Search billions of records on Ancestry.com
   

B



A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Ba Bd Be Bi Bl Bo Br Bu By


Baby Bunce
Miniature train. The engine was in service at Blackpool [1905] and at Halifax Zoo [1909] before coming to Sunny Vale Pleasure Gardens.

It was named Baby Bunce in 1922, when Lionne, daughter of James Farnell Bunce, was born.

When Sunny Vale closed, the engine was bought for a fairground in Newcastle and renamed Robin Hood

Bacchus Lodge, Halifax
Masonic Lodge. Established at the Bacchus, Halifax in 1769 – possibly by men involved in coining activities – despite protests from the Probity [No 61] Masonic Lodge. The Lodge was disbanded in 1783

Bache, Warley
Aka Bayche. House recorded in the 15th century. Owners and tenants have included

A Sunday School inaugurated by Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge was held here.

The name may be derived from Batt, possibly an early occupant.

The name was changed to Beech House

Back Brade Farm, Rastrick
Stands between Lower Edge and Upper Edge, Elland

Back Clough, Wadsworth
Flows down to join Luddenden Brook

Back Hall, Exley
Backhold Lane, Siddal.

A 13th century homestead. It was rebuilt by Thomas Hanson in 1668. It was dated T H E 1668 for Thomas and Esther Hanson.

Owners and tenants have included

The arms of the Hanson and related families were inscribed over the south door.

There is a Greek inscription:

He that loveth houses and lands more than Me is not worthy of Me

and a Latin inscription:

Heaven not earth

It was later named Backhold Farm

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax and Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions.

See Alice de Backhall, Backhold Lane, Siddal, William de Ecclesley, Exley, Robert Ramsden and Siddal Halls

Back Hall Royd Farm, Siddal
An alternative name for Backhold Royd Farm

Back Lane Parliament, Halifax
A group of Trustees who met in Back Lane, Halifax and governed Halifax before the town was incorporated in 1848

See Halifax Borough

Back o' t' Moon Farm, Siddal
An early name for Backhold Royd Farm

Back o' th' Church Dumpling
A pupil at Grace Ramsden's Back o' th' Church School, Elland

Back o' th' Moors Charity
Aka John Greenwood's Charity

Back Shaw
Area near the Walshaw Dean Reservoirs.

See Cascade, Walshaw Dean

Background information
The Foldout presents a number of terms which might be encountered when studying local and family history

Backhall
Area of the ancient Southowram township around Back Hall

Backhall, Alice de
[12??-1???] She married William de Ecclesley.

See Back Hall, Exley

Backhold, Exley
The name comes from Backhold Farm, a later name for Back Hall.

The area became a housing estate from the 1930s

Backhold Farm
Or Backhold Hall:

Later name for Back Hall, Exley.

See Backhold Lane, Siddal and Backhold Royd Farm, Siddal

Backhold Hall, Exley
Backhold Lane, Siddal. See Back Hall, Exley

Backhold Housing Estate, Exley
Stands on land which included Exley Bank Farm and Backhold.

See George Barker

Backhold Royd Farm, Siddal
West Lane.

Aka Back Hall Royd Farm, Back o' t' Moon Farm. The Foldout lists some owners and occupiers of the property

See West Field, Southowram

Backhouse
This name is found in Backhouse Lane and Backhouse Tunnel, both in the Salterhebble area.

See Bankhouse, Salterhebble

Backhouse, Clifford Charles
[1906-1982] Twin son of George Hughes Backhouse.

He and his brother Gilbert Hughes were educated at Crossley & Porter Grammar School.

After completing an apprenticeship at Brown Muffs in Bradford, they joined their father in the outfitters,

In 1938, he married Eileen Pinder, the granddaughter of Ezra Pinder, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Andrew Pinder [b 1944]; (2) Helen [b 1947]

Backhouse, Father
[18??-19??] He was Priest at Saint Bernard's Catholic Church, Halifax [1930s]; Parish Priest at Saint Joseph's Catholic Church, Brighouse [1940s/1950s]

Backhouse, Foster & Travis
Stock and share brokers at 18 Crossley Street, Halifax [1874]

Backhouse's Gentlemen's Outfitters
Established by George Hughes Backhouse [1899] in the Palatine Chambers block built by Ezra Pinder

Backhouse, George Hughes
[1865-1950] Son of farmer, James Marshall Backhouse.

Born in Wistow, near Selby.

He was the 3rd of 12 siblings.

He was a live-in draper's apprentice to James Blacker, at Selby [1881].

For a short period, he became a farm servant at Farm House, Wheldrake, Langwith, York [1891], the village where his mother came from.

He then moved to London to join the staff of Spencer, Turner & Boldero, wholesale merchants, where he lived in.

Subsequently, he went to South Africa to travel for Baker & Company for 6 years and then with other import companies. He was in Johannesburg at the time of the failed Jamieson Raid

He travelled up country in Africa, selling what he described as

everything you can think of from a needle to a windmill

He used to call on Boer stores, making his treks with a four-horse cart driven by natives. He recalled having seen Cecil rhodes and Paul Kruger.

On his return from South Africa, he settled in Halifax and opened Backhouse's Gentlemen's Outfitters [1899] within Palatine Chambers, Halifax as it was being built by Ezra Pinder.

In 1901, he was living (single, as a boarder) at 20 Southgate, Halifax.

In 1902, he married Mary Jane Forth [1876-1943], a farmer's daughter from Copmanthorpe, in York.

Children: (1) twins Clifford Charles; (2) Gilbert Hughes.

After completing an apprenticeship at Brown Muffs in Bradford, both sons joined their father in the outfitters.

The family lived at 32 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1902, 1911].

In 1911, Mary Jane's mother, Frances Ann Forth [1837-19??], was living with them

Backhouse, Gilbert Hughes
[1906-1980] Twin son of George Hughes Backhouse.

He and his brother Clifford Charles were educated at Crossley & Porter Grammar School.

After completing an apprenticeship at Brown Muffs in Bradford, they joined their father in the outfitters,

In 1936, he married Dorothy Mary Whiteley in Halifax.

Children: (1) Patricia Ann [b 1939]; (2) Catherine Rosemary [b 1944]; (3) David Hughes Walton [b 1945]

Backhouse, Henry
[1843-1906] He was a sculptor [1896]; a Freemason; a member of the Saint James [No 448] Masonic Lodge.

For the Royal Visit of 25th July 1896, Backhouse put on an exhibition which was lampooned by Joe Turner Spencer in the Halifax Comet.

He lived at Clipster Hall, Siddal

Bacon, Benjamin
[16??-17??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1699]

Bacon, George
[1???-18??] Methodist preacher at Sowerby Bridge [1833]

Bacup Cotton Mill & Mining Company Limited
Weavers at Gauxholme.

In 1881, local mills were suffering a depression and their workers were on strike over rates of pay

Baddeley, Edward Lawrence
[1870-1915] Son of Dr William Bratton Baddeley

Born in Whalley, Lancashire.

He was an articled clerk [1891]; a solicitor [1911]; secretary for W. T. Glover & Company, cable makers; a member of Southport Yachting Club.

In 1881, he and his brother William Baddeley were living with their stepfather George Edward Emmet

In 1891, he was staying with his father-in-law Dr John Oakley.

In 1901, he was a boarder in Southport.

In 1911, he married Mary Elizabeth Oakley [1873-19??] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Elizabeth was the daughter of Dr John Oakley
 

They lived at Brook Cottage, Coombs, Chapel-en-le-Frith.

His military career began when he joined the Volunteers in Halifax and was promoted to Sergeant.

He joined the Southport Volunteers [around 1897].

During the South African Wars, he was engaged on military duty at Chester Castle.

During World War I, he served with the 1st/8th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers and attained the rank of Major.

He was mortally wounded in the Dardanelles.

He died 6th June 1915 (aged 45).

He was buried Lancashire Landing Cemetery, Turkey. [A 10]

Baddeley, William Bratton
[1841-1872] Born in Wellington, Shropshire.

He was a general practitioner [1871].

In 1869, he married Mary Ann Brewer [1850-1???] in Clitheroe.


Mary Ann was born in Whalley, Lancashire, the daughter of Edward Brewer, farmer
 

Children: (1) Edward Lawrence [b 1870]; (2) William [b 1872].

The family lived at Clitheroe Road, Clitheroe, Whalley, Lancashire [1871]

Living with them in 1871 was Charles E Martin [aged 30] (assistant, a student from Dublin).

William died in Clitheroe [Q3 1872] (aged 31).

After his death, his widow married George Edward Emmet in Huddersfield [1877]

Baden-Powell, Sir Robert
[1857-1941] Founder of the scouting movement. On 9th July 1921, he inspected Halifax boy scouts and girl guides

Badger Hill Cricket Club
Formed in 1988. It was formerly the New Road Cricket Club

Badger Hill Reservoir, Rastrick
Brighouse Corporation reservoir opened in December 1957 to address the problems of low pressure in existing supplies. The reservoir is now filled in

Badger Lane, Hebden Bridge
There are remains of circular earthworks, 26 ft in diameter, here

Badrick, Vera
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1989-1990]

Bage, Rev Albert
[1867-1944] FRSL.

He was a Primitive Methodist minister at Shipley before becoming Minister at Stannary Congregational Church, Halifax [1903, 1905]. He lived at 30 Milton Place, Halifax [1905].

In 1909, he left and moved to Abbey Congregational Church, Romsey

Bagnall, Mr
[18??-19??] Architect. Partner in Scott & Bagnall

Bagnold, Charlotte
[1798-1860] Daughter of William Bagnold.

Baptised on 10th August 1798.

In 1841, she succeeded her mother, Tabitha, as Halifax postmistress. The Bradford Observer [2nd December 1841] reported that

The appointment of Mrs Akers to the office of postmistress of [Halifax] in the room of her mother, Mrs Bagnold, who has resigned, has rather taken the inhabitants by surprise; and we think it is a general opinion that the interests of this large and extensive department ought to have been confided to some gentleman of active and business-like habits

She was Halifax postmistress [1845, 1850].

She married Robert Akers.

Their son, William, also worked for the Post Office.

She was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835].

She died at her home, Barum House, Halifax [3rd October 1860].

She was buried at St James's Church, Halifax.

Probate records show that she left effects valued at under £3,000. Her will was proved by her sons-in-law William Moore and John Stores Smith

Bagnold, Harriet
[1788-1812] Daughter of William Bagnold. She succeeded her father as Halifax postmistress in 1810. When she died, her mother, Tabitha, took her place. She was a close friend of Anne Lister

She was buried in Halifax Parish Church

Bagnold, William
[1747-1810] He was nephew of Mary Wainman.

In 1780, he married Tabitha Dewhirst.

Children: (1) Caroline Frances who died in childhood; (2) Maria who died in childhood; (3) Harriet; (4) Charlotte; (5) William [1800-1818]; (6) Ann [1804-1818]; (7) John [b 1811-1840].

He became Halifax postmaster [1770s].

He retired in June 1810, and he was succeeded by his daughter Harriet.

He died on 17th October 1810,

after a lingering illness, sincerely and universally respected

Members of the family were buried in Halifax Parish Church

Bagot, Rev George
[1823-1883] Born in Kildoon, Kildare, Ireland.

First Vicar of Saint Matthew's Church, Lightcliffe [1869, 1881].

He married Agnes [1829-1???] from Liverpool.

Children: Edith [1851-1891] who married [1884] Henry Atkins(on) Carter from Worcester, in Lewisham.

The family lived at Iver, Buckinghamshire [1851]; West Field, Richmond, Yorkshire [1861]; Lidgate, Hipperholme cum Brighouse [1871]; Lightcliffe Vicarage [1881].

In 1851, his unmarried sister, Emelia Anne [b 1820] was living with them

Bagott, Rev Elijah
[1832-1899] Or Baggott.

Born in Darlaston, Staffordshire.

He was minister of St Bees.

In 1861, he and his unmarried sister, Rachel, were living with their widowed mother, Hannah, at Tattenhall Road, Wolverhampton. He was then listed as Minister at St Thomas Halifax.

First Vicar at St Thomas's Church, New Bank [1859-1899]. He stayed there for the rest of his life.

He was joint-secretary of the Halifax Church Institute [1865]

In 1863, he married Mary Yates Brevitt [1832-1899], also from Darlaston, in Walsall.

Children: (1) Archibald Thomas [b 1864]; (2) Reginald Musgrave [b 1865]; (3) Sarah Brevitt [b 1868]; (4) Percy Granville [b 1869]; (5) Bertram Montague [b 1877].

The family lived at The Vicarage, St Thomas Street, Northowram [1871]; The Vicarage, Horley Green Road, Claremount [1881]; The Parsonage, Leather Street, Northowram [1891].

Elijah died in the second quarter of 1899, and Mary died in the following quarter

Bagott, Rev George
[18??-18??] He lived at Carlton Street, Halifax. Curate at Parish Church of St John the Baptist, Halifax [1865]

Baht meat week
An event staged at Luddenden by Granada Television's World In Action programme in August 1975. The intention was to show that people can manage without meat. Most of the village's residents took part in the experiment in which – after a Last Supper of roast beef and Yorkshire pudding at Kershaw House – Luddenden was declared a meat-free zone for a week. A local butcher labelled his van Gastronomic Survival Squad. After the experiment, the village returned to normal with no converts to vegetarianism.

See Baht

Baildon, George
[1806-1856] Born in Halifax

He was printer; a bookbinder [1821].

On 19th November 1821, he married Ruth Hebblethwaite [1801-18??] from Halifax, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) John [b 1821]; (2) Elizabeth [b 1829]; (3) William [b 1831] who was a printer; (4) Mary [b 1836] who was a book sticker/stitcher/sewer; (5) George.

The family lived at Old Bank P B, Southowram [1841]; Shroggs, Ovenden [1851]; Fork Lane, Ovenden [1861]; Brackenbed Lane, Ovenden [1871]

Baildon, George
[1840-1911] Son of George Baildon.

He was a master bookbinder [1821]; a master bookbinder employing 1 man and 1 female [1871]; a printer & master bookbinder employing 6 boys & 1 female [1881]; a printer & bookbinder [1891]; partner in George Baildon & Son; a commercial printer manager [1901]; printer with The Argyle Press Limited [1905]; managing director The Argyle Press Limited [1911].

In 1875, he married Susannah Foulds [1843-1909] from Ovenden, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Gertrude [b 1877] who was a book sewer & folder at printing works [1901]; (2) Florence M [b 1878] who was a fancy draper [1911]; (3) Annie Foster [b 1880] who was a bookkeeper at the printing works [1901] and cashier at an ironmongers [1911]; (4) Emilyetta [b 1882] who was a machinist at the printing works [1901] and a machinist (under clothing) [1911]; (5) Amy Hebblethwaite [b 1886] an elementary school teacher [1911].

The family lived at 50 St Augustine Terrace, Halifax [1881]; 5 Franklin Street, Halifax [1891]; 15 Kingsley Place, Parkinson Lane, Halifax [1901, 1905]; 305 Huddersfield Road, Halifax [1911].

In 1881, George's sister, Mary, was living with the family

Baildon's: George Baildon & Son
Printers at Argyle Street, Halifax [1874].

See George Baildon

Baildon, Hugh de
[11??-12??] (Probably) son of Richard son of Essolf de Tong.

He witnessed a charter (undated, but probably 1195-1199)  of Alice daughter of Serlo de Poule.

Early researchers conclude that the land which Hugh held in Baildon was part of the land which his father inherited on the death of his uncle John

Baildon, John
[1791-1866] Son of Luke Baildon.

Born in Norland.

He was a bookseller, printer and publisher at Bull Green, Halifax; a bookseller [1851]; a stationer employing 1 man [1861]. He was in business from before 1822.

In 1813, he married (1) Henrietta Townsend from Halifax, in Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Benjamin [b 1817] who was book binder [1851, 1861]; (2) Elizabeth [bapt 1818].

In 1837, he married (2) Charity Holtby [1807-1861] from Ganton, Yorkshire, in Halifax

Children: (1) Frederick [b 1839]; (2) Alice [b 1840]; (3) Ellen [b 1848].

The family lived at 19 Bull Green [1837], Bull Green, Halifax [1841], 1 Bull Green [1845], 99 Bull Green, Halifax [1851], and 6 Bull Green, Halifax [1861]

Baildon, Luke
[17??-1???] Painter.

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Bailey's: A. Bailey & Sons
Family grocer and provision merchants established by Albert Bailey. They had 2 shops in Westgate, Elland and in the building at the corner of Elizabeth Street / Southgate which was formerly the home of Albert S. Luty.

The business was sold to Mr and Mrs Lister.

The business closed when the Westgate premises were demolished in 1969

Bailey, Albert
[1855-1930] Son of Joe Bailey.

Born in Wrenthorpe.

He was a worsted spinner [1871]; an employee of worsted-spinner Isaac Dewhirst; a grocer [1881, 1911].

He established A. Bailey & Sons, a grocery business – as his father had done before him.

In 1910, he revived his interest in worsted spinning and established Albert Bailey & Sons at Riverside Mills, Elland.

He built the houses in Albert Street, Elland.

In 1879, he married Emma Park [1858-1???] from Lockwood, in Halifax. Emma's family lived in Elland [1879]

Children: (1) Ernest [b 1881] who was a grocer's assistant [1901]; (2) Harold [b 1884] who was a grocer's assistant [1901]; (3) Frank [b 1885]; (4) Louis [b 1889]; (5) Annie [b 1890]; (6) Maurice [b 1891] who was a grocer's assistant [1911]; (7) James Henry [b 1893] who was a grocer's assistant [1911]; (8) Evelyn [b 1895]; (9) child.

The family lived at Westgate, Elland [1881]; 130 Westgate, Elland [1891]; 63 Westgate, Elland [1901]; Riverside House, Elland [1911]

Bailey's: Albert Bailey & Sons Limited
Worsted spinners established in 1910 by Albert Bailey at Riverside Mill, Elland.

Business closed in 1975 when the Elland Bypass was to be built.

See Eliza Jane Lumb

Bailey & Sons
Mineral water manufacturers at Tower Works, Norwood Green [1905]

Bailey, David
[18??-19??] He was a Deacon at Blackley Baptist Chapel [1911]

Bailey Hall Bridge, Halifax
A bridge over the Hebble at Bailey Hall.

In 1710, there was a petition concerning the parlous state of the bridge

Bailey Hall Conservative Club
Recorded in 1891 at 13 Bailey Hall Bank

Bailey Hall, Halifax
Area of Halifax between Caddy Field and Halifax Parish Church.

The name is probably a corruption of Bailiff's Hall and may have been the site of the house of the water bailiff along the banks of the Hebble.

Berry Lane leads from here to Halifax Parish Church

See Bailey Hall Bridge, Halifax, J. & J. Baldwin's and Bayley Hall, Halifax

Bailey, Isherwood & Company
Woolstaplers and cotton merchants at 5 Deal Street, Halifax [1905]

Bailey, James S.
[19??-1???] Born in Huddersfield.

In 1949, he married Beryl Furness Vickers in Halifax


Beryl Furness was the daughter of
Lionel Vickers
 

Beryl died in Worthing [1999]

Bailey, John
[18??-19??] Born in Bailiff Bridge.

He was publican at the Black Bull, Brighouse [1900, 1901]; a well-known sprinter; a member of Brighouse Rangers First Team; a beerhouse keeper [1911].

In 1899, he married Rebecca Mills [1874-19??] born in Castleford, in North Bierley.

Children: (1) John Clifford [b 1901]; (2) May [b 1902]; (3) Roland Mills [b 1908]; (4) Squire James [b 1908].

The family lived at 46 Briggate, Brighouse (Black Bull?) [1901]; 269 Wakefield Road, Bradford [1911].

Living with them in 1911 was Rebecca's mother Sussannah Mills [aged 68]

Bailey, Rev John Renshaw
[1849-1???] Born in Styal, Wilmslow, Cheshire. He served at Carlisle before becoming Minister at Park Congregational Church, Halifax [1878-1893]. He was serving in Eccles, Lancashire [1901] and Salford, Lancashire [1911].

He married Catherine [1848-1???] from Cheadle, Cheshire.

Children: (1) Helena Charlotte E [b 1874]; (2) Kate Ethel [b 1875]; (3) Winifred Beatrice [b 1877]; (4) James Henry Hirst [b 1879] who was a railway traffic canvasser [1901]; (5) Lilian Mary [b 1880]; (6) Constance Emily [b 1885].

The family lived at 114 Lister Lane, Halifax [1881]; Craven House, Halifax [1891]

Bailey, Joseph
[17??-1???] A blacksmith.

He turned thief and lived in a cave near Hathershelf Scout. In 1779, he was discovered in the cave where he had ample food supplies and also items stolen from Rochdale Parish Church. He was transported for life.

His story has some similarities to that of Tom Bell

Bailey, Joseph (Joe)
[1831-1893] He was born in ?

He moved to Elland in the 1840s. He worked at a branch of the Halifax Co-operative Society. He opened a small shop next to his home in Westgate, Elland, selling home-made cakes and bread.

In 1853, he married Susannah Stott [1831-1926], daughter of Mary Stott and stepdaughter of Jonathan Helewell, in Halifax.

Children: Albert.

The family lived at Westgate, Elland [1871, 1881]; 12 Elizabeth Street, Elland [1891, 1893]; 128 Westgate, Elland [1901].

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Bailey, Josiah
[1835-1878] Son of William Bailey.

Born in Lockwood / Longwood.

He was an apprentice shoe maker [1851], a shoe & buckle maker, a brickmaker employing 3 men and 2 boys [1861], landlord of the Shoulder of Mutton, Halifax [1864], and landlord of the Griffin, Halifax [1871, 1874].

He took out a mortgage on the land where the West Vale Tavern stood [1862].

In 1874, he sold it to Webster's Brewery, although it is not clear whether he sold the land or the pub as a going concern.

In 1859, he married Elizabeth Sykes [1837-1904] from Stainland, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary [1859-1862]; (2) Emma [1861-1866]; (3) William [b 1864] who was a solicitor's articled clerk [1881]; (4) Mary Ann [1865-1867]; (5) John [1869-1928]; (6) Sykes [1871-1900]; (7) Esther Ann [1873-1921] who married Charles Henry Horner; (8) Josiah [1878-1879] who died aged 8 months.

The family lived at West Vale, Elland [1861]; Griffin Hotel, Barum Top, Halifax [1871]; 21 George Street, Halifax [1881].

After his death, Elizabeth took over at the Griffin [1878, 1881, 1887].

In 1883, she married George Pickersgill in Halifax.

Josiah, Elizabeth and some of the children are remembered on a grave at Blackley Baptist Graveyard.

They were buried at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland in the Chapel Yard

Bailey, Samuel
[17??-18??] Cotton manufacturer at Kebroyd Lower Mill [1793]

Bailey, Samuel
[1834-1???] Born in Dean Head / Barkisland.

He was an engineer in a cotton factory [1881]; a greengrocer [1891].

In 1856, he married Ann Bennett [1833-1???] born in Sheffield, in Rotherham.

Children: (1) Ann [b 1857] who was a cotton piecer [1881]; (2) Richard [b 1862] who was a cotton piecer [1881], a greengrocer [1891]; (3) James [b 1864] who was a cotton piecer [1881], a mill hand [1891]; (4) Fred [b 1870] who was a cotton piecer [1881], a mill hand [1891]; (5) Younger [1871-1898] who was a mill hand [1891], a greengrocer [1898]; (6) Samuel [b 1874] who was a mill hand [1891].

The family lived at Bridge End, Rishworth [1881]; Royd Lane, Ripponden [1891].

On 8th June 1898, Younger returned from his round, had dinner and went into the outhouse and hanged himself.

Bailey, Rev Simon
[1955-1995] Son of Rev Walter Bailey, a Baptist minister.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at Baptist colleges, but became an Anglican priest. He wrote several books. He became Rector at Dinnington, South Yorkshire. He contracted the HIV and developed AIDS. A few months before his death, he was the subject of an Everyman TV programme, Simon's Cross

Bailey, Tom
[1956-] Halifax-born actor and composer. Performs as the Thompson Twins

Bailey, William
[18??-19??] Halifax solicitor [1934].

He qualified in October 1931

Bailey, William
[1811-18??] He was a weaver of fancy goods [1841].

He married Harriot [1811-1???] from Huddersfield.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1830]; (2) David [b 1832] who was a clay digger [1851]; (3) Josiah; (4) Elizabeth [b 1837]; (5) Adah [b 1840].

The family lived at Blackley, Elland [1841, 1851].

He was dead by 1851.

In 1851, his widow, Harriot, was a shopkeeper (provisions) 

Bailey, William
[1885-1915] Son of Alice Ann & John Bailey of 22 Major Street, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Corporal with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 6th May 1917 (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Bailey's: William Bailey Limited
Cotton spinners and manufacturers at Wadsworth Mill, Todmorden [1905]

Bailey, William Charles
[1883-19??] Born in Bow, London.

He was a soldier / sergeant [1911].

In [Q2] 1910, he married Agnes Ann, daughter of James Tavender Greenwood.

Children: Agnes A [b 1910].

In 1911, they were visiting Agnes's parents in Halifax

Bailey, William Oliver
[18??-19??] Of Sowerby Bridge.

In 1899, he applied for a patent for

improved method of means or apparatus for feeding, abrading and other medium to grinding, cutting and polishing mills

Bailiff Bridge
District of Calderdale to the north of Brighouse at the junction of the Huddersfield to Bradford and the Halifax to Wakefield roads.

Bailiff Bridge & Anti-Vaccination
There were speeches and demonstrations against the vaccination acts in the district in April 1888.

In February, a Mr Dyson was fined 10/- plus costs for not having has child vaccinated. He refused to pay and sold his furniture, but money was raised by sympathisers to pay the fine

See Anti-Vaccination League

Bailiff Bridge & District Mutual Coal Supply Association Limited
Recorded in 1905

Bailiff Bridge Beck
The continuation of Royds Hall Beck, Norwood Green and Wyke Beck which flows into Clifton Beck at Bailiff Bridge

Bailiff Bridge Club
Established for the working men of Bailiff Bridge. It was financed by Thomas Freeman Firth and Sir Algernon Firth and opened on 19th December 1908. William Aykroyd financed the construction of a bowling green

Bailiff Bridge Co-Op
A new branch of the Brighouse District Industrial Society opened in 1876.

See George Carr Jessop

Bailiff Bridge Fountain

Bailiff Bridge Gas Company Limited
The company was formed in 185? to distributed gas supplied by the Brighouse Gas Company. Became a limited company in August 1875

Bailiff Bridge Library
Devon Way, Bailiff Bridge

Bailiff Bridge Police Station
Chris Helme tells me that
There wasn't a police station at Bailiff Bridge.

Up the mid-19th century, the only police were the Parish Constable, but once the West Riding Constabulary was created, Brighouse had its own policeman and because of the previous importance of Hipperholme they to got one and from that day Hipperholme which included Lightcliffe and Bailiff Bridge had its own police section. There was a police house in Bailiff Bridge and they had their own local Bobby from then and I was the last.

In the 1950s, this was the 2nd house on the left as you leave Bailiff Bridge going towards Lightcliffe – just passed what is now Devon Way

Bailiff Bridge Post Office
Opened in 18??.

See Brighouse Post Office

Bailiff Bridge Railway Station
The Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway station opened on 1st March 1881. There was a direct service from here to London Marylebone.

On 11th November 1883, the passenger platform at the station was blown down during a disastrous storm, and an engine was thrown off the rails, blocking the line for several hours.

In 1903, the wife of Joseph Hoyle was injured alighting at the station.

The station closed for passenger traffic on 2nd April 1917.

On 25th April 1929, the building was badly damaged by fire.

See Pickle Bridge Line

Bailiff Bridge Toll House
Tolls on the Bradford & Huddersfield Turnpike started in 1824. Bailiff Bridge Gate and Chains are mentioned in 1851.

The tolls were abolished in 1875.

The toll house was bought by Thomas Freeman Firth £for 70. It was demolished and Firth's extended their existing premises by building Clifton Mill on the site

Bailiff Bridge War Memorial
A memorial to the men from Bailiff Bridge and those workers of T. F. Firth & Company in Bailiff Bridge and in Heckmondwike, who died in World War I stands in a memorial garden off Bradford Road, Bailiff Bridge.

See Firth's War Memorial and Frank Roper

Bailiff Bridge Working Men's Institute
Established in 1866 to provide elementary education for working men. The Institute was at the cross roads at Bailiff Bridge. The site was later occupied by Firth's Clifton Mill

Bailiff or Bailiffe?
There seems to be no consensus over the spellings Bailiff or Bailiffe.

It is said that the final E was dropped by the West Yorkshire Passenger Transport Authority or by Brighouse Borough Council.

Some usages – including Bailiffe Bridge War Memorial and Bailiffe Bridge School - have the final E, whilst others do not.

Eugene Harvey was a fervent campaigner in favour of the errant E

Bailiffe Bridge Working Men's Club
Recorded in 1877, when they sent a letter of condolence to Lady Salt, widow of Sir Titus Salt who had supported the institute

Baillie, Rev Johan Launcelot
[19??-19??] He was Curate at Lightcliffe [1947] and Curate at Illingworth [1949]. In 1952, he left to serve at Hightown, at Milborne St Andrew with Dewlish, at Lima, Peru, in the diocese of Chile [1970-1974] and at Felkirk with Brierley

Bain, Jim
[1???-19??] Member of King Cross Cricket Club [1930s]. In 1940, he scored 665 runs at an average of 72.77

Bain, Dr Roderick
[19??-] Of Stainland. First President of the Greater Elland Historical Society

Bainbridge, William
[1829-18??] Son of nail maker Isaac Bainbridge.

Born in Kirkby Stephen, Westmorland.

He was a coachman at Knaresborough [1857]; a groom [1858]; a coachman [1859]; a coachman at Harrogate [1861]; a coachman and domestic servant at Northowram [1871].

On 23rd November 1857, he married Elizabeth Hill [1838-1876] in the Ripon Cathedral.


Elizabeth was born in Swinton [2nd September 1838], the daughter of Mary [née Hapby/Haxby] and John Hill, a butler. At the time of her marriage, Elizabeth was a servant and she lived at Sawley
 

Children: (1) Jane [b 1858] who was a winder at worsted manufactory [1871]; (2) John [b 1859] who was a bobbin setter at worsted manufactory [1871]; (3) Martha [b 1864].

The family lived at Parade Bilton, Harrogate [1861]; Quarry House Cottage, Northowram [1871].

There is no record of William after 1871.

On 27th August 1875, shipping records show Elizabeth and the children – all sailing under the name Prest – departing from London with a Christopher Prest [age 36] aboard the Toowoomba. They arrived in Rockhampton, Queensland on 22nd December 1875.

Elizabeth died on 7th July 1876 (6 months and 16 days after arriving in Australia). At some time, Jane and John reverted to the name Bainbridge but Martha remained a Prest

Baines & Marshall
Brush manufacturers at West Parade Brush Works, Halifax [1905]

Baines Clock & Cabinet Makers
Established by Mr Baines.

They made long-cased (grandfather's) clock.

Later, they moved into cabinet-making

Baines, Dewhirst & Company
Worsted spinners at Rastrick [1874]

Baines, Edward
[1821-1890] Born in Halifax.

He was a card machine tenter [1851]; a mechanic & innkeeper [1871]; landlord of the Malt Shovel, Southowram [1881, 1887, 1890].

He married (1) Sarah [1821-1876] from Clifton.

Children: (1) Elizabeth [b 1841]; (2) Sarah Ellen [b 1847]; (3) Charles Edward [b 1850] who was a mechanic [1871]; (4) Emma [b 1851]; (5) Arthur [b 1853]; (6) Lenora [b 1856]; (7) Lily A [b 1859]; (8) Fred [b 1863] who was a stone quarryman [1881].

In 1877, he married (2) Sarah Ann Smith [1834-1???] from Southowram, in Halifax.

The family lived at Half Penny Can, Southowram [1851, 1871, 1881]

Baines, Ezra
[18??-18??] Bobbin maker at Brighouse.

In March 1843, he was declared insolvent

Baines, Frederick
[1815-1876] Son of Simpson Baines.

He was an insurance agent [1841]; a land agent [1871].

In 1851, he married Amelia Leigh [1829-1910] in Rochdale.

Children: (1) Hannah Maria [b 1852] who married Arthur Philip Pohlmann; (2) Frances Leigh [b 1854]; (3) Frederick Horace [1856-1906]; (4) James Arthur [1858-1928]; (5) William Simpson [1860-1911]; (6) Sidney Herbert [1863-1906]; (7) Amy Sophia [1864-1953]; (8) Clara Leigh [1867-1930]; (9) Jesse Harold [1869-1945]; (10) Arnold Leigh [1871-1943]

Baines, George
[1821-1871] Son of Simpson Baines.

Born in Halifax.

He was an attorney in Halifax; an attorney's clerk [1841]; a solicitor [1851]; a partner in Ingram & Baines.

A good amateur artist.

He never married.

He lived at Lord Street, Halifax [1850]; 3 Gerrard Street, Halifax [1861]; 34 Gerrard Street, Halifax [1871]. His sister, Hannah, was living with him [1861, 1871].

He died 26th September 1871.

The beneficiaries of his will were his brothers, Frederick and Simpson Baines

Baines Hatters
Halifax hatters.

Several members of the Baines family have been linked to the business, including William Baines, John Baines and Samuel Baines

Baines, John
[1720-1780] He married Ann Simpson [1721-1???].

Children: (1) John; (2) William

Baines, John
[1746-1814] Son of John Baines.

He was a shoemaker and hatter in Halifax.

He may have worked in the family business – Baines Hatters.

He never married.

His housekeeper Martha Helliwell had a son Zachariah, (possibly) John was the father.

He was a Radical and a republican. He supported the Jacobins and the French Revolution – and was a follower of Tom Paine. He was a member of the Saint Crispin Republican Club.

With Zachariah and nephew John Baines, he was accused of administering an illegal oath to John McDonald during a Luddite meeting at Saint Crispin Inn in 1812, in breach of the Combination Act. The meeting was infiltrated by men sent from Manchester by Joseph Nadin.

At the meeting, the Luddites made plans to attack William Cartwright's mill at Rawfolds, and Baines told those present that:

Only the overthrow of the bloody aristocracy – which had bled white the nation and reduced the people to the condition of galley slaves in the land of their birth – would bring about the glorious triumph of democracy

On 2nd January 1813, he and his nephew John Baines, were sentenced to be transported to Botany Bay for 7 years.

He is listed in the Prison Hulk Registers as having died on 21st December 1814

He left his property to his housekeeper Martha Helliwell and her son Zachariah

Baines, John
[1778-1814] A Halifax shoemaker.

He was the son or the nephew of John Baines and brother or cousin of Zachariah Baines.

With John and Zachariah, he was accused of administering an illegal oath during a Luddite meeting at Saint Crispin Inn in 1812, in breach of the Combination Act.

On 2nd January 1813, he and John were sentenced to be transported to Botany Bay for 7 years.

He is listed in the Prison Hulk Registers as having died on 13th March 1814

Baines, John
[1794-1867] Born in Shelf.

He was a weaver at Shelf [1815]; a manufacturer [1823]; a shopkeeper [1841]; a retired manufacturer [1851].

On 30th January 1815, he married Elizabeth Nicholl [1796-1864] from Shelf, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Judy [b 1821]; (2) Sophia [b 1827]; (3) Samuel; (4) Judith [bapt 1818]; (5) John [1821-1822] who died in infancy; (6) Alfred [bapt 1823] who (possibly) died in infancy; (7) Sophie; (8) Alfred [1830-1837]; (9) Elizabeth [1832-1836].

The family lived at Cross Lane, Shelf, Northowram [1841]; Walnut Cottage, Brighouse.

John, Elizabeth and many of their children were buried at Coley Church

Baines, John
[1826-1916] Of Northowram.

Son of Mr Baines.

He was a cabinet maker in the family business – Baines clock & cabinet makers; a Liberal; a member of Heywood's Chapel.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) son; (2) son.

The family lived at 20 Back Clough, Northowram.

When John died on 6th March 1916, the Halifax Courier reported that

he was the oldest man in Northowram

He was buried at Heywood's Chapel.

John's sons carried on the family business

Baines, Mr
[17??-1???] He established Baines clock & cabinet makers.

He married Unknown.

Children: John Baines

Baines, Samuel
[1755-1???] Or Bains, Baynes

Son of William Baines.

Baptised 23rd February 1755.

He was a hatter in Halifax [1777]. See Baines Hatters

On 14th April 1777, he married Susanna Rideal of Sowerby

Baines, Samuel
[1815-1866] FRGS.

Son of John Baines of Coley.

He was a worsted spinner & manufacturer, and went on to become known as a scientist, geologist, industrialist and philanthropist

Baines, Simpson
[1782-1841] Son of William Baines.

He was an insurance agent in Halifax.

He married Hannah Skelton [1791-18??], born in Northowram.

Children: (1) Frederick; (2) Frances [1817-1820]; (3) George; (4) Hannah [b 1823]; (5) Mary [b 1825]; (6) Elizabeth [b 1828]; (7) Emma [1830-1895]; (8) Simpson; (9) Harriet [1835-1899].

The family lived at Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1841]; 9 Lord Street, Halifax [1851].

He died in 1841.

He was buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax [5th March 1841].

See John Ridehalgh

Baines, Simpson
[1832-1877] Son of Simpson Baines.

He was a stuff merchant's clerk [1851]; voluntary curator of geology with the Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society

Baines, Sophie
[1827-1893] Or Sophia. Daughter of John Baines, and sister of Samuel.

Born in Shelf [13th May 1827].

Baptised 1827 at Coley.

In 1862, she married Richard Kershaw.

She erected a monument to her brother Samuel in Coley churchyard in testimony of his worth and her sisterly love.

She died 4th November 1893.

She was buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Baines Square, Brighouse
The site of 3 mills – Victoria Mills, Prince Albert Mill, and Canal Mill – owned by Samuel and John Baines. Rev Benjamin Firth built a mill here. Samuel bought the land from James and Henry Noble in 1849.

Baines Row was a part of the site and Baines built Britannia Mill there

Baines, Whiteley & Rushworth
Stone quarrier at Marsh Quarry, Southowram [1896] Partners included Mr Baines, Mr Whiteley, and Mr Rushworth

Baines, William
[17??-17??] Or Bains.

He was a hatter in Halifax [1755]. See Baines Hatters

He married Unknown.

Children: Samuel

Baines, William
[17??-17??] Hatter in Halifax [1768-1777]

Baines, William
[1759-1822] Son of John Baines.

He married Elizabeth Smallpage [1760-1???].

Children: Simpson

Baines, Zachariah

Bains, Elnathan
[16??-16??] Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1663]

Baird, W. J.
[18??-19??] Physician and surgeon at Sowerby Bridge [1905].

He was one of the medical men who attended those injured in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster

Bairns' Fund
Organised by the Halifax Courier & Guardian. Recorded in 1930

Bairsto
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Bairstow...
The entries for people with the surname Bairstow are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Bairstow
An old name for the eastern – Shibden – side of Beacon Hill.

The name probably means bare place.

Early members of the Bairstow family are recorded here.

In her journal [11th August 1820], Anne Lister distinguishes Bairstow from Beacon Hill.

See Bairstow and Lower Bairstow, Sowerby Bridge

Bairstow
Other forms of the surname include Bairsto, Baister, Baistow, Barstow, Basstoe, Baster, Bastey, Bastow, Beairsto, Beastall, Beastow and Beirsto.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

The name is recorded in Wakefield rolls of 1277.

The name is probably derived from the name Bairstow for Beacon Hill, and early members of the Bairstow family lived there.

Ralph de Bayrestowe is recorded in 1309 and Robert of Bairstow is recorded in 1405

There are currently around 50 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bairstow. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Bairstow family of Halifax
Robert Bairstow was an early member of the family, and others are recorded at Bairstow on Beacon Hill. They owned land in the area including Bairstow Common.

Around 1400, the family moved from Bairstow to Halifax and Ovenden. Their lands at Beacon Hill and Shibden passed to the Oates family.

See John Bairstow

The family is discussed in the book Yorkshire Pedigrees

Bairstow & Fielding
Wholesale clothiers at 3 Carlton Place, Halifax [1905]

Bairstow's Brass Workers, Halifax

Recorded in 1911, when Vincent Kelly was employed as a brass cutter


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about the Company? The name of the Company? Where they were located? Who founded the business?

 

Bairstow Brothers
Worsted spinners at the former Mixenden Corn Mill between 1845 and 1898. They became a spindle-making company established at Albany Spindle Works, Pellon by Fred and Frank Bairstow

Bairstow Brothers
Pawn brokers at Woolshops, Halifax [1850]

Bairstow Brothers (1985) Limited
When Willis & Bates Limited ceased trading in 1997, and the business was taken over by Bairstow Brothers (1985) Limited.

They continued to produce the Vapalux and other products for which Willis & Bates Limited were known.

In 2010, the rights to manufacture these products were sold to a Korean company and production was moved overseas

Bairstow Brothers & Company
Machine makers at Forest Mills, Ovenden [1864].

Partners included Thomas Bairstow, John Bairstow, Henry Peel, and Thomas Hudson Oldfield.

The partnership was dissolved [17th September 1864] as to John Bairstow. The business was carried on by Thomas Bairstow, Henry Peel, and Thomas Hudson Oldfield

Bairstow Common, Halifax
Land at Bairstow owned by the Bairstow family around 1400

Bairstow's: Joseph & Israel Bairstow
Coach proprietors at Halifax.

Partners included Joseph Bairstow and Israel Bairstow.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1839

Bairstow's: Paul Bairstow's Charity
In 1711, Rev Paul Bairstow left a farm and land at Meopham in Kent to a group of trustees – including John Tillotson – such that they might sell the property and buy an estate in or near Halifax.

Out of the income from this estate, the trustees were

  • To provide a school at Sowerby

  • To pay 20/- per annum to a Minister for preaching a sermon on the Feast of St Michael, the Archangel Using figures for average earnings, 20/- in 1711 is roughly the equivalent of £1,650.00 today

  • To keep the grave of Bairstow's father – in Sowerby churchyard – in good repair

  • To distribute the remainder to poor persons in Sowerby who were not in receipt of alms

Bairstow, Warley
An area of Warley around Bairstow Lane

Baister
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Baistow
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Baistow, Abraham
[1799-18??] Born in Ovenden.

He was a dyer [1861]; a Wesleyan Reform Preacher [1861].

He married Alice [1800-1???].

They lived at 7 Mill Gate, Elland-cum-Greetland [1861]

Bait Ings Mill Spinning & Manufacturing Company

Baitings
Hamlet in Soyland.

In 1316, William and John of Wolrumwall [Wormald] were fined 6d for allowing beasts to escape on to land at Baytings.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

See Baiting and Blackstone Edge Roman Road

Baitings Bridge
A stone bridge is mentioned in 1787. It was submerged when Baitings Reservoir was constructed in 1956. A modern bridge was constructed nearby

Baitings Farm, Ripponden
Blue Ball Road. House dated RPP 1682.

The name Baitings suggests that this was a resting place for stage coach and packhorse travellers on the route over Blackstone Edge between Lancashire & Yorkshire.

Owners and tenants have included

Now 2 private dwellings

Baitings Reservoir, Ripponden
The reservoir was one of 3 – Baitings, Ryburn, and Booth Wood – to be built for Wakefield Corporation. Baitings and Ryburn are on the river Ryburn above Ripponden. Booth Wood is on Booth Dean Clough.

It was built upstream of Ryburn reservoir in order to catch the water that was going to waste. A 6-mile long catchwater drain brings water to the dam from Cragg Vale.

It was begun in 1948, and officially opened on 14/11/1956 by the A. G. Webster, the Mayor of Wakefield, and in 1957 by Henry Brook, Minister of Housing and Local Government. The cost was £1,420,000. During construction, it was known as New Top Reservoir.

It covers 64 acres, and has a capacity of 775 million gallons, and supplies 1½ million gallons per day. The dam is 1550 ft across and 185 ft high, and, when opened, it was said to be the highest in England. The water has a maximum depth of 155 ft.

After work began, it was decided to make the dam 20 ft higher than originally planned, doubling the capacity.

In 1962, the Manshead Tunnel was constructed to carry water from Withens Clough Reservoir and Turvin Clough to the reservoir.

When the water level falls low, the old road and the bridge across the Ryburn Valley are exposed.

See Baitings Bridge

Bakehouse, Halifax
A house in the Corn Market. In 1760, this was occupied by James Loggin

Baker, Christopher Paul
[1955-] Travel writer and photographer. He was educated at Rastrick Grammar School. He is considered one of the world's leading authorities on Cuba

Baker, Cyril
[19??-19??] Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1968-1970]

Baker, Edward Arthur Charles
[18??-19??] BA.

He was educated at Christ's College Cambridge; ordained at Southowram [June 1912]; Curate at Southowram [1912]

Baker, Frederick James
[1868-19??] Born in Tunbridge Wells, Kent.

He was a missionary [1911].

In 1899, he married Elizabeth Streatfield [1870-19??] in Kent.

Children: (1) child; (2) Frances Elizabeth [b 1904]; (3) Harold William [b 1907].

The family lived at 21a King Cross Road, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1911 were Arthur Comfort and his 2 sons

Baker, George
[1834-1907]

He lived at 51 Horton Road, Bradford; Hebble House, Wheatley [1905, 1907].

He died at Hebble House [8th December 1907].

He was buried at Scholemoor

Baker, Humphrey John
[1868?-1956?] He was a plate layer [1908].

In 1895, he married Eliza Bailey in Halifax.

Children: (1) twins Laura [b 1908]; (2) Alfred [b 1908].

The family lived at 155 St Giles Road, Lightcliffe [1908]

Baker, Mr
[1???-18??] Minister at Millwood Particular Baptist Church, Stansfield [1842]

Baker, Dr Reginald Tustin
[18??-19??] Organist at Halifax Parish Church [1929-1937].

He left to become organist at Sheffield Cathedral

Baker, Rev Richard Rundle
[1870-19??] Born in North Petherwin, Devon.

He was at Blackburn [1901] before becoming Minister at Bridge Street (Central) Methodist Church, Todmorden [1908]

In 1896, he married Jessie Menhinick from Bodmin, in Bodmin.

Children: Jessie Emmeline [b 1900].

The family lived at Woodlands Avenue, Todmorden [1911]

Baker, Robert
[1???-18??] He attended Heath Grammar School [1810s]. He became Rector of Hargrave

Baker, S.
[18??-19??] He had a confectioners shop at 83 Hanson Lane, Halifax [1916]

Baker, William
[18??-1???] In 1845, he married Naomi Wadsworth [1825-1???] from Rastrick, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Henry [b 1847] who married Ann [b 1846] from Royston; (2) Ann [b 1850]; (3) William; (4) Amelia [b 1857]; (5) James [b 1863].

The family lived at Wadsworths Yard, Dean Clough, Halifax [1861]; Wilson Street, Halifax [1871].

William was dead by 1861. Naomi was a worsted reeler [1861] and a cotton sorter [1871]

Baker, William
[1853-1935] Son of William Baker.

Born in Hull.

He was a cotton spinner [1871, 1881]; an insurance agent [1891]; a baker and confectioner [1901, 1911]. He established William Baker & Son

In 1874, he married Mary Jane Skirrow [1853-1912] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Amelia A [b 1875]; (2) Joe W [b 1877]; (3) Sam [b 1879]; (4) Arthur Edward [b 1881] who was a baker's assistant [1901]; (5) Mary Emma [b 1884]; (6) Fred [b 1886] who was a baker's assistant [1901]; and a baker [1911]; (7) Ethel [b 1888]; (8) Harry [b 1890].

The family lived at 20 Wood Square, Northowram [1881]; 5 Iona Street, Northowram, Halifax [1891]; 27 Boothtown Road, Northowram, Halifax [1901, 1911].

In 1891, his father-in-law, Joseph Skirrow [b 1801] a retired clogger, was living with the family

Baker's: William Baker & Son
Established by William Baker. Proprietors of Bankfield Bakery, Halifax [1905]

Bakewell, Rev Percy
[18??-18??] BA.

He trained at Manchester New College and served at Warwick [1861-1862] before becoming Minister at Northgate End Chapel [1865-1868]. He resigned in 1868.

He lived at Hampden Place, Halifax

Balaam, William
[18??-18??] Of Halifax,

He was a cab driver [1855].

He married Elizabeth.

Children: Emma who was baptised [10th April 1855] at St James's Church, Halifax

Baldam, James
[1869-1929] Son of John Baldam.

Born in Langfield.

In 1881, he & his parents are recorded as James B. Lord, John Bald(h)am Lord and Betty B. Lord.

He was a reacher-in in cotton mill [1881]; landlord of the Wellington, Todmorden [1897-1915].

In [Q4] 1893, he married Clara Barker [1872-1947] in Todmorden.

Children: (1) Tom [1894-1938]; (2) Hannah [1898-1920].

He retired to Blackpool

Baldam, John
[1840-1905] Son of Thomas Baldam.

Born in Toad Carr, Todmorden.

He was a clogger [1871]; landlord of the Wellington, Todmorden [1875-1892].

On 27th July 1861, he married Betty Hartley [1839-1907] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Hannah [1862-1939] who was a waitress in a beerhouse [1881]; (2) Mary Jane [1865-19??] who was a dress maker [1881] and married Alfred Dawson (3) Tom [1867-1887] who was a warehouse boy; (4) James; (5) Edward [1872-1901]; (6) Fanny [1876-1877].

In 1881, John & Betty are recorded as John Bald(h)am Lord and Betty B. Lord, and the also the children.

In 1892, John retired to Blackpool.

He died in Blackpool [5th February 1905].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £3,381 3/7d.

Probate was granted to his children James; Hannah [1862-1939] who was a waitress in a beerhouse [1881]; Mary Jane Dawson.

All the family – apart from Mary Jane – were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone

Baldam, Thomas
[1818-1875] Born in Lincolnshire.

He was landlord of the Wellington Inn, Todmorden [1870-1875].

On 24th April 1840, he married Betty Lord [1819-1891] at St Thomas's Church, Heptonstall.

Children: John.

Thomas died 12th February 1875.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £2,000.

His will was proved by his widow Betty & son John.

Thomas & Betty were buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone: Thomas [13th February 1875]; Betty [29th August 1891]

Baldrey, Robert Glenton
[1790-1848] Woolstapler in Halifax. He was on the committee of the Huddersfield & Liverpool Direct Railway Company [1845].

He never married.

He lived at The Square, Halifax [1841].

He was buried at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax

Baldwin
Another form of the surname is Bawden.

There are currently around 38 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Baldwin. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Baldwin, Abraham
[1822-1???] Son of Joseph Baldwin.

Baptised at Halifax Parish Church [6th October 1822].

He was an apprentice carver & gilder [1841]; a gilder employing 2 men and 1 boy [1861]; a carver & gilder [1871].

In 1846, he married Mary, daughter of Benjamin Aaron, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Aaron [b 1849] who was a carver & gilder [1871]; (2) Clara [b 1855]; (3) Florence [b 1861]; (4) Lucy [b 1867].

The family lived at 2 Jail Lane, Halifax [with Mary's family 1851]; 15 Barum Top, Halifax [1861]; Twinge House, Southowram [1871]

Baldwin, Abraham
[1837-19??] Son of Nicholas Baldwin.

Born in Warley.

He was an oil cloth maker [1851, 1861, 1871, 1881]; a corn miller [1891]; a retired corn miller [1901].

In 1861, he married Frances, daughter of Thomas Mitchell, in Halifax.

Children: (1) William [b 1862]; (2) Fred [b 1864]; (3) Mary Ann [b 1867]; (4) Sarah Jane [b 1869]; (5) Thomas Henry [b 1871]; (6) Hannah [b 1873]; (7) Samuel Mitchell [b 1876].

The family lived at New Marsh, Warley [1861]; Rose Grove, Warley [1871]; 5 Rose Grove, Warley [1881]; 14 Rose Grove, Warley [1891]; 6 Rose Grove, Luddenden Foot [1901]

Baldwin, Albert
[1855-1???] Son of Frederick Baldwin.

Born in Halifax.

He was a clog and patten maker [1881].

In 1877, he married (1) Susan Tay [1853-1914] at Halifax Parish Church.


Susan was from Laith, Ireland
 

Children: (1) John [b 1881]; (2) Walter [b 1890] who was in Armley Prison [1911].

Susan was in a smallpox hospital for a time. In 1894, she tried to commit suicide on account of Albert's intimacy with another woman. Newspaper reports describe her running towards the canal with her son John running behind her. She was restrained by her son John and a passer-by Duke Watson, and charged with attempted suicide and alleged that Albert had treated her badly.

There were reports of Albert being charged with threatening behaviour toward Susan and he had threatened to kill her the night before her suicide attempt.

In 1896, he married (2) Alice Ann Hulme in Lancashire.

Children: (1) Fred / Thomas Hulme (Baldwin) [1897-1961] who married Gertrude [1900-1951]; (2) Gladys.

The family lived at Southowram [1881, 1891]; Lock Street, Caddy Field, Halifax [1894].

In [Q4] 1904, Alice Ann (possibly) married William Walker in Hunslet.

Susan was buried at Christ Church, Pellon [3rd November 1914]

Baldwin, Albert
[1881-1958] Son of Irving Baldwin.

Born in Clifton.

He was wood carver apprenticed to Harry Percy Jackson [1894-1901]. He produced much reproduction Tudor and Jacobean furniture. He added to the memorial which Jackson created for Saint John's Church, Clifton.

He made a long-case clock which stands upstairs in the Rydings, Brighouse.

He wrote for the Brighouse Echo, contributing material on Clifton past and present.

He was a partner in Baldwin & Brooke.

In 1908, he married Gertrude Ann Wakefield [1886-19??] from Deighton, in Huddersfield.

They lived at 23 Holdsworth Street, Cleckheaton [1911]

Baldwin & Brooke
Manufacturers of mathematical and optical equipment at Holly Bank, Clifton [1920].

Partners included Albert Baldwin and Thomas Brooke

Baldwin & Parker
Solicitors of Halifax with partners John Baldwin and Robert Parker

Baldwin & Stanton
Engineers at Hollins Mill Lane, Sowerby Bridge. Partners included 3 Baldwin brothers and Mr Stanton. They were contracted to install equipment for Tilghman Wheelabrator Limited

Baldwin & Walker Limited
Makers of Ladyship knitting wools at their Ladyship Mills and West Croft Mills, King Cross, Halifax [1836-1974].

Partners included Henry Baldwin and Henry Walker.

In 1851, they employed 320 hands.

The Roll of Honour, for those employees who served in World War I, can be seen in Bankfield Museum

See Buck & Kershaw

Baldwin, Armitage & Company
Silk spinners established in 1882 by John Baldwin and J. W. Armitage at Ganny Mills, Brighouse.

In 1892, the partnership was dissolved and Armitage established J. W. Armitage & Sons

Baldwin, Arthur Reginald
[1865-19??] Son of John Baldwin.

Born in Elland.

He was educated at Rugby School [1881]. He was a farm pupil at Gate Cottage, Wetmore, Leintwardine, Hertfordshire [1891].

In 1905, he married Esther Hazeldine [1873-19??] from Basford, Nottinghamshire, in Nottingham.

Children: (1) Margaret Esther [b 1907]; (2) Reginald Basil [b 1908]; (3) Sybil Elizabeth [b 1909].

The family lived at Brough House, Brough, Beverley, Yorkshire [1911]

Baldwin, Christopher Lacy
[1897-19??] Son of John Herbert Lacy Baldwin. Baptised at Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [20th July 1897]

Baldwin, Frederick
[1832-1???] He married Sarah Ann Eastwood [1830-1???].

Children: Albert.

The family lived at Ovenden [1881]

Baldwin, Greenwood
[1852-1918] Son of Henry Baldwin.

Born in Walsden.

He was a master aerated water manufacturer and farmer of 7 1/2 acres employing 1 man [1881]; a mineral water manufacturer [1901]; a retired mineral water manufacturer [1911]. He carried on the business established by his father in 1846.

Their trade mark was the letters GBT inside a shield.

In 1873, he married (1) Grace Law [1851-1895] from Todmorden, in Todmorden.

Children: (1) Wilson Henry [b 1874] who was a mineral water bottler [1881]; (2) Fred [b 1877]; (3) Sam [b 1880] who was a student at Owens College [1901]; (4) Mary E [b 1884]; (5) Annie [b 1885].

In 1897, he married (2) Hannah Dawson [1851-19??] from Millwood, in Fylde.

The family lived at Bottoms, Todmorden & Walsden (Lancashire) [1881], Stansfield Road, Todmorden [1891], and 49 Stansfield Road, Todmorden [1901, 1911, 1918]

Baldwin, Henry
[1813-1854] Son of William Baldwin.

He was a partner in Baldwin & Walker, worsted spinners of Halifax.

He lived at Square Road, Halifax [1841, 1845] and 11 Haugh Shaw Road [1851]

Baldwin, Henry
[1820-1???] Born in Skipton.

He was a farmer of 7 acres and ginger beer maker [1861]; a paper manufacturer [1871]. In 1846, he set up a mineral water business in Walsden. His son Greenwood carried on the business.

He married Sarah [1810-1???].

Children: (1) Mary E [b 1845]; (2) Sarah Ann [b 1849]; (3) Susan [b 1851]; (4) Greenwood.

The family lived at Bottoms, Todmorden & Walsden [1861, 1871]

Baldwin, Henry Clifford
[1861-1933] MRCS, LRCP.

Youngest son of Rev William Baldwin.

Born in Todmorden.

He died at "The Green", Lockwood, Huddersfield [6th February 1933].

He was buried at St Michael's, Mytholmroyd

Baldwin, Irving
[1852-1???] Or Irwin.

Born in Queensbury/Northowram.

He was a coal miner [1881, 1891]; a road labourer [1901].

In 1875, he married Mary Jane Walker [1851-1???] from Liversedge, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Fred [b 1876] who was a printer compositor [1881]; (2) Eliza [b 1878] who was an idiot from childhood; (3) Albert; (4) Frank [b 1885] who was an engineer's brass finisher [1901]; (5) Ernest [b 1888]. There is also a stepson, Joseph Walker [b 1871], living with the family [1881, 1891, 1901]. Joseph is described as a widower, stone mason [1901]

The family lived at Common Side, Clifton, Brighouse [1881]; Wood Head, Clifton, Brighouse [1891, 1901].

In 1881, Irving's mother, Eliza [1832-1???] was living with the family

Baldwin, Isaac
[1849-1899] Born in Brighouse/Elland.

He was a gas fitter [1881, 1901].

In 1873, he married Frances Hanson [1840-1???] from Elland, in Halifax.

Children: (1) James [b 1872]; (2) Sam; (3) Fanny [b 1883].

The family lived at Waterloo, Elland with Greetland [1881]; 16 Joshua Street, Stansfield, Todmorden [1891, 1901]

Baldwin's: J. & J. Baldwin & Partners Limited
Worsted and woollen-spinning company founded by James Baldwin and John Baldwin in Malt Shovel Yard, Northgate, Halifax in 1785.

In 1811 and 1816, they are listed as stocking worsted and woollen yarn manufacturers at Northgate, Halifax. In 1816, they were still at Northgate.

By 1822, they had a mill at Bailey Hall which they sold to the Halifax Flour Society in 1847. In 1830, they were at 2 South Parade, Halifax.

They continued production at their mills at Clark Bridge. On 27th December 1908, the mills were badly damaged when a goods train was derailed at Clarke Bridge.

In 1915, the company bought back the Bailey Hall mill which they had sold to the Halifax Flour Society in 1847.

After World War I, the company amalgamated with John Paton Son & Company to become Paton & Baldwin Limited.

See Bee Hive Wools, Foster & Clay, Charles Haigh, William Teal and Woolcraft

Baldwin's: J. Baldwin & Sons Limited
Silk spinners at Ganny Mill, Brighouse [1922]

Baldwin, James
[17??-1808] Partner in J. & J. Baldwin.

In 1811, he and John Baldwin are listed as stocking worsted and woollen yarn manufacturers at Northgate, Halifax

Baldwin, James
[1817-1886] Son of John Baldwin.

Born in Warley.

He was a woollen weaver [1841]; landlord of the White Horse, Luddendenfoot [1847]; a blanket manufacturer [1851, 1861]; a woollen manufacturer employing 6 men [1871]; a woollen manufacturer employing 2 men [1881].

In 1847, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Richard Foxton. Elizabeth's ghost is said to haunt the pub

Children: (1) John [b 1847]; (2) Thomas [b 1849]; (3) Robert [b 1850]; (4) Richard [b 1854]; (5) Emma [b 1856].

The family lived at Spring Gardens, Warley [1851, 1861]; Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1871]; 14 Thorn Tree Street, Queens Road, Halifax [1881]; Queens Road, Halifax [1886]

Baldwin, John
[1710-1779] Son of William and Ann Baldwin of West Marton in Craven. Halifax solicitor.

In 1728, he was articled to William & Thomas Wigglesworth of Townhead, Slaidburn.

In 1731, he came to Halifax and practised as an attorney in Halifax from 1732 to 1767. He was in partnership with John Bentley from 1738 to 1746, and with Robert Parker from 1753 to 1761 – see Baldwin & Parker.

Parker took over the bulk of their business, which can be traced to the firm of Halifax solicitors now known as Finn Gledhill.

He lived at the Woolshops, the Lecturer's House, Causeway, and Greenroyd, Skircoat.

In 1734, he married Sarah, daughter of John Prescott.

Children: (1) John [1735] who died aged 6 weeks; (2) William.

The epitaph on the family memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

See Finn Gledhill & Company

Baldwin, John
[1786-1869] Son of Betty [née Lacy] and James Baldwin [1746-1811].

Born in Burnley.

In 1811, he and James Baldwin are listed as stocking worsted and woollen yarn manufacturers at Northgate, Halifax. In 1816, they were still at Northgate.

They went on to establish J. & J. Baldwin.

He was noted for his punctual and straightforward business habits.

He was a Congregationalist and was described as

a stalwart of Sion Congregational Church, Halifax

On 5th August 1815, he married Mary Hemingway [1796-18??].

Children: (1) Judith [1817-1855]; (2) Elizabeth [1818-1888]; (3) Frances [1820-1897]; (4) Harriet [1822-1883]; (5) Eliza [1824-1881]; (6) James [1826-1902]; (7) John; (8) Mary [b 1828] who married [1853] Captain J. V. C. Minnett of the Royal Canadian Rifles at Elland Church; (9) Emily [1832-1854]; (10) William [1835-1902].

The family lived at Carlton Place, Halifax [1841]; Clay House, Greetland where he died.

In 1825, he was an Overseer for the Poor. He was Head Constable of Halifax. He was a JP.

He was the first Mayor of Halifax [1848-1849] after the elected Michael Stocks declined the post. Jesse Ratcliffe was his macebearer.

On 22nd January 1861, Halifax Town Council decided to place a full length portrait of Baldwin in the new Town Hall. The portrait was painted by Samuel Baldwin.

The Baldwin Ward at the Royal Halifax Infirmary was named for him.

He died 24th July 1869.

He was buried at Sion Congregational Church, Halifax.

See West Yorkshire Railway Company

Baldwin, John
[1790-1875] Son of John Baldwin.

Baptised at Sowerby [17th August 1790].

He was a woollen weaver [1841].

On 9th August 1810, he married Elizabeth Culpan [1791-1872] of Southowram.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1816]; (2) James; (3) Samuel [b 1821]; (4) Elizabeth [b 1826]; (5) Squire [b 1826]; (6) Hannah [b 1828]; (7) Mary [b 1831].

The family lived at Spring Gardens, Lower Warley [1841, 1872, 1875].

John and Elizabeth both died at Spring Gardens

Baldwin, John
[18??-1???] He married Harriet Wadsworth.

Children: Sarah who married Powson Stocks Clay

Baldwin, John
[1824-1898] Son of John Baldwin.

Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted spinner [1871].

He was the principle benefactor to Saint John's Church, West Vale. He donated £500, the tower and spire of the church, the stained glass in the East window in memory of his wife, and the communion table, chairs and rails; and many other gifts. He laid the foundation stone on 16th October 1880.

In July 1888, he gave land at Savile Park for the construction of Saint Jude's Church.

On 23rd April 1862, he married (1) Elizabeth Helen Gratrix [1835-1873] from Salford, in Altrincham.

Children: (1) John Herbert Lacy; (2) Arthur Reginald; (3) Percy Gratrix; (4) William Trevor; (5) Hilda Beatrice [b 1871] who married Robert Whitworth

He married (2) a daughter of Mr Rushforth.

The family lived at Clay House, West Vale [1871, 1881]; Broomfield House, Halifax [1891].

In 1881, his brother-in-law Thomas Henry Rushforth was living with the family.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1898

Baldwin, John
[1831-1911] Son of Nicholas Baldwin.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a mechanic [1852]; a millwright [1861]; an engineer & millwright [1871]; a master engine maker & millwright [1881]; a partner in Wood, Baldwin, Mitchell & Woodhouse [he retired in 1881]; a partner in Baldwin, Armitage & Company [1882-1891]; a silk spinner (employer) [1891]; a silk manufacturer (employer) [1901]; a silk waste spinner [1911].

In 1852, he married Mary Brown [1830-1907] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary was the daughter of William Brown from Warley
 

Children: (1) Henry [b 1853] who was a millwright & model maker [1871]; (2) Thomas [b 1858]; (3) Sarah Alice [b 1860] who never married; (4) John [b 1863] who was a clerk at the Gas Works [1881] and a gas manager [1891]; (5) Emma [b 1865] who married Robert Whiteley and was widowed by 1911; (6) Arthur [b 1867] who was a warehouseman in a silk mill [1901, 1911]; (7) Jabez [b 1869].

The family lived at Greenup's Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1861]; Pollard Buildings, Rastrick [1871]; 8 Wakefield Road, Hipperholme with Brighouse [1881]; 4 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1891]; 105 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1901, 1911]

Baldwin, Sir John Eustace Arthur
[1892-1975] KBE, CB, DSO.

Son of John Herbert Lacy Baldwin.

Born 13th April 1892. Baptized at St Jude's, Halifax [20th May 1892].

In 1911, he was a student at Sandhurst and is shown as a Gentleman Cadet. He joined the Army and was a cavalry officer during World War I.

In 1918, he moved to the RAF.

During World War II, he became an Air Officer Commander for the Third Tactical Air Force (Burma) [1943 to 1944].

As Air Marshal, he was acting Commander in Chief of Bomber Command when German boats, the Scharnhorst and Gneisenau escaped from the French port of Brest and fled up the English Channel to the sanctuary of Kiel harbour in northern Germany – the Channel Dash. He was commander of the RAF's first four-engined monoplane heavy bomber, the Short Stirling.

At the end of the war, he retired from the RAF and rejoined his former regiment, the 8th King's Royal Irish Hussars, becoming Colonel [1948 to 1958].

On 22nd February 1916, he married Kathleen Betsy Terry [1891-1979] in York.


Kathleen was the daughter of daughter of Sarah Maria [née Brett] [1860-1927] and Thomas Walker Leaper Terry [1855-1910], of York, the son of Joseph Terry of confectioners Terry's of York
 

Children: (1) John Noel Anthony; (2) Pamela M B [b 1919].

He died in Rutland, Leicestershire [28th July 1975]

Baldwin, John Herbert Lacy
[1863-1945] JP.

Eldest son of John Baldwin.

Born at Clay House, Greetland [28th January 1863].

He died 26th February 1945

He became Chairman and Director of the family firm, J. & J. Baldwin.

See Saint John the Evangelist, West Vale

Baldwin, John Noel Anthony
[1917-1942] Son of Sir John Eustace Arthur Baldwin.

Born 31st January 1917.

He was educated at Sandhurst.

During World War II, he served with the Royal Armoured Corps. He was Captain in C Squadron, King's Royal Irish Hussars.

He died at Bir Hacheim, North Africa [27th May 1942].

He was buried at El Alamein Matruh Egypt, and is remembered on the Alamein Memorial [Column 15]

Baldwin, Joseph
[1796-1867] Of Halifax.

He was a mechanic noted for his ability and ingenuity; a machine maker [1817, 1841, 1851]; a carpet machine maker [1861].

On 3rd May 1825, he wrote a letter which was distributed to the principal inhabitants of Halifax, advocating the establishment of a Mechanics' Institution in the town. He was one of the founders of the Halifax Mechanics' Institute [1825].

He was responsible for the construction of scientific instruments for the Institute, and is said to have worked day and night producing these.

On 2nd September 1817, he married Elizabeth Soothill [1796-18??] from Halifax, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Samuel [bapt 1818]; (2) James [bapt 1820]; (3) Abraham; (4) Joseph [bapt 1826] who was a chemist's apprentice [1841]; (5) Elizabeth [b 1826]; (6) William [b 1831].

The family lived at Bedford Street, Halifax [1841]; 13 Labour Street, Halifax [1851]; 4 Holden Street, Halifax [1861]

In 1841, Elizabeth's mother, Susannah Soothill [1776-18??] was living with the family.

He died at Clay Pits Farm, Halifax

Baldwin, Joseph
[1895-1918] Son of Isabella [née a] and Richard Baldwin of 50 Devonshire Street, Accrington.

Born in Accrington.

He was a textile machinist. During World War II, he served as a Private. with the 11th Battalion East Lancashire Regiment.

He died 27th March 1918 (aged 23).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial [6] and in the book Royd Regeneration

Baldwin, Mr
[18??-18??] He established the business which became J. Pollard & Company

Baldwin, Nicholas
[1796-18??] He was a corn miller [1841, 1851].

He married Sarah [1798-18??].

Children: (1) Hannah [b 1822]; (2) Mary [b 1824]; (3) Martha [b 1825]; (4) Naomi [b 1829]; (5) John; (6) Sarah [b 1831]; (7) Nancy [b 1833]; (8) Abraham.

The family lived at Tuel Lane, Lower Warley [1841]; 3 Tuel Lane, Lower Warley [1851]

Baldwin, PC
[18??-18??] Halifax Constable. See James Flannigan

Baldwin, Percy Gratrix
[1867-1960] Son of John Baldwin.

He was educated at Rugby School [1881].

He joined the family business – J. & J. Baldwin & Partners Limited.

In 1891, he was a worsted manufacturer's apprentice, and staying at the Hotel Metropole, St Martin in the Fields, London.

In 1894, he married Annie Blanche Hickman [1866-1939] at Dover.

Children: (1) Phyllis Blanche St. J. Baldwin [b 1897]; (2) Percy Noel St. J. Baldwin [b 1899].

The family lived at Kearnsey [?] House, Halifax [1901]; Willow Field, Halifax [1905].

On 1st June 1922, he bought The Old Hall, Cressage, Shropshire, for £4,400 from Robert Regge, William Hutchinson and James Hutchinson.

He died in Shropshire.

He and wife were buried at Christ Church, Cressage

Baldwin, Rev Peregrine
[1???-19??] OSM.

Priest at Saint Joseph's Catholic Church, Todmorden [1935]

Baldwin, Sam
[1879-1911] Son of Isaac Baldwin.

Born in Elland.

He was a cotton spinner [1891], a house decorator [1901], a painter, and club steward and caretaker at Todmorden Masonic Hall [1911].

In 1901, he married Harriet Warnes [1879-19??] from Sibton, Suffolk, in Todmorden

Children: (1) Francis [b 1902]; (2) (possibly) Ada [b 1903].

After his death, the inquest found that his death was due to lead poisoning contracted 3 years ago, during his work as a painter and decorator.

He was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Baldwin, Samuel
[1818-1891] (Possibly) son of Elizabeth and Joseph Baldwin.

Born in Halifax.

He was known as an artist, portrait and figure painter [1861].

He painted the portrait of the first Mayor of Halifax, John Baldwin, which Halifax Town Council placed in the new Town Hall.

A description in Calderdale Archives describes the painting as being

89 1/8th inches x 59 inches. [John Baldwin] has silvery grey hair and bluish grey eyes, and has a very good colour. He is seated in a red mahogany chair, upholstered in red leather. There are heraldic arms in ochre and dark blue squares. At his table is a gold inkstand and grey goose quill. The portrait was copied in 1892 by T. Illingworth, photographer. The inscription reads John Baldwin, Esq., First Mayor of Halifax, 1848

Other subjects painted by Baldwin include Rev Samuel Whitewood

In 1846, he married Amelia Weavell [1818-1899] from Poplar, London, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Kate Weavell [b 1849]; (2) Weavell; (3) Lloyd Weavell [b 1853]; (4) Blanche Weavell [b 1856] who was a head mistress of board school [1891]; (5) Agnes Weavell [b 1858] an assistant mistress in high school [1891]; (6) Frank Weavell [b 1863].

The family lived at Bedford Street, Halifax [1845], Upper Gerrard Street, Halifax [1850], 8 Gerrard Street, Halifax [1851], 27 Villiers Street, Halifax [1861], Midgley Building, Ovenden [1871], and 35 Albert Road, Shipley, Bradford [1891]

Baldwin, Weavell
[1851-1???] Son of Samuel Baldwin.

Born in Halifax.

He was a house painter [1881].

In 1875, he married Caroline Foote [1856-1???] from Wincanton, Somerset, in Halifax.

Children: Florence [b 1880].

The family lived at 2 Holroyd's Yard, Halifax [1881]

Baldwin, William
[1737-1813] Son of John Baldwin.

He was a barrister. MP for Malton, and Under-Secretary of State.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) a daughter; (3) a daughter.

He died 10/10/1813 [aged 76], and was buried in the Middle Temple, London.

The epitaph on his memorial in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions

Baldwin, William
[1776-18??] Worsted manufacturer.

He married Ellen [1781-18??].

Children: (1) Ann [b 1811]; (2) Henry; (3) Ellen who married [10th February 1835] woolstapler Henry Walker at Halifax Parish Church; (4) Jane [b 1821].

The family lived at Square, Halifax [1841]

Baldwin, Rev William
[1813-1868] MA.

Born in Swindon, Wiltshire.

Vicar of Mytholmroyd [1846, 1861].

In 1845, he is associated with Mytholmroyd National School

On 13th February 1845, he married Sarah Crowther [1817-1???] at St John's Church, Cragg Vale.


Sarah was born in Craven, Yorkshire, the daughter of Rev Thomas Crowther
 

Children: (1) Clara Jane [1845-1890]; (2) Mary Ellen [b 1848]; (3) Catherine [b 1850]; (4) William Crowther [1854-1899]; (5) Charles Thomas [b 1856]; (6) Annie [b 1859]; (7) Henry Clifford.

The family lived at Falling Royd, Wadsworth [1851, 1861, 1868].

In 1861, there were scholars – (probably) from the Mytholmroyd National School – boarding with the family

  • Harry Edward Foster [aged 13] from Bradford

  • Harry Price [aged 11] from Manchester

  • William Carlton Williams [aged 10] from Manchester

  • Percival Broadbent [aged 10] from Bradford

  • William Alfred Buxton [aged 9] from Manchester

William died at Falling Royd [22nd April 1868].

Sarah died in Ilkley [7th October 1896].

Members of the family were buried at St Michael's, Mytholmroyd: William [28th April 1868]; Sarah [13th October 1896]

Baldwin, William Trevor
[1870-19??] Trevor.

Son of John Baldwin.

He was learning the knitting wool business [1891]; a worsted yarn spinner [1901]; a worsted manufacturer [1911].

On 19th October 1898, he married Browning McDowall [1876-19??], born in Glasgow, of Kilmalcolm, New Brunswick. The marriage was registered in Steyning, Sussex.

Children: (1) Hilda Marjorie [b 1899]; (2) Ian [b 1909].

The family lived at Ashfield, Burnley Road, Sowerby Bridge [1901, 1911]

Balerna, Luigi
[1800-1864] Or Lewis.

Born in Switzerland.

He became a jeweller, watch and clockmaker at 8 Northgate, Halifax [1837].

On 13th/14th July 1850, over 100 gold and silver watches, 400 rings, 5 pairs of gold spectacles and other property with a total value of £1000, was stolen from his shop in Northgate. In November 1850, Mr Sirrell of Barbican was charged with receiving stolen goods which included Mr Balerna's property. In December 1850, Martin McGuire and Amelia Wade were charged with burglary.

He married Maria [1813-1???] from Switzerland.

Children: Roas [died 24th May 1835].

They lived at Northgate, Halifax [1841] and 44 Northgate, Halifax [1851]

In 1851, they had visitors staying with them: a cousin Beno Bernasconi [1830-1???] from Switzerland, who was a jeweller, and Joseph Peni [1808-1???] from Italy, who was carver and gilder.

Luigi died in Como, Italy

Balkram Edge
Area which seems to include Wainstalls, Ovenden and Mixenden

Balkram Edge Farm, Mount Tabor
Moor End Road. Early 17th century farm.

Owners and tenants have included

See Lower Balkram Edge Farm, Wainstalls

Ball, Edward
[1???-1???] He was a farmer of 450 acres employing 12 men and 7 boys [1861]; MP for Burwell, Cambridgeshire [1861].

He married Unknown.

Children: Salisbury

Ball, Eric Walter John
[1903-1989] From a Salvation Army background he was an organist / pianist.

In 1944, he replaced William Halliwell as conductor of the Brighouse & Rastrick Band. He was there until 1957

Ball flash, Brighouse
Area of Bradford Road – between King Street and Bethel Street – which appears on a 19th century map.

There are 2 explanations for the name:

See Flash, Greenwood & Bottomley and The Gill family of Brighouse

Ball, Frederick Eustace
[1869-1???] Son of Salisbury Ball.

Born in Burwell, Cambridgeshire.

He moved to Sowerby Bridge with his 2 brothers.

He was a drysalter's foreman [1891].

In 1891, he was living at Mearclough House, Fall Lane, Norland, with his brothers: Percy Fielding and James Edward

Ball Green, Sowerby
Well Head Lane. House built by the Wilde family around 1634. It was rebuilt in the 19th century.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

The gateway dated 1634 is listed.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire.

Ball, James Edward
[1865-1936] Son of Salisbury Ball.

Born in Burwell, Cambridgeshire.

He moved to Sowerby Bridge. His brothers followed him.

In 1891, he was living at Mearclough House, Fall Lane, Norland, with his brothers: Percy Fielding and Fredrick Eustace.

He was a drysalter's clerk [1891] and a librarian [1901].

In 1905, he was put in charge of the new Sowerby Bridge Library. He held the post until he retired in 1930.

In 1898, he married Ann [1865-19??].

Children: (1) Edward [b 1900]; (2) Doris [b 1902]; (3) child.

The family lived at Sowerby Bridge

Ball, James Henry
[1881-1916] Son of Arthur Balls.

Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a fettler [1911]; a member of the Loyal Youth of Glory Lodge.

In [Q1] 1913, he married Mary Jane [1873-1923] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary Jane of 18 Hanover Street, was the daughter of Joseph Liddle, iron fitter, and widow of Mr Briggs
 

Children: Nellie [b 1913].

The family lived at 18 Hanover Street, Sowerby Bridge.

During World War I, he served as a Private with 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died in a military hospital [24th May 1916] (aged 35).

He was buried at Sowerby Bridge Cemetery [Grave: C C 163] with partial military honours in a service conducted by Rev Canon Charles Llewelyn Ivens

Ball, Percy Fielding
[1864-1930] Son of Salisbury Ball.

Born in Burwell, Cambridgeshire.

He moved to Sowerby Bridge with his 2 brothers: James Edward and Fredrick Eustace.

He was a commercial clerk [1881]; a drysalter at Sowerby Bridge [1881]; a dry salter & chemical manager [1891]; a drysalter & insurance broker [1901]; an insurance broker [1911]; an insurance broker at Somerset House, Halifax [1913].

In 1900, he was discharged from bankruptcy. The Sowerby Bridge Chronicle of 29th June 1900 reported

... at the time that his business was paying, a Manchester business was brought to the attention of Mr Ball. He got an accountant to investigate the books which showed a clear profit of £200 a year. He purchased the business for £400, upon the understanding that the seller should introduce him to the customers. Unfortunately, the day after the purchase, the seller went home ill and never returned to business. One of the principal clerks also died. The applicant was called, and, with the granting of his discharge consented to judgement being entered against him for £100

In 1892, he married Ada Morley [1864-19??] from Ovenden, in Halifax.

Children: Margherita Winifred [b 1894].

He was a boarder with drysalter John Dearnley Wilson [1881].

In 1891, he was living at Mearclough House, Fall Lane, Norland, with his brothers James Edward and Fredrick Eustace.

The family lived at Mearclough House [1891], 3 Green Bank, Halifax [1901], and 1 Blackwell, Halifax [1911]

He died in Halifax [2nd September 1930] (aged 65).

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 403]

See Fielding, Ball & Company

Ball, R.
[1???-19??] Deacon of Southowram [1936]

Ball, Salisbury
[1836-1???] Son of Edward Ball.

Born in Burwell, Cambridgeshire.

A wealthy farmer, miller and coprolite digger in Burwell.

He was a farmer of 365 acres employing 11 men, 10 boys & 3 women [1871]; a coprolite digger employing 36 men & 10 boys [1871]; a miller employing 2 men & 1 boy [1871].

In 1862, he married Emily, daughter of James Fielding, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Percy Fielding; (2) James Edward; (3) Julia Ann [b 1867]; (4) Fredrick Eustace; (5) Florence Fielding [b 1871].

The coprolite mining boom, which lasted only about 40 years, was in decline and the sons moved to find work in Yorkshire

Ball, William
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Fixby [1835]

Ball, Rev William Spencer
[1816-1861] He trained at Cotton End and served at Cadnam and Havant before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [1853]. In 1857, he moved to Newton-le-Willows, where he died

Ballantyne, Philip Hugh
[1891-1918] Son of Mary Annie & James Ballantyne.

He was educated at Heath Grammar School.

During World War I, he served as a Lieutenant with the 4th Battalion Seaforth Highlanders.

He died 28th October 1918 (aged 27).

He is remembered on the Vis-En-Artois Memorial [10] and on the Roll of Honour at Zion Congregational Church, Ripponden

Balloon ascents

Balls, Arthur.
[1854-1901] Son of James Balls, labourer.

Born in Honnington, Ipswich, Suffolk.

He was a driver of Halifax [1880]; a waggoner [1881]; a teamster [1891]; a teamster (corn mill) [1901].

He married (1) Unknown.

In 1880, he married (2) Elizabeth Street [1857-1???] at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.


Elizabeth of Halifax, was born in Derby, the daughter of Henry Street, miner
 

Children: (1) James Henry; (2) Annie [b 1888] who was a woollen spinner [1901], a sample knitter [1911]; (3) Arthur [1889-1899]; (4) Fred [1891-1892]; (5) Elsie [b 1893] who was a reeler cop [1911]; (6) George [b 1894] who was a dyers labourer [1911].

The family lived at Hanover Street, Sowerby Bridge [1881]; 11 Hanover Street, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901, 1911].

Arthur died [Q2] 1901 (aged 46)  Some time between 1901 and 1911, the family changed their surname from Balls to Ball

Balls, Henry
[1847-1919] He was a warehouseman [1910].

He married Elizabeth Ann Hall [1848-1919].

Children: Annie Elizabeth [1884-1950] who married George Freeman

Balm & Walton
Worsted spinners at Hoyle Bottom Mill, Warley [1845]

Balm Brothers
Worsted spinners at Hay's Mill, Mixenden [1881]

Balm, Jonas Priestley
[1836-1904] Son of Samuel Balm.

Born [3rd December 1836] and baptised [11th February 1837] at Ovenden.

In September 1869, he and Robert Newton of Providence Mill, near Keighley, filed a patent for

improvements in worsted spinning frames

He was a worsted spinner employing 80 males & 84 females [1871]; a wool agent [1881]; a manager worsted spinning [1891]; a spinner at Denholme and Halifax.

In 1861, he married Mary Hitchen [1834-1877] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Sam [b 1863] who was a life assurance agent [1901]; (2) Hannah [b 1864]; (3) George [b 1865] who was a manager in an oil cloth manufactory [1891]; (4) Priestley [b 1867]; (5) Florence [b 1868]; (6) Horace [1869] who died aged 10 weeks; (7) Mary Louisa [1870] who died aged 12 weeks; (8) Wallace [b 1872] who was a clerk in a worsted manufactory [1891].

The family lived at Perseverance Mill, Thornton, Bradford [1871]; Side Brow, New Road, Haworth, Keighley [1881]; Foreside Villa, Denholme [1877]; 8 Westfield Place, Halifax [1891]; 14 Paley Road, Bradford [1901]; (Jonas was with son Sam & family) 14 Paley Road, Bradford [1901]

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Balm, Samuel
[1812-1???] Born in Ovenden.

He was a worsted spinner [1841, 1851]; a worsted spinner employing 150 hands [1861].

He married Hannah Priestley [1812-1859].

Children: (1) Zillah [b 1833]; (2) David [b 1835]; (3) Jonas Priestley; (4) Samuel [1845-1869].

The family lived at Hay's Lane, Ovenden [1841]; Low Clough, Thornton, Bradford [1851]; Foreside Bottom, Thornton, Bradford [1861].

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden

Balme & Pritchard Limited
Dyers and stuff finishers at Atlas Dye Works, Halifax, and West Croft Works, Halifax.

Established by James Balme and John Pritchard in 1854.

Subsequent partners included John William Balme [1881] and Sam Balme [1905].

Recorded in 1874, 1880 and 1912-1982.

They employed 42 men and 12 boys & girls [1881]

On 9th October 1879, John Pritchard and 5 workers were killed in an explosion at their West Croft Works.

See Thomas Sirett

Balme Brothers & Earnshaw
Engineers' tool makers and card setting machine makers at Stead Street Iron Works, Halifax [1866] and at Boothtown [1874].

See Mr Balme

Balme, George Leake
[1831-1???] Of Halifax.

He was a carpet packer [1871]; a carpet packer (manuf) [1881].

He married Mary [1834-1???].

Children: (1) Thomas Henry [b 1855]; (2) Selena [b 1858]; (3) Sarah [b 1861]; (4) Riley; (5) Herbert [b 1866]; (6) Arthur [b 1869]; (7) Fred [b 1871].

The family lived at Back of Crossley Terrace, Halifax [1871]; 16 Clement Street, Halifax [1881]

Balme, H.
[18??-19??] Recorded in 1922, when he was a hosier at Prospect Street, Halifax

Balme, Herbert
[18??-19??] Partner in Hanson & Balme

Balme, James
[1810-18??] Born in Southowram.

He was a cloth dresser [1841]; a finisher of fancy goods [1851]. He and John Pritchard established Balme & Pritchard [1854]

He married Sarah [1809-1???].

Children: (1) John William; (2) Elizabeth [b 1839] who married John David Littlefield; (3) Mary Ann [b 1841]; (4) Samuel; (5) Frances [b 1849].

The family lived at King Cross, Skircoat, Halifax [1841]; 24 Upper Brunswick Street, Halifax [1851, 1861].

He was dead by 1861

Balme, John William
[1836-1909] Son of James Balme.

Born in Southowram.

He was a finisher of fancy goods [1851]; a stuff finisher [1861]; a master stuff finisher & partner in Balme & Pritchard Limited [1871]; a master finisher of fancy stuff goods employing 42 men 12 boys 2 girls [1881]; a stuff goods finisher [1901].

In 1859, he married Mary Ann Horner [1836-1895] in Halifax.

The family lived at 15 Gerrard Street, Halifax [1861]; Bedford Street, Halifax [1871]; 61 Lister Lane, Halifax [1881]; 37 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1901]; 37 Hyde Park Road, Halifax [1909].

In 1901, John William's widowed sister Elizabeth Littlefield was living with him. In 1881, his niece Mary Littlefield was living with the family

He died in Fylde, Lancashire

Beneficiaries of his will were Sam Balme (dyer), Arthur Littlefield (cashier), James Horton (ironmonger)  and William Dyson (manufacturer) 

Mary Ann died on 6th January 1895.

The couple were buried at St Stephen's, Copley: Mary Ann [12th January 1895]; John William [February 1909]

Balme, Joseph Sutcliffe
[1850-1935] Born in Illingworth.

He was a green grocer [1873].

On 17th November 1873, he married Annie (Nancy) Oxley Drabes [1850-1928] at Illingworth church.


Annie Oxley was born in Pontefract
 

Children: Joseph Sutcliffe.

The family lived at 39 Ploughcroft Lane, Boothtown [1911]; 40 Douglas Street, Crown Road, Boothtown [1917]

Balme, Joseph Sutcliffe
[1882-1917] Son of Joseph Sutcliffe Balme.

Born in Halifax [30th November 1882].

He was a corporation tram conductor [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [20th May 1917].

He was buried at the H.A.C. Cemetery, Ecoust-St. Mien [VI C 8]

Balme, Mr
[1???-18??] He was in partnership with Cornelius Redman, Reuben Calvert and Mr Parker in Stead Street, Halifax.

He was (possibly) a partner in Balme Brothers & Earnshaw

Balme, Riley
[1864-19??] Son of George Leake Balme.

He was a cotton spinner [1881]; a French polisher & undertaker. (employer) [1901]; a partner in Priestley & Balme; a French polisher (furniture industry). Employer (partner with upholsterer) [1911].

In 1885, he married Annie Crabtree [1864-19??] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Ethel [b 1887]; (2) Clement [b 1890]; (3) Lillian [b 1892]; (4) Hilda [b 1900]; (5) Clifford [b 1903].

The family lived at 12 Peel Street, Halifax [1891, 1901]; 19 Peel Street, Commercial Road, Halifax [1905, 1911]

Balme, Sam
[1846-19??] Son of James Balme.

He was a domestic pattern designer [1861]; a damask designer [1871]; a stuff finisher [1881]; a dress stuff finisher manager [1891]; a stuff finishers' manager [1901]; a partner in Balme & Pritchard Limited [1905]; a dyer & finisher (employer) [1911].

In 1870, he married Olivia Greenwood [1845-1???] in Bradford.

Children: (1) Lois [b 1871] who married [1896] Mr Shepherd; (2) Sarah [b 1873]; (3) James [b 1875]; (4) John William [b 1877]; (5) Mabel [b 1883] who married [1910] Mr Townend; (6) Sam [b 1888].

In 1871, Sam, Olivia and daughter Lois were staying with James Greenwood, Olivia's father, at Otley Road, Bradford.

The family lived at 7 Clarence St, Halifax [1881]; 21 Hampden Place, Halifax [1891]; 49 Hope Street, Halifax [1901]; 62 West Hill, Gibbet Street, Halifax [1905]; Rydal Road, Heysham, Lancashire [1911]

Balme, Squire
[17??-1862] He was one of the Trustees appointed under the Halifax Improvement Act [1823]; a member of Halifax Town Council [1848-1852].

He died 1st September 1862

Balmford's: Joseph Balmford & Sons
Joiners, cabinet makers, painters and paperhangers at West Vale and Quarmby Cliff, Lindley. Partners included Joseph Balmford, George H. Balmford, and Ratcliffe Balmford.

The partnership was dissolved in July 1873 when Joseph Balmford retired.

In May 1876, R. Balmford, joiner and cabinet maker at West Vale, went into voluntary liquidation

Balmforth's
Boot and shoe retailer. They were at 51 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1944]

Balmforth
Other forms of the surname include Bamford, Bamforth and Baumforth

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently around 10 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Balmforth. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Balmforth, Charles
[1818-1868] Son of Sarah and John Balmforth.

He was a labourer.

On 14th October 1844, he married Mary, daughter of Charles Bromley in Halifax.

Children: Elizabeth [b 1852] who married [1st December 1884] Claude Dillon [b 1855].

The family lived at 10 Cotton Street, Northowram 1861

Balmforth, Christopher
[1816-1869] Son of William Balmforth.

He went to live in America. His brother, Ralph, followed him to America.

He married Elizabeth White.

He died in Rome, Italy

It is said that Elizabeth was somewhat eccentric and confused her husband's estate with her own, with the result that his will was only settled in 1913. Of the $75,000 which Christopher left, the estate was worth then $27,522.68 – from which the administrators took $13,741.01. The balance was distributed to 44 beneficiaries by Jubb, Booth & Helliwell of Halifax.

Balmforth Avenue in Danbury, Connecticut is named for the couple

Balmforth, Christopher
[1839-1903] Son of William Balmforth.

Born in Elland.

He was a woollen cloth finisher [1861].

He worked at his grandfather's Marshall Hall Mills, and was a witness at the inquest into the boiler explosion at the mill on 16th November 1854.

In 1863, he married (1) Maria Jackson [1836-1925] at Halifax Parish Church.


Maria came from Lincolnshire
 

Children: (1) Ada [1862-1927]; (2) Joseph Edward [1864-1939]; (3) Sarah Wilks [1867-1921]; (4) Christopher [1869-1941].

In 1870, he went to live in America.

In 1871, he married (2) Mary Dicken in Laurence, Massachusetts.


Since Maria, his first wife, was still alive, it is possible that this second marriage was bigamous
 

He died in Tewksbury, Massachusetts

Balmforth, George
[1860-19??] Born in Elland.

He was an iron dresser [1901, 1911].

Around 1892, he married Elizabeth [1862-19??].


Elizabeth was born in Barkisland.

She was a cotton reeler [1901, 1911]

 

Children: (1) Louisa [b 1891]; (2) George; (3) Thomas A [b 1903].

The family lived at 6 Blackley, Elland [1901]; 18 Cross Lane, Blackley, Elland / 18 The Cross, Blackley, Elland [1911].

In 1911, George (senior) was living alone at 15 Dysons Yard, New Street, Elland

Balmforth, George
[1894-1916] Son of George Balmforth.

He was a cotton piecer [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He accidentally drowned [19th July 1916] (aged 22).

He was buried at the Lonsdale Cemetery Authuille [X C 8]

Balmforth, John
[1818-1858] Card maker in Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Mary Ann [1839-1848].

The family lived at Aked's Road, Halifax [1848]

Balmforth, John William
[1881-1918] Son of Manassah Balmforth.

He was

In 1910, he married Eliza Luty [1885-1976] in Halifax.


Eliza was born, and died, in Greetland
 

They lived at 76A Onecliffe Terrace, West Vale [1918]. During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the King's Own (Royal Lancaster Regiment).

He died 8th July 1918 (aged 37).

He was buried at the Houchin British Cemetery [II E 32]

Balmforth, Joseph
[1819-1854] He was one of 4 people killed in a boiler explosion at Marshall Hall Mill, Elland on 16th November 1854. He was son of William Balmforth, the cousin of William Balmforth, the mill-owner.

He was buried in the family plot at Elland Church

Balmforth, Manassah
[18??-1???] He married Hannah [18??-1???].

Children: John William Balmforth

Balmforth, Oscar Henry
[1808-1882] Aka Henry Balmforth

Son of William Balmforth.

Born in Elland.

He helped his father run the family business at Marshall Hall Mills, Elland.

He was a manufacturer employing 17 men & 20 females [1861]; a farmer of 40 acres employing 2 men [1861].

In 1832, he married Elizabeth, daughter of Mrs Sarah Sheerhan

Children: (1) John Benjamin [1832-1833]; (2) Clarence [b 1834] who was declared bankrupt in Liverpool [1862]; (3) Oscar Henry [1835-1891] who was a woollen cloth finisher [1861]; (4) Wilks [1837-1904]; (5) twins John [1838-1894]; (6) Lydia [1838-1909]; (7) Alice [1840-1916] who was a seamstress [1861]; (8) Frances [b 1841] who was a seamstress [1861]; (9) Elizabeth Ann [1843-1858]; (10) Frederick [1844-1857]; (11) Lucy [b 1847]; (12) Thomas [1849-1896]; (13) Amy [b 1851]; (14) Jessie Sarah [b 1854]; (15) James [1855-1855]

The family lived at 33 Oliver Hall, Elland [1861]

Balmforth, Ralph
[1823-1903] Son of William Balmforth.

Born in Elland.

He emigrated to America, following his brother, Christopher.

He died in Oakland, California

Balmforth, William
[1784-1859] Or Bamforth.

He had a fulling and woollen manufacturing business at Marshall Hall Mills, Elland [1854].

In 1808, he married (1) Lydia Brearley [1787-1829] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Oscar Henry; (2) Benjamin [1811-1827]; (3) William; (4) Christopher; (5) John [1819-1820]; (6) Joseph [b 1821]; (7) Ralph; (8) Mary Ann [1828-1829]

In 1831, he married (2) Sarah Sheerhan at Wakefield.

The family lived at Marshall Hall, Elland [1829]

Balmforth, William
[18??-191?] Of Sowerby.

During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Balmforth, William
[1814-1853] Son of William Balmforth.

Born in Elland.

He was a cloth maker [1841]; a manufacturer (woollen) master employing no men [1851].

In 1832, he married Mary Wilks, daughter of Mrs Sarah Sheerhan, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) John William [1833-1873]; (2) Sarah [b 1837]; (3) Christopher; (4) Lydia [1841-1851]; (5) Selina [1843-1858]; (6) Hannah [1845-1924] who had an illegitimate daughter called Phoebe; (7) Phoebe [1849-1874]; (8) Herbert [1851-1930] who was a police officer; (9) William [1854-1915].

The family lived at Westbury House, Elland with Greetland [1841]; Elland Lane, Elland cum Greetland [1851]; 31 Quebec Place, Elland [1861].

On 25th September 1853, William was returning home by train and was crossing the line at Brighouse Railway Station when he was

caught by the engine and killed on the spot

Members of the family were buried at Christ Church, Pellon

Balmforth, Willie
[1872-1???] On 13th November 1895, he married Sarah Elizabeth Hellowell at Elland Parish Church.

Children: (1) Horace Balmforth [1896-1969] who was a train booker railway [1911] (2) Annice Hellowell Balmforth [1901-1986].

In 1901, Sarah Elizabeth she was living with her Mother in Norland along with the children. There is no record of Willie.

In 1911, Sarah Elizabeth was listed as Sarah Elizabeth Sutcliffe living at Ash Grove, Norland with Robert Edgar Sutcliffe.

They do not appear to have married

Balmoral House, Hebden Bridge
Dated 1879

Balmoral Place, Halifax

Baltimore
Area of Todmorden

Baltimore Bridge, Todmorden
Stackhills Road. Bridge #29 over the Rochdale Canal

Bamber, Rev John
[18??-18??] Minister at Wainsgate Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge [26th April 1855-1878]. He was instrumental in constructing the new Church of 1860

Bamford
A variant of the surname Balmforth

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 6 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bamford. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Bamford, Rev C.
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1877]

Bamford, Rev Charles
[17??-1801] Of Bacup. First minister of the Haley Hill Particular Baptists [1755-1760].

In 1760, he left and moved to Accrington and subsequently to other places in Lancashire

Bamford, George Walter
[1870-1938] Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a fustian dyer [1911].

On 2nd April 1893, he married Elizabeth Greenwood [1868-1939] at Halifax Parish Church.


Elizabeth was born in Hebden Bridge.

She was a fustian finisher [1911]

 

Children: (1) child who died young [before 1911]; (2) child who died young [before 1911]; (3) child who died young [before 1911]; (4) William Bolton; (5) John Halstead [b 1895] who was a mule spinner (cotton) [1911]; (6) Doris Sophia [b 1901]; (7) Samuel [b 1906]; (8) Mary Emily [b 1909].

The family lived at 11 Broughton Street, Hebden Bridge [1911]

Bamford, Henry
[1585-16??] He married Unknown [1575-16??].

Heywood records

Henry Bamford of Deaf Mills [Hipperholme?] aged 94, his wife aged 104, were both carding out of doors June 24th 1679

Bamford, John
[18??-18??] Grocer at Stainland.

In July 1860, he was declared bankrupt but this was annulled in August

Bamford, Thomas
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1753]

Bamford, William Bolton
[1892-1916] Son of George Walter Bamford.

Born in Hebden Bridge.

He was a cutter out (fustian clothing) [1911]; employed at Herbert Pickles & Sons.

During World War I, he enlisted in Rochdale, and served as a Lance Corporal with the 9th Battalion London Regiment.

He was killed in action [7th October 1916] (aged 24).

He is remembered on a memorial in St Michael's Church, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Bamforth
A variant of the surname Balmforth

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Bamforth, Joseph William
[18??-1916] During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Coldstream Guards.

He died 16th September 1916.

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Bampton, Rev T. A.
[18??-19??] He was at Overseal before becoming Minister of Pellon Lane Baptist Church [March 1912]

Banaster, Roger
[13??-14??] He was Lord of the Manor of Clifton.

He married Isabel.

Children: Thurstan

Banaster, Thurstan
[13??-14??] Son of Roger Banaster.

In 1469, he was Lord of the Manor of Clifton

Bancroft...
The entries for people with the surname Bancroft are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Bancroft
The surname is derived from the location bank croft, using the elements bank and croft, and meaning a piece of land on a hillside.

There are currently around 61 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bancroft. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

See Bancroft family

Bancroft family
There have been many people with the surname Bancroft living in the Halifax district – many of these were directly related to each other

Bancroft & Company, Todmorden
Recorded in 1891, when they were at Millsteads Mill, Castle Street.

During a weavers' strike in 1890-1891, William Calvert and Crabtree Marshall were amongst those charged with intimidation of non-union workers. The strike, which was over pay, lasted 24/25 weeks and was concluded in April 1891

Bancroft & Fawthrop
Brush manufacturers established by Frederick Bancroft in 1868.

He later took Frederick Fawthrop into partnership.

They were at Bull Close Lane, Halifax [1866], Ann Street, Halifax, Stannary Street, Halifax, and Halifax Brush Works, Raglan Street [1880].

They employed Charles Hanson.

After Fawthrop's death, his brother William Henry Bancroft joined the business, which then became Bancroft Brothers

Bancroft Brothers
Brush manufacturers at Halifax Brush Works, Raglan Street.

Originally Bancroft & Fawthrop. It became Bancroft Brothers after the death of Frederick Fawthrop, when William Henry Bancroft joined his brother Frederick Bancroft. Frederick's son George William Bancroft later joined the business.

After Frederick Bancroft died, the business went bankrupt [1895-1899]. Family stories blame this on competition from German brush makers

Bancroft's Confectioners
Recorded in 1936 at 13 Arcade Royale and 16 Southgate, Halifax, when the proprietor was Miss Hilda Jackson.


Question: Could this business be connected with Charles Bancroft or Walter Bancroft?... or both?

 

Bancroft's: Joseph Bancroft & Sons
Slaters and plasterers of Halifax [1878-1918]. Established by Joseph Bancroft and his son, Alfred.

See Hipperholme Wesleyan Methodist Chapel and Union Bank, Halifax

Bancroft's: William Bancroft & Sons of Halifax Limited
Worsted and bunting manufacturers at Fenton Works, Halifax [1905, 1936]

Bandmann-Palmer, Mrs Millie
[18??-1926] Born Millie Palmer.

She married a German Shakespearean actor, Daniel Edward Bandmann. The couple toured in various theatrical productions. She formed her own company and starred in Hamlet, appearing in the Calderdale district.

James R. Gregson's interest in drama was sparked by visits to the theatre, and he mentioned being affected by her performance in which she had to sit down for the ghost scene, on account of her being so stout. She was provided with a beer bottle crate on which to sit, and the local brewer who loaned the crate stipulated that his name should be in view throughout the production

Banerjee, J. N.
[18??-19??] Medical practitioner in Halifax [1895]

Banham, Henry W.
[1848-1888] Born in Diss, Norfolk.

He was a brush maker (pan hand) [1881].

He married Annie, widow of John Burnham.

Children: (1) Frederick W [b 1875] who was a mechanic's apprentice [1891]; (2) Henry [b 1876] who was a case maker's apprentice [1891]; (3) Walter [b 1878] who was a book binder [1891]; (4) Elizabeth [b 1880] who was a mill hand cotton [1891].

The family lived at 6 Oates Street, Halifax [1881, 1891]; 21 Lilly Lane, Halifax [1915].

Living with them in 1881 were Annie's sons John H and Charles Richard

Banister
Another form of the surname is Bannister

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Banister, Edward
[15??-16??] Of Halifax. he married Grace. His will was recorded on 7th February 1648 and Grace was executor.

After Edward's death, Grace married James Robinson

Bank Bottom Colliery, Halifax
Off Southowram Bank

Bank Bottom, Hebden Bridge
Original name of Mytholm House, Hebden Bridge

Bank Brewery Company
Sowerby Bridge brewery with offices in Old Tuel Lane.

The partnership was dissolved August 1894.

See Bank Brewery, Sowerby Bridge

Bank Bridge, Mill Bank

Bank Chambers, Halifax
Office accommodation at Waterhouse Street.

Owners and tenants have included

See Penny Bank Chambers, Halifax

Bank Cottage, Heptonstall
Church Lane. Late 18th century house. It has been used as a Chapel of Rest

Bank Edge, Ovenden
Area of Ovenden

Bank End Farm, Salterhebble

Bank End Farm, Warley
Peter Lane / Edgeholme Lane. Built in 1850. A stone is inscribed J & AB

Bank End, Warley
House. Recorded in 1907

Bank Field, Halifax

Bank Hall Farm, Barkisland
Elland Road.

A lintel (since replaced) was dated 1612

Bank Hey Well, Ripponden

Bank House, Brighouse
Elegant house which stood in Briggate.

Owners and tenants have included

Bank House, Elland
Aka Elland Bank.

Owners and tenants have included

Bank House, Sowerby Bridge
Owners and tenants have included

Bank House, Warley
Luddenden Dene. Laithe-house built 1650. It is said to be the oldest surviving example of a laithe house.

The entrance to the barn is inscribed for Gilbert Brockbank.

Around 1818, it was rebuilt by Timothy Bates

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

See Brigg family of Bank House, Warley

Bank of Liverpool & Martins Limited
A branch is recorded at Hipperholme [1922], at Briggate, Brighouse [1923], and at the former Crystal Palace, Ripponden [19??].

See Martins Bank

Bank Top Cricket Field, Southowram
Pinnar Lane. The field was opposite the war memorial. This was the home ground for the cricket club at Saint Michael & All Angels' Church, Southowram Bank

Bank Top Farm, Greetland
Formerly known as Thick Hollins, Greetland

Bank Top Farm, Southowram
An early name for Park Farm, Southowram. This was a part of the Shibden Hall estate.

In 1736, David Backsendell and John Hargreaves, both of Northowram, contracted to sink a coal pit to the Upper Coal Bed for Rev John Lister.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Bank Top Farm, Todmorden

Bank Top, Lee Mount
Community at the entrance to Ovenden on the road from Halifax

Bank Top Library, Southowram
Opened in 19??. This was in a small wooden hut on the main road.

Closed in 19??

See Southowram Library

Bank Top Post Office, Southowram
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936.

It closed in 2003.

See Southowram Post Office

Bank Top, Southowram

Bank Top War Memorial
See Southowram War Memorial

The Banke, Southowram
An alternative name for Blaithroyd.

Owners and tenants have included

Bankfield, Brighouse
Parsonage Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Albert Firth (plasterer) [1911]

Bankfield Farm, Southowram
Marsh Lane, Bank Top.

The farm (36 acres) was listed as a part of the Shibden Estate in a sale catalogue of October 1925.

Early 19th century house.

Owners and tenants have included

The front was rebuilt around 1800.

Around 1830, the Traveller's Rest Beerhouse was here. The name can still be read in the stonework over the front door.

A Sunday School was held here before Sion Branch Congregational Sunday School at Bank Top was built in 1861.

On 28th November 1869, fire destroyed several buildings at the farm.

The house is said to be haunted and the occupiers have reported unexplained noises.

See Bankfield Gardens, Southowram

Bankfield, Halifax
Haley Hill. House at Akroyd Park built for Edward Akroyd who lived there after his marriage, from 1837 to 1886.

It was originally much smaller, but Akroyd extended it.

Following the death of his wife Elizabeth, Edward retired to St Leonard's-on-Sea, and sold much of Bankfield house and grounds to Halifax Corporation.

In 1888, it became a public park, library and museum.

See Woodlands, Halifax

Bankfield House, Holywell Green
Shaw Lane / Stainland Road.

Owners and tenants have included

A housing estate has been built on the site of the gardens.

Bankfield Laundry, Halifax
Boothtown Road. In 1905, the proprietors were Halliday & Company.

Recorded in 1922, when it was known as The Bankfield Steam Laundry

Bankfield Library, Halifax
See George Reginald Carline, Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society, Kennedy Collection and William Rothwell Verity

Bankfield, Luddendenfoot
Owners and tenants have included

Bankfield Museum, Halifax
See George Reginald Carline, Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society, Kennedy Collection and William Rothwell Verity

Bankfield Social Club, Elland
Huddersfield Road

Bankfield Stables, Boothtown
The stables for Bankfield.

Owners and tenants have included

See Flying Dutchman Stables, Boothtown

Bankfoot Hall, Hebden Bridge
Owners and tenants have included

Bankfoot, Hebden Bridge
Area west of Hebden Bridge. The turning-circle is here for traffic going up to Heptonstall

Bankfoot House, Hebden Bridge
Stood opposite – and was owned by – Bankfoot Mill, Hebden Bridge.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now a veterinary clinic

Bankhouse
Part of the area around Salterhebble. The Stainland to Sowerby Bridge Turnpike passed through here

Bankhouse, Salterhebble
Aka Bank House, Bank End Farm. This is a timber-framed aisled house built around 1550 for Robert Waterhouse and the Waterhouse family. Cased in stone in the 17th century.

Owners and tenants have included

A part was demolished for construction of the nearby railway in 18??

The white-washed building is conspicuous on the hillside

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Sketches of Old Halifax

Bankhouse Tunnel
Railway tunnel for the London, Midland & Scottish Railway at Bankhouse, Salterhebble. It opened in 18??. It is 214 yards long.

It was just east of Copley Railway Station.

It is also known as Copley Tunnel.

The decapitated body of a man was found in the tunnel on 10th October 1971

Bankruptcies

Banks

Banks, Douglas
[1924-1944] Son of Maggie & Wilfred Banks, of Cornholme.

During World War II, he served as a Trooper with the 16th/5th Lancers Royal Armoured Corps.

He died 7th June 1944 (aged 20).

He was buried in the Rome War Cemetery [II E 30].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Banks, Edward Pye
[1852-1918] Born in Ormskirk, Lancashire.

He was a Post Office clerk [1881, 1891]; a Post office superintendent [1901]; a pensioned Post Office superintendent [1911].

In 1880, he married Sarah Martha Blacker [1858-1940] in Ecclesall Bierlow.


Sarah Martha was born in Manchester
 

Children: (1) Arthur E [b 1881]; (2) William P [b 1883] who was a carpet designer [1901]; (3) James W [b 1887] who was a stock & share broker's clerk [1901]; (4) Roland; (5) Harold [b 1893]; (6) Leslie [b 1894] who was a bank clerk [1911]; (7) twins Isabel [b 1898]; (8) Marjorie [1898-1903].


The brothers – Arthur E, James W, Roland, Harold, and Leslie – all served in World War I
 

The family lived at 9 The Grove, Normanton, Wakefield [1881]; 13 Bell Hall Mount, Skircoat, Halifax [1891]; 2 College Terrace, Halifax [1901]; 12 Milton Street, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1881 were Sarah Martha's family: widowed mother Sarah J Blacker [b 1829], sisters Elizabeth E Blacker [b 1853] (school mistress) & Mary Blacker [b 1855] (school mistress), and niece Zilian M M Blacker [b 1874]

Banks, Mrs Mary Ann
[1857-1???] She was widow [1891]. She ran the Girls' Friendly Lodge in Halifax

Banks, Mrs
[1???-18??] She ran a private school in Halifax [around 1870]

Banks, Robert
[1823-1910] Born in Huddersfield.

He was a woollen spinner [1851]; a woollen mule spinner [1861]; a woollen spinner [1871]; a woollen operative [1881]; a woollen feeder [1891]; a retired woollen spinner (deaf) [1901].

In 1850, he married Hannah Akroyd [1822-1904] from Greetland.

Children: (1) Julia [b 1854] who married Moses Priestley; (2) Eliza [b 1860].

In 1851, Robert and Hannah they were living at 93 Lindwell, Elland, with Hannah's widowed father Matthew Ackroyd [b 1788].

The family lived at Oults Lane, Elland cum Greetland [1861]; Scholes Lane, Elland cum Greetland [1871]; Holte Lane, Elland with Greetland [1881]; Holts Lane, Elland with Greetland [1891]; Holts Lane, Greetland [1901].

Living with them in 1881 were daughter Julia and her husband Moses Priestley and family

Banks, Roland
[1891-1916] Son of Edward Pye Banks.

Born in Halifax.

He was an apprentice engineer with Campbell's; working in Manchester; a gas and oil engine fitter (engineers), lodging in Eccles, Lancashire [1911]; an engineer with Asquith's in Halifax.

During World War I, he enlisted in early 1915 and served as an Engine Room Artificer with the Royal Navy.

His brothers – Arthur E, James W, Harold, and Leslie – all served in World War I

His wartime navy career was served on the battlecruiser HMS Queen Mary which was lost at the Battle of Jutland.

He died 31st May 1916 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial [15]

Banks, Samuel
[1849-1938] Born in Portsmouth, Todmorden. He was a poet, diarist and naturalist. Some of his work was in dialect. He was a friend of John Newton Crowther.

As a child, he worked in a bobbin mill and studied in his spare time and at night classes at Cornholme British School.

For 30 years, he wrote a series of nature notes for the Northern Daily Telegraph. He was a founder member of the Calder Valley Poets

Banks, Thomas
[18??-19??] He was one of the first Aldermen of the Borough of Todmorden [1896-1905]; Chairman of the Todmorden Board of Guardians [1911].

He lived at Rose Cottage, Portsmouth, Todmorden [1898]

Banksfield Estate, Mytholmroyd
Housing estate built in the 1940s

Bankwell
Area of Cornholme

Bannester, Henry
[15??-15??] He married Alice, daughter of Robert Wade.

Children: (1) Margaret; (2) Elizabeth; (3) Isabell

Bannister
A variant of the surname Banister

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bannister. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Bannister family of Hathershelf
See Hathershelf

Bannister, Henry
[1???-18??] From Bacup.

He was a hatter and beer seller in Halifax. He was listed as a hat manufacturer & dealer at Waterhouse Street, Halifax [1829].

He married Unknown.

Children: Millicent [18??-1859] who married George Place

Bannister, Joseph
[18??-1910] Of 18 Mount Street, Halifax.

He died at the Poor Law Hospital [23rd October 1910].

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £21 14/8d. Probate was granted to his widow Mary Ann Schoefield

Bannister, Mr
[15??-1???] Farmer who successfully farmed the marshy valley bottom at Hebden Bridge in what is now Saint George's Square.

Part of his farm was rebuilt by William Patchett who opened the White Horse Hotel on the site

Banquet House, Barkisland
Knowsley / Ripponden.

Owners and tenants have included

Bar Wood, Luddendenfoot
Friendly.

A popular name for Warley Wood, Luddendenfoot. The name comes from the toll bar which stood on the turnpike there at the entrance to Daisy Bank.

The toll bar was removed in 1858. It was taken to Danny Lane

Barber...
The entries for people with the surname Barber are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

The Barber family
There were 3 major branches of the family in the district, all descended from Joshua Barber.

Barber & Oliver
Brighouse solicitors [1900]

See Charles Jessop

Barber's: John & William Barber
Card makers at Southowram [1874].

See John Barber

Barber's: N. E. Barber
Popular drapers and outfitters at St James's Road, Halifax

Barbour, John Morton
[1831-1880] Born in Scotland.

He was a clerk at Leeds Borough Gaol [1851]; a carpet manufacturer's clerk [1861]; a public accountant [1871]; an accountant and stock and share broker at 16 Broad Street, Halifax.

He married Martha [1831-1???] from Leeds.

Children: (1) Margaret Eliza [b 1858]; (2) Arthur William W [b 1870].

The family lived at Boynton Street, Leeds [with his family 1851]; 41 & 42 Hampden Place, Halifax [1861]; 112 Lister Lane, Halifax [1871, 1874]; 35 Green Terrace, Skircoat [1881]

In 1861, living with the family were his brother Samuel J. Barbour [aged 17] a building society clerk and his sister Anne H. Barbour [aged 15] a dressmaker's apprentice. Anne was with them again in 1871

Bardell, Albert Hugh
[1882-1918] AB.

He served with the Royal Navy. He died aboard HMS Pembroke [26th August 1918]

He was buried at St Thomas's Church, Greetland

Bardsley, Frederick
[1882-19??] Born in the USA.

He was a music hall artiste [1911].

He married Vera Grace, daughter of John Robert Jones.

Children: Frederick [b 1910].

In 1911, the family were living with Vera Grace's widowed mother in Liverpool.

They later (possibly) went to live in Florida

Barewise Mill Company Limited
Registered in October 1873. There was capital of 10,000 in 20 shares. 7 subscribers took 1 share each.

See Barewise Mill, Todmorden and Robert Hollinrake

Barewise, Todmorden

Barge & Barrel Brewing Company
Independent brewery at the Barge & Barrel, Elland

Bargh, John
[16??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1718]

Bark, Joseph
[17??-18??] Special Constable of Catherine Slack, Northowram.

In October 1828, he was declared bankrupt

Bark, R.
[17??-18??] Corn dealer at Northowram.

In 1817, he was declared bankrupt

Barker...
The entries for people with the surname Barker are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Barker
An occupational surname from Old French bergère [a shepherd], or from Middle English meaning a tanner

There are currently around 81 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Barker. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Barker's: A. & H. Barker
Manufacturing company of Hebden Bridge. They worked with Thornber Brothers Limited and provided cages for chickens

Barker & Beck
Or Parker & Beck

Barker & Dawson
Weavers at Gauxholme.

In May 1878, local mills were suffering a depression and their workers were working daylight hours only

Barker's: J. & W. Barker
Cotton spinners at Barewise Mill, Todmorden [1832].

They were mentioned in bankruptcy reports [1832]

Barker's: Luke Barker & Sons
Cotton spinners and manufacturer established by Luke Barker.

Partners included Robert Barker, John Barker, and Major Robert Hewitt Barker.

In 1905, they had business at Friths Mill, Walsden, Dancroft Mill, Todmorden, and Crow Carr Ings Mill, Todmorden

Barker Royd Farm, Southowram
Owners and tenants have included

Barker Royd, Southowram
Or Barker Royde. An area near Cromwellbottom.

Buildings here include an 18th century farmhouse.

In the 19th century, it was occupied by members of the Barber family – including William Barber – who built a 4-storey mill here to produce carding equipment and belting. A stone at the house is dated WB 1849.

Owners and tenants have included

See Barker Royd Mill, Southowram and Barker Royd Quarry, Southowram

Barker's: Shadrach & Abraham Barker
Cotton spinners and manufacturers established by brothers Shadrach and Abraham Barker at Adamroyd Mill, Todmorden [1871, 1877, 1905].

See James William Barker and John Barker

Barker's: Thomas Barker & Sons
Fustian manufacturers and dyers established by Thomas Barker. They were at Hangingroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge [1874]

Barker's: William Barker & Company
Fustian manufacturers, dyers, finishers and wholesale clothiers established around 1840 by William Barker.

Later, it passed to John King.

They had dyeing and finishing at Wood Top Mills, Hebden Bridge, warehouse and clothing departments at Mayroyd Works, Hebden Bridge and weaving and fustian production at Hudson Mill, Heptonstall

Barker's: William Barker Limited
Cotton manufacturers at Todmorden [1905].

Partners included Hawksworth Barker

Barkers & Butterworth
Silk spinners established in 1864 by brothers, Robert and George Barker, and Thomas Butterworth at Thornhill Briggs Mill, Brighouse.

In 1872, they moved to Belle Vue Mills, Brighouse.

They closed down in 1909

Barkers & Crabtree
Cotton spinners & manufacturers at Todmorden & Walsden.

In 1867, Luke Barker went into partnership with his brother, William, and Richard Crabtree and Thomas Cockcroft as Cockcroft: Barker & Crabtree.

Later in 1867, Cockcroft left the partnership, and it continued as Barkers & Crabtree. They were at Wadsworth Mill [1869], Joint Stock Shed [1873], Friths Mill [1880-1888], and Dancroft Mill [1880].

In May 1878, local mills were suffering a depression and their workers were working a 4-day week

Barkesland, Miss
[1297-13??] Daughter of Peter Barkesland.

She married Henry Gledhill

Barkesland, Peter
[1269-1???] Or De Barsland. Son of Thomas Barkesland.

He married Unknown [born about 1270].

Children: (1) a daughter [b 1296] who married Henry Gledhill; (2) a daughter [b 1299]

Barkesland, Richard de
[1200-12??] Of Barkisland. He was an early member of the Barkisland family.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Thomas; (2) Robert [b 1236]

Barkesland, Thomas
[1234-1???] Or Barsland. Son of Richard de Barkesland.

He married Unknown [born about 1258].

Children: (1) Peter; (2) John [b 1271] who married Matilda (?) 

Barkesland, William de
[12??-12??] The Wakefield Court Rolls of 1275 record
William de Barkesland is in mercy for the escape of a mare and a foal in Mareschawe

Barkisland
District of Calderdale to the south of Halifax. The Ryburn forms the western boundary.

See Population, Sir Hylton Ralph Brisco, Parish statistics and Joshua Thomas Horton

The Barkisland family
Richard de Barkesland was an early member of the family

Barkisland Almshouses
Crabtree recorded these as being occupied by 2 poor widows

Barkisland & Ripponden Railway Station

Barkisland Board of Guardians
A part of the Halifax Poor Law Union.

Those who have served on the Board of Guardians for Barkisland township have included

Barkisland Coal Society

Barkisland Co-operative Store
Recorded in 1918

Barkisland Cricket Club
Formed in 1???.

The pavilion was bought from Saint Anne's Cricket Club, and later sold to Southowram Cricket Club

Barkisland Cross
The mediæval cross originally stood at the cross-roads further west. Only the 4 semi-circular steps – which formed the base of the cross – remain. They stand against the wall between Numbers 19 and 21 Stainland Road.

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

Cross, Ripponden Bank

Barkisland Hall
Thomas Gledhill lived in a house on the site.

Thomas Woodhead lived here [1419].

Around 1638, it was rebuilt as a three-storey F-plan house for John Gledhill and his wife Sarah. A doorway is dated 1638 JG-SG.

There is a rose window with 7 circular lights over the porch.

Richard Gledhill of Barkisland Hall was killed fighting on the Royalist side at the Battle of Marston Moor. Richard's ghost is said to haunt the Hall.

There is a Latin inscription over the doorway

Nunc mea, mox hujus, postea nescio cujus

The hall and the gate piers are listed

The cottages opposite the entrance gates were the kennels of Barkisland, in the days when the Gledhills hunted the surrounding countryside.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

In the 1920s, the interior was renovated by the Casson family, destroying much of the original detail.

In 1967, it was bought by Lord Kagan as accommodation for visitors.

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions, The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax.

See Cromwellbottom Hall

Barkisland Hall Farm
Recorded in February 1896, when it was for sale at £2,000

Barkisland Local Board
Established in 1863. The Council Offices were the former Old Poor House.

The Board was superseded by the Barkisland Urban District Council.

See Local Board and Benjamin Taylor

Barkisland Lockup
Stainland Road.

The Barkisland stocks stood outside the lockup.

The building is now a private house known as Stocks House, Barkisland

Barkisland Lower Hall
Stainland Road.

Dated 1629.

Extended in the mid-19th century.

Owners and tenants have included

Barkisland, Manor of
The Savile family were lords of Manor of Barkisland from the middle of the 14th century. Henry Savile Fox was lord of the manor [1917]

Barkisland Old Hall
Aka Barkisland Upper Hall.

Built about the time of Charles I, it belonged to the Bold family of Bold Hall in Lancashire.

Owners and tenants have included

When the hall was demolished, some of the plasterwork was moved to The Greave, Midgley. The plasterwork was dated 1596 MG DG for Michael and Dorothy Gledhill who were early owners of the Hall

Barkisland Overseers of the Poor
The Foldout lists some of the people who have served as Overseer of the Poor for Barkisland

Barkisland Parish Church

Barkisland Pinfold
Stood at the gateway to the old Poor House.

This is discussed in Our Home & Country.

See Pinfold House, Barkisland and Pinfold

Barkisland Post Office
Recorded in 1861 and 1874. It was then at the same address as the business run by Solomon Normanton, grocer

The present post office stands on the site of the earlier Barkisland Grammar School

Barkisland, Soyland & Rishworth Prosecution Society
Prosecution society recorded in 1809.

See Rishworth Prosecution Society

Barkisland stocks
Stainland Road. They stand outside what was the Barkisland lockup

This is discussed in Our Home & Country

Barkisland Surveyor of the Highways
Those who held the post of Surveyor of the Highways for Barkisland included:

Barkisland Upper Hall

Barkisland Urban District Council
Established in 1895. Superseded the Barkisland Local Board

Barkisland War Memorial
The memorial cross remembering those who died in World War I and World War II. stands at the junction of Saddleworth Road and Scammonden Road.

Krumlin War Memorial tablet was brought here when Krumlin Wesleyan Chapel, Barkisland was closed and demolished

Barkisland Workhouse
Scammonden Road. Built in 1827. A plaque over the door reads
This building was erected in AD 1827 by a Committee with the money arising from the coal in White Birch Farm in Northowram, of which the interest that arises therefrom, is to be distributed to such poor people of Barkisland as have no Parochial Relief

Barling, Rev John
[1804-1883] Born in Weymouth, Dorset.

He was a dissenting minister and proprietor of houses

Barlow, J. E.
[18??-19??] Postmaster for Halifax [1925-1931]

Barlow, John
[15??-16??] Local preacher. A native of Cheshire, and minister in Plymouth. He came to Halifax as lecturer and assistant to Dr John Favour at Halifax Parish Church. He published several theological works and sermons [1618] including
Hieron's last farwell

and

A Christian's last day is his best Day

and famously reminded the local gentry that

gentility consists not only in the cutting of a card, casting of a die, throwing of a bowl, watching of a cock, manning of a hawk, or in following after a deep-mouthed cry of hounds, but in good hospitality, virtuous actions and generous deeds

See Halifax Exercises

Barlow, Rev John Elliott
[1906-19??] BD, BSc, MSc.

Curate at Southowram [1933, 1936].

On 9th January 1936, he married Kathleen Marshall from Southowram

In 1936, he left Southowram to serve at Thornhill Lees, Hepworth, Felkirk with Brierley, Wakefield, Huddersfield, Linton in Craven with Hebden, Skipton, and Queen Ethelburga's School, Harrogate

Barlow, Lieutenant-Colonel
[1???-1812] He married Maria.

Lieutenant-Colonel Barlow was killed at the Battle of Salamanca during the Napoleonic Wars

Barlow, Mrs Maria
[1???-18??] Born in Guernsey.

She married Lieutenant-Colonel Barlow.

Later, she was a lover of Anne Lister.

In 1827, Anne, Maria and Maria's daughter Jane toured Italy

Barlow, Captain Robert Hilaro
[1844-1893] Born in Canterbury.

He was a Captain of the 68th Light Infantry.

In 1871, he married Christiana, daughter of Jeremiah Rawson.

He died at Stratford on Avon

Barlow, Telemachus
[1841-1927] Son of Thomas Barlow.

Born at Pump, Southowram.

He was a stoker in the gas works [1871]; a blacksmith [1881]; a blacksmith in the gas works [1901, 1911].

In 1862, he married Mary Alice, daughter of John Culpan, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Ruth Ann [b 1863]; (2) John Thomas [b 1864]; (3) Mary Ann [b 1870]; (4) Emily [1872-1909] who married Fred Barber; (5) Lilly [b 1875]; (6) Eva [b 1877]; (7) Eliza [b 1879]; (8) Walter [b 1883]; (9) Annie [b 1887].

The family lived at 3 William Street, Northowram [1871]; 46 Martin [?] Street, Northowram [1881]; Fern Street, Boothtown [1901, 1911]

Barlow, Thomas
[1810-18??] Banksman in a Southowram quarry.

He married Ruth Mann [1817-18??].

Children: (1) Lydia [b 1836]; (2) Selina [1839-1843]; (3) Telemachus; (4) Elizabeth [1843-1881] who married George Stirk; (5) Dardenus; (6) Mary Ann [1848-1915] who married Sam Aspinall; (7) Eliza [1850-1851]

Barlow, Walter
[1870-19??] Born in Wisbech, Cambridgeshire.

He was a Church of England preacher [1901].

He married Kate E. [1866-19??] from Biggleswade, Bedfordshire.

Children: (1) Reginald M. [b 1896]; (2) Albert E. [b 1898].

The family lived at Springfield, Stainland [1901]

Barmforth, John
[16??-17??] From Northowram.

He married Mary Northend


Mary was the daughter of
Joseph Northend
 

Barnard, Rev Bertram Claude
[18??-19??] MA.

He trained at New College, London and at Edinburgh University before becoming Minister at Luddendenfoot Congregational Church [1895, 1905]

Barnard, George
[1930-2014] Born 4th February 1930.

He and Richard Barnes acquired the organ from Mount Zion Primitive Methodist Chapel, Norland, and rebuilt it in the loft at George's home at Upper Wat Ing, so that his son Ian could practise.

Details can be found in the National Pipe Organ Register

He married Jean Gregory.


Jean was the daughter of Edwin Gregory
 

Children: (1) Aileen; (2) Ian; (3) Pauline.

The family lived at Greenhead, Norland; Upper Wat Ing, Norland [which he bought from Mr Dexter 1956].

George died 19th June 2014

Barnes, Rev Canon Cyril Arthur
[1926-19??] He served at Aberdeen, at Forres, and Darrington with Wentbridge before becoming Vicar of Ripponden [1958-1967]. He left in 1967 to serve at Thorpe, Yorkshire, at Huntly, Scotland, at Inverness, and at Keith in the Diocese of Moray

Barnes, Harry
[1870-1936] He had been MP for Newcastle-on-Tyne East [1918-1922]. He stood unsuccessfully as the Liberal candidate in the Election for MP for Halifax [1928]

Barnes, James
[18??-1882] Born at Withens, Erringden. He was a handloom weaver. He wrote a number of poetic pieces for the Hebden Bridge Times

Barnes, John
[1???-18??] A carder of Heptonstall.

On 26th September 1830, he married Matilda Langthorn of Heptonstall, at Halifax Parish Church

Barnes, John
[17??-18??] Hatter in Halifax [1787]

Barnes, John Henry
[1891-1917] Son of Martha Ellen & John Barnes of 12 Glen View Street, Cornholme, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 17th July 1917 (aged 26).

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Barnes, Joshua
[1777-1846] Of Todmorden

Barnes, Lambert
[17??-18??] Cotton manufacturer at Mayroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge around 1800

Barnes, Moses
[1797-18??] Son of Betty and John Barnes.

Baptised at Cross Stone Church [1797].

On 16th June 1812, he married Sarah Smith in Halifax.

Children: John [bapt 12th April 1815]

Barnes's: T. Barnes
19/20th century billiard-table makers of Hall Street, Halifax

Barnes, Rev William Richard
[1915-19??] He served at Beccles before becoming Curate at Halifax [1945] and Vicar of Mytholmroyd [1952]. In 1967, he left to serve at Rochester

Barnett, Alfred
[1854-19??] Born in Cheshire.

He was a draper [1911].

In [Q4] 1881, he married Jane Chartres [1855-19??] from Rastrick.

Children: (1) Ethel [b 1883]; (2) Marion [b 1886] who was a clerk to draper [1911]; (3) Alfred Charles [b 1898]; (4) child who died young; (5) child who died young.

The family lived at 93 Bradford Road, Brighouse [1911]

Barnett, Rev Anne
[1919-] She became England's first woman curate when she was appointed to Halifax Parish Church in 1973

Barnett, Ben
[1901-1962] Born in Greetland [29th Nov 1901].

He was a confectioner [1931].

On 8th Aug 1931, he married Edna Fossey at St Thomas's Church, Greetland.


Edna was the daughter of
George William Fossey
 

Children: Christine E [b 1935]

Barnett Brothers
Briggate, Brighouse. 18th century drapery business which stood on the site of the present toilets. Partners included Tom Barnett.

Closed around 1972

Barnett, John Albert Duke
[18??-18??] Son of Ann Barnett and Thomas Firth Whiteley.

Born in Greetland [3rd August 1880].

On 20th September 1908, he married Rachel Ellen Hollas [1883-1975] from Greetland, at St Thomas's Church, Greetland.

Children: (1) Frank [b 1909]; (2) Albert [b 1910]; (3) Ellen [b 1912]; (4) Dorothy [b 1918]; (5) John [b 1921]; (6) Kathleen [b 1923]

He died at 38 Spring Lane, Greetland. [26th September 1962]

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £906 14/-.

Barnett, John Albert Duke
[1880-1962] Born in Greetland

On 20th September 1908, he married Rachel Ellen Hollas at St Thomas's Church, Greetland.


Rachel Ellen was the daughter of
Joseph Hollas
 

Children: (1) Frank [b 1909]; (2) Albert [b 1910]; (3) Ellen [b 1912]; (4) Dorothy [b 1918]; (5) John [b 1921]; (6) Kathleen [b 1923].

He died in Greetland [26th September 1962]

Barnett, Rev Russell S.
[1920-] He served at Ulverston and at St Paul's, Kirkdale, Liverpool, where he was a mature entrant to the ordained ministry having served in the navy, before becoming Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1967-1977].

He was an enthusiast for the uniformed organisations, reviving the scout troop, and he saw the Ambulance station, formerly Holdsworth's Garage, at the top of Godfrey Road converted into the church hall.

He left All Saints' to become vicar of Great Orton with Aikton, west of Carlisle

Barnett, Rev Stephen
[19??-] Minister at Saint Paul's Methodist Chapel, Sowerby Bridge [2009] and Stones Methodist Church, Ripponden [2009]

Barnett, Thomas
[18??-19??] Aka Tom. Partner in Barnett Brothers. He lived at 20 High Street, Brighouse [1908]

Barnfield, James Riley
[1871-1930] Born in Halifax. He was a bank manager [1901].

In 1899, he married Florence, daughter of George James Dell in Halifax.

In 1901, the couple were living with Florence's widowed father at the Castle Hotel, Halifax and Florence was Manageress

Barnum, Phineas T.
[1810-1891] The Barnum & Bailey Circus visited Halifax on 27th May 1875

The Baron family of Walsden
The family are recorded at Higher Allescholes Farm, Walsden in 1688 and 1860.

Early members of the family included Mr Baron

Baron, Aaron
[17??-1809] On 6th February 1809, he hanged himself in Priestwell Wood, Todmorden

Baron Cobham

Baron Halifax

Baron, Harry
[1889-1918] Son of Mrs Emma Baron.

In [Q4] 1912, he married Gertrude Greenwood in Todmorden.

They lived at 765 Burnley Road, Cornholme [1918].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 30th March 1918 (aged 30).

He is remembered on the Pozières Memorial [32-34] and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Baron, James
[1746-1819] Son of Mr Baron.

He owned much property in Todmorden & Walsden.

He married Unknown.

They had no children.

He lived with Hannah Fielden.

They had 3 illegitimate children: (1) daughter; (2) Samuel; (3) James.

James died in 1819 [aged 73].

After his death, Hannah married James's brother Thomas Baron

Baron, Joseph
[18??-1869] Of Littletown, Mount Tabor. He worked as a quarry borer at Scout Quarry.

On 12th February 1869, he was injured in an accident at the quarry. He died on 2nd March 1869 as a result of his injuries. He left a wife and 9 children. It was reported that

Since the accident, the poor woman has gone out of her mind

Baron, Mr
[1???-1???] A member of the Baron family of Higher Allescholes Farm, Walsden.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) James; (2) Thomas

Baron Savile of Eland

Baron Somerleyton

Baron, Rev Thomas
[17??-18??] He served at Walkerfold [1879] and Forton [1882] before becoming Minister at Moor End Congregational Church [1885]. He resigned in August 1903

Baron, Thomas
[17??-18??] Son of Mr Baron.

He never married, but had 2 illegitimate daughters Peggy Greenwood and Mary Kershaw.

After the death of his brother James, he married Hannah Fielden, James's partner

Baron, Thomas
[18??-19??] He lived at Barsey Green, Barkisland.

The area was known as Tommy Baron's

Baron, William
[1790-1873] Or Barron.

Born in Barkisland.

He was a farmer [1841, 1851]; a farmer of 35 acres [1861].

He married Hannah [1801-1858] from Soyland.

Children: (1) James; (2) Mary [b 1827]; (3) William; (4) John [b 1833] who was a farm labourer [1851]; (5) Fanny [b 1835].

The family lived at Firth House, Barkisland [1841, 1851, 1861].

Living with them in 1851, was their granddaughter Menimeo [aged 8], and William's brother John [aged 48] (unmarried landed proprietor).

Living with them in 1861, was their granddaughter Sarah [aged 10].

In 1871, William was living with his son, William

Baronet Akroyd of Lightcliffe
Created on 16th June 1920.

Baronet of Kirklees
The title is held by members of the Armytage family

Barowecloghbrigg
See Barrowclough Bridge and Dumb Mill Bridge

Barr, Fulton Cunningham
[1894-1917] Son of Matthew Barr of 12 Maitland Street, Walsden.

Born at Beith, Perthshire.

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Northumberland Fusiliers.

He died 10th May 1917 (aged 23).

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial [2 & 3] and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Barr House, Barkisland
Recorded in 1851 next to Barkisland Grammar School.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Joseph Lister [1851]

Barr, Joan of
[12??-13??] Aka Joanna or Joan Barr. Daughter of Henry, Count of Barr, and Eleanor, eldest daughter of Edward I.

In 1306, she married John, the 8th Earl. The marriage was without issue and both parties sued for divorce

Barr, Matthew
[18??-19??] He married Unknown.

Children: Fulton.

The family lived at 12 Maitland Street, Walsden [1917]

Barr, William
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the King's Own Yorkshire Light Infantry.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Barrack Castle, Illingworth
A row of 3 or 4 cottages where a small detachment of soldiers were billetted during the 1745 Rebellion. Recorded in the 19th century

Barrack Farm, Illingworth

Barrack Tavern Lodge, Halifax
A lodging house formerly the Barrack Tavern, Halifax.

In July 1884, Alfred Hinchliffe was summoned for harbouring known thieves, and for allowing the sexes to sleep together indiscriminately in his house. Chief Constable Pole said that reputed and convicted thieves had been in the habit of lodging in this house for some time

Barracks
In 1819, a warehouse at Ward's End belonging to a Mr Taylor was converted into a barracks. This was one of the measures against the radicalism of the early 19th century.

In 1845, the Halifax Infirmary & Dispensary was used as a barracks. In 1851, there were 98 soldiers.

See Arden Road Barracks, Salvation Army Barracks, Halifax and Wellesley Barracks

Barraclough...
The entries for people with the surname Barraclough are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Barraclough
Other forms of the surname include Barrow, Barrowcliff and Barrowclough.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

The recorded in 1297.

May be derived from Old English bear [a pasture or grove] and clough [a valley], the whole meaning a valley with a grove.

There are currently around 43 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Barraclough. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Barraclough family of Halifax
Richard Barraclough was an early member of the family.

The family is discussed in the book Yorkshire Pedigrees

Barraclough & Highley
Woollen manufacturers of Southowram [1835-1868]

Barraclough Brothers
Engineering company in Brighouse.

See Miles Sharp

Barraclough's: H. & S. Barraclough
Music sellers, stationers, repairers and retailers of musical instruments. Recorded in 1869, when they were at West End, Sowerby Bridge

Barraclough's: William Barraclough & Sons
Woollen manufacturers at Boys Mill, Halifax [1874]

Barran
Other forms of the surname include Barrand and Barrans

Barrand
A variant of the surname Barran

Barrand, James
[17??-18??] Of Warley.

He was a (wool) comber [1808].

On 15th May 1808, he married Ruth Pickles of Warley

Barrand, William
[18??-18??] Alias Jim Long. A worker in the abattoir.

On Thursday, 27th January 1853, bets were placed on his going from Halifax to Sowerby Bridge, and back, a total distance of about 5 miles, in the space of an hour and a half, carrying a load of beef weighing 9 stones [144 lbs]. He won the wager, £10, and completed the feat in 1 hour and 20 minutes

Barrans
A variant of the surname Barran

Barrass, Henry
[1829-1894] Son of Mary and Joseph Barrass of Holbeck, Leeds.

Born in Holbeck.

He was a spinner [1851]; a railway servant [1861]; a railway porter [1871]; a labourer in iron works [1881]; an iron dresser in foundry [1891].

In 1854, he married (1) Hannah Robshaw [1830-1883] from Wakefield, in Leeds.

Children: (1) Mary Ann Easter [1857-1915] who married George Dyson; (2) Ann Elizabeth [b 1860]; (3) John Henry [b 1863] who was a carpenter's apprentice [1881].

In 1885, he married (2) Sarah Maria Priestley [1837-1???] from Bradley, Huddersfield, in Halifax.

The family lived at Daisy Croft, Hipperholme cum Brighouse [1861]; Lower Newlands, Rastrick [1871, 1881]; 22 Briggate, Brighouse [1891]; 6 Clifton Road, Brighouse [1901].

Living with the widowed Sarah (grocer) in 1901 was her sister Ruth Cookson [aged 61] and brother-in-law James Cookson [aged 60] (a fried fish dealer).

Members of the family were buried at Brighouse Cemetery

Barratt, Abraham
[16??-17??] He lived at Limed House, Shibden.

He married Unknown.

Children: Peter [b 1704]

Barratt, Charles
[18??-19??] LLB.

Halifax solicitor with Halifax Corporation [1934].

He qualified in June 1931

Barratt's: W. Barratt & Company Limited
Boot and shoe maker and dealer at 3 Corn Market, Halifax [1936]

Barratt, William
[1808-1858] He was a clogger; landlord of the King's Arms, Sowerby [1847-1858].

On 7th May 1832, he married Hannah Naylor at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Sarah Ann [1832-1833]; (2) Mary Ann / Mary Hannah [1833-1873]; (3) Ellen [1835-1893]; (4) Charles [1838-1888]; (5) Hannah [1845-1878].

William died 14th December 1858.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £100 to Hannah.

After his death, Hannah took over at the pub [1861]

Barre, Chevalier Anthony Balasconi de la
[1805-1869] Or Bernusconi.

Born in Switzerland. He lived at John Street, Halifax. He was a surgeon dentist.

In 1858, he established an engineering business in Well Lane, Halifax. He patented and manufactured several inventions, including cylindrical fulling machines and steam presses.

He married Susannah [b 1817].

The couple lived at 112 New Bond Street, London [1861]

Barret, Edward
[17??-18??] Hatter in [1792-96]

Barrett
[Surname]

There are currently around 32 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Barrett. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Barrett & Company
34-36 Winding Road, Halifax. Engineering company and hardware merchants founded in 1860.

The business was taken over in 1895, when Allan Haigh founded Allan Haigh & Company Limited

Barrett, C.
[18??-18??] Miller at Halifax.

In November 1868, he was declared bankrupt

Barrett, Charles
[18??-19??] Of 18 Rochdale Road, Triangle.

He sustained a cut face in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907, and was detained at Halifax Infirmary

Barrett, Charlie
[18??-191?] Of Sowerby.

During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Barrett, Rev Edward
[19??-] He was vicar of parishes at Darwen and Blackburn before becoming Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1953-1967]. He was also part-time chaplain at Halifax General Hospital. In 1967, he was appointed vicar of Copp with Great Eccleston, near Blackpool

Barrett, Frederick
[1862-1???] Born in Elland

He was an engine tenter [1890].

On 7th June 1897, he married Ann Halstead in Sowerby.


Ann was the daughter of
George Halstead
 

Children: Harry [b 1898]

Barrett, George
[18??-19??] Brother of Wilson Barrett. Halifax comic actor. He appeared at the Theatre Royal, Halifax

Barrett, George
[18??-19??] Greengrocer of Triangle.

He was injured in the Pye Nest Tram Disaster of 15th October 1907

Barrett, J.
[18??-19??] Brassfounder at Halifax.

In April 1879, he was declared bankrupt

Barrett, James William
[1852-1940] Born in Sowerby.

He was a woollen spinner [1901].

On 21st September 1873, he married Charlotte Hellawell [1852-1914] at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) William; (2) Florence [b 1884] who was a dressmaker's apprentice [1901]; (3) Edgar [b 1893].

The family lived at 10 Dean Lane, Sowerby [1914].

Charlotte died at the Royal Halifax Infirmary [9th July 1914].

Probate records show that she left effects valued at £93.

Administration was granted to her husband James William

Barrett, James William
[1879-1962] Son of William Barrett.

Born in Sowerby.

He was a tram driver [1900]; a tram driver for Manchester Council [1904, 1911].

In [Q4] 1900, he married Janet Moore [1879-1937] in Halifax.


Janet was born in Sowerby
 

Children: (1) Edith Amy [1901-1989] who married Alexander Mathieson Pitchford; (2) Marjorie Elizabeth [b 1902]; (3) Roy [1904-1977].

The children were born in Sowerby.

Between 1904 & 1911, the family moved to Manchester.

The couple died in Manchester

Barrett, John
[1835-1911] Born in Colne, Lancashire.

He was a rural policeman in Wakefield [1861]; a police sergeant [1871]; a police sergeant at Todmorden Police Station [1881, 1891]; a pension police sergeant [1901].

He married Amelia [1837-1908] from Norwich.

Children: (1) Alfred William [b 1858] who was a worsted spinner & scholar [1871], an apprentice joiner [1881]; (2) Elizabeth Ann [b 1860]; (3) Sarah E [b 1863]; (4) John [b 1865] who was a tinner [1881]; (5) Charles / Charlie [b 1871]; (6) Emily Jane [b 1876] who married [1896] Stansfield Crowther at Fylde; (7) Frank W [b 1878] who was a slipper maker [1891]; (8) Annie [b 1881].

The family lived at Alverthorpe, Wakefield [1861]; Apple House Terrace, Warley [1871]; Police Station, Raglan Street, Stansfield [1881]; Police Station, Vale Street, Stansfield [1891]; 18 Vance Road, Blackpool [1901].

Living with them in 1871 was niece Amelia Seman [aged 18] (worsted spinner).

Living with them in 1901 were daughter Emily Jane Crowther, grandson Charles Begbie Crowther [aged 4] and granddaughter Clarice Annie Crowther [aged 2].

John died at Blackpool

Barrett, John
[1841-1899] Son of Thomas Barrett.

Born in Northowram.

He was a wool sorter [1875].

Around 1875, he married Mary Ann [1849-1899]


Mary Ann was born in Scarborough
 

Children: (1) William [1876-1892] ; (2) John; (3) Hannah [b 1881]; (4) Harry [b 1883]; (5) Fred [b 1885].

The children were born in Boothtown and baptised All Souls' Church.

The couple died in Boothtown: John [12th April 1899]; Mary [16th May 1899]

They and other members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Barrett, John
[1879-1962] Son of John Barrett.

Born 5th April 1879.

In [Q2] 1901, he married Edna Wilkinson Foulds [1869-1941] in Halifax.


Edna was born in Ovenden, the daughter of Richard Foulds
 

The couple died in Halifax: Edna [21st September 1941]; John [29th November 1962]

Barrett, Jonas
[1795-1???] At the West Riding Sessions on 1st October 1839, he was charged with stealing a blanket and other articles, at Stansfield, the property of William Greenwood. He was sentenced to be transported to Van Diemen's Lane for 7 years. He was one of 322 convicts who left England on the Lord Lyndoch [7th September 1840]

Barrett, Joseph
[1???-18??] He married Mary Jackson


Mary was the daughter of
John Jackson
 

Mary died 11th June 1837.

She is buried with her parents. The grave lies in the yard of the Bridge End Sunday School, Rastrick

Barrett, Joseph
[17??-18??] Cotton spinner at Lower Swift Place Mill, Soyland [early 19th century]

Barrett, Joseph
[1854-19??] Born at White Kin Head, Soyland.

He was a cotton carder [1881]; a cotton under carder [1891]; publican at the Beehive, Soyland [1901, 1905]; school and chapel caretaker [1911].

In 1874, he married Elizabeth [1854-1???] from Dean Head, Scammonden.

Children: (1) William [b 1874] who was a stripper and grinder cotton [1891]; (2) Fred [b 1880] who was a cotton piecer [1891], a cotton spinner piecer [1901, 1911]; (3) Joe [b 1882] who was a cotton card room hand [1901], a cotton under carder [1911]; (4) George [b 1884] who was a cotton twiner piecer [1901], a cotton twiner [1911]; (5) Florence [b 1886] who was a cotton card room hand [1901], a cotton drawing frame tenter [1911]; (6) Crossley [b 1888] who was a cotton twiner reeler [1901], a cotton spinner piecer [1911]; (7) Lawton [b 1890] who was a cotton spinner piecer [1911]; (8) Newton [b 1893] who was a cotton spinner piecer [1911].

The family lived at 16 Commercial Terrace, Soyland [1881]; New Stones, Soyland, Ripponden [1891]; Smith Clough, Ripponden [1911]

Barrett, Midgley
[18??-19??] Landlord of the Pack Horse, Widdop [1913-1933].

He entertained the customers by recitation of the story of the Green Lady of Blake Dean

Barrett, Milford
[1???-18??] Corn miller at Old Lane Mill, Halifax.

In June 1839, he was declared bankrupt

Barrett, Milford
[18??-18??] Corn miller at Old Lane Mill, Halifax.

In June 1839, he was declared bankrupt

Barrett, Mr
[17??-18??] He married Elizabeth [1760-18??].

Children: (1) Charlotte [1787-1871] who married John Flather; (2) Ellen Barrett [1790-1876] who married William Mallinson.

He was dead by 1851

Barrett, Pliny
[1811-1881] Born in Rishworth. Son of Sally and John Barrett. Baptised in Ripponden on the 25th of December 1811.

He was a weaver [1841]; a barber & traveller in leather trade [1851]; a carpet shoe maker [1861]; a hair dresser & general dealer [1871]; a hairdresser and slipper maker (at 81 New Bank) [1874]; a barber & hair dresser [1881].

In 1840, he married Alice Radford [1811-1883] from Atherstone Warwickshire, in Halifax.

Children: (1) William [b 1840] who was a whitesmith [1861]; (2) Emma Frances [b 1845]; (3) Sarah Hannah [b 1849]; (4) Thomas Jones [b 1850] who was a bookkeeper at Industrial Society store [1871].

The family lived at Haley Hill Road Side, Northowram [1841]; 6 Bradford Road, Halifax [1851]; New Bank, Northowram [1861]; 81 New Bank, Northowram [1871]; 265 Queens Road, Halifax [1881]

Barrett, Richard
[1842-18??] Factory hand at Halifax.

On 4th April 1866, he was found guilty of unlawfully and maliciously wounding Dennis O'Brien at Halifax on the 5th February. The judge said

I should fail in my duty to the public if I did not inflict upon you the severest sentence which the law allows me. The sentence of the court is that you be imprisoned and kept to hard labour for two years. If the law would have allowed me I would have given you more

Barrett, Stephen Sykes
[1874-1937] Son of William H. Barrett.

Born in Rishworth.

He was a cotton piecer [1891]; a clerk at paper mill [1901]; a cashier at paper manufacturer [1911].

In 1903, he married Frances Ellen Mitchell [1882-19??] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Joseph Edwin [b 1904]; (2) Phyllis Mary [b 1906]; (3) Margaret Isabel [b 1908] who married [1935] Francis Vincent Everard from Edgbaston; (4) George Stephen [b 1911].

The family lived at 3 Surf Place, Ripponden [1911]; Ryburndale, Ripponden

Barrett, Thomas
[1811-1892] Born in Northowram

He was a tailor [1839].

On 24th Jun 1839, he married Mary Horner in Halifax.


Mary was the daughter of
Stephen Horner
 

Children: (1) Ann [b 1837]; (2) John; (3) Martha [b 1844]; (4) Sarah [b 1845]; (5) Hannah [1852-1871] ; (6) Mary [1854-1917] who married George Dawson Edgar Mercer.

The children were born in Northowram.

Mary died 1884.

Thomas died 18th June 1892

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Barrett, William
[17??-1???] He was a witness against the coiners

Barrett, William
[18??-191?] Of Sowerby.

During World War I, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on the World War I Memorial in Sowerby Church

Barrett, William
[1834-1873] He was landlord of the White Horse, Triangle [1870-1873].

In [Q3] 1862, he married Sarah Walsh [1841-1877] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary Ann [b 1865] who married Walter Walton; (2) Wright [b 1868] who was an indigo dyer's labourer [1901].

In 1911, Mary Ann, her husband Walter and her brother Wright emigrated to the USA, settling in Providence, Rhode Island.

William died 10th September 1873.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £200.

After his death, Sarah married Alfred Judson [1875]

Barrett, William
[1838-1897] Born in Warley / Soyland / Ripponden.

He was a beer seller [1871]; landlord of the William the 4th, Sowerby Bridge [1866, 1871, 1881, 1897].

On 17th December 1865, he married Eliza at Halifax Parish Church.


Eliza was the daughter of Mr Widdop, and the widow of William Greenwood
 

Children: (1) Annie [b 1866] who was a dress maker [1881]; (2) Jane [1869-1873].

The family lived at Wharf Street, Sowerby Bridge [1871, 1881].

William died 2nd April 1897.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £404 4/7d to stepson Henry Greenwood (pattern maker) and John William Whiteley Probate was granted to

Barrett, William
[1851-1909] Born in Sowerby.

He was a dyer.

On 1st January 1875, he married Mary Hannah Pickles in Halifax.


Mary Hannah was the daughter of
James Pickles
 

Children: (1) Mary Sophia [1876-1963] who married Francis Bolton; (2) James William; (3) Edith [b 1884].

The children were born in Sowerby

Barrett, William
[1881-1918] Son of James William Barrett.

Born in Norland.

On 15th December 1913, he married Elizabeth Ann Gregory [1876-19??] at Halifax Parish Church

They lived at New Longley, Norland.

During World War I, he enlisted in 1916, and served as a Private with the 1st/5th Battalion Durham Light Infantry.

He was killed in action [9th September 1918].

He was buried at the Gouzeaucourt New British Cemetery [I F 6].

He is remembered on Norland War Memorial

Barrett, William Henry
[1847-1919] Born in Sowerby.

He was a clogger [1871]; a master clog & pattern maker [1881]; a clogger [1891, 1901].

In 1870, he married Susan Whitworth [1848-1???] in Halifax.


Susan was born in Sowerby
 

Children: (1) John Wilfred [1874-1905] who was an iron moulder's apprentice [1891], a general labourer [1901]; (2) Walker [b 1876] who was an iron turner's apprentice [1891], an iron turner [1901]; (3) Mary [b 1878] who was a school teacher (assistant) [1901]; (4) Joseph William [b 1880].

The family lived at Dob Lane, Sowerby [1871]; Sowerby [1881]; Haigh Farm, Sowerby [1891, 1901].

Susan died 1895 [aged 44].

On 14th August 1905, the body of son John Wilfred was found in the canal at Sowerby Bridge

Barrett, William Hopkinson
[1831-1915] Born in Rishworth.

He was a cotton mill overlooker [1881]; a retired cotton mill manager [1891, 1901].

He married Mary [1832-1889] from Barkisland.

Children: (1) John William [b 1855]; (2) Mary E [b 1857]; (3) Joseph [b 1859]; (4) George [b 1861]; (5) Abigail [b 1862]; (6) Ann Elizabeth [b 1865]; (7) Martha Alice [b 1867]; (8) Edith Amelia [b 1869]; (9) Stephen Sykes; (10) Emily [b 1877].

The family lived at 1 Lower Swift Place, Soyland [1881]; Lower Swift Place, Soyland [1891]; 5 Bottoms, Soyland [1901]

Barrett, Wilson
[1836-1904] Brother of George Barrett. Actor.

As a boy, he lived in a house next to the White Horse, Southgate.

He laid the foundation stone for the Grand Theatre & Opera House [27th November 1888].

He laid the foundation stone for, and opened, the Grand Theatre & Opera House in 1889 with performances in Hamlet and two other plays.

His wife, Miss Heath, was an actress and had been a dramatic reader to Queen Victoria

Barrit Hill, Ripponden
Lane Head Road. Mid 18th century house

Barritt, Cyril
[1906-1943] During World War II, he served as a Bombardier with the 80 Anti-Tank Regiment of the Royal Artillery.

He died 13th January 1943 (aged 37).

He was buried in the Sai Wan War Cemetery [VI H 8].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Barritt, William
[1???-1862] He was a cow-jobber at Swallowshaw, Stansfield.

He fell down the stairs at the White Hart Inn, Todmorden, and died from the effects of the injuries

Barron's&58; A. J. Barron Limited
Fruit and vegetable merchants and wholesalers at the Piece Hall. Established by Alfred John Barron.

The business closed in the 1990s

Barron, Alfred John
[18??-1905] He established A. J. Barron.

In 1882, he married Lily Balme in Halifax.

The family lived at 11 Union Street South, Halifax [1905].

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1905

Barron & Lewin
Patent agents at Palatine Chambers, Halifax [1905, 1924].

Partners included C. A. Barron and F. Lewin. They were also at Huddersfield. After Barron died, the Halifax office closed, and Lewin became to sole owner

Barron, Aubrey
[19??-19??] Newsagent and tobacconist, Victoria Road, Bailiffe Bridge.

In the 50s and 60s, his business was in a small wooden hut which served the needs of the workers at T. F. Firth's.

The unusual feature of the shop's construction was that it was supported on tall stone or steel columns at the back of the property, and it overhung the beck, some 12 feet below

Barron, Charles Aspinall
[1862-19??] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a commercial agent [1881]; an accountant & auditor [1891]; a public accountant [1901]; (possibly) partner in Barron & Lewin [1905].

In [Q3] 1884, he married Sarah Elizabeth Smith from Branston, Northamptonshire, in Northampton.

Children: (1) May [b 1885]; (2) Hilda Mary [b 1888]; (3) Ethel Marion [b 1889]; (4) Donald Kenyon [b 1891].

The family lived at Ordsall, Nottinghamshire [1881]; West Bank, Sowerby Bridge [1891]; 15 Walker Lane, Sowerby Bridge [1901].

The family emigrated to Australia [20th October 1910]

Barron, James
[1823-1890] Son of William Baron.

Born in Barkisland/Soyland.

He was a farmer of 6 acres [1861]; a farmer of 20 acres [1871]; a farmer of 18 acres [1881].

In 1852, he married Sarah Priestley [1831-1???] from Barkisland, in Halifax.

Children: (1) William [b 1854] who was an engine tenter [1881]; (2) Elizabeth [b 1855]; (3) John [b 1857]; (4) Priestley; (5) Hannah [b 1860]; (6) Mary [b 1862]; (7) Emily [b 1863]; (8) Sarah [b 1865]; (9) James [b 1868] who was a joiner's labourer [1891]; (10) Allen [b 1873] who was a woollen feeder [1891].

The family lived at 20 Dyson Lane, Soyland [1861]; Midgley Farm, Barkisland [1871]; East Longley, Norland [1881]; Spring Cottage, Harper Royd, Norland [1891]

Barron, John
[17??-17??] He married Unknown.

Children: Elizabeth [1741-1804] who married Rev Thomas Falcon.

The family lived at Firth House, Barkisland

Barron, John
[18??-1???] Partner with John Crowther

Barron, John
[1857-1891] He was paper maker of Penny Hill [1887].

He married Kate [1857-1???].


Kate was born in Waterford, Ireland
 

Children: (1) Arthur [b 1885] who was a worsted twisting overlooker [1891, 1901]; (2) Thomas; (3) John [b 1891] who was an assistant overlooker [1911].


The widowed Kate was a charwoman [1891], a general servant (domestic) [1901] and a charwoman in grocer's shop [1911]
 

The family lived at 11 Dearnleys Yard, Wakefield Road, Sowerby Bridge [1891, 1901]; 15 Bradley Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1911]

Living with the family in 1891 was Joe Pollard [aged 19] (woollen spinner) 

Barron, Priestley
[1858-1???] Son of James Barron.

Born in Soyland.

He was a cotton spinner [1871]; a railway plate layer (boarder in Todmorden) [1881]; a railway platelayer [1891]; a line man (L & Y Rly) [1901]; a walking ganger Pernant Way (L & Y Rly) [1911].

In 1881, he married Ann Bailey [1857-1???] from Golcar, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Iris [b 1884] who married [1908] Ernest Kaye [1885-19??]; (2) Francis [b 1886]; (3) Evelyn [b 1888]; (4) Ada Annie [b 1890]; (5) Lillian [b 1896].

The family lived at 2 Snake Hill, North Bierley [1891]; Vickermans Buildings, Wooldale, Holmfirth [1901]

In 1911, the family were living with son-in-law Ernest Kaye at Thongsbridge, Huddersfield

Barron, Thomas
[1886-1914] Son of John Barron

Born in Barkisland [22nd May 1886].

Baptised at Christ Church, Barkisland [1887].

He was a cotton spinner piecer [1891, 1901]; a general labourer [1911].

He married Lilian Maud.

They lived at 8 Bradley Terrace, Sowerby Bridge [1911]; 23 Claremont Street, Sowerby Bridge [1914]

During World War I, he served as a Stoker 1st Class on the HMS Good Hope.

He died 1st November 1914 (aged 28).

He is remembered on the Portsmouth Naval Memorial

Barron, Walter
[1855-1924] Born in Halifax.

He was a joiner [1876].

On 14th August 1876, he married Jane Howarth [1855-1902] in Halifax.


Jane was born in Sowerby
 

Children: Willie Douglas.

The family lived at 10 Bayswater Terrace, Skircoat Green [1911].

Jane died 7th June 1902 (aged 48).

Walter died 26th August 1924 (aged 68) 

The couple were buried at St Stephen's, Copley. Son Willie is remembered on his parents' headstone.

Barron, William
[1831-1913] Son of William Baron.

Born in Soyland.

He was a carpenter [1851, 1861]; a farmer of 12 acres [1871]; a joiner & farmer 11 acres [1881]; a joiner & farmer [1891]; a carpenter & builder [1901]; a retired jobbing joiner [1911].

In 1858, he married Hannah Shaw [1836-1880] from Barkisland, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Elizabeth Ann [b 1859]; (2) John William [b 1861]; (3) James [b 1863]; (4) Emma [b 1865]; (5) Henry [b 1868]; (6) David [b 1870] who was a woollen fettler [1901]; (7) Sarah [b 1873]; (8) Hannah [b 1875]; (9) Alice [b 1878]; (10) Fred [b 1880].

The family lived at Lower Hay House, Lower Nook End, Barkisland [1861], Wood Head, Barkisland [1871], Lower Woodhead, Barkisland [1881], Bank Royd Farm, Saddleworth Road, Barkisland [1891], Lane End, Barkisland [1901], and Three Hovels, Barkisland [1911].

Living with them in 1871 were William's father William, and Thomas Barron [aged 9].

Living with the family in 1881, was nephew Thomas Barron [aged 19] (cotton piecer) 

Barron, Willie Douglas
[1894-1917] Known as Douglas.

Son of Walter Barron

Born in Halifax.

He was an assistant overlooker at J Hoyle & Sons [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [18th May 1915] and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to France [9th January 1917].

He was killed in action in Bullecourt [3rd May 1917].

He was buried at the Ecoust Military Cemetery, Ecoust-St. Mien [II A 22]. He is remembered on his parents' grave at St Stephen's, Copley and on the War Memorial there

Barrow
A variant of the surname Barraclough

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Barrow, Rev Arthur Edmund John Burton
[1878-19??] Born in Staveley, Derbyshire.

He was Curate at Halifax [1911] and Vicar of St Mary's Church, Lister Lane [1912].

In 1908, he married Dorothy Kitty St Clair Feilden [1883-19??] from Shepperton, at St George's Church, Hanover Square, London.

Children: John Christopher Henry [b 1910].

The family lived at 22 Clare Road, Halifax [1911]

Barrow, Michael
[15??-16??] He lived at Fields Farm, Norland and Fallingworth Hall, Norland

Barrowby, John Mainprice
[1806-1876] Born in Hull.

He was Master at Dr Hall's School, Boothtown for 45 years [1831, 1865].

On 15th April 1837, he married Elizabeth Seed [1817-1879] at Birstall.

Children: (1) John [b 1838] who was an Assistant master in Grammar School BA (Cantab) [1861]; (2) Eliza Jane [1841-1863]; (3) Mary Helena [1850-1876] who assisted in the school [1871]; (4) Charles E [b 1853].

The family lived at School House, Northowram [1841]; 5 Hall Street, Northowram [1871].

In 1881, their sons were living in Hayfield, Derbyshire.

Members of the family were buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Barrowcliff
A variant of the surname Barraclough

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Barrowclough
A variant of the surname Barraclough

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 5 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Barrowclough. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Barrowclough Bridge
As Barowecloghbrigg, this was the 15th century name for Dumb Mill Bridge

Barrowclough, Christopher
[1???-1545] Of Hipperholme.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Humphrey [Vmfraye]; (2) John; (3) Isabell; (4) Agnes.

His will is recorded in Volume 2 [1545-1559] of E. W. Crossley's book Halifax Wills

Barrowclough, Jonathan
[17??-1???] Coiner

Barrowclough, Joseph
[1???-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was a lock and key manufacturer at Swine Market, Halifax

Barrowclough, Richard
[15??-16??] Wealthy landowner who paid £13 6/8d in composition fines

Barrowclough, Samuel
[17??-1???] He was a travelling preacher in the Methodist New Connexion before becoming Minister at Stainland Chapel [1789]

Barry, Sir Charles
[1795-1860] British architect who designed Halifax Town Hall – his last great work – and many other buildings including the Shaw Lodge mills of John Holdsworth & Company Ltd, the terrace at West View Park War Memorial, Cliveden House, Buckinghamshire, the Houses of Parliament with Pugin [1852], Pentonville Prison, the Reform Club in Pall Mall, and Trafalgar Square fountains. Barry died before seeing the completed Town Hall (or the Houses of Parliament), and his son – Edward Middleton Barry – completed the Halifax building and added a mansard roof

Barry, Edward Middleton
[1830-1880] Son of Sir Charles Barry.

He completed Halifax Town Hall after his father's death in 1860

Barry, John Shafte
[1862-1???] MA.

Born in Allahabad, India.

He was Curate at Lightcliffe [1890].

In 1891, he was a boarder with the widowed Mrs Hannah Wass at Osborne Grove, Lightcliffe

Barry, Thomas
[1843-1890] Born in Ireland.

He was a carpet finisher [1871]; a carpet finisher (unemployed) [1881].

In 1861, he married Mary Kelly [1842-19??] from Mayo, Ireland in Halifax.

Children: (1) John T [b 1866] who was a brass moulder (unemployed) [1881]; (2) Mary Ellen [b 1870].

The family lived at 7 Chapel Fold, Halifax [1871]; 47 Winding Road, Halifax [1881]; 8 King Street, Halifax [1891, 1901, 1903].

Living with them in 1871 were several lodgers, including Thomas Barry [aged 60] (shoemaker, born in Ireland).

Living with them in 1881 were 36 lodgers.

Mary was widowed by 1891.

She was a lodging house keeper at 8 King Street with 6 lodgers including Mary Kelly [aged 76] (relative, widow, hawker born in Ireland) and Martin Kelly [aged 40] (stone mason's labourer born in Ireland) [1891].

Living with her in 1901 were lodgers: Edward O Barry [aged 53] (mason born in Ireland), Bridget Gludey [aged 75] (born in Ireland), and Mary J Wilburn [aged 38] (born in Manchester).

She was a worsted weaver factory hand [1901].

She was a lodging house keeper at 8 King Street with 8 lodgers [1903]

Barsby, Frances Eliza
[1880-1907] Daughter of Thomas Barsby.

She and her sister Priscilla were partners in P. & F. E. Barsby.

She was buried at Unitarian Church, Todmorden with the rest of her family. The epitaph records that she was

of West End House

Barsby's: P. & F. E. Barsby
Established by Priscilla Barsby and Frances Eliza Barsby. Costumiers, dressmakers and general and fancy drapers at West End House, Patmos, Todmorden [1913]. Their advertisement described the business as
The oldest baby linen shop in the town

Barsby, Priscilla
[1870-1926] Daughter of Thomas Barsby.

She and her sister Frances Eliza were partners in P. & F. E. Barsby.

She was buried at Unitarian Church, Todmorden with the rest of her family

Barsby, Thomas
[1845-1924] Born in Leicester.

He was a cabinet maker [1871, 1881, 1891, 1901]. He was retired by 1901.

In 1869, he married Emma Louisa Greenwood [1843-1926] from Langfield, in Todmorden.

Children: (1) Priscilla; (2) Frances Eliza. The daughters became drapers, dressmakers and milliners and partners in P. & F. E. Barsby.

The family lived at Willow Bank or Cross Bank, Stansfield, Todmorden [1871]; 13 Union Street, Langfield, Todmorden [1881, 1891]; 26 Burnley Road, Todmorden [1901, 1911]

Living with them in 1871, 1881, 1891 was an aunt Eliza Fielden [aged 59] (born in Sheffield).

Members of the family were buried at Unitarian Church, Todmorden

Barsdorf, Solomon
[1823-1???] Born in Mecklenburg, Strelity.

He was a worsted stuff manufacturer employing 35 men & 50 women [1861]; a worsted manufacturer [1871].

In 1854, he married (1) Martha Knowles [1828-1865] from Denholme Gate, in Bradford.

Children: (1) George Isart [1857]; (2) Ellen [b 1861]; (3) Henry [b 1862].

In 1867, he married (2) Ellen Frank [1842-1???] from Manchester, in Chorlton.

Children: (4) Philip [b 1868] who was in the export yarn trade [1901], a yarn merchant [1911]; (5) Lewis [b 1869]; (6) Alice [1870-1887]; (7) Ernest [b 1872] who was a ventilating engineer [1901, 1911]; (8) Walter [b 1875] who was a managing clerk (ventilating works) [1911]; (9) Mabel [b 1878].

The family lived at Horton Villa, Little Horton Lane, Horton, Bradford [1861]; Mannville, Horton, Bradford [1871]; 1 Perth Villas, Lightcliffe [1891, 1901, 1911].

Living with them in 1871 was Hedwig Lehmann [aged 22] (Governess born in Germany).

Only the children appear on the 1891 census

Ellen was widowed by 1901

Barsey Green, Barkisland
Farmhouse. It was a part of the Lightcliffe Royd estate. In the early 20th century, it was occupied by Thomas Baron

Barsland
Alternative spelling of Barkisland

Barstow
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 8 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Barstow. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Barstow, Agnes
[1558-1591] Daughter of Richard Barstow. Baptised 5th February 1558.

She married William Lum.

She died in February 1591

Barstow, Charles
[1804-1879] Born in Wakefield.

He was a solicitor in Halifax [1841]; a solicitor at 6 Southgate [1829, 1834]; attorney at Barum Top, Halifax [1850]; Clerk to the Board of Guardians [from the formation in 1836 until his death]; Superintendent Registrar [1850]; Clerk to the Sowerby Bridge Local Board [from the formation in 1856]; Clerk to the Union Education Committee; Parishioners' warden at Halifax Parish Church; Superintendent Registrar for the district; Clerk to the Assessment Committee of the Rural Sanitary Authority

He married Eliza [1806-1???] from Manchester.

Children: (1) William; (2) Charles [b 1840] who was a commission merchant [1871], a commission agent (oil) [1881].

The family lived at Harrison Road, Halifax [1841], Barum Top, Halifax [1851], 6 Savile Terrace, Halifax [1871], and 30 Prescott Street, Halifax [1881]

Living with them in 1841 was Lucy Burton Bennett [aged 60]

Barstow, George
[1???-18??] He was first Clerk at the Halifax Workhouse [1837-1877]

Barstow, Rev Jeremiah
[1670-1731] Or Bairstow. Minister of Elland Unitarian Chapel [1699-1731], or Elland [1721].

In 1721, he married a widow, Mrs Clay from Northowram, at Coley.

He was buried in Elland churchyard

Barstow, Joseph
[1805-1???] Of Southowram.

In December 1831, he married Eliza Bowne at Higher Bradfield

Barstow, Michael
[1601-1676] Of Halifax.

Baptised January 1601.

On 15th February 1624, he married (1) Grace Halstead [1597-1633] from Halifax.

In 1634, he married (2) Mercy [1605-1640] from Halifax. She emigrated to America with her husband and died in Massachusetts.

In April 1642, he married (3) Grace Walker [1599-1671] from Norwich, England, and widow of Richard Carver, in Massachusetts.

He died in Massachusetts

Barstow, Midgley & Lord
Legal firm at Equitable Chambers, Halifax. Recorded in 1662

See William Henry Lord

Barstow, Richard
[1520-1571] Of Halifax.

On 13th June 1547, he married Margaret, widow of Richard Saltonstall.


Margaret was the widow of Richard Saltonstall
 

Children: (1) Lawrence [bapt 1548]; (2) Margaret [bapt 1551]; (3) Edward [bapt 1552]; (4) John [1553-1561]; (5) Sibella [bapt 1554]; (6) Agnes; (7) Richard [he was baptised in 1560 and died before 1565]; (8) Michael [bapt 1562]; (9) Edward [bapt 1563]; (10) Richard [bapt 1565]; (11) Thomas [bapt 1567]

Barstow, William
[1830-1901] JPVD.

Son of Charles Barstow.

He was a solicitor & articled clerk  [1851]; Deputy Coroner at 21 Cheapside, Halifax; Coroner for the West Riding of Yorkshire and Honor of Pontefract; a coroner for the County of York [1881]; promoted from Ensign to Lieutenant of the 4th Yorkshire West Riding Rifle Volunteers [10th May 1861]; Hon Major of the 1st Volunteer Battalion Duke of Wellington's West Riding Regiment

In 1886, he married Mary Ann Smith [1848-1???] in Whitby.


Mary Ann came from Melbourne, Australia
 

He lived at Waterloo Villas [1874], 30 Prescott Street [1881], and 1 Heath Avenue, Halifax.

He died 4th March 1901

Bartey, Charles
[1853-1903] In April 1903, he was travelling down Ovenden Road in his horse-drawn wagon. The wagon was said to be travelling at great speed when he fell off. He was taken to the Ovenden Cross, Ovenden but died shortly afterwards

Bartham, Rev W. E. M. A.
[18??-19??] Vicar of Luddenden [1909]. In August 1926, he resigned and retired to Llwyngwril, Merioneth

Bartle, Ike
[18??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1906]. He won caps for England while at Halifax

Bartle, James
[17??-18??] Minister at Steep Lane Baptist Church, Sowerby [1779-1784]

Bartle, John
[16??-17??] From Northowram.

He married Hannah Northend


Hannah was the daughter of
Joseph Northend
 

Bartlett, Rev John
[1829-1???] Born in Portsea, Hampshire.

He trained at New College, London and served as an Independent minister of Angel Chapel, Worcester [1861] before becoming First Minister at Park Congregational Church, Halifax [1870].

He married Mary [1830-1???] from Salisbury.

They lived at 25 Foregate Street, Worcester [1861]; 3 Park Terrace, Halifax [1871]; Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1874]; 14 Oxford Street, Nottingham [1881].

He moved to Nottingham [1875] and to London [1883]

Bartley, Dennis
[1919-1939] Son of Annie [née Miles] and Thomas Bartley.

Born in Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Lance Bombardier with the 270 Battery 68 Anti-Tank Regiment Royal Artillery.

He died 14th September 1939.

He was buried at St Paul's Church, Cross Stone.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Barton, Albert
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served as a Private.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Barton, Rev Charles Hairby
[1849-19??] Son of Elizabeth Baccus [née 1819-1875] and Septimus William Barton 1887-19??, a chemist.

Born at Trafford Park [1847].

He was a clerk in a cotton warehouse in Stretford; vicar of Waterhouses, Durham [1881]. before becoming Vicar of St Mary's Church, Sowerby [1891, 1892].

He was vicar at Harbledown, Bridge, Kent [1901].

On 7th October 1880, he married Isabella Gilmour MacKeith [1858-1909] at St Mary's Episcopal Church, Glasgow.


Isabella was born in Buchlyvie, Kippen, Stirlingshire, the daughter of Margaret [née Mcghie] [1832-1909] and William Mackeith [1816-1872]
 

They lived at Newhouse Cottages, Lanchester, Durham [1881]; St Mary's Vicarage, Saw Hill, Sowerby [1891]; The Rectory, Harbledown, Bridge, Kent [1901].

Isabella died at Bridge, Kent [26th January 1909].

Charles died in Canterbury, Kent [30th September 1930]

Barton's: J. & J. Barton
Builders at Brighouse. Partners included John Barton Snr and John Barton Jnr.

The partnership was dissolved in May 1864

Barton, John
[1821-1???] Born in Cartmel, Lancashire.

He was a builder (employing 6 men) [1851]; a builder (employing 8 men) [1861]; a partner with son John in J. & J. Barton [until 1864]; a builder [1871].

In 1841, he married Lydia Davies [1817-1???] from Liverpool, in Liverpool.

Children: (1) John; (2) George Edward [b 1853] who was an architect's apprentice [1871]; (3) Emily Lydia [b 1856].

The family lived at Windhill, Idle, Bradford [1851]; Waring Green, Hipperholme cum Brighouse [1861]; 16 Bradford Road, Hipperholme cum Brighouse [1871]

Barton, John
[1843-1???] Son of John Barton.

Born in Wood Church, Cheshire.

He and his father were partners in J. & J. Barton

Barum
An open sewer which ran through Barum Top and Crown Street, Halifax in the 19th century

Barum House, Halifax
House built at Harrison Road / Barum Top in 1???.

Owners and tenants have included

It was demolished [??] in 1877 to widen Bull Close Lane.

It was demolished in 1938

See Barum Top

Barum Top, Halifax
House.

Rowland Ramsden lived and practised here.

Samuel Stead lived here.

Robert Parker bought the house from Stead and lived here from 1838 to 1847.

See Barum House, Halifax

Barum Top, Halifax

Barwood
Are between Friendly and Luddendenfoot

Bascomb, A.
[1876-1???] In 1886, the 10-year-old boy was awarded the Bronze Medal of the Royal Humane Society for saving the life of T. H. Farrar at Hebden Bridge on 26th July 1886

Basin Stone, Todmorden
Natural rocky outcrop on Langfield Common above Todmorden with a large rocking-stone. The stone was used by itinerant preachers.

In 1842, A. W. Bayes painted a Chartist meeting which was held here when Ben Rushton addressed the crowd. The painting hangs in the Mayor's parlour at Todmorden Town Hall

The Hudsonites held their annual meetings here on Spaw Sunday

Baskervile, John
[16??-16??] Curate at Rastrick [1666]

Baskerville, Edward
[16??-17??] A Midgley clothier.

He owned Lacey Hey Farm, Midgley [1699]

The Basket-Maker's Shop: Shibden Hall
This is in the Folk Museum at Shibden Hall. There are examples of tools and equipment which was used in basket-making and the production of baskets and chairs

Bassett, Arthur
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1939-1946]. He won caps for Wales and for Great Britain while at Halifax, and, in 1946 against Australia

Bassinder
A variant of the surname Baxendale

Bassingdale
A variant of the surname Baxendale

Basstoe
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Baster
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Bastey
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Bastide, David
[1835-1913] Son of Lewis Bastide.

Born in Elland.

He was a pupil teacher at a National School in Elland [1851]; a schoolmaster [1861, 1871, 1881]; a certificated school master [1891]; a retired schoolmaster [1901, 1911].

In 1857, he married Emma Rhodes [1833-1915] from Halifax, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Emmeline Elizabeth [b 1861]; (2) Annie [b 1862] who was a teacher of music & painting [1901]; (3) Harry; (4) Rhoda [b 1868]; who was a dress maker [1891]; (5) Florence [b 1869] who was a teacher in voluntary school [1901]; (6) Arthur [b 1870] who was a solicitor [1901]; (7) Ernest [b 1875] who was a chemist's apprentice [1891].

The family lived at All Saints School House, Dudwell, Skircoat [1861], Dudwell Lane, Skircoat, Halifax [1871], Land? Post Office Yard, Elland with Greetland [1881], and 100 Southgate, Elland [1891, 1901, 1911]

Bastide, H.
[18??-19??] Established Rawroyds Mill Company at Elland

Bastide's: H. Bastide & Company
Legal firm at Albany Chambers, Halifax [1905]. Partners included Harry Bastide

Bastide, Harry
[1866-1944] Son of David Bastide.

Born in Salterhebble, Halifax.

He was educated at Rishworth Grammar School [1881] He qualified as a solicitor in May 1888. He was a solicitor [1891, 1934]; partner in H. Bastide & Company.

In 1890, he married Mary Elizabeth Ford [1865-1917] from Chapel-en-le-Frith, Derbyshire, in Chapel-en-le-Frith.

Children: (1) Ernest Percival [b 1895]; (2) Norman Ford [b 1897]; (3) Winifred Mary [b 1901]; (4) Hilda Annie [b 1903].

The family lived at 16 Victoria Road, Elland [1891]; 24 Victoria Road, Elland [1901]; Strathlea, Victoria Road, Elland [1911]

Bastide, Lewis
[1804-1866] Born in Leeds.

He was a weaver [1841]; a hand loom weaver (woollen) journey man [1851]; a woollen hand loom weaver [1861].

On 29th May 1825, he married Elizabeth Chadwick [1806-1855] from Southowram, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1831]; (2) David; (3) William Lewis [b 1838].

The family lived at Eastgate, Elland with Greetland [1841]; Quebec Street, Elland [1851, 1861]

Bastow
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Bastow, Dr
[1794-18??] In 1807, he started work as a stable-boy for a Halifax surgeon.

He then trained as a card maker with John Goldthorp.

In 1815, he was a journeyman.

In March 1820, he entered the army, and was discharged after 2 months.

He later set up business as an apothecary.

In 1822, he went on trial for practising as an apothecary in Halifax without having qualified or being licensed. He was fined £20

Bastow, Rev Jonathan
[18??-18??] From Madison College, USA. Minister at Trinity Road Baptist Church, Halifax [May 1862]. He served for a few months

Bate, Rev Alexander
[15??-1674] Of Chelford, Cheshire. He became Curate at Lightcliffe [1661-1673].

Heywood includes him in his list of the great number of wretched drunken preachers at Lightcliffe.

He was the second husband of Mary Northend, Mrs Holdsworth.

He lived at - and owned – various properties in the district, including Cromwellbottom Hall, Crow Nest Mansion, Giles House and Siddal Hall. He also owned land in Cheshire

Bateain, Northowram

Batehayne, Northowram
Property owned by Thomas Fourness [1480]. On his death, the property passed to the owners of the Manor of Shelf Hall

In 1655, the Halliday family leased the property from the Dearden family.

The Hallidays found clay here and established a pottery. The will of Richard Halliday [1778] mentions coal mines here.

In 1872, Tom, son of Isaac Halliday gave up the lease on the property.

The name may be from Old Norse words bait and hegn, meaning pasture enclosure and has other forms including Bate End, Batehaynes, Baitehayne, Baint Hame, and Bateain.

See Ebenezer Redman

Bateman & Shaw
Carpet manufacturers at Berry Lane, Halifax [1816]. Partners included Joseph Bateman

Bateman, Ann
[1828-1910] Daughter of Joshua Bateman.

Born 22nd September 1828.

Baptised at Cleckheaton [7th November 1830].

In 1858, she married George Earnshaw.

They had no children.

In every census after 1861, Ann is visiting relations in Ovenden & Laneshawbridge, Colne. By 1891, she is living with sister Hannah at Clifton House, Halifax. She continues living there after Hannah's death, by which time Hannah's eldest child Richard is head of the household. She is still there in 1901 living with Richard.


Perhaps the Earnshaw couple didn't get on and the various visits were prolonged!
 

She died 6th April 1910.

She was buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden in the Hodgson grave along with nephew William [her sister Hannah's 2nd son] & his wife Louisa Hodgson & other members of the family. She is not buried with her husband

Bateman, Anthony Collins
[1835-1895] Son of Joshua Bateman.

Born 19th June 1835.

Baptised at Birstal Chapel, Cleckheaton [26th July 1835]

He was a tea and hop merchant.

On 18th June 1861, he married Sarah Ann Catlow.


Sarah Ann is mentioned in Mrs Cryer's book Memories of Colne
 

Children: (1) Alice Maud [b 1867]; (2) Lucy Ann [1878-1941]; (3) Harriet Emma [1876-1941]; (4) Annie [1865-1950].

He died in Halifax

Bateman, Daniel
[1727-1785] Son of Jonas Bateman.

Born in Coley [14th January 1727]. He married Rosemund Pratt.

Children: Dorothy [1752-1828].

He died in Lightcliffe

Bateman, Daniel
[1740-1789] Son of Jonas Bateman.

Born in Oakenshaw.

In 1762, he married Rebekah/Rebecca Rhodes [1739-1???]

Children: (1) Jonas [b 1703]; (2) William [1765-1842]; (3) Susannah [b 1767]; (4) John [17??-1812]; (5) Daniel

Bateman, Daniel
[1767-1849] Son of Daniel Bateman.

He married Patience Wilkinson [1774-1807].

Children: (1) William; (2) James; (3) Martha; (4) Samuel; (5) Rebecca; (6) Mary; (7) Marius; (8) Ann

Bateman, Daniel
[1825-1904] Son of Joshua Bateman.

Born 30th October 1825.

Baptised at Cleckheaton [27th November 1825].

He was a butcher [1849].

On 13th June 1849, he married Ann Hudson at Halifax Parish Church.


Ann was the daughter of Joseph Hudson, sadler
 

He died 6th August 1904

Bateman, Harry
[1897-19??] Of Long Lover Lane, Pellon.

On 24th August 1921, he was one of a number of servicemen aboard Airship R38 which exploded and crashed into the River Humber. He escaped with his life. Flight Sergeant Frank Smith was killed in the accident

Bateman, John
[1518-1561] Of Northowram Park, Halifax.

Born before 1518.

He married Margaret.

Children: (1) John; (2) Mary [b 1570].

He died after 1561

Bateman, John
[1540-1???] Son of John Bateman.

Born before 1540.

In 1561, he married Alice Croft.

Children: John

Bateman, John
[1568-1639] Son of John Bateman.

In 1599, he married Margaret Aldersley [15??-1637].

Children: (1) Samuel [1601-1684]; (2) John; (3) Elizabeth [b 1607]; (4) Andrew [1610-1624]; (5) Daniel [b 1615]

Bateman, John
[1604-16??] Son of John Bateman.

In 1635, he married Grace Firth [1614-1649].

Children: (1) child who died between 1635 and 1644; (2) John; (3) child who died between 1636 and 1644; (4) child who died between 1636 and 1644; (5) child who died between 1636 and 1644; (6) Grace [b 1646]; (7) Jessy [1649-1649]

Bateman, John
[1636-1???] Son of John Bateman.

In 1657, he married Mary Law.

Children: Jonas

Bateman, John Frederick La Trobe
[1810-1889] Engineer who built many of the local reservoirs

Bateman, Jonas
[1659-1742] Son of John Bateman.

Born in Halifax.

He was a miller at Coley Mill.

On 1st May 1701, he married Susannah Woods [1661-1747] in Wakefield Cathedral.

Children: (1) Dorothy [1701-1723]; (2) Jonas; (3) Daniel

Bateman, Jonas
[1703-1755] Son of Jonas Bateman.

He was a miller at Bailiff Bridge and at Oakenshaw.

He married Judith Mann [1704-1774].


Judith was born in Lightcliffe
 

Children: (1) William [b 1737]; (2) Dorothy [1735-1736]; (3) Susannah [b 1737]; (4) John [17??-1759]; (5) Daniel; (6) Jonas [1742-1805]; (7) James [b 1744]; (8) Mary [b 1747 ]; (9) Joshua [b 1752]; (10) Rebekah.

The family lived at Snake Hill, Rastrick.

Jonas died in a high flood at Oakenshaw [1755].

Judith died 1st October 1774

Bateman, Joseph
[17??-18??] Carpet manufacturer at Berry Lane, Halifax [1822].

See Bateman & Shaw

Bateman, Joseph
[1807-1892] Born in Shelf.

He was a spice maker at Northgate, Halifax [1851, 1859]; a grocer and confectioner [1861]; a spice manufacturer [1871]; a confectioner [1881].

In July 1859, he accused William Town, a traveller with his firm, of embezzling goods. The case was dismissed.

In 1835, he married (1) Martha Nichol [1811-1860] from Northowram, at Elland Parish Church.

In 1860, he married (2) Harriet Wheelwright [1816-1888] from Mytholmroyd/Wadsworth/Erringden, in Halifax.

The family lived at Charles Town Street, Northowram [1841], 57 Northgate, Halifax [1871, 1881], and 1 Luke Street, Northowram [1891]

Bateman, Joshua
[1798-1871] Son of William Bateman.

He was a farmer [1841]; a cattle dealer and licensee of the Buck's Arms, Causeway Foot [1845]; an innkeeper, farmer & cattle dealer [1851]; a cattle dealer [1861]; a retired farmer [1871].

On 6th January 1825, he married (1) Harriet Collins [1803-1837] at St Peter's Birstall.

Children: (1) Daniel; (2) Mary [1826-1850]; (3) Hannah [1829-1899] who married Edwin Hodgson; (4) Ann; (5) Emma [1833-1905] who married [1856] Joseph Thwaites [1835-1904] in Bradford; (6) Anthony Collins.

Harriet died in 1837.

On 23rd January 1839, he married (2) Susan [Susey] Hartley [1807-1876].


Susan came from Laneshawbridge, Colne. She was a landlady near Halifax [1851]
 

Children: (6) Robert Hartley [1839-1891] who never married; (7) James [1839-1841]; (8) Elizabeth [1842-1842]; (9) William.

Sons Robert Hartley & William both spent the rest of their lives in Colne, setting up R & W Bateman wholesale and retail grocers in 1869 at 41 Church Street there.

The family lived at Birkby Lane, Clifton [1841]; Causey Foot, Ovenden [1851]; Hodgson Building, Mason Square, Ovenden [1861]; Laneshaw Bridge, Colne, Lancashire [1871].

Living with them in 1861 was their granddaughter Sarah A. Hodgson.

He died at Laneshawbridge on [23rd April 1871]

Bateman, William
[1765-1842] Son of Daniel Bateman.

Born in Birstall.

In 1791, he married Hannah Jowett.

Children: (1) Martha [b 1792]; (2) Jonas [1794-1847]; (3) Joshua; (4) William [b 1799]; (5) Smalley Jowett [1803-1885]

In 1841, he is living with son Jonas.

He died in Cleckheaton [aged 78]. Buried 15th November 1842

Bateman, William
[1843-1909] Son of Joshua Bateman.

Born in Ovenden.

He was a grocer in Colne. He and his brother Robert Hartley both spent their lives in Colne, setting up R & W Bateman wholesale and retail grocers in 1869 at 41 Church Street there.

In 1877, he married Annie Elizabeth, daughter of Henry Oates, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Ethel May who married Mr Duckworth; (2) Walter Norman who took over the grocery business; (3) Susan Dorothy who never married and lived her whole life in Halifax; (4) Henry Percival who died aged 2; (5) Robert Stanley

Bates...
The entries for people with the surname Bates are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Bates

George Redmonds writes that the name comes from a shortened version of the name Bartholomew.

Bate del Bothes is recorded at Holdsworth in 1275, Robert Bate is recorded at Hipperholme in 1275, Thomas Battes is recorded in Halifax in 1471 Gilbert Baites is recorded at Sowerby in 1545 and Isaac Bates is recorded at Sowerby in 1642.

There are currently around 61 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bates. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Bates family of Halifax
See Bates family grave, Halifax

The Bates family of Ovenden

Bates family tomb, Halifax
A table tomb at Halifax Parish Church.

This bears memorials to many members of the Bates family of Halifax, including Judith Bates and her husband, William Turney

Bates & Garsed
Damask manufacturers at Argyle Street, Halifax [1874]

Bates & Nortcliffe
Manufacturer of high and low-carbon wire at Perseverance Mill, Brighouse [1915-1963].

The business was taken over by Hawkins & Tipson Group [1962] and moved to the Leopold Wire Works, Brighouse [1963] to join Royston's

Bates & Sheard
Engineers at Halifax. Partners included T. Bates, S. Sheard, and J. Sheard.

In 1852, the partnership was declared bankrupt

Bates & Son
Machine makers at Greenup's Mill, Warley [1867]

Bates & Whiteley
Card makers.

Partners included W. Bates and J. Whiteley.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1822

Bates & Williamson
Common brewers at Warley.

Partners included Henry Bates and Henry Williamson.

In June 1852, the business was declared bankrupt

Bates's: Ely Bates & Company
Merchants at Gibbet Hill [1829]. Partners included Ely Bates

Bates's Gift
Brian Bates bequeathed a sum of 20/- per annum from his estate in Blackledge Steel known as Yeathouse. The payments continued until 1813

Bates's: J. C. Bates & Sons Limited
Brighouse motor business. Established by James Cocksedge Bates in the 1920s. The company is still selling cars at Bradford Road, Brighouse today

Bates's: John & William Bates
Quarry owners at Park Quarry, Pellon [1905]

Bates's: Michael Bates & Sons
Bakers and confectioners at Clifton Street, Sowerby Bridge [1905] Established by Michael Bates and his sons

Bates's: Timothy Bates & Company
Founded by Timothy Bates at Bank Foundry in 1786. It was one of the oldest engineering firms in the district. George Bates carried on the family business after his father's death [1823]. In 1834, Joseph Pollit, his grandson, took over the company. In 1865, he was joined by Eustace Wigzell, and the company became Pollit & Wigzell

Bates's: William Bates & Company Limited
They had business at Bates's Mill, Sowerby Bridge

Bateson, Frederick
[1871-1954] Son of George Bateson.

Born in Eccleshill, Bradford.

He moved to Ripponden during the late 1870s with his father.

George came to work on the railway at Rishworth.

Frederic worked in various jobs, including selling firewood etc door to door, and caretaker of a Temperance Hotel in Horbury [1901-1902], but mostly as a paper finisher.

In 1894, he married Ellen, daughter of Benjamin Berry.

In 1907, he emigrated to the USA, travelling on the Lusitania on the ship's fourth crossing of the Atlantic, leaving his wife in Ripponden. He returned the following year, due to health problems. These may have related to his wife, who suffered from a heart condition.

He was an insurance agent in Ripponden, [1911]; a member of Sowerby Town Council [1919].

By 1921, he was operating a bus service between Rishworth and Sowerby Bridge. He had three buses: a Ford [a converted lorry], a Leyland, and a Vulcan.

It is said that, when income from the rival tram service from Triangle to Sowerby Bridge dropped sharply, he was told that if he did not agree to operate only from Rishworth to the tram terminus at Triangle, then the tram services would be withdrawn.

In August 1922, he applied to Sowerby Town Council for a license to operate motor buses but this was ignored by the council because they had not been informed by the Department of Transport as to the conditions that should be imposed.

He served as Chairman of the Special Sewerage Committee; representative for Sowerby Town Council on the Sowerby Bridge & District Education Committee; the Local Old Age Pensions Committee.

In December 1924, one of his buses was struck from behind by a bus owned by rivals Hirst's, and the conductor was killed. Within 8 weeks, he had sold his buses to the Ryburn Garage & Transport Company of Sowerby Bridge, who applied for a license in their own name.

He then bought Delph Field farm at Kebroyd. He farmed there until 1932 when his wife died. He rented out the farm but continued to keep a few hens on one corner of the property.

He died in 1954 [aged 83]

Bateson, George
[1824-1895] From Bradford.

During the late 1870s, he and son Frederick moved to Ripponden. George went to work on the extension of the railway to Rishworth, which was begun in 1873.

He married Sarah Teale.


Sarah had 2 sons by her previous marriage: John Benjamin Simpson and George William Simpson
 

Children: (1) Frederick; (2) Isaac; (3) Abraham; (4) Joe; (5) Eliza-Anna; (6) Betsy; (7) Mary; (8) Sarah-Ann; (9) Emily

Bateson, Isaac
[1867-1???] Son of George Bateson.

In 1892, he married Lucinda Hallowell [1868-1???].

Children: (1) George [1896-1951] who became an Alderman in Keighley; (2) Ernest; (3) Lily; (4) Nellie.

He emigrated to the USA and became a mill engine man in Detroit

Bateson, John
[12??-1337] In 1337, a case is recorded at the York Assizes in which
Robert and John Copley, sons of John Copley, were accused with John, son of Robert of Tong, for slaying John Bateson, son of Bartholomew the lister of Halifax, at Woodkirk on the Wednesday before the feast of St Peter ad Vinculum

See Bate the Lister and John Lister

Bathe, Phyllis de
[1869-1948] CBE.

Youngest daughter of General Sir Henry de Bathe Bt.

She married Sir Savile Brinton Crossley.

During World War I, she was matron of Crossley and Chevely Park hospitals. She was interested in horses and horse-racing

Baths

Baths & Turkish Baths

Batie, Mrs Hannah Longbottom
[1844-1936] Born at Bradshaw. Née Hannah Longbottom.

She became known as a Spiritualist.

She was a pupil, and later a teacher, at Mount Tabor Wesleyan School. She started work as a dressmaker and began to practise as a medium in 1862. She toured throughout the north of England, and claimed her grandfather spoke through her. Between 1900-1904 the Sowerby Bridge Chronicle reports that she gave several talks at the Spiritualist Lyceum, Sowerby Bridge

In 1877, she married Joseph Batie.

In 1878, she went to the USA with her husband who went into business with his two brothers.

In 1896, they returned to England and she continued giving audiences at Winding Road Spiritual Mission.

She was said to be the oldest medium in England.

After Joseph's death, she lived at 1 Dike Side, Houldsworth, Halifax [1911].

She died at 16 Roils Head Road, Halifax.

She was buried at Mount Tabor Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Line H, grave 4 [29th April 1936], alongside her husband

Batie, Joseph
[1845-1907] Born in Urpeth, Durham.

In 1877, he married Hannah Longbottom in Halifax.

They had no children.

In 1878, he and his wife went to the USA to go into business with his two brothers. In 1896, they returned to England.

He was a church caretaker [1901].


Question: Could this be the St Paul's Spiritual Church & Lyceum, Halifax on Alma Street?

 

They lived at 20 Alma Street, Halifax [1901]; 57 Prospect Place, Mount Tabor [1907, 1936].

He was buried at Mount Tabor Wesleyan Methodist Chapel Line H, grave 4 [31st May 1907], alongside his wife

The Batley family of Halifax

Batley, Charles Harrison
[1786-1835] Harrison was his paternal name.

He was educated at Trinity College Cambridge [1810]; a barrister; a solicitor in Halifax; MP for Beverley [1826].

He owned Savile Hall which he leased to James Edward Norris [1830]. Batley's widow inherited the estate and sold it to Norris for £1,928.

He lived at Fitzroy Square, London [1829-1833]

Batley, Jeremiah
[1???-1???] He was Master of Heywood's School

Batley, Jeremiah
[17??-1810] Of Bull Close, Halifax.

He lived at Lamb's Conduit Street, London.

He died at his home in Masham [30th October 1810].

An obituary noted that

In 1780, he wrote and later published a letter to Mr Wyville on the subject of parliamentary reform, and afterwards published several other political tracts which were approved and admired for their acuteness and moderation, by able distinguished individuals of different parties

Batley, John
[1???-1???] Of Bull Close, Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Grace [16??-1733] who married Richard Walker

Batley, John
[1651-1717] A Halifax salter.

In 16??, he married Susannah.

Children: (1) Thomas [1683-1702]; (2) Jeremiah; (3) James; (4) Mary; (5) Susannah.

The epitaph on the memorial for him and son Thomas in Halifax Parish Church is recorded in the book Monumental & Other Inscriptions.

See Brownhirst, Ovenden

Batley, Kathleen
[1927-1946] A mill-worker from Sowerby Bridge.

She was killed by a shot from a pistol which she was examining at her home

Batley, Manor of
Several properties in Shibden – including Horner House, Shibden - were in the Manor of Batley

Batt
[Surname]

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Batt. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Batt, E. A.
[19??-19??] He lived at Woodleigh, Brighouse.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) son; (2) James Eric Henry who married [1953] Dagmar Maria Wright from Accra, Gold Coast

Batt, Elizabeth
[1???-16??] Daughter of Robert Batt of Oakwell Hall, Birstall.

She was the second wife of Dr Richard Marsh. She died in childbirth

Batt, Henry
[15??-15??] He lived at Batt Hill, Halifax. In 1570, he moved to Oakwell Hall, Birstall

Batt Hill, Halifax
Haley Hill. Property owned by Henry Batt. It was later known as Haley Hill, Halifax

Batte, Richard
[13??-14??] He was Constable of Northowram.

In 1401, he and his fellow officers attested that

Richard de Mekesburgh had opened the soil of the Lord in Shibden and acquired sea coals there without a licence

Battinson, Adam
[1786-1868] Born in Wilsden.

He was a woolcomber at Warley [1827]; a farmer [1841]; a farmer of 24 acres [1851].

In 1827, he married Sarah Atkinson [1805-18??] from Stairburn, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Susannah Atkinson [b 1829]; (2) Adam.

The family lived at Upper Height, Ovenden [1841, 1851]

Battinson, Adam
[1809-1869] Born in Colne, Lancashire.

He was a machinist [1841]; a clothes broker at Causeway, Halifax [1845]; landlord of the Duke William, Halifax [1850]; landlord of the Golden Plough, Halifax [1855]; a member of Halifax Town Council [1853-1868]; Councillor for Market Ward [1860]; landlord of the Corporation Arms, Halifax [1864]; in business at Hall Street, Halifax [1866]; an Alderman for the Southowram Ward [1866].

In August 1850, he was one of a number of local innkeepers who were fined at the Brewster Sessions for allowing prostitutes to drink in his premises.

In 1830, he married Lydia Williamson [1811-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Margaret [b 1831]; (2) Hannah Williamson; (3) John [b 1835]; (4) Isaac Williamson; (5) Sarah [b 1845].

He lived at Ann Street, Halifax [1841], 7 Bridge Street, Halifax [1851], and Park Terrace [1866].

Living with them in 1851 were lodger John Walker [aged 50] (wool comber) from Halifax, and servant John Taylor [aged 25] (farm labourer) from Shrewsbury

He died 26th October 1869.

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

See Battinson Street, Southowram and Henry Edmunds

Battinson, Adam
[1840-1904] Son of Adam Battinson.

Born in Ovenden.

He was a market warehouseman [1871]; a mill manager [1881]; a farmer [1891]; a farmer and attendance officer [1901].

In 1864, he married Ellen Eastwood [1836-1902] from Luddenden, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Sarah Jane [b 1867]; (2) John Adam [b 1871]; (3) May [b 1876].

The family lived at Murgatroyd Building, 10 Lane Ends, Midgley [1871]; Oats Royd, Midgley [1881]; Bully Trees, Lower Benns, Warley [1891]; Bully Trees, Luddenden [1901]

Battinson & Company
Machine woolcombers at New Brunswick Mill, Halifax [1874]

Battinson, George
[18??-18??] He lived at Savile Road, Halifax [1874]

Battinson, George Adam
[18??-1???] He was a director of the Halifax Equitable Benefit Building Society [1872]

Battinson, Hannah Williamson
[1831-1897] (Possibly) daughter of Adam Battinson.

She married J. H. Pedder. She died after a long and severe illness in Wellington, New Zealand

Battinson, Isaac Williamson
[1839-1919] Son of Adam Battinson.

Born in Halifax.

He was a machine woolcomber [1871]; a retired wooltop manufacturer [1881]; living on his own means [1891, 1901, 1911].

In 1865, he married Mary Hirst Baldwin [1836-1902] in Halifax.

Children: (1) William Dyson [b 1866]; (2) Barbara Dyson [b 1869]; (3) Ada [b 1870]; (4) Edith Mary [b 1871]; (5) Louis [b 1873]; (6) Helena [b 1874]; (7) Kathleen Dyson [b 1875].

The family lived at 13 Rhodes Street, Halifax [1871, 1874]; 28 Talgarth Road, Fulham [1881]; 35 Glendwr Road, Fulham [1891]; Naseby, Willesden, Middlesex [1901]; 16 Lisgar Terrace, Fulham [1911]

Battinson's: J. & G. Battinson
Woolstaplers and top makers at Cross Church Street, Halifax [1874]

Battinson Road School Baths, Halifax

Battle, Rebecca
[1770-1817] Born near Brough in the East Riding.

She married Captain Jeremy Lister. Mother of Anne Lister.

Her money bought their estate, Skelfler in East Yorkshire. In later years, her drinking caused unhappiness in the family.

She was buried at Market Weighton

Batty, Harry
[1893-1915] Son of John Batty.

He was an apprentice gardener [1911]; a member of King Cross Wesleyan School.

He served in World War I.

The Halifax Courier [5th June 1915] reported that he died from wounds.

The Commonwealth War Graves Commission website records

a Private H. Batty who served in the Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died on 24th January 1915, and was buried in the Poperinghe Old Military Cemetery [II I 34]

Batty, James
[1829-1885] Son of John Batty.

Born in Southowram.

He was a wire drawer [1851]; a wire drawer (out of employ) [1881].

On 3rd June 1850, he married Hannah Marie Whitaker [1828-1???].


Hannah Marie was born in Warley
 

Children: (1) Margaret Ann [b 1859] who was a worsted twister [1881] and married William Richardson; (2) John; (3) George S [b 1864] who was a dyer's labourer [1881]; (4) William [b 1867] who was a dyer's labourer [1881].

The family lived at 8 Charlestown Road, Northowram [1881].

James died in Halifax [11th March 1885]

Batty, John
[1787-1865] Born in Lightcliffe.

He was a labourer [1808]; a cloth draper [1841]; a farmer of 16 acres [1851].

On 12th May 1808, he married Susannah / Susey Hemingway [1788-1870] of Southowram.

Children: (1) Martha Ann [1808-1879] who married John Proctor; (2) Samuel [b 1816] who was a cloth draper [1841]; (3) Daniel [b 1816] who was an ag.lab [1841]; (4) Mary [1819-1873] who married John Widdop; (5) Susannah [1823-1908] who never married; (6) Elizabeth [1825-1901]; (7) James.

The family lived at Dove House, Southowram [1841, 1851]; Hipperholme [1865].

The couple were buried at Bramley Lane Chapel

Batty, John
[18??-1???] He was a wine merchant [1897].

He married Unknown.

Children: Ada [b 1878] who married Harry Crossley

Batty, John
[1848-1905] Son of William Batty.

Born in Halifax.

He was a blacksmith [1871]; a worsted weaver [1871]; a plasterer's labourer [1881]; a whitewasher [1891, 1901].

In [Q1] 1871, he married Isabel Gardner at Halifax Parish Church.


Isabel was born in Manchester, the daughter of John Gardner
 

Children: (1) Sarah Alice [b 1872]; (2) John William [b 1875] who was a worsted mill hand [1891], a worsted yarn hawker [1901]; (3) Clara Anne [b 1877] who was a worsted mill hand [1891], a worsted weaver [1901]; (4) Mary Elizabeth [b 1880]; (5) Emma [b 1882]; (6) Joseph [b 1885] who was an oiler woollen mill [1901]; (7) Lena [b 1887] who was a hair pad maker [1911]; (8) Leonard [b 1888] who was a doffer woollen mill [1901], an engineer's fitter [1911]; (9) Florence Isabel [b 1890] who was a jeweller's polisher [1911]; (10) Harry.

In 1871, the couple were living with Isabel's family.

The family lived at 16 Whiteley Street, Halifax [1881]; 28 Shaw Street, Halifax [1891]; 27 Summergate Street, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Batty, John
[1861-1???] Son of James Batty.

He was a hotel boots (out of employ) [1881]; a cotton scutcher [1891]; a general labourer [1901].

He never married.

In 1891, he was living with his sister Margaret Ann.

He lived at 26 Cross Hills, Halifax [1901, 1911].

Living with John in 1901 were his sister Margaret Ann and her children, and 2 boarders.

Living with John in 1911 were his sister Margaret Ann and her children, his nephew Norman Batty, and 1 boarder

Batty, Joseph
[17??-17??] Clockmaker of Clark Bridge. Recorded in 1780

Batty, Samuel Watson
[1867-1955] Son of Samuel William Batty.

Born in Halifax.

He was an errand boy [1881]; a watch maker [1891, 1901]; a watch maker at King Cross, Halifax.

In his will, he left £15,000 to the Halifax Council of Social Welfare for the creation of The Samuel Watson Batty Trust. This money was to be invested and the income to be distributed

for extra comforts among the necessitous poor of Halifax of 65 years of age or over, preference being given to residents in the King Cross area of Halifax

Batty, Samuel William
[1837-1903] Born in Halifax.

He was an ironmonger's assistant [1871, 1881]; an agent for coal [1891]; living on own means [1901].

In 1861, he married Sarah Ellen Watson [1841-19??] from Hebden Bridge, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Sarah Lydia [b 1862]; (2) Fanny L [b 1864]; (3) Julia [b 1866]; (4) Samuel Watson; (5) Herbert [b 1873]; (6) child who died in infancy; (7) child who died in infancy; (8) child who died in infancy; (9) child who died in infancy; (10) child who died in infancy; (11) child who died in infancy.

The family lived at 23 Raglan Street, Halifax [1871]; 31 Craven Terrace, Halifax [1881]; 17 Craven Terrace, Halifax [1891, 1901]; 45 Rochdale Road, York Crescent, Halifax [1911]

Batty, William
[18??-18??] He was a tailor [1871].

He married Unknown.

Children: John

Battye, Samuel
[17??-18??] A member of Bridge End Congregational Church, Brighouse. He taught singing at the church and the school there

Baume, Benjamin
[1853-1???] Son of David Baume.

Born in Halifax.

He was a joiner [1891].

In 1875, he married Mary Kaye in Halifax.

Children: (1) Joseph Henry Thornton [b 1876] who was a creeler in carpet works [1891], and a Brussels carpet weaver [1901]; (2) Eva Adelaide [b 1878]; (3) William [b 1881]; (4) Herbert Henry [b 1890].

In 1891, they were living with Benjamin's parents at 4 York Terrace, Northowram.

The family lived at 4 York Terrace, Northowram [1901].

Living with them in 1901 was Benjamin's father David

Baume, David
[1816-1903] Oldest son of Samuel Baume.

Born in Warley.

Baptised at Luddenden.

He was a weaver of Sowerby [1837]; a joiner & journeyman [1851]; a pattern maker [1871]; a model maker (factory) (spring mach maker) [1881]; a pattern maker in wood [1891]; a retired pattern maker [1901].

On 16th April 1837, he married Betty Greenwood [1816-1889] from Wadsworth, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Samuel [b 1839] who was a mule piecer (cotton) [1851]; (2) Mary [b 1841] who was a throstle doffer (cotton) [1851]; (3) Sarah Ann [b 1845]; (4) Ruth [b 1847]; (5) William Henry; (6) James Edward [b 1851] who was a grocer's apprentice [1871]; (7) Benjamin.

The family lived at Sandbeds(?), Wilsden, Bradford [1841], Knowlwood, Todmorden [1851], and 4 York Terrace, Northowram [1871, 1881, 1891].

Living with them in 1891 was the family of Benjamin

Baume, Isaac
[16??-16??] On Sunday morning, 18th December 1642, he brought news of the Siege of Bradford to Rev Latham at Coley Chapel and Captain John Hodgson

Baume, Rev James
[1824-1???] Son of Mr Baume.

Baptised at Luddenden [1824].

He served as a Methodist Missionary in India.

In 1848, he emigrated to America. In 1870, the family was in Illinois.

He married (1) Marie Antoinette Hawkins. James was (possibly) a widower by [1870].

Children: (1) James S [b 1857]; (2) Henry M [b 1861]; (3) Annie [b 1863].

He married (2) Elizabeth, sister of Lucy Rodd

Baume, James Edward
[1851-1894] In 1873, he married Jane Elizabeth Sutcliffe [1857-1909] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Florry [1877-1879]; (2) Ada [1876-1879].

Members of the family were buried at King Cross Methodist New Connexion Chapel

Baume, James Edward
[1882-1961] Son of John Baume.

Born in Halifax.

He was a brass finisher [1911]; a brassfounder and finisher at Kingston Brass Works, Halifax [1937].

In [Q3] 1941, he married Louisa Gladys Mitchell [1886-1962] from Halifax, in Halifax.

They lived at 39 Stanley Road, Halifax [1961].

He died at home [26th January 1961].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £6,193 4/8d. Probate was granted to his widow Louisa Gladys.

Louisa Gladys died in Huddersfield [Q4 1962]

Baume, John
[1852-1919] Born in Halifax.

He was a tapestry carpet weaver [1911].

In [Q4] 1878, he married Betsy Ogden [1849-1914] from Halifax.

Children: (1) John William [b 1879]; (2) James Edward; (3) Fred [b 1887] who was a joiner [1911]; (4) Lewis [b 1892] who was an accountant's clerk [1911].

The family lived at 26 Birks Hall Terrace, Halifax [1911, 1919].

He died 18th January 1919.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £585 19/5d. Probate was granted to son James Edward

Baume, John Wesley
[1827-1???] Son of Mr Baume.

Born in Wadsworth.

Baptised at Luddenden [1827].

He was an overlooker at a carpet work [1861]; a general agent [1871].

In 1849, he married Jane Hellewell [1825-1???] from Erringden.

Children: (1) Samuel [b 1850]; (2) David James [b 1852]; (3) Joseph Henry [b 1855]; (4) John T. W. [b 1858]; (5) Ruth [1861] who died in infancy; (6) Arthur [b 1865]; (7) Marie Antoinette / Nettie [b 1867]; (8) Jane Annie [b 1870].

The family lived at 6 North Street, Halifax [1861]; 55 Crossley Terrace, Halifax [1871]

In August 1870, Lucy Rodd and her parents stayed with John and his family. The occasion is described in Lucy's journal

Baume, Joseph
[1818-1891] Born in Halifax.

He was a clogger [1851]; a clogger and postmaster at Shade Post Office [1861]; a clogger [1871]; a master clogger (employing 1 man) [1881]; a clog maker [1891]; superintendent of York Street Wesleyan Sunday School [for over 30 years]

He married (1) Margaret [1813-1867] from Wakefield.

Children: (1) Mary [b 1840]; (2) Ruth [b 1844]; (3) Anna [b 1848].

In 1871, he married (2) Caroline Charnley [1827-1902] in Bradford.

The family lived at Gauxholme, Todmorden [1851], Shade, Todmorden [1861], and 56 Gauxholme Place, Todmorden [1871, 1881, 1891]

Baume, Samuel
[1???-1838] He was weaver of Warley [1816].

On 3rd June 1816 he married Ruth Cockroft of Warley at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) David [b 1816]; (2) Henry [bapt 1818]; (3) Joseph [bapt 1818]; (4) Betty [bapt 1822]; (5) James [bapt 1824]; (6) John Wesley; (7) Jonathan [bapt 1829] who was a hand loom weaver (carpet) [1851]; (8) Samuel [1831-1852] who was a hand loom weaver (carpet) [1851]; (9) Thomas [b 1833] who was a grocer journeyman [1851]; (10) William; (11) Mary Ann [b 1836]

The family lived at Mytholmroyd, Sowerby [1841]; 19 South Derby Street, Halifax [1851]

Baume, Samuel David
[1873-1???] Son of William Henry Baume.

Born in Halifax.

He was a professional swimmer [1891].

In 1891, he and brother William Henry were living at 47 Colewall Road, Bowling St Stephens

Baume, Thomas Edward
[1871-1???] Son of William Henry Baume.

Born in Halifax.

He was a confectioner and bread maker [1901].

In 1896, he married Lily Lehmann [1868-19??] from Durham, in Dewsbury.

Children: (1) Samuel Victor [b 1897]; (2) Olga [b 1900].

The family lived at 3 Central Street, Nether Hoyland [1901].

Living with them in 1901 was boarder William Beanland [aged 19] (confectioner) 

Baume's: W. H. Baume & Company
Confectionery and biscuit manufacturers established around 1868 by William H. Baume business on St James's Road, Halifax.

In 1877, the business went into liquidation with a meeting of the creditors at the White Lion Hotel, Halifax on 11th June.

In 1884, the business was taken over by William Greenwood

Baume, William
[1810-1875] Or Balm [1861].

Born in Halifax.

He was a dyer.

He married Sarah [1819-1885].


Sarah was born in Sowerby Bridge
 

The couple were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3799]: William [29th April 1875]; Sarah [17th January 1885]

Baume, William
[1834-1886] Son of Mr Baume.

Born in Mytholmroyd [3rd October 1834].

Baptised at Wesleyan Methodist, Mytholmroyd [12th May 1835].

He was a Liberal; a grocer [1871]; a biscuit manufacturer employing 5 men 4 boys & grocer [1881].

At the Court Leet in Halifax [4th October 1870] he was fined 10/- for having a light (underweight) ½pound weight.

In 1857, he married Jane Hanson [1833-1???] from Ovenden, in Halifax.

(1) Emily Ann [b 1860]; (2) John William [b 1863]; (3) Mary Jane [b 1865]; (4) James Ernest [b 1872] who was a cloth maker salesman [1891].

The family lived at 51 Crossley Terrace, Halifax [1871, 1881, 1891]

Staying with them in August 1870, were Lucy Rodd and her parents. The occasion is described in Lucy's journal.

Living with them in 1871 was niece Nellie Walton [aged 12].

Living with them in 1881 was nephew Samuel James [aged 29] (a foreman baker in a biscuit works).

After William's death, Jane carried on the business as a grocer [1891]

Baume, William Henry
[1849-1877] Son of David Baume.

Born in Todmorden.

He was a confectioner.

Around 1868, he established the biscuit manufacturing business, W. H. Baume & Company.

In 1869, he married Annie Leah Thorp [1848-1???] from Warley.

Children: (1) Thomas Edward; (2) Samuel David; (3) Annie Leah [1874-1882]; (4) William Henry [b 1875].

The family lived at 20 Crown Street, Halifax [1871, 1874].

In 1871, he was listed as a confectioner employing 1 man & 2 boys [1871].

In May 1877, he instituted liquidation proceedings for the business.

He died shortly afterwards, aged 28.


Question: Does anyone know whether this could have been suicide?

 

In 1878, Annie Leah Baume married Henry Higgins in Halifax.

In 1881, Annie Leah Baume widow was living at 87 George Street, Bradford [1881] with her 4 children.

In 1891, brothers Samuel David and William Henry were living at 47 Colewall Road, Bowling St Stephens. Their mother Hannah Leah Baume, aged 43, widow, born in Sowerby Bridge was in the Bradford Infirmary & Dispensary.

In 1891, Annie Leah Baume, aged 43, died in Bradford.

The business – possibly continued by his son – was advertised in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1894 as


WILLIAM HENRY BAUME
STEAM BISCUIT MANUFACTURER
Wholesale Confectioner
AND FOREIGN WINE MERCHANT
46 NORTHGATE, HALIFAX
Bride Cakes and Funeral Biscuits, plain and ornamented
Plum, Seed and Sponge Cakes. Manufacturer of
the celebrated Yorkshire Thin Cakes
Public parties catered for on reasonable terms

Baumforth
A variant of the surname Balmforth

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Bawden
A variant of the surname Baldwin

Baxandale
A variant of the surname Baxendale

Baxendale
Other forms of the surname include Bassinder, Bassingdale and Baxendall

There are currently only around 9 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Baxendale. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Baxendale, Andrew
[1801-18??] He was a labourer of Southowram [1832]; a copperas boiler [1841, 1851].

In 1832, he married Elizabeth Oldfield [1801-1???] of Southowram, at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) James [b 1833] who was a copperas maker [1851]; (2) Emma [b 1835]; (3) Joshua; (4) Mary Ann [b 1840] who was a worsted spinner [1851]; (5) David [b 1843]; (6) Hariet [b 1846]; (7) Sarah A [b 1850].

The family lived at Far Exley, Southowram [1841]; Exley, Southowram, Salterhebble [1851].

Living with them in 1841 was Mary Britey [aged 35] (dress maker) 

Baxendale, David
[1806-185?] He was a slater of Southowram [1829, 1831, 1834]; a copperas maker at Cinder Hills, Siddal [1841, 1845].

In 1828, he married Mary Patchett [1806-1???] in Calverley. Mary was a widow by 1861.

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1829]; (2) Sarah Ann [b 1831]; (3) Alfred [b 1834]; (4) Ann [b 1836]; (5) George [b 1840] who was a slater [1891]; (6) David [b 1843] who was a joiner's apprentice [1891].

The family lived at Sinder Hills, Southowram [1841]; 5 Sowdens Buildings, Delver Row, Bradford [1861]

Baxendale, John
[1842-1901] He was landlord of the Talbot, Halifax [1881]; (possibly) landlord of the Turk's Head, Halifax [1887, 1890]; a cigar merchant [1891]; landlord of the Boar's Head Hotel, Halifax [1894]; a retired licensed victualler [1901].

In 1876, he married Jane widow of John Edwin Turner.

The family lived at 13 Leicester Terrace, Skircoat [1891]

His stepson, Samuel Wallace Turner was living with them [1881, 1891]

In 1901, John and Jane were living at 7 Southgate, Halifax with Samuel Wallace Turner

Baxendale, John
[1854-1891] He died following a roof fall at Quarry House Colliery [13th February 1891].

He was buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 1062]

Baxendale, Joseph
[18??-18??] A young man lodging at the Park Hotel Beerhouse, Halifax.

On 13th August 1869, he was charged with having stolen a cotton sheet and a quilt which he then pledged for 2/-. He had previously spent 5 years in a reformatory at Mirfield. He pleaded guilty and was committed for trial

Baxendale, Joshua
[1838-1910] Son of Andrew Baxendale.

Born in Southowram.

He was a worsted spinner [1851].

In 1859, he joined the Army in Liverpool. He served a total of 19 years and 253 days, of which 4⅓ years were in New Zealand and 7⅓ years in India.

In 1861, he was at sea, travelling from India to New Zealand.

He received 2 good conduct badges and the New Zealand War Medal. He had 18 entries in the Defaulters' Book and was tried once by Court Martial.

He was a Private in the 70th Foot when he was discharged in 19th June 1879, being unfit for further service on account of the climates in New Zealand and India and his long service. He returned to Salterhebble.

He was a brass moulder.

He was living as a lodger with Frederick Roberts at the Blue Bell, Halifax [1881]; a lodger at Crosby Villa, Crosscanonby, Crosby, Cockermouth, Cumberland [1891]; a colliery labourer lodging at 29 Brick Row, Cockermouth, Cumberland [1901].

He died in Bellingham, Northumberland [1910]

Baxendale, Thomas
[1815-1???] Born in Southowram.

He was a chemist & drysalter [1861].

Around 1836, he married Elizabeth [1815-1???] from Elland.

Children: (1) Margaret Ann [b 1837] who was an invalid [1861]; (2) Jane [b 1840] who was a woollen weaver [1861]; (3) Emma [b 1842] who was a cotton piecer [1861]; (4) Thomas [b 1844] who was a cabinet maker [1861]; (5) Ruth [b 1846] who was a woollen piecer [1861]; (6) Joshua [b 1850].

The family lived at Mearclough House, Sowerby Bridge [1861]

Baxendale, William
[17??-18??] He was landlord of the Old Bull's Head, Halifax [1822, 1837]

Baxendale, William
[1837-1901] He was landlord of the Calder & Hebble, Salterhebble [1887, 1894]

Baxendall
A variant of the surname Baxendale

Baxter & Company
Halifax solicitors. Recorded in 1886, when they were acting in a lease on Fenny Farm, Hipperholme

Baxter & Granger
Carpet and linoleum retailers at 7 Cheapside, Halifax [1905]. Established by James Baxter and Peter Granger.

They are also listed as school satchel, market bag and hassock manufacturers at Queen Street, Halifax [1905].

They were at 7 and 9 Cheapside, Halifax [1920], Prince's Arcade, Halifax [1936, 1942], New Brunswick Street, Halifax [1936], and 5 Market Street, Halifax [1936, 1942].

Their Market Street premises were at the top of Prince's Arcade, roughly where Boots Chemists now stands

Baxter, Clement
[1892-1917] Son of John Baxter.

Born 12th October 1892.

During World War I, he enlisted in Halifax [11th December 1915], and served as a Private with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [31st October 1917].

He was buried at the Wancourt British Cemetery [I C 49]

Baxter, Edgar
[1897-1???] Son of James Baxter.

He was a worsted spinner [1911]; an employee in the foundry of Wright Sutcliffe & Son.

He was with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment)  when World War I was declared. He later transferred to the Royal Field Artillery. He obtained his discharge.

He served as a Rifleman / Lance Corporal with the 2nd Battalion King's Royal Rifle Corps.

He went to France in September 1915, but was invalided home with fever in January 1916, and taken to Glasgow. Complications set in, and he underwent 3 operations.

He died in Bell Houston Red Cross Hospital, Glasgow [17th May 1916] (aged 19).

He was buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden [I 19]

Baxter, Edwin Sam
[1854-1904] Born in Bradford.

He was landlord of the Granby, Queenshead [1904].

He was found dead at the Granby [2/1904]

Baxter, H.
[18??-191?] Of Southowram.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Southowram War Memorial

Baxter (Halifax) Limited
Carpets and curtains business at 1 George Street, Halifax [1937]

Baxter House, Northowram
Numbers 17 & 19 Baxter Lane, Northowram. Late 17th century house built by Jeremiah Baxter.

See John Halliday

Baxter, I.
[18??-191?] Of Southowram.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Southowram War Memorial

Baxter, Isaac Edward
[1872-1915] Born in Halifax.

He was a coal miner [1895].

In his son's CWG record, Isaac Edward is described as

the late Pte J. E. Baxter

In [Q3] 1895, he married Annie Elizabeth McCabe [1875-1935] in Belfast.


Annie Elizabeth was born in Lanarkshire
 

Children: Walter Renshaw.

The family lived at 12 Gelderd Road, Birstall [1918].

The couple died in Birstall

Baxter, J.
[17??-18??] Of Barkisland Free School. He wrote several poems and The Young Christians' Cyclopædia
or, a compendium of Christian Knowledge: consisting of a Series of Lessons on Morality, Virtue and Religion, carefully selected from the best Authors. Compiled chiefly for the Instruction of the Young, in their Religious, Moral and Social Duties, and to imbue their minds with the love of Piety and Virtue.

Intended as a Class-Book at School; especially for the use of Sunday Schools. Intended for the Use of Young Persons, of both Sexes, at School, and for Families.

Published by R. Sugden of Halifax, and Baldwin, Cradock & Joy of London [1818]

Baxter, James
[1852-1938] Son of John Baxter.

Born in Northowram.

Brother of Martha who married his business partner Peter Metcalfe Granger.

He was working in a worsted mill [1861]; an assistant to colouring(?) [1871]; a commercial clerk / bookkeeper in worsted mill [1881]; a carpet dealer [1891, 1901]; a linoleum merchant, carpet bag & school satchel manufacturer [1911]; Partner in Baxter & Granger.

In 1877, he married Mary Hannah daughter of George Blagborough, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Louisa [1879-1884]; (2) Amy [b 1883].

He lived at 8 Albion Street, Halifax [living with George Blagborough 1881]; Mayfield Grove, Halifax [1891]; 8 Marlborough Avenue, Halifax [1901, 1911]

Baxter, James
[1873-1955] Son of Henry Baxter, labourer.

Born in Halifax.

He was a labourer of 68 Fenton Street, Bradford [1894]; a stone mason labourer [1901]; a labourer stoker [1911].

In [Q3] 1894, he married Ada Lang [1875-1962] at St Andrew, Bradford.


Ada of 62 Laurence Street, Bradford, was born in Bolton, Lancashire, the daughter of Thomas Lang
 

Children: (1) William (Willie) Henry [1895-1916]; (2) Edgar; (3) Nelly [b 1899]; (4) Thomas Robinson [b 1901]; (5) Florrie [b 1903]; (6) Lillian [b 1905]; (7) James [1917-2007] who married Esther [1923-2009].

The family lived at 5 Green Hall, Halifax [1901]; 19 Boy Lane, Wheatley, Halifax [1911]; 23 Boy Lane, Wheatley, Halifax.

James died 20th February 1955 (aged 81).

Ada died 21st December 1962 (aged 87).

Members of the family were buried at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden [I 19]

Baxter, Jeremiah
[16??-1???] He was Constable of Northowram [1699, 1700]

Baxter, Jeremiah
[1628-1696] Of Northowram.

He built Baxter House.

He married Elizabeth [1629-1685]. Heywood records that she

died 13th January 1685 aged 56, languish 10 years

Children: (1) Jeremy; (2) Elizabeth [bapt 1661-1728] who married Joseph Halliday.

He married (2) Susannah [16??-1718].

Children: (3) Elkanah [bapt 1687-1727] of Leeds who married [11 Mar 1710] Hannah Drake at London; (4) Susanna [bapt 1689] who married [1724] Richard Roust at Coley; (5) Jeremy [bapt 1691-1723] who died of a fever; (6) Elizabeth [bapt 1693] who married [1720] Abraham Foster (of Bradford) at Halifax; (7) John [bapt 1695-1717]; (8) Joseph [bapt 1698-1715]; (9) Nathan [bapt 1700]; (10) Thomas [bapt 1702-1723] who died of small pox at London; (11) Mary [1705-1715].

Susannah died 10th October 1718.

The family were members of Heywood's Chapel.

Heywood records

Jeremiah Baxter of Northourum my good neighbour dyed Jan 3, buryed at Halifax Jan 96 (1696) aged 68

Baxter, Jeremy
[16??-1730] Son of Jeremiah Baxter.

He was educated at the Bell School, Northowram.

Like other of the family, he was a member of Heywood's Chapel.

He inherited Baxter House

Baxter, John
[1790-1830] Master of Barkisland Grammar School [1807-1830].

In 1822, he was listed as

Master of Free GS, and agent to Miss Bold, Bold Hall, Lancashire

His sister kept a school [1822].

He died intestate [1st May 1830].

His pupils placed a tablet in his memory in Ripponden Church

Baxter, John
[1825-1???] Born in Southowram.

He was a civil engineer [1861]; a factory engine driver [1871].

He married Nanny [1817-1???] from Wheatley.

Children: (1) William [b 1850]; (2) James; (3) Martha [b 1857] who married Peter Metcalfe Granger the business partner of her brother James; (4) Ann [b 1860].

The family lived at 2 Thornber Building, Lock Street, Caddy Field, Southowram [1861]; 2 Marvell's Court, Halifax [1871]

Baxter, John
[1868-1937] Born in Ovenden.

He was a stuff presser [1888].

On 11th February 1888, he married Ellen Selina Painten [1868-1927] in Halifax.


Ellen Selina was born in Stonesfield
 

Children: Clement.

The family lived at Sunny Bank, Hipperholme [1911]

Baxter, Thomas
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Royal Army Service Corps.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Baxter, Walter Renshaw
[1898-1918] Son of Isaac Edward Baxter.

Born in Halifax [28th March 1898].

He was a labourer [1917].

During World War I, he enlisted in Bradford [19th March 1917], and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [10th April 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial [82-75 & 162A]

Baxter, William
[17??-1???] Halifax brewer.

He built the New North Bridge Inn [1772]. He changed its name to the Pine Apple [1779]

Baxter, William
[1796-185?] Born in Skircoat.

He gave land for the building of Christ Church, Barkisland [1820].

He was a member of the Board of Guardians of Halifax Poor Law Union [1837], High Constable [1841], and High Constable (Morley Division) [1851].

He married Mary [1796-18??] from Horton.

The family lived at Barkisland Lower Hall [1841, 1851, 1861].

He is mentioned in September 1848, in connection with the sale of property in Lancashire, and in 1856 as land agent for the sale connected to the case of Horton vs Thompson.

He died at Barkisland Lower Hall [17th August 1858].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £800.

His will was proved by his nephew Rev Thomas Preston Nowell Baxter, of Great Coates, near Grimsby.

There is a tablet in Christ Church, Barkisland to his memory

Baycliff Limited
Fancy leather manufacturer and saddle-bag makers.

They were at Skircoat Road [1936] and Akroyd Place, halifax [1952]

The Bayes family of Lumbutts
William Bayes was an early member of the family

Bayes, Albert Benjamin
[1835-1916] Son of William Bayes.

Born in Lumbutts.

Baptised at Cross Stone, Todmorden [1835].

He was a member of the Calder Valley Poets He became a Quaker. He lived in Bradford, Todmorden and Brighouse.

In 1861, he and Walker Waddington bought Samuel Ward Walton's business in Todmorden.

He was schoolmaster's assistant his parents' school [1851]; teaching at his parents' school [1856]; a shopman (stationer) [1871]; printer, stationer and advertising agent at Briggate, Brighouse [1874]; a member of the Brighouse Monthly Meeting [1874]; a letterpress printer & stationer employing 3 men & 6 boys [1881]; a newspaper publisher & proprietor, letterpress printer, stationer, bookseller [1891].

He published the Bayes's Almanac, Brighouse & Elland Express, and Fox's Almanac from the Gazette Office in Briggate.

He printed Horsfall Turner's edition of The Rev Oliver Heywood BA 1630-1702.

In February 1899, he appears to have got into financial difficulties.

In May 1899, he proposed to visit America for about 6 months.

In 1869, he married Margaret Ellen [1842-1912] daughter of Elizabeth and Robert Foxcroft [1807-18??], from Erringden, in Bolton.

Children: (1) Walter Robert; (2) James Austin [1871-1954]; (3) Anne Alice [b 1874]; (4) Mary Lavinia [1878-1954].

The family lived at 2 Pavement, Todmorden [1871]; Stationers Shop, 79 Briggate, Brighouse [1881]; 4 Parsonage Street, Brighouse [1891].

In 1911, Albert Benjamin (formerly general stationer) was living with his daughter Annie Alice (confectioner) at 5 Byron Street, Bradford.

Margaret Ellen was buried at the Friends' Burial Ground, York [1912]. Albert Benjamin's death was registered in Leeds [1916].

See R. H. Ashworth

Bayes, Alfred Walter
[1832-1909] Son of William Bayes.

Born in Lumbutts.

He was schoolmaster at his parents' school in Lumbutts [1851]; an artist in oil colours [1881].

Around 1850, he moved to London to pursue his artistic career. He studied at the Heatherley's Art School, and made money from book illustration.

By 1858, he had exhibited at the Royal Academy, the British Institution, the Society of British Artists, and the New Watercolour Society.

He was a Member of the Royal Society of Painter-Etchers.

His painting of a Chartist meeting at the Basin Stone hangs in the Mayor's parlour at Todmorden Town Hall.

He married Emily Ann, daughter of James Fielden.

Children: (1) Emmeline [1867-1957] who became a fashion designer; (2) Walter [1869-1956] who became an artist; (3) Gilbert; (4) Jessie. All the children were born in London.

The family lived at 21 Adelaide Road, Hampstead [1881].

He died as a result of being knocked down by a taxi-cab in London.

He left an estate of £1,646

Bayes's Almanac
An almanac first published by A. B. Bayes in 1873.

See Local Newspapers

Bayes, Gilbert William
[1872-1953] Son of Alfred Walter Bayes.

Born in St Pancras, London.

Todmorden sculptor. He was President of the Royal Society of British Sculptors (PRBS); Honorary Member of the Royal Institute of Painter in Watercolours (HRI) [1918]; a Member of the Art Workers Guild [1896] & Master of the Guilde [1925-1926]; Vice President of the Incorporated Association of Architects & Surveyors [1939-1944].

His work includes examples in the Garden of Remembrance at Centre Vale Park, figures of Sir Charles Barry, and the Great Clock at Selfridge's in Knightbridge.

He wrote Modelling for Sculpture: a book for the beginner [1930]

In 1906, he married Gertrude Smith [1870-1952] who was also a sculptor, in Farnham.

Children: Eleanor Jean [b 1909].

The family lived at 40 Boundary Road, Hampstead, London [1911] and 4 Greville Place, London NW6 (now known as Bayes House) [1931-1953]

Bayes, James Austin
[1871-1954] Son of Albert Benjamin Bayes.

Born in Halifax.

He was a chemist & druggist [1901, 1911].

In 1900, he married Mabel Lizzie Horton [1870-1954] in Luton.

They lived at Fenny Stratford, Buckinghamshire [1911] and Hendon, Middlesex [1954]

Bayes, Jessie
[1876-1970] Daughter of Alfred Walter Bayes.

She became a miniaturist and illustrator.

At the time of her death, she was writing the Bayes Saga

Bayes, Walter Robert
[1870-1912] Son of Albert Benjamin Bayes.

Born in Halifax.

He was educated at the Friends' School, Ackworth [1881]; a reporter & letterpress printer [1891]

Bayes, William
[1799-1851] He came from Northamptonshire.

He was a leather worker.

He moved to Todmorden where he was an early member of the Bayes family of Lumbutts.

He was a shoe maker [1841]; head of a school at Lumbutts [1850].

In 1826, he married Hannah Uttley at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) John [b 1827] who died young; (2) Isaac [b 1829] who died young; (3) Albert Benjamin; (4) Alfred Walter.

In 1851, after William's death, Hannah was school mistress at the school, Alfred Walter was schoolmaster, and Albert Benjamin was school mistress's assistant.

The family lived at Lumbutts, Langfield, Todmorden [1841, 1851]

Bayfield, Rev Benjamin
[1808-1866] On 8th June 1841, he married Elizabeth, daughter of John Waterhouse, in Halifax.

He lived at Soyland [1845].

He was Vicar of Saint Bartholomew's Church, Ripponden [1841-1847].

He left Ripponden to serve at Shinfield, Berkshire.

He died at Halifax. He was buried in the Waterhouse Vault at Halifax Parish Church

Bayley Hall, Halifax
Recorded in 1707, when the Stancliffe family acquired the property from John Bottomley.

See Bailey Hall, Halifax

Baylis, Frank
[1890-1918] Son of John Baylis.

Born in Halifax.

He was a woollen raiser [1911].

On 26th December 1912, he married Frances Hunter [1890-19??] in Halifax.


Frances was born in Liverpool
 

Children: (1) Annie [b 1913]; (2) Leslie [b 1914].

The children were born in Halifax.

During World War I, he served as a Lance Corporal with the 1st/7th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [29th April 1918].

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial [82 to 85 & 162A]

Baylis, John
[1865-1950] Born in Wales.

He was a gardener [1888].

In [Q3] 1888, he married Annie Maria Pollington [1866-1937] in Tonbridge, Kent.


Annie Maria was born in Tonbridge
 

Children: Frank.

The family lived at Darnes Avenue, King Cross [1911]

Baylis, Nicholas
[16??-1???] The name is variously transcribed as Bayley Or Batley. Of Baildon.

He married Mary, daughter of Michael Best.

Heywood comments that

they lived for a while at Mountain and helped to waste the property

Baylis, William
[18??-19??] Florist, seedsman, nurseryman and landscape gardener at Edwards Road, Pye Nest [1905]

Baymyn
The surname is (possibly) a form of Beaumont.

See The Crossley family of Halifax Arms

Baynes, James
[17??-18??] Listed as a Halifax Gent [1791]

Bazley-White, John
[18??-1940] Aka Jock. MC.

Son of Grace [18??-1933] and John Bazley-White [1814-1893] of London.

On 21st May 1927, he became the second husband of Mary Isabel Alexander.

He died on active service during World War II

Bazzanti, Niccolò
[1802-18??] Florentine sculptor who made a lifesize marble bust of a veiled lady which can be seen in Bankfield Museum, Halifax. The bust has been said to be be Edward Akroyd's wife Elizabeth,

Alongside are busts of Edward Akroyd and William Wordsworth, (possibly) also by Bazzanti

BDA
Abbr: Bradford Dyers' Association

Beacon Club
A 19th century gentleman's club held at the Corporation Arms, Gibbet Street, Halifax. The members entertained each other by singing, playing musical instruments, and reciting. John Hartley was a member and found fame when he recited here

Beacon Firelighting Company
Firelighter manufacturers at West View Road, Boothtown [1905]

Beacon Hill, Halifax
The hill which rises to 864 ft above sea-level, and overlooks Halifax from the east.

Beacon Hill House, Halifax
Refreshments were sold here in the late 19th century

Beacon Hill Recreation Ground, Halifax
Recorded in 1936

Beacon Hill Round Barrow, Barkisland
Ringstone Edge. A Bronze Age burial mound – a bowl barrow – about 90 ft by 65 ft across and 5 ft high.

In 1907, a part of eastern edge of the mound was removed when a wall was built. During excavations at that time, 2 urns, burned bone and charcoal were found

Beacon Hill Tunnel
Railway tunnel on the line from Halifax to Bradford which goes underneath Beacon Hill. It is 1,105 yards long. Neo-Norman style. It was constructed in 1846-1849 for the West Riding Union Railway and the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Company and opened in 1852.

See Benjamin Gommersall

Beacon Lodge [No 4066] Masonic Lodge
Masonic Lodge. Consecrated in 1920 as a daughter Lodge of the De Warren [No 1302] Masonic Lodge.

They met on the first Thursday of the month.

They were at the Freemasons' Hall, Halifax [1937].

Officers of the Lodge have included

  • A. Pulman – Master [1937]

Beacon Pan
The popular name for the beacon on Beacon Hill

Beacon products
Beacon was a trademark of Law & Crossley Limited

Beacon Radio Manufacturing Company Limited
Radio engineers. Makers of
Atlas... the good honest radio

at 75 Pellon Lane, Halifax [1936]

Beacon, Th'
Aka Beacon Almanac. Almanac containing prose and verse compositions, edited by Arthur William Bickerdike and published around 1873

Beacon Welter Handicap
See Halifax Race Course

Beaconsfield Centre, Halifax
A referral unit for disruptive children established in the former Caddy Field Board School when that closed in the 1980s.

It was later converted into flats and known as Beaconsfield

Beacroft-Mitchell, John
[1976-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [2009-2010]

Beairsto
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Beal, William Henry
[1849-1930] Born in Elton, Huntingdonshire.

He was a sewing machine dealer & mechanic [1911].

He had the agency for White Sewing Machines.

He built Whitehall, Halifax

In [Q4] 1884, he married Clara Peak [1861-19??] from Kingston, Surrey.

Children: (1) child who died young [before 1911]; (2) child who died young [before 1911]; (3) child who died young [before 1911]; (4) Winifred Alice [b 1875] who was born in Jackson, Tennessee, USA, and was a bookkeeper (wool buying) [1911]; (5) Bertha [b 1886] who was a foreign correspondent (loom making) [1911].

The family lived at 1 Russell Street, Halifax [1911]

Beale, Ebenezer
[18??-1???] An electrician living at 4 Caroline Terrace, Halifax.

In July 1884, he was summoned by the London, Brighton & South Coast Railway Company for unlawfully making use of the electrical communicator on a train without reasonable excuse.

In his defence, he said that he was a passenger on a train travelling from Brighton to London and, as he was interested in electricity, he was examining the bell and had pulled out the knob when

all of a sudden it went off before he know where he was

causing the train to be stopped.

At Croydon Petty Sessions, the Mayor asked Beale whether he had come all the way from Halifax to answer the summons. Beale replied that he had travelled from Manchester, whereupon the Mayor dismissed the case. The prosecution said that it was not the company's fault that Beale lived in Halifax, and the Mayor said

No, but it is the defendant's misfortune

Beale was eventually fined 2/6d plus 7/- costs

Beale, Eleanor P.
[18??-19??] JP.

Of Luddendenfoot. She was appointed magistrate for the West Riding in 1935

Beames, John
[18??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1914-1921]. He won caps for Great Britain, for Other Nations and for Wales while at Halifax

Beamish, Huldine V.
[18??-19??] Big-game huntress and writer.

She and her partner, Letitia, the granddaughter of George Wheelhouse Robinson, farmed in Portugal.

She wrote a book about Portugal entitled The Hills of Alemtejo, in which she documents the history of Robinson Brothers' business in Portugal

Beamish, Rev John Forster
[18??-19??] He was Curate of Saint James's Church, Halifax [1902]; Curate-in-charge at Saint Matthew's Church, Rishworth [1905, 1908].

In 1909, he moved to Upperthong, Holmfirth

Bean, Alexander Henry Stillingfleet
[1849-1929] Son of Rev Alexander Louis Wellington Bean.

Born in Bolton.

Curate of Sowerby [1881].

In 1883, he married Lucy Caroline Cooper in Warwick.

Children: Francis [1884] who died aged 5 months.

The infant Francis is mentioned on his grandfather's memorial in Sowerby Church

Bean, Rev Alexander Louis Wellington
[1816-1895] MA.

Born in Amboise, France.

He was Vicar of Sowerby [1852-1895].

He was instrumental in building Triangle Infants' School and Sowerby District National School.

In 1848, he married (1) Marian Jane Stillingfleet [1819-1861] at Evesham.

Children: (1) Alexander Henry Stillingfleet; (2) Clement Willoughby [b 1851] who became a clergyman.

Marian Jane died at Sowerby Parsonage [26th June 1861].

In 1867, he married (2) Ellen Susanna Rawson.

The Wakefield Diocesan Gazette for October 1898 reported:

  • Saint Peter's Church Sowerby 17th September 1898 – A very handsome mural tablet in memory of the late Vicar Mr Bean.

    This is on the south side of church, near the chancel

  • A second and greater memorial to the late Vicar – The Bean Memorial School at Triangle – will be opened shortly

He placed 2 mosaics in the apse of Sowerby Church in memory of his wife.

He is mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1895

Bean Hole Head, Cross Stone
17th century house. A sizing mill is recorded here in the early 1700s.

Plasterwork and other parts of the building are dated MW and DB with a Royal coat of arms, ED, 1634 RSA with a Royal coat of arms, 1638 RAS, and WS 1700 - possibly for the Sutcliffe family

Bean, Margaret Alice
[1945-1960] The body of the 15-year-old office worker from Bramley Lane, Hipperholme was found in a house in Shaw Hill Lane, Halifax on 17th April 1960. She had been battered about the head. Arthur Eastwood, a 19-year-old bus conductor, was also found unconscious from the effects of coal gas

Bean, William
[1864-1???] Born in Sowerby Bridge.

He was a traveller [1891]; a commercial clerk [1901].

In [Q4] 1886 he married Fanny Elizabeth Jagger in Halifax.


Fanny Elizabeth was the daughter of
Mr Jagger
 

Children: (1) Fanny [b 1888]; (2) Jessie Hannah [b 1891].

In 1891, the family were living with Fanny Elizabeth's widowed mother Hannah.

The family lived at 24 Keswick Road, Blackpool [1901].

Living with them in 1901 were Fanny Elizabeth's mother Hannah and visitor Ben Robinson [aged 57] (shoemaker) 

Beard, Benjamin
[1766-1809] Son of James Beard.

Baptised at Elland Parish Church [26th October 1766].

On 9th April 1787, he married Sarah Armitage at Elland Parish Church.

Children: (1) Martha; (2) Benjamin.

He died 18th October 1809.

He was buried at Elland Parish Church [23rd October 1809]

Beard, Benjamin
[1805-1878] Son of Benjamin Beard.

He was a labourer at Norland [1841]; a farmer at Norland [1851]; at Hollin Well, Norland a farmer of 8 acres [1861, 1871].

On 19th July 1829, he married Susannah (Susy) Butler [1806-1876] in Elland.

Children: (possibly) Hannah.

The family lived at Norland Town [1841]; Lane Head, Norland [1851]; Hollin Well, Norland [1861, 1871].

In 1851, the family were living at Lane Head, Sowerby and sharing a house with Jabez Evers and family.

In 1871, the family were living at 10 Holling Well, Norland with their Evers grandchildren John Henry, William Edward, Jim Herbert and Mary Annie. Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at under £1,000. His niece Hannah Evers was executor

Beard, James
[1740-1803] On 2nd October 1765, he married Sarah [1730-1798] at Elland Parish Church.


Sarah was the widow of
Henry Fielden of New Hall, Elland
 

Children: (1) Benjamin; (2) Nanny [bapt 1768] who married [1786] James Kitchen; (3) John [bapt 1769-1777]; (4) Martha [1771-1826] who married [1870] John Sheard; (5) James.

The family lived at New Hall, Elland.

Sarah died 15th March 1798.

James died 10th August 1803.

Members of the family were buried at Elland Parish Church with Henry Fielden

Beard, James
[1775-1842] Son of James Beard.

He lived at New Hall, Elland.

In March 1826, James is recorded as giving his cottage tenants a treat – a good supper – and giving them their rent back when times were hard and several of them were out of employment.

He died 2nd January 1842.

He was buried at Elland Parish Church

Beard, Martha
[1798-18??] Daughter of Benjamin Beard.

On 10th June 1821, she married (1) Crossley Siddal in Elland.

On 31st December 1827, she married (2) Jonathan Taylor in Halifax

The Bearder family
In the 1790s, John Bearder, John Bearder, and Thomas Bearder moved from Derbyshire to work in a mine at Shelf, thereby establishing the family in Calderdale and West Yorkshire.

Bearder, Alfred
[1848-19??] Son of Thomas Bearder.

Born in Bowling, Bradford.

He was a cashier for a worsted spinner and manufacturer [1891]; a company accountant [1885].

In 1882, he married Mary Jane Ingham in Bradford.

Children: (1) Harold Ingham; (2) Constance [b 1887]; (3) Margrite Ingham [b 1894] who married [1923] Richard de Zouche.

Around 1885, the family moved to Halifax.

The family lived at Shaw House, Skircoat [1885]

Bearder, Amelia
[1811-1865] Born in Derbyshire.

In 1829, she married William Jagger. They were both living in Shelf.

She died in Shelf

Bearder Charity
Established by John Alfred Bearder in 1991, after he inherited a sum of money from ??

Bearder, Harold Ingham
[1884-19??] MA.

Son of Alfred Bearder.

Born in Frizinghall, Bradford.

He qualified as an attorney in December 1908.

He became a solicitor of Hopwood Hall, Halifax [1934]. He established the firm of Bearder's in Halifax.

In 1912, he married Kathleen Murgatroyd in Halifax.

Children: John Alfred.

See Halifax Incorporated Law Society Limited

Bearder, John
[17??-18??] In the 1790s, he and other members of the Bearder family moved from Derbyshire to work in a mine at Shelf.

In 1812, he married a widow, Hannah Atkinson from Shelf

Bearder, John
[1783-1861] In the 1790s, he and other members of the Bearder family moved from Derbyshire to work in a mine at Shelf.

In 1804, he married (1) Hannah Harrison [1783-1834] from Shelf.

Children: (1) George [b 1805]; (2) William [b 1807]; (3) Betsy [b 1809]; (4) John [1810-1849]; (5) Mary Ann [b 1815]; (6) Thomas; (7) Joseph [1818-1869]; (8) Benjamin [1820-1889]; (9) Ruth [b 1821]; (10) Martha [b 1822]; (11) Maria [b 1824]; (12) Harrison [1828-1918]. The first 3 children were born in Shelf.

In 1810, the family moved moving to Bradford where John worked as manager of the blast furnace operation for the Bowling Iron Company. John and the later children were born in Bowling.

In 1838, he married (2) Maria Midgley [18??-18??].

Children: (13) Ann [b 1838]; (14) Jane [b 1842]

Bearder, John Alfred
[1913-1998] OBE, TD, MA.

Son of Harold Ingham Bearder

He was educated at Oxford. He became a solicitor and joined his father's firm, Bearder's, in Halifax.

He was involved with many local charities. In 1991, he inherited a sum of money which he used to establish the Bearder Charity

Bearder's Solicitors
Halifax solicitors established by Harold Ingham Bearder

Bearder, Thomas
[17??-18??] In the 1790s, he and other members of the Bearder family moved from Derbyshire to work in a mine at Shelf.

In 1808, he married Priscilla Sutcliffe [1783-18??] from Ovenden and Shelf, in Bradford.

Thomas joined the army shortly after the marriage.

He may have died in India

Bearder, Thomas
[1817-1888] Son of John Bearder.

Born in Bowling, Bradford.

In 1845, he married Martha Thomas from Bowling.

Children: (1) Alfred; (2) Alice [b 1850]

Beardsworth, Jane
[1808-1850] Of Birmingham. Daughter of Caroline and John Beardsworth.

She married (1) John Edwards Dyson.

She married (2) William James Moore, cousin of her first husband

Bearnshaw Tower, Todmorden
Aka Bernshaw Tower. Above Cornholme.

It has been associated with the Pendle Witches.

A local legend says that there was treasure buried beneath a tower here. So many treasure-hunters dug for the hoard that the tower became unsafe and collapsed [around 1860]. Only a farm now remains.

Lady Sybil lived here

Beastall
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Beastow
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

The Beatles
On 9th October 1964, the group stayed at Holdsworth House after performing at Bradford.

Local gossip had it that they were going to stay at the Raggalds, Queensbury, so the visit to Holdsworth House was fairly low-key

Beattie, Rev John
[17??-18??] He was a missionary in the South Seas and had been captured by the French. He became Minister at Elland Unitarian Chapel [September 1815-1834]. He is listed as Master of the Free School [1822] He had a school in Elland [1834, 1842]

Beauchamp, Alfred
[1841-1921] Born in Frome, Somerset.

He was a small wire drawer [1871, 1881]; publican at the Black Bull, Brighouse [1887, 1891]; landlord of the Calder & Hebble, Salterhebble [1900]; a wire drawer (retired) [1901, 1911].

On 11th December 1900, he was fined 10/- plus 5/6d costs for permitting drunkenness on his premises.

In 1867, he married Emma Sophia Norvill [1839-1916] in Frome.

Children:

The family lived at 14 Leafland Street, Halifax [1871]; 12 Lower Hope Street, Halifax [1881]; 15 Colin Street, Halifax [1901]; 5 South Darley Street, Halifax [1911]

Living with them in 1881 was Emma's father Charles Norvill [aged 70] (tailor) 

Beaufort-Jones, Rev Michael
[1937-1997] Originally from Surrey, Michael de Montalt B Beaufort-Jones was educated at Trinity Junior Boys School and Heath Grammar School. He was a good athlete and set records for the 888 yards and for the mile whilst at Heath. He worked in the printing industry before becoming Vicar of All Souls' Church, Haley Hill [19??]

Beauland, Messrs
Contractors employed in the construction of several new buildings in Halifax [1858].

In May 1858, several stone masons working for the company went on strike because of

the obnoxious code of rules that were sought to be enforced by the masters

The men returned to work when the rules were withdrawn.

Halifax stone-masons went on strike in February 1859

Beaumont
It has been suggested that some members of the family translated the surname to/from Fairbank.

There are currently around 35 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Beaumont. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

See Baymyn

Beaumont's: Abraham & John Beaumont
Stone merchants and masons at Upper Edge, Elland [1861]

Beaumont, Miss Amy Armitage
[1???-1962] Of Pellon.

Probate records show that she left an estate valued at £6,281. In her will, she left bequests for various local organisations and institutions, including Saint John the Evangelist, Bradshaw, Christ Church, Pellon

Beaumont Brothers (Halifax) Limited
Ripponden haulage business established by Harry Hargreaves Beaumont. They were at Ripponden Garage and Manchester House

Beaumont, Butterworth
[1831-1889] Son of Luke Beaumont.

Born in Elland.

Baptised in Elland [4th December 1831].

He was a grocer [1871]; partner in Beaumont's with his brother Godfrey Beaumont [1871].

In [Q3] 1866, he married Mary Whitaker Stephenson [1838-1879] in Huddersfield.


Mary was born in Shepley
 

Children: (1) Charles Edwin [1870-1877]; (2) John Herbert [b 1872].

The family lived at Westgate, Elland [1871]; Bedford Street, Elland [1881]; Granville Street, Elland [1889].

Butterworth died 19th January 1889.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £219 3/- to brother Godfrey and son John Herbert

Beaumont, Charles
[1859-19??] Son of George Beaumont.

Born in Northowram.

He was a carpet printer [1871]; a gas works labourer [1901].

He married Eliza [1863-19??]


Eliza was born in Bradford [1911]
 

Children: (1) George H [b 1886] who was a worsted bobbin setter [1901]; (2) Amy [b 1887] who was a worsted spinner setter [1901], a cotton twister [1911]; (3) Albert [b 1889] who was a worsted bobbin setter [1901], a labourer (iron trade) [1911].

The family lived at 6 Allerton Place, Halifax [1901]; 34a Woolshops, Halifax [1911]

Charles was dead by 1911.

Living with them in 1901 were his niece Rosina Hartley [b  1879] (dry flax worker) and nephew Charles Beaumont Hartley.

Living with them in 1911 were grandson Harold [b 1911], nephew Charlie Beaumont Hartley, and niece Eliza Hartley [b 1892] (worsted spinner) 

Beaumont Clough Bridge, Erringden
Pinnacle Lane. 18th century packhorse bridge on route to Horsehold across Beaumont Clough

Beaumont Clough, Erringden
Stream and valley at Erringden. Beaumont Clough Bridge, Erringden crosses the stream.

Traces of mediæval iron-working have been found here

Beaumont, Daniel
[1803-18??] Born in Rishworth.

He was a weaver [1861].

On 26th October 1829, he married Hannah Priestley at Elland. Hannah had a daughter, Elizabeth [b 1825], and (possibly) a son, Henry.

Children: Pliny.

The family lived at Lower Sparkhouse, Norland [1851]

Beaumont, Elizabeth
[1780-1845] Daughter of William Beaumont of Goldthorpe, Kirkheaton.

She married William Edward Ledgard.

She was buried at Rastrick Church

Beaumont, F.
[18??-191?] Of Southowram.

He served in World War I.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on Southowram War Memorial

Beaumont, Frederick Fox
[1871-1952] Son of Godfrey Beaumont.

He was an architect & surveyor.

In [Q2] 1904, he married Mary Isabel Brook in Halifax.

The family lived at Broomfield House, Elland [1952].

Frederick died 7th December 1952.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £23,381 16/-. Probate was granted to Mary Isabel, Percy Fielding, and Walter Clement Barker

Beaumont, George
[17??-18??] Linen draper and seller of bombazines and stuffs at Corn market, Halifax [1822].

He was one of 26 founding members of Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel in Elland [1824]

Beaumont, George
[17??-18??] JP.

In 1842, his only daughter, Mary Isabella, became the second wife of George Skirrow Beecroft of Kirkstall Forge, Leeds

Beaumont, Rev George
[1794-1858] Minister at Salem Methodist New Connexion Chapel, North Parade [1815].

He later left the ministry. He settled in Halifax where he became a a worsted manufacturer, a councillor, a businessman who developed the area known as Beaumont Town, President of the Halifax Branch of the Anti-Corn Law League, and a partner in the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company [1845].

At Salem, he met the Akroyd family.

He married Alice Akroyd.


Alice was the daughter of James Akroyd and sister of Jonathan and James
 

Children: James Akroyd.

The family lived at Bird Cage, Halifax.

He was buried at All Souls' Church, Halifax

Beaumont, George
[1827-1???] He was a quarryman (stone) [1871].

He married Hannah [1830-1???].

Children: (1) John [b 1850] who was a cartwright [1871]; (2) Martha [b 1851] who was a worsted reeler [1871]; (3) Sam [b 1854] who was a carpet printer [1871]; (4) Joseph; (5) Charles; (6) Fred [b 1862] who was a bobbin winder (worsted) [1871]; (7) Frank [b 1864]; (8) Helen [b 1870].

The family lived at Mount Pleasant, Northowram [1871]

Beaumont, Godfrey
[1829-1905] Son of Luke Beaumont.

Born in Elland.

Baptised in Elland [21st October 1829].

He was a grocer & corn dealer [1871]; partner in Beaumont's with his brother Butterworth Beaumont [1871]; a retired grocer [1881].

In May 1879, he bought land opposite Elland Parish Church for £620.

The Elland branch of the Halifax & Huddersfield Union Banking Company was built on the land and opened on 2nd April 1894.

He is recorded as having laid out and planted the grounds at Blackley Baptist Church.

On 28th September 1863, he married Ann(e) Fox [1830-1902] at Elland Parish Church.


Ann was born in Greetland
 

Children: Frederick Fox.

The family lived at Westgate, Elland [1871]; Broomfield House, Elland [1881].

Living with them in 1871 was nephew Robson Beaumont [b 1853] (apprentice grocer) and Edward H. C. Mallinson [b 1854] (apprentice grocer) 

Godfrey died 25th January 1905.

Probate records show that he left effects valued at £912 4/10d. Probate was granted to his son Frederick

Beaumont's: Godfrey & Butterworth Beaumont
Grocers at Elland.

Partners included Godfrey Beaumont and Butterworth Beaumont.

The partnership was dissolved in March 1858

Beaumont, Harry Hargreaves
[18??-1955] Of Ripponden. Established Beaumont Brothers (Halifax) Limited.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £66,988

Beaumont, Henry
[18??-19??] Cloth fuller at Owlet Hall Mills, Elland [1905]

Beaumont, Henry
[1866-1935] Born in Halifax.

He was a general labourer.

In [Q2] 1886, he married Maria Turner in Halifax.


Maria was the daughter of
Abraham Turner
 

Children: (1) Norah [b 1886]; (2) Edith Emily [1890-1892]; (3) Abraham Turner [b 1893].

The children were born in Halifax.

Around 1894, the marriage between Maria & Henry broke down and Maria and the children went to live with Halifax born carpet weaver Harry Smith [1872].

After the 1901 census, Henry, Maria, Harry and the children disappeared from the records

Beaumont, James
[18??-18??] He was Constable of Northowram [1844]

Beaumont, Rev James Akroyd
[1820-1888] MA.

Son of George Beaumont and Alice, daughter of James Akroyd.

He was educated at Durham and at Trinity College Cambridge [from 1836]. In 1846, he was Perpetual Curate at St Paul's Church, Leeds. He was Rector of Poughill, Devon [1850-1861].

He died 21st March 1888

Beaumont, James Mitchell
[18??-18??] Stone merchant and quarry owner at Lower Edge Quarries, Rastrick [1874]

Beaumont, Joe
[1857-1???] Son of George Beaumont.

Born in Northowram.

He was a carpet printer [1871]; a stone quarryman [1891].

He lived at 6 Mill Terrace, Garden Street, Halifax [1891].

Living with him in 1891 were boarders Fanny Hartley (widowed charwoman), and her children Rosina [b 1879] (worsted bobbin setter), and Charles.

On 24th August 1891, Fanny – shown as Fanny Hartley married woman – had a daughter Eliza Beaumont Hartley.

Beaumont, John
[1???-1???] Police Constable in Southowram [1857]

Beaumont, John
[1???-1???] Constable at Todmorden & Walsden [1754]

Beaumont, John
[1???-15??] 16th century cloth manufacturer who owned Kershaw House, Luddenden

Beaumont, John
[15??-15??] In 1571, he bought a house on the site of Slead Hall, Brighouse – and a close called Slade – from James and Richard Waterhouse for £60

Beaumont, John
[1680-1750] Son of Thomas Beaumont of Lascelles Hall, Kirkheaton.

He became a Halifax attorney. He lived at the back of the Cock & Crown Inn, Halifax. In 1714, he took over the practice of his brother-in-law, Matthew Mason

Beaumont, Jonas
[18??-18??] Chemist and druggist at 31 Union Street, Halifax [1874]

Beaumont, Joseph
[18??-18??] Of Elland Mills.

He was owner of Elland Mill; High Constable of Elland [1863]; a supporter of the Halifax, Huddersfield & Keighley Railway

Beaumont, Luke
[1790-18??] Of Elland.

He was a grocer [1829]; a farmer [1841].

On 20th September 1810, he married Margaret (Peggy) Dyson [1793-18??] at Elland Parish Church.

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1816]; (2) George [b 1822] who was a mechanic [1841]; (3) Margaret [b 1826]; (4) Luke [b 1827]; (5) Godfrey; (6) Butterworth.

The family lived at Castle Gate, Elland [1841, 1851].

Living with them [in 1841, 1851] was his sister Hannah Beaumont [b 1783]

Beaumont, Margaret
[15??-16??] Or Margery.

She married John Armytage

Beaumont, Dr Noel Charles
[1874-1937] MRCS, LRCP.

He lived at Greenfield House, Holywell Green.

In 1911, he married Ethel Mary King [1873-1950] in Axbridge.

He died in Halifax

Beaumont, Pliny
[1840-1889] Son of Daniel Beaumont.

Born in Halifax.

He was an iron moulder [1881].

In 1870, he married Mary Jones [1843-1???] from Wales.

Children: (1) Henry [b 1869]; (2) Daniel [b 1877]; (3) Mary Elizabeth [b 1879].

The family lived at 10 School Street, Halifax [1881]

Beaumont, Sir Robert
[1???-1341] Of Crosland, Huddersfield.

See Elland Feud

Beaumont, Ronald
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served as a Petty Officer.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Beaumont, Sir Thomas
[1???-1660] Son of Richard Beaumont, of Lascelles Hall.

On 6th September 1626, he married (1) Elizabeth, daughter of Gregory Armytage, at Hartshead.

In 1631, he succeeded his cousin, Sir Richard Beaumont, of Whitley Beaumont. He was on the Royalist side in the Civil War. He was governor of Sheffield Castle.

In August 1656, he married (2) Mary Pilkington

Beaumont, Captain Thomas
[15??-16??] He was a military man training militia in the Halifax district prior to the Civil War. When the war began, he joined the Royalist forces. He controlled Sheffield and its castle.

See Captain Farrer and Sir William Savile

Beaumont Town
Former name of Claremount when it was developed by Thomas Parker, supported and encouraged by Rev George Beaumont.

At a meeting – chaired by Thomas Parker – in October 1864, it was decided to change the name to Claremont

See Town

Beaumont, W.
[18??-19??] Cotton spinner at Halifax.

In April 1879, he was declared bankrupt

Beaumont, Wallace
[1878-1960] Born in Rishworth.

He was a cotton spinner [1905].

On 3rd Aug 1905, he married Mabel Hannah Habergham at Ripponden Church.


Mabel Hannah was the daughter of
Walter Habergham
 

Children: (1) Walter Habergham [1906-1994]; (2) Oswyn Habergham [1909-1981].

The couple died in Eccles

Beaumont, Walter
[1???-19??] During World War II, he served as a Petty Officer.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd and in the book Royd Regeneration

Beaumont, Walter
[19??-1940] DFC.

From Mytholmroyd. He was educated at Scout Road School, Hebden Bridge Grammar School, Leeds University, and London University.

He served as a Pilot Officer with 152 Squadron of the RAF during World War II. On 23 September 1940, he was killed in action flying his Spitfire in the Battle of Britain.

His body was never recovered from the Channel. He is remembered on the Runnymede Memorial, the Battle of Britain Book in Westminster Abbey, the Battle of Britain Memorial on the Embankment in London, and Battle of Britain Memorial plaques in his school.

He was awarded the Battle of Britain Clasp on his 1939-1945 War Medal.

In January 2011, he, Kenneth Manger and Geoffrey Garside were commemorated when Manger Gardens, Garside Drive and Beaumont Chase, on the Wheatley Chase development at Keighley Road, Halifax, were named in their honour.

Walter Beaumont Terrace, Mytholmroyd in named in his honour

Beaumount, Hebden Bridge
Area of Hebden Bridge

Beauvoir Engineering
Engineering manufacturer of nuts and bolts at Luddenden. Founded in 18??.

Closed in 1982

Beavan, Dennis
[1918-1943] Son of Mary & Francis Beavan of Todmorden.

During World War II, he served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Manchester Regiment.

He died 6th November 1943 (aged 25).

He was buried at the Thanbyuzayat War Cemetery [B3 S 8].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Beavan, Rev S.
[18??-1???] Minister at Bridge Street (Central) Methodist Church, Todmorden. He preached his last sermon there on 1st August 1897

Bechuanaland chiefs
In October 1895, 3 chiefs from Bechuanaland [now Botswana] visited Halifax during a tour of Britain to win support for their campaign to protect their tribal lands from Cecil Rhodes's colonial expansion. The 3 men – Khama, Sebele and Bathoen – stayed with the Whitley family at Greenroyds and addressed hundreds of people at a meeting at Halifax Mechanics Institute

Beck & Parker
19th century brewers at 6 Stone Trough Lane.

Recorded in 1834, when they were listed as public brewers.

Partners included Peter Beck and William Parker.

In August 1835, Thomas Wilkinson Hemingway, a card maker of Hightown, Leeds, brought an action again Parker and Beck, on the warranty of a horse which they had sold to Hemingway. The Jury found for Hemingway and awarded £25 damages.

The partnership was dissolved in November 1835

Beck, Hugh
[1826-1862] Son of Peter Beck.

He was a banker's clerk [1841]. He became a master brewer. He joined his father's brewing business at the Stone Trough Brewery

Beck, Isaac
[16??-1680] Of Mount Pellon, Halifax.

Heywood writes that

[Beck], formerly a servant to William Kitchenman, had ... run away to Ireland, was come again, worked here and there, but was grown to an incredible height of wickedness in all kinds, an horrible swearer, blasphemer, if any reproved him, he would purposely swear far worse. Working in hay-time at Kitchenman's, forking up hay, and his cart coming, he swore that no cart should come to that barn floor. A lass on the hay mow bade him be quiet saying what have you done to stop them! he answered with horrible execration, if I were at thee I would kill thee, upon which mounting the ladder ... he came down, hurt his leg. It swelled as thick as a lusty man's body, he had terrible pain of it about a quarter of a year, it could not be healed, he died of it, was buried at Halifax October 12th 1680

Beck, Peter
[1785-1858] Born in Chester.

In 1837, he took over the Stone Trough Brewery from T. Boothroyd & Son.

He married Elizabeth [1801-18??].

Children: (1) Hugh [b 1826] who was a banker's clerk [1841]; (2) William [b 1827]; (3) Harriet [b 1832].

The family lived at Stone Trough House, Trinity Road [1841, 1851]; St John's Lane, Halifax [1861].

His son, Hugh, became a master brewer and joined the business. The business was acquired by Lupton, Charnock & Company.

See Beck & Parker and Smith & Foster

Beck, Thomas
[1821-1864] From York.

Landlord of the Bridge Tavern, Halifax [1861, 1864]

Becket's Well
A name for Pecket Well in the 19th century

Beckwith's
Machine makers, whitesmiths, bell-hangers and hot-water engineers established in 1868 by Christopher Beckwith at Mill Lane, Brighouse.

Around 1885, he moved to Central Works, Victoria Mills, Mill Lane. The premises stood next to the Royal Hotel, Brighouse, and were leased from the Halifax Joint Stock Banking Company.

Around 1895, they installed heating apparatus at Saint Martin's Church, Brighouse

Beckwith Brothers
Machine makers, whitesmiths and bellhangers, makers of strained wire fencing, iron hurdles, entrance and field gates, wrought and cast iron railings and stairs, and balustrades at Central Works, Brighouse [1874, 1881]

Beckwith, Christopher
[18??-19??] Established Beckwith's in 1868.

He lived at Bonegate, Brighouse.

He married Hannah Jenkinson [1849-1900]


Hannah was the daughter of Charles and Elizabeth Jenkinson of Giggleswick.

She died 16th January 1900

 

Beckwith, James Brook
[1844-1920] Born in Huddersfield.

He was a blacksmith [1911].

(Possibly) in [Q2] 1865, he married (1) Annie Walker [1846-1871] in Huddersfield.

Children: Mary [1869-1872] who died aged 14 months.

In [Q3] 1871, he married (2) Mary Hudson [1834-1913] from Pannal.

Children: Florence [b 1873].

The family lived at 41 Manley Street, Brighouse [1911].

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Beckwith, Roger
[17??-17??] Curate at Cross Stone [1749]

Beddoe, George
[19??-19??] Editor of the Halifax Courier [1971-1979]

The Bedford family of Brighouse
In the early 1700s, the family lived at Thornhill Briggs and owned land in the area and around the Martin's Nest.

In 1792, Joseph Cartledge bought the Thornhill Briggs Estate from them

See John Bedford

The Bedford family of Sowerby

Bedford, Edward
[1859-19??] Born in Lincoln.

He was caretaker of Park Lodge Laundry, Ovenden, and his wife Edna was laundress [1901].

In 1898, he married Edna Broughton [1859-19??], from West Hartlepool, in Bradford.

They lived at 1 Turney Street, Ovenden [1901]

Bedford, Edwin
[18??-1???] Halifax jeweller. Owned Abbotroyd, Barkisland

Bedford, George
[1816-1866] Of Grove House, Brearley.

Son of John Bedford.

He was a publican [1841]; a licensed victualler [1851]; a brewer [1853]; an innkeeper [1861].

Around 1845, he took over from his widowed mother as landlord of the Shoulder of Mutton in Midgley.

He was a Chartist sympathiser and meetings took place at the inn.

Around 1859, he established the Grove Brewery, Brearley at the Grove Inn.

In 1874, he bought the Bird-i-th-Hand, Warland. Fielden Fielden was landlord.

On 9th November 1853, he married Grace in Halifax.


Grace was the daughter of Eli Titterington and widow of James Hartley
 

Children: (1) Sarah [b 1854] who married Jeremiah Whitaker; (2) George; (3) James Titterington [1859] who died in infancy; (4) Grace [b 1861]

The family lived at Broad Door Stones, Midgley [1851].

After George's death, his widow, Grace, continued the family business.

She was listed as an ale & porter brewer at Grove, Midgley [1871], and as a brewer & maltster – with daughter Grace and son George, a brewer & maltster – at Grove, Midgley [1881].

Son George was later proprietor of the brewery.

He died 31st December 1866.

See Lacey Hey Farm, Midgley

Bedford, George
[1856-1897] Son of George Bedford.

He was a brewer and maltster and took over at the Grove Brewery.

From around 1894, he lived at Southport.

He died and was buried at Southport

Bedford, Henry
[1858-1898] Of Halifax.

In 1883, he married Zilpah Starkey [1866-1941] in Halifax.

Children: Mary Ann [1887-1948] who married Thomas (Tom) Hill.

In 1905, Zilpah married Thomas Stubley in Halifax

Bedford, Henry E.
[18??-18??] Around 1870, he established a business as a wholesale dealer in watches and jewellery in Crown Street, Halifax [1890].

Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a watch and clock maker, silversmith and working jeweller at 12 Crown Street, Halifax

Bedford, James
[1834-1???] Son of John Bedford.

Born in Warley.

Founded James Bedford & Company

Bedford's: James Bedford & Company
Engineering company founded by James Bedford at Weymouth Street, Halifax in 1882. The business later moved to Mount Street, Halifax [1890].

Publicity mentions

their celebrated patent Un-X-Ld outlet and syphon ventilators

which won the company a famous reputation.

See Hill & Hey

Bedford, James Frederick
[1807-1885] He was a stone quarrier [1859].

He married Elizabeth Crowther [1811-1900].

Children: (1) Susannah [1838-1913] who married John Sykes; (2) Joseph who was a stone merchant [1877]

Bedford, Jeremiah
[1831-1899] Son of John Bedford.

Born in Midgley.

He was an architect in Elland.

In 1851, he married Sarah Turner [1832-1916].

Children: (1) Frederick [b 1852] born in Warley; (2) William Thomas [1854-1932] born in Great Grimsby, died in Toronto; (3) John [1859-1932?] born in Ovenden, died in Toronto; (4) Henry [1861-1905] born in Elland, died in Toronto; (5) Phineas [1862-1844?] born in Elland; (6) Benjamin [1866-1941] born in Elland; (7) Sarah Elizabeth [1867-1876] born and died in Elland; (8) Charlie [1871-1906] born in Elland, died in Detroit, USA; (9) Alfred Turner [b 1873] born in Elland.

In 1879, he emigrated to Toronto, Canada.

In Canada, he worked his way from carpenter to head of the family-run company Bedford & Sons which became Bedford Brothers after his death. Much of his work – many of which are listed buildings – still stand in Toronto. Photographs of some of his work can be seen in the Foldout.

In their building company, Bedford Brothers, his sons each had a speciality: Frederick was a carpenter in the family business, William Thomas a machinist, John a bricklayer, Henry a bricklayer, Phineas a carpenter & cabinet-maker, Benjamin a brass finisher & contractor's clerk, Charlie a mason, and Alfred Turner a bricklayer.

The epitaph

A Native of Yorkshire England

was carved on his tombstone.

His descendant, Kristina Bedford writes

I have no record of any buildings he worked in the Halifax area, but I'd be grateful to hear if any information surfaces in future

Bedford, John
[16??-1720] He was third son of Robert Bedforde of Dewsbury & Isabel Riche of Penistone.

They became the Bedford family of Brighouse.

He moved to the district. He owned property at Thornhill Briggs, at Lydgate, Lightcliffe, at Priestley Green, and at Lower Winter Edge.

He married Mary.

His eldest brother Robert [d 1712] was a salter, based in Leeds.

John devised his estates to his wife Mary. His brother, Thomas, inherited some of John's property

Bedford, John
[17??-183?] In 1834, he bought the Shoulder of Mutton, Midgley from Richard Patchett.

He married Sally Crabtree

Children: (1) George; (2) John [b 1820] who was a grocer & farmer [1851]; (3) (possibly) Mary [b 1824]; (4) Susannah [b 1826]; (5) William

He was landlord at the Shoulder of Mutton [1834], and his wife took over [1838]. Their son, George was there [1845]

Bedford, John
[18??-18??] Architect who practised in Elland. Designed Huddersfield Road Methodist Chapel around 1874

Bedford, John
[1808-1891] In 1830, he married Grace Akeroyd [1807-1887].

Children: (1) Jeremiah; (2) James.

The Bedford family had been weavers & dyers in the Midgley/Sowerby area for nearly 200 years, leading up to the Industrial Revolution. When the factory system took over, he changed course, becoming a brewer, and though he had a hard time of it financially, he seems to have ensured that his children received sufficient education to become successful in their respective businesses

Bedford, John
[1837-1892] Born in Ovenden.

He was a blacksmith [1867].

On 17th March 1867, he married Sarah Jane Ashworth in Halifax.


Sarah Jane was the daughter of
John Ashworth
 

Children: (1) Arthur Ashworth [b 1867] who married [Ashton under Lyne 5th August 1900] Jane Jones from Wakefield; (2) Bertha Annis [1869-1947] who never married, spent her working life looking after children, and died in Leamington Spa.

The children were born in Halifax

Bedford, John
[1858-19??] Born in Warley.

He was a cart driver [1911].

Around 1880, he married Elizabeth [1862-19??] from Oswestry.

They had no children.

The family lived at 8 Trinity Place, Halifax 1911.

Living with them in 1911 were boarders Charles Windermere [aged 38] (author and actor) from Suffolk, Mrs Clare Windermere [aged 30] (actress) from Melbourne, Australia, and Belle Donaldson, [aged 25] (actress) from Manchester

Bedford, Joseph
[18??-19??] Halifax jeweller. Owned Abbotroyd, Barkisland [1905]

Bedford, Joshua
[1673-1756] Churchwarden at Luddenden [1730]

Bedford, Mary
[16??-1735] Wife of John Bedford.

Her husband John devised his estates to Mary.

In her will of 1735, she bequeathed a sum of £200 to establish a charity school at the Sun Dial Inn, Parsonage Lane, Brighouse. Using figures for average earnings, £200 in 1735 is roughly the equivalent of £295,000 today. The fund was to be administered by her nephew, George Newstead, who absconded with the money.

She went to live in Leeds, where she died.

She owned the Thornhill Briggs Estate at Brighouse and this passed to George Newstead, then [in 1792] to Joseph Cartledge

Bedford, Mary
[1783-18??] She married (1) David Haigh.

She married (2) John Bairstow.

After John's death, she took over as landlady of the Shakespeare, Halifax [1837]

Bedford, Peter
[17??-18??] He was butler to Sir George Armytage at Kirklees Hall.

He married (1) Sarah who was an upper servant at Kirklees Hall.

In June 1804,

Peter was driving his family in a gig, when the horse took fright, upset the vehicle, killing Sarah on the spot, and breaking both of Peter's arms and one of his thighs, and severely bruising the rest of the family

Sarah was buried at Hartshead Church on 20th June 1804.

On 19th May 1808, Reverend William Hanwell Lucas conducted the ceremony when he married (2) Harriett Earnshaw.

Children: (1) son; (2) George [b 1811].

He and Harriett farmed at Thornbush Farm, Hartshead.

Rev Patrick Brontë was a lodger with the Bedfords at Thornbush and christened their son, George. When he married (3) Maria, the couple rented Clough House.

Patrick Brontë enjoyed taking Peter's dog for long walks across the moors, and his wife, Maria asked Harriett to make a wedding cake which was to be shared among the parishioners on her then-fiancé's list. After her marriage, Maria frequently took shelter at Thornbush when bad weather forced her from the heath.

The Bedfords moved again within 4 years of Patrick's marriage, settling in Bramley by Leeds with their growing family

Bedford, Rev R. C.
[19??-19??] BA.

Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1967] and Sowood Wesleyan Methodist Church [1968].

In 1968, he gave the final service at the Sunday School of the Stainland Wesleyan Chapel

Bedford, Sidney
[18??-19??] He was a road contractor [1901].

In 1877, he married Hannah Maud Wood in Halifax.

Children: Beatrice [b 1887] who married Vernon Hill.

The family lived at Warley Road, Halifax [1901]

Bedford's Stores, Halifax
A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Bass's, Allsopp's, Guiness's and Wheatley's Hop Bitters in half pint and pint Screw Stoppered Bottle

P & P Brewed Ginger Beer and Stout

2/-d per dozen pints

62 King Cross, Halifax

Bedford, Thomas
[16??-1743] Brother of John Bedford. He inherited John's property at Thornhill Briggs for the term of his natural life. He died unmarried

Bedford, W. T.
[18??-19??] Recorded in The Tradesmen's Advertiser of 1874, where he was a watchmaker, jewellers, &c, at 4 Princess Street, Halifax
Silver Watches from 18/6; Timepieces, 5/-
Clocks, Watches, Jewellery, Spectacles, &c, in stock and made to order. Best Pebble Spectacles, 6/6 per pair

Bedford, William
[1836-1???] Born in Thornhill, Yorkshire.

He was a curate at cross stone church [1871].

Around 1868, he married Sarah [1842-1???].


Sarah was born in Altrincham, Cheshire
 

Children: Edith M [b 1868].

The family lived at Lower Stoodley, Stansfield [1871]

Bedford, William
[1837-1864] Son of John Bedford. He was born in Midgley.

He was landlord of the Red Lion, Luddendenfoot [1861]

In 1856, he married Hannah, daughter of Dan Beverley.

Children: (1) Susannah Beverley [1857-1885]; (2) Sarah [b 1860]; (3) Mary Jane [1862-1862]

Bedlam Hill, Pecket Well
There are several Neolithic or Bronze Age cup-and-ring marks on a rock here. It is said that there was a stone circle here

Bedwater Clough
See Yorkshire-Lancashire border

Bedworth & Sons
Sawyer of Horton Street, Halifax. The works were damaged by a gale on 16th December 1873, and one man was killed and others injured by a falling chimney

Bee Hive Wools
The trade name under which J. & J. Baldwin & Partners sold their yarns and wools. It included the company's registered trademark of a bee hive

Bee, Ishmael
[1854-1929] Son of Edward Bee.

Born in Gainsborough, Lincolnshire.

He moved to Wortley [1881].

He was a market gardener. He was an ice cream dealer at Thomas Street East, Siddal [1905].

In 1881, he married (1) Elizabeth Day [1859-1893] from Penistone.

Children: (1) John Edward [b 1883]; (2) Annie [b 1888]; (3) Joe [b 1888]; (4) Florence [b 1890]. The family lived at 10 Longbottom Buildings, Southowram [1891] and 2 Thomas Street South [1901].

In 1893, he married (2) Mary Hannah Naylor [1851-1899].

In 1900, he married (3) Mary Hannah Green [18??-19??]

Beech, Edward
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the East Lancashire Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Beech Grove, Halifax
House on Savile Road.

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1970s, the house was in 2 occupancies

Beech Hill, Halifax

Owners and tenants have included

In the 1890s, it was proposed to build the Wheatley Valley Bridge from here to Saint George's Church, Lee Mount

Beech Hill, Halifax
Area of Halifax, around Pellon Lane and Mount Pleasant Avenue

Beech House, Stainland

Owners and tenants have included

Beech House, Warley
Beech Road. Formerly known as The Bache, Warley.

Owners and tenants have included

Beech Recreation Ground, Sowerby Bridge
Opened in 1903.

In 1965, it was redeveloped at a cost of £6,000

Beech Royde, Illingworth
Owners and tenants have included

Beecham, Sir Thomas
[1879-1961] Conductor. He appeared at the Victoria Hall [March 1924], the Theatre Royal [28th November 1932], and the Theatre Royal [January 1938]

Beechfield, Halifax
Rawson Avenue. In the 1911 census, it was listed as having 10 rooms.

Owners and tenants have included

Beechroyd Chapel of Rest, Sowerby Bridge
Beech Road

Beechwood House, Holmfield
Owners and tenants have included

Beechwood housing estate
Housing estate at Sowerby which was built in the 1930s. Many of the residents were moved here from Bogden, Sowerby Bridge

Beechwood Road Library
Illingworth

Beechwood Road Local History Group
In 2014, they held meetings at Saint Andrew's Church, Holmfield

Beecroft's: E. R. Beecroft Limited
Sports outfitters at 15a Union Street, Halifax [1936]

Beer Bottle Labels
Most local breweries had their own distinctive labels on their products. Some of these can be seen in the attached Photo Gallery.

See Beer Mats and Bottles

Beer, Doris
[19??-2000] Local writer and member of the Halifax Authors' Circle. A dialect poet who often contributed to the Halifax Courier and wrote three slim volumes of dialect poetry:

  • Med i' 'Alifax [1977]

  • T' Weaver's Web Frem T'Pennines [1979]

  • Pennine Thowts

Beer Mats
Most local breweries had their own distinctive beer mats to promote and advertise their products. Some of these can be seen in the attached Photo Gallery.

See Beer Bottle Labels and Bottles

Beestingstone, Warley
Farm. Aka Royles Head, Warley

Beeston Hall, Ripponden
/ Soyland. Aka Thrum Hall.

This is an early 17th century house built by the Royd family. Dated 1628 LAUS DEO

Owners and tenants have included

In 1810, Beestonhirst Mill was split off from Thrum Hall

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

See Beestonhirst Mill, Ripponden

Beeston Hirst
See Beeston Hall and Lower Beestonhirst

Beeston Mill, Holywell Green
Aka Holme Mill

Beestonhirst
See Beeston Hall, Beestonhirst Mill, Bychestonehirst, Far Beestonhirst, Ripponden, Lower Beestonhirst, Ripponden, Middle Beestonhirst, Ripponden, Thrum Hall, Ripponden and Upper Beestonhirst, Ripponden

Beestonhirst Hall
See Lower Beestonhirst, Ripponden

Beestonley
An area near Stainland.

In 1316, William of Bythstonlay [Beestonley] and Henry of Lynlay of Rysscheworth [Rishworth] burgled the house of William of Wolrunwall [Wormald] and his brother Robert and stole 20/- in silver

Beeton
Area of Todmorden

Beeton Working Men's Club, Todmorden
Recorded in 1912, when the membership was 60

Beever, George
[1838-1906] Son of Jonathan Beever.

Born in Almondbury.

He was a hurrier in a coal pit in Thurstonland, Huddersfield [at the age of 12]; a coal miner in Clifton [1861, 1871]; a pit deputy in a coal mine [1881]; a weighman [1891, 1901].

He was one of the original trustees of the United Methodist Free Church, Clifton.

In 1861, he married Sarah Ann, daughter of William Halmshaw, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Hannah [b 1855] [??]; (2) Alice A. [b 1862]; (3) Joseph [b 1864]; (4) Benjamin [b 1864]; (5) Sarah S. [b 1872] who married [between 1891 and 1901] Mr Avison; (6) Jabez [b 1875].

The family lived at Ash Grove Cottages, Clifton [1871]; 22 Tanner Street, Liversedge [1881, 1891, 1901]

Beever, Jim
[1849-1886] Coal miner in Clifton.

Son of Jonathan Beever.

In 1867, he married Elizabeth Ann Rukin [1851-1???] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Lydia [b 1869]; (2) Annie [b 1870]; (3) Mary [b 1872]; (4) Dinah [b 1874]; (5) Harriet [b 1876]; (6) Edith H. [b 1878].

The family lived at Clifton [1871]; Green Lane, Clifton [1881]; East Street, Brighouse [1891]

Beever, John
[18??-18??] A coal miner in Clifton.

He was one of the original trustees of the United Methodist Free Church, Clifton.

He lived at Atkinson Fold, Clifton [1871]

Beever, John Haigh
[1843-1???] Son of Jonathan Beever.

Born in Lockwood.

He was a collier [1871] employing a miner's boy, Alonzo Walton [1855-1???]; a collier [1881]; a clay miner [1891]; a watchman at a brickworks [1901].

He married Harriet, daughter of Joshua Auty, of White Lee, Yorkshire.

Children: (1) Sam Haigh [b 1870]; (2) Harriet [b 1872]; (3) Ann [b 1874]; (4) George [b 1878]; (5) Joshua; (6) Herbert [b 1884]; (7) Lucy [b 1886].

The family lived at Atkinson Fold, Clifton [1871]; 10 Clifton Road, Clifton [1881]; Purlwell, Southowram [1891]; 13 Halifax Road, Spout House Lane, Brighouse [1901].

He was dead by 1911

Beever, Jonathan
[1817-1875] In census returns and other sources, his name is written Beaver, Beevers and Biever.

Born in Berren Edge, Hepworth, Yorkshire.

On 17th September 1837, he married Lydia [1817-1???] in Kirkburton.


Lydia was born in Halmbury, Yorkshire
 

Children: (1) George; (2) Harriet [b 1840] who married John Nicholson; (3) John Haigh; (4) Tom [b 1844]; (5) Alice [b 1846]; (6) Jim; (7) Daniel [b 1850]; (8) Abraham [b 1852]; (9) Frederick [b 1855]; (10) Jonathan

Many of the boys were hurriers and coal miners.

The family lived at Kirkburton [1841, 1851]; Clifton [1861, 1871]; Clifton Road, Hartshead-cum-Clifton [1881]

Beever, Jonathan
[1859-1???] Son of Jonathan Beever.

Born in Clifton.

He was a coal miner [1881].

In 1880, he married Rosela Ann Rowe [1858-1???] in Halifax


Rosela Ann was born in Sydenham, Surrey.

She was a cotton mill hand [1881]

 

In 1881, the couple were living with Jonathan's widowed mother, Lydia

Beever, Joshua
[1882-19??] Or Beevers.

Son of John Haigh Beever.

Born in Clifton.

He was a coal hurrier [at the age of 9]; a clogger's apprentice [1901]; a clay sorter at a brick works [1911].

In 1902, he married Laura Broadley [1886-19??] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Hilda [b 1904]; (2) Bernard [b 1906]; (3) Marion [b 1910]

Beevers, Benjamin
[18??-1???] A collier at Clifton.

On Monday, 28th December 1868, he was charged with

having stolen a bottle of gin from the person of Charles Clapman

The men had met as Clapman was walking home to Hartshead. Beevers put his arms round Clapman's neck and they struggled before Beevers got up and walked away. Clapman noticed that a bottle of gin was missing from his pocket and returned to the Armytage Arms, Clifton where he found Beevers, his face now blacked, and detained him until Policeman Beresford arrived and arrested Beevers. He was remanded

Beevers, Harold
[1869-19??] Born in Halifax.

Around 1912, he joined the Royal Navy as a boy seaman. He qualified as a Petty Officer at Shotley.

During World War I, he served on the mine sweepers HMS Gentian and HMS Foxglove.

He trained in torpedo work and served on an East Indian Marine Ship, The Hardinge.

He later served with the Caspian Naval Force on the Venturer

Beevers, Joseph
[1857-1873] Or Joshua.

He died from injuries sustained in a fire-damp explosion at the Black Flat Pit, Clifton on 14th January 1873

Beevers, Sergeant
[18??-18??] He was with Staincross police before becoming Brighouse police sergeant.

Recorded on 6th March 1869, when he was attacked by a group of disorderly Irishmen at the Granby Beerhouse, Brighouse.

Michael Giblin (who had been before the bench on 6 previous occasions), John McCabe (who had been before the bench on 11 previous occasions, and whose father had been transported for murder at Mirfield several years earlier), Phillip McHugh, and Peter Roddy were arrested and charged for the assault. Roddy was fined £5 or one month in prison, the others were fined £20 each or 2 months in prison. All were sent to prison

Beggarington
The name means place where the berries grow.

See Beggarington, Ambler Thorn, Beggarington, Hartshead and Beggarington, Todmorden

Beggarington, Todmorden
See Beggarington, Stansfield View, Todmorden and Todmorden Union Workhouse

Beggarinton
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although it is not clear which Beggarington the name refers to

Beggars' & Vagrants' Litany

Begley, Mr
[18??-1???] In 1875, he was sentenced to 18 months' imprisonment for robbery at Halifax. On hearing the sentence, he took off his clog and threw it at the detective who had given evidence against him, cutting him severely on the arm. He was brought back and sentenced to a further 3 months' imprisonment

Beirsto
A variant of the surname Bairstow

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Belasco, Ruby
[1867-1936] Halifax-born actress. She made many films between 1911 and 1919

Belby, Hawthorne & Whitaker
Clockmakers at Halifax and Newcastle [around 1800]

Belcher, James Wiliam
[1905-1964] Started work as a railway clerk. Labour MP for Sowerby [1945-1949].

In 1948, the Attorney General presented a list of allegations – of giving favours and other illegal activities – against Belcher and other ministers and public servants. Belcher resigned in 1949, the first Labour politician to resign over questions of propriety, after accepting a suit, a gold watch and holiday in Margate, alongside entertainment at various sporting events. An enquiry concluded that he and some of his officials were not corrupt [what is corruption, then?], but had exerted undue influence, in exchange for these gifts, to secure the withdrawal of a prosecution against a football pool promoter. After his resignation, he returned to work as a railway clerk

Belcombe, Dr Henry Stephen
[1790?-1856] Son of Dr William Belcombe.

He was in practice [or living] at Fieldhead, Newcastle, Staffordshire [1816], Clifton, near York [1817], Petergate, York [1822], and Heworth Grange, York [1834].

In 1817, Eliza Raine was in his care at Clifton. Anne Lister visited her there.

In July 1821, Anne Lister – who refers to him as Steph – approached him regarding her symptoms of venereal disease. He treated his sister for the same disease.

In 1832 and 1834, Anne Lister consulted Dr Belcombe about Ann Walker's mental state.

In 1843, he had a private sanatorium – a lunatic asylum – at Clifton. It was here that Ann Walker was taken when – after her sister Elizabeth and Elizabeth's husband, Captain George Mackay Sutherland, declared her to be of unsound mind – she was forcibly removed from Shibden Hall.

He married Harriet [1???-1849]

Children: Francis Edward [1828-1893] who became a clergyman and married [11th January 1858] Frances Leigh

Belcombe, Marianne Piercy
[1790-1868] Or Mariana. Daughter of Dr William Belcombe.

She and her family were close acquaintances of Anne Lister

Belcombe, Dr William
[17??-18??] MD.

Of Petergate, York.

He was a specialist in the care of the mentally ill and physician to The Retreat at Clifton, York.

In 1819, a former patient at The Retreat, Jane Horsman of York, took Belcombe, his partner Alexander Mather, and others to court for wrongful imprisonment. Jane won and the defendants were ordered to pay £50 each in compensation.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Henry Stephen; (2) Mariana Percy; (3) daughter H who married [22nd September 1808] Major Alexander Milne.

The family were close acquaintances of Anne Lister.

See Eliza Raine

Belgrave Social Club, Claremount

Bell & Metcalfe
Linen drapers and silk mercers at Halifax [1833].

Partners included Aked Metcalfe.

On 12th April 1833, thieves stole a large quantity of plain and figures silks from their premises

Bell, Andrew
[1753-1832] Scottish Anglican clergyman. He pioneered the Madras System of education in which the more able pupils helped the teacher to teach the other pupils. He was the first superintendent of National Schools Society. National Schools were also known as Bell Schools and Bellian Schools.

In 1816, he visited the newly-opened Bell School, Harrison Road

Bell, Anthony
[1801-1???] He was a tea dealer [1841].

He married Jane [1811-1???].

Children: (1) Mary [b 1835]; (2) Emma [b 1838].

The family lived at Waring Green, Brighouse [1841]

Bell Croft
Area of Halifax where Northgate End Chapel was built in 1696

Bell, George Henry
[18??-19??] A servant at the Bull's Head, Sowerby Bridge.

He was charged with, having on the 13th August 1901, attempted to murder Ethel Chrystobel Seamen, who also worked at the pub. At the trial, it was heard that Bell fired a revolver at Seamen after she had rejected his advances. Bell was sentenced to 3 months' imprisonment

Bell Hall
Area of Halifax lying on Savile Park Road, north of Skircoat Moor

Bell Hall Garage & Livery Stables, Halifax
Wallace B. Haigh was here [1916]

Bell Hall Post Office
A sub-post office was recorded in 1936.

This was one of 11 local post offices which – despite popular protests – were closed in August 2008

Bell's: Hamilton Bell
Haulage contractor and removals. They were at Wellington Street West, Halifax [1936] and West Parade, Halifax [1969]

Bell Hayes, Halifax
Haugh Shaw Road.

Owners and tenants have included

See Green Hayes

Bell Hole, Erringden
A natural depression in the moorland near Bell House, Erringden

Bell House, Erringden
Bell House Moor, Cragg Vale.

The house overlooks Bell Hole.

Occupation of the site may be very ancient, and a Thomas de Bellehus is mentioned in 1307.

The farm is next to Keelham Farm, Cragg Vale.

It has been suggested that this was where the forester for the Forest of Sowerbyshire lived and the name originates in a bell near here which was rung for the feeding of the animals in Erringden deer park

Owners and tenants have included

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Our Home & Country.

Bell House Farm, Southowram
Stood at the top of Cain Lane.

Recorded in 1953, when Fred Lee had a greengrocery business here

Bell House Moor, Cragg Vale

See Bell House and Water Trough, Bell House Moor

Bell, Dr J. J.
[19??-1???] LRCP, LRCS.

Medical practitioner at Birthright View, Cornholme [1895]

Bell, James
[18??-19??] MRCVS. Veterinary surgeon for Brighouse [1894]

Bell, John
[16??-16??] Curate at Lightcliffe [1652-1655].

Heywood includes him in his list of the great number of wretched drunken preachers at Lightcliffe, and adds

a wretched Scotchman, yet could have spoken well

Bell, John Corrin
[1861-1905] Son of Margaret [née Cheetham] [1831-1863] and Rev William Bell [1836-1875], Curate of St John's, Dukinfield.

Born in Stalybridge, Cheshire. Brother of Rev William Christopher Bell.

He was a solicitor's articled clerk [1881]; a solicitor [1891, 1901]; a solicitor at Sowerby Bridge and Ripponden [1905]; Secretary of the Evening Continuation Schools Committee; a member of the Public Library Committee; legal adviser to the Sowerby Bridge Prosecution Society; a member of the Ryburn [No 1283] Masonic Lodge; President of the Society of Knights Templar, Halifax.

His offices were at Tuel Lane Corner, Town Hall Street, Sowerby Bridge, and at Ripponden.

He never married.

In 1891, he was in lodgings at Barkisland.

In 1901, he was living at 4 Beech Villas, Sowerby Bridge with his stepmother Mary Bell and stepsister Mary T Bell.

He died at 4 Beech Villas [5th November 1905].

He was buried at Dukinfield.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £600. Probate was granted to his stepmother Mary Bell.

After his death, his practice was taken over by Samuel Freeman

Bell, Jonathan
[18??-18??] In a report produced in 1850 under the Public Health Act, he was recorded as keeping a lodging house in Southowram which had 2 rooms, 7 beds, 12 lodgers, and no privy

Bell, Peter
[16??-16??] Curate at Rastrick [1674]

Bell, Peter
[18??-18??] Ale & porter dealer at Wade Street, Halifax.

In August 1867, he was declared bankrupt

Bell-ringers
In May 1871, bell-ringers from Dewsbury, Elland, Huddersfield, Halifax, Ossett, Bradford, Liversedge and Birstall, took part in a contest on the bells in Holy Trinity Church, Low Moor. The contest began at 7:00 am and ended at 11:30 pm. There were 10,000 changes rung. The Dewsbury ringers took the first prize of £10; Elland [2nd], £7; Halifax [3rd], £5; Bradford [4th], £3; Ossett [5th], £1

See William Crossley, George Holdsworth, John Holdsworth and Town crier

Bell, Rev Robert
[1806-1869] Born in Colne. He trained at Airedale College before becoming Minister at Providence Congregational Church, Stainland [1829-1840], the new West End Congregational Church, Sowerby Bridge [1840-1842], and Bridge End Congregational Church, Brighouse [1842-1851].

With Joseph Cockin Hoatson, he was editor of The Halifax Selection of Hymns [1834].

He resigned because of ill-health and left the ministry.

He married twice.

Children: (1) John H who lived at Clare Hill, Huddersfield; (2) son; (3) son; (4) son.

He lived at the house which had previously been occupied by John King at the bottom of John King Lane. After leaving the Church, he went to live and farm at Salterforth, near Colne.

See Providence Congregational Church Manse, Stainland and Rishworth Independent Church

Bell, Sarah Elizabeth
[1851-1868] Originally from Newby Whiske, a small Village near Thirsk, she came to work as housemaid to Rev Anthony John Plow.

She fell in love with Miles Weatherill, sparking off the Vicarage murder

After the murder, she went to the Friends Retreat at Fulford, York. This was an asylum which accommodated paupers, and where unemployed servants resided. She was unable to find employment for want of a reference

Bell, Tom
[1???-1???] Legendary robber who is said to have lived in Tom Bell's Cave and robbed locals farms and villages. He is said to have worn an iron mail suit, and boots with the toes and heels reversed, in order to mislead anyone pursuing him

He worked with an accomplice, Willie the Woodsman.

He is said to have died in the cave when his stomach exploded after gorging himself on booty which he had stolen. His rotting body – eaten by birds and vermin – was found by 2 children.

His skull is said to have been found in the cave in 1899.

Various traditions date him to the 9th or the 18th century.

His story is told in 2 poems:

See Joseph Bailey

Bell, Tom
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the West Riding Regiment.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Bell, William
[1???-1???] He married Cissie, daughter of John Crowther.

Children: (1) Ethel; (2) Lavinia who married Unknown

Bell, Rev William Christopher
[1859-1922] Son of Margaret [née Cheetham] [1831-1863] and Rev William Bell [1836-1875], Curate of St John's, Dukinfield.

Born in Stalybridge, Cheshire. Brother of John Corrin Bell.

He was educated at Brasenose College Oxford [1881], Curate at Holy Trinity Church [1892], and Vicar of Norland [1922].

He designed the Norland War Memorial.

He never married.

He was said to have been heart-broken when the parish of Norland was discontinued and St Luke's Church amalgamated with Christ Church, Sowerby Bridge. He appealed unsuccessfully to King George V for the decision to be overturned.

He died shortly afterwards.

He was buried at St Luke's Church, Norland

Bell, Rev William Montgomerie
[1883-1966] Vicar of Warley [1925-1929]. He was vicar at Kensington [1929-1955]

Bellamy, Rev David
[1837-1866] BA.

He was educated at Catherine Hall Cambridge; Usher at Heath Grammar School [1852]; Headmaster at Rishworth School [1856].

In 1860, he married Mary Ellen Wheelwright in Halifax.


Mary Ellen was the daughter of John Wilkinson Hoyle Wheelwright
 

Children: Julian Edward.

He died in the Punjab, India.

Mary Ellen and her son were buried at St John The Divine, Rishworth

Bellamy, Julian Edward
[1865-1939] Son of Rev David Bellamy.

Born in the Peshawar, Punjab, India.

He was educated at Eton [1881]; a law student [1891]; a barrister.

In 1891, he married Edith Margaret Cayley [1864-1935] at Ketton, Rutland.

The family lived at Bowers Hall, Barkisland [where he died 1939].

He and his mother were buried at St John The Divine, Rishworth

Bellamy, Rev Robert Lowe
[1866-1938] BD.

(Possibly) born in Hull.

He studied at Trinity College, Dublin, and was ordained a priest [1891]. He served as curate in several Yorkshire parishes in the 1890s – Otley, Keighley, Spofforth and Silkstone, Barnsley – before becoming Vicar of Saint James's Church, Halifax [1903-1908]. He left to serve at Kirkby Overblow.

He wrote several books, mainly for younger readers. One of his earliest works, The Broken Blade: A Detective Story, appeared in four weekly parts in the Boys' Own Paper [1895]. Writing for the major youth organisations, he produced Hints from Sandow [1899] and Hints from Baden-Powell [1900].

Other works included

  • Silkstone Stories for Children [1902]

  • The Unruly Member [1915]

  • Do-You-Good Ballads for the Young [1921]

  • Through Cloud and Sunshine [1924]

  • Scout Grey: Detective [1927]

  • Old Nick of Pig's [c. 1930]

Byron the Man [1924], a biography of the 19th century English poet, was republished in the USA in 1975 and 1977.

He died in Wetherby

Bellars, Rev A. R.
[18??-19??] Curate at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax [1918]. In 1919, he was appointed vice-principal of Salisbury Theological College

Belle Royd Farm, Blackshawhead
Laithe-house dated 1734 ITS. Originally called Pannet Ing

Belle Vue Cottages, Halifax
A name which has been used to refer to the Crossley Almshouses, Margaret Street [1901]

Belle Vue, Halifax
Aka Crossley House. House at the northern side of People's Park built by Stokes in 1857 for Sir Francis Crossley.

See Herbert Tate, John Walker and Whistler Park, Halifax

Belle Vue House, Brighouse
Lister Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Belle Vue Library, Halifax
Lister Lane. In 1890, Belle Vue House was sold to Halifax Corporation in 1899, and became Halifax Central Library in 1890, and Belle Vue Museum in 1897. The library was located in a single-storey extension to the north of the house, and the museum was in the main house.

When the facilities at Belle Vue proved inadequate, the new Central Library opened next door to Northgate House in February 1983, at a cost of £1,800,000

Belle Vue Museum, Halifax
Established at Belle Vue, Halifax in 1897 when the house was sold to Halifax Corporation. This was the Natural History Section of the Halifax Museum. The public library was next door.

Curators at the Museum have included

See Halifax Literary & Philosophical Society

Belle Vue Race Course
Aka New Belle Vue. The original name of the Halifax Race Course

Belle Vue Smallpox Hospital, Mount Tabor
Or Belle View.

Recorded in 1929, when it had accommodation for 36 patients. It was subsidised by the Brighouse Joint Hospital Board and the UDCs of Luddendenfoot, Midgley and Sowerby. In 1928, it had 238 cases of which 223 were from Halifax

Bellenger, Albert Storey
[1913-1941] Son of Lily Bellenger of Walsden.

During World War II, he served as a Leading Stoker with the Royal Navy.

He died 20th December 1941 (aged 28).

He is remembered on the Plymouth Naval Memorial, and in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Bellew, L.
[18??-19??] He was a Sergeant Major of the 33rd Regimental District. On 29th October 1906, he was appointed mace bearer of Halifax

Bellgrove, Halifax
House on Rothwell Road, Halifax.

Owners and tenants have included

  • Edward Richardson (builder) [1901]

  • Albert Priestley (draper) [1901]

Bellholme
Area of Todmorden.

Named for Bell Parkin.

Todmorden Borough Football Club have their grounds here

Bellholme Sports Centre, Todmorden
Rochdale Road

Belly Bridge
Aka Belly Brig. A local pronunciation of Bailiff Bridge

Belly Brig
Aka Belly Bridge. A local pronunciation of Bailiff Bridge

See Belly Brig Farm

Belly Brig Hill Farm, Lightcliffe
The name is a local pronunciation of Bailiff Bridge.

In 1802, John Radcliffe sold the property to George Armytage

In 1820, Armytage built Holme House on the site

Belsfield, Todmorden
Owners and tenants have included

Belvedere, Hipperholme
In the Brianscholes valley. Built around 1790 by Dr Robert Alexander. Originally called Chelsea House. There was a bath house in the grounds

Bembridge Park Centre
Halifax. Business centre at the former Park Congregational Church

Bemerside, Skircoat Green

Bemond, Nicholas
[14??-15??] Wool merchant at Halifax. Recorded in 1493 in the ullnagers' rolls

Ben-Becula, Halifax
House at Hopwood Lane / Vincent Street.

Owners and tenants have included

Benbow, John Edward
[18??-1918] Nephew of J. Benbow of 3 Ivy Cottage, Knotts Road, Lydgate, Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died 11th February 1918.

He was buried at the Gorre British & Indian Cemetery [V D 10].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Benefactors

Benham, Sarah Elizabeth
[1???-18??] She ran a school in Halifax

Benn, Abraham
[18??-1857] In [Q2] 1856, he married Mary Nutter in Halifax.

Children: Hannah [b 1857].

Abraham hanged himself [22nd February 1857]

due to temporary insanity

Members of the family sailed to America and then to Australia

Benn, Benjamin
[1838-1???] Established Benjamin Benn & Sons.

He married Elizabeth [1838-1916].

They lived at 8 Foundry Street, Halifax [1871] and 2 Lister Street, Halifax [1881, 1891]

Benn's: Benjamin Benn & Sons
Furniture removers & general carriers established by Benjamin Benn at Halifax.

An advertisement from 1900 proclaims


BENJAMIN BENN & SONS
Furniture Removers & General Carriers
No. 2, Lister St, Winding Road and Top of Horton St,
Halifax.

Benn, Harry
[1871-19??] Son of James Benn, superintendent telegraphist.

Born in Queensbury.

He was a telegraphist [1890]; licensed victualler at the Lord Nelson, Halifax [1911].

On 27th August 1890, he married Tamar Ivison [1871-1???] in Bradford Cathedral.


Tamar was the daughter of John Ivison, mechanic
 

Children: Mary Helena [b 1893]

Benn, Jonathan
[17??-17??] He was Constable of Northowram [1736, 1748]

Benn, June
[1930-2006] Brighouse-born writer. She wrote under her maiden name, June Barraclough.

She began writing when she 55, and produced 25 novels including Portrait of Maud which was short-listed for romantic novel of the year in 1995.

She married David Wedgewood Benn.

Children: 2

Benn, Sergeant
[18??-19??] Police Sergeant at Luddendenfoot [1896]

Benn, William Henry
[1864-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a musical instrument dealer [1901].

A 1900 advertisement for the business announced

Mr W. H. Benn
Mozart House, 34, Prescott Street, Halifax

Supplier of Arthur Allinson & Company's Celebrated English Pianos., as supplied to H.R.H. Princess Louise, etc. also supplier of Chappell Pianos

Pianinos: 25 guineas;
Full Cottages: 40 guineas;
Upright Grands: 50 guineas;
Horizontal Grands: 135 guineas

He married Annie [1864-19??] from Shelf.

Children: Herbert [b 1886] who was a piano maker [1901].

The family lived at Mozart House, 34 Prescott Street, Halifax [1901]

Bennet, Rev W.
[18??-19??] Free Methodist minister at Elland [1907]

Bennett, Rev David
[19??-] Vicar of Cragg Vale [19??]

Bennett, Rev David Edward
[1935-19??] He was Curate at Lightcliffe [1960].

In 1962, he left to became Secretary of the Christian Education Movement [1962-1968] and Licensed Officiate in the Diocese of Southwell [from 1968]

Bennett, George Morris
[1805-1869] Tea dealer at 1 Silver Street, Halifax [1837].

See Hugh Bennett & Son

Bennett, Rev H.
[19??-19??] Priest at Our Lady of Lourdes & St Malachy, Ovenden [1966]

Bennett, Hugh
[17??-1839] Established tea dealers Hugh Bennett & Son

Bennett, Hugh Bakewell
[18??-18??] Halifax attorney. Recorded in 1850 at Cow Green, Halifax

Bennett's: Hugh Bennett & Son
Tea dealers at 1 Silver Street, Halifax [1834]. Established by Hugh Bennett.

See George Morris Bennett

Bennett, John William Gladstone
[18??-19??] Curate at Illingworth [1897-1900]. He went on to serve at St Aidan's Theological College, and became Vicar of Albury

Bennett, Rev Joseph
[18??-19??] Free Methodist minister at Hanging Ditch, Todmorden [1861]

Bennett, Rev Thomas
[1???-18??] Vicar of Hebden Bridge [1835-1837]

Bennett, Rev William
[18??-19??] United Methodist Free Church minister at Elland.

He lived at Long Lea Terrace, Elland [1905]

Bennetts, Rev J.
[18??-19??] In 1905, he was recorded as being Minister at Lanebottom Wesleyan Methodist Church, Walsden and Wesleyan Chapel, Todmorden

Bennington, Matthew
[17??-1???] A stay maker.

He married Sarah, daughter of Blakey Spencer.

Children: Margaret Mary (Polly) [17??-1812] who married John Wrenshall

Benns, Warley
House and double-aisled barn. Dated 1692 M possibly for the Murgatroyd family.

Owners and tenants have included

Benson, E. R.
[18??-19??] Actor who gave several performances at the Grand Theatre & Opera House in 1902

Benson, Mr
[17??-18??] Methodist Minister at Halifax. His teachings influenced Jonathan Saville

Benson, Thomas Washington
[1865-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a worsted spinner (employer) [1911]; President of the Halifax Madrigal Society [1913].

In [Q1] 1891, he married Alice Louisa Gledhill? [1864-19??] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Gladys Washington (Benson) [b 1892]; (2) George Washington (Benson) [b 1896]; (3) Marjorie Washington (Benson) [b 1896]; (4) Thomas Washington (Benson) [b 1898]; (5) Arthur Washington (Benson) [b 1900]; (6) Joyce Washington (Benson) [b 1907]; (7) Joan Washington (Benson) [b 1909].

The family lived at Audley House, Halifax [1911]

Bent, Ann
[18??-1???] Daughter of Hamlet Bent.

She married (1) Mr Noble. He died in 183?.

She married (2) Rev Thomas Chandler Curties

Bent, Hamlet
[17??-1832] Cotton manufacturer of Mytholmroyd. He was salesman and later partner in the James King partnership. He was a partner in Turner, Bent & Company. In 1797, he built Mytholm House, Hebden Bridge on land which was a part of the King family estate.

In 1797, he married Elizabeth Haigh.

Children: (1) Ann; (2) James; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child.

In 1815, he was Chairman of the trustees of the Mytholmroyd Bridge & Blackstone Edge Turnpike Trust

Bent's: Hamlet Bent & Company
Cotton spinners and fustian manufacturers. The company was the successor to Turner, Bent & Company at Mytholm Mill, Hebden Bridge

Bent Head, Heptonstall
Widdop Road. Early 17th century house.

The bressumer has a witch peg charm – a wooden needle wound round with human hair – wedged into it to protect against witches.

See Far Bent Head Farm, Pecket Well and Near Bent Head Farm, Pecket Well

Bent Head, Todmorden
A stile about 100 yards to the east has a small boulder with Neolithic or Bronze Age cup-and-ring marks

Bent, James
[17??-18??] Son of Hamlet Bent.

Cotton spinner at Bankfoot, Hebden Bridge.

From 1825, he occupied Bankfoot Mill, Staups Mill, and Midgehole Mill.

In March 1833, he was declared bankrupt

Bentall, P.
[19??-19??] Minister recorded when he performed a burial at Mount Zion Methodist Chapel, Ogden [1960]

Benteley
A variant of the surname Bentley

Bentham, Nathan
[19??-19??] Player with Halifax RLFC [1929]. He won caps for while at Halifax

Bentley...
The entries for people with the surname Bentley are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Bentley
Area of Shelf. The name is derived from Old English words bent and ley, possibly meaning a clearing with bent-grass.

See Bentley Royd, Sowerby

Bentley
Another form of the surname is Benteley.

The name de Bentley is recorded in 1219.

Originated in the Bentley area.

There are currently around 75 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bentley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Bentley family of Halifax & Skircoat

The Bentley family of Heptonstall
The family lived at Whitehall, Heptonstall.

John Bentley. was there [1578].

The family left in 1722 and moved to Oulton

The Bentley family of Shelf
Or Benteley.

Recorded in 1296 and Thomas de Bentley is recorded in 1379

See High Bentley Hall, Shelf

Bentley & Kaye
Stone merchant and stone quarrier at Lillands Quarry, Rastrick and Longroyde Quarry, Rastrick. Partners included Joseph Bentley and (possibly) Mr Kaye

Bentley & Shaw
Brewers.

In 1795, Timothy Bentley built the brewery by the Horse Bank Spring, a common water source on the Meltham Road, Lockwood.

Bentley invented the Yorkshire system of brewing beer.

By the 1840s, the brewery covered 70 acres and has its own fire brigade and gas works. The Bentley family home was built within the brewery.

Around 1841, the business passed to Timothy's grandsons: Henry Bentley, John Robert Bentley and Bentley Shaw.

The business was so successful that, by 1869, it began to consume a large proportion of the spring water, to the annoyance of the local residents.

They were at Lockwood [1926]. Their Town Ales are mentioned in advertisements.

In 1944, the business was taken over by Hammonds United Breweries of Bradford.

The business closed in the 1960s.

The brewery was demolished in 1975.

See Brow Bridge Inn, Greetland and Jolly Sailor, Sowerby Bridge

Bentley & Shepherd
19th century quarry owners and stone merchants established at Hipperholme by Thomas Shepherd and James Bentley. They had business at Hill Top Quarry, Hipperholme, South Edge Quarry, Hipperholme [1901], Pearson Brow Quarry, Hipperholme, and Stubbing Quarry, Hipperholme.

On 30th May 1870, there was a fall of rock at one of their quarries and William Hainsworth and Rufus Woodhead were killed, and William Cockett and James Holmes were injured

Bentley & Smith
Stone quarrier with Castle Fields Quarry, Rastrick [1896] and Lillands Quarry, Rastrick [1896].

See Southage's

Bentley's Bakery
Established by Harold Bentley and his sisters, Ethel and Annie, at Briggate, Brighouse in the 1920s.

In 1947, the business was bought by Mary and Sydney Squire. The business was carried on by their son, Charles, and became Squire's Bakery

Bentley Brothers, Bailiffe Bridge
A partnership of 4 brothers, including John Bentley. Recorded in 1853

Bentley's Gift
Around 1651, John Bentley gave £20 to be given on loan to 4 honest tradesmen of Sowerby-cum-Soyland 3 in Sowerby and 1 in Soyland. Using figures for average earnings, £20 in 1651 is roughly the equivalent of £31,800.00 today.

The men had to repay the loan with interest

Bentley Hollins, Sowerby
Eli Bentley was born here

Bentley's: J. E. Bentley & Company Limited
Woollen manufacturers, dyers and finishers at Dunkirk Mills, Halifax. Founded by Joseph Edwin Bentley. In 1951, they acquired Woodfield Mill, Greetland

Bentley's: John Bentley & Sons
Todmorden printers established by John Bentley. Recorded in 1905.

In 1913, they advertised business as printers, bookbinders and stationers at their Fountain Pen Depot, York Street, Todmorden

Bentley Publishing Company
Publishers at Wesley Court, Crossley Street, Halifax [1900]. Established by Wallace Bentley

They published books for engineers and mechanics

Bentley Royd, Sowerby
Sowerby New Road. House recorded in 1275.

It was owned by Richard Hopkinson. His daughter Isabel married John Dykson around 1482. Since that time, the house has been associated with the Dickson – or Dykson – family. It is dated J E D 1636 for John Dickson and his wife Ellena.

After his marriage, Francis Priestley went to live here. In 1789, it was owned by the Priestley family.

John Rawson bought the property in 1879.

At one time, it was the Sowerby Workhouse.

The plasterwork was moved to Halifax museums when the house was demolished.

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax

See Bentley

Bentley's Yorkshire Breweries Limited
Established by Timothy Bentley at Eshaldwell Brewery, Woodlesford.

On Timothy's death, his son Henry took over the business.

In 1890, they acquired the Crown Brewery business established by John Eastwood.

The brewery closed in 1900. The premises became the Crown Works.

Bentley's Yorkshire Breweries Limited is recorded at 21 Silver Street, Halifax in 1936

Bents Farm, Erringden
Horsehold Lane. Laithe-house dated J B 1839

Bents Farm, Norland
Moorbottom Lane. Early 19th century laithe-house

Owners and tenants have included

Bents Knoll Cottage, Heptonstall
Widdop Road. Mid 17th century house. It is now used for agricultural purposes. The early-19th century barn is also listed

Benwell, Rev Ernest John Henry
[18??-19??] BA.

Educated at St John's College Cambridge. Curate at Southowram [1896-1900]. He moved to Arundel, Sussex

Berbiers, John L.
[19??-19??] Halifax Borough architect. He made several drawings of scenes in and around Halifax in the 1960s

Beresford, Edwin
[19??-19??] He was Joint General Manager of the Halifax Building Society [1956-1960]

Beresford, PC
[18??-18??] Clifton constable [1868]

Berkeley House
See Dean Clough Institute

Berkly, Lizzie
[1884-19??] Of Bank Side, Hebden Bridge. She was active in the suffragette movement.

During the fustian weavers' strike, she, Lizzie Berkly, Lillian Cobbe, Lily Draper, Lavinia Saltonstall, Louisa Saltonstall and Laura Annie Wilson, were amongst 57 suffragettes and others who were arrested and imprisoned following an attack on the House of Commons in March 1907. All were given the option of 20/- fine plus costs or imprisonment. They all opted for 14 days' imprisonment in Holloway Gaol.

Bermerside House, Halifax
Greenroyd Close. Built by Roger Ives for Edward Crossley in 1872 on the site of the earlier Ravenscliffe.

Crossley installed an astronomical observatory with what was – at the time – the second largest telescope in the world – in spite of the atmospheric pollution over the town.

On 5th April 1911, the house was given to the town by Arthur Donald Oates and Emma Oates in memory of their late brother Edwin James Oates.

The estate was bought for £5,000 and Mr and Miss Oates paid for alterations to the house into an open air school at a cost of £1,000. In addition £4,000 was set aside to start a convalescent home and form part of the Oates Trust Fund

It is now private dwellings.

The Lodge is also a private house.

See Joseph Gledhill and Cornall Goodman

Bermondsey House, Savile Park
House opposite Saint Jude's Church.

Around 1960, the Bermondsey House School was here

Berron, Benjamin
[16??-1???] Son of Benjamin Berron.

He was Curate at Sowerby Bridge [1670]

Berron, Benjamin
[16??-17??] Or Baron [1682].

Curate at Sowerby [1697-1701]. He went on to be Vicar of Bradford.

He married Unknown.

Children: Benjamin

Berry...
The entries for people with the surname Berry are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Berry Bottom Gardens, Shelf
Pleasure gardens at Heathwood House.

Aka Heathwood House Tea Gardens.

Berry Brothers
Cotton-waste manufacturers at Hebble Lane Mill, Wheatley [1905] and Brook Mill Fulling Mills / Little Hebble Mill, Ovenden [1905, 1908]

The business was listed in 1881 up to 1917. It is not listed in 1922.

Possible partners included Benjamin Berry, Septimus Berry, and Abraham Berry

Berry's: Francis Berry & Sons
Engineers, ironfounders, millwrights and machine tool makers at Calder Dale Iron Works, Sowerby Bridge established by Francis Berry in 1832.

In 1890, the proprietors were his grandsons, Francis, Robert and Charles Berry.

In 1890, they employed over 200 workers. They did considerable overseas trade with India, China, Japan, South America and Australia. Their telegraphic address was Berrys, Sowerby Bridge.

In January 1898, they posted a lock-out notice, as workers protested in support of the 8-hour working day.

See John Stirk and William Tasker

Berry's: John Berry (Halifax) Limited
Founded in 1840 by John Berry. They were at New Bank Foundry

Partners included his nephew John Berry and his John Frederick Berry.

The firm continued as a private concern after John Frederick Berry's death in 1934.

The business closed around 1945

Berry Lane Viaduct, Halifax
Aka Charlestown Viaduct

Berry's: William Berry & Sons
Land & Mineral Surveyors at Lightcliffe [1869].

See Binns Bottom Mine, Southowram

Berum

Berwick, Charles
[1841-1916] Born in Gisburn.

He was a retired wool merchant [1911].

In [Q3] 1868, he married Mary Lund [1850-19??] from Gargrave, in Skipton.

Children: (1) Charles Henry; (2) Frederick; (3) child who died young [before 1911].

They lived at 5 Trinity Place, Halifax [1911]; 1 First Avenue, Halifax [1916].

He died 20th January 1916.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £5,584 3/-.

Berwick, Frederick
[18??-19??] Son of Charles Berwick.

He was a woolstapler [1916].

He lived at 34 Clifton Road, Halifax [1916]

Berwick, Frederick William
[1873-1945] On 5th May 1907, he married Ella Woodhead in Halifax.


Ella was the daughter of
Rufus Woodhead
 

The couple died in Halifax: Frederick William [26th September 1945]; Ella [11th January 1963]

Berwick, Henry Charles
[18??-19??] Son of Charles Berwick.

He was a woolstapler [1916].

He lived at 5 Trinity Place, Halifax [1916]

Berwick, John
Pseudonym of Agnes Marion Barber

Bery, William de
[13??-1???] In 13??, he John West and John Megotson – all of Halifax – were outlawed for failing to appear at Westminster to defend themselves after being accused of killing deer in the park of Sir William de Nevyle of Raby, at Cottingley

Best
[Surname]

There are currently around 23 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Best. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Best & Turner
Insurers, accountants and property agents at Brighouse. Recorded in 1909, when they had premises next to the Albert Hall, Brighouse

Best, Charles
[1675-1700] Son of John Best.

He married Jane Oxley from Bradford.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child.

There is a memorial to Charles and his father in Halifax Parish Church

Best, Charles
[1818-1867] Of Southowram.

He was a house painter.

He married Mary Standeven [1821-1896].

Children: Mary Emily [1855-1946] who married Hampshaw Horner

Best, Charles Atkinson
[1851-1???] Landlord of the Shears, Halifax [1887].

In 1883, he (possibly) married Mary Hemingway [18??-1896] in Halifax.

He was retired [1896].

They are mentioned in the List of Local Wills: 1896

Best, George
[1???-1???] He married Ann Armitage.

Children: George

Best, George
[1783-18??] On 26th April 1810, he married Mary Kershaw [1784-18??].

Children: James Kershaw

Best, Henry Wilson
[18??-1???] He was a printer [1880].

In [Q1] 1853, he married either Sarah Berry or Elizabeth Taylor in Halifax.

Children: Mary Jane [1853-1890] who married Sam Lister.

The family lived at Charlestown / Claremount

Best, James Kershaw
[1812-1889] Son of George Best.

Born in Halifax.

He was named for James Kershaw.

He was working in a bank in Halifax [before 1837], a lay preacher for the Wesleyan Missionary Society in India, [shortly after his marriage in 1837], a missionary for the Society for the Propagation of the Gospel in Foreign Parts in Madras, ordained a deacon in Madras [1842], and ordained a priest in Madras [1845].

He built St Mark's Church, Christianagaram, Udangudi, Tamilnadu, India, which opened on 26th January 1849.

In the 1850s, he returned to England on account of ill health, and, after recovering, became curate at Chalfont St Giles, Buckinghamshire [around 1858] and a vicar of Holy Trinity, Lane End, Buckinghamshire [1865 until his death].

On 10th August 1837, he married Mary Ann Turner [1811-1873] from Kirkby, North Yorkshire, at Manchester Cathedral.

Children: (1) Elizabeth (LizzieTurner [1839-1921] who married Walter Hobbs (DaisyEleanor; (2) James William; (3) Kershaw Thorpe; (4) Mary Ann Louisa [1844-1931]; (5) Sarah Jane [1846-1918]

Best, James William
[1840-1916] BA.

Son of James Kershaw Best.

Born in Madras.

He was a barrister; a High Court Judge in Madras; Chief Justice for Mysore [1895]. He retired in 1903.

In 1868, he married Daphne Harrison [1846-1911] at Madras Presidency.


Daphne born on 5th October 1846 and baptised 15th November 1846, in Madras. She was the daughter of Mary & Robert Bennett
 

Children: (1) William (Willie); (2) Ethel Maud [b 1873]; (3) Mary Gertrude May (Gertie) [b 1874]; (4) Eric Francis Charles; (5) Eustace Charles; (6) Winifred Hugh Francis; (7) Edward Bertram; (8) Elmer Geoffrey; (9) Cyril George [1879].

Daphne died in Bangalore, India [11th May 1911].

James William died in Sydney, Australia

Best, Jeremy
[1???-18??] He was appointed Surveyor of the Highways for Northowram [1835]

Best, John
[1???-1???] Son of Richard Best by his first marriage.

He married Unknown.

Children: Martha

Best, John
[1???-1???] He married Susannah.

Children: Thomas

Best, John
[16??-1678] Son of Richard Best by his second marriage.

He married (1) Unknown, a daughter of Rev Matthew Whiteley of Wiltshire.

Children: Charles.

He married (2) Mrs Lawrence, the other daughter of Rev Matthew Whiteley of Wiltshire. She died at Pontefract 1677.

The family lived at Landimere, Northowram.

Heywood writes that Best had

degenerated into licentiousness, drinking excessively, living like an Epicure, sending every day for 1s 6d in ale and drinking it himself

Members of the family were buried in Halifax Parish Church where an inscription reads

Here resteth the remains of John Best, of Landimer, who departed this life the 23rd day of November 1678.

Here lyeth the body of Charles Best, son of the above John Best, of Landimer, who departed this life the 3rd day of August 1700

Best, John
[1774-1834] Boot & shoe maker at Gibbet Street,Halifax [1834]

Best, Joseph
[18??-18??] Halifax bookkeeper.

He married Unknown.

Children: Thomas Edwin

Best, Rev Kershaw Thorpe
[1842-1917] BA, MA.

Son of James Kershaw Best.

Born in Madras.

He was educated at Oxford University [1862, 1867].

In 1876, he married Frances Julia (Fanny) Payne [b 1846] in Bromley.

They had no children.

He died in England

Best, Martha
[16??-1???] Daughter of John Best.

She married (1) William Ryall.

She married (2) Joshua Dawson

Best, Mrs Mary
[16??-1675] She married (1) Michael Best.


Question: Does anyone know Mary's maiden name?

 

She married (2) David Hemingway.

Heywood says that she

had a dog-like appetite which could not be satisfied

and died a widow

in great misery Jan. 30. 1674/5

after her son, Daniel, turned her out of their home at Mountain.

She went to live with Joseph Croft

Best, Mary
[16??-1706] Daughter of Richard Best by his second marriage. She inherited part of Shelf Hall from her father.

In 1681, she married Joseph Priestley.

Heywood says that she had many worthy suitors, and of the marriage, describes her as

a maid ensnared

The Northowram Register records

Mary Priestley of Westercroft, Widow, went out of Bed from her daughter, Mary, 19th May 1706, about one o'clock in the morning being Lord's Day. Was found May 31 in the River Calder, buried June 1, had bin melancholy above a year

Best, Michael
[16??-16??] Son of Richard Best by his first marriage.

He married Mary.

Children: Mary who married Nicholas Baylis

Best, Michael
[16??-1683] Son of Richard Best by his second marriage.

Heywood writes that, since the death of brother John, Michael turned to drinking.

He died without issue

Best, Richard
[15??-16??] Carrier and wealthy wool-dealer.

He lived at Landimere, Shelf.

Rev Oliver Heywood stayed with Best when he arrived at Coley.

In 16??, he married (1) Unknown.

Children: (1) John; (2) Michael; (3) Mary who married David Hemingway.

In 16??, he married (2) Martha Wood.

Children: 3 – whom they also named: (4) John, (5) Michael, and (6) Mary.

In 1639, he bought the Lower End of Shelf Hall from John Phillip

Best, Thomas
[1???-1???] He married Susanna Scott.

Children: George

Best, Thomas Edwin
[1830-1854] Son of Joseph Best.

He was watchmaker in Halifax.

He died 20th October 1853

Beste, Rev John
[15??-1578] Aka Best. He was the first Chaplain at Illingworth Church [1560-1578].

He was buried at Halifax Parish Church

Beswick, Charles
[18??-18??] Letterpress printer at 25 Crown Street, Halifax [1863]. Bookseller at 26 Silver Street, Halifax [1874]

Beswick, Ernest
[1864-1???] Born in Chester.

He was a commercial traveller [1891].

In 1888, he married Emma, daughter of Wright Sutcliffe, at Halifax

Beswick, George
[17??-18??] Landlord of the Triangle Inn.

See Carnation show

Beswick, John William
[1892-1964] Son of Joseph Beswick.

Born in Huddersfield.

He was a mechanic [1912].

In 1912, he married Olive Hey [1890-1958] in Halifax.


Olive was born in Ovenden
 

Children: (1) Mary [b 1913]; (2) Amy [b 1915].

The children were born in Halifax

Beswick, Joseph
[1859-1923] Born in Sowerby.

He was a cotton twiner.

In 1880, he married Mary Ellen in Southport.


Mary Ellen was the daughter of
William Riley
 

Children: (1) Mary [b 1881]; (2) John William.

In 1898, Mary Ellen adopted Ada, her brother Tom's stepdaughter

Bethel New Connexion Band
A brass band formed by the members of Bethel Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Holmfield. Formed in 1???. Disbanded in 1???

Bethel Rhodes & Son
Wire manufacturers with works at King Cross Street, and Bond Street, Halifax. They produced a patented woven wire bobbin board. Recorded in 1907

Beton, Henry Edgar
[1872-1950] Born in Halifax.

He was an insurance agent [1903].

In [Q1] 1903, he married Isabel Jenkinson in Halifax.


Isabel was the daughter of
George Jenkinson
 

There is no evidence that they had any children.

Henry Edgar died in Chichester [16th July 1950].

Isabel died in Bournemouth [19th December 1959]

Betty o' th' Fly
A character from Luddenden – born Elizabeth Hindle – who appears in Whiteley Turner's book A Spring-Time Saunter

Bevan, Ernest
[1881-1951] Labour politician. He was one of the founders of the Transport & General Workers Union.

He visited Halifax on 14th January 1928

Bevan, Rev Harri
[18??-19??] Minister at Booth Congregational Church [1906]

Bevan, P.
[19??-] Curate at Brighouse [1980]

Bevel, Mr
[16??-16??] Curate at Sowerby [16??]. He was ejected from Monk Fryston

Beverley
[Surname]

There are currently only around 9 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Beverley. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Beverley, Aquilla
[1833-1896] Son of Richard Beverley.

Born in Northowram / Shelf.

He was a coal miner [1851]; a weaver [1856]; a worsted weaver [1861, 1871, 1872, 1881, 1891].

In 1856, he married (1) Grace Crowther [1837-1861] at Halifax Parish Church.


Grace of Northowram, was the daughter of George Crowther, delver
 

Children: (1) Bethel; (2) Mary A [b 1858] who was a worsted spinner [1871].

Grace died [Q1] 1861.

In 1872, he married (2) Mary Gardiner [1842-1???] at Halifax Parish Church.


Mary, a spinster of Northowram, was born in Sowerby, the daughter of John Gardiner, weaver
 

Children: (3) Fred [b 1875] who was a roverer piler factory worker [1891]; (4) Alice [b 1878] who was a worsted spinner [1891] who married Sestus Dyson [b 1876], a clay worker, born in Ossett; (5) Willie [b 1880] who was a worsted spinner [1891], a clay worker [1901].

The family lived at Wester Croft, Northowram [1861, 1871]; New Road, Northowram [1881]; 2 Union Court, Alexander Street, Northowram [1891, 1901].

Living with them in 1901 was daughter Alice, her husband Sestus Dyson, and grandchildren Edith Dyson [b  1900] and Annie D Beverley [b 1899]

Beverley, Arthur Verdi
[1894-1914] Son of Bethel Beverley.

Born in Halifax [4th December 1893].

He was educated at Halifax Secondary School; an electrician [1911].

During World War I, he volunteered in September 1914, and served with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment). After 7 months' training, he went to France.

He had only been there for 3 weeks, when he died [5th May 1915] from the effects of gas poisoning at the Hill 60.

He was buried at the Divisional Cemetery, Belgium [C 18]

Beverley, Bethel
[1857-1933] Son of Aquilla Beverley.

Born in Northowram / Shelf.

He was a worsted spinner [1871]; a jobbing printer [1881]; a music master of Hipperholme [1883]; professor of music [1891]; a music seller [1901]; a piano and musical instrument dealer and concert agent at Victoria Hall Buildings, Halifax [1905]; a violinist & musical instrument dealer [1911].

In 1883, he married Sarah Isabel Wilson [1854-1914] at Coley Church.


Sarah Isabel of Shelf, was born in Liverpool daughter of John Thomas Wilson, publican
 

Children: (1) May [b 1884] who was assisting in her father's business [1911]; (2) Conrad Wilson [b 1885] who was a clerk railway goods station [1901]; (3) Marjorie [b 1888] who was a school teacher [1911]; (4) Enid [b 1890] who was a milliner [1911]; (5) Dorothy [b 1892]; (6) Arthur Verdi.

The family lived at 24 Savile Park Street, Skircoat, Halifax [1891]; 59 Savile Park Street, Halifax [1901]; 55 Savile Park Street, Halifax [1911]

Beverley, Clement
[1???-19??] Of Middle Street, Claremount.

In 1922, he married Ada Womersley in Halifax.

On 2nd December 1932, Mrs Beverley gave birth the triplets – two boys and a girl – Andrew, David and Patricia. She was later awarded the King's Bounty. The family already had 6 children

Beverley, Dan
[1812-1858] A delver and beershop keeper at Warley.

He married Susannah Ingham.

Children: (1) Hannah [1834-1863] who married William Bedford; (2) Sarah Ann [b 1836]; (3) John [b 1837]; (4) Mary Ann [b 1840]; (5) Dan [1843-1912] who worked as a stone delver; (6) Jonah [b 1846]; (7) Samuel [b 1846]. All the children were born in Ovenden.

On Saturday, 30th October 1858, he was found above Pellon. He had been on an errand to collect potatoes and was travelling from Halifax to Warley with 2 other men who, it is believed, robbed him, ransacked his papers, and left him. He was seen to walk a short way before he fell, and he was then assisted to his home. He died the following morning.

2 men – identified as Farrar and Drake – had been seen in the vicinity of the White Bear Inn, Halifax before Beverley left. A witness reported seeing Farrar and another man riding in the cart with Beverley.

The 2 men were held in Halifax lockup on a charge of highway robbery, but the inquest decided that Beverley died from natural causes and the men were acquitted

Beverley End
District of Todmorden.

There are bee boles here

Beverley Footbridge, Todmorden
18th century clapper bridge at Jumble Hole Clough

Beverley, Herman
[1896-1916] He was employed at Laws & Pickles.

He lived at Grange Mill Yard, Mytholmroyd.

During World War I, he enlisted in Sowerby Bridge, and served as a Private with the 1st/4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was killed in action [3rd September 1916].

He is remembered on the Thiepval Memorial [6A & 6B], on a memorial in Mount Zion Methodist Church, Mytholmroyd and Scout Road Wesleyan Chapel, Mytholmroyd, and in the book Royd Regeneration

Beverley, Mr
[18??-1???] Landlord of the Ash Tree, Sowerby Bridge [1872].

He married Unknown.

Children: Harry [1872] who died in infancy.

Harry was buried at Mount Tabor Wesleyan Methodist Chapel

Beverley, Nan
[1756-1796] Or Ann. There is some confusion between this lady and Elizabeth Gill. She lived in a cellar dwelling at Woolshops.

Around 1796, she died after a long drinking session. Neighbours found her dead in bed.

She was described as having lived

a bad life

that is, a prostitute.

Rev Coulthurst, and the sexton Joseph Binns, refused her a Christian burial in consecrated ground.

One story tells of how Nan was buried at night in a grave which was dug at the back of houses near the bottom of Halifax Parish Churchyard.

Other stories describe a funeral in which a large crowd watched the procession as her body was carried on a cart through the street of Halifax to her interment at Parkinson Lane, Halifax. There was no funeral service.

In 1859, workmen digging in Parkinson Lane, Halifax discovered a grave containing a human skeleton. A surgeon identified the skeleton as that of a woman who had poisoned herself.

One report says that there was a stake driven through the body, possibly following an old custom of burying the staked bodies of suicides at cross-roads.

The remains were later reinterred at the same place.

See Goldsmith's Grave

Beverley, Richard
[1805-1???] He was a delver [1841]; a quarry man [1851]; a delver [1856].

He married Ellen [1809-1???].


There is a child Jonas [b 1827] who was a coal miner [1841, 1851] and is listed as Jonas Winder [1841] and Jonas Windlo illegitimate son [1851]
 

Children: (1) Jonas [b 1827]; (2) William [b 1829]; (3) John [b 1831] who was a power loom weaver (worsted) [1851]; (4) Aquilla; (5) Sarah Jane [b 1835] who was employed at factory [1851]; (6) Hannah [b 1836] who was employed at factory [1851]; (7) Grace [b 1838] who was employed at factory [1851]; (8) Amelia [b 1840] who was employed at factory [1851]; (9) Sam [b 1842] who was employed at factory [1851]; (10) James [b 1844] who was employed at factory [1851]; (11) Richard [b 1846] who was employed at factory [1851]; (12) Ellen [b 1849]; (13) Joshua [b 1850].

The family lived at Fold, Northowram [1841]; Fold, Halifax [1851]

Bibby, James
[18??-18??] He married Elizabeth Ann. Elizabeth Ann was a laundress at Windle Royd Laundry, Warley [1891]. Four of their daughters worked at the Laundry.

Children: (1) Florence who married Harry Arthur Mellor; (2) daughter; (3) daughter; (4) daughter.

The family lived at Windle Royd Farm

Bibby's: T. Bibby & Company Limited
Manufacturers of steel equipment for the brewing, dairy, chemical, pharmaceutical and textile industries at Jasper Street Works, Halifax

Bible Society Repository, Todmorden
Recorded in 1861 at Pavement when Samuel Ward Walton was in charge

Bickerdike, Arthur William
[18??-1???] Of Prescott Street, Halifax. He edited an almanac called Th' Beacon. He also produced the Beacon Christmas and New Year's Annual [1872]

Biddiss, Rev Ray
[19??-] Pastor at Pellon Baptist Church and Grace Baptist Church, Pellon

Bienaimé, Francesco
[18??-18??] Sculptor of the Carrara marble statues which stood along the terrace at People's Park. He also made the statues at London's Crystal Palace and at Chatsworth

Big Daddy

Big Kate
A 220ft high chimney – one of the tallest in the town – which stood at Range Bank. It was owned by Halifax Corporation and was demolished in 1956

Bigelow, Erasmus
[18??-18??] An American engineer.

He worked in Massachusetts where he developed the power-loom.

In 1851, he exhibited his carpet-making machinery at The Great Exhibition.

The carpet manufacturers in Kidderminster rejected his invention, but Crossley's bought it.

With the help of George Collier, Crossley's mechanised the weaving of carpets

Biggins, Rev Charles
[18??-19??] MA.

Unitarian Minister at Todmorden [1917]

Bilberry Hall, Greetland

See Bilberry Hall Lane, Greetland

Bilberry Hall Pleasure Grounds, Greetland
Recorded in 1905, when the proprietor was J. Furness

Bilcliffe
A variant of the surname Bintcliffe

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Biles, Charles
[1842-1???] Of Witney, Oxfordshire.

On 18th August 1876, he went to Oxford police and confessed to the murder of Sarah Bell at Todmorden Vicarage, which he claimed to have committed about 7 years ago, and for which Miles Weatherill was hanged in 1868.

Magistrates at Oxford City Police Court heard that Biles was drunk when he made the confession, and they discharged him on condition that his brother take charge of him

Bill Knipe
Aka Bill Nipe.

See Eagle Crag, Todmorden

Bill's Town
A popular name for Elland after the rebuilding programme carried out in the 1960s under the ægis of Elland's Town Clerk, Bill Thomas

Billiard Rooms, Halifax
Subscription billiard rooms were recorded in 1845 at Harrison Road when the Marker was R. Howarth

Billingham, Rev Sidney
[1898-19??] He served at St Margaret Burnage, near Manchester, at Braintree in Essex, at Bedingfield, and at Haydock and had been Chaplain to the Forces [1940-43] before becoming Vicar of All Saints' Church, Salterhebble [1948].

In 1953, he left to become vicar of Heworth, and later Rufforth near York

Billington, Charles
[1862-1???] Son of Richard Billington, clogger.

Born in Preston, Lancashire.

He was a labourer of Halifax [1883]; a paviour [1891]; a road paviour [1901]; a sub-contractor paving [1911].

In 1883, he married Elizabeth Hannah Booth [1862-1???] at Holy Trinity Church, Halifax.


Elizabeth Hannah was born in Halifax, the daughter of Titus Booth, greengrocer
 

Children: (1) Thomas [b 1884]; (2) Harry [b 1888] who was a raker in worsted mill [1901], a dyer's finisher [1911]; (3) Agnes [b 1890] who was a twister worsted [1911]; (4) Fred.

The family lived at 8 Allen Fold, Skircoat, Halifax [1891]; 34 Abbots Terrace, Halifax [1901]; 21 Alabama Street, off Queens Road, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1901 was widowed mother-in-law Emma Booth [b 1836]

Billington, Fred
[1893-1916] Son of Charles Billington.

He was a pressman shoe and hipper? [1911]; a soldier of 21 Alabama Street [1915].

In [Q4] 1915, he married May Hirst [1893-19??] at St Augustine's Church, Pellon.


May of 21 Alabama Street, was the daughter of John William Hirst, dyer
 

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 4th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He died of wounds received during a heavy bombardment [5th July 1916].

He was buried at the Puchevillers British Cemetery [I C 38]

Billington, Rev
[19??-????] Curate at Saint George's Church, Lee Mount [1960s]

Billson, Sir Alfred
[1839-1907] Born in Leicester. From 1860, he trained as a solicitor and was a partner in Oliver, Jones, Billson & Company of Liverpool.

In 1862, he married Priscilla Baines from Leicestershire.

Children: (1) son; (2) daughter; (3) daughter; (4) Theodora who married [1888] Rev W. A. Pearman.

He was a proprietor and director of the Liverpool Daily Post the Liverpool Mercury, and the Liverpool Echo. He was a JP for Liverpool. He was a Gladstonian MP for Barnstaple [1892-1895]. Radical / Liberal MP for Halifax [1897-1900]. He lost his seat in 1900. He was later MP for NW Staffordshire. He was knighted in the Birthday Honours list of June 1907.

He died suddenly after an attack of faintness in the Lobby of the House of Commons in July 1907.

He was buried at Kensal Green, London

Billy Fish

Billy Mellor Bridge, Elland
A stone bridge over the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway line between Elland and Brighouse. It was destroyed on 1st September 1957


Question: Can anyone tell me anything about Billy Mellor?

 

Billy Wobble
A simple device – comprising a jib and a rope or chain – which was used to quarry stone. The rope was split into 3: one carried a hook, and the other 2 each carried a ring. The rings were slipped over the handles of a wheelbarrow loaded with stone, and the hook was attached to the wheel. The other end of the rope was tied to a horse which raised the load as it walked away.

This was in use until around 1880

Bilsborough, Rev Arthur
[18??-19??] He lived at 11 Gibraltar Road, Halifax [1937]

Biltcliffe
A variant of the surname Bintcliffe

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Bilton, Rev Paul
[19??-1???] Vicar of Saint Thomas's Church, Greetland and Saint John the Evangelist, West Vale [1981]

Bilton Pier, Luddenden Dean
A wooden bridge which replaced earlier stepping stones across the stream there.

Named for Mr Bilton of Upper Mytholm Farm, Luddenden who campaigned for the construction of the bridge

Bin Royd, Norland
Aka Benroyde, Binn Royd, Binroyd. Moor End Lane.

A hall-and-cross-wing timber-framed house, built on land which was once owned by the Binns family – hence the name. The house was cased in stone in the 16th century by the Brigg – or Briggs – family. John Briggs lived here around 1600.

The barn is dated MWA 1677 for Michael Wainhouse and his wife.

It was known for the fine plasterwork, installed by Michael Wainhouse in 1670, some panels of which are now in Bankfield museum. Royal Arms decorated the house.

The house was owned by the Thornhill family.

In 1712, Widow Thornhill sold the house to Richard Sterne, uncle of Laurence Sterne. Richard's son – also Richard – left Binn Royd to the Pulleyn family who held the property into the 20th century.

Mr Priestley – who married a daughter of Joseph Boothroyd – lived here in the early 19th century.

Isaac Fleming lived here [1861, 1871, 1881], and his son James Fleming [1901, 1911]

In 1914, it was rebuilt by Jackson & Fox, and the original 5 bays reduced to 2. An inscription reads

BIN ROYD
REPLANNED AND REBUILT
A 1914 A

This is discussed in Ancient Halls in & about Halifax, Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions, The Old Halls & Manor Houses of Yorkshire and Views of Ancient Buildings in the Parish of Halifax.

The property is now 2 dwellings: Binn Royd Farm and Binn Royd Cottage.

See Hollas Field, Norland and The Brigg family of Binroyd

Bindley, Dr Cecil Alexander
[1844-1898] MRCS.

Son of manufacturer John Miles Bindley.

Born in Ashby-de-la-Zouch, Leicestershire.

He was a practising surgeon in Brighouse [1881-1898].

In 1873, he married Martha Anne, daughter of Thomas Watkin Youd, at Christchurch, Harrogate.

Children: (1) Annie Gertrude [b 1874]; (2) Evelyn Mabel [b 1876].

He was shown as of Charing Cross, London [1873].

The family lived at Church Lane [1874]; 10 Church Street, Hipperholme with Brighouse [1881]; Well Close House, Brighouse [1891]

Living with them in 1891 was William Keels [aged 26] (assistant surgeon) born in Chatteris, Cambridgeshire.

He committed suicide by taking prussic acid [5th May 1898]. In a suicide note, he wrote

Two things I can never get rid of — nettle-rash and debt — so life is not worth living. Forgive, I cannot bear to tell. Mr Phipps knows

Bingley Brothers
Printers, stationers and lithographers at 5 Milner Street, Halifax [1905]

Bingley, Elizabeth
[1684-1729] In her will of 1729, she bequeathed the property and profits of 2 cottages in Pellon to the person that reads prayers twice a day in Halifax

Binks, Mrs Hannah
[182?-1909] Widow of Southowram.

On the morning of 22nd September 1909, her badly-bruised body was found in her home at Ashley Cottages, Southowram. The room appeared to have been ransacked, but there was no evidence of robbery or murder and it was concluded that she had died as a result of an accidental fall

Binner's: T. G. Binner
Boiler makers at Navigation Wharf, Halifax [1905]

Binney, Rev Dr Thomas
[18??-19??] Minister at the new Lightcliffe Congregational Church [1871]

Binns...
The entries for people with the surname Binns are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Binns
[Surname]

There are currently around 50 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Binns. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Binns family of Norland
Also Bynns.

See Binroyd

Binns & Berry Brothers Limited
Engineers and tool makers at Fairfield Works, Holmfield. Partnership founded in 1898 by Ned Binns, Tom Berry, and Harry Berry.

In 1906, they expanded and – having built a lathe which was too large to get out of their Fairfield Works – moved to Crown Works, Grantham Road.

In 1916, they moved to Jubilee Works, Ovenden when Stirk's required larger premises and bought the Crown Works. They also had a branch in Brighouse.

In 1953, they split off their rack and screw cutting operations and bought the Coronation Works, Ovenden to establish the Halifax Rack & Screw Cutting Company Limited.

In 1981 they bought a large part of the Crown Works, Grantham Road and returned there

Binns & Morton
Boot & shoe makers at West Vale.

Partners included Mr Binns and Mr Morton.

The partnership was dissolved in September 1876

Binns & Taylor
Wool, flock and waste dealers at West Vale.

Partners included Joseph Binns and Thomas Taylor.

The partnership was dissolved in December 1873 when Thomas Taylor was retiring

Binns & Wright
Cotton and silk-spinners and manufacturers at Mytholm Mill, Hebden Bridge [1834]

Binns & Wrigley
Cotton spinners at Brow Mills, Sowerby Bridge [1810s] and Lower Soyland Mill [1822]. Partners included George Binns and Watts Wrigley

Binns Brothers
Halifax engineers [1905]. Partners included Uriah Binns

Binns Brothers
Silk spinners at Eaves Bottom Mills, Hebden Bridge, Mytholm Mills, Hebden Bridge, and Stansfield [1861]. Partners included George Binns, Thomas Binns, and Edwin Binns

Binns Brothers
Quarry owners at Pinnar Lane Quarry, Southowram [1936], Pump Lane Quarry, Southowram, and Coal Pit Lane, Southowram [1937]

Binns's: D. Binns & Son
Draper & grocer established by David Binns.

They were at 5 Corn Market, Halifax. [1828]. He was a linen draper at 3 Corn Market [1842]. He retired in 1856.

His son Joseph took over the family business as Joseph Binns & Company.

In 1865, the D. Binns & Son business was still advertised as wholesale and retail drapers, and sewing machine agents.

Binns's: Edward Binns & Sons
Engineers and millwrights at Stainland Road, West Vale [1905]. Partners included John Edward Binns

Binns's: George Binns's Charity
In his will of 1851, George Binns left £2 to support Sunday Schools in Norland, £2 to support Sunday Schools in Barkisland, and £1 to be distributed annually to 8 aged widows of good moral character resident in Barkisland. Using figures for average earnings, £1 in 1851 is roughly the equivalent of £774.00 today

Binns Hill Farm, Warley

Owners and tenants have included

Binns Hole Clough, Mixenden
See Battle of Slaughter Gap and Matthew Smith

Binns's: J. & A. Binns Limited
Originally T. & J. Binns & Company at West Mount Mills, Halifax.

The company later became Carrington Binns

Binns's: Joseph Binns & Company
Wholesale and retail drapers, hosiers, apron and pinafore manufacturer founded in 1828 at Corn Market, Halifax by David Binns.

In 1856, he was succeeded by his son, Joseph. They moved to new premises at 1 Princess Street, Halifax.

They were at 5 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]

Binns Owl Farm, Mixenden

Owners and tenants have included

Binns's: T. & J. Binns & Company
Wire manufacturers. T. and J. Binns worked as wire drawers with Sharp & Brown before taking over the business and establishing T. & J. Binns & Company.

They moved to West Mount Mills, Halifax [1874].

The name was changed to J. & A. Binns Limited

Binns's: Thomas Binns & Company Limited
Silk manufacturers established by Thomas Binns. They were at Clifton Bridge Mill, Brighouse [1923]

Binns Top, Southowram
Area between Southowram and Cromwellbottom.

A farm – Binns Top – is also recorded

Binroyd, Norland

Bintcliffe
Other forms of the surname include Bilcliffe, Biltcliffe, Bintliff and Bintliffe.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

The surname is believed to have originated around 1200 in Billa Cliff, or Belle Clive, a hamlet near Penistone.

Locally, the surname is found with many different local forms

  • Gershom Bintliff

  • James Bintliff of 49 Trafalgar Street, Halifax [1835]

  • Gresham Bincliffe of Salterhebble [1835]

  • Charles Bintcliff of Rastrick [1835]

  • Allen Biltcliffe of 46 Douglas Street, Halifax [1936]

There are currently only around 6 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bintcliffe. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Bintcliffe, Arthur
[1870-1944] Son of James Bintcliffe.

In 1895, he married Mary Taylor [1871-1952] in Halifax.

Children: Clarence.

The couple were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Bintcliffe, Clarence
[1908-1984] Son of Arthur Bintcliffe.

In 1940, he married Mildred Whiteley [1811-1872] in Calder.

Children: unknown.

The couple were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Bintcliffe, Daniel
[1724-1786] He was born, lived and died in Stainland.

In 1747, he married (1) Hannah Dyson at Elland.

In 1753, he married (2) Rebecca Hanson at Heptonstall.

Children: (1) James; (2) John

He was buried at Stainland Independent Church [23rd April 1786]

Bintcliffe, James
[1762-1843] Son of Daniel Bintcliffe.

Joining at the age of 3, he was one of the first members of the Elland Methodist Society.

On 6th August 1781, he married Martha Smithies at Elland.

Children: (1) James; (2) Rebecca [bapt 1785]; (3) Mary [bapt 1789]; (4) Sally [bapt 1792]; (5) Gershom

Bintcliffe, James
[1848-1910] Of Broad Carr.

He married Sarah Ann Gee [1848-1910].

Children: (1) Clara Ann [1868-1930]; (2) Arthur; (3) Walter [1872-1877]; (4) Louisa [1874-1949] who married [1907] Percy Heppenstall [1876-1963]; (5) Fred [1876-1900]; (6) Harold [1877-1952] who married [1906] Caroline Rosanna Lambert [1878-19??]; (7) John William [1879-1966] who married [1910] Fanny Haytor Winchester; (8) Ethel [1883-1955] who married [1908] Irvine Hanson [1882-1910]; (9) Alice [1885-1963]; (10) Maud Mary [1886-1961]; (11) Lottie [1890-1918].

James died 13th January 1910, and Sarah Ann died 2 days later [15th January 1910].

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Bintcliffe, Thomas Henry
[1871-1921] In 1899, he married Elizabeth Taylor [1863-1938] in Halifax.

Children: (1) Annie [1900-1985] who married [1926] Vincent L. Hey; (2) Maud [1901-1980] who married [1927] John Helliwell.

Members of the family were buried at Blackley Baptist Graveyard

Bintliff
A variant of the surname Bintcliffe

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 6 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Bintliff. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Bintliff, Alfred Grundy
[1840-1900] Son of Gershom Bintliff.

Like other members of the family, he was involved in the American Civil War.

He died in Rock County, Wisconsin

Bintliff, Gershom
[1798-18??] Of Halifax.

Son of James Bintcliffe.

On 23rd July 1821, he married Maria Hanson in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary Robinson [born 30th April 1822]; (2) Caroline [born 31st March 1823]; (3) James; (4) William [born 21st May 1826]; (5) Thomas; (6) Gershom; (7) Maria [born 11th September 1831]; (8) Joshua Frederick [1834-1836]; (9) Martha Ann [born 3rd July 1836]; (10) Alfred Grundy. All the children were born in Halifax.

Gershom, Maria and 2 of their sons – Gershom and Alfred? – and 2 daughters, emigrated from Salterhebble to America in 1841. His eldest son James, Thomas, and another sibling followed in 1842. The family originally settled in New York State.

Gershom was dead before 1873, and Maria moved west to live with one of her daughters

Bintliff, Gershom
[1830-1911] Son of Gershom Bintliff.

Born 22nd September 1830.

In 1841, he emigrated to America with his parents and siblings.

Like other members of the family, he was involved in the American Civil War.

He later moved to Wisconsin where he married. He and his wife moved on and settled in Ashland, MN. In 1871, they moved to Minneapolis and became active in the local church. He died on 23rd July 1911.

One of their sons, Charles Joseph I founded the Bintliff Manufacturing Company in Minneapolis in 1885. The company went out of business in the 1930s. His grandson, Charles Addison Bintliff II, and 8-year-old great-grandson Charles Joseph Bintliff III [1917-1998] gave the family heirloom mite box to their local church in 1925

Bintliff, James
[1783-1847] Son of James Bintcliffe

He was a corn and flour dealer in Halifax [1837]; a shopkeeper at King Cross [1840].

In 1802, he married (1) Mary Sladdin in Halifax.

In 1836, he married (2) Hannah Fletcher in Halifax

Bintliff, General James
[1824-1901] Eldest son of Gershom.

Born in Halifax [1st November 1824].

At the age of 15, he became clerk in a lawyer's office at Halifax. He later became a bookkeeper for the Halifax & Wakefield Canal Company.

In 1842, he followed his parents to America. He was a business partner with his father-in-law.

In 1847, he married Harriet Snook in New York.

Children: (1) child – who died before 1900; (2) child – who died before 1900; (3) Edward Hawkins [b 1849]; (4) Ida M. [b 1855]; (5) James William [b 1858]; (6) Helen (Nellie) [b 1861].

In 1851, he went to farm in Green County, Wisconsin. He was later Cashier of the Bank of Monroe. In 1856, he was elected Register of Deeds of Green County. In 1859, he was admitted to the bar in Green County. In 1860, he bought an interest in the county's leading newspaper, the Monroe Sentinel, and in 1862, he became sole proprietor. He was publisher and proprietor of the Darlington Republican

He died 16th March 1901

Bintliff, Thomas H.
[1828-1862] Son of Gershom.

Born in Halifax.

In 1841/1842, he and his family emigrated to America. He was killed in the Civil War

Bintliffe
A variant of the surname Bintcliffe

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Birch
[Surname]

There are currently only around 8 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Birch. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Birch Dene, Wheatley
House. Recorded in 1907

See Edwin Turner and George Edwin Turner

Birch Farm, Sowerby
See Elkanah Horton

Birch, George
[18??-18??] Of Halifax. In January 1866, he filed a patent for
improvements in printing yarns

Birch, Rev Hugh
[1906-19??] MA.

He served at Stratford and at Lindley before becoming Curate and Lecturer at Halifax [1937-1940], Chaplain of the Waterhouse Charity [1938-1940], vicar of Gomersal [1940-1949], Vicar of Rastrick [1949-1960], and Vicar of Coley [1960-1971].

He had 4 sons. The eldest, John, died tragically in Scotland when he was 18. He was Head boy at Rastrick Grammar School at the time.

The family grave is in the churchyard, near the east window of Saint Matthew's, Rastrick

Birch, Rev Joseph
[18??-18??] MA.

He was the first vicar of Brighouse [March 1843-October 1862]. It was at this time when the church separated from Rastrick and became an independent chapelry and parish within the parish of Halifax. Since the church was built in 1831, there had been a Curate in charge.

He set up several philanthropic causes: the Brighouse Clothing Society [1843], the Soldiers' Wives in the Russian War [1854] which raised £10, the Indian Mutiny Relief Fund [1857] which raised £13.

In 1857, when the Parish Church was competing with Methodists, he established a chapel of ease which was unsuccessful and subsequently became Saint Paul's Methodist Chapel.

He married Unknown [1810-1868].

Children: Lydia Lea who married Rev R. A. Tindall.

His wife was a Quaker and wore a silk poke bonnet and other Quaker clothes throughout her life.

He left to go to West Teignmouth, Devon

See Judge William Barber and Rev John Phillips

Birch, Leonard F.
[1???-19??] Around 1948, he and his son Leonard J. established Birch's photographers.

He married Unknown.

Children: Leonard J.

Birch, Leonard J.
[1???-1???] Aka Lenny.

Son of Leonard F. Birch.

He worked as a technician with Harnett & Company,

Around 1948, he and his father established Birch's photographers.

In the 1950s, he was Chief Photographer for the British speedway magazine The Speedway Star.

Lenny continued in the business when they moved to London about 1951, with a studio in Albemarle Street, Piccadilly.

He moved to New Zealand in the early 1960s

Birch, Mr
[18??-18??] He ran Birch Tree House School, Halifax

Birch's photographers
Halifax photographic business, established around 1948 by Leonard F. Birch and his son, Lenny, at 27 Rhodes Street, Halifax. The business moved to London about 1951, and they had a studio in Albemarle Street, Piccadilly

Birch, Roger
[19??-] Local photographer. He has published several books of photographs of Todmorden and the Upper Calder Valley

  • A Way of Life [1973]

  • Todmorden Album 4 volumes of photographs of Todmorden and the Upper Calder Valley. Volume 4 was published in 2006

See Todmorden Album website

Birch, William
[1805-1869] Of Warley.

He was a wit, a bareback rider, the village blacksmith, jailer, potman, village dentist, and a leading light in the local maypole dancing.

At Warley Congregational Church, he was sexton, gravedigger, deacon, and clerk.

He married Unknown.

Children: Hannah who married John Bell Kerr.

The family lived at Old Hall Farm, Warley [tenant 1809]

Birchall, M. M.
[19??-19??] BA, LTh.

Curate at Sowerby [1956]

Birchcliffe
Area of Hebden Bridge.

The name is recorded as Burstcliffe [1608], Barstcliffe [1634], Burscliffe [1638], and Birkscliff Shroggs [1776].

The original name Burstcliffe, implies that the area was cracked or disturbed and liable to landslides.

Note the large 19th century retaining wall on your right as you go north-east from Hebden Bridge to Keighley.

See William Cockcroft

Birchcliffe Baptists
A group of General Baptists at Hebden Bridge, formed by Dan Taylor. They opened the original Birchcliffe Chapel in 1764. The final chapel closed in 1974.

See Jonathan Horsfall

Birchcliffe Centre, Hebden Bridge
A collection of offices and studios owned by Pennine Heritage. The building was the former Birchcliffe Baptist Church

Birchcliffe Road Toll Bar, Hebden Bridge
Toll gate on Birchcliffe Road built in 18?? It was discontinued around 1878

Birchcliffe War Memorial, Hebden Bridge
In the garden of the former Birchcliffe Baptist Church, there is a cenotaph remembering those who died in World War I.

This was restored in 2009

Birchcliffe water, Hebden Bridge
The water from a number of natural springs was collected in a tank behind Birchcliffe Chapel and used by the local community until the 1980s

Birchen Lee Carr, Mytholmroyd
Or Birchenlee Carr. Raw Lane.

Mid-17th century yeoman clothier's through-passage house, and barn with datestone SC 1886

The house and the barn are on the English Heritage Buildings at Risk Register.

It has been described as

one of the finest examples of a yeoman clothier's house in West Yorkshire

In 2007, it was sold at auction for £347,000.

A bid has been made [2008] to demolish and extend the outbuildings to provide accommodation on site to enable the renovation and restoration of the house

Bird, Rev G. Garmosons
[18??-18??] BA.

Clergyman at Illingworth [1861]

Birdcage, Godley
Area of Beacon Hill Road, Halifax around Godley and the top of Old Bank.

The name may imply early links with Falconry

Birdcage, Skircoat
Area of Halifax to the south of Skircoat Moor.

The name may imply early links with Falconry

Birdholme, Coley
An area of Coley

Birds Royd
Area of Rastrick just south of the Calder.

The name is a corruption of Brigroyd, the clearing by the bridge

Birds Royd House, Rastrick
Built around 1895.

A reservoir in the grounds served the Calder Dye Works.

The house was demolished in the 1950s

Birds Royd House Reservoir, Rastrick
A reservoir in the grounds of Birds Royd House, Rastrick served the Calder Dye Works

Birdwhistle, William
[1???-18??] In 1822, he and Mrs Leyland were recorded at a Lancasterian School in Halifax

Birk's Lane End Bar
Toll gate

Birkbeck, J.
[18??-19??] Farmer at Hunger Hill Farm, Queensbury.

In April 1889, he was declared bankrupt

Birkby & Kellett
Formed in 1863 by Henry Birkby and Mr Kellett. In 1867, the partnership ended

Birkby Hall, Clifton
Birkby Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Birkby, Henry
[18??-19??] Partner in Birkby & Kellett. In 1867, he established the Storr Hill Brickworks. In 1876, he served on the local council at Wyke

Birkby House, Lightcliffe

Owners and tenants have included

Birkby, John
[17??-18??] Cotton and wool card makers at Hopwood Lane, Halifax [1809]

Birkby, John
[18??-18??] Strap-fastener manufacturer at Spring Bank Saw Mill, Brighouse [1874]

Birkby Moor
Popular carpet design produced by Firth's Carpets, Bailiff Bridge

Birkdale Farm, Birkhouse
Mid 17th century farm and cottages

Birkenhead, Hebden Bridge
A popular 19th century name for the Royd Terrace and Garden Square area around Buttress Brink

Birkett
A variant of the surname Birkhead

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

Birkett, Albert Edward
[1876-19??] Born in Nottingham.

He was a shop keeper [1910].

On 30th July 1910, he married Gertrude Goodyear at Coley Church.


Gertrude was the daughter of
Luke Goodyear
 

After their marriage, the couple went to live in Sheffield

Birkhead
Other forms of the surname include Birkett, Birkitt and Burkitt.

Roger Birkhed is recorded in Halifax in 1505.

The name probably originates in Westmorland.

There are currently only around 3 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Birkhead. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Birkhead's Charity
In his will of 1638, William Birkhead gave £5 which was to be used for charitable purposes in Lightcliffe and Hipperholme and £5 which was to be paid yearly to the poor of Rastrick and Brighouse. He gave the money in trust to Samuel Hoyle and Robert Hargreaves. Using figures for average earnings, £5 in 1638 is roughly the equivalent of £7,970.00 today

Birkhead, George Taylor
[1875-1918] He died when James Moran struck him with a bayonet after finding Birkhead with Moran's wife [9th June 1918]

Birkhead, Ratcliffe
[18??-19??] Printer at Silver Street, Halifax [1905]

Birkhead, William
[15??-16??] Of Brookfoot, Southowram. He established Birkhead's Charity by his will of 1638

Birkhouse
Area of Bailiff Bridge / Clifton.

There are a number of 17th century buildings in the area, including Birkdale Farm, Lower Birkhouse Cottage and Upper Birkhouse Farm

Birkin, Adam de
[11??-1185] See Adam son of Peter de Birkin

Birkin, Joseph
[1815-1859] Of Brighouse.

He married Hannah.

Children: (1) Joseph [1845-1887]; (2) Elizabeth [1845] who died aged 2 months; (3) John Fawcett [1858-1859] who died aged 5 months; (4) Thomas.

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Birkin, Roger de
[11??-1???] Aka Roger son of Adam son of Peter

Son of Adam son of Peter de Birkin.

He married Matilda.


Matilda was the daughter of Roger de Tong

In a grant [1189-1190], Roger de Tong gave to Matilda on her marriage, his manor of Over Shitlington

 

In an agreement in 1196, Thomas son of Matthew de Horbury granted Roger de Birkin, for an exchange of other lands that they had made, 80 oaks in their common wood of Shitlington. This was witnessed by Reginald son of Elias [EYC Vol. 8 No. 151].

In an agreement a little later [1196-1202] Roger son of Adam son of Peter demised to Thomas son of Matthew de Horbury, for a term of two years, all his land of Shitlington and Midgley, and 32 acres for a term of ten years. This was witnessed by Richard son of Jordan [EYC Vol. 8 No. 152]. In this agreement, Roger is called Roger son of Adam son of Peter, probably to demonstrate his inherited right to the land.

See Richard son of Jordan de Thornhill

Birkin, Thomas
[1???-1???] Son of Joseph Birkin.

He married Eliza.

Children: Hannah Mary [1863] who died aged 15 weeks.

Hannah Mary were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse with her grandfather Joseph

Birkitt
A variant of the surname Birkhead

Birks Bar, Walsden
Hollins Road. The toll house was built in 1825 for the Todmorden Turnpike Trust. The building was later used as a butcher's shop, then a ladies' and gents' outfitters

Birks Brook, Mixenden
With the Hebble, this forms the southern boundary of Mixenden

Birks Close Farm, Norwood Green
Part of the property of Samuel Sunderland

In 1671, he instructed that income from the property be left to the poor of Hipperholme-cum-Brighouse, the Sunderland Charity.

In April 1840, the coal beneath a part of the farm was sold. Mining revealed that a considerable part of the coal had already been

got by someone

Birks Farm, Ripponden
Royd Lane. Part of Sam Hill's Brig Royd Estate. There were houses here in the early 17th century.

Owners and tenants have included

Birks Hall
Area of Halifax on the left of Shroggs Road going from Lee Bridge to Wheatley. Birks Hall House stood on the Pellon side of the valley

Birks Hall Bridge, Walsden
St Peter's Gate. Bridge #35 over the Rochdale Canal

Birks Hall Convalescent Home
Birks Hall Lane. Recorded in 1905

Birks Hall, Ovenden
Rebuilt about 1699.

Owners and tenants have included

Mrs Anne Brooksbank died here.

On 19th October 1920, The Halifax Weekly Courier reported that it was proposed to convert the unoccupied portion of Birks Hall into a habitable dwelling or dwellings.

This is discussed in Halifax Antiquarian Society Transactions and In & About Our Old Homes.

It was demolished in 1937. Shroggs Road Tip now occupies the site. The drive can still be seen

Birks Hall tip
Aka Shroggs Road Tip

Birks Hall, Walsden

Birks Hall Wood Reservoir
Fed by water from the springs in Birks Wood. The reservoir stored 500 gallons of water. The water was carried from here by lead pipes to Gibbet Hill Reservoir.

No longer exists

See Birks hall

Birks, Hannah Rawson
[1846-1925] Of Sheffield.

She married Louis John Crossley.

She died at Holywell Hall, Stainland

Birks House, Walsden
Owners and tenants have included

Birks, Rev Martin J.
[18??-19??] Minister at Bethesda Methodist New Connexion Chapel, Elland [1890]

Birks Mills Lock, Walsden
Aka Travis Mill Lock

Birks Royd, Southowram
Church Lane. House.

Owners and tenants have included

See Birks Royd Quarry, Southowram

Birks Top, Southowram
House off Church Lane.

Owners and tenants have included

Birks Wood, Ovenden

See Birks Hall Wood Reservoir

Birrell, Sir James
[19??-] He was Chief Executive of the Halifax Building Society [1999-1993]

Birstall, West Yorkshire
District of Leeds.

See Brookroyd, Birstall, Oakwell Hall, Birstall and Rydings, Birstall

Birt, Daphne Marjorie Hilda
[1???-19??] Daughter of William George Birt of Kensington. She was the second wife of Henry Charles Sorrell Priestley Edwards

Birtwhistle & Hutchinson
Proprietors of the Halifax Courier [1874]. They were then at 7 Portland Street, Halifax

Birtwhistle, Arthur
[1870-19??] ARCM.

Son of William Henry Birtwhistle.

His parents died of TB when he was a baby. He was cared for by Maria Wilson, his mother's married sister. His brother William was brought up by his grandmother, Rachel Greenwood.

He studied the organ and taught his brother, William

Birtwhistle, George
[1893-1916] Son of Thomas Birtwhistle.

He was a steamer (stuff dyeing & finishing works)) [1911]; an employee of Walnut Street dyeworks; a labourer [1915].

He lived at 28 Plum Street, Halifax [1915].

During World War I, he enlisted [1st May 1915] and served as a Rifleman with the 12th Battalion Rifle Brigade (Prince Consort's Own).

He died of wounds in the 26th Field Ambulance [5th January 1916] (aged 22).

He was buried at the Sailly-sur-la-Lys Canadian Cemetery [I D 73]

Birtwhistle, John
[1842-1884] Of Halifax.

On 19th January 1884, he went to the Westward Tavern, Halifax and played dominoes with another man for some beer. A third man, John Henry Charnock, had a bet with Birtwhistle. Birtwhistle lost and there was a dispute over whether or not Charnock had won 10d. A remark was made which upset Birtwhistle and he struck Charnock on the mouth. Charnock hit Birtwhistle a violent blow on the nose and knocked him down, his head coming into violent contact with the floor. Charnock and another man carried Birtwhistle home. He died on 10th February 1884.

At the trial, Charnock said that he was sorry for what has occurred and offered to pay a sum of money to Birtwhistle's widow. The Judge said that, although he could send the prisoner to gaol, in which case no-one would benefit. Instead, he ordered Charnock to keep the peace for 12 months

Birtwhistle, Joseph Priestley
[18??-18??] Accountant, auditor, estate agent and insurance agent. He set up in business in 1863. He was Secretary of the Halifax Tradesmen's Benevolent Society at Crown Street, Halifax [1874].

He had business at Crossley Chambers, Northgate, Halifax [1881].

He married Unknown.

Children: Annie Mabeth [b 1872] who married William Jessop Storer

Birtwhistle's: T. & W. Birtwhistle
19th century printers, booksellers, stationers and account book manufacturers at 18-22 Northgate, Halifax.

Partners included Thomas Birtwhistle and William Birtwhistle and.

Recorded in 1874 at 31 Northgate.

See Jane Ann Hodgson

Birtwhistle, Thomas
[1814-1871] Of Halifax.

Son of William Birtwhistle.

He became a boot and shoe-maker. He joined his father's business [1822].

On 3rd November 1836, he married Harriet Stott [1817-1863] from Stainland. Children: several including (1) William Henry; (2) Emily [1847-1920] who never married; (3) John; (4) Harriet [1858-1859] who died aged 14 months; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child; (9) child.

The family lived at 34 Great Albion Street, Halifax.

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3936], the Birtwhistle family plot

Birtwhistle, Thomas
[1816-1???] He was a boot maker [1851]; a cordwainer [1861, 1871]; a cordwainer bootmaker [1881].

In He married Ruth [1816-1876].

Children: (1) Mary Ann [b 1837] who was a hand loom weaver of carpets [1851], a worsted spinner [1861]; (2) James Firth [b 1840] who was an errand boy [1851], a cordwainer [1861]; (3) Elizabeth [b 1843]; (4) Fanny [b 1848] who was a worsted spinner [1861], a cotton winder [1871], a worsted winder [1881] and married Greenwood Hanson; (5) Thomas; (6) George [b 1857] who was a rug dresser carpet works [1881].

The family lived at 19 Fleet Street, Halifax [1851, 1861]; 22 Fleet Street, Halifax [1871]

Birtwhistle, Thomas
[1829-1885] He was a printer & publisher; joint partner at the Courier with John Dyson Hutchinson; partner in T. & W. Birtwhistle; a newspaper proprietor employing 14 men & 9 boys [1881].

In 1866, he married Sarah A. Baxendale.

Children: Emily who married Thomas Palethorpe.

The family lived at Lee House, Shibden [1879]; Longfield, Halifax [1885].

He died 6th March 1885.

Probate records show that he left a personal estate valued at £6,852 19/10d.

His will was proved by Thomas Palethorpe and Henry John Palethorpe (of Leeds) 

Birtwhistle, Thomas
[1851-1923] Son of Thomas Birtwhistle.

Born in Halifax.

He was deaf & dumb from about 7 years of age; a wood carver [1871, 1881, 1893, 1901]; a wood carver (furniture trade) [1911].

In 1893, he married Margaret Ann Taylor [1864-1925] in Salford.


Margaret Ann was born in Peersall, Lancashire.

She was also deaf & dumb from about 7 years of age.

She was a wrapper-up (toffee manufactory) 

 

Children: (1) George; (2) James [b 1901].

The family lived at 32 Thrum Hall Lane, Halifax [1901]; 28 Plum Street, Halifax [1911].

Living with them in 1901 was sister-in-law Elizabeth J Taylor [b 1867] (cotton reeler) who was also deaf & dumb from childhood

Birtwhistle, William
[1???-18??] He had a boot and shoe making business in Bull Green, Halifax [1822], and at 4 Cabbage Lane, Halifax [1834].

He married Hannah Darnborough.

Children: (1) child; (2) child; (3) child; (4) child; (5) child; (6) child; (7) child; (8) child; (9) child; (10) child; (11) Thomas; (12) child; (13) child.

He was buried in the Birtwhistle family plot [Plot Number 3936] at Halifax General Cemetery

Birtwhistle, William
[1789-1862] Printer and publisher of Broad Street, Halifax, and 22 Northgate, Halifax [1829, 1850].

He was an agent for The Leeds Mercury [1838, 1839].

He contributed £100 towards the building of Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street.

See T. & W. Birtwhistle and Partners in Halifax Commercial Banking Company

Birtwhistle, William
[1809-1866] He was a woolsorter, choir master and composer. He was a member of Harrison Road Chapel, Carlton Street

Birtwhistle, William
[1871-19??] Son of William Henry Birtwhistle.

His parents died of TB when he was a baby. He was brought up by their grandmother, Rachel Greenwood. His brother Arthur; was cared for by Maria Wilson, his mother's married sister.

His brother, Arthur taught him to play the organ. He was organist at Heath Congregational Church

Birtwhistle, William Henry
[1846-1871] Son of Thomas Birtwhistle.

At the age of 5, he followed his older sisters into factory work where they sorted hair to make brushes.

He became a carpet weaver with a business at Bull Green, Halifax.

He played the organ at Sion Congregational Church.

In 1869, he married Ruth Ann Greenwood [1847-1874] in Halifax.


Ruth Ann was also a carpet weaver
 

Children: (1) Arthur; (2) William.

The family lived at 15 Brinton Terrace, Halifax.

William died of TB before the birth of their son, William. 3 years later, Ruth also died of TB.

After their parents' deaths, Arthur was cared for by Maria Wilson, Ruth's married sister, and William was brought up by their grandmother, Rachel Greenwood

They were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery [Plot Number 3936], the Birtwhistle family plot

Biscombe, Hannah
[1???-18??] She ran a private school in Halifax [around 1835]

Bishop, Norman Magson
[1889-1949] Son of Thomas Bishop.

Born in Huddersfield.

He was an instrument maker [1913].

In [Q4] 1913, he married Bertha Dyson in Halifax

Children: (1) Betty who married Paddy; (2) Hugh who married Doris.

The couple died in Bolton: Norman [2nd December 1949]; Bertha [12th December 1951]

Bishop, R.
[18??-19??] Beerhouse keeper at Ambler Thorn.

In August 1882, he went into liquidation

Bishop, Thomas
[1855-1890] Born in Ovenden.

He was a gardener [1878].

In [Q2] 1878, he married Emma Magson in Halifax.


Emma was the daughter of
Samuel Magson
 

Children: (1) Wilfred Hodson; (2) Norman Magson.

Thomas died 1890.

In 1892, Emma married Robert Jacobs

Bishop, Wilfred Hodson
[1879-1954] Son of Thomas Bishop.

Born in Ovenden.

He was an iron planer in a woodworking shop [1902].

In [Q1] 1902, he married Sarah Elizabeth Russell [1880-1968] in Halifax.


Sarah Elizabeth was born in Bradford
 

Children: 1

Bissell, Arthur William
[1870-1941] Gas manager.

The family lived at 6 Beech Villas, Sowerby Bridge

Bissell, John E.
[1???-18??] Master of Queen Elizabeth Grammar School, Worcester and of Halifax Grammar School. he published a volume of Poems [1861]

Bissington, Richard
[1801-1876] Baptised at Southampton [14th November 1801].

He was a hat maker at 23 Crown Street, Halifax [1837]; a hat maker at 14 Corn Market, Halifax [1842].

In [Q1] 1840, he married Maria Kidder [1805-1890] in Birmingham.

Children: Edward [1844-1910] who was a hatter [1876].

He died at Leeds [14th March 1876].

Probate records show that he left effects valued at under £6,000. Probate was granted to his widow Maria, son Edward, and John William Middleton (gentleman) 

Bit by Bit House, Warley
A popular name for Rose Cottage, Warley

Black, Albert Edward
[1883-1950] Son of William Black, a saw miller.

He was a saw miller [1916]; a member of the Halifax Art Society.

He had his Fine Art Galleries at George Street, Halifax.

On 10th August 1916, he married Catherine Margaret Duncan at Halifax Parish Church.


Catherine Margaret was the daughter of Joseph Rideal Duncan
 

Children: Monica

Black Boy Farm, Halifax
Northowram / Claremount.

Owners and tenants have included

Black Boy House, Claremount
Blake Hill.

Dr Crippen, the murderer, lived here for a time.

Ernest John Christie and family lived here. His son, John Reginald Halliday Christie, the serial killer, was born here.

It was also known as The Black Boy Inn.

Other owners and tenants have included

It is now known as Black Boy Farm

Black Brook
Aka Blackburn. The stream flows from Moss Moor Edge [1,500 ft above sea-level], down the Blackburn Valley, where it met Holywell Brook, and the through West Vale and Brow Bridge and joins the Calder.

This flowed past many of the mills in West Vale, including Bower's Mill, Barkisland, Bradley Mill, Stainland, Brigg Royd Mill, West Vale, Brook's Mill, West Vale, Brow Bridge Mill, Elland, Firth House Mills, Stainland, Gatehead Mill, Stainland, Greetland Dye Works, Ingwood Mills, Stainland, North Dean Mill, West Vale, Onecliffe Mill, West Vale, Prospect Mill, West Vale, Victoria Mills, West Vale and West Vale Mills although its speed and volume meant that it was unsuitable for providing water-power to the mills.

The bridge at Brow Bridge crosses the Brook and was built in 1770

Jagger Bridge crosses the brook

Black Bull Farm, Clifton
Towngate. Parts of the building are from the 17th century. Until 1933, this was the Black Bull pub

Black Castle Clough Bridge, Ripponden
Bridge over Black Castle Clough, Ripponden. An inscription indicates that this was reconstructed in 1932

Black Castle Clough, Ripponden
See Black Castle Clough Bridge

Black Castle Drain, Soyland Moor

Black Cat Billiard Hall, Todmorden
Halifax Road. Stood next to Albion Mill. The purpose-built hall opened on 15th June 1911. Demolished in 199? The Co-operative Society supermarket stands on the site

Black Clough, Heptonstall
At the foot of Black Hameldon Hill.

A local folk-tale tells that ...

In 1689, Isabella Shaw and Margaret Shuttleworth were travelling home from Heptonstall to Trawden. In the snowstorm, the women fell down Black Clough and died. Their bodies were found when the snow melted. One of the women had clung to a tree, but the bough broke and she was found with the branch in her hand.

It is said that a curse was laid on the tree, and only one tree has ever grown in the clough

Black Dyke Farm, Heptonstall
Heptonstall Slack. Early 17th century house

Black Dyke Mills Brass Band
Aka Black Dike Band, Black Dyke Band. Originally a brass and reed band made up of workers at John Foster & Son Limited [1816]. John Foster was one of the players.

In 1854, the band was in some difficulties and John Foster associated the band with the mill and it re-formed as Black Dike Mills.

The band's motto is taken from Foster's crest

JUSTUM PERFICITO NIHIL TIMETO
Act justly and fear nothing

See Brian Evans, William Lang, Samuel Longbottom, Alec Mortimer, Sir Harry Mortimer, Joseph Weston Nicholl, Arthur O. Pearce, Ernest Edgar Shaw and Percy Shaw

Black Field Dam, Wainstalls
Aka Old Reservoir. Recorded in 1834, when it was north of Spring Mill, Wainstalls

Black Field House, Soyland
Thomas Lees and his family lived here [1841].

In 1841, his wife, Rachel, was a schoolmistress at Black Field House School here, and her son, Thomas Wolstenholme was an assistant at the school.

See Little Britain, Ripponden

Black Gress, Rastrick
The black steps stepping-stones which allowed people on foot to cross the Calder at Snake Hill. 2 fulling mills are recorded here.

See Grees

Black Hameldon Hill
Aka Black Hambledon. At the far west of Calderdale.

The name uses the element hamel and means a scarred hill.

On 19th February 1945, a US B-24 Liberator based in Norfolk was flying over the hill in misty weather, bound for Liverpool. The pilot mistook Burnley and Accrington for Liverpool and flew towards the hill. Realising the mistake, he tried to climb but the aircraft struck the hill and broke into 2. 5 airmen were killed, 3 died later, and 3 others were injured.

See Black Clough, Heptonstall

Black Horse Farm
Aka Nether House, Hove Edge

Black House Farm, Illingworth

Black House Reservoirs, Soyland
2 reservoirs. Fed by Black House Springs. Capacity 5,850,000 gallons.

In December 1905, £2,000 was borrowed to make the reservoir watertight. Up to that time, the cost of the reservoir was £15,750

Black House Springs, Soyland
The springs feed Black House Reservoir

Black, Rev James
[1834-1901] MA.

Unitarian Minister at Stockport and at Todmorden.

He married Unknown.

Children: Emily Kezia.

He died in London

Black, James
[1869-1???] Born in Partick, Lanarkshire.

He was a joiner [1911].

He married Rebecca [1869-1???].


Rebecca was born in Londonderry
 

Children: (1) James; (2) Lauchlan

Both sons died in World War I

Black, James
[1891-1918] Son of James Black.

Born in Glasgow

He was a velveteen finisher [1911].

In [Q3] 1914, he married Mary Alice Fielden in Todmorden.

During World War I, he enlisted in Todmorden, and served as a Private with the 1st Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He was killed in action [12th August 1918] (aged 29).

He was buried at the Outtersteene Communal Cemetery Extension, Bailleul [Special Mem. 9]

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

His brother Lauchlan Love was also killed in the War, and is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Black, Jeremiah
[1849-1917] Born in Ireland.

He was head silk dresser in Brighouse [1881]; President of the Brighouse District Industrial Society Limited [1881-1887].

In 1871, he married Mary Brook [1852-1???] from Lightcliffe, in Halifax.

Children: (1) Mary Ellen [b 1872]; (2) Albert Ernest [b 1873]; (3) Mary Elizabeth [b 1875]; (4) Archibald Thomas [b 1876]; (5) Maggie Black [b 1880].

The family lived at 70 Bonegate Road, Hipperholme with Brighouse [1881]

Black, Lauchlan Love
[1893-1915] Son of James Black.

Born in Belfast.

He was a cotton & woollen worker [1911].

In [Q2] 1912, he married Rosa Jane Gibson [1893-19??] in Todmorden.


Rosa Jane was born in Todmorden
 

During World War I, he enlisted in Rochdale, and served as a Private with the 1st/6th Battalion Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died of wounds [21st December 1915].

He was buried at the Lancashire Landing Cemetery [J 3].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance.

His brother James; was also killed in the War, and is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Black Mires, Ovenden
Recorded on maps produced in 1854

Black Pit Aqueduct, Hebden Bridge
Built in 1795, it carries the Rochdale Canal over the Calder where it is joined by Hebden Water. The river was widened here. There are four arches, each 25 ft wide. This is the largest structure along the route of the canal.

There is a carved stone head dated 1795 on the structure which may be intended to protect travellers from harm by the whirlpool here.

See Black Pit Lock and Black Pit, Hebden Bridge

Black Pit Bridge, Hebden Bridge
Bridge #17 on the Rochdale Canal

Black Pit, Hebden Bridge
This is where Hebden Water joins the Calder

Black Pit Lock, Hebden Bridge
Lock #9 on the Rochdale Canal. The lock and foot-bridge were built 1798 by William Jessop and William Crossley.

See Black Pit Aqueduct

The Black Posting Chariot
This carriage can be seen in the carriage collection in the barn at Shibden Hall. It was originally painted yellow and black. It was suitable for long-distance travel. It was drawn by 2 horses with a postillion. It was built around 1800

Black Rock Farm, Todmorden
Cornholme. Home of the Baume family. The farm was demolished in the 1930s

Black Sam
Nickname of Samuel Fielden

Black, Stuart
[1844-18??] Born in Tyrone, Ireland. Son of Eleanor and Archibald Black [1820-1875].

He became a silk dresser in Brighouse [1871]

On 31st December 1866, he married Mary Farrar at Halifax Parish Church.

Children: (1) Nellie / Eleanor James [b 1868] who married Thomas Edward Raby; (2) Laura [b 1870]; (3) Eliza Ann [b 1872]; (4) John Edward [b 1877].

The family lived at Elland Road, Brighouse [1871]; 2 Sun Dial Inn, Brighouse [1881, 1891]; 19 Bradford Road,Brighouse [1901]; 1 Church Gate, Brighouse [1911].

Mary was listed as a widow in the 1891 census

Black, W. P.
[1???-19??] Curate at Brighouse [1932-1935]

Black ware pottery
Produced by Joseph Morton at his pot ovens at Cinderhills

Blacka, John Richard
[1845-1???] Architect and surveyor of Todmorden and Littleborough.

In 1875, he married Mary Elizabeth Willkings [1851-1???] from Birmingham, at Todmorden.

Children: (1) Vera Mary [b 1877]; (2) Inez Louisa [b 1879]; (3) Walter Willkings [b 1880].

The family lived at 1 Carley Street, Stansfield, Todmorden [1881]; Mayfield House, Todmorden [1905].

See Frostholme Mill, Cornholme

Blackburn...
The entries for people with the surname Blackburn are gathered together in a separate Sidetrack.

The individuals listed here are not necessarily related to each other.

Blackburn
[Surname]

There are currently around 44 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Blackburn. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

The Blackburn family of Brighouse
They had interests in the local cotton spinning industry.

Thomas Blackburn was an early member of the family.

The Blackburn Family Trust was wound up in 1977, when the family's property – including Phoenix House – was sold.

Mark Blackburn is not directly linked to the Blackburn family of cotton spinners.

See Blackburn Buildings, Brighouse

Blackburn & Bray
Spinners of botany and worsted yarns established in 1872 by William Blackburn and Ralph E. Bray. They were at Globe Mill, Halifax [1874] and Ellen Royd Mills, Halifax [1890, 1905]

The partnership was dissolved in 1905.

See Blackburn & Bray (Halifax) Limited

Blackburn & Bray (Halifax) Limited
Recorded in 1937, when they were at Billingshay Mills.

See Blackburn & Bray

Blackburn & Company
Stone quarrier at School Field Quarries, Rastrick [1896]

Blackburn & Ormerod
Cotton spinners at Broadholme Mill, Brighouse, Partners included George Blackburn and Charles Jones Ormerod.

After Blackburn's death in 1870, the business was carried on by Ormerod & Sugden and then by H. & J. Sugden

Blackburn & Pickles
Cotton spinners at Ibbotroyd Mill, Hebden Bridge [1845]

Blackburn & Sutcliffe
Dyers and blenders of Kebroyd Mills, Triangle. The business closed in December 2001

Blackburn Beck, Barkisland
Flows down a series of cascades through Blackburn Valley

Blackburn brook
Another name for the Black Brook. Gives its name to the Blackburn Valley

Blackburn Brothers
Slubbing dyers at Asquith Bottom Dye Works, Sowerby Bridge [1905]. Partners included Henry Blackburn.

See John William Netherwood and Clement Ogden

Blackburn's: D. A. Blackburn
20th century clothing manufacturer at Brunswick Mill, Hebden Bridge

Blackburn estate
Mark Blackburn owned considerable land and property in and around Granny Hall and Slead Syke, Brighouse. It comprised around 80 acres when it was put of for sale at the Royal Hotel in 1870

Blackburn House, Barkisland
Or Blackbourne House. Owners and tenants have included

Blackburn's: Thomas Blackburn & Company
Cotton warp manufacturers at Ripponden Mill [1845]. Partners included Thomas and Joseph Blackburn

Blackburn's: Thomas Blackburn & Sons
Cotton spinner and cotton band manufacturers established by Thomas Blackburn at Phoenix Mill, Brighouse.

Partners included Thomas Blackburn, Thomas Blackburn, Thomas Blackburn, Benjamin Blackburn, (possibly) William Kitson [1861, 1871, 1881], (possibly) George Frederick [1861], (possibly) Clement [1871, 1881], and Sam [1881].

They were at New Road, Brighouse [1845]

Blackburn Valley
Aka Blackburne Valley. The valley of the Black Brook as it flows down through Stainland and West Vale.

There are many mills in the Valley

Blackburn's: William Blackburn & Son
Cotton doubler at Perseverance Mill, Elland [1905]

Blackburns Farm, Soyland

Owners and tenants have included

Blackcar
An early name for Claremount

Blackett, Richard
[16??-16??] Owned land where Shay House, Halifax was later built

Blackfield Dam, Warley Moor
Reservoir at Warley mentioned in 1806. It had a capacity of 3,946,819 gallons.

See Cold Edge Dams

Blackheath barrow
Bronze Age barrow near Butt Stones just north of Todmorden at Stansfield

Blackhouse Fold, Illingworth
Or Blackhouse. 17th century house

Blackledge, Rev A. R.
[19??-19??] He was vicar of Oakenshaw before becoming Vicar of Saint Jude's Church, Savile Park [1950]

Blackledge-Ing
Aka Blakelegynge, Blakeledgynge. One of the areas of common land around Halifax Parish Church in the 14th century. Others were Hall-Ing, Southfield, Sydel-Ing, Northfield, Netherfield.

Blackledge-Ing covered the area which is now occupied by the Piece Hall. Blackledge is the southern boundary of the land

Blackley
Village between Elland and Huddersfield.

Historically, the villagers worked in farming and coal-mining.

Recorded in 1614 as

Part of Elland Common, called Blackley

See

Blackley & Woodman Mine, Elland
Blackley Baptist Church: A Short Historical Sketch
Blackley Baptist Church Deacons
Blackley Baptist Graveyard
Blackley Baptist School
Blackley Centre
Blackley Field
Blackley Fire Clay Works
Blackley House, Elland
Blackley Minister's House
Blackley Particular Baptist Church
Blackley Pottery
Blackley Provided School
Blackley Reservoir
Blackley Whit Walk
Caretaker's House, Blackley Chapel
James Cartledge
Golden Fleece, Blackley
Wilkinson's Clay Works, Elland  

Blackley Baptist Church Deacons

Blackley Centre
The former school of Blackley Baptist Church is now used for training days, retreats, meetings at conferences

Blackley Field
Around 1715, Joseph Brooksbank bequeathed an annual rent of £4 from land here for the benefit of the Minister of a congregation of Protestant Dissenters meeting at Elland

Blackley House, Elland
Lindley Road, Blackley. House and cottage. The cottage is dated ICM 1744

Blackley Reservoir
Opened in 1860 for the Huddersfield Water Works.

It was filled-in in 19??

Blackley Whit Walk
A Whit walk Recorded in 1927

Blackmires
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated.

See Blackmires, Illingworth and Blackmires Wesleyan Methodist Church, Northowram

Blackshaw Beck, Shelf
The stream rises at Queensbury. The name was recorded in the 16th century. It forms the boundary between Shelf (in Calderdale) and Buttershaw (in Bradford). It later becomes Royds Hall Beck.

See Riding Hill, Shelf

Blackshaw Clough, Soyland
Joins Lumb Brook to flow down to the Ryburn

Blackshaw Clough, Todmorden
Aka Jumble Hole Clough

Blackshaw Head Manufacturing Company Limited
Hebden Bridge company manufacturing and selling cotton goods
especially phoolies and sarries

for the Eastern market. The company was registered in August 1878

Blackshaw Parish Council
On 20th May 1947, Blackshaw Parish Council and Erringden Parish Council amalgamated.

The Parish council has 7 seats

Blackshawhead
Aka Blackshaw Head. District of Calderdale north of Todmorden.

See James King and Alexander Turner

Blackshawhead Co-operative Society
Established in 1875. In 1926, the society merged with Hebden Bridge Co-operative Society

Blackshawhead War Memorial
The obelisk remembering those who died in World War I, stands in the churchyard at Blackshawhead Methodist Chapel

The Blacksmith's Shop: Shibden Hall
This is in the Folk Museum at Shibden Hall. There are examples of tools and equipment which was used by the blacksmith in the production and repair of the horse shoes, metal tools, wheels and machinery of the estate

Blackstone Edge
Moorland district with a ridge of mountains above Mytholmroyd and Cragg Vale, and on the border between Calderdale and Lancashire. The land rises to 1475 ft at its highest point. The ridge continues to the Highlands of Scotland.

In 1643, during the Civil War, around 800 Parliamentary soldiers out of Rochdale were garrisoned on the moors here. Under Colonel John Rosworm, they built earthworks and cannon emplacements to secure the routes into Yorkshire.

Daniel Defoe called it:

the Andes of England

and, in 1698, Celia Fiennes wrote:

Then I came to Blackstone Edge, noted over all England for a dismal high precipice and steep in the ascent and descent on either end; it's a very moorish ground, all about, and even just at the top, tough so high that you travel on a causey which is very troublesome as it's a moist ground so as is unusual on these high hills; they stagnate the air and hold mist and rains almost perpetually

The road over the ridge may be of Roman origin – the gauge of the wheel ruts is the same as those at Pompeii – or a later packhorse route, and is mentioned in 1291 as Blacksteynegge.

The Mytholmroyd Bridge Turnpike was built in 1735.

Parts of the roadway are listed.

See Dr Nettleton, Joseph Priestley, Rishworth Railway Station and Sykes Gate Bottom

Blackstone Edge Reservoir
Built around 1800 to maintain water levels in the Rochdale Canal. It is fed by Broadhead Drain.

Following a drought in the summer of July 1800, the reservoir was empty and the canal was out of action.

On 1st April 1922, the reservoirs were sold to Oldham and Rochdale for £400,000

Blackstone Edge Roman Road
This ancient road is (possibly) part of the route between Manchester and Ilkley.

See Blackstone Edge Road

Blackwall Farm, Sowerby Bridge
Blackwall Lane. Early 18th century farm. It is now 4 dwellings

Blackwall, Halifax

Blackwall Hall, Halifax
The De Warren [No 1302] Masonic Lodge meet here [2010].

Owners and tenants have included

  • John Thackray [1936]

Blackwall House, Halifax
2 Blackwall.

Owners and tenants have included

Blackwall Lodge, Halifax
20 Blackwall. The house was the first parsonage for Holy Trinity Church. The parsonage later moved across the road.

Owners and tenants have included

It is now a children's nursery

Blackwall, Warley
17th century house

Blackwell Hall, Halifax
The cloth hall in Halifax is mentioned by various names:

The name was also used from 1545 for Heptonstall Cloth Hall.

Blackwell Hall cloth hall at Hall End, Halifax – is mentioned in 1572, much earlier than those in neighbouring towns.

See Blackwell Hall, London

Blackwell, John
[18??-191?] Of Todmorden.

During World War I, he served with the Lancashire Fusiliers.

He died in the conflict.

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Blackwood
Mentioned in the Nomina Villarum [1865] as being a place in the Parish of Halifax, although its precise location is not indicated

Blackwood
[Surname]

Blackwood Common, Rishworth

Blackwood Hall, Luddendenfoot
An area of Luddendenfoot.

See Band Walk, Luddendenfoot, Blackwood Hall, Luddendenfoot, Booth House, Luddendenfoot and Luddendenfoot National School

Blackwood Hall, Luddendenfoot
House at Blackwood Hall, Luddendenfoot.

Owners and tenants have included

Blackwood House, Halifax
Built on Halifax Moor by Thomas Blackwood in 1617.

On a map of 1836, it appears to be near Mount Pellon.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

See Great Blackwood House, Pellon and Little Blackwood House, Pellon

Blackwood, Thomas
[15??-16??] Wealthy landowner who paid £20 in composition fines. In 1617, he built Blackwood House on Halifax Moor.

He married Unknown.

Children: Martha who married Tobit Barraclough

Blade, James
[1836-1879] He was a shoe maker [1867].

In 1867, he married Nancy Riley


Nancy was the daughter of
James Riley
 

Children: John [1867-1896] who was a clog maker

Blagborough
A variant of the surname Blakeborough.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 4 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Blagborough. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other

Blagborough, George
[1817-1???] Born in Halifax.

He was a boot maker [1881].

He married Elizabeth [1825-1???] from Finningham, Suffolk.

Children: (1) Nathaniel [b 1850] who was subject to fits [1881]; (2) Mary Hannah [1854-1???] who married James Baxter.

The family lived at 8 Albion Street, Halifax [1881]

Living with them in 1881 were daughter Mary Hannah, her husband James Baxter and their daughter Louisa.

Elizabeth was widowed by 1901 and living with daughter Mary Hannah and family

Blagborough, Hannah
[1863-1897] She died from blood poisoning and James Aldridge was convicted of procuring an abortion which caused the injuries. Aldridge was sentenced to be executed on 6th April 1897, but this was commuted to life imprisonment

Blagborough, J.
[18??-18??] Coal owner at Northowram.

In July 1851, he was declared insolvent

Blagbrough & Hebblethwaite Limited
Electrical engineers at Bank Top, Southowram [1936, 1937].

They installed electricity at Bethesda Primitive Methodist Chapel [1936]

Blagbrough, Elizabeth
[1833-1885] She had an illegitimate son Arthur. In 1865, she married Haley Wolfenden

Blagbrough, George Stanley
[1882-1916] Son of Walter Blagbrough.

He was a master at Bridlington Grammar School.

During World War I, he enlisted in 1914, and served as a Major with the East Yorkshire Regiment attached to the with the 16th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 11th February 1916 (aged 34).

He was buried at the Couin British Cemetery [V C 9]

Blagbrough, Harry
[1878-19??] Born in Halifax.

He was a commercial traveller (boots) [1911].

Around 1900, he married Hannah Mary [1877-19??] from Halifax.

Children: (1) Herbert [b 1904]; (2) Nellie [b 1906].

The family lived at 5 Belle Vue Terrace, Southowram [1911]

Blagbrough, Samuel
[1808-1875] He married Martha [1813-1898].

Children: Walter.

They lived at St John's Villa, Halifax [1875].

Members of the family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery.

See Range Bank Day School, Halifax

Blagbrough, W.
[18??-18??] Mechanic at Halifax.

In February 1864, he was declared bankrupt

Blagbrough, Walter
[1842-1924] Son of Samuel Blagbrough.

He was a wool merchant.

In [Q3] 1867, he married Alice Isabella Tordoff in Bradford.


Alice Isabella was the daughter of Thomas Denbigh Tordoff
 

Children: (1) Florence [b 1869]; (2) Walter Herbert [b 1870]; (3) Alice I [b 1872]; (4) Cecily [b 1876]; (5) Harold D [b 1878]; (6) Louisa [b 1880]; (7) Edith [b 1881]; (8) George S [b 1882]; (9) Clifford [b 1884]; (10) Francis [b 1885].

The family lived at Stafford House, Skircoat [1871]; Selborne Mount, Manningham, Bradford [1878, 1916].

Alice Isabella died 1916 (aged 70).

Walter died 1924 (aged 82) 

Blaidroyd
See Blaithroyd

Blair, David
[1932-1976] Ballet dancer. CBE.

Born David Butterfield.

He was educated at Trinity School, Halifax.

He became interested in dancing at the age of 7. He attended Madame Amy Ibbetson's dancing school.

He joined the Sadler's Wells Ballet School, London, at the age of 14. This was on the condition that – should his height not increase in the first term – he would undergo a course of growth-inducing injections.

He married Maryon Lane, one of the company's principals, and they had twin daughters.

He joined Sadler's Wells Theatre Ballet in 1947, and became the principal dancer 1950. He went to Covent Garden in 1953 and danced the lead in all the classical ballets, performing with Lynn Seymour and Nadia Nerina. Frederick Ashton created La Fille Mal Gardée for Blair and Nerina. In the early 1960s, he had hoped to become the partner to Margot Fonteyn when Michael Somes retired, but the position was taken by the newly-arrived Rudolph Nureyev. He had great success at New York's Metropolitan Opera House in 1953, dancing the rôle of Floristan in The Sleeping Beauty.

He was about to become director of the Norwegian Ballet when he died suddenly.

His mother Mrs Green lived at Stoney Lane, Brighouse

Blaithroyd, Erringden
Area of Erringden [1861]

Blaithroyd Farm, Southowram
Aka New Hall – which stood there.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Around 1572, the house was used for Catholic services which were banned at that time. Crabtree says that

A little distant from the house was some ground in the delf-brow, called the Burying-place

Blaithroyd, Southowram
This area of Bank Top, Southowram takes its name from Blaithroyd Farm, Southowram which stood there.

The place is also referred to as The Banke and Southowram Bank.

It was a part of the ancient Southowram township.

The name is sometimes spelled Blaidroyd, and is found in other areas. The name may mean grassy clearing or clearing with herbs or – less likely – wolf's clearing

Blaithroyd Working Men's Club, Southowram
Castlemaine House.

On 19th January 1934, the club was struck off the register


Question: Does anyone know why the Club was struck off?

 


Question: Can anyone tell me anything?

 

Blake's Alhambra
A mobile theatre which showed films on the Market Ground at Hebden Bridge. This was the first cinema in the town

Blake Dean
Area above Hebden Bridge.

On 16th September 1949, an RAF training aircraft crashed and burned out here, killing 2 of the crew.

See Meeting of the Waters and The Green Lady of Blake Dean

Blake Dean
Stream which flows between Heptonstall and Wadsworth

Blake Dean bridge
Early 19th century stone bridge across Blake Dean. This is a single-arch bridge.

See Blake Dean Railway Bridge

Blake Dean railway bridge
A trestle bridge 700 ft long, in 3 tiers, and 105 ft above Blake Dean stream at the Meeting of the Waters. The bridge carried the Hardcastle Crags Railway across the Blake Dean valley, carrying cement and supplies for the construction of the reservoirs.

The bridge was designed by William Henry Cockcroft, and built by G. H. Greenwood & Company, joiners and builders of Hebden Bridge for Enoch Tempest. The construction required £1,300 worth of timber. It opened on 27th May 1901.

In 1906, sparks from an engine set fire to a wooden support on the bridge, causing £30 damage. The fire was quickly extinguished.

In May 1909, Mrs Ada Harwood died when a small wooden platform gave way and she fell as she and members of her family were crossing the bridge.

In 1912, the bridge was demolished by the contractors at Walshaw Reservoir because it had become unsafe. Only the stone foundations remain.

See Dawson City, Hell Hole Quarry and The Green Lady of Blake Dean

Blakeborough
Another form of the surname is Blagborough.

See the Foldout for a composite list of individuals with this and all similar surnames

There are currently only around 6 entries on the Calderdale Companion for people with the surname Blakeborough. This count does not include other forms of the surname. The individuals are not necessarily related to each other.

The surname may originate in Blackborough in Devon or Norfolk

The Blakeborough family of Brighouse
See Lands House, Rastrick and Longlands, Lightcliffe

Blakeborough's Bridge, Brighouse
In 1962, a bridge over the Calder was built at Huntingdon Road / River Street, Brighouse by Blakeborough's. In the 1980s, the bridge closed on safety grounds.

In 2005, there was talk of reopening the bridge as an additional river crossing when the area is redeveloped

Blakeborough's Club, Brighouse
Opened as Brighouse Liberal Club in 1877.

In 1938, Blakeborough's bought the building for use as a social club for their workers

Blakeborough, Frank
[18??-19??] He was a member of the Blakeborough family of Brighouse. He lived at 32 High Street, Brighouse [1908]

Blakeborough, Joseph
[18??-1???] Son of a watchmaker and hardware dealer from Otley.

He started a business selling valves and hardware for the plumbing trade.

He moved to Brighouse in 18??, where he worked as a plumber.

He had 4 sons: Robert, Thomas, Frank and Peter. Robert began making valves in the cellar of his father's workshop in Bradford Road and soon began selling these to local firms. Thomas joined Robert.

In 1866, Joseph bought the Commercial Iron & Brass Foundry in Park Row, Brighouse, and established J. Blakeborough & Sons Limited.

A larger foundry was built to cope with the demand. The firm expanded and produced valves for many industries in most parts of the world

Blakeborough's: Joseph Blakeborough & Sons Limited
Aka Blakeborough Valves. Brighouse engineering company, and makers of valves founded by Joseph Blakeborough and his sons in 1866 when he bought the Commercial Iron & Brass Foundry in Park Row, Brighouse.

In 1875, a new larger iron foundry was built – Woodhouse Works. There was a fire at the new works on 29th August 1896.

Around 1920, the company made the first hand cart for the Laxey Fire Service on the Isle of Man.

In 1926, the company produced the Nu-Swift extinguisher. The original 1926 design for the fire extinguisher remained in production – with only minor modifications in size and the contents used – until the early 1990's when vapourising liquid extinguishers were no longer manufactured due to environmental concerns

In 1933, the Nu-Swift Engineering Company Limited was formed.

In 1965, the firm was taken over by Hopkinsons Holdings PLC, valve manufacturers of Huddersfield.

In 1986, considerable damage was caused to the factory by a fire.

The firm closed in Brighouse on 12th April 1989.

The business was taken over by Hopkinson Valves of Huddersfield. They are now a part of the Weir Group.

See Sam Booth, Algernon Denham and Rastrick Gas Company

Blakeborough, Mrs Kathleen
[18??-1???] Wife of Robert Arnold Blakeborough.

In October 1919, she bought Toothill Hall, Rastrick.

In January 1924, she conveyed it to Sir William Henry Aykroyd, and the Hall passed to George Hammond Aykroyd in December 1924

Blakeborough, Robert
[1841-1911] Son of Joseph Blakeborough.

He and his father established J. Blakeborough & Sons Limited.

He developed the idea water valves for which the company became famous

Blakeborough, Robert Arnold
[18??-1954] Of Lightcliffe.

He married Kathleen.

Chairman of Joseph Blakeborough & Sons Limited.

Probate records show that he left an estate valued at £50,914

Blakeborough, William
[1790-18??] He was transported for administering an illegal oath at a Luddite meeting at Saint Crispin Inn in 1812.

He is listed in the Prison Hulk Registers as having been given a free pardon [3rd January 1812]

Blakelaw, Hartshead
An area of Hartshead.

The name is variously found as Blakelana and Blakhlawe.

It has been said that a wood here was inhabited by the Clifton Dragon.

Rev Harold Norman Pobjoy suggested that name comes from Dracanhlawe – the mound of the dragon.

More likely, it is derived from Blachelana – the black hill.

The area was lost in the 1970s when the M62 was constructed.

See Blakelaw Quarry, Hartshead

Blakeley, Margaret
[19??-] Mayor of Hebden Royd [1998-1999]

Blakelock, Rev Ralph
[1842-1900] He was ordained as Curate at Todmorden [1864].

In 1883, he became vicar of Horbury Bridge

Blakey Brothers & Emmott Limited
Aka Blakey, Emmott & Company Limited. 19th century engineering company at 16 Square Road, Halifax. They manufactured engines, generators and dynamos. Partners included Walter Emmott.

On 2nd November 1878, they provided electric floodlighting for a rugby match at Hanson Lane.

See Halifax Mutual Electric Light & Power Company

Blakey, Edwin
[18??-1???] Of Shay Farm, Halifax.

He was groom to J. T. Haigh JP. On 15th January 1870, as he was walking along Caygill's Walk, Halifax, he was attacked by 3 tall men. One seized him by the throat and another put dirt into his mouth. He was robbed of 8d in copper [coins] and 8 lbs of potatoes before the men made their escape

Blakey's: H. Blakey & Sons
Tailors at 16 Corn Market, Halifax [1881]. Blakey took over a business which had been established around 1825. They had workrooms in Waterhouse Street, Halifax

Blakey, Jane
[1819-1???] Born in Aysgarth.

She was a baby linen manufacturer.

In 1841, Jane, her sister, Elizabeth [1829-1???], also a baby linen manufacturer, were living with their brother, Henry, a woollen draper, at 18 Crown Street, Halifax.

In 1851, she married Thomas Edleston.

By 1871, Jane was a widow and running a school at Salterhebble.

By 1891, Jane was living on her own means, with daughter Mary Ann, sister Ann Blakey, and son Alfred Blakey Edleston (a clerk in Holy Orders), at 20 Piccadilly, Burnley

Blakey, Mr
[16??-17??] Of Colne.

He married Dorothy Brearcliffe

Blakey, Richard Garnett
[1818-1???] Born in Wakefield.

He was a grocer & tea dealer employing 2 assistants [1861].

He lived at West Street, Sowerby Bridge [1861]

Blakey, William
[18??-19??] Farmed Shaw Laithe Farm, Elland [1905]

Blakey, William
[1810-1863] In 1839, he married Harriet Stead [1814-1871] in Halifax.

Children: John William [1846-1859].

John William was a pupil-teacher at St Andrew's National School, Lister Hills, Bradford. When he died [aged 13], his pupils erected a stone at Lister Lane Cemetery.

The family were buried at Lister Lane Cemetery

Blamires, George Henry
[1860-1???] Son of John Blamires, card maker.

Born in Halifax.

He was a hair dresser of Bradford [1881]; a hair dresser [1891, 1901]; a hair dresser / barber [1911].

In [Q3] 1881, he married Janet Banks [1859-1???] at St Paul's Church, King Cross.


Janet of King Cross, was the daughter of Thomas Banks, painter
 

Children: (1) James Willie; (2) Nora [b 1885] who was a woollen winder [1901]; (3) Thomas Henry [b 1888]; (4) Lillian [b 1897].

The family lived at 66 Haugh Shaw Road, Halifax [1891]; 32 Oak Terrace, Halifax [1901] [1911].

Living with them in 1901 was boarder Mary Ellen Barlow [aged 19] (woollen rover) 

Blamires, James William
[1883-1917] Son of George Henry Blamires.

He was a winder [1901]; a labourer in Mackintosh's confectionery works [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Rifleman with the 1st/8th Battalion West Yorkshire Regiment (Prince of Wales's Own).

He died 9th October 1917.

He is remembered on the Tyne Cot Memorial, on All Saints' War Memorial, Dudwell and on the list of Mackintosh's employees who served in the Great War

Blamires, Samuel
[1???-18??] Of Brighouse.

He married Mary [1809-1880].

Children: Ann [1837-1842].

Members of the family were buried at St Martin's Church, Brighouse

Blamyre, John
[1???-18??]

Recorded in 1822, when he was a blacksmith at Northgate, Halifax

Blanchard, Mrs
[1???-18??] Around 1838, Mrs Blanchard and Miss Blanchard ran a private school at Chapeltown, Halifax.

See William Blanchard

Blanchard, William
[1???-1865] Between 1830-1845, he and his wife, Ellen, ran the Bell School, Harrison Road, Halifax.

In 1839, he was advertising the sale of 20 bound volumes of the York Courant newspaper [1741-1811].

William Blanshard ran a school at Nelson Street, Halifax [1850].

See Mrs Blanchard

Blanchfield, Rev J.
[19??-19??] Priest at St Thomas of Canterbury Catholic Church, Hebden Bridge [1962]

Blanchford, Rev F. Henry
[18??-19??] Minister at Park Congregational Church, Halifax [1894]. In 1898, he moved to Ilkley

Bland, Arnold
[1891-1915] Son of Walter Bland.

He was a general labourer [1911].

During World War I, he served as a Private with the 8th Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

His brothers Albert and Nelson were also serving.

Albert was wounded in the back by a bullet and returned in a hospital ship to Plymouth.

On 18th September 1915, Arnold was reported missing in the Dardanelles since 21st August 1915.

It was later announced that he had died on 21st August 1915.

He is remembered on the Helles Memorial, Gallipoli [117-119]

Bland, Henry
[1845-1???] Bookbinder in Halifax [1891].

In 1875, he married Mary Ann C. Cox [1855-1???] from Stroud, Gloucestershire, in Halifax.

Children: (1) James [b 1877]; (2) George John [b 1880]; (3) Maude [b 1882]; (4) Edgar [b 1885]; (5) Albert [b 1888].

The family lived at Long Lover, Halifax [1891]

Bland, James
[18??-18??] Teacher of deportment and dancing at his Academy in Halifax [1835].

In May 1857, his name appeared in a list of insolvent petitioners.

He was editor of the first series of the Original Illuminated Clock Almanack.

Most of his work for the Almanack was in verse, and much of this about Wilson's hats

Bland, John Stamper
[1???-18??] He ran a dancing school in Halifax [around 1830]

Bland, Matthew
[1809-1853] Born in Richmond.

He was a cabinet maker at Broad Street, Halifax.

He married Sarah.

Children: Jane [1839-1848].

He lived at Broad Street, Halifax [1841]; 3 Mount Street, Halifax [1851]

Bland, Mr
[17??-1???] He was Usher at Heath Grammar School [1759]

Bland, Thomas
[1???-18??]

He was one of the subscribers to John Horner's book Buildings in the Town & Parish of Halifax [1835]

Bland, Thomas
[1669-1757] Of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: (1) Michael [d 1757] who became a merchant in London and married Patience Jeffereys [d 1772]; (2) Anna [d 1800] who married [1757] Mr Marriner from London; (3) Thomas

Bland, Thomas
[17??-17??] Of Halifax.

He married Unknown.

Children: Elizabeth [1735-1762] who married John Hanson

Bland, Thomas
[1714-1783] Son of Thomas Bland.

He married (1) Unknown [d 1756].

He married (2) Mary [1711-1796].

Children: (1) Thomas [17??-1777] who became an engraver in London; (2) Mary who married William Bates

Bland, Walter
[1863-19??] He was a wool weaver [1891]; a maker-up of worsted yarn [1901]; a worsted yarn presser [1911].

In 1884, he married Jane Nicholson [1874-19??] in Halifax. Children: (1) Albert [b 1886] who was a bottle washer [1901]; (2) Arnold; (3) Clara [b 1893] who was a worsted rover [1911]; (4) Lily [b 1894] who was a worsted spinner [1911]; (5) Violet [b 1896] who was a laundress [1911]; (6) Nelson [b 1898] who was a worsted doffer (part time) [1911].

The children were all born in Halifax.

The family lived at 5 Back Alfred Street, Halifax [1891]; 118 Spring Hall Lane, Halifax [1901]; 368 Queen's Road, Halifax [1911]

Blarney Castle, Langfield
A small pleasure ground at the site of a cottage – known as Blarney Castle or Shurcrack – on Langfield Moor. It is no longer there

Bleak Hill, Northowram
Shibden

Bleak House, Boothtown
Claremount Road.

Owners and tenants have included

Bleak House, Lightcliffe
Wakefield Road. Built in 1847.

It was given the name Bleak House when the railway was constructed at the rear of the building.

Owners and tenants have included

Around 1905, it was occupied by Lightcliffe Ladies' High School, a girls' finishing school organised by Sir Titus Salt.

In the 1950s, it was used as the post office.

Since the 1970s, it has been a private house

Blenders & Sliverers Limited
Mytholmroyd. Went into liquidation in July 2001

Blether Hill, Wadsworth
Marks the boundary of Wadsworth township

Blewitt, Charles Oliver
[1867-1900] Hanged for the murder of his 33-year-old wife, Mary Ann Blewitt. Her body was found at their home in Beeston, Leeds, on June 17. Her throat had been cut and she was thought to have been dead for about 9 days. The crime appeared to have been committed during a meal.

Blewitt was found – under the name of Oliver Jackson – working at Cornelius Redman & Sons Limited, where he had been employed for 3 weeks, when an employee had recognised him from a newspaper photograph. He was arrested and taken to the Police Station at Halifax Town Hall where he was held until he was collected by Leeds City Police.

His trial was held in Leeds in July, but the jury could not reach a verdict, and a re-trial was held four days later when the jury found him Guilty and he was sentenced to death.

An appeal failed and he was hanged at Armley Prison [28th August 1900]

Blezzard, James Edward
[1883-1916] Son of Rebecca & James Edward Blezzard, labourer, of Burton-in-Lonsdale, Carnforth.

Born in Burton in Lonsdale.

He was a millhand of 9 Dove Street, Saltaire [1908]; a woollen dealer [1911]; employed by John Atkinson & Sons Limited at Watson Mill, Sowerby Bridge.

In 1908, he married Alice Torrence [1885-19??] at St Paul's Church, Shipley.


Alice was born in Sowerby Bridge.

She was a woollen feeder [1911]

 

They lived at 42 Terrace Street, Sowerby Bridge [1911].

He served in South Africa during the Boer War.

He served in India for 5 years, where he was orderly for the Chaplain, and a member of the Regimental choir.

He was stationed in Ireland.

During World War I, he rejoined his old regiment and served as a Corporal with the 2nd Battalion Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He was sent to the Front on Shrove Tuesday 1915.

He was wounded in the right side by shrapnel during the Battle for Hill 50 [18th April 1916], and was hospitalised to Chislehurst Hospital, Kent, then Manchester and Liverpool.

After returning home for a few days, he returned to France [July 1915].

He was in hospital with pleurisy, and had recovered by 30th January 1916.

He was killed by a shell which also killed 2 others and injured a fourth man [31st January 1916] (aged 33).

He was buried at the Sucrerie Military Cemetery, Colincamps [I I 100]

Blind David
The popular name for David Moorhouse, the Halifax town crier in the mid-19th century

Blind Jack of Knaresborough

Bliss, Sir Arthur
[1891-1975] The composer attended a performance of his works by Halifax Choral Society on 18th November 1954

Blocksage, T.
[18??-19??] Coal and fireclay producer. He owned the mines at Storth Brick Works, Elland [1896]

Blomley, Edmund
[17??-18??] In 1821, he became Postmaster at Todmorden Post Office. In January 1841, he was found to have put some mail in an unsealed bag and was dismissed from the post.

He married Unknown.

Children: James

Blomley, Edmund
[1802-1879] Landlord of the Golden Lion, Todmorden [1822, 1837].

He married Unknown.

Children: Sarah [1826-1897] who married John Suthers

Blomley, James
[1809-1845] Son of Edmund Blomley

He married Mary, daughter of William Scholfield.

Children: (1) daughter who died in infancy; (2) daughter who died in infancy.

They went to live in Blackburn where James was an inn keeper.

James was buried at Christ Church, Todmorden

Blomley, John
[1816-1883] Todmorden solicitor. Partner in Sellers & Blomley

Blondin, Charles
[1824-1897] On 23rd August 1861, the French acrobat Blondin - real name Jean François Gravelet – gave a tightrope-walking performance at the Piece Hall, crossing the quadrangle diagonally at a height of 60 ft on a 300 ft long rope. He performed on the rope for 45 minutes. He then repeated the feat with a man strapped to his shoulders. There were around 4,000 spectators in the Piece Hall, and thousands more on Beacon Hill and elsewhere in the town

Bloody Field
White writes that, around 1643:
the most important skirmish of the Civil War was at the top of Halifax Bank where the ground still retains the name of the Bloody Field

Saint Joseph's Catholic School was built nearby, and cannon balls, horseshoes, and a sword were found during the construction. 19th century maps show Bloody Field on Miss Lister's Road at Godley

Bloody Tongue, Northowram
An apparition which is said to emerge from Boggard Well in the upper Shibden Valley

The Bloomer family
A wealthy family of weavers. They lived at Bloomergate House, Midgley during the 18th century

Bloomer, Abraham
[1859-1898] Born in Halifax.

He was a boiler maker [1879].

In [Q4] 1879, he married Ellen Crabtree [1860-1921] in Halifax.


Ellen was born in Halifax
 

Children: Albert.

The family lived at 7 Swift Court, Gibbet Street [1911]

Bloomer, Albert
[1896-1917] Son of Abraham Bloomer.

He was a mill hand bobbin doffer [1911].

During World War I, he enlisted [25th October 1915] and served as a Private with the 2nd/4th Duke of Wellington's (West Riding Regiment).

He embarked for Le Havre [9th January 1917].

He was killed in action [3rd May 1917].

He is remembered on the Arras Memorial [6]

Bloomer, George
[18??-1917] He worked for the Todmorden Industrial & Co-operative Society.

During World War I, he served as a Gunner with the 46th Siege Battery Royal Garrison Artillery.

He was killed 12th September 1917.

He was buried in the Chester Farm Cemetery [II A 11].

He is remembered in the Todmorden Garden of Remembrance

Bloomer, George
[1860-1888] Landlord of the Railway Hotel, Hebden Bridge [1885].

He died

a painful and sudden death

on 15th February 1888

Bloomergate House, Midgley
Midgley Road. Originally called Woodgate House. It was built in 1673 by Mary and John Lockwood. There are traces of the taking-in door.

The house was bought by the Bloomer family in the 19th century and renamed.

Subsequent owners and tenants have included

Blosse, Rev H. J.
[18??-19??] Minister at Hope Baptist Church, Hebden Bridge. He resigned in 1936 and moved to County Durham

Blue-back
The Rawdon family of Callis Mill issued their own banknotes. These were guinea notes and 5/- cards printed in blue ink and were called blue-backs

Blue Ball House, Blackshawhead
Badger Lane. Built around the mid-19th century and formerly the Blue Ball pub.

It is now 2 private dwellings

Blue Bell Lane Farm, Cornholme
Blue Bell Lane. Built around 1830

Blue Bell Lodge, Mill Bank
Lower Mill Bank Road. Early 19th century mill building. It is now a house

Blue Coat School & Almshouses

Blue Jackets
Popular name for the West Yorkshire Yeomanry Cavalry

The Blue Pig, Inchfield
A later name for Knowsley, Walsden

The Blue Pig, Midgehole
See Midgehole Working Men's Club

Blue Plaques
Calderdale Council has erected blue plaques to commemorate several famous people and landmarks: