707] Of Ewood Hall. Son of Jacob Farrar.

In 16??, he married Mary Rydeings [1670-1705].

Children: Elkanah.

The family lived at Rydeing, Ovenden Wood

Farrer, John
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1811]

Farrer, Jonathan
[1671-1743] Or Farrar. Son of Jacob Farrar.

Clockmaker of Sinderhills.

He married Martha Ackeroyd.

Children: (1) Jonathan; (2) Abraham of Warley; (3) John [1711-1773] who was a weaver of Midgley; (4) Samuel who died in infancy; (5) Benjamin who died in infancy

Farrer, Jonathan
[17??-17??] Or Farrar. Son of Jonathan Farrer.

Like his father, he was a clockmaker

Farrer, Joyce
[1580-16??] Daughter of Richard Farrer.

She died after 7th April 1610

Farrer, Judith
[1???-1???] Daughter of Edward Farrer. Her first husband was William Dean. Her second husband was Jasper Blythman

Farrer, Mary
[1712-1735] Of Rydeing, Ovenden Wood. Daughter of Elkanah Farrer.

She married Samuel Ramsbottom

Farrer, Richard
[1547-1610] Son of Brian Farrer.

On 3rd July 1570, he married Margaret Blackburn

Children: (1) Mary [b 1572] who married George Fairbanks; (2) John [b 1574]; (3) Sarah [b 1576]; (4) Henry [b 1578]; (5) Joyce; (6) William [b 1582]; (7) Grace [b 1584] who married Anthony Gemyes; (8) Susan [b 1587] who married Alexander Bradshaw.

He died and was buried at Erringden

Farrer, Richard Bracken
[1880-1917] Son of Colonel Arthur Farrar.

He was a barrister. He was a director of Jonathan Bracken & Sons Limited.

He was killed in World War I

Farrer, Dr Robert
[1822-1894] LFPS (Glas), LS (Lond). Born in Pontefract in 1822. Son of Benjamin Farrer.

He was head of the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary [1851]; surgeon at Church Lane, Brighouse [1861]; certifying surgeon under the Factory Act [1861]; a general practitioner [1851, 1861, 1871, 1881]; retired surgeon [1891].

Recorded in May 1882, when he was being driven along Elland Road to visit patients. A bolt at the bottom of the phæton gave way, allowing the front part to leave the rest behind. The startled horse set off at a gallop and ran into the gates of Mr Richardson's garden where it caught itself by the neck in the ornamental spikes at the top. It was severely injured and had to be put down on the spot. The doctor and the coachman escaped unharmed.

In 1852, he married Fanny, daughter of George Piercy, at Halifax.

Children: (1) Benjamin Percy [1853-1894]; (2) George Albert; (3) Frances Ellen [b 1856] who married Bernard Green; (4) Robert Thompson; (5) Annie Louisa [1860-1862]; (6) Fanny Emily [1860-1862]; (7) Annie Louisa [1863-1912] who married Edward Charles Jobson; (8) Charles Henry [b 1865]; (9) Edith Ada [1867-1944]; (10) Fanny Margaret [1870-1960].

The family lived at Church Lane, Brighouse [1861]; Spring Villa, Brighouse [1871, 1881]; 29 Esplanade Gardens, Scarborough [1891].

He died in Scarborough [1894].

Farrer, Robert Noel
[1886-19??] Son of Dr Robert Thompson Farrer.

He was a medical student [1911].

In [Q3] 1913, he married Maud R Welch in Leeds

Farrer, Dr Robert Thompson
[1858-1948] MRCP, MRCS (England), LSA (London, 1881).

Son of Dr Robert Farrer.

He was surgeon at New North Road Infirmary, Huddersfield [1881]; general practitioner at Mayfield, Church Street, Brighouse [1891]; surgeon [1901, 1911].

He is mentioned in many newspaper reports as tending the ailing worthies of Brighouse.

In 1886, he married Henrietta Sophia Jobson [1863-1943] at Hartlepool.

Children: (1) Robert Noel; (2) Gladys Vera [b 1888] who married Reginald Sawyer; (3) Agnes Dulce [b 1896] who married William Hanson.

The family lived at Mayfield, Brighouse [1901, 1911].

They moved to live in Scarborough.

He died in Scarborough [1948]

Farrer, Susan
[15??-16??] Of Ewood.

She married Robert Whittell

Farrer, William
[1725-1762] Halifax lawyer. Son of John Farrer of Ewood Hall. He was articled to John Baldwin. From 1753 to 1756, he was in partnership with John Bentley

Farrimond, Rev W.
[18??-1936] MA, MC.

Vicar of Saint James's Church, Halifax [1936]

Farror
A variant of the surname Farrar

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Farror's Bounder, Wadsworth
Stone which marks the boundary of Wadsworth township

Farrour
A variant of the surname Farrar

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Farrour, Henry
[1???-1548] aka Henry of the Wood. Son of Robert Farrour.

He married Agnes Barcroft.

Children: William

Farrour, Robert
[1???-1526] Of Midgley. He was one of the first of the Farrars of Ewood.

He married Unknown.

Children: Henry

Farrow's Bank Limited
An advertisement for the business on 6th October 1914 announced


FARROW'S BANK LTD
will open a Branch at 18, Silver Street
on Monday next, 12th October

Chairman & Managing Director: MR. THOMAS FARROW Head Office – 1 Cheapside, London EC

The Silver Street building was acquired by Martins Bank, Halifax

The Farsley family
See Shelf Hall

Farsley, Geoffrey de
[12??-13??] His family owned the Manor of Shelf Hall, Because of Geoffrey's treachery, the Manor was forfeited to the Crown

Farsley, Tom
[18??-19??] Of Halifax. On 6th March 1901, he undertook a wager to eat 14 pigeons in 14 days. He won and ate 2 on the final day

Fascione, Francis
[19??-19??] Demolition contractor at Halifax [1950s]

Fast Ends
See Bride Stones

Fat Dan
[18??-1834] On 3rd January 1835, The Leeds Mercury reported
On Christmas Day, in a Caravan at Colne, the Yorkshire youth better known in this neighbourhood as Fat Dan – he was a native of Queens Head in the parish of Halifax, his weight was 31 stone

Fat rascal
A rich fruity scone – like a rock bun – made with candied peel, almonds and cherries

Faucon, Rochette & Company
Patent soap manufacturers at Bonegate / Bradford Road, Brighouse [1874]. Partners included André Prosper Rochette

Faulkner, Rev Henry Jackson Hardcastle
[18??-19??] Curate at Lightcliffe [1890] and Headmaster of Hipperholme Grammar School [1890].

In 1892, he was appointed Perpetual Curate at Milburn

Fausit, Sam
[1???-17??] Or Fawcett.

Of Townend, Soyland or Soyland Gate [1740s].

He was allowed to fetch water from the pumphouse which Sam Hill had built for Sarah and Joshua Radcliffe at Raynor Land, and he could also scour cloth there

Favour, Dr John
[1556-1623] LLD.

Lawyer and physician born in Southampton. He was Vicar of Halifax. He founded Heath Grammar School.

Favour, John
[1598-16??] Elder son of Dr John Favour.

He became Prebendary of Southwell and of Ripon, and rector of Sutton-on-Derwent and Rainton

Fawcett, Abraham
[18??-19??] Coal and coke merchant and colliery agent at 290 Queens Road, Halifax [1916, 1919]. He had depots at Pellon Station, Saint Paul's Station, Holmfield and Church Street, Halifax

Fawcett, Abraham
[1817-1855] Beerhouse keeper at 93 New Bank, Halifax – the Crown Tavern, Halifax [1871].

He married Elizabeth Naylor [1821-1882].

Children: Alice [1852-1911] who married Charles Cockroft [1853-1881].

He died at 18 Garden Street, Halifax.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £52 2/-. Probate was granted to his widowed daughter Alice Cockroft, also of 18 Garden Street, Halifax

Fawcett & Company
Stone merchants & quarrymen at Southowram.

Partners included Joe Fawcett, Thomas Holdsworth, and John Carter Naylor.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1907

Fawcett, Barbara
[1724-1775] Of Illingworth. Daughter of William Fawcett.

In the Summer of 1753, she was married to William Walker Dyson by the notorious Dr Alexander Keith at his private Chapel in Mayfair.

Dyson died on 3rd September 1753.

She married (2) Thomas Aked

Fawcett, Benjamin
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 3 Malt Shovel Yard [15 lodgers in 1903]

Fawcett, Douglas
[19??-19??] He was Mayor of Halifax [1964-1965]

Fawcett, E.
[18??-18??] Curate at Saint James's Church, Halifax [1865].

He lived at Hampden Place, Halifax [1865]

Fawcett, Florence Louisa
[1873-1873] Illegitimate daughter of Ellen Fawcett.

On Thursday, 17th July 1873, the child – aged 1 month – died at her home in Durham's Yard, Brighouse. Rumours spread that the child had been poisoned.

Enquiries set on foot by the police tended in some measure to confirm these statements ... the mother of the child and the woman with whom she lodged [Charlotte, wife of James Bush] were severely censured by the Coroner for their ignorant and careless conduct through which the life of the infant had been sacrificed

The Jury returned a verdict that

We find that [the child] has come to her death for an overdose of laudanum, ignorantly and carelessly administered by the mother, whose conduct we consider reprehensible

Fawcett Greenwood & Company
Printers at Central Hall, Halifax [1936, 1937] and Winding Road, Halifax [1950s]

Fawcett, Harold
[18??-19??] In 1910, he married Edith Stephenson in Brighouse

Fawcett, Henry
[1833-1884] A statesman and economist.

He married Millicent Garrett [1847-1929], younger sister of physician Elizabeth Garrett Anderson [1836-1917].

He and his wife were campaigners for women's suffrage.

On 11th March 1914, Mrs Fawcett addressed a meeting at Sowerby Bridge

Fawcett, Hugh
[15??-1641] Or Faucit.

He married Unknown.

Children: Hugh [d 1668].

Father and son were buried at Halifax Parish Church

Fawcett, James
[1797-1853] Son of John Fawcett.

He was a worsted manufacturer [1841].

In 1845, with John Hodgson and John Riley, he established a Baptist cause in Brearley. Brearley Baptist Church was formed in March 1846.

On 30th March 1820, he married Ann Crossley.


Ann was the daughter of John Crossley of Great House, Stansfield
 

Children: (1) John Crossley [1821-1904]; (2) William [b 1823]; (3) Esther [b 1824]; (4) Mary [1827].

The family lived at Greenfield, Luddendenfoot which he had built [1841]

Fawcett, Dr John
[1739-1817] Theologian. Son of Stephen Fawcett and brother of Rev Richard Fawcett.

See Elland Particular Baptist Church, Fawcett tomb, Wainsgate, William Hartley, John Fawcett Centre, Hebden Bridge, Poem about Rev Oliver Heywood and Rev John Parker

Fawcett, John
[1768-1837] Son of Dr John Fawcett.

In 1799, he established a preaching place and Sunday School at Mytholmroyd.

He continued his father's work in training Baptist ministers.

On 2nd April 1795 he married Ann Hargreaves, (possibly) in Lancashire.

Children: (1) James; (2) William; (3) Sarah [1804-1861] who married B. Marshall and died in Avranches, France where she had gone for the benefit of her health; (4) Stephen; (5) Mary [1811-1873]

He died at Ewood Hall [13th July 1837].

He was buried at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge

Fawcett, John
[1825-1863] Son of delver James Fawcett.

Born in Southowram.

He was an iron moulder [1847]; a clogger [1851]; clogger & beer seller at the Oddfellows Arms, Clifton Bridge, Brighouse [1861].

In 1847, he married Mary Whitaker at Elland Church.


Mary was the daughter of William Whitaker
 

Children: (1) William [b 1849]; (2) James [b 1850]; (3) Sarah [b 1855]; (4) Whitaker [b 1859]; (5) John William [b 1860].

The family lived at Thornhill Brigg, Brighouse [with Mary's parents 1851]; the Oddfellows Arms, Clifton Bridge, Brighouse [1861]; 70 Bonegate Road, Brighouse [1871]

Mary's widowed father William Whitaker was living with them [1861, 1871].

John died in 1863.

Mary died October 16th 1896.

The couple were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse Mary with her parents.

Fawcett, John
[1837-1904] Son of Stephen Fawcett.

In 1861, he married Emma Barton in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary E. B. [1861-1867]; (2) Nanny [b 1863]; (3) Jane Ellen [b 1865]; (4) George Graham [b 1865] who was a boiler maker [1904]; (5) Emily [b 1870]; (6) Abraham [b 1875]; (7) Stephen Miller [b 1880].

The family lived at Peat House, Halifax.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904

Fawcett, John Crossley
[1821-1904] Son of James Fawcett.

Born in Midgley.

He was a land owner [1871]; independent with income derived chiefly from land [1881]; living on own means [1891, 1901]; [1901].

In 1860, he married Sarah Sutcliffe [1829-1920] from Stansfield.

Children: (1) Sarah Emily [1862-1930] who married Sir John Cousin Horsfall; (2) Annie Elizabeth [b 1864].

The family lived at Greenfield, Brearley [1871, 1881, 1891]; Greenfield, Lytham, Blackpool [1901].

In 1881, there were 3 visitors staying with the family; Margaret Kezia Sagar [aged 25], Ellen Whitham [aged 25], and Henry Sagar [aged 17].

He died at Lytham [6th January 1904]. He was buried at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge.

Sarah died in Blackpool

Fawcett, John William
[1861-1910] Son of John Fawcett.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a silk piecer [1871]; a silk dresser [1881, 1891]; (possibly) landlord at the Prince of Wales, Brighouse [1898]; landlord of the Albion, Brighouse [1901]; landlord of the Vine, Brighouse [1901].

In 1880, he married Emily Cliffe [1861-19??] from Todmorden, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Ethel [b 1880-dead by 1911] who married Fred Schofield; (2) Clement [b 1886] who was a stuff presser (dyeworks) [1901]; (3) Gertrude [b 1887] who was assisting at the pub [1911].

The family lived at Bank Street Cottage, Hipperholme-with-Brighouse [with Emily's widowed mother Mary 1881]; Albion Street, Brighouse [1891]; 179 Elland Road, Brighouse [1901]; the Albion, Brighouse [1911].

Living with them in 1891 was Emily's sister Annie E Cliffe [aged 33] (silk spreader) 

When John William took over at the landlord of the Vine, Brighouse [1901], Emily took over at the Albion [1901, 1911, 1917]

Living with them in 1901 was nephew Ralph Fawcett [aged 18] (padder at dyeworks).

Living with the widowed Emily in 1911 were daughter Gertrude, widowed son-in-law Fred Schofield, and grandchildren Clifford Bickett Schofield [aged 8] and Kathleen Fawcett Schofield [aged 2]

Fawcett, Mary
[17??-1822] Youngest daughter of General Sir William Fawcett.

In 1776, she married William Aked.

In 1795, she became the second wife of Joseph Lister.

On her death, Northgate House passed to James Lister

Fawcett, Mr
[1???-18??] In April 1839, Dr Robert Howard wrote a letter to The Lancet, complaining of a Mr Fawcett whom he considered to be an empiric, a quack or a charlatan and who was operating in Heptonstall, Todmorden and Halifax.

Howard says that Fawcett had been apprenticed to a druggist in Newcastle, and was subsequently called to the Wesleyan Methodist ministry.

He goes on to describe how Fawcett visited the sick as a minister and then – ignoring professional medical advice – prescribed medicines which were to be made up at a local druggist's shop.

On one occasion, Fawcett attended a girl suffering from phthisis. When his remedies proved of no avail, Fawcett remarked

I think you'll be in heaven tomorrow night

The girl survived

Fawcett, Rev Richard
[1741-1807] Of Ewood Hall. Son of Stephen Fawcett. Brother of Dr John Fawcett

He died 19th January 1807

Fawcett, Robert
[16??-17??] Of Savile Hall, Halifax [1726].

He married Barbara Wood.

Children: William

Fawcett, Stephen
[1703-1752] (Possibly) son of Stephen Fawcett [1677-17??]. Born at Lidget Green.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Richard; (2) John

Fawcett, Stephen
[1806-1876] Grandson of Rev John Fawcett. Born in Midgley.

He built Machpelah House.

He was

  • A farmer [1841]

  • A landed proprietor [1851]

  • A land & house proprietor [1861]

  • A Baptist Deacon at Hebden Bridge

  • Assistant at Brearley Baptist Church

  • A local occasional preacher of the Baptist Society, deriving income from houses, dividends and land [1871]

He married Ann [1808-1892].

Children: Elizabeth

The family lived at Ewood Hall [1841]; Marshfield, Wadsworth [1851]; 28 Milton Place, Halifax [1861]; 10 Milton Place, Halifax [1871]; (after Stephen's death) Machpelah, Wadsworth [1881]; 12 Machpelah, Wadsworth [1891]

In 1841, Mary Cousin [aged 20] was living with the family.

See Bethel Baptist Chapel, Norland

Fawcett, Stephen
[1810-1???] Son of Esther [née Hartley] [1780-1865] and Joseph Fawcett [1780-1865]. Born in Otley.

He married Elizabeth Walton, born in Halifax.

Children: (1) John; (2) Elizabeth [b 1842]; (3) Sarah [b 1847]; (4) Thomas Jackson [b 1849]; (5) Theodosia [b 1852]

Fawcett, Stephen
[1821-1871] An engine tenter of Malt Shovel Yard, Halifax.

At 3:00 am on 12th August 1871, the 50-year-old was found lying insensible at the bottom of a flight of steps in Waterhouse Street, Halifax. His skull was fractured and a rib broken. His boots were found about 2 ft from his body. He died on 20th August 1871.

At the Inquest, the Jury returned an open verdict, and criticised the police authorities for allowing 6 to elapse before making enquiries into the cause of Fawcett's injuries

Fawcett tomb, Wainsgate
A table tomb for Dr John Fawcett stands over his vault at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge

Fawcett, Major-General William
[17??-1823] Son of General Sir William Fawcett

Fawcett, William
[1703-17??] Aka Faucitt. Clothier of Bull Close, Halifax. Son of Robert Fawcett.

In 1721, he married Martha Lister.

Children: (1) James [b 1722]; (2) Barbara; (3) William; (4) Mary [b 1732].

See Japhet Issott

Fawcett, General Sir William
[1727-1804] KB, KCB.

Son of Martha Lister and William Fawcett.

Born at Shibden Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Mary; (2) William.

At the age of 18, and against his mother's wishes, he became a cadet in the cavalry of General Oglethorpe's Regiment, who fought in the Jacobite Rebellion of 1745. He fought in the Flanders campaign of 1746 and 1748.

In 1756-1763, he fought in the Seven Years' War.

In 1757, he translated the Memoirs of the Art of War by Marshall Saxe.

In 1760, he famously announced the Victory of Warburg to George II in German, and as a reward, he was promoted to Lieutenant Colonel.

He became Commander in Chief of the British Army.

He was a governor of Chelsea Hospital

Fawcett, William
[1799-1874] Son of John Fawcett.

He was a Baptist Minister at Sutton-in-Craven. He assisted at Brearley Baptist Church and from 1829 to 1836, at Millwood Particular Baptist Church, Stansfield [??]

Fawcett, William
[18??-1891] From Queensbury. Landlord of the Wheatsheaf Inn, Halifax.

He married Ann

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1891

Fawcett, William H.
[18??-19??] Partner in Hughes, Fawcett & Company.

He lived at Myrtle Grove, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Fawkes, Ellen
[1841-1890] Daughter of Rev Ayscough Fawkes of Farnley Hall. Born at Farnley Hall, Farnley, Yorkshire [28th March 1841].

She married Sir George John Armytage at Paddington.

In 1890, she died at Elvaston Place, Kensington, London, and was buried at Hartshead

Fawkes, Walter
Walter Ramsden Hawksworth changed his name to Fawkes

Fawley's: G. Fawley & Son
Sanitary engineers at Savile Park, Halifax [1900]

Fawthorpe
A variant of the surname Fawthrop

Fawthrop
Another form of the surname is Fawthorpe

George Redmonds writes that the name may originate in the Skipton district, and John Fawthropp is recorded at Midgley in 1573 and John Fawthorpe is recorded at Luddenden in 1642

There are currently around 21 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fawthrop. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Fawthrop, Edmond
[1876-19??] Son of Frederick Fawthrop.

Born in Halifax.

He was a boot rivetter [1899].

On 19th September 1899, he married Amy Gertrude Hanson [1878-1???] at Saint Augustine's, Halifax

Fawthrop, Francis
[1771-1842] Born in Northowram.

He was a grocer [1841].

He owned land and property in Shelf, Northowram, Causeway End, Queenshead, and Clayton.

On 9th October 1792, he married (1) Alice Drake [1773-1832] in Bradford Parish Church.

Children: (1) Timothy; (2) William; (3) James [1807-1856]; (4) Betty [b 1799] who married (1) Richard Charnock and (2) Thomas Robert Ramsden, carpenter; (5) Harriet who married (1) Abraham Ambler [1???-1856] and (2) Thomas Hodgson; (6) Joseph [b 1794].

Alice died in Queenshead [8th August 1832].

She was buried at General Baptist Chapel, Queensbury [August 1832].

On 3rd July 1834, he married (2) Sarah Nichols in Bradford Parish Church.

Francis died in Queenshead [31st October 1842].

He was buried at General Baptist Chapel, Queensbury [8th November 1842]

Fawthrop, Frederick
[1845-1884] Son of John Fawthrop

He was a partner in Bancroft & Fawthrop.

On 7th January 1869, he married Emily, daughter of John Garnett, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary Ann [b 1869]; (2) Henry; (3) Maria [1872-1947]; (4) Anne [1873-1974]; (5) John Garnett [1874-1948]; (6) Edmond; (7) William [b 1877]; (8) Alice [1879-1961] who married Clement Brook; (9) Frederick [1880-1977]; (10) Arthur [1882-1921]; (11) Louis [1885-1966].

The family lived at Stannary Street, Halifax; Gladstone Road, Halifax

Fawthrop, Frederick Thomas
[1880-1918] Son of James Henry Fawthrop.

Born in Halifax.

He was a law clerk [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [18th October 1918].

He was buried at the Bucquoy Road Cemetery, Ficheux [III J 12]

Fawthrop, George Edgar
[1865-1938] Born in Brighouse.

He was a mechanic/iron turner [1892].

In 1892, he married Emily Widdop in Halifax


Emily was the daughter of
Joseph Lumb Widdop
 

Children: (1) Willie; (2) Edith May [b 1896]; (3) Sarah Alice [1898-1902].

Emily died in Halifax [1928].

George Edgar died in Blackpool [1938]

Fawthrop, Henry
[1834-1884] Born in Barkisland.

He was a tailor & draper [1881]; publican at the Station Hotel, Holywell Green [1881].

On 4th October 1866, he married Mary Elizabeth Hepworth [1840-1892] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Elizabeth was born in Gawthorp
 

Children: (1) Willie Hepworth; (2) John Henry [1873-1875]; (3) Sarah Hannah [1875-1935] who married Charles Edmund Rothwell; (4) Harry [b 1878]; (5) Beatrice [1881-1882].

Living with them at the Station Hotel, Holywell Green in 1881 were sister-in-law Louisa Hepworth [aged 30] (servant), niece Annie Smith [aged 21] (servant), and nephew Ben. H. Smith [aged 20] (clerk).

Henry died 24th January 1884.

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £777 19/1d to Mary.

Mary took over at the Station Hotel [1884, 1887]

Mary died 18th July 1892.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £3,375 12/8d to Joseph Davidson

Fawthrop, Henry
[1871-1???] Son of Frederick Fawthrop.

He was a brush manufacturer [1896].

On 12th December 1896, he married Louisa Archer [1868-1???] at Saint Augustine's, Halifax. Louisa was living at Raglan Street Halifax [1895]

Fawthrop, J.
[18??-18??] Wholesale druggist at Halifax.

In April 1870, he was declared bankrupt

Fawthrop, J.
[18??-19??] Surgeon at Queensbury.

In September 1884, he was declared bankrupt

Fawthrop, James Henry
[1852-1912] Born in Halifax.

He was a shopkeeper-grocer [1880].

In 1879, he married Elizabeth Annie Stonehouse [1858-1951] in Halifax.


Elizabeth Annie was born in York
 

Children: (1) Henry Stonehouse [b 1880]; (2) Fred Thomas Fawthrop; (3) Ethel [b 1884]; (4) Arthur William [1885-1949] who died in Storthes Hall; (5) Alice [b 1887]; (6) Elsie [b 1892].

The family lived at 2 Craven Place, Halifax [1911]; 10 First Avenue, Halifax [1918]

Fawthrop, John
[1817-1855] Son of Timothy Fawthrop.

Born in Halifax.

On 12th October 1842, he married Mary Ann Craven in Halifax.


Mary Ann was the daughter of Jesse Craven
 

Children: (1) John Booth; (2) Thomas; (3) Joseph [1853-1881] who was a brushmaker [1871]; (4) Frederick; (5) Hannah Maria [1843-1844]

Fawthrop, John Booth
[1851-1890] Son of John Fawthrop.

He was a joiner [1881].

In 1874, he married Martha, daughter of John Garnett, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Walter; (2) Nelly [b 1877] who married George Illingworth Turner; (3) George [b 1880]; (4) Tom.

The family lived at 47 Crib Lane, Halifax [1871]; 14 Crompton Street, Halifax [1891]

Fawthrop, John T.
[1856-19??] Of Cragg Vale. Landlord of the Prince Albert Hotel, Brighouse [1900, 1909].

He married Mary E. [1859-19??] from Cragg Vale.

Children: (1) Sarah Ann [b 1880]; (2) Irving [b 1882]; (3) Harold [1900-1???]

Fawthrop, John Thomas
[18??-19??] Councillor for Halifax Central ward [1894]

Fawthrop, Dr Joseph
[1786-18??] Surgeon of Queens Head.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Maria [b 1821]; (2) Mary [b 1821]; (3) Louisa [b 1825].

In January 1835, he married Mary Jowett from Holdsworth at Halifax Parish Church.

The family lived at 1 Square, Halifax [1837]; Square, Halifax [1841]

Fawthrop, Joseph
[1827-18??] Son of delver David Fawthrop.

Born in Southowram.

He was a delver of Southowram [1849]; a stone delver [1851, 1871].

In 1849, he married Elizabeth Barrett [1830-1907] at Halifax Parish Church.


Elizabeth, of Southowram, was the daughter of delver Jeremiah Barrett

She was widowed [by 1881]; beerhouse keeper at the Blue Bell Inn, Bank Top Road, Southowram [1881].

 

Children: (1) John [b 1851] who was a stone delver [1871, 1881] a quarryman delver [1891] a delver (stone quarry) [1901]; (2) Elizabeth [b 1853].

The family lived at Hall Ing, Southowram [1851]; Pinfold House, Barkisland [1871]; the Blue Bell, Southowram [1881]; Highfield, Southowram [1891, 1901].

Living with them in 1871 was widowed father-in-law Jeremiah Barratt [aged 65]

Fawthrop, Thomas
[1848-1???] Son of John Fawthrop.

Born in Halifax.

He was a tailor [1871].

He was a lodger at 16 Greenwood Street, the home of master tailor John Fawcett, [1871]

In 1872, he married Elizabeth Alice Topp [1852-1???] in Halifax.


Elizabeth Alice, from Exhall, Bedworth, Warwickshire, was the daughter of Eliza and Mr Topp
 

Children: (1) William E. [b 1873] who was a brushmaker [1891]; (2) Emily Alice [b 1875]; (3) Walter [b 1877]; (4) Florence [b 1878].

The family lived at 27 Westbrook Terrace, Halifax [1901]

Fawthrop, Timothy
[1796-1857] Son of Francis Fawthrop.

Born in Northowram.

He was a currier & leather cutter [1820]; a currier & leather cutter at Woolshops, Halifax [1822]; in business in Woolshops [1850].

On 9th July 1815, he married Sarah Booth [1798-18??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah came from North Bierley
 

Children: (1) John; (2) Francis George [b 1822]; (3) Hannah [b 1823]; (4) Mary Ann [b 1826] who married John Spencer; (5) Sarah Alice [b 1829] who married Mr Wright; (6) Timothy [b 1832]; (7) Joseph [b 1835]; (8) Eliza [b 1837] see John Edwin Spencer; (9) Frederick Booth [b 1819].

The family lived at 4 Lower Emmet's Court, Halifax [1851]; 10 Bedford Street, Halifax [1861].

Timothy died in Halifax [11th April 1857].

In his will, Timothy bequeathed the properties

  • Upper Pike Law Farm, Sowerby

  • Sunny Bank Farm, Sowerby

  • Land Bed Farm, Sowerby

  • Flight House, Soyland

  • 5 dwelling houses in Water Lane, Halifax

  • 5 cottages at Caddy Field

  • 5 cottages at Heap, Southowram Bank

  • 5 cottages at Illingworth Moor, Ovenden

  • One sixth of the cottages at Toad Carr near Todmorden

  • Land at Far Height Hill and Maiden Homes Moor

He also made provision for the 4 sons of his son John who had died

Fawthrop, Tom
[1884-1937] Son of John Booth Fawthrop.

He drove a horse-and-cart dray wagon for [which company?].

In 19??, the brewery gave him a motorised vehicle.

On a delivery on 10th July 1937, he forgot to put the brake on and the vehicle rolled and pinned him to a wall. He died from his injuries on 30th July 1937

Fawthrop, Walter
[1875-1968] Son of John Booth Fawthrop.

Born in Halifax.

He was a good scholar but had to leave school following the death of his father; keen on cricket and acted as an umpire; a cotton twiner [1901]; a worker in the woollen mills; a member and Provincial Grandmaster of the Independent Order of Oddfellows, Manchester Unity.

On 21st April 1905, he married Martha Anne Horsfall in Halifax.


Martha Ann was the daughter of James Horsfall
 

Children: (1) Martha [1910-1971] who married Telford Thompson Dyson; (2) Annie [1912-1994] who married [1936] Harry Howarth from Lancashire.

The family lived at 6 Howard Street, Halifax [1911].

He died in Halifax Infirmary from pneumonia after falling out of bed.

He was buried at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross with his wife Martha, and her parents James and Emma Jane Horsfall

Fawthrop, William
[1804-1885] Son of Francis Fawthrop.

He married Hannah [1803-1887].

Children: (1) Emma [1830-1915] who married Joseph Stocks; (2) Edwin [1835] who died aged 5 months; (3) Ellis [1836-1865]; (4) Tamar [1837-1846]; (5) Francis [1838-1841]; (6) Phineas [1841-1895].

Members of the family were buried at General Baptist Chapel, Queensbury

Fawthrop, Willie
[1894-1964] Son of George Edgar Fawthrop.

Born in Brighouse. In 1923, he married Edith Firth [1892-1958] in Halifax.


Edith was born in Rastrick
 

Children: George Edgar [b 1929] who was a building contracts manager [1964].

Edith died in Halifax Infirmary [3rd December 1958].

Willie died in Brighouse [28th November 1964]

Fawthrop, Willie Hepworth
[1870-1906] Son of Henry Fawthrop.

Born in Stainland.

He was licensed victualler at the Station Hotel, Holywell Green [1905]; a hotel manager [1901].

On 8th September 1898, he married Emma Whitworth Brickles at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Dorothy [1899-1903]; (2) Kathleen Mary [1900-1989]; (3) Leslie Hepworth [1905-1963].

The family lived at Beech House, Stainland [1901].

Willie died at the Station Hotel, Holywell Green [21st September 1906].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £4,045 3/-. Probate was granted to his widow Emma.

After his death, Emma married William Holroyd Kaye

Fax, Mr Hal E.
A character involved in the promotion of the Shopping Festival and Exhibition which was presented by the Halifax Chamber of Commerce in 1934.

He was described as

walking round the streets, inspecting the shops, talking to people, laughing, chatting merrily, with money in his pocket to give to the first person who can recognise him. All you have to do is to go up to him and say:
You are Mr Hal E. Fax. I claim the shopping festival prize

Anyone who recognised and challenged him correctly received a £2 reward

Faxall Products
Halifax.

Closed in 1980

Fearby, Elizabeth
[18??-1884] Daughter of John Fearby [17??-18??] of Poppleton Lodge, York. Her father was dead by the time she married Edward Akroyd. [10th October 1838].

Her sister, Jane, married Thomas Frederick Champney.

See Century Works, Halifax

Fearn, George
[18??-18??] Monumental sculptor at 1 King Cross Street, Halifax [1874]

Fearnley, A.
[1???-1933] Organist at Saint Peter's Mission Church, Brookfoot [1933]

Fearnley Brothers
Brighouse builders. Saint Paul's Wesleyan Methodist Sunday School, Brighouse was built on the site of their yard in King Street/Police Street

Fearnley Charity
For the benefit of old and deserving poor persons connected with Northgate End Unitarian Chapel, Halifax, with preference for spinsters and widows without issue

Fearnley, George
[18??-1???] Born in Clifton.

He was a wire drawer.

Around 1881, he emigrated to America and settle in Johnstown, Pennsylvania.

He was a witness to the Johnstown Flood of 31st May 1889, and on 12/6/1889, he wrote a letter to his siblings in Brighouse


Question: Does anyone know anything about his family and/or his life?

 

Fearnley, George
[1831-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was landlord of the Bowling Green, Halifax [1871].

In 1856, he (possibly) married Mary Holdsworth [1832-1???].

Children: Florence Grace [b 1857]

Fearnley, Harry
[19??-19??] Mineral water manufacturer. He was at 20 Holt Street, Halifax [1936]

Fearnley, James
[18??-19??] A joiner and undertaker at Clifton.

He was one of the founders of the Clifton Handbell Ringers.

He occupied Holly Bank, Clifton for his business [1923]

Fearnley's: Joshua & Joseph Fearnley
Silk dressers at Brighouse. Partners included Joshua Fearnley and Joseph Fearnley.

In January 1858, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Fearnley, Milford
[1837-1900] He was a wool stapler [1871]; a worsted wool stapler [1881]; a worsted spinner & farmer [1891].

In January 1884, he married Emma, daughter of John Bradley and widow of Joshua Riley, at Barton in Irwell, Lancashire.

They lived at Prospect Villas, Jammy Green, Ovenden [1871]; Jammy Green, Ovenden [1881]; Moss Cottage, Ovenden [1891].

He died at Moss Cottage, Ovenden [11th April 1900].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £18,744 8/-. Probate was granted to Emma, Joseph Hanson (bank manager) and John Henry Helliwell (solicitor) 

Fearnley, Milton
[18??-18??] A woolsorter at Ovenden.

He took a job with R. Benson & Company of London who traded with India. He travelled to Karachi with William Corke

Fearnley, Sergeant
[18??-19??] Police Sergeant at Ripponden Police Station [1896]

Fearnley, T.
[18??-19??] See Brighouse Bowling Club and Brighouse Cricket Club

Fearnley, Tom
[1???-19??] Landlord of the Star, Rastrick [1933].

In 1925, he married Hetty, widow of Fred Garfitt, in Halifax

Fearnley, Tyas
[1???-1859] A comber and gardener from Warley.

On 1st January 1859, he went drinking with friends at the Shoulder of Mutton, Halifax. About 11:00 pm, he sat down and went to sleep. About an hour later, John Crapper, the landlord, went to wake him and found that he was dead, and had been so for some time

FearNot Friendly Society
Sowerby Bridge friendly society.

Recorded in 1907, when Arthur Thomas was a member.

In September 1914, there is a record of Sowerby Bridge UDC repaying £150 to the Society on account of a loan – or mortgage – which the Society had made on the Gasworks Account

Fearnought Cash & Automatic Checking Till
Invented and patented by Benjamin Swallow. The device won several gold medals in the 19th century

Fearnside
The surname recorded in 1503. Meaning a fern covered slope

There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fearnside. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Fearnside, Rev Joshua
[1773-183?] Son of Nathan Fearnside.

Born in Rastrick.

Methodist minister at Todmorden.

On 12th August 1814, he married (1) Anne Flesher [1785-182?] from Kildwick, at Kildwick.

Children: (1) Margaret Anne [1815-1885]; (2) Henry [b 1819].

On 25th August 1825, he married (2) Jane, daughter of Rev Matthew Lumb, from Barnard Castle, at Bury.

Children: (3) Jane [b 1826]; (4) Matthew [b 1827]; (5) Eliza [b 1831]

On 28th July 1823, he, Rev John Heap, Rev Jagger, Rev John James, Rev Edward B. Lloyd, Rev Zachariah Yewdall, Rev Matthew Lumb and Stephen Wilson of Holmfirth, were amongst the passengers travelling by The Fleece coach from Halifax to Sheffield which overturned near Shepley. Rev Sergeant of Scarborough died of his injuries. Edward Smith, the driver of the coach was accused of

wanton behaviour and shameful perversity, on account of the peril to which his furious driving subjected his passengers.

Rev Fearnside was slightly bruised

Fearnside, Nathan
[174?-1???] Of Rastrick.

Around 1760, he married Unknown.

Children: (1) Grace [b 1761]; (2) Thomas [b 1764]; (3) Elizabeth [b 1767]; (4) John [b 1769]; (5) William [b 1772]; (6) Joshua

Fearnside, Thomas
[1767-1853] Corn miller.

He was at Cheapside [1809]; a corn dealer [1811]; a partner in Fearnside's [1828]; milling alone at Mearclough Bottom Mills [1853].

He married Unknown.

Children: Joseph who married [1811] Mary Howorth Rushton of Skircoat

Fearnside's: Thomas Fearnside & Son
They were at Mearclough Bottom Mills [1820s]

See Thomas, Joseph & Samuel Fearnside and Gas Works Road Bridge, Sowerby Bridge

Fearnside's: Thomas, Joseph & Samuel Fearnside
Corn millers at Mearclough Bottom Mills and Watson Mills, Norland.

Partners included Thomas Fearnside, Joseph Fearnside and Samuel Fearnside.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1828

See Thomas Fearnside & Son

Fearnside, Rev William
[18??-1???] He served at Saint John's Church, Bradford before becoming Vicar of All Saints' Church, Harley Wood [1865]

Feast
See Feast and Shelf Feast

Feast of Saint Bartholomew
Saint Bartholomew's Cloth Fair was held on the eve [23rd August], Saint Bartholomew's day [24th August] and the day after [25th August]

Feast of Saint John the Baptist
Aka Midsummer Day. This is celebrated on 24th June. Because Halifax Parish Church is dedicated to Saint John, this day was important in the district and fairs were held at that time.

In Halifax, the fair was originally held on land just north of the parish church, but it moved further away from the town centre.

See Fairs, Cadney Croft, Gilbert Hanson, Harwood House, Illingworth Moor, Naylor's Gift, William Riding, Saint John's Tide Fair and Thump Sunday

Feast of Saint Martin
This is celebrated on 11th November.

In Halifax, an annual fair was held on this day. Recorded in the 17th century.

See Fairs

Feather Brothers Limited
Worsted spinners at Sun Works, Halifax [1905].

Partners included Richard Edwin Feather and Peter Ratcliffe Feather

Feather, Constable
[17??-18??] Assistant deputy constable of Halifax [1838]. On 16th November 1838, during the Mankinholes Riots, he and Sergeant King were attempting to arrest William Ingham for refusing to pay fines when they were attacked by a mob of 2000 people

Feather's Crown Café
Recorded in 1905 at 51 Crown Street, Halifax

Feather, Hartley
[1866-1925] Of Bradshaw.

In 1896, he married Sarah Hannah Helliwell [1869-1940] in Keighley.

Children: John Alton [1900-1915].

The family lived at Saint John's Cross Farm, Bradshaw [1900].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Feather's: J. Feather & Son
Established by James Feather. Mineral water manufacturers at Borough Mineral & Aerated Works, Todmorden [1897], Anchor Mill, Todmorden [1905], and Halifax Road, Todmorden [1907].

An advertisement for the business in 1907 publicised their

Silver Neck dry Ginger Ale, Lemonade, Soda Water, Potash Water, &c
in syphons, corked and patent bottles

Feather, Jackson Herbert
[1877-1940] Son of Joseph Crabtree.

Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted spinner [1901]; a worsted spinner (employer) [1911].

In [Q4] 1901, he married (1) Ruth Illingworth [1878-1920] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Peter Kelk [b 1904]; (2) child.

In [Q4] 1921, he married (2) Hilda Christine Chapman [1897-19??] in Lambeth, London.

The family lived at Dersingham, Halifax.

He died in Bournemouth [Q3 1940]

Feather, Jackson Pollard
[1892-19??] Son of John Feather.

Born in Halifax.

He was a bank clerk [1911]

Feather, James
[18??-18??] He was a mineral water manufacturer at Stack Hills, Todmorden [1875], partner in James, James & T. Feather and J. Feather & Son, and a member of Todmorden Urban District Council [1895]

Feather, James
[1840-1903] On 26th April 1884, South Holme Farm, Southowram – of 4¾ acres – was for sale by auction for James.

James died 25th March 1903 [age 63]

Feather, James
[1843-1???] Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a cotton fustian cutter [1881]; beer house keeper at the Black Horse, Hebden Bridge [1891, 1901].

He married Ann [1845-1???] from North Wales.

Ann was a char woman [1881]; landlady of the Black Horse, Hebden Bridge [1905].

Children: Westrop [b 1870].

The family lived at Hollins Place, Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge [1881]

Feather, James
[1845-1892] Of Southowram.

In [Q4] 1866, he married Susan Thomas [1846-1912] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Arthur Farrar [1880-1881] who died aged 13 months; (2) James Herbert [1881] who died aged 9 months.

Members of the family were buried at Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bank Top

Feather's: James, James & T. Feather
Soda water manufacturers at Stack Hills, Todmorden.

Partners included James Feather, James Feather and T. Feather.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1875

Feather, John
[17??-1???] Coiner of Roughhead, Denholme. He absconded

Feather, John
[1817-1856] He married Hannah.


Hannah was the daughter of
Peter Jackson and widow of Henry Smithies
 

Children: (1) Peter Ratcliffe; (2) Edwin; (3) Ruth Ann; (4) David; (5) Frederick; (6) John

Feather, John
[1822-1902] Son of Robert Feather. He was born at Stansfield, and grew up in the Stansfield and Erringden area.

He started working in the woollen mills, but in his mid-twenties he began working on the railways and moved to Bradford.

He married (1) Sarah.

Children: (1) William; (2) Sarah. He married (2) again, to another Sarah, in Yorkshire.

In 1865, he and his family emigrated to Queensland, Australia

Feather, John
[1854-1909] In [Q2] 1877, he married Ellen Pollard [1857-1935] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Booth
 

Children: (1) Martha Hannah [b 1878]; (2) John Thomas; (3) Richard Edwin; (4) David; (5) Fred Peter; (6) Jackson Pollard; (7) Helen Edith May [b 1895]; (8) Victoria Constance Irene [b 1900].

The family lived at Clareville, Halifax [1911]; Beechwood, 147 Huddersfield Road, halifax [1916]

Feather, Peter Ratcliffe
[1849-1901] Son of John Feather.

Born in Halifax.

Senior partner in Feather Brothers Limited.

In [Q1] 1874, he married (1) Sarah Town [18??-1882] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Annie; (2) Jackson Herbert; (3) Bertha; (4) Winifred Gertrude.

In 1883, he married (2) Hannah Turner [1849-1923].

The family lived at 4 Eversley Mount, Halifax [1901].

He died at home [11th August 1901].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £14,305 2/1d. Probate was granted to son Jackson Herbert, Henry Smithies and Alfred Hoyle (worsted spinner) 

Feather, Professor Norman
[1904-1978] FRS.

Nuclear physicist.

Son of Samson Feather.

Born (in the schoolhouse) at Pecket Well [16th November 1904].

Educated at Bridlington Grammar School, Trinity College Cambridge, and John Hopkins University, Baltimore. In June 1932, he married Kathleen Grace Burke, schoolteacher.


Grace was daughter of Andrew Francis Burke, schoolteacher
 

Children: (1) son; (2) twins daughter; (3) daughter.

He died on at the Christie Hospital, Manchester. [14th August 1978]

Feather, Richard Edwin
[1883-1916] Son of John Feather.

He was a worsted spinner [1911]; a director of Feather Brothers; a member of the Stannary Congregational Church.

In November 1915, he enlisted as a rifleman in the 21st Battalion, King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He died of wounds received in France [16th September 1916].

He was buried at Dartmoor Cemetery, Becordel-Becourt, France [II C 32].

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell. He is also mentioned on the Feather family grave at Luddenden Cemetery

An honour plaque was erected at Stannary Congregational Church on 16th September 1916, the same day Richard died. His name was added at a later date

Feather, Robert
[1792-184?] Wool comber of Erringden.

In 1813, he married Susan Holdsworth [17??-1840] at Heptonstall.

Children: 13 including John

Feather, Samson
[1871-1949] He was teacher at Pecket Well [1904]; headmaster at Spalding Moor, East Riding.

In [Q3] 1902, he married Lucy Clayton in North Bierley.


Lucy was a teacher at the same school as her husband
 

Children: (1) Norman; (2) son; (3) daughter

Feather, Thomas
[1817-1872] Born in Ovenden.

He was landlord at the Commercial, Illingworth [1861,1872].

In 1840, he married Charlotte Smith [1816-1896] from Ovenden, in Halifax.

In January 1859, he was declared insolvent.

After his death, Charlotte took over at the Commercial. She was still there in 1881.

She was living at the Halifax Union Workhouse [1891]

Feavers: George Feavers & Sons Limited
Tobacconists at 23 Silver Street, Halifax [1936], on the site of what had been the Black Swan

Feber, Rev Gerald Bryden
[18??-19??] Curate at Hebden Bridge [1919]. He left in 1920 and took up scholastic work, In 1922, he became Curate at Fleetwood

Feber, James
[18??-1???] Son of Mr Feber.

After his father's death, he carried on the business at Canteen, Todmorden.

In August 1868, Alice Marshall [aged 30] sued Feber for breach of promise. She won the case and received £20 damages

Feber, John
[1887-1918] Born in Todmorden.

He was a stoker (stationary engine) [1891].

On 26th September 1878, he married Harriet Ann Miles [1857-1946] at Halifax Parish Church.


Harriet Ann was born in Wisbech, Cambridgeshire
 

Children: (1) George [b 1879]; (2) Bertha [b 1881] who was a weaver in cotton [1911]; (3) William; (4) Robert Henry; (5) Martha Hannah [b 1889] who was a weaver in cotton [1911]; (6) Fred [1891-1927] who was a twister in cotton [1911]; (7) James [1892-1911] who was a labourer in cotton [1911]; (8) Edith [b 1898] who was a weaver in cotton [1911].

The family lived at 9 Pitt Street, Stansfield [1891]; 10 Broad Street, Todmorden [1911]; 35 Eagle Street, Todmorden.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Paul's Church, Cross Stone: John [1st April 1916]; Fred [27th June 1927]; Harriet Ann [27th December 1946]

Feber, Mr
[1???-1865] Cotton manufacturer at Canteen, Todmorden.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) James; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child

Feber, Robert Henry
[1887-1918] Son of John Feber.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a cloth tucker in cotton [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died 26th August 1918.

He is remembered on the Vis-en-Artois Memorial [Panel 6] and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

His brother William was also killed in the War

Feber, William
[1884-1917] Son of John Feber.

He was a weaver in cotton [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Devonshire Regiment.

He died 26th October 1917 (aged 32).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial [Panel 38-40], and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

His brother Robert Henry was also killed in the War

Fee's: J. & J. Fee
Builders & contractors. Established by Joseph Fee.

The company built the 1950s houses on Blaithroyd Lane, Southowram.

See Bolton Quarries, Southowram and Slaten Quarry, Southowram

Feilding
A variant of the surname Fielden

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Fekri, Nader
[1960-] JP.

Born in Kermanshah, western Iran.

He is a university lecturer in politics and history.

He has been Liberal Democrat Councillor with Calderdale MBC; Mayor of Hebden Royd [2007-2008]; Deputy Mayor of Calderdale [2009]; Mayor of Calderdale [2011-2012].

In 2009, he announced that he was to stand as MP for Keighley

The Feld family
The – Feld or Del Feld – family arrived at the time of the Norman Conquest and settled in Sowerby. By 1600, the name had been anglicised to Field.

See Roger Del Feld and Field family

Feld, Roger Del
[12??-1???] A member of the Feld family. Born at Field House, Sowerby

Fels Naptha
A popular brand of soap used in laundry work. It was advertised on the side of local trams [early 1900s]

Fels, Samuel Simeon
[1860-1950] American millionaire and philanthropist. Partner in the family soap manufacturing business.

In 1910, he visited the Friendly & Trades Club, Halifax

Felvus, Rev J.
[18??-19??] Of Hebden Bridge.

He married Unknown.

Children: Florence [b 1867] who married [1897] Rev John Ernest Clegg at Salem Chapel, Hebden Bridge.

He lived at The Manse, Hebden Bridge [1897]

Felvus, Richard
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1855, when he was a Methodist minister in Halifax

Female Sisterly Society
19th century friendly society which met at the Neptune, Hebden Bridge

Female Sociable Society
Aka Society of Goodfellowship. 19th century friendly society which met at Midgley

Fennell, Rev John
[1762-1841] Methodist preacher who became a Church of England clergyman.

In 1812, he was the first headmaster at Woodhouse Grove Wesleyan School. He was dismissed from his post for spending too much time arranging picnics for his niece Maria Branwell and her husband-to-be, the Rev Patrick Brontë.

He gave both brides away when Rev Brontë married Maria and when William Morgan married Jane Fennell at Saint Oswald's Parish Church, Guiseley in December 1812.

He was the incumbent of Cross Stone [for 22 years].

His curate was Rev Sutcliffe Sowden.

In 1790, he married (1) Jane Branwell.

Children: (1) Jane Branwell Fennell [1791-1827].

In 1830, he married (2) Elizabeth Lister, in Halifax.


Elizabeth was the daughter of a Leeds merchant
 

Children: (2) Elizabeth [b 1831]; (3) Hannah Julia [b 1834]; (4) Charles John [b 1836]; (5) Ellen Jane [b 1838]; (6) Thomas Edward [b 1840].

The family lived at Stoodley House.

John died 13th October 1841.

He was buried at Saint Paul's Church, Cross Stone with his wife Jane

Fenny Cottage, Hipperholme
Lan End Green.

Owners and tenants have included

Fenny Farm, Hipperholme
An advertisement of September 1886 announced

NOTICE TO COAL PROPRIETORS and COLLIERY OWNERS
To be Let on Lease, upwards of 16 acres of COAL within Fenny Farm in Hipperholme consisting of two seams known as Halifax Hard & Soft Coal.

The estate is intersected by the West Riding Union Railway (Lancashire & Yorkshire) and a Winning may be effected at small cost, and a Siding connecting the works with the rail will bring it within a little more than a mile of Halifax where a large vend may be expected.

Apply: George Crowther, Surveyor & Mineral Agents, Huddersfield or Baxter & Company, Solicitors, Halifax

Fenny Royd House, Hipperholme
Aka Fennyroyd Hall, Fenny House, Fenny Royd Hall. Owners and tenants have included

Fenton, Charles
[1854-1915] Of Boothtown.

He was a machine borer.

He married Elizabeth Baugham [18??-1???].

Children: Alice who married Arthur Ambler

Fenton, David
[18??-18??] Of Ripponden.

He had been a soldier and served during the storming of Sebastopol.

On 24th December 1858, he was charged for a savage and unprovoked attack on PC Haigh at the toll gate at Ripponden, when he had thrown stones and bricks at the constable, causing bruising and a fractured rib. The West Riding Magistrates heard that there was bad blood between the parties. Fenton was fined £5 or 2 months' imprisonment, but he could not pay and was sent to Wakefield House of Correction

Fenton, David
[1822-1???] He was a shoemaker and retired pensioner [1871].

He married Mary [1832-1???].


Mary was born in Ireland
 

Children: James [b 1854] who was a cotton card room hand [1871].

The family lived at Sowerby Croft [1871]

Fenton, Eileen
[1928-] Teacher at Princess Mary High School. On 22nd August 1950, she became the smallest person to swim the English Channel. She was 5 ft tall and weighed 8 stone. She was one of 24 entrants in a race to commemorate the 75th anniversary of Matthew Webb's first Channel swim

Fenton Estate, Halifax
Queens Road. Edward Richardson had proposals to build 90 superior houses here around 1885. 10 houses were built

Fenton, Jim
[17??-18??] A boatman on the Calder & Hebble Navigation at Elland.

He and his family lived at Elland Castle.

It is said that, during a cold winter, then canal froze and Jim was unable to work or provide for his family and his horse, Boxer. As he was going to beg for food, he encountered a boggart who accidentally dropped a sack of meal. Jim took the sack feed his family – and Boxer – and, however much they ate, the sack never emptied

Fenton, Nathaniel
[1797-18??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he was imprisoned for 12 months for uttering counterfeit coin at Norland, knowing it to be counterfeit

Fentona Cotton Supply Company Limited
Recorded in 1937 at Fenton Works, Halifax. They were members of the Bradford Dyers' Association

Fenwick, Rev A. C.
[18??-19??] He served in Nova Scotia and Canada before becoming (possibly) Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1921]

Fenwick, Collingwood
[1817-1860] Born 4th April 1817.

He served with the 76 Regiment.

He was Lieutenant-Colonel during the Irish Rebellion of 1798 against British Rule in Ireland.

He died at the Pigeon House Fort [4th July 1860].

A memorial tablet was erected in Halifax Parish Church by his brother officers

Fereday, Rev Rod
[19??-1???] Vicar at Saint Mark's Parish Church, Siddal [1992-1997]

Ferenczi, Zoltan
[1938-2009] There is a plaque fixed to stone on the moorland above the Horsfall Tunnel inscribed


In loving memory
of
Zoltan (Francis) Ferenczi
The Hungarian Yorkshireman

22.7.38 – 31.12.09

The years may pass us by but in our hearts you'll never die


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the man?

 

Ferguson, Edward
[1688-1736] Of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: John.

The Northowram Register records that he was

A Scotchman buried in New Chapel in Halifax 25th March 1736. The first that was buried there

He was interred under the floor of the Chapel.

There was a memorial brass to him and members of the family in Northgate End Chapel

Ferguson, J.
[18??-19??] Optician at 68 Lister Lane and at 8 Borough Market, Halifax [1906]

Ferguson, John
[1730-1775] Son of Edward Ferguson.

In 1761, he married Ann Threlkeld.


Ann was the daughter of Rev Samuel Threlkeld
 

Children: (1) Martha [1763-1837]; (2) Edward [1764-1843]; (3) Ann [1766-1846]; (4) Samuel.

There was a memorial brass to members of the family in Northgate End Chapel

Ferguson, Miss
[1???-19??] Of Lightcliffe. She was a missionary [1924]

Ferguson's: R. J. Ferguson & Company
Silk manufacturers and brokers at Phoenix Silk Mill, Brighouse founded around 1886 by Richard John Ferguson

Ferguson, Richard John
[18??-1???] Brighouse councillor [1896-1899].

Around 1886, he established R. J. Ferguson & Company, a silk mill at Phoenix Mill, Brighouse

Ferguson, Samuel
[1769-1???] Son of John Ferguson.

He emigrated to America

Ferguson Street Livery Stables, Halifax
Recorded in 1905, when John Knight was here

Ferguson, William
[16??-17??] His family owned property in Silver Street, including the White Lion Hotel & Posting House

Fern Bank, Halifax
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Sisters Miss Ann Morley (aged 75) & Miss Emma Morley (aged 70) [1911]

  • William Blackburn [1911]

  • Thomas H. Farrar [1936]

Fern Dene, Halifax
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Fern Field House, Boothtown
Beecher Street.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Sam Hinchcliffe [1905]

Fern Hill, Warley
House aka The Hill, Warley. Built in the 1600s.

Owners and tenants have included

Fern House, Rastrick
Owners and tenants have included

Fern House, Todmorden
Bacup Road.

Fern House and Fern Cottage were 2 back-to-back houses. An attached factory was built in the early 18th century. The building is 2½ storeys, and the factory rises slightly higher than the houses. The factory has taking-in door to the first floor.

From the 19th century until around 1928, the factory was used for the production of artificial flowers

Fern Lee, Ripponden
See Ripponden Old Bank, Ripponden

Ferne, Nehemiah
[16??-16??] Curate at Southowram [1676]

Ferneside, John
[1???-1546] Of Ovenden.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) William; (2) John; (3) Agnes.

His will is recorded in Volume 2 [1545-1559] of E. W. Crossley's book Halifax Wills

Ferney Hill Rocks, Walsden
Natural outcrop near Warland

Ferney Lee Club, Todmorden
Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 32

Ferney Lee Park, Todmorden
Opened in 1902 with flower beds, pathways and benches, and a children's playground.

In 1912, it was superseded by Centre Vale Park.

In 1920, the Park closed and it became the site of an open air school

Fernside, Hipperholme
On the 1891, 1911 census, it appears next to Perth House.

Owners and tenants have included

Fernside House, Halifax
Huddersfield Road. It is now a residential home

Ferny Hill Rocks, Warland
Rocky outcrop

Ferny Lee, Midgley Moor
A Mesolithic site

Ferrand, Sarah Harriette Lilla
[1832-1908] Daughter of William Ferrand.

She left home as a minor and went to live first with her uncle Walker and then with her uncle Johnson. She was disinherited by her father.

On 6th June 1855, she married Edward Hailstone [1817-1890] in Keighley. The couple were separated by 1883.

Children: (1) Etheldreda Lilla [b 1858]; (2) daughter who was stillborn [1861]; (3) Wilfred Edward [1864-1881]

Ferrand, Thomas
[16??-17??] Curate at Cross Stone [1702-1706]

Ferrand, William
See William Busfeild

Ferrar
A variant of the surname Farrar

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Ferrar, Bishop Robert
[1502-1555] Protestant reformer and martyr. He was (possibly) born at Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd.

As a young man, he became a canon regular of the order of Saint Augustine.

He was the last Abbot at the Priory of Saint Oswald at Nostell Priory, and surrendered the Priory at the Dissolution on 20th November 1540.

He became chaplain to Thomas Cranmer. He was appointed Bishop of Saint David's, Wales from 1548 until he was deprived of his bishopric in 1554. He then retired to Hawksworth Hall, near Otley.

He married Elizabeth Hawksworth [15??-1613].

In 1546, he leased a house at Revey from William Rookes, who subsequently built Revey Hall for Ferrar. In return, Ferrar had to serve 2 days at harvest time to his landlord, and had to provide 2 capons every Christmas to Royds Hall.

On 30th March 1555 – in the reign of Mary Tudor – he was burned at the stake in the market place at Carmarthen for his

heresies, schisms and errors

in refusing to acknowledge the Pope.

A memorial to him by J. B. Leyland was erected in Halifax Parish Church in 1847. The epitaph on the memorial is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions and records his words on being chained to the stake

If I stir through the pains of my burning, believe not the doctrine I have preached

Ferrer
A variant of the surname Farrar

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Ferret, Joseph
[16??-16??] Curate at Heptonstall [1662]

Ferrett, Joshua
[16??-16??] Local preacher. In 1662, he was ejected

Ferrett, Mabel
[19??-2011] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle. Her published works include

  • The Angry Men [1965] – an historical novel

  • The Brontës in the Spen Valley [1978]

  • The Taylors of Red House [1987]

  • Kingfisher Days [1988] – a book of poetry written under the name of Mary Sheepshanks

  • Scathed Earth [1996] – a book of poems

She was buried at Hartshead Church

Ferris, Rev Godfrey Richard
[18??-18??] Of Halifax.

In 1852, he married Emily Ann, daughter of Dr Mason Stanhope Kenny

Ferry Bridge Court Club
A group which met at the Black Swan, Silver Street, Halifax [around 1830].

A custom of the club was that, if a member of the club disobeyed a rule, he was turned upside-down, and any coins which fell from his pockets were spent on drink

Feslei
Name which was once said to refer to Halifax in Domesday Book, but the names which appear as:
... Werla
feslei ...
are almost certainly a single name Werlafeslei, referring to the township of Warley. It is interesting to note that feslei is written without a capital letter, rather than Feslei, supporting the idea that the word is a continuation and not the name of a separate township.

Crabtree suggests that the name refers to Fixby

Feuds
See Edwards-Wainhouse Feud, Elland Feud, The 1599 dispute between Foxcroft & Farrer, Roebucks Feud, Savile-Pilkington-Stansfield Feuds and Wakefield-Pontefract Feud

ffarebanke, Edmund
[14??-153?] In his will of 10th December 1533, he required
The said Edmund (his son, who was parish clerk of Heptonstall) to pay yerely to new chapell in the estfeld of Hiperom (Lightcliffe chapel), towards fyndyng of a prest ther for ever xxd

fflemyng, Reyner

ffrench, Rev W. D.
[18??-19??] Minister at Lightcliffe Congregational Church [1908].

See ff

ffryear, Joseph
[1670-1751] Of Quarmby. He was a Quaker and a Passive Resister. He was an early member of the Fryer family of Rastrick.

In 1701, he married (1) Esther, daughter of Jonas Preston.

Children: (1) Mary [1702-1742]; (2) Sarah [b 1704] who married [1727] John Broadhead [b 1691]; (3) Joseph; (4) Hannah.

The family came to live in Rastrick. This was beginning of the Fryer family's presence in the district.

After the death of his wife in 1712, he became a passive resister and from 1715 he served many spells in prison for non-payment of tithes.

Around 1715, he married (2) Mary Boothman.

Children: (5) John [1716-1716]; (6) a daughter [b 1718] who married John Sutcliffe from Stansfield; (7) Esther [1721-1797] who [may have] emigrated to Pennsylvania around 1750

See ff

Fiddle Wood Cottage, Mill Bank
Lower Mill Bank Road. Early 19th century cottage

Fiddle Woods, Mill Bank
Aka Kebroyd Wood. Lumb Clough flows through the woods to Kebroyd Mills

The Fiddler
[18??-19??] A well-known character who frequented the Ring O' Bells, Rastrick, playing a violin and clog-dancing on the tables. He lived at Brick Lane Kilns, Gooder Lane

Fiddlers' Bridge, Todmorden

Fiddling, Kenneth
[1???-] Todmorden-born county cricketer for Northamptonshire. He was a member of Todmorden Cricket Club

Fidler, John Henry
[1827-1872] He married Mary Jane Firth [1829-1898].

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) Samuel Richard; (3) Mary Hannah [1852-1890] who married Thomas Hanson Pearson; (4) Elizabeth [1854-1934] who married Alfred Lee; (5) Ellen [1857-1905] who married Luke Goodyear; (6) James Henry [1859-1873]; (7) Annie [b 1868] who married Abraham Edward Hanson.

Fidler, Samuel Richard
[1850-1898] Son of John Henry Fidler.

Born 11th February 1850.

He was a shoe & boot salesman [1874].

In [Q2] 1874, he married Mary Ann Smith [1850-1???] in Boston.


Mary Ann was born in Brough
 

Children: John Henry [1883-1900].

Samuel Richard died in Leeds [26th February 1898]

Fidler, Thomas
[1848-1922] Son of John Henry Fidler.

Born in Halifax.

He was a solicitor's clerk [1872].

On 10th September 1872, he married Alice Hawkyard in Halifax.


Alice was born in Elland, the daughter of Thomas Hawkyard
 

Children: (1) Lilian [1873-1959] who married Charles Harold Firth; (2) Beatrice Malita [1877-1961] who never married; (3) Alice May [1879-1977] who never married; (4) James [1882-1947] who never married.

The children were born in Huddersfield.

The couple died in Huddersfield: Thomas [1922]; Alice [1940]

Field
[Surname]

There are currently around 10 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Field. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Field family
The Feld family of Sowerby Anglicised their name in the 15th century.

See Field House, Sowerby

Members of the family moved to Northowram – see William Field – and other parts of the West Riding. Several, including Robert Field, emigrated to America

Field Bottom Farm, Lower Shelf

See Lower Field Bottom Farm, Shelf

Field, Charles
[1841-1924] Son of William Field.

Born in Huddersfield.

He was a retired mill cashier [1911].

On 14th January 1864, he married Minerva Waring [1846-1921] from Royston, Yorkshire, in Wakefield.

Children: (1) William [1865-1930] who married [1891] Annie Whilley [1873-1966]; (2) Alfred [1866-1953] who married [1890] Mary Margaret Pugh [1867-1898]; (3) Herbert [1868-1869]; (4) Harold [1869-1943] who married [1897] Ada Cordall 1870-1961]; (5) Helena [1871-1948] who married [1898] Ernest Iredale [1864-1939]; (6) Lucy [1873-1950] who never married; (7) Charles Edward [1874-1875]; (8) Louisa Gertrude [1875-1950] who never married; (9) Charles [1877-1962] who was a printer [1911] and married [1921] Ethel Barnett [1882-1970]; (10) Edward Septimus [1880-1948] who emigrated to Vancouver, Canada where he married Clara.

All the children were born in Brighouse & baptised at Saint Martin's, Brighouse.

The family lived at Broom House, Brighouse [1911].

Charles died in Brighouse [9th November 1924]

Field, Charles
[1841-1924] Son of William Field.

He married Minerva [1846-1921].

Children: (1) Herbert [1867-1869] who died aged 11 months; (2) Charles Edward [2874-1875] who died aged 7 months; (3) Lucy [1882-1959]; (4) Louisa Gertrude [1876-1950]; (5) Charles [1879-1962] who married [Q4 1921] Ethel Barnett [1882-1970].

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Field, Edward
[1845-1914] Son of William Field.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a bookkeeper; a retired bookkeeper [1891].

In 1872, he married Hannah Kaye [1848-1???], from Skelmanthorpe, in Huddersfield.

Children: Mary Ellen [1872-1947] who never married.

The family lived at Daisy Mount, Brighouse [1891]

All the family died in the family home at Daisy Mount.

Edward died 10th July 1914.

Hannah died 2nd January 1935

Field Head Farm, Blackshawhead
New Road. Late 17th century house. It was altered around 1760

Field Head, Illingworth
/ Ovenden.

Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, Lightcliffe
Lightcliffe Road.

In 1896, the property was for sale at auction

with stables, coach house, gardens &c, the whole comprising 4.816 yards

Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, Norwood Green
Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, Stansfield
Owners and tenants have included

Field Head, Wainstalls
Farm. It is now derelict

Field House, Brighouse
Upper Bonegate. Built in 1852.

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1930s, it was converted into 3 separate units

Field House, Elland
Southgate. The house was used by doctors including George W. Holton and Dr Foster.

The building was converted into shops in 19??

Field House Farm, Southowram
Bank Top.

The Farm (10 acres) was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.

Owners and tenants have included

Field House, Halifax
Haugh Shaw Lane. Built by John Nicholl in the 1830s.

Subsequent owners and tenants of the house have included

In 2009, in attempt to save the building, Halifax Civic Trust tried to get the house listed but this failed and the house was demolished

Field House, Illingworth
School Lane

Field House, Lightcliffe
Owners and tenants have included

Field House, Mytholmroyd
Owners and tenants have included

Field House, Shibden
Staups Lane. Aka The Field, Horner House, Horner

The house is recorded in 1319 when it was owned by Richard the Horner.

In the 16th century it was owned by Robert Northende, John Northende, and John Hall.

The original house was demolished.

A datestone records 1713 and W / IM when the house was rebuilt.

The site was once occupied by the Knights Hospitallers of Saint John of Jerusalem.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

It is now a guest house.

See Manor of Batley

Field House, Sowerby
Upper Field House Lane / Dean Lane.

See Field House, Surrey, Nether Field House, Sowerby, Sowerby Chapel, Timothy Stansfeld and The Breck, Triangle

Field House, Warley
Owners and tenants have included

Field Lane Co-Op, Rastrick
In 1???, a branch opened at Field Lane / Highfield Road. This is still in operation

Field Lane housing estate
Rastrick. Housing estate which opened in March 1969. This is one of the largest estates in Calderdale

Field, Miss
[18??-19??] She had Miss Field's High School at the former Hipperholme & Lightcliffe Liberal Club [1905, 1914]

Field, Mr
[18??-1???] Established Grove House Academy, Halifax

The Field of Hope, Ripponden
Ripponden Old Bank. Grassy area formerly the site of Foresters' Hall.

In October 2008, the children of Ripponden Junior & Infants' School, in conjunction with Ripponden in Bloom and the Calderdale Marie Curie cancer nurses, planted the area with daffodils

Field Place
Sowerby.

See Field House

Field, Robert
[1???-16??] Son of William Field.

In 1638, he sailed to America and settled in New Amsterdam

Field, William
[15??-1619] Of Northowram.

He married Susan Midgley.

Children: Robert

Field, William
[17??-1783] Paper-maker of Erringden.

On 23rd August 1783, he was executed at the Tyburn, York for

stealing divers goods, consisting of groceries, linens, stockings, etc, from the shop of John Sutcliffe of Stansfield on the night of the 16th January

Field, William
[1801-1861] Of Brighouse.

He was a property owner & gentleman.

He married Ellen Harpin [1802-1867].

Children: (1) Charles; (2) Edward.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Field, William
[1884-1965] Born in Halifax.

He was a wool washer [1913].

On 23rd January 1913, he married Janie Craven at Saint James's Church, Halifax.


Janie was the daughter of
Richard Craven
 

Children: (1) Maurice [1913-2005]; (2) Margaret [b 1918]

Fielden...
The entries for people with the surname Fielden are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Fielden
Other forms of the surname include Feilding, Fielding and Fieldsend.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 107 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fielden. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Fielden family of Todmorden
Bartholomew Fielden was and early member of the family.

From around 1770 to 1850, the Fielden family of Todmorden – founded by Joshua Fielden – were successful farmers, cotton weavers and later philanthropists, merchants, bankers and property developers.

In 1846, the family concern – notably Fielden Brothers – was producing about 200,000 lbs of cotton every week.

The Fieldens had a large number of mills, including those at Causeway Mill, Clough Mill, Crescent Mill, Dobroyd Mill, Greenwood Mill, Jumb Mill, Lumbutts Mill, Mytholmroyd Mill, Robinwood Mill, Smithy Holme Mill, Stoneswood Mill, Waterside Mill and Waterstalls Mill

Many of the family were buried in the Shoebroad Quaker Burial Ground, others moved away from the life in Todmorden.

The family also invested in the West Indian sugar trade.

See Cotton famine, Dobroyd Castle and Fielden Joint Hospital, Todmorden

Fielden & Greenwood
Cotton spinners at Todmorden.

Partners included J. Fielden, S. Fielden and J. Greenwood.

The partnership was dissolved in July 1860

Fielden & Greenwood
Cotton spinners at Todmorden. Partners included S. Fielden and J. Greenwood.

In 1864, he was declared bankrupt

Fielden & Travis
Partnership formed by John Fielden and John Travis when Fielden had built Clough Mill, Walsden in 1785. The partners' sons – Samuel Fielden and Joseph Travis – joined the firm.

In 1818, when Joseph Travis died, the Travis family left the partnership and the firm continued as Fielden's, with Samuel, John and William Fielden

Fielden Brothers
The Todmorden business established at Waterside by members of the Fielden family including Edward B. Fielden, John Fielden, Joshua Fielden and Samuel Fielden.

In 1959, they announced the closure of 2 cotton mills. Their plastics section was to be retained.

See James Cheetham, Abraham Fielden, Edward B. Fielden, Friths Mill, Walsden, John Helliwell, John Lord, Mankinholes Riots, Niagara and George Slater

Fielden Brothers
Engineers at Phoenix Works, Halifax [1874]

Fielden Centre, Todmorden
Ewood Lane. Originally the Fielden School of Art built by John Gibson. It is now a community and arts centre.

Fielden Children's Hospital, Todmorden
Opened in 18??.

Closed in 1986. The site was redeveloped in 1990

Fielden's: Edward Fielden & Company
Joiners, builders and undertakers at Carpet Street, Halifax [1905]

Fielden Engineers Limited
A subsidiary of Marshall's (Halifax) Limited

Fielden's: G. Fielden & Son
Tailors and outfitters at 2 Corporation Street, Halifax [1905]

Fielden House, Todmorden
Lee Bottom Road. Lee Bottom Cottage is attached

Fielden's: James Fielden & Brothers
Cotton manufacturers at Carr Mill, Todmorden [1877]

Fielden Joint Hospital, Todmorden
A hospital for infectious diseases established by the Fielden family and other benefactors in Todmorden.

The buildings were erected in 1892 and 1905.

It has been converted into housing and is now known as Stoodley Grange

Fielden's: Lord Fielden & Son Limited
Cotton manufacturers established by Lord Fielden. They were at Salford Mill, Todmorden [1905]. His sons, Robert and Edward ran the business

Fielden Memorial Committee
Built the statue of John Fielden in Todmorden.

On 16th April 1875, they held a concert in the Town Hall to defray the expense incurred in connection with the unveiling of the Statue. Over £60 was raised

Fielden's: Robert Fielden & Sons
Picker makers established by Robert Fielden at Inchfield Picker Works, Todmorden.

In 1877, they had business at Hole Bottom Mill, Todmorden and Birks Mill, Walsden.

The company continued into the 20th century and claimed to be the oldest picker-making firm in the world.

See Josiah Fielden, Robert Fielden and Thomas Fielden

Fielden's: S. & A. Fielden
Blacksmiths and wheelwrights at Todmorden [1905]

Fielden Society
A number of such societies were set up by John Fielden's brother and sons to defend the Ten Hours Act

Fielden Square, Todmorden
The area outside the Golden Lion was cleared for the erection of the statue of John Fielden which stood here from 1890 until 1939.

The Fielden Temperance Hotel & Coffee Tavern was here.

The Square is now a car park

Fielden Statue
The propriety of raising a monument to John Fielden was considered at a meeting at the White Hart on 30th June 1859 and again at Oddfellows' Hall on 1st August 1859.

A statue was commissioned in 1861 with the proceeds of a public subscription throughout Lancashire organised by the Fielden Memorial Committee.

Amongst those who subscribed were Henry Edwards [5 guineas], John Crossley & Sons [5 guineas], Edward Akroyd [5 guineas], and subscribers in Todmorden [£300].

The bronze statue – in recognition of his work for the Ten Hours Act – was designed by J. H. Foley RA in 1863, cast by Elkington & Company, and delivered in 1869.

The statue was unveiled by Lord John Manners.

It shows him standing with his left leg slightly forward, his right hand in the arm-hole of his waistcoat, and his left hand resting on a copy of the Ten Hours Bill which lies on a pedestal.

The statue stands on a granite plinth which is inscribed with the date of his birth

17th January 1784

on one face, and that of his death

29th May 1849

on another.

Initially, the statue was placed in storage until a suitable site could be found.

On 3rd April 1875, it was formally unveiled by the Duke of Rutland, Lord John Manners, at the opening of Todmorden Town Hall and stood outside the Hall.

In 1890, the statue was moved to what became Fielden Square.

In 1939, it was moved to Centre Vale Park

Fielden Terrace, Todmorden
Mid 19th-century vernacular revival houses

Fielden Wharf, Todmorden
Aka Todmorden Service Station. The derelict wharf on the Rochdale Canal has been converted into a tourist attraction by volunteer group Todmorden Pride.

A restaurant next to the Golden Lion was demolished

The Fieldens, Todmorden
The former Unitarian Day School, Todmorden has been converted into housing

Fielder, Dawn
[1965-1969] On Thursday, 13th February 1969, the 3-year-old went missing from her home in Russell Street, Todmorden. In freezing weather, the search was called off at dusk. On 5th March, police frogmen discovered her body in the Rochdale Canal, 200 yards from her home. Foul play was not suspected

Fielder, Fred
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Fielding ...
The entries for people with the surname Fielding are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Fielding
A variant of the surname Fielden

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 48 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fielding. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Fielding family of Elland-cum-Greetland

Fielding & Bottomley
Joiners, coach and motor body builders at South Parade, Halifax. Established in 1879 by John Fielding and John Heap Bottomley.

Recorded in 1911, when they were still at South Parade Joinery Works.

In 19??, they took over the Hipperholme business established by Thomas J. Constantine

An advertisement for the business in July 1923 announced

THE MODERN GIRL thinks she's a live-wire – well, we'll agree that some are shocking
If you do want really live-wires in your business you can't do better than have Fielding & Bottomley provide your fixtures & fittings. They can equip your shop with the most efficient, modern, time saving fittings and at the same time making the most of your floor space.
You can save money by consulting us

FIELDING & BOTTOMLEY
The Modern Shopfitters,
SOUTH PARADE, HALIFAX.
Phone 1634

An advertisement for the business in August 1923 announced

A man is sometimes judged by the cigars he gives and likewise by the chair you sit on to smoke it and the general layout of the office, shop or showroom, each item of which is subconsciously appraised as you sit there smoking. WELL, if Fielding & Bottomley have modified and fitted up your place you go up 100 per cent every time you give a cigar away.
Anyhow, if you've a moment to spare let's have a chat about your job.

FIELDING & BOTTOMLEY,
The Modern Shopfitters,
SOUTH PARADE, HALIFAX.
Phone 1634.

Fielding, Ball & Company
Dyewood grinders, drysalters and manufacturing chemists at Mearclough Mills, Sowerby Bridge. The business was established by James Fielding around 1840.

See Percy Fielding Ball

Fielding's: Benjamin Fielding & Sons
Woollen manufacturers and silk spinners established by Benjamin Fielding at Woodfield Mill, Greetland

Fielding's: Daniel Fielding & Sons
Halifax brewers established by Daniel Fielding at White Castle Brewery, Bradshaw Lane, Halifax. Opened in 1???.

They had around 20 pubs in the area, including Commercial, Illingworth

The business was bought out by Samuel Webster in 1961.

Closed in 19??

Fielding's: Eli Fielding & Company Limited
Cotton spinners and doublers at Salem Mills, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Fielding, Jackson & Company
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Clough Mill, Walsden established by Samuel Fielding and Samuel Jackson. The partnership was dissolved in May 1872

Fields Farm, Norland
Built in 1616. Demolished in 1???

A lintel from the house – dated I/MB/M 1616/H for Isabel and Michael Barrow – was reused at Fallingworth Hall, Norland

Fieldsend
A variant of the surname Fielden

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Fiennes, Celia
[1662-1741] Sister of Viscount Saye & Sele. She was a traveller and diarist who travelled widely between 1680 and 1712, and wrote
Through England on a Side Saddle in the time of William and Mary

in 1695. She wrote that she was discouraged from visiting Halifax because the local roads were:

difficult and stony

and she described the road over Blackstone Edge as:

noted all over England as a dismal high precipice, steep in the ascent and descent on either end; its very moorish ground all about and even just at the top, though so high that you travel on a Causey which is very troublesome as its a moist ground so as it usual on these high hills; they stagnate the air and hold mist and rains almost perpetually

She noted that

it took 11 hours to travel 25 miles

Fifty Shilling Tailors
Aka Prices Tailors Limited. A chain of menswear shops established by Sir Henry Price [1877-1963]. The business began in Leeds in 1907. In its heyday, there were 399 Fifty Shilling Tailors stores.

Recorded in 1936 at 2-4 Commercial Street, Halifax.

They became a part of United Drapery [1953], John Collier [1958] and were a part of the Burton Group [1985]

Fillingham, Joseph
[18??-19??] Established a butcher's business in Brighouse [1848]. The business was originally at Lane Head; he later moved to premises in Bethel Street.

He married Ann.

Children: (1) James William [1857-1858] who died aged 14 months; (2) Clara [1870-1873]; (3) Emma who married Samuel Bottomley; (4) Sam.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

On his death, his son, Sam, carried on the business

Films

Finch, Elizabeth
[16??-16??] Daughter of Joseph Finch, a merchant from Kent,

She married Thomas Ramsden or Joseph Ramsden

Finch, Thomas
[1???-18??] Son of William Finch.

In 1824, he carried on the family clockmaking business at a shop in Northgate

Finch, Thomas
[17??-18??] He was an attorney and a commissioner for special bail at Northgate, Halifax [1822]

Finch, Thomas
[17??-18??] He was a chemist & druggist at Northgate, Halifax [1822]

Finch, William
[1720-1781] Halifax watchmaker and clockmaker. He lived in Southgate.

He married (1) Mary [1703-1762].

Children: (1) Mary [1744-1777]; (2) child; (3) child.

He married (2) Grace [1720-1804].

The business was carried on by his son, Thomas.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

See Sod House Green

Fingland, John
[18??-1???] He was Manager of Todmorden Gas Works [1869].

In 1869, he moved to Sowerby Bridge Gas Works.

The following extracts from the minutes of the Sowerby Bridge Local Board show his chequered record there

  • 6th October 1869: Chairman of Gas Works Committee had been in communication with Mr Fingland, the present manager of the Todmorden Gas Works

  • 1st December 1869: Agreed by the Committee that Mr Fingland be engaged for 3 years subject to 3 months notice at a salary of £300 subject to him giving money security to the amount of £600

  • 29th December 1869: Confirmation of appointment of Mr Fingland

  • 26th January 1870: Mr Fingland has lodged the sum of £600 with the Treasurer on which he is to receive 5% interest

  • 21st August 1870: Mr Fingland in dispute about re-engaging a former Works manager to discover leakages

  • 21st September 1870: Mr Fingland's services to cease. He refused to give up his keys etc. Committee has determined to put fresh locks on the office doors

  • 2nd November 1870: Mr John Husband now appointed as Gas Works Manager

Fink Hill, Brighouse
A 19th century name for the area around Finkil Street, Brighouse

Finkhill, Brighouse
Area of Hove Edge around the junction of Halifax Road and Finkil Street.

See Brighouse Rangers and Nab End, Hove Edge

Finkle Street Reservoir, Luddendenfoot
In 1865, the Whitworths built the dam to supply water to the Wood Bottom Dye Works.

The dam was owned by the railway company and – together with Brampton Dam and another near Boulderclough – supplied the water troughs on the adjacent railway line

Finlayson, Dr Duncan
[18??-19??] MD, CH.

He was educated at Aberdeen; surgeon to the Anchor Line; physician and surgeon in Halifax.

He lived at 49 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1905]

Finlinson, Ernest Arthur
[1869-1957] Son of Joseph Henry Scott Finlinson.

He became a banker with Lloyds Bank and the Halifax Branch of the West Yorkshire Bank.

He married Maud.

See Samuel Watkinson

Finlinson, Joseph Henry Scott
[1845-1918] He was born in Leeds.

On 16th November 1868, he married (1) Emma Bradley in Huddersfield.

Children: (1) Ernest Arthur; (2) Mabel Constance [1872-19??] who married [1894] Henry Collins from Saint Bees.

His wife, Emma, died in 1893.

On 27th September 1894, he married (2) Florence Sutcliffe at Harrogate.

Children: (3) Harold [b 1895]; (4) Leslie Baldwin [b 1899].

He was General Manager of the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company from 1884 until his resignation on 30th June 1897. It is said that he was in financial difficulties due to his wife's wild extravagances.

When the bank left Royds' House in 1898, he bought the building and renamed it Somerset House because he had business interests in Somerset.

He lived at 35 Savile Park Road, Halifax [1887], The Grove, Halifax [1894], and The Patch, Minehead, Somerset [1901].

He lived in Somerset from around 1899 until 1902.

Shortly afterwards, he and his wife parted company, and he went to live with his daughter, Mabel Constance, at Marylebone, London, where he died on 7th September 1918.

See Lloyds TSB Bank: Commercial Street, Halifax

Finn Gledhill & Company
Halifax solicitors.

They absorbed the business of many local solicitors and firms, including

In 1965, the firm bought Number 2 Harrison Road. When Number 2 became too small in the late 1960s, the firm bought Number 1 Harrison Road. from Pickles the Architect. They acquired Number 3 Harrison Road when they amalgamated with Horsley, Bairstow & Helliwell. They acquired Number 4 Harrison Road the early 1980s.

The name changed to Finn Gledhill in 1996

Finn, Hugh W. W.
[1???-1???] Halifax solicitor.

He was a partner in Finn Gledhill & Company

Finn, Rev J.
[18??-18??] Pastor at Wellington Road Baptist Church, Todmorden [May 1861-1869]

Finney Brothers
Milne Holme Farm. Poultry producers of Eastwood. Established in 1920.

Closed down in 1970, following widespread foul pest in the district

Finney Farm, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse
Or Finny Farm. Adjoining Sutcliffe Wood.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Joseph Wormald [1847, 1866]

Finney, Jack V.
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Air Force.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Finucane, Brendan Eamon Fergus (Paddy)
[1920-1942] Successful RAF pilot in World War II. On 3rd May 1941, he was flying with an Australian 452 Squadron, commanded by Roy Dutton. As they flew in formation over Brighouse, Finucane in his Spitfire got too close to Dutton's aircraft and his propellor chopped off Dutton's tail unit. Dutton's plane came down at 180 mph in open country near Halifax and smashed through a brick wall. Finucane and the rest of squadron circled the wreckage but saw no sign of life, and led the squadron back to Kirton-in-Lindsay, Lincolnshire. Dutton survived and was taken to the Royal Halifax Infirmary, where he was treated for his injuries: cracked ribs, a back injury and an eyebrow that had to be stitched back on

Fir Grove, Greetland
Aka Krumlin Hall Estate, Greetland

Fire Stations
Fire stations in the district include Badger Hill Mills, Rastrick, Boothtown Fire Station, Brighouse Fire Station, Dean Clough fire station, Elland Fire Station, Greetland Fire Station, Halifax Fire Station, Hebden Bridge Fire Station, Illingworth Fire Station, Mytholmroyd Fire Station, Rastrick Fire Station, Rosemary Mills Fire Brigade, Sowerby Bridge Fire Station, Todmorden Fire Station and Victoria Mills Fire Brigade

Fires

Firth...
The entries for people with the surname Firth are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Firth
Other forms of the surname include Frith, Freeth, Thrift, Fright, Freak, Freed, Freke, Frid, Freake, Fridd, Firks, Firk, Evilthrift, Frift, Fryd, and Vreede

There are currently around 81 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Firth. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Firth family of Barkisland
See Michael Firth, Richard Firth and The Height, Ripponden

The Firth family of Rastrick
Prominent Quaker family. Thomas Firth was an early member of the family.

See History On Your Doorstep and Quakers in Brighouse

The Firth family of Rishworth
They owned property in and around Rishworth in the 16th century, including Upper Goat House, Rishworth, property at Baitings, and a farm at Pike.

See Edmund Firth and John Fryth

Firth & Barritt
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden.

Partners included J. Firth and J. Barritt.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1864

Firth & Bowles
Clog manufacturers at Todmorden.

Partners included W. Firth and L. Bowles.

The partnership was dissolved in February 1867

Firth & Cheetham
Cotton spinners at Soyland Mill.

Partners included John Firth and Harry Cheetham.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1810

Firth & Howarth
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Causeway Mill and Oldroyd Mill, Langfield [1840s]. From 1837, Joseph Firth and William Howarth of Firth, Howarth & Firth traded as Firth & Howarth.

About 1841, the partners built 2 villas at North View, Todmorden and houses in Lower George Street, Todmorden.

Recorded in 1861 at Albion Place, North Street, Todmorden

Firth & Marsden
Wheelwrights and waggon builders at New Delight, Boothtown [1905]

Firth & Parkinson
Cotton spinners at Bankfoot Upper Mill, Hebden Bridge [18??]

Firth & Riley
Worsted manufacturers at Ovenden.

Partners included Isaac Firth and Joseph Riley.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1839

Firth Brothers Limited
Brewers with business at Albert Brewery, Halifax [1893-1896].

In 1905, they are recorded as wine and spirit merchants at 4 Burnley Road, Halifax

Firth's Carpets, Bailiff Bridge

Firth's Carpets mill dam
The mill dam for the Victoria Mill of Firth's Carpets was situated at the end of Victoria Road, Bailiff Bridge. An annual swimming gala was held here. The company's fishing club also used the dam

Firth fountain, Bailiff Bridge
On 31st July 1911, Lady Janet, wife of Sir Algernon Firth, gave a drinking fountain to the community. It was about 15ft tall and surmounted by a lantern.

She also left £100 to Hipperholme Council for the future maintenance of the fountain. It stood immediately in front of the Punch Bowl at Bailiff Bridge. In 1962, it was removed, because it was a hazard to traffic, and dumped on the council depot at Norwood Green

Firth House, Barkisland
Owners and tenants have included

See Howroyd Hall, Barkisland

Firth House, Rastrick
Firth House Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Firth, Howarth & Firth
Partnership formed in 1826 by John Firth, William Howarth and Joseph Firth. All 3 men originally worked in the Fieldens' mills.

In 1813, they moved to a small mill which they rebuilt in 1826 as Causeywood Mill. In 1833, they occupied Folly Mill, Langfield and employed 54 workers. In 1835, they built Albion Mill, Todmorden.

From 1837, Joseph Firth and William Howarth traded as Firth & Howarth

Firth's: Isaac, John & Samuel Firth
Worsted spinners and manufacturers established by Isaac, John, and Samuel Firth. The family lived at Little Moor, Ovenden.

They had a small factory near their home before moving to Lilly Lane Mill, Halifax.

In 1849, the partnership was dissolved. Isaac took over the old mill, John took over the new mill, and Samuel took over the centre mill which was built over the engine and boiler house. Samuel supplied power to the other 2 mills on an agreed basis.

On 29th November 1850, many of their employees were killed or injured when a boiler exploded – see Explosion at Lilly Lane Mill.

On 20th March 1868, Samuel and his son John, were charged with fraudulently using in their mill 50,000 cubic feet of gas, the property of Halifax Corporation.

At the trial, evidence showed that for 10 or 11 years, 3 meters and 80 lights in the mill and the workshops obtained the supply through a pipe which had been soldered to the gas main many years ago.

The Firths claimed that they had simply carried on using a system which they found in operation when they entered into possession of the mill.

The case against Samuel was withdrawn, but John was ordered to pay the penalty of £5 plus £2 per day since the information was laid, the total penalty being £345.

At the West Riding Sessions on 6th April 1869, John was sentenced to 6 months' imprisonment with hard labour for the offence.

Firth's: J. Firth & Brothers
Cotton spinners at Holywell Brook, Stainland.

Recorded on 10th December 1860 when fire broke out at their mill

Firth's: Samuel Firth & Sons
Brass founders and finishers at Perseverance Works, Halifax [1874]

Firth's: T. F. Firth & Company
Carpet manufacturer of Bailiff Bridge. Originally Firth Willans's, the company took the name T. F. Firth & Company in October 1875.

In 1889, it became a limited company, T. F. Firth & Sons Limited.

See Birkby Moor, Brighouse War Memorial, Firth's Carpets mill dam, Firth's War Memorial, Lightcliffe House, William Lochhead, Charles Henry Payne and Joseph Waddington

Firth's War Memorial
After World War I, T. F. Firth & Company of Bailiffe Bridge, created a war Memorial to commemorate all their employees who had served during the war.

See Bailiff Bridge War Memorial

Firth, Willans & Company Limited
Carpet manufacturer with partners T. F. Firth and John Wrigley Willans. They were originally in Heckmondwike.

In 1867, they bought a mill in Bailiff Bridge at auction.

The company became T. F. Firth & Company after 1875 when Wrigley Willans left the partnership

Fischer (F.A.G.) Bearings Company
Makers of ball bearings at 3 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1937]

Fisden, Mr
[16??-16??] Vicar of Coley after Oliver Heywood had been ejected [1664]

Fish Market, Halifax
It was originally in the Albany Arcade area of Halifax Borough Market. This had 16 lockup shops inside the market, and 6 outside. It was moved outside to Albion Street around 1905.

Owners and tenants included

  • 5 Arnold Haigh & Son [1936]

  • 7 Percy Crabtree [1936]

  • 9 George W. Abbott [1936]

  • 11 Albert Whiteley [1936]

  • 13 Whiteley & Cockroft [1936]

  • 15 Arthur Worsman [1936]

  • 17 J. H. Jagger [1936]

More recently, some of the shops have been taken over by other businesses

Fish, Mr
[17??-1???] He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1757]

Fisher, Benjamin Edwin
[1858-1???] Halifax solicitor.

In 1893, he married Clara, daughter of John Naylor, in Halifax.

Children: (1) son; (2) son

Fisher, Rev C. H.
[18??-19??] Curate-in-charge at Saint Michael's & All Angels' Church, Southowram Bank [1899, 1905]

Fisher, Charles Francis
[1852-1905] Organist at West Vale Baptist Chapel [for 26 years]

Fisher, Christopher
[16??-16??] Curate at Southowram [1665-1666]

Fisher, David Gordon
[1896-1917] Son of George Fisher.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 9th Battalion King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died 28th April 1917.

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial [Bay 7]

Fisher, Elizabeth Campbell
[1871-1959] She was born in West Dedham, near Boston, Massachusetts, the daughter of Joe Fisher of West Dedham and Mary Elizabeth Campbell of Maine. Her father was a man of British descent, whose forbears had travelled on the Mayflower. He was a carriage-builder and had changed to a dray-making business for his health, and made a considerable fortune as a horse dealer in the American Civil War.

She and her sister, Hattie, were classic well-heeled American girls who came to Britain and found love in Halifax.

Elizabeth married Howard Clay, Hattie married George Smith.

Like many New Englanders, Elizabeth was very keen on knowing her genealogy, and traced her ancestors back to 3 of the Pilgrim Fathers. On the Campbell side, her family goes back to an Alexander Campbell who was born around 1700 and went to America with a group of Scottish Presbyterians from Derry Ireland. His father was one of the sons of the Duke of Argyll.

She studied at the Boston Art Academy from about 1899, and won a scholarship to the Art Students League in New York.

As a fellow artist, Elizabeth was friendly with Matthew Smith.

She married Howard Clay, Hattie married George Smith

Fisher, Rev Fenwick
[1854-1919] Born in the Wirral.

Vicar of Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [1892, 1897]. In 1902, he was appointed vicar of Great Canford, Dorset.

He died in Poole, Dorset

Fisher, Frederick William
[18??-18??] Son of Thomas Fisher,

He was a dentist in Halifax [1864].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Louisa Helen Chatterley [1863-1919] who married Thomas Quinsey; (2) Arthur [b 1864]; (3) Florence Wakefield [b 1866].

The family lived at Otley [1863]; Halifax [1864, 1866]; Otley [1871]

Fisher, Rev G.
[19??-] Curate at Ripponden with Rishworth, and of Barkisland with West Scammonden [1981]. In 1984, he moved to Sutton-in-Holderness, Hull

Fisher, George
[18??-19??] He married Mary Elizabeth.

Children: (1) George Arthur Coates; (2) David Gordon.

The family lived at 17 Sutcliffe Street, Pellon

Fisher, George Arthur Coates
[1895-1916] Son of George Fisher.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 18th Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He was killed in action [15th September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial [13A & 13B]

Fisher, Harriet Smith
[1857-1938] JP.

Known as Hattie. She was born in West Dedham, near Boston, Massachusetts, the daughter of Joe Fisher of West Dedham and Mary Elizabeth Campbell of Maine. Her father was a man of British descent, whose forbears had travelled on the Mayflower. He was a carriage-builder and had changed to a dray-making business for his health, and made a considerable fortune as a horse dealer in the American Civil War.

She and her sister, Elizabeth, were classic well-heeled American girls who came to Britain and found love in Halifax.

Elizabeth married Howard Clay, Hattie married George Smith.

Like many New Englanders, Elizabeth was very keen on knowing her genealogy, and traced her ancestors back to 3 of the Pilgrim Fathers. On the Campbell side, her family goes back to an Alexander Campbell who was born around 1700 and went to America with a group of Scottish Presbyterians from Derry Ireland. His father was one of the sons of the Duke of Argyll.

In 1890, she married George Henry Smith whom she had met in Venice during her European Grand Tour.

When her husband was Mayor of Halifax [1895-1897], Hattie was Mayoress. She was given a chain and diamond pendant which is still used by the Mayor's consort.

In 1913, her husband was knighted and she became Lady Hattie Fisher-Smith. Hattie was said to be a formidable lady, and the driving force behind her husband's knighthood.

In 1920, she became a JP.

In 19??, she organised a committee which put forward a proposal to start a family-planning clinic in Halifax. It was rejected, but on 10th October 1934, the group opened the Halifax Women's Welfare Clinic in the TOC H rooms at 32 Clare Road.

The clinic later moved to the Royal Halifax Infirmary.

She died at The Gleddings, Halifax. She was buried at Warley Cemetery

Fisher, John
[18??-1882] JP.

He was the second Manager of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company [1844, 1866]; the First President of the Halifax Permanent Benefit Building & Investment Society [1853].

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3229].

See George Whiteley

Fisher, John
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Saint Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Fisher, John Deighton
[1836-1890] Son of Thomas Fisher,

He worked in Bradford and Dublin before becoming an apothecary at 29 Southgate, Halifax [1865]; a chemist in Blackpool [1881].

His products included

The Acidulated Squill & Ipecacuanha Cough Lozenges
Fisher's Tooth-ache Elixir
Fisher's Anodyne Essence
Fisher's Compound Antibilious Pills
The Brighton Glycerine Cream
Fisher's Marrow Pomade
Fisher's Tooth Powders

In 1866, he married (1) Eliza Jane Waterhouse [1843-1884] from Barnsley, in Halifax.

In 1886, he married (2) Mary Lawson in Bradford.

The family lived at Stainland Road, West Vale [1871] and Blackpool [1881]

He and his wives died in Blackpool. Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £1,706 and probate was granted to his widow Mary

Fisher, Mr
[18??-1???] Partner in Vost & Fisher

Fisher, Philip
[1838-1909] Born in Skelmanthorpe.

He was a coal miner [1871]; a licensed victualler at the Swan Inn, Fenay Bridge, Almondbury [1881]; farmer and innkeeper at the Black Bull, Clifton [1891, 1894]; innkeeper at the Grove Inn, Brookfoot [1894]; a gardener domestic [1901]; a widower and cripple [1901].

In 1893, he was charged with watering down drinks at the Black Bull. He was fined £1 and costs – £1 10/- – after serving half a pint of whisky to the inspector.

In January 1894, he was declared bankrupt. He was said to have liabilities of £505 and assets of £337. The bankruptcy announcement said that he was at the Black Bull, Clifton and also at the Grove Inn, Brookfoot.

In 1869, he married Elizabeth Addy. [1840-1???] from Cumberworth. Elizabeth was dead by 1901.

Children: (1) Sarah Jane [b 1861]; (2) John William [b 1863] who was a farm labourer [1881]; (3) Albert [b 1866] who was a woollen piecer [1881]; (4) William Henry [b 1867] who was a gardener's labourer [1881]; (5) Herman [b 1869]; (6) Anne [b 1870]; (7) Walter [b 1874]; (8) Amanda [b 1875]; (9) Edith Ann [b 1880].

The family lived at Bryce Hill, Crigglestone, Wakefield [1871]; 5 Sunny Bank Road, Mirfield, Dewsbury [1901].

Living with them in 1881 were niece Clara Addy [aged 15], lodgers George Gibson [aged 47] (tailor) and Robert C. Watson [aged 22] (gardener's labourer).

Living with him in 1901 were granddaughter Janie Fisher [aged 15], daughter Amanda Callins, her husband James Callins [aged 30] (a moulder iron foundry), grandchildren Ernest Callins [aged 6] and May Callins [aged 1] and visitor Albert Douglas [aged 20] (coal hewer) 

Fisher, Rev Richard
[17??-1802] Perpetual Curate at Old Brigg Chapel, Sowerby Bridge [from 1746]. He was a subscriber to the publication of Watson's History

Fisher, Richard
[17??-1802] He was Curate at Lightcliffe [1739-1746], Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1746], and Curate at Halifax [1760].

The death of Richard Fisher, Perpetual Curate at Sowerby Bridge, was recorded in 1802

Fisher, Robert Edward
[1861-19??] Born in Wandsworth, London.

He was a draper [1911].

Around 1892, he married Elizabeth [1864-19??] from Sowerby.

They had no children.

They lived at 20 Clare Road, Halifax [1911]

The Fisher-Robertson family
They lived at Slead Hall, Brighouse. They began stone-quarrying on the estate. This continued until 1908

Fisher-Smith, Emerson Lyman
[1894-1973] Son of George Henry Smith.

He was educated at Tonbridge School.

In 1923, he married (1) Ruth Ambler at Baildon.

Children: (1) John [b 1926]; (2) Pat [b 1929] who moved to the USA in 1938 and married Louis Welsh, the grandson of architect Frank Lloyd-Wright.

The family lived at Halifax, where the children were born.

In the crash of 1929, they lost their house in Halifax. Around 1930, they moved to Hoyle Court, Baildon.

Later, they moved to Rickmansworth, Hertfordshire, where he built a house, Chess Cottage.

He was in business with a film studio. Successful films included Tiger Bay with Anna May Wong [1934], Men of Steel, and Ali Baba & the 40 Thieves, and there were 4 failures.

His business partners absconded to France with the company's funds. Ruth divorced him and married a photographer.

He moved to the USA.

In 1940, he married (2) Margo Maggie Gould. The couple lived in California, then in England, and travelled.

He played minor – often uncredited – rôles in several films, including the part of a policeman in Mrs Miniver [1942].

The couple returned to England, and then travelled.

He died in Malta. Maggie returned to California where she died

Fisher-Smith, Sir George Henry

Fisher, Thomas
[18??-18??] A chemist in Otley.

He married Sarah Deighton

Children: (1) Frederick William; (2) John Deighton; (3) Emily Louisa [1841-1914] who married Cyrus Brook

Fisherman's Hut Falls, Hebden Bridge
Waterfall on the Hebden Water at Hardcastle Crags.

See Fisherman's Hut, Hebden Bridge

Fisherman's Hut, Hebden Bridge
On the Hebden Water at Hardcastle Crags.

See Fisherman's Hut Falls, Hebden Bridge

Fishwick, Arthur
[1870-1935] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was manager of Co-operative Society stores in Triangle [1890-1904]; West Vale [1904-1907]; Sowerby Bridge [1907].

In [Q3] 1891, he married Sarah Hannah Higginbottom [1869-19??] from Mossley, Lancashire, in Halifax.

Children: (1) John Fearnley [b 1899]; (2) Maurice Brinton [b 1902]; (3) Dorothy Kathleen [b 1905]; (4) George Alma [b 1907].

The family lived at 16 Myrtle Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Fishwick, Councillor
[18??-1???] Member of Sowerby Bridge UDC

Fitton & Broadbent
Botanical brewers at New Pellon, Halifax

Fitton, Edward
[18??-19??] Stationmaster at Brighouse Railway Station [1911]

Fitton's: R. N. Fitton
Radio & TV manufacturers at their Radio Works, Hutchinson Lane, Brighouse.

See Ambassador Radio & Television

Fitton, Whiteley Eli
[1851-1924] Born in Soyland.

He was a wool warehouseman [1871].

In 1871, he married Lavinia Hollas.


Lavinia was the daughter of
James Hollas
 

Children: (1) John William [b 1872]; (2) Ruth Hannah [1876-1959] who married Sam Hanson; (3) Lillian [1888-1955] who never married

Fitz-Eustace, John
[11??-1190] Son of Albreda de Lizours and Richard Fitz-Eustace.

He married Unknown.

Children: Roger.

He became Constable of Chester.

This branch of the family moved to other parts of the country

Fitz-Patrick, Rev Fennell
[18??-19??] MA.

From Barbados.

He matriculated as a Non-Collegiate student at Oxford in 1895. He gained 3rd class honours in Classical Moderations in 1897, by which time he had become a member of Hertford College, and 4th class honours in Theology in 1899. The degree of BA was conferred on him in 1899, and that of MA, which required no further study or residence, in 1902.

He served as curate at King's Lynn [1900], curate-in-charge of Gislingham [1902-1905], and Eye, Suffolk [1905-1906], rector of Southwood [1906-1910], temporary chaplain to the Forces [1915-1919], vicar of Great Finborough [1910-1928], vicar at Saint Margaret's, Burnley [1928-1936], and Buckland Newton, Dorset [1936-1958], and in Surrey [1931-1958].

On 10th August 1918, he married Elsie Mabel, daughter of Samuel Marshall, at Saint Anne's in the Grove, Southowram.

In 1965, he was living in Penarth

Fitzwilliam, Charles
[18??-19??] Son of Earl Fitzwilliam of Wentworth Woodhouse.

In 1882, he married Constance Brocklehurst

Five Lane Ends, Brighouse
Popular name for the junction of Bethel Street, Bradford Road, Huddersfield Road, Police Street, and Mill Lane.

See Royal, Brighouse

Fixby
[Surname]

Fixby Board of Guardians
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Fixby township have included

Fixby Crematorium
Opened on 14th April 1958. Serves Huddersfield and the Kirklees district.

See Park Wood Crematorium

Fixby Golf Club

Fixby Hall
Built in the 16th century, this was the home of the Thornhill family. Owners and tenants have included

It is said that a special road was built so that those living at the hall could worship at Elland Church.

The hall is now a part of a golf club.

See George Crowther, Fixby, Manor of Fixby, Northend Nicholl Hamerton and Shepherd House, Fixby

Fixby, Manor of
After the Norman Conquest, the Manor of Fixby was granted to the Earls of Warren. In turn, they granted a part to Sampson of Wriglesford and his heirs. It subsequently passed to William de Bellomonte [or Beaumont], the Toothill family, and the Thornhill family

Fixby Park
New Hey Road. The late 18th century park gates and a pair of lodges are listed.

Owners and tenants have included

Fixby Reservoir
Recorded in 1940.

It was filled in in 19??

Fixby Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Fixby included:

Flack, Rt Rev John Robert
[1942-] He was vicar of Chapelthorpe [1972-1981] before becoming Vicar of Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1981-1985], Vicar of Brighouse [1984], Rural Dean of Elland, and Archdeacon of Pontefract.

He later became Bishop of Huntingdon and the Church of England's envoy to the Vatican

Flags
Stone slabs used for paving. They were also used for flooring in stables and in domestic settings such as cellars and kitchens.

After quarrying, the stone was finished and the final product was known by names such as

  • Best riven

  • Knotted faced

  • Punched faced

  • Rubbed faced

  • Sawn faced

  • Self faced

  • Tooled faced

See Elland flags, Perfecta and Sandstone

Flaherty, John
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Flaight Hill
Hebden Bridge. In the 1990s, there was a successful campaign against the construction of a wind farm. A £20 million plan to erect 44 turbines, up to 203ft tall, at Flaight Hill overlooking Hebden Bridge resulted in a two-year battle, with opponents which included Cliff Richard, Alan Ayckbourn, Melvyn Bragg, Tom Stoppard, Emma Thompson and Sir Bernard Ingham. In 1996, National Wind Power dropped the proposal

Flailcroft, Todmorden
Parkin Lane. Mid-17th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

Flannigan, James
[18??-18??] A hawker from Huddersfield.

On 22nd May 1865, he called at the Pressers' Arms, Halifax and paid with a bad 5/- piece. He was told that the coin was spurious and would not be returned to him. He left and called at the Three Pigeons, Halifax where he paid the landlady Mrs Haigh with another bad 5/- piece. She gave him 4/10d change but suspected that the money was not right. She met with PC Baldwin and Flannigan was taken into custody

Flannigan, John
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 3 Chapel Fold [33 lodgers in 1903]

Flannigan, Thomas
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 55 Woolshops [53 lodgers in 1903]

Flat Field, Shibden
A coal pit is mentioned here in 1755 when it was described as being
on the top of a hill opposite Shibden Hall

It gained the coal from the Upper Bed.

A sum of 8/6d was paid for a

pump for the coal pit

See Sough

Flat Head, Soyland
The house is mentioned in the 16th century when it was owned by a member of the Crossley family.

Plaques on the house may refer to

  • TP = Thomas Priestley [around 1608]

  • RW 1627 = Richard Wilson

  • JMG 1669 = John & Mary Gaukroger

In the 1930s, the Yorkshire Archæological Society successfully defeated a demolition order for the house.

See Flat Head Quarry, Soyland

Flather
[Surname]

There are currently around 18 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Flather. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Flather family of Halifax
Of Northowram and Hipperholme.

Richard Flather and his brother were early members of the family.

The family is discussed in the book Yorkshire Pedigrees

Flather, Mrs Elizabeth
[1684-1757] Maiden name unknown.

She married (1) Richard Flather.

She married (2) John Pearson

Flather, George Edward
[1873-1953] Born in Sheffield.

He was a wire drawer [1899].

In 1899, he married Martha Ann Hepworth in Halifax


Martha Ann was the daughter of
William Hepworth
 

Children: (1) Elsie [1904-1978] who married John Willie Whiteley.

The couple died in Brighouse

Flather, George Norris
[1895-1915] Son of James Flather.

He was a wool sorter [1911]; a wool sorter with Messrs D. Smith, Siddal.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Scots Guards.

He was killed in action [17th October 1915] (aged 20); (some reports say the 19th).

He was buried at Lillers Communal Cemetery, France [IV D 3].

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

On Saturday 23rd October 1915, the family received news of George's death.

2 days later, his father James, who had been unwell for some time, died, his death possibly hastened by the news of his son.

Flather, Henry
[1712-1788] Son of Richard Flather.

He married Esther [1722-1766].

Children: (1) Anne [1751-1834]; (2) Joseph; (3) Thomas; (4) John; (5) Sarah; (6) Esther.

The couple were buried at Lightcliffe Church

Flather, Henry
[1798-1856] Of Hipperholme.

Son of Thomas Flather.

He married Ellen [1803-1876].

Children: (1) William [1833-1855] who died at Scutari in the Crimean War; (2) Susan [1831-1833]; (3) Sarah [died in infancy]; (4) Thomas [1834-1845]

The couple – and all the children except William – were buried at Lightcliffe Church

Flather, James
[17??-18??] Rope maker at Halifax [1809]

Flather, James
[1852-1915] Born in Halifax.

He was a wheelwright [1881, 1891, 1901, 1911].

In [Q2] 1871, he married Mary Hannah Greenwood [1854-1???] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Leeds.

She was a wool sorter [1881], and a grocer & confectioner [1911]

 

Children: (1) Emily [b 1872]; (2) Harry [b 1873] who was a brick works labourer [1891]; (3) Rose A [b 1876] who was a worsted rover [1891]; (4) Janet [b 1879] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a wire coverer [1901]; (5) Alice [b 1882] who was a wool comber [1901]; (6) Ruth Ann [b 1885] who was a woollen box winder [1901]; (7) Mabel [b 1888] who was a woollen box mender [1901]; (8) James Irvine [b 1889] who was a draper's assistant [1901], a cart driver [1911]; (9) Violet Elsie [b 1891] who was a twiner piecer [1911]; (10) George Norris.

The family lived at 3 Bottoms Lane, Siddal, Southowram [1881]; 15 Cinderhills Lane, Southowram [1891]; 16 Cinderhills Lane, Siddal [1901]; 107 Oxford Lane, Siddal, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was niece Minnie Sharp [b 1897] (worsted spinner) [1911]

On Saturday 23rd October 1915, the family received news of the death of son George who had been killed in action.

2 days later, James, who had been unwell for some time, died, his death possibly hastened by the news of his son

Flather, John
[17??-17??] Husbandman of Hullen Edge. Son of Richard Flather.

On 13th January 1731/2, he married Grace Greenwood.


Grace was the daughter of John Greenwood of Norwood Green
 

Children: (1) Mary [1736-1736]; (2) Hannah [bapt 1737] who married William Brigg, a Leeds clothier; (3) Thomas [bapt 1741]

Flather, John
[17??-18??] He was farmer of Hipperholme [1820].

On 22nd May 1820, he married Charlotte Barrett.


Charlotte was the daughter of
Mr Barrett
 

In 1851, Charlotte was widowed, and a hand loom stuff weaver, living with her widowed mother Elizabeth Barrett [aged 91] in Hipperholme.

In 1861, Charlotte was living with her sister Ellen and her husband William Mallinson

Flather, John Noel
[1893-1972] He married Mary Hirst [1898-1966].

Children: (1) David Neil [1933-1964] who was 2nd Engineer Officer with the Blue Funnel Line and was lost at sea [14th December 1964].

There is a memorial to the family in Zion Congregational Church, Ripponden There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 505] at Ripponden in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Flather, Joseph
[1755-1798] Of Northowram. Elder son of Henry Flather.

He married Hannah [1749-1804].

Children: (1) Henry [1787-1798]; (2) Susanna [1789-1797]; (3) Joseph [1791-1825]

Flather, Mr
[1???-1???] An early member of the Flather family of Halifax.


Question: Can anyone tell me the name of the man and/or anything about him, his wife or his family?

 

He married Unknown.

Children: Judith who married William Tweedall

Flather, Richard
[1635-1719] Yeoman of Lightcliffe. An early member of the Flather family of Halifax.

He married Anne [1629-1711].

Children: (1) Richard; (2) John [d 1688]; (3) Hannah who married Richard Speight.

The couple were buried at Lightcliffe Church

Flather, Richard
[1672-1718/9] Son of Richard Flather. Of Lower Green, Lightcliffe.

He married Elizabeth. John, Henry, and Mary [1718-177?].

He was buried at Lightcliffe Church

Flather, Robert
[18??-18??] (Possibly) son of William Flather.

Clockmaker at Causeway, Halifax [1850]

Flather, Thomas
[1758-1828] Of Hipperholme. Younger son of Henry Flather.

He married Elizabeth [1762-1833].

Children: Henry

Flather, William
[1786-1856] Hardware dealer, watchmaker and clockmaker at King Cross Lane, Halifax [1822], 21 King Cross Street, Halifax [1829], 20 King Cross Street, Halifax [1834], and 23 King Cross Street, Halifax [1837].

He married Mary [1782-18??]. Children: (1) William; (2) George [b 1845]; (3) (possibly) Robert.

There is a Hannah [aged 29] who is listed as William's wife in 1851.

The family lived at 34 King Cross Street, Halifax [1851]


Question: Does anyone know anything about the family and/or their clocks?

 

Flather, William
[1810-1879] Son of William Flather.

Halifax watchmaker and clockmaker [1850]

Flavella
A breakfast cereal produced by Thomas Sugden & Son Limited

Fleay, Rev Frederick Gard
[1831-1909] Born in London. He was a master at Leeds, Skipton and Hipperholme Grammar School [1869, 1909]. He was a well-known Shakespearian scholar and was interested in English spelling reform. He published several works, including A Shakespeare Manual [1876] and Chronicle History of the Life and Works of William Shakespeare [1886]

Fleeming, John
[1810-1849] Of Sterne Mills, Copley.

He married Eliza [1813-1846].

Eliza died 3rd February 1846 [aged 33].

John died 18th September 1849 [aged 39].

The couple were buried at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Chapel

Fleetham, William
[1870-1928] Born in Boroughbridge, Yorkshire.

He was landlord of the Talbot, Illingworth [1911].

He married Clara Newson [1859-19??] from Windsor, Berkshire, in Bedale.

William (possibly) died in Leeds [Q1 1928]

Fleming
The surname means someone from Flanders and does not have a local origin

Fleming, Andrew
[18??-18??] Partner in Graham & Fleming. He became sole proprietor when George Graham retired. He was active in local affairs and was Overseer for the Halifax district

Fleming, Basil Anthony
[1914-1941] Son of William Fleming.

During World War II, he served as a Leading Aircraftman with the RAF Volunteer Reserve.

He died on active service [21st March 1941].

He was buried at Hatfield (Woodhouse) Cemetery, Doncaster [DD 18]

Fleming, Birkby & Goodall Limited
Mill furnishers. They had business at West Grove Mills, Halifax [1900, 1912], Clifton Bridge Mills, Brighouse, Salford Card Works, Brighouse [1922], and at Liversedge and Manchester [1896].

In 1896, J. E. Lawler of Lime Street EC was their London representative.

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Fleming's "TEON" Belting, Flemings Leather, Hair, Cotton and other Belting

West Grove Mill, Halifax
National Telephone No. 48

See Card Clothing & Belting Limited

Fleming's: F. G. Fleming & Sons
Corn and grain merchants at Northgate, Halifax.

Partners included Frederick Green Fleming and Frederick William Fleming.

The firm employed 5 men and 1 boy [1881].

A notice in the London Gazette of 11th May 1897 announced

The partnership between Frederick Green Fleming and Frederick William Fleming, trading as F. G. Fleming & Son, corn merchants of Northgate, Halifax, was dissolved. Business to be carried on by Frederick William Fleming

Fleming, F. W.
[18??-19??] Halifax-born tenor who performed at the special opening performance of the Palace Theatre on 30th July 1903, when he sang the National Anthem and My Dream by Tosti

Fleming, Francis
[1843-1???] Son of Thomas Fleming.

Born in Halifax.

He was a card clothing/leather goods. belting manufacturer employing 30 hands [1881].

In 1860, he married Jane Tabram [1848-1???] at Bethnal Green.

Children: (1) Adelaide [b 1868]; (2) Thomas Worrall; (3) Ernest [b 1872] who was an engineer & machine tool maker [1891]; (4) Gertrude [b 1874]; (5) Susannah Mary [b 1876]; (6) Annie [b 1878]; (7) George Francis [1880-1881]; (8) Jane [b 1883]; (9) Georgina Caroline [b 1884]; (10) Dorothy Francis [1886] who died aged 1 month.

The family lived at 63 South Grove, Halifax [1881]

In 1891, the children were living at 23 Savile Road, Halifax. No mention of the parents [1891].

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 389]

Fleming, Frederick Green
[1829-1908] Son of James Fleming.

Born in Ovenden. Baptised at Illingworth church [1829].

He was a worsted twister [1841]; a corn dealer's assistant [1851]; a bookkeeper [1854]; a partner in Gaukroger & Fleming [until 1863]; a corn dealer [1871]; a corn merchant employing 5 men & 1 boy [1881]; a corn merchant [1891]; a partner in F. G. Fleming & Son [until 1897]; a retired grain merchant [1901].

He established F. G. Fleming & Sons with his son Frederick William.

He was a director of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society [1872].

In 1854, he married Mary Gledhill [1831-1897] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was the daughter of Samuel Gledhill, a dyer
 

Children: (1) Martha Ann [b 1855] who married George Milligan; (2) James Albert [b 1857] who was a shop boy [1871]; (3) Frederick William; (4) Willie [b 1863] who was a clerk in stuff manufacturer's warehouse [1881], a wool stapler [1891]; (5) Samuel [b 1866] who was an assistant to corn trade [1881]; (6) Clara [b 1871] who was a wool stapler [1891].

The family lived at 32 Wade Street, Halifax [1871]; 1 Park Mount, Skircoat [1881, 1891].

In 1901, he was living with his daughter and son-in-law George Milligan

Fleming, Frederick William
[1860-1931] Son of Frederick Green Fleming.

Born in Halifax.

He was an assistant to the corn trade [1881]; a corn miller & merchant [1883]; a grain miller & merchant [1891]; a partner in F. G. Fleming & Sons [until 1897]; a grain merchant warehouseman (employer) [1901]; a grain merchant [1911].

In 1883, he married Emily Blanche Greenwood [1860-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Emily Blanche was the daughter of tailor William Greenwood and lived at Clare Villa, Halifax
 

Children: (1) Douglas Victor [b 1885] who was a manager of father's works [1911]; (2) Blanche Violet [b 1886]; (3) Phyllis [b 1889]; (4) Winifred [b 1892]; (5) Frederic William Oswald [b 1896].

The family lived at 58 Savile Park Road, Halifax [1891]; Fern Dene, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Fleming's Improved Turkish Baths

Fleming's: J. Fleming & Son
Leather merchants at Broad Street, Halifax [1905]

Fleming, James
[17??-18??] Landlord of the Noah's Ark, Ovenden [1835].

He married Unknown [d 1835]

Fleming, James
[1796-18??] Of Halifax.

He was a tailor in Skircoat [1823]; a tailor [1841, 1851].

He served with the 33rd Regiment of Foot. He was awarded the Waterloo Medal.

In 1823, he married Harriet Crossley of Halifax, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Eliza [bapt 1826] who was a worsted twister [1841]; (2) James [bapt 1828] who was a worsted twister [1841]; (3) Frederick Green; (4) Emma [b 1833].

James was widowed by 1841.

The family lived at Shaw Hill, Skircoat [1841]; 24 Wesley Street, Halifax [1851]

Fleming, John
[12??-13??] Son of William Fleming.

In 1317, he acquired Hartshead Hall from Richard Radclyffe.

He married Unknown.

Children: William

Fleming, John
[18??-19??] Quarry owner and stone merchant at Turgate Quarry, Norland [1905]

Fleming, John
[1816-1878] Of Halifax.

He married Elizabeth Ann [1820-1895].

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery.

David Scholfield, Elizabeth [1844-1904] who married James Jacobs. are mentioned on the headstone

Fleming, John Helliwell
[1815-1886] Son of Elizabeth and Joseph Fleming, a cordwainer.

Born in Southowram.

He was a shoemaker [1841]; a master cordwainer [1851]; a boot & shoe maker employing 15 men & 6 boys [1861]; a master boot & shoe maker employing 20 men, 1 woman, 3 boys & 2 girls [1871]; a retired boot maker [1881].

In 1838, he married Sarah Thomas [1817-1884] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Abraham [b 1838]; (2) Elizabeth Ann [1841-1875] who married Joseph Morton; (3) Martha Hannah [b 1843]; (4) Emma [b 1848]; (5) Joah [b 1850]; (6) George [1852].

The family lived at Hatters Fold, Halifax [1841]; 3 Fenton's Court, Halifax [1851]; 8 Southgate, Halifax [1861]; 25 Southgate, Halifax [1871]; 98 Manchester Road, North Moels, Southport [1881]

Living with them in 1851 was lodger William Caton [aged 34] (cordwainer).

Living with them in 1871 were niece Hannah Thomas [aged 16].

Both Sarah and John Helliwell Fleming died in Ormskirk

Fleming, Linda Jane
[1970-1993] She disappeared from her Elland home in January 1993.

Her father, Derek, appeared on national TV, making a tearful appeal for information the killer, and won public sympathy.

Linda's battered body was found 9 days later in a ditch on moorland at Scammonden.

In February, Derek was arrested and in January 1994, he was sentenced to life imprisonment at Leeds for the murder

Fleming, Mallinson & Company
They had business at Globe Works, Halifax

Fleming, Richard
[1816-1878] Born in Norland.

He was a quarry man [1851]; a stone delver [1861, 1871].

He married Elizabeth [1817-1???].

Children: (1) William [b 1840] who was a wool comber [1851], a labourer for stone mason [1861]; (2) John [b 1842] who was a worsted piecer [1851], a stone delver [1861]; (3) James [b 1845] who was a worsted labourer [1861]; (4) Thomas [b 1846] who was a cloth finisher [1871], a farmer [1881]; (5) Henry [b 1848]; (6) Caroline [b 1850]; (7) Richard [b 1851] who was a worsted labourer [1861], a cart driver [1871], a labourer [1881]; (8) Lavinia [b 1854] who was a worsted mill hand [1871]; (9) Elizabeth [b 1856]; (10) George [b 1857] who was a woollen mill hand [1871], a stone delver [1881]; (11) Samuel.

The family lived at Roughs, Norland [1851]; Kitty Moor, Norland [1861, 1871]; Roughs, Norland [1881]

Fleming, Samuel
[18??-18??] Recorded in 1865, when he was a stationer and newsagent at 30 Swine Market, Halifax

Fleming, Samuel
[1814-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a fancy weaver [1837]; a silk weaver [1841]; a worsted weaver [1851]; a botanist [1861]; a herbalist [1869]; a galvanist [1871]; a herbalist (sub med) [1881]; a herbalist [1891].

In 1837, he married Patience Woodworth [1817-1880] at Halifax Parish Church.


Patience was the daughter of stay-maker William Woodworth
 

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1840]; (2) Eliza A [b 1842] who was a reeler in worsted factory [1861]; (3) Susannah [b 1844] who was a reeler in worsted factory [1861]; (4) Harriet [b 1846] who was a spinner in worsted factory [1851, 1861] and married [1868] Thomas Oakes [1846-1???] a warehouse man born in Kidderminster; (5) Louisa [1848-1896] who married John Owen Farrar; (6) John [b 1850]; (7) Henry [b 1853] who was a card maker [1871]; (8) Thomas [b 1856] who was a carpet printer [1871]; (9) Walter [b 1858] who was a worsted spinner [1871]; (10) Samuel [b 1862] who was a worsted spinner [1871] a worsted millhand [1881].

The family lived at King Cross Street, Halifax [1841]; Paradise Street, Halifax [1851]; 16 & 17 Paradise Street, Halifax [1861]; 22 Paradise Street, Halifax [1871, 1881, 1891].

Living with them in 1851 was widowed mother-in-law / grandmother Sarah Woodworth [aged 74].

Living with them in 1871 were daughter Harriet and her husband Thomas Oaks

Fleming, Samuel
[1860-1???] Son of Richard Fleming.

Born in Norland.

He was a worsted mill hand [1871]; a carter [1882]; a hostler [1891]; a stableman at flour mill [1901]; a horse keeper [1911].

In 1882, he married Ellen Howarth [1860-1???] at Elland Parish Church.


Ellen of Norland, was the daughter of James Howarth, fuller
 

Children: (1) Wilfred; (2) Selwyn [b 1884] who was a moulder apprentice (pig iron) [1901]; (3) Harry [b 1887] who was a cotton spinner [1901]; (4) George Heaton [1890-1893]; (5) Sarah Ellen [b 1891] who was a cotton mule piecer [1911]; (6) Fred [b 1894] who was a cop packer (warehouse) [1911]; (7) Willie [b 1897] who was an apprentice pattern maker [1911].

The family lived at 6 Walton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901, 1911].

Living with them in 1891, 1901 was Samuel's brother Richard Fleming carter [1891], drayman teamster [1901]

Fleming, Thomas
[17??-18??] Brush maker at Halifax. Recorded in 1828 at Lister Lane, Halifax

Fleming, Thomas
[1811-1???] Born in Stockport.

He was a card maker and general warehouseman employing 63 hands [1851]; a card maker employing 2 men and 4 women [1861]; a retired card maker [1871].

He married Susannah [1813-1871] from Pilsworth, Lancashire.

Children: (1) Sarah Ann [b 1834]; (2) Morris / Maurice [b 1835]; (3) Francis; (4) Alexander [b 1834]; (5) Amelia [b 1848].

The family lived at Law Lane, Southowram [1851]; 3 Wade Street, Halifax [1861]; 62 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1871].

Living with the widowed Thomas in 1871 were his unmarried sister Martha Fleming [aged 44] and his nephew Samuel Fleming [aged 19] (wire drawer) 

Fleming's: Thomas Fleming, Son & Company
Tanners, curriers, leather belting manufacturers and mill furnishers in Halifax. Established 1797.

They were at West Grove Mills, Halifax [1881] and at Stone Dam Mill, Halifax [1884].

They also had premises at Savile Road, Halifax, and a tannery at Pudsey.

They won many prizes at international exhibitions with their products which included

Helvetia laces
Fleming's Standard Oak-Tanned belts
Atlas combination belt
Eagle pickers
Excelsior compound preservative for leather belts
Their overseas customers included the Italian government, the Russian government and the South East India Railway Company

Fleming, Thomas William
[1867-1910] Landlord of the Prince of Wales, Boothtown [1901]

Fleming, Thomas Worrall
[1870-1915] Son of Francis Fleming.

He was a card & leather belting manufacturer [1891].

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion of the Duke of Wellington's Regiment.

He was reported wounded & missing at Suvla Bay, Gallipoli [12th August 1915].

He is commemorated on the Helles Memorial at Gallipoli [Panel 117-119].

There is a memorial to him in Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 389]

Fleming, W.
[18??-18??] Established Saint James's Road Turkish Baths, Halifax around 1862

Fleming's: W. Fleming & Company
Noil merchants at 6 Mulcture Hall Road, Halifax [1905]

Fleming, Wilfred
[1883-19??] Son of Samuel Fleming.

He was an apprentice tool maker (fitter) [1901]; a turner (iron) [1911].

He lived at Walton Street, Sowerby Bridge with his parents [1907, 1911].

He was injured – fractured arm and cut head – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and was detained at Halifax Infirmary

Fleming, William
[12??-13??] Children: John

Fleming, William
[13??-13??] Son of John Fleming.

In 1343, he inherited Hartshead Hall

Fleming, William
[1885-19??] Of Halifax.

He married Jessie.

Children: (1) Basil Anthony; (2) Geoffrey Dewhirst; (3) Milcie who married Cyril Walker

Fleming's: William Fleming & Son
Tanners and curriers in Halifax. The business was established in 1844. They were at Cow Green, Halifax and 12 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1881]. They had a tanning yard at Stump Cross Tannery

Flemons, Rev D. G.
[18??-19??] He was Minister at Downham Market, Norfolk, before becoming Minister at Roomfield Baptist Church, Todmorden [1926]

Flemyng, Reyner le
[11??-11??] Lord of the Manor of Wath-on-Dearne and of Clifton. Son of William le Flemyng. About 1135, he gave land at Hartshead for Kirklees Priory.

See Brighouse Corn Mill and Hartshead Hall

Flemyng, William le
[10??-11??] Installed as Lord of the Manor of Clifton by William, the first earl of Warren.

He married Unknown.

Children: Reyner

Flesh Chamber: Shibden Hall
A room on the first floor above The Housebody at Shibden Hall. It was used for storing and preserving bacon and meats. It was lost when Anne Lister removed the ceiling of the Housebody in the 1830s. The doorway to the Flesh Chamber and another room which used to be above the Housebody can still be seen in The Red Room

Fletcher
[Surname]

There are currently around 40 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fletcher. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Fletcher, Abel
[1861-1914] He married Sarah Ellen Sager.


Sarah Ellen was the daughter of
John Sager
 

He took over from Sarah Ellen's mother at the Cross Inn, Heptonstall, and ran the pub from 1900 until he died there in 1914

Fletcher, Alfred
[1849-1925] From Midgley.

He was a fancy linen draper.

The Briggs and Fletcher families owned property in Milton Terrace, Halifax and lived there as neighbours.

In 1871, he married Sarah, daughter of John Briggs, in Halifax.

Children: John Alfred [b 1874].

The family lived at 13 New Bond Street, Halifax [1891]

Fletcher & Shaw
Leather merchants and belting manufacturers at Ryburn Leather Works, Sowerby Bridge [1905]. Partners included Mr Fletcher and J. W. Shaw

Fletcher, Rev Arthur John
[18??-1925] Curate at Hebden Bridge [1879]. He was ordained in 1879 and Hebden Bridge was his first curacy. In 1884, he left to become Chaplain of Saint Raphael's Convalescent Home, Torquay. He died at Bournemouth

Fletcher, Ben
[1859-19??] Born in Stainland [27th August 1859].

He was an overlooker in a mill [1880]; a woollen manufacturer at Marshall Hall Mills, Elland [1905].

In 1886, he married Elizabeth Alice Holroyd [1856?-19??] in Halifax.

There are no records of any children.

The family lived at 48 Elizabeth Street, Elland [1905]

Fletcher, Bould Luke
[1844-1901] Or Bold. Son of Luke Fletcher. Born in Middleton, Lancashire.

He moved to Halifax. He was foreman cotton dyer [1871]; (possibly) partner in Fletcher Brothers [1876]; a master dyer employing 68 workers [1881].

In 1863, he married Eliza Ackroyd [1841-1???] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Ruth [b 1865]; (2) Amy / Ann [b 1868]; (3) Edith Eliza [b 1870]; (4) Gertrude [b 1875]; (5) a son, Shirley [b 1878].

He lived at 38 Oates Street, Halifax [1871], 83 King Cross Street, Halifax [1881], and 4 Park Road Halifax [1894]

His death was registered in West Derby

Fletcher Brothers
Halifax dyers established in 1876.

Partners (possibly) included Eli Fletcher, Bould Luke Fletcher, and Joseph Fletcher.

They had business at Raglan Street Dye Works, Halifax [1890]. They had offices in Bradford

Fletcher, Rev Charles
[18??-19??] Minister at Jubilee Street Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Halifax [1905]

Fletcher, Crossley
[18??-19??] He was a cotton warper [1899].

He was

; Grand Master of the Loyal Mercy Masonic Lodge in Todmorden [1879-1900]; Secretary of the Mercy Lodge Juvenile Lodge [1907].

See Robert Kershaw

Fletcher, Edwin
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Gunner.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Saint Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Fletcher, Eli
[1846-1908] Son of Luke Fletcher.

Born in Middleton, Lancashire.

He moved to Halifax. He was a master dyer [1891]; (possibly) partner in Fletcher Brothers [1876].

In 1872, he married (1) Selina Rigg [1848-1885] in Halifax.

Children: Randolph [b 1874].

In 1886, he married (2) Harriet Amelia Robertshaw [1860-1908] from Keighley, at Keighley.

The family lived at 25 Cromwell Street, Halifax [1881]; Park House, Aked's Road, Halifax [1891]

Fletcher, Elias
[17??-18??] Woolstapler at Sowerby.

In February 1804, he was declared bankrupt

Fletcher, Elias
[17??-18??] Mule spinner and cotton weaver at Higgin Mill, Luddendenfoot [1788].

In 1788, he was declared bankrupt

Fletcher, Frank
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Saint Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Fletcher, Fred
[1880-1951] Born in Halifax.

He was a wooden case maker [1903].

In 1903, he married Mary Ellen Hollas in Halifax.


Mary Ellen was the daughter of
Robert Hollas
 

Children: Helen [b 1907]

Fletcher, George
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1788]

Fletcher's: H. Fletcher & Company Limited
Yarn and slubbing dyers at Bowling Dyke Dye Works, Halifax [1905]

Fletcher, Henry
[1870-1???] Son of Thomas Fletcher, dyer.

Born in Halifax.

He was a carter of Wilson Street, Halifax [1892]; a railway drayman [1901]; water filterer sewerage works [1911].

In 1892, he married Frances Elizabeth King at Halifax Parish Church.


Frances Elizabeth was the daughter of
Thomas King
 

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1894] who was a hank dresser [1911]; (2) Percy Albert; (3) Arnold [b 1898]; (4) Rose [b 1900]; (5) Lilian [b 1902]; (6) Phyllis [b 1904]; (7) Harry [b 1906]; (8) Ada [b 1908].

The family lived at 1 Back Beacon Terrace, Akroydon, Halifax [1901]; 7 Pleasant Street, Commercial Road, Halifax [1911]; 9 Pleasant Street, Commercial Road, Halifax [1915].

Living with them in 1901 were brothers-in-law Charles King [b  1884] (carrying off at brickworks) and Horatio King [b 1886] (brushwasher at carpet works) 

Fletcher, J.
[18??-18??] Drysalter at Halifax.

In November 1865, he was declared bankrupt

Fletcher, J.
[18??-18??] Woollen manufacturer at Elland-cum-Greetland.

In May 1851, he was declared insolvent

Fletcher, James
[18??-1???] He was a farmer [1886].

He lived at Black Boy Farm, Halifax [1886].

See Joseph Helliwell

Fletcher, James
[18??-19??] Partner in Wheelhouse & Fletcher.

He lived at Myrtle Grove, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Fletcher, James
[1807-1???] Of Mirfield.

On 20th March 1830, he and Thomas Squires, were charged with breaking into the workshop of Samuel Armitage at Lightcliffe and stealing cards, leather and card makers' tools. The 2 men were sentenced to transportation to New South Wales for 7 years. They were amongst 200 convicts who left England for New South Wales on the Florentia [11th August 1830] and arrived on 15th December 1830

Fletcher, James
[1822-1???] Son of Abraham Fletcher, carrier.

Born in Halifax.

He was a warehouseman of Halifax [1846]; a warehouseman (wine) [1851]; landlord of the Black Lion, Halifax [1861] [1864].

In 1846 he married Maria Littlewood [1822-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Maria, born in Leeds, was the daughter of Thomas Littlewood of Halifax, cabinet maker
 

The family lived at 9 Bull Close Lane, Halifax [1851]

Fletcher, Jno H.
[18??-19??] Woollen manufacturer at Lumb Brook Mills, Hipperholme [1905]

Fletcher, John Herbert
[18??-1949] Of Langley Terrace, Hipperholme.

He was a partner in Earnshaw & Fletcher.

He married (1) Unknown.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) daughter.

On 14th March 1940, he married (2) Alice Langdale Mortimer Sunderland in London.

The couple lived at Coley Hall.

He preserved the stone doorway from Langley House in the grounds of the Hall.

He died 6th December 1949

Fletcher, Jonas
[1827-1885] Born in Northowram.

He was a blacksmith [1851, 1861, 1871]; innkeeper at the Olive Branch, Ambler Thorn [1881].

On 26th October 1851, he married (1) Mary Kershaw [1828-1871] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) James [b 1853]; (2) Maria [1855-1908].

In April 1879, he married (2) Hannah Sutcliffe [1825-1???] from Northowram

The family lived at Pule Green, Northowram [1851, 1861]; Prospect Street, Northowram [1871]

Fletcher, Joseph
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1781-1796]

Fletcher, Joseph
[1853-1???] A stone mason. On 15th August 1883, he and Grace Horsfall were drinking at the Bay Horse, Halifax. He attempted to take liberties with her and struck her. She left and when she tried to return Fletcher tried to prevent her and pushed her. She fell down 2 steps, striking her head, and was unconscious and remained so until she died a week later.

Fletcher was sentenced to 12 months' imprisonment with hard labour

Fletcher, Joseph
[1853-1894] Son of Luke Fletcher.

Born in Scisset.

He moved to Halifax. He was a cotton dyer [1871]; (possibly) partner in Fletcher Brothers [1876].

He lived at with his brother at 38 Oates Street, Halifax [1871]

Fletcher, Joseph
[1866-1912] Born in Hipperholme.

He was a painter & decorator [1886].

In 1886, he married Amelia Haggis in Bradford.


Amelia daughter of
William Haggis
 

They had no children.

The couple died in Bradford

Fletcher, Joseph Smith
[1863-1935] He was the son of a clergyman. Born in Halifax [7th February 1863].

He was educated at Silcoates School, Wakefield.

In 1883, he began work as a journalist in London.

In 189?, he joined the staff of The Leeds Mercury.

He wrote some of his articles under the pseudonym A Son of the Soil.

He wrote around 200 books, including biography, political writings, Yorkshire history and archæology, topography, regional novels and dialect verse.

His first long story – a historical novel entitled When Charles I was King – appeared in 1892. He was made a Fellow of the Royal Historical Society.

In 1912, he published his autobiography – Memoirs of a Spectator – which tells of his early life in Halifax.

Between 1914 and 1934, he wrote over 100 detective stories. Some of these became best sellers in the United States. He created the character of private investigator Ronald Camberwell.

In February 1935, he died at his home in Dorking, Surrey.

He had a son, Rev Valentine Fletcher, who died in Blandford, Dorset

Fletcher, Luke
[1812-1???] Born in Blackley, Lancashire.

He was a cotton dyer [1841]; a dyer [1851].

He married Mary [1814-1???].

Children: (1) Mary / Maria [b 1832]; (2) Margaret [b 1835]; (3) Martha [b 1837]; (4) Matilda [b 1839]; (5) Drusilla [b 1841]; (6) Bould Luke; (7) Eli; (8) Randolph [b 1848]; (9) Emma [b 1850]; (10) Joseph.

The family lived at Northowram [1851]

Fletcher, Margaret
[14??-1537] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1505-1537]

Fletcher, Matthew
[17??-18??] Of Halifax.

In October 1828, he was declared bankrupt

Fletcher, Matthew
[1782-18??] Born at East Barnby, He became a cordwainer at Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Mary [1804-18??] who married John Thomas

Fletcher, Nathaniel
[17??-17??] Ovenden schoolmaster. He wrote

Fletcher, Percy Albert
[1896-1915] Son of Henry Fletcher.

He was a scholar at Salem Sunday School; a worsted doffer [1911]; employed at Richard Whitaker & Sons Limited.

He joined the Territorials [around 1911].

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died following a German gas attack [19th December 1915] (aged 20).

He was buried at the Talana Farm Cemetery [IV H 6]

Fletcher, Richard
[18??-18??] Landlord of the Northgate Hotel, Halifax [1850, 1853]

He married Selina [1812-1853]

Fletcher, Robert
[17??-18??] In the 18th century, he owned Ovenden Hall

Fletcher, Stuart David
[19??-] First class cricketer. He played for Yorkshire County Cricket Club [1983-1991] and Lancashire County Cricket Club [1992-1994]. After his retirement, he continued to play for Elland Cricket Club. He was in charge of youth coaching at Brighouse Cricket Club

Fletcher, T.
[18??-18??] Journeyman stonemason at Haley Hill, Halifax.

In March 1862, he was declared bankrupt

Fletcher, Thomas
[1729-1812] He was landlord of the Calder & Hebble, Salterhebble [some time before his death 14th July 1812]

Flight House, Soyland

Owners and tenants have included

Flight, William Edward
[1857-1906] Born in Stroud, Gloucestershire.

He was manager for Brian Booth Cowgill in Sowerby Bridge.

In 1901, he was a boarder with Ellen Cowgill, sister of Brian Booth Cowgill. in Sowerby Bridge.

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery together with Ellen Cowgill

Flint, William Clapham
[18??-1892] He was a glass and china merchant [1888]; a licensed hawker [1891].

In 1888, he married Sarah, daughter of Samuel Binns.

Children: Ada [b 1892].

The family lived at 39 Church Street, Liversedge [1891]

He was buried at Hartshead Church

Flintiff, John
[17??-1851] An item about his insolvency in September 1842, says that he was at the Eastbrook Hotel, Bradford and the Hope & Anchor Inn, Bradford before becoming landlord of the George, Brighouse and the Railway Hotel, Rastrick [1840]

Flints
Area between Mill Bank and Cragg Vale.

The name comes from Neolithic tools found here

Flints Reservoir, Sowerby
Now disused

Flone Nook, Sowerby
Mentioned by Crabtree who says that the element fla means an arrow, suggesting that archery was practised here in former times

Flood, James T.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Royal Welsh Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Flood, Sam
[1888-1918] Born in Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 3rd Battalion Worcestershire Regiment.

He died 26th April 1918.

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial [Panels 75-77] and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Floods
The low-lying valleys of the district have always been subject to flooding as rainwater from the hills swells the local rivers, notably the Calder and the Ryburn

Flower, Rev George Augustus Vivian
[18??-19??] MA.

Curate at Halifax [1908], Vicar of Greetland [1910], and Vicar of Christ Church, Pellon [1921].

During his incumbency, Saint Thomas's Sunday School was built.

In 1921, he was appointed vicar of Aberford, Leeds

Flower House, Elland
John Street. Built in 1880. Named for the floral decoration on the exterior walls. The plasterwork was redone in 1956

Flower Scar Farm, Cornholme
Derelict.

See Flower Scar Road, Todmorden

Floyde, Rev John
[17??-1799] He was a travelling Wesleyan preacher before becoming the first Minister at Stainland Chapel [1759]. He lived in Halifax

Fly Flatts Reservoir
Aka Fly Flatt Reservoir, Warley Moor Reservoir.

Traces of Mesolithic occupation have been found here.

See Reservoir, Fly Flatts

Flying clubs
There are several entries relating to flying and aeronautics in the district.

See Aeroplane Field, Clifton, Air Circus, Airport, Brighouse Flying Club, Calder Valley Aero Club, Clifton airport, Cousin Lane Aerodrome, Gun Club Field, Lightcliffe and Halifax Gliding Club

Flying Dutchman
Bicycle produced by Priestley Alderson.

In 1898, the 33rd Duke of Wellington's Own Regiment were supplied with the Military Model of the cycle

Flying Dutchman Stables, Boothtown
The stables of the Flying Dutchman pub.

Owners and tenants have included

See Bankfield Stables, Boothtown

Flyn, Rev Leo
[1???-19??] Priest at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax [1935]

Flynn, Christopher
[1857-1???] Son of John Flynn.

Born in Sheffield.

In 1873, he went to America

Flynn, Ellen
[1848-1900] Daughter of John Flynn. Born in Ireland.

In 1864, she had twin daughters – Mary Ann and Julia – who were born in Halifax Union Workhouse, Gibbet Street, father unknown.

In 1871, she went to America, leaving her daughters with her mother, Julia.

In 1873, her mother, Julia, and the twins, brother Christopher, and nephew Dennis, emigrated to America.

In 1873, Ellen married Frank Riley at Fall River, Massachusetts

Flynn, John
[1800-1869] Born in Ireland.

He married Julia Dalton [1813-1885] in Ireland.

Around 1854, the couple moved to England.

He worked as a mason's labourer.

Children: (1) Michael; (2) Marcella [b 1847] who married [1869] Thomas McKenney; (3) Ellen; (4) John; (5) Julia [1852-1871] who was blind; (6) Christopher.

The family lived at 26 Milk Street, Halifax.

In 1873, Julia, Christopher and nephew Dennis, emigrated to America.

John and Julia were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2681]. They were in an unmarked grave until Tom Flynn, their great-great-grandson, erected a stone in 2005

Flynn, John
[1850-1924] Son of John Flynn.

In 1872, he went to America.

The rest of he family followed him

Flynn, Rev John F.
[1???-19??] Priest at Our Lady of Lourdes & Saint Malachy, Ovenden [1935]

Flynn, Michael
[1844-1???] Son of John Flynn.

Born in Ireland.

In November 1865, he married Elizabeth Ann Dooley at Saint Mary's Roman Catholic Church, Gibbet Street.

In 1882, the family emigrated to Providence, Rhode Island, USA

Flynn, Rev Thomas Henry
[18??-18??] He was Curate at Brighouse [1844, 1861] to Rev Joseph Birch and a candidate to succeed him, but Rev Charles Musgrave offered the living to Rev William Booker.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Herbert William [1860-1862]; (2) Herbert Henry [1864-1872].

He went on to become Vicar of Holy Trinity, Low Moor.

His sons were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Fogg, Lillian (Lily)
[19??-19??] A well-known character and familiar to many hostelries in and around Halifax, and their patrons

Fogg, William
[1829-1882] He married Sally Hartley [1831-1876].

Children: Priscilla [1865-1946] who married John Henry Turner

Foggo, Dr
[18??-19??] Doctor in Sowerby Bridge.

Recorded in 1907, when he was one of the medical men who attended the casualties in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster

Fold End Estate, Hove Edge
Recorded in August 1881, when it was owned by W. Crossley who was in dispute with Whitaker's Brewery, owners of the Joiners' Arms, who sought to recover damages for obstruction of light. The property was bought by Crossley.

See Fold End Farm

Fold End Farm, Hipperholme
Owners and tenants have included

See Fold End Estate

Fold Farm, Illingworth
Once known as Mixenden Hall.

See Rev Thomas Evans

The Fold, Shelf
Aka Lower Fold Farm, Shelf

Fold, Todmorden
Eastwood Lane. Early 17th century house, cottage and barn

Fold, Warley
Laithe-house built 1831

The Fold, Wheatley
House aka City Fold, Wheatley

Folds, William
[17??-17??] In the various documents, the name is also spelled Fowles. He was a coiner of Erringden. Cousin of Matthew Normanton. He was an accessory to the murder of William Deighton. On 4th August 1770, he was prosecuted at York Assizes along with Robert Thomas and Matthew Normanton

Folk Museum, Shibden
Aka The Folk Museum of West Yorkshire.

The Folk Museum to the rear of Shibden Hall was opened in 1953, and the courtyard has been arranged as a 17th-18th century village around the aisled barn.

In 1960, a fire at the Museum destroyed a 15th century cruck barn and several farm vehicles and implements.

There are several coaches and carriages at the Museum

Look out for

See Frank Atkinson and Verney Horsfall

Follies

Follis, John
[1833-1910] Police officer with the West Riding Constabulary at Halifax. He was listed as a Superannuated Policeman [1881].

In 1866, he and Allen Midwood were witnesses in the case of John Richard Jeffery who was charged with the murder of Arthur Jeffery, his son, at Saint Giles's in London. On 8th September 1865, Jeffery turned himself in at Follis's home in Halifax, and suggested that Follis might claim the £100 reward which was offered for his apprehension. Jeffery was taken back to London where he was tried, found guilty of murder and sentenced to death.

In 1856, he married Bridget Murray [1838-1???] from Ireland, in Wakefield.

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1859] who was a tailor [1881]; (2) Ann [b 1863]; (3) William [b 1865]; (4) Sarah Ellen [b 1873]. The children were all born in Sowerby.

The family lived at Batley [1881].

Living with them in 1881 was widowed sister-in-law Ann Murray [aged 63] from Ireland

See Trial of William Hellowell

Folly, Barkisland
House aka Upper Holmhouse. Samuel Haigh lived here in the 18th century. It was owned by the trustees of the Wheelwright's Charity.

The building is now in ruins.

See Lower Holmhouse, Barkisland and The Holmhouse, Barkisland

Folly Dam, Todmorden
This is a popular fishing venue

Folly Hall
Area of Halifax around Godley

Folly Hall Farm, Ambler Thorn
Windy Bank Lane.

Parts of the property are 17th century. Dated 1614.

Martha Turner was born here.

Owners and tenants have included

It was badly restored and the original mullion windows replaced by plastic ones

Folly Hall, Godley
House aka The Haynes.

Owners and tenants have included

The building was demolished.

Parts are still visible. The carriage-way entrance, off Old Bank, can still be seen.

Maps of 1852 show footpaths from here to Whiskam Dandy, and to the bottom of Southowram Bank

Folly Steps
Area of Old Bank, Halifax.

The Holy Well was here

Fookes, Albert Cracroft
[1839-1916] Son of Maria Susanna [1809-1867] and Rev Thomas Broadley Fookes [1808-1874]. Born in Kent.

On 25 May 1867, he married Harriet, daughter of Thomas Hirst, in New Plymouth, Taranaki, New Zealand.

Children: (1) Harry Egmont [1868-1947]; (2) Thomas Cracroft [1869-1943]; (3) Albert Graham [1876-1946]; (4) May Bracken [1871-1948]; (5) Ethel Homewood [1872-1951]; (6) Ernest Faber; (7) twins Margaret Mary [1877-1960]; (8) Frederica Grace [1877-1955]; (9) George Talbot [1879-1946]; (10) Wilfred Herbert [1880-1935]; (11) Dora Frances [1882-1883]; (12) Emily Valentine [1884-1963].

The couple died and were buried in New Plymouth

Fookes, Dr Ernest Faber
[1874-1948] Rugby Union player.

Son of Albert Cracroft Fookes. Born in Taranaki, New Zealand.

He came to England when he was about 15 years old to be educated for a medical career. In 1891, he was a clerk at paper mills and living at The Dean, Goit Side, Midgley with his greataunt Elizabeth Bracken.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School – where he played in rugby – and Owens College Manchester.

During the 1892-93 season, he played several times with Halifax, and was very successful as a wing three-quarter.

When Halifax joined the Northern Union, he moved to play for Sowerby Bridge.

On 15th January 1897, the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle, 15th January 1897) reported

Fookes of the Sowerby Bridge rugby football team missed a match with them as he was playing for England against Wales

He played for Halifax, Sowerby Bridge, and Yorkshire colts. He played for England [1896]

He was said to be one of the best three-quarter backs in the English football world.

He returned to New Zealand. During World War I, he was in the second reserves in the New Zealand Army and a medical practitioner of 41 Courtney Street, New Plymouth, New Zealand.

Footman, Rev Horace Spence
[1875-1948] MA.

Born in Ipswich, Suffolk [1875].

He was Curate at Saint Paul's Church, King Cross, Saint Hilda's Mission, Halifax [1905], and Vicar at Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax [1912].

He lived at Saint Hilda's Parsonage, Eversley Mount [1905].

In later life, he moved to the Isle of Wight.

He died at Holloway Sanatorium, Virginia Water, Surrey [1st July 1948].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £5,208 3/5d. Probate was granted to Ella Sutton (widow), and Harry Kenneth Staddon (solicitor) 

Forbes, Dr
[18??-1???] Medical practitioner at Vale Manse, Todmorden [1895]

Forbes, P. G.
[19??-19??] He lived at Old House Farm, Barkisland.

He married Unknown.

Children: Hamish who married [1969?] Mari Clark from Michigan

Forbes-Robertson, Mrs Farquhar

Forbes-Robertson, Farquhar
[1838-1912] In 1872, he married Laura Ann Macaulay.

Children: (1) Elspeth [bapt 1873]; (2) Helen [bapt 1876]; (3) Ann [bapt 1877]; (4) Innes [bapt 1879]; (5) Mary [bapt 1880]; (6) Hannah [bapt 1882]; (7) Kenneth; (8) James

The family lived at Woodhouse, Rastrick and Slead Hall, Brighouse.

He died in Cheltenham [23 November 1912].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £1,317 16/9d

Forbes-Robertson, James
[1884-1955] VC, DSO, MC.

Son of Farquhar Forbes-Robertson. Educated at Cheltenham College.

He served as a Lieutenant-Colonel with the Border Regiment in France during World War I.

He was awarded the Victoria Cross and many other medals

Forbes-Robertson, Captain Kenneth
[1882-1914] Son of Farquhar Forbes-Robertson.

Born at Slead Hall [17th April 1882]

He was educated at Cheltenham College and Sandhurst.

He served with the 1st Seaforth Highlanders. Eventually becoming Captain.

He served in East Africa [1904], where he took part in operations in Somaliland, and at Jidballi. He served on the North-West Frontier in India [1908], where he took part in operations in the Zakha Khel country, in the Mohmand country, and in the engagement of Matta.

He was decorated for his service.

He served with the Expeditionary Force in France and Flanders [from 5th October 1914], until he was killed whilst leading a reconnoitring party at Ploegsteert Wood, Belgium [7th November 1914].

He is remembered on the Ploegsteert Memorial, Hainaut, Belgium [9]

Forbes, Roderick
[18??-18??] He married Margaret.

Children: Eliza Jane [1855-1856].

Eliza Jane were buried at Mount Zion Chapel, Lightcliffe

Forbes, Rev Stuart
[19??-] BD.

Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1977-1989]. Arriving from Stainforth, near Doncaster, he saw the church through the years of increasing inflation, and the move to the new vicarage in Greenroyd Avenue. He left to become Vicar of Saint Michael's in the Hamlet, Toxteth, Liverpool

Forbes, Mrs Sylvia
[18??-1???] Née Pickles. Music teacher of Todmorden

Ford
Where economics and/or the landscape did not allow a bridge to be constructed over a river or stream, a simple road through a shallow part of the water was constructed.

There are/were local examples such as the fords across the Calder at Snake Hill Ford, Brighouse, across Clifton Brook at Thornhill Briggs, and across Lumb Brook where Denton Bridge, Kebroyd now stands

Ford, Rev E. C.
[19??-19??] Vicar of Saint Michael & All Angels' Church, Cornholme. In 1978, he moved to Wragby

Ford, Frank
[18??-19??] Established Frank Ford Limited in 1914

Ford's: Frank Ford Limited
Halifax engineering company at Sovereign Works, Lister Lane, Halifax. Restaurant engineers established in 1914 by Frank Ford. In 1928, they began manufacturing their famous fish and chip frying equipment.

At one time, most of the fish and chips in the country seemed to have been fried in Ford's ranges.

John Ford, grandson of the founder sold the business in 2001.

The firm became Halifax Fisheries.

They also operated Frank Ford Aircraft Components at Haley Hill. The site is now occupied by a Lidl Supermarket

Ford, Rev John
[1???-17??] Minister at Warley Congregational Church [1741] for about a year

Fordham, Harold
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance and on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Fordham, Rev J. S.
[18??-1???] In 1891, he and Rev J. F. Holdsworth were Ministers at Cragg Vale Wesleyan Chapel, Crimsworth Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Highgate Wesleyan Methodist Church, Heptonstall and Old Town Methodist Chapel, Wadsworth

Fordyce, Rev Thomas
[17??-18??] Minister at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood [1789]. In 1791, he moved to Stand, Lancashire

Foreman, Joseph
[18??-1888] One of the founders of the Halifax Co-operative Trading Society [1849] and Storekeeper of the Halifax Working Men's Co-operative & Provident Society [1850]. He defused the incident of 1855 in which 60 members stormed the Society and demanded their investment back after the treasurer misappropriated £81.

He was a Trustee of Northgate End Chapel [1880].

In 1890, his friend, Sir James Stansfeld, placed windows in his memory at Northgate End Chapel

Forest Cottage, Ovenden
Around 1840, John Wilson built the house and a warehouse

Forest House, Illingworth
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Owners and tenants have included

Forest Mill Company Limited
Tapestry and damask manufacturers at Forest Mill, Ovenden [1905]

Forest Villa, Ovenden
Ovenden Road. House built in 18??

Owners and tenants have included

Foresters' Hall, Ripponden
Ripponden Old Bank / Silver Street.

A multi-storey tenement-type building.

There was a meeting room on the top floor. The Chartists met here and it was known as the Chartists' Hall.

It was demolished in 19??.

The site has been grassed over and is now known as The Field of Hope

Forge House, Sowerby
Owned by John Royds

Forness
A variant of the surname Furness

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Forness, Diana
[16??-1709] Daughter of John Forness of Batley.

She married Samuel Riddlesden.

She died of a fever during pregnancy

Forrest, Jack
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Forrest, John
[18??-19??] He had a drapery business at Manchester House, Elland

Forrest, John
[1858-19??] Born in Preston, Lancashire.

He was a general draper (dealer) [1911].

In [Q3] 1887, he married Charlotte Hudson [1860-1903] from Preston, in Preston.

Children: Florence May [b 1889] who was assisting in business [1911].

The family lived at 10 Russell Street, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was his widowed mother Margaret Forrest paged 75]

Forrest, William
[18??-19??] Of Dewsbury.

He married Julia Annie, daughter of Thomas Hutchinson.

On the death of Thomas Hutchinson, he took over as landlord of the King's Head, Halifax [1891]

Forshaw, Rev D. O.
[19??-19??] He was chaplain in Singapore before becoming Vicar of Heptonstall [1959]. In 1966, he left to move to Whitehaven

Forshaw, Rev E. H.
[19??-19??] Vicar of Heptonstall [1961]. In 1962, he left to be vicar of Stanley

Forster, Irene L.
[1902-1968] Pioneer in the education of musically-talented children. A cellist, she was one of the earliest students at the Royal College of Music. She was Assistant Mistress at Princess Mary High School, Haberdashers' Aske's School, Acton, Wellington Girls' High School, and Dame Alice Harpur School, Bedford. In 1962, she was a founder and Principal of the Central Tutorial School for Young Musicians

Fort Montague, Brighouse
Elland Road. Farm which looks on to the Cromwellbottom Lakes.

See Brighouse Cat Steps

Forth, Miss Mary
[18??-18??] In 1874, she ran a school in Halifax

Fortune, Mordecai
[1859-1891] Born at Dobroyd, Todmorden.

He was a familiar sight selling pies in the district. He entertained the clients with comic recitations and tales of his travels.

He lived at George Street, Todmorden [1891]

Forty Shilling Mantle Company, Halifax
Costumier. Recorded in 1936 at 39 Northgate when C. Atkinson was proprietor

Forty Steps, Elland
The popular name for the third-storey of the Northgate premises of Joseph Dobson & Sons Limited in Elland. This extension was built for the Savile [No 1231] Masonic Lodge who moved there in 1885, and remained there until the 1920s

The Forum, Halifax
An advertisement for the business in 1915 announced the

Smartest display of up-to-date toys, fancy goods & presents

on their premises at Café Royale Buildings, King Edward Street

See Café Royale, Halifax

Fosbrook, F.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Liverpool Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Foskew, Rev D.
[19??-19??] Priest at Saint Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street [1966]

Fossard, A. W.
[18??-19??] Joiner and undertaker. He had works
behind Commercial Bank, King Cross, Halifax [1916]

He lived at 104 Haugh Shaw Road, Halifax [1916]

Fossard, Henry
[18??-1???] He was Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1873-1874]

Fossey, Ernest Clifford
[1908-1986] Son of Ernest George Fossey.

Born in Halifax [17th Sep 1908].

He was a brick setter [1935].

On 31st August 1935, he married Emma Helliwell in Halifax.


Emma was born in Halifax, the daughter of Thomas Tasker Helliwell
 

They had no children.

During World War II, he served in the Military Police and was one of the British contingent to liberate the Bergen-Belsen concentration camp in 1945

Fossey, Ernest George
[1876-1917] Son of Joseph Fossey.

Born in Halifax.

On 4th April 1896, he married Emma Casson [1877-1930] at Saint Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Emma was born in Halifax, the daughter of George Casson
 

Children: (1) Phyllis [b 1897] who married Harold Ralph; (2) Sarah Ellen [1899-1989] who married William Cape; (3) Hilda Pretoria [1901-1968] who married Fred Tasker Helliwell; (4) Amy [1906-1945] who married Charles William Whitley; (5) Ernest Clifford; (6) Blanche Marjorie [1910-1986] who married Jack Wallace; (7) Stanley; (8) Douglas [1916-1998].

The children were all born in Halifax

The children were all born in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in Flanders [10th August 1917].

He was buried in Adinkerke Military Cemetery [C 8]

Fossey, George
[1845-1921] Born in Loughton, Buckinghamshire.

On 2nd March 1872, he married Harriet Bull in Halifax.


Harriet was the daughter of
Richard Bull
 

Children: (1) Susannah [1872-1918] who married Thomas Edwin Wilson; (2) Annie [1874-1935] who married Ernest Oddy; (3) George William; (4) Mary [1878-1952] who married William Parker; (5) Elizabeth [1879-1962] who married Herbert Cockroft; (6) Clara [1883-1962] who married Walter Swaine

Fossey, George William
[1875-1944] Son of George Fossey.

Born in Copley [28th October 1875].

He was a machine tool maker [1900].

In 1900, he married Mary Priestley [1877-1924] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Edna [1906-1990] who married Ben Barnett; (2) Irene [b 1908].

The children were born in Halifax

Fossey, Joseph
[1853-1917] Born in Ampthill, Bedfordshire [31st December 1853].

He was a labourer [1874].

In 1874, he married Sarah Billington [1855-1923] in Halifax.


Sarah was also born in Ampthill
 

Children: Ernest George.

Joseph died in the Union Workhouse, Halifax [16th July 1917].

Sarah died in Saint Luke's Hospital, Halifax [10th January 1923]

Fossey, Stanley
[1912-1944] Son of Ernest George Fossey.

In 1935, he married Lily Pickles [1912-1976] in Halifax.


Lily was born in Halifax
 

Children: Barbara [b 1939].

During World War II, Stanley saw service in Singapore and was taken prisoner by the Japanese.

On 12th September 1944, he was put onto the Japanese Hell Ship Rakuyo Maru along with 1159 other British & Australian POWs for transit to Japan. The Rakuyo Maru and her sister ship the Kachidoki Maru – with a further 900 POWs – were spotted by US submarines USS Pampanito and USS Sealion; both ships were mistaken for cargo ships and torpedoed. The Americans realised they had hit transport ships and returned to the scene 4 days later, only 63 men were pulled from the sea alive. Stanley had drowned, along with 1995 British & Australian troops

Fostal Clough
Aka Foster Clough

Fostard, Richard
[1804-1???] Born in Stainland. He was a bookseller [1841].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) James; (2) Richard who died at the age of 17; (3) Nanny [baptised as Fosterd around 1834]; (4) Margaret [baptised as Foster]

Fostard, Richard de
[15??-1590]

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Foster...
The entries for people with the surname Foster are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

The Foster family of Erringden
The family built the Stubbing Wharf, Hebden Bridge and Foster Mill, Hebden Bridge

The Foster family of Wadsworth

Foster & Armstrong
Drapers, milliners, dress and mantle makers at Crown Street, Halifax [1890]. The business evolved from that of James Milne and – passing John Rayner and J. W. Foster – became a partnership with H. Foster and Mr Armstrong. In 1860, the Crown Street premises were rebuilt

Foster & Clay
Worsted spinners of hosiery yarn and other yarn. They had business at Hollins Mill, Sowerby Bridge. In 1895, they employed over 200 workers. Partners included Benjamin Clay and John Foster Clay.

In 1905, they were described as a branch of J. & J. Baldwin & Partners

Foster & Sugden
Cotton spinners at New Bridge Mill, Hebden Bridge [17??-1819]. Partners included John Foster

Foster & Winter
Halifax solicitors. They were at Bank Chambers, Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1894].

Partners included Louis Pohlmann Foster and Duncan Clerk Winter.

The business was dissolved on 9th June 1894 by mutual agreement

Foster's Charity
Recorded on 5th November 1875, when it was distributed
as is usual on this date

to 120 recipients at the White Lion Hotel, Hebden Bridge

Foster Clough Bridge, Mytholmroyd
Clapper bridge across Foster Clough

Foster Clough House, Mytholmroyd
Originally 2 cottages. Built about 1800. Now a single dwelling

Foster Clough, Mytholmroyd
Aka Fostal Clough. On its way down to Mytholmroyd and the Calder, the stream forms a part of the boundary between Midgley and Wadsworth.

See Foster Clough Bridge, Mytholmroyd

Foster's: Edward Foster & Son Limited
Halifax brassfounders and engineering company founded in 1798.

The company produced valves at their Central Brass Works, Halifax.

Their models included

Invincible wheel valve with Jenkins disc
Standhard wheel valve with renewable seat and valve
Neerfall patent reducing valve
It became one of the largest brass-founders in Halifax. The firm exhibited at the Brussels International Exhibition [May 1897].

See Charles Clifford Foster and William Henry Foster

Foster, England & Foster
Solicitors at Crown Street, Halifax [1880]

Partners included Adam Crossfield Foster, Thomas England, and Louis Pohlmann Foster

Foster's: John Foster & Son Limited
Alpaca and mohair spinners, and manufacturer of woollen and worsted products at their Black Dike Mills at Queensbury founded by John Foster in 1819.

In its heyday, the mills employed more than 1,500 people, and increased the population of Queensbury. When they were unable to recruit the necessary workers locally, they had to attract them from far and wide and constructed a 230-bed hostel to accommodate them. It included its own electrically-powered laundry.

At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products, and won several awards, including first prize for alpaca.

The Foster family owned the mills into the 20th century.

The company provided gas lighting for Queensbury. On 3rd January 1920 an increase in pressure caused meters to explode and damage to property.

Business began to decline in the 1980s. The company went into liquidation in November 2001, but was the subject of a management buy-out in December of the same year. The mills were sold for redevelopment in 2001.

See Albert Memorial, Queensbury, John Foster

Foster Mill Bridge, Hebden Bridge
Slater Bank Lane.

Aka Foster Lane Bridge.

A 17th century packhorse bridge over Hebden Water built to give the fulling mill at Foster Mill access to Heptonstall

Foster's Stone, Hebden Bridge
A natural rock outcrop above Callis Wood

Fosterville
A suggestion of a new name for Queenshead in 1863 – in memory honour of Foster's Black Dike Mills – but Queensbury was chosen instead

Fothergill, Alexander
[17??-18??] Of Brighouse. He was a leading Quaker.

He married (1) Unknown.

He married (2) Jane, daughter of Richard Robinson.

Children: unknown.

They emigrated with some of their family to America.

Jane died in America [1874]

Fotheringham, Rev J. G.
[18??-19??] Minister at Ripponden Congregational Church [1907]

Fotheringham, Rev Richard
[18??-19??] MA.

He was educated at Edinburgh and at Airedale College before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Ovenden [1887]. He moved to Haverhill [1891] and to Blackheath [1895]

Foul Peter
An alias of the coiner Peter Barker

Foul Scout Wood, Hebden Bridge
Lies below Shackleton

Foulds
[Surname]

There are currently only around 7 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Foulds. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Foulds & Ridings Limited
Silk manufacturers at Prince of Wales Mill, Brighouse

Foulds, Arthur
[1897-1979] Born in Sowerby [13th April 1897].

He was a painter [1921].

In 19th March 1921, he married Lilian Pickles in Halifax.


Lilian was the daughter of
James Pickles
 

Children: (1) Lena [b 1921]; (2) Raymond [b 1922]; (3) Eric [b 1925]; (4) Rita [b 1928].

The children were born in Halifax

Foulds, Charles
[18??-19??] He was

a baker in Walsden [1915]

Children: Young

Foulds, H. Jon
[19??-] He was Chairman of the Halifax Building Society [1990-1999]

Foulds, James
[1831-1890] He married Sarah Akroyd.


Sarah was the daughter of
Jonathan Akroyd
 

Children: (1) Annis [1867-1868] who died aged 1 year and 11 months; (2) William Edgar [1868-1869] who died aged 1 year and 5 months.

The family lived at 20 Haley Hill, Halifax [1875].

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Foulds, Richard
[1842-1902] Born in Warley.

He was a road contractor.

He married Eunice Ann Gledhill [1841-1900].


Eunice Ann was born in Ovenden
 

Children: Edna Wilkinson (Foulds) who married John Barrett.

Richard died 23rd July 1902

Foulds, Thomas
[1856-1???] Born in Bradford.

He was a cotton and woollen piece inspector [1891].

He married Eliza J. [1857-1???].

The family lived at 41 Briggate, Brighouse [1891]

Foulds, Young
[1891-1948] Son of Charles Foulds, a baker in Walsden.

He was a baker in Walsden.

During World War I, he enlisted [4th December 1915] and served with the Grenadier Guards

Fountain Head Farm, Pellon
Owners and tenants have included

The Webster family had a beerhouse here.

It became the Fountain Head Inn

Fountain Head Village, Ovenden Wood
Community developed around the former Webster's Fountain Head Brewery and Long Can. It emerged around 2007

Four C's
Later name for the Collinson's Café Conversation Circle

Four Gates End, Stansfield
Area of Stansfield Moor

Fournes
A variant of the surname Furness

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Fournes, Ichabod
[16??-16??] Or Furness.

Vicar of Coley [1672]

Fourness
A variant of the surname Furness

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 12 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fourness. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Fourness's Charity
In an indenture of 1701, Phoebe Fourness bequeathed 10/- per annum from the rents of lands and property in Ovenden. The money was to be given to
some ecclesiastical person

to read divine service and preach in Illingworth Chapel every Sunday. The remainder of the rents was to be distributed to the poor of Ovenden who attend these services and sermons on Midsummer Day and Christmas Day. Using figures for average earnings, 10/- in 1701 is roughly the equivalent of £822.00 today

Fourness, Elizabeth
[1???-1???] Daughter of William Fourness.

She married (1) Richard Hogge. On her father's death, the couple inherited Shelf Old Hall.

After Richard death, she married (2) Thomas Hoile

Fourness, Elizabeth
[1???-18??] Of Bradley Mills, Halifax.

On Sunday, 17th March 1833, she married James Hamer of Bury, Lancashire

Fourness, John
[17??-18??] He had the first iron foundry in Sowerby Bridge

Fourness, Joseph
[1603-1676] Of Ovenden. Son of William Fourness.

He was apprenticed to the cloth selling trade, working for John Mitchell of Boothtown. He worked as a manufacturer's agent at Blackwell Hall, London and became very wealthy.

He built Ovenden Hall, and had other properties including Upper Shibden Hall, Calico Hall.

He took the Parliamentary side in the Civil War, and was appointed to take the accounts of their officers by the Commonwealth. He was an army contractor during the war.

He was a governor of Nathaniel Waterhouse's Charity, Heath Grammar School, and a member of the Pious Uses Commission in 1651.

In 1654, he was Chief Constable of Agbrigg & Morley.

In 1637, he married (1) Effam Mitchell – his late master's widow – at Halifax Parish Church.

On Effam's death, he married (2) Phoebe, widow of James Oates.

Children: (1) Samuel; (2) John; (3) Mary who married William Livesay; (4) Hannah [1666-1680].

He was one of the electorate of 59 people when Jeremy Bentley was elected first MP for Halifax in 1654.

He died 3rd March 1676.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Fourness, Joseph
[18??-18??] Basket and skep maker and dealer in French, German and fancy baskets at Commercial Street, Brighouse [1874]

Fourness, Miss
[17??-18??] Confectioner at Crown Street, Halifax [1809]

Fourness, Phoebe
[16??-17??] She established Fourness's Charity

Fourness, Richard
[14??-1???] Yeoman.

In 1488, Richard Pek conveyed the Manor of Shelf Hall to Richard Fourness.

He was succeeded by Thomas Fourness

Fourness, Samuel
[1???-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was an ironmonger in Halifax

Fourness, Thomas
[14??-1559] Aka Fournes. He owned Batehayne, Northowram, Ryecroft, Illingworth and The Boothes.

In 1530, he succeeded Richard Fourness to the Manor of Shelf Hall.

The Manorial Lord of Wakefield granted him and others an acre of land for a chapel at Coley.

He married Unknown.

Children: William

Fourness, William
[150?-1575] Son of Thomas Fourness.

He succeeded his father to the Manor of Shelf Hall.

He had disagreements with Edward Savile, lord of the Manor of Shelf, claiming that the Saviles were exercising rights which belonged to him.

In 1561, he accused the Saviles of trespass and removing coals from his lands without permission, and filed a suit in the Court of the Duchy of Lancaster.

He also accused the Saviles of enclosing Shelf Common.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Elizabeth; (2) Jennet; (3) Agnes.

After his death, the estate passed to his daughters

Fourness, William
[15??-16??] A clothier.

He married Unknown.

Children: Joseph

Fournis
A variant of the surname Furness

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Fowkes, Rev E.
[19??-19??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge. In 1957, he was appointed vicar at Pontefract

Fowler, Charles Hodgson
[1840-1910] MA, FSA, FRIBA.

Durham/Newcastle-based architect who designed the chancel, nave, reredos, and west tower of Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Fowler, George
[1858-19??] He was a dancing master [1911].

In [Q3] 1879, he married Kate Helen Staveley [1858-19??] in Halifax.


Kate was born in Hull. In 1901, she was listed as a confectioner, working on her own account
 

Children: (1) Maude [b 1881] who was a clerk in a cabinet works [1901]; (2) Percy [b 1882] who was an apprentice in a textile? works [1901], a dental assistant [1911]; (3) Cyril [b 1888] who was a dentist [1911]; (4) Kathleen [b 1903].


The sons carried out their dental business at home [1911]
 

The family lived at 2 Stoney Lane, Skircoat [1901]; Ivy Cottage, 90 King Cross Street, Halifax [1911]

Fowler, J.
[18??-19??] Florist and seedsman at Ovenden House Nursery [1905]

Fowler's: Kenneth Fowler & Company
Pet shop. They were at Commercial Street, Brighouse [1947]

Fowles, James
[17??-1???] A cloth merchant – sharing rooms with John Murgatroyd – at Halifax Piece Hall [1787].

He lived at Oats Royd, Warley [1787]

Fox
[Surname]

There are currently around 37 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fox. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Fox, Abraham Fielding
[1853-1938] Son of William Fox.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a joiner [1871, 1881]; a joiner & builder (employer) [1901, 1911]; partner in William Fox & Sons.

In 1889, he married Annie Ord [1857-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Annie of King Cross, Halifax, was born in Halifax, the daughter of Cowle Thompson Ord, a warehouse man
 

They had no children.

They lived at 39 Pleasant Street, Warley [1891]; 14 Princess Street, Sowerby Bridge [1905, 1901, 1911]

Fox's Almanac
An almanac first published by A. B. Bayes in 1874.

See Local Newspapers

Fox & Fawthrop
Woollen manufacturers at Old Mill, Greetland.

Partners included John Fox and James Fawthrop.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1867

Fox, Rev Arthur W.
[18??-19??] MA.

Minister at Todmorden Unitarian Church [1905, 1917].

He is recorded as being a lecturer at the photographic group of the Todmorden Conservative Club [1908]

Fox Brothers
Clothiers, outfitters, mercers and tailors at Old Market and The Arcade, Halifax [1895]

Fox, Charles Edward
[1864-1938] Son of Charles James Fox.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was an architect; partner in Jackson & Fox.

In [Q4] 1888, he married Alice Ann Smith in Ormskirk.

Children: (1) Charles Horace [1892-1955]; (2) Alice Marion [1894-1929] who married George Maddock.

The family lived at 20 Elm View, Halifax [where he died 1938].

He died 9th May 1938.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £13,144 18/4d. Probate was granted to Charle Horace Fox (architect) and George Maddock

Fox, Charles James
[1840-1926] He was an architect at 7 Rawson Street, Halifax; honorary founder member of the Halifax Art Society.

In 1863, he married Mary Harriet Stott [1841-1915] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Charles Edward; (2) William Stott [b 1868]; (3) Samuel [b 1870] who was a boiler manufacturer [1926]; (4) John Richard [b 1872]; (5) Bertha Harriet [b 1874]; (6) Emily Maude [b 1878]; (7) Helen Louise [b 1879].

The family lived at Moorfield Terrace, Halifax [1881]; 31 West View, Hopwood Lane [1905]; Trimmingham Villas, Halifax [where he died 1926].

He died 23rd July 1926.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £3,436 4/10d. Probate was granted to sons Charles Edward and Samuel

Fox Croft, Rastrick
Area around Saint Matthew's Church

Fox, David
[1832-1887] Of West Vale.

(Possibly) Second son of John Fox. Born 30th January 1832.

In 1865, he married Jane Thompson of Park Nook Southowram.

He was woollen manufacturer; a member of the Halifax Board of Guardians [1880s]; a staunch Liberal; a supporter of Saint John's Church, West Vale; vicar's warden at Saint John's Church [1886, 1887]; President of West Vale Liberal Club [1882]; owner of Onecliffe Mill, West Vale [1882].

He lived at Far Onecliffe, West Vale

Fox, David J.
[1947-] At the age of 39, he was the youngest Mayor of Calderdale [1986-1987]

Fox, David Wright
[18??-1???] Of The Crescent, Hipperholme. Stuff manufacturer at Uppercroft Mill, Bradford

Fox, Edward
[1???-1???] Greengrocer with a stand at Grove Street, Halifax. He was a well-known figure in the town.

On 11th February 1856, he hanged himself, from the head rail of his bed, by a cotton handkerchief. He was found by his wife.

At the Inquest, Mrs Fox explained that

the protracted sickness and death of an adult daughter had involved the family in difficulties which preyed upon his mind, and had led him to indulge more freely in drink

The jury brought a verdict

Hanged himself whilst in a fit of temporary insanity, caused by monetary difficulties and indulgence in intoxicating liquors

Fox, Evelyn Mary Jessamine
[19??-19??] Daughter of Edward H. Fox of Adbury Park, Hampshire.

In 1927, she married Captain Sir John Armytage.

They divorced in 1947. In 1948, she is referred to as Mrs John Cooper of Ovington Square, London. In 1962, she is referred to as Mrs J. Wooldridge of Shipton Moyne, Gloucestershire

Fox, George
[1624-1691] Around 1649, he assembled several existing groups – such as the Seekers – who rejected all forms of organised religion, and founded the Children of Light, later known as the Quakers and the Society of Friends.

In October 1650, he was charged with preaching illegally, and at the trial urged Judge Gervase Bennet to

tremble at the word of the Lord

Bennet replied that the only quaker in court was Fox himself – the name was used from that time.

At the invitation of Thomas Taylor, he came to speak in Brighouse in 1654 and 1666. He visited Southowram several times.

See Friends Meeting House, Brighouse and Rev Christopher Taylor

Fox's: George Fox & Sons Limited
Cotton spinners and doublers.

They were at Valley Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905] and West End Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Fox, Henry Savile
[18??-19??] Lord of the Manor of Barkisland [1917]

Fox, Herbert
[18??-19??] Established Victoria Music Rooms, West Vale

Fox, James
[1811-1869] Son of Joseph Fox.

Born in Rastrick.

He was a wheelwright; a carpenter [1841]; a timber merchant [1851, 1861]; landlord of the George, Rastrick [taking over from his brother John 1859, 1861].

In 1833, he married (1) Ann (Nancy) Dearden [1811-1841] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Joseph; (2) son who died in infancy; (3) Hannah [b 1838]; (4) Nancy Mary; (5) Sarah [b 1841].

Nancy died in childbirth.

On 30th June 1859, he married (2) Susannah (Susan) Thornton [1810-1878] from Huddersfield, at Halifax Parish Church.

The family lived at Shepherd House, Fixby [1841, 1851].

Living next door to them in 1861 was son Joseph and family.

James, his mother Hannah, and his wives Nancy & Susannah were buried at Rastrick Church

Fox, James
[1828-1878] Of Halifax.

He married (1) Mary Ellen [1831-1858].

Children: (1) James Dillon [1855-1901]; (2) Mary Emma [1858-1877].

He married (2) Ann.

Children: Elizabeth Ann [1868-1871].

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Fox, John
[1799-18??] Son of William Fox.

He was a manufacturer at Onecliffe Mills, West Vale [1873].

On 6th December 1823, he married Rachel Lumb of Barkisland

Fox, John
[18??-1???] Manufacturer of West Vale.

He married (possibly) Rachael.

Children: (1) son; (2) (possibly) David.

In February 1884, whilst he and his wife were at church, 4 boys – William Lumb (who lived next door to the Fox family), James William Kemp, Frank Heywood, and Walter Sykes - broke into the house. They shared the proceeds of their robbery, £3 14/- amongst themselves. They all pleaded guilty, and received 6 strokes of the birch, except Kemp who was ordered to pay £1

Fox, Rev John
[18??-19??] He was a member of the Manchester City Mission before becoming Evangelist-in-Charge at Sowerby Bridge Baptist Church [1896, 1902]. He lived at Hollins Lane [1905].

On 21st April 1906, his mother Elizabeth died at York (aged 83).

She was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Fox, John
[1813-1859] Son of Joseph Fox.

He was a carpenter; landlord of the Upper George, Rastrick [1851].

He never married.

After his death, his brother James took over at the Upper George

Fox, John
[1844-1900] Son of William Fox.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a plumber [1861, 1871, 1880]; partner in W. Fox & Sons [until 1881]; a plumber & glazier [1881, 1891]; a plumber [1893].

He married (1) Eliza [1843-18??].


Eliza was born in Poynton, Cheshire
 

Children: (1) George William [b 1870] who was a plumber [1891]; (2) Herbert [b 1872] who was a cabinet maker [1891]; (3) Ernest Nicholl [b 1882] who was a chemist's apprentice [1901]; (4) James Edgar [b 1885] who was a saw mill engineer's clerk [1901].

In 1880, he married (2) Martha Nicholl [1852-1???] at Sowerby Church.


Martha was the daughter of James Nicholl, farmer
 

The family lived at Beech, Warley, [1871]; Gratrix Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 37 Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 4 College Terrace, King Cross, Halifax [1900, 1901]

Living with them in 1871 was boarder Seth Kirkham [aged 13] (plumber's apprentice).

In 1881, son George William was living with his Fox grandparents at Bolton Brow, Skircoat.

John died at the Royal Halifax Infirmary [29th September 1900].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,823. Probate was granted to his widow Martha and Fred Lumb (compositor).

Living with the widowed Martha in 1901 were niece Sarah A Hellawell [aged 27] (head mistress infants' school), and boarder Edith M Francis [aged 29] (assistant teacher) from Liverpool

An item in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle [20th January 1905] announced

WILL OF THE LATE JOHN FOX, Master Plumber, of Sowerby Bridge

I leave my entire estate in the charge of trustees to pay the income therefrom to my wife during her lifetime, and at her death to call in and divide the same equally amongst my four sons, and I appoint my friend, Mr. Fred Lumb, a trustee – Value of estate about £1200

Fox, Joseph
[1780-1836] He was a farmer of 17 acres; a carpenter [1808, 1825].

On 4th May 1807, he married Hannah Thornton [1783-1863] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Mary [1808-1873]; (2) James; (3) John; (4) Thomas [b 1816]; (5) Elizabeth [1818-1889] who married Thomas Helm; (6) Hannah who was a milliner; (7) Hannah [b 1821]; (8) Martha Thornton [1825-1900].

After his death, Hannah carried on with her husband's carpentry business and the farm. She also helped her son John at the Upper George, Rastrick

Hannah was buried at Rastrick Church with her son James Fox and his wives

Fox, Joseph
[1834-1877] Son of James Fox.

He was a timber merchant [1851, 1861].

On 17th August 1858, he married Ann, daughter of John Thomas Armitage

Children: James Armitage (Fox) [b 1860].

In 1861, the family were living next door to father James Fox at the George, Rastrick.

The family lived at Castle Hill, Rastrick

Fox, Rev Joseph
[1836-1910] Curate at Heptonstall around 1910. In 1901, he wrote an account of the coiners

Fox, Lewis
[1886-1946] Born in Sowerby.

He was a labourer [1908].

On 25th July 1908, he married Mary Agnes in Sowerby.


Mary Agnes was the daughter of
James Henry Wilson
 

Children: (1) Norman [b 1913]; (2) Kenneth [b 1916].

The children were born in Halifax

Fox, Sir Lionel Wray
[1895-1961] CB, MC.

Son of Sam Fox.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School, Halifax, and Hertford College Oxford.

During World War I, he served with the Duke of Wellington's Regiment.

He entered the Home Office in 1919, and did much work with the Prison Commission, on delinquency, crime and the treatment of offenders.

He wrote for the Encyclopædia Britannica and the British Journal of Delinquency, and was President of the United Nations European Consultative Group on prevention of crime and treatment of offenders [1951-1960].

He was created a CB in 1948, and was knighted in 1953.

In 1921, he married Marjorie Horner.


Marjorie was the daughter of Charles Henry Horner
 

Children: (1) son; (2) daughter; (3) daughter

Marjorie died in Bristol [18th December 1987]

Fox, Madame Anne
[19??-1???] Music teacher and organist at Saint John the Evangelist, West Vale.

She married Ivor Whiteley.

She lived at #39 Rochdale Road, Greetland [1949]

Fox, Margaret
[19??-] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

Fox, Miles
[1814-1906] Son of Joseph Fox, stone mason.

Born in Barkisland.

He was a silk spinner of Ovenden [1838]; a cotton twiner [1851]; a cotton twister [1871]; a yeast dealer (travl) [1881]; living on his own means [1891]; a retired yeast dealer [1901].

He was also a Liberal and a Chartist.

In [Q1] 1838, he married (1) Frances Whiteley at Halifax Parish Church.


Frances born in Rishworth, was a weaver and daughter of George Whiteley
 

Children: (1) Jane [b 1841] who was a cotton reeler [1871]; (2) Miles [b 1843] who was a cotton twister [1871]; (3) Fenton [b 1845]; (4) John [b 1847] who was a (widower) cotton twister [1871]; (5) Benjamin [b 1850]; (6) Hannah [b 1857] who was a cotton piecer [1871].

Frances died [Q3] 1880 (aged 67).

In [Q4] 1880, he married (2) Mary Jane Edmondson [1840-1???].


Mary Jane was born in Bradford
 

The family lived at Hebble Mills, Ovenden [with Frances's parents 1841]; Lane Ends, Ovenden [1851]; Beech, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; 13 Claremount Street, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 16 Waterloo Street, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; Providence Place, Sowerby [1901, 1906]; 5 Lower Bentley Royd, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

Miles died at Providence Place, Sowerby [5th June 1906] (aged 92).

An obituary in the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle noted that

he was Sowerby Bridge's oldest inhabitant, and had lived in the reign of 5 English monarchs

Fox, Ralph
[1900-1936] Writer and lecturer.

Born in Halifax [30th March 1900]. He was educated at Heath Grammar School and Oxford University..

In 1920, he was a founder member of the Communist Party of Great Britain.

He published several books including This was their youth – which was set in Halifax, and biographies of Lenin and Genghis Khan [1936] – which weren't.

He fought in the Spanish Civil War and was killed fighting near Córdoba [3rd January 1937].

A bench dedicated to Fox was placed in Bull Green [1950]. A new bench was dedicated to him in the Piece Hall [2010]

Fox, S. W. L.
[1???-18??] He was lord of the Manor of Warley

Fox, Thomas
[17??-17??] Of West Vale.

He married Unknown.

Children: William

Fox, Thomas
[1843-1???] Son of William Fox

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a plumber [1861]; partner in W. Fox & Sons [until 1881]; a plumber [1901]

He married Selina [1841-19??]


Selina was born in Eltham, London
 

Children: (1) William [b 1875] who was a solicitor's clerk [1901]; (2) Arthur [b 1879] who was a brass moulder [1901].

The family lived at 37 Upper Washer Lane, Halifax [1901].

Living with them in 1901 was Thomas's widowed mother Ann

Fox's: W. Fox & Sons
Plumbers and glaziers at Sowerby Bridge.

Established by William Fox and his sons Thomas and John.

By 1881, the brothers were running the business.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1881

Fox, William
[1773-18??] Son of Thomas Fox.

Baptised at Square Chapel [1773].

He was a weaver.

On 27th December 1798, he married Sarah Dyson of Elland.

Children: John

Fox, William
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor at Martin's Bak Chambers, Halifax [1934].

He qualified in November 1915

Fox, William
[1815-1891] Son of Thomas Fox, joiner.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a joiner of Sowerby Bridge [1840]; a joiner & builder [1851]; a joiner employing 2 men & 12 boys [1861]; a builder employing 7 men & 13 boys [1871]; master joiner & builder [1881].

On 17th May 1840, he married Mary Ann Fielding at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Ann was the daughter of
Abraham Fielding
 

Children: (1) Thomas Fox [1841-1902] who was an invalid [1861]; (2) Eliza Jane [1843-1903] who married James Henry Atkinson; (3) William Henry; (4) Amelia [1850-1934] who was a dress maker [1871] and married Charles Rushworth; (5) Abraham Fielding; (6) Mary [b 1856]; (7) James [1859-1945] who was a clerk [1881].

The family lived at 6 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1851]; Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1861, 1871, 1881]

Fox, William
[1818-18??] Son of Thomas Fox, a porter.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a plumber & glazier [1842]; a plumber &c [1851]; a plumber employing 4 men & 3 boys [1861]; a master plumber & glazier employing 4 men & 2 boys [1881].

He established W. Fox & Sons.

In 1842, he married Ann Hoyle [1819-1905] at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.


Ann, of Warley, was the daughter of Luke Hoyle, a porter
 

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) John; (3) Hannah [b 1846]; (4) Sarah A [b 1857].

The family lived at Chapel Lane, Skircoat [1851]; Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1861, 1881]; 19 & 20 Grove Street, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 20 East Parade, Sowerby Bridge [1893].

Living with them in 1881 was grandson George W Fox [aged 11].

William died 2nd July 1893.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,090. Probate was granted to his widow Ann, son John, and James Farrar, gentleman.

In 1901, Ann was living with son Thomas & family

Fox's: William Fox & Sons
Joiners, builders and undertakers at Clifton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

Established by William Fox.

Partners included Abraham Fielding Fox

Fox, Rev William Harper
[18??-1???] Minister at Ripponden Congregational Church [1878-1892]

Fox, William Henry
[1845-1908] Son of William Fox.

He was a woollen dryer [1861]; a joiner [1871].

In [Q4] 1877, he married Elizabeth Ann Crossley in Halifax.


Elizabeth Ann was the daughter of James Crossley. After the death of her father, Elizabeth Ann took over at the Oddfellows' Arms, Sowerby Bridge
 

After the marriage, the couple ran the pub until 1899.

They retired in 1899, and lived at 145 Park Crescent, Bolton Brow, where they both died.

William Henry died 14th December 1908.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £4,728 1/4d. Probate was granted to Joseph William Atkinson and Charles William Rushworth

Foxcroft
[Surname]

There are currently around 13 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Foxcroft. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Foxcroft family
Recorded around Soyland and Sowerby in the 15th century. Members of the family lived at Kebroyd and Toothill Hall, Rastrick

Foxcroft, Anthony
[1???-16??] He owned Wood Hall, Skircoat.

He married (1) Unknown.

In 1638, he married (2) Jane, widow of John Power, thus becoming stepfather of Dr Henry Power.

Children: (1) Margery who married Dr Henry Power; (2) Anthony.

The family moved to New Hall, Elland which Foxcroft was leasing from his father-in-law, Rev Charles Greenwood. He owned property at Exley in 1650.

He was an army contractor supplying the Royalists during the Civil War. He had to pay decimation.

See House at the Maypole

Foxcroft, Anthony
[15??-1???] He is recorded at The Swan Inn, Halifax in 1585

Foxcroft, Daniel
[1???-16??] 1635 as is recorded
Gent, late of Elland Hall

Foxcroft Estate, Rastrick
Stands on the site of Rastrick House

Foxcroft, George
[15??-16??] Around 1629, he bequeathed £10 to the poor of the chapelry of Sowerby.

See Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby: Benefactions

Foxcroft, Grace
[1618-1692] Daughter of Thomas Foxcroft.

She married John Drake.

She was buried at Ripon Cathedral

Foxcroft, Isaac
[15??-16??] He sold New Grange, Halifax to Anthony Wade

Foxcroft, James
[16??-16??] Halifax Constable [1643]. He is recorded at The Swan Inn, Halifax

Foxcroft, John
[1???-16??] See New Hall, Elland

Foxcroft, John
[15??-16??] Of Kebroyd. In 1608, he owned Brig Royd, Ripponden

Foxcroft, Michael
[1574-1652] He had manorial rights in Soyland and lived at Kebroyd Hall, Soyland and Lane Head, Soyland He had to pay composition of 13/6d.

His family had a fulling mill at Luddendenfoot [1588].

A Foldout describes the 1593 feud between Foxcroft and Samuel Wade over water rights at the mill

A Foldout describes the 1599 dispute between Foxcroft and Henry Farrer

Foxcroft, Thomas
[1???-1???] Of New Grange, Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Judith who married Anthony Wade

Foxcroft, Thomas
[14??-15??] He lived at Toothill Hall, Rastrick.

He married Unknown.

Children: Gracia [15??-1626] who married John Brighouse

Foxcroft, Thomas
[15??-16??] Of Upper Shibden Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children: Grace

Foxen Lane Bridge, Mill Bank
Aka Bank Bridge. Bridge which carries Foxen Lane over Lumb Brook

The Foxhill family
Recorded in the 17th/18th century, when they were at Kebroyd House

Foxton, Richard
[1784-1872] Son of William Foxton of Low Moor.

Born in Scackleton, Yorkshire.

He was a gardener [1841, 1851, 1861]; a retired gardener [1871].

He owned the White Horse, Luddendenfoot [1847] and other property in Spring Gardens which were auctioned on 20th April 1842.

He married Sophia [1787-1859] from Holgate, Yorkshire, daughter of Thomas Burton.

Children: (1) William [1820-1849] who married Eleanor Coates from Osmotherley, Yorkshire; (2) Hannah [1819-1895] who is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895; (3) Richard [1821-1867] who married Mary Briggs from Halifax; (4) Elizabeth [1823-1881] who married James Baldwin; (5) Thomas Burton [b 1825]; (6) John [1827-1829]; (7) Christopher [1828-1829]; (8) George [1829-1834]; (9) Mary [1831-1895] who married David Rennison from Poppleton, York.

The family lived at Stepps, Lower Warley [1827, 1829, 1831, 1841, 1847]; Spring Gardens [1851, 1859, 1860]; Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1861, 1871, 1872]

Foy, Tom
[1879-1917] Born in Manchester of Irish parents. The music hall comedian, entertainer and clown lived in the Halifax and Sowerby Bridge district. He was also popular in London with sketches such as
Tom Foy and his Donkey
A Yorkshire Lad in London
His repertoire included songs such as
My farewell to Sarby Brig
He died on stage at the Argyle Theatre in Birkenhead

Foyster, Rev L. A.
[18??-19??] Curate at Heptonstall [1904]

France, George Arthur
[1895-1915] Son of Willie France.

Born in Halifax.

He was a brickyard labourer [1911]; a brick setter at Drake's Limited, Ovenden.

During World War I, he served as a Private / Drummer with the 10th Battalion, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment). He became a Grenadier.

In November 1915, he had been working on a parapet, under the cover of fog. The fog suddenly lifted, and he continued to work, remarking that he would probably be fired at.

His next remark was "They've done it" as a bullet entered his side.

He died that evening [7th November 1915] (aged 20)  when he had nearly reached the base hospital.

He was buried at Sailly-Sur-La-Lys Canadian Cemetery, France [II F 135]

France, Mr
[17??-17??] A pottery manufacturer.

Jonathan Catherall lodged with Mr France, and married his daughter Elizabeth.

He married Unknown.

Children: Elizabeth [1744-1799] who married Jonathan Catherall

France, Willie
[1877-1???] Son of Arthur William France, joiner.

Born in Northowram.

He was a bricklayer of 6 Ackville Street [1894]; a bricklayer [1911].

In 1894, he married Emma Jane Naylor [1875-1???] at Saint Thomas's Church, Claremount.


Emma Jane of 6 Portland Road, was born in Northowram, the daughter of George Naylor, warp dresser
 

Children: (1) George Arthur; (2) Elsie [b 1896] who was a worsted spinner [1911]; (3) Lewis [1900-1904].

The family lived at 8 Gas House Lane, Halifax [1901]; 12 Horsfall Yard, Range Bank, Halifax [1911]

Francis Crossley's Almshouses, Margaret Street

Francis, Edward
[1833-19??] He was Chief Clerk at Halifax Post Office [1859]. He left Halifax but returned to become Postmaster for Halifax [1867-1893].

He married Unknown.

Children: Catherine Anne who married Richard Watson Evans.

The family lived at Heath Hall, Halifax.

He moved to Preston and then to Saint Anne's on Sea

Frank, Abraham
[16??-1713] He lived at Lower Willow Hall, Sowerby Bridge [1710].

The Northowram Register records that

[he was] at Rochdale on 26th October 1713, and came home about 8 o'clock at night. He died about 3 o'clock next morning 27th October. It's supposed that he poyson'd himself, having his maid servant with child

Frank, J. B.
[18??-18??] He lived at Shibden Grange.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) a daughter; (2) Laura Anna Sophia Leontine who married [1854] Dr Harry Maude from Bradford

Frank, Rev
[17??-1???] Curate at Halifax [1792]

Frankland, Albert Ainley
[1869-1936] Son of George Frankland.

Born in Norland.

He was a joiner [1891]; a piano and music dealer and music teacher; a piano & sewing machine dealer [1901]; a pianoforte dealer [1911]. He had showrooms at 2 Boggart Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

On 15th August 1891, he married Mary Greenwood Heyworth [1865-1956] from Bradford, at Elland Parish Church.

Children: (1) Dora Winifred [1891-1950]; (2) Ida [1896-1986] who married Alec Pickles [1894-1964].

The family lived at Newton Terrace, 1 Boggart Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1901, 1905, 1911]

All the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Frankland, Alonzo
[1890-1918] Son of John Frankland.

Born in Halifax [24th October 1890].

He was a cabinet maker's machinist [1911]; a motor driver.

During World War I, he joined with the 4th (Territorial) Battalion, The Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [18th June 1917]. He served as a Private with the British Expeditionary Force in France and Flanders [from 5th December 1917].

He was killed in action at Marfaux, France [20th July 1918].

He was buried at the Marfaux British Cemetery [I E B]

Frankland, George
[18??-19??] Of Norland.

He married Ellen [18??-1???].

Children: Ronald

Frankland, George
[1838-1919] Born in Sowerby.

He was a joiner [1891].

On 14th December 1862, he married Emma Ainley [1840-1912] from Norland, at Elland Parish Church.

Children: (1) Caroline [1864] who died aged 7 months; (2) Newton [1866-1867] who died aged 1 year & 9 months; (3) Ainley.

The family lived at 4 Bankhouse, Scar Road, Norland [1891].

He died at Bankhouse, Norland.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £3,248. Probate was granted to his son Ainley and John Lockwood Thompson (coal merchant).

All the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Frankland, John
[1841-1914] Son of Robert Frankland, wood turner.

Born in Ribchester, Preston, Lancashire.

He was a wood turner of Northowram [1876]; a bobbin turner (wood) [1881]; a bobbin turner [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1876 he married Mary Hodgson at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was the daughter of
Benjamin Hodgson
 

Children: (1) Robert [b 1877] who was a shop assistant [1891], a tram conductor [1901]; (2) Herbert [b 1879] who was a bobbin gatherer [1891], a butcher shopkeeper [1901]; (3) Edgar [b 1883] who was a mechanical engineer [1901]; (4) Percy [b 1886] who was a warehouse boy grocery [1901]; (5) Alonzo.

The family lived at 29 Godley Road, Northowram, Halifax [with Mary's parents 1881]; 29 Godley Road, Halifax [1891]; 37 Godley Road, Halifax [1901]; 29 Godley Road, Halifax [1911]

Frankland, Judge
[18??-19??] Appointed Halifax County Court Judge [October 1936]

Frankland, Ronald
[1922-1942] Son of George Frankland.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

In [Q2] 1941, he married Dorothy Evans in Halifax.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment.

He died in West Hartlepool [7th June 1942].

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Franklin & Humphreys
Halifax attorneys. Partners: James Franklin and George Beauchamp Humphreys

Franklin, Harry James
[1844-18??] Son of James Franklin.

Born in Peckham, Surrey.

He was a partner in J. & H. J. Franklin [1868]; a solicitor [1871]. In 1876, he married Elizabeth Whittell [1852-1???] from Dee-on-Horsbridge, Shropshire, at Newton Abbot.

Children: (1) James Whittell [b 1879]; (2) Harry [b 1880].

He was lodging at 16 Lord Street, Halifax [1871].

The family lived at 7 Trinity Place, Halifax [1881]

Franklin's: J. & H. J. Franklin
Halifax solicitors. Recorded in May 1868. Partners included James Franklin and H. J. Franklin

Franklin, James
[1818-1875] Born in Heytesbury, Wiltshire.

In 1845, he came to Halifax to work for Stocks & Macaulay. He was articled to Michael Stocks. In 1852, he joined the firm.

He was Lieutenant of the 4th Yorkshire West Riding Rifle Volunteers, and promoted to Captain [10th May 1861].

He was a partner in J. & H. J. Franklin [1868] and Franklin & Humphreys.

He married Sophia Eliza [1818-1???].

Children: (1) Sophia [b 1840]; (2) Emily [b 1842]; (3) Harry James; (4) Frances Jane [b 1846].

The family lived at 12 Trinity Row / Trinity Place, Halifax [1850]

Franks, Rev J.
[19??-19??] Minister of Highroad Well Congregational Church [1966]

Franks, Rev J. E.
[18??-19??] He was at Bakewell before moving to Luddendenfoot Congregational Church [1927]. He resigned in 1928

Franks, James
[17??-1???] Perpetual Curate at Southowram [1793-1802]

Franks, Rev James
[1760-1829] MA.

Son of James Franks of Loughborough.

He was Curate of Haddenham, Cambridgeshire [1787] and Minister of the English Chapel at Glasgow before becoming Curate at Halifax [1799, 1802-1829], Vicar at Old Brigg Chapel, Sowerby Bridge [1802], and Vicar of Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge when the new Church was built.

He married Sarah [1763-1828].

Children: James Clarke.

In 1802, he wrote the book


SACRED LITERATURE
or
REMARKS
upon the
BOOK OF GENESIS
collected and arranged
to promote the knowledge and evince the Excellence
of the
HOLY SCRIPTURES

which was printed by Holden & Dowson.

In 1803, he started efforts to build a new Church.

In 1808, he established the Beech School. He contributed towards the cost of the new Sowerby Bridge National School.

He died in Chelsea.

Sarah and James were buried at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

See William Huntriss

Franks, Rev James Clarke
[1793-1867] MA.

Son of Rev James Franks.

He was Vicar of Huddersfield. He had the church there demolished and rebuilt in 1836.

He was a friend of Rev Patrick Brontë.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

In 1824, he married Elizabeth Firth.

Children: (1) John [b 1826]; (2) James Coulthurst [b 1828] who died aged 1 month; (3) Henry James [1830-1854]; (4) Elizabeth [b 1831]; (5) William Walker [1833-1864]

On their honeymoon, the couple visited the Brontë girls at Cowan Bridge, but they did not recognise the symptoms of abuse which the children suffered

Fraser, Rev Alexander Charles
[1816-1882] Born in Calcutta.

He claimed that, as a baby, he had been held in the arms of Napoleon I

He was Curate at Elland [1847, 187?]. He left to become chaplain to Lord Clarence Paget of his vessel, L'Aigle, and whilst cruising in the Mediterranean, preached in modern Greek.

It was said that he could speak 7 languages.

He married Caroline, daughter of Rev Christopher Atkinson.

He died in Wimbledon

Fraser, John
[1819-1881] Leeds engineer who designed North Bridge and many other railway bridges and viaducts in the area

Frayn, Rev George
[1849-1936] Minister at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel. He was the oldest Methodist minister in Halifax

Frazer, Constable
[1???-18??] Constable at Halifax [1837].

See Ellis Nicholl

Frazer, Helen (Letitia)
[1918-2008] Daughter of Ellen Mary and William Henry Frazer. Born in Portugal.

She and her partner, Huldine V. Beamish, farmed in Portugal.

She died in Portugal

Fred Bentley Bath

Free Church Girls' Club, Halifax
Recorded in 1917 at Guild House, 9 Regent Street, when Mrs E. Rushworth was secretary

Free Gift Institution Friendly Society
Sowerby Friendly Society [Number 623] recorded in 1898, when their registration was cancelled (under the Friendly Societies Act [1896]) 

Free School Lane Surgery, Halifax
In the 1990s, Heath School House was used as a surgery.

Heath House Surgery closed on 12th August 2011 and moved to Savile Hall as the new Boulevard Health Centre

Freeborn, Rev Jack
[19??-1???] Headmaster of Holy Trinity Junior Boys' & Girls' School at Savile Hall, Halifax.

In 1985, a sports hall was built at the school following fund-raising by Rev Freeborn

Freehold Land Society
Recorded in January 1852, when they held their annual meeting at Mr Horsfall's Temperance Hotel, Halifax. The meeting heard that they had 150 shareholders. 60 of these had been located on allotments on the Hanson Lane estate. The Society had recently bought West Hill Park for £3000, and – when they had gained permission – planned to allot the land to shareholders

Freeman...
The entries for people with the surname Freeman are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

The Freeman family of Southowram
There was a branch at Knaresborough

Freeman's Bridge, Brighouse
Bridge over the Calder & Hebble Navigation between Elland and Brighouse

Freeman's Cut
The section of the Calder & Hebble Navigation from Brookfoot lock was built around 1808

Freeman's Estate, Brighouse
Property at Brookfoot including Freeman's Mills, Brookfoot, Freeman's Bridge, Brighouse, Freeman's Cut, Freeman's Wood, Brighouse, Grove, Brighouse and Neptune, Brighouse

Freeman, Hardy & Willis
Boot & shoe makers, and retailers. They were at

Freeman's Lodging House, Brighouse
Bradford Road.

Recorded in July 1886, when an unknown man died suddenly from exhaustion, caused by want of food

Freeman's Wood, Brighouse
Brookfoot.

See Dry Bridge

Freemasons
A closed benevolent society. Originally the members were freeman masons. The first Grand Lodge of England was inaugurated in London in 1717.

A Brighouse lodge opened in October 1870.

A Lightcliffe lodge opened in 1???.

It appears that an east-west alignment in their premises was significant in the choice of accommodation.

See Masonic Lodges, Lewis, Oddfellows, Lodge of Probity, Seditious Societies Act [1799] and Tyler

Freemasons' Hall, Halifax
Saint John's Place, Trinity Road. This
handsome and commodious Masonic hall

was designed by Edwin Oates and built in 1868/1870 by two Halifax LodgesProbity [No 61] Lodge and Saint James [No 448] Lodge. The corner-stone was laid by Sir Henry Edwards in May 1868. The Hall was first used on Monday evening, 16th August 1869. It was consecrated in November 1869.

The building housed a library, meeting rooms, committee rooms, dressing rooms, banqueting hall, and games rooms.

Other lodges which met here included Beacon No 4056, Halez Fax No 4135, and Pennine No 4177.

It was used as a tea warehouse by Collinson's. In 1987, the Freemasons sold the premises and moved to Birdcage Lane.

It was demolished in 1988, and in 1990, the front was incorporated in the offices of the Halifax Building Society. Halifax Civic Trust urged the Department of the Environment to block the demolition of the hall, a listed building.

The front is listed.

See Masonic Hall, Halifax

Freemasons' Hall, Sowerby Bridge
Built by the Ryburn No 1283 Lodge

Freemen of the Borough

Freer, Harry
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Navy.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

French, Edward
[1857-1905] Son of John French.

Born in Halifax.

He was a doffer at worsted factory [1871]; a spindle maker [1881, 1882]; a spindle & fly maker [1891]; a mill mechanic in worsted mill [1901]; a mill mechanic at Clay & Horsfall's mill [1905].

In 1882, he married Mary Speak [1863-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary of King Cross, was born in Earby/Easby, Yorkshire, the daughter of William? Speak, a mason
 

Children: (1) Tom Trevor [b 1883] who was a machine maker fitter [1891, 1901]; (2) James Edward [b 1885] who was a glass beveller [1891, 1901]; (3) Gertrude [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1891, 1901]; (4) Joe Harry [b 1898] who was a worsted frame doffer [1911].

The family lived at 2 Farrar Street, Skircoat, Halifax [1891]; 42 Clifton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]; 12 Thompsons Terrace, Halifax [1911].

He had suffered from a hernia for several months. In 1905, he came home from his work at Clay & Horsfall's Wharf Mill, Sowerby Bridge feeling ill. An operation was performed but he died shortly afterwards

French, Elizabeth
[16??-16??] Daughter of Robina [née Cromwell] and Peter French Robina's father was Oliver Cromwell.

She married John Tillotson

French, John
[18??-18??] In April 1853, he was imprisoned for 14 days for stealing a silk umbrella, the property of Robert Youd of Halifax

French, John
[1821-1???] Born in Market Harborough, Leicestershire.

He was a crabber at stuff piece dyehouse [1861]; a hawker of drapery [1871]; a pedlar & draper [1881]; a dyer [1882].

In 1838, he married Mary Ann Spriggs [1817-1???].


Mary Ann was born in Bilston, Leicestershire.
 

Around 1853, the family moved to Halifax.

Children: (1) William A [b 1842] who was a yarn dyer [1861]; (2) John G [b 1844]; (3) Sarah Ann [b 1850] who was a worsted spinner [1861], married Mr Tetley, and was a reeler at worsted factory [1871]; (4) Emma [b 1854] who was a twister at worsted factory [1871]; (5) Edward.

The family lived at 17 Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1861]; 5 Holroyd Street, Halifax [1871]; 22 Alma Street, Halifax [1881].

Living with them in 1871 was granddaughter Elizabeth A Tetley [aged 6 months]

Fresh Air Fund
A charity of the 1930s/1940s which took children from the town to the countryside where they played in the fields and were given a bun


Question: Does anyone know anything about this? Who gave the money for the venture? When was it active? Who organised the events?

 

Freudenberg Nonwovens Limited
Hollyns Mill, Greetland.

Formerly Bondina.

Manufacturer of synthetic and non-woven fabrics. Vilene Interlinings is a division of the company.

The Company was later taken over by the Swiss company Sia Fibral.

See Greetland Dyeing Company Limited

Frieldhurst Farm, Cornholme
Frieldhurst Road. Early 18th century house dated 1721.

The early 18th century barn – inscribed IMH 1721 – is listed

Frieldhurst, Todmorden
An area of Todmorden.

See Mr Holgate

The Friend of the People
A national weekly Chartist journal first published in 1851 and edited by Julian Harney and Ernest Jones. Local people who were willing to promote the circulation of the paper included

  • Halifax: Uriah Hinchcliffe; T. Wood; C. Shackleton

  • Hebden Bridge: James Mann

  • Todmorden: Thomas Fielden

Friendly
Area west of Halifax and on the road to Luddendenfoot and above Sowerby Bridge

Friendly Amicable Society
Friendly Society. Recorded in 1907, when it was disbanded on account of falling numbers

Friendly & Trades Club, Halifax
Recorded in 1905 at 9 Weymouth Street [1905].

On 8th October 1910, the American millionaire, Samuel Simeon Fels visited Halifax and addressed trade unionists at the Club.

See Halifax Friendly & Trade Societies Club

Friendly Band
Sowerby Bridge. The Band was founded in 1868 by a group of local enthusiasts from the choir of Friendly Wesleyan Chapel as they were on a walk from Friendly to Huddersfield.

The Band was once known as the Friendly Subscription Prize Band.

The original members each bought their own instruments and practised in a small room at the junction of Burnley Road and Water Hill Lane, near the White Horse Inn, Friendly.

They moved their quarters when one of the members wanted to live with his new bride in the Water Hill premises.

They are now back at the Burnley Road / Water Hill Lane building.

See Arthur Thomas

Friendly Band Room
Rehearsal room for the Friendly Band at the junction of Burnley Road and Water Hill Lane, near the White Horse Inn, Friendly

Friendly Bar
Toll bar on the Todmorden Turnpike at Friendly

Friendly Fold, Ovenden
4 & 6 Friendly Fold Road. House dated 1709. It stands behind the Friendly Inn, Ovenden.

Owners and tenants have included

Friendly Inn Farm, Cottonstones
Until 1936, this was the Friendly Inn

Friendly Operative Carpenters' & Joiners' Society
Recorded in 1866, when there was a lodge in Elland

Friendly, Ovenden
Area of Ovenden.

See Sundial House, Friendly

Friendly Society of Workmen
Langfield friendly society established in 1763

Friendly Working Men's Club, Sowerby Bridge
Recorded in 1900 and 1902.

See Savings Clubs

Friends of All Souls' Church
See All Souls' Church

Friends of Halifax Choral Society
The Unofficial Supporters' Magazine of the Halifax Choral Society.

Friends of Halifax Parish Church
See Bishop George Horsfall Frodsham and Halifax Parish Church

Friends of Hebden Bridge Picture House
Established in September 1996 to save and promote Hebden Bridge Picture House

Friends of Judy Woods
A group for the support and preservation of Judy Woods

Friends of Lister Lane Cemetery
Formed in 1999 to preserve and maintain Halifax General Cemetery as an historic site and a nature reserve.

See Stories From the Graves

Friends of Nutclough Woods
See Nutclough Woods, Hebden Bridge

Friends of Ogden Water
See Ogden Water and Ogden Water Visitor & Interpretation Centre

Friends of the Rydings
Set up in 2001 – amidst the Council's plans to close the art gallery at The Rydings, Brighouse – to protect this part of the town's heritage including The Rydings, The Art Gallery, Brighouse, and Brighouse War Memorial

Frith's Farm, Todmorden
Bacup Road. Late 18th century laithe-house.

A nearby early 17th century house is also listed

Frith's: L. Frith & Son
They were at Square Road Mill, Halifax [1863]

Friths Estate, Walsden
Owners and tenants have included

Friths Farm, Walsden

Owners and tenants have included

The Frobisher family of Halifax
And Canada

Frobisher, Benjamin
[1740-1787] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Born in Halifax.

Eldest of the Frobisher brothers, Canadian fur traders. He went to live in Montréal in 1759 and worked in the fur trade of the North West around 1765. When his other brothers joined him, he managed the business affairs in Montréal and England whilst they traded in the field. The family was an original shareholder in the North West Company

Frobisher brothers
The three brothers – Benjamin, Thomas and Joseph Frobisher – were born in Halifax. They emigrated to Canada and became fur traders – known as the pedlars of Québec – and explored Canada around 1775.

The brothers first traded as Frobisher & Company. In 1783, with Simon McTavish, they formed McTavish, Frobisher & Company, and the North-West Company

Two other brothers, William and Nathaniel, did not go to Canada

Frobisher, John
[1809-1868] Son of Mr Frobisher.

On 17th March 1856, he married Esther Eastwood.

In 1861, they were at Number 5 Cow Green, the Prince of Wales Feathers, Halifax, where he was innkeeper

He died at Stead Street, Halifax [22nd March 1868].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £300. Probate was granted to his widow Esther, Joseph Henry Frobisher of Wards End, Professor of Music and James Foster of Wards End (model maker).

After his death, Esther married David Brooksbank

Frobisher, John
[1813-1869] Organist at Halifax Parish Church.

He was a friend of Branwell Brontë.

Mary Tankard was a singing pupil

Frobisher, Joseph
[1710-1763] He married Rachel Hargreave [1718-1790].

Children: (1) Benjamin; (2) Thomas; (3) Joseph; (4) William; (5) Nathaniel.

He was buried in the north aisle at Halifax Parish Church

Frobisher, Joseph
[1740-1810] Son of Joseph Frobisher. Born in Halifax.

Second of the Frobisher brothers, Canadian fur traders. He followed his brother Benjamin to Canada. He was the first to penetrate the Canadian North-west as far as the Churchill River.

He nearly died of starvation when he spent the winter of 1774-75 on the Athabaska river, in an attempt to cut off the fur-trade from Fort Churchill downriver to the Hudson's Bay Company. Until 1774, the Indians carried their furs to Hudson's Bay, but Frobisher invited them to trade with him In 1776, he settled in Montréal and became a wealthy fur merchant. In 1798, he retired and lived at Beaver Hall.

He died at Montréal on 12th September 1810

Frobisher, Joseph Henry
[1813-1869] Son of Mr Frobisher.

Born in Southowram.

He was the Leader of the Halifax Quarterly Choral Society before he was 20, and he was also the leader of the Halifax Orchestral Society. He played with the Hallé Orchestra.

Around 1835, he ran a music school in Halifax.

In 1851, William H. Whitaker was with him at Rhodes Street, Halifax.

He was apprenticed to Henry Pohlmann for 6 years.

Each year, he went to London for 3 months to take violin lessons from Nicholas Mori and organ lessons from Thomas Adam.

He was organist at Halifax Parish Church [1838-1862].

On 3rd January 1839, he organised a programme of Sacred Music in which Mrs Sunderland performed.

He organised Liszt's concert in Halifax in January 1841.

He was a friend of Branwell Brontë.

In 1845, he conducted the orchestra at the opening of Todmorden National School. In 1845, he declined a suggestion by Rev Patrick Brontë of setting to music some English words on the Afghan Expedition.

On 3rd February 1864, when he had retired as organist at Halifax Parish Church, a number of friends and colleagues presented him with a clock and a silver inkstand in appreciation of his services in the promotion of music in Halifax.

In 1868, he was described as

Professor of Music at Wards End

In 1838, he married Maria Hepworth [1818-1900] in Aston, Warwickshire.


Maria was born in Birmingham
 

Children: (1) Ellen [b 1840]; (2) Frederick [b 1846]; (3) Elizabeth [b 1847]; (4) Mary [b 1849]; (5) Catharine [b 1851]; (6) Fanny [b 1854]; (7) John [b 1857]; (8) William [b 1859].

The family lived at 39 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1845, 1851] and 18 Milton Place, Halifax [1861]

Frobisher, Mr
[17??-18??] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) Joseph Henry

Frobisher, Nathaniel
[1752-1799] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Unlike his brothers, he stayed in Halifax where he became a bookseller. He had a business in York and printed some editions of History of the town & parish of Halifax

Frobisher, Thomas
[1744-1788] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Born in Halifax.

Youngest of the Frobisher brothers, Canadian fur traders. He travelled to Québec in 1769, and joined his brothers in the fur trade. In 1776, he founded the first trading post at La Crosse, a stepping stone to the Athabasca Lake country He died at Montréal on 12th September 1788

Frobisher, William
[1749-1830] Son of Joseph Frobisher.

Unlike his brothers, he did not go to Canada, but stayed in Halifax where he became a banker.

When his mother died in 1790, he moved to Aberford.

He was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1792]

Frodsham, Bishop George Horsfall
[1863-1937] MA.

Son of Jane [née Horsfall] and James Frodsham, a Manchester architect.

Born at Sale Moor, Cheshire [14th September 1863].

Educated at Birkenhead, University College Durham, and Saint Aidan's Theological College.

He trained as a ship insurance broker & underwriter.

He was ordained as a Deacon [1888]; curate of Saint Thomas's, Leeds; curate of Saint Margaret's, Ilkley [1896].

He went to Australia [1896].

He was rector of Saint Thomas's, Toowong, Brisbane [1896-1902]; chaplain to the Australian Military Force and to the Territorial Army [1899-1923]; chaplain to the Bishop of Brisbane [1900-1902]; bishop of North Queensland [1902-1913].

He returned to England and was appointed Vicar of Halifax [1920-1937].

He was involved with the Friends of Halifax Parish Church.

On 8th April 1896, he married Fannie Swinburne [1870-1954] at Saint Peter's, Harrogate.


Fannie of West View, Ripon Road, Harrogate, was the daughter of John Fawcett Swinburne (deceased) 
 

Children: (1) son; (2) daughter; (3) daughter; (4) daughter; (5) daughter.

He died at Halifax Vicarage [6th March 1937]. He was cremated and his ashes were buried under a plaque in front of the altar rail at Halifax Parish Church.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,116 6/7d. Probate was granted to his widow Fannie

Froggett, John
[1718-1750] Of Staveley, Chesterfield. He became a Halifax attorney

Frost Hall, Erringden
See John Worsick

Frost Hole, Erringden
Early 17th century house

Frost, John
[1784-1877] Born in Newport, Monmouthshire. A prominent Chartist.

He was involved in the Newport Rising of 1839 when several thousand supporters marched on Newport to free a number of Chartists who had been imprisoned in the Westgate Hotel. 21 people were found guilty of high treason and Frost and 2 others were sentenced to be hanged, drawn and quartered, the last men to be so sentenced. Public pressure resulted in the sentences being commuted to transportation.

In 1856, he returned to Britain.

See Hey Head Green, Todmorden

Frostholme Institute, Cornholme
Burnley Road. Recorded in 1905.

In March 1909, it was opened by Abraham Crossley as

a Public Institution, non-political and non-denominational

Frostholme Institute, Todmorden
Recorded in 1917 at Cornholme when Harold Ormerod was secretary

Fruhe, James Henry
[1848-1900] Of Clevelands, London.

On 7th May 1888, he married Adeline Eliza, daughter of Rev Thomas Sutcliffe, at Tunbridge Wells.

Children: Reginald Sutcliffe.

The family lived at Royd House, Heptonstall.

His wife left an estate of £52,655

Fruhe-Sutcliffe, Reginald
[1890-1924] MA.

Only son of J. H. Fruhe.

He was born Reginald Sutcliffe Fruhe. He changed his name to Fruhe-Sutcliffe – possibly on account of anti-German feeling during World War I.

Born in Islington.

In 1913, he was Second Lieutenant in the 1st East Lancashire Field Company.

On 26th September 1923, he married Maud Armitstead from London.

Reginald died in a London nursing home a year later.

In 1933, Maud married Robert Albert Cuthbert Radcliffe.

In 1955, her husband died after falling off a roof

Frusher, Joseph
[18??-18??] Cab proprietor at 13 Fountain Street, Halifax [1874]

Fry, John
[18??-19??] Tailor at Halifax.

In July 1883, he was declared bankrupt

Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a practical tailor and draper at 86 Gibbet Street, Halifax

Fry, Percy Victor
[1870-1940] Born in Otley.

Physician and surgeon at Sowerby Bridge.

He was one of the medical men who attended those injured in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster.

On 25th April 1900, he married Isabella Smith [1870-1937] in Cleckheaton.


Isabella was born in Bradford
 

Children: (1) Percy Harold [1901-1955]; (2) George Beresford [1909-1991].

The family lived at Ryburn House, 2 Tuel Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1905].

After 1909, the family moved to the south of England.

Isabella died in Thames Ditton [1937].

Percy Victor died in East Molesey [9th July 1940]

Fry, Robert
[1796-1866] Born in Culmstock, Devon. He was a tailor. He came to Halifax
because of Dean Clough Mills

He married Ann [1803-1884].

Children: (1) Angelique; (2) Friday.

He had a tailor's shop in Pellon Lane, and the family lived above the shop.

Ann and Robert were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3528]

Fry, Robert
[18??-18??] Colour maker at Halifax.

In October 1853, he married Sarah Ann Molineaux from Halifax

The Fryer family of Rastrick
Prominent Quaker family in Elland and Rastrick.

Joseph ffryear of Quarmby was an early member of the family

See Castle Hill House, Rastrick, History On Your Doorstep, Quakers in Brighouse and Rastrick House

Fryer, Alfred
[1830-1892] Son of Dr Simeon Fryer.

Born in Rastrick.

He was head of a sugar-refining company, Fryer, Benson & Forster, in Manchester and Antigua.

In 1865, he invented the Concretor to solidify cane sugar for shipping. He invented the Refuse Destructor to convert refuse into cement and paving blocks.

He wrote several books, including

  • Peculiarities of Vital Statistics of the Society of Friends

  • Floating Lightships

  • Influence of Forests on Rainfall

  • Balance of Trade

  • Cost of Living in Various Countries

  • The Silver Question

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Henry Dyson; (2) Alfred Cooper PhD MA; (3) Mary Emily who married Rev J. Stuart Reid; (4) Gertrude Ann.

He went to live in Wilmslow, Cheshire, where he died

Fryer, Amelia
[1821-1897] Daughter of William Fryer. Born in London.

She and her sister, Phoebe, ran Fryer's School, Brighouse.

Living with Amelia (retired governess) at Prospect House, Brighouse in 1881 were sister Phoebe (governess), nephew Joseph W. Fryer [aged 28] (hosier) and Jessie M. Thompson [aged 32] (governess) from Glasgow.

Living with Amelia (retired governess) at Halifax Road, Brighouse in 1891 were sister Phoebe (schoolmistress), niece Eliza B. Fryer [aged 31] (governess) and Jessie M. Thompson [aged 41] (governess) 

Fryer, Charles
[1808-1854] Son of Joseph Fryer.

In 1839, he married Sarah Woodhead.

Children: (1) John [b 1840]; (2) Lucy [1844-1858]; (3) Jane; (4) Samuel [1843-1915]; (5) Sarah.

In 1845, he and Joseph Jowett Fryer were listed as fancy manufacturers at Rastrick.

He lived at Toothill Grove, Rastrick and Castle Hill, Rastrick [1845]

Fryer, Doris Lucy
[1900-19??] Daughter of Joseph Fryer.

In 1937, she married Edward Carew-Shaw.

Children: (1) David [b 1938]; (2) Angela who married John Davidson

Fryer, Ellen
[1813-1898] Daughter of William Fryer of Rastrick. Born in London.

She married the artist Lumb Stocks.

She died at Calmington Rectory, Shropshire

Fryer, Frederick
[1824-1872] Son of Joseph Fryer.

They lived at Town Ing, Salmon Croft, and Toothill Grove, Rastrick

Fryer, Hannah
[1709-1???] Daughter of Joseph ffryear.

She married William Clay.

The marriage brought the Clay family to Rastrick

Fryer, Henry
[1817-1882] Son of Joseph Fryer.

In 1865, his sister, Mary Ann, went to live with him at Elmwood Terrace, Huddersfield.

In 1872, he married Lucy [d 1879], widow of Simeon Dyson Fryer

Fryer's: J. & J. Fryer
Stone merchants of Rastrick.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1835

Fryer, John
[1756-1821] Son of Joseph Fryer. He was commonly known as John, the Elder.

In 179?, he married Lucy, daughter of Simeon Dyson.

Children: (1) Mary [1798-1803]; (2) Benjamin [1800-1816].

He owned much property in Rastrick, including Rastrick Hall He left his estate to his wife and his nephew, Joseph Jowitt

Fryer, Joseph
[1701-1787] Son of Joseph ffryear. Quaker yeoman and stuff-maker.

He was a trustee of the Quakers [1770].

In 1754, he married Hannah Simpson [1724-1792].


Hannah was the daughter of Jane and William Simpson of Sheepridge
 

Children: (1) Joseph; (2) John; (3) William [1758-1759]; (4) Thomas; (5) Samuel; (6) Benjamin [1768-1768]; (7) Robert.

The family lived at The Poplars, Rastrick

Fryer, Dr Joseph
[1755-1816] Eldest son of Joseph Fryer.

He was a Quaker; a yeoman; a stuff maker; a woollen manufacturer; a partner in Joseph Fryer & Company; an apothecary and surgeon at Rastrick.

On 30th March 1780, he married Amelia, daughter of Simeon Dyson, at Brighouse.

Children: (1) Joseph; (2) William; (3) Samuel who died young; (4) John who died young; (5) Hannah [1788-1821] who married Dr William Irvine from Lockwood; (6) Thomas; (7) Simeon; (8) Robert; (9) Sarah [b 1797] who married Thomas Binyon from Manchester; (10) Edward [1799-1824] who was blinded by an accident [d 1824].

The family lived at Poplars, Rastrick.

He was about marry Mary Bleckley when he died [1816]

Fryer, Joseph
[1781-1846] Eldest son of Dr Joseph Fryer. A Quaker.

On 23rd September 1805, he married Ann Jowett at the Friends' Meeting House in Leeds.

Children: (1) Joseph Jowett; (2) Charles; (3) Amelia [1809-1837] who married [1833] William Backhouse [1807-1869] from Newcastle; (4) Mary Ann; (5) Sarah Grace; (6) Henry; (7) Lucy; (8) Frederick.

In 1805, he bought the Toothill Grove, Rastrick estate from his wife's uncle, Joseph Firth.

Partner in Joseph Fryer & Company

Fryer, Joseph
[1839-1904] Son of Joseph Jowett Fryer.

In 1896, he married Annie Matilda Bigland at Darlington.

Children: (1) Joseph Bigland; (2) Doris Lucy

Fryer, Joseph Bigland
[1897-1921] Son of Joseph Fryer.

He died in the Tyrol

Fryer, Joseph Binns
[1826-1883] Of Brighouse.

Son of Thomas Fryer

In [Q1] 1849, he married Sarah Beatson [1826-1886] in Dewsbury.

Children: Charles [1857-1862].

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Fryer's: Joseph Fryer & Company
Woollen manufacturers and merchants of Rastrick and New Bridge Street, London. Partnership established by Dr Joseph Fryer and Thomas Fryer.

Both brothers died in 1816.

In 1821, brothers Joseph Fryer and William Fryer became sole partners in the company.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1836

Fryer, Joseph Jowett
[1806-1846] Of Holly Bank, Rastrick. Son of Joseph Fryer.

In 1836, he married Rachel Coates [1806-1846] from Stockton-on-Tees.

Children: (1) Hannah [1837-1868]; (2) George Coates [1843-1871] who died in a carriage accident on the ice; (3) Sarah Amelia [18??-1871]; (4) Rachel Ann; (5) Joseph.

In 1845, he and Charles Fryer were listed as fancy manufacturers at Rastrick.

The family lived at Holly Bank, Rastrick

Fryer, Lucy
[1820-1844] Daughter of Joseph Fryer.

In 1842, she married Thomas Pease from Leeds and Bristol.

Children: (1) Katharine Aldam [b 1843] who married Sir Thomas Hanbury KCVO [1832-1907]; (2) Lucy Ann [1844-1910] who married [1878] Robert Robinson MICE

Fryer, Mary Ann
[1811-1873] Daughter of Joseph Fryer.

She never married.

She lived at Toothill Grove until her mother died. In 1865, she went to live with her brother, Henry, at Elmwood Terrace, Huddersfield.

She was buried at the Quaker Burial Ground, Rastrick

Fryer, Phoebe
[1830-1914] Daughter of William Fryer. Born in London.

She and her sister, Amelia, ran Fryer's School, Brighouse.

In 1881, she was a governess, living with sister Amelia (retired governess) at Prospect House, Brighouse, and nephew Joseph W. Fryer [aged 28] (hosier) and Jessie M. Thompson [aged 32] (governess) from Scotland.

In 1891, she was a schoolmistress, living with sister Amelia (retired governess) at Halifax Road, Brighouse, and niece Eliza B. Fryer [aged 31] (governess) and Jessie M. Thompson [aged 41] (governess).

In 1901, by which time her sister Amelia had died, she was living on own means at 6 Halifax Road, Brighouse, with boarder Jessie M. Thompson [aged 52] (living on own means), and 2 other boarders (both headmistresses) 

In 1911, she was a retired schoolmistress living at 6 Halifax Road, Brighouse, with friend Jessie M. Thompson [aged 62] (living on own means

Fryer, Rachel Ann
[1845-1927] Daughter of Joseph Jowett Fryer.

On 21st February 1878, she married Edward Backhouse Mounsey [1840-1911] at the Society of Friends Meeting House in Darlington. Her husband was the son of John Mounsey of Sunderland, and involved with the banking firm of Backhouse & Company, of Darlington.

Children: (1) John Edward [1879-1929]; (2) George [1881-1961]; (3) Lucy [1882-1965]; (4) Reginald Joseph [1884-1962]; (5) Amelia Eliza [1886-19??]

Fryer, Robert
[1770-1800] Youngest son of Joseph Fryer. He was a woolstapler. In 1798, he was the Overseer of the Poor for Rastrick

Fryer, Robert
[1795-1843] Son of Dr Joseph Fryer.

In 1819, he married Mary, daughter of William Barber.

Children: some.

The family lived in [a part of] Castle Hill House, Rastrick

Fryer, Samuel
[1762-1802] Son of Joseph Fryer. Quaker.

He owned several properties in Rastrick, including Bowling Green, Rosemary Mill and Rosemary Park.

In 17??, he married Nancy, daughter of Simeon Dyson. They had no children.

In 1802, the year of his death, he gave £10 10/- towards the rebuilding of Mary Law's Charity School.

Nancy died on 28th February 1839 [aged 76]

Fryer, Sarah Grace
[1813-1894] Of Toothill, Rastrick. Daughter of Joseph Fryer.

In 1845, she married William Harvey [1812-1884] a druggist of Leeds.

Children: (1) Joseph [1846-1852]; (2) William; (3) Thomas [1850-1867] who drowned whilst skating in Regent's Park, London.

Mrs Harvey wrote a volume of reminiscences entitled Recollections of a Beloved Sister which described the Toothill district in the time of Queen Victoria

Fryer, Dr Simeon
[1792-1836] Surgeon. Son of Dr Joseph Fryer. He succeeded to his father's practice.

He married Ann Cooper.

Children: (1) Simeon Dyson; (2) George Henry; (3) Alfred; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child.

The family lived at The Poplars, Rastrick.

See James Diggles

Fryer, Simeon Dyson
[1825-1855] Son of Dr Simeon Fryer.

In 1841, he was an apprentice living with John Hunter, tea dealer, of Saint Ann's Square, Manchester.

He became a tea dealer [1851].

On 21st March 1849, he married Lucy Hall [1826-1???] at Saint Bartholomew's, Manchester.


Lucy was the youngest daughter of manufacturer James Hall [1789-18??] of Manchester.
 

Children: (1) Arthur [b 1850]; (2) Lucy Ann [b 1842]; (3) Mary Alice [b 1844]; (4) Herbert [b 1845].

An obituary in The Leeds Intelligencer [15th December 1855] recorded

DEATHS
On the 10th December 1855, in his 31st year, at Sydenham, where he was residing on account of his health, Mr. Simeon Dyson Fryer, son of the late Simeon Fryer, surgeon, Rastrick, and partner in the firm of F. and S. D. Fryer, tea dealers of this town

In 1861, his widow and the children were living with her father at Hattex, Bolton-le-Sands, Lancaster

After his death, his widow married Henry Fryer

Fryer, Thomas
[1760-1816] Son of Joseph Fryer.

In 1791, he married Elizabeth Dickinson.

Children: (1) John who became a draper; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child; (9) child.

He was a partner in Joseph Fryer & Company

Fryer, Thomas
[1790-1847] Son of Dr Joseph Fryer.

In 1845, he was listed as fancy manufacturer at Rastrick. He lived at The Spout, Brighouse [?] and Spring Head, Rastrick [1845].

On 9th August 1813, he married Elizabeth Binns [1795-1879], born in Pannel, Yorkshire.

Children: (1) Abraham [b 1820] who was a currier [1841, 1851]; (2) (possibly) Benjamin [b 1821] who was a cabinet maker [1841]; (3) Nancy [1823-1870] who married Henry Aspinall; (4) Joseph; (5) Sarah [1829-1895] who married John Crooks Carter; (6) Margaret [b 1832]; (7) Thomas [b 1832] who was a weaver of woollen & cotton [1851]; (8) Jane [b 1835]; (9) Robert [b 1840].

The family lived at Spout, Rastrick [1841, 1851].

In 1851, the widowed Elizabeth is listed as proprietor of houses

Living with them in 1851 were grandson Thomas Fryer [aged 4] and visitor Mrs Charlotte Broadley [aged 36]

Fryer, William
[1782-18??] Second son of Dr Joseph Fryer.

Partner in Fryer's: Joseph Fryer & Company. He carried on business in London.

On 16th July 1812, he married Maria Carter at Halifax Parish Church.


Maria was the daughter of John Carter
 

Children: (1) William; (2) Amelia; (3) (possibly) Ann; (4) Phoebe; (5) Harry

Fryer, William
[1848-1???] Son of Sarah Grace and William Harvey.

In 1873, he married Anna Maria Whiting [1851-1934].

Children: (1) Thomas Edmund [b 1875]; (2) Mary Katharine [b 1876]; (3) Bernard [b 1878]; (4) Margaret [b 1881]; (5) Helen Grace [b 1882]; (6) William Fryer [b 1885]; (7) Philip [b 1887]; (8) John Wilfred [b 1889]

Fryth, John
[15??-1???] (Possibly) son of Edmund Firth.

Recorded in 1591, when he was at Overgotehouse, Upper Goat House, Rishworth

Fucigna, Ceccardo Egidio
[18??-18??] Italian sculptor who completed the bronze statue of Edward Akroyd which was modelled by John Birnie Philip and erected at North Bridge in 1876

Fulcher, P.
[18??-19??] He lived at Rossett Holt, Trimmingham [1937]

Fulcher, Samuel M.
[1???-19??] Dairyman at 19 Thomas Street South, Halifax [1936]

Fulcherite
Reinforced concrete patented and manufactured by Fulcherite Limited of Portland Street, Halifax.

Publicity statements claimed

There is health and comfort in Fulcherite Flooring

It is dustless, damp-proof, fire-proof, and vermin-proof

Fulcherite Limited
Reinforced concrete and flooring specialists. Makers of Fulcherite. They were at 8 Portland Street, Halifax [1934, 1936]

Fullaway, William Higgs
[1857-1914] In 1881, he married Frances Elizabeth Oliver [1859-1930] in Mile End, London.

Children: (1) Charles Thomas [1889-1939] who married Elsie Louise [1898-1983]; (2) Albert Edward [1897-1971].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Pleasant Methodist Church, Wainstalls

Fuller
Occupational surname for someone who fulled cloth.

The surname Fulur is mentioned in 1219, and Roger the Fuller is recorded at Rastrick in 1274.

Other surnames derived from this same occupation are found in other parts of the country: Walker is common in the north and west of England, Fuller in the south-east of England, and Tucker in the south-west of England

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Fuller. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Fuller, Charles
[18??-18??] Recorded on 10th May 1861, when he was promoted from Lieutenant to Captain of the 4th Yorkshire West Riding Rifle Volunteers

Fuller, John
[1???-18??] Of Shaw Hill, Halifax.

See West Yorkshire Railway Company

Fuller's: John Fuller & Sons
Halifax wool merchants [1863].

Partners included John Haigh Fuller

Fuller, John Haigh
[18??-18??] He was a partner in John Fuller & Sons [1863]; a promoter of the Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Railway.

In 1871, he and John Hodgson Wright, who were the executors of John Haigh, leased Savile Hall, Halifax to John Lewis

Fuller, Rev Latimer
[18??-19??] Curate at Elland [1897-1901]

Fuller, Roger the
[12??-12??] A Rastrick man mentioned in court rolls of October 1274.

The name implies that fulling was practised in the area at that time.

See Thomas the Webster

Fullmer, Rev Christopher Wilkinson
[1863-19??] Born in London.

Educated at Wolverhampton Grammar School and Saint Edmund Hall Oxford. He was Curate of West Felton, Shropshire [1887] before becoming Vicar at Barkisland [1892].

In 1900, he left to become vicar of Whitley Lower, Mirfield

Fulneck
Near Pudsey, Bradford. In 1753, became the English headquarters of the Moravian Brethren

The Funeral Home, Halifax
122 Gibbet Street. J. Lawrence & Son were here in 1960

Fur Street, Northowram
Aisled house. Home of the Bothes family

Furbisher, John
[19??-] Editor of the Halifax Courier [from 2003]. At the end of 2009, he moved to the Sheffield daily paper The Star. In 2001, he left to become head of media for the UK Conservative group in the European Parliament

Furcé anglicé
A name used for the Gibbet in 1613

Furley House, Heptonstall
Late 17th / early 18th century house at 35 Towngate.

Formerly the Dog & Partridge Inn.

Owners and tenants have included

Furman, Mr
[16??-16??] Curate at Coley for about 1 year [1671]

Furness
Other forms of the surname include Farnish, Forness, Fournes, Fourness, Fournis, Furnish and Furniss.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 24 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Furness. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Furness family
See Calico Hall, Halifax

Furness, Albert Hollas
[1874-1956] Son of Enoch Furness.

He was a joiner.

He married Annie Farrer [1872-19??]. at Saint Matthew's Church, Rastrick.


Annie was born in Rastrick
 

Children: Albert [b 1904]

Furness, Arthur
[1889-1915] Son of George Furness.

Born in Halifax [5th December 1889].

He was an errand boy [1901].

He never married.

In May 1910, he enlisted.

In 1911, he was a Private in the Royal Engineers, stationed at Meanee Barracks, Colchester.

During World War I, he was stationed in Singapore for 3 years.

He was a Sapper with the 55th Company of the Royal Engineers.

He was ordered home with his regiment and sent to France [December 1914].

He was killed in action at Fauquissart [21st March 1915].

He was buried at the Royal irish Rifles Graveyard, Laventie [I D 7]

Furness, Caleb
[1872-1907] Son of Edwin Furness.

Born in Greetland.

He was a cotton worker.

He married Elizabeth Ann Barlow [1877-19??]. in Halifax.


Elizabeth Ann was born in Sowerby
 

Children: (1) Zillah [1900-1972] who married Lionel Vickers 1893-1967]; (2) Edwin [1902-1985]; (3) Evelyn [b 1904].

The children were all born in Sowerby

He died Sowerby

Furness Charity
Aka Fourness Charity. On 19th October 1615, John Furness gave 2 cottages Well Head in Sowerby for use by 3 poor men of the town for ever.

He also gave land and property in Sowerby

to the use of such persons as shall be Masters of Arts, and a preacher at the chapel of Sowerby, for and during their times, and for the want of a Masters of Arts being a preacher there, then to the use and behoof of Richard Briggs and his heirs

In 1836, Crabtree records that

The 2 cottages are let to 2 poor families at £2 and £2 2/- a year, respectively, being moderate rents. The rents have usually been paid to the overseers of the poor, and applied with the poor's rate; the expense of repairing the cottages, defrayed by the overseers. It seems to us, that the rents, after deducting the expenses of the repairs, should be separately distributed among poor persons

Using figures for average earnings, £2 in 1836 is roughly the equivalent of £1,630.00 today, and £2 2/- is roughly the equivalent of £1,710.00. The Charity is commemorated in plaques at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby

Furness, David
[1???-1???] Police Constable in Halifax [1857]

Furness, Edmund
[1???-1???] Owned Calico Hall, Halifax

Furness, Edwin
[1837-1901] Son of Moses Furness.

He was an engine tenter [1861].

On 20th May 1861, he married Zillah Bottomley [1837-1908] at Elland Parish Church.


Zillah was born in Barkisland
 

Children: (1) William Bottomley; (2) Frank; (3) Arthur [1866-1892] who never married; (4) Enoch; (5) Caleb; (6) Sarah [b 1877]

Furness, Enoch
[1842-1876] Son of Moses Furness.

He was a stuffer [1869].

On 31st July 1869, he married Lavinia Smith [1847-1907] at Elland Parish Church.


Lavinia was born in Greetland
 

Children: (1) Ernest [b 1869]; (2) twins Edith [1870-1872]; (3) Emily [1870-1871]; (4) Ethel [1872-1954] who married Joseph Travis; (5) Albert Hollas.

The children were all born in Sowerby.

Enoch was buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby [29th June 1876]

Furness, Enoch
[1868-1933] Son of Edwin Furness.

Born in Greetland.

He was an engine tenter [1895].

Elizabeth Hannah Stansfield [1870-1940] in Halifax.


Elizabeth Hannah was born in Ripponden
 

Children: (1) Lily [b 1896]; (2) Jack [1905-1981].

Enoch & Elizabeth Hannah died in Greetland

Furness, Frank
[1863-1942] Born in Barkisland [26th September 1863].

He was an engine tenter [1888].

In 1888, he married Amy Weavill [1870-1947] in Halifax.


Amy was born in Mexborough
 

Children: (1) Doris May [1897-1990] who married Allen Lockwood Dyson; (2) Stanley Holroyd [1901-1936]; (3) Irene [b 1903]; (4) Lillian [b 1905]; (5) Frank [1907-1994]; (6) Ada Vondaline [1909-1995] who died in Australia [5th December 1995].

The couple died in Huddersfield: Frank [3rd May 1942]

Furness, George
[1858-19??] Son of William Furness, greengrocer.

Born in Halifax.

He was a drayman [1877]; a painter [1891]; a fruit and potato merchant [1901, 1911]; a fruit merchant & commission agent [1915].

In 1877, he married Mary Ellen Hodson [1857-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Ellen was born in Manchester, the daughter of George Hodson, overlooker.

She was a fruit sales woman [1901]

 

Children: (1) Clara [b 1878] who was a worsted spinner [1891]; (2) George W [b 1879] who was a worsted doffer [1891]; (3) Edgar [b 1888] who was an errand boy [1901]; (4) Arthur; (5) Annie [b 1893] who was a machinist [1911].

The family lived at 24 Bentley Street, Halifax [1891]; 2 Westbury Terrace, Halifax [1901]; 64 Gibraltar Road, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was grandson Cecil Furness [aged 8] (born in Barnsley) 

Furness, Herbert Stott
[1860-1???] He was a teacher of music [1891].

In 1883, he married Margaret Ross, daughter of Joseph Wadsworth, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Helen A [b 1886]; (2) James R [b 1889]; (3) Eva W [b 1890].

The family lived at 16 Milton Street, Halifax [1891]

Furness, Hollas
[1833-1902] Son of Moses Furness.

He was a cotton spinner.

He married Sarah Binns [1835-1908] in Halifax.


Sarah was born in Sowerby
 

Children: (1) Hannah [1858-1938] who never married; (2) Sarah [1860-1937] who never married; (3) Moses [1861-1873]; (4) Rachel [1864-1942] who never married; (5) John; (6) Benjamin [1867-1873]; (7) Eliza [1869-1952] who never married; (8) Eva [b 1871] who married Tom Haigh; (9) Elizabeth [1875-1962] who never married; (10) Hollas.

The couple died in Sowerby

Furness, Hollas
[1877-1950] Son of Hollas Furness.

Born in Luddenden.

He was a tailor [1901].

In 1901, he married Martha Gillson [1879-1959] in Halifax.


Martha was born in Cleckheaton
 

Children: (1) Ruth [b 1904]; (2) Richard [1910-1974].

The couple died in Huddersfield

Furness, J.
[18??-19??] Proprietor of Bilberry Hall Pleasure Grounds, Greetland [1905]

Furness, John
[15??-16??] Or Fourness. He gave land to the Curate at Sowerby and established the Furness Charity

Furness, John
[1664-1683] Younger son of Joseph Fourness. Born 8th January 1664.

His father bequeathed Upper Shibden Hall to him.

He died 29th October 1683.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Furness, Captain John
[1682-1717] Aka Fournis. Of Ovenden Hall. Son of Samuel Furness.

In 1713, he married Frances Oates.

Children: (1) Jane [1714-1720]; (2) Susannah [1717-1722]. He had no male heirs.

He was an army Captain and fought with the Duke of Marlborough at the Battle of Blenheim.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions.

See Moorfalls Estate, Northowram

Furness, John
[18??-1914] Born in Brighouse.

He was a violinist.

He was a member of the five man band aboard the RMS Empress of Ireland.

He died when the vessel was accidentally rammed in fog in the Gulf of Saint Lawrence. [29th May 1914]

Furness, John
[1865-1950] Son of Hollas Furness.

Born in Stainland.

He was a house painter [1889].

In 1889, he married Amelia Onions [1870-1950] in Barnsley


Amelia was born in Elsecar
 

Children: (1) Nellie May [1889-1975] who married Harold Arnell; (2) Sarah Jane [1890-1974] who married Clifford Whitehead; (3) Florence [1893-1969] who married Cyril Timewell.

The children were all born in Sowerby

Furness, Moses
[1799-1859] Son of John Furness.

Born in Stainland.

Baptised at Saint Andrew's, Stainland [27th January 1799].

He was a watchman [1822].

On 17th April 1822, he married Sarah Hollas at Elland Parish Church.


Sarah was the daughter of
Jeremiah Hollas
 

Children: (1) Mary [b 1823]; (2) Eliza [1825-1912] who married Thomas Somerscales; (3) Elizabeth [1827-1891] who married Shaw Singleton; (4) Hannah [1831-1861] who never married; (5) Hollas; (6) Rachael [b 1835]; (7) Edwin; (8) Jemima [1839-1905] who was servant for her sister Elizabeth [1871] and married Nathan Wild; (9) Enoch.

The children were born in Stainland.

The couple died in Stainland: Moses [17th June 1859]; Sarah [1867]

Furness, Richard
[17??-18??] Of Hipperholme.

He married Ellen [1793-1864].

Children: (1) William [1831-1875]; (2) Ann [1832-1853].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Chapel, Lightcliffe

Furness, S.
[18??-19??] In 1916, he occupied premises at The Square, Halifax

Furness, Samuel
[1662-1687] Of Ovenden Hall. Eldest son of Joseph Fourness. Born 7th December 1661.

He married Jane Brearcliffe.

Children: (1) John; (2) Joseph; (3) Phebe [1687-1699].

He died 20th February 1687.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Furness, William Bottomley
[1861-1???] Son of Edwin Furness.

Born in Greetland [20th June 1861].

He was a cotton twiner [1884].

In 1884, he married Sarah Hannah Shaw [1861-1???] in Halifax


Sarah Hannah was born in Stainland
 

Children: Arthur [b 1893]

Furnish
A variant of the surname Furness

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Furniss
A variant of the surname Furness

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Furniss & Done
Joiners, shop fitters and undertakers at Brewery Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners were G. F. Furniss and D. Done

Furniss & Hollingworth
Basket makers at Elland [1874]

Furniss Farm, Walsden
The property was lost when Ramsden Clough Reservoir was constructed and Ramsden Clough was dammed.

Could the name be connected to the fact that evidence of mediæval iron-working have been found in Ramsden Clough?

Furniss, G. F.
[18??-19??] Partner in Furniss & Done.

He lived at Bath Place, Halifax [1905]

Furniss's: George Furniss, Roberts & Company
Solicitors in Brighouse [1898].

See Roberts, Son & Hinchliffe

Furniture City, Halifax
In 1979, Colin Jeffreys bought the India Buildings and opened the Furniture City superstore [1981]

Furtex

The Fusco family
Like many other Italian families who came to the district, they were involved in making and selling ice cream

See Michele Pandozi

Fustian

Fustian Co-op

Fustian Society

Fustian weavers' strike

Fustianopolis
A name given to Hebden Bridge on account of the fustian which was manufactured there.

The name is modelled on Copperopolis (the name given to Swansea in the 18th century)  and Cottonopolis (Manchester in the 19th century).

See Trouser Town


A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


search tips advanced search
search engine by freefind


© Malcolm Bull 2014 / calderdale@aol.com
Revised 17:07 on 17th July 2014 / f / 743