Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

C



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Ca Ce Ch Ci Cl Cn Co Cp Cr Cu Cy


Cabbage Lane Field
Now Great Albion Street. William Kershaw owned land here around 1820.

The Halifax British School was moved here around 1820

See Cabbage Lane

Cable car
In 2005, there was a suggestion that a cable car might be constructed to take visitors from Halifax up to the top of Beacon Hill

Caddy Field Branch Library
Recorded in 1929. At that time, it was only open on Tuesday evenings

Caddy Field, Halifax
District of Halifax, north of Siddal and at the foot of Trooper Lane.

Named after Joseph Caddy.

In March 1836, Anne Lister's journals mention an incident about the poisoning of the disputed Water Lane well here.

Slums here were mentioned in the Ranger report [1850].

In 1898, John Lister wrote in a local newspaper

Does Caddy Field take its name from Joseph Caddy who, in 1677, paid tax for two closes i' th bank. In 1745, when Prince Charlie was travelling to England, the Caddy Closes as they were then called were the property of G. Laycock. In the Manorial Records of 1814, it is sometimes called Caddow Field and was then owned by William Lawrance and paid 3/- to the Lord of the Manor

Caddy Field Library
Recorded in 1936

Caddy, Joseph
[16??-16??] See Caddy Field

Caden, Patrick
[1865-1901] Born in Ireland.

He was a gas fitter [1893].

In [Q4] 1893, he married Mary Burke [1869-1949] in Halifax.


Mary was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Robert; (2) John [1898-1976]; (3) Francis [1901-1942].

The family lived at Foster's Yard, Halifax [1901]; 38 Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1911]

Caden, Robert
[1894-1918] Son of Patrick Caden.

He was a sample dyer [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/7th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [12th April 1918].

He was buried at the Le Grand Beaumart British Cemetery, Steenwerck

Cading's Croft, Halifax
Saint John's Lane.


Question: Has this been confused with Cadney Croft, Halifax?

 

Cadman, John Heaton
[1839-1906] Son of Edwin Cadman.

Born in Sheffield [24th July 1839].

He was educated at Sheffield, Versailles and Worcester College Oxford; a barrister in practice [1871, 1881]; recorder in Pontefract [1877]; judge of county courts [1901]; Halifax county court judge [1905].

In [Q2] 1866, he married Mary Grayson Simpson [1841-1916] in Wakefield.


Mary was born in Sandal Walton, Yorkshire, the daughter of Mr Simpson, who was a partner in Hodgson & Simpson's Soapworks
 

They lived at Sandal, Wakefield [1871]; Rhyddings House, Ackworth, Hemsworth, Yorkshire [1881]; Eversfield Hotel, Hastings [boarders in 1901].

Living with them in 1871 were cousin Sarah Dodson [aged 33], and nieces Frances A Crossley [aged 10] and Mary A B Crossley [aged 9].

Living with them in 1881 was visitor Helen E Pearson [aged 37].

In February 1906, John complained of the cold when he was sitting at the Halifax and Dewsbury County Courts, and developed a chill.

He died from pneumonia [aged 66] at Rhyddings House, Ackworth, Pontefract [22nd February 1907].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £19,906. Probate was granted to his widow Mary and Cecil Harold Simpson (soap manufacturer).

Cadney Croft, Halifax
House at Trinity Road.

Owners and tenants have included

See Cading's Croft, Halifax, Halifax Cading's Croft and Cadney Croft, Halifax

Cadney, Henry Ormerod
[1813-1863] Son of John William Cadney.

He was Halifax attorney; a bookkeeper [1841]; an estate agent [1861].

He and his father were listed at Fountain Street, Halifax [1845].

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835]

On 30th October 1834, he married Hannah, daughter of John Greenwood, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Alice Ormerod [1836-1900] who married [1856] William Brown Pepler; (2) Emily [1841-1905]; (3) Louisa [1849-1871].

The family lived at Fountain Street, Halifax [1841]; 12 Trinity Road, Halifax [1861]; Castle Hall, Cragg Vale [1871].

Living with them in 1871 were nephew Clarence William Greenwood [aged 19], and niece Alice M Greenwood [aged 17].

Henry Ormerod died 10th April 1863.

He was buried at St Paul's Church, King Cross [16th April 1863]

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £5,000. Probate was granted to his widow.

Daughter Louisa died at Castle Hall, Cragg Vale [26th May 1871].

She was buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale [1st June 1871].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at under £2,000. Probate was granted to her mother Hannah.

Hannah died at West Kensington Park, Middlesex [12th November 1876].

She was buried at St John's Church, Cragg Vale [18th November 1876].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £2,000 ./-. Probate was granted to daughter Alice Ormerod Pepler

Cadney, John William
[1788-1852] Of Louth, Lincolnshire.

He was a Halifax attorney [1822]; landlord of the William Broad, Halifax [1837]; articled to James Wigglesworth; an attorney at law [1841].

He and son Henry were listed at Fountain Street, Halifax [1845].

On 3rd January 1811, he married Alice Ormerod [17??-1814] at Halifax Parish Church.


A notice of the wedding said that Alice was the only daughter of the late Tille [?] Ormerod of Halifax
 

Children: Henry Ormerod.

He lived at Stone Trough Lane, Halifax [1822]; Cadney Croft, Trinity Road [around 1837]; Gibbet Street [1841]

The couple were buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax: Alice [29th August 1814]; John William [20th August 1852]

Cadney, M.
[17??-18??] Attorney at Ward's End, Halifax [1816]

Cady, Gary
[1960-] Brighouse-born actor who has appeared in many TV and film rôles. He attended Hipperholme Grammar School

Café & restaurants

Café Royal, Brighouse
Commercial Street. Was once above Joah Pearson's confectioner's shop

Café Royal, Halifax
King Edward Street. Opened on 15th February 1908.

In 1931, the property was acquired by the Halifax Building Society and incorporated into the Alexandra Hall, becoming the Alexandra Café.

The name is sometime written Café Royale.

See The Forum, Halifax

Café Royal, West Vale
Recorded in 1905, when J. Mitchell was the Proprietor

Caffari, Dee
[1973-] PE teacher at North Halifax Grammar School [1995].

In February 2009, she became the first woman to sail solo and non-stop both ways around the world

Caffé Amanté, Brighouse
Occupies premises at the corner of King Street / Bradford road. The building was formerly a branch of the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Bank

Cage, Heptonstall
Recorded in 1753, when it was part of the estate left by Richard Wadsworth

Cahill, Rev Michael
[18??-19??] Priest at Saint Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, Todmorden [1905].

He lived at 33 Wellington Road, Todmorden

Cain, Charles
[18??-18??] Card maker at Square Road, Halifax [1850].

See Charles Cain, Son & Greenwood

Cain's: Charles Cain, Son & Greenwood
Card clothing manufacturers at Savile Mill, Halifax [1937].

See Charles Cain

Cain, Henry Charles
[18??-19??] Watchmaker at Princess Street, Halifax.

In May 1861, he was sworn in as a member of the grand jury of the West Riding Intermediate Sessions.

In October 1878, he was declared bankrupt

Cain, John
[18??-1???] Labourer from Charlestown, Halifax.

In July 1875, he was quarrelling with another man in the Commercial, Halifax. The landlord threw them out. After much cursing and swearing, Cain struck and kicked the landlord. He was fined 47/6d or 2 months' imprisonment

Cain, Son & Greenwood
Card clothing and card makers at Croft Mills, Halifax [1905] and at Hope Hall Mills, Halifax [1905].

See George Henry Hirst

Cairns, Rev Edward
[18??-19??] Circuit Minister for Saint Thomas's Street Primitive Methodist Chapel. He lived at 21 Ripon Terrace, Akroydon [1905]

Cairns, Peter Russell
[1864-19??] LRCPS.

Born in Galashiels, Scotland.

Physician and surgeon.

He lived at 36 Commercial Street, Hebden Bridge [1901]; Westroyd, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Caldene, Bard of
Synonym of William Dearden

Caldene Bridge, Mytholmroyd
Built in 1909 by William Sutcliffe. It was one of the first bridges to be built of reinforced concrete. It was 36 ft wide and had a span of 48 ft. It was replaced in 1989

Caldene Clothing Company
Manufacturer of hard-wearing clothing for farming and agricultural workers. Established at Hebden Bridge by George Uttley and his brothers-in-law – Jack and Walter Lord – in 1922. They expanded to Burnley Road, Mytholmroyd in 1936. The company now produces riding wear, jodhpurs, hats, jackets and gloves, and thermal clothing.

The company was put up for sale in January 2003

Calder
The river which rises at Heald Moor north-west of Todmorden, and flows for a distance of around 56 miles through Todmorden – where it forms part of the Yorkshire-Lancashire borderHebden Bridge, Mytholmroyd, Luddendenfoot, Sowerby Bridge, Copley, Elland, Brighouse, Cooper Bridge where it joins the River Colne, and on to Wakefield, joining the River Aire at Castleford. From there, it flows on into the Humber and the North Sea. Salterhebble is the closest that the Calder gets to the town of Halifax, a distance of about 1½ miles.

See Calder Future and Royd

Calder & Hebble Navigation
Aka Calder & Hebble Canal. The concept of the Calder & Hebble Navigation was first discussed around 1758 when its commissioners met at the Talbot Inn in Halifax.

The Calder & Hebble Navigation links with the river Calder at several points

Calder & Hebble Navigation Company
Established under an Act of 1769 and responsible for the Calder & Hebble Navigation.

Their Navigation Office is recorded at Southgate [1845], and at 52 Southgate [1936].

From 1858, the company's head office was in Southgate, Halifax.

In the 1940s, it moved to Bailey Hall and 1948 when the canals were nationalised and operated by the British Transport Commission.

See William Gravatt, Thomas Theodore Ormerod, Frederick Philip Selwyn Rawson, John Selwyn Rawson, Sir George Savile, Charles Selborne Walker and Edmund Minson Wavell

Calder Bank House, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

It subsequently became a guest house and a residential nursing home

Calder Bridge, Brighouse
The bridge over the Calder on the Bradford to Huddersfield turnpike was opened in 1825. Tolls were abolished in 1875. The bridge was widened in 1905

Calder Bridge, North Dean
Turnpike bridge over the Calder. Greetland Station was nearby.

See North Dean Railway Bridge

Calder Bus Service
Started by brothers Percy and James Firth at Bailiff Bridge in the 1920s. Their uncle, Sir Algernon Firth, gave some financial support to the venture.

In the 1930s, the business was bought by Bradford Corporation

Calder Camera Club
Established in 1960, this was originally the Photographic Section of the Hebden Bridge Literary & Scientific Society. It later became the Hebden Bridge Camera Club

Calder Carbonising Company, Sowerby Bridge
Victoria Street [1958]

Calder Civic Trust
Founded in 1965. A society of interested people who are actively concerned about their surroundings in the Calder Valley and the Calderdale district. The headquarters are at Stag Cottage, Heptonstall

Calder Cotton Company
Gamaliel Sutcliffe was a Director

Calder Dale Brewing Company
Sowerby Bridge

Calder Engineering
Originally Brighouse Motor Agency

Calder Future
A partnership of organisations, communities and individuals who wish to participate in improving the Calder, its tributaries and its banks.

Calder Grange House, Mytholmroyd
Victorian house. Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in the 1960s.

See Mytholmroyd War Memorial

Calder Holmes Park, Hebden Bridge
New Road.

Recorded in 1900, when the Hebden Bridge Agricultural Show was held here.

In November 2007, the Park received £68,000 from the Big Lottery Fund's regional People's Millions fund after winning a TV vote. This money, together with £30,000 from Calderdale Council, will be spent on the CalderPLAY play area in the Park.

See William Crossley

Calder House, Rastrick

Owners and tenants have included

Calder House, Sowerby Bridge
Bolton Brow.

Formerly known as Wharf House.

House and offices built in 1779 as a home for Thomas Walpole, a manager of the Rochdale Canal Company.

The flight of stairs can be clearly seen from the Sowerby Bridge Basin.

Owners and tenants have included

Calder House, Todmorden

Owners and tenants have included

Calder Lake

Calder Navigation Society
Established in 1969 to fight proposals to abandon parts of the Calder & Hebble Navigation. Their campaigns resulted in the reopening and re-connection of the Huddersfield Narrow Canal and the Rochdale Canal

Calder Registration District
The Calder Registration District was a part of the West Riding. It was created on 1st April 1938.

It included

It was abolished in 1974 when the area was incorporated into Calderdale and Bradford

Calder Vale
See Calder Vale Urban District Council and Calderdale

Calder Vale Agricultural Society
Established in 1836. The first meeting was held at the White Lion, Hebden Bridge on 24th May 1839. First show was held at The Holme, Hebden Bridge, in September 1839.

Later meetings and prize-givings took place at Hebden Bridge Mechanics' Institute. The shows moved to Halifax Piece Hall in the 1840s. Christopher Rawson was the President in the 1840s

The Calder Vale Gazette
Newspaper which appeared on 6th July 1881. It was published by John Firth Ashworth. It was a 12-page publication. The first 52 editions cost ½d, then the price went up to 1d. It was described as being
replete with matters of local interest, poetical, historical and topical

It became the Hebden Bridge Times & Calder Vale Gazette

Calder Vale Handicap
See Halifax Race Course

Calder Vale Line
Recorded in 1841

Calder Vale Machine Tool Company Limited
Brighouse company established by G. H. Taylor and E. Jones in 18??. The partnership was dissolved in 1898.

See Machine Tool Makers

Calder Vale Steam Laundry
Recorded in 1905 at Bankfoot, Hebden Bridge

Calder Vale Subscription Band

Calder Vale Urban District Council
In 1937, there were proposals to amalgamate Hebden Bridge, Luddendenfoot, Midgley, Mytholmroyd, and Todmorden into a new Calder Vale Urban District Council

Calder Valley
Informal term for Calderdale. Usually implies the Upper Calder Valley.

See Lower Calder Valley and MPs for Calder Valley

Calder Valley Aero Club
Formed at the White Horse Hotel, Hebden Bridge, in May 1931. Founder members included James Allan Parker, Cecil Dean, J. L. S. Gill, Fred Greenwood, and Alec Parker. They bought their own aircraft – a 100 hp Avro biplane – and had an airfield at Stake Farm, Blackstone Moor

Calder Valley Club
Mytholmroyd club for the handicapped. When the building occupied by St Peter & St Paul's Catholic Church, Mytholmroyd became unsafe, it was sold to the club. With a grant of £150,000, they were able to refurbish the building into its present form

Calder Valley Concrete Company Limited
They had business at Marsh Quarry, Sowerby Bridge [1969]

Calder Valley Constituency
Administrative district comprising the Upper Calder Valley, Sowerby Bridge, Elland, and Brighouse.

See MPs for the Calder Valley

Calder Valley Cricket Club League
Comprised Sunday Schools and other institutions. Established in 1890. In 1891, J. E. Craven was President.

It was disbanded on 13th November 1913

Calder Valley Festival of Arts Society

Calder Valley Motor Club
Recorded in 1927

Calder Valley Poets
A group of local poets

Calder Valley Rifle Club
Established on 25th October 1900

Calder Valley Sand & Gravel Company Limited
Recorded in 1936 Hangingroyd, Hebden Bridge

Calder Valley Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax

Calder Valley Youth Theatre

Calder Viaduct
Aka Kirkless Viaduct. A stretch of the M62 motorway between Junction 24 at Ainley Top and Junction 25 at Brighouse. The viaduct is 1,000 ft long. It stands 60 ft above the river, road, canal and railway facilities. When constructed, it was one of the longest viaducts in Europe

Calderbank Nurseries, Walsden
See Gordon Rigg (Nurseries) Limited

Calderdale
The Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale is an administrative body formed on 1st April 1974 by the amalgamation of the County Borough of Halifax, the Borough of Brighouse, the Borough of Todmorden, the Elland Urban District, the Hebden Royd Urban District, the Ripponden Urban District, the Sowerby Bridge Urban District and part of the Queensbury and Shelf Urban District.

The name Calderdale had been used to denote the Calder Valley earlier, and was formally adopted in 1973. The boundaries of the Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale coincide almost exactly with those of the original parish of Halifax.

See Population, What's in Calderdale, Calder Registration District, Calderdale Council and Electoral wards

Calderdale Family History Research
Family History Research facility established by Roger Beasley

The Calderdale Family History Society
The CFHS Research Room at Brighouse Library is open for a few hours each week – currently Tuesday afternoons and Thursday mornings. The research facilities include:

  • Computer and Internet

  • Microfiche

  • Literature, including books, Parish Registers, census returns, and monumental inscriptions

See

Calderdale Art Collection
Halifax Corporation and Calderdale Council own a large collection of works of art. These were originally owned by Todmorden, Brighouse, Elland and other parts of the district. Some of the works are listed in the Foldout

Calderdale, Bard of
Synonym of William Dearden

Calderdale Call
A free newspaper published 3 times a year by Calderdale Council

Calderdale Christian Web Site
A collection of pages with events, churches, news, Christian organisations, chat room, guestbook, and much more about Christianity in Calderdale.

Calderdale Clog Sundries Manufacturing Society
Recorded at Todmorden on 21st June 1913 when a coming-of-age celebration was reported in connection with the Society

Calderdale Clog Sundries, Walsden
Aka Calderdale Co-operative Clog Sundries Manufacturing Company Limited. A manufacturing co-operative recorded in 1905 at Alma Street, Todmorden

Calderdale College

Calderdale College, Ripponden
19th century college

Calderdale Colleges Corporation
Comprises Calderdale College, Halifax New College, and Halifax School of Integrated Arts

Calderdale Community Church

Calderdale Company
Cotton spinners and fustian dyers at Hebden Bridge [1874]

Calderdale Council
Since the formation of the Metropolitan Borough of Calderdale in 1974, the political nature of the council has been as shown in the Foldout.

See the Foldout showing the Mayors of Calderdale

Calderdale German Circle

Calderdale Heritage Walks
An organisation established when Calderdale Tourist Guides Association ended in 2003.

The organisation offers a programme of around 50 guided walks around various parts of Calderdale

Calderdale Industrial Museum
Square Road, Halifax. The red brick building was formerly the Square Works of the Stirk Machine Tools engineering company.

The building houses a permanent exhibition of Calderdale's industrial heritage – and the blade from the Gibbet.

It closed in 2000 on account of rising costs and falling numbers of visitors.

The exhibits seem to be still in situ.

After the efforts of the Calderdale Industrial Museum Association the Museum opened for organised visits on 9th June 2012.

See Calderdale Industrial Museum CD

Calderdale Industrial Museum Association
Established in 2011 to revive the Calderdale Industrial Museum.

On 9th June 2012, the Museum reopened to the public for organised visits

Calderdale Inheritance Project
Recorded in 1882

Calderdale Joint Omnibus Committee

Calderdale Lapidary Society

Calderdale Local Orchard Group
A Hebden Bridge initiative to grow and promote apples

Calderdale Magistrates' Court
The Magistrates' Court is situated in what was the old Police Station on Harrison Road.

See Magistrates

Calderdale, Map of

Calderdale, Mayors of

Calderdale, Metropolitan Borough of

Calderdale Museums
The department of Calderdale Council which is responsible for museums and art galleries, including

Calderdale News
A free weekly newspaper published by Halifax Courier.

See Gordon Sampson

Calderdale Nicaraguan Link Group

Calderdale Nightingale
Popular name for Mrs Susan Sunderland

Calderdale Partnership

Calderdale Police Station
See Police Station and Halifax Police Station

Calderdale Royal Hospital
Opened in April 2001 next to the old Halifax General Hospital. It was formerly opened by Princess Anne, the Princess Royal on 15th March 2004.

The hospital is owned by Catalyst Healthcare and leased to the NHS.

For a new building, it is remarkably badly-designed. There's no air-conditioning in the wards. The ward-numbering [those that are still open] and the general layout are not obvious and the signage leaves lots to be desired. The car-parking is laughable.

See Roger Burnett

Calderdale Rubber Company
Established in 1948 at Glen Works, Todmorden. The business closed in 2000

Calderdale School of Physical Education

Calderdale Talking Newspaper Association
Produce audio cassettes for elderly and disabled

Calderdale Tourist Guides Association
A group known as the Calderdale Tourist Guides was established in the 1980s. Later, some of their members led a Town Walks programme organised and funded by the Calderdale Tourism Unit which closed in 2003.

It was succeeded by Calderdale Heritage Walks.

See Tourist Information

Calderdale TV
A video production company established in 1996 to produces films, videos and TV programmes

Calderdale Walking Festival
A programme of around 70 guided walks in and around the district which are organised during September. The festival was established in 1997 and is supported by courses, lectures and exhibitions. Details from the Tourist Information Offices

Calderdale Way
A 50-mile long circular walking route around the district. It was started in 1973, published in 1977 and inaugurated on 21st October 1978 by Lord Winstanley, chairman of the Countryside Commission.

It was Britain's first recreation footpath.

The idea was developed by local civic trusts. A group of enthusiasts – who formed the Calderdale Way Association – devised the route and produced the Calderdale Way Guide.

Starting at Clay House, Greetland, it passes through Halifax, Southowram, Brighouse, Norwood Green, Shibden, Holdsworth, Bradshaw, Saltonstall, Luddenden, Midgley, Wadsworth, Hebden Bridge, Todmorden, Langfield Common, Cragg Vale, Mill Bank, Ripponden, Norland, and back to North Dean.

It links with the Pennine Way, and the Todmorden Centenary Way, and there are many points at which the walker can change to public transport.

Walker and countryside campaigner, Miss Margaret Rooker of Greetland, was the first to walk the whole 50 miles. She set out on 27th December 1976, and completed the trek in a week, walking through ice and snow.

See Around Calderdale

Calderdale Way
Aka Elland bypass.

This is part of the main road from Halifax to Huddersfield, which comprises Ward's End, Commercial Street, Portland Place, Prescott Street, Skircoat Road, Spring Hall,, Huddersfield Road, Salterhebble Hill, Huddersfield Road, Elland Wood Bottom, Halifax Road and Calderdale Way.

The stretch of road – a part of the A629 – between the M62 at Ainley Top and Salterhebble, bypassing Elland. It was one of the most expensive roads in the country, and cost around £4 million per mile. 6 new bridges had to be constructed over roads, railway, canal and the Calder. 700,000 tons of rock had to be removed at Elland Wood Bottom to widen the existing Halifax to Huddersfield road to a four-lane dual carriageway.

Several buildings had to be demolished, including 90 homes, Riverside Mills, and Old Elland Hall.

Suggestions for a name for the new road included Calder Cross, Calder Way, Elafield Road, Eland's Way, Elland Link, Gateway, Longfield Lane, Progress Way, and Woodrow Highway.

The name Calderdale Way was suggested by councillors David Shutt and David Fox.

It opened on 13th December 1978

Calderdale Wesley Band of Hope
Recorded in 1878.

See Band of Hope

Calderside Company Limited
Hebden Bridge. The company was registered in May 1873

Calderside Dyeing Company
Dressers, bleachers and dyers with business at Calderside Dye Works, Hebden Bridge Originally Taylor, Hulme & Williamson. Around 1889, when Mr Williamson became sole proprietor, the company name was changed to Calderside Dyeing Company

Calderside House, Hebden Bridge
Number 3 Oakville Road, Charlestown. Built around 1840. It is now 2 dwellings: Rock Dene and Calderside House

Caldervale Railway Line
The modern railway route runs from Blackpool and Manchester, through Calderdale and on to Leeds, York and Scarborough. Coast to coast

Caldwell, Jonathan
[1863-1910] He worked for The Brighouse & Rastrick Gazette.

He went on to be the first editor of the Brighouse Echo [1887], owner of The Brighouse News [1891], and a Councillor for Brighouse [1900-1905].

He sold The Brighouse News to John Hartley.

He wrote a history of Brighouse and the co-operative society [1899]

In [Q2] 1889, he married Edith Anne [1865-19??] from Hackney, London, in York.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child who died young [before 1911]; (4) child who died young [before 1911]; (5) child who died young [before 1911]; (6) child who died young [before 1911]; (7) child who died young [before 1911]; (8) child who died young [before 1911]; (9) Sarah Jane [b 1890] who was a student [1911]; (10) Eleanor [b 1894].

The family lived at 119 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911].

The widowed Edith Anne was a sleeping partner in a newspaper & printing business [1911]

Calendar of local events

Caley's: A. J. Caley & Son Limited
Norwich-based chocolate manufacturer.

The business was orignally [1880] a chemist's shop.

The business was acquired by Mackintosh's on 9th July 1932.

When the Norwich factories were bombed in 1942, production was transferred to Halifax.

The Caley brand name was used until early 1960s.

In 1994, after Mackintosh's had become Rowntree Mackintosh and Nestlé, the company announced the closure of the Norwich factory.

In 1996, 3 former executives acquired the Caley's brand plus production equipment from Nestlé and formed Caley's of Norwich Limited.

See Eric Donald Mackintosh

Caley, William
[18??-1???] In [Q3] 1877, he married Martha Annie Sunderland in Halifax

Calf Garth, Barkisland

See Krumlin Wesleyan Chapel, Barkisland

Calf Hey Farm, Barkisland
Bottomley Lane. House dated 1700. Reuben Haigh was a tenant here

Calf Holes Farm, Steanor Bottom

Calf Lee Cote, Walsden
aka Calflee Cote. A small tenement farm within the lands of Calflee Farm.

See James Rigby Dawson

Calf Lee Farm, Walsden
Warland. Late 18th century laithe-house.

Owners and tenants have included

  • The Scholfield family of Walsden

  • James Scholfield was the owner-occupier of the property, having inherited the freehold from his grandfather. He was sole owner from 1790 to 1800. His brother John is recorded as having been a joint owner from 1801, which is when he would have been aged 16 years. He and brother John farmed the land, and his aunt Sarah was also a joint tenant

See Calflee Cote, Walsden

Calico Hall, Halifax
In 1493, Sir John Savile of Thornhill sold the property – then known as Shaw Hill, Shay Hill, Hunger Hill – to Edmund Furness.

It remained in the Furness family until 1623 when it was sold to the Clough family, who were mercers, probably calico merchants.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The house remained with the Prescott family until 1776, when William Prescott got into financial difficulties.

Robert Parker was persuaded by his wife and her relatives to buy the property in order to keep it in the family. Parker spent over £3,000 putting a new Georgean front on the building, together with other additions. He bought land to the north of the house from Sir Watts Horton and created a park. Abraham Towne was the gardener.

The estate included the land bounded by Clare Road, St John's Lane, and Oxford Road, together with other plots around Hope Hall and New Road.

After Parker's death in 1796, his widow, Mary, bequeathed the Hall to her half-sister, Ann, and her husband Rev Edward Prescott, passing the estate back into the Prescott family. The couple went to live at the Hall.

Around 1810, Mrs Prescott renamed the house Clare Hall.

See Upper Calico Hall, Halifax

California
Area of the western part of Halifax.

In 1859, the address of the West Hill Tavern, Halifax at 64 Hanson Lane was given as California. The district was then said to be

becoming large and populous, with 312 houses and over 1,500 inhabitants, and several new buildings in the course of construction

In April 1865, the Leeds Intelligencer announced that

Steps have been taken for the erection of a new church in the new and populous district of California in the West End of Halifax

This may have been Saint Augustine's Church, Pellon

California
Area above Todmorden

California Post Office
Recorded in 1905 at 38 Hanson Lane, Halifax,

Recorded in 1946, when Myrtle & Norman Dent were there

Calladine, Rev W.
[18??-1???] Superintendent of the Hebden Bridge Methodist Circuit [1891]. In 1891, he and Rev W. Calladine were Ministers at Salem Wesleyan Chapel, Hebden Bridge and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd

Callaghan, George
[1869-19??] Born in Birmingham.

He was a bedstead caster [1911].

In [Q1] 1898, he married Lucy Astell [1872-19??] in Kings Norton.


Lucy was born in Tedbury, Gloucestershire
 

Children: (1) William George; (2) Alberta Victoria May [b 1902].

The family lived at 5 Upper Fountain Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911, 1916]

Callaghan, Rev George
[1907-19??] He served at Kirkheaton and at St Catherine Sandal before becoming Vicar of Barkisland with Scammonden 1970-1974. He retired to live in Halifax

Callaghan, William George
[1899-1916] Son of George Callaghan.

Born in Birmingham.

He was an apprentice gas meter inspector with Sowerby Bridge Council; a member of Christ Church & Sunday School, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he enlisted in early April 1915, and served as a Seaman with the Royal Navy. He was trained for a sighter in a big gun team before being transferred to HMS Indefatigable which was cruising around the North Sea.

He died 31st May 1916 (aged 17), when HMS Indefatigable was sunk in the Battle of Jutland.

He is remembered on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial [Panel 14], and on the Roll of Honour at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge

Callan, A. J.
[19??-] Halifax artist

Callan, Rev John Robert
[1???-19??] Priest at Saint Mary's Catholic Church, Gibbet Street [1935]

Callis
Area of Hebden Bridge

Callis Bridge, Charlestown
Hebden Bridge

Callis Bridge, Hebden Bridge
Bridge #21 over the Rochdale Canal

Callis Lock, Hebden Bridge
Lock #13 on the Rochdale Canal. Built 1798 by William Jessop and William Crossley

Callis Wood, Hebden Bridge

Callon, John William
[1884-1915] Son of Charlotte and John Callon of 21 Mills Street, Cobden, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the D Company 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 1st June 1915 (aged 30).

He was buried at the Alexandria (Chatby) Military & War Memorial Cemetery [F 179].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Callow, Arthur
[1874-19??] Born in Birmingham.

He was a jeweller [1901].

In 1894, he married Sarah Jane Cockroft [1876-19??] from Halifax, of Halifax.

Children: (1) William [b 1895]; (2) Edith [b 1897]; (3) Harry [b 1900].

The family lived at Brackenbed House, Ovenden [1901].

In 1901, Hannah Cordingley [1851-19??], his widowed mother-in-law was living with them

Cally Hall, Todmorden
Whirlaw Common. Early 19th century laithe-house

Calverley, Mrs Alice
[17??-17??] Daughter of Abraham Kershaw.

In 1741, she heard John Nelson preach at Birstall and her father, Abraham Kershaw, invited him to Skircoat Green.

Thomas Calverley Riley is a descendant of the family

Calverley, Constance
[18??-19??] Daughter of Emma [née Mitchell] and James Calverley.

She and her cousin Abraham Gibson (5) inherited the Mitchell family estate – including the Boston Hill estate – in Wadsworth.

She outlived her brothers.

She lived at Boston Hill

Calverley, James
[18??-1???] In 1875, he married Emma, daughter of Henry Mitchell.

Children: (1) Constance; (2) William; (3) James Henry Mitchell [b 1883]

Calvert...
The entries for people with the surname Calvert are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Calvert
An occupational surname for a calf-herd, someone who tends cattle and calves.

John Calverde is recorded at York in 1309

There are currently around 57 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Calvert. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Calvert family
The family were important – and infamous – mill-owning in Wainstalls and Luddenden.

Mr Calvert was an early member of the family.

His son Jonathan established the family's manufacturing business.

Their mills included

See I. & I. Calvert, J. & J. Calvert and The Appleyard family of Wainstalls

Calvert & Aspinall
Engineers established by Reuben Calvert and Mr Aspinall at Green Mount Iron Works, Halifax [1870].

The business was continued with Reuben Calvert as sole proprietor [1876]

Calvert Brothers
In October 1888, a partnership of John Calvert, E. Calvert, H. Calvert, and F. Calvert, woollen spinners at Ladyship Mill, Halifax, was declared bankrupt. The losses were quoted as £230,000. John Calvert went missing after the failure.


Question: Can anyone tell me which Ladyship Mill this was? and whether these Calverts were associated with any others here?

 

Calvert's: I. & I. Calvert
Formerly J. & J. Calvert. Around 1887, Jonathan Calvert changed the name and the business became known as I. & I. Calvert

See Calvert's Factory School, William Henry Murgatroyd and Wainstalls Mills

Calvert's (Illingworth) Limited
Worsted spinners established by William Calvert and 2 sons in 1866. They were at Illingworth Mills, Ovenden [1937]. The business closed on 2nd April 1970.

Partners at the closure included cousins Philip Calvert and Martin Calvert, greatgrandsons of William Calvert.

The firm built the houses in Calvert's Row and Field View, Illingworth

Calvert's: J. & J. Calvert
Established by John and Jonathan Calvert, the sons of William Calvert, at Old Mill [1826].

Until 1885, the business was spinning white worsted yarn, but at Walter Garnett's suggestion, they began to produce coloured yarns.

They built a new mill

The partnership ended when John died in 1850. Jonathan carried on the business with John's sons William and Jonathan.

They leased Spring Mill, Wainstalls from John Abbott at an annual rent of £80 [1861].

William left the partnership in 1866.

Around 1870, the business was handed over to the younger Jonathan.

They bought Spring Mill after John Abbott's death [1871].

They were also at Abbott's Square Mill, Wainstalls which they bought from John Ambler Wilson. This strained the company's finances and in June 1873, they mortgaged both properties with Hebden Bridge solicitors: James Pearson Sutcliffe, and John Sutcliffe.

In 1871, he leased Lumb Mill, Wainstalls from Hollingrake & Clegg at an annual rent of £60. In March 1889, they bought the Mill.

Around 1877, Jonathan changed the name and the business became known as I. & I. Calvert

Calvert's: M. & M. Calvert Limited
Worsted spinners.

They were at Brookhouse Mill, Ogden [1897]; Forest Mills, Holmfield [1905, 1937], and; Bowling Dyke Mills, Halifax [1937].

Partners included Midgley Calvert and Miles Calvert

Calvert's: Mary & Ann Calvert
Miss Calvert was listed as milliner at The House at the Maypole [1805].

Mary Calvert was listed as milliner and mercer at Corn Market, Halifax [1822].

Mary and Ann Calvert were listed as straw hat makers, milliners and dress makers at 2 Corn Market, Halifax [1829]

Calvert's: William Calvert & Sons
Worsted spinners at Illingworth Mills, Ovenden. Established by William Calvert around 1871.

Partners included Clifford Calvert [1905], William Edward Calvert [1905], and John William Calvert.

See Calvert's (Illingworth) Limited

Cambodunum
Aka Campodunum. A Roman settlement between Manchester and Tadcaster and mentioned by Antoninus and Bede. Paulinus is said to have established a church here.

Camden identified this with Castle Hill, Huddersfield, but Watson and others have suggested that Greetland or Stainland are more likely, and use the landscape and the Roman altar from Thick Hollins as a part of the evidence.

It has been suggested that the name Scammonden may be derived from S'Cambodunum.

Others have placed the site at Doncaster

Camden, William
[1551-1623] One of Britain's first antiquarians who travelled widely to describe the monuments of Britain in Elizabethan times.

He visited the Saviles at Bradley Hall around 1590, when collecting material for his book Britannia, a guide to Britain and its monuments.

Of Halifax, he wrote that ...

the number of men in the parish – 12,000 – was greater than the total of cows, horses, sheep and other animals because – unlike the rest of the country – the people of Halifax lived by cloth-making and not by farming

See Horton

The Camm family
Alfred Camm had a cotton mill at Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse and Brookfoot. Their estate included the land occupied by Woodvale Silk Mills, and what is now Wellholme Park, Brighouse. The original house was divided into 3 smaller dwellings. They owned Woodvale Cotton Mills, and were involved with several other local companies.

A 6-month strike at the mills ended with the firm going out of business.

The family were involved with Saint James's Church which was built on a part of the Wellholme estate bought from Mrs Camm.

See Brookfoot Mill, Camm Brothers, William Camm and Ramsden, Camm & Company

Camm, Rev Abraham Birtles
[1840-1891] Born in Chesterfield.

Minister at Todmorden Unitarian Church [he resigned on 16th March 1888].

In 1872, he married Jennie Stockwell [1851-1888] at Kensington, London. Jennie died on 12th June 1888, whilst visiting her sister at Hampstead Heath, London.

He died at Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire when he fell from a railway train as it was passing through the Peak Forest Tunnel. The inquest returned a verdict of accidental death.

On 12th November 1891, a memorial stone – of carved white Sicilian marble – was erected in Upper End churchyard in the Peak District in his memory

Camm, Alfred
[1802-1843] Of Wellholme, Brighouse. Owned a cotton mill at Thornhill Briggs, Brighouse.

On 12th August 1835, he married Anna Maria, eldest daughter of John Brooke, at Halifax Parish Church.

An Alfred Camm is recorded at Well Holme in 1861. Was this his son?

He died 5th October 1843.

There is a memorial to him in Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse near the vault where he was buried.

See Camm family

Camm Brothers
Quarrying business of the Camm family at Slead Syke Quarry which he leased from Laura Forbes-Robertson.

On 19th February 1877, Patrick Kelly [aged 29] was killed at their Grange Hall Quarry when a large stone fell on him.

Solomon Marshall began working here and progressed to become manager. In 1???, Marshall took over the business

Camm, John D.
[18??-19??] Registrar of marriages at Todmorden [until June 1909]

Camm, Mrs Lydia
[18??-18??]

She sold a part of the Wellholme estate for the construction of Saint James's Church, Brighouse.

See Camm family

Camm Park Estate
See Wellholme Park

Camm, Sam
[18??-19??] Todmorden solicitor [1905]

Camm, Samuel
[18??-18??] Of Clifton.

Partner in Samuel Camm & Company.

He married Unknown.

Children: Mary Elizabeth [1804-1852] who married Henry Byrne.

He lived at Wellholme, Brighouse [1845]

Camm's: Samuel Camm & Company
Cotton, wool, tow and silk card manufacturers, curriers, leather dressers and strap makers at Clifton Bridge Mill, Brighouse [1845].

Partners included Samuel Camm

Camm, William
[1847-1914] Organist at St James's Church. He was involved in training the choir. He was so tall that a specially designed seat was installed from which only he was able to play. He was elected Councillor in the Brighouse Municipal Elections of 1893

Camm, William
[1848-1???] He was a cotton twiner [1891].

He married (1) Unknown.

Children: (1) Annie [b 1873] who was a silk gas winder [1891]; (2) Lucy [b 1876] who was a silk spinner [1891].

After 1882, he married (2) Nancy, widow of Alfred Gledhill.

The family lived at 65 New Bank, Northowram, Halifax [1891]

Living with them in 1891 were William's daughters and Nancy's children Hannah Gledhill, Charles H Gledhill, Willie A Gledhill, Mary A Gledhill, Oswald Gledhill, and Empsall Gledhill

Camm's: William & Alfred Camm
Cotton spinners and doublers at Woodvale Mill, Brighouse and at Brookfoot [1874].

In August 1867, they were charged on 21 counts under the Factory Act, of working their hands after 6:00 pm, namely, until 10 minutes past. They were fined a total of £63.

In September 1882, about 400 of their spinners went on strike rather than have a 10% reduction in their wages.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1883. At that time, there were reports that W. Camm and N. C. Camm were retiring.

See George Henry James Heal

Camotta, Richard
[1???-1841] Or Rocco.

Optician, carver and gilder in Halifax.

He is recorded as being a second generation Italian.

He married (1) Amelia.

Children: Margaretta [bapt 1831].

On 16th June 1834, he married (2) Ann Brier [1807-1896] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Sarah Swaine [1835-1839]; (2) Josephine [bapt 1837] who was a milliner [1861]; (3) Mary Ann [bapt 1840] who was a gilder [1872] and married [1872] Edwin Riley (a cashier) in Blackpool, and had a son Rocco Camotta Riley [1872-1879].

He and his wife Ann made barometers. Between 1825 and 1861, they were at Bull Close Lane, 14 Bull Green, Halifax [1829], 9 Bull Green, Halifax [Ann 1851], and 12 Bull Green, Halifax [Ann 1861].

Richard died in 1841.

Ann (carver & gilder) filed for bankruptcy on 31st January 1847.

Living with them in 1861 was nephew Isaac Bull [b 1853] (from Gravesend, Kent).

In 1881 and 1891, Ann and daughter Josephine were living in Blackpool. Ann was a lodging house keeper.

In 1892, Mrs Camotta was advertising

Select private apartments, with home comforts and sea view at 27 Queen's Square, Blackpool

Ann died in the Fylde district [Q4 1896] (aged 89) 

Camp End Farm, Norton Tower
Recorded on early OS maps. The name may have been inspired by the story of a Roman Camp at nearby Sentry Edge.

The farm was demolished when Norton Tower was developed.

An early house in the Norton Drive development was built on the site of the farm and is named Camp End

Campbell, Alexander
[18??-18??] Keeper of the Literary & Philosophical Society museum at Harrison House, Halifax [1845, 1874]

Campbell, Rev Dr
[18??-1???] Of Bradford.

He lived at Lightcliffe around 1860

Campbell, Fielding & Company
Worsted manufacturers established in 1885. They had a factory at Carlton Place, Halifax [1890]

Campbell, Florence G.
[18??-19??] Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895]

Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited
Gas & oil engine makers of Halifax.

Founded by Hugh Campbell at Stone Dam Mills in the late 19th century. It was later owned by Lewis John Akroyd with premises on Gibraltar Road.

On 20th December 1918, the Company entertained 3,000 employees to mark the completion of the manufacture of munitions for World War I, between 1914 and 1918.

In 1919, there was an industrial dispute at the company after Campbell had taken on and trained unskilled ex-servicemen after World War I. A strike began on 13th July 1919. The dispute was again reported on 15th May 1920. Financial problems followed and the bank took over the administration of the company. Campbell disliked this and attempted to establish a new business at his home, Newstead, Halifax.

There was a roll of honour remembering those company employees who served in World War I.

The firm closed in 1926. On 11th August 1928, the company's assets were bought by a London company.

On 1st November 1933, their premises at Gibraltar Road, West End, Halifax, were sold. The buildings were to be demolished and site used for housing.

After being unoccupied for 5 years, the property was sold to Cohen of Leeds, and then to Lewis J. Ackroyd Limited. Ackroyd demolished the buildings and Gibraltar Avenue stands on the site.

See Henry Campbell & Company, Grove Brewery, Brearley, John Edward Hyde, Mungo Pape, J. Pollard & Company and Cyril Rothery

Campbell's: Henry Campbell & Company
Gas & oil engine makers at Siddal Wharf [1905].

See Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited

Campbell, Hugh
[1860-1950] Born in Glasgow. He designed a cold starting crude oil engine and a stationary engine driven by coal gas for use in generating electricity. His design for the gas engine was accepted by a Leeds firm and he moved to Yorkshire.

In 1880, his father was appointed chief carpet designer for J. W. & C. Ward, and the family moved to Halifax. Robert Dempster offered to build the engines for him. He set up business at Stone Dam Works, Halifax.

He founded the Campbell Gas Engine Company Limited. He built new premises for the company at Gibraltar Road, Halifax.

Locally, his engines were installed at the Halifax Guardian office [1892], and the Halifax Theatre Royal.

He was a founder member of West End Golf Club. He presented a silver cup to the club.

He lived at Newstead, Halifax.

He had a large collection of rare books, some of which raised £8000 at auction in 1927 after the business had closed.

In 1930, he became manager of an iron works in Blackburn

Campbell, James B.
[18??-19??] He lived at Springfield House, Halifax [1905]

Campbell, Dr Michael
[1???-19??] Son of a Halifax headmaster.

In 1936, he wrote a study of slum life in London entitled Duke Street [publ Methuen]

Campbell, Thomas Vincent
[18??-19???] Born in Ireland.

He was a medical missionary [1901].

In 1891, he married Florence Gertrude, daughter of John William Longbottom.

The couple practised medicine in Southern India

Campenott, John
[17??-1???] One of the trustees of Sir William Staines's School

Campola Tea Company
Tea dealers in Halifax Borough Market [1905]

Can Bottoms, Walsden
Aka Bottoms

Can you help?
The Foldout lists some topics on which I should welcome your help and assistance

Canada

Canal basin
See Brighouse canal basin, Elland canal basin, Hebden Bridge Marina, Salterhebble canal basin and Sowerby Bridge canal basin

Canal interpretation centre
Royd Works, New Road, Hebden Bridge. Opened in 2003.

See Hebden Bridge Tourist Information Centre

Canal Lock House, Salterhebble
Wakefield Road. The lock-keeper's cottage for the Salterhebble stretch of the Calder & Hebble Navigation. Built around 1820.

See Salterhebble Bottom Lock, Salterhebble Middle Lock and Salterhebble Top Lock

Canal Road Bridge, Sowerby Bridge
Bridge which carries Canal Road over the Calder & Hebble Navigation to join Fall Lane and Mearclough Road

Canal Yard Livery Stables, Todmorden
Recorded in 1990, when Todmorden & District Carriage Company Limited were here

Canals

Candelatt, Charles
[18??-19??] Engineer and plumber.

He lived at Croft Cottage, Brighouse

Canham, Henry Robert Field
[18??-18??] BA.

Educated at St John's College Cambridge. He was Assistant Master at Heath Grammar School [1876]

Canker Dyke, Elland
Ainley Top. Stream of which the waters were said to have healing powers.

See Bath Tavern, Elland

Canning, Charles
[1854-1921] Born in Halifax.

He was a cab driver [1881]; a carter [1891]; a mechanic's labourer [1901]; a scrap iron dealer / an iron broker's manager [1911].

He married (1) Sarah Ann Canning [1856-1899].


Sarah Ann was born in Halifax.

She was a mill hand [1881]

 

Children: (1) Thomas William [1874-1909] who was a carter [1891]; (2) Maria [1878-1881]; (3) Mary A [b 1884] who was a worsted spinner [1901]; (4) Ellen [b 1886]; (5) Catherine [b 1888] who was a worsted spinner [1901]; (6) Charles; (7) Walter; (8) Joseph.

Sarah Ann died 1899.

In 1906, he married (2) Alice Bottomley [1861-19??] in Halifax.


Alice was a widow and had 2 children: (1) Willie Bottomley [b 1895] who was a labourer worsted mill [1911]; (2) Mary Ann Bottomley [b 1897] who was a cotton spinner [1911]
 

The family lived at 13 Senior Fold, Halifax [1881]; Senior Fold, Halifax [1891]; 32 Foundry Street, Halifax [1901]; 54 Alma Street, Halifax [1911]; 54 Alma Street, Pellon [1912]

Canning, Charles
[1890-1958] Son of Charles Canning.

He was a brick maker's labourer [1911]; a brick maker [1914].

During World War I, he enlisted [2nd August 1914] with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) 

There is no record of his seeing active service

Canning's Ideal Bakeries
Recorded in 1936 and 1939, when they had stores at 105 Commercial Road, Halifax, 27 Boothtown Road, Halifax, Kingsley House, Parkinson Lane, Halifax, 350 Ovenden Road, Halifax, and Savile Park Street, Bell Hall

Canning, Joseph
[1894-1970] Son of Charles Canning.

Born 24th April 1894.

He was a cotton piecer [1911].

During World War I, he served with the Northumberland Fusiliers and enlisted in Halifax [16th November 1915] with the Durham Light Infantry. He was sent to France [1916] and demobilised [1919]

Canning, Walter
[1892-1915] Son of Charles Canning.

He was a apprentice iron moulder [1911]; an assistant iron dealer.

He joined the Territorial Army in Halifax [October 1912].

He transferred to the regular army [8th October 1915] and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [19th December 1915].

He was buried at the Talana Farm Cemetery [III F 1]

Cannon Cinema, Halifax

Cannon Hall, Clifton
A row of cottages. Demolished in 1???

Cannon, Thomas
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 4 Smithy Yard, Haley Hill [May 1904]

Cant Clough, Heptonstall
A Neolithic or Bronze Age prehistoric implement – made of chert and limestone – was found here

Canteen
A densely-populated industrial area of Todmorden in the early 19th century. The name comes from the Old Canteen Inn which stood there.

See Canteen Mill, Todmorden

Cantrill, E. W.
[18??-18??] Pastor at Wellington Road Baptist Church, Todmorden [1871-1875]

Cape Insulation Limited
The asbestos processing company moved into Acre Mill, Old Town, Hebden Bridge in 1939 in order to meet the demands for producing filters for gas masks during World War II.

At its height, the company employed 580 people at the mill.

In 1970, the company moved to Westmorland.

In the 1970s, deaths of many people who had worked at the factory began to cast doubts on the company's safety record, and the Department of Health conducted a public enquiry into the matter.

In October 2003, the Evening Courier called for an enquiry and revealed that an estimated 750 people died after working at the Acre Mill asbestos plant. Others – such as wives of employees – may have developed asbestos-related conditions.

At the time, it was not known that asbestos could lead to cancers, such as mesothelioma and asbestosis.

The company dumped asbestos waste at Heptonstall, Carr Head, Pecket Well, and Mount Skip.

Since 1975, Hebden Bridge Asbestosis Action Group has been campaigning for the Scout Road tip to be made safe.

In 1978, Hebden Royd Town Council proposed that the tip should be converted into a picnic site.

In June 2005, it was announced that Cape is to create a £40 million fund to pay for future asbestos-related compensation claims from British workers who are expected to file claims for at least the next 46 years. The Cape chairman said its proposal to set up the fund, review it every 3 years, and top it up with future injections of money should enable all claims to be settled

Cape, William
[1898-1978] Born in Leeds [16th October 1898].

In 1922, he married Sarah Ellen Fossey in Halifax.


Sarah Ellen was the daughter of
Ernest George Fossey
 

Children: (1) Kenneth [b 1923]; (2) Betty [b 1928]; (3) Terence W [b 1931].

The children were all born in Halifax

Capel-Hanbury, Isabel Ada
[1865-1887] In 1882, she married Harry Stanhope Rawson

Capron, Thomas
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at 60 Copley Street [15 lodgers in 1903]

Capronnier, Jean Baptiste
[1814-1891] A Belgian from Brussels who produced much stained glass work in Britain, mainly in the north of England – local examples include the Unitarian Church, Todmorden. He is recognised by his use of vibrant colours

Capstack, Joseph
[18??-18??] Botanist.

He lived at Hemingway's Row, New Bank, Halifax [1874]

Card Clothing & Belting Limited
Of West Grove Mills, Halifax. The company was registered on 8th March 1924 and was formed to acquire the undertakings of A. Duckworth & Sons Limited, Critchley, Sharp & Tetlow Limited, Fleming, Birkby & Goodall Limited, James Taylor & Sons Limited, Joshua Lister & Sons Limited, Tom Briggs, W. H. Webster (Wirecards) Limited, and W. V. Middleton Limited. They owned factories at Shipley, Brighouse, Cleckheaton, Fleetwood, Halifax, Mirfield, Northallerton, Pendleton, Rochdale and Yarm.

In 1949, officers of the company included Clement Vernon Wright [Chairman], W. C. Womersley FCIS, ASAA [Managing Director], E. C. Clegg [Director], A. F. Firth [Director], Lord Ffrench [Director], H. D. Leather FCA [Director], J. A. Wright [Director], and George Lister MBE [Secretary]

Carding Specialists
An early name for Crosrol Limited

Cardus, J.
[18??-19??] Hosier, retailer of wool and woollen clothing at 57 Commercial Street, Halifax [1915, 1922]

Cardwell, Ernest
[1888-1917] Son of John Cardwell.

He served in the Army, in India, prior to the start of World War I.

During World War I, he was a Private, Durham Light Infantry, 2nd Battalion.

He was awarded the 1914 Star, Victory and British.

He died of wounds [1st December 1917].

He was buried at the Rocquigny-Equancourt Road British Cemetery, Manancourt [Grave VI E 3]

Cardwell, James
[1???-18??] He was landlord of the White Horse, Rastrick [1871, 1877].

He married Sarah [18??-1895]

After James's death, Sarah took over at the White Horse [1881]

Cardwell, John
[1852-1911] He married (1) Ellen Bulmer.

Children: (1) Susannah [1879-1920]; (2) Emma [1881-1951]; (3) Ernest Cardwell; (4) Ivy [1891-1923]

In 1903, John married (2) Jane, widow of William Wilcock.

John died after an accident at the Halifax Gas Works where he was a Gas Stoker and had worked for 30 years

Cardwell, Samuel
[1822-1???] Born in Thornhill. He was a chemist and druggist.

He was living with his sister Matilda [1828-1???] at Commercial Buildings, Brighouse [1851]

Caretaker's House, Blackley Chapel
Built in 1789. This was the original Blackley Particular Baptist Church.

When the new chapel was built in 1878, the old Church became redundant, and, after standing unused and neglected, this became the caretaker's house.

It is now 2 separate dwellings

Carew, John
[18??-18??] Postmaster for Halifax [1863-1867]

The Carey family of Elland
They operated several boats on the canals locally

Carey, Anita
[1948-] Born in Halifax.

In the late 1960s, she worked in the Sales Department at Kosset Carpets.

She became an actress and appeared in many TV rôles including

  • I didn't know you cared [1975] where she played Pat

  • Coronation Street [1996] where she played Joyce Smedley

  • Still Crazy [1998] where she played a Tax Woman

  • Doctors [2009] where she played Vivien March

Carey, Rev Ronald Clive Adrian
[1921-19??] He served at Birmingham, at Chichester, and at Keighley before becoming Vicar of Illingworth [1955-1959]. He left to work at the Religious Broadcasting Department of the BBC [1959-1968], then served at Claygate, at Emley and at Guildford

Cargill, Rev J. R.
[19??-19??] Minister at West Vale Baptist Church. In 1956, he moved to South Shields

Carholes Clough, Todmorden
Lydgate. There was a brickworks here in the 18th century

Carle, Peter
[1856-1929] Born in Halifax.

He was a carpet finisher [1879].

On 14th October 1879, he married Mary Elizabeth Smith [1856-1929] in Halifax.


Mary Elizabeth was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Thomas Henry; (2) Edmund [1884-1955]; (3) Charles [1889-1901].

The family lived at 35 Range Lane, Haley Hill [1881, 1911]

Carle, Thomas Henry
[1882-1917] Son of Peter Carle.

He was a wire labourer [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds [5th December 1917].

He was buried at the Rocquigny-Equancourt Road British Cemetery [V D 19]

Carless, Rev Frank
[1922-19??] He served at Normanton and at Rashcliffe before becoming Vicar of Warley [1964-1978]

Carleton, Rev Edward Barrington
[18??-19??] BA.

Curate-in-Charge at St Chad's Church, Hove Edge [1914]. In 1915, he was appointed vicar of Brownhill, Batley

Carlile, Rev Wilson
[1847-1942] Church of England curate who founded the Church Army in 1882

Carline, George Reginald
[1885-1932] He was on the staff of the Oxford English Dictionary; an assistant curator at the Wellcome Historical Medical Museum; at the Pitt Rivers Museum, Oxford [1919-1926]; the first president of the Oxford University Archæological Society [1919]. before becoming Keeper at Bankfield Museum [1926-1932], succeeding Henry Ling Roth. He contributed to the Museum's collections on looms and weaving.

He died at Hampstead on 24th December 1932

Carling, Arthur
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Artillery.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carling, Arthur
[1875-19??] (Possibly) son of Mr Carling.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a fustian dyer [1901].

In [Q3] 1896, he married Mary Elizabeth Jackson [1876-19??] in Todmorden.

Children: (1) Frank; (2) Norah [b 1900].

The family lived at Chapel House, Eastwood [1898, 1901]; 738 Halifax Road, Todmorden [1915]

Living with them in 1901 were sister-in-law Susannah Jackson [b 1872] (single, cotton spinner) and her son James (aged 1 month) 

Carling, Clifford Adshead
[1898-1918] Born in Todmorden [7th January 1898].

Baptised 20th October 1898. Only his mother – Maud Carling – was named on the church record.

In 1901, he was living with his grandmother Eliza Carling.

In 1911, he was living with his aunt Susan and uncle Joseph Youell.

He was a warehouseman [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 15th Battalion Royal Scots Fusiliers.

He died 30th November 1918.

He was buried Berlin South-Western Cemetery [VIII E 9].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carling, Frank
[1898-1917] Son of Arthur Carling.

Baptised [2nd July 1898].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion The King's (Liverpool Regiment).

He died 27th September 1917 (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carling, Maud
[1873-1???] Daughter of Mr Carling.

She had a son Clifford Adshead Carling, father unknown

Carling, Mr
[1840-1???] Or Carlin.

Around 1862, he married Eliza [1840-1???].


Eliza was born in Cottingham
 

Children: (1) Ada [b 1862] who was a cotton carder [1881]; (2) Susan [b 1863] who was a cotton carder [1881] and married Joseph Youell; (3) Emma a [b 1867] who was a cotton carder [1881]; (4) Alfred [b 1871] who was a throstle hand (cotton) [1881]; (5) Robert [b 1865] who was a cotton spinner [1881]; (6) Maud; (7) Arthur; (8) Laura [b 1878].

The family lived at 52 Cockden Hill, Stansfield [1881]; Wellfield Terrace, Todmorden [1901].

Living with the widowed Eliza in 1901 was Clifford, the illegitimate son of daughter Maud

Carlisle, Thomas
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Army Service Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carlton, A. E.
[1???-19??] Established the Carlton Café and a confectionery business at 17-19 The Arcade

Carlton, Benjamin Harold Ackroyd
[1879-1947] Son of Samuel John Carlton.

Born in Halifax.

He moved to Bradford with his parents when a child.

He was a police sergeant [1911]; a retired chief constable [1925].

He married Emma Maud Dunn [1878-1925] at St Mary's, Laisterdyke [7th January 1903].

Children: Jack [1907-1979].

The family lived at 139 Thornbury Avenue, Bradford [1911].

Mary died in Kent [22nd February 1925].

Benjamin Harold died in St Luke's Hospital, Bradford [Q2 1947].

His home address was in Folkestone, Kent

Carlton Café, Halifax
In the premises of confectioner A. E. Carlton at 17-19 The Arcade.

Recorded in 1936, when A. Wilkinson was the proprietor

Carlton Chambers, Halifax
Office accommodation at Bull Green / King Cross Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Carlton, Charles
[1829-19??] Local authority on antiquarian relics

Carlton, Rev E. B.
[18??-19??] Curate at Elland [1905] and Curate at Brighouse [1920-1924]

Carlton House, Halifax
Number 2, Carlton House Terrace, Halifax.

Built by Thomas Nicholl.

See Carlton House School, Halifax

Carlton, Samuel John
[1850-1902] Born in Teesdale.

He married Annie / Annis Elizabeth Akroyd at Halifax Parish Church [16 Jun 1869].


Annie / Annis Elizabeth – born 31st July 1846 and baptised 29th September 1846 at Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge – was the daughter of
Jonathan Akroyd
 

Children: (1) Lewis John [1869-1870] who died aged 4 months; (2) Ada [b 1871]; (3) Benjamin Harold Ackroyd; (4) Louisa Baxendale [1882-1943].

Lewis John was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3765] with his Akroyd grandparents.

John Samuel died in Wharfedale

Carlton Street Register Office, Halifax
Originally a house built in the 1830s.

In 1878, the Halifax Register Office moved into the building. They left in 2009. The building was put up for sale

Carlton, W. S.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the East Kent Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carmichael, Alexander
[1852-1903] He was a member of Brighouse Borough Fire Brigade [from 1878]; a member of the Brighouse Company of the 1st Volunteer Battalion Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment.

He lived at Back Bonegate, Brighouse.

He was killed when he was fell from the fire engine as it sped to a fire at Alexandra Mills, Brighouse on 26th October 1903

Carmichael, J. B. H.
[18??-1880] He served as a Lieutenant with the 33rd Duke of Wellington's Own Regiment.

He and Lieutenant R. S. P. Robinson died in a landslip at Naina Tal India on 18th September 1880.

There is a memorial to him in Halifax Parish Church

Carmichael, W.
[18??-19??] Postmaster for Halifax [1913-1919]

Carnation show
On 17th August 1829, a Carnation Show was held at the home of George Beswick, landlord of the Triangle Inn. The prize for the best bloomed carnation was a copper tea kettle.

See Halifax Floral Society

Carnegie, Andrew
[1835-1919] Scottish-American industrialist, businessman and philanthropist.

In 1901, he retired and devoted his time to philanthropic ventures.

In 1903, it was reported that

he has given, chiefly within the last two years, 730 library buildings

In 1904, he established the Carnegie Hero Fund to recognise acts of bravery in civilian life in the USA and Canada.

In 1908, he established the British Carnegie Hero Fund Trust in his native Dunfermline.

He had several links with the district: Foster Lane Methodist Church, Hebden Bridge, Halifax Technical School, Hebden Bridge Library, Skibo Castle, Dornoch, Sowerby Bridge Library, Evan Charles Sutherland-Walker and West End Congregational Church

Carnegie, Rev John
[18??-1???] Methodist minister at Luddendenfoot [1893]

Carnegy, Canon P. C. A.
[18??-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1918-1921]

Carnelley, J. A.
[18??-191?] Of Southowram.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Southowram War Memorial

Carnelley, Joseph
[18??-19??] Coal merchant at Church Street, Halifax [1910, 1936]

Carpenter, Harry
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Devonshire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carpenter, Rev Russell Lant
[18??-18??] BA.

Minister at Northgate End Chapel [1856-1864]. He was Director of the Halifax Mechanics' Institute and a Temperance worker and established Northgate End Band of Hope.

He left at Christmas 1864.

He was preacher when the new Chapel opened on 2nd October 1872.

See Stoney Royd Cemetery

Carpenter, William C. A.
[1926-] He was Mayor of Calderdale [1992-1993]

Carpenter, William H.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carpet mosaics
Also known as Crossley mosaics, these small carpet samplers were produced by a technique designed by Mr Schubert and exhibited by Crossley's Carpets at the Great Exhibition in 1851.

They were an extension of the firm's tapestry carpets. They were produced by arranging a sheaf of coloured wools – several feet in length – so that the end cross-section produced a picture or other design. A piece of hessian was then glued to the end of the sheaf and a thin section sliced off, leaving the picture or design fixed to the backing. They were often framed.

When People's Park opened in 1857, employees received a souvenir mosaic in the form of a lapel badge. These measured 6 in by 3½ in and depicted 2 roses within a double oval with the words

Dean Clough Mills 14th August 1857

and Francis Crossley's initials between the words

People's Park

Carpet mosaics were produced until around 1869 when Mr Schubert emigrated to America

Carpets International Limited
Of Kidderminster. A conglomerate of several carpet companies including The Carpet Manufacturing Company Limited, Croslee Yarns Limited, John Crossley & Sons Limited, Debron Carpets Limited, Gilt Edge Carpets Limited, E. Illingworth & Company (Bradford) Limited, and Kosset Carpets Limited

Carpmael, John
[1750-1815] Son of Thomas Carpmael of Staffordshire.

He was the Deputy Constable of Halifax [1805] and innkeeper of the Upper George Inn, Halifax.

See Forestall

Carpmael, Sarah
[1779-1831] Daughter of John Carpmael.

Born in Pudsey.

She married William Tongue.

She was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Carpmael, William
[1784-18??] Son of John Carpmael. He was innkeeper of the Upper George Inn, Halifax.

In December 1819, he was declared bankrupt

Carr, A. J.
[18??-19??] Local poet.

He worked on the trams for Halifax Corporation transport.

His work included

  • The May Pole, Warley

He was a member of the Calder Valley Poets

Carr & Craggs Moor
A part of Todmorden Moor at an elevation of 1400 ft

Carr, Anthony
[17??-17??] Born in Southowram. He was a yeoman [1746] and a labourer [1755].

In 6th December 1746, he married Elizabeth Clapham from Kildwick at Kildwick.

Children: (1) John [1747] who died in infancy; (2) Mary [b 1750]; (3) John [b 1755]

Carr Barn, Walsden

Owners and tenants have included

Carr, Major C. R.
[18??-19??] In 1922, he was one a 21 airmen who set off from Croydon Aerodrome in the 810-mile King's Cup race. As he flew his Avro Lucifer over Mixenden, he developed compass problems and had to land in a field behind Mixenden Council school. He had to spend the night at the Old Cock in Halifax whilst the aircraft was taken to Savile Park

Carr Cliffe, Warley
Built by Sam Sutcliffe. He started building the house on 9th July 1906 and moved in on 30th November 1906.

It stands opposite the Warley Institute.

It was refurbished in 2010

Carr Cliffian Club
Founded 13th April 1909

Carr, Mrs Elizabeth
[19??-19??] In 1936, she was the proprietor of Carr's Wallpaper Stores at 56 Southgate, Halifax, and a confectioner at 60 Southgate, Halifax

Carr Green Nursing Home, Rastrick
This was formerly the Carr Green Lane School, Rastrick

Carr Green Workhouse, Langfield
This is now private dwellings.

Carr, Rev H. J.
[18??-19??] Pastor at Lee Mount Baptist Church [August 1919]

Carr Hall Castle, Holywell.Green

Carr Hall Falls, Stainland


Question: Is this water source associated with Outram's Mill and/or Outram's Dam?

 

Carr Hall Farm, Holywell Green
See Walter Helliwell

Carr Hall Valley, Stainland

Carr Hall Well, Holywell Green
A well. There is a walled-off section.

See Holy Well, Holywell Green and St Helen's Well, Holywell Green

Carr House
Area of Todmorden

Carr House, Booth
Owners and tenants have included

Carr House Estate, Todmorden
Housing estate at Carr House

Carr House Farm, Mytholmroyd

Carr House Farm, Shelf
Carr House Road. Early 17th century house. It stands between Shelf Parish Church and Bethel Chapel.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now 2 dwellings

Carr House Farm, Todmorden
Carr House Lane. Aka Carr House Fold. Hall and cross wings house dated 1618.

Owners and tenants have included

Carr House, Midgley

Owners and tenants have included

Carr, James
[1715-1794] Halifax attorney.

He was a subscriber to the publication of Watson's History

Carr, John
[1723-1807] York-based mason and architect, known as Carr of York. Son of Robert Carr. Born at Horbury. He went into partnership with his father.

In 1746, he married Sarah Hinchcliffe. They had no children.

Carr designed many buildings, including Crow Nest, Lightcliffe, Haugh End House, Sowerby, Kirklees Hall, Brighouse, Lee House, Shibden, Lightcliffe Old Church, Pye Nest House, Halifax, Royds' House, Halifax, Saint Matthew's Church, Rastrick, Shay House, Halifax, The Square, Halifax, Well Head House, Halifax and White Windows, Sowerby, and Harewood House which was later altered by Sir Charles Barry. He was Lord Mayor of York [1770, 1785]

Carr Laithe, Todmorden
House which stood on the path known as Lovers' Walk. The house was demolished in 19??

Carr, Mr
[17??-1???] The family came from Settle and Giggleswick.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) William

Carr of York
Popular name of York architect John Carr

Carr, Right Rev Thomas
[1787-1859] BA, DD.

Son of Thomas Carr.

He was appointed a chaplain to the East India Company and moved to India [1817].

In February 1838, he was appointed the first Bishop of Bombay

Carr, Robert
[1697-1760] Mason and quarry-owner of Leeds.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) son; (3) son; (4) son

Carr, Rev Stephen
[16??-1718] Of Honley. He was a master at Heath Grammar School. He was Curate at Southowram [1708-1714]

He married Sarah Richardson

Carr, Thomas
[1757-1???] Son of Mr Carr.

He moved to Halifax around 1770.

He was a bookkeeper. He became a manufacturer and moved to Gomersal.

He married Catherine Wilkinson.

Children: (1) son; (2) Thomas

Carr, Thomas
[18??-19??] Around 1880, he established business as a painter and general house decorator at 11-13 Gibbet Street, Halifax.

He did much work for the British Government in many parts of the country. He also worked on the Halifax Borough Markets

Carr's Wallpaper Stores
High-class painters and decorators. They were at 55 Crown Street and 56 Southgate, Halifax [1836, 1952] In 1936, the proprietor was Mrs Elizabeth Carr

Carr Well, Luddenden
New Road. 2 early 19th century cottages. Now a single dwelling

Carr, William
[17??-1???] Son of Mr Carr.

He was a surgeon apothecary at Elland

Carr, William
[18??-1???] Manager at Halifax Corporation Gas Works. On 20th November 1888, he was charged with
wilfully, and with intent to defraud, abstracting 78 pages from a book said to be necessary for getting to the bottom of the gas scandals

Carr Wood House, Shelf
Built by Samuel Peel who also had a grocer's shop there.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Carr Wood, Shelf
A large forested area is recorded in the 19th century

Carriage Collection
A collection of horse-drawn vehicles which is kept at Shibden Barn.

The collection includes

Carrington Binns
Formed around 1982 when the Carrington Wire Division of SG Industries – who had factories at Barnsley and Birmingham – joined T. & J. Binns & Company. They specialised in the manufacture of plating and drawing wires, and fine, high carbon wires.

In 1996, they moved from West Mount Mills, Halifax to Lowfields, Elland.

In April 2006, the business was sold to a Russian company Severstal-Metiz.

In January 2010, the Company – then known as Carrington Wire – announced that it would close

Carrodus, John Tiplady
[1836-1895] Born in Keighley, he became a nationally-famous violinist and teacher

Carroll, Coote Alexander
[1812-1886] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Horton [24th November 1812].

Baptised [22nd December 1812] at Bradford Cathedral.

In the list of electors in the 1841 election for MPs for the West Riding Coote Alexander Carroll, Richard Sterne Carroll, and George Frederick Carroll are listed as electors in Norland township. Their addresses are given as Boston-in-Clifford, Bramham. He also had property in Ashford, County Wicklow, Ireland, where he was High Sheriff and a JP.

On 13th November 1843, he married Elizabeth Tayler in Dublin.

He died [6th January 1886] at Boston Spa.

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £41,151 17/1d

Carroll, Francis Rawdon
[1821-1868] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Guiseley.

He never married

He died [6th January 1868] at Boston Spa

Carroll, George
[17??-18??] In 1806, he married Frances Hodsden, great-granddaughter of Richard Sterne.

Children: (1) Coote Alexander; (2) Richard Sterne; (3) George Frederick; (4) Francis Rawdon

Carroll, George Frederick
[1817-1889] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Hawksworth.

In the list of electors in the 1841 election for MPs for the West Riding Coote Alexander Carroll, Richard Sterne Carroll, and George Frederick Carroll are listed as electors in Norland township. Their addresses are given as Boston-in-Clifford, Bramham. He never married.

He died at Boston Spa [17th April 1889].

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £36,732 17/1d

Carroll, James
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Artillery.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Carroll, Richard Sterne
[1814-1879] Son of George Carroll.

Born in Horton. Baptised [18/08/1814] at Bradford Cathedral.

In the list of electors in the 1841 election for MPs for the West Riding Coote Alexander Carroll, Richard Sterne Carroll, and George Frederick Carroll are listed as electors in Norland township. Their addresses are given as Boston-in-Clifford, Bramham. On 3rd December 1861, he married Louisa Rickaby née Boynton in Bridlington. At that time he was living at Tolston Lodge, Tadcaster.

He died [6th May 1879] in Scarborough

Carroll, Robert
[1873-19??] Born in Bradford.

He was a clay miner [1901, 1911].

In [Q3] 1894, he married Margaret Walsh [1873-19??] in Halifax.


Margaret was born in Glasgow.

She had a daughter Mary Elizabeth Walsh [b 1891]

 

Children: (1) Robert Henry; (2) Catherine [b 1900]; (3) Margaret [1901-1905]; (4) Ann [b 1904]; (5) Agnes [b 1910].

The family lived at 22 Victoria Street North, Halifax [1901]; 3 Albert Street North, Haley Hill, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1901 was widowed mother-in-law Catherine Walsh [b 1841] (born in Ireland) 

Carroll, Robert Henry
[1894-1915] Son of Robert Carroll.

He was a doffer spinner [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 7th Battalion King's Own Scottish Borderers.

He died 25th September 1915.

His family received notification of his death in March 1916.

He was buried at the Dud Corner Cemetery, Loos [VI J 12].

Cars

Carstairs, James
[18??-18??] CE.

He lived at Elland Hall [1861]

The Cart Sheds: Shibden Hall
These can be seen in the Folk Museum at Shibden Hall. A number of agricultural vehicles, including The Heck Cart and the fire engine are kept here

Carter...
The entries for people with the surname Carter are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Carter
[Surname]

There are currently around 50 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Carter. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Carter's: A. & M. Carter
In 1886, Misses A. and M. Carter established a baby linen, underclothing and fancy repository at 9 Silver Street, Halifax

Carter & Company
Manufacturers of worsted coatings at Grove Mills, Ovenden [1881]. The suffered around £14,000 when the Mills were destroyed by fire on 11th October 1881

Carter & Wright (Engineers & Machine Tools) Limited
Engineers, machine tool makers and nut and bolt manufacturers. Partners included George Carter.

They were at Hexagon Iron Works, Haley Hill [1905] and Hexagon Iron Works, Pellon Lane [1937]

Carter Brothers
Commission worsted spinners at Kiln End Mills, Elland [1905]. Partners included Mann Carter

Carter's: W. L. Carter & Company
Soap manufacturers at Dredger Soap Works, Halifax [1906]

Carter's: William Carter & Sons (Halifax) Limited
Worsted spinners at Spring Mills, Halifax [1937]

The Cartledge family
Around 1700, they bought land in Elland from the Langdale family at a low price. The land was rich in minerals. They mined the clay and coal.

Around 1720, they started Woodman House Pottery.

In 1802, Jonathan Cartledge built Woodman House, Elland

Cartledge, Charles
[1786-1827] Son of Dr Joseph Cartledge.

Born 28th May 1786.

Died 12th August 1827.

He was buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cartledge, Dr
[17??-18??] He succeeded Dr John Thompson as the Halifax physician.

He was a member of Northgate End Chapel

Cartledge, James
[1721-1793] Colliery owner. He was a Deacon at Salendine Nook Baptist Church. At one point, he was upset at being expelled from the church membership on account of [unspecified] family troubles in which the authorities accused him of not having proper control over his family. He vowed that he
would not sit down in that chapel again

He continued to attend the services, but stood throughout.

He further vowed that if God allowed him to prosper, he would build Him a house.

He acquired coal mines in Blackley and left Salendine Nook.

In 1789, he built Blackley Particular Baptist Church. He was largely encouraged by the miners to build the Church.

He preached at the Church for a short time, until 1792 when he persuaded Rev John Hindle to move from Elland.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) (possibly) Joseph; (2) (possibly) John.

He died 18th June 1793.

He was buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard (in the old part).

See Elland Particular Baptist Church

Cartledge, James
[1781-1828] Son of Dr Joseph Cartledge.

Born 3rd May 1781.

Died 6th February 1828.

He was buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cartledge's: James Cartledge & Sons
Earthenware manufacturers at Blackley.

Partners included James Cartledge, Joseph Cartledge, and John Cartledge.

In 1787, the business was dissolved by mutual consent, and it was carried on solely by John Cartledge


Question: Does anyone know if these gentlemen are members of the family of James Cartledge?

 

Cartledge, John
[1751-1809] Son of James Cartledge.

Born 2nd November 1751.

He was an active Baptist. With his father, he was instrumental in the founding of Blackley Baptist Church.

He married Betty, daughter of John Woodhead.

Children: (1) Mary [1782-1798]; (2) Hannah [1786-1860] who married Jonathan Taylor of Leeds.

The family lived at Woodman House, Elland.

He died 15th July 1809

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cartledge, Jonathan
[17??-18??] In 1802, he built Woodman House, Elland. He worked Woodman House Pottery

Cartledge, Joseph
[17??-18??] In 1792, Joseph Cartledge and James Cartledge bought the Thornhill Briggs Estate at Brighouse which had passed from Mary Bedford and the Bedford family of Brighouse, to her relative George Newstead.

Cotton spinner at Thornhill Briggs Mill, Brighouse which he built around 1797.


Question: Does anyone know whether he was connected to the Cartledge family of Blackley?

 

He established Joseph Cartledge & Sons.

In 1825, he was declared bankrupt

Cartledge, Dr Joseph
[1747-1815] MD.

(Possibly) son of James Cartledge.

He married Mary, daughter of John Woodhead.

Children: (1) James; (2) Charlotte [1784-1861] who married Dr John Thomson [1782-1818]; (3) Charles.

The family lived at Brow Bridge, Greetland [1803]; Blackley [1815]

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cartledge's: Joseph Cartledge & Sons
Cotton spinners established by Joseph Cartledge at Thornhill Briggs Mill, Brighouse [1790s]. Recorded in 1809

Cartledge Yard, Blackley

Cartwheel Centre, Elland
A youth and community centre established in the former Temperance Methodist Chapel

Cartwright & Noble
Silversmiths at Halifax. Partners included Thomas Cartwright and Luke Noble.

In February 1840, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Cartwright, George
[18??-191?] Of Sowerby.

During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Cartwright, Jack
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Engineers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cartwright, John
[1747-1794] Son of Mary [née Finkler] and William Cartwright.

He was a mercer and woollen draper in Halifax.

The family originated in Catterick and moved to Halifax in the mid-1700s.

On 15th December 1773, he married Mary, daughter of Thomas Milne at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) William; (2) John.

John and Mary were buried at Halifax Parish Church

Cartwright, John
[1777-1854] JP.

Son of John Cartwright.

He wrote A Memoir of the Milne family [1849] in which he describes his brother William's experiences at Rawfolds Mill and Grace Holroyd.

He was a merchant in Warley.

On 4th October 1800, he married Elizabeth Tinkler at Kirkheaton.


Elizabeth was the daughter of Mary [née Atkinson] and James Tinkler
 

Children: (1) John [1802-1804]; (2) John [1804-1879] who never married and became a Canon in Durham Cathedral; (3) James [1805-1815].

Soon after his marriage, he purchased The Hollins, Warley. Around 1814, the family moved to Norton, County Durham where he became a magistrate.

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Cartwright, Major
[17??-1???] He attended Heath Grammar School [1750s]. He was an early advocate of Parliamentary Reform

Cartwright, Thomas
[17??-18??] Watchmaker, clockmaker and jeweller at Crown Street, Halifax [1837]

Cartwright, William
[1774-1839] Son of John Cartwright.

Born and baptised in Halifax in 1774.

He was a captain in the Halifax Militia; a cloth dresser/finisher and dyer.

In 1812, he moved from Halifax to occupy the Mill at Rawfolds, near Liversedge. The area, was populated with small cropping shops.

He began the use of shearing frames at Rawfolds and his establishment was the only one of its kind.

In February 1812, a delivery of shearing frames destined for the mill had been attacked and destroyed by Luddites as it crossed Hartshead Moor; Cartwright and other mill-owners had been expecting trouble as weapons had been stolen from various parts of the parish. On the evening of 11th April 1812, the mill was attacked by a Luddite mob of about 150 men led by George Mellor. The Luddites also threatened Cartwright's pregnant wife and his children.

On another occasion, Cartwright was shot in Bradley Wood.

His brother John wrote A Memoir of the Milne family [1849] in which he describes William's experiences at Rawfolds Mill. The memoir makes no mention of the shooting in Bradley Wood.

On 12 May 1800 or 23rd October 1800, he married Sarah Atkinson.


Sarah was the daughter of Joseph Atkinson of Bradley Mill at Kirkheaton
 

Children: (1) Mary Ann (1801- 1821); (2) a stillborn infant [buried 31st December 1804]; (3) William [1803-1806]; (4) Agnes [1806-1812]; (5) William Joseph (1808-1838); (6) Sarah [1810-1825] who was buried at Halifax Parish Church; (7) Amelia [1812] who died in infancy

He was buried at Liversedge

He was the model for Robert Moore in Charlotte Brontë's novel Shirley

The Carver family

Carver Clough, Rishworth
Named for Mr Carver and the Carver family

Carver, George
[17??-18??] Dealer and chapman at Hipperholme.

In May 1807, he was declared bankrupt

Carver, Mr
[1???-18??] Landlord of the King's Arms, Rishworth [1827]. He also had a business as a carrier.

See Carver Clough, Rishworth

Carver, William
[1826-1???] Son of Mary [1796-18??] and Joah Carver [1796-18??] mechanic of Cleckheaton. Born in Hightown.

He was mechanic and inn keeper at the Bee-hive, Halifax [1851].

Living with him in 1851 were parents Mary and Joah Carver (machine maker), and brother Tom [aged 14] (apprentice solicitor) 

Cary, Edward
[15??-16??] In 1580, he was granted the
mines of slate stones within the wastes of Northowram, and the mines of sea coal upon the waste within the manor of Bradford

Casa Arredamenti
Halifax furniture store which occupies the former Albert Works, Halifax at Ward's End

Cascade, Walshaw Dean
Farmhouse [dated 1830] and outbuilding [dated 1800] at Back Shaw, Walshaw Dean. The doorways are initialled TS.

The triangular feature in the gable end may have been a dovecote in an internal room with a stone floor.

The property stands on the left-hand side of Lower Walshaw Dean reservoir as you head up towards the Lodge. The buildings were used when the reservoirs were under construction

Cash Clothing Company, Todmorden
Recorded in 1905 at White Hart Fold

Cash recorders
There were several local companies producing cash recording equipment for use in accounting cash sales and storing cash in retail situations. Some local links include Automatic Cash Displayer, Automatic Cash Till, British Machine Company Limited, Cash Register, Gledhill-Brook Time Recorders Limited, Jubilee Works, Halifax, Simplex Time Recorder Company, Stockall-Brook Time Recorders Limited and Union Cash & Time Recorders Limited

Cash Register
Invented in 1886 by George H. Gledhill to record shop transactions on a continuous paper roll

Cash Supply Stores Limited
Established in 1881 by W. Clayton. In 1889, it became a limited company.

They had premises at

where the various shops sold

  • General groceries, teas, coffees, spices, canned meats and fruits, and Italian warehouse sundries

  • Ports, brandies and whiskies

  • Butter and general dairy produce

  • Drugs, chemicals and patent medicines

and they carried out tea blending, coffee roasting and grinding.

They had an Oriental Café which was decorated with oriental, Arabic and Moorish works of art.

They were famous for their celebrated

Beef wine

They also had premises at Huddersfield and Batley

Cash, William
[1843-1914] FGS.

Born in Leeds [April 1843]. He moved to Halifax when he was a young boy.

He was a banker's clerk [1861]; a bank accountant [1871, 1881]; an employee of the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company Limited; an auditor for Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society [1872]; a bank manager [1891]; an accountant, employer [1901].

In 1879, he and Thomas Hick wrote a paper entitled

On Fossil Fungi from the Lower Coal Measures of Halifax

On 11th March 1911, a life annuity was granted to him

for valuable services rendered to the cause of science

In 1866, he married Sarah Ann, daughter of James Patchett, at Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary [1867-1951]; (2) Annie [1867-1881].

The family lived at Delph Street, Halifax [with his uncle William Oddy 1861]; 1 Clarence Street, Halifax [1871]; 38 Elmfield Terrace, Skircoat [1881, 1891]; 26 Mayfield Terrace South, Halifax [1901].

He died in Halifax

Cashmore, Rev Thomas Herbert
[1892-1984] Born in Barbados.

He trained as an architect before being ordained. He served in Antigua and in India [1917-1933] but had to return to England because of ill-health. He was Vicar of Brighouse [June 1942-1946]. He went on to become the Canon Missioner and Suffragan Bishop of Dunwich

Casimir, Rev Mother
[18??-19??] She was Lady Superior at the Convent of the Sisters of the Most Holy Cross & Passion, Halifax [1905, 1912]

The Casino
Aka Northgate Hall

The Casson family
They lived at Barkisland Hall. In the 1920s, they renovated the interior and destroying much of the original detail.

See George Casson

Casson, Elizabeth
[17??-18??] Matron of Halifax Workhouse [1830]

Casson, George
[17??-18??] In 1800, he was the Halifax Agent for the British Fire Office of London

Casson, George
[18??-1???] He married Ellen Todd [18??-1???].

Children: Emma who married Ernest George Fossey

Casson, George
[1890-1948] Son of Thomas Casson.

He was a woollen manufacturer. He had business at Bar Mill, Elland.

He lived at Barkisland Hall and Llandudno.

He married Connie [1888-1957].

Children: Tom.

George died after suffering a heart attack and then falling down stairs at Barkisland Hall and breaking his neck.

George and Connie were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Casson, George F.
[18??-19??]

He lived at Talbot House, Elland [1906]

Casson, James
[1848-1900] Born in Elland.

He was a woollen manufacturer employing 17 men, 30 women & 9 boys [1881].

In 1861, he established James Casson Limited woollen manufacturers at Norton Mills, Elland.

On 27th May 1879, he married Ann Tate at Elland Parish Church.


Ann was the twin daughter of Christopher Tate
 

Children: (1) George Frederick [1880-1944]; (2) Ernest Tate [1882-1946]; (3) Sophia [b 1885].

The family lived at Norton House, Elland [1900].

James died 10th January 1900.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £15,178 2/4d.

Probate was granted to William Smithies (cotton waste dealer), and John Crawshaw (shoddy manufacturer) 

Casson's: James Casson Limited
Manufacturers of worsted and cotton warp serges, and coloured wool blankets. Established by James Casson in 1861. The business was at Norton Mills, Elland [1905, 1951]

Casson, John
[1???-18??] Halifax architect. He was at Bath Parade, Halifax [1822]

Casson, Johnnie
[1944-] Comedian and presenter. Born in Halifax.

He began his career as a drummer with a group called the Cresters. He has made many appearances on TV and on the stage.

In [Q1] 1969, he married Jean Williams in Calder district.

Children: (1) Linda Maria; (2) Lucy; (3) Aimee Louise.

The family lived at Brighouse

Casson, Lucy Elizabeth
[1974-] Brighouse-born singer and dancer. Daughter of Johnnie Casson.

She appeared as a ballet tart in the film version of The Phantom of the Opera [2004] and in the Harry Potter film The Goblet of Fire [2005]

Casson, Thomas
[1???-18??] He built the George & Dragon, Elland on land known as Sheep Croft. He was landlord there [1845]

Casson, Thomas
[1847-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a saddler [1891].

In 1873, he married Martha Ann Crowther from Wymondham, Norfolk, in Halifax.

The family lived at 12 Northgate, Elland [1891]

Casson, Thomas
[1863-1933] He was a woollen cloth manufacturer [1891]; a woollen manufacturer [1901, 1911]; a partner in Thomas Casson & Brother.

In 1889, he married Emily Marchant in Halifax.

Children: George.

The family lived at Upper Catherine Street, Elland [1891]; Woodville, Elland [1901]; Springfield, Victoria Road, Elland [1911]; Barkisland Hall which he bought around 1919. His wife, Emily, died before they could move into the Hall. Thomas and Emily both died at Springfield, Victoria Road, Elland

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Probate records show that Thomas left an estate valued at £72,779

Casson, Thomas
[1919-19??] Son of George Casson of Barkisland Hall.

In July 1940, he was imprisoned for 18 months for manslaughter and banned from driving for 10 years after he knocked down and killed a 17-year-old mill-girl who was cycling at Boothtown. He said he was dozing at the time and did not know that he had hit anyone.

He was Lieutenant Casson at the time.

In 1947, he married Audrey Hesketh in Conway, North Wales.

Children: Jane [1953-1956].

Jane was buried at Christ Church, Barkisland

Casson's: Thomas Casson & Brother
Woollen manufacturers at Commercial Mills, Elland [1905]

Casson, William
[18??-18??] Halifax architect. Recorded in 1850 at Ferguson Street, Halifax

Casterton, M. J.
[19??-] Curate at Brighouse [1967-1973]

Castle
Area of Todmorden

Castle Carr Barrows
In 1842, there were records of a group of Neolithic or Bronze Age barrows at Castle Carr, but these may have been lost in the construction of a reservoir. Joseph Savile Stott wrote about the barrows

Castle Carr footpath trial
Roads and paths across the Castle Carr estate had long been used by the local people for access to the moor for peat gathering and for travelling through to Oxenhope.

In 1868, roads across estate were closed off and some compensation was paid by Joseph Priestley Edwards. The closures gave rise to a rumbling dispute amongst the local people.

Events leading to the trial began with an incident on Saturday 24th October 1896 when a local man, Sam Murgatroyd, met John Murgatroyd and some gamekeepers on a disputed footpath on the Castle Carr estate. Sam took the case to the High Court.

The trial began at Chancery in London on 24th February 1898. Sam Murgatroyd lost his claim in the High Court and had to pay costs of £1001 6/3d to John Murgatroyd. Using figures for average earnings, £1,001 6/3d in 1898 is roughly the equivalent of £457,000.00 today.

There was considerable sympathy with his plight. The verdict caused great surprise locally and was seen as a knock from London

Castle Carr fountains, Luddenden Dean
There are many ornamental fountains in the water garden at Castle Carr.

Halifax Corporation built the lakes and fountains in return for permission to built reservoirs further up the valley.

See Luddenden Valley waterworks

Castle Carr, Luddenden Dean
Mock-mediæval house built around 1860 by Captain Joseph Priestley Edwards.

Demolition started in 1962, with only a few sections remaining today.

The house and water gardens were a popular attraction and are currently open to the public once a year.

See John Greenwood

Castle Carr Reservoir
It covers 1 acre and has a capacity of 3 million gallons

Castle Carr Tunnel
Dimmin Dale. On 13th October 1869, the Mayor J. D. Hutchinson, cut the first sod of the tunnel, a part of the Hebden Extension of the Halifax Waterworks scheme.

The commemorative silver spade used for the event is now in Bankfield Museum, and is mistakenly engraved Castle Caw.

The tunnel is 2,550 yards long and at an elevation of about 1,400 feet above sea-level and carries water from Widdop Reservoir between Pecket Well and the Luddenden valley.

There are 3 ventilation shafts for the tunnel

  • Shaft #1 above Pecket Well is 392 ft deep

  • Shaft #2 is 476 ft deep

  • Shaft #3 is 381 ft deep

Castle Farm, Holywell Green
Carr Hall Lane. Aka Carr Hall Castle.

Victorian folly in the form of a mock Gothic castle with turret, towers and battlements, similar to the towers in Shaw Park.

Built in the mid-19th century by the Shaw family.

Mr Redman, the bailiff to the Shaw Estate who bred the shire horses for Brookroyd Mills, lived here. The farm was known as Redman's.

It was voted Britain's Best Home.

It was restored by Terry George and Michael Rothwell.

It is hired for private parties and weddings.

In 2011, it was announced that a water-wheels to be restored and used to generate electricity.

Castle Fields, Rastrick

Castle, Dr Frederick
[1857-1891] LRCP, LRCS, LFPS.

Medical practitioner at Cornholme. He was assistant to Dr Charles William Thorp.

On 13th October 1891, Dr Thorp found him insensible in a chair in his surgery

Castle Grove Hall, Todmorden
Halifax Road.

Recorded in 1909, when Todmorden Skating Rink Company opened a roller-skating rink here

The Castle, Halifax
The Castle – or Scarborough Castle – stood at the bottom of Crown Street, Halifax. The name comes from the distinctive lantern and square castellated tower on the 3-storey building. The clock here came from Halifax Parish Church.

In 1774, the property was owned by William Bolland who established a reading room and a news room.

In 1779, the ground floor was occupied by bankers Swaine Brothers & Company.

In 1809, a private newspaper room was established here by B. Milnes.

In 1832, the Halifax Guardian was first published at the offices of Whitley & Booth here.

It was demolished when Crown Street was widened in 1888. It stood next-door to the east of Number 11 which is currently occupied by Millet's.

This is discussed in the collection of Prints by J. R. Smith.

See William Cockcroft

Castle Hall, Mytholmroyd
/ Cragg Vale.

Owners and tenants have included

Castle Hill Co-Op, Rastrick
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society at Castle Hill [opened 1876]

Malcolm Terry writes

the branch had butchers, confectionery, greengrocery. These closed before 1963 and part of the building was demolished

Castle Hill Farm, Sowerby
52/54 Towngate. House dated INEN 1662.

It is named for the nearby Castle.

John Rawson bought the property in 1874.

It is now 2 dwellings.

In Graptolite's historical notes on the Church at Sowerby, he writes

The site of an old fort or castle at the head of the village has been thought to be Roman, though it is not known when it was built or destroyed. On its site Castle Farm is yet standing.

See John Rawson and Trinity Cottage, Sowerby

Castle Hill House, Rastrick
Castle Hill / Thornhill Road.

The Fryer family lived in an earlier house on the site. The present house was built around 1830.

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions.

It is now 5 houses. The estate is now a small golf course.

See Castle Hill, Rastrick, South Lodge, Rastrick and Sparrow Park

Castle Hill, Rastrick
In 1669, Dr Johnson of Pontefract describes an earthwork at Castle Hill, Rastrick
It was trenched about and hollow in the middle, as if many stones had been got out of it. The circumference of it measured 188 yards within the trench, and 117 yards on the top

The earthworks were said to have been destroyed to get to the stone within it.

The feature was possibly Iron Age.

Watson describes the earthwork.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

Over the years, cremation urns have been found here.

In 1820, Stephen Rushworth was digging in his garden at Castle Hill, Rastrick when he discovered a ceramic urn containing bones. The urn stood on his window ledge, until it was removed and subsequently lost

Castle Hill Social Club, Mankinholes

Castle Hill, Sowerby
60 Towngate. 16th century house. Cased in stone in the 17th century

Castle Hill Tunnel, Todmorden
Tunnel for the Manchester & Leeds Railway. 192 yards in length

Castle Hill Wood, Rastrick

Castle Lodge, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

Castle, Roy
[1932-1994] Dancer, musician, singer, and television presenter. He was born at Scholes, near Holmfirth. He lived for a time in Elland and attended Mildred Crossley's dancing school.

Although he was a lifelong non-smoker, he was diagnosed with lung cancer and was believed to be a victim of passive smoking during his time working in smoky clubs. The Roy Castle Clean Air award is now given to pubs, restaurants and other public areas which do not allow smoking on their premises

The Castle, Sowerby
Prehistoric site. It can be seen in a field behind Castle Hill Farm

In Graptolite's historical notes on the Church at Sowerby, he writes

The site of an old fort or castle at the head of the village has been thought to be Roman, though it is not known when it was built or destroyed. On its site Castle Farm is yet standing

Castle Street Working Men's Club
Established for his workers by John Arthur Ingham at the family's Cinderhills Mill, Todmorden

Castle, Thomas (Tom)
[1888-1918] Son of William Castle.

Born in Brighouse.

He was familiar as a fat boy who became the mascot of Thomas Sugden & Son in the early 1900s

his good health the results of eating products made from Sugden's flour!

He appeared in advertisements with captions such as:


Sugden's Flour makes the Big Loaf
The Big Loaf makes the Big Boy

and


I am fifteen years old,
I weight fifteen stones,
and I eat bread made from Sugden's flour

and featured on a series of advertising postcards published by Sugden's.

In the 1911 census, he was described as a waggoner at a flour mill.

He lived at 10 Daisy Street, Brighouse [with his parents and siblings 1891, 1911] and 15 Bracken Road East, Brighouse [where he died].

He died [aged 30] on 7th December 1918 during the influenza epidemic, following World War I. The illness was possibly aggravated by his obesity

Castle, William John
[1837-1907] Born in Hertford, Hertfordshire.

He was a cart driver [1891].

In 1867, he married Sarah Crouch [1853-1911] from Merton, Norfolk, in Hertford.

Children: (1) William John [b 1865] who was born in Brighouse; (2) Henry [b 1873]; (3) Mary Maria [b 1876]; (4) Arthur [b 1878]; (5) Sarah [b 1881]; (6) Walter [b 1883]; (7) Thomas; (8) Clement [b 1891]; (9) Alfred [b 1893]; (10) Harry [b 1901].

The family lived at 2 Daisy Street, Brighouse [1891]; 10 Daisy Street, Brighouse [1911]

Castlefields, Rastrick
Owners and tenants have included

Castlemaine House, Southowram
9 Blaithroyd Lane / Southowram Bank.

The Blaithroyd Working Men's Club was recorded here in 1905 & 1934.

The buildings were demolished in the 1970s

Cat Moss, Rishworth

Cat Rocks, Wainstalls
A rocky outcrop behind the Cat i' th' Well pub, Wainstalls. There is a legend relating to the white rock – Cat Rocks – behind the pub which says that ...
the licensee must paint the rock white on a certain day of the year
If he fails to do this, the pub will fail.

The story says that ...

Robin Hood started this custom after he befriended the landlord of the pub on his travels between Nottingham and Carlisle. The landlord had hidden Robin Hood in the pub – some say it was a priest's hole – when the authorities were following him. The landlord's reward was a share in some of Robin's ill-gotten gains. The money was hidden near to the rock, and the only way the landlord could find the money was to paint it yearly so that Robin Hood on his travels could see that the hoard was being looked after, because the stone was newly-painted.
One year, as a joke, the landlord painted the stone pink not believing the legend. There was an uproar in Halifax and the pub went out of business later that year

Cat Steps, Brighouse
Path at Cromwellbottom.

Leads from Brier Lane to Fort Montague

Cat Steps, Northowram
Footpath between Back Clough and The Hough

Cat Stones, Rishworth

Catherall, John
[1766-1???] Eldest son of Jonathan Catherall.

He set up business with James Robinson at Bradshaw Pottery.

Mrs John Catherall was listed as an earthenware manufacturer at Soil Hill End [1861]

Catherall, John
[1793-1859] Of Swill Hill End Pottery, Ovenden.

He married Rachel [1799-1869].

They were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Catherall, Jonathan
[1740-1807] Born in Anglesey. He came to work as a navvy at Salterhebble. He stayed with Mr France.

He married Elizabeth France [1744-1799].

Children: (1) John; (2) Stephen; (3) Tom; (4) Samuel; (5) Rachael.

He established a pottery at Keelham, near Thornton. He established Jonathan Catherall & Company, Small Clews Pottery and Soil Hill Pottery.

The family built Whistle Hall, Ogden.

Elizabeth and Jonathan were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Catherall's: Jonathan Catherall & Company
Potteries and coal-mining business established by Jonathan Catherall.

In 1893, Nicholas Taylor bought their Denholme Pottery

Catherall, Rachael
[1775-1???] Youngest daughter of Jonathan Catherall.

She married James Robinson.

After James's death, Rachael carried on as partner in Robinson & Wade

Catherall, Samuel
[1???-18??] Grandson of Jonathan Catherall.

Around 1830, he established Bradshaw Head Pottery

Catherall, Samuel
[17??-1???] Son of Jonathan Catherall.

In 1785, he established a pottery at Denholme

Catherine House
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Catherine House Bridge, Luddenden Dean
Originally a wooden bridge over the stream. It was later replaced by a stone bridge

Catherine House Farm, Cragg Vale
Clattering Stones Road. Early 19th century.

A tall chimney was built here for the incineration of carcasses at the farm

Catherine House Farm, Luddenden Dean
Methodists held their meeting at Head House, Luddenden Dean before moving here. They subsequently moved to Luddenden Dean Wesleyan Chapel

Catherine House, Midgley
Owners and tenants have included

  • George Ainley [1861]

Catherine House, Northowram
The name of Upper Shibden Hall when it was rebuilt by Michael Stocks about 1800, so named because it was near Catherine Slack

Catherine Slack Cottage, Hove Edge

Catherine Slack Courthouse, Queensbury
18th century building

Catherine Slack, Queensbury
Township and area of Calderdale between Boothtown and Queensbury.

Some houses here dated CJS 1779 are listed.

On 3rd December 1920, several people were injured when 2 trams were blown over in high winds.

See Catherine Slack Junior School, Catherine Slack, Brighouse and Slack

Catherine Slack Rangers
Rugby League team. Established in 18?? The team headed the league table in March 1911

Catholes Dam, Todmorden
See Ann Clegg

Catholes Mining Company
Established on 1st July 1869. Voluntarily wound-up on 24th February 1877

Catholes Stone, Todmorden
A stone inscribed


Iesu Deus Dominus Montium
Jesus, Lord God of the Mountains

was used at the same time, and may have been made by masons working on the
Robinwood viaduct.

It lies near a man-made baptismal pool in Hudson's Clough which was used during the 18th and 19th centuries

Catholes, Todmorden
Group of houses including Jumps Farm

Catholic Memorial Club, Halifax

Catholicism

Catlow, Robert
[1849-1909] He was a dyer's clerk [1881]; a head clerk [1891].

In 1839, he married Maria Ann Clegg in Leeds.

Children: (1) Frances [b 1843] who married John Edward Eckersley; (2) Joseph [1843-1844]; (3) Robert [b 1846] who married Mary [b 1849] daughter of iron moulder George Wilcock of Sowerby Bridge.

The family lived at 18 Clarence Street Halifax Yorkshire [1881]; 9 Lord Street, Halifax [1891]

Living with them in 1881 was niece Mary Lilly Wilcock [aged 6]. In 1895, Mary Lilly Wilcock married William Barrett from Castleford, in Halifax.

In 1901, the widowed Robert was living at Lumb Lane, Bradford with his widowed daughter Frances Eckersley [aged 57] and her son William B Eckersley [aged 26]

Catseye
Reflecting roadstud, road safety device invented and manufactured by Percy Shaw. An important feature of the catseye is the rubber mount which cleans the glass as traffic runs over the pad. During World War II, when Malaysian rubber was difficult to obtain, the company experimented unsuccessfully with synthetic rubber

Cattle Fairs
See Halifax Winter Cattle Fair, Heptonstall Cattle Fair and Todmorden Monthly Cattle Fair

Catty Well Beck, Luddenden
Aka Caty Well Brook. Stream which joins Luddenden Brook near Jerusalem Farm. The name is a corruption of Catherine's Well. There are several bridges over the brook at Wainstalls, 2 of which are in a parlous state.

See Nibble & Clink dam

Caty Well Bridges, Wainstalls
There are 2 bridges across Caty Well Brook, Wainstalls

Caty Well Brook, Wainstalls

See T' Cat i' th' Well, Luddenden Dean and Caty Well Bridge, Wainstalls

Causeway East Farm, Todmorden
Lee Bottom Road. Recorded in 1690 (deeds). Rebuilt in the early 19th century. Many original features remain

Causeway Farm, Lumbutts
Lumbutts Road. Early 18th century house and barn. The barn in inscribed IMK 1711

Causeway Farm, Warley
17th century house

Causeway Foot
Moorland village to the north of Halifax.

Also the area on the Keighley Road near Ogden Water

Causeway Foot Post Office
Recorded in 1905 at 6 Causeway Foot, Holmfield

Causeway Head, Halifax
Owners and tenants have included

Causeway Lodging House, Halifax
4 Causeway. Licensed lodging house recorded in 1861, when James Savage was the proprietor and there were 8 lodgers.

His son William Savage and family were living here [1871]

Causey Hall, Halifax

Causey Head, Halifax
A raised causey which ran from Halifax Parish Church to Woolshops.

See Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary

Causey Wood, Todmorden

Cautley
See Cautley Holmes Bottomley, Nathaniel Bottomley and Samuel Bottomley

Cavaghan, Charles
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Border Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cavaghan, John M.
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cavalier Country Club
A name for Holdsworth House, Holmfield in the 1960s

Cavalry Field, Halifax
Name for an area which lay west of Rhodes Street between Gibbet Street and Hanson Lane.

Tenters are recorded here [1854]

Cavendish, Frederick
[1836-1882] Liberal MP for Brighouse.

In 1882, he became the Chief Secretary to Ireland.

On 6th May 1882, he was murdered in Ireland by an Irish extremist group. The murder sparked of the Irish Riots in Brighouse

Cavendish, William
[1592-1676] He was a Royalist commander during the Civil War and later was made 1st Duke of Newcastle-upon-Tyne

Caveney, Nora
[1924-1942] Of Walsden.

During World War II, she served as a Private with the first Auxiliary Territorial Service (ATS) in AA Command.

She was killed by a bomb splinter whilst she was on duty at a predictor on a south coast site during a raid [17th April 1942]. She was buried at the Netley Military Cemetery, Hampshire

Caw, John
[1802-1894] Son of Grizell [née Mccoll] and John Caw.

Born in Perth, Scotland.

He was the first Manager of the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company [1829]; a bank agent [1837]; a banker [1841]; a bank manager [1851]; an accountant & share broker [1861]; an accountant [1871]; an arbitrator of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society [1872]; an accountant & auditor [1881, 1891]; an Auditor for the West Riding [until the WRCC was formed in 1888]; retired [1854]. He is still recorded as accountant and West Riding auditor [1874].

He was (possibly) one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

On 13th October 1835, he married Frances (Fanny) Wormald [1816-1???] at Bilton with Harrogate.

Children: (1) Eleanor Wormald [b 1837] who married John Banter Caw; (2) Fanny Grizelda [1839-1903] married [1860] Rev John Carter Hyatt, vicar of Queenshead; (3) John; (4) Croft Wormald [1842-1928] married Charlotte Norris Coleman; (5) Isobel Mary [1844-1914]; (6) George Frederick [1845-1864]; (7) Arthur Morgan [1847-1917] married Maria Jane Tuckfield; (8) Herbert Kenyon [b 1850]; (9) Edward Arnold [1853-1921].

The family lived at 9 Lord Street, Halifax [1837]; St John's Lane, Halifax [1841]; North Park, King Cross Lane, Halifax [1845]; Aked's Road, Halifax [1851]; 4 Aked's Road, Halifax [1861]; 9 Trinity Place, Halifax [1871, 1874]; 11 Aked's Road, Halifax [1881, 1891].

See Crossley & Leeming

Caw, John
[1840-1923] John Caw Junior.

Son of John Caw.

He was a commercial clerk, wire manufactory [1861]; a stock & share broker and accountant at 2 George Street, Halifax. [1871]; a stock broker [1881, 1891]; a Major in the 4th Yorkshire West Riding Rifle Volunteers [1881]; a retired stock broker [1901].

On 23rd April 1873, he married (1) Harriet, daughter of Josiah Aked, at Halifax.

Children: (1) John [1874-1954]; (2) Alice Gertrude [1875-1954] who married Arthur Herbert Dilworth.

He married (2) Ellen Huntriss, at Halifax [23/12/1884].


Ellen was the daughter of William Huntriss
 

Children: (3) Douglas Huntriss [b 1886] who married Elsie Jeffries; (4) Ellen Huntriss [1887-1912]; (5) Winifred Margaret [b 1889] who married George P Jones.

The family lived at 4 Aked's Road, Halifax [1861]; 9 Trinity Place, Halifax [1871]; 6 Park Road, Halifax [1874]; Upper Willow Hall, Skircoat [1881]; Willow Hall, Skircoat [1891]; Railway Side, Formby, Lancashire [1901].

See Halifax Ragged School

Cawdry
A variant of the surname Cawthra

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Cawdry, Mrs Kathleen M.
[19??-19??] She was Mayor of Calderdale [1975-1976]

Cawood House, Shelf
Property in Brow Lane owned by Joseph Lister in the 18th century

Cawsey House, Sowerby Bridge
16th century house which stood on the Old Causeway, Sowerby Bridge.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was demolished in 1922

Cawthera
A variant of the surname Cawthra

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Cawthera, Jonathan
[1847-1904] Son of collier William Cawthrey.

Born in Bradshaw/Ovenden.

He was a coal miner of Ovenden [1870, 1871]; a collier mining for water well sinker [1881]; a clay miner [1891]; beerseller at the Brighton Hotel, Halifax [1901, 1904].

In 1870, he married Sarah Town [1848-1911] at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah, of Ovenden, was the daughter of labourer Thomas Town.

She was a machine minder in a worsted factory [1871]

 

Children: (1) Jane [1871] who died in infancy; (2) Bairstow [b 1874] who was a brick labourer [1891]; (3) Thomas [b 1875] who was a labourer (tramway) [1891, 1901]; (4) William [1878-1890]; (5) Emma [b 1880] who was a worsted spinner [1891] and married Herbert Wilkinson; (6) James [b 1881].

The family lived at Bradshaw Lane, Ovenden [1871]; Bradshaw Row, Ovenden [1881]; 9 Leopold Street, Northowram [1891].

He died on 17th October 1904.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £156.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1904

After Jonathan's death, Sarah took over at the Brighton Hotel.

Living with the widowed Sarah (lodging house keeper) at the Brighton Hotel in 1911 were son Thomas (assisting in the business), daughter Emma and family and 8 lodgers

Cawthorne, David
[17??-1???] Landlord of the Golden Lion, Todmorden. He and John Crossley were amongst those who supported the Manchester-Halifax coach service of which the pub was a staging post.

A Henry Cawthorne was landlord of the Golden Lion [1809]

Cawthra
Other forms of the surname include Cawdry, Cawthera and Cawthrey

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Cawthra. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Cawthra & Kitchen
Halifax printers established by William Cawthra and John Kitchen. They had premises at Broad Street and Old Market. They printed the Halifax & Huddersfield Express

Cawthra Brothers
One of the few remaining textile firms in Halifax

Cawthra, Daniel
[18??-18??] On 3rd May 1864, at Halifax Town Hall, he was charged with tendering two bad half-crowns at Halifax. He was sent for trial at the sessions

Cawthra, David
[19??-] CBE.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School [1944-1951].

He became a civil engineer. He was Chief Executive of Balfour Beatty [1988-1991]

Cawthra, James
[1858-1???] Born in Bradshaw / Ovenden.

He was a clay miner [1891] [1901]; a clay miner (brick works) [1911].

He married Alice A Hitchen [1864-1???].


Alice was born in Manchester.

She was a worsted weaver [1891]

 

Children: (1) John W [b 1884] who was a clay miner labourer [1901], a clay miner (brick works) [1911]; (2) Samuel [b 1885] who served with the 2nd/4th West Riding Regiment [WW1]; (3) James Edward; (4) Ivy [1901] who died in infancy.

The family lived at 27 Brickfield, Ovenden [1891]; 30 Victoria Street North, Halifax [1901]; 7 Crib Lane, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1891 was sister-in-law Sarah E Hitchen [b  1878] (worsted mill hand) 

Cawthra, James Edward
[1889-1915] Son of James Cawthra.

He was a brick yard labourer [1911]; employed by Oates & Green.

In 1911, he married Lizzie Sykes [1890-19??] at St James's Church, Halifax.


Lizzie, a millhand of Cribb Lane, was the daughter of Holdsworth Sykes
 

The family lived at 2 Back Cross Hills, Halifax [1915].

During World War I, he enlisted in May 1915 and served as a Private with the 8th Battalion, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died from wounds in the Dardanelles [3rd November 1915] (aged 26).

He was buried at Hill 10 Cemetery, Turkey [III E 2].

Lizzie died High Stones Farm, Cragg Vale [14th April 1946] (aged 56) 

Cawthra, Jim
[18??-19??] A well-known Brighouse characterJim Crow – who would go into a local pub and pick up a table with his teeth. Ike Danger also indulged in this obviously popular pastime.

He was involved in the Irish Riots of 1882, when he cleared out all the Irish labourers from Zingo Nick

Cawthra, John
[18??-18??] Owner of Four Lane End Colliery.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) son; (2) Thomas [b 1844]; (3) Alfred [b 1855].

On 12th May 1870, his sons – Thomas and Alfred – died after falling to the bottom of the shaft at the Colliery when a rope broke. Mrs Cawthra, the boys' mother had a dream which foretold the accident and asked them not to go to the pit that morning, but the sons ignored the warning

Cawthra, Joyce
[19??-] Conservative Councillor for Brighouse [2004].

In December 2010, she announced that she would stand as an Independent candidate in the 2011 election

Cawthra, Thomas
[1799-1847] Of Halifax.

He married Ruth [1801-1843].

Children: (1) Ann [1834-1856]; (2) Arthur [1841-1844].

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cawthra, William
[18??-18??] Partner in Cawthra & Kitchen

Cawthrey
A variant of the surname Cawthra

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Cawthrey, John
[17??-1???] He was a witness at the trial of the coiners

Cawthron, Henry
[18??-18??] Druggist at Halifax.

In 1855, he was declared bankrupt

Caxton House, Halifax
New Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Caygill, Mrs Elizabeth
[17??-17??] She was the second wife of William Walker.

She was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1782]

Caygill, John
[1675-1757] From Swaledale. He came to Halifax [around 1700].

He became a merchant.

He married (1) Ann [16??-1704]

Children: (1) Ann [d 1703]; (2) John [d 1704].

He married (2) Martha, daughter of Samuel Stead.

Children: (3) John; (4) Samuel [d 1710]; (5) Elizabeth [d 1711]; (6) Jane [d 1718]; (7) Jane [d 1720]; (8) Samuel [d 1721]; (9) Hannah [d 1725].

The couple inherited Stead's property at Upper Shaw and Lower Shaw Syke, Halifax.

The family lived at The Shay, Halifax.

In 1714, he bought the land known as The Hartshorn or Sunderland Fold from the Sunderland family of Ackton, and they created The Square here.

There is a memorial to members of the family in Halifax Parish Church

Caygill, John
[1708-1787] Son of John Caygill.

Born in Halifax.

Wealthy merchant who owned much property in Halifax. He built and lived at Shay House.

He married Jane Selwin.

Children: Jenny.

In 1748, he was churchwarden at Halifax Parish Church.

Brick houses at The Square were designed for him by John Carr around 1750.

In 1779, he and his wife gave the land at Talbot Close and a sum of 800 guineas for the construction of the Piece Hall. The ornate northern wall of the Piece Hall which faces on to Caygill's Square, as compared to the plainer exterior of the other walls, may have been a result of Caygill's contribution.

In November 1769, he attended the enquiry which had been called by the Marquis of Rockingham to discuss the problem of the coiners and the murder of William Deighton.

He died 22nd May 1787.

The epitaph on their memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions.

See Brookroyds, Halifax and Caygills Terrace, Halifax

Caygill's Walk, Halifax

Cearney, Joseph
[18??-1???] Aka Professor Joseph of Leeds.

In December 1879, he was committed for trial on 3 charges of obtaining money by false pretences. He had issued leaflets containing testimonials said to be from people who had been cured by his medicines, which he sold at 7/6d per ounce. The medicines were found to consist of aloes and chalk

Cecil, Rev Edward G.
[1823-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was an Independent minister. He trained at Highbury College before becoming Minister at Bramley Lane Congregational Church.

In 1851, he was staying with Sir Henry William Ripley at Holme House, Lightcliffe.

He resigned in 1854 and moved to London and then to Kent

Celeste Limited
Modiste at 5 King Cross Street, Halifax [1937]

Cellofoam
Part of Lord Kagan's textile empire at Croft House, Rastrick

Celtic Calderdale
A number of Celtic stone heads were excavated at Walsden in the 1960s.

See Prehistoric Calderdale

Cemeteries, Graveyards & Burial Grounds

Cemetery Lodge, Warley
The Lodge for Warley Town Cemetery.

Owners and tenants have included

Cemetery Tunnel, Sowerby Bridge
A popular name for the Long Tunnel, Sowerby Bridge on account of the burial ground on the land above the tunnel

Cengar Universal Tool Company Limited
An engineering division of Jack Sutcliffe's Central Garage (Halifax) Limited. Established in 1945. The company specialises in the production of air saws

The Cenotaph

Centenary Place, Halifax
A terrace of houses 28-40 Savile Park Road, Halifax. Dated 1891 and JW & S for John Whiteley & Sons. The building was erected to mark Whiteley's centenary.

In the 1950s, the property was owned by the English Card Clothing Company

Central & Palladium Monthly
A pocket guide of interest to cinema patrons published in the 1930s by the Central Picture House, Elland and the Palladium Cinema, Elland

Central Bazaar, Elland
General store in Southgate. Recorded in 1957

Central Cocoa House, Halifax
In 1873, the new County Court was built in Prescott Street and the former West Riding Magistrates' Office, which stood next to the market in Union Street, became a cocoa house. It was a branch of the Halifax Cocoa House Company

Central Corn Mill Company
Millers and merchants at 62 Northgate, Halifax [1900]

Central Dyeing Company Limited
In the 1930s, they had business at Hebble End Dye Works, Heptonstall. They were associated with Greenwood Stell & Sons Limited. They acquired Pecket Well Shed

Central Garage (Halifax) Limited
Motor dealers. Owned by Jack Sutcliffe.

They had premises at Horton Street, Halifax (workshops, next to the Shakespeare Pub), George Square, Halifax (showrooms), and at the junction on King Cross Street, Halifax and West Parade, Halifax (petrol station).

See Cengar Universal Tool Company

Central Hall, Elland
The current name for the former Wesleyan Reform Church, Elland

Central Hall, Halifax

Central Hall, Ripponden

Central Library, Halifax

Central Picture House, Elland
Coronation Street.

This is one of the oldest purpose-built, and structurally unchanged cinemas in the country. It opened on 16th December 1912.

Admission was 3d, 4d, and 6d.

Harry Taylor was the first Manager and he played

atmospheric and appropriate music on the piano

to accompany the films.

In 1917, James Montgomery was Manager.

In 1931, the cinema showed its first talkie: Whoopee! starring Eddie Cantor.

It closed in January 1959.

The cinema was bought by Walker Cinemas of Huddersfield who refurbished the building – installing Cinemascope – and reopened it as the Rex in November 1959.

In 1964, it was converted into a Bingo Hall.

Charles Morris and Peter Berry renovated the building and reopened the cinema in October 1988.

See Central & Palladium Monthly

Central Pictures (Elland) Limited
A group of local businessmen who bought the Rex Cinema and the Palladium cinema in Elland in 1912. Both cinemas were managed by James Montgomery

Central Portrait Rooms, Halifax
12 Waterhouse Street.

Edward Gregson had his studios here [1865, 1874].

See H. Murrell

Central Premises, Hebden Bridge
Crown Street premises of the Hebden Bridge Industrial Co-operative Society opened in 1889. When the Society closed in 1967 – see Frederick C. Chatburn – the building was sold. The Carlton Hotel later occupied the 2nd and 3rd floors of the building. The building is now private apartments and shops

Central Stores of the Halifax Industrial Society
The Central Stores of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in Northgate in 1861. It fronted on to Northgate with North Parade to the North. The stores were built at a cost of £23,400.

There was a wholesale department and retail grocery, flour, drapery, tailoring, boots, shoes, clogs, butcher's, coal and other departments. There was a café. There was a library of 3,000 volumes, a news room. Science classes were held.

On 1st August 1914, an extension to the premises was opened.

The building was demolished in 19??

Central Stores: Ripponden Co-operative Society Limited
When the Society's store next to the Waggon & Horses, Ripponden proved too small, the new Central Stores were built next door [1860].

The old store then became the Rose & Crown.

In 1932, a separate building for the Butchery Department and the Drapery Department was built across the road

Central Ward, Halifax
One of the Electoral Wards of Halifax. In 1862, the area was represented by Saint James's Ward. Around 1866, Saint James's Ward was divided.

See Thomas Farnell, John Thomas Fawthrop, Henry Akroyd Ridgeway, Henry Rushworth, Thomas Selby Walsh and Joseph Whitaker

Central Ward, Todmorden
One of the Electoral Wards of Todmorden. Recorded in 1905

Central Working Men's Club, Todmorden
Temple Buildings. Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 70

Centre Rock, Todmorden
A house or group of houses which stood on the present Bacup Road – then called Dulesgate – between Cloughfoot and Sharneyford on the right hand side heading towards Bacup, near the present day observatory. It was in a desolate spot amongst the Dulesgate drift mines. The house/houses are now gone but you can just see where they were built into the rock.

Recorded in the 18th century, when he married

Centre Vale Military Hospital, Todmorden
At the outbreak of World War I, Centre Vale was commissioned for use as a military hospital.

The first patients were admitted 17th January 1914.

The hospital closed on 28th February 1919.

See Mrs John Sutcliffe Lord

Centre Vale Park Museum, Todmorden
A museum was established at Centre Vale, Todmorden. It opened on 24th May 1924.

Some of William Hardaker's work was displayed here

Centre Vale Park, Todmorden
Burnley Road. In 1910, 75 acres of the Centre Vale estate were bought from John Ashton Fielden by Edward Lord. A further 13 acres were donated by a Mrs Greenwood. The park was opened to the public by Mayor Robert Jackson on 30th March 1912.

On 8th June 1915, the bowling greens opened.

The Garden of Remembrance was created from what was originally the kitchen garden of the house. There is some of Gilbert Bayes's work here.

In 192?, a paddling pool was created.

In 1931, the children's playground was opened.

In 1935, the boating pool was created.

In 1938, a 9-hole miniature golf course was opened.

In 1939, the statue of John Fielden was moved here from Fielden Square

The bandstand was destroyed by fire in the late 1990s. It has since been rebuilt to its original design.

The Fielden School of Art – later the Fielden Centre were here. New leisure and sports facilities were established here in the 1990s.

In 2012, this and Wellholme Park, Brighouse were awarded Queen Elizabeth II Fields status, which protects the land forever.

A war memorial remembering those who served in World War I from Dale Street Co-operative Stores was moved here in the 1990s. It remembers those soldiers who were employed by the Todmorden Co-operative Society.

See Lucky Dog of Todmorden

Centre Vale, Todmorden
The house was built in 1826 by Thomas Ramsbottom.

In 1842, the Fielden family moved here from Dawson Weir.

In 1849, Samuel Fielden, inherited the mansion and estate after his father's death.

The Fielden School of Art was built here in 1872

In 1910, Todmorden Corporation bought the 75-acre estate from John Ashton Fielden for £10,000, and the grounds became Centre Vale Park.

During World War I, it was used as a military hospital.

It housed the town's museum.

It closed in 1947 because of dry rot.

The building was demolished in 1953.

See Buckley Wood

Ceylon Billiard Hall
Occupied the Todmorden Post Office building.

See Billiards

Chadburn, William
[1824-1???] Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was licensed victualler at the Spring Gardens, Elland [1871].

He married Hannah [1832-1???]


Hannah was born in Greetland
 

Chadwick
[Surname]

There are currently around 15 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Chadwick. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Chadwick, Charles H.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Chadwick, Holt
[1858-1909] Landlord at the New Inn, Todmorden [1897, 1900] and Fountain, Todmorden [1905].

In 1881, he married Jane Hannah Davison [1857-1913] from Shotley Bridge, Durham.

The family lived at 21 Dalton Street, Stansfield, Todmorden (with his father-in-law) [1881].

After his death, Jane Hannah took over at the Fountain [1909]

Chadwick's: J. & W. Chadwick
Printers and stationers at 5 Wade Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included W. Chadwick

Chadwick, John
[17??-18??] Innkeeper at Elland.

In July 1805, he was declared bankrupt

Chadwick, John
[18??-1877] He was a leading basso of the Todmorden Musical Society. On 22nd December 1876, he was injured by a circular saw whilst at work. He died 6th January 1877

Chadwick, John
[1806-18??] Son of William Chadwick, farmer.

He was a weaver of Stainland [1844].

He married (1) Unknown.

On 2nd January 1844, he married (2) Mary Harper [1804-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was the daughter of John Harper, woolsorter
 

Chadwick, John
[1836-1913] He was a stone delver.

He married Lydia Ann Lumb [1840-1899].

Children: Squire.

The family lived at Elland

Chadwick, Lister
[1846-1896] Of Ramsden, Chadwick & Company

Chadwick, Mr
[17??-18??] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Caroline [1800-1839] who married John Sheard; (2) Harriet [1795-1875] who married Ingram Varley

Chadwick, Robert
[1867-19??] He was Secretary of Ripponden Conservative Club [1901]

Chadwick, Squire
[1864-1???] Son of John Chadwick.

Born in Elland [17th January 1864].

He was a delver.

In 1887, he married (1) Lucy Ann Naylor [1867-1892].

In 1897, he married (2) Rebecca Freeman in Halifax.

Children: (1) Nellie [b 1899]; (2) John [b 1901]; (3) Ronald [1908-1988].

Squire died in Southowram [6th January 1927].

He was buried at St Anne's Church, Southowram

Chadwick, Theodore
[18??-19??] He was the driver of the tram involved in the North Bridge Tram Accident [1906].

An investigation indicated that he had applied the brakes incorrectly and he was dismissed after the accident, and, although an inquest cleared him of all blame, Halifax Corporation refused to reinstate him. This triggered off the Halifax Tram Strike

Chadwick, Thomas
[1867-1???] Born in Salford

He was a warehouseman [1894].

On 13th January 1894, he married Hannah Hollas at St George's Church Sowerby.


Hannah was the daughter of
Samuel Hollas
 

They had no children.

Hannah died in Blackpool [11th January 1953]

She was buried at St Luke's Church, Norland [16th January 1953]

Chadwick, W.
[18??-19??] Partner in J. & W. Chadwick.

He lived at 33 Kliffen Place, Halifax [1905]

Chadwick, Watson
[18??-19??] Partner with James Currie [1905]

Chadwick, William
[1833-1???] Son of cotton spinner John Chadwick.

He was a labourer of Halifax [1879]; Police constable [1881].

In 1879, he married Hannah, widow of Joseph Hardy at Halifax Parish Church.

Children:

The family lived at 78 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1881]

Chafer, George William
[1894-1966] VC.

He was born in Bradford, brought up in Rotherham and, in 1899, he came to work in Sowerby Bridge.

In June 1915, he joined C Company, 1st Battalion of the East Yorkshire [Duke of York's Own] Regiment.

He was awarded the VC for conspicuous bravery in France on 3rd/4th June 1916.

Known as Willie, he was a small man and was known as the smallest and youngest VC

Chaffer Brothers
Wheelwrights and blacksmiths at Salford, Todmorden [1905].

The firm installed the first gas engine in Todmorden

Partners included brothers Richard Chaffer and Young Chaffer

Chaffer, Dr Harold
[1870-19??] Son of Young Chaffer.

On 10th November 1907, he married Miss M. Clem. Edmond, in New Zealand.


His wife was the daughter of John Edmond of Dunedin, New Zealand
 

On their return to England, the young couple went to live in South Norwood, where he continued his medical practice

Chaffer, John
[1809-1???] Born in Todmorden.

He was a wheelwright [1841]; a master wheelwright [1851, 1861].

He married Betty [1811-1???] from Stansfield.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1835]; (2) Mary J. [b 1836]; (3) Young; (4) Richard; (5) Sarah [b 1843].

The family lived at Salford, Todmorden [1841, 1851, 1861]

Living with them in 1851 was Thomas Lucas [aged 16] a wheelwright's apprentice from Rochdale

Chaffer, Richard
[1840-1929] Of Salford, Todmorden. Son of John Chaffer.

He and his brother Young were partners in Chaffer Brothers [1905].

In 1864, he married Susan Bamford [1839-1924] at Todmorden.

Children: (1) Annie [1872-19??] who married [1900] Charles Samuel Stansfield; (2) daughter

Chaffer, Young
[1838-1921] Son of John Chaffer.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a wheelwright [1861, 1871]; a master wheelwright employing 2 men [1881]; a wheelwright [1891, 1901].

He and his brother Richard were partners in Chaffer Brothers [1905].

In 1867, he married (1) Mary Greenwood [1840-1883] at Todmorden.

Children: (1) John William [b 1868] who was a wheelwright [1891, 1901]; (2) Harold; (3) Ethel [b 1877]; (4) Albert [b 1880].

In 1891, he married (2) Jessie Cockroft [1862-1926] at Todmorden.

The family lived at 1 Ridge Street, Todmorden [1871]; 4 Salford, Todmorden & Walsden, Lancashire [1881]; 8 Salford, Todmorden & Walsden, Yorkshire [1891]; Salford, Todmorden, Yorkshire [1901]; 8 Salford, Todmorden, Yorkshire [1911].

Living with them in 1901 was a boarder Kate Buckley [aged 29] (a cotton weaver from Halifax) 

Chain Bridge, Sowerby Bridge
Bridge which carries Gas Works Road over the Calder & Hebble Navigation to Gas Works Road Bridge

Chain Telephone Campaign
On 16th November 1960, a campaign was launched to publicise the dangers of poliomyelitis by encouraging people to telephone 3 friends and remind them that polio was a killer – and that the NHS offered free vaccinations to anyone under 40 – and finally, to ask each person to ring 3 friends

Chair, Dudley Raikes de
[18??-18??] Of Dover and Woolwich.

Son of Rev Frederick Blackett de Chair of East Langdon, Kent.

In 1863, he married Frances Emily, eldest daughter of Christopher Rawson.

Children: (1) son; (2) son; (3) son; (4) daughter

Challice, S.
[18??-19??] Psychic herbalist at 25 York Crescent, King Cross, Halifax [1937]

Challoner
[Surname]

Challoner, Thomas
[18??-19??] Cashier and bookkeeper for Banks, Thornton & Garside who were constructing the railway line from North Dean to Stainland.

On 13th April 1872, he was charged with embezzling 3 sums of £1 6/8d, £1 6/6d and £19/10½d which he recorded as having been paid to men who had never worked on the project. He was committed for trial at the sessions.

In June 1872, he was declared bankrupt

Chalmers, J. E.
[18??-18??] He was Medical Officer for Hipperholme [1865]

Chamberlain's Charity
William Chamberlain bequeathed 20/- per annum to be paid to the person that reads prayers twice a day in Halifax. He also bequeathed
to the poor children dwelling in the almshouses the sum of 20/- per annum for ever, to be paid at the discretion of Mr Nathaniel Waterhouse feoffees, for the said children to learn to write

and

the sum of 6/- for ever for a dinner yearly on Christmas Day for 12 poor aged persons in the almshouses

The Northowram Register records that he

has left an Estate of £17,000 (as it's said) 

Using figures for average earnings, 20/- in 1729 is roughly the equivalent of £1,510.00 today, and £17,000 is roughly the equivalent of £25,700,000.00.

See Mary Chamberlain

Chamberlain, D.
[1???-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1954-1957]

Chamberlain, Frances
[1717-1786] Daughter of William Chamberlain.

Her father left lands to her and her sister, Mary, which were to support his charity.

She married John Martin.

She died 7th November 1786.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Chamberlain, Frederick
[1???-1980] Born in Bedford.

He lived at Norland.

He became a local character and campaigner for pensioners' rights. He joined the Army at the age of 40, he served with the Royal Artillery in India during World War II, and with the Territorial Army, before moving to Calderdale in 1954. He was also an artist, a fashion-designer, a poet, and a song-writer.

In 1960, he proposed the idea of a shopping precinct in Halifax so that people could shop in comfort. When Southgate was pedestrianised in the 1970s, he claimed that it should be named the Chamberlain Precinct.

He died on 2nd November 2 1980, and left his body to the medical school at Leeds University

Chamberlain's Gift
In his will of 1721, Thomas Chamberlain bequeathed 20/- per year to be distributed to 4 poor widows of Elland on the 6th of June each year. Using figures for average earnings, 20/- in 1721 is roughly the equivalent of £1,600.00 today.

The money came from rent on property owned by William Chamberlain

Chamberlain, John
[1847-1913] Born in Brindle.

He was a quarryman [1873].

In [Q4] 1873, he married Emma Cordingley [1851-1923] in Halifax


Emma was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Alice [b 1874]; (2) Joe [1875-1902] who worked in a worsted mill and never married; (3) Emily [b 1878]; (4) Sidney

Chamberlain, Mary
[1708-1791] Daughter of William Chamberlain.

She married James Whetherherd.

Their father left lands to Mary and her sister, Frances, which were to support his charity.

James was buried 7th July 1777. Mary died 6th April 1791.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Chamberlain, Neville
[1869-1940] MP.

On 25th October 1925, Neville Chamberlain – then Housing Minister – opened Halifax Workshops for the Blind

Chamberlain, Sidney
[1888-1916] Son of John Chamberlain.

Born in Halifax.

On 15th June 1911, he married Ethel Nobel [1885-19??] in Halifax.


Ethel was born in Halifax
 

Children: Joe [1911-1991].

The family lived at 11 St Peter's Street, Boothtown [1914].

During World War I, he joined the army reserve in Halifax [1914]. He served as a Private with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment). He was sent to France [11th July 1916].

He was killed in action [3rd September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial [Face 6A & 6B]

Chamberlain, Thomas
[16??-1721] Of Skipton. He established Chamberlain's Gift

Chamberlain, William
[1683-1729] Son of Thomas Chamberlain of Skipton.

He became a Halifax salter.

He married Elizabeth [1678-1747].

Children: (1) Frances; (2) Mary; (3) child who died in infancy; (4) child who died in infancy; (5) child who died in infancy; (6) child who died in infancy; (7) child who died in infancy; (8) child who died in infancy

He established Chamberlain's Charity. In 1727, he owned property in Elland from which the rents supported Chamberlain's Gift.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £17,000.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Chamberlaine's: Thomas Chamberlaine's Charity
Elland-cum-Greetland. Recorded in 1720

Chambers & Chambers
Brighouse solicitors. Recorded in 1914 (Possibly) later became Chambers, Tregonning & Robertshaw.

See Law Farm, Southowram

Chambers & Hammond
Chemical engineers at Leeds Road, Hipperholme [1922]

Chambers, Benjamin
[17??-18??] Partner in Cooper & Chambers [1806]

Chambers Brothers
Printers, booksellers and stamp distributors at Cheapside, Todmorden [1845]

Chambers, Charles
[1???-18??] Of Todmorden.

Recorded in 1838, when he was considered a proper person to be a Constable for the hamlet of Todmorden

See Todmorden & Walsden Select Vestry

Chambers, Charles
[1???-18??] Cotton manufacturer at Todmorden.

His mill was

submerged to the tops of the looms

in the flood of 7th August 1859.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) Betsy [b 1845] who married John Priestley.

The family lived at Adam Royd, Todmorden [1868]

Chambers, David
[1877-1941] Born in Warley.

He was a tailor's salesman [1896].

In [Q1] 1896, he married Edith Hitchin in Halifax.


Edith was the daughter of
Albert Hitchin
 

Children: (1) Albert [1896-1935]; (2) Albert [1900-1963]; (3) Edith Mary [1902-1969] who never married; (4) John Philip [1906-1976]; (5) Marion [1909-1981] who married in [1936] ] William Fraser; (6) David [1910-1994]; (7) George [1920-1943].

The children were born in Sowerby

Chambers, Major E. P.
[18??-19??] Brighouse solicitor.

Grandson of Samuel Washington

Chambers, Edward Navy
[1866-1???] Of Sowerby Bridge.

He was a worker at Corporation Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1897].

On 27th November 1886, he married Sarah Ann Culpan at Halifax Parish Church.


Sarah Ann was the daughter of Richard Culpan
 

Children: (1) Bertie [1887-1890]; (2) Beatrice Adelaide [b 1891].

In September 1897, the family sailed to Dunedin, New Zealand where he was to take the entire charge of a worsted mill

Chambers, Francis
[1840-1890] In 1867, he married Rebecca Boocock [1843-1915] in Halifax.

The couple were buried at Butts Green Baptist Chapel, Warley

Chambers, G. W.
[18??-1???] Naturalist, dealer in British and foreign birds, animals and fish. He began business in King Cross, Halifax, and then in the Halifax Covered Market. In 1890, he moved to 11 Union Street, Halifax, and also in the Old Market Hall. His premises were known as The Old Bird House. He won several prizes and awards for exhibiting his animals.

He was at 21 Union Street, Halifax [1915, 1937]

Chambers, James
[18??-19??] Timber merchants at Pellon Lane Saw Mills, Halifax [1936]

Chambers, John
[17??-1???] Of Halifax.

He was Pastor at Butts Green Baptist Chapel, Warley [1791]

Chambers, John
[1753-1812] Collector of Excise in Hallifax.

He died 2nd January 1812 (aged 59) 

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Chambers, John
[1774-1858] Born at Bradshaw

He was a weaver by trade, and went on to become minister at Mount Zion Church, Ogden and preached at many other local Methodist chapels

Chambers, Jonas
[17??-18??] Printer & stationer of Todmorden

Chambers, Joseph
[1841-1888] Worsted manufacturer. With his brothers-in-law, Dan and William Cockroft, he was a partner in Cockroft & Chambers. He was at Forest Mills, Ovenden [1888].

In 1864, he married Fanny Cockroft [1840-1886].

Children: Edith [1880-1948].

The family lived at Forest Grove, Ovenden Road [1888]

On the afternoon of Sunday, 16th September 1888, his body was found face downwards in the Hebble. He had been in low spirits for some months.

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Chambers, L.
[18??-19??] Chemist and naturalist at 23 Union Street, Halifax [1937]

Chambers, Lewis
[1849-1926] Of Friendly.

In 1873, he married Emily Greenwood [1850-1930] in Halifax.

Children: Sarah [1880-1898].

Members of the family were buried at Butts Green Baptist Chapel, Warley

Chambers, Lewis
[19??-19??] He was a chemist; a Wesleyan lay preacher; an Officer in the Saint John's Ambulance Brigade; a Councillor [1927]; Chairman of the Health Committee [1933]; Mayor of Halifax [1944-1945].

In 1911, he married Annie M., daughter of Bates Wood. His wife was a musician, Mayoress [1944-1945], a member of the Yorkshire Women's Liberals Association, a member of the Society for the Blind, a member of the Beacon Club, and a member of the Lifeboat Guild.

They lived at 31 West View, Halifax

Chambers, M.
[18??-1???] In 1871, he established a boot merchants business at Union Street, Halifax. In 1881, the company moved to larger premises in Commercial Street, Halifax

Chambers of Commerce
See Brighouse Chamber of Commerce and Halifax Chamber of Commerce

Chambers, Richard
[18??-18??] Printer, publisher and bookseller at 1 Cheapside, Todmorden [1861] and Salford, Todmorden [1865]. He published the Todmorden Advertiser [1853, 1861]

Chambers, Thomas Barker
[18??-1???] On 26th July 1876, he married Alice Greaves

Chambers, Thomas Bradley
[1825-1885] Of Brighouse.

He was a solicitor; partner in Higham & Chambers; Clerk to the trustees of the Bradford to Huddersfield Turnpike (on the death of George Higham); Solicitor to the Brighouse gas and drainage commissioners; Steward of the court baron and Manor of Brighouse; one of the solicitors of the Yorkshire & Lancashire Railway Company. He was one of a number of attorneys who were

commissioned for taking acknowledgements of deeds executed by married women

In [Q1] 1856, he married Eliza Washington [1829-1906] in Halifax.

The family lived at Field House, Brighouse.

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery.

See William John Chambers

Chambers, Tregonning & Robertshaw
Brighouse solicitors.

See Chambers & Chambers

Chambers, William
[1???-18??] Stationer and bookseller at Hebden Bridge [1829]

Chambers, William
[17??-1???] Worsted manufacturer in Halifax.

He was one of the town's trustees for Halifax, on the removal of William Chambers [1770].

He occupied Room 25 on the Rustic gallery of the Piece Hall [1787]

Chambers, William
[1856-1927] Ironmonger and hardware dealer.

He lived at Manor House, Hebden Bridge.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £7,653

Chambers, William John
[1837-1918] Baptised 3rd August 1837.

In [Q2] 1863, he married Esther Washington [1840-1922] in Sheffield.

Children: (1) Gertrude [b 1864]; (2) Thomas Washington [1865-1929] who was a solicitor [1918]; (3) George William [b 1866]; (4) Edward Percy [b 1868] who was a solicitor [1918]; (5) Esther Eliza Catharine [b 1870] who married George Grandage; (6) Florence Elizabeth [b 1872]; (7) Eleanor [b 1874].

The family lived at Field House, Brighouse.

He died 17th January 1918 (aged 80).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £14,674 11/3d.

Probate was granted to sons Thomas Washington and Edward Percy.

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

See Thomas Bradley Chambers

Champion, William Needham Longden
[1851-1939] Born in Macclesfield, Cheshire.

He was a stuff manufacturer employing 250 labourers [1881].

In 1875, he married Constance Sarah Bentley [1856-1918], born in Rotherham, in York.

Children: Dorothy Margaret [b 1876].

The family lived at Upper Shibden Hall (+5 servants) [1881].

Constance died in Thetford, Norfolk [1918], and William died at Wayland, Norfolk [1939]

Champney, Charles Ernest
[1853-1???] Son of Thomas Frederick Champney. He was a nephew of Elizabeth, Edward Akroyd's wife. He and his brothers were brought into the Akroyd family business.

He lived at Bankfield.

See William Akroyd's Bequest

Champney, D'Arcy
[18??-1???] Son of Thomas Frederick Champney. He was a nephew of Elizabeth, Edward Akroyd's wife. He and his brothers were brought into the Akroyd family business.

He was a Major in the 4th West Yorkshire Rifle Volunteers.

He lived at Bankfield.

On the death of Edward Akroyd, he moved to Beverley. He is said to have taken Edward's library and pictures.

See William Akroyd's Bequest

Champney, Mrs Jane
[1821-1894] Née Jane Fearby, sister of Elizabeth Fearby.

She married Thomas Frederick Champney.

After the death of her husband, Jane and her sons moved to Halifax. They lived at 34 Clare Road.

When Edward Akroyd retired from public life in 1880, he and his wife went to live with Mrs Champney at Esplanade, Scarborough.

Jane died at Scarborough.

Jane and her husband were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Champney, John Edward
[1846-1929] JP.

Son of Thomas Frederick Champney. He was a nephew of Elizabeth, Edward Akroyd's wife. He and his brothers were brought into the Akroyd family business. From 1865, he managed Copley Factory School.

From 1871, he was a director of the Akroyd's company. He later took over the entire business.

After the firm wound down, he moved away to Horton, Buckinghamshire.

On 15th November 1872, while walking down Haley Hill, he was shot in the back and slightly wounded by James Whitehead, who had been discharged from Akroyd's for incapacity. Champney was only saved by his thick overcoat. This is discussed in Halifax Murders

In 1874, he married Margaret Stuart [1841-1923] daughter of Marcus Huish, in Belper, Derbyshire.

They had no children.

They lived at Woodlands.

Through Margaret's family – notably Marcus Bourne HuishJohn became closely involved with the Fine Art Society, and was introduced to noted contemporary British artists. He invested a substantial portion of his money in an art collection. Perhaps inspired by his uncle Akroyd's benevolence, John endowed the town of Beverley with money to build a Public Library which opened in 1910. Later, he left many paintings to Beverley Art Gallery in his will.

He died at his home in Hans Place, London [1929]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £192,252. Using figures for average earnings, £192,252 in 1929 is roughly the equivalent of £28,300,000.00 today.

He left several works of art to Halifax Corporation, a generous bequest to the Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Institution, and a considerable sum to Wakefield Diocese.

See William Akroyd's Bequest

Champney, Thomas Frederick
[18??-1871] Of York.

In 1844, he married Jane, sister of Elizabeth Fearby.

Children: (1) John Edward; (2) Charles Ernest; (3) D'Arcy.

After his death, his widow and sons moved to Halifax and lived at Clare Road.

Thomas and Jane were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Champvent, William de
[1???-12??] Aka Chauvent. Born in Switzerland, he spoke no English. He was Rector of Halifax [1250-1273]. He left to become Bishop of Lausanne

Change, Southowram
Flat-top hill overlooking Wood Nook and Park Nook and Exley

Changeline Bridge, Todmorden
Rochdale Road. Bridge #30 over the Rochdale Canal.

See Library Lock, Todmorden

Channel Islands
Following the German invasion of the Channel Islands in June 1940, a number of refugees – notably from Guernsey – were evacuated to the district.

Those who arrived in Halifax were put into temporary accommodation at the Halifax Union Workhouse.

See Brighouse Channel Islands Society

Chantree, Robert Mark
[1863-1943] Born in Sleaford.

On 29th Aug 1888, he married Emily Jane Hollas in Ripponden.


Emily Jane was the daughter of
Peter Hollas
 

Children: (1) Charlotte Frances [b 1889]; (2) Leonard Maurice [b 1890]; (3) Catherine Eliza [b 1898]; (4) Annie [b 1903]

The children were all born in Sleaford.

The couple died in Sleaford

Chantrell, Robert Dennis
[1793-1872] London-born architect. He was a pupil of Sir John Sloane. He moved to Halifax. He designed many Gothic churches in Yorkshire between 1823-1846, notably those built under the Million pound Act. Some local examples of his work include repairs at Halifax Parish Church [1819], Saint Paul's Church, King Cross, Sion Congregational Church, Wade Street, and Rudding Park, Harrogate

Chantry House, Heptonstall
This house was the former charnel house for the graveyard.

The building is dated 1779.

It is said that fragments of bones and gravestones have been found in the fabric of the building.

The house contains panelling from Learings, Heptonstall, a frieze dated 1629 from High Hurst, Hebden Royd, and a fireplace dated 1635 from Stocks Springs, Cragg Vale.

It was completely refurbished by Jack Smith [1965]. It is said to be haunted and a ghost was reported during the refurbishment

Chapel Croft, Rastrick
Area of Rastrick around St Matthew's Church. The church is built upon part of the land

Chapel Farm, Mixenden
or Pellon. Stands next to Moor End Congregational Church

Chapel Farm, Ripponden

Owners and tenants have included

Named for a Chapel which preceded Saint Bartholomew's Church. This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Chapel Farmhouse, Ripponden
See Ripponden Old Bank, Ripponden

Chapel Field Mill Company
Built Chapel Field Mill, Ripponden.

Partners included Robert Holt.

See Hirstwood's Charities and Platt's Charities

Chapel House, Coley
Aka Coley Chapel Farm. 16th / 17th century farm which stood next to Coley Church.

A stone dated 1647, which was discovered when the inn sign was taken down for repainting on 24th January 1902, indicates that the house paid a rent to the Knights of St John of Jerusalem. There was a bowling green between the house and the church. It is said that Cromwell stayed at the house during the Civil War.

In 1649, Captain Langdale Sunderland leased the farm to John Rishworth.

It became the Chapel House – later the Malt Shovel – public house.

It was later converted into 4 separate dwellings. It was demolished about 1970 and replaced by a large bungalow.

The House is discussed in Halifax Pubs: Volume Two

Chapel House Cottages, Todmorden
Numbers 1, 2, 3 & 4 Grey Stone Lane. Late 17th / early 18th century house.

The first recorded Quarterly Meeting of the Methodists was held here in October 1748.

Now 4 separate cottages

Chapel House Farm, Todmorden
Grey Stone Lane. Early 18th century laithe-house.

Chapel House, Halifax
Chapeltown.

Owners and tenants have included

Chapel House, Southowram
Appears to be associated with Southowram Wesleyan Chapel.

Owners and tenants have included

Chapel House, Stansfield
Originally Bent Head Chapel.

Built around 1719 by the Congregationalists who had grown in number and left Great House, Stansfield. It accommodated 200-300 people.

Around 1750, the chapel went into decline and the size of the congregation fell due to the

exceptional mortality in the district

Around 1807, the congregation moved to Myrtle Grove Chapel, Eastwood

The property is recorded as having 6 rooms [1911].

Owners and tenants have included

Chapel House, Wainstalls
The house was formerly Mount Pleasant Wesleyan Reform Chapel, Wainstalls

The Chapel in the Grove
An early name for Halifax

Chapelle, Rev J. K.
[18??-1???] Minister at Shore General Baptist Church, Todmorden [1876]

Chapeltown, Halifax

Chaplin, Charlie
[1889-1977] The comedian appeared at the Palace Theatre, Halifax in 1906 as a part of Casey's Court Nibbs

Chapman & Wilkinson
Fireplace specialists of Greetland. Recorded in 1946

Chapman, Eve
[19??-] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle

Chapman, Rev F.
[18??-1897] Superintendent of Hebden Bridge Wesleyan Circuit.

He died at Redcar

Chapman, Harold
[18??-19??] A fish dealer of the Square.

On 9th April 1905, he, Joseph Dobson, Rev William Lawrence, and Rev John Wilkinson were sent to jail as passive resisters.

On 2nd April 1906, he, Rev William Lawrence and Rev John Wilkinson were sent to jail for the second time as passive resisters

Chapman, J. S.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Chapman, James
[1823-18??] A delver at Southowram. He had a wife and family living in Lancashire. He was accused of the manslaughter of Mercy Hopkinson on the 23rd September 1865. He was sentenced to 15 years' penal servitude

Chapman, Morris
[1823-1881] Born in Halifax.

He was a mechanic [1848].

On 4th November 1848, he married Ruth Atkinson in Halifax.


Ruth was the daughter of
Isaac Atkinson
 

Children: John [1841-1854] who was born out of wedlock

Chapman, Rev R. W. B.
[18??-19??] He was vicar at Pontefract before becoming Vicar of Hartshead [1930-1936]

Chapman, Robert Edward
[1848-19??] Born in East Moon, Wakefield.

He was a corporation gaux collector [1911].

In [Q3] 1867, he married Zillah Hargreaves Hirst [1850-19??] in Halifax.

Children: Beatrice [b 1892] who married Frederick Wilborough Pulman.

The family lived at 54 Penn Street, Pellon Lane [1911].

Living with them in 1911 were daughter Beatrice, her husband Frederick Wilborough Pulman and granddaughter Amy Gladys

Chapman, Rev Rodney
[19??-] Vicar of Stainland and Outlane [2008]

Chapman, Stanley
[1913-19??] Born in Huddersfield. He moved to Brighouse. In 1950, he began drawing and painting. In 1979, he succeeded Peter Shutt as President of the Brighouse Art Circle, and held the office for 23 years. In 1982, he was a founder member of the Yorkshire Watercolour Society. He has exhibited at many exhibitions.

He followed in the footsteps of Miles Sharpe and painted many of the streets, snickets and old buildings of Brighouse to create an illustrated record of the ever changing town. He also illustrated several books, including a history of Hartshead Church and Reg Mitchell's Death of a Borough.

His book, A Jubilee Sketch Book, presents 50 drawings in and around Brighouse, Halifax and Huddersfield, with 2 or 3 from a little farther afield

Chapman, William
[1841-1898] From Halifax.

He was a fish merchant in Wyke [1898].

He married Unknown.

Children: Henry Waller who was a fisherman at Cleethorpes [1898].

In 1898, William was one of 8 people who died when he was a passenger in an express train which collided with a derailed goods train at Wrawby Junction near Lincoln.

See Edwin Iredale

Chapman, Rev William Edward
[18??-1???] Vicar of Saint Mary's Church, Sowerby [1874]. He served at Freshford, Kent [1905]

Chappell, Frank
[1895-1915] Son of John Chappell.

He was a cotton piecer [1911]; a stoker at Century Dye Works, Elland [1913]; a member of the Elland Territorial Company.

During World War I, he served as a Sergeant with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

His 2 brothers – Private Herbert Chappell and Driver George Chappell also served in the War.

Frank died following a German gas attack [19th December 1915] (aged 20).

He is remembered on the Ypres (Menin Gate) Memorial [Panel 20]

Chappell, Herbert
[1892-19??] Son of John Chappell.

He was a labourer (dyeworks) - (possibly) Century Dye Works, Elland [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

His 2 brothers – Sergeant Frank Chappell and Driver George Chappell also served in the War.

In the Halifax Courier [15th January 1916] – which reported the death of his brother FrankHerbert was reported to be in hospital suffering from gunshot wounds

Chappell, John
[1801-1847] He was a comber of Stainland [1835]; a comber [1841]; a wool sorter [1862].

In 1820, he married Elizabeth Taylor [1801-18??] at Elland Parish Church.


Betty was born in Spotland, Rochdale, Lancashire
 

Children: (1) Frances [b 1826]; (2) William [b 1830] who was a wool comber [1851]; (3) Elizabeth [b 1832] who was a woollen factory worker [1851], a woollen feeder [1861]; (4) Samuel; (5) George [b 1838] who was a woollen factory worker [1851], a woollen spinner [1861].

The family lived at Holywell Green, Stainland with Old Lindley [1841]; 373 Holywellgreen, Stainland with Old Lindley [1851]; 116 Holy Well Green, Stainland with Old Lindley [1861]

Chappell, John
[1866-19??] Son of Samuel Chappell, cab proprietor.

Born in Elland.

He was a stable boy (dom) [1881]; a cabman of Elland [1890]; a cabman [1891]; a teamer (horse) [1901]; a teamer [1911].

In 1890, he married Mary Hannah Binns [1871-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Hannah of Elland, was born in Norland, the daughter of Nathan Binns, carder
 

Children: (1) Herbert; (2) Annie [b 1894] who was a worsted twister [1911]; (3) Frank; (4) George [b 1897] who was a cotton piecer [1911] and served as a Driver in World War I; (5) John William [b 1898] who was a worsted doffer [1911]; (6) Eleanor [b 1899] who was a worsted spinner [1911]; (7) Albert [b 1902]; (8) Lucy [b 1904]; (9) Ernest [b 1905]; (10) Mary [b 1906]; (11) Samuel [b 1907]; (12) Harry [b 1908]; (13) Agnes [b 1910]; (14) Sarah Ann [b 1911].

The family lived at Northgate, Elland [1891]; 19 Bank Bottom, Elland [1901]; Calde... Cottage, Millgate, Elland [1911]

Chappell, Samuel
[1835-1904] Son of John Chappell.

Born in Stainland.

Baptised at Elland Parish Church.

He was a woollen factory worker [1851]; a woollen spinner [1861]; a spinner [1862]; a grocer [1871]; a grocer & undertaker [1881]; a cab proprietor and greengrocer in Elland [1891]; a hawker of peas [1901].

In 1862, he married Mary Maude [1837-1???] at Elland Parish Church.


Mary was born in Greetland, was the daughter of Gideon Maude, labourer
 

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1863] who was a worsted rover [1881]; (2) Mary Jane [b 1864] a woollen reeler [1881], a cotton operative [1891]; (3) John; (4) Annie [b 1868] who was a cook domestic [1901]; (5) Alice [b 1877] who was a worsted operator [1891].

The family lived at Briggate, Elland [1871, 1881]; Northgate, Elland [1891]; 3 Huddersfield Road, Elland [1901]; 6 Lindwell, Greetland [1911]

Characters

Charities

Charlestown Brick & Tile Company Limited
Stone quarrying company. Recorded in 1872 and 1874 when George Buckley was Managing Director.

It later became the Halifax Brick Company.

See Alfred Ernest Dalzell

Charlestown Co-operative Society
Opened in 1867

Charlestown Curve, Hebden Bridge
A notorious bend on the railway line at between Charlestown, Hebden Bridge and Todmorden.

There have been several railways accidents here, notably on

See Charlestown Station

Charlestown, Halifax
Area of Halifax to the north of North Bridge. This was once the site of a large garden which extended to North Bridge – see Garden Street North

With the coming of the railways, industrial development transformed the area and eventually the Charlestown area became known as one of the roughest parts of Halifax, until large scale slum clearances before World War II.

In the late 1930s, Halifax Corporation decided to build municipal homes on reclaimed town centre industrial land, and in 1939, the distinctive homes – self-contained ground floor dwellings with two-storey maisonettes above, to suit the contours of the land – were built and handed over to tenants in 1940.

See Charlestown Road, Halifax, Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax and Diocesan Church Army Van

Charlestown, Hebden Bridge
District of Calderdale lying south of the Calder and west of Hebden Bridge.

See Charlestown Curve and Charlestown Station

Charlestown History Group
Hebden Bridge. Established in March 1998

Charlestown Railway Station
In 1939, Todmorden RDC applied for a station at Charlestown. This was rejected.

See Charlestown Curve, Hebden Bridge

Charlestown Tea & Dining Rooms, Hebden Bridge
Recorded in the 1880s, when Mrs W. W. Moss was the proprietress

Charlestown Viaduct, Halifax
Aka Berry Lane Viaduct. Railway viaduct built 1848-50 for the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company. It carried the Sowerby Bridge-Halifax-Bradford line of the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway between Halifax Station and North Bridge Station.

Girders of the bridge came from another site and were shortened to 62 ft in length to widen a stone arch. It ran parallel to Charlestown Road It had 9 arches of which 3 at the north-east are now blocked.

See Halifax Coal Drops

Charlestown Viaduct, Hebden Bridge

Charlestown Working Men's Club & Institute, Hebden Bridge
Recorded in 1913, when the membership was 81.

Recorded in 1917, when Ernest Rogers was secretary

Charlesworth, F.
[18??-19??] Butcher at Greetland.

In March 1900, he was declared bankrupt

Charlesworth, Isaac
[1803-1825] He violently assaulted and robbed Joshua Cropper of £1 14/- on the highway in the parish of Sheffield.

On 13th August 1825, he was executed at the Tyburn, York

Charlesworth, Rev Joseph
[1842-1899] Born in Sheffield.

He was a Wesleyan minister.

He married Emily Grace [1840-1907].


Emily Grace was born in Wakefield
 

Children: (1) Ellen May [b 1870]; (2) Edith Talbot [b 1873]; (3) Emily Margaret [1874-1951] who married Dr Astley Brodie Crowther; (4) Frederick William [b 1879]; (5) Percy Grace [b 1882]

The family lived at Bingley [1891]

He died in Pateley Bridge.

Emily Grace died in Wetherby

Charlesworth, Marshall
[18??-19??] Butcher and saddler at West Vale.

In February 1879, he went into liquidation when there was a depression in the leather trade which led to many business failures.

He went into liquidation by arrangement in August 1882

Charlesworth, Rev Robert
[17??-1???] Lecturer at Halifax [1760].

He was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1782]

The Charlton family of Halifax

Charlton, Rev Alec
[1870-1975] Born in Heaton Norris, Cheshire. The family originally came from Chorlton (hence Charlton). His family moved to Manchester. Formerly Church of England, they joined the Moss Side Baptist Church.

He trained at Rawdon College before becoming the first Pastor at Pellon Baptist Church [1904-1917].

During World War I, he was chaplain to the Nonconformist servicemen at Wellesley Barracks.

In 1917, he moved to Hallfield Baptist Church in Bradford, and in 1943, to West Lane Baptist Church at Haworth.

See Charlton Court, Pellon

Charlton, Joseph
[18??-18??] Merchant living at Heathville, Halifax [1861]

Charlton, Samuel
[1815-18??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he was imprisoned for 2 months for stealing a barrel of porter, at Southowram, the property of Rebecca Myers.

See Dyer & Miller, Halifax

Charmer, Herbert
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Air Force.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Charnley, Frank
[1883-1918]

In [Q2] 1910, he married Unknown in Todmorden.

They lived at Royal Cottage, Burnley Road, Mytholmroyd.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died 10th August 1918 (aged 35).

He was buried at the Magnaboschi British Cemetery, Italy [1 D 5].

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd, and in the book Royd Regeneration

Charnley, Seth
[1865-1???] Son of William Charnley, mason.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a carder in Mytholmroyd [1883]; a beer retailer at Hawksclough [1893].

On 3rd November 1883, he married Catherine Trewartha [1863-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Catherine of Mytholmroyd, was the daughter of John Trewartha, copper miner
 

Charnock, Alfred
[18??-19??] One of a partnership who bought J. & J. Mallinson in 1912

Charnock, Edgar
[1848-1900] Son of Jonathan Charnock.

He was a stone merchant and quarry owner.

He and his brother George were in partnership – possibly as J. Charnock & Son. The partnership was dissolved about 1882.

He lived at Grange House, Southowram

Charnock, George
[18??-19??] Son of Jonathan Charnock.

He and his brother Edgar were in partnership – possibly as J. Charnock & Son. The partnership was dissolved about 1882.

In 1888, he was (possibly) director of Luther Hanson & Company (Limited).

In 1890, he was sole proprietor of J. Charnock & Sons

Charnock's: Herbert Charnock & Sons
Wheelwrights and van and waggon builders at Bedford Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included Herbert Charnock, E. Charnock and Herbert Charnock Jnr

Charnock's: I. & R. Charnock & Sons
Worsted spinners at Lower Jack Royd Mill [1936]

Charnock's: J. Charnock & Sons
Contractors and timber merchants established in 1849 by Jonathan Charnock at Pellon Lane Saw Mills, Halifax. They worked on many projects including Grand Theatre, Halifax, Halifax Railway Station, Holmfield Railway Station, North Bridge Railway Station and Ovenden Railway Station.

In 1890, the business was owned by George Charnock.

On 14th September 1900, there was a fire at their woodyard.

The business ran into difficulties in April 1906, and the Saw Mill closed on 1st December 1906.

See J. H. Charnock

Charnock, J. H.
[18??-19??] Of Jonathan Charnock & Sons.

He lived at Grange House, Southowram [1905]

Charnock, James
[1827-1895] Son of wheelwright Thomas Charnock.

Born in Queensbury.

He was a twister [1850]; a twister cotton warps (mill) [1851]; licensed victualler at the Bee-hive, Halifax [1861] [1864]; a brewer [1867]; a brewer (employing 12 men) [1871]; a retired brewer [1881].

In 1850, he married Mary Hoyle [1824-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary, from Ovenden, was the daughter of carter James Hoyle
 

Children: (1) Alice [b 1848] who married William Turner; (2) Martha Jane [b 1851] who married Richard Smithies.

The family lived at Queens Head, Northowram [1851]; 8 Trinity Road, Halifax [1871]; 4 St John's Lane, Halifax [1881]; Moorside Road, Ovenden [1891]; Grove House, Halifax [1895, 1901].

Living with the family in 1881, 1891, 1901, were their Smithies grandchildren

Charnock, John
[18??-18??] MA.

He was educated at Lincoln College Oxford; Stipendiary Curate at Heptonstall [1828].


Question: Could he be the youngest son of Rev Joseph Charnock?

 

Charnock's: John Charnock & Sons
Stone merchant.

They were at Charlestown Mine, Halifax [1896].

In 1905, they had an office at North Bridge Station

Charnock, Jonathan
[1???-18??] Established J. Charnock & Sons Pellon Lane Saw Mills, Halifax

Charnock, Jonathan
[18??-18??] Contractor and quarry owner. In 1849, he established Jonathan Charnock & Son.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Edgar; (2) George

Charnock's: Jonathan Charnock & Son
Stone merchants and quarry owners at Southowram established by Jonathan Charnock.

Edgar Charnock was head of the firm for several years

Charnock, Rev Joseph
[1765-1847] A handloom weaver who lived at Windy Harbour Farm, Todmorden.

He studied for the church and was curate at Bishop Thornton, Yorkshire before becoming Vicar at Heptonstall, where he served for 44 years.

He was Master of Heptonstall Grammar School for 45 years.

He was instrumental in the building of St James the Great Church, Hebden Bridge.

On 29th December 1783, he married (1) Hannah Bates [1765-1827] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Martha [b 1784] who married Thomas Sugden; (2) Elizabeth [b 1786]; (3) Hannah [b 1789]; (4) Sarah [b 1790] who married [1810] Henry Patchett from Heptonstall; (5) Grace [1794-1877] who married William Roper; (6) Thomas [1795-1818]; (7) Priscilla [1797-1800]; (8) Rebecca [b 1798]; (9) Priscilla [1800-1817]; (10) Joseph [b 1802]; (11) Joanna [b 1803]; (12) John [b 1805].

In 1837, he married (2) Mary Horner Reynard [1770-1863] at Halifax.

Members of the family were buried at Illingworth Church including Priscilla [28/4/1800].

See John Charnock

Charnock, Robinson
[1864-1950] He married Emma [1862-1936].

Children: Edna [1889-1960] who married John William Widdop.

Robinson died 12th March 1950 (aged 86).

Emma died 14th December 1936 (aged 74).

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Charnock, Thomas
[18??-18??] Of Folly Hall, Godley. Recorded in 1841, when he was an elector in the elections for MPs for the West Riding

Charnock, William
[1752-1840] Of Ovenden:

He married Sarah [1741-1789].

He married Elizabeth [1776-1862].

William and his wives were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Charteris, Dr William
[1839-1917] LRCP, LM, LRCS.

Medical practitioner in Hipperholme.

In 1877, he gave evidence into the murder of Elizabeth Kershaw.

He served with the Local Government Medical Service [1895]. He was Medical Officer for Hipperholme, Coley and Norwood Green Parishes [1905]; Surgeon at Amisfield House, Hipperholme [1905].

He was buried at Brighouse Cemetery.

See Dr Haining

Charters, Mr
[18??-1???] Woollen manufacturer at Rastrick.

He married Annie Amelia.

In September 1883, Mrs Charters was fined £1 for stealing a tin of tongue from George Sykes's grocer's shop in West Vale. Several similar items had gone missing from the shop and a watch was being kept when Mrs Charters was caught

The Chartists' Hall, Ripponden
A popular name for the Foresters' Hall, Ripponden when the Chartists met here

Chartres & Skelton
Grocers at Sowerby Bridge and Todmorden.

Partners included Andrew Chartres and Henry Skelton.

The partnership was dissolved in April 1856

Chartres's: T. Chartres & Sons
Fancy woollen manufacturers at Rastrick [1874]

Chaser, J. H.
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1922, when he was a hosier at 10 Northgate, Halifax

Chatburn Brothers
20th century clothing manufacturers of Machpelah, Hebden Bridge

Chatburn, Frederick C.
[1907-19??] He lived at Charlestown, Hebden Bridge. He was a lay preacher and an amateur actor.

In 1929, he started working for Hebden Bridge Co-operative Society.

By 1967, he had become managing-secretary, when he was accused of forgery and falsification of accounts after auditors discovered that £23,000 had disappeared from the society's accounts over a period of 8 years. The problems came to light when members began to question the balance in their share accounts. It appeared that he would draw money from an account which he knew was little used. If the balance was questioned, he would explain that there had been a mistake and correct the situation by withdrawing money from another account.

In May 1967, Chatburn appeared at Leeds Assizes and was jailed for four years. He pleaded guilty to 4 charges of forgery, 5 charges of falsifying accounts, and asked for 125 other cases to be taken into consideration.

All those customers who had been affected by the fraud received all their money back. On 30th October 1967, an extraordinary general meeting decided that, because of lack of confidence in the Co-operative Bank, the society should be wound up. After he was released from jail, he went to Scotland, where his wife had come from.

The couple had no children

Chatburn, Samuel
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner, dealer and chapman at Stubbing Mill, Erringden.

In 1806, he was declared bankrupt

Chatburn, Samuel
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Hebden Bridge.

In July 1804, he was declared bankrupt

Chatham, Todmorden
Joiner's house named by Mr Clegg

Chattaway, Professor
[18??-18??] Ran Ramsden's Writing Institution in Halifax

Chaytor, David
[19??-] Calderdale Councillor. He became MP for Bury North.

He lives in Todmorden.

In 2009, he was involved in the MPs' expenses furore, after allegedly claiming for a mortgage which had already been paid off. He announced that he would step down at the next election.

In February 2010, he was one of a number of MPs charged with dishonestly claiming expenses. In December 2010, he was charged with false accounting totalling just over £20,000. He pleaded guilty and was imprisoned for 18 months

Cheap Concerts
In the 19th century, Mr Stansfield ran a series of inexpensive daily concerts – known as Cheap Concerts – at the Oddfellows' Hall, Halifax where
a man may bring his wife and enjoy a pleasant evening's amusement at a most reasonable charge

Cheapside, Greetland
Recorded in 1907

Cheapside, Todmorden
Area of Todmorden around the Lord Nelson Inn

Cheesebits, Tommy
[18??-19??] A well-known character who wheeled a handcart selling 2d bundles of firewood in and around Halifax.

It is said that Mrs Copley employed Tommy as a messenger to deliver the cash takings from Copley's, Halifax business to the bank

Cheetham
[Surname]

There are currently around 16 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Cheetham. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Cheetham's: Betty Cheetham & Son
Fustian finishers at Hebden Bridge [1861] carried on by Betty, widow of James Cheetham

Cheetham Estate, Rastrick
Land in the Field Lane area. It was owned by John Cheetham. The fields here were a popular recreation area

Cheetham, George Thomas
[1???-18??] He edited the autobiography of Thomas Cheetham

Cheetham's (Hebden Bridge) Limited
Formerly James Cheetham & Sons. Fustian and clothing manufacturer at Crown Street, Hebden Bridge [1917].

See Thomas Cheetham

Cheetham, James
[18??-18??] He was manager of the silk department at Fielden's in Todmorden [1841].

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Cheetham, James
[1801-1863] Of Rastrick.

He was buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cheetham, James
[1810-1856] Born in Barkisland.

He was a fustian cutter [1841]; a fustian manufacturer [1851]. He established James Cheetham & Sons.

He married Betty Bentley [1809-1871] born in Langfield.

Children: (1) John; (2) William [1839-1881]; (3) Ann [1841-????]; (4) James; (5) Mary Ellen [1849-1935].

The family lived at Calder View, Stansfield [1841]; Hebden Bridge Lanes [1851, 1861].

After his death, his widow carried on business as Betty Cheetham & Son fustian manufacturers [1861]

Cheetham, James
[1844-1903] Son of James Cheetham.

He was a fustian warehouseboy [1881]; a fustian manufacturer at Hebden Bridge [1874]; a fustian manufacturer [1881]; retired fustian manufacturer [1891, 1901].

He married Millicent Rebecca [1845-1911].

Children: Frances Mary [1881-1951].

The family lived at Bank Side, Hebden Bridge [1881]; Machpelah, Hebden Bridge [1891, 1901].

He died at 17 Cheapside, Bradford [6th November 1903].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £7,408 8/9d. Probate was granted to his widow Millicent Rebecca and Alfred Stringfellow (gent) 

Cheetham, James
[1864-1928] Son of John Cheetham.

Born in Brighouse.

He was a silk spinning manufacturer [1916].

In [Q1] 1887, he married Hannah Thornton [1866-1???] in Halifax.


Hannah was born in Brighouse
 

Children: (1) Winnie [1889-1960] who married Horace Malcolm Horner; (2) John

The family lived at The Hawthornes, Brighouse [1889]

Cheetham's: James Cheetham & Sons
Fustian and clothing manufacturer at Crown Street, Hebden Bridge [1905].

Partners included James Cheetham and Thomas Cheetham.

The company became Cheetham's (Hebden Bridge) Limited

Cheetham, John
[1???-1???] Erected a bench for his wife at Mill Bank.

See Martha's Mount, Mill Bank

Cheetham, John
[18??-1???] Of Rastrick.

He married Ann [1825-1856].

Ann was buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cheetham, John
[1833-1890] Son of James Cheetham.

Born in Halifax.

He worked as a silk spinner for the Fielden's at Todmorden where his father was manager of the silk department. At the age of 18, he left Fielden's and became manager for Monk & Burrows in Brighouse.

He was a partner in Richard Kershaw & Company He took over the business [1870] and this evolved into John Cheetham & Son. He was a partner in Ormerod Brothers & Cheetham.

In 1855, he married Sarah Law.

Children: (1) Frank Arthur; (2) James; (3) John Albert.

He lived at Shade, Todmorden [1841]; Bradford Road, Rastrick [1871], and; Longroyde House, Rastrick [1881]

Cheetham, John
[1836-1889] Son of James Cheetham.

Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a farmer of 15 acres [1861]; a cotton fustian merchant employing 90 hands [1881].

In 1857, he married Elizabeth White [1836-1889] from Brierley, in Wakefield.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) Mary Ann [1860-1892]; (3) Florence Annie [1864-1949]; (4) John Arthur [b 1866]; (5) James Albert [1868-1891].

The family lived at Knott Hall, Stansfield [1861]; Cheetham Street, Wadsworth [1881].

Living with them in 1861 was brother-in-law Thomas White [aged 21] (farm worker).

Living with them in 1881 was niece Sarah E. White [aged 6]

Cheetham, John
[1890-1964] JP.

Aka Jackie.

Son of James Cheetham.

He was partner in John Cheetham & Son; partner in Ormerod Brothers & Cheetham; Mayor of Brighouse [1936-1938].

He owned the Cheetham Estate.

He lived at Brooklyn House,, Rastrick [1901]

Cheetham, John Albert
[1869-1925] Son of John Cheetham.

Partner in John Cheetham & Son. He lived at Oaklands, Brighouse.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Gladys who married Herbert Wood; (2) Dorothy who married [1919] Captain Reginald Pollard from Southport

Cheetham's: John Cheetham & Son
Brighouse silk spinners established by John Cheetham around 1870 from the earlier Monk & Burrows company and Richard Kershaw & Company.

They had business at Calder Bank Mills and Snake Hill Mills

Partners in the firm included John Albert Cheetham.

In May 1885, there was a lock-out at the mill after a number of men were dismissed for misconduct. Other workers threatened that they too would leave work, so the owners closed the mill altogether and the works were idle for a time.

In September 1890, they bought Albert Mills, Rastrick for £400.

In January 1909, they installed a water system at their Calder Bank Mills for use in the event of fire. On 29th January 1909, the mill was destroyed by fire which started in the drying room. Cheetham's bought the vacant Belle Vue Mills and carried on production.

See Ormerod Brothers & Cheetham

Cheetham, Taylor
[1882-1917] Son of Hannah & George Cheetham of Mill Bank.

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 1st/6th Battalion The King's (Liverpool Regiment).

He died 30th November 1917 (aged 35).

He is remembered on the Cambrai Memorial [Panel 4] and on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Cheetham, Thomas
[1798-1826] Son of William Cheetham.

He was a preacher at Ripponden.

He wrote an account of his own life which was edited by George Thomas Cheetham and published 1830.


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the man and why his short life was interesting?

 

He was buried at Stones Methodist Church, Soyland

Cheetham, Thomas
[1858-1924] Son of John Cheetham.

He was a fustian warehouseman [1881]; a fustian manufacturer & wholesale clothier [1891]; a fustian merchant & maker of fustian clothing (wholesale) [1901]; a fustian manufacturer & wholesale clothier [1911]; partner in James Cheetham & Sons; a well-known Freemason.

On 11th May 1881, he married Mary Susannah Whiteley [1856-1902].

They had no children.

They lived at Crown Street, Hebden Bridge [1891]; Cliffe House, Hebden Bridge [1901, 1905, 1911]; Wood Villa, Hebden Bridge [where he died 1924].

Living with them in 1901 was cousin Sarah E. White [aged 26] (hospital nurse).

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £16,552 8/5d

Cheetham, William
[17??-18??] He married Mary.

Children: Thomas Cheetham

Chelsea House, Hipperholme
See Belvedere, Hipperholme

Chelsea Valley, Hipperholme
Jum Hole Beck flows through the valley

Chemistry

Chemists & Druggists

Chepedene
Spelling of Shibden recorded in 1308

Cherry, T.
[17??-18??] From Wellington, Somerset. Minister at Pellon Lane Particular Baptist Church [1789]. A discontented section of the church caused him to resign in 1790. The situation continued until 1792

Cherry Tree Farm, Stone Chair
Hope Street.

The Cherry Tree Inn was located at the farm

Cherry Trees, Lightcliffe
Knowle Top Road

Owners and tenants have included

  • The Denham family


Question: Does anyone know which members of the family lived here?

 

Cherry Well, Copley

Cheshire Home
One of many nursing homes founded by Group Captain Leonard Cheshire.

See White Windows

Chesshire, Rev Howard Stanley
[1889-1962] Born in Le Havre, France [19th April 1889].

He was Vicar of All Saints' Church, Harley Wood. He left in 1931.

In 1942, he sailed from Southampton to become Chaplain of Devoto and Hurlingham, Argentina.

He was buried in County Durham

Chesswas Jewellers, Elland
Catherine Street. Jewellery and horologist business established in 1918 in the building previously occupied by Mitchell's Cash Stores.

It was run by the founding family until 1970

Chester, John
[1???-1???] Factory operative of Lindwell.

On Friday, 6th August 1869, he was drinking in The Shears, West Vale. Benjamin Whiteley, a labourer from West Vale had been sitting near him when Chester got change for a sovereign. After midnight, Chester and George Heywood, a scutcher from West Vale, left and walked towards Brow Bridge. Whiteley and another man assaulted Chester, threw him down on the ground and searched his pockets. They found 2 half-sovereigns and 10/- loose in Chester's pockets and then ran away. The men were later arrested by Police-sergeant Brighouse and committed to the sessions. John Ramsden, a cotton spinner of West Vale was charged as an accomplice, but the charge was withdrawn and he became a witness in the case

Chester, Rev Samuel
[1823-1897] Minister at Trinity United Methodist Free Church, Walsden [1890], Saint James's United Methodist Free Church, Luddenden [1896], and Luddendenfoot United Methodist Free Church [1896]

He moved to Nottingham. He died in Nottingham

Chesters, Rev Alan
[1937-] CBE.

He was educated at Elland Grammar School, and the universities of Durham and Oxford. He was ordained in 1962 and served as Curate at Wandsworth, Honorary canon at Durham Cathedral, Archdeacon of Halifax [1985-1989], and Bishop of Blackburn

Chevinedge, Exley
Mansion built in 1876 by James William Davis.

The area was the site of the Halifax Zoo & Amusement Park.

The house was demolished in 1933.

In 193?, Chevinedge Crescent was built on the site

Chew, Mr
[17??-1814] On 22nd January 1814,
an unfortunate man by the name of Chew, put a period to his existence in Halifax Gaol, by hanging himself

Child, Anne Kitchenman
[1811-1846] Daughter of Kitchenman Child.

She was the second wife of John Crossley.

She died shortly after giving birth to their daughter Anne

Child, Rev B.
[18??-18??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1865]

Child, Charles
[1???-1862] Architect of Eastwood and Halifax who worked in the Calder Valley between 1840-1860.

He was articled to Benjamin Whitehead Jackson.

He was at King Cross Street, Halifax [1850].

His work included Saint Andrew's Church, Stainland, Saint John in the Wilderness, Cragg Vale, Saint John's Church, Bradshaw / Saint John's Church, Ovenden, Saint Peter's Church, Walsden, the Oddfellows' Hall, and the Waterhouse School & Almshouses. He also worked on the tower at Castle Hill, Huddersfield.

He married (1) Unknown.

After his wife's death, he married (2) Eliza Pickup [1808-18??] in Pontefract.

Children: William Hall.

See Benjamin Whitehead Jackson

Child, Charles
[18??-18??] Churchwarden at Halifax Parish Church [1850]

Child, George
[17??-18??] Of Threap Croft, Illingworth.

He married Unknown.

Children: a daughter who married [1801] Jonathan Priestly [1801] from Ovenden

Child, Dr Herbert
[18??-1???] MRCS, LSA.

Of West Vale.

On 28th April 1885, he married Amy Brown at Nottingham


Amy was the only daughter of James Woodfall Brown of Nottingham
 

Child, Isabel Edith
[1861-1927] Of Copley Wood. Elder daughter of John Wright Child.

She married William Frederick Holroyde.

She died at her home in Bromley, Kent

Child, Rev John
[1832-1909] The first Vicar of Clifton [1887-1908]. He left to serve at Gainsborough where he died.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) daughter; (2) Mary.

The family lived at Wellholme, Brighouse; Ash Grove, Clifton [1891]; Clifton Vicarage [1892].

He was buried at Gainsborough.

See Edith Beatrice Armytage and The Parish Register of Hartshead

Child, John Atkinson
[1809-1???] Born in Idle.

He was innkeeper at the Griffin, Halifax [1845, 1851].

He married Susan [1815-1???].


Susan was born in Haworth
 

Children: James [b 1836]

Child, John W.
[18??-1915] DCM.

Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed in the Dardanelles [4th August 1915].

He was buried in the Lancashire Landing Cemetery [E 83].

He was awarded the Distinguished Conduct Medal

Child, John Wright
[1813-1896] Born in Halifax [9th October 1813].

He was a civil engineer [1851]; a mechanical engineer [1861]; Manager of Akroyd's Copley Mill [1866]; retired land owner – worsted manufacturer [1871]; a director of Akroyd's [1871].

He married Isabel [1835-1916].

Children: (1) Isabel Edith; (2) Harold [b 1863]; (3) Amy Marian [b 1864] who married [7th June 1899] Sören Troldahl, a Dane; (4) Edmund [b 1866]

The family lived at Hill House. Haley Hill [1851]; Copley Wood, Halifax [1861, 1871].

He died 7th February 1896.

John and Isabel were buried at St Stephen's, Copley

Child, Kitchenman
[1772-1838] Of Ovenden.

He married Unknown.

Children: Anne

Child labour

Child, Susanna
[1709-1???] Daughter of William Child and Mary Booth.

Born in Hartshead [1st May 1709].

She married Joseph Gledhill

Child, William Hall
[1844-1869] Son of Charles Child.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Making Place Academy [1861]. He became an architect.

In 1867, he married Jane Seward Highley in Halifax.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £12,000

The Children's Room: Shibden Hall
This is on the first floor Shibden Hall.

This was originally a store room.

The piano is by Pohlmann's

Childwife moor
Crabtree says that this was a part of the township of Ovenden and enclosed around 1814

Chimneys

China

Chinery, Donald
[1902-19??] Son of Orlando Walter Chinery.

In 1921, he married Hilda Mary Shaw. Family history tells that his wife was a member of the Catseyes Shaw family

Chinery, Orlando Walter
[1872-19??] Son of Herbert Chinery, a miller.

Born in Bishop Auckland.

His family came from Essex and were in Knaresborough [1881].

He served as a Private in the 1st Battalion, Coldstream Guards at Chelsea Barracks [1891].

In 1899, he married Elizabeth Hannah Stott [1869-19??] at Halifax.

Children: (1) Walter [b 1900]; (2) Donald.

The family lived at 10 Hermon Grove, Halifax [1901].

He was Police Sergeant at Moorlands Place, Halifax [1905]

Chinn, Rev John
[18??-19??] United Methodist Minister at Todmorden [1917]

Chippendale
The surname may be derived from Shibden dale. Dyke de Chipendale is recorded in 1246

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Chippendale. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Chippendale, Misses
Around 1838, Margaret [b 1766] and Mary Chippendale [b 1770], (possibly) sisters of Robinson Chippendale, ran a private school in Halifax with Agnes, and Ann, the daughters of Robinson Chippendale,

Chippendale, Peter
[1849-1924] Son of Alice [née Dugdale] and John Chippendale of Waddington, near Clitheroe.

In 1874, he married Elizabeth, daughter of James Steel.

Children: Tom.

He was landlord of the Museum, Stump Cross [1905]

Chippendale, Robinson
[1770-1???] Son of Phyllis and William Chippendale. Baptised in Skipton.

On 17th July 1794, he married Mary / Margaret Baxter at Kendal.

Children: (1) Agnes Braithwaite [b 1796]; (2) Ann [b 1802]; (3) Elizabeth [b 1803].

Members of his family ran a private school in Halifax [1841]

Chippendale, Tom
[1884-19??] Son of Peter Chippendale.

He was the black sheep of the family.

Contributor Valerie Hobson has passed on a family story which relates that

around 1911, he and William Steel were in a group of men who had been out drinking. As they returned home across Godley Bridge, the worse for drink, a policeman spoke to them. The gang threw him over the bridge. The policeman landed on a grass verge and survived.

Tom – who was known as a bully in drink – fled from Halifax and is recorded in Leeds [1911], Hull and Manchester, where he died

Chiserley
District of Wadsworth, north-east of Hebden Bridge.

The name was formerly Chisley

Chiserley Hall, Wadsworth
Early 17th century house dated 1617

There is a room over the front porch

Chisholm, Rev J. W.
[18??-19??] Congregational Minister at Halifax. He resigned in 1891

Chisley
Area north-west of Hebden Bridge.

First mentioned in 1296, the name may mean cheese wood [?] clearing.

Around 1980, the name became Chiserley

Chisley Hall, Old Town
Owners and tenants have included

Choirs & Choral Societies

Chown, Alfred
[18??-1???] Tea dealer at Brighouse.

In October 1882, he was declared insolvent

Christian VII, King
[1749-1808] In the 18th century, 19-year-old King Christian VII of Denmark was travelling around Europe under the name Prince George. On the tour, he visited Halifax and spent a night at Royds' House on 1st September 1768. It has been said that George Street and George Square were named in his honour after this visit

Christie, Ernest John
[1861-1920] Son of Eliza [1843-19??] and John Christie [1836-19??], a designer of carpets and rugs from Scotland. Born in Kidderminster, Worcestershire.

He became a carpet designer in Halifax.

In 1881, he married Mary Hannah, daughter of David Halliday. They were said to have been stern and unloving parents.

Children: (1) Percy [b 1882] who was a bank clerk [1901]; (2) Florence [b 1884]; (3) Effie [b 1886]; (4) Elsie [b 1890]; (5) Winifred [b 1896]; (6) Reginald; (7) Phyllis [b 1900]

The family lived at 54 Salisbury Place, Halifax [1891]; Black Boy House, Halifax [1901]; 30 Chester Road Halifax [1911]

Christie, John Reginald Halliday
[1899-1953] Halifax man and infamous mass-murderer of 10 Rillington Place, Notting Hill, London.

In 1950, Christie's lodger, Timothy Evans, was wrongly accused and hanged for the murder of his wife and baby daughter.

Christie was subsequently convicted for these and other murders and hanged

Chronnell, Father
[18??-1???] Priest at Saint Joseph's Roman Catholic Church, Todmorden [1891]

Church & King Society, Elland
Established on 6th June 1808 for the purpose of supporting members in sickness, blindness, old age and infirmity, and for granting sums of money to widows and heirs. They met at the Rose & Crown, Elland. Their annual meeting was held on Whit Sunday and members were required to attend and be soberly dressed in black coat and waistcoat, on penalty of 1/- fine. The society gave the minister of Saint Mary's Church a guinea for his Whit Sunday sermon. If he returned the money, the minister was deemed to be a free member of the society

Church Extension Society for the Deanery of Halifax
Established in April 1900 to provide churches in parts of the district which did not have adequate church accommodation

Church Hill, Luddenden
In the centre of Luddenden.

In the early 1900s, 2 La Tène (Iron Age) beads were found here

Church House, Luddenden
78 High Street.

When the Murgatroyd's Arms, Luddenden closed in 1939, the building was bought by Luddenden Church and used for storage, and became known as Church House

Church Lane Surgery, Brighouse
Stands on what was the drive to Well Close House, Brighouse

Church Missionary Society College, Elland
Mentioned in the 19th century

Church Stile, Sowerby
A flight of steps which gave access to Saint Peter's Church.

Gave its name to the Church Stile Inn, Sowerby

Church Street Co-Op, Rastrick
A store opened in March 1857. Wright Robinson was manager.

The store closed after 4 months.

In 19??, a branch of the Brighouse Co-operative Society opened on the corner of Church Street / Thornhill Road.

The store closed in 1981. The building is still standing. A doorway has a mosaic for the Drapery department

Churches & chapels
Some of the churches and chapels in the district are listed in the Foldout

See Chapel, Chapel of ease, Chapelry, Church of England, Diocese of Wakefield, Parish and Parish Church

The Churchill family
The Dukes of Marlborough, the Churchill family and Winston Churchill had connections to John Edwards and the Edwards family of Halifax, and the Dyson family of Halifax. through Thomas Fournis Dyson, by the following family line:

  * Thomas Fournis Dyson married Anne Baldwin Sealy
  * Elizabeth Baldwin Dyson married Joseph Hornby
  * Charles Edward Hornby married Harriet Catherine Turton
  * Charles Harry St John Hornby married Cicely Rachel Emily Barclay
  * Michael Charles St John Hornby married Nicollete Joan Ward
  * Susan Mary Hornby married John George Vanderbilt Henry Spencer-Churchill, 11th Duke Of Marlborough

Churchill, Charles
[18??-19??] One of a group of people who bought C. Redman & Sons Limited in the 1920s

Churchill Denham
See Denham Engineering Company Limited

Churchill Machine Tools
Merged with Denham Engineering Company Limited. The business was then absorbed into the Tube Investments conglomerate, finally becoming a part of the 600 Machine Tool Group.

See Machine Tool Makers

Churchill-Redman Limited
Parkinson Lane, Halifax. Engineering company manufacturing lathes and wood-working machinery, like their successor, Cornelius Redman & Sons Limited.

During World War II, they manufactured bomb cases.

In 1972, production was moved to Tyne & Wear, and the closure of the company was raised in Parliament.

Several workers from the company left to establish their own businesses, including Greening & Crowther Engineering Group and Saville Machine Tool Company

Churchill, Winston
[1874-1965] British politician. He was Prime Minister during World War II [1940-1945] and [1951-1955].

He visited the Halifax district on 21st December 1903, 6th December 1904 and in June 1945.

See Memories of Calderdale and Churchill family

Churchman, Alfred
[1851-1890] Son of Isaac Churchman, labourer.

Born in Norfolk.

He was an ag.lab for Samuel Sunderland at Cromwell House, Southowram [1881]; a labourer [1887].

In [Q1] 1872, he married (1) Martha Ann Palmer [1855-1884] in Swaffham, Norfolk.

Children: (1) Elizabeth Ann [b 1877]; (2) Harriet Ann [b 1880].

Martha Ann died in 1884.

On 23rd March 1885, he married (2) Mary Jane Brocksopp [1861-1940] at Elland Parish Church.


Mary was born in Whittington and came from a farming family in Derbyshire, and was in the workhouse before becoming a servant at Cromwell House.

Circumstantial evidence suggests that she might have had an illegitimate daughter – Louisa [b 1881 or 1884] – by Samuel Sunderland

 

Children: (3) Agnes Mary [b 1887]; (4) Clarice [b 1889].

At the baptisms of Agnes Mary and Louisa [Saint Anne's Church, Southowram 5th September 1888], Alfred and Mary gave their address as The Birks.

Alfred died in 1890.

In 1891, Mary and her daughters Louisa (scholar)  and Clarice were living at Delph Hill, Southowram.

In 1901, Mary and her daughters Louisa (silk spinner)  and Clarice were still living at Delph Hill

Churchyard, Hannah Frances
[1862-1923] Daughter of Henry Churchyard.

She was a pupil at Walterclough Hall School, Southowram [1871].

She was a friend of Ada Thomas and mentioned Ada in her will.

She lived with her uncle John.

She died at Southport [13th January 1923]

Churchyard, Henry
[1839-1880] Son of Henry Cuper Churchyard.

Born in Halifax. Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [8th October 1839].

He married Sarah Clarkson [5th June 1861].

Children: Hannah Frances.

He died in Victoria, Australia

Churchyard, Henry Cuper
[1798-1844] Born in Fressingfield, Suffolk. Son of Lydia [née Cuper] and Leman Churchyard [1798-1844].

He married Ann Holt in Halifax [1838].


Ann was the daughter of
John Holt
 

Children: (1) Henry; (2) John; (3) twins William [1840] who died in infancy; (4) Robert [1840] who died in infancy.

He died in Halifax

Churchyard, John
[1843-1903] Son of Henry Cuper Churchyard. Baptised in Halifax [10th December 1843].

He married Julia Sarah Webb from London, in Hull [24th April 1871].

The family lived at Holt's Terrace, Southowram; Siddal Hall [1874]; Southport [1891].

John and Julia died in Southport.

See Hannah Frances Churchyard

The Churn
A feast which was a tradition of the Halliday family. The feast was served – when the hay had been gathered in – to everyone who had helped with hay-making

Churn Milk Joan
Crow Hill, Midgley Moor. Aka Churn Milk Peg and Nelmires Stoop. It is recorded as Churn Milk Joan in 1834.

A 6 ft 9 in high, plain, stone pillar – probably a boundary marker. The four vertical faces are each about 16 in wide at the base and 10 in wide at the top.

It is said to be named after a milk-maid who lived at the Mount Skip Inn and died in a snow-storm whilst crossing the moor to fetch milk.

The stone is said to spin round three times when it hears the bells of Mytholmroyd church on New Year's Eve.

It has been said to resemble a plague stone, and it is said that a penny placed in a small depression on the top will bring good luck.

See Savile's Lowe

Churn Pot, Ovenden Wood
Preston Lane. Farm. Recorded in 1907

Cinder Hill, Coley
Aka Cinder Hills, Cinder Hills Farm.

Late 15th century timber-framed single aisled house built by William Otes around 1513.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The arms of the Whitley family dated T M W 1633 were taken from here to Shibden Head by the Stocks family.

Royal Arms decorated the house.

The building is currently used as a store for a garden centre

Cinderhills
Aka Cinder Hills. Area of Siddal.

There were surface deposits of iron here. Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here

Jeremiah Rawson had a copperas production business here.

See Ironworking

Cindrils
The name of a refractory brick made by Joseph Morton Limited. These were produced for use in kilns for the steel industry

Cinema de Luxe, Halifax
This was originally the Casino of the Northgate Hotel.

It could accommodate 550 people.

In March 1912, it became the Cinema de Luxe.

Around 1914, the name was changed to Theatre de Luxe

Cinema Royal, Halifax

Cinemas

The Circulator
Newsletter of the Haley Hill Literary & Scientific Society. Some of John Hartley's early poetry was published in the magazine. It began in 1866 and ceased publication after 2 years. It was published by Roberts Leyland. It sold at 2/- a copy

Citizen Guild of Help, Halifax
Recorded in 1917 at 18 Rawson Street when Henry L. Genner was secretary

The City, Cote Hill
An area of densely packed housing at Burnley Road. Much of the property was demolished in the 1950s.

See Rose & Crown, Cote Hill

City Fold, Wheatley
Aka The City, The Fold. City Lane.

The house was mentioned in the 16th century when the Whitley family lived here.

A house was built in the 17th century and considerably extended

The City, Halifax
This was a densely populated area at Cross Fields with an estimated 780 people living in a maze of back-to-back houses, courtyards, dimly-lit shops, and narrow streets.

The City, Wheatley
House aka City Fold, Wheatley

Civic Book of Remembrance
See Halifax Civic Book of Remembrance

Civic Centre, Luddendenfoot
The building is the former Luddendenfoot Mechanics' Institute.

When Denholme United Methodist Chapel and School closed in 1965, the war memorial was moved to the Civic Centre

Civic Hall, Brighouse
Bradford Road. Built by Mallinson & Barber in 1866 as the town hall and municipal offices at a cost of £7,000 for the Brighouse Town Hall Company Limited. It was opened by the Chairman, Sir George Armytage, on 14th October 1868.

The building was also known as Savoy Buildings.

The building housed the Brighouse Mechanics' Institute and 8 shops in the hall on the ground floor.

From 1880, it was used as a theatre, and in 1888, a grand concert was held here to celebrate Mrs Sunderland's golden wedding.

On 12th May 1882, a mob smashed all the windows as the police were being briefed on handling the Irish Riots.

In 1887, the Municipal Offices in Thornton Square were built to provide further office accommodation.

In 1898, the Magistrate's Court was held here.

It became a cinema in early 1902, and was known as the Savoy Cinema until 1959.

In 1937, there were plans to build a new civic hall at Wellholme Park.

In 19??, Stafford Cripps gave a speech – The Popular Front against Fascism – to the Brighouse Labour Party at the Hall.

The Council bought the building in 1960 and opened it as the Civic Hall in 1968.

The frontage has recently [1999] been restored, and the building is now used for concerts and light entertainment.

It was closed at the end of 2007 for refurbishment. This yet to start [Aug 2008].

See Brighouse & District General & Penny Savings Bank, Brighouse Town Hall and A. B. Brook

Civic Hall, Hebden Bridge
Crown Street. In the 1950s, Hebden Bridge Liberal Club became Hebden Bridge Civic Hall

Clap Lane Toll House, Sowerby Bridge

Clapham, Alfred
[1861-1917?] Born in Camberwell, London.

He was a master tailor / army pensioner [1911].

Around 1881, he married Annie [1862-19??] from Sheffield.

Children: (1) child; (2) Lionel [b 1895] who was a tailor's assistant [1911]; (3) Alfred Victor [b 1898] who was a tailor's assistant [1911]; (4) Harold Charles [b 1902]; (5) Kate Lilian [b 1896] who was a milliner [1911]; (6) Doris [b 1899]; (7) child who died young; (8) child who died young; (9) child who died young; (10) child who died young.

They lived at 19 Clare Road, Halifax [1911]

Clapham, Captain
[16??-16??] A Royalist command captured at the Battle of Sowerby Bridge

Clapham, D.
[18??-1???] Photographer at Ferney Lee Studio, Burnley Road, Todmorden [1897]

Clapham, Harold
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Electrical & Mechanical Engineers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clapham, Rev Paul
[19??-] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [2009] and Greetland & Lindwell Methodist Church [2009]

Clapham, Richard
[1???-17??] Built Northgate House, Halifax between 1735-1742.

On 5th December 1717, he married (1) Judith Nicols [16??-1718] from Elland.

On 6th May 1724, he married (2) Mrs Elizabeth Foster [16??-1739] from Ossett, sister-in-law to Thomas Dickenson, at Thornhill.

Children: (1) Sarah [d 1725]; (2) Richard [d 1733]; (3) Hannah [d 1739]; (4) Elizabeth [d 1742].

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Clapman, Charles
[18??-18??] A farmer at Soap House, Hartshead.

On 25th December 1868, he was robbed by Benjamin Beevers as he walked from Clifton to Hartshead

Clapton, Eric
[1945-] English guitarist, singer, songwriter.

He was a visitor to the home of Champion Jack Dupree in Ovenden

Clapton Lodge, Halifax
Parkinson Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

The house was recorded in 1905 and 1910.

It was demolished before World War I, and the properties east of Leamington Avenue, including Clapton Avenue, were built on the site.

See Mary Craven

Clare Hall Baths, Halifax
Huddersfield Road, Halifax.

Halifax Central Baths were planned on this site in May 1933. At first, the Cross Field site was considered. In 1936, the site at Clare Hall was purchased and the house was demolished. In 1937, the go-ahead was given for a pool development, but this was discontinued on account of the Second World War.

In 1959, new plans were drawn up. The T-shaped pool – with 7 lanes – was to be 100 ft by 42 ft, with room for 350 bathers, a diving area, 570 spectator seats, slipper baths, Turkish baths, cafe and parking for 45 cars. Building work began in 1964.

The modern swimming pool – Halifax Pool – opened by Halifax Corporation on 4th April 1966 by sports minister Dennis Howell. The tiled murals behind the diving board were the work of Kenneth Barden, who set out to depict British pond life, insects, fish, plants and people of Halifax.

The baths are still in use

Clare Hall, Halifax
Around 1810, Mrs Ann Prescott changed the name of Calico Hall to Clare Hall.

In 1847, the Hall was leased to Robert Parker, and he bought it in 1853.

After his death in 1856, he passed the Hall and other property to Thomas Edmundson Parker.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

From 1919, it was the headquarters of the Halifax branch of the YMCA.

In 1936, it was purchased by Halifax Corporation who intended to build swimming baths on the site. In 1946, it was demolished. In April 1966, Clare Hall baths were opened on the site.

See Clare Hall School, Halifax

Clare House, Halifax
5 Clare Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Clare Road Liberal Club, Halifax

Clare Road Maternity Home
Opened by the Halifax & District Nursing Association in 1917 to tackle the problem of infant mortality. This was the first of its kind in the district

Clare Road Tuberculosis Clinic, Halifax
8 Clare Road. Recorded in 1929, when Wilfrid Smith was Clinical Tuberculosis Officer

Claremont House, Sowerby Bridge
Claremont Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Claremont Villas, Brighouse
50 Bradford Road, Brighouse.

Owners and tenants have included

Claremount
District of Calderdale to the north of Halifax.

It was formerly known as Blackcar and Beaumont Town.

At a meeting – chaired by Thomas Parker – in October 1864, it was decided to change the name Beaumont Town to Claremont, and that a large board should be put up at the top of New Bank with the word Claremont on it.

The name is now spelled and pronounce Claremount

Claremount Co-Op
Branch number 16 of the Halifax Industrial Society opened in May 1865.

In 1936, a grocery department is recorded at 55 Prospect Street

Claremount Liberal Club
Recorded in 1887 at Alma Road / Primrose Street, when A. Booth was Secretary.

The Club Buildings on Dale Street North were designed by J. F. Walsh [1896]

Claremount Park & Recreation Ground
Horley Green Road. 5-acre park recorded in 1905

Claremount Ward Conservative Club
Recorded in 1917 at 170 New Bank, Halifax, when Henry Simpson was secretary

Clarence House, Halifax
2 Clarence Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Clareville, Halifax
52 Prescott Street, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

Clarion Cycling Club, Halifax

Clarion Vocal Union
Halifax. Recorded in 1907

Clark
[Surname]

There are currently around 25 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Clark. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Clark Beck
The name for the Hebble as it flows beneath Clark Bridge, Halifax

Clark Bridge, Halifax
Aka Clarke Bridge or Smithy Bridge. Named for the clergy who used the bridge on their way to the Parish Church.

The bridge crosses the Hebble brook just east of Halifax Parish Church at Bank Bottom.

The bridge was the boundary between Halifax – the forest of Hardwick – and Northowram, as specified in the Gibbet Law – which provided that, if a victim of the Gibbet was able to withdraw his head as the blade fell and escape across Hebble Brook at this point, he could be freed – see Running Man.

The original bridge was stone. An iron bridge was built in 1868. This was re-built and opened on 16th November 1917.

The bridge was damaged when a train derailed on 27th December 1908.

The bridge was re-built in 2000.

The manorial corn mill was nearby – see Mulcture Hall.

The ancient pathway of Wakefield Gate runs over Beacon Hill, down Old Bank, over Clark Bridge and into Halifax.

The Paton & Baldwin factory used to be near here.

Beerhouses & Pubs in Clark Bridge, Halifax

See Clark Bridge Viaduct, Halifax and Ducking Stool, Halifax

Clark Bridge Viaduct, Halifax
Railway viaduct at Clark Bridge which was built in 1874 to link North Bridge Station and Halifax Old Station.

Considerable property – including Isle of Man Yard – had to be demolished for construction of the 480 yard long viaduct.

The Duke William, Halifax stood next to the south side of the viaduct.

The viaduct was demolished in 1981

Clark, Rev Charles
[18??-18??] Pastor at North Parade Baptist Church, Halifax [1862]. He was popular and drew great crowds to the Chapel

Clark, Charles
[1816-1909] Son of Phoebe [née Rose] and John Clark. Born in Leeds.

He was a labourer [1835]; a sawyer [1841].

On 10th September 1835, he married Dinah Jowett, daughter of John Jowett, at Coley Church.

Dinah and Charles Clark were the great-grandparents of Sir Edmund Hillary.

Dinah was a weaver [1835]; a corset maker [1841].

Children: (1) William [1838-1932]; (2) Sarah Ann [1840-1908]; (3) Hannah Maria [1844-1904]; (4) George [1845-1901].

The family lived at Haley Hill, Halifax [1841].

The family emigrated to New Zealand, sailing on the Indus from Gravesend and arriving in Nelson in 1843, brought out from England by the New Zealand Company with all sorts of promises, the company had been unrealistic and failed, leaving the settlers impoverished at times.

Charles died in Whakahara, North Island [1909]. Dinah died in Auckland, New Zealand [1895]

Clark, Charles
[1857-1880] An unmarried porter working at Holmfield Railway Station.

On 24th July 1880, he attempted to save Mrs Martha Ann Rothera from an on-coming express train as she crossed the railway line. Both he and Mrs Rothera were killed

Clark's Cottage, Illingworth
Built in 1753

Clark, Edward
[1854-1???] Born in Ackworth, Yorkshire.

He was beerhouse keeper at the Malt Shovel, Ambler Thorn [1891].

He married Sarah Ann from Halifax.

Children: (1) Edward C [b 1880] who was an errand boy in brick yard [1891]; (2) Ernest [b 1880] who was a worsted spinner [1891]; (3) Harry [b 1884]; (4) Willie [b 1885]; (5) Rosamond [b 1890]

Clark, Francis
[1???-1643] Of Burlington [Bridlington]. A Royalist soldier. He was a casualty of the Civil War and was buried at Halifax

Clark, G.
[18??-18??] Journeyman dyer at Halifax.

In January 1861, he was declared insolvent

Clark, Sir George Norman
[1890-1979] Son of James Walker Clark.

He was educated at Bootham School, York. He became a leading historian. He was knighted in 1953. He was professor at Oxford, Cambridge and several other universities. He was an authority on Anglo-Dutch history He edited the Oxford History of England.

Clark, H.
[18??-19??] Jeweller at Halifax.

In July 1885, he was declared bankrupt

Clark, Henry
[18??-18??] In 1838, he married Ann, daughter of Thomas Milne

Children: Anne Eliza who married Samuel Milne Smith

Clark, Isaac
[19??-19??] He was Vicar of Coley [1948]. He left Coley to become Vicar of Saint James's Church, Halifax [19??]

Clark's: J. Clark & Company
Fustian manufacturers at Hebden Bridge. Recorded in 1905.

See James Clark

Clark, James
[18??-19??] Of J. Clark & Company

Clark, James Walker
[1858-1936] CBE, JP.

Of Park Mount, Halifax.

He married Mary, daughter of S. T. Midgley.

Children: (1) James who became professor of German at Glasgow University; (2) George Norman; (3) son; (4) Barbara; (5) daughter.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Clark, John
[17??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1766]

Clark, Joseph
[17??-18??] Tanner of Northowram.

On 27th December 1794, he married widow Mary Bottomley of Halifax, at Halifax Parish Church

Clark, Joseph
[17??-1835] He lived at Lee House, Shibden [1835]

Clark, Joseph
[1842-19??] (Possibly) son of Thomas Clark.

He married Sarah Jane [1840-1???], daughter of Martha [née Tempest] and Joseph Foster, in Bradford.

Children: (1) Alice [b 1863]; (2) Joseph Foster [b 1865]; (3) Edward Watkinson [b 1867]; (4) Florence [b 1863]; (5) Lucy [b 1873] who married Charles Crossley; (6) John William Tempest [b 1875]; (7) Thomas Holdsworth; (8) Ruth [b 1880]; (9) George Alfred [b 1882]; (10) Maud [b 1884]; (11) child

Clark, L. H.
[18??-19??] DCM.

In January 1916, Lance Corporal Clark received the Distinguished Conduct Medal for bravery during action on the Yser Canal

Clark, Mr
[18??-1???] Clock and watch maker, jeweller and silversmith at Union Street, Halifax. Around 1875, the business was acquired by A. Z. Sindall

Clark, Stephen
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Erringden [1835]

Clark, Thomas
[1???-1???] Of Scout Hall, Shibden.

He married Unknown.

Children: Elizabeth [16??-1717] who married John Halliday

Clark, Thomas
[17??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1767]

Clark, Thomas
[1819-18??] Son of Thomas Clark.

He was land owner and coal proprietor [1851]; paper merchant [1863].

On 17th February 1842, he married Martha Gibson Watkinson, daughter of George Watkinson, in Halifax.

Children: (possibly) Joseph

Clark, Thomas Holdsworth
[1878-1909] Son of Joseph Clark.

He was a currier.

He married Alice Emma Priestley [1883-19??] in Bradford.


Alice Emma was the daughter of John Priestley
 

Children: Edward Priestley (Clark) [b 1904].

In 1911, the widowed Alice was living as a servant with a family

Clark, Dr Thomas Lindsay
[19??-19??] MD, FRCS.

Of Halifax. In 1937, he was at 23 Aked's Road, and at Addington House, Savile Park, Halifax.

In 193?, he married Peggy Watkinson.

Children: (1) son [b 1938]; (2) daughter [b 1949]. Both children were born at Hargreaves Head, Shelf

Clark, Tom
[1845-1???] Born in Ackworth, Yorkshire.

He was a retort maker [1881]; a clay retort maker [1891]; a foreman brickmaker [1901]; publican at the Bacchus, Halifax [1911, 1917].

In 1879, he married Sarah Jane Lloyd [1858-1???] from Salford, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Albert [b 1880]; (2) Anne [b 1881] who was a worsted mill hand spinner [1891]; (3) Annie Clark 20 Daughter. Single. Worsted spinner "; (4) Tom [b 1883] who was a brass finisher [1901]; (5) Samuel [b 1885] who was a worsted spinner [1901], a brick maker [1911]; (6) Maud Elizabeth [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner [1901]; (7) Hettie [b 1889]; (8) George Clarence [b 1894] who was a brass worker [1911]; (9) May [b 1897] who was a toffee wrapper in manufactory [1911].

The family lived at 20 Brian Road, Lindley cum Quarmby, Huddersfield [1881]; 1 Crow Point, Northowram [1891]; 20 Beechwood Avenue, Halifax [1901]; the Bacchus, 10 and 12 King Street, Halifax [1911]

Clarke
[Surname]

There are currently around 26 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Clarke. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Clarke family
From 1696, they were tenants of Mary Mitchell at Scout Hall, Shibden.

See Joseph Clarke

Clarke & Luke
In 1881, they were recorded making wrapping paper and bundle back at Booth Wood Mill, Rishworth.

In March 1886, they conveyed the business to Joseph Law and Job Morton

Clarke, E.
[1???-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1942-1947]

Clarke, Edward
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clarke, Edwin
[18??-19??] Born in Kidderminster.

He was a newsagent-general shop keeper [1895].

On 1st September 1895, he married Edith Emily Sheffield [1875-1934] in Halifax.


Edith Emily was born in Kidderminster
 

Children: (1) Walter Clarke; (2) Jessie [b 1903]; (3) Annie [b 1905]; (4) Edith [b 1910].

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 197 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1911]; Northlea, Holywell Green [1918]

Clarke, G. G.
[18??-19??] Assistant house surgeon at the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary [1895]. Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895]

Clarke, George
[1809-18??] Born in Sowerby.

He was a comber in Sowerby [1835]; a wool comber [1841]; a rail labourer [1851]; a dyer [1861].

In 1835, he married widow Ann Butterworth [1807-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.

Ann had 3 children by her first marriage: (1) Edward [b 1829]; (2) Alice [b 1831]; (3) Thomas [b 1832].

George and Ann had children: (1) Percival; (2) Robert [b 1837] who was a cotton piecer [1851], a self-acting cotton winder [1861]; (3) Sarah Ann [b 1839] who was a cotton piecer [1851, 1861]; (4) Susannah [b 1841] who was a cotton piecer [1851]; (5) Mary Elizabeth [b 1846] who was a cotton piecer [1861].

The family lived at Sowerby Street, Sowerby [1841]; 56 Sowerby Street, Sowerby Bridge [1851]; 55 Sowerby Street, Sowerby Bridge [1861]

Clarke, H.
[18??-19??] Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a practical watch maker and jeweller at 30 Pellon Lane, Halifax

Clarke, Helen
[18??-19??] Daughter of J. A. Clarke of Hunstanton and Fransham, Norfolk.

She was the second wife of John Henry Whitley

Clarke, Herbert
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clarke, Hubert
[18??-1???] Assistant to Rev Francis England Millson at Northgate End Chapel, Halifax [1889-1892]

Clarke, Rev J. A.
[18??-19??] Minister at Thornfield United Free Methodist Church, Greetland [1907]

Clarke, Rev James William
[18??-19??] He was educated at London University before becoming Deacon at Brighouse [1892-1894]. He left to serve at Farnborough

Clarke, Joseph
[17??-18??] Tenant of Scout Hall, Shibden.

In 1805, Elizabeth Ramsden and her son, Robert, conveyed the Scout Hall estate to Joseph for £4,000.

He married Unknown.

Children: son.

The Scout Hall estate passed to his son

Clarke, Joseph
[18??-18??] A china dealer at Todmorden.

On 31st October 1859, he posted a letter to Hull which contained a £5 note and a half-sovereign. He made a note of the number of the banknote.

The letter never arrived and the Bank of England stopped the note. In November, William Frederick Hardy, a clerk at Leeds Post Office, tried to offer the note in payment, and the Bank of England trace it back to Hardy. In the trial at Leeds, the jury found Hardy guilty of stealing the money

Clarke, Joseph
[18??-18??] Son of Mr Clarke.

He inherited the Scout Hall estate.

He was involved in coal-mining in the Shibden area. In 1864, the business failed. The Stocks family, who had loaned money to Joseph, received Scout Hall and the estate when he was declared bankrupt

Clarke, Lindsay
[1939-] Novelist and teacher. Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School [1950-1957] and King's College Cambridge.

He married Phoebe Clare, a ceramic artist.

His novel The Chymical Wedding won the Whitbread Fiction Prize [1989]

Clarke, Maria
[17??-1806] Or Rebecca. Daughter of George Clarke of East Barkwith, Lincolnshire.

She married John Prescott.

She was buried at Lincoln

Clarke, Mr
[1???-1???] Son of Joseph Clarke.

He inherited the Scout Hall estate.

He married Unknown.

Children: Joseph Clarke.

The Scout Hall estate passed to his son

Clarke, Percival
[1835-1896] Son of George Clarke

Born in Sowerby.

He was a cotton piecer [1851]; a warehouseman [1861, 1871, 1881]; a coal agent [1891]; a coal merchant [1896]; a member of the Lily of the Valley Lodge [1896].

In 1868, he married (1) Elizabeth Crowther [1838-1873] from Sowerby, in Halifax.

Elizabeth died in 1873.

In 1874, he married (2) Elizabeth Haley [1846-1???] from Greetland, in Halifax.

Elizabeth was a woollen weaver [1891]

Children: (1) George Haley [Clark] [b 1875] who was an iron turner [1891], an engine maker's turner [1901]; (2) Bertha Haley [Clark] [b 1877] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a cotton reeler [1901].

The family lived at West Street, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; Victoria Square, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 8a Vale Street, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 5 Vale Street, Sowerby Bridge [1901].

Percival collapsed and died whilst attending the funeral of a fellow Oddfellow.

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [2/5/1896]

Clarke, R. G.
[19??-19??] Curate at Sowerby [1945]

Clarke, Thomas
[1852-19??] Alias John Phillips. A cabinet maker living at 21 Dale Street, Brighouse. A married man.

On 28th January 1880, he was arrested on 3 charges of forging cheques belonging to the Halifax Industrial Society and the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited. Police found cheques together with dies and a machine for stamping cheques at his home. He was sentenced to 15 months' imprisonment with hard labour

Clarke, Thomas Henry
[1887-1916] DCM.

Born in Halifax.

Son of Dora Clarke [1856-1???].


Dora came from Liverpool, and was an unmarried charwoman [1891, 1901]
 

His marriage record [1908] states that he was the son of Harry Holland, packer.

They lived at 29 Hare Street, Halifax [1891]; 38 Hare Street, Halifax [1901]; 32 Hare Street, Halifax [1908].

He was a worsted bobbin setter [1901]; a boiler tenter [1908]; a firer stationary boilers [1911].

In 1908, he married Lilian Helm [1886-19??] at St Augustine's Church, Halifax.


Lilian, of 13 Harrow Street, Halifax, was the daughter of Hudson Helm, butcher
 

Children: Dora [b 1911].

The family lived at 8 Leafland Street, Halifax [1911]; Mires Farm, Rishworth [1916]

During World War I, he served with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment. He was a Lance-Corporal, then Sergeant. He was awarded the DCM [29th November 1915]

For conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty on the 16th October 1915, on the Yser Canal. He was in charge of a party of bombers holding up a sap head within a few yards of the enemy's line. The end of the sap head was blown in by a trench mortar and he was buried. He was dug out, found to be wounded in the leg, and was ordered off to the dressing station much against his will. About 15 minutes later he was found barricading the end of the sap, and assisted to drive off 2 enemy bombing parties, who, in turn, attempted to break through into our lines

He died on 5th July 1916 (aged 29).

He was buried at the Authuile Military Cemetery, France [F 23]

Clarke, W. A.
[1???-1???] RIBA, MRTPI.

Chief Architect for Halifax Corporation [1975]

His work included Akroydon Infants' School and Boothtown Junior & Infants' School

Clarke, Wallace
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clarke, Walter
[1896-1918] Son of Edwin Clarke.

Born in Halifax.

He was a creeler in a carpet mill [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 97th Field Ambulance Royal Army Medical Corps (Territorial Force).

He was killed in action [21st March 1918] (aged 22).

He was buried Ham British Cemetery, Muille-Villette [I F 2]

Clarke, Wilfred
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clarke, William
[18??-1889] He died – possibly having been murdered – in an incident at the Dog & Partridge, Heptonstall

Clarkin, Fred
[1883-1915] Son of James Clarkin

Born in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) 

He died 16th October 1915 (aged 31).

He was buried Bard Cottage Cemetery [I F 18]

Clarkin, James
[1849-1???] Born in Ireland.

He was a domestic coachman [1874].

In [Q4] 1874, he married Mary Ann Tansey [1856-1???] in Halifax.


Mary Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Mary [b 1876]; (2) (possibly) Thomas [1877] who died in infancy; (3) Dennis [1879-1954]; (4) Fred; (5) Harry [b 1885]; (6) Annie [b 1888]; (7) Willie [b 1890]; (8) Agnes [b 1893].

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 27 Back Foundry Street, Halifax [1915]

Clarkson, Rev Abraham
[17??-1850] A native of Earlsheaton. He trained at Idle Academy and served at Bingley before becoming Minister at Moor End Congregational Church [1815-1817]. He moved to Batley

Clarkson & Buckley
Legal firm at 13 Crossley Street, Halifax [1905]. Partners included James Clarkson and George Dyson Buckley

Clarkson, Arthur
[1???-19??] Member of King Cross Cricket Club

Clarkson, C. T.
[18??-18??] Chief Constable for Halifax [1874].

He lived at 36 Hampden Place [1874]

Clarkson, James
[18??-18??] Partner in Hall & Clarkson.

He lived at Savile Cottage, Halifax [1845]

Clarkson, James
[18??-19??] A member of King Cross Cricket Club. In the 1900s, he batted a record score.

In 1933, a new scoreboard was dedicated in his honour

Clarkson, James
[1852-19??] Born in Middleham, Yorkshire.

He was a solicitor; a partner in Clarkson & Buckley; Clerk to Elland UDC; President of the Halifax Incorporated Law Society; Honorary Solicitor to the Halifax Chamber of Commerce; with Norris, Foster & England [1918]

In 1877, he married Sarah Margaret Pearson [?] from Leeds, in Leicester [?].

Children: (1) Charles [b 1879] who was a solicitor's articled clerk [1901]; (2) Percy [b 1883] who was an engineering student [1901]; (3) Sydney [b 1885] who was an auctioneer's articled clerk [1901]; (4) Arthur [b 1888]; (5) Lydia Cavallier [b 1889] who married [1915] Mervyn Lister; (6) Louie Irene [b 1812].

The family lived at 35 Craven Terrace, Halifax [1881]; 20 Highfield Terrace, Halifax [1891, 1905]; 28 Parkinson Lane, Halifax [1911]

Clarkson, Joseph
[1???-18??] Tea dealer and mustard manufacturer at 9 Southgate, Halifax [1837]

Clarkson, Misses
They ran a school in Halifax [around 1850]

Clarkson, Richard
[16??-16??] Chaplain at Illingworth [1650-1652]

Clarkson, Thomas & Collinson
Legal firm at 25 Harrison Road, Halifax, and at Rochdale [1934].

See Harry Collinson and Richard V. Thomas

Clattering Stones
Cragg Vale.

During World War II, there was a dummy airstrip here to deceive enemy bombers.

See Clattering Stones Road, Cragg Vale and Starfish sites

Claxton, Thomas
[18??-19??] Canal boat owner and carrier [by water] at Elland.

He lived at 11 Dewhirst's Buildings, Elland [1905]

Claxton, William
[1885-1918] Son of Mary Ann and John Claxton.

In [Q1] 1906, he married Ann Jane Williams in Todmorden.

They lived at 13 Carr Green, Lumbutts, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 8th September 1918 (aged 33).

He was buried at the Terlincthun British Cemetery, Wimille [III D 12].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clay...
The entries for people with the surname Clay are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Clay
The surname may have originated with someone who worked in clay or who lived in an area where clay was found.

George Redmonds writes that Henry del Clay is recorded at Rastrick in 1332, John de Clay of Clayhouse is recorded in 1419, Richard Clay is recorded at Sowerby in 1540 and Thomas Clay is recorded in Halifax in 1642.

There are currently around 73 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Clay. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Clay family of Luddendenfoot
This branch of the family was important in Luddendenfoot.

George Clay was an early member of the family.

See Boy Mill, James Clay, Delph Mills, Luddendenfoot and Luddendenfoot Mill

The Clay family of Rastrick
This branch of the family was important in Rastrick.

They were Quakers.

See Clay House, Soyland, Clay House, Greetland, John Clay, William Clay, Rastrick Country Secondary School, Rastrick Hall and Rastrick House

Clay & Earnshaw
Worsted and woollen manufacturers. Partners were John Clay, William Earnshaw, and J. T. Clay & Sons Limited.

Recorded between 1799-1951

Clay & Horsfall
Worsted spinners at Wharf Mill, Sowerby Bridge and Regulator Mill, Sowerby Bridge. Founded at Luddendenfoot by brothers-in-law, James Clay and John Horsfall in 1863. They were at Luddendenfoot Mill [1872].

The partnership replaced that of Clay & Priestley which was dissolved in 1863.

Partners included Frank Clay, James Reginald Clay, Stanley Clay, and Frank Barber Clay.

The company evolved into John Horsfall & Sons Limited

Clay & Marsdens
Silk spinners and manufacturers which evolved from Marsden Brothers, Holden & Company

Clay & Priestley
Woollen manufacturers. Partners included brothers-in-law, James Clay and Solomon Priestley.

The partnership was dissolved in 1863 and Clay went on to establish Clay & Horsfall

Clay, Barker & Cockcroft
Cotton manufacturers at Hangingroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge [1861]. Partners included Thomas Barker

Clay's: Daniel Clay & Sons
Woollen manufacturers established by Daniel Clay at Hollins Mill, Sowerby Bridge [1905]

Clay Hall, Rastrick
Owners and tenants have included

Clay House: Gabled Barn
The 17th century aisled barn at Clay House, West Vale is listed.

It has been converted into 2 dwellings.

Clay House, Northowram
Built in 1604 by John Clay, father of William Clay.

The property which is now Number 31 Towngate, Northowram was originally a part of Clay House.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Now a private house

Clay House Park War Memorial
The memorial plaque remembering those who died in World War I and World War II is in the Oak Room at Clay House Park, Greetland and was unveiled on 13th April 1929 by Viscount Lascelles.

See Greetland War Memorial

Clay House, Soyland
Lighthazels Road. Aka Clayhouse. The house was owned by the Clay family. There are datestones SC 1690 over the entrance arch, and S1662C over the main door.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax

Clay House, West Vale
Rochdale Road, Greetland

Clay's: J. S. Clay & Sons
Woollen and worsted manufacturers at Rastrick In 10/1892, the business was converted into a limited liability company

Clay's: J. T. Clay & Sons Limited
Worsted spinner and woollen manufacturer of Crowtrees Mill, Rastrick. Established by Joseph Travis Clay. The business was carried on by other members of the family including Arthur Travis Clay, Hugh Travis Clay, and John William Clay.

At the Great Exhibition of 1851, they exhibited many of their products in the Woollen and Worsted section

woollen trouserings, blue and white angolas, pure indigo dye, manufactured from fine Saxony wool, Australian wool and sundry varieties; waistcoatings in woollen and silk and of fine worsted yarn, cotton and silk; union cloth, woollen and cotton; fancy dresses and shawls

See Clay & Earnshaw

Clay's: James Clay & Company Limited
Woollen spinners and manufacturers established by James Clay.

They had business at Luddendenfoot Mills, Danny Lane Mill, Boy Mill, Luddendenfoot, Delph Mills, Luddendenfoot, Hayes Mill, Mixenden, Denholme Mills, Luddendenfoot, and Turvin Mill, Cragg Vale.

They produced cloths and serges for the War Office, the Post Office, the Admiralty and many other government departments.

At Luddendenfoot Mills, they employed 55 hands [1861], and 130 hands [1871]

In 1895, they employed around 1100 workers at their mills.

On 22nd November 1909, there was a women's strike at his Luddendenfoot mills.

Charles Clay continued his father's business


Question: Can anyone clarify the link – if any – between this company and James Clay & Sons Limited?

 

Clay's: James Clay & Sons Limited
Woollen manufacturers at Holme Mill, Sowerby Bridge and Hollins Mills, Sowerby Bridge.

In 1895, they employed around 120 workers.

Successive partners included James Clay, Charley Clay, and Bernard William Clay.

The business went into voluntary liquidation in 1920.

Harold Foster Clay was Managing Director [1950s].

See John Foster Clay and Richard Gibson

Clay's: John Clay & Company
Tea dealers and coffee roasters at 24 Crown Street, Halifax [1845]

Clay's: John Clay's Foundation
A charity established by the will of John Clay. He left £1,000. Using figures for average earnings, £1,000 in 1843 is roughly the equivalent of £785,000.00 today

Clay's: Joseph Clay & Company Limited
See Crowtrees Mill, Rastrick and Clay family

Clay's: Joseph Travis Clay Memorial Fund
Charity established by Joseph Travis Clay

Clay Pits Farm, Halifax
Recorded in 1867, when Joseph Baldwin died here

Claye House, Greetland
See Clay House, Greetland

Clayhouse Farm, Barkisland
It was the Royal Oak pub [1841]

Clayton, Alfred
[1867-19??] Born in Brighouse.

He was a wire dresser [1911]; (possibly) landlord at the Duke of Edinburgh, Brighouse [1913].

Around 1888, he married Emily [1869-19??] from Rastrick.

Children: (1) child who died young [before 1911]; (2) George [b 1888] who was a silk dresser [1911]; (3) Ethel [b 1892] who was a silk dresser [1911]; (4) Harry [b 1895] who was a coal hurrier [1911].

The family lived at Westgate, Clifton [1911]

Clayton & Bell
London artists who produced some of the stained glass at All Souls' Church, Haley Hill.

The clerestory windows depict the apostles and evangelists

Clayton & Company
Grocers, corn and flour merchants of Bailiff Bridge. They used Bailiff Bridge Mill as a warehouse [1904]

Clayton & Lockwood
Silk manufacturers at Rastrick [1856]. Partners included James Clayton and Benjamin Lockwood.

On 24th June 1856, and a girl lost her arm in an accident at their mill.

The partnership was dissolved in August 1859

Clayton, Arthur
[1895-19??] A crane driver at Clifton, Brighouse.

In July 1936, he was charged with murdering his wife, Sarah, by strangling her with a handkerchief. He replied

All I can say is that I did it. No one else did

Clayton, Benjamin
[18??-19??] He lived at Palace House, Hebden Bridge [1905]

Clayton, Benjamin Mitchell Rushworth
[1866-1915] Son of William Rushworth Clayton, scutcher.

Born in Luddendenfoot.

He was a mechanic of Sowerby Bridge [1887]; an iron turner [1891, 1901]; a machine tool maker [1911].

In 1887, he married Roseanna Linney [1868-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Roseanna of Tuel lane, was the daughter of John Linney, labourer
 

Children: (1) Dora [b 1888]; (2) Florence Ivy [b 1889] who was a milliner [1911]; (3) Frank Rushworth.

The family lived at 12 Egerton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901]; King Cross Lane, Halifax [1911]; Cragg Vale, Mytholmroyd [1916].

Benjamin died in Lancaster [Q4 1915] (aged 48) 

Clayton Brothers
Iron workers in Halifax.

Recorded in 1915, when they were at Bowling Green Foundry, Halifax

Clayton's Central Mart, Brighouse
Opened by Thomas Clayton at Hutchinson Lane / Commercial Street

Clayton, Frank Rushworth
[1891-1915] Son of Benjamin Mitchell Rushworth Clayton

Born in Mytholmroyd.

He was a machine wood worker [1911].

He lived at 73 North Parade, Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion, King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died from gas poisoning [19th December 1915] (aged 24).

He was buried at Bard Cottage Cemetery, Belgium [I A 20]

Clayton, Franklin
[1854-1906] Born in Huddersfield.

He was landlord of the Railway Hotel, Hebden Bridge [1888, 1890, 1894].

An advertisement for the business announced


His tap's the choicest to be had,
The best food's on his shelf;
Call at the Railway Inn, my lad,
If you'd enjoy yourself

In 1876, he married Hannah Swift in Halifax

Clayton, Fred
[1865-1916] Born in Southowram.

He was a journeyman plumber [1891]; a plumber [1901]; a plumber journeyman [1911].

In 1887, he married Emma Hawkins [1864-1???] in Halifax.


Emma was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Herbert; (2) Dorothy [b 1898] who was a finisher in pinafore works [1911].

The family lived at 9 Wilson Street, Halifax [1891]; 34 Hanson Lane, Halifax [1901]; 40 Kell Lane, Shibden, Halifax [1911].

Son Herbert was killed in action in the Persian Gulf [12th December 1915] (aged 27).

Fred, aged 50, had been seriously ill for several months, and died shortly after being told his of his son's death

Clayton, Fred
[1898-1917] He served in World War I.

He died 13th December 1917 (aged 19).

He is remembered on Clifton War Memorial and in the book Clifton War Memorial

Clayton, George
[18??-1???] Of Purlwell, Southowram.

He married Grace [1816-1854].

Children: (1) Jubal [1839-1841]; (2) Amos [1843-1845]; (3) Ruphas [1845] who died aged 10 days; (4) Ann [1853-1858]; (5) Sarah Jane [1848-1849].

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Clayton, Giles
[1???-16??] Vicar of Coley [1646]

Clayton, Harry
[1889-1917] He served in World War I.

He died 19th July 1917 (aged 28).

He is remembered on Clifton War Memorial and in the book Clifton War Memorial

Clayton, Henry
[1???-1776] A Baptist at Rodwell End, Stansfield.

He preached at Salendine Nook before Salendine Nook Baptist Church was established. He was chosen as Minister when the chapel opened in 1743. He held the post for 33 years until his death

Clayton, Henry
[1???-18??] Aka Harry. Son of Joshua Clayton.

In 1821, he and his brother Jack were convicted at York Assizes for robbing James Knight's warehouse in the field at South Parade. He was sentenced to transportation to Tasmania for 7 years. He was one of 171 convicts who left England on the Malabar [18th June 1821].

2 other men with them were also transported for the same offence

Clayton, Herbert
[1889-1915] Son of Fred Clayton.

He was educated at Saint Augustine's School; a plumber with his father.

He enlisted with the 1st Battalion, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment). In 1907, he went with his Regiment to India.

He worked on the Government Railways in India..

At the outbreak of World War I, he was called up and served as a Lance Corporal attached to the 2nd Battalion Dorsetshire Regiment.

He was killed in action in the Persian Gulf [12th December 1915] (aged 27).

He was buried at the Kut War Cemetery, Iraq [M 22].

His father died shortly after being told his of his son's death

Clayton, James
[1???-18??] Of Illingworth.

On 20th August 1827, he broke into James Akroyd's warehouse at Brookhouse and stole a quantity of worsted warps and weft. On the following night, the local constables saw him climb on to the roof of Illingworth Gaol – or towser – where he removed some of the slates and, after whistling to call his confederates, entered the gaol. The constables apprehended Clayton and found the goods stolen from Akroyd hidden in the lobby at the gaol. His partners were known to the police

Clayton, James
[18??-18??] Silk spinner at Rastrick. Partner in Clayton & Lockwood [1856].

In December 1862, he was declared bankrupt

Clayton, John
[1???-18??] Aka Jack. Son of Joshua Clayton.

In 1821, he and his brother Harry were convicted at York Assizes for robbing James Knight's warehouse in the field at South Parade. He was sentenced to transportation to Tasmania for 7 years. He was one of 171 convicts who left England on the Malabar [18th June 1821].

2 other men with them were also transported for the same offence

Clayton, John
[16??-1688] Of Ripponden. In 1668, he issued tradesmen's tokens worth ½d bearing the image of a swan. He was buried at St Bartholomew's, Ripponden

Clayton, John
[1791-1834] Of Brighouse.

He married Sarah [1796-1875].

The couple were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Clayton, John W.
[18??-19??] Plumber and glazier at 36 Gibbet Street, Halifax [1900]

Clayton, Jonas
[1819-1896] Of Brighouse.

He was President of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited. He was a local preacher and was connected with Park Wesleyan Methodist Chapel, Brighouse.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) a daughter; (2) a daughter

Clayton, Joseph
[1799-1891] He was a groom and ostler in Halifax.

In 1819, he was charged with uttering forged notes on Briggs's Bank at Halifax. His father Joshua was hanged at York in April 1820 for similar offences.

Joseph was transported to Van Diemen's Land for life. He was one of 157 convicts who left England on the Maria [26th July 1820]

He was one of the original settlers of Perth, Tasmania [from 1827]. In Tasmania, he became a fellmonger, quarry owner, shop-owner and land-owner and also financed a number of business ventures for his acquaintances.

On 11th March 1822, he married Mrs Mary Gray, from York, wife of a Hull shoemaker, Peter Gray. Mary had herself been transported to New South Wales for 7 years for stealing ribbon. She was one of 103 convicts who left England on the Providence [6th June 1821]. She and others on the Providence continued on the Hobart, Tasmania.

By 1835, Joseph had been granted a conditional pardon, which was followed by a full pardon five years later. The pardon recognised that Joseph and Mary had assisted the poor.

Mary died at the age of 85.

Earlier, Mary's mother had also been transported.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child.

Many of the family were buried at St Andrews Cemetery, Perth.

Clayton, Joseph
[18??-18??] BA.

Educated at Emmanuel College Cambridge. He was Assistant Master at Heath Grammar School [1876]

Clayton, Joshua
[1762-1820] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Joseph; (2) Jack; (3) Harry.

Claytonaws tried at York Assizes [4th March 1820]. In April 1820, he was hanged at York for uttering forged notes on Briggs's Bank at Halifax.

His son Joseph was transported for similar offences [1820].

Sons Jack and Harry were transported for robbing James Knight's warehouse in the field at South Parade [1821]

Clayton, L. Jack
[18??-19??] Bass singer of Halifax. Recorded in 1931, when he was a vocalist at a High Class Concert at Stainland Mechanics' Institute

Clayton, Lemuel
[1834-1894] Son of Mr Clayton.

He was educated at Barker's School, Halifax. He started work as a mill hand.

Around 1870, he joined a small silk firm in Brighouse.

He was one of the founders of the business which became Clayton, Murgatroyd & Company Limited.

In 1886, he became a member of Halifax Town Council

He was a member of the Literary & Philosophical Society.

He was one of the co-founders of Bankfield Museum [1887].

He travelled extensively [from around 1881] and collected a large number of curios, which became some of the first exhibits in the Museum.

It is said that

In 1886, he acquired a stone carving of a baby from the Higashi Honganji temple at Kyoto, Japan. These stone figurines were intended to bring luck to childless women, and it was not appropriate for him to take one home, but Clayton convinced the authorities to allow him to have one, after insisting that he was not a missionary

Clayton, Luke
[17??-1844] A local Methodist preacher. He is recorded at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden and Illingworth Moor Wesleyan Chapel.

An obituary in The Methodist Magazine recording his death on 2nd June 1884, reported that

[He] had been a member of Wesleyan society 50 and a Local Preacher nearly 40 years. He was at Halifax Market on the day previous to his death, and on the Sunday morning was preparing to take his Sabbath appointment. He had often been employed in the interment of the dead in the burying ground connected with Illingworth chapel, where his remains have now their resting place; and only a few days before, standing on the margin of the grave, he spoke of his departure as probably being at no great distance, and also of the joyous hope with which he anticipated it. He died suddenly but safely

Clayton, Maud
[11??-1225] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1211-1225]

Clayton, Metcalfe & Company Limited
At one time, this was described as
The only silk spinning Company in Halifax

producing every type of spun silk yarn, used for hosiery, outwear embroidery, knitting, sewing, weaving and blending with other fibres.

They were at Wade Street [1936]

Clayton, Mr
[18??-1???] He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Mary Ann [b 1841] who married Joseph Murgatroyd; (2) Lemuel

Clayton, Mr
[18??-18??] He married Mary [18??-1895]. At the time of her death, Mary was landlady of the Nag's Head inn, Shelf.

Children: (possibly) William Ralton who was an innkeeper [1895].

Mary and William Ralton are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Clayton, Murgatroyd & Company Limited
Silk spinners at Wellington Mills, Halifax.

The business was originally Clayton, Marsdens & Company Limited.

Lemuel Clayton bought out the Marsdens and was joined by his nephews, John Henry Murgatroyd and Louis Philbrick B. Murgatroyd.

In 1895, they employed around 800 workers.

In 1902, they employed around 550 workers

Clayton, P.
[18??-19??] Partner in Jackson & Clayton.

He lived at Lee Mount Road [1905]

Clayton, Percy
[18??-19??] He was RSPCA inspector in Halifax.

On 7th March 1916, he married Annie Armytage Sykes at Halifax Parish Church.


Annie was the widow of Mr E. Sykes, electrical engineer
 

Clayton, Ralph
[1758-1813] A Serjeant-at-Law.

He was a resident of Newcastle-on-Tyne.

He died as he was passing through Halifax on his way to Malvern where he hoped to find a cure for his ill health. He was buried at Halifax Parish Church. The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Clayton, Ralph
[1899-1918] He served in World War I.

He died 20th October 1918 (aged 19).

He is remembered on Clifton War Memorial and in the book Clifton War Memorial

Clayton, Sam
[1797-1879] Son of wire drawer William Clayton.

Born in Clifton.

He was innkeeper at West Gate, Clifton [1841]; innkeeper of Clifton [1847]; a farmer [1851]; farmer & publican at the Black Horse Inn, Clifton [1861]; a retired farmer [1871].

In 1847, he married Hannah Pickles, at All Saints' Church, Dewsbury.


Hannah, of Cleckheaton, was born in Skipton, the daughter of innkeeper Thomas Pickles
 

The family lived at West Gate, Clifton [1841]; Clifton [1851]; Hare Park, Liversedge [1871]; High Town, Liversedge [1881].

Living with him in 1841, were Mary Clayton [aged 40], Benjamin Womersley [aged 25] (Ag lab), John Berry [aged 15] (wire drawer's apprentice) and Ann Clayton [aged 15] (F.S).

Living with them in 1851, 1861 and 1871 was Hannah's sister Elizabeth Pickles [1799-18??].

Also with them in 1871 was niece Mary Wilkinson [aged 12].

He died in Dewsbury [1879]

Clayton Schofield
Halifax wool merchants [1928]

Clayton, Simeon
[18??-18??] Worsted spinner at Hay's Mill, Mixenden [1861]

Clayton, Thomas
[17??-17??] Aka Royal Clayton. Coiner of Stannery End He was arrested, but escaped on the way to York Castle. He returned home and continued his coining activities.

In December 1773, William Sunderland of Bradford, who had been charged with uttering counterfeit silver coins, gave Clayton's name to the authorities and he was arrested. He escaped from the Bailiffs with his irons on, and in January 1774, The Leeds Mercury published an advertisement offering 10 guineas for his capture. In March/April 1774, he was arrested in Liverpool

Clayton, Thomas
[1729-1???] Farmer and weaver of Stannery End, Cragg Vale. A leading member of the Cragg Vale Coiners. His wife was also mentioned in several statements.

The informer, James Broadbent, led William Deighton to Clayton, but he had fled. This failed attempt to arrest one of the coiners led David Hartley to pursue Deighton.

The official notice of 1769 for his arrest described him as

THOMAS CLAYTON, late of Turvin in the Township of Sowerby, and Parish of Halifax, Stuff-Maker, aged about Forty, and about five feet seven inches high, is slenderly made and round shouldered. has light-coloured Hair, is thinnish visaged, and of a fair complexion. He used to wear brown coloured Cloaths, and was but indifferently dressed

Clayton returned to the district and began his coining activities again. He was arrested in January 1773 but managed to escape from the bailiff

with his irons on

and was re-arrested in April in Liverpool.

Clayton claimed to have accompanied Matthew Normington and Robert Thomas when they murdered Deighton. After the acquittal of Normington and Thomas, Clayton gave fresh evidence which led to their execution for highway robbery

Clayton, Thomas
[1859-1931] General draper and house furnisher with business at Briggate [1880].

Around 1883, he moved to 20 Commercial Street and then into adjoining premises where he opened a large carpet shop and his Central Mart.

He also had property in front of the Borough Club and a 3-storey warehouse in Nettleton's Yard

Clayton, W.
[18??-19??] In 1881, he established the Cash Supply Stores Limited

Clayton, William
[1729-1???] Coiner of Sowerby.

The official notice of 1769 for his arrest described him as

WILLIAM CLAYTON, late of Sowerby, in the same Parish, Weaver, aged near 40, about five feet seven inches high, broad-set, flaxen-coloured Hair, which curls a little, is fresh-coloured, and generally wears dark brown Cloaths, sometimes a Crimson Shag Waistcoat

Clayworth, Margaret de
[12??-1307] Prioress of Kirklees Priory [1306-1307]

Cleare, Rev Henry
[18??-18??] Or Clear, Clere. Perpetual curate at Walsden [1854]

Cleaver, Rev Charles William Easeby
[18??-19??] Curate at Hebden Bridge [1886, 1892].

His brother, Rev William Wilfrid Mackworth Cleaver, was Curate at Hebden Bridge at the same time

Cleaver, Rev William Wilfrid Mackworth
[18??-1932] BA.

He was educated at Oxford before becoming Curate at Hebden Bridge [1892-1894].

He was known as Mr Wilfred to distinguish him from his brother, Rev Charles William Easeby Cleaver, who was working in the Parish at the same time.

He left Hebden Bridge to assist his father as Curate at Pulham St Mary, Norfolk. He was Domestic Chaplain to Earl of Strathmore [1896-1900]

Cleavin's: T. Cleavin & Sons Limited
Tanners at Hipperholme [1922]

Clecklewyke
A fictitious West Riding town which is the setting for J. B. Priestley's play When We Are Married

Clee, Derek
[19??-] Former employee of Philips and founding partner of Crosslee PLC, Hipperholme

Clee, Herbert Horace
[1893-1954] Grandson of James Henry Brooksbank.

The Halifax branch of the Clee family were carpet weavers descended from 3 brothers who arrived from Kidderminster in the 1860s.

He was General Secretary of the Northern Carpet Trades Union; Vice-President of the National Joint Committee; unsuccessful Labour candidate for Pellon in 2 elections [19??, 1954]; a lay preacher at Highroad Well Congregational Church.

In 1922, he married Doris Scott from Pellon, who worked at Crossley's Carpets

The Clef Club
A chamber music society established in Todmorden in September 1920. The Club wound up in December 1924

Clegg
The surname originates in Rochdale / East Lancashire. The word comes from the Old Norse kleggi meaning a haystack or a place where hay was stored.

Henry de Clegg is recorded at Sowerby in 1309

There are currently around 48 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Clegg. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Clegg, Dr A. H.
[18??-19??] Of Hebden Bridge

Clegg, Albert Edward
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Clegg & Stott
Woollen manufacturers at Stainland.

Partners included John Clegg of Barkisland, Samuel Stott and James Ball.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1853.

See Clegg: Stott & Ball

Clegg, Ann
[18??-1883] She was described as
a respectable young woman of Barker-street, Lineholme

She committed suicide in Catholes Dam 29th June 1883

Clegg, Arthur
[18??-1???] Director of Hollingrake & Clegg Limited

Clegg, Barker
[18??-19??] He established business as a slipper manufacturer at Carr Mill, Todmorden [1905].

See Wilfred Isaac Johnson

Clegg, Barker Thomas
[1880-1961] JP, CBE, LLD.

He lived at Hangingroyd House, Hebden Bridge.

He married Alice [d 1866].

He was buried at Heptonstall Church

Clegg Brothers
Canal carriers established at Sowerby Bridge in the 1930s by former workers of Hollidays

Clegg, Charles
[17??-1???] Coiner of Turvin

Clegg Cliff

Clegg, David
[18??-19??] A nationally-famous organist. In 1903, he visited Halifax and performed at the Victoria Hall. The audience were unfavourably impressed by his energetic performance of his own composition Storm Fantasia, and the Courier review recorded that at the height of the storm
the organ refused to be humbugged any longer

Clegg, Emily
[1870-1938] Daughter of Thomas Clegg.

Born in Soyland.

She never married.

She died in St Luke's Hospital, Halifax [28th April 1938].

Probate records show that she left an estate valued at £2,358 15/10d to her youngest brother Herbert

Clegg Foot, Heptonstall Moor

Clegg's: G. H. Clegg & Sons
Transport company of Walker Lane, Sowerby Bridge. Recorded in 1924, when an application to ply for hire in the Halifax Borough was declined, and in 1925 when an application for a Hackney carriage licence to convey passengers between Elland and Sowerby Bridge was declined

Clegg, George
[18??-1???] JP.

Partner in Hollingrake & Clegg Limited.

He and Abraham Hollingrake worked at Oats Royd Mills, Luddenden, and left to establish their own business in 1868.

He was a Town Councillor and a member of the Chamber of Commerce

Clegg, George
[1839-1895] Of Halifax.

He was a worsted spinner; a philanthropist.

He married Sarah

The family lived at Clapton Lodge, Halifax [1895].

Members of the family are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Clegg, George Harold
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Rifleman.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Clegg, George Harold
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Rifleman.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd, and in the book Royd Regeneration

Clegg, Hanson
[1???-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a mechanic/fitter [1871].

In 1860, he married Mary, daughter of David Wilkinson.

Children: (1) Mary Hannah [b 1861]; (2) Thomas E [b 1869]; (3) Arthur William [b 1870].

The family lived at Ardwick, Manchester [1871]

Clegg, Jack
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Royal Air Force.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clegg, Jack
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served as a Gunner.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in St John in the Wilderness, Cragg Vale and in the book Royd Regeneration

Clegg, James
[1845-1918] Born in Elland.

He was butcher at Westgate, Elland [1871, 1881, 1891]; butcher & inn keeper at the Wheat Sheaf, Elland [1901]; licensed victualler at the Wheat Sheaf, Elland [1905, 1911, 1917, 1918].

The pub was popularly known as the Three Bonnie Lasses on account of Clegg's wife and daughters.

In 1867, he married Elizabeth Iredale [1842-1920].

Children: (1) Ruth [b 1871] who married John Edward Briggs; (2) Joseph [b 1875] who was a butcher [1891]; (3) Sarah Elizabeth [b 1876]; (4) William [b 1880].

Living with them in 1891 was boarder Henry Hinchliffe [aged 17] (apprentice butcher), and cousin Isabel Jordan [aged 21] (pupil teacher).

Living with them in 1901 was boarder Richard D. Walker [aged 21] (cashier's clerk).

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £496 2/10d

Probate was granted to his widow

Clegg, Jim
[1873-1936] Son of Thomas Clegg.

Born in Ripponden,

On 26th December 1896, he married Maria Thomas [1875-1942] in Sowerby.


Maria was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Annie [b 1897]; (2) Harry [1904-1874]; (3) Thomas Turner [1911-1928].

The children were all born in Sowerby

Clegg, John
[17??-18??] A manufacturer of worsted goods. In 1785, he built Little John Mill, Clifton Common

Clegg, John
[1800-1842] Son of Betty [1780-1842] and Mr Clegg.

He and his family were ropemakers trading as Martha, Sarah & J. Clegg.

He married Martha [1798-1867], daughter of Hannah [1767-1856] and Mr Brook.

Children: (1) Samuel; (2) Sarah; (3) Joseph; (4) Brook [1831-1843]; (5) Emma [1832-1834] who died aged 1 year and 7 months; (6) Jonas; (7) Hannah; (8) John.

Members of the family were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone

Clegg, John
[1830-1905] On 20th September 1850, he married Jane Richardson at Halifax Parish Church.


Jane was the daughter of
Henry Richardson
 

Children:

Clegg, Rev John Arthur
[1875-1900] Of Hebden Bridge. He was curate at West Derby.

He had been unwell for 3 months before his death and went to Blackpool. His father went to fetch him home, but when they were at the railway station Rev Clegg ran off along the railway line, jumped into the sea. He swam out for over a mile, took off his boots, waistcoat and collar and disappeared. A verdict of suicide was recorded

Clegg, John H.
[18??-19??] Cotton spinner at Lower Lumb Mill, Colden [1905]

Clegg, John H.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the West Riding Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clegg, John W. B.
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served with the Merchant Navy.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clegg, Jonas
[18??-19??] A popular cricketer.

Recorded on 9th July 1900, when £78 18/10d was raised in his benefit in Todmorden

Clegg, Jonas
[1835-1901] Son of John Clegg.

He was a self employed rope, twine and cotton band maker at Sandhome Rope Walk Todmorden – see Martha, Sarah & J. Clegg.

He married Susannah, daughter of Thomas Law.

Children: (1) Jonas; (2) Annie; (3) Abraham; (4) Samuel; (5) Amy; (6) Walter; (7) Arthur.

The family lived at 39-41 North Street, Todmorden; Bankside, Langfield

Clegg's: Martha, Sarah & J. Clegg
Ropemakers at Todmorden.

Partners included Martha Clegg, Sarah Clegg and J. Clegg.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1856

Clegg, Matilda
[1851-1859] About noon on 5th December 1859, during heavy flooding in many parts of Yorkshire, the 8-year-old factory girl was blown into a mill-dam at Shibden and drowned

Clegg, Mr
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1773]

Clegg, Mr
[1???-18??] Son of Thomas Clegg of the Roebuck Inn, Todmorden.

He served in the Navy. When he returned to the district after his travels, he is said to have named the inn Portsmouth, a local milking-house Whitehaven, and the local joiner's-house Chatham

Clegg, Mr
[16??-1682] Curate at Southowram [1670].

Heywood comments that there are other curates at this time

but they have proved so bad that they are not worth naming ... they are without a minister, going to worship at Halifax, or coming to hear me [1681]

Of Clegg, Heywood writes

one told me of the sad passage of Mr Clegge, preacher at Chapel Le Brears, that he is a constant frequenter of the ale house close by him, that a month ago, May 28th 1682, having done his service at chapel in the forenoon, at noon some company fell a drinking, and he was sadly drunk, yet he would needs go into the chapel and was helped with much ado into the pulpit. He spoke blasphemy, saying we have a merciless god. Another time, being drunk, he fell in snow and had been lost but for help. The vicar saith not a word against this man, and it is vain to inform against him

Clegg Nook
Area of Mytholmroyd. Many houses here were cleared in 19??

Clegg, Oliver
[1851-1896] Landlord of the Sun Inn, Rastrick [1891, 1894].

In 1872, he married Ann, daughter of James Firth, in Halifax.

He died on 21st January 1896.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £344.

After his death, Ann took over at the Sun Inn and then married Fred Firth

Clegg, Philip
[18??-19??] Wholesale and retail wine and spirit merchant in Halifax.

He took over the business of J. & R. R. Thomas.

In 1892, he was at 27 Silver Street, Halifax.

On 2nd July 1900, he was one of the jurors sworn on the Grand Jury at the Midsummer Quarter Sessions for the West Riding at the Bradford Court House

Clegg, Richard
[1???-18??] He ran a private school at Wheatley [around 1838]

Clegg, Rev Richard
[1645-1720] Born in Stonehouse, Walsden. Vicar of Kirkham in Lancashire. He left a sum of money in his will for the establishment of a school, the first in Todmorden.

See Rev Richard Clegg's Charity and Peter Ormerod

Clegg, Richard
[17??-1???] Coiner of Turvin

Clegg's: Rev Richard Clegg's Charity
Todmorden. Charity endowed by Rev Richard Clegg

Clegg, Samuel Fielden
[18??-18??] Rope and cotton band manufacturer at York Street, Todmorden [1845]

Clegg, Stott & Ball
Woollen manufacturers at Stainland.

Partners included John Clegg of Barkisland, Samuel Stott and James Ball.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1853.

See Clegg & Stott

Clegg, Thomas
[17??-1???] Innkeeper at the Roebuck Inn, Todmorden [177?].

His son served in the Navy and gave names to several local features, including Portsmouth, Whitehaven, and Chatham

Clegg, Thomas
[1772-1807] Hatter in Halifax [1796]

Clegg, Thomas
[18??-1???] He was inn keeper at the Hare & Hounds, Sowood Green [1874]; landlord of the Bull & Dog, Stainland [1887]

Clegg, Thomas
[1842-1904] Born in Sowerby

He was an engineer [1864].

In 1864, he married Mary Hollas in Halifax.


Mary was the daughter of
Joseph Hollas
 

Children: (1) Emily; (2) Jim; (3) Ellen [1874-1943] who married Joseph Priestley; (4) Annie [b 1877] who married Fred Marsden Whiteley; (5) Herbert [b 1880].

The couple died in Stainland: Thomas [18th December 1904]; Mary [1915]

Clegg, Walter
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in St John in the Wilderness, Cragg Vale and in the book Royd Regeneration

Clegg, Walter
[18??-191?] During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Clegg, Walter Sandwell
[1???-1???] Of 51 St Thomas Street, Halifax.

In 1904, he was one of the first people to be granted a motor cycle registration and a motor cycle drivers' licence

Clegg, William
[1???-18??] He had a school in Stainland

Clegg, William
[1799-1880] He was a stone delver [1867].

He married Sarah Clegg [1803-1884].

Children: Emma Jane Clegg [1845-1917] who married William Freeman

Clegg, William
[1808-1889] Shuttle maker of Rose Street Mill, Todmorden.

He introduced the concept of room and power whereby tenants rented space in his Todmorden mill and used his steam power to operate their own looms

Clegg, William
[1819-1874] He was a mason [1861]; inn keeper at the Hare & Hounds, Sowood Green [1861]; landlord of the Bull & Dog, Stainland [1871, 1874].

He married Nanny [1817-1892].

Children: (1) Elizabeth [1847-1902] who married David Norcliffe; (2) Philip [1851-1913].

He died 3rd October 1874. After his death, his widow Nanny took over at the Bull & Dog [1881, 1891].

Members of the family were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland

Clement, Douglas
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clements, Rev Roy Adrian
[1944-] He served at Royston before becoming Vicar of Clifton [1973-1977] and Vicar of Rastrick [1977-1983]. He left to become Vicar of Horbury Junction

Clemmett, Donald
[19??-1???] He married Lynn Murgatroyd.


Lynn was the daughter of
Edward Murgatroyd
 

Donald worked on the farm for Murgatroyd

Cleverley, Rev Michael Frank
[19??-] He was Curate at St Augustine's Church, Halifax [1963]; curate at St John the Evangelist, Huddersfield [1963-1966]; Curate at Brighouse [1966-1969].

In 1969, he left to serve at Gomersal

Clewer, Francis
[18??-19??] Watch maker with W. H. Clewer & Sons [1905]

Clewer, W. H.
[1???-1???] Watch maker and jeweller. He was at Strand, Todmorden [1876].

He established W. H. Clewer & Sons

Clewer's: W. H. Clewer & Sons
Todmorden watch makers and jewellers. Established around 1846. W. H. Clewer was at Strand, Todmorden [1876].

See Francis Clewer

Clickable map of Calderdale

Cliff
[Surname]

There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Cliff. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Cliff Hill estate
18th century development at Warley

Cliff Hill, Warley
Cliff Hill Lane. 18th century / early 19th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

See Warley Free School for Girls

Cliff, John
[18??-18??] Sauce manufacturer, tea, cigar and tobacco merchant at Old Cock Yard and 49 Hanson Lane, Halifax [1874]

Cliff, John
[18??-19??] Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was producing


CLIFF'S
Pure, Celebrated and Original
YORKSHIRE SAUCE

in Halifax

Cliff, Richard del
[12??-12??] A member of the local Cliffe family. In 1272, he was fined for taking thorns from Hipperholme Wood

Cliff, Squire
[18??-18??] Naturalist at 59 St James's Road, Halifax [1874].

Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a naturalist, picture framer and general dealer at 59 St James's Road, Smith Street, Halifax

Cliffe
[Surname]

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Cliffe. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Cliffe family
Family associated with Lightcliffe and Cliffe Hill.

See Cliffe Hill, Lightcliffe, Richard Cliffe, and Richard del Cliff

Cliffe Cottage, Ripponden
Halifax Road.

It is now called Rycliffe.

Owners and tenants have included

Cliffe Hall Club, Rastrick
Cliffe Road. Formerly Cliffe House

Cliffe Hill Mansion, Lightcliffe
Built on the site of an earlier house dated 1350.

Owners and tenants have included

Around 1760, the house was bought by the Walker family – who already owned Crow Nest Mansion.

It was rebuilt in 1775, when William Walker brought timber from the Baltic coast of Russia, then to Hull and finally by canal to Brighouse.

Ann Walker lived here.

It passed to Evan Charles Sutherland-Walker. When he lived at Crow Nest, Sutherland-Walker had his own gas works which supplied Crow Nest and Cliffe Hill.

In 1862, John Foster was a tenant. Also listed at the house are Abraham Briggs Foster, John Foster, and Jonas Foster.

The crest of John Foster is displayed over the entrance

JUSTUM PERFICITO NIHIL TIMETO

Act justly and fear nothing
In 1867, Sutherland-Walker sold the house to Major Johnston Jonas Foster. It was later leased to Sir William Aykroyd.

David Hepworth bought the house.

In 1947, it was divided into apartments.

See Cliffe Hill School and Lower Crow Nest, Lightcliffe

Cliffe Hill, Midgley
Towngate. Aka Cliff Hill. House dated INMN 1601. It is said to be the oldest house in the village.

Around 1700, there were alterations and an archway was added. There are 2 taking-in doors on the first floor.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

Cliffe House, Rastrick
8 Cliffe Road.

Built by Thomas Richard Sutcliffe.

Owners and tenants have included

On 5th October 1912, it opened as the town's new Conservative Club.

It is now Cliff Hall Club

Cliffe, Isaac
[1795-1857] Of Brighouse.

He married Unknown.

Children: Charles [1829-1858].

Isaac & Charles were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cliffe, Isaac
[18??-19??] Stone quarrier at Lane Head Quarry, Brighouse [1896]

Cliffe's: O. & S. Cliffe
Quarry owners and stone merchants at Lane Head Quarry, Brighouse.

On 13th January 1881, 6 men were injured and 2 died they were being raised to the surface and the chain broke.

It was found that a link in the chain had not been welded properly.

The following month, Cliffe's were fined £5 for using a single-link chain – which was prohibited by law.

See John & Samuel Greenwood

Cliffe, Richard
[14??-15??] He was one of the people who supported Eastfield Chapel, Lightcliffe in 1529 A member of the local Cliffe family

Cliffe, Sam
[1860-19??] Born in Bradford.

He was a beer retailer at the Reindeer Hotel, Halifax [1905, 1911].

In [Q4] 1893, he married Annie Lonsdale Fewster [1863-19??] from Bradford.

Children: (1) child who died young [before 1911]; (2) child who died young [before 1911]; (3) child who died young [before 1911]; (4) Maggie Lonsdale [b 1895] who was assisting in business [1911]; (5) Sarah Annie [b 1898]; (6) Fred [b 1901]; (7) Ida [b 1905].

The family lived at 7 John Street, Halifax [1911]

Cliffe's: Samuel Cliffe & Son
Elland Road, Brighouse. Stone quarrier with quarries at Bramston Street, Rastrick [1896] and Rayner Road, Brighouse

Cliffe, Tom
[1???-18??] Local poet and Radical politician.

With J. B. Leyland, and Branwell Brontë, he was a member of a club which met at the Union Cross Inn

The Cliffe, Warley
Owners and tenants have included

Clifford, Keith
[19??-] Stage name of Keith Bowles, the Halifax-born actor. He has appeared with the Thespians and Bristol Old Vic. He has appeared in many TV, radio, and stage rôles

Clifford, Percy
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Machine Gun Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Clifford, Rev William
[16??-1733] Curate at Lightcliffe [1678,1700]. He was later curate at Haworth.

He died at Northowram.

In 1679, Heywood writes that

[Clifford] told one that he would rather dye in the pope's bosom then in the presbyterian faith – the like I have heard that several clergymen have asserted, it maybe god will put them to it

The Northowram Register records that he

was very old, having not preached of many years

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Cliffs
The cliffs which can be seen to the right on the approach to Brighouse from Elland are the remains of the quarrying activities of the Brighouse Brick, Tile, and Stone Company Limited.

See Miln Cliff, Rastrick

Clifton
District of Calderdale to the east of Brighouse.

See Population

The Clifton family
See De Clifton family

Clifton airport
In the 1930s, Arthur Reeve proposed an airport at Clifton.

He wrote

My suggestion is that Halifax, Huddersfield, Bradford, Dewsbury and Brighouse should share the expense of an expert survey of the Heavy Woollen District with the object of establishing an aerodrome in this large industrial area.

If a suitable site were agreed – and I am convinced that Clifton would be an admirable place – we could name the aerodrome the Heavy Woollen Aerodrome

See Brighouse Flying Club and Cousin Lane Aerodrome

Clifton Almshouses
In 1735, the will of Sir George Armytage, a codicil left money to build housing for use by the poor of Clifton. It is not known whether these were built.

A row of 5 cottages at Commonside were rented out [1839] by the Overseer of the Poor at a rent of 1/- per year.

These were demolished in 1960. A bungalow has been built on the site

Clifton & Hartshead Charities

Clifton & Lightcliffe Band
In 1932, the name of the Clifton Subscription Band was changed to Clifton & Lightcliffe Band.

Newton Brooke of Joseph Brooke Limited was President and supported the band financially on condition that the name Lightcliffe be added to the band's name. The headquarters were then moved to Lightcliffe.

Now based in Bailiff Bridge, the band has a 160 year history, and is one of the oldest bands in the country. There is a thriving Clifton & Lightcliffe Youth Band

Clifton Beck
Aka Clifton Brook. Stream which runs from Shelf, then flows south through Bailiff Bridge – as Bailiff Bridge Beck – and Brighouse to join Hoyle House Beck and on through Wellholme Park to join the Calder.

This was a part of the boundary of the township of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse.

This was the only sewer in the town until town drainage was introduced in the mid-19th century

From time to time, sewers at Bailiff Bridge discharge into the brook.

The stream is a frequent cause of flooding in and around Bailiff Bridge and Brighouse.

See Aubrey Barron

Clifton Board of Guardians
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Clifton township have included

Clifton Bowling Club
Established around 1875 when Clifton Bowling Green was made a private green. The annual subscription was 1 guinea

Clifton Bowling Green
A public bowling green set up by Charles Ramsden in 1868 behind the Armytage Arms. In 1875, it became a private bowling green. It was said to be one of the finest greens in the county

Clifton Brass Band
See Clifton Prize Band

Clifton Bridge, Brighouse
Single-arch stone bridge over the Clifton Beck at the junction of Clifton Common and Wakefield Road. The bridge was mentioned in 1445, and again in 1502 when
The town of Clyfton and Hammelet of Brighous to repair the highway at Clifton Brig on paid of 12d

See Malt Shovel and Phoenix Bridge

Clifton Britannia Club
Sports club established in the mid-19th century.

Recorded in August 1910, when the Cricket Team became first division champions

Clifton Britannia Cricket Club
Recorded in February 1874, when they held their annual tea party at Clifton

Clifton: Coal Mining
There was considerable coal mining in Clifton in the mid-1850s

Clifton colliery railway
A 3 ft gauge railway built in 1834-1835 by brothers Benjamin and Edmund Walker to transport coal from the mines at Clifton.

The line brought coal from the Clifton Colliery and Clifton New Colliery mines and ran down the hill, running parallel to Clifton Common, and passed beneath the road and on to the Brighouse canal basin.

In 1886, after Clifton Colliery had been taken over by the Low Moor Iron Company, the railway was connected to their tramway system and also took coal northwards to their works.

The wagons were hauled by ropes, driven by a winding house at Birkby Lane. A small tunnel carried the tramway beneath Birkby Lane (the A649).

Later, there were branch lines to Pheasant Pit, Hartshead, Whitaker Pits, Clifton, and Three Nuns Pit, Hartshead [1905].

The tracks were 3 ft gauge on the line to Brighouse, and 3 ft 10½ ins on the line to Low Moor. The line to Brighouse was subsequently fitted with 3 rails to accommodate wagons of both sizes.

It was later extended to Brighouse Gas Works.

The line closed in 1928

Clifton Common
The 1-in-9 hill which climbs from Brighouse up to Clifton. The common land was originally to the east of the road.

In the past, several wills have left money for

the repairing of the lane betwixt Clifton and Brighouse

There was a fatal motor bus accident here on 16th October 1915.

See Crispin Rayner

Clifton Common Toll Bar
A toll bar on the Leeds-Elland Turnpike at the top of Clifton Common near the Armytage Arms, Clifton. It was discontinued in October 1878

Clifton Common Viaduct
Carried the railway line for Brighouse Clifton Road Station. It stood next to the wooden shop at the bottom of Clifton Common. It was demolished in March 1974

Clifton Conservative Club
Established in 1925 at Holly Bank, Clifton and opened by Sir George A. Armytage

Clifton constables
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Police Officers in Clifton

Clifton Co-operative Store
A branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society was opened at Horsley Fold, Towngate, Clifton in 1874.

The gable of the building bears the beehive emblem and the date AD 1882.

When the Brighouse District Industrial Society moved out, the building was used as the village shop and Post Office.

It has been converted into 3 dwellings

Clifton Dole Fund
Aka Riley's Charities.

See Armytage dole and Dole

Clifton Dragon
A terrible dragon is said to have terrorised the Blakelaw part of Hartshead and Clifton.

Rev Harold Norman Pobjoy suggested that name Blakelaw comes from Dracanhlawe – the mound of the dragon

Clifton flour
Millers in Clifton gave 14 lbs of flour to a stone, whereas Halifax millers gave 12 lbs to a stone. For this reason, Clifton was popular as a source of cheap flour

Clifton Football Club
Established in the late 19th century

Clifton Hall
Kirkgate / Well Lane. It was the home of the De Clifton family and the seat of the Lords of the Manor of Clifton.

In 1632,

Elizabeth and Jane, sisters of Sir Henry Savile, held Clifton-upon-Calder, viz:- Clifton Hall, 2 barns, 60 acres of land, 30 acres of meadow, 100 of pasture, 40 of wood, and 100 acres of common and moor

The Armytage family bought the Hall

Clifton Handbell Ringers
Common Side / New Street Clifton. Formed by a group (of male members) from Saint John's Church, Clifton. James Fearnley was the leader.

See Holly Bank, Clifton

Clifton, Harry
[18??-18??] Halifax comic-singer in the 19th century. He gave popular concerts locally.

His 2 daughters were also popular local singers

Clifton Hospital
Clifton's first hospital was built in 1??? at Kettlewig, Clifton. It was later known as The Poor House

Clifton House, Bailiff Bridge
Originally Clifton Mill, a part of the Firth's mill complex which has survived

Clifton House, Brighouse
81 Bradford Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Clifton House, Halifax
Bull Close Lane / High Street / Blackwall / West Parade.

Owners and tenants have included

Clifton Isolation Hospital
Thornhills. An Isolation Hospital built to accommodate those who fell ill during the smallpox outbreak of 1892. It opened on 20th June 1892.

The building is now private dwellings

See Dr Frederick Fielding Bond

Clifton, John
[13??-14??] In 1411, he was the last Lord of the Manor of Clifton. He demised the property to Roger Banaster

Clifton Lawn Tennis Club
Established in the late 19th century

Clifton Local Board
Established in 1881.

See Local Board

Clifton, Manor of
Escelf was Lord of the Manor of Clifton at the time of Domesday Book – when it was waste. The Manor then passed to Ilbert.

Subsequent Lords of the Manor included William le Flemyng, the De Clifton family, John Clifton [13??], Roger Banaster [1411], Thurstan Banaster [1469], the Soothill family, the Raynor family, William Raynor [15??], and the Savile family [1632].

See Clifton Hall

Clifton Mechanics' Institute
A Mechanics' Institute established in 185?. Recorded in 1859.

In 1876, the Institute took over the premises of the former Clifton National School.

Those who held the office of President included Saville Goldthorp [1859]

Clifton mosaic
In 1921, the Daily Mail offered a prize of £50 for the best village sign. The winning sign was called Kirklees and showed a mosaic of Robin Hood. Since there was no village with that name, Halifax Rural Council acquired the sign and, in 1922, erected the sign at the junction of Mill Hill and Blakelaw at Clifton.

The sign was removed during World War II as it may have been of assistance to German parachutists. The M62 was built over the site

Clifton Police Station


Question: Does anyone know if there was a Police Station here? Can anyone tell me anything about it?

 

See Brighouse Police Station

Clifton Post Office
Recorded in 1861, 1871 and 1881, when Ann Hirst was postmistress.

The village Post Office was located in the building which was formerly the Clifton Co-operative Society.

It closed in 2004, leaving the village without a shop or Post Office

Clifton Prize Band
Aka Clifton Brass Band. Formed in 1838.

It is said to be the second oldest band in England.

Sir George Armytage was their president in the 1860s.

It was discontinued around 1887 and reformed in 1893 and the name changed to the Clifton Subscription Band.

See Fred Berry

Clifton Road Railway Station
See Brighouse Clifton Road Station

Clifton Spitfire Accident
During World War II, 2 Spitfire fighter aircraft flew too close to each other as they were passing over Brighouse. One sliced the tail off the other with its propeller. The damaged plane crashed into a field near Clifton

Clifton Station

Clifton stone
Millers in Clifton gave 14 lbs of flour to a stone, whereas Halifax millers gave 12 lbs to a stone. For this reason, Clifton was popular as a source of cheap flour

Clifton Subscription Band
In 1893, the name of the Clifton Prize Band was changed to Clifton Subscription Band.

The first conductor was Fairburn Rayner.

In 1932, it became the Clifton & Lightcliffe Band.

In the early 20th century, members formed the original Faff and Fuffun Band

Clifton Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Clifton included:

Clifton War Memorial
Towngate. The memorial cross remembering those who served in World War I and World War II, stands on a piece of land given by Colonel Sir George Ayscough Armytage who unveiled the monument on 19th November 1921. The names of those who lost their lives in World War II were added later.

See Clifton War Memorial and Collier Row, Clifton

Clifton Water Supply Company
Established in 1874

Clifton Well
Stood opposite Clifton School. It was sunk on land given by Sir George Armytage. A memorial stone is inscribed


Edward Wright
Crispin Wilkinson
... Brearley
Joshua Goldthorpe
John Brearley

Clifton Woodhead
An area of Clifton at the head of Kirklees Wood.

The surname de Wodehede appears in Norman records.

See Black Horse, Clifton, Clifton Woodhead Hall and Woodhead

Clifton Woodhead
17th century house at Clifton Woodhead. Members of the Armytage family lived here.

It may have been the dower house for the Kirklees Estate.

See Woodhead Well

Climate

Climter Moor
Moorland near Bride Stones, above Todmorden

Clinics

Clipster Hall, Siddal
This and Lower Clipster Hall were 2 rows of terraced houses which stood at the top of Phoebe Lane, opposite Joseph Morton's Brick Works. They were demolished in the 1950s.

Owners and tenants have included

See Siddal Halls

Clitheroe, Jimmy
[1921-1973] Lancashire comedian. He performed on stage and radio.

It is said that he performed in the Rydings Hall, Brighouse. Unexplained phenomena at the Hall have been attributed to his spirit

Cliviger Coal & Coke Company
They had business at Bankwell Colliery, Cornholme [1905]

Clock
See Clockmakers, Brighouse Floral Clock, Ellis Jubilee Clock Tower, Luddenden Clocks and Millennium Clock, Hebden Bridge

Clock Almanack

Clock House, Elland
Southgate.

Built in the 1840s, as a clog maker's shop for Mr Radcliffe who made the clock.

The clock originally had two faces – one on the outside of the wall for the people of Elland to note the time and one on the inside for Radcliffe's own use. It subsequently lost one of its faces.

After Radcliffe's death, the business passed to his son, and then to his grandson who did not carry on the clog making business.

Around the 1950s, D. Watson bought the house and converted it into a showroom for his furniture business. The clock was renovated and put into working order.

The building was demolished in the 1960s/1970s when the centre of Elland was redeveloped

Clockmakers

Close, Dennis Brian
[1931-] Brian Close was born in Rawdon, Leeds. He played cricket for Todmorden [1970s]

Close: Poet Close
[1816-1891] A poet who was
somewhat eccentric, a great lover of nature [who] never tired of extolling the beauties of the Lake District

On 18th February 1867, he appeared before an audience at the Oddfellows' Hall, Todmorden when

a great dissatisfaction was felt by everyone present, his powers as a lecturer or entertainment being represented by the word nil

So strong was this feeling that the gentleman who had engaged the poet felt honour bound to cancel planned engagements in Hebden Bridge and elsewhere

Close, Thomas
[1816-1???] Born in Todmorden. He was a veterinary surgeon in Brighouse [1851].

He married Hannah [1811-1???] from Sowerby.

The family lived at Bridge Street, Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse [1851]

Cloth Hall, Heptonstall
43/45 Towngate. A cloth hall built between 1545-1548 by the Waterhouse family of Shibden Hall. It was originally called Blackwell Hall.

The original single-storey building was increased to 2 storeys in the mid 18th century.

Local handloom weavers brought their cloth here for sale to dealers.

In 1766, Michael Kay sold the hall to John Uttley for 5/-. Uttley added a second storey to the building.

The hall remained in use until it was superseded by Halifax Piece Hall in 1779. The inscription

THE CLOTH HALL

on one doorway is not original.

It was converted to cottages.

It now a private house

Cloth Halls

Clothier

Cloudesley, Hubert
Pseudonym of poet John Wrigglesworth

Clough
[Surname]

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Clough. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Clough family
See Calico Hall, Halifax

Clough Bank Beck, Mixenden
Runs down Grindlestone Bank

The Clough, Clifton
House

Clough Cottage, Luddenden Dean

Clough, Daniel
[16??-1???] A member of the Clough family of Calico Hall, Halifax.

He married Margaret, daughter of Edward Hanson

Clough Farm, Soyland

Clough Farm, Stansfield
17th century house

Clough Farm, Walsden
Owned by John Fielden. In 1785, he built Clough Mill on the land

Clough Foot Minewater Treatment Scheme, Todmorden
Bacup Road. Water treatment along the Midgelden Beck

Clough Foot, Todmorden
Aka Cloughfoot.

See Blue Ball, Cloughfoot, Clough Foot Council School, Todmorden, Clough Foot Evening School, Todmorden, Clough Foot Minewater Treatment Scheme, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Board School, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Coal Mine, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Cricket Club, Cloughfoot Independent Congregational Chapel: Graveyard, Cloughfoot Independent Congregational Chapel, Todmorden, Cloughfoot Liberal Club, Cloughfoot Mill, Todmorden, Mellins Farm, Cloughfoot, Speke Edge Farm, Clough Foot and Union Sunday School, Cloughfoot

Clough Head Cottage, Southowram
Sunny Bank Lane in the Walterclough Valley.

In the 1850s, this was a private dwelling.

In the 1860s, it became the Who could a' thowt it pub

Clough Head Hill, Heptonstall
There are several circular Neolithic or Bronze Age remains in the area: one stone circle is about 48 ft in diameter, others about 13 ft in diameter, and several smaller ones

Clough, Herbert George
[1875-19??] Born in Horton.

He was a compositor [1902].

In 1902, he married Ann Ellen Thornton in Halifax.


Ann Ellen was the daughter of
William Henry Thornton
 

Children: (1) Mabel [b 1903]; (2) Cyril Arthur [b 1906]; (3) Edgar Thornton [b 1908].

After the birth of their first child the family moved to Oldham

Clough House Farm, Ripponden
Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, Hartshead
Clough Lane. Rev Patrick Brontë moved from his lodgings at Thornbush Farm to live here – in the Hightown area of Hartshead – after his marriage to Maria Branwell in December 1812.

Their daughter Maria was born here [1814].

The house was later known as Brontë House

Clough House, Ovenden Wood

Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, Rastrick
Owners and tenants have included

See Clough House Inn, Rastrick and White Lion, Rastrick

Clough House, Sowerby Bridge
Bolton Brow. Wharf House was next door.

Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, Soyland
Late 16th century house. Altered in 1743. There is a lintel dated 1748.

Owners and tenants have included

Clough House, Walsden
Owners and tenants have included

See Thistle Hall, Walsden

Clough, James
[18??-19??] Partner in Brook, Clough & Company.

The partnership was dissolved by mutual consent on 1st August 1906, and Clough carried on business on his own account at Baildon Green Mills and 27 Charles Street, Bradford as J. Clough & Son

Clough Mill Company Limited
The Company was registered in April 1873.

See Clough Mill, Sowerby Bridge

Clough Moor Bridge, Norland
Single-span stone bridge from Norland to Greetland which crosses Maple Dean Clough. On 30th July 1867, the foundation stone was laid for the new bridge to replace an earlier bridge. A bottle containing newspapers and coins was buried in the foundations

Clough, Samuell
[1???-1???] He married Ann Barraclough


Ann was the daughter of
Richard Barraclough
 

Children: Grace

Clough Side House, Walsden
Nursing home [1988]

Clough under Warley Town
Owners and tenants have included

Clough, W. S.
[18??-18??] Joiner and cabinet maker in Halifax. The business was taken over by Sutcliffe & Woodhead

Cloughfoot
Aka Clough Foot. Area of Todmorden

Cloughfoot Cricket Club
Recorded on 1st March 1913, when a presentation was made to C. E. Lord by the members in recognition of 20 years' service

Cloughfoot Liberal Club
Recorded on 7th July 1888, when it opened in a 2-roomed cottage near Cloughfoot Board School

Clover Hill
Area of Halifax to the west of the Royal Halifax Infirmary.

The name is (possibly) a corruption of Laver Hill, which uses the Anglo Saxon element læfer [meaning a bulrush or a reed]. F. A. Leyland recorded that

we remember to have seen dwarf bulrushes growing in the once swampy ground at the bottom of this hill

See Clover Hill Farm, Clover Hill Nursery and Edward Richardson

Clover Hill Farm, Skircoat
Stood near the site of what is now Glen View Terrace.

Owners and tenants have included

Clover Hill Nursery, Halifax
Clover Hill Road.

Owners and tenants of the nursery have included

Clover House, Halifax
House on Savile Road, Halifax

Club Houses
In the 19th century, small groups of people in a club or friendly society – typically 5 or 6 in number – combined their resources to build a small row of houses – known as club houses – which they then occupied. Local examples include Club Houses, Old Town, Club Houses, Heptonstall, Club Houses, Ovenden and Wadsworth Club Houses

Club Houses, Heptonstall
Recorded in 1845

Club Houses, Ovenden
6 cottages built by the Ovenden Brotherly Society. The cost of land and construction was £600. The rent was initially 1/6d per week, and this was later raised to 2/-

Clubbers, Widdop
Aka Cludders, Cludders Slack, and Cluthers. A natural rocky outcrop at Clough Foot, Widdop near the valve house at Widdop Reservoir.

Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here

Cludders

Cludders Slack

Clunter Bottom, Walsden

Clunter's Cottages, Cragg Vale
Houses. Victoria Mills stood nearby

Clunters, Stansfield Moor
Area of Stansfield Moor. North towards Noah Dale.

See Cross Clough, Noah Dale

Cluthers

Clyff, William
[1???-15??] Constable of Skircoat [1537]

He married Unknown.

Children: Elizabeth [b 1540] who married Edmund Murgatroyd

CNS

Coach House, Greetland
Scar Bottom Lane

Coaches

Coaching inns

Coad, Richard
[1825-1900] Architect who did some work on Saint Augustine's Church, Pellon

Coady, Patrick
[18??-19??] Lodging house keeper at Smithy Street, Halifax [24 lodgers in 1903]. In May 1904, he was keeper at 7 Charles Street

Coal Clough Wind Farm, Todmorden
Wind farm near Cornholme

Coal Dike, Midgley
Small ravine above Midgley. So-called because a small quantity of coal was found there

Coal Drops, Halifax
Berry Lane. Railway coaldrops built for the Ovenden & Halifax Junction Railway Company near Halifax station in 1874 on the site of the Halifax Parish Church Vicarage.

There are 15 wooden bunkers built into the sloping hillside. The bunkers were loaded from above. Each bunker has 2 metal doors which were raised on an iron ratchet geared pulley system to dispense the coal.

In 2004, there was a proposal to convert them into houses.

See Berry Lane Viaduct, Halifax and Halifax Berry Lane Viaduct

Coal Drops, Sowerby Bridge
Station Road. Railway bridge and 15 coaldrops built for the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company near Sowerby Bridge station about 1875

The Coal Exchange
Recorded in 1905 at 2 Waterhouse Street, Halifax when Thomas Collinson had business here

Coal mining

Coal Pit Farm, Southowram
An alternative name for Pit House Farm, Southowram [1841, 1901]

Coat Hill, Warley
See Cote Hill

Coat of Arms

Coates
[Surname]

There are currently only around 8 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Coates. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Coates, Major Edward Feetham
[18??-19??] Born in London of a York family. He was educated at Marlborough. In 1881, he accepted a commission in the 3rd, Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment. He served in South Africa.

He stood as Conservative/Unionist candidate in the Elland Parliamentary election of 1900. He gained 4512 votes, but was defeated by Sir Charles Philips Trevelyan with 6154 votes

Coates, Enoch
[18??-1???] He married Sarah Breaks [1825-1???].


Sarah was the daughter of Jonathan Breaks of Shibden
 

Children: (1) (possibly) Ann; (2) Dan [b 1859].

The family lived at Norwood Green [1859]

On 9th March 1859, Sarah was charged with the wilful murder of her son Dan on 17th February. The court heard that she had been in low spirits for some time previously.

A witness Mrs Ann Jagger, said that Sarah had called upon her on the day of the murder asking the way to Coley Mill dam. Later, her father met her coming from the dam and she called out

Father, I've been in the dam, but cannot die

and added that she had lost her child in the dam.

The child's body was later found in the dam.

At the Assizes, she pleaded guilty, but the Judge directed a verdict of not guilty

Coates, Eric
[1898-1968] Government adviser.

Educated at Heath Grammar School [1909-1916].

He was involved in the liquidation of the failed groundnuts scheme in Tanganyika

Coates, Laurence
[1???-19??] Organist at Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel, Bank Top.

He lived at Southcliffe, Southowram [1950s]

Coates, Lister
[1847-1919] Architect & surveyor.

Born in Halifax.

In 1879, he married Judith Ann Lister [1846-1???] in Halifax.


Judith Ann was born in Halifax, the daughter of Sarah [1819-1???] and James Lister [1817-1???], a stover & dyer
 

Children: (1) Sarah Ellen [b 1871]; (2) Emily Jane [b 1874]; (3) Dora [b 1878]; (4) George Lister [b 1880].

The family lived at 22 Elm Field Terrace, Skircoat [1881]

In 1881, Sarah Ellen's parents were living with the family

Coates, Rev Scott
[18??-19??] Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Elland [1892, 1905]

Coates: Turner & Horner
Fullers at Wheatley.

Partners included I. Coates, E. Turner, A. Turner and G. Horner.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1872

Coates, William
[1816-1???] Born in Ireland.

He was a retired Army Captain [1861].

He married Elizabeth [1816-1???], born in Ireland.

Children: (1) George [b 1845]; (2) William [b 1851]; (3) Harriet [b 1853]; (4) Jane [b 1853]; (5) Richard [b 1855]; (6) Henry [b 1855].

The family lived at 20 Milton Place, Halifax [1861]

Coates, William
[1820-1856] He was coachman for Edward Akroyd at Bankfield [for 11 years].

He married Unknown.

Children: Joseph [1851-1874].

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Coats Paton
The name of Paton & Baldwin was changed to Coats Patons Limited on 26th July 1967

Cob Clough
Stream running beneath the site on which St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden stands. The stream caused much damage to early churches which stood here

Cobb, Frederick Arthur
[1901-1950] the son of a farmer.

Born in Winchester.

During World War I, he joined the Merchant Navy as a radio operator. Later, he was a maintenance engineer with the 2LO radio station which later became the BBC. In 1926, he was chief engineer of the Indian Broadcasting Company in Calcutta. In 1929, he returned to England where he became general manager of a company producing radio and television equipment in High Wycombe.

He was Labour MP for Elland [1945]. When that seat was abolished, he became MP for Brighouse & Spenborough [1950]. He died just over a month later

Cobbe, Lillian
[1879-19??] Of Industrial Street, Hebden Bridge. She was active in the suffragette movement.

During the fustian weavers' strike, she, Lizzie Berkly, Dinah Connelly, Lily Draper, Lavinia Saltonstall, Louisa Saltonstall and Laura Annie Wilson, were amongst 57 suffragettes and others who were arrested and imprisoned following an attack on the House of Commons in March 1907. All were given the option of 20/- fine plus costs or imprisonment. They all opted for 14 days' imprisonment in Holloway Gaol.

Cobbett Environmental Enterprise Centre, Norwood Green
Established in 2001 in the former Norwood Green Congregational Church. The head office of Urban Mines Limited is here

Cobbett, William
[1763-1835] Born in Farnham, Surrey. Radical politician and journalist.

His crusading essays on the conditions of the rural poor were collected as Rural Rides written in 1830.

During his rural ride, he visited the district and lectured at the Halifax Theatre.

See William Richardson

Cobble Bank Farm, Mixenden
Mixenden Lane. Early 18th century

Cobden Club, Todmorden
Recorded in 1905 at 7 Ridge Street. Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 68

Cobden House, Hipperholme
Owners and tenants have included

Cobden, Richard
[1804-1865] Lancashire manufacturer. He was born in Sussex into a poor farming family, and saw that the Corn Laws, profited the rich landowner and made the poor go hungry. He founded the Anti-Corn Law League and campaigned to have the laws repealed

Some local streets are named for him – such as Cobden Street, Halifax

Cobden, Richard
[1804-1865] Radical-Liberal. He was MP for the West Riding [1847-1857]

Cobdenholme
Area of Todmorden

Cobham, Sir Alan
[1894-1973] Born in London.

He became a pilot in World War I.

In 1926, he flew a round-trip to Australia.

In 1932, he started air display which became known as Cobham's Flying Circus.

He brought his Circus to Clifton on 2nd June 1934, though he was not present himself. The Circus returned in June 1935 and Sir Alan was present, though the accidental death of one of the team a few days earlier meant that all parachute jumps were cancelled, and rain on Sunday 2nd June made the flying display impossible

Cobham, Baron
In 1912, following a petition, it was decided that Dr Reginald Gervase Alexander was a coheir to the baronies of Burgh, Cobham and Strabolgi, the titles having fallen into abeyance. He died before the final decision was taken and his elder son, Gervase Disney, was summoned to the House of Lords on 8th September 1916 as Gervase Disney Alexander de Cobham, Chevalier, 12th Baron Cobham

Coburn, Harold
[19??-] Landlord of the Ram's Head, Sowerby Bridge [1999].

The pub closed in 2010 and he continued to live at the premises

Cock-Fighting
Along with bear-baiting, bull-baiting, hare-coursing and rabbit-coursing, cock-fighting was popular at markets, fairs and feasts until the early 20th century.

An individual cock-fight is called a main.

In July 1759, the Union Journal recorded that

The inhabitants of the town were for three days amused with a grand cook match between Robert Stansfield and Robert Hawksworth, Esqrs, and W. Southern and Mr Harvey, Esqrs; when 22 battles were won by the former, and 13 by the latter

See Devil's Rock, Eastwood and Union Cross Inn, Halifax

Cock Hill Farm, Cragg Vale

Cock Hill, Midgley Moor
Mesolithic evidence has been found here.

There is a Bronze Age stone and rubble circle 132 ft in diameter. This was excavated in the 1980s

Cock Hill, Mixenden
There was an outbreak of the plague here in 1631

Cock o' the North
Brewery and mark of Whitaker's Brewery.

See Halifax Steam Brewing Company, Hipperholme

Cock Walk Farm, Clifton
Recorded in 1902

Cockburn, Francis
[1869-1947] Son of Stephen Cockburn.

He was a talented artist. He was Assistant Art Master at Halifax Technical School [1900] In Ossett, he drew a series of local scenes which was published as Cockburns Ossett.

He lived at 11 Second Avenue, Halifax.

He emigrated to New Zealand [1905]. In New Zealand, he became director of the Nelson Technical School

Cockburn, Stephen
[1829-1900] Born in Ramsgate, Kent.

He bought the Ossett Observer [1873]. He moved to Ossett [1874]

He moved to Siddal after the death of his wife [1891]. He was a Sunday School teacher and lay reader.

He married Marianne Pettman [1829-1893] of Ash, Kent.

Children: (1) Stephen [1856-1903] who took over the newspaper when his father moved to Siddal; (2) William [1860-1896] who emigrated to Australia [1885]; (3) Henry [1861-1924] who emigrated to Canada [1904]; (4) Francis.

The family lived at 87 Cambridge Place, Siddal [where he died 1st May 1900]

Cockcroft
Area of Rishworth. The name is derived from the element croft and means an enclosure for birds or cockerels.

Upper Cockcroft Hall and Lower Cockcroft Hall here were homes of the Holroyd family

Cockcroft...
The entries for people with the surname Cockcroft are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Cockcroft
Another form of the surname is Cockroft

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

John de Cocckecroft is recorded in 1297.

There are currently around 59 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Cockcroft. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

See Gauxholme Mill, Walsden

The Cockcroft family
The family were important cotton-producers in Todmorden.

See Henry Cockcroft, John Arthur Cockcroft, Croft Mill, Todmorden and Little Burlees, Wadsworth

The Cockcroft family of Mayroyd
The family lived at Mytholm Hall, Hebden Bridge and Mayroyd House, Hebden Bridge

Cockcroft & Murgatroyd
Corn millers at Halifax and Rochdale.

Partners included G. Cockcroft and J. Murgatroyd.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1830

Cockcroft & Ramsden
Woolstaplers at Halifax.

Partners included Thomas Cockcroft and Thomas Ramsden.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1839

Cockcroft & Scholfield
Manufacturer of Grandrille shirtings and Bedford cords at Cinder Hill Mills, Todmorden [1905]. Partners included Herbert R. Scholfield

Cockcroft & Whitaker
Stone merchants, dealers and chapmen at Southowram. Partnership of William Cockcroft and John Whitaker.

In 1837, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Cockcroft: Barker & Crabtree
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden.

Around 1867, Luke Barker went into partnership with his brother, William, and Richard Crabtree and Thomas Cockcroft as Cockcroft, Barker & Crabtree.

The partnership was dissolved in October 1867 when Cockcroft left the partnership, and the business continued as Barkers & Crabtree

Cockcroft's: Caleb Cockcroft's Charity
In his will of 1643, Caleb Cockcroft bequeathed £10 for Wadsworth and £10 for Heptonstall and Erringden. Using figures for average earnings, £10 in 1643 is roughly the equivalent of £19,100 today. The money was to be lent to 20 poor men to buy them bread corn. The money was to buy
corn at best hand and cheapest

Cockcroft / Cockroft
The names Cockcroft and Cockroft are easily confused

Cockcroft Farm, Rishworth
House dated LEH 1649 and BSH 1709.

Owners and tenants have included

See Lower Cockcroft Farm, Rishworth and Upper Cockcroft Farm, Rishworth

Cockcroft's: J. H. Cockcroft
Occupied Exchange Mill, Elland

Cockcroft's: John Cockcroft & Sons
Cotton and linen manufacturers established by John Arthur Cockcroft.

They had premises at Croft Mill, Todmorden and Birks Mill, Walsden.

After John Arthur Cockcroft's death, the business passed to his sons Eric William, Keith, and Lionel Fielden.

They occupied Birks Mill, Walsden until the end of the 19th century.

In 1936, they bought the business of Caleb Hoyle [1923] Limited

Cockcroft's: John Cockcroft's Charity
In 1815, John Cockcroft granted money from the rent of a farm in the Withens Clough valley for a master to teach a Sunday School at Heptonstall to teach poor children to read and write [£3], £1 to the Minister at Heptonstall at Whitsuntide, £1 to the Minister at a church or chapel at Marshaw Bridge – provided that it be Church of England – at Whitsuntide. Using figures for average earnings, £1 in 1815 is roughly the equivalent of £695.00 today.

When Withens Clough Reservoir was built, the farm was lost and Morley Corporation paid the rent

Cockcroft, Riley & Sutcliffe
Stone masons at Rishworth [1874]

Cockden
Industrial area of Eastwood

Cockden Railway Station
Opened in 18??. Served the mills between Callis and Woodhouse.

Closed in 19??

Cocke, William
[18??-18??] A newsagent in Bull Green, Halifax.

One of the founders of The Halifax Courier [1852]

Cocker & Company (1929) Limited
In 1947, they had business at Jumble Hole Mill, Todmorden bleaching, dyeing and finishing of blacks and coours, rayons, crepes, cashmeres, brocades and muslins.

The business closed in the 1950s

Cocker, Frank
[1890-1970] MC.

Son of Fred Cocker.

Born in Brighouse [28th February 1890]

He worked for A. H. Leach & Company. He enlisted in 1914. He was originally with the Duke of Wellington's regiment, and, after being commissioned in early 1917, he joined the KOYLI, as an officer.

In World War I, a 2/Lt F. Cocker was an officer with the 2/4th KOYLI and was wounded during an attack on the village of Bourlon in the (Battle of Cambrai) [27th November 1917].

He was again wounded on the 20th July 1918 whilst attacking the village of Courmas in the Champagne region of France.

He was awarded the MC. His Citation in the supplement to the London Gazette of July 5th 1918 records

For conspicuous gallantry and devotion to duty. He reorganised his company when all other officers had become casualties during an attack and captured the objective. He also brought in wounded under fire. Though badly wounded, he remained on duty till ordered to withdraw

On 3rd July 1917, he married Evelyn, daughter of John Aspinall Kershaw.

Children: (1) Eileen Margaret [b 1918]; (2) Doris Muriel (Molly) [1920-2003]; (3) twins Elizabeth (Betty) [b 1924]; (4) Henry Gordon [1924-1998]; (5) Anne Cecilia [1931-2011] who married [1958] David Ramsden.

He died in Brighouse [31st March 1970]

Cocker, Fred
[1853-1???] Born in Soyland.

He was Master at Saint Mary's School, Mill Bank [1891].

In 1877, he married Mary Ellen Dobson [1852-1???] from Bradford, in Bradford.

Children: (1) Minnie [b 1878]; (2) Arthur [b 1880]; (3) Edward [b 1883]; (4) Eleanor [b 1889]; (5) Frank

Cocker's: H. Cocker & Sons Limited
Reed heald works, Trooper Lane [1937]

Cocker, Harold
[1???-19??] He was a member of the Brighouse Music Society, along with his cousin Eric Alexander Leach. He was a talented violinist and owned a Stradivarius

Cocker, John Ulam
[1791-1874] Of Making Place, Soyland.

He married Hannah [1795-1834].

Children: (1) Grace [1822-1845] who married Allen Sutcliffe and died in childbirth; (2) Ann [1829-1835].

There are memorials to members of the family at Rishworth Roadside Baptist Church

Cocker, Joseph
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Lower Swift Place Mill, Soyland [early 19th century]

Cocker, Joseph
[1816-1892] Born in Soyland [6th August 1816].

He was a woollen manufacturer employing 4 men, boys & girls [1871].

Around 1846, he married Rebecca [1817-1884].


Rebecca was born in Stainland
 

Children: (1) Frances [1846-1920] who never married; (2) Matilda [b 1847] who was a dress maker [1871]; (3) Louisa [1852-1930] who was a woollen warper [1871]; (4) Priscilla [b 1855] who was a woollen warper [1871]; (5) John [b 1859].

The family lived at Briggate House, Elland [1871, 1884].

Rebecca died 13th May 1884.

Joseph died 29th October 1892

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Cocker, Sam
[18??-19??] He was a Deacon at Blackley Baptist Chapel [1911]

Cocker, Walter
[17??-18??] Tobacconist, cigar and tobacco merchant established at 6 Crown Street, Halifax around 1810.

Around 1860, the business was acquired by Mr Locke. He rebuilt the premises.

Around 1875, the business was acquired by Cocker

Cockerill, Newsam
[1874-1???] Son of George Cockerill.

He was a railway drayman of 36 Calder Avenue, Pye Nest, Halifax [1904].

On 19th April 1904, he married Charlotte Ann daughter of Job Smith at Bolton Brow Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Cockett, Richard
[1616-1686] Dyer of Darcey Hey House.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [16??-1688] who married John Wainhouse; (2) a daughter who married George Towne.

Gave his name to Cockett Stream.

The Will of RICHARD COCKETT of Darciehey in Scircote (Skircote)  Yorkshire, yeoman, of 21st October 1684 records

  • To my sons-in-law, John Wainhouse of Pynest and George Towne of Darciehay, all my messuage called Pynest in Scircote, and also one other messuage called Lydgate in Midgeley and all my other messuages, lands and dwelling houses in Saville Green in Halifax upon trust for payment to the following legacies:

  • To my daughter Elizabeth Wainhouse, wife of the said John Wainhouse an annuity of £10

  • To my six grandchildren Martha, Mary, Susan, Sarah, John and Abigail Wainhouse, children of the said John Wainhouse £50 apiece

  • To Elizabeth, Margaret and Hanna Towne, my grandchildren £200 apiece

  • To Richard Milner, Anne Grice, Elizabeth Milner and Susan Taylor, my grandchildren £10 apiece

  • To Richard Wainhouse my messuage called Pynest

  • To Nathaniel Wainhouse, my grandson, my messuage called Highroad, with the land belonging

  • To Joshua Wainhouse, my grandson, my messuage called Lydgate

  • To George Towne, my grandson, my messuage called Bullclose

  • To Richard Towne, my grandson, my messuage called Darciehey

  • To Robert Towne, my grandson, all my copyhold closes and land late the inheritance of Michael Colbeck

  • To Margaret Towne, my grandchild, all my house and land at Cawsey Head

  • To the said Elizabeth Towne, my grandchild, the little house wherein I dwell at Darciehay

  • To Richard Hindle, my nephew, 20/-

  • To Abraham Hodgson 40/-

  • The residue of my personal estate I give to the children of the said George Towne, my son-in-law

Executors: The said John Wainhouse and George Towne.

Witnesses: Nathaniel Holden, Samuel Waterhouse, John Richardson.

Proved 12 November 1686 by George Towne, one of the executors

There are inscriptions in Halifax Parish Church

[RICHARD COCKETT of Skircoat owneth] this stone, who in tendeth vnder itt to lye when he doth dye

and

Here lyeth body of RICHARD COCKETT of Skircoate, who departed this life 18 Sept 1686 aged 70 years

Cockett Stream, Pye Nest
Stream at Darcey Hey Lane. Named for Richard Cockett.

See Edwards-Wainhouse Feud

Cockhill Farm, Bradshaw

Owners and tenants have included

See William Brear

Cockhill Moor, Hebden Bridge
Moorland between Hebden Bridge and Haworth.

On 25th October 1931, the body of Halifax man, who had been missing for two years, was found on the Moor


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the man's identity?

 

Cockill
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Cockill, Edward
[18??-18??] Plumber of Bridge End, Rastrick. In 1854, he published a poem on the old Bridge End Chapel which was being demolished

Cockin, Rev Joseph
[1755-1828] Born in Honley. He was Minister at Square Independent Chapel, Halifax [1791-1828].

He often preached at Bridge End Chapel, Rastrick.

In 1778, he married Hannah Hall at Huddersfield. Children: (1) John who became a minister at Holmfirth; (2) Hannah [1780-1860] who married Ely Bates; (3) Martha who married James Hoatson; (4) Mary.

The family lived at Square, Halifax [1822].

His memoirs – which were finished by his son, John, and published in 1829 – include a history of the Sion Chapel.

See Rev James Henderson and Rev Samuel Lowell

Cockin, Mary
[1786-1862] Daughter Rev Joseph Cockin,

She was a member of Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street

Cocking, J. G.
[18??-1900] Of Halifax. He was an experienced mountaineer. On 25th July 1900, he and R. Corry and R. E. Brand both of London, went missing as they climbed Weißhorn in the Alps. They lost their way and for 2 nights and 1 day, they stayed in a spot where they could neither go on or go back. Cocking went to find the route but lost his footing and was killed. Corry and Brand were later found stranded on the edge of a glacier and were taken to safety

Cockman, Elizabeth
[16??-1679] Of Southowram. Recorded in 1679

Cockman, Francis
[15??-16??] Headmaster of Heath Grammar School [1629-164?]. He was recommended to the post by Henry Hoile.

On 24th August 1630, he married Grace Ward from Skircoat.

Children: (1) Esther [bapt 1631]; (2) Anna; (3) Mary; (4) John; (5) Grace; (6) Thomas [bapt 1643]

Cockman, Francis
[16??-16??] Of Southowram. Recorded in 1645

Cockman, Richard
[1???-16??] Of Warley. His widow was buried in 1669

Cockrell, John Edward
[18??-1???] He married Louisa Rayner.


Louisa was the daughter of
John Rayner
 

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child

Cockrem, Rev A. E.
[1???-19??] He was at Huddersfield before becoming Minister at Ripponden Congregational Church [1934]

Cockroft
A variant of the surname Cockcroft

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 37 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Cockroft. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Cockroft, Abraham
[17??-18??] He was in partnership with William Thomas as cotton spinners at Lee Mill, Heptonstall. In 1820, the partnership was dissolved and Thomas carried on alone

Cockroft, Albert
[18??-19??] Quarry owner at Northowram Hill Quarry [1905]

Cockroft & Chambers
Worsted spinners at Bottoms Mill, Ogden [1871]. Partners included Joseph Chambers, Dan Cockroft, and William Cockroft.

In 1875, the partners filed for bankruptcy.

In 1886, the property and effects at Bottoms Mill was put up for sale for an expected price of £400

Cockroft & Company
Builders at Rishworth.

See Saint Thomas's Church, Greetland

Cockroft & Spencer
Silk dressers at Hipperholme. Recorded in November 1857

Cockroft, Aquilla
[1881-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a chauffeur for a doctor [1911].

In [Q2] 1909, he married Olive May Hill [1886-19??] from Halifax.

Children: Ethel May [b 1910].

The family lived at 151 Gladstone Place, Ovenden [1911]

Cockroft, Charles
[1822-1868] He married Elizabeth [1818-1861].

Children: (1) Maria [1846-1860]; (2) Walter.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3768]

Cockroft, Charles
[1877-1940] The 63-year-old was one of the 11 civilian casualties of the Hanson Lane bomb which fell on 22nd November 1940. He died on the same day

Cockroft, Dan
[1837-1922] With his brother, William, and his brother-in-law, Joseph Chambers, he was a partner in Cockroft & Chambers.

He later worked as a mechanic

Cockroft, Edwin
[1844-1880] Of Bottoms Mill, Ovenden.

Born 12th July 1844.

He married Annis [1856-1923].

Children: Fred [1877-1917].

He died 2nd March 1880.

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Cockroft, Fred
[1898-1917] Son of Jeremiah Cockroft.

Born in Halifax.

He was a cotton twiner [1916].

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [10th May 1916], and served as a Private with the 2nd/5th Battalion Sherwood Foresters (Notts & Derby Regiment).

He was killed in action [4th May 1917] (aged 19).

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial

Cockroft, Frederick
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor [1934].

He qualified in January 1933

Cockroft, Grace
[1675-1745] Of Mayroyd House, Hebden Bridge. She died unmarried

Cockroft, Hannah
[1992-] MBE.

Born in Halifax.

2 cardiac arrests at birth affected her balance and mobility and left her with weak hips and deformed feet and legs.

In the 2012 Paralympics, she won gold medals for the 100 metres (T34)  and 200 metres (T34). These were commemorated with Gold Post Boxes at Crossley Street, Halifax and at Mount Tabor Road.

She was made an Honorary Freeman of the Borough of Halifax in 2012, and she was awarded an MBE is the 2013 New Years Honours List

Cockroft, Henry
[1708-1774] Younger brother of William Cockroft of Mayroyd


Question: Can anyone help me link this Henry to the correct William Cockroft?

 

Cockroft, Henry
[1758-1812] Of Great Burlees, Wadsworth.

He married Sarah [1755-1820].

Children: William [1796-1802].

There are memorials to the family in Heptonstall Church

Cockroft, Herbert
[1878-1927] Born in Halifax

He was a stationary engine tenter [1904].

In 1904, he married Elizabeth Fossey in Halifax.


Elizabeth was the daughter of
George Fossey
 

Children: Jesse [1904-1985] who married [1926] Mary Smith

Cockroft, James
[1856-1???] From West Vale.

On 10th October 1869, the 13-year-old boy and 3 other lads from West Vale – John William Wild, Arthur Wood and Joseph Scargill – broke into the booking office at North Dean Railway Station. They got in through an opening over a door where a window had been taken out during repairs and not replaced. Cockroft was found in possession of 2/10d taken from a drawer in the office, and 2 first-class tickets to Blackpool, value 10/- each. He had been concerned in 2 cases of house robbery and was detained in custody and the cases remanded until the following week. The others were allowed to go home.

At West Riding Court House, Cockroft was committed to prison for 2 months and then sent to a reformatory, his father having to contribute to his support at the reformatory

Cockroft, Jeremiah
[1872-1934] Born in Halifax

He was a stoker [1896].

On 1st June 1896, he married Emily Etta Hirst [1874-1950] in Halifax.


Emily Etta was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Fred; (2) Ivy [b 1899]; (3) Annie [b 1902].

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 9 Undercliffe Bottoms, Siddal [1911]; 10 Gladstone View, Siddal [1916]

Cockroft, Job
[1857-1924] Born in Luddendenfoot.

He was a stone merchant [1911].

On 26th March 1877, he married Leah Newell [1853-1932] at Halifax Parish Church.


Leah was born in Wadsworth
 

Children: (1) John H. [b 1879] who was a stone merchant [1911]; (2) Rachel H. [b 1884] who was a weaver (woollen) [1911]; (3) Willie Cockroft; (4) James E. [b 1888] who was a quarryman [1911]; (5) Grace [b 1890] who was a cotton warper [1911]; (6) Sam [b 1893] who was a dyer (worsted wool) [1911].

The family lived at Stoney Booth, Luddendenfoot [1911]; 4 Stoney Booth, Luddendenfoot [1917]

Cockroft, Dr John
[1???-18??]

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835]

Cockroft, John
[17??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1778-9]

Cockroft, John
[17??-17??] Coiner of Marsh Lane. He simply used coin blanks on which he and Thomas Greenwood made a few impressions, passing the crude forgeries off as worn coins.

On 15th December 1769, he was arrested in Darlington following a hue and cry, and imprisoned at York Castle.

In April 1782, he was found guilty of coining. His execution at York Castle was reprieved and he was transported to Africa

Cockroft, John
[1853-1917] Born in Ovenden.

He was a blacksmith's striker [1879].

On 17th August 1879, he married Emma Jane HOUSEMAN in Halifax.

Children: (1) Jonathan [1879-1962]; (2) Thomas [1881-1882]; (3) Sam; (4) Sarah Elizabeth [b 1885].

The children were born in Ovenden.

The marriage broke down and Emma Jane went to Canada with children Jonathan and Sarah Elizabeth [around 1905].

John was living alone in a one-roomed house in Ovenden [1911]

Cockroft, John A.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Manchester Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cockroft, John E.
[18??-191?] Of Sowerby.

During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Cockroft, John H.
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cockroft's: Joseph Cockroft & Company
Silk spinners at Wellington Mills, Halifax [1874]

Cockroft-Mann
Halifax bakers. The business evolved from that established by Wallace Mann.

Recorded in the 1970s in the same King Cross Street shop which had earlier been occupied by John Mackintosh

Cockroft, Mary
[17??-17??] Of Wadsworth.

She married husband #1.

She married husband #2.

She married (3) Rev John Grimshaw.

She married (4) Rev John Crosse, the blind vicar od Bradford

Cockroft, Mr
[18??-18??] Of Hebden Bridge. He constructed 3 balloons for the opening of Halifax Town Hall in 1863. The largest balloon was 62 ft in circumference, held an estimated 6,000 cu ft of gas, and was constructed of 600 sheets of tissue paper. It was held together by red and blue bands and 2 large red belts bearing the message
O that the world had feeling man for man

Cockroft, Phineas
[1852-1918] Son of Ann [née Gregson] and Caleb Cockroft. Born in Queensbury.

He was a painter in a worsted mill [1861]; a coal miner [1871]; a labourer at stone quarry [1881]; innkeeper at the Beacon Tavern, Claremount [1891, 1895]; a stone miner [1901]; a labourer at stone quarry [1911].

In 1890, he married (1) Annie Robinson [1857-1897] in Halifax.

In 1897, he married (2) Bathsheba [née Greenwood] [1852-1935] widow of Charles Town [1835-1892] in Halifax. Bathsheba had a daughter Mary [b 1886] by her first marriage.

The family lived at 5 Oakley Street, Queensbury [1901]; 41 Chapel Street, Queensbury [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was boarder Thomas Rushworth [aged 88]

Cockroft, Sam
[1883-1963] Son of John Cockroft.

Born in Ovenden [11th July 1883].

He was a labourer [1909].

On 25th December 1909, he married Elsie Pamment [1887-1965] at St Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe.


Elsie was born in Isleham
 

Children: 4.

Sam died in Halifax [1963].

Elsie died in Liversedge [21st Jul 1965]

Cockroft, Samuel
[1843-1892] Born in Ovenden.

He was licensee of the Oddfellows' Arms, Elland [1891].

In 1866, he married Elizabeth Longbottom [1840-1912] from Ovenden.

Children: (1) Walter [1869-1873]; (2) Fred [b 1875] who was a carrier [1912]; (3) Tom [1878-1897]; (4) Charlie [1881-1938] who was an innkeeper [1912].

After Samuel's death, his widow, Elizabeth, took over at the Oddfellows' Arms

Cockroft, Spencer
[1878-1917] Son of William Cockroft

Born at Forest View, Ovenden [10th February 1878].

He was a gas works labourer [1903].

On 26th September 1903, he married Mary Hannah Scott in Bradshaw.


Mary Hannah was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Vera [b 1907]; (2) Hanson [1910-1995].

The children were born in Boothtown.

The family lived at 1 New Inn Yard, Boothtown [1917]

During World War I, he joined the Army [21st March 1917] and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [9th August 1917] (aged 38).

He was buried at the Coxyde Military Cemetery, Belgium [II F 9].

On his death, Mary was awarded a widow's pension of 24/6d per week

Cockroft, Thomas
[18??-18??] Of Bridge Lanes, Hebden Bridge.

In September 1869, he filed a patent for

improved means and method of hanging window sashes

Cockroft, Walter
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cockroft, Walter
[1850-1881] Son of Charles Cockroft.

He married Mary [1852-1913]

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3768] with Walter's parents

Cockroft, Watson
[1863-1906] He was a roller coverer (worsted mill) [1901]; landlord of the Anchor, Mill Bank [1905].

In [Q3] 1887, he married Mary Jane Parkin [1864-1951] in Halifax.


Mary Jane was born in Hull
 

Children: (1) Nellie [b 1889]; (2) Louis [1891-1976] who was a twiner piecer [1911]; (3) Annie [b 1894] who was a bobbin winder [1911]; (4) Clara [1899-1901]; (5) Enid [1900-1901].

The family lived at 5 Ivy Street, King Cross [1901].

Watson died 16th May 1906.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £34 10/-.

Administration was granted to his widow Mary Jane.

After his death, Mary Jane took over at the Anchor [from 1906 until at least 1914].

In [Q2] 1912, Mary Jane married John William Speak in Halifax

Cockroft, William
[1638-1685] Or Cockcroft. Of Mayroyd House, Hebden Bridge.

He married Mary [1635-1719].

Children: Sarah [1662-1700].

Sarah was buried near the altar at Heptonstall Church

Cockroft, William
[1847-1911] With his brother, Dan, and his brother-in-law, Joseph Chambers, he was a partner in Cockroft & Chambers.

He later moved to Bradford and worked as a bookkeeper

Cockroft, William
[1850-1908] Born in Halifax.

He was a wool comber [1874].

On 16th February 1874, he married Mary Ann Scott [1852-1905] at Illingworth Church.


Mary Ann was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Wilson [1874-1957]; (2) Betsy [1876-1952]; (3) Spencer; (4) Alice [b 1880]; (5) Lucy [b 1882]; (6) Thomas [b 1885]; (7) Clara [b 1887]; (8) Amy [b 1889]; (9) Fred [b 1892]; (10) Emma [b 1893].

The children were born in Halifax.

The family lived at 1 Horton Place, Bradshaw [1905, 1908].

Members of the family were buried at Illingworth Church: Mary Ann [20th December 1905]; William [31st October 1908]

Cockroft, Willie
[1886-1917] Son of Job Cockroft.

Born in Stoney Booth, Luddendenfoot.

He was a stone merchant (employer) [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax, and served as a Private with the 2nd/7th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in Germany [27th June 1917] (aged 31).

He was buried at the Mons (Bergen) Communal Cemetery [VI D 10].

He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Cockshott, Henry
[1???-1???] Son of William Cockshott.

He lived at Clipster Hall, Siddal [1851]

Cockshott, John
[18??-18??] Woolstapler at Lumb Brook Mills, Northowram [1874]

Cockshott, John
[1816-1901] Of Lumbrook Cottage, Northowram.

He died January 1901.

He was buried at Coley Church

Cockshott, W. M.
[18??-19??] Ran West Grove Bottling Company, Halifax

Cockshott, William
[18??-18??] Of Cononley, Keighley.

He married Isabella.

Children: (1) Henry; (2) son.

See Joseph Sagar

Cocoa houses

Cody, William Frederick

Coe, John Frederick
[18??-19??] JP.

He lived at White Birch, Ovenden [1905]

Coffee Dealers

Coggan, Frank
[18??-19??] Of 71 Parkinson Lane, Halifax. On 19th April 1926, he was granted a licence to ply for hire with a 6-seater Ford van between Stump Cross and Merry Boys Inn, Shibden for a period ending 30th November 1926.

In September 1926, he was granted a licence to ply for hire – with a 14-seater Omnibus Registered Number CP 2662 – between Stump Cross and the Borough Boundary at Green Lane in connection with his Stump Cross-Queensbury service

Coggins, Ernest Henry
[18??-19??] Of Sowerby Bridge.

In 1897, he filed a patent for

an improved inflating valve, applicable also as an automatic vent for barrels

Coghlan, Rev J. R.
[18??-18??] Curate at Elland [18??]

Coghlan, Rev John A.
[18??-18??] Vicar of Saint James's Church, Halifax [1874].

He lived at 41 North Parade, Halifax [1874]

Cogswell, Job
[17??-18??] He was listed as a
regular trade

between Halifax, Sowerby Bridge and Liverpool [1809]

COH IIII BRE
A Latin abbreviation meaning
4th Cohort of the Breuci

The Brueci were a Celtic tribe attached to the 9th Roman Legion around the time of the Roman Invasion of 43 AD. Tiles with this inscription have been found locally. It is also the logo of the Greater Elland Historical Society

Cohen & Morrist
Pawnbrokers at 31 King Street, Halifax [1845]

Cohen's: M. Cohen & Company
Opticians at 4 Southgate, Halifax [1906]

Coiners & coining

Colbeck, Samuel
[16??-16??] Of Shaw Booth, Warley / Lower Shaw Booth, Warley.

Recorded in 1650, when Abraham Wilkinson, his brother John, and Anthony Mitchell were found guilty of stealing and attempting to sell 2 horses from John Cusforth of Sandal, near Wakefield, on 17th April 1650, and a further charge of stealing 16 yards of russet-coloured kersey – valued at 1/- per yard – from the tenters of Samuel Colbeck of Lower Shaw Booth, Warley on 19th April 1650. The total value of the goods was £5 8s.

On 1st October 1658, Timothy Wadsworth and Sibbell, his wife, surrendered Shaw Booth to John son of Samuel Colbecke of Warley.

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Colbeck, William
[16??-16??] A kersey manufacturer at Grange House, Warley [1667]

Colburn Farm, Southowram
Bank Top. House at the top of Southowram Bank, at the junction of Green Lane and Beacon Hill Road.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Sarah Ann [aged 44] & John Crossley [aged 43] – farmer of 8 acres – & 8 children [1871]

  • Sally [aged 68] & Joseph Crossley [aged 70] – farm labourer – [1871]

Now known as Colburn Hall

Colburn, Southowram
Area of Bank Top

Colcres House, Brighouse
Huddersfield Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Colcroft, James
[18??-18??] Blacking manufacturer at Cross Hills, Halifax [1850]

Cold Acre Reservoir, Stainland
In October 1890, the tender of S. Jowett was accepted for constructing the reservoir.

John Quarmby cut the first sod. On 18th July 1891, the Norland Brass Band led the two-mile procession from the Stainland Mechanics' Institute for the ceremony of cutting the first sod at the Reservoir. The Band later supplied music for dancing in a field behind the Institute.

The reservoir was built by Jowett's of Brighouse.

It covers 3 acres and has a capacity of 7 million gallons [1936]

Cold Edge
Area of Wainstalls / Warley Moor

See Cold Edge Dams, Warley Moor, Cold Edge Road, Withens, Kell Brook and Lower Hazelhurst, Luddenden

Cold Edge Dam Company
Many local streams were used to power the mills of the district. The water supply was heavily dependant upon the weather and was severely threatened – and hence, productivity, labour, livelihood and profit – in times of drought.

In 1806, the owners of Lumb Mill, Square Mill, and Wainstalls Mill formed the Cold Edge Dam Company to provide a water supply to their mills.

Spring Dam, Wainstalls was the first to be completed and was controlled – but not owned – by the company.

In the 1830s, the company constructed Haigh Cote Dam [1830/1] and Leadbeater Dam [1835/6].

The company's engineers were Mr Stansfield and Mr Leadbeater.

Later, owners of other mills joined the company, including

They also sold water to other mill owners. Rents were based on the head of water available at their waterwheels

Cold Edge Dams, Warley Moor
The Haigh Cote Dam and Leadbeater Dam were built at Cold Edge by a group of mill-owners who formed the Cold Edge Dam Company about 1806.

See Blackfield Dam and Warley Moor Reservoir

Cold Harbour, Pule Hill
Homestead near the top of Pule Hill.

Owners and tenants have included

See Cold Arbour Coal Pit, Boothtown

Coldacre Reservoir, Stainland
Capacity 7 million gallons

Coldeley, John de
[1???-1???] See Coley Hall

Colden
Colden is a district of Calderdale west of Heptonstall

Colden Company Limited
Aka Colden Cotton & Commercial Company Limited. Cotton spinners at Jack Bridge Mill, Heptonstall. Recorded in 1861 and 1862, when shareholders included William Hargreaves of Strines, Heptonstall and Thomas Gill of Moss Hall, Hebden Bridge.

The company was registered in February 1885

Colden Cotton & Commercial Company Limited

Colden Manufacturing Company Limited
Cotton manufacturers at Jack Bridge Mill, Heptonstall. The company was registered in May 1899. Recorded in 1905

Colden Mechanics' Institute
A Mechanics' Institute established in 1863

Colden restaurant
Mid-20th century establishment. Popularly known as Lady Willy's.

It closed in the 1970s. It is now private housing

Colden Water
Aka Colden Clough, Colden Beck. Stream and valley to the west of Heptonstall which joins the Calder at Mytholm.

From 1840, when the hand-textile industry began to decline, there were 13 mills along the 5-mile stretch of Colden Water, involved in spinning and weaving silk, wool and cotton.

From 1850, the water power had been augmented by coal power from the open-cast mines on Stiperden Moor.

Colden Clough nature reserve was established in 19??.

In 2006, there was a proposal to build 30 earth-covered holiday homes – with 30 parking spaces, a shop and a café – on the hillside opposite Colden School.

See Hebble Hole Bridge, Jack Bridge and Rodmer Clough, Colden

Coldwell, Edward Pearson
[1821-19??] At the West Riding Sessions in October 1839, he was imprisoned for 6 months for stealing worsted fents and 3 waistcoat pieces at Halifax, the property of William Dewhirst and another

Coldwell Hill Farm, Southowram
/ Cold Well Hill.

The farm (17 acres) was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925. Owners and tenants have included

Coldwell Hill, Southowram
House. A doorway is dated I R S 1692 Sarah and John Ramsden

Coldwell-ing
Area of Halifax around Lilly Lane in the mediæval era.

There were several springs in the area including Greece Fields

Cole's: J. & J. Cole
They had business at the former malt kiln in Elland [1975]

Cole's: Jabez Cole (Coal) Limited
Coal merchant at Church Street, Halifax [1936]

Coleby, John Joseph
[1827-1900] Son of Elizabeth and John Coleby.

Born in Wandsworth, Surrey.

He was brick merchant [1861]; brick agent [1871]; brick manufacturer [1881, 1891].

In 1860, he married Elizabeth Aked, daughter of Samuel Smith. at Bradford.

Children: (1) Mary [1861-1861]; (2) Ellen [1862-1911]; (3) Ada Josephine [1863-1926]; (4) Ernest John [1865-1911]; (5) Elizabeth Aked [1867-1924] who married Charles Barton Casebourne; (6) Isabelle [1868-1952] who married Hamilton Grace; (7) Margaret Alice [1871-1909] who married Maurice Frederick Squire; (8) Francis James [b 1873] who married Alfreda Anne Scruby

The family lived at 24 Durham Terrace, Paddington [1861]; Parkhurst House, Ealing [1871]; Castlebar Lodge, Ealing [1881]; 14 Sandringham Gardens, Ealing [1891].

He died in Bradford

Coleman, Father
[18??-19??] Priest at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax [1930s]

Coleman House, Sowerby Bridge
Owners and tenants have included

Colen, John
[15??-159?] Of Norwood Green.

In his will of 1590, there is a clause relating to coal mining in the Norwood Green area

and if Lawrence my son happens to get anie coles within my grounde, my son Edward shall share half

Coleridge, Hartley
[1796-1849] Eldest son of Samuel Taylor Coleridge.

He was named after David Hartley, the Illingworth Philosopher.

He was brought up by Robert Southey. He was a schoolmaster, journalist, and poet. In 1819, he went to Oriel College, Oxford, but was dismissed for intemperance. He was a friend of Branwell. Branwell visited him at Ambleside. Charlotte wrote to him as C.T. for his opinions of her story, Ashworth. Like the Brontës, he had a fantasy world, which he called Ejuxria

Coles, Rev Geoffrey
[1939-2011] Son of Rev J. W. Coles.

Born in Cumbria.

He was educated at Calder High School, Mytholmroyd, and Crossley & Porter School, Halifax.

He was head of crafts at Holy Trinity School, Halifax, and head of year at Eastfield Secondary School, now Hipperholme & Lightcliffe High School.

From 1977 to 1980 he took the Northern Ordination Course and was ordained while still teaching at Eastfield.

He was assistant curate at St Michael's, Shelf [1980-1985] and became a full-time vicar [1985].

He was before becoming Vicar of St Mary the Virgin, Luddendenfoot [1949-1952]. and Vicar of St George's Church, Ovenden [1952-1965].

In 1961, he married Pam.

Children: (1) Philip; (2) Jeremy; (3) Timothy.

He worked in Manningham, Bradford, and St Mary's, Wyke, and St Mary's, Riddlesden, Keighley.

He retired in 2004 and moved to Clayton, Bradford. He was assisted by his wife, who was ordained in 2006

Coles, Rev J. W.
[1???-19??] He served in Cumbria before becoming Vicar of Saint Mary the Virgin, Luddenden [1940s].

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Peter; (2) Geoffrey

Coles, Peter Sephton
[1936-2011] Son of Rev J. W. Coles.

Born in Cumbria.

He was educated at Sowerby Bridge Grammar School and Leeds University; a Liberal Democrat Councillor for Luddendenfoot; a member of Blackshaw Parish Council; Mayor of Hebden Royd [1993-1994]; Mayor of Calderdale [2000-2001]; a Freeman of the Borough of Calderdale in 2011.

He married Enid. Enid was Mayoress of Hebden Royd [1994]

Children: (1) Mark; (2) Richard; (3) Belinda.

The family lived at Charlestown, Hebden Bridge.

He died a month after his brother, Rev Geoffrey Coles

Coletta, A.
[1???-1970] Opened one of the country's first milk bars in Halifax in 1935. His name was familiar to many thirsty shoppers

Coley
District of Calderdale between Hipperholme and Shelf

Coley Beck
Aka Bottom Hall Beck. The stream is fed by Syke Well, Priestley Green.

There are the ruins of a former watermill off Shutts Lane, Norwood Green.

See Annet Hole Beck, Shelf and Bottom Hall Viaduct, Norwood Green

Coley Church Cricket Team
Players were members of Coley Church. The team played in the Halifax League

Coley Garden Centre
See Cinder Hill, Coley

Coley Hall
Coley Hall Lane. Property at Coley was mentioned in 1277, and a John de Coldeley is mentioned in 1286.

See Coley House, Coley, Coley Walks Farm and Saint John's Well, Coley

Coley, Henry of
[13??-13??] His sister, Christine, married Robert de Rishworth.

See Wynteredge Hall, Hipperholme

Coley House, Coley
In 1891 and 1901, the census showed Joseph Samuel Sunderland living at Coley House, and in 1911 at Coley Hall, suggesting that the Hall might be known by both names.

Owners and tenants have included

Coley, John Alan
[193?-19??] Meteorologist from Sowerby who, in 1955, received the Polar Medal for working in the Antarctic with the Falkland Island Dependencies Survey. In 1952, he had sailed with the John Biscoe survey ship and was fired on by Argentine troops

Coley Mill House
Owners and tenants have included

Coley stocks
The remains of the stocks and whipping post for the township of Shelf originally stood near Stone Chair and have now been moved to Coley

Coley Toll Bar
In the 19th century, there was a toll bar near the Brown Horse, Coley along the Denholme Gate turnpike road

Coley Walks Farm
A pair of early 19th century cottages near Coley Hall

Coley War Memorial
The marble tablet remembering those who died in World War I, at Coley Parish Church, was unveiled on the 11th January 1920

Coll, Daniel
[1962-] Brighouse-born actor who started acting with the Halifax Thespians. He is the brother of Stuart Wade. He and his wife, Sinead, run the TheatrePlay Drama Academy in Brighouse. He has appeared in many TV and film rôles.

In 2006, he stood as the Labour candidate for Brighouse in the local elections

Colley, Rev E.
[18??-19??] Of Brighouse.

Recorded in May 1905, when he preached a sermon at Soyland Sunday School

Colley, Mr
[17??-1810] Stonemason of Halifax.

He died in January 1810.

Newspaper accounts say

His death was occasioned by falling into a cellar in the Old Shambles in Halifax

Collier, George
[1815-1862] Son of Alice [1776-18??] and Mr Collier.

Born in Ashton-under-Lyne, Lancashire.

He was a cotton rover [1841]; a mechanic [1851]; a manufacturer of carriage wheels [1861]; a patentee employing 5 men [1861].

He worked for Thomas Taylor & Sons in Barnsley where he adapted the power loom and took out patents for the manufacture of linen and velvet.

Their success encouraged Francis Crossley to consider the same technique in the Crossley family business.

Collier visited Halifax in 1850 to advise Crossley. With his help, Crossley's bought the designs of Erasmus Bigelow and – after some difficulties which Collier addressed with his wire motion feature – they mechanised the weaving of carpets, using it to produce tapestry and Brussels carpets.

His assistants at Crossley's included John Marsden and Charles Barraclough.

In September 1856, Collier, John Crossley of Halifax, and James William Crossley of Brighouse took out a patent for

improvements in finishing and stretching woven fabrics

He married Ann [1813-1879] from Saddleworth.

Children: (1) Hannah [b 1836] who was a dressmaker [1851]; (2) John; (3) Mary [b 1840] who married John Crossley; (4) Annie [b 1846]; (5) George.

The family lived at Ashton-under-Lyne [1841]; 14 Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1851]; 17 Milton Place, Halifax [1861].

He died November 1862.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £20,000.

George & Ann were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 535]

Collier, George
[1851-1???] Son of George Collier.

Born in Barnsley. Baptised in Barnsley [10th December 1851].

He was a worsted spinner & manufacturer [1881]; a carpet manufacturer (employer) [1901].

He married Margaret Potter? [1853-1???] from Manchester.

Children: (1) Winifred Mary [b 1880]; (2) George Emmerson [b 1889] who was a manager of worsted spinning in a carpet factory [1911].

The family lived at 21 Savile Park Road, Halifax [1881]; 7 Park Road, Halifax [1891]; The Grove, Halifax [1901, 1911].

Living with them in 1901 was brother-in-law Emmerson Potter [aged 53] (woollen manufacturer) 

Collier, John
[1708-1786] Aka Tim Bobbin, Timmy Bob.

The third of 9 children.

Born in Urmston, Lancashire [16th December 1708].

He was apprenticed to a weaver; an itinerant teacher in Lancashire; assistant schoolmaster to Robert Pearson, curate of Milnrow, Rochdale; schoolmaster after Pearson's death [1740].

In 1746, he published

A View of the Lancashire Dialect, or Tummus & Mary

A Lancashire poet who travelled in Calderdale and wrote about some of the local people, including Mrs Elizabeth Ramsden, whom he called Queen at the Booth.

He is said to have carved epitaphs in the churchyard at St Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden

with taste and neatness

Around 1750, he worked for a short time as a Head Clerk for Richard Hill of Kebroyd, before returning to teach in Lancashire.

After his lampooning of Mrs Ramsden, he hurriedly left the area saying that

twelve teams of devils shall not bring me hither again

He married Mary Clay [1726-1786].


Mary was brought up in London, and was a midwife in Huddersfield
 

Children: (1) child who died young; (2) child who died young; (3) Charles who became a portrait painter; (4) Thomas who became a radical; (5) John who became an artist and went insane; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child; (9) child.

Mary died June 1786.

John died 14th July 1786.

The couple were buried at Rochdale.

See Manhold and Black Lion, Ripponden

Collier, John
[1837-1891] Son of George Collier.

Born in West Clayton [16th December 1837].

He was a manufacturer of carriage wheels [1861]; a carpet manufacturer & machine maker [1871]; a boiler maker employing 140 men & 70 boys [1881]; a boiler manufacturer [1891].

On 21st January 1864, he married Fanny Wood [1843-1915] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Harry [b 1864] who was a boiler maker [1891]; (2) John E [b 1866].

Both children educated at Christ Church College, Finchley.

The family lived at Milton Place, Halifax [1861]; Heathfield House, Halifax [1881]; Hazelwood, Heath Road [1893]

He died at Hazelwood [25th November 1891].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £16,907 1/5d. to his widow Fanny and son Harry

Collinge, Mrs Betsy
[1911-] From Mytholmroyd.

She was a member of Blackshaw Parish Council [1973], Chairman [3 times], active in Hebden Royd political life, a member of Hebden Royd Parish Council [for 7 years], Deputy Mayor of Hebden Royd [1987], and Mayor of Hebden Royd [1988-1989].

She celebrated her 100th birthday in January 2011

Collinge, James
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1738]

Collinge, James
[1847-1907] Cotton spinner at Portsmouth Mill, Todmorden [1905]

Collinge, John
[18??-1???] Cotton spinner at Portsmouth Mill, Todmorden [1877]

Collinge, W. A.
[18??-19??] Around 1900, he had a cab business at Hangram Street/Dale Street, Brighouse

Collington, John Wheeler
[1758-1806] He served for 30 years. in his Majesty's 33rd Regiment of Infantry. He was promoted from Ensign to Lieutenant [1777]. He was promoted to Captain [17??]. He was in America for almost the whole of the American War of Independence and was wounded twice in America.

He died at Ovenden [14th June 1806]

Collingwood's
Halifax jeweller with a shop at the bottom of George Square. Opened in 1???.

Closed in 19??. The building is now occupied by an estate agent

The Collingwood family
Masons of Union Street, Halifax & Southowram. Recorded in 1806

Collingwood, Arthur
[18??-19??] Organist at Rhodes Street Wesleyan Chapel. He taught Sir George Dyson

Collingwood Brothers
Brush manufacturers at Old Cock Yard, Halifax [1874]. Partners included John Collingwood

Collingwood, John
[18??-18??] Partner in Collingwood Brothers.

He lived at 33 Orange Street, Halifax [1874]

Collingwood, John
[18??-18??] Organist at Saint James's Church, Halifax [1850]

Collins, Barry
[1941-] Halifax-born writer and playwright. His work includes:

  • And was Jerusalem builded here? [1972]

  • Beauty and the Beast [1973]

  • Judgement [1974]

  • The Strongest Man in the World [1978]

  • Toads [1979]

  • The Ice Chimney [1980]

  • Atonement [1987]

Collins, Rev Bineberry
[17??-1???] Recorded in 1784, when Mrs Mary Hudson is recorded as
having gone to hear a pious Church of England Minister Rev Bineberry Collins preach at Halifax Methodist Chapel

Collins, Brearley
[1868-19??] Of Brighouse. He was landlord of the Joiners' Arms, Brighouse [1900].

He married Sarah Parkinson [1874-19??].

Children: (1) Frank [b 1895]; (2) Amy [b 1897]; (3) Elsie [b 1899]

Collins Brothers
Manufacturers of cords, moles and velveteen at Cinder Hill Mills, Todmorden [1905]

Collins, Campbell
[18??-19??] Partner in Emsley & Collins [1905]

Collins, Cecil
[1908-1989] Mystic and Surrealist / neo-Romantic artist.

He married Elizabeth, daughter of Clifford Ramsden.

He frequently stayed with the Ramsdens when they lived at The Hollins, Warley. Some of his work hangs in The Tate Gallery

Collins, Daniel
[18??-18??] He bequeathed money to install a stained glass east window at Christ Church, Barkisland

Collins, David
[1798-1872] He married Nancy [1801-1874].

Children: (1) Mary who married Tom Bottomley; (2) Harriet who married Godfrey Drake.

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Collins, Ephraim
[1835-19??] Born in Hove Edge.

He was a blacksmith [1891].

In [Q3] 1860, he married Hannah Brearley [1840-1???] in Halifax.


Hannah was born in Rastrick
 

Children: (1) Brearley [b 1867] who was a gardener's teamster [1891]; (2) Sowden [b 1872] who was a stone quarryman [1891]; (3) John [b 1874] who was a teamster [1891]; (4) Edith [b 1876] who was a silk spinner [1891]; (5) David [b 1879] who was a blacksmith [1891]; (6) Albert [b 1886]; (7) Joseph 30 stone delver.

The family lived at Hove Edge Cottage, Hipperholme [1891]

Collins, Frank
[1???-194?] Of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Navy.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Collins, Geoffrey
[19??-1971] Son of Lewis Collins. He took over his father's business as a Hipperholme butcher.

He married Nellie.

Children: (1) Anne [b 1953]; (2) John [b 1958]; (3) Anthony [b 1958].

Whilst going on holiday to Salzburg, Austria, the whole family was killed in a plane crash. The tail section fell off the BEA Vanguard aircraft, causing it to plunge to the ground, killing 63 passengers and crew. There was a public collection and a clock was erected outside Hipperholme Public Library in memory of the family.

See Memories: Hipperholme Businesses & Shops

Collins, George
[1830-1876] Born in Halifax.

He was a wood moulding manufacturer [1861]; a joiner [1871]; a commercial traveller [1876].

In [Q2] 1852, he married Mary Ann Pulman in Halifax.


Martha Ann was a dressmaker [1876]
 

Children: (1) Sarah Ellen [b 1854]; (2) John Pulman.

The family lived at 26 Upper Brunswick Street, Halifax [1861]; 8 Upper Brunswick Street, Halifax [1871]

George died 27th May 1876.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £100.

The will was proved by his widow, Martha Ann and his son John Pulman Collins

Collins, George
[1840-1???] Stationmaster at Hipperholme Railway Station [1881]

Collins, George Benjamin
[1850-1929] He was Superintendent at the fire brigade station at Albion Street / Southgate [1887].

He married Sara [b 1855].

Children: (1) George [b 1877]; (2) Elizabeth [b 1880]; (3) Lilian [b 1886]

Collins, George Pulman
[1856-1917] Illegitimate son of Margaret Collins & (probably) Joseph Pulman.

He was a mechanic [1881]; a mechanic fitter [1891]; an iron turner [1911]; an iron moulder [1901].

He was associated with Abram Pulman & Sons.

In 1882, he was living with his sister and brother-in-law John Smith.

In 1888, he married Ellen Nutton.


Ellen was born in Southowram.

She was a weaver cotton [1891], a carpet weaver [1911], a tapestry weaver [1901]

 

They had no children.

They lived at at 6 Brinton Terrace, Halifax [with George's mother Margaret Collins 1891]; 48 Boothtown Road, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Collins, Rev Henry
[1835-1921] MA.

Vicar at St Bartholomew's Church, Dean Head.

He married Maud Mary Edwards [1843-1907].


Maud Mary was the daughter of Henry Edwards of Woodbridge Suffolk
 

Henry died 1921 and was buried at Ottery St Mary, Devon [4th August 1921].

Maud Mary died 6th November 1907.

There is a grave and a memorial buried at St Bartholomew's, Dean Head

The couple were buried at St Bartholomew's, Dean Head There is a transcription of the epitaph [number 85] at Scammonden in Alan Shaw's CD Monumental Inscriptions in the Ripponden Area

Collins, J.
[18??-19??] Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was an umbrella manufacturer at 17 Woolshops, Halifax

(LATE OF MANCHESTER) 
Umbrellas and Parasols Made, Re-covered and Repaired on the Shortest Notice
N.B. REPAIRS DONE FOR THE TRADE
Silk Umbrellas Made to order and Re-covered with Silk, Zanella or Alpaca, at one hour's notice

Collins, John Pulman
[1855-1887] Son of George Collins.

Born in Halifax.

He was an apprentice to law stationer [1871]; a solicitor's clerk [1876]; a clerk of 24 Craven Terrace, Halifax [1880]; a solicitor's clerk [1881].

He was associated with Abram Pulman & Sons.

In [Q3] 1880, he married Eleanor Jane Wilcock [1858-1???] at St Paul's Church, Heaton Moor, Stockport.


Eleanor Jane of Leegate Road, Heaton Moor, was born in Manchester, the daughter of Edwin Wilcock, merchant
 

The family lived at 6 Highfield Place, Halifax [1881]; 24 Craven Terrace, Halifax [1887] (where he died) 

Collins, Joseph Chappell
[1884-19??] Son of Thomas Pulman Collins.

He was gymnastic instructor / physical director at Heath Grammar School.

In [Q2] 1911, he married Annie Elizabeth Stott at St Paul's Church, King Cross.


Annie Elizabeth was the daughter of Squire Kershaw Stott
 

Collins, L. A.
[19??-19??] Lay Pastor at Moor End Congregational Church [1962]

Collins, Margaret
[1821-1902] Daughter of Mr Collins.

She was a power loom weaver [1851]; a worsted weaver [1861]; a cleaner [1871].

Margaret did not marry but had 6 children: (1) Robert Pulman Collins [1844-1845]; (2) Thomas Pulman Collins; (3) Emma Jane Pulman Collins [1848-1???] who was a worsted factory worker [1861] and married John Smith in 1873; (4) Ann Collins [1853-1???] who was a worsted weaver [1871]; (5) George Pulman Collins; (6) William Henry Pulman Collins [1860-1861] who died [Q3 1861] aged 13 months and was buried at All Souls' Church.


One clue to the father of her children is found on daughter Emma's marriage certificate which gives her father as
Joseph Pulman, iron merchant

Furthermore, son George Pulman Collins is mentioned in connection with the business of Abram Pulman, Joseph's father

 

In 1851, Margaret and her children, Thomas and Emma, were living with her widowed mother Elizabeth at 2 Clarence Street, Halifax

The family lived at 18 Albert Street, Northowram [1861]; Haley Hill [1861]; 5 Newtown, Haley Hill, Northowram [1871]; 6 Brinton Terrace, Halifax [1891]; 16 Martin Street, Halifax [where Margaret was living alone 1901].

Living with Margaret in 1891 were son George Pulman Collins & his wife Ellen, and granddaughter Margaret A Smith.

Margaret died in Halifax [Q3 1902] (aged 81) 

Collins, Mr
[17??-18??] He married Elizabeth [1783-18??]


Elizabeth was born in Norland
 

Children: (1) (possibly) Martha [b 1818]; (2) Margaret.

The family lived at 2 Clarence Street, Halifax [1851].

Living with the widowed Elizabeth in 1851 were married daughter / daughter-in-law Martha Collins (dress maker) with her children Fanny Collins [b 1845] & William Collins [b 1848], and unmarried daughter Margaret with her children Tom Pulman Collins [b 1846] & Emma Pulman Collins [b 1848]

Collins, Reginald Meynand
[1905-1945] During World War II, he served as Warrant Officer Class II with the Royal Electrical & Mechanical Engineers.

He died 30th May 1945.

He was buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [Grave 327]

Collins, Rufus
[18??-19??] Partner in Emsley & Collins [1905]

Collins, Sam
[1865-19??] Of Lightcliffe. Landlord of the Upper George, Rastrick [1895, 1896, 1901].

He married Annie [1865-19??] from Rastrick.

Children: (1) Eustace [b 1887]; (2) Lewin [b 1889]; (3) Clarence R. T. [b 1896]

Collins's: T. & B. Collins
Tarpaulin manufacturers at Longfield Works, Holywell Green [1905]

Collins's: T. Collins & Sons
Stone quarrier of Hove Edge with Kirbroyd Quarry, Hipperholme [1896]

Collins, Thomas
[1???-18??] Recorded in 1855, when he was a Methodist minister in Sowerby Bridge

Collins, Thomas Pulman
[1846-1900] Illegitimate son of Margaret Collins & (probably) Joseph Pulman.

Born in Halifax.

He was a white smith [1861]; a warehouseman [1871]; an iron merchant's manager [1881]; a sherriff's officer [1891]; a County Court officer.

In [Q1] 1868, he married Ann Chappell [1847-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Louisa / Louise [b 1869] who was a waitress [1891]; (2) Annie E [b 1871] who was a waitress [1891]; (3) Sarah J [b 1873] who was a worsted spinner [1891]; (4) Ada [b 1877] who was a worsted spinner [1891]; (5) Ruth [b 1879] who was a worsted spinner [1891]; (6) Joseph Chappell; (7) Albert E [b 1890].

The family lived at 9 Cross Street, Foundry Street, Halifax [1871]; 41 Oxford Terrace, Halifax [1881]; 10 Stannary Lane, Halifax [1891]

The Collinson family of Halifax
The family have been Quakers ever since the time of George Fox.

Members of the family were involved in the local tea, coffee, grocery, and coal business.

See T. Collinson & Sons Limited, Thomas Collinson and Thomas Collinson

Collinson, Allan
[18??-1???] In 1871, he established business as a fruit, potato and fish merchant and herring curer in the Halifax markets. By 1895, he occupied 9 shops there

Collinson, Arthur
[1871-1???] OBE.

Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was awarded the OBE for special services during World War I; Assistant Superintendent of North Eastern Railway, York

Collinson, B. J.
[18??-19??] He was a Director of the family firm T. Collinson & Sons Limited [1935, 1949]. He lived at Hilsea, New Lane, Skircoat [1935]

Collinson's Café Conversation Circle
A social gathering held at Collinson's Café in the early 20th century.

It became the Four C's

Collinson, Edward
[1849-1926] Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was a tea & coffee merchant [1881]; a tea merchant [1891, 1901].

On 20th October 1880, he married Helen Louisa Leah [1858-1929] at the Church of the Holy Trinity, Oswestry.


Helen Louisa was the eldest daughter of the late John Leah Assistant Master of Oswestry Grammar School
 

Children: (1) Edith Mary [1881-1967]; (2) Francis Edward; (3) Thomas Seymour [1884-1913].

The family lived at 24 Clare Road, Halifax 1881; Linden Lodge, Halifax [1891, 1901].

He died [4th September 1926] at Ynysfechan Arthogh near Dolgelly, Merionethshire, Wales

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £35,119 8/-

Probate was granted to his widow & daughter.

Helen Louisa also died at Ynysfechan Arthogh [27th March 1929] Probate records show that she left effects valued at £5,395 3/- and probate was granted to her daughter

Collinson, Edward Whiteley
[1879-1949] Son of Joseph Collinson.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Halifax New School. In 1891, he and Harold were pupils at District Friends School, Ackworth. Later, he studied at Bootham School, York and at Halifax Technical School.

He started in the family business – T. Collinson & Sons Limited – in the warehouse. After a year, he was placed for 2 years with Appleton, Machin & Smiles Limited to study the blending of tea & coffee. On returning to Halifax, he became company secretary; a Director [1900]; tea merchant & grocer [1901]; Governing Director of T. Collinson & Sons Limited; director and joint general manager of Collinson's (IOM) Limited; founder and managing director of Beech's Chocolates Limited in Preston; chairman of the Caterers' Association of Great Britain.

He was a good cricketer, a fisherman, and loved motoring. He won a medal for wrestling. He was a three-quarter back with Mytholmroyd Rugby Union club and was in the team when they won the Yorkshire Challenge Cup [1900]. He also played for the Yorkshire R.U. side with his brother.

He had a collection of rare birds eggs.

In 1917, he married Bessie Mabel Taylor [1880-1947] of Norwich, in Norwich.

Children: Elizabeth [1923-2010].

The family lived at Savile Field, Balmoral Place, Halifax [1935, 1949].

On Monday 28th August 1949, he left his holiday address in Scarborough saying that he was going to search for fossils. A search began when he did not return. Bloodhounds from the Lancashire Constabulary were called in. On Wednesday 31st August, the Coastguards found his body at the bottom of the 200 ft high Burniston Cliffs

Collinson, Francis Edward
[1883-19??] Son of Edward Collinson.

In 1907, he married Emily Kendal at Darlington.

He emigrated to Canada [1912] and settled in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

He was still living there in 1931

Collinson, George
[1859-1898] Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was one of 100 pupils at District Friends School, Ackworth [1871]; a tea dealer [1881]; manager of a wholesale tea & coffee warehouse [1891].

In 1890, he married Ada Mary Bean [1863-1???] at Ripon.

Children: Mabel Mary [b 1896] who was baptised at St Jude's Church, Savile Park [28th February 1897].

They lived at 17 Heath Mount, Halifax [1891, 1897, 1898]

He died on 6th August 1898.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell

Collinson, Harold
[1876-1???] Son of John William Collinson.

In 1891, he and Edward Whiteley Collinson were pupils at District Friends School, Ackworth

Collinson, Harry
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor with Clarkson, Thomas & Collinson [1934].

He qualified in April 1908

Collinson, James
[17??-18??] He married Mary [17??-18??].

Children: Thomas

Collinson, John William
[1852-1916] Son of Thomas Collinson.

Born in halifax [8th November 1851].

He was educated at Ackworth School, Pontefract; Chairman of Hipperholme UDC; President of Lightcliffe Literary Society; governor of Hipperholme Grammar School; an assistant wool stapler [1871]; a wool stapler [1881]; a wool merchant at Nelson Street, Bradford [1891, 1901].

On 20th October 1875, he married Frances Whiteley at Wesley Chapel, Broad Street, Halifax.


Frances was the youngest daughter of Robert Whiteley
 

Children: (1) Harold; (2) Thomas Whiteley [1880-1881]; (3) Clifford Whiteley [b 1881] who married [1905] Mary Grace Robertshaw.

The family lived at 34 Prescott Street, Halifax [1881]; Whitehall Villas, Bramley Lane, Hipperholme [1891, 1901].

Frances died 10th September 1902.

John William died 25th June 1916 (aged 64).

The couple were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Collinson, Joseph
[1845-1911] Son of Thomas Collinson.

Born in Halifax.

He was an Alderman; a tea dealer [1861, 1871]; a tea merchant employing 13 men [1881]; a wholesale & retail tea & coffee merchant [1891]; director, tea & coffee merchant [1901].

On 24th January 1872, he married Emma Jane, daughter of Robert Whiteley.

Children: (1) Ethel Mary [b 1873] who married [1900] Frederick Leonard Sessions at North Bierley; (2) Robert Whiteley [b 1875] who was an analytical chemist at City Road, Norwich [1901]; (3) Edward Whiteley.

The family lived at 22 Clare Road, Halifax [1881, 1891]; 2 Savile Green, Halifax [1901]; Savile Field, Balmoral Place [1905, where he died 1911]

He died 16th September 1911.

He was buried at All Saints' Church, Dudwell.

Emma Jane died at Savile Field, Balmoral Place, Halifax [23rd January 1916] shortly after returning from a visit to her son Robert Whiteley in Norwich

Collinson, Octavia
[18??-18??] Of Boldon.

She married Charles Stansfield Rawson

Collinson, Richard Jeffreys Hampton
[1924-1983] His Honour Judge Collinson. Circuit Judge. Educated at Heath Grammar School and Wadham College Oxford

Collinson's: T. Collinson & Sons Limited
Halifax caterers, tea blenders and coffee roasters. Founded by Thomas Collinson in 1835.

Their advertising said

Blenders of fine teas since 1835

Their products included

Orient freshly roasted coffee
Cafe blend tea: 9½d per quarter pound

They were at 7 Corn Market, Halifax [1881].

They had a shop and the Orient Café at 13 Crown Street. This opened in 1899. It closed in March 1962.

Their Hall End Chocolate Store, Waterhouse Street, was advertised in 1915.

They also had premises at 5 & 7 Briggate in Brighouse, and others at Bradford, Bolton, Huddersfield, Leeds, Blackpool and the Isle of Man. In 1949, they had a branch in Buxton, Derbyshire.

During World War II, their café in Port Erin, Isle of Man, played a rôle in the Enemy Alien Camp scheme on the island. The female and child detainees were fed from there. This is now a private house.

The café in Bradford had a three-piece orchestra which used to play at certain times.

They had a warehouse and offices in St John's Place, Halifax, on the south side of the old Freemasons' Hall, Halifax. The site is now occupied by The Collinson Building of the Lloyds Banking Group complex in Trinity Road.

The tea and coffee production ended in 1970.

See A. B. Brook, Collinson's Café Conversation Circle, Shirley Crabtree and Memories of Collinson's

Collinson, Thomas
[1811-1887] In 1835, he established T. Collinson & Sons Limited, tea blenders and coffee roasters

Collinson, Thomas
[1843-1927] JP.

Son of Thomas Collinson.

He was said to be a lover of dumb animals; educated at Ackworth School; a tea dealer in the family business – T. Collinson & Sons Limited [1857]; a coal agent with a business established by his uncle Joseph Simpson [1864].

In November 1864, a local newspaper advertisement announced

Thomas Collinson, Junior. Coal Merchant (late Joseph Simpson's) 4, Corn Market, Halifax.

He was a coal agent / coal merchant [1871]; a coal merchant [1891]; Appointed Justice of the Peace [15th December 1892]; at The Coal Exchange, Halifax [1905, 1919].

He retired in June 1923, just before his 80th birthday.

On 8th June 1870, he married Emily Worsdell at Friends Meeting House, Yealand Conyers.

Children: (1) Arthur; (2) James Alfred [b 1873]; (3) Wilfred Worsdell [b 1880]; (4) Eric [b 1883] who visited Canada with his father in 1910 and stayed on to live in Vancouver.

The family lived at 12 Trinity Place, Halifax [1871]; 20 Elm View, Halifax [1881, 1891]; 17 Heath Mount, Halifax [1901]

He was buried at Society of Friends Cemetery, Kendal.

Collis, Rev S.
[19??-19??] He was a Kirkby Stephen before becoming Minister at Birchcliffe Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [1942]

Collon Bob Farm, Sowerby
See Collon bobs

Collon bobs
Dead or burned heather used as a fuel.

See James Bottomley

Colly Cottage, Hipperholme
Owners and tenants have included

  • William Hanson [1872]

Colne
The river rises at Marsden and flows through the Colne Valley, past Huddersfield where it joins the river Holme, and on to Cooper Bridge where it joins the river Calder

The Colosseum, Halifax
In 1858, this name was used for the casino at Northgate Hall

Comb, Rev G. B.
[18??-19??] Baptist Minister at Elland [1909]

The Combine
Popular name for the English Fustian Manufacturing Company

Comer, Rev Ernest
[19??-19??] Vicar of Saint Hilda's Church, Halifax [1937]. In 1945, he was appointed rector of Althorpe, Lincolnshire

He married Unknown.

Children: Mary Enid [1???-1970] who married Philip Barber Clay

Comfield, Dr Thomas
[18??-18??] Physician and surgeon at Elland [1874]

Comfort, Arthur
[1864-1935] Artist and wood engraver.

Born in London, he moved north and taught art at Heath Grammar School and other local secondary schools.

He published a large number of black and white sketches – showing buildings and scenes around Halifax:

Comfort, Reginald Arthur
[1893-1972] Son of Arthur Comfort.

Born in Lambeth, London.

He was an accountant [1930].

In 1918, he married Lilian Eugenie, daughter of Nathan Whiteley, in Halifax

Commercial Bank Chambers, Halifax
Office accommodation at Crown Street.

Owners and tenants have included

See Commercial Chambers, Halifax

The Commercial Bank of England
On 26th September 1835, a newspaper report announced that
The Commercial Bank of England, established a few months ago in Waterhouse Street, Halifax, has suspended its operations for want of public support

The bank was established to compete with the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company Limited which became so successful that it was paying an annual profit of 12½%

Commercial Chambers, Halifax
Office accommodation at Commercial Street

See Commercial Bank Chambers, Halifax

Commercial Chronicle

The Commercial College Magazine
Halifax publication which appeared in 1861. It was printed by Walker's of George Street

Commercial Mill Company
They owned cotton mills in the Ryburn valley.


Question: Is this the same as the Ripponden Commercial Company Limited?

 

See Commercial Mills, Ripponden

The Commercial Monthly
A monthly magazine produced by Making Place Academy

Commercial Street Bar, Hebden Bridge
A toll bar on the Halifax to Hebden Bridge Turnpike at Commercial Street

Commercial Street Restaurant, Halifax
Luncheon room described as a branch of the catering business of John Marsh [1900]

Common End Farm, Clifton
Woolrow Lane

Common Lodging Houses
The Foldout lists some registered keepers of Common Lodging Houses in Halifax:

See Model Lodging House

Common, Walter
[1817-1897] Born in Scotland [21st April 1817].

He was an accountant; Registrar of Marriages; one of the founders of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society; the first Secretary of the Society [1871-1897].

In 1843, he married Mary Ann Ratcliffe [b 1815] from Scotland, at Huddersfield.

Children: (1) Isabella [b 1846]; (2) Elizabeth Chartress [b 1848]; (3) James [b 1850]; (4) Arthur Welsh [b 1851]; (5) (possibly) William [1853-1858].

The family lived at 7 Heathfield Terrace, Halifax [1871, 1874]; 9 Trinity Place, Halifax [1881]; 1 Balmoral Place, Halifax [1891].

He died at Halifax [6th May 1897]

Common Wood Head Bar, Hipperholme
A toll bar on the Brighouse-Denholme Gate Turnpike. Recorded in 1825

Commons, Richard
[15??-1597] Irish goldsmith and
a common drunkard and blasphemer of God's holy word

He and his family were tenants at Broadstones, Halifax.

He was a widower when committed suicide.

Favour wrote that

hee sett fyre to strawe in the fower corners of his house and hanged him selfe in the middest, thus desperatly hee died but by God's mercyfull providence, the strawe take not fyre and so both house and the towne were preserved which he purposed to burne

The fire was intended to make the death look accidental so that his family would receive support from the parish.

His remains are said to have been buried at Goldsmith's Grave

Commonwealth Bazaar
Held 6th to 9th November 1907. J. Norman Lister and Charles A. Trigg were Honorary Secretaries

Condima (England) Limited
Marzipan manufacturers at Condima Works, Halifax [1937]

Condivex Limited
Manufacturers of anti-dazzle lenses at 15 Horton Street, Halifax [1937]

Condon, Michael
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1952-1953]. He won caps for England while at Halifax

Conery, Halifax
Area of Beacon Hill just above Shibden Hall.

In 1832, Christopher Rawson wanted to buy a piece of land here, but Anne Lister drove such a hard bargain – because she feared that they would steal her coal and put her own mines in danger of flooding – that there was no agreement.

See Cunnery Lane, Shibden and Cunnery Wood, Shibden

Coneygarth
The hill overlooking Ripponden. Watson suggests that the name means king's mountain, although rabbit hill – from coney – seems more likely and less grand

Confectioners & Confectionery

Congregational Historical Society
Thomas William Hanson was a member

Coning, Geoffrey
[19??-198?] BEM.

Halifax writer and artist, well-known for his illustrated maps of the district.

He had a shop in Westgate, Halifax.

A later shop – Studio Seven at Market Street, Hebden Bridge – was run by his stepson, Peter Harvey.

He lived at Furley House, Heptonstall; Luddenden

Connelly, Mrs Dinah
[1879-1969] Of Howard Street, Halifax. An active suffragette. She was imprisoned after demonstrations.

During the fustian weavers' strike, she, Lizzie Berkly, Lillian Cobbe, Dinah Connelly, Lavinia Saltonstall, Louisa Saltonstall and Laura Annie Wilson, were amongst 57 suffragettes and others who were arrested and imprisoned following an attack on the House of Commons in March 1907. All were given the option of 20/- fine plus costs or imprisonment. They all opted for 14 days' imprisonment in Holloway Gaol.

He married Unknown.

Children: Laura Annie

Connonley, Thomas
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1793]

Conrad, Clive
A character who appears in several novels by Dr Frank King.

Assisted by his wife, Alice and partner, Reginald Fortescue Watt, Conrad runs the Conrad Detective Agency from premises in Rupert Street, Piccadilly, London. Conrad is described

Tall and well-built, with a deceptively sleepy appearance which, together with his habit of yawning at unexpected moments, had originated his nickname. He was often referred to in the underworld as the Dormouse

Conroy, Patrick
[1821-1838] On 11th September 1838 he was killed at Garnett Taylor's factory. The carders at the factory had loosed the straps on their machines, as they did on Saturdays, and Conroy was playing with one of these. The manager asked him to do so. Shortly afterwards, Conroy was caught up by the strap and killed on the spot. His body was shockingly mutilated

Conservative Association for the Brighouse Polling District
Formed in 1864.

See Brighouse Polling District Liberal Association

Conservative News Room
17 George Street, Halifax. Officials included

  • John Ely was Superintendent [1845]

  • Mr Baines was Secretary [1849]

The rooms were open 6 days a week, from 8:00 am to 10:00 pm. They were available to Conservatives only and at an annual subscription of 10/6d

Conservative Reading Room, Elland
Recorded in 1874, when J. W. Brook was Secretary

Conservatives

See Labour and Liberals

Constance, Rev John
[1846-1913] Pastor of Patmos Independent Chapel, Todmorden for over 25 years [1871, 1891].

In 1875, Elizabeth Barker was charged with stealing a hearth rug from Rev Constance.

He died in Marple, Cheshire

Constance, William Gill
[1880-1915] Son of Elizabeth and John Constance.

Born in Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Trooper with the New Zealanders, the Wellington Mounted Rifles NZEF.

He died 9th August 1915 (aged 34).

He was buried at the Chunuk Bair Cemetery, ANZAC, Turkey [5].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Constantine, John
[18??-18??] Secretary of the mechanics of Halifax.

At a dinner at the Oddfellows' Hall, Halifax on 13th October 1865, he was presented with a time-piece and a purse of money, for his services in averting a strike in the Halifax iron trades

Constantine, John Farrar
[1905-19??] In 1936, he married Manuela, daughter of Gerbacio Protacio Appleyard, in Halifax

Constantine, Miss Mary Ann S. G.
[1864-1965] She died in Saint John's Hospital, Halifax on 31st March 1964 at the age of 101

Constantine, Thomas John
[18??-19??] Wheelwright and van builder at Hipperholme.

In 1870, he began making carts and wagons, and later commercial vehicles, charabancs, and buses.

On 31st July 1919, the timber yard was gutted by fire.

In 1929, the company was owned by Fielding & Bottomley

In 1905, he served on the Hipperholme Urban District Council, and he was an Overseer of the Poor for Hipperholme. He lived at 1 Upper Royd, Hipperholme

Constituency
The specific geographic area represented by a Member of Parliament in the House of Commons

The Consumers' Tea Company
Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where they were selling tea at 30 Woolshops, Halifax
Bottom of Woolpack Yard

Contributions

Contributors
The Foldout thanks some of the people who have contributed material, suggestions and ideas to the Calderdale Companion

If you want to contribute any information or photographs to the Calderdale Companion please send me an email with your information and/or your scanned photographs and images, as discussed in the Contributions Page

Conversation lozenges
Confectionery invented by Joseph Dobson and produced by Joseph Dobson's. They were scented with rose, vanilla or violet, and inscribed with uplifting mottoes such as
Always Speak the Truth
I love you
Take Ye Not Strong Drink
Will you be my sweetheart?

Convolvulus
The corvette HMS Convolvulus was adopted by Ripponden when money was raised in Warship Week during World War II

Conway, Abraham Lee
[1864-19??] Son of George Conway.

Like other members of his family, he was a nurseryman and florist and landscape gardener and florist at Salterhebble Nursery [1905].

In 1892, he married Harriet Cole [1862-19??] from Rotherham, at Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary L. [b 1897]; (2) Beatrice A. [b 1899].

The family lived at 41 Crossley Hill, Halifax [1901]

Conway, David
[1825-1896] Son of William Conway.

Like other members of his family, he became a gardener.

In 1851, he married (1) Mary Turner [1828-1885] from Sowerby, at Halifax.

Children: (1) Martha Ann [b 1852]; (2) William Henry [b 1853]; (3) Edward [b 1856]; (4) John [b 1859].

The family lived at Green Terrace, Halifax [1851]; Chapel Road, Skircoat [1861]; 72 Burnley Road, Halifax [1871, 1881]. In 1886, he married (2) Hannah J. Bates [1833-19??] from Hyde, Cheshire in Halifax.

After David's death, Hannah lived at 7 Fenton Road, Halifax

Conway-Davies, Rev Hugh Noel
Late in life, Rev Hugh Noel Conway Davies changed his surname to Conway-Davies

Conway, George
[1819-1885] Son of William Conway.

Like other members of his family, he became a gardener.

He married Sarah [1818-1???] from Thornhill, Wakefield.

Children: (1) William; (2) Mary [b 1845]; (3) Emma [b 1847]; (4) Hannah [b 1849]; (5) Henry; (6) Sarah A [b 1854]; (7) Martha L [b 1856]; (8) James Edward; (9) Ellen [b 1861]; (10) Abraham Lee.

The family lived at Crossley Hill, Halifax [1851]; 2 New Road, Halifax [1881]

Conway, George
[1897-1916] Son of James Edward Conway.

Born in Greetland.

He was a part-timer bobbin carrier [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 6th Battalion King's Own Scottish Borderers.

He died of wounds [5th July 1916].

He was buried at the Dive Copse British Cemetery, Sailly-Le-Sec [II D 24]

Conway, Henry
[1829-1864] Son of William Conway.

Like other members of his family, he became a market gardener.

He married Sarah [1829-1???] from Almondbury, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Ann [b 1855]; (2) John W. [b 1858]; (3) Emma [b 1859]; (4) James [b 1861].

The family lived at 6 Haugh Shaw Road, Halifax [1861].

After Henry's death, Sarah and her daughters were listed as hearth rug makers and were living at Whiteley's Yard, King Cross, Halifax

Conway, Henry
[1854-1???] Son of George Conway.

Like other members of his family, he was a gardener.

In 1874, he married Elizabeth Goodwin, of Branston, Lincolnshire, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Sarah Ann [b 1875]; (2) Harry Edward [b 1877]; (3) Margaret Ann [b 1879]; (4) Ellen [b 1882]; (5) Annie Eliza [b 1884]; (6) Ethel Goodwin [b 1887].

The family lived at 53 Trafalgar Street [1881, 1891]; 109 Hyde Park Road, Halifax [1901]

Conway's House, Halifax
Recorded in 1871 when William Conway was listed at
Conway's House, Carlton Street/Nichol's Yard

Conway, James Edward
[1858-1930] Son of George Conway.

Born in Halifax.

In 1882, he married Harriet Milnes [1858-1929] in Halifax.


Harriet was born in Halifax
 

Children: (1) Albert Edward [1884-1954] who was a gardener; (2) Emily [b 1890]; (3) Annie Milnes [1894-1965] who never married; (4) George.

The children were born in Greetland.

The family lived at Bank End, Upper Greetland [1911]

The couple died in Halifax

Conway, John
[1???-18??] Nurseryman at Green Lane Nurseries, Hipperholme [1922]

Conway's Limited
Aka William Conway & Sons Limited. Horticulturists, florists, seedsmen and landscaping company established in 1820 by William Conway.

They had a warehouse at 16 Bull Green, Halifax, and nurseries in Free School Lane, Halifax and at Greetland.

On 1st July 1936, they sold a rock garden to King George VI.

In 1937, they had a shop at 59 Commercial Street, Halifax.

During World War II, the company was responsible for camouflaging the RAF base at Linton-on-Ouse, near York

Conway, Russ
[1925-2000] Popular pianist.

When H. J. Homfray & Company Limited closed in 1981, there was a party in the factory yard and he played the piano to entertain the ex-workers

Conway, William
[1793-1873] Son of Rose and Henry Conway.

Established Conway's florists and landscaping business in 1820.

In October 1814, he married Mary Waterhouse [1792-1869] at Halifax.

Children: (1) Hannah [b 1817] who never married; (2) Sarah [b 1818] who never married; (3) George; (4) David; (5) Martha [b 1827]; (6) Henry; (7) Mary [b 1832].

The family lived at Rose Cottage, Haugh Shaw Road [1841, 1851]; Conway's House, Carlton Street/Nichol's Yard [1871]

Conway, William
[1843-1919] Son of George Conway.

Like other members of his family, he was a jobbing gardener [1871] and nurseryman, seedsman and florist [1891].

In 1865, he married (1) Ann Oates [1845-1882].

Children: (1) George Henry [b 1866]; (2) Albert [b 1868]; (3) William A. [b 1874]; (4) Agnes [b 1876]; (5) Annie C. [b 1882].

In 1884, he married (2) Naomi Hirst [1845-1930] in Halifax.

The family lived at 16 Upper Bell Hall [1871]; 16 Bull Green [1881, 1891, 1901]

Conway, Rev William Augustus
[1821-1883] Vicar of Todmorden [1875-1883]. He was known as Little Billy.

In 1847, he married Anna Maria Phillips [1817-1902] in Newport, Wales.

Children: (1) Marie Louise [1852-1882]; (2) a daughter; (3) Marian Augusta Salusbury [1856-1896] who married John Howorth Ormerod.

He died in Blackpool. He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Conway, William Cecil
[1899-1955] Son of Rev William Taliesin Davies.

He emigrated to Canada. During World War I, he served with the Canadian Army. On one occasion, he saw his brother, Noel, marching in a column of troops; they waved but didn't see each other again until after the war.

He married Leara Baker

Cook, Alfred
[18??-1???] Partner in Rose & Company

Cook, Ann
[1765-1847] Or Cooke. Daughter of Richard Cook, of Briggate, Leeds, and half-sister of Mary Burnett. She came to live at Calico Hall when Mary married Robert Parker.

She married Rev Edward Prescott.

When Mary died, she left the Calico Hall estate to Ann. Ann and Edward went to live at the Hall. After Edward's death, Ann stayed on at the Hall.

Around 1810, she changed the name of Calico Hall to Clare Hall which she did not like because of the commercial connotations

Cook, Rev David Smith
[1947-] He served at Spennymoor and at Wearmouth before becoming Vicar of Copley [1977] and Chaplain of Halifax General Hospital.

In 1980, he left to become vicar at Birstall

Cook, Rev E.
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1923]

Cook, Frederick
[1816-18??] Born in Ryburgh, Norfolk.

Around 1850, the family moved to Yorkshire.

He was station master at Copley Railway Station [1861].

In [Q2] 1848, he married Esther Foster [1815-1???] in Mitford, Norfolk.

Children: (1) Alfred J. [b 1849] who was a telegraph clerk [1861]; (2) Elizabeth A. [b 1851]; (3) William [b 1853].

The family lived at Copley Railway Station [1861]

Cook, Gilbert
[1885-1951] DSc, FRS.

He was educated at Roomfield Higher Grade School. In 1905, he graduated in engineering at Manchester. He was assistant engineer with the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway. In 1921, he was Professor of Mechanical Engineering at King's College, London.

In 1922, he married Florence Davies.

In 1936, he went to Glasgow University

Cook, Mr
[17??-17??] In 1769 he built Warley House

Cook, PC
[18??-19??] Halifax Constable [1900].

See Sam Smithies Moss and Paul Sutcliffe

Cook, Rev R. J.
[19??-19??] Minister of Lee Mount Baptist Church [1966]

Cook, Sidney J.
[18??-1915] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 29th May 1915.

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cook, Terence
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1951-1953]. He won caps for Wales while at Halifax

Cook's: Thomas Cook & Son
Their first office in Halifax was run by Luke Holt at the corner of Union Street and Horton Street.

The travel agency is currently at 11-13 Corn Market

The Cooke family
They lived at Wheatley.

See Bryan Cooke and George Cooke

Cooke, Beatrice
[1878-1909] Née Smith. Aka Beatrice Feathers. The estranged wife of Arthur Cook.

She was murdered by Livingstone Thwaites on 21st October 1909. The two had been living together at Shroggs Road for some time.

The two had gone for a walk and he attacked her with a knife, slitting her throat. Her body was found on Shroggs Road tip. Dr Crossley Wright conducted the post mortem.

Thwaites was sentenced to death at Leeds Assizes, but the sentence was commuted to life imprisonment on grounds of insanity

Cooke, Bryan
[1???-16??] The family lived at Wheatley. A Royalist, he had to pay £1,460 decimation.

He married Unknown.

Children: George

Cooke, F. C.
[18??-19??] Printer, bookseller and stationer at Bull Green, Halifax [1905].

In 1913, he was one of the subscribers to The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire

Cooke, George
[16??-16??] Son of Bryan Cooke.

Became a Baronet in 1661

Cooke, H.
[18??-18??] Stage coach proprietor at Halifax.

In April 1861, he was declared insolvent

Cooke, James
[17??-1???] Of Warley.

He was one of the subscribers to the Leeds Infirmary [1792]

Cooke, James
[17??-18??] Leather dresser and merchant at Corn market, Halifax [1822]

Cooke, James
[1833-19??] Hatter with premises in the Brighouse Town Hall on Bradford Road.

He lived at 6 High Street, Brighouse

Cooke, James
[1834-1901] Of Warley House.

Nephew of Abraham Kershaw

Cooke, John
[14??-15??] He married Isabel Stansfeld.


Isabel was the daughter of
Richard Stansfeld
 

Children: (1) Richard; (2) John; (3) Stansfeld; (4) Ellen; (5) Elizabeth; (6) Prudence

Cooke, Joseph
[17??-1811] A former Wesleyan minister, he was expelled in 1806 for heresy when he taught that a person could be saved without knowing it. His followers were the Cookites or Methodist Unitarians and they set up a number of societies in the Rochdale district in the early 19th century. Their first meeting house in Todmorden, the Todmorden Unitarian Chapel, was built in 1823-4

Cooke, Kershaw & Grimshaw
Partners included Mr Cooke and William Kershaw. Mr Grimshaw joined the partnership later

Cooke, Lucy
[18??-19??] Of Summerfield, Ilkley.

She married Archibald William Reith

Cooke, Richard
[16??-17??] A Halifax merchant.

He married Baptista, daughter of Robert Milnes

Cooke, Richard
[18??-18??] Of Halifax. He was a livery stable keeper.

In August 1850, he was fined £10 plus costs for

conveying passengers, for hire, in the gig mail driven by him from Todmorden, he not having a stage carriage licence

Cooke, W.
[18??-18??] Commission agent at Halifax.

In May 1866, he was declared bankrupt

Cooke, William
[18??-18??] Registrar of marriages at Halifax [1850]

Cooke, William
[18??-18??] Corn dealer and porter / ale bottler at 17 King Cross Street, Halifax

Cooker, John
[18??-19??] In July 1898, he filed a patent for
new and useful improvements in healds or heddles for looms for weaving

In April 1899, he applied to the US Patent Office, as

John Cooker, of Halifax, England, assignor of two-thirds to John Crossley & Sons Limited, and Matthew Graham Dobson

Cookson & Ellis
Stone quarrier with a quarry at Needless Hall, Brighouse [1896]

Cookson, Elizabeth
[1???-17??] Sister to William Wordsworth's grandfather.

She married (1) Rev Samuel Threlkeld.

After Samuel's death in 1767, she married (2) into the Rawson family

Cookson, Hugh Alexander
[18??-19??] He was appointed Medical Officer of Health for Halifax [1880] – at a salary of £100 per annum – in preference to the current Medical Officer, Daniel Ainley. This was seen to be a rigged vote for the appointment, and Ainley was reappointed.

He was a general practitioner, physician and surgeon in Halifax [1895].

He was at 53 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1905].

He married Ada [b 1851].

Children: (1) Albert [b 1876]; (2) Kenneth [b 1878]; (3) Maurice [b 1880]; (4) Reginald [b 1881]; (5) Nellie [b 1886]; (6) Jessie [b 1887]; (7) Ferdinand [b 1889]; (8) Adelaide [b 1890].

The family lived at 12 Park Road, Halifax [1887]; 92 King Cross Street, Halifax [1891]

Cookson, Mary Ann
[18??-18??] Beerhouse keeper at the Oddfellows' Arms, Elland [1869, 1871].

In February 1869, he was declared bankrupt

Cookson, Thomas
[18??-18??] Beerseller in Elland – (possibly) the Oddfellows' Arms, Elland [1860].

In 1860, he was charged with using grains of paradise in brewing He was fined £50.

Mary Ann Cookson (his wife?) was at the Oddfellows' Arms, Elland [1871]

Coombe, Rev G. B.
[18??-19??] Minister at Upper Edge Baptist Church, Elland [1909]

Coombs, Peter
[1811-1880] He married Betty [1812-1903].

Children: (1) John [1839-1852]; (2) Joseph [1839-1854]; (3) Hannah [18??-1860]; (4) Betty [1850-1883].

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Coop, Rev Frederick William
[1???-19??] He was Curate at Brighouse [1934-1942], St Chad's Church, Hove Edge, and Vicar of Hartshead [1961-1968]

Coop, James Palin
[1832-1897] Born in Bolton.

Around 1855, he moved to Todmorden.

He was a tailor & woollen draper [1861]; a tailor & draper employing 2 boys, 8 women & 13 girls [1871]; a manufacturing clothier & retail clothier [1891]. He established a ready-made tailoring business at Crescent. He subsequently built a shop and carried on business at London House, Todmorden.

The family moved to Lancashire.

In 1853, he married Margaret Eleanor Sarah Bennett [1830-1???] from Alfreton, Derbyshire, at Prescot, Lancashire.

Children: (1) Emma Ellen [b 1854]; (2) Robert [b 1856]; (3) Mary Annie [b 1858]; (4) Walter [b 1860]; (5) Arnold [b 1863]; (6) Charlotte [b 1865]; (7) Edith [b 1868]; (8) Edward James [b 1870] who was a clothier's assistant [1891], a clothing manufacturer [1901].

The family lived at Strand, Langfield, Todmorden [1861]; Liverpool Road, Eccleston, St Helens, Lancashire [1871]; 130 Sussex Road, Southport, Lancashire [1891]; 19 Albert Road, Southport, Lancashire [1901].

Living with them in 1861 were sister Phoebe Annie Coop [aged 26], and brother-in-law W. Bennett [aged 18] (tailor's assistant).

He died in Ormskirk

The Cooper family of Brighouse
A Quaker family. They were trustees of the Quaker Meeting House in Brighouse. They are listed in the Quaker punishment books as far back as 1709.

Members of the family have included Christiana Cooper and John Cooper

Cooper & Chambers
Card makers at Halifax.

Partners included Thomas Cooper and Benjamin Chambers.

The partnership was dissolved in 1806

Cooper & Crossley
Haliax wool merchants [1863].

Partners included Isaac Cooper

Cooper, Rev Austin Lewis
[1847-1885] From Knaresborough.

He was Curate at Hartshead / Clifton [1882].

He was buried at Hartshead Church

Cooper Bridge Railway Station
Opened on 5th October 1840.

It was said that this was the private station for the Armytage family of Kirklees Hall.

The station closed in February 1950

Cooper Brothers
Printers at Portland Street, Halifax.

They were proprietors of the Halifax Times [1874, 1894] and the Brighouse & Elland Express [1874].

Partners included John Cooper

Cooper, Christiana
[1768-1831] A member of the Quaker Cooper family of Brighouse.

She married James Stansfield, who was not a Quaker.

David Shaw writes that

Christiana was the subject of a testimony of denial following her marriage to James Stansfield, after a complaint made to Brighouse Friends. Nevertheless, she was still very much within the sphere of interest of the Quakers, living within the area owned the trustees, having most of her children recorded at birth in the Quaker church and finally being buried there herself

Cooper, Rev Frederic W.
[18??-19??] Vicar of St Paul's Church, Halifax [189?]. He established the Parish Magazine for his parish. In 1897, he and Rev Robert George Penny exchanged the livings at St Paul's, King Cross and Longbridge Deveril [Salisbury]. In 1899, he was appointed rector of Prestwich

Cooper, George
[18??-191?] He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell

Cooper, George Arthur
[1897-1964] Born in Warrington.

In the 1930s, he was a firemaster in or around Warrington. He went on to become a fire officer with Todmorden Fire Brigade.

He died in Tuam, Galway, Ireland

Cooper, Harold
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the East Lancashire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Cooper, Herbert
[18??-1???] He was the son-in-law of Mr Thomas who lived at Hebden Hey. In 1899, he discovered a prehistoric human skull in Tom Bell's Cave at Hardcastle Crags. Some doubt was cast on the authenticity of the find by the fact that Cooper had a business providing refreshments for tourists to the Crags

Cooper House Bridge, Luddendenfoot
Bridge #5 over the Rochdale Canal. Built around 1798

Cooper House, Luddendenfoot
Magson House Road. Early 17th century farmhouse.

Owners and tenants have included

Cooper, Isaac
[18??-18??] He was a partner in Cooper & Crossley; a supporter of the Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Railway

Cooper, James
[18??-18??] In [Q4] 1867, he married Harriet Brooke in Halifax.


Harriet was the daughter of
Sammey Drake Brooke
 

Harriet was buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cooper's: Jim Cooper Pottery, Ripponden
Oldham Road.

Cooper, Joe
[1873-1934] Born in Barkisland.

He was a stone quarry man [1901]; landlord of the Griffin, Barkisland [1905-1930].

On 28th November 1896, he married Sarah Jane Crossley [1876-1962] at St Bartholomew's, Dean Head.


Sarah Jane was born in Barkisland
 

Children: (1) Annie [1897-1980]; (2) Hilda [b 1898]; (3) Joe [1900-1978]; (4) Ethel [1902-1941]; (5) Jack [1907-1970]; (6) Sam [1910-1987].

The family lived at Rock House, Radnorshire [1901]; Spring Hill, Upper Greetland [1934].

Living with them at the Griffin was Sarah Jane's widowed mother Hannah Crossley [b 1842].

Joe died at the Royal Halifax Infirmary [15th April 1934].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £610 7/10d.

Administration was granted to his widow

Cooper, John
[17??-18??] A Quaker. A member of the Cooper family of Brighouse

Cooper, John
[18??-1???] Partner in Cooper Brothers [1874].

In 1894, he was publisher of the Halifax Times at Square Road, Halifax

Cooper, John
[182?-18??] He was a teacher at Lincoln before he and his wife came to live at Stansfield Hall, Todmorden in 1850.

Mrs Cooper died shortly after giving birth to a son. Mr Cooper was suspected of adultery and murder, but the jury returned a verdict of death by natural causes

Cooper, Rev Joseph
[18??-19??] Minister at Wesley's Chapel, Broad Street.

He lived at 25 Clare Road, Halifax [1905]

Cooper, Joseph
[1831-1893] He was a joiner [1861, 1871]; a joiner and innkeeper at the Spring Rock, Greetland [1881]; innkeeper at the Spring Rock, Greetland [1891].

On 23rd February 1856, he married Ann Craven [1836-1909] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Walter [1857-1918] who was a joiner [1909] and took over at the Spring Rock after his parents died; (2) Arthur Louis [1863-1925]; (3) Annie Elizabeth [b 1868]; (4) Joe Edward [1870-1928]; (5) Mary Jane [1874-1958]; (6) Emma [b 1876]; (7) Louisa [1877-1940.

The family lived at 14 South Darley Street, Halifax [1861]; 25 South Darley Street, Halifax [1871]

Joseph died at the Spring Rock [31st January 1893]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £36 to his widow Ann.

Ann took over at the Spring Rock [1901, 1905].

Ann died at the Spring Rock [11th February 1909]. Probate records show that she left effects valued at £465 10/6d to son Walter.

Walter took over at the Spring Rock [1911].

Walter died at Peel House, Moorbottom Lane, Greetland [29th November 1918]. Probate records show that he left effects valued at £1,152 16/- to his unmarried sister Mary Jane

Cooper, Malon
[16??-17??] A serge weaver at Brighouse. Of Scar Mill, Rastrick.

He was a trustee of the Quakers [1724, 1744].

He gave £2 2/- towards the construction of Snake Hill Meeting House, Rastrick

Cooper, Rev Robert
[19??-] Vicar of Lightcliffe [19??-2006]

Cooper, Rufus
[1821-1888] Of Brighouse.

In [Q1] 1849, he married Jane Sheard [1826-1898] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [1851-1892]; (2) Emily Jane [1850-1859]; (3) Walter [1865-1885]; (4) Laura Jane [1872-1916].

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Cooper, Sergeant
[1???-18??] Police sergeant in Halifax [1858].

See Joseph Wilkinson

The Cooper's Shop: Shibden Hall
This is in the Folk Museum at Shibden Hall. There are examples of tools and equipment which was used in the production of barrels, buckets, water-carrying items and churns. Some of the items here came from local breweries

Cooper, Simon
[19??-] Born in Halifax. His father was German. In 2004, he established Rugby League Deutschland

Cooper, Thomas
[17??-17??] Cardmaker of Thornhill Briggs.

He was a trustee of the Quakers [1770].

He gave £4 2/- towards the construction of Snake Hill Meeting House, Rastrick

Cooper, Thomas
[17??-18??] Partner in Cooper & Chambers [1806]

Cooper, Thomas
[17??-18??] Flushing manufacturer at Brighouse.

He was a trustee of the Quakers [1818]

Cooper, Rev Thomas
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1898].

He lived at 28 Park View, Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1905]

Co-operative Retail Services Limited
Abbr: CRS.

See Halifax Co-operative Society

Co-operatives

Coore, Rev Cyril
[1881-19??] BA.

Born in Breconshire.

Curate at St Paul's Church, Queens Road [1905].

He was Vicar of Hartshead [1911-1914].

In [Q4] 1907, he married Margaret Faith Raynor [1881-19??] from Chiswick, in Kensington.

The family lived at Clergy House, King Cross / Mayfield Drive, Halifax [1905]; Hartshead Vicarage [1911]

Coore, Richard
[1608-1687] Aka Core. He was Curate at Heptonstall [1645-1649] and Curate at Southowram [1650-1652]. He was said to be
in sympathy with Antinomian views

In 1662, he was ejected from the chapelry of Tong, Bradford

Copeland, William
[1803-1874] In 1873, he married Marion, daughter of James Hoatson, in Halifax.

Marion was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 336]

Copley
Area of Halifax, below Skircoat Green. In the early 19th century, the Akroyd's conceived Copley model village for their employees

See Copley surname, Thomas de Talvace and The Savile family of Copley

Copley
The surname originates in Copley. Thomas de Talvace took the name Copley when he succeeded his father's property around 1233.

Hugh de Coppelay is recorded at Skircoat in 1246, William de Coppeley is recorded in 1331, John de Coppeley is recorded in 1333 and Hugh de Coplay is recorded at Skircoat in 1379

See Copley family and Talvas family

There are currently around 23 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Copley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Copley family
Originated in Copley.

Thomas de Talvace changed his name to Copley.

The Copleys and the Saviles intermarried.

See William Copley, Copley and Talvas family

Copley, Adam
[1???-13??] Son of Robert Copley.

Born in Copley.

He married Jane from Oxenhope.

Children: John.

Adam and Jane died in Batley

Copley, Adam
[1320-1379] Son of William Copley

He married Unknown.

Children: William.

He died in Dalton

Copley & Skircoat Band

Copley & Skircoat Green Conservative Club
Recorded in 1917, when Tom Parker was secretary

Copley, Andrew
[1859-19??] Born in York.

He was an engineer, engine maker [1891]; an engineer's tool maker [1901]; an engine fitter [1911].

In 1889, he married Sarah Willmott [1856-1???] in Ecclesall Bierlow.


Sarah was born in Penzance, Cornwall.

3 of their children were born before the marriage

 

Children: (1) Sarah Annie [b 1884] who was a worsted rover [1901], a coating weaver [1911]; (2) Helena Grace [b 1885] who was a worsted rover [1901]; (3) Andrew Richard [b 1886] who was a mechanic fitter (out of work) [1901]; (4) Agnes [b 1889] who was a worsted spinner (half time) [1901], a coating weaver [1911]; (5) Arthur Willmott [b 1892] who was an apprentice machine [1911]; (6) Harry [b 1893] who was a mill hand [1911]; (7) Rhoda Mary [b 1895] who was a worsted winder [1911]; (8) Edwin.

The family lived at 27 Harrow Street, Halifax [1891]; 28 Eton Street, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Copley Bridge
North Dean Road. 2-span stone bridge over the Calder.

Former toll bridge dated

R. K. D. Esq. 1831 J. H. Mason

It was built by Richard Kennett-Dawson. The toll was freed in 1856.

This is one of only 15 toll bridges which remain in North-East England.

See Copley toll house

Copley Cricket Club

Copley Data Centre
Wakefield Road. Built by the Abbey Hanson Rose Partnership of Huddersfield for the Halifax Building Society. Part of Copley Woods had to be cleared for the site. The Data Centre opened in 1987

Copley, Edwin
[1896-1915] Son of Andrew Copley.

He was an apprentice to iron turning [1911]; an employee of C. Redman & Sons Limited.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion, Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment) [September 1914].

He was killed in action [16th June 1915]. Whilst on a working party near the firing line, he was struck by a bullet, which went through his heart, and died immediately.

He was buried at the Y Farm Military Cemetery, Bois-Grenier, France [D 41].

See Horace Boocock

Copley, Fred Smith
[1898-1985] In [Q3] 1921, he married Hannah Isabel Vere in Halifax.


Hannah Isabel was the daughter of
Horace Thomas Vere
 

Children: (1) Cynthia M [1927-1932]; (2) Arthur Brian Vere [b 1929].

Hannah Isabel died in Cranleigh, Surrey [1959]

Copley Gate
A large Victorian house. Recorded in the 1940s

Copley, Geoffrey de
[1???-13??] He is mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls:

  • 30th September 1348: Geoffrey de Coppelay surrendered half a bovate in Hipperholme – see John de Copley

Copley's, Halifax
General outfitters. They were at 8 & 10 Winding Road, Halifax [1936] and 23 Bull Close Lane, Halifax [1970s].

During World War II, Mrs Lucy Copley was in charge, It is said that Mrs Copley used Tommy Cheesebits as a messenger to deliver the cash takings to the bank

Copley Hall
Built by the Baron de Copley around 1050.

The Copleys and the Saviles intermarried.

It was rebuilt by Henry Savile in 1421.

Owners and tenants have included

The last lord of the manor was Mr Kennett-Dawson.

In 17??, the hall was partly demolished, and a part became the Volunteer Arms public house.

This was demolished in 1915 for a new public house, and the plasterwork – with the Savile owls and the Fitzwilliam leopards – was taken to the Kensington Museum, London on 26th February 1915

Copley, Henry
[1250-1???] Son of Hugh Copley.

Born in Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: Thomas

Copley, Henry de
[1???-13??] He is mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls:

  • 13th May 1349: Henry de Coppelay fined 2d for detaining 7 shillings from Matthew de Illingworth for the tithe of sheaves sold to Thomas del Dene

  • 13th May 1349: Henry de Coppelay sworn as juror at the court held at Brighouse on this date

Copley Horticultural & Floral Society
They had an annual show at which Colonel Akroyd presented the prizes

Copley, Hugh
[1212-1268] Son of Thomas de Talvace.

Born in Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) William; (3) Richard; (4) Henry.

He died in Huddersfield

Copley, Hugh de
[1???-13??] He is mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls:

  • 8th January 1349: Hugh de Coppeley sworn as juror at the court held at Halifax on this date

  • 17th March 1349: Hugh de Coppelay summoned on a plea of debt by Matilda who was wife of Robert de Holand, executrix of Isabella de Holand

  • 7th April 1349: Hugh de Coppelay re-summoned – see above

  • 5th May 1349: Hugh de Coppelay summoned again – see above

  • 12th May 1349: Hugh de Coppelay sworn as juror at the court held at Halifax on that date

  • 26th May 1349: Hugh de Coppelay at Wakefield, distrained to answer Matilda who was wife of Robert Holand – see above

  • 23rd June 1349: Hugh de Copelay at Wakefield, as above

  • 14th July 1349: Hugh de Coppelay at Wakefield, distraint, but Matilda and a co-accused of Henry Coppelay, Henry del Brounhirst are both now dead: 1349 was a plague year

  • 23rd Nov 1349: Hugh de Coplay at Halifax, sworn as juror

  • 29th April 1350: Hugh de Coplay at Wakefield, offers himself as attorney in a plea of debt at Sowerby

  • 17th May 1350: Hugh de Coplay at Halifax, sworn as juror

Please email me if you suspect that these references are not all for the same person

Copley Industrial Co-operative Society
Established within Copley model village in 1868 [?]. The Society went into liquidation in 1968

Copley, John
[1823-1875] Landlord of the Queen Hotel, Todmorden [1871].

He died on 19th June 1875, his wife, Unknown [1837-1875], died on 23rd December 1875

Copley, John de
[1???-13??] He is mentioned several times in the Wakefield Court Rolls:

  • 14th May 1333: John de Coppeley accused John, son of Eva de Scammonden for detaining one of Coppeley's cows, and

  • 14th May 1333: John de Coppeley received satisfaction for detention of his cow

  • 30th September 1348: John de Coppelay at Wakefield, granted half a bovate of land – see Geoffrey

  • 26th May 1349: John de Coppelay fails to come to court to answer a charge of trespass

  • 23rd June 1349: John de Coppelay at Wakefield, distraint on trespass charge, though his two co-accused, Thomas del Dene and Richard Gery, are now dead

  • 14th July 1349: John de Coppelay at Wakefield, distrained again on above charge

Please email me if you suspect that these references are not all for the same person

Copley, Judith
[17??-1752] Daughter of William Copley.

On 21st August 1749, she married Joseph Archer in Halifax. Joseph's family came from Heymoor House, Shepley.

Children: Betty [b 1750].

On 30th May 1752, Judith was buried at Kirkburton Church.

Joseph and Betty moved to Huddersfield, where Joseph remarried

Copley Lane Canal Bridge
Bridge which carries Copley Lane over the Calder & Hebble Navigation to Copley

Copley Lane Railway Bridge
Bridge which carries Copley Lane over the railway line

Copley Liberal Club
Recorded in 1905 at 7 Copley Hall Street

Copley Library
Library founded by Edward Akroyd at Copley School in 1850.

Recorded in 1929 as the Copley Branch Library and Copley Young Readers' Centre. At that time, the Library was only open on Thursday evenings, and the Young Readers' Centre was open on Monday and Wednesday evenings.

See Haley Hill College

Copley, Manor of
See Copley Hall and Richard Kennett-Dawson

Copley Mills
This was the original name for Copley model village

Copley Mills Brass Band
A band formed by the workers at Copley Mills

Copley model village
In 1837, Jonathan Akroyd bought a mill and land at Copley from Kennett-Dawson, and built a model housing scheme for the company's employees.

See Copley Gas Works and Saint Stephen's Church

Copley Parish Church

Copley Police Station
This was a detached house at Copley Hall Row [1945]

Copley Post Office
Recorded in 1874, when Betsy Normington was postmistress.

Recorded in 1905 at Wakefield Road / Copley Terrace when G. C. Alderman was in charge

Copley Railway Station
In 1856, the station opened to serve the growing community in Edward Akroyd's model housing scheme at Copley.

Bankhouse Tunnel is just east of the station.

There was an accident here in 1857.

Frederick Cook was Station Master [1861].

On 18th July 1931, the station closed. It was demolished in 19??

Copley Range
Opened on 12th September 1861.

Condemned in July 1885.

Discontinued on 13th September 1890


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about Copley Range?

 

Copley, Richard
[1245-1???] Son of Hugh Copley.

Born in Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: Thomas

Copley, Robert
[11??-1253] Alias Grosthead. Of Copley.

He was Bishop of Lincoln [1235]. He had several quarrels with the Pope and was suspended in 1252

Copley, Robert
[12??-1???] Son of Thomas Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Adam; (2) William; (3) John

Copley, Thomas

Copley, Thomas
[12??-13??] Of Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: Ellen who married Henry Savile

Copley, Thomas
[1235-1???] Son of Hugh Copley.

Born in Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Robert; (2) Thomas

Copley Toll Booth
The toll booth stands outside St Stephen's Church by Copley Bridge. Built in 1831?

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

It is now a private house

Copley Tunnel

Copley Viaduct
23-arch railway viaduct built in 1852 to bring the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway from Sowerby Bridge to Halifax and Bradford.

This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Copley, Vicars of

Copley War Memorial
The memorial stands outside the door of Saint Stephen's Church, Copley. It was designed by Harry Percy Jackson. It was unveiled on 21st May 1922

Copley Ward Conservative Club
Recorded in 1905 at 36 Copley Hall Terrace when E. Smith was Secretary

Copley, William
[1240-1???] Son of Hugh Copley.

Born in Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: William

Copley, William
[1270-1???] Son of William Copley.

He married Unknown.

Children: Adam

Copley, William
[1350-1399] Son of Adam Copley.

Born in Dalton.

He married Agnes [1350-1???].

He died in Dalton

Copley, William
[1695-1752] Son of William Copley of Birstall.

Born in Heckmondwike.

His Copley family originated in the Halifax district, but moved away. William returned and bought Cinder Hill, Coley.

He married (1) Unknown.

Children: (1) Judith.

He married (2) Unknown.

Children: (2) William.

He died at Coley, and was taken back to Birstall where he was buried in the family grave

Copley, William de
[1???-13??] He is mentioned in the Wakefield Court Rolls:

  • 18th November 1331: William de Coppeley fined 12d at Sowerby in a plea of trespass

  • 18th November 1331: William de Coppeley fined 12d at Sowerby for drawing the blood of Margery del Wode

  • 21st February 1332: William de Coppeley paid rent for land at Sowerby

  • 13th March 1332: William de Coppeley fined 6d at Hipperholme for not attending court

  • 16th October 1332: William de Coppeley sworn in as Grave of Hipperholme

  • 1st June 1333: William de Coppolay fined 12d for having an inquisition

  • 9th January 1349: William son of Henry de Coppelay at Brighouse, fined 12d from John Whitehead defending himself

  • 23rd November 1349: William de Coplay at Halifax, fined 2d for failing to repay a 7d loan owing to Henry de Langfield

Please email me if you suspect that these references are not all for the same person

Copley Woods
See Halifax Data Centre, Long Wood, Copley, Scar Wood, Copley and Spring Wood, Copley

Copper Street Lockup, Halifax
Recorded in 1822 at Copper Street when John Brierley was Deputy Constable

Copperas House
Area of Todmorden

See Copperas

Copperas House, Boothtown
Owners and tenants have included

  • the Ireton family [in the early 18th century]

See Copperas

Copperas House Co-operative Society
A branch of the Walsden Co-operative Society opened in 1900

Copperas House, Elland
Aka Copperas Farm. Ainley Top / Upper Edge.

Owners and tenants have included

Copperas House, Luddenden

Copperas House, Siddal
Cinder Hill Lane. Owners and tenants have included

See Copperas

Copperas House, Todmorden
Rochdale Road.

Bridge #32 over the Rochdale Canal

Coppin, Rev A.
[1???-1???] He was at West Hartlepool before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [1936]

Copping, Sergeant
[18??-1???] Brighouse police sergeant [1892]

Copplestone, William Jacob
[18??-18??] A merchant of Glasgow.

In [Q1] 1849, he married Mary Ann, daughter of Lieutenant Henry Pitt at St Martin's Church, Brighouse.

Children: (1) Edward Watson [1853-1880]; (2) Anne Elizabeth [1857] who died aged 6 months.

Mary Ann and the children were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse with their Pitt grandparents

Copriding, Stainland
Benjamin Taylor was recorded here [1841]

Copy Pit Railway Line
Ran from Hall Royd Junction, Todmorden to the Gannow Junction at Burnley.

The line had a double junction at Stansfield Hall, one line going to Hall Royd and one to Todmorden Station.

The line was due to close in 1983, but this did not happen and a passenger service began in October 1984 and a goods service in 1987.

There is currently discussion about re-instating the junction to Todmorden Station

Coram, the Great
Stage name of ventriloquist Tommy Whitaker

Corboy, John Joseph
[1888-1916] Son of Maurice Corboy.

Born in Halifax.

In 1911, he was serving with the Royal Garrison Artillery in Arabia, Cyprus & Gibraltar.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the Royal Garrison Artillery.

He died of wounds [15th December 1916].

He was buried at the Becourt Military Cemetery, Becordel-Becourt [I F 8]

Corboy, Maurice
[1855-1925] Born in Ireland.

He was a stone quarryman [1876].

He married Margaret Whelan [1858-1940] in Halifax.


Margaret was born in Ireland
 

Children: (1) James [1879-1947]; (2) Mary [b 1883]; (3) Julia [b 1887]; (4) John Joseph; (5) Ellen [b 1891]; (6) William [1894-1964] who served with the Labour Corps during World War I; (7) Winifred [1897-1958] who never married; (8) Maurice [1900-1948].

The children were born in Halifax

Cordingley & Crossley
Stone delvers at Northowram.

Partners included Henry Cordingley and Thomas Crossley.

The partnership was dissolved in January 1854

Cordingley, Benjamin
[1843-1916] Son of William Cordingley.

He was in the worsted trade; a carpet warehouseman.

He succeeded John Simpson as town-crier. He was originally the bell-man at Northowram, he became Halifax town crier from 1880 until he retired on 30th September 1908. His last announcement was the formation of the Independent Labour Party.

For many years, he was the organ-blower at Heywood's Chapel, Northowram.

He married Unknown [18??-1928].

They lived at Windmill Hill, Northowram, 4 Firth's Court, Crossley Terrace, Halifax, and 18 Oxford Street, Halifax [1905].

He and his wife lived at Arden Road Almshouses.

He was buried at St Matthew's Church, Northowram

Cordingley, Elizabeth
[17??-18??] One of Anne Lister's servants

Cordingley, Gad
[1835-1878] Son of William Cordingley.

Monumental mason of St Paul's Monumental Works, King Cross [1874].

In 1855, he married Emma Lightowler [1827-1880] in Halifax. Children: Tom [1859-1869].

Gad and Tom were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 836]

Cordingley, Henry
[18??-18??] He was a delver [1871].

In [Q1] 1841 he married Martha [1823-1???] in Halifax.


Martha was born in Northowram
 

Children: (1) Elizabeth [1849-1???] who married John Loveless; (2) Sidney [b 1853] who was an iron moulder [1881]; (3) Thomas [b 1857] who was a stone mason [1881].

The family lived at 35 Collier Topping, Northowram [1881].

Living with the widowed Martha in 1881 was daughter Elizabeth and her family

Cordingley, J.
[18??-19??] Insurance broker and estate agent at Halifax. Recorded in 1905 at Commercial Chambers, Halifax