Search billions of records on



Ea Eb Ec Ed Eg Ei Ek El Em En Ep Eq Er Es Et Eu Ev Ew Ex Ey

A variant of the surname Akroyd

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Eadon, John
[17??-18??] He was transported for administering an illegal oath at a Luddite meeting at Saint Crispin Inn in 1812. He was given a free pardon [31 Sept 18??]

Eagar, Frank Whitworth
[1857-1884] Born in London.

He was a Lieutenant in the 33rd Duke of Wellington Regiment. He died whilst serving as a Captain in Egyptian Army during the Sudan Campaign.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Other forms of the surname include Eaglen, Eagling, Eglen and Eglin

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Eagland, Matthew
[16??-16??] Of Elland. In 16??, he confessed that he had
occupied 100 women in the last year

Eagland, Mr
[16??-1???] Curate at Heptonstall [1656]

Eagle Crag, Todmorden
Aka Bill Knipe, Bill Nipe, and The Witches' Mounting Block.

A natural rocky outcrop overlooking the Staff of Life pub. It was a favourite spot for making wagers and dares.

A local legend says that at midnight on Hallowe'en, a white doe stands on the crag, chased by a hunter and his dogs.

See Gabriel Ratchetts, Mother Helston and Lady Sybil

A variant of the surname Eagland

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames


A variant of the surname Eagland

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

A variant of the surname Akroyd

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Variant spelling of Elland recorded in 1613 and 1785.

This spelling can be seen on a milestone at Norland church

Ealham, Harry
[1886-1918] Son of John Ealham.

Born in Halifax

He was a newspaper print machinist [1908].

On 24th April 1909, he married Lillian Boocock Normanton in Halifax.

Lillian was the daughter of Samuel Boocock Normanton

Children: Arthur [1914-1993].

The family lived at 1 Withinfields, Southowram [1918]

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with 49th Battery 40th Brigade of the Royal Field Artillery.

He died 7th July 1918.

He was buried at Lapugnoy Military Cemetery [X B 11].

After his death, Lillian married [1921] John Henry Broomhead.

They had no children

Ealham, Herbert
[1884-1958] Son of John Ealham.

Born in Halifax.

He was a brass finisher [1908].

On 29th August 1908, he married Hilda Boocock Normanton at King Cross, Halifax

Hilda was the daughter of Samuel Boocock Normanton

Children: Ernest [1910-1977]

Ealham, John
[18??-1???] He married Sarah.

Children: (1) Herbert; (2) Harry

The family lived at Halifax [1918].

Eames, James Silvanus
[1866-1917] Born in Wakefield [Q3 1866].

He married Helena Thwaite in Halifax [Q4 1893].

Helena was the daughter of
Samuel Holdsworth Thwaite

Children: Annie Leslie [b 1895]

Eardley, Sir Culling Eardley
[1805-1863] 3rd Baronet. With 11,795 votes, he was the unsuccessful Liberal candidate for the MP for the West Riding in December 1848, losing to Edmund Denison who gained 14,743 votes

Earl of Halifax

Earls of Warren

Early-closing day

Earnest Pioneer Lodge
of the Independent Order of Good Templars. Recorded in May 1873, when a meeting was held in the assembly room of the British Workman, Brighouse


There are currently around 22 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Earnshaw. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Earnshaw's: A. Earnshaw & Sons
Lathe manufacturers, engineers, iron and brass founders, and tool makers at Crown Works, Halifax. Established in 1862. Recorded in 1898

See Joe Crossley Newsome

Earnshaw, Abraham
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1748]

Earnshaw, Abraham
[17??-17??] Of Ovenden.

On 17th October 1767, brothers Thomas Boys [27] and Richard Boys [24] of Colne, were executed at the Tyburn for

the highway robbery of Earnshaw, holding a knife to his throat and putting him in fear of his life

They had stolen 8 guineas and 2 shillings in silver from him.

These 2 brothers had married 2 sisters, who, with their father, attended the execution and then conveyed the bodies to Halifax for burial

Earnshaw, Rev Alan Mark
[19??-] He was Vicar of Saint George's Church, Ovenden [1966]; Vicar of Coley [1990].

He was said to be a very autocratic character. At one point he demanded that the font be replaced. When parishioners suggested that the old font be sited in the churchyard where it might be used to display flowers, he insisted that it be broken up and buried in the churchyard, lest black magic powers be invoked

Earnshaw & Fletcher
Fancy worsted coating manufacturers and worsted spinners at Brow Mills, Hipperholme. They succeeded Standeven & Earnshaw at Lum Brook Mills, Coley.

Partners included Sam Earnshaw and John Herbert Fletcher

Earnshaw, Crossley
[1840-1???] Born in Holmfirth.

He was a railway goods porter [1871].

He married Mary Ann, widow of Albert Veal.

Children: Willie [b 1870].

The family lived at Back Prospect Street, Claremount [1871]. Mary Ann's children were living with them

Earnshaw, Rev Cyril
[1???-19??] Priest at Saint Joseph's Catholic Church, Brighouse [1935]

Earnshaw, Elkanah
[1???-18??] A farmer at Ovenden.

In June 1849, newspapers reported that

[Earnshaw] has a duck which laid an egg measuring 8½ inches in diameter and weighing 8 ounces. Another egg was found in the inside

Earnshaw, Elkanah
[1816-1891] Of Cock Hill Gate, Ovenden.

He married Hannah [1814-1895].

Children: Dan [1856-1891].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Earnshaw, George
[1827-19??] Son of Samuel Earnshaw.

He was a commission agent (stuff goods) [1858].

He married (1) Unknown.

On 11th February 1858, he married (2) Ann Bateman at Zion Chapel, Halifax.

They had no children

They lived at Southgate, Halifax [1858]

Earnshaw's: George Earnshaw & Sons
They had business at Dulesgate Brick Works, Todmorden [1905]

Earnshaw, J.
[18??-19??] Cycle dealer at Halifax.

In July 1893, he was declared bankrupt

Earnshaw, James
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1776]

Earnshaw, James
[1827-1???] Born in Todmorden.

He was innkeeper at the Bay Horse, Todmorden [1866, 1871].

In 1865, he married Hannah Clegg [1838-1???] from Bacup, in Todmorden

Earnshaw, John
[16??-17??] Curate at Luddenden [1720]

Earnshaw, John
[18??-1905] Landlord of the Shoulder of Mutton, Mixenden [1905].

He married Elizabeth.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1905

Earnshaw, John William
[18??-18??] BA. Son of S. Earnshaw of Rishworth.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School (where he was a prizeman), and Catherine Hall Cambridge before becoming He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1857]. He was curate of Birstal [1860].

He married Unknown.

Children: William Tilney [d 1861 at Birstal]

Earnshaw, Michael
[1???-16??] He was Constable of Sowerby [1652-3]

Earnshaw, Misses
In 1845, they ran a school in Brighouse

Earnshaw, Rev Richard Foulds
[1845-1898] Son of Mary and John Earnshaw, a book keeper.

Born in Sowerby.

In 1892, he married Sarah Emma Wilson in Northampton.

Children: (1) John Lewis William [1884-1961] who died in Australia; (2) Silvester William Penn.

He died in Middlesbrough [27th December 1898]

Earnshaw, Sam
[1???-1???] Partner in Standeven & Earnshaw and Earnshaw & Fletcher

Earnshaw, Samuel
[18??-19??] Joiner, builder and undertaker.

The business is recorded at 7 Ferguson Street, Halifax [1905, 1915, 1936].

Earnshaw, Silvester William Penn
[1887-1934] FZS.

Son of Rev Richard Foulds Earnshaw

Born in Leicester.

He died in Saint Pancras

Earnshaw, Stephen
[1???-18??] Preparatory master at Rishworth School [1834, 1842]

Earnshaw, William
[17??-1???] Of Brighouse. In 1805, he and William Earnshaw bought Brookfoot Corn Mill.

See Clay & Earnshaw

Earnshaw, William
[1799-1848] He was innkeeper at the Bay Horse, Todmorden [1841].

He married Mary [1806-1???].

Living with them at the Bay Horse in 1841 were Mary Earnshaw [aged 15] (female servant), William Earnshaw [aged 25] (labourer), John Earnshaw [aged 15] (labourer), Robert Barker [aged 14] (labourer), William Barker [aged 11], and James Barker [aged 7].

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden


East Greenhurst Hey, Todmorden

Owners and tenants have included

East Hazlehurst, Shibden
Aka Lower Hazlehurst, Shibden

See Hazlehurst

East Hey Head Farm, Todmorden
Hey Head Lane. Mid 18th century house and barn.

In 2103, the farm was mentioned in connection with the use of horsemeat in food

East, Ian
[19??-] Halifax-born actor. He attended Heath Grammar School. He has appeared in many stage, film, and TV rôles

East Lee, Todmorden
East Lee Lane, Todmorden. Yeoman's house dated 1730.

See Abraham Crabtree

East Longfield Farm, Langfield

Owners and tenants have included

See Longfield Farm, Todmorden and Lower Longfield Farm, Todmorden

East Longley Farm, Norland

Owners and tenants have included

In 1923, Halifax Children's Welfare League bought and adapted the farm as a holiday home for groups of 12 to 16 children. Mackintosh's contributed £100 to start the venture.

See East Longley, Sowerby Bridge, Longley and Longley Farm, Norland

East Rodwell Farm, Todmorden

East Summit Lock, Todmorden
Aka Longlees Lock

East, Rev Timothy
[1784-1871] He trained at Springhill College, Birmingham, and served at Frome and Birmingham before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Ovenden [1855]. The congregation grew significantly during his ministry.

On 7th October 1856, he married a widow, Mrs Hannah Eddrup [née Price] from Brixton, at Streatham.

In 1857, he moved to Brixton, on account of his wife's health, and then to Paignton.

He died at Doddington, Oxfordshire

East View, Todmorden
House on the hillside above Todmorden at Lineholme.

Owners and tenants have included

East Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. Recorded in 1866.

See Robert Brook, Thomas Greenwood and Henry Charles Lightowler

Eastburn, John William

He lived at 9-11 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1936]

Eastburn, Robert
[1???-18??] He had business at Green Mount Dye Works, Halifax

Easterby, Isaac
[1849-1907] Born in Thornton le Dale, Yorkshire.

He was a chemical worker [1891]; an engine man (gasworks) [1901]; a carter and gas stoker [1907].

In [Q1] 1872, he married Rachel Baker [1855-1???] from Pickering, in Pickering.

Children: (1) Rachel [b 1876] who was a velvet mender [1891]; (2) Fred / John Frederick [b 1879] who was a cotton spinner [1891], a plasterer (builders) [1901]; (3) William Baker [b 1881] who was a cotton spinner [1891], an overlooker cotton mill [1901]; (4) David [b 1884] who was an apprentice (house painter) [1901]; (5) Harry [b 1885] who was a cotton twiner [1901]; (6) Archie / James Stewart [b 1888]; (7) Frank [b 1890]; (8) Edith Annie [b 1895] who was a milliner [1907].

Between 1884 and 1888, the family moved from Pickering to Halifax.

The family lived at 18 Canal Road, Skircoat, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 6 Walker Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1901]; 1 Mearclough, Sowerby Bridge [1907].

He was killed in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907. He was travelling inside the car and his body was found beneath the tram which had fallen on its side and crushed him.

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [17th October 1907]

Easterby, William
[18??-19??] Of Sowerby Bridge.

He was a teacher in cotton spinning at Sowerby Bridge Technical School; an employee at Shepherd & Blackburn Limited.

He emigrated to the United States.

In 1904, he was appointed spinning master at the Peruvian Cotton Spinning Company in Viarte

Eastfield House, Claremount
Belmont Street / Horley Street.

Owners and tenants have included

See Eastfield Mill, Claremount

Eastfield Knowle, Lightcliffe
Aka East Knowle. A piece of land where The Grange, Lightcliffe was built

Eastham, John
[18??-18??] Photographic artist at Skircoat Moor, Halifax [1861]

Eastman, Rev Derek Ian Tennent
[1905-19??] MA, Ch Ch. Curate at Brighouse [1948-1951].

He left Brighouse to become curate at Caversham [1951-1956], then vicar of Saint Andrew, Headington Oxford [1956-1964], Banbury with Neithrop [1964-1970], Chilton with Dorton [1970-1977]. He was Archdeacon of Buckingham [1970-1977] and canon of Windsor [from 1977]. He lived at the Cloisters, Windsor Castle [1977]

Easton, Caleb
[1880-19??] He was a carter for Luddendenfoot [?] UDC [1911].

In 1901, he married (1) Janette Hoyle in Halifax.

Children: (1) Robert [b 1902]; (2) Lilian [b 1904]; (3) Mary Evelyn [b 1906]; (4) John Douglas [b 1910]; (5) George [b 1914].

The family lived at 3 Lane Side, Luddendenfoot [1911].

Janette died after a tram accident which happened on 15th July 1917.

In 1919, he married (2) a widow, Mrs Janet Broadbent, in Halifax. She had 4 children from her previous marriage.

Children: (6) May [b 1920]

Easton, Mrs Caleb
[1881-1917] Of Morley Hall, Luddendenfoot.

Née Janetta or Janette, daughter of John Hoyle.

In 1901, she married Caleb Easton in Halifax.

She received head and leg injuries when the Queensbury-Halifax tram overturned at Ambler Thorn on 15th July 1917, and died in Halifax Royal Infirmary 2 days later

Easton, Rev Edward William
[18??-19??] MA, Mus Bac. Vicar of Warley [1905, 1908] and Vicar of Ripponden [1909-1920]

The entries for people with the surname Eastwood are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Area lying halfway between Hebden Bridge and Todmorden on the west side of Jumble Hole Clough.

The name Estwoode is recorded in 1286. The name may be derived from the local Eastwood family.

See Bottoms, Cockden, Eastwood Railway Station and Higher Eastwood


Richard de Estwode is recorded in 1275. May come from the Eastwood family of Eastwood, Hebden Bridge

There are currently around 65 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Eastwood. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Eastwood family
Aka Eastwoode. Family who owned land and property in Hebden Bridge from the 13th to the 17th century.

They gave their name to the Eastwood district.

Their family seat was Eastwood Hall.

A branch of the family also owned the Mill House estate at Luddenden and Pepper Hill Mill, Luddenden.

Eastwood & Sutcliffe
Todmorden solicitors founded by William Eastwood.

When William died, his brother Abraham Greenwood Eastwood took over the office.

Charles Edwin Sutcliffe may have joined the business as partner

Eastwood Brothers
Fustian manufacturers and wholesale clothiers established [1882].

Partners included Fred Eastwood, Daniel Eastwood, and John Eastwood.

They were at Croft Mill, Hebden Royd [1905]

Eastwood Co-operative Store
Duke Street. Opened in 1???. Closed in 19??. The shop was subsequently used as a second-hand clothes business

Eastwood Doubling
Of Marshall Hall Mills, Elland. The business went into liquidation in 2001.

See W. H. Eastwood

Eastwood's Farm, Illingworth
Keighley Road.

Eastwood Lee, Stansfield
John Sutcliffe lived here [1623]

Eastwood Old Hall

Eastwood Post Office
A receiving house was recorded in 1861 when Thomas Jackson was the receiver.

Eastwood Railway Station
Eastwood, Todmorden. Built around 1840 on the site of Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood.

Closed on 3rd December 1951. Demolished in January 1952.

David Hartley, son of King David Hartley, was killed at the station on 27th March 1847.

In May 1890, a man named Kinchlee, a deserter from the 68th Durham Foot Regiment, escaped after he jumped from an express train as it passed through the station.

See Station House Hotel, Eastwood and Todmorden Station

Eatough, Oliver
[1833-1906] Son of Abraham Eatough [1784-18??] a block printer calico, (born in Derbyshire). Born in Lancashire.

He moved from Rossendale to Sowerby Bridge [1863].

He was an engraver to calico printer [1861]; a grocer's assistant John Cunliffe [1871]; a commercial clerk at the chemical works of a drysalters at Low Moor [1881]; a commercial traveller (chemical) [1891]; a commercial traveller [1901]; a Primitive Methodist preacher [1856-1906]; a supporter of the Temperance Movement; a member of the Committee of the Sowerby Bridge Evening Continuation Schools [1896]; a member of the Liberal Club; a member of the Sowerby Bridge Public Library Committee; a member of the Committee of the Sowerby Bridge Industrial Society.

He married Jane [1832-1???]

Children: (1) Emily [b 1856] who was a woollen weaver [1871, 1881]; (2) Clara [b 1862] who was a woollen prover [1881], a woollen weaver [1891]; (3) John [b 1864] who was a railway clerk [1881]; (4) Richard [b 1869] who was a railway clerk [1891]; (5) Ida Lomax [b 1871] who was a tailoress [1891, 1901], a ladies' tailor [1911]; (6) Walter [b 1873] who was a block printer [1891]; (7) Sarah Alice [b 1875] who was a woollen weaver [1881, 1891, 1901, 1911].

The family lived at 22 Richmond Street, Ardwick, Manchester [1861]; 3 Beech, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; 3 Pleasant Street, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 4 Edward Street, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 5 Annie Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]; 22 Tuel Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

He died at home in Tuel Lane [25th August 1906].

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Eaves, Hebden Bridge
Aka Heptonstall Eaves, Top o' th' Eaves

Eaves House, Warley
House built around 1608 by John Murgatroyd

Eaves, Samuel
[1871-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a general carrier [1911].

In [Q1] 1894, he married Lena Laycock [1868-19??] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Gladys [b 1896] who was a bobbin setter; (2) Fred [b 1898]; (3) Irvine [b 1900]; (4) Willie [b 1904].

The family lived at 1 The Square, Bank Top, Southowram [1911]

Eaves Self-Help Manufacturers' Society
A co-operative partnership established on 10th August 1907 by weavers at the Eaves Bottom Mills, Hebden Bridge to try to find work for those put out of work by the fustian weavers' strike.

The co-operative ceased in 1911

Those involved in establishing the co-operative included Joseph Greenwood, John Stansfield, J. W. Garside, Greenwood Pickles, W. H. Brown, W. H. Helliwell, and A. Cunliffe

Eaves Wood
Hebden Bridge.

See Top o' th' Eaves

A variant of the surname Hebblethwaite.

A variant of the surname Hebden

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

A variant of the surname Hebden

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Ebenezer Cottages, Northowram
Numbers 13 to 19 Towngate are known as Ebenezer Cottages. They are listed.

Number 15 was the home of Oliver Heywood, and is dated 1677 H/OA

Ebor House, Brighouse
Lightcliffe Road / Garden Road.

Built by Vincent Aspinall whose name is inscribed on the house


There are currently around 11 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Eccles. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Eccles, Alfred Ephraim
[1830-1913] Son of William Eccles.

Born in Jackholes, Lancashire.

He was a manager power looms [1851]; a commission agent [1863].

On 28th October 1863, he married Susanna Whiteley at Halifax Parish Church.

Susanna was the daughter of George Whiteley

Eccles Brothers
Proprietors of the Elland Steam & Electric Power Laundry [1905]

Eccles, Eli
[1817-1891] Born in Rishworth.

He was a worsted weaver [1852].

On 16th May 1852, he married Mary Hollas in Halifax.

Mary was the daughter of
David Hollas

They had no children.

Eccles's Fold, Todmorden
A piece of ground near the White Hart. It was named for George Eccles. The local market was held here in the 19th century. The market later moved to the Royal George, Todmorden

Eccles, George
[1793-1845] Innkeeper of the White Hart, Todmorden. Gave his name to Eccles's Fold and Eccles's Steps

Eccles, Henry
[1829-1856] Son of William Eccles.

Born in Blackburn.

He was partner in his father's cotton manufacturing business in Blackburn.

In 1853, he married Mary Jane Whiteley at Saint Paul's Church, Halifax

Mary Jane was the daughter of George Whiteley

The ceremony was conducted by Mary Jane's brother Rev J. Whiteley.

Henry died in Blackburn [26th September 1856].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £14,000.

Eccles's: J. Eccles & Son
Dairy farmers at Broad Bottom Farm, Hebden Bridge

Eccles's: James Eccles & Company Limited
Worsted spinners at Heath Works, Halifax [1937]

Eccles, John
[16??-1???] Quaker.

He lived at Lower Woodhouse, Rastrick

Eccles, Joseph
[16??-17??] He lived at Coley Hall.

He married Unknown.

Children: John [died of smallpox 1709]

Eccles, Joseph H.
[1824-1883] Dialect poet. Born at Ripponden. One of twins. He was largely self-taught. In 1845, he moved to Leeds where he spent the rest of his life

Eccles, Percy
[18??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1908]. He won caps for England and for Great Britain while at Halifax

Eccles, Rev Richard
[1???-1987] Baptist minister. Trained in Belfast. His arrival to preach at the Zion Baptist chapel in Hebden Bridge in 1968 motivated Florence Walton to refurbish the building. In April 1969, he became Minister of the chapel

Eccles's Steps, Todmorden
A flight of steps which led to the Court of Petty Sessions which was held at the White Hart, Todmorden in the mid-19th century. The steps were named for George Eccles

Eccles, William
[1???-18??] He was a cotton manufacturer.

He married Alice Cocker [1802-1???].

Children: Alfred Ephraim.

In 1851, the widowed Alice and son Alfred Ephraim were living at White Coppice, Anglezark, Lancashire with Alice's brother Ephraim Cocker [aged 41]

Eccles, William
[1795-18??] JP.

Born in Blackburn.

He was a cotton manufacturer employing 800 males & 900 females [1851].

Around 1824, he married Janet [1801-18??] from Clifton, Lancashire.

Children: (1) William [b 1824]; (2) Henry; (3) John [b 1834].

The sons were partners in the family cotton spinning business [1851]

The family lived at Spring Bank, Blackburn [1851]

Ecclesley, William de
[1240-1???] of Ecclesley.

Around 1261, he married Alice de Backhall.

See Back Hall, Exley

The Echo
See Brighouse & Elland Echo, Brighouse Echo, Elland Echo and Todmorden Echo


There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Eckersley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Eckersley, James
[1807-18??] Born in Leigh, Lancashire. Hatter and manufacturer at Crown Street, Halifax [1850].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) William Roger [b 1834]; (2) John Edward.

See Joseph Eckersley

Eckersley, John Edward
[1846-1???] Son of James Eckersley.

He was a commercial clerk [1871].

He married Frances, daughter of Robert Catlow.

Children: William Benedict [1875-1908] who was a spirit traveller [1901].

The family lived at 51 Trafalgar Street, Bradford [1871]; Lumb Lane, Bradford [1901].

In 1881, Frances with living with William Eckersley.

Living with the widowed Frances and her son in 1901 was her widowed father Robert

Eckersley, Joseph
[18??-18??] His London Hat Warehouse was at 25 Crown Street, Halifax [1845].

See James Eckersley

Eckersley, Rev Thomas
[1783-1860] Recorded in 1855, when he was a supernumerary Methodist minister in Todmorden

He married Elizabeth [1793-1856].

Elizabeth died 27th February 1856 (aged 63 years); Thomas died 24th August 1860 (aged 77) in the 47th year of his ministry.

They were buried at Mytholmroyd Wesleyan Methodist Church

Eckersley, William Roger
[1834-18??] Born in Salford, Lancashire.

He was Professor of Music at 3 New Bond Street, Halifax [1874]; Professor of Music [1881]; Professor of Music at 17 New Bond Street, Halifax [1905].

In [Q1] 1862, he married Leonie Victorine Adrienne Drevelle [1837-1910] from Amiens, France, in Chorlton, Lancashire.

The family lived at 3 New Bond Street, Halifax [1881]

Living with them in 1881 were John Eckersley [b 1845] born in Leeds (dyer's clerk), sister-in-law Frances M. Eckersley, niece Maria Eckersley [b 1872] born in Bradford, nephew William B. Eckersley [b 1875] born in Bradford, and niece Agnes Menison [b 1864] born in Halifax

Ecko orchestra
Aka Hattonians

A variant of the surname Akroyd

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

The destroyer HMS Eclipse was adopted by Elland during Warship Week, in February 1942, Elland raised a total of £300,000

Eclipse Bedding & Mattress Company
Bedding & mattress dealers at Causeway Head, Burnley Road [1905]

Eclipse Laundry, Brighouse
Recorded in 1887 and 1906 at 32 River Street, Brighouse when J. Smith was proprietor

Eclipse Tailoring Company Limited
Tailors at 13 Wade Street, Halifax [1905]

Economic Dining Rooms, Brighouse
Bethel Street. Restaurant built in 1889 by James Lord. It had 10 rooms, with bars and dining rooms on the ground floor, and a large room for concerts and dances

Economic Stores (Halifax) Limited
Privately-owned grocers and provision merchants, founded on the co-operative ideals.

The company closed in 19??

A variant of the surname Akroyd.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

This was used by a branch of the family who moved to Lancashire

Ecroyd, John
[17??-18??] Of Marsden, Huddersfield.

He became a Halifax conveyancer and was in partnership with another Quaker Caleb Howarth between 1821-1830

Eda, Madame
Business selling gowns and millinery at 29 Southgate [1936] when Mrs Lena Damski was proprietor, and at George Square, Halifax [1937]

Eddison Limited
Artists and photographers at 4 Silver Street, Halifax [1900]. Also at Huddersfield, Manchester, Liverpool, Bradford, &c

Eddison, W.
[18??-1???] Pastor at Rishworth Particular Baptist Chapel [1871-1872]

Eddison, W.
[18??-18??] Fancy woollen manufacturer at Rastrick.

In September 1849, he was declared insolvent

Eden, Major
[15??-1643] He was second-in-command of the Parliamentary garrison at Heptonstall commander during the Civil War. He fought with Lord Fairfax at the Siege of Pontefract.

See Battle of Sowerby Bridge

Eden, Captain William
[17??-1775] Or Robert. He was Minister at Elland Unitarian Chapel [1745-1770]. He also preached alternately at Elland and at Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood and assisted Rev Joshua Cordingley at Warley Congregational Church.

He was given the title Captain after he was involved in preparations for the arrival of Bonnie Prince Charlie who passed through the district in his march south.

In October 1770, following the death of his only son, Robert, he resigned from Elland

Edgar, Rev James
[18??-1???] He married Unknown.

Children: Catherine Gaughy [1849-1856].

Daughter Catherine were buried at Cross Lanes United Methodist Chapel, Hebden Bridge

Edge End Farm, Erringden
On the Pennine Way. Originally an early 17th century house

Edge End Farm, Todmorden
Parkin Lane. House built in the mid-late 17th century. There were early 18th century alterations.

It was converted to a laithe-house in the 19th century.

Owners and tenants have included

Edge End, Warley
House. Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Edge Holme, Warley
Edgeholme Lane. 17th century house.

The house (possibly) appears on early maps of Warley Town.

Owners and tenants have included

It was demolished and houses built on the site

Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the house?


Edge House, Colden

Edge, Samuel
[17??-1782] Hatter in Halifax [1774]

Edgecote, Halifax
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Edgecumbe House, Halifax
Savile Park. The house is now divided into apartments

Edgeholme, Warley
Designed by J. F. Walsh for A. S. McCrea in 1910

Edgerley, Rev A. R.
[18??-19??] Wesleyan minister.

He lived at Annesley House, Elland [1905]

Edgeworth, Fred
[1857-1931] A dyer from Bradford.

On 22nd December 1877, he married Mary Jane Burrow at Saint Paul's, Manningham, Bradford.

Children: (1) John Percival [1878-1880]; (2) Alfred Ernest [b 1879]; (3) Fred [b 1880]; (4) Harold [b 1882].

After Mary Jane's death, Fred emigrated to Rhode Island, USA. His 3 sons joined him in 1888.

His sister-in-law, Clarice Burrow, followed him.

He married (2) Clarice.

He married (3) Carolina Dreyer [1872-1935]

Carolina was born in France

John Percival and his mother, Mary Jane, were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 2061]

Fred died in the USA [6th October 1931].

Carolina died in the USA [4th June 1935].

Fred, Clarice & Carolina are buried in Moshassuk Cemetery, Central Falls, Rhode Island, USA

Edgeworth, Maria
[1767-1849] She wrote a collection of stories for children entitled The Parents' Assistant [published by Milner & Sowerby 1862]

Edina House, Halifax
Parkinson Lane

The Edleston family
They lived at Boothtown

Edleston & Higham
Stuff manufacturers at Bailiffe Bridge.

In June 1861, the partnership was declared bankrupt. Mr Higham died the day following the bankruptcy

Edleston & Radcliffe
Woollen manufacturers at Sowerby Bridge. Partners included William Edleston and Joshua Radcliffe.

The partnership was dissolved in June 1856

Edleston, Dickinson
[1811-1875] Son of Robert Edleston.

He was Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1857, 1861].

After the death of his brother, William, he and his brothers carried on the business of William Edleston & Company Limited

He lived at Wood Field, Rochdale [1870s].

He died in Bournemouth [19th December 1875].

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £16,586 7/10d

Edleston, Rev Dr Joseph
[1816-1895] LLD. Son of Robert Edleston.

In 1834, he graduated from Trinity College Cambridge. He became Senior Fellow and Bursar of Trinity College Cambridge.

He was Vicar of Saint Mary's Church, Gainford, County Durham [for 41 years from 1863].

After the death of his brother William in 1869, he and his brothers carried on the business of William Edleston & Company Limited

He was one of the owners of the Gainford gasworks.

He edited the letters of Sir Isaac Newton.

On 2nd June 1863, he married Harriet Sophia Cumming [18??-1891] from Norfolk.

Children: (1) Sarah Alice Cumming [1864-1956]; (2) Robert William [b 1865] died aged 5 months; (3) Robert Holmes; (4) Joseph William [b 1871] died aged 7 months.

In 1880, Harriet and Sarah Alice converted to Catholicism.

He died in Cambridge [23rd November 1895].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £46,154 15/9d to his children Sarah Alice Cumming and Robert Holmes

Edleston, Robert
[1778-1865] He was a member of the branch of the family which had moved to County Durham.

He was a cloth manufacturer at West Royd, Sowerby Bridge; a dyer [1841]; a dyer & landed proprietor [1846-1865].

He supported Sowerby Bridge Independent Chapel.

On 8th January 1804, he married Sarah Holmes [1781-1846] at Halifax Parish Church.

Sarah was the daughter of a mill-owning family in Sowerby

Children: (1) Grace [1806-1889] who married George Farrar; (2) Robert; (3) William; (4) Dickinson; (5) Joseph; (6) Thomas Holmes.

The family lived at Crossley Mills, Halifax [1841]; West Royd, Sowerby [1846-1865].

All the family were buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby: Sarah [27th February 1846]; Thomas Holmes [28th January 1857]; Robert [19th October 1865]; William [27th April 1869]; Dickinson [23rd December 1875]; Robert [7th March 1884]; Grace [12th January 1889]; Rev Joseph [29th January 1895].

Edleston, Robert
[1822-1884] Of West Royd, Sowerby Bridge.

Youngest son of Robert Edleston.

On 22nd May 1879, he married Marian Millson at Northgate End Chapel.

Children: (1) Robert [1880-1906]; (2) Marian [1882-1941]; (3) Frances [1884-1977] who died unmarried at Ilkley.

The family lived at West Royd, Sowerby Bridge [1881].

He was (possibly) Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1865].

After the death of his brother, William, he and his brothers carried on the business of William Edleston & Company Limited. In 1880, he gave a tea-party to his workpeople for which

... the provisions, which were cooked on the premises, included 200 lbs of beef and 15 or 16 tongues. Choice exotic flowers adorned the tables. When the guests were seated, one could not be but struck with the hearty appearance and well-developed frames of the men

In 1881, he was listed as a dyer and woollen manufacturer employing 29 in dyeing and 9 in woollen manufacture.

See Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Railway

Edleston, Robert Holmes
[1868-1953] Son of Rev Joseph Edleston.

He was Chairman of William Edleston & Company Limited.

In October 1899, he married Maud Emily Acland [1878-1???] from Cambridge, at Westminster

Edleston, Thomas
[1822-1857] Of Halifax.

He was a Clerk at Halifax County Court Office [1851]; an auctioneer and Sheriff's Officer [1861].

In 1850, he married Jane Blakey in Halifax.

Children: (1) Marianne / Mary Ann [b 1854]; (2) Alfred Blakey [b 1857] who became a clerk in Holy Orders at Burnley [1891].

The family lived at Crown Street, Halifax [1851]; 18 Bank House Lane, Salterhebble [1861]

Thomas died [Q1] 1857.

By 1871, Jane was running a school at Salterhebble

Edleston, Thomas Holmes
[1805-1857] Son of Robert Edleston.

He was Chapel Warden at Northgate End Chapel [1833-1841].

There was a memorial to him in Northgate End Chapel

Edleston, William
[1808-1869] Second son of Robert Edleston.

By 1820, he was in business as a dyer, and then a finisher, at Asquith Bottom, Sowerby Bridge.

By 1830, he was putting out and became a merchant, exporting to many parts of the world.

In 1838, he sold land for the construction of West End Congregational Church, Sowerby Bridge and gave £100 towards the building.

In 1848, he established William Edleston & Company Limited.

He was a director of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company.

He died 22nd April 1869.

West Royd, Sowerby died.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £40,000.

After his death, the business was carried on by his brothers.

See Halifax, Bradford & Keighley Insurance Company

Edleston's: William Edleston & Company Limited
Dyers, stovers, finishers and woollen manufacturers established by William Edleston at Asquith Bottom Mills, Sowerby Bridge in 1848. They processed alpaca, camel hair, cashmere and mohair. The company's trade mark was a condor's head.

After the death of William, his brothers – Robert, Dickinson, and Joseph – carried on the business of William Edleston & Company Limited.

When Robert died in 1884, Joseph – who had never played an active rôle in the business – let the dyeworks, and the woollen business continued under the control of a manager until 1895.

Later, Joseph's children, Sarah Alice Cumming and Robert Holmes carried on with managers at Sowerby Bridge.

In 1914, W. Haigh was appointed as manager, and he revived the business after World War I.

On 19th February 1920 the mills in Sowerby Bridge were damaged by fire.

In the 1920s, they opened an office in London. It became a limited company in 1923.

In 1937, the mill was badly damaged by fire

Edmondson & Company
Worsted spinners at Mytholmroyd [1809]

Edmondson's: C. Edmondson & Company
Worsted spinners at Clay Pits Mills, Halifax [1905]. Partners included Charles Edmondson

Edmondson, Charles
[18??-19??] Partner in Edmondson & Company.

He lived at 5 Kingsley Place, Parkinson Lane, Halifax [1905]

Edmondson, Dennis
[1926-2010] Of Pecket Well.

During World War II, he served with the King's Royal Rifle Corps. He took part in experiments in which he was exposed to chlorine gas.

From 1975, he was well-known as a campaigner against the fluoridation of drinking water. He claimed that the process was to blame for stillbirths and infant deformities. He founded the Calderdale Citizens' Protest Against Fluoridation. He spent thousands of pounds of his own money on scientific tests.

In 1977, he organised a petition and collected 23,000 signatures.

In the 1980s, fluoride was added to water in Kirklees and part of Stainland, and would have been extended throughout Calderdale, had it not been for his representation to Yorkshire Water

Edmondson, Elias
[1820-1904] Gent.

He lived at Limed House, Shibden [1904].

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904

Edmondson, John
[17??-17??] Assistant Curate at Sowerby [1774]

Edmondson, John
[1786-185?] Or Edmonson [1841]. Born in Middleton, Lancashire.

He was a worsted spinner at Mytholmroyd Bridge [1817]; a worsted spinner [1841]; a worsted spinner and farmer of 1 acre employing 1 man [185].

He married Margaret [1791-1858].

Children: (1) Edward [b c1816]; (2) John [b c1816]; (3) Thomas [b c1817]; (4) William Henry [b c1821]; (5) Mary / Marianne [b c1826] who (possibly) married Thomas Fielden Uttley; (6) Alfred [b c1826]; (7) Jane [b c1826]; (8) Frederick [b c1828]. The children were baptised in batches, which makes their birthdates difficult to confirm.

The family lived at

; Mytholmroyd [1841, 1851]

John died in 1854 or 1857; Margaret in 1858

Edmondson, Richard
[18??-18??] He was the first licensee at the West Hill Tavern, Halifax.

The place had been a beerhouse for some time. In 1859, when he applied for a licence to sell spirits and wines, it was said that application had been made for many years without success. He was owner and occupier of the property and had made many improvements and additions to the tavern with the hope of rendering it suitable for an inn. It was also pointed out that there were no similar facilities in the California area of Halifax.

In 1860, he was one of a number of publicans charged with the adulteration of their beer by using grains of paradise in brewing. Edmondson claimed that he had no knowledge of the offence, and that it had been done by his brewer Shoesmith. The bench considered that the defendant was liable for the act of his servant. He was fined £50. Renewal of his licence was challenged because his offence.

Druggist Richard Toone was charged and fined £125 for supplying the grains

Edmondson, Robert
[1842-1920] Born in Low Moor.

He was a cattle dealer [1911].

In [Q3] 1878, he married Lucy Jowett [1852-1919] from Low Moor, in Bradford.

Children: (1) child; (2) Fanny [b 1882]; (3) Phoebe [b 1885]; (4) Ida [b 1888]; (5) Elizabeth [b 1893].

The family lived at Lothian House, Brighouse [1891, 1911].

Living with them in 1891, was Lucy's widowed mother Phoebe [1808-1894]

Edmondson, Thomas
[17??-18??] He came from the Dolphin Holme mill, Lancaster, where he had been a cotton manufacturer.

In 1792, he built a mill at Mytholmroyd which adapted cotton machinery to the production of wool for worsted manufacture. He went into partnership – Walker & Edmondson – with Mr Walker.

In 1796, he built 26 cottages at Pismire, Mytholmroyd called New Houses.

He married Unknown.

Children: a daughter who married [1803] Joseph Hughes of Liverpool

Edmondson, Thomas
[1789-1840] Born 20th October 1789. Baptised at Warley Congregational Chapel [10th January 1790].

He was a weaver and became a well-known teacher, musician and singer

Edmondson, Tom Livingstone
[1874-1970] Born in Burnley

In 1901, he married Susannah Hollas in Burnley.

Susannah was the daughter of
Michael Hollas

They had no children

Edmondson, Rev W.
[18??-19??] Minister of Cornholme United Methodist Free Church. He left in June 1908

Edmondson, Rev William
[18??-19??] Minister at Tuel Lane United Methodist Free Chapel [1879]

Edmunds & Hookway
Ironmongers at 2 Silver Street, Halifax [1855].

Partners included Henry Edmunds.

16th March 1888, a fire caused damage estimated at almost £20,000

Edmunds, Claud Henry
[1881-19??] MA.

Son of Henry Edmunds. Born in Halifax [1st April 1881].

He was educated at Westminster School and Trinity College Cambridge [1902, 1906]

Edmunds, Henry
[1823-1904] Born in Banbury, Oxfordshire.

He became an ironmonger / iron merchant at Halifax.

He was the father of Henry of Rolls-Royce fame

Edmunds, Henry
[1853-1927] Son of Henry Edmunds.

Born 19th March 1853.

He was an engineer and is known as the Godfather of Rolls-Royce because he was instrumental in introducing the Hon Charles Stewart Rolls to Frederick Henry Royce

Edmundson, John
[17??-18??] Built Four Day Work Mill, Mytholmroyd in 1836

Edmundson, Thomas
[17??-18??] Originally from Dolphinholme, Lancaster.

He lived at Redacre House, Mytholmroyd.

He owned Mytholmroyd Mill where he had a worsted spinning business

An electric clothes dryer and airing cupboard produced by Edwards (Brighouse) Limited

Edward Kilner Lock, Brearley
Lock on the Rochdale Canal

The Edwardian Bedroom: Shibden Hall
This is on the first floor at the front of Shibden Hall.

It has been described as the chamber over the lower Parlour and The Blue Room.

This was Anne Lister's room.

There was a pigeon loft above this room. In 1818, Anne had the ceiling raised

The entries for people with the surname Edwards are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.


There are currently around 104 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Edwards. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Edwards family of Halifax
Important local family whose members included Edwards of Halifax, the booksellers established by William Edwards

The Edwards family of Pye Nest
Important local family whose members included John Edwards of Pye Nest and Sir Henry Edwards.

Many members of the family were buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell and Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.

See Thomas George Johnson, Arms of the Edwards Family of Pye Nest and West Yorkshire Yeomanry Cavalry

Edwards & Ramsden
Cotton-spinning business at Prospect Mills, Sowerby Bridge

Edwards & Rawson Limited
In 1900, the Edwards family of Pye Nest joined the partnership of W. H. Rawson & Company. They had production at Canal Mills, Sowerby Bridge.

Directors included William A. C. Lloyd, Nicholas Nugent, Frederick Philip Selwyn Rawson and John Selwyn Rawson. In 1930, the firm moved to Hopton Mills, Mirfield

Edwards & Warren
Upholsterers at Bell Hall Yard, Halifax / 194a Savile Park Road [1905].

Partners included J. R. Edwards and E. W. Warren

Edwards, Aspinall & Priestley
Stonemasons at Stainland. Partners included R. Edwards, Joseph Edwards, D. Aspinall and B. R. Priestley.

The partnership was dissolved in November 1868

Edwards's: B. Edwards & Sons
Stone merchants, quarry owners, builders and contractors at Fall Springs Wood Quarry, Stainland and Green Bank, Holywell Green [1905]. Partners included Benjamin Edwards, Alfred Edwards, and Fred Edwards

Edwards (Brighouse) Limited
Manufacturer of electrical goods. Their business was based at Vine Works, Elland Road. They produced the Edso electric clothes dryer and airing cupboard

Edwards's: Joel Edwards & Sons
A world famous London tailoring firm founded by Joel Edwards or Joel Edwards.

In 1859, the company was in business at Hanover Street, London. The firm made military uniforms and were in business through World War II. The company also supplied swords to their uniforms

Edwards's: John Edwards & Son
Attorneys at 10 Lord Street, Halifax [1809, 1816, 1822]

Edwards's: John Edwards & Sons
John Edwards's cotton-spinning business was renamed around 1812 when his sons Henry Lees Edwards and Thomas Grove Edwards joined him.

Around 1815, the business moved to Ripponden Mills. Later, Canal Mills were their headquarters

Edwards of Halifax
Booksellers and bookbinders. Founded by William Edwards and situated in Old Market, Halifax.

The company was famous for the rich and expensive bindings.

Edwards-Wainhouse Feud

A World War I tank – Tank Number 141 – which was on display in Halifax during Tank Week 1918.

Egbert had been in action at the Battle of Cambrai on the Western Front. It was one of 6 tanks which toured the country in fund-raising efforts in 1917/1918.

A number of presentation tanks were given to towns and cities in recognition of their contribution to War Bonds and the war effort. Halifax was given one of these – Tank Number 208 – which was installed at Rock Hollow Park, Ogden. This was a female tank, fitted with machine guns, in contrast with male tanks which were fitted with 6-pounder guns

Egerton, Vikki
[192?-] Manchester-born lecturer and writer. She moved to Luddenden in the 1990s. She has written a number of books.

Her book Luddenden Saga tells the story of Luddenden and was completed in October 2002, within a few weeks of her being told that she had an inoperable cancer. The book is based on a show called Luddenden Saga, with slides, narration, drama, music and dance, which she devised and presented at Saint Mary's, Luddenden in November, 2000

Egerton, William
[1???-19??] JP. He was Mayor of Todmorden [1937-1938]

Eggleston, William
[18??-18??] Stuff merchant at Halifax.

In 1855, he was declared bankrupt

Eggleston, William
[18??-18??] Woollen and worsted manufacturer at Savile Mill, Halifax.

He lived at 11 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1874]

A variant of the surname Eagland

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

A variant of the surname Eagland

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Eglin, William Paterson
[1855-1935] Born in Halifax.

He was a fender and fire-iron manufacturer and ironfounder at Globe Works, Sowerby Bridge.

In 1879, he married Sarah Ellen Kershaw [1858-1911] in Halifax.

He owned Crow Wood Mansion, Sowerby Bridge around 1920 when he sold it and 2 acres of land to create Crow Wood Park

Egypt Farm, Colden
Noah Dale. The mid 18th century farmhouse and early 19th century barn are listed

Eiffel House, Hebden Bridge
Eiffel Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Eiffel Tower, Hebden Bridge
Victorian Gothic structure – 30ft tall – built on the corner of Eiffel Street, Hebden Bridge in 1893.

It adjoins a 4-storey residential block, Eiffel Buildings

Eighteen of Elland
Elland cricket club with a team who played against Australia in June 1878. Australia won.

Members of the Elland team included Thomas Joseph Tong

An early spelling of Elland. Richard de Eiland is mentioned in 1167

A variant of the surname Akroyd

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Ekroyd, Edward
[18??-18??] He was Constable of Northowram [1844]

Elam, John
[16??-17??] Halifax card maker. He was a Quaker.

He married Sarah Hodgson.

Their daughter Hannah [1693-1694] was buried at Highroad Well Meeting House. Parts of her tombstone were found when builders were digging the foundations for Heath Hall, Halifax. One part is now at the Quaker Burial Ground, Halifax.

He and his father-in-law, Abraham Hodgson, were fined £7 for attending Quaker meetings at the Midgley home of Henry Broadbent

An 13th century spelling of Elland

A variant of the surname Elland.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Leising de Eland is recorded in the 1100s

There are currently around 23 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Eland. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Eland family
The major members of the family included

See Elland Feud, Elland Hall and Rookes Hall

Being an ancient family, the Elands have a great number of descendants, and frequently inter-married with other local families.

The various researchers have contributed generously to the entries here, though their versions of the names, dates and relationships of these descendants may conflict at some point.

What you see here may be incorrect at many places, but it will give the general reader some idea of who the family were and what they achieved through the generations


Eland, Baron Savile of

Eland, Elizabeth
[1???-1???] Daughter of John Eland.

She married (1) Ricardo Anson

She married (2) William Overton

Eland, Henry de
[1145-1???] Son of Leising de Eland.

He disliked his people having to travel to Halifax Parish Church, and Elland Parish Church was built at his instigation.

He pastured sheep at Exley and Southowram for the monks at Fountains Abbey.

He married Miss Whitworth from Whitworth.

Children: (1) Hugh; (2) John.

He was succeeded by his son, Hugh

Eland, Sir Hugh de
[1180-12??] or [1274-1309] Son of Henry de Eland.

He married Joanna de Tankersley.

Children: (1) Margaret; (2) Richard; (3) John; (4) James.

He was succeeded by John

Eland, Hugh de
[12??-13??] Children: Margaret

Eland, Sir Hugh de
[13??-13??] Son of Sir John de Eland.

He married Johanna de Tankersley.

Children: (1) William; (2) Thomas; (3) John; (4) Margaret.

See Blackstone Edge

Eland, Isobel de
[13??-13??] Daughter of Sir John Elland. After the death of her father and her brother, Sir John Savile of Tankersley bought the wardship of Isobel. He subsequently married her and acquired her family's estates

Eland, James de
[12??-1348] Son of Sir Hugh de Eland.

He succeeded his uncle, John de Eland, as priest at Elland [12??].

He installed new windows in the church to commemorate members of his family

Eland, Sir John
[1???-1???] He married Unknown, daughter of John of Doncaster.

Children: (1) Robert; (2) William; (3) Dominus Robert who became a soldier; (4) Dominus John who became a soldier

Eland, John
[1???-1???] Son of Robert Eland.

He married Matilda Harland.

Matilda was the daughter of Petry Harland of Gloucester

Children: (1) William; (2) Robert; (3) Alicia; (4) Matilda; (5) John; (6) Elizabeth

Eland, John
[1???-1???] Son of John Eland.

He married Helena Radcliffe

Helena was the daughter of James RadcliffeJacobus Radclyff – of Tower

Eland, John de
[12??-1???] Son of Henry de Eland.

His brother Hugh appointed him priest at Elland [1290]

Eland, Sir John de
[1280-135?] Son of Sir Hugh de Eland. He was born at Elland Old Hall. Grandfather of Isobel de Eland.

He quarrelled with John Quarmby over land at Stainland.

He became High Sheriff of Yorkshire [1340-1341], and was steward for the Wakefield Manor for John Earl of Warenne.

Around 1309, he married (1) Alice de Lathom.

Children: (1) Hugh.

He married (2) Ayme de Rygate. They had no children.

He married (3) Alys.

Children: (2) Thomas of Lincolnshire.

He was succeeded by Hugh.

He died after 13th January 1354.

Question: There seems to be some confusion between this man and Sir John Elland. Can anyone throw any light on this complicated family?


See Elland market, Manor of Norland and John de Rokis

Eland, Margaret de
[1275-13??] Daughter of Sir Hugh de Eland or daughter of Sir Hugh de Eland or daughter of Hugh de Eland.

Question: Can anyone resolve the question of her parentage?


In 1293, she married (1) John Lacy.

After John's death, she married (2) William de Eland

Eland, Nicholas
[14??-15??] In 1526, he surrendered the use of Shibden Mill to Richard Gibson for a period of 46 years at an annual rent of 8/- payable at Whitsuntide

Eland, Robert
[1???-1???] Son of Sir John Eland.

He married Alicia Curson.

Alicia was the daughter of John Curson

Children: John

Eland, Robert
[1???-15??] Of Carlinghow, Lord of the Manor of Brighouse.

In the 16th century, he sold Slead Hall, Brighouse to James and Richard Waterhouse

Eland, Robert
[13??-14??] Lord of the Manor of Hipperholme.

In 1413, he occupied Shibden Mill and rented Brighouse Mill. He sub-let Shibden Mill to Richard Gibson and Edward Gibson

Eland, Thomas
[12??-1???] Of Elland.

He married Joanna Umfraville.

Joanna was the daughter of Gilbert Umfraville

Children: Isabel who married Sir John Savile

Eland, Thomas de
[1???-1???] Son of Sir Hugh de Eland.

He became lord of the Manor of Elland, Rochdale and Tankersley.

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Eland, Sir Walter de
[1???-12??] He was a Chaplain at Elland Church.

He owned land and property at Stoney Royd, Southowram and Cromwellbottom.

He left his estate to Annabelle, daughter of William the Tailor of Halifax

Eland, William
[1???-1???] Son of John Eland.

He married Johanna Holmes.

Johanna was the daughter of John Holmes

Children: (1) Edward who married Johanna, daughter of Johannis Swan; (2) Dionicia who married Stephano Thorpe from Holderness; (3) William; (4) Johanness; (5) Johannes; (6) Isabella; (7) Elizabeth; (8) Johanna; (9) Alicia; (10) Elizabeth; (11) Johanna; (12) Isabella

Eland, William de
[1???-1???] He was known as De Eland after he married Margaret de Eland. He was Constable at Nottingham Castle when Earl Mortimer was imprisoned there, and revealed to William of Montague a secret passage which led to Mortimer

Eland, William de
[1???-1???] Eldest son of Sir Hugh de Eland. He became a forester at Pickering. This spread the family into North Yorkshire and East Yorkshire

14th century spelling of Elland

Spelling of Elland found in Domesday Book

Elba House, Siddal
Owners and tenants have included

Elcar Electric Company
Electrical engineers. They were at Carlton Works, Halifax [1937], in the former Cosy Cinema at 238 Queens Road, Halifax [1968], and Colne Road, Huddersfield [1968]

Elcho House, Halifax
House at Balmoral Place. (Possibly) Number 8.

The candidates and results for some early elections in the district are discussed in the Foldouts

Electric & Daylight Studio, Halifax
See Harry Austin Livermore

Electric Animated Picture Company
See Wellholme Park

Electric Cinema, Halifax
Ward's End, Huddersfield Road. On the site of the former Halifax Riding School, the Electric Theatre opened on 30th July 1910, and was converted to a cinema in 1929. It could accommodate 1700 people.

The cinema closed on 29th September 1956. The building became a leisure club offering pool and snooker. In 2005, the building was completely rebuilt and – although out of keeping with the Victorian theme elsewhere in Halifax – fits in well with the garish HBoS building opposite

Electric Cinema, Sowerby Bridge
Wharf Street. Recorded in 1917, when Leslie Stansfield was manager.

It later became the Roxy Cinema

Electric Laundry
Recorded in 1905 at 77 Rochdale Road, King Cross, Halifax when Philip Pickles was the proprietor.

P. Pickles was still proprietor and the address was given as York Crescent, King Cross [1911, 1922]

Electric Theatre, Exley
An early cinema at Halifax Zoo. This was said to be the first cinema outside London

Electric Theatre, Halifax
The Halifax Riding School began showing animated pictures on 30th July 1910 and was renamed the Electric Theatre. It was the first building to be opened solely as a cinema. The first manager had been in charge of the American Skating Rink.

Managers at the Theatre have included

  • Courtney Crocker [1916]

  • H. Joynson Scholey (Musical Director) [1916]

  • L. Stansfield [1918]

In 1915, it was listed as the Electric Theatre at Commercial Street, Halifax and

with High-Class Orchestral Accompaniment

Continuous Performance: 2 to 10-30

In 1916, they advertised

Afternoon Tea served Gratis to Balcony Patrons

In 1918, they advertised

an entire change every Monday and Thursday

In 1929, it became the Electric Cinema

Elevation of Halifax

Eley, Rev A. J.
[18??-19??] Curate at Saint James's Church, Halifax [1907]

Elgar, Avril
[1932-] Halifax-born actress.

Elgar, Sir Edward
[1857-1934] During a visit to Bradford, the composer visited the Victoria Hall at Queensbury on 17th March 1921, to hear his 1st and 2nd symphonies played by Black Dike Mills Band

Elise, Elizabeth
[1???-18??] Or Else. She ran an infants' school in Halifax [1830, 1838]

See John Rhoebottom

Ell Wood
Brighouse woodland which lay along the banks of the Calder

Entries beginning Elland ... and The Elland ... are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

Another form of the surname is Eland.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Originates in Elland.

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Elland. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Elland family

Elland, John
[1???-13??] Younger son of Sir John Elland.

He inherited his father's estate [1353].

He died without issue

Elland, Sir John
[1???-1353] Aka De Eland. Son of Thomas de Eland or son of Sir Hugh de Eland.

Question: Can anyone resolve the question of his parentage?


He was High Steward to the Earls of Warren and High Sheriff of West Yorkshire.

He was granted many privileges by Edward II, including the right to hunt in Elland Park Wood. For these privileges, he was expected to give military service to the king.

He was prosperous, and lord of the Manor of Elland, Rochdale, Tankersley, Foulridge and other districts, and owned other land in the district including Barkisland, Brighouse, Norland, Rishworth, and Stainland.

He owned Rastrick Mill and Shibden Mill – where he lived.

He married (1) Alice de Lathom.

Children: (1) John; (2) Thomas; (3) Henry; (4) Margery; (5) Isabel; (6) Dionysia

He married (2) Ann Rygate

He married (3) Alice de Radcliffe

He was murdered at Lane Head, Brighouse during the Elland feud.

He left his estate to his son John and his wife Alice

Question: There seems to be some confusion between this man and Sir John de Eland. Can anyone throw any light on this complicated family?


Elland, Sir John
[13??-1350] Aka Sir John de Eland. Son of Sir Hugh de Eland.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) son; (2) Isobel.

After his death, Sir John Savile of Tankersley bought the wardship of Isobel

Spelling of Elland found in 1546

Ellen Holme Bridge, Luddendenfoot
Bridge on the Rochdale Canal to give access to Ellen Holme Mills, Luddendenfoot

Ellen Royd Brick & Tile Company
Stone quarrying company at Ellen Royd, Northowram [1800]. They had works at Range Bank [1874, 1883]

Ellen Royd Bridge, Luddendenfoot
Bridge #7 over the Rochdale Canal

Ellen Royd, Elland
Westgate. There was a house here in 1680.

It was rebuilt by the local Smithies family.

In the 1930s, George Wainwright gave the house for use as Elland Library.

It is now an NHS clinic

Ellen Royde Library, Elland
Elland Library opened on 13th November 1926 at Ellen Royd, Elland, which George Wainwright had given for use as a Library.

Elland Museum was here [from 1931].

In 1960, the Library moved to the building previously occupied by the Elland Constitutional Club

Ellen Royde, Midgley
House built by Thomas Oldfield in 1555, and extended by the mill-owning Smithies family in the 17th century.

It was also known as William Royde and Boggart House

A stone cross [1624], now in the churchyard of Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden, was lost during the Civil War and rediscovered in the garden at Ellen Royde

Ellenger, Rev E.
[19??-19??] He was at Barton-on-Humber before moving to Luddendenfoot and Sowerby [1965]

Ellerton, Rev Arthur John Bicknell
[1865-1928] BA. Third son of 11 children of Charlotte Alicia [née Hart] [1832-1896] and John Ellerton [1826-1893]. Born in Crewe.

His father, John, wrote or translated over 80 hymns.

He was educated at Saint John's College Oxford before becoming Deacon at Halifax [1890] and Curate at Elland [1893-1895].

He died in Canterbury

Ellerton, Francis
[17??-18??] He ran a carpet-manufacturing business with Robert Abbott. The partnership was dissolved in 1821. He lived at Albion Street, Halifax and later at Woolshops

See Abbott, Crossley, & Company

Ellerton, J.
[18??-18??] Curate at Brighouse [1852-1856]

Ellesley Villa, Halifax
House at Savile Park Road

Elliker Wood, Brighouse
Woodland which lay at the foot of Clifton Common.

Like Alegar well, the name may be a corruption of Holy carr or hilly carr

An old form of the surname Illingworth

An old form of the surname Illingworth

An old form of the surname Illingworth

Elliot, Dr George Philip
[18??-1???] LRCPI [1880], LRCSI [1879], LM [1880], (Ledw School, Dublin).

Medical practitioner at 3 Water Street, Todmorden [1895]

Elliot, R. H.
[1832-19??] Headmaster at Rishworth School [1878-1919]

Elliott's: B. Elliott Machine Tool Company
In the 1960s, they bought the Butler Machine Tool Company and Willson Lathes Limited.

In 1968, they bought Halifax Rack & Screw Cutting Company Limited.

See Machine Tool Makers

Elliott, George Henry
[18??-19??] Architect.

In 1889, he married Martha Beanland at Bradford.

Children: (1) Matthew William Edward [1891-1904]; (2) son [b 1900]; (3) (possibly) George Henry [1905].

The family lived at Lightcliffe House [1900, 1904]

Elliott, George Philip
[18??-19??] He was assistant to Joseph Edwards Handley and took over that practice when Dr Handley withdrew on account of ill health. Physician and surgeon at Todmorden [1895, 1905].

He lived at North View, Halifax Road

Elliott, H.
[1???-1???] A Halifax shooter.

As the following [undated] extract reports, he suffered an ignominious defeat at Halifax Racecourse

Pigeon Shooting Match for the Championship of England at Halifax

Yesterday afternoon one of the largest crowds seen at a pigeon shooting contest was recorded on Halifax Racecourse, when the first of a couple of contests to decide the holding of the pigeon shooting championship of England was brought off. The shooters were James Shovelton, of Wigan, and H. Elliott, of Ovenden, who agreed to shoot at 15 birds each with 3/8 oz of shot, 21 yards rise and 60 fall, for £50. The men shot with only 3/8 oz of shot against some of the best trained birds in England.

The shooting on the part of the Halifax man was very disappointing, and the Lancastrian outshot his rival at the eleventh bird, winning easily as follows: Shovelton 1111010100, total 6 out of 10; Elliott 10000000000, total 1 out of 11

Elliott's: J. Elliott & Son
Iron founders of Halifax. They produced The Hatch, a patented grate cover

Elliott, Thomas
[18??-18??] He married Mary [18??-1895].

The family lived at Giles House, Hove Edge [1895].

Thomas was dead by July 1895

Elliott's: Timothy Elliott & Sons
Cotton and woollen rag merchants, bone, waste and metal dealers, retailers of new and second-hand glass bottles.

Recorded in 1912, when they were at Marine Stores, Gaol Lane, Halifax.

Recorded in 1936, when they were at 24 & 26 Gaol Lane, Halifax.

I recall a phrase

it looks like Timmy Elliott's

which was used in my own family to describe an untidy room

Elliott, William
[18??-18??] MD. Of Sowerby Bridge.

He was Medical Officer for Skircoat and Lower Warley [1845, 1865] and Chairman of the Sowerby Bridge Local Board [15th April 1864-15th April 1866]

Elliott Willson Limited
Ovenden engineering company. Originally Willson Lathes Limited. Bought by Elliots in 1965.

Closed in 1968

Ellis, Albert
[19??-19??] Director and Chief Engineer of A. & J. R. Davison Limited [1958]

Ellis & Akroyd
Weighing machine makers at Back Archer Street, Halifax [1874]

Ellis, Arthur
[18??-19??] Engineer and maker of washing machines, wringing machine dealer and retailer of
The Ewbank Easy lift the Mangle

He was at 24 Horton Street, Halifax [1937]

Ellis, Arthur
[1914-1999] Son of William Ellis.

Born in Pellon.

He became a national and international football referee. In 1952, at the age of 37, he refereed the FA Cup Final between Arsenal and Newcastle; the youngest Cup Final referee, at the time.

He ended his career in league football in 1963.

He was referee of BBC TV's It's a knockout game show from [1966-1982].

He worked as a representative for Ramsden's Brewery [1952-1982]. He published 2 books of memoirs: Refereeing round the world [1954] and The final whistle [1962].

On 7th August 1937, he married Kathleen Robertshaw [1914-1986].

Children: (1) son; (2) son.

The family lived at Brighouse

Ellis, Arthur Henry
[1875-1941] Recorded in 1922, when he was a hatter, hosier, and dealer in raincoats, sports coats, and overalls for all trades, at 52 Crown Street, Halifax

Ellis Brothers (Halifax) Limited
Commercial motor engineers at Lister Lane, Halifax [1916].

Inventors of the Ellis patent ¼-minute tipping gear for motor coal carts and lorries

Ellis, Charles Gerrard
[18??-18??] Gent of Halifax.

Recorded in July 1863, when he was foreman of the grand jury at the West Riding Midsummer Quarter Sessions

Ellis, Charles Henry
[1875-1???] Born in Norland.

He was a labourer [1899].

On 7th Oct 1899, he married Mary Dyson at Saint Stephen's Church, Copley.

Mary was the daughter of
Joseph Dyson

Children: (1) Elsie [b 1900]; (2) Frank [b 1907]

Ellis's: Charles Walton Ellis & Company
Hipperholme. Worsted weavers

Ellis, Rev David Craven
[1934-19??] He served as curate of Great Crosby, Liverpool [1961-1965], chaplain of the Diocesan Boy's School, and curate of Christ Church, Kowloon Diocese of Hong Kong [1965-1969] He returned to the UK as curate-in-charge and Diocesan Youth officer at Sawrey, Carlisle [1969-1974] before becoming Vicar of Saint Augustine's Church, Pellon [1974]

Ellis, Rev Edward
[17??-18??] MA.

He attended Heath Grammar School.

He became Second Master of Westminster School [1814]

Ellis, Edward
[1859-19??] Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895].

He married Ruth [1856-19??] from Acomb.

Children: (1) Edward [b 1887]; (2) Dorothy [b 1895].

The family lived at 2 Park Road, Halifax [1901]

Ellis, Ephraim
[18??-189?] Of Buttershaw. He was a cashier at the Low Moor Iron Company, Norwood Green. He was connected to Norwood Green School. In 1897, his widow and daughters erected Ellis Jubilee Clock Tower in his memory

Ellis, Fred
[1900-1979] He worked as a travelling salesman for James Farrar (Brushes)  Limited.

He was an Alderman and Mayor of Halifax [1966-1967]

Ellis, Frederick Vincent
[1892-1961] Born in Halifax [5th February 1892].

He became a well-known artist and art teacher in New Zealand. He studied at Halifax Technical College School of Art [1909-1913], and then at the Royal College of Art, London [1914].

He served in World War I, and, his health having been affected by gas, he was advised to travel to New Zealand [1922]. He taught at King Edward Technical College School of Art in Dunedin.

In 1926, he married Elizabeth Bunbury. The couple moved to Wellington.

He died in New Zealand

Ellis, Henry John
[1837-1861] Son of gardener Matthew Ellis of Roundhay.

He served in the Crimean War; the Indian Mutiny.

He was a Sergeant in the 33rd Regiment of Foot when he died in Halifax [2nd May 1861]

Ellis, James
[1???-1834] Around 2:30 pm on Sunday, 5th January 1834, Ellis was
fresh in liquor

at the Punch Bowl, Bailiff Bridge when 2 others – Jonathan Beaumont and Thomas Bramham – came in and called for a noggin of rum.

The landlady refused to serve them.

Ellis got up and asked Bramham to shake hands, but Bramham refused to

shake hands with any such cursed rogue as he

Beaumont then punched Ellis, knocking him to the floor, and then kicked him and jumped on his body with both feet. Others in the bar intervened and Ellis was carried home on a cart. He died on the following Tuesday morning.

The Coroner's jury returned a verdict of manslaughter against Beaumont who subsequently absconded

Ellis, James
[18??-1904] Landlord of the New Road Tavern, Halifax [1904].

In 1890, he married Elizabeth Ann Bethel in Halifax.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904

Ellis, James
[1804-1867] Card maker at Halifax. He was prominent in music and in local Sunday Schools.

He married Susannah Green [1806-1886]. Children: Sarah

James and Susannah were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 947]

Ellis, James
[1910-1973] Of Brighouse.

In 1973, his neighbour, Douglas Morton, was charged with Ellis's murder

Ellis, John
[1???-1834] A married man of Brighouse.

On 5th January 1834, he was

fresh in liquor

at the Punch Bowl, Bailiff Bridge when 2 other men, Jonathan Beaumont and Thomas Bramham, also tipsy, came in. Ellis asked Bramham to shake hands but he refused. Beaumont then hit Ellis, knocking him over, and then jumped on him and stamped on him. Ellis died 2 days later.

At the inquest, the jury returned a verdict of manslaughter against Beaumont who had absconded

Ellis, Rev John
[18??-18??] Minister at Christ's Chapel, Elland [1868-1871].

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Ellis, Rev John
[18??-18??] Son of Rev John Ellis.

He was Minister at Christ's Chapel, Elland [1902, 1905].

He lived at Lightcliffe and was a missioner for the district

Ellis, John
[1930-] Politician. Educated at Rastrick Grammar School. He was Labour MP for Bristol North West [1966-1970] and for Brigg & Scunthorpe [1974-1979]

Ellis, Joseph
[18??-18??] Innkeeper at the Delvers' Arms, Shibden.

On 24th December 1858, he was fined 30/- for

having company in his house at 3 o'clock on the previous Sunday afternoon

Ellis Jubilee Clock Tower, Norwood Green
Erected on the occasion of Queen Victoria's Diamond Jubilee in 1897 by Mrs Ephraim Ellis and her two daughters in memory of her husband Ephraim Ellis. The cost was around £650.

The tower was associated with the nearby Norwood Green School and Sunday school which was demolished in 1986

Ellis, Maria Ann
[1875-1???] Daughter of William Ellis.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

She was a dress maker [1891]; a milliner [1901, 1911].

In 1905, the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle carried an advertisement for her millinery business – Miss Ellis – at 23 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge

Ellis, Mary
[1???-1???] Youngest daughter of Stephen Ellis from whom she inherited Langley Hall.

She married Edward Langley

Ellis, Mr
[18??-19??] Around 1892 he married Ada [1867-19??] from Bradford.

In 1911, Ada was head of the household and described herself as a grass widow, but this was changed to married. She gave her occupation as landlady of boarding house

Children: (1) child who died young [before 1911]; (2) child; (3) child; (4) Arthur Vaughan [b 1893] who was a stockkeeper (worsted spinners) [1911]; (5) Daniel Edwin [b 1900]; (6) Gwynneth May [b 1902]; (7) Bernard Cecil [b 1904].

The family lived at 1 Trinity Place, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was boarder Thomas Foulkes [aged 24] (tailor's shop assistant) 

Ellis, Samuel
[1776-1???] Born in Halifax. He was an organist. He was a pupil of Thomas Stopford

Ellis, Samuel
[1798-1858] Of Shelf.

He married Nancy [1806-1861].

The couple were buried at Mount Zion Chapel, Lightcliffe

Ellis, Sarah
[1831-1914] Daughter of James Ellis. Born in Back Foundry Street, Halifax.

She married Thomas Wayman.

She died at Banbury, Oxfordshire

Ellis, Sidney
[1807-1876] Schoolmaster of Lightcliffe.

On 18th June 1858, he was walking from Lightcliffe Station to his home when 3 men threw him to the ground, rifled his pockets and stole his watch, 5 sovereigns, a half-sovereign, 4 half-crowns and other money, and a basket of groceries which he had been carrying.

At the December Assizes at Leeds, Daniel Hanson [34] was charged with the offence. Ellis was unsure about identifying Hanson, and witnesses gave Hanson an alibi at the time of the assault. Hanson was acquitted

Ellis, Stephen
[1???-16??] Came from the Craven district of Yorkshire. In 1655, he bought Langley Hall, Hipperholme. He was active in persecuting local nonconformists after the restoration of Charles II. He was said to have been an enemy of Rev Oliver Heywood. He was involved in establishing Hipperholme Grammar School and was one of its first trustees.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) a daughter who married Thomas Highley of whom Ellis disapproved; (2) Mary. Langley Hall passed to Mary

Ellis, Thomas Charles
[1846-1886] He lived at Ryburn Cottage, Ripponden

Ellis, W.
[18??-19??] Of Industrial Road, Sowerby Bridge.

He was injured – side, back and neck – in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, but was treated at home

Ellis, William
[17??-1???] Halifax attorney.

On 2nd October 1794, he was attacked by 2 men.

On 6th October 1794, John Chadwick and John Robertshaw published a notice confessing to attacking Ellis – and also John Hirst – and begging pardon in return for leniency

Ellis, William
[17??-18??] Money-scrivener at Halifax.

In August 1803, he was declared bankrupt

Ellis, William
[1842-1903] Of Halifax.

He married Jane [1841-1914].

Children: (1) Walter William [1871-1929]; (2) Albert Edward [1877-1881]; (3) James Thomas [1880-1918] who died of wounds received in action and was buried at Tincourt, France.

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Ellis, William
[1851-1???] Son of James Ellis, farmer.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a cab driver of Warley [1873]; a cart driver [1881]; a carrier [1891]; a general carrier [1901, 1911].

In 1873, he married Harriet Woodhead [1850-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.

Harriet of Warley, was the daughter of John Woodhead, farmer

Children: (1) Maria Ann; (2) Eliza [b 1876]; (3) Alice [b 1880]; (4) Herbert [b 1884] who was a machine tool maker [1901], a carrier general [1911].

The family lived at Hollings Mill Lane Cottages, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 25 Hollings Mill Lane, Warley, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 23 Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901, 1911]

In 1891, daughter Eliza [aged 15] was a visitor with the Hardman family at Holme House Sowerby Bridge

Ellis, William
[1890-1963] Picture frame maker at Halifax.

He married Zylpha, daughter of Edward Binns.

Children: (1) Arthur; (2) son

A variant of the surname Ellistones.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

John Ellison is recorded at Bingley in 1672

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Ellison. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Ellison's: A. Ellison & Sons
Glass, china and hardware merchants. They were at 27 Woolshops, Halifax [1936]

Ellison, Ellen
[1844-1???] In 1858, she was found guilty of stealing 2/- from Mr Denton at T' Cat i' th' Window, Halifax. The court heard that
The girl had stealthily entered the house and made her way to the till when she was discovered. She was in the regular habit of thieving, weekly and many times in a week, and her father, though he had used very means in his power to reform her, could not do so

She was sentenced to 1 month's imprisonment at Wakefield, and then to be confined in a Reformatory for 3 years

Ellison, Rev John
[1823-1912] MA.

Born in Tilston, Cheshire.

Vicar of Sowerby Bridge [1863-1887].

He was instrumental in establishing Saint Luke's Church, Norland [1866] and Saint Luke's School, Norland [1871].

Ellison Memorial Junior School, Sowerby Bridge was named for him [1891].

In September 1857, he married Mary Wake Clark [1834-1909] in Wellingborough, Northamptonshire.

Mary was born in Wellingborough

Children: (1) Herbert William [1858-1883] ; (2) Ernest Henry [1860-1929]; (3) Robert Lacy [1863-1866] who died aged 2 years & 9 months; (4) Edith Mary Rowland [1868] who died aged 7 months; (5) Emma Marion [1874-1970] who married [1897] George Chappell.

Their children were buried at Saint Luke's Church, Norland. His son Robert Lacy was the first person to be buried there, 2 days after the church opened [1866].

The family lived at Sowerby Bridge Vicarage.

Working for them at the Vicarage in 1871, was Jane Hartley, future wife of William Henry Gibson.

Mary died in Pattishall, Northamptonshire [3/11/1909.] In 1911, John was living with his grandson Rev George Chappel [1862-19??] at The Vicarage, Thurmaston, Leicestershire.

John died there [28th March 1912]

Ellison, Sarah
[1750-1795] Of Skircoat, Halifax.

She married (1) John Sugden.

After John's death, she married (2) Joseph Garforth.

She was buried at Coley Church

Ellison, Rev Timothy
[16??-17??] Or Thomas Ellison.

Of Prescot.

Vicar of Coley [1682] and Master of Heywood's School.

In 1701, he had to answer charges of burying persons in the unconsecrated ground of the chapel-yard at Coley

Ellison, William
[17??-18??] Innkeeper.

He married Martha, daughter of Dr John Sugden

A variant of the surname Ellistones.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Richard Elliston is recorded at Elland in 1524

The surname is recorded in 1275

A hamlet in Greetland.

See Ellistones House and Ellistones

Other forms of the surname include Ellison and Elliston.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Michael de Helistones is recorded at Sowerby in 1274.

The name originated in Ellistones, Greetland.

Ellistones, Edward
[15??-15??] He is recorded at Stainland in 1562.

See Ellistones Farm, Elland

Ellistones Farm, Elland
Stainland Road. Early 17th century house – dated 1604 – with later alterations. The barn has a pigeon loft.

See Edward Ellistones and Lower Ellistones Mill, Greetland

Ellistones, Henry
[16??-1697] He died at Howroyd, Barkisland. He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Ellistones House, Greetland
May also be known as Upper Ellistones, Greetland. Recorded in 1655.

Owners and tenants have included

In November 1893, Edmund Outram and his sisters Anne Ashworth and Elizabeth Outram were in bankruptcy litigation after they contracted to sell Ellistones House, to George William Hawkesley. Hawkesley bought the property in 1902

Ellistones Lane Toll House, Greetland
A building which stands at the point where Martin Green Lane joins Ellistones Lane, Greetland.

Question: Does anyone know whether this was actually a Toll House?


Ellwood, Clifford
[19??-19??] Landlord of the Station Hotel, Holywell Green.

Recorded in 1959, when he was mentioned in bankruptcy proceedings

In [Q4] 1936, a Clifford Ellwood married Doris Hammond in Halifax

Ellwood Lodge, Brighouse
Bradford Road.

House dated 1878.

Owners and tenants have included

Around 1892, it became a residential home for the elderly.

There have been proposals to demolish the property and build a new residential home on the site.

See Elm Wood, Brighouse

Ellyson, Wm.
[13??-14??] He was Constable of Northowram [1429]

Elm Cottage, Halifax
Parkinson Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Elm Cottages, Brighouse
Number 270 Bradford Road, Brighouse was listed as 112 Elm Cottages

Elm Royd, Brighouse
Brighouse Wood Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

In 1920, it was bought by the Bradford Dyers' Association and became the Dyers' Club.

In 19??, it became a nursing home

Elm Royd, Lightcliffe
Wakefield Road.

Built on a part of the Crow Nest Estate.

The land was bought on 7th January 1873, with the condition that

a good dwelling house be built within 1 years

In 1924, the Hipperholme & Lightcliffe Conservative Club moved to here

Elm Wood, Brighouse
Bradford Road.

Owners and tenants have included

See Ellwood Lodge, Brighouse

Elm Wood House, Halifax
See Shaw Hill House

Elmet Trust
Established in 2006 to celebrate and promote the life and work of Ted Hughes. The Trust leased Hughes's former home at 1 Aspinall Street, Mytholmroyd from Calderdale Council. It has renovated and decorated in the style of the 1930s when Hughes lived there.

See Rev James Allison

The Elms, Illingworth
Cousin Lane/Keighley Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Elmwood Bus Depot, Halifax
Halifax Corporation Passenger Transport bus garages on Shaw Hill. In 1905, the depot was moved here from Halifax Tramways Depot at Mile Cross.

In 2005, the site became inadequate and was for sale for some time.

In 2007, a new site was obtained on the former Shroggs Road Tip.

See Skircoat Bus Garage, Halifax

Elmwood, Skircoat
See Shaw Hill House

Elocution Society, Halifax
Established at Northgate End Chapel in the 19th century. They formed the Northgate End Orchestral Society

An early spelling of Elland

Elphaborough Hall, Mytholmroyd
Cragg Road. The present building is a mid 17th century house.

The name has various spellings - Elfabright, Elfabrook, Elfabrough, Elffaburghall, Ellfleteburghall, and Elphenbrough and may mean mound of eels or mound of the elves and is related to that of nearby Elphin Brook

Hugh de Toothill is mentioned as clearing land here in 1316.

It was the home of, Sir John Pilkington, the steward of the Earl of Warren's deer park at Erringden.

The coiner Isaac Hartley lived in a house on the site.

There are taking-in doors on the 1st and 2nd floors.

Owners and tenants have included

Elphin Brook
Aka The Elphin, Cragg Brook, Turvin Beck, and Turvin Clough. A stream which joins Withens Brook at Cragg Vale, and flows down through Dauber Bridge to join the Calder at Mytholmroyd. It forms the eastern boundary of Erringden.

It has been suggested that the name means eel stream.

There are stepping stones across the brook behind the Shoulder of Mutton, Mytholmroyd.

The name of the stream is used in several local contexts, including Elphaborough Close, Mytholmroyd, Elphaborough Hall, Mytholmroyd, Elphin Court, Mytholmroyd and Elphin Grove, Mytholmroyd

Elphinstone, Rev Maurice Curteis
[18??-19??] He was vicar of Eynsford, Kent before becoming Vicar of Sowerby Bridge [1917-1933]. In 1933, he was appointed rector at Southend-on-Sea. He retired in December 1941.

He married Christiana Georgiana Almond [d 1975]

[10??-10??] When the Normans took the land, it was held by Ilbert and Elsi became a tenant, becoming Lord of the Manor of Hartshead

Elsie Whiteley Innovation Centre
A hi-tech business centre which is being created in West Grove Mill, Halifax formerly occupied by Elsie Whiteley. The centre is managed by the Halifax Opportunities Trust.

In July 2006, a part of the building became the HQ of the new UK Centre for Automatic Identification and Data Capture [AIDC] technologies

Elson, Franklin

He lived at 38 Saint Andrew's Terrace, Halifax

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Elston, Rev Hananiah
[1???-1738] MA. Son of Rev Thomas Elston, minister at Topcliffe and Chesterfield. He served at Malton before becoming Minister at Elland Unitarian Chapel [1731-1738].

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Elsworth, George H.
[1885-1917] Son of Emily and James Elsworth of Wibsey.

He married Elizabeth.

The family lived at 30 Melville Place, Halifax [1917].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry

he died 14th September 1917.

He was buried at Coley Church [churchyard extension]. He is remembered on Norwood Green War Memorial

Elsworth, James
[1853-1902] Landlord of the Railway Hotel, Cornholme [from 1891].

In 1878, he married Betsy Hudson.

After his death, Betsy took over at the Railway Hotel.

An advertisement in 1907 announced

Orders by Post or otherwise attended to. A select stock of Wines and Spirits. Ales and Porter, draught of bottles, of the best quality Minerals and Ærated Waters &c

Elsworth, Sam
[1852-1???] Billiards player of Todmorden.

On 9th February 1875, at the White Hart Hotel, Todmorden, he won a billiards match against John Roberts Snr. Roberts had been the world champion for 16 years.

In the evening, Roberts beat Elsworth in a match played the Queen's Hotel, Todmorden

Elwell, William
[17??-18??] Partner in Aydon & Elwell at Shelf foundry.

In September 1821, the partnership was dissolved by mutual consent. Aydon carried on the business of making cast iron goods on his own account. Elwell carried on the business of making pig iron on his own account.

On 6th September 1805, he married Miss Sutcliffe at the Old Church, Halifax.

His wife was the daughter of Richard Sutcliffe Esq of Washer Lane

Elwell Close, Shelf is named for him

Brighouse-based pop band formed by Wyke brothers Danny and Richard McNamara with Steve Firth from Hipperholme, Mike Heaton from Leeds, and Mickey Dale from Bradford. In 1998, their debut album The Good Will Out reached number 1. In September 2004, their single Gravity reached number 7 in the top ten, and their album Out of Nothing reached number 1 In March 2006, their single Nature's Law reached number 2 in the charts, and they were chosen by the Football Association to record England's official World Cup song, entitled World at your Feet

Emerson & Company
Recorded on 28th April 1792, when they had a tea warehouse
next door to The Bank and nearly opposite to The Talbot Inn, Halifax

Emerson, Rev George
[19??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1947]

Emerson, Keith
[1944-] Pianist, organist and composer. Born in Todmorden on 2nd November 1944. In March 1945, the family returned to their roots in Worthing, Sussex. He is known for his works with the bands The Nice and Emerson, Lake & Palmer.

Emmerson, Craig
[1971-] Rugby union player. Born in Halifax. At the age of 16 he played for Halifax RUFC. He has represented England numerous times

Emmet & Emmet
Solicitors at 2 Harrison Road, Halifax [1874]. Partners included George Edward Emmet.

They were solicitors for the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society [1872].

See Emmet & Walker and Finn Gledhill & Company

Emmet & Walker
Solicitors. Recorded in 1881 at 2 Harrison Road, Halifax.

See Emmet & Emmet and Finn Gledhill & Company

Emmet, Charles
[1832-1???] Son of John Emmet.

He lived at Shaw Lodge, Halifax [1800s].

He was a solicitor's clerk [1851] and a partner in Emmet & Emmet.

He married Anne Hardwick

Emmet, Edward
[1799-18??] Son of James Emmet

In 18??, he married Elizabeth Walsh.

Children: Frederick William [1840-1841].

See Halifax Board of Guardians

Emmet, Emmet & Kenny
Halifax attorneys.

Partners included George Edward Emmet and Mr Kenny.

See Finn Gledhill & Company

Emmet, George Edward
[1843-1896] Son of John Emmet.

He was a partner in Emmet & Emmet, and Emmet, Emmet & Kenny. Later, he was a solicitor in Southport

In 1877, he married Mary Ann / Marion in Huddersfield.

Mary Ann / Marion was the daughter of Edward Brewer, and the widow of William Bratton Baddeley. She had 2 sons by her first marriage

Children: (1) Charles E [b 1879]; (2) Maud E [b 1881].

The family lived at Craven Lodge, Halifax [1874, 1881].

Living with them in 1881 were stepsons Edward Lawrence and William Baddeley, and visitor Bessie Brewer [aged 28]

Emmet, George Nelson
[1807-1880] Born 21st May 1807.


In 18??, he married (1) Sarah Maria, daughter of Lewis Alexander.

Children: (1) Charles Alexander; (2) Robert Alexander; (3) daughter; (4) daughter.

In 18??, he married (2) his cousin, Eliza Jane Emmet.

Children: (5) son; (6) son; (7) daughter; (8) daughter; (9) daughter; (10) daughter; (11) daughter; (12) daughter.

He died at Kensington, London [22nd July 1880]

Emmet, Henry
[17??-18??] Halifax musician. He was a founder member of the Halifax Quarterly Choral Society

Emmet, James
[17??-18??] Druggist at Woolshops, Halifax [1816]

Emmet, James
[1758-1832] He lived at Quarry House, Northowram.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1793] who married Charles Walsh; (2) Edward

Emmet, John
[1740-1811] Paper-maker.

He married Ann [1735-1810].

Children: (1) Margaret [d 1788]; (2) Ann [1778-1852]; (3) William.

Ann died 31st May 1810.

John died 6th June 1811

after a long illness, much lamented by his numerous relatives

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Emmet, John
[1795-1860] Son of William Emmet.

He was a dyer; a merchant.

He married Elizabeth Wheatley in Mirfield [4th August 1831].

Elizabeth was the daughter of Josiah Wheatley

Children: (1) Charles; (2) William Henry [b 1833] who was a manufacturer's clerk [1851]; (3) Helen [b 1837] who married [1864] John Bownas Crawhall from York; (4) Sarah Eliza [b 1839]; (5) John [b 1841] who attended Longfield Academy, Halifax [1851]; (6) George Edward; (7) Joseph Alfred [b 1845].

The children were baptised at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.

The family lived at Washer Lane, Halifax [1831]; New House, Ovenden [1841]; Craven Lodge, Halifax [1851, 1871].

He was (possibly) one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

He died at Craven Lodge, Halifax.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions.

See West Yorkshire Railway Company

Emmet's: John Emmet & Son
Wholesale stationers and paper makers at George Street, Halifax [1809, 1816].

The firm had a paper mill at Ingrow, near Keighley

Emmet, Joseph
[16??-1739] Halifax saddler.

He married Unknown.

Children: Joseph

Emmet, Joseph
[1717-1???] Son of Joseph Emmet.

Halifax saddler.

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Emmet, Josiah
[17??-1808] Of Halifax.

He died 3rd July 1808.

Newspaper reports of his death said

[He died] suddenly, in the prime of life, universally respected and lamented. The goodness of his heart, and tenderness to his relations and friends, will long endear his memory to those who had the pleasure of his acquaintance

Emmet, William
[17??-18??] He married (1) Alice [1772-1837].

Children: (1) Robert [1804-1835]; (2) James [1808-1828].

He married (2) Sarah [1771-1853].

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Emmet, William
[17??-1839] Of Cheapside, Halifax.

Recorded in February 1839, when his place as a Trustee of Boocock's Charity was filled by George Edwards

Emmet, William
[1776-1858] Son of John Emmet.

Halifax paper-maker and Borough Magistrate.

He married Unknown.

Children: John.

His initials appear on the datestone of a barn of 1717 which was reused when the present Upper George Hotel & Posting House, Halifax was built in 1826.

See West Yorkshire Railway Company

The Emmett family of Halifax & Wakefield

See Spring Mill, Wainstalls

Emmett, James
[1???-1???] Born in Southowram.

He was an engine tenter (stone quarry) [1901].

In 1898, he married Rachel.

Rachel was the daughter of
George Sharp, and the widow of Thomas Rushworth

The family lived at Marsh Delves, Southowram [1901].

Living with them in 1901 were Rachel's children by her first marriage:

  • Charley Rushworth

  • Herbert Rushworth

  • John William Rushworth

  • Arthur Rushworth

  • Sam Rushworth

  • George Rushworth [b 1894] – who was born after Thomas Rushworth's death; could James Emmett be the father

Emmett's: James & Robert Emmett
Grocers at Woolshops, Halifax [1809]

Emmett, John
[17??-18??] In 1780, he, William Bolland and Thomas Holden set up a blast-furnace and foundry at Birkenshaw. They produced iron and possibly steel castings

Emmett, Mr
[18??-18??] He owned land around what is now Francis Street, Halifax and west of People's Park

Emmett, Richard
[17??-1812] Cotton manufacturer in Halifax.

He died 7th January 1812. A death notice reported

to the great grief of his family and friends, [Mr Emmet] of whom it may be truly said he was a kind and humane master, an affectionate husband, a warm friend, and a liberal distributor to the poor, by whom his los will be long and severely felt

Emmett's: Richard & Joseph Emmett
Leather dealers at Woolshops, Halifax [1809]

Emmett, Robert
[17??-18??] Worsted manufacturer at Woolshops, Halifax [1809]

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) (possibly) Mary who married [22nd January 1814] G. B. Brown of Manchester

Emmett, Robert
[17??-1818] Methodist minister born in Halifax. He was converted by Methodist preachers about 1773. He influenced Jonathan Saville.

He married Unknown.

Children: Robert [1789-18??] who was also a Methodist minister

Emmett, Samuel
[17??-18??] Carpet manufacturer. He owned Bowling Dyke Mills, Halifax [1801]

Emmett, Thomas
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Bowling Dyke Mills, Halifax [1809, until 1815]

Emmett, Thomas
[1826-1888] Butcher at Pepper Hill, Luddenden.

He married Mary [1834-1888].

On 25th April 1888, he cut his wife's throat, then his own. They both died

Emmett, Thomas
[1841-1904] Aka Tom. Born in Crib Lane, Halifax [3rd September 1841].

He was a left-hand bowler. He was said to be one of the finest bowlers in English cricket in the 1860s, 1870s and 1880s.

He played for Illingworth Cricket Club, for Yorkshire, and for England.

He gave the name Sostenuter to his most famous delivery, which, after pitching on leg, the ball would break back a long way to take the off-stump.

He died in Leicester [30th June 1904]

Emmett, William
[1???-18??] Of George Street, Halifax.

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835]

Emmett, William
[17??-18??] Woolstapler at Cheapside, Halifax [1809] and 7 Cheapside, Halifax [1829]

Emmett, William
[1744-1823] Woolstapler in Halifax.

He married Elizabeth [1747-1789].

Children: (1) William; (2) (possibly) daughter who married [1804] Mr S. Newall, a merchant of Littleborough.

There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church

Emmett, William
[1782-1838] Son of William Emmett.

He married Sarah [1785-1843].

There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church

Emmot, John
[16??-17??] In 1710, he married Ann, daughter of Ambrose Patchett at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) James [b 1722]; (2) Thomas [b 1724]

Emmott, Sir Alexander
[15??-15??] He was curate at Haworth [1530]; Curate at Halifax from 1531/2 until he mysteriously disappeared in 1545, when he was succeeded by Sir William Saltonstall

Emmott, John
[16??-17??] He married Alice.

Children: (1) Alice [1742-1773] who married Samuel Fielden; (2) Sarah who married Joshua Fielden

Emmott, Smith
[18??-1???] Of Sowerby. He was a member of the Calder Valley Poets. Around 1879, he published a short poem in the Hebden Bridge Times

Emmott, Walter
[1854-1935] Halifax-born electrical engineer and pioneer of telephony. Partner in Blakey Brothers & Emmott Limited. He has been called the Father of Electricity in Halifax. He lived at 1 South Parade, Halifax [1905]

Empire Carnival [1932]
Recorded at Ripponden

Empire Theatre, Brighouse
Atlas Mill Road.

In 1909, a purpose-built roller-skating rink – lit by electricity – was constructed on the site of the former Atlas Mill in Atlas Mill Road, Brighouse – and known as the Atlas Mill Rink. The rink was designed by Edwin Taylor & Son.

Boxing matches were also held. Kid Eastwood fought here.

In 1911, James Farnell Bunce took over and converted the place into a cinema with skating between the film shows.

For legal reasons, this Palace Rink was forced to stop showing films and had to revert to a skating rink. The rink was bought by Brighouse Empire Limited, and opened as the Empire Theatre in 1917. Films were shown with skating in the intermission.

The skating craze eventually faded.

Ambrose Broomhead worked here.

The Empire closed after a year and fell into disrepair and the site was cleared by the end of World War I.

The site is now occupied by mobile homes.

See Harold Howlett

Empire Theatre, Todmorden
Burnley Road. Recorded in 1905, when the lessee was Walter Leybourne

Employment exchange
See Halifax Labour Exchange

Empress Ballroom, Halifax
Charles Henry Lucas was lessee [1946]

See Burton's, Halifax

Empsall, Abraham Hanson
[18??-18??] Of Hipperholme. Mentioned in Game Lists published in October 1852,

Empsall, Jonas
[1818-1891] Of Brighouse.

He married (1) Sarah [1821-1851]

Children: (1) John [1844-1867]; (2) Fanny [1849-1869] who married Sam Jagger.

In [Q1] 1854, he married (2) Mary Tyas [1819-1866] in Halifax.

Children: (3) Arthur who died in infancy.

In [Q1] 1868, he married (3) Hannah Ellis [1827-1901] in Halifax.

Members of the family were buried at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Empsall, Joseph
[17??-18??] Of Lightcliffe.

He married Unknown.

Children: Sarah [1795-1872] who married John Thornton

Empsall, Miss
[18??-1???] Singer. She was a pupil of Luke Settle.

Question: Does anyone know whether she was related to the family who ran Miss Empsall's Academy?


On 7th December 1853, she sang at a concert with Mrs Sunderland and reviews said

She is possessed of a remarkably sweet voice; she is very young, but promises to become a good singer. She merited a warm encore accorded by the audience in her song I saw him by the fountain when she gave Kate Kearney

Empsall, Ralph
[1???-17??] Occupied Small Lees, Soyland from 1740

Empsall, Samuel
[1806-18??] Born in Hipperholme.

He became a butcher.

He married Harriet [1806-19??].

Children: (1) John [b 1831]; (2) Charles [b 1833]; (3) Ann [1836-1899] who married Joseph Rideal Smith; (4) Samuel [b 1849].

The family lived at Temple Street, New Road, Halifax [1841]; 3 Craven Edge, Halifax [1851]; 2 Craven Edge, Halifax [1871]

Empsall, Thomas Thornton
[1825-1896] Of Slead Syke, Brighouse.

In [Q2] 1850, he married one of Jane Kitson / Mary Lord / Ann Waugh in Bradford.

Children: Thomas Thornton

Empsall, Thomas Thornton
[1860-1925] Son of Thomas Thornton Empsall.

Born in Bradford [17th October 1860].

He was an architect & surveyor; partner in Empsall & Clarkson of Bradford; a member of the Bradford Antiquarian Society.

He was involved in many major projects in and around Bradford.

In [Q4] 1901 he married Edith Pleasance Hutchinson in Selby.

Edith was the only daughter of Joseph Hutchinson of Skipwith, Selby


The family lived at

Empson, Amaziah
[17??-18??] Of Spellow Hill, Knaresborough.

On 15th December 1814, he married Ellen Rawson.

Children: Ellen Louisa [1822-1890] who married her cousin, William Henry Rawson

Empson, Rev William Henry
[18??-18??] Vicar of Wellow, Hampshire.

In 1844, he married Emily Frances, daughter of William Henry Rawson, in Halifax

Emscote House, Halifax

Emsley & Collins
Fruit merchants of Norwood Green [1905]. Partners included Campbell Collins, Rufus Collins and W. Emsley

Emsley, Miss Kate
[18??-19??] ARCM.

Recorded in 1916, when she presented a High-Class Costume Concert at the White Swan Hotel, Halifax in aid of local war charities.

Promotional material mentions that her pupils have presented concerts of instrumental music for several years, suggesting that she ran a school

She lived at 37 Clapton Avenue, Halifax [1916]

See Miss Edith Riley

Emsley, W.
[18??-19??] Partner in Emsley & Collins [1905]

Engels, Friedrich
[1820-1895] German social and political philosopher, and friend and collaborator of Karl Marx. In 1842, Engels's father sent him to work in the Manchester cotton factory owned by his family, and he became involved with Chartism. His first book was The Condition of the Working Classes in England published in 1845. In 1844, he wrote:
The interior of Bradford is as dirty and uncomfortable as Leeds. The older parts of the town are built upon steep hillsides where the streets are narrow and irregular. Heaps of dirt and refuse disfigure the lanes, alleys, and courts. The houses are dirty and dilapidated and not fit for human habitation. Similar conditions are to be found in other towns in the West Riding, such as Huddersfield, Barnsley, and Halifax

England, Charles J.
[1858-1???] Methodist New Connexion Minister at Ambler Thorn [1891].

Born in Fishlake.

He married Lucy Taylor [1863-1???] from Dudley, Worcestershire.

Children: (1) Charles J. [b 1888]; (2) Norman [b 1891].

The family lived at Chapel House, Northowram / Ambler Thorn [1891].

Living with them in 1891 was widowed mother-in-law Sarah Taylor [aged 63?]

England, Thomas
[1845-1922] Son of Sarah and George England [1813-1???] an attorney at law/solicitor in Howden. Born in Hallgate, Howden, East Yorkshire.

He was a solicitor's general clerk in Howden [1861]; a solicitor in Halifax [1871, 1881]; Receiver in Bankruptcy for the Halifax District [1891]; Notary Public official [1891]; a partner in Norris, Foster & England; a partner in Foster, England & Foster. He was at Town Hall Chambers, Halifax [1894].

On 24th March 1881, he married Adelaide Emily Hannaford [1845-1900] at Saint Clement Danes, London.

Adelaide Emily was the daughter of the late Samuel Hannaford of Totnes, Devon

They lived at King Cross Street, Halifax (as a boarder) [1871]; Holme Dene, Lightcliffe [March 1881]; Holly Bank, Hipperholme [1881]; Holme Dene, Lightcliffe [1891]; Prior Hill, 46 Leigham Court Road, Wandsworth [1901]

There was Emma A. England [b 1852] a servant with the family [1881]

Adelaide Emily died at home in Wandsworth [July 1900].

Thomas died at home in Wandsworth and was buried at West Norwood Cemetery

English & Foreign Pianoforte Rooms, Halifax
The premises of Robert Lonsdale & Son in 42 Crown Street, Halifax

English Card Clothing Company Limited

See Card clothing, Centenary Place, Halifax and Harold Rothery

English, Fitzwilliam de Guadelupe
[1864-1924] MA, Mus Bac. Of Witney, Oxfordshire. He was Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1897-1911] and again [1915-1924]. On 20th May 1901, he was appointed conductor at the Halifax Choral Society. In 1905, he was listed as Professor of Music at 5 Whinney Field, Halifax

English Fustian Manufacturing Company
Aka The Combine. This was a Hebden Bridge fustian manufacturing company formed on 13th February 1901 by the amalgamation of the interests of Moss Brothers, Champion Murgatroyd, Redman Brothers, Sutcliffe Melbourne, T. Sutcliffe & Son and others, to fend off any monopoly by The English Velvet Cord Dyeing Company.

Closed in 1982

English Velvet & Cord Dyers' Association Limited
Around 1900, the company moved to Hebden Bridge and took over some local dyeing firms, including William Sutcliffe & Company Limited.

In response, several local companies established The English Fustian Manufacturing Company.

They were at Stubbing Holme Dye Mill, Hebden Bridge

English, William
[18??-19??] Chairman of the first meeting which went on to establish the Brighouse Flour & Industrial Society

Ennis, Bob
[19??-19??] Aka Tiger. Formed the Star Boxing Club, Halifax

Entwhistle, Rev Thomas
[1???-19??] Methodist minister.

He lived at 26 Milton Place, Halifax [1936]

Entwistle, Rev T.
[18??-19??] He lived at 26 Milton Place, Halifax [1937]


A variant of the surname Hebden

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Equiano, Olaudah
[1745-1797] Aka Gustavus Vassa. He was a slave of African descent whose autobiography caused quite a sensation when it was published in 1789. He spent the rest of his life touring the country promoting his book.

See Law Atkinson and Susannah Atkinson

Equitable Chambers, Halifax
Central Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Equity Bank Limited
In 1913, the Halifax Equity Bank Limited changed it name. In 1927, the bank was acquired by Martins Bank

Ernst's: Davidis Ernst & Company
They were wine & spirit merchants at Upper George Yard [1829] and manufacturers & merchants at 5 Lord Street, Halifax [1837]

Area south-east of Hebden Bridge

See Parish statistics

Erringden Grange
Kilnshaw Lane. Early 19th century farm and attached barn.

A nearby early 19th century cottage, cattle shade and cowshed are listed – to the west.

A nearby early 19th century cottage, and cart shed are listed – to the north. The cottage may have been used for textile production

Erringden, Manor of
In Domesday Book this was one of the 9 berewicks belonging to the Manor of Wakefield. It appears there as Gruberonestum

Erringden Moor
Aka Higher House Moor and Turley Holes Moor, Erringden

Erringden Parish Council
On 20th May 1947, Blackshaw Parish Council and Erringden Parish Council amalgamated. to form the Erringden Parish Council.

The Parish council has 5 seats

Erringden Park
About 1300, the Earls of Warren created a deer park at Erringden – also known as Heptonstall Park – to breed deer for hunting in the Forest of Sowerbyshire.

Local names – such as Roebucks, Buckstones, Deerstones, Doestones – derive from this. Sheep were also kept at the park.

The fence and ditch were built around the park to contain the deer – see Palace House.

The fence and ditch remained until 1449 when Richard, Duke of York, then Lord of the Manor, ordered that it be dispaled [by letters patent dated March 1448] and turned into farmland and demised to tenants at rents amounting altogether to £24 per annum.

In 1451, the Park of Erringden was divided and let, and Thomas Stansfeld went to the Court and took of the lord a fourth part of the park as it lay between Birnedakirygate (BurntacresGate)  and Beamonde-cloughe. The other Lord Tenants were Thomas Sutcliffe, Richard Fourness, Ralph Eastwood, John Ryleye, Robert Akeroid, and John Sunderland.

In 1548, it was granted by Edward VI to Sir William Willoughby, knight, and others, who sold it to Richard Whalley of Welbeck.

Later, the property was the tenure of Thomas Stansfeld junior and Thomas Stansfeld senior, and others.

It is said that a bell was used to call the animals for feeding, and that this gave the name to Bell House.

See Brearley Old Hall, Luddendenfoot, Elphaborough Hall, Mytholmroyd and Sowerby Ramble

Erringden Spa
The spring was popular for the beneficial properties of its water

Erringden Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Erringden included:

Erringden Workhouse
A workhouse is recorded at Rakeshead

Esam, Charles Godfrey
[1846-1906] Son of Ann and Charles Esam.

A Sheffield attorney.

On 28th October 1869, he married Hannah Jane, daughter of Susan and Henry Sunderland, at Brighouse.

Children: (1) Agnes [b 1870]; (2) Amy [b 1871]; (3) Arthur [b 1873] who was solicitor's clerk [1896].

In 1871, the family were living with Susan and Henry Sunderland at Cromwell House, Southowram

Between 1873 and 1881, they emigrated to New Zealand.

Charles Godfrey was a solicitor in Marton on the North Island.

Hannah Jane was a very successful vocalist, pianist and music teacher in New Zealand.

Her daughter, Amy, was also a musician and a member of the Marton Operatic Society.

When Hannah Jane died on 5th January 1927, she was one of the oldest residents of the Marton district.

The couple were buried at Mount View Cemetery, Marton, New Zealand

[????-????] A Dane. At the time of Domesday Book, he was Lord of the Manor of Clifton. When the Normans took the land, it was held by Ilbert and Escelf became a tenant

Escott, Edward Rice S.
[1839-1904] Born in Stow on the Wold, Gloucestershire.

He was a civil engineer; Borough Engineer of Halifax [1891].

He never married.

He lived at 16 Clifton Road, Skircoat [1891].

He died in Halifax [October 1904]

Escott, Jack
[19??-] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

Eshold, Mr
[18??-18??] He had premises in King Cross Street where he taught
behaviour and accomplishments essential for persons

in a curriculum which included correct eating and speaking. His fees were 25 guineas


Essendyne House, Hipperholme

Essoldo Cinema, Sowerby Bridge
Wharf Street. In 1949, the Regent Cinema. became the Essoldo Cinema

The first presentation was The Lady's from Kentucky starring George Raft.

The last presentation was GI Blues starring Elvis Presley.

Closed in February 1967 when it became Regal Bingo.

Part of the building was demolished and the rest became a nightclub.

This was one of the Essoldo Group of cinemas, established by Sol Sheckman [1893-1963] from North Shields. At one time, there were over 200 cinemas in the Group. The name Essoldo came from the names of his wife Esther, Solomon, and daughter Dorothy

[10??-1165] Aka Essulf, Askolf, Askelph, or Askolphus and other variations. Of Scandinavian descent.

Some sources say that he was the son of Ulf, grandson of Gamel, others say that he was descended from Gerneber. He was definitely a member of a leading pre Norman Conquest family.

His existence is known through his sons and grandsons who were the founders of many leading families.

He held extensive lands in the West Riding of Yorkshire and into Lancashire.

He married (1) Unknown.

Children: Peter de Birkin.

He married (1) Unknown.

Children: (2) Richard of Tong; (3) John; (4) Jordan; (5) Thomas; (6) Helias; (7) William who entered the church; (8) Hugh; (9) (possibly) Roger.

The Stansfelds descend from this family.

See 12th Century Names and Fergus

The Estate Worker's Cottage: Shibden Hall
This example of a typical early 19th century one up-one down house is in the Folk Museum at Shibden Hall. It was recreated using evidence from George Walker's book The Costume of Yorkshire

Etherington, Christopher
[16??-1678] Or Etherington.

He was minister at Morley and was said to have been ejected. before becoming Curate at Sowerby [1676-1679].

Heywood writes

[He] died suddenly on 4th January 1679. [He proposed] to preach the day after, was in his parlour, his wife going to fetch somewhat in the house, he was dead before or immediately after she came again, though he had been weakly, melancholy, had much discouragement

He was buried at Saint Peter's Church, Sowerby [9th November 1678]

Etherington, Miss Enid
[1???-19??] Recorded in March 1916, when she played in a Concert presented by the Elland Madrigal Society at the Constitutional Club, Elland in aid of the local branch of Saint John's Ambulance Brigade, Elland.

She was described as

Elland's musical prodigy

Etherington, Henry F.
[18??-18??] Newspaper reporter at 26 Wade Street, Halifax [1874]

Etherington, Mr
[17??-18??] He taught stenography in rooms at Maude's Temperance Hotel, Halifax. His students included Anne Lister and Caroline Walker

Etherington, William
[1852-1892] Born in Halifax.

He was landlord of the Fleece, Elland [1892].

In 1889, he married Mary Readyhough.

After his death, Mary took over at the Fleece, Elland [until 1897].

A Mary Etherington [1841-1897] died in Halifax in 1897

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1892

Ettall, Mrs
[1???-16??] Wife of Samuel Ettall.

On 28th August 1630, she and Henry Hudson were executed on the Gibbet.

Watson's extract from the Register Books at Halifax records the execution as

Henry Hudson. Uxor Samuel Ettall ob plurima furta decollati

Henry Hudson [and] the wife of Samuel Ettall beheaded on account of very many crimes

Ettall, Samuel
[1???-16??] His wife, Mrs Ettall, was executed on the Gibbet

Ettenfield, Joseph
[1753-1839] Hairdresser at Cow Green, Halifax.

He died 3rd September 1839

Ettis, William
[17??-18??] Attorney at Silver Street, Halifax [1816]

Eureka! The museum for children
Discovery Road, Halifax. Museum with exhibits relating to the body, society and work, designed specifically for children aged 3-12. It is organised by an educational charity which was established in 1985. The £5,000,000 project was started in 1987. In 1989, the plan was jeopardised by a dispute between councillors and the museums's sponsors. It was opened by Prince Charles on 9th July 1992 It had its 1-millionth visitor in 1995, and its 5-millionth visitor in 2009.

The museum is next to Halifax Town railway station, and visitors can reach the museum by car and train without ever having to go into the town ... very good for tourism!

In 2009, proposals were announced to develop a similar facility at Kings Cross, London.

See Greece Fields

Eustace, Rev George
[1814-1882] Vicar of Heptonstall [1861, 1874]. He died at Nuneaton

Evans, Arthur
[19??-19??] Aka Candy. Player with Halifax RLFC [1928-1933]. He won caps for Wales while at Halifax

Evans, Brian
[1942-2005] Born in Oldham.

At the age of 12, he played principal cornet with Chadderton & District Band – playing the national finals wearing short trousers. He moved to Barton Hall Works Band and Manchester CWS Band where he met Alex Mortimer who introduced him to the soprano cornet for which Brian became famous.

He won the North of England Slow Melody competition for 2 years in succession.

He later went to Fairey Aviation Band, then British Vita Band, then Brighouse & Rastrick.

In 1977, he featured on the Brighouse & Rastrick's recording of The Floral Dance.

He then moved to the Black Dike Mills Band, Versatile Brass, Dobcross Band, Wingates Band [1985] later British Aerospace Wingates Band. He was also a member of the Hammonds Sauce Band, later the Yorkshire Building Society Band.

He gave many solo performances, and also played with the Kings of Brass, and his own group, Scratch Brass.

He was a highly-respected musician, and is said to have been the best soprano cornet player there has been.

A recording of his solo music – entitled Dedications – is available on record, cassette and CD

Since the 1980s, he lived in Brighouse with his partner, Pam Lumb

Evans, Charles
[1821-18??] Of Halifax.

In 1839, he, Samuel Holdsworth and George Ibbetson were charged with feloniously assault on William Latham of Halifax.

On 5th March 1840, the jury returned a verdict of Guilty and all three men were transported for 15 years. He was one of 330 convicts who left England for Van Diemen's Land on the Lady Raffles [30th November 1840]

Evans, Charles Lewis
[1875-1960] Born in Bristol.

He was a chaplain in the army [1905].

On 18th Feb 1905, he married Edith Mary Freeman in Shepperton.

Edith Mary was the daughter of
John Joseph Freeman

Children: (1) Helen [b 1907]; (2) David Lewis [b 1910 in Mauritius].

The couple died in Newbury: Edith Mary [24th November 1949]; Charles [8th June 1960]

Evans, Henry Wallace
[1857-1909] Aka Wally.

He was a boiler maker in Halifax; landlord of the Duke of York, Rastrick [1909].

In [Q3] 1880, he married Jane Standeven [1862-19??] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Margarita [b 1892]; (2) Clarice [b 1897].

He died on 18th August 1909.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £225 16/10d.

After Wally's death, Ann took over at the Duke of York [1911]

Evans, Richard Watson
[1859-1910] BA, LLB, JP.

Son of Rev W. H. W. Evans. Born in Saint Agnes, Cornwall [24th March 1859].

He was educated at Kingswood School Bath & Owens College Manchester; practised in Dewsbury; with Godfrey Rhodes & Evans [1886]; clerk to Sowerby Bridge UDC and Southowram UDC; Notary Public [1901]; sole member of Godfrey Rhodes & Evans [1905].

In 1890, he married Catherine Anne Francis.

Catherine Anne was the daughter of Edward Francis

Children: Francis Vaughan [b 1892].

The family lived at Greystones, Halifax [1902]

Evans, Rev S. L.
[18??-19??] Minister at Elland Wesleyan Chapel [1914]

Evans, Rev T. L.
[18??-19??] A Welshman. He was Curate at Christ Church, Pellon [1907], curate at Huddersfield, and Vicar of Copley [1917]

Evans, Rev Thomas
[1714-1779] From Denbigh, North Wales. He was an Arian or a Unitarian. Minister at Moor End Congregational Church [1764-1779]. He taught at a school at Mixenden Old Hall.

He was buried at the church

Evans, Thomas
[18??-18??] In a report produced in 1850 under the Public Health Act, he was recorded as keeping a lodging house in Southowram which had 2 rooms, 3 beds, 6 lodgers, and no privy

Evans, Rev William Cunnor
[18??-19??] He trained at Airedale College and served for 8 years before becoming Minister at Sowerby Congregational Church [1890, 1905]

The Evening Courier
The Halifax Evening Courier was founded by Alfred Ramsden in 1892.

See Halifax Courier, Halifax Courier & Guardian, Halifax Evening Courier, Halifax Today Website and Titanic

Evens, Rev George Bramwell
[1884-1943] Naturalist, writer, and broadcaster on natural history and country life from 1929 and through the 1930s and 1940s, under the name Romany. He was pastor at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel [1929-1939]

Evercreme Toffees
Confectionery manufacturer of Brearley Lane, Hebden Bridge. Their Toyplane toffee was popular.

Closed in 193?

Everett, David
[1829-1909] Of Brighouse. He joined the Army and served in the Crimean War as a Sergeant

Everhill Shaw, Heptonstall
Edge Lane. 17th century house. It was extended in the mid 18th century.

The name is variously written Ever Hill, Everall Shaw, Everheldshay, Everil Shaw, Hevereldeshaghe, Heverellshaw, and Heverelshay.

It is sometimes listed as Lower Fold [1841, 1891] or Higher Fold [1861].

Owners and tenants have included

See Popples Bottom, Slack

The Everingham family
They were lords of the manor and controlled Midgley

Evers, Benjamin Beard
[1850-1910] Son of Jabez Evers.

Born in Norland.

He was an iron turner [1881, 1891]; landlord of the Wharf Inn, Sowerby Bridge (he took over from his mother) [1892-1898]; landlord of the Woodman, Luddendenfoot [1900-1906].

On 2nd March 1873, he married Hannah Crabtree [1850-1920] at Halifax Parish Church.

Hannah was born in Sowerby Bridge.

Hannah already had a son John [born 3rd March 1871]; birth registered as John Evers Crabtree but baptised as John Crabtree


Children: Mary Annie [b 1874] who married William Hennessy.

The family lived at Clough Terrace, Bolton Brow [1881]; 13 Old Causeway, Sowerby Bridge [1891].

Members of the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Evers, Clarinda
[1859-1935] Daughter of John Evers.

On 18th November 1877, she married (1) Edwin Bottomley.

After Edwin's death [1900], Clarinda took over at the Oddfellows' Arms, Sowerby Bridge.

In January 1902, she married (2) Edward Ackroyd.

Edward took over at the Oddfellows' Arms.

Clarinda, died 27th October 1936 [aged 77].

she was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Evers, Rev Hubert Richard
[18??-1934] Vicar of Brighouse [September 1920-1932]. He retired to Hastings, where he died

Evers, Jabez
[1794-1864] Son of Robert Evers.

Born in Shepley.

He was a woollen overlooker [1841]; manager of a woollen mill [1851]; a power loom overlooker [1861]; a local Methodist preacher [1861].

On 29th May 1820, he married (1) Ann Mawson in Elland.

In 1862, he married (2) Mrs Sophia Dobson [1799-1864] from Bingley.

The family lived at West End, Sowerby Bridge [1841]; Back West Street, Sowerby Bridge [1851]; Ell Bank, Sowerby Bridge [1861]

Evers, Jabez
[1826-1877] Son of William Lee Evers.

Born in Norland.

He was a machine maker [1849, 1851]; a mechanic and publican at the Blue Ball, Norland [1861-1862]; landlord of the Wharf Inn, Sowerby Bridge [1865-1877].

In 1849, he married Hannah Taylor at Elland Parish Church.

Hannah was the daughter of Jonathan Taylor

Children: (1) Benjamin Beard; (2) John Henry [b 1855]; (3) William Edward [b 1857]; (4) Jim (or JohnHerbert [b 1861] who was a butcher [1881]; (5) Susan Beard [b 1863]; (6) Lucy [b 1864]; (7) Mary Annie [1867-1951] who (possibly) attended Parkfield Academy [1881] and married Mr Woodcock; (8) Arthur [b 1870].

The family lived at Lane Head, Sowerby [sharing a house with Benjamin Beard and family 1851]; 17 Norland Town [1861]; Hollin Well, Norland [1863-1864].

In 1871, the children – John Henry, William Edward, Jim Herbert and Mary Annie – were living at 10 Hollin Well, Norland with their Beard grandparents.

Hannah – who was recorded as having

bad eye-sight in 1881

- took over as landlady of the Wharf [1881, 1887, 1891].

Son Benjamin Beard took over from his mother at the Wharf

Members of the family were buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery

Evers, John
[1832-1911] Son of William Lee Evers.

He was a mechanic [1861]; a mechanic at chemical works [1871]; an engine fitter [1881]; a mechanic [1891]; living on own means [1901]; a gentleman [1911].

On 23rd March 1854, he married Charlotte, daughter of George Lumb from Ripponden, at Elland Parish Church.

Children: (1) Hannah [1854-1921] who married Joseph Longbottom; (2) Ann [1856-1914] who married [1875] Thomas Horsfall in Halifax; (3) Clarinda; (4) Wallace [b 1860]; (5) Miranda [1862-1878]; (6) Norris [1865-1934]; (7) Emma [1867-1927].

The family lived at Holly Well, Norland [1861]; Bolton Brow, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; Upper Wat Ing, Norland [1881]; 18 Asquith Terrace, Norland [1891]; 11 Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901]; 21 Nicholls Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

Charlotte died 24th July 1880 [aged 49]. John died 23rd October 1911 [aged 80].

Members of the family were buried at Saint Luke's Church, Norland

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £359 8/8d. Probate was granted to daughter Ann Horsfall, and Charles William Laycock (auctioneer) 

Evers, Robert
[1???-1???] Of Huddersfield.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Jabez; (2) William Lee

Evers, William Lee
[1804-1859] Son of Robert Evers.

Born in Shepley.

He was a machine maker [1849].

On 6th June 1824, he married Hannah Michell [1804-1869] in Elland.

Children: (1) Mary [1825-1881]; (2) Jabez; (3) Elizabeth [1830-1905] who married Hagar Halstead; (4) John; (5) Ruth [1838-1839]; (6) Virgil [1841-1908]; (7) William [1844-1910].

The family lived at Norland Town [1841]

Everson, Rev D. George A.
[1906-1994] In 1958, he moved from Ripponden to Little Lever, Lancashire.

He married Mary [1???-1978].

The couple were buried at Rishworth Independent Church with his sister Ivy [d 1931] There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 1513] at Parrock Nook in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Ewbank, George
[17??-1807] Elland clockmaker who was active between 1740 and 1770

Ewing, Rev Alexander
[17??-18??] MA. Minister at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax [1834-1846].

In 1839, he began a course of lectures which

will be given in the open air, as time and weather may permit, during the ensuing summer evenings

The first lecture was on 4th June 1839 at Charlestown.

Many of the congregation disapproved of his appointment. Several people left and formed a new congregation at Harrison road chapel.

He lived at 8 Square Road, Halifax [1845].

In 1846, he moved to Gosport, Hampshire

An area of Mytholmroyd.

See Ewood Court, Mytholmroyd, Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd, Ewood School, Midgley, Ewood and Lower Ewood, Mytholmroyd

An area of Todmorden. See Ewood House, Todmorden, Ewood Malt Kiln School, Todmorden, Ewood Mill, Stansfield and Ewood

Ewood Coach House, Mytholmroyd
Midgley Road

Ewood Court Farm, Mytholmroyd
Midgley Road. The barn of 1884 has been converted into a house

Ewood Court, Mytholmroyd
Midgley Road. The summer house is listed.

Owners and tenants have included

Ewood Hall, Mytholmroyd
Midgley Road. It was owned by the Okes family.

In 1471, the hall and land were sold by Edmund Pylkington to Henry Farrer. The Ferrar family built the hall and lived here.

Bishop Robert Ferrar is said to have been born in the house.

In 1643, the hall was ransacked after the Battle of Adwalton Moor, when the successful Royalist army plundered parts of the Calder Valley.

A stone near the front door is dated 1656 J.M.L – for Mary and John Lockwood.

In 17??, John Grimshaw inherited the hall from his grandfather.

John Crossley inherited the house from his mother's family – the Lockwoods.

The Farrar family gave up their interest in the property around 1774.

In 1786, Dr John Fawcett and his two sons came to Ewood from Brearley Hall where he had established an academy for training Particular Baptist ministers here until it merged with the new Horton Academy in 1804.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

John Wesley stayed at the Hall on several occasions.

On 20th March 1930, the estate was sold.

The building was demolished in the early 1970s.

The former stables – now known as Ewood Hall Barn – have been converted to residential use and are listed.

See James Farrer and Lower Ewood, Mytholmroyd

Ewood Hall, Todmorden
Ewood Lane. Early 19th century house.

Now multiple occupancy

Ewood House, Todmorden
Aka Ewood Hall. Owners and tenants have included

Exall, Rev Edwin
[18??-18??] He was at Holbeach before becoming Minister at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1934-1942]

Exchange Café, Halifax
Recorded at Broad Street, Halifax [1905] when the Manager was W. H. Buckley

Exchange Chambers, Halifax
29 Northgate, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

See Exchange Buildings, Halifax

Exchange News Rooms
News rooms opened in Halifax on 20th May 1854. In 1894, they were at Town Hall Chambers, Halifax

Excise Office, Halifax

District of Halifax to the south of Siddal and north of Elland.

See Ashley and Pubs in Siddal


Around 1261, William de Ecclesley [b 1240] of Ecclesley, Southowram, son of William de Dewsbury, married Alice de Backhall. The spelling Eckylslay is recorded in 1293. John Eckylslay is recorded in 1420.

The name is derived from Exley.

See Back Hall, Exley

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Exley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Exley family
Of Exley Hall.

They were involved in the Elland Feud Whilst the Earl of Lancaster laid siege to the Warren's castle at Conisborough, Exley of Exley Hall killed a half-nephew of Sir John Elland of Elland Hall. A piece of land was given in compensation for the death, and Exley took refuge with a relative, Sir Robert Beaumont at Crosland Hall, Huddersfield

Exley Bank Farm
Stood on Backhold Lane above Exley Bank.

The Backhold housing estate stands on the site

Exley Bank Laundry
Recorded in 1905 at Lower Exley when Mrs Grace was the proprietor

Exley, Fred Ward
[1???-1???] Of Sowerby Bridge. In 1899, he filed a patent for
improvements in or connected with circular saws for enabling wood to be sawn into blocks or pieces of a specified size

Exley Hall
Upper Exley. 17th century house. It stands behind the farm buildings on the blind right-hand bend as you approach Exley from Elland.

It was owned by the Knights Hospitallers of Saint John of Jerusalem.

The Exley family of Exley Hall were involved in the Elland Feud

It was owned by the Dean family of Exley.

Around 1685, Henry Grime bought the hall from Robert Dean.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

  • John Hepworth, bank cashier [1905]

The hall has been derelict since the 1980s.

See Exley Hall Farm

Exley Hall Farm
1 Upper Exley.

Farm at Exley Hall.

Owners and tenants have included

The farm is still owned by the Lumb family who now run a Green Waste Recycling business on the land

Exley House, Exley Bank
Aka Exley Bank House. Built about 1840.

Owners and tenants have included

Exley, James Robinson
[1854-1???] Born in Rishworth.

He was a brewer's assistant [1881]; a licensed victualler at the New Inn, Elland [1891].

In 1877, he married Elizabeth Ann Lancaster [1851-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Harriet Ann [b 1879]; (2) George Edwin [b 1881]; (3) Ivy [b 1896].

The family lived at Foundry Street, Rastrick [1881].

Later, Elizabeth and the children were living with Beaumont Garside. In 1901, they were listed as his sister, nieces and nephew. In 1911, they were listed as his wife, daughter [Ivy], stepdaughter [Harriet Ann], and stepson

Exley, Joe
[18??-1928] He lived at Newstead House, Halifax.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £5,176

Exley, John
[16??-16??] Of Halifax. In 1667, he issued tradesmen's tokens worth ½d bearing the image of a crown and a cross

Exley Lea, Exley
Exley Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Exley, Robert
[15??-16??] Wealthy landowner who paid £13 6/8d in composition fines

Exley Zoo

Exley Zoo Skating Rink
There was a concrete roller-skating rink at Exley Zoo

Area near Widdop

Eyre & Company
Mineral water manufacturers at Brighouse established by J. V. Eyre.

In January 1891, the company was declared bankrupt

Eyre, J. V.
[18??-19??] He established Eyre & Company at Brighouse

Eyres, Rev Frederick George
[1860-1949] BA. Of Blackmoor. Son of Henrietta Maria [née Bullock] and Rev Charles Eyres.

He was educated at Christ's College Cambridge before becoming Curate at Holy Trinity Church [1892, 1894]. He lived at Saint John's Mount, Halifax


search tips advanced search
search engine by freefind

© Malcolm Bull 2014 /
Revised 19:41 on 17th April 2014 / e / 342